# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — O'Carroll v. Chaparral Airlines, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1115%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 490 U.S. 1106

## Text

t ~—— >. ——

| Supreme Court, U.S,

88-1582 « | FILED

| MAR 25 1968

} 5 JOSEPH F. SFANION, JR,
= CLERK
wh -

NO.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

MELVIN O’CARROLL,
Petitioner

V.

CHAPARRAL AIRLINES, INC.,
Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MARCH H. CoOFFIELD

SEALE, STOVER, COFFIELD,
GATLIN & BISBEY

P. O. Box 480

Jasper, Texas 75951

(409) 384-3463

Counsel for Petitioner,
Melvin O’Carroll

Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc. — 8748 Westpark — Houston, Texas 77063 — 789-2000

I

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER AN AIRLINE PASSENGER’S STATE
BASED REMEDY FOR COMMON LAW NEGLI
GENCE AGAINST AN AIRLINE IS FEDERALLY
PRE-EMPTED BY THE FEDERAL AVIATION ACT,
49 US.C.A. 3 1301, ET SEQ. (SEE ESPECIALLY:
49 US.C.A. §§ 1305, 1506.)

Il

PARTIES TO THIS PROCEEDING

The names of the parties to this proceeding are con

tained in the case caption

NO.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

MELVIN O’CARROLL,
Petitioner
Vv.

CHAPARRAL AIRLINES, INC..
Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Melvin O’Carroll, prays that a Writ of
Certiorari issue to review the Judgment of the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals in this case.

OPINION AND DECISION IN THE
COURT OF APPEALS

The Opinion (863 F.2d 11) and Judgment of the
Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals, together with the Opinion
and Order denying Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing,
are printed in the Appendix.

2

JURISDICTION

The Trial Court’s jurisdiction of this case arises from
28 U.S.C.A. § 1322. The Court of Appeals’ jurisdiction
is based on 28 U.S.C.A. § 1291.

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.A.
§ 1254. The Judgment of the Fifth Circuit Court of
Appeals was entered on January 12, 1989. Petitioner’s
Petition for Rehearing was denied on February 9, 1989.
This Petition is timely filed pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A.
§ 2101(c) and Rule 20, U.S.S.C.R.

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

49 U.S.C.A. § 1305 provides as follows:
“(a) PREEMPTION

“(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of
this subsection, no State or political subdivision
thereof and no interstate agency or other political
agency of two or more States shall enact or enforce
any law, rule, regulation, standard, or other pro-
vision having the force and effect of law relating
to rates, routes, or services of any air carrier having
authority under subchapter IV of this chapter to
provide air transportation.

“(2) Except with respect to air transportation
(other than charter air transportation) provided
pursuant to a certificate issued by the Board under
section 1371 of this title, the provisions of paragraph
(1) of this subsection shall not apply to any trans-
portation by air of persons, property, or mail con-
ducted wholly within the State of Alaska.

“(b) PROPRIETARY POWERS AND RIGHTS

“(1) Nothing in subsection (a) of this section
shall be construed to limit the authority of any

re

State or political subdivision thereof or any inter-
state agency or other political agency of two or
more States as the owner or operator of an airport
served by any air carrier certificated by the Board
to exercise its proprietary powers and rights.

“(2) Any aircraft operated between points in the
same State (other than the State of Hawaii) which
in the course of such operation crosses a boundary
between two States, or between the United States
and any other country, or between a State and the
beginning of the territorial waters of the United
States, shall not, by reason of crossing such bound-
ary, be considered to be operating in interstate or
overseas air transportation.

“(c) EXISTING STATE AUTHORITY

“When any intrastate air carrier which on August
|, 1977, was operating primarily in intrastate air
transportation regulated by a State receives the au-
thority to provide interstate air transportation, any
authority received from such State shall be con-
sidered to be a part of its authority to provide air
transportation received from the Board under sub-
chapter IV of this chapter, until modified. suspended,
amended or terminated as provided under such sub-
chapter.

“(d) DEFINITION

“For purposes of this section, the term ‘State’
means any State, the District of Columbia. the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Commonwealth
of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, the Virgin
Islands, and any territory or possession of the
United States.”

(Pub.L. 85-726, Title I, § 105, as added Pub.
95-504, § 4(a), Oct. 24, 1978, 92 Stat. 1708. and
amended Pub.L. 98-443, $9(u), Oct. 4. 1984.
98 Stat. 1709.)

Ss

4

49 U.S.C.A. § 1506 provides as follows:

“Nothing contained in this chapter shall in any
way abridge or alter the remedies now existing at
common law or by statute, but the provisions of
this chapter are in addition to such remedies.”

(Pub.L. 85-726, Title XI, § 1106, Aug. 23, 1958,
72 Stat. 798.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a suit under Texas common law by Melvin
O’Carroli (O’Carroll), a passenger, against Chaparral
Airlines, Inc. (Chaparral), a common carrier, for neg-
ligence occurring on September 14, 1986, at Dallas-Fort
Worth Airport (DFW) and the damages proximately
caused thereby.

