# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bodine v. United States, 109 S. Ct. 1958 (1989) (No. 88-1641)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1169%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989

## Text

(T) Supreme Court, U.§
(° FILES
S Raa 4
' MAR 22 4988
Noe JOSEPH F. SPANIOL,
CLERK
IN THE

i

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1989
DONALD BODINE, Petitioner,
Vv

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEAI.S FOR THE
FEDERAL CIRCUIT .

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Donald Bodine

Pro Se

100 Washington Street, Apt., 3G
lHiempstead, New York 11550
(516) 483-3346

MARCH 1989

_ me

_

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Congress has vested ju-
dicial powemfin the Merit Systems Protection
Board (MSPB) under Article III, Section I, to
the United States Constitution.

2. Nhether the Federal Court's Impro-
vement Act of 1982 usurps the Judiciary Act
of 1789, (now evolved into Title 28 of the
United States Code) which is composed of the
normal three-tiered judicial review system.

3. Whether the criminal process begins
as soon as one is accused of violating a
federal criminal statute.

4. Whether the United States Claims Court
is an Article I, court.

5. Whether a trial by jury can be waived

without the consent of the accused.

6. Whether decisions made in excess of
Statutory power are null and void.

7e “hether the right to fol.low a chosen
profession comes within the liberty and pro-

perty concept of the Fifth Amendment.
8. “Ihether the employing agency can

caine i '

charge an employee injured in the course of ~
employment with being A.W.0O.L. during the

45-day entitlement period under the Federal
Employees! Compensation Act 5 U.S.C. 81183; 20

C.F.R. 10.209(c)-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Opinion DeELOW eeeseesevecsccccecescons 1
JUPASGICTION ceocccccccrccccsvcccccecce 2
Constitutional and statutory provisions
ANVOLVEd wersecceseccccecssccsesscvens 2
Statement of the CaSe eecccccccccccece 6
Reasons for granting the petition .... 20

Appendix re QOpinion/Federal Circuit .. A- |

Appendix B - Order/Claims Court .......-. B= 1

Appendix C = Order/Rehearing wecccccees Cm 1

Appendix D.- Senate Report No. 92-1006. D- 1
TABLE OF AUTHORTIES

Cases:

Almon v. Morgan County, 16 So2d

511 eeeoeeerere eee eeeeer eee eee seee 17

American Federation of State,
‘County, etc. v. Woodward (CA8

Gat. 606 P2d 137 «..0..-. Ses Sa 1
Baldwin v. New York, 399 U.S. 66

(1970) eeeeveeeeeveveeveee ese ee eee eee 18
Embrey ve Hampton, (CA4 Va) 70

Fed 146 eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeensneees 17
Gadsen ve. United States, 111 Ct.

Cl. L478 eoeeeneeeeeeeeeereeeeee eee @ 20
Knuckles v. Bolger, (1981, CA8

Mo ) 654 Fed 25 @®eeseeeeoeersee#8eeeeee 16

Marsden v. United States Postal
Service (1974, DC Minn) 390 F
Supp 429 @eseeeoeeoeee*3#2eesesestcieesesekteeee#ee?e#e® . 17

Mitchell v. Mauer, 1934, 293
ee ee. Ce ache a8 606000 oe ee 8 . 17

i age
Singer v. United States, 380 U.S.
2h (1965) eeeeeeveeeeeeeeeseveeee® 19

United States v. Amato, 534 F
Suppe 1190 @eeeseeeeeeoeereenvneeeeseee 11,18

United States v. Tovett, 328
Retin ee ES 4h Saa bib cceencaeasca .. 22

United States v. Robel, 389 U.S.
258 e*eeeeeeeeseteveeepees@eeeeneseeeeeeeee @ 19

Constitutional, statutes, and regulations:
United States Constitution:
First: Amendment c.sciccccccece
Fifth AmMOnGMONt ..cccccscccces
Sixth Amendment ........eeeees
Article III, Section 1 w..ccec
Article Ifi, Section 2, Ci 3..
Article i145::Seetaonm 3 i ecs cee

Federal Employees' Compensation Act
of 1966, as amended by Pub.I.. No.
93-416, 88 State

Section 8118(a), 88 Stat. 11h 4
Section 8118(b), 88 Stat. 1145 ky
Section 8118(c),-88 Stat. 1145 ly
Section 8118(d), 88 Stat. 1145 &

The Tucker Act, as amended by the
Act of August 29, 1972, 86 Stat.
652, Pubelie 95-415

te 1491(a)(2), 86 Stat. —

O00 ss ete s cn weceeee pean is y)

nN W Wh fv fo

Title 20, Code of Federal Regulations,
Section 10.200 et seq.

Section 1O.Gete), «exes. cs : 5

ee

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1989

Hoe

DONALD BODINE,
Petitioner,
V

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
Respondent

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CEHPTTORART
Petitioner, Donald Bodine, prays that a
Writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-
ment of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit entered December 19,
1988.
OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit (App. A-1 )
has not been prepared for publication. Such

opinion of the United States Claims Court

: ‘

id

reported at, 14 Cle Cte 661 (1988 (App. B. )
JURISDICTION

The opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit, entered on
December 19, 1988, timely motion for rehear-
ing was filed, and denied on January 25, 1989.
(Appe Ce )e This Court has jurisdiction
under 28 U.S.C.A. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. The First Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides as follows:

Congress shall make no law respecting
an establishment of religion, or prohib-
iting the free exercise thereof; or ab-
ridging the freedom of speech, of the
press; or the right of the people peace-
able to assemble, and to petition the
Government for a redress of grievances.

2e The Fifth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides in relevant part:

No person shall be held to answer for a
capital, or otherwise infamous crime, un-
less on a presentment or indictment of a
Grand Jury *** nor shall be compelled in
any criminal case to be a witness against
himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty,
or property, without due process of law *

>e The Sixth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides in relevant

part:

36

In all criminal prosecutions, the accu-
sed shall enjoy the right to a speedy and
public trial, by an impartial jury of the
State and district wherein the crime shall
have been committed *** .

4. Article III, Section 1, of the United
States Constitution provides in relevant part:

The judicial Power of the United States,
Shall be vested in one supreme court, and
in such inferior Courts as the Congress
may from time to time ordain and estab-
lish. *9* «

5. Article III, Section 2, Clause 3, of
the United States Constitution provides in
relevant part:

The judicial Power shall extend to all
cases, in law and Equity, arising under
this Constitution, the Law of the United
States, and Treaties made, or which shall
be made, under their authority *** .

6. Article III, Section 3, of the United
States Constitution provides in relevant part:

The Trial of all crimes, except in Cases
of Impeachment, shall be by jury *** .

7e The Federal Employees! Compensation
Act, as amended by PubeLe Noe 93-416, 88
State 1145, Section 8118(a) provides:

The United States shall authorize the
continuation of pay of an employee, as
defined in section 8101(1) of this title
(other than those referred to in clause
(B) or (E), who has filed a claim for a

eT Re ee ae
be |

period of wage loss due to a traumatic
injury with his immediate superior on

a form approved by the Secretary of Labor
within the time specified in section
8122(a((2) of this title.

8. The Federal Employees! Compensation
Act, as amended by PubeLe Now 93-416, 88
State 1145, Section 8118(b) provides:

Continuation of pay under this sub-
chapter shall be furnished- ‘
aoe without a break in time unless
controverted under regulations of the
Secretary;
(2) for a period not to exceed 45
days; and, '
(3) under accounting procedures and
such other regulations as the Secretary
may require.

9e The Federal Employees! Compensation
Act, as amended by Pube Le Noe 93-416, 88
Stat. 1145, Section 8118(c) provides:

An employee may use annual or sick leave
‘to his credit at the time the disability
begins, but his compensation for disabili-
ty does not begin, and the time periods
specified by section 8117 of this title
do not begin to run, until termination of
pay as set forth in subsections (a) and

a or the use of annual or sick leave
ends.

10. The Federal Employees! Compensation
Act, as amended by PubsLe Noe 93-415, 88
State 1145, Section 8118(d) provides:

If a claim under subsection (a) is

De

denied by the Secretary, payments under
this section shall, at the option of the
employee, be charged to sick or annual
leave or shall be deemed overpayments of
pay within the meaning of section 5584 of
title 5, United States Code.

11. Title 20, Code of Federal Regulations,
Section 10.209(c) provides:

A "Duty Status Report," Form CA=-17 will
be used to obtain interim medical reports
concerning the employee's duty status. If
during the 45 day period the treating phy-
Sician indicates the employee is able to
return to work and the employee refuses to
do so, the continued absence from work may
result in an overpayment. The period of
absence from the job which resulted in the
overpayment will be determined by the Of-
fice in the course of adjudication of the
claim. The official superior and the em-
ployee will be notified of the period of
disability which is approved by the Of-
fice and the official superior may then
require the employee to resolve any over-
payment. a

12. Section 1491(a)(2) of the Tucker Act,
as amended by Pubele 92-415, 86 Stat. 652,
provides in relevant part:

To provide an entire remedy and to com-
plete the relief afforded by the judgment,
the court may, as an incident of and col-
lateral to any such judgment, issue orders
directing restoration to office or posi-
tion, placement in appropriate duty or re-
tirement status, and correction of applic-
able records, and such orders may be issued
to any appropriate official of the United
States. In any case within its jurisdic-
tion, the court shall have the power to

SN

66
remand appropriate matters to any admin-
istrative or executive body of official

with such direction as it may deem proper
and just ***,.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE \

This is a civil pay case supported both by
the Tucker Act's jurisdiction of claims foun-
ded upon an Act of Congress and the jurisdic-
tion of claims founded upon a regulation of
an executive departmente 28 U.S.C. 1491(a)(1).

A substantial change in relief which may
be granted by the Claims Court in civil pay
cases was brought about by the Act of August
29, 1972, 86 Stat. 652, PubeLe 92-415, see
(Appe De )

The petitioner sustained a traumatic in-
jury in the course of employment on July 15,
1981. Filed a claim on CA=1 (Federal Employ-
ee's Notice of Traumatic Injury and Claim for
Continuation of Pay/Compensation)e The em-
ploying agency retained such form in vio-
lation of (20 C.F.R. 10.207(5), charged the
petitioner with being A.‘'/.0.L., during the
45-day entitlement period under 5 U.S.C. 8118

(b) knowing that the petitioner had never

returned to work since the injury, however,

when PATCO went on strike, the employing ag-

ency charged the petition with being A.W.0O.L.,
fired the petitioner on August 25, 1981, dur-
ing those mass firings, then, as the case re-

cord clearly shows, theyfiled the petitioner's

claim with the Department of Labor after the

petitioner was no longer an employee. The

Department of Labor issued its adjudication
on September 30, 1981, approving the petition-
ers claim, and affirming the petitioners
status as an "employee" as set forth under

5 U.S.C. 8101(1)- Thus the petitioner is en-
titled to all rights and benefits guaranteed
by that Act.

The hearing held before the Merit Systems
Protection Board (MSPB) was merely a "fish-
ing trip'', and the discovery process used
clearly shows that all-employees covered by
the 45-day entitlement period under the FECA
were exempt from those mass firings. This
special malice taken against the petitioner
without cause has prevented the petitioner

form pursuing his chosen profession. More-

———————

8.

over, the transcript, which is the official
record of this case, clearly shows that such
testimony by government officials, exe, on
page 217, the F.A.A. official unequivocally
admits not adhearing to the regulations pro-
mulgated by the Secretary of Labor under 20
C.F.R. 102200 et seq.e, however, one will never
know all this took place if the official re-
cord is not reviewed. All evidence presented
before the MSPB, because of its predetermined
decisions was ignorede

Since the petitioner had a right of action
against these agency officials for their ultra
vires acts and special malice , the petitioner
had to delay any judicial action until the
action before the MSPB was completed, mindful
of the well settled rule that only rarely and
in exceptional circumstances is a litigant =
justified in going into court before a final
administrative review has been completede

The MSPB delayed its decision until after
October 1, 1982, whether intentionally or

due to the heavy volume of cases before it

96

nevertheless, the MSPB delayed its decision
until after the newly created United States
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit be-
gan entertaining appeals from them on Oct-
ober 1, 1982, due to the enactment of the
Federal Court's Improvement Act Of 1982 (96
Stat. 25, PubeLe 97-164), and that sudden
Change in the ‘nornal three-tiered judicial
review system.

Prior to the Act, an employee seeking
judicial review of an allegedly improper or
Capricious adverse action must first resort
to the Federal District Court rather than
the appellate route simply because there was
no statute conferring jurisdiction on the
court of appeals to hear’ such cases directly.