O’Carroll contends that Chaparral had a duty under
Texas common law to exercise a high degree of care
toward him in view of the passenger-carrier relationship
that existed on the occasion in question. O’Carroll further
contends that that duty was breached by Chaparral and
its crew when:

(1) they accused O’Carroll of having an invalid ticket
when in fact the ticket was admittedly valid;

(2) they accused O’Carroll of intoxication without
justification; and,

(3) they had O’Carroll removed from the aircraft,
arrested and jailed by airport police.

Finally, O’Carroll contends that the Texas common
law under which this suit was filed and tried was not
pre-empted by 49 U.S.C.A. § 1305. There is a complete

5

absence of any clear indication of Congressional intent
to pre-empt the common law of the various states by
such section. In addition, the provisions of 49 U.S.C.A.
§ 1506 clearly preserve O’Carroll’s common law remedies.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF THE WRIT

As part of the “Federal Aviation Act of 1958,”
Congress enacted 49 U.S.C.A. § 1506, entitled “Remedies
Not Exclusive,” and quoted above. Of course. the refer-
ences in this Section, as set forth in U.S.C.A.. to “chapter”
include the entire Federal Aviation Act, as shown by
the language of the Act as passed in 1958.

“REMEDIES NOT EXCLUSIVE

“Sec. 1106. Nothing contained in this Act shall in
any way abridge or alter the remedies now existing
at common law or by statute, but the provisions
of this Act are in addition to such remedies.”

(Public Law 85-726, Sec. 1106), U.S. Code Cong.
and Ad. News (1958) at p. 931.

The contention that the Federal Aviation Act pre-
empts state-based common law actions by passengers for
| airline negligence arises from the addition of § 1305
(quoted above) in the 1978 amendments to the Act.

However, § 1506 has not been repealed or amended
since 1958.

It is submitted that the retention of § 1506, coupled
with the complete absence of any stated Congressional
intention that § 1305 pre-empts all state-based common
law actions, indicate that such common law actions have
not been pre-empted.

a

6

The effect of § 1506 has been assessed by this Court
in Nader v. Alleghany Airlines, Inc., 426 U.S. 290
(1976). In Nader, this Court found that there was no
“absolute inconsistency” or “irreconcilable conflict” be-
tween a common law tort action for fraudulent mis-
representation by an air carrier (overbooking) and 49
U.S.C.A. § 1381. That Section gives authority to the
Board to investigate and decide cases of “unfair or
deceptive practices or unfair methods of competition”
by air carriers and ticket agents. Nader’s complaint
asserted a common law claim for damages arising out of
“deceptive practices” by Alleghany, as well as a statutory
claim. 426 U.S. at p. 295. The Court noted, in response
to the pre-emption defense made by the carrier, that:

Under the circumstances, the common-law
action and the Statute are not ‘absolutely inconsis-
tent’ and may co-exist as contemplated by § (1506).

‘In sum, § (1381) confers upon the Board a new
and powerful weapon against unfair and deceptive
practices that injure the public. But it does not
represent the only, or best, response to all chal-
lenged carrier actions that result in private wrongs.”
426 U.S. at pp. 300, 303 (Insertions and Emphasis
Added).

The action asserted here, and the remedy sought by
O’Carroll, are “private” in nature. The events of Sep-
tember 14, 1986, directly affected and damaged O’Car-
roll’s “private interests.” Those interests are protected
by Texas common law which imposes a duty on common
carriers, such as Chaparral, to exercise a high degree
of care toward their passengers.

7

See, also: Manfredonia vy. American Airlines, Inc.,
416 N.Y.S. 2d 286 (Ct. App., 1979) at p. 290; Lefko-
witz v. Daro Chartours, Inc., 422 N.Y.S. 2d 146 (Ct.
App., 1979) at p. 148; American Express Co. vy. Teitel,
464 N.Y.S. 2d 947 (N.Y. Civ. Ct.. 1983) at pp. 950,
951; Brunwasser v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 541 F.
Supp. 1338 (W.D., Pa., 1982) at pp. 1356, 1356;
Porter v. Southeastern Aviation, Inc., 191 F. Supp. 42
(M.D., Tenn., 1961) at p. 43: and, In Re Air Crash
Disaster, 635 F.2d 67 (2d Cir., 1980) at pp. 74-76.

The basic provisions of 49 U.S.C.A. § 1305 prohibit
State or agency enactment and enforcement of laws. rules.
regulations, standards or other provisions relating to
rates, routes or services. Undoubtedly, Congress could
and would have included “common law actions for
negligence” in this list of prohibitions if that were what
it intended. Obviously, it did not intend to pre-empt
such actions, but sought only to prohibit the states or
other Federal agencies from attempting to regulate air-
lines as to their “rates, routes or services.” The continued
presence of § 1506 in the statutory system underscores
these clear limitations on the effect of § 1305, and the
absence of Congressional intention to pre-empt private
actions to remedy airline negligence.