This sudden change in our normal three-
tiered judicial review system, whereby ev-
ading the trial courts (district courts)
which have federal question jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. 1331 This by-pass of the district
courts has allowed administrative agencies
with unwritten power which has allowed them

to decide one's innocence or guilt for the

ry

10.

alleged violation of 18 U.S.C. 1918, an of-
fence which can be tried only upon indict-
ment.

Surely no part of the judicial power of
the country was conferred on the MSPB; be-
cause the Constitution expressly vests it "in
one supreme court and such inferior courts as-
the Congress may from time to time ordain
and establish.

The importance of the mein questéion pre-
sented in this petition cannot be overstated,
for it involves the very framework of our
system and the fundmental principles of Am-
erican Liberty.

The legislative history (especially Sen-
ate Report Noe 97-275 U.S.Code Cong. and
Administrative News Peport (April 1982),
makes it clear that the Federal Court's Im-
provement Act was intended "To resolve some
of the myraid administrative and procedural
problems that have impaired the ability of
our Federal Courts." The Federal Court's

Improvement Act was designed to enhence

IT.

citizen access to justice. Not circumvent
the Constitutional guarantees. See (Senate
Report, p 1). :

The United States Claims Court was estab-
lished under Article I, of the Constitution,
Congress has expressly granted jurisdiction
to them over this type of case, and no other
federal court is vested with such jurisdic-
tion.

The petitioner had surely exhausted all
available administrative remedies under the
administrative process, this civil pay case
was filed in the Claims Court under the power
in 28 U.S.C. 1491, as amended by the Act of
August 29, 1972. (ApPe Dw 1 - 9 )e The de-
fendant filed a motion to dismiss for lack
of jurisdiction, after the petitioner filed
a summary judgment. The dilatory tactics
employed by the defendant, which has an-

nounced in open court their failure to pro-

Secute. See, United States v. Amato, 534

F Supp. 1190 (1982) at pe 1193-94 it states;

"the Department admitted the obvious imprac-

—————

12.

ticbility and difficulties in attempting to
prosecute all of the controllers who it be-
lieved had engaged in the strike".

This is the same defendant which has cried
that the Claims Court lacks jurisdiction to
entertain the petitioners claim, which has
brought about this "error in exercise of jur-
isdiction" this error was compounded when the
Claims Court in its opinion, 14% Cle Ct. 661
(1988) at pe 662, they state; "Plaintiff
did not appeal the MSPB's decision to the
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit".
Thus, another error. Reading further on
in the same opinion of the Claims Court, in
the portion aesens. CONCLUSION, they state;
"For the foregoing reasons defendant's motion
is granted and the Clerk of the Court shall
dismiss the complaint. No purpose would be
served by transferring plaintiff's complaint
to the Federal Circuit, since the 30-day
statute of limitations within which an ap-

peal of a MSPB decision must be filed expired

136

long before the instant suit was filed. See
5 U.S.C. 7703(b)( 1)".

Surely the Claims Court knows that its re-
mand powers only exist in cases within its
jurisdiction. Thus, since they admit, no
purpose would be served by transferring the
petitioner complaint back to the Federal Cir-
cuit, jurisdiction must exist. However, be-
cause of the Federal Circuit's intermediate
appellate jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 1295
(a)(3), the opinion of the Claims Court was
appealed, once again sending this case back
before the Federal Circuit which knows that
the Claims Court has made an error.

Rule 47.2(b) of the Court of Appeals for
the Federal Circuit reads as follows:

Assignment of cases to panel will be

made so as to provide each judge with a

representative cross section of the fields

of law within the exclusive jurisdiction
of the court. A subsequent appeal or pet-
ition in a case will to the extent possi-
ble be assigned to the panel that decided
the earlier appeal (s) or petition (Ss).

Thus, two of the judges on the ecarlicr

panel, that decided the case that the Claims

Court denies was appealed to the [Federal Cir-

lhe

cuit, Bodine v. Department of Trans., F.A.A.

_@ Appeal Noe 85-1004, slip opinion ( Fed. Cir.
July 12, 1985) (unpublished),, affirmed the
Opinion of the Claims Court. Such a rule in
the Federal Circuit allowing the same judges
to entertain a subsequent appeal closes the
door to "recusation"', and makes the provi-
Sions under 28 U.S.C. 455 meaningless.

The legislative history (Senate Report
Noe 92-1006, U.S.Code Cong. and Administra-
tive News Report (April 1972) (App. D. )
clearly indicates that the purpose of H. Re
12392 is to allow persons having monetary
claims falling within the jurisdiction of
the Court of Claims (now Claims Court) to
obtain all necessary relief in one action.
This appears to conflict with 28 U.S.C. 1295
(a)(3), which allows the Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit to have appellate
jurisdiction over final decisions of the

Claims Court. As the Senate Judiciary Com-

mittee explained the "primary class of cases

156

where a broader remedy is needed are suits
filed on a money claim by a goverment employee
who alleges that he was illegally discharged.
The criminal process starts aS soon as
one has been accused of crime. There is
absolutely no evidence in the case record to
uphold the petitioners convection of striking
against the Government of the United States
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 1918, especially
when the employer admitted at the administ-
rative hearing that their evidence was cir-
cumstantial, based upon the fact that the
oetishieae was not on duty during the time
of the PATCO strike. Surely they knew that
the petitioner had not returned to work since
the date of the injury which was July 15,
1981. When the PATCO strike occurred on
August 3, 1981, the employing agency admit-
ted at the administrative hearing that the
petitioners claim for the traumatic injury
had not yet been filed by theme It must be

borne in mind that the petitioner gave the

FORM CA=1 to his superior as the records

16,

clearly indicates. They intentionally with-
held that form from the United States Depart-
ment of Labor until after they fired the pet-
itioner on August 25, 1981, and its all in
the case record.

In, Bodine ve U.S., 14 Cl Ct 661, at p.
661, it clearly states:
On July 15, 1981, plaintiff sustained
an injury to his left shoulder while per-
forming his duties as an air traffic con-
troller. He never returned to work.
Never returned to work because the PeALA.
fired the petitioner during the 45-day en-
titlement period under the FECA, 5 U.S.C.
8118. Its obvious that the F.A.A. only
charged the petitioner with being A.W.0O.L.
during the period when they and PATCO were
involved in the strike, conditions beyond
the petitioners controle

The F.A.A. need not prove its criminal,
charge prior to invoking the short-notice

criminal procedure under 5 U.S.C. 75143(b)(1)

(see, Knuckles v Bolger, (1981, CA8 Mo) 654

F2d 25., however, the use of this short-no-

tice period is inappropriate where there is

receiiiiiaiiaiiiiiaaiiiiiaii

17.6

no evidence in the record to show that a
criminal procedure has been brought against

the employee. See, Marsden ve United States

Postal Service (1974, DC Minn) 390 F Supp 329.7
In the case of Embrey v. Hampton, (CA4 Va)
470 F2d 146, a relevant part of that decision
reads:
The Department correctly waited until
after conviction before bringing charges.
Otherwise, Embrey might have claimed that

the Department was violating the presump-
tion that one is innocent until proved

guilty.

Committing the fact-finding functions to
an administrative agency does not in itself
constitute a denial of due process of law,
but, investing adjudicatory functions in an
administrative agency, the constitutional
right to a trial by jury may not be vio-

lated. See, Almon ve. Morgan County, 16

So ed 511.

This Court has said:

An appellate federal court must sat-
isfy not only itself of its own juris-
diction, but also of that of the lower
courts in a case under revieWe See,
Mitchell v Mauer, 1934, 55 S.Ct 162,
293 U.S. 237,2uu.

18.

In 1970, this Court cleared up a good
deal of confussion as to what constitutes a
"criminal case" this Court said:
That a jury trial must be provided when
the penalty for the crime charged would be

imprisonment for longer than six months.
See, Baldwin v New York, 399 U.S. 66..

When this "criminal case" reached the
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit it
was given a civil form, because the only dec-
ision under review in this "criminal case"
was that of an administrative agency. To
give a civil form to a case which is essen-
tially criminal violates all Constitutional
guarantees. See, Burgess v Salmon, 97 U.S.
389 (1878).

The case of United States v Amato, 534

F Suppe 1190 (1982) clearly shows that the
petitioner should have been given a judicial
trial,

Rule 23(a) of the Federal Rules of Crim-

inal Procedure provides:

Cases required to be tried by~jury shall
be so tried unless the defendant waives a
jury trial in writting with the approval of

the Court and the consent of the Govern-
ment.

19,

The record in this case contains no such

waiver by the petitioner, nor consent of the
court and the Government.

The jury trial clause was clearly intended
to protect the accused from oppression by the
Government. See, Singer v United States, 380
U.S. 24, 31 (1965)-

The Court's have recognized that the right

to follow a chosen profession free from un-
reasonable governmental interference comes
within the "liberty" and (property) concept
of the Fifth Amendment. See, United States

Ve Robel, 389 U.S. 258; Green v McElroy, 360
U.S. 474, 79 S Ct. 1400.

For the Government to take adverse action
against the petitioner during a period cov-
ered by the provisions of the Federal Em=
ployees' Compensation Act, 5 U.S.C. 8101 et
sege, and the special provisions contained %
under 20 C.F.R. 10.200 et seqe, Simply be-
cause of his membership in a labor organiza-

tion is clearly an improper infringment on

the right to free association guaranteed by

ee

20.

the First Amendment. See, American Fed-

eration of State, County, etc., v. Woodward

(CA8 Neb) 406 F2d 137.

A complaint alleging that a former fed-
oval..subenes was discharged without cause,
wrongfully, illegally, and maliciously has
been held to state a cause of action and
gives the Court of Claims jurisdiction to -
decide the case on the merits. See, Gaasen
ve United States, 111 Ct Cl 478, 78 F Supp
126.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The petitioner has pointed out that our
system controlled by fallible men can err.
Such errors have allowed the system to send
an innocent citizen to his professional death
without ever being inside of a court that has
criminal jurisdiction, and a new way to cir-
cumvent the constitutional guarantees. This
departure from the accepted and usual course
of judicial proceedings as to call for an ex-
ercise of this Court's power of supervision.

Tn common law countries there is no such

216

procedure as in some other nations, such as
France, whereby a single proceeding can cover
civil libility and criminal prosecutions merg-
ed into a single proceeding known as adhesion,
which removes the necessity of two separate
trials. However, in this country two separ-
ate actions must be brought, independent of
each other. In American constitutional law,
any legislative act that inflicts punishment
on designated individuals without a judicial
trial is a "bill of attainder" prohibited by
Article I, section 9.

Those who wrote our Constitution well knew
the danger inherent in special acts which take
away the life, liberty, and property of part-
icular named persons, because the government
thinks them guilty of conduct which deserves
punishment. They intended to safeguard the
people of this country from punishment with-
cut trial by duly constituted courtse Thus,
the case record clearly shows that one of the

plainest Constitutional provisions was, there-

fore infringed. All persons accused of a

226

crime, are guaranteed the inestimable pric
Vilage of trial by jury.

Where the restriction of a Constitutional
right is apparent this Court has been disposed

to grant review and to place a strick burden

on those seeking to justify the constitutional

restriction. See, United States ve Lovett,
328 U.S. 303, 66 S Ct. 1073 (1946).
CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari
Should be granted.

ectfully submitted,

ull, .

onald Bodine

Pro Se

100 Washington Street
Apt.e, 3G

Hempstead, lew York 11550
(516) 483-3346

MARCH 20, 1989

Note: This opinion has not been prepared
for publication in a printed volume because

it does not add significantly to the body of
law and is not of widespread lesal interest.

It is a public recorde It is not citable as
precedent. The decision will appear in tables
published periodically.

United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

88-1459

DONALD BODINE,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Ve

THE UNITED STATES,
Defendant—Appellee.

DECIDED: December 19, 1988

Before FRIEDMAN, NIES and ARCHER, Circuit
Judges.

PER. CURIAM.

The order of the United States Claims
Court, 14 Cle Ct. 661 (1988), dismissing
appellant's complaint for lack of juris-

diction is affirmed.

Appellant's brief is largely an argu-
ment that his removal by the Federal Avia-
tion Administration for having participated

in the 1981 strike by the Professional Air

Traffic Controllers Organization against the

government, and the subsequent proceedings

Appendix - A -=1

contesting that removal before the Merit ,

Systems Protection Board (MSPB), were ''crim-
inal in nature."" This argument is totally
without merit and forms no basis for revers-
ing the dismissal order of the “laims Court.
Moreover, the MSPB proceeding complained of
resulted in a final decision in 1985 up=

holding appellant's removal, Bodine v. De-

partment of Transpe, F.A.A., Noe lYN75281

FO82, 16 M.S.P.R. 711 (1985), which was af-

firmed on appeal to this court, Bodine v.

Department of Transpe, FAA. Appeal !'o.

85-1004, slip opinion (Fed. Cir. July 12,
1985) (unpublished). Appellant's other
arguments were fully considered by the Claims
Court, and we affirm on the basis of the
decision of Judge Andewelt, filed April

27, 1988.

In the United States Claims Court
(Filed: April 27, 1988)

HHHRHHRHRHH RHR HH HHH HEHEHE
Civilian pay; ¢cha-
llenge of termin-
ation of employ-
ment for -partici-
pation in air tra-
ffic controllers'
strike; lack of
jurisdiction under
Federal Employees'
Compensation Act,
OWCP Regulations,
various Constitu-
tional provisions,
and the Back Pay
Act; failure to
pursue remedy un-
der Civil Service
Reform Act of 1978.

DONALD BODINE,
Plaintiff,

Ve

THE UNITED STATES,
Defendant.

HHH HKHEKEHRKEKHKHHEHKHKHKKHEE

pT ttt ttt tt reer e rs. fet |

Donald Bodine, Hempstead, lew York, pro Se.

Hillary A. Stern, with whom were Assis-
tant Attorney General John R, Bolton, David
M. Cohen, Director, and Robert A. Reutershan,
Assistant Director, Washington, D.C., for
defendant. Joan Johnson, Federal Aviation
Administration, of counsel.

ORDER
ANDEWELT, Judge.

In this civilian pay case, plaintiff, Donald
Bodine, appearing pro se, seeks reinstate-
ment and back as a result of the Federal Avi-
ation Administration's (FAA) termination of

Appendix - B-1

|

his employment as an air traffic controller.
Plaintiff was removed from his position on
August 25, 1981, for having participated in
an illegal strike by the Professional Air Tra-
ffic Controllers Organization (PATCO) against
the Government of the United States. Plaintiff
alicken that the termination of his employment.
by the FAA and the upholding of that action by
the Merit Systems Protection Board (MSPB) vio-
lated a series of statutory regulatory, and
Constitutional provisions, including 5 U.S.C.
8101 et seq. (1982) (popularly known as the
Federal Fmployees' Compensation Act (FECA).

The case is presently before the Court on
defendant's motion to dismiss for lack of
jurisdiction. For the reasons set forth here-
in, defendant's wennen is granted and the
complaint shall be dismissed.

Facts 1/

On July 15, 1981, plaintiff sustained an

injury to his left shoulder while performing

his duties as an air traffic controller.

B=2

:
3
“”
¥
a
5
5

He never returned to work. On July 18, 1981,
pursuant to 5 U.S.C. 8118 (the "continuation
of pay" provisions of FECA, discussed infra),
plaintiff filed a Form CA-1, "Federal Employ-
ee's Notice of Traumatic Injury and Claim

for Continuation of Pay/Compensation," with
the Office of ‘Yorkers' Compensation Programs
of the Department of Labor (OWCP). 2/ On or
about July 23, 1981, pursuant to OWCP Reg-
ulation 10.203, 20 C.F.R. 10.203, the FAA
controverted plaintiff's claim for continua-
tion of pay by completing the indicated por-

tion on the Form CA=1.

1/ For purposes of ruling on defendant's
motion to dismiss, the facts alleged in the
complaint are assumed to be true. In addit-=
ion, the Court relies upon undisputed facts
adduced from materials filed by the parties
in connection with their briefs.

2/ The OWCP was established by the Assis-
tant Secretary of Labor for Employment Stand-
ards, by the authority vested in him by the
Secretary of Labor. See O'/CP Regulation 1.1,
(1981). In order to commence a continuation
of pay claim, an injured employee must pro-
vide his or her official superior with no-
tice of the injury on a Form CA=-1 within

two working days after the injury. See OWCP
Regulation 10.209(a), 20 C.F.R. 10.209(a).

Te D

On August 5, 1981, PATCO went on strike. .
The FAA scheduled plaintiff to work during
the strike, but he failed to report for
duty. On August 13, 1981, the FAA sent
plaintiff a letter notifying him of pro-
posed action to remove him from his posi-
tion for (1) unauthorized absence and (2)
participation in a strike against the Gov-
ernment of the United States in violation of
5 U.S.C. 7311 and 18 U.S.C. 1918. Plaintiff
was removed from his position on August 25,
1981, less than 45 days after he filed his
Claim for continuation of pay.

Plaintiff then challenged the actions of
the FAA on two fronts, pursuing his claim for
continuation of pay before the OWCP, and ap-
pealing the removal action to the MSPB. As
to plaintiff's claim for continuation of pay,
on September 30, 1981, the O'JCP made the fol-
lowing determination:

The facts of the injury and employment

Support the employee's contention that

he/she was a Federal employee who sustain-

ed a traumatic disabling injury in the per-
formance of duty. You should, therefore,

Bad

eee

continue his/her pay for the period of
disability 7/16/81 through 7/22/81.

Contending that he was entitled to pay for
periods beyond July 22, 1981, plaintiff
sought review of the O"lCP finding within
the Department of Labor, but, at each stage,
the original finding was uvheld. Pursuant
to the OWCP finding, the FAA continued
plaintiff's pay only through July 22, 1981.
Plaintiff's appeal of the removal action
to the MSPB was also unsuccessful. After
‘conducting an evidentiary hearing, the MSPB
upheld the removal action and found, inter
alia, that plaintiff had participated in the
PATCO strike in violation of the criminal
statutes cited by the FAA in its notice of

proposed removal actione Bodine ve Dep't

of Transp., FAA, Noe YO75281FO082 slip op.

(MSPB Dec. 3, 1982), appeal dismissed,

16 M.S.P.R. 711 (1985) (copy attached in
Appendix). In its opinion, the MSPB stated:

Despite a plethora of argument over the
techical (sic) requirements for contin-
uation of pay, including (plaintiff's)
charges of conspiracy, perjury, and
other alleged government vrocedural

B=5

misconduct directed at him, what emerged
from the evidence was not a scintilla

of proof that (plaintiff) was, in fact,

in any way or for any reason physically

disabled on August 5, 1981.

Slip ope at 3.

Plaintiff did not appeal the MSPB's
decision to the Court of Appeals for the Fed-
eral Circuit. Nearly four years after that
decision, on July 13, 1987, plaintiff filed
suit in this Court. In his complaint, plain-
tiff contends that his removal from the FAA
and the MSPB's handling of his appeal involv-
ed violations of (1) the "continuation of pay"
provisions of FECA, 5 U.S.C. 8118, and the
related O'YCP Regulations, 20 C.F.R. 10.200
et seq., (2) article III, section 2, clause 3,
and the first and fifth amendments to the Con-
stitution; and (3) the Back Pay Act, 5 U.S.C.
5596 (1982). 3e-/ Defendant moved to dismiss
the complaint for lack of jurisdiction on

September 11, 1987. 4/

3/ Plaintiff refers to the Back Pay Act in

his prayer for relief.
B=6

———————

Nae eat ee s Kat) -
PRETEEN RD a ET ean RO BS nd a Ge BPS

ST ake aS Sate fret atin eR

Er uges te

Discussion

Plaintiff contends that his removal within

45 days of the filing of his claim for con-
tinuation of pay was inconsistent with the
controlling vrovisions in FECA and, in ad-
dition, that the MSPB's review of his removal
was flawed in numerous respects. 5/ For the
reasons explained below, however, this Court
does not have jurisdiction to entertain plain-
tiff's suit. Pursuant to the Civil Service Re-
form Act of 1978 (CSRA), Pub. Le 95-454, 92
Stat. 1111 et seqe, (codified as amended in
in various sections of 5 U.S.C. (1982 & Supp.
IV), the vroper forum for judicial review of
the FAA's removal action and the MSPB's af-
firmance thereof is the Court of Appeals for
the Federal Circuit.

In United States v. Fausto, 108 S. Ct.

668 (1988), the Supreme Court stated that,

4/ After filing an opposition to defendant's
motion, plaintiff moved for summary judgment.
Proceedings with respect to plaintiff's sum-
mary judgment motion were suspended pending
resolution of the jurisdictional sufficiency

of the complaint.

when enacting the CSRA, COngress intended to
provide ‘an integrated scheme of administra-
tive and judicial review (of adverse personnel
actions taken against federal employees), de-
Signed to balance the legitimate interest of
various categories of federal employees with
the needs of sound and efficient administra
tions" Id. at 672. That intergrated scheme
permitted plaintiff to contest his removal by
the FAA before the MSPB pursuant to 5 U.S.C.
7702, which he did, and to appeal any adverse
MSPB decision to the Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit, which he failed to do. The
CSRA gives the Federal Circuit exclusive jur-
—_,—isdiction in this regard and does not en-

vision any review by the Claims Court. See

5 U.S.C. 7703(b)(1)- 6/ 2

5/ Plaintiff claims, inter alia, that the

FAA did not produce sufficient evidence at

the MSPB hearing to prove its charges against
him; that the FAA officials who prepared the
the agency's response controverting his FECA
Claim admitted at the hearing that they failed
to follow the applicable O'WCP regulations; that
the MSPB lacked jurisdiction to rule on the
criminal charges made by the FAA against the
striking air traffic controllers; and that,

<8

—

Plaintiff contends, however, that this
action is not brought under the CSRA but,
rather, is brought under the FECA, the re-
lated O'JCP regulations, various provisions of
the Constitution, and the Back Pay Act. Plain-
tiff contends, in effect, that notwithstanding
Congress! enactment of the CSRA, these authori-
ties provide this Court with jurisdiction
under the Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. 1491, to con-
Sider his claim. But examination of the auth-
orties upon which plaintiff relies reveals
that they do not confer jurisdiction upon this
Courte

In United States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 592

392 (1976), the_Supreme Court described—tke-
metes and bounds of the jurisdiction of this

Court's predecessor, the Court of Claims,

consequentely,. the MSPB decision and the
underlying FAA removal action are null and
void and violative of his constitutional ~
rights to be tried by a jury for alleged
criminal conduct, to freedom of speech, and
due vrocess of law.

6/ 5 U.S.C. 7703, in pertinent part, provides:

77035-e Judicial review of decisions the
Merit Systems Protection Boarde

* % 4% :
Footnote Continued

*

ace ieiiaiiaiaaaiad

4

under the Tucker Act. 7/ The resultant prin-
ciples are well settled. In this Court, as
im any other court, the United States, as

- sovereign, is immune from suit except to the
extent that it consents to be sued. Ide at
399. Such consents to suit, or waiver of
sovereign immunity, ''cannot be implied but
must be unequivocally expressed."' Id. (quot-
ing United States ve. Kink, 395 U.S. 1, 4
(1969)). A grant of a right to sue the Gov-.
ernment for money damages must be made "with
specificity"; the proper inquiry is whether
the applicable Constitutional provision,

statute, or regulation: "can fairly be inter-

6/ Footnote Continued

(b)(1) (A) petition to review a final
order or final decision of the Board shall
be filed in the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Federal Circuit. Notwithstand-
ing any other provisions of law, any petition
for review must be filed within 30 days after
the date the petitioner received notice of the
final order or decision of the Board.

?/ The Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. 1491, confers
jurisdiction upon this Court to render judg-
ment upon any claim against the United
States that is ''founded either upon the Con-
stitution, or any Act of Congress, or any
regulation of an executive department, or

Be10

Be aia ete ls ALY Bo eS HS

Shh OR PITT Bel becuase aon

¥
4
3

preted as mandating compensation by the

Federal Government for damages sustained."

Testan, 424 U.S. at 400 (quoting Hastport
S.S. Corn. ve United States, 178 Ct. Cl. 599,

607, 372 Fe 2d 1002, 1009 (1967)). The
Tucker Act itself is not such a statute; it
is only jurisdictional and, thus, "does not
create any substantive right enforceable
against the United States for money damages."
Testan, 424 U.S. at 398.

When evaluated under the controlling
Testan standards, none of the authorities
Cited in the complaint provide jurisdiction
in this Court over plaintiff's claims. First,
none of the Constitutional provisions in
question=--article III, section 2, clause 2
(entitling an individual accused of a crime
to a trial by jury), the first amendment
(providing for freedom of speech), and the
due process clause of the fifth amendment--

even mention, much less mandate, payment

7/ Footnote Continued

for liquidated or unliquidated damages in
cases not sounding in tort."

Be11

of money by the Government. See §ikins v.
United States, 229 Ct. Cl. 607, 608 (1981);

Rosano ve United States, 9 Cle Cte 137, 142

(1985), aff'd, 800 F. 2d 1126, cert. denied,

107 Se Cte 1350 (1987) See also Zastport
Steamship, 178 Ct. Cle at 605-07, 372 F. 2d

at 1007- Next, as to the Sack Fay Act, the
Supreme Court held in Fausto that, after en-
actment of the CSRA, this Court did not have
jurisdiction under the Back Pay Act to re-
view an adverse agency personnel action that
may give rise to a claim for back pay. 108
Se Cte at 67677.

. Finally, as to FECA and the related reg-
ulations, plaintiff would interpret these
provisions as entitling an employee who has
filed a work-related injury claim to a con-
tinuation of pay for a period of 45 days
following the injury or, at a minimum, to
work during that period. Plaintiff's pro-
posed interpretation of the statute appears

incorrect. 8/ But even if plaintiff's inter-

8/ 5 U.S.C. 8118, in pertinent vart, pro-

Bete

Eee St eee ee ray Leow ce we lpia Ait dd Ned w BOA hcl SA anata

oot a

4 OO Tanase.
.

eta ddan ee

pretation were correct, FRCA does not contain

a waiver of sovereign immunity that would
permit a suit against the Government for mone-
tary damages in instances where the Secretary
of Jabor denied a continuation claim.
5 U.S.C. 8118 provides:
"(t)he action of the Secretary or his
designee in allowing or denying a pay-
ment under this subchapter is--

(1) final and conclusive for all
purposes and with respect to all
questions of law and fact; and

(2) not subject to review by another
official of the United States or
by a court by mandamus or otherwise.

8/ Footnote Continued
vides:

(a) The United States shall authorize

the continuation of pay of an employee ee.
who has filed a claim for a period of wage
loss due to a traumatic injury eee.

(b) Continuation of pay under this
Subchapter shall be furnished--

(1) without a brealt in time unless
controverted under the regulation
of tne Secretary;

(2) for a period not to exceed 45 days

x % ¥% ¢ ¥

oc

(d) if a claim under subchanter (a) is
denied by the Secretary, payments under
this section shall, at the ontion of the

P= 1 2

Hence, rather than evincin, un intention vo
permit lawsuits challenging adverse decisions
of the Secretary of Labor on continuation of
pay claims, FECA specifically precludes any
such judicial review.

Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, defendant's
motion is granted and the Clerk of the Court
Shall dismiss the complaint. No purpose
would be served by transferring plaintiff's

complaint to the Federal Circuit, since the

8/ Footnote Continued

employee, be charged to sick or annual
Leavecece

Thus, contrary to plaintiff's surpestion,
Section 8118(b)(2) does not guarantee con-
tinuation of pay for 45 days after the injury.
Rather, in permitting the Secretary of Iabor
to authorize continuation of pay for "a period
not to exceed 45 days,'' the statute merely
creates an initial ceiling on continuation’of
pay, not a floor. Similarly, Section 8118(d)
_ does not entitle an employee to use sick or
annual leave in situations where payments are
made and the Secretary of J.abor subsequently
denies the employee's claim for continua-

tion of pay. See OCP Regulation 10. 210(b),
20 C.F.R. 10.210(b). Here, no continuation
payments were made for the period after July
22, 1981, and, hence, the authorization to

use sick or annual leave in Section 8118(d)

is inapplicable.

R-14 \

30-day statute of limitations within which an

apneal of a MSPB decision must be filed ex-

pired long before the instant suit was filed.

10 aches Ai DC aS OP cat a

See 5 1.S.C. 7703(b)(1)

IT IS SO ORDERED

ROGER B. ANDEWETT
Judge

B-15

Note: This Order has not been prepared

for publication in a printed volume because
it does not add significantly to the body of
law and is not of widespread legal interest.

It is a public record. It is not citable as
precedent. ,

United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

88-1459

DONALD BODINE,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Ve

THE UNITED STATES,
Defendant-Appellee.

Before FRIEDMAN, NIES and ARCHER, Circuit
Judge *

ORDER
A petition for rehearing having been
filed in this case, UPON CONSIDERA-
TION THEREOF, it is
ORDERED that the petition for rehear-
ing be, and same hereby is, denied.

FOR THE COURT

January 25, 1989

cc: Donald Bodine Francis X Gindhart
Hillary Ae Stern Clerk

FILED
U.S: COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL’ CIRCUIT

JAN 25 1989

Appendix - C-1

ee. eee

aoesieieemitiennenent

COURT OF CLAIMS-JUDGMENTS FOR COMPENSATION
PeL. 92-415,
House Report (Judiciary Committee) No.
92-1023, Apre 26, 1972 (To accompany
H.R. 12392)
Senate Report (Judiciary Committee) No.

92-1006, Auge 16, 1972 (To accompany

H.R. 123592)
Conge Record Vole 118 (1972)

DATES OF CONSIDERATION AND PASSAGE
House May 1, 1972
Senate August 18, 1972
The Senate Report is set out.
_ SENATE REPORT NO.. 92-1066
The Committee on the Judiciary, to which was
referred the bill (H.R. 12392) to amend sec-
tion 1491 of title 28, of-the United States

Code, to authorize the Court of Claims to

——-~SS———

implement its judgments for compensation,

enter aire

having considered the same, reports favor-

ably thereon without amendment and recommends

the bill do pass.

Purpose

The purpose of H.R. 12392, is to allow

we kee ee iinet onde
ie abiidy With aidan AN BAIR SSC OY

persons having monetary claims falling with-

D-1

he | does not extend the class of cases

wD

court of Claims has jurisdic-

tion. ne jurisdiction of the Court of Claims

,c hh oh a
—_ a

ntiy limited by 28 U.S.C. 1491 to ace
tions on monetary claims. The bill would
provide an entire remedy which would complete
the relief afforded by the judgment as an in-
cident of and collateral to any judgment it
may now render. It is further provided that
in any case within its jurisdiction, the.
court Shall have the power to remand appro-
priate matters to any administrative or ex-
ecutive body or official with such direction
as it may deem proper and juste. Section 2 of
the bill provides that the language added by
the bill will be applicable to judicial pro-
ceedings pending on or instituted after the
date of its enactment.
Statement
The Court of Claims currently has juris-

diction to render judgments upon claims ag-

ainst the United States founded either upon
D-2

.

the Constitution, Federal Statutes, regula-

tions of executive departments, express or

implied contracts with the United States,

or claims for liquidated or unliquidated
damages in cases not sounding in tort. The
power of the Court of Claims has been limit-
| ed in the past to rendering money judgments.
The interpretation of section 1491, title 28,
United States Code, has excluded any collat-

eral remedy even though a number of classes

of cases, composing a substantial portion of
the Court of Claims docket, are subject to
the need for collateral remedies in addition
to a money judgment.

‘The Court of Claims in order to provide
an entire remedy and complete the relief af-
forded by a judgment will be authorized to
issue orders:

(1) Directing restoration to office or
position; '
(2) Placement in appropriate duty or

retirement status; and

(3) For the correction of applicable
records.

In addition, H.R. 12392 further vests in

D=>

in the Court of Claims the general power to

remand appropriate matters to any administra-
tive or executive body or official with such

direction as is deemed proper and just.

The Administrative Office of the U.S.
Courts advised that H.R. 12392 has the ap-
proval of the Judicial Conference of the
United States primarily because it was ident-
ical to S. 1704 which was passed by the Sen-

ate in the 90th Congress. Hearings on the

bill were held by the House Judiciary on
March 1, 1972. During those hearings, the
Department of Justice raised some objections

fearing that the language of the bill would

broaden the jurisdiction of the Court of

Claims. Accordingly, an amendment was ag-

reed upon during the House consideration of
the bill and the Department of Justice ac-
cepts the final form of the bill. A review
of the hearing record establishes the need
for this remedial legislation.

The primary class of cases where a broader

remedy is needed are suits filed on a money

D-4

claim by a Government employee who alleges
that he was illegally discharged. At pre-
sent, if the court finds that the employee
was wrongfully discharged, it can award him
back pay but it cannot order him reinstated
to his former position. There are cases
where administrative agencies refused to re-
instate a wrongfully discharged employee,
and it is therefore necessary for him to
file an additional suit in a Federal dis-
trict court to obtain reinstatement.

A second important classification where
the present limits on the remedies available
in the Court of Claims imposes unwarranted
burdens on the litigant is in cases involv-
ing military personnel. These generally
are monetary claims which are based on re-=
tirement pay or retirement in proper rank.
Some of the cases are also based on an im-
proper dismissal from the service. In those
cases, the Court of Claims can grant a mone-
tary judgment but cannot alter the service-
man's military status. This bill would per-

mit the court to grant such military person-

“nel relief collateral to and consistent with

D-5

the judgment.

The bill does not extend the class of
Cases over which the Court of Claims now has
jurisdiction. As has been stated, when the
Court of Claims does have jurisdiction over
any cases before it, the bill will enable
the Court of Claims to grant all necessary
relief in one action. Accordingly, the pro-
vision of the bill which authorizes the Court
of Claims to issue orders, as an incident of
and collateral to its monetary judgment, dir-
ecting placement in appropriate duty status
is not intended to have any effect on the fin-
ality provision of 10 U.S.C. 876, which sets
forth the conclusive nature of the proceed-
ings, fincings, and sentences of courts-
martial.

Another significant class of cases illus-
trating a very cumbersome aspect of litiga-
tion in the Court of Claims is in suits
arising under the "dispute'' clause of Govern-
ment contracts. This clause, which is re-
quired in all Government contracts, gives

the Government contracting officer the right

to render a decision on all disputes of fact.
D-6

;

-

His decision is final unless the contractor
appeals to a Board of Contract Appeals.

The Supreme Court has held that in appeals
from contract review board decisions, the
Court of Claims is bound by the administra-
tive record as to findings of fact unless

arbitrary or not supported by substantial

‘evidence. Morrison-Knudsen Company v. U.S.,

170 Ct. Cl. 797, 345 F2a 853 (1965); U.S. va
Utah Construction & Mining Company, 384 U.S.
394 (1966); U.S. ve Anthony Grace & Sons,
Ince, 384 U.S. 42k (1966); and U.S. ve Carlo
Bianchi & Company, 373 U.S. 709 (1963).
Even. in those contract cases in which the
record is incomplete, the Court of Claims has
held that it does not have the power to re-
mand, but may only suspend proceedings pend-
ing further action by the administrative
boards. But the administrative boards can-
not be compeiled to review or reconsider
cases which have been suspended by the Court
of Claims. Anthoney Grace & Sons, INc Ve
UeS., (170Ct. Cle 688,694) 345 F2d 808, 812

(1965). Those contract cases which have been

D=7

suspended by the Court of Claims pending

further action by the administrative boards
in some instances have been suspended for
excesSively long periods of time and some
cases have never been fully resolved. These
unnecessary delays are undesirable as they
preclude the Court of Claims from granting
a.speedy review of appeals in contract cases.
The enactment of H.R. 12393 would enable the
Court of Claims to exercise a remand power
in such cases which would thereby provide
the court with a necessary useful tool for
effective judicial administration. It is
the opinion of this committee that H.R.
12392 provide a sound means for expediting
litigation brought before the Court of Claims.
It will relieve litigants from unwarranted
inconvenience and expense and relieve the
court system from a proliferation of suits
by permitting complete relief in a single
actione

It is the conclusion of the committee

that enactment of this bill would improve

D=-8

the administration of justice in the Court

of Claims by simplifying the procedure and
reducing the costs incurred in litigation
and in the pursuit of administrative reme-
dies. It is recommended that the bill be
considered favorablye
Correspondence
The approval of the Administrative Office

cf the U.S. Courts the Office of the Attorney
General of the United States, and Wilson
Cowen, Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of
Claims is evidenced by correspondence in-
cluded in the House report which is a fol-
lows:

Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts,

Washington, D.C.e, February
i ae

N=9

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify under penalty of perjury that
on this 3rd day of April, 1989, I caused to
be placed in the United States Mail (first-
class, postage prepaid) two (2) copies of
"PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI" addressed
as follows:

Solicitor General,

Department of Justice,
Washington, D.C. 20530

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1169%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