Likewise, no mention is made in any of the relevant
statements of legislative purpose that Congress intended,
in any way, to pre-empt State common law by enacting
these statutes or authorizing action by a Federal Board.
See, e.g., U.S. Cong. and Ad. News. (1961) at pp. 520,
522, 2563-2566; (1974) at pp. 465, 3989: (1978) at
pp. 1705, 1744, 3737, 3751, 3752, 3773-3775. Surely,
if Congress had intended to wipe out State doctrines of

8

common law negligence, such a dramatic undertaking
would at least have been mentioned somewhere.

The pre-emption argument in this case is centered on
the claimed pursuit of “uniformity.” That position con-
veniently ignores the fact that the common law of the
various states uniformly holds carriers to a duty to
exercise a high degree of care toward their passengers.
See, e.g., Law of Torts, Prosser (1971 Ed.) § 34 at
pp. 180-183. Texas is, of course, part of that uniformity.
See, e.g., 11 Tex. Jur. 3d (1981 Ed.) “Carriers” § 160
at pp. 188, 189.

That argument also ignores the absence of any holding
that Federal pre-emption has denied open courts to those
damaged as a result of the Delta Airlines crash at Dallas-
Fort Worth Airport and the Pan American World Air-
ways crash near the New Orleans Airport, among many
others. This Court can take judicial notice that cases
arising out of those two incidents alone have already
been tried or are awaiting trial with no contention of
pre-emption. See, e.g., In Re Air Crash Disaster, 767
F.2d 1151 (Sth Cir., 1985): In Re Air Crash, 861 F.2d
814 (Sth Cir., 1988). Certainly, Melvin O’Carroll cannot
be more of a concern to Federal authorities than the
respective passengers aboard those fatal flights. Clearly,
landings (Delta) and takeoffs (Pan American) are part
of “. . . the duty resting upon air carriers to perform
their services with the highest possible degree of safety
in the public interest .. .” 49 U.S.C.A. § 1421(b).

In the course of this incident, even uninvolved fellow
passengers were arrogantly threatened with removal and
jail by Chaparral’s flight attendant simply because they
were supportive of O’Carroll in his plight (Tr. Sup. A-16,

9

17; Tr. Sup. B-9). It is submitted that the Congress
could never have intended to give air carriers an es-
sentially free rein to abuse their Passengers in the name
of “safety’—the obvious end result would be just the
opposite.

O’Carroll respectfully submits that the Texas law pro-
tecting passengers from common carrier negligence is not
inconsistent with airline safety. In the absence of such
common law protection, there would be a crazy-quilt of
“protection ¥s. non-protection” based on whether you
were an interstate airline passenger, an intrastate airline
passenger, an airborne passenger or still sitting at the
airport, a train passenger, a bus passenger, or any one
of a myriad of combinations thereof. And. under the
Opposing position, a passenger damaged by airline neg-
ligence would be without any private remedy. Obviously,
such a scheme would not encourage airline safety. The
Texas law is consistent with. and directly compliments,
the concept of air safety that prompted the passage of
the Federal Aviation Act and its later amendments.

It is respectfully submitted that the Federal law arising
under that legislation does not pre-empt the Texas law
involved in this case and does not eliminate private
causes of action for damages arising from airline neg
ligence.

CONCLUSION AND PRAYER

Petitioner, Melvin O’Carroll, respectfully submits that
the Federal Aviation Act does not pre-empt his private
remedy under Texas common law for the negligence of
Chaparral Airlines, Inc. Petitioner respectfully prays that
this Court issue a Writ of Certiorari to review the Judg-

10

ment and Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
and for such other and further relief to which he may
be justly entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

MARCH H. COFFIELD

SEALE, STOVER, COFFIELD,
GATLIN & BISBEY

P. O. Box 480

950 North Wheeler

Jasper, Texas 75951

(409) 384-3463

SBN: 04491000

Counsel for Petitioner,
Melvin O’Carroll

1]

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I am a member of the United
States Supreme Court bar and counsel of record for the
Petitioner herein and that, on the day of March,
1989, three (3) copies of the above and foregoing
Petition for Writ of Certiorari were served on each
party represented herein, pursuant to United States Su-
preme Court Rules 19, 21, by depositing same in the
United States Post Office, Jasper. Texas, with postage
prepaid, Certified Mail, Return Receipt Requested, and
properly addressed to counse! of record for Respondent,
to wit: Mr. Stuart J. Starry, First InterState Tower.
24th Floor, 1300 Post Oak Boulevard, Houston. Texas
77056, and Mr. Mark Dombroff, 1275 Pennsylvania
Avenue, N.W., Suite 301, Washington, D. C. 20004.

MARCH H. CoFFIELD

A-|

APPENDIX

Melvin O’CARROLL,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.
AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC
Defendant.

Chaparral Airlines, Inc.,
Defendant-Appellant

No. 88-2560

Summary Calendar

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit
Jan. 12, 1989.

Ticket holder brought action against airline for wrong-
ful exclusion from flight. The United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Texas, J. Michael
Bradford. United States Magistrate, entered judgment
on jury verdict in favor of ticket holder. Airline appealed.
The Court of Appeals held that Federal Aviation Act
preempted state law claim for allegedly wrongful ex-
clusion.

Vacated.

A-2

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Texas.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, JOHNSON, and JOLLY.
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

Defendant Chaparral Airlines appeals the district
court’s judgment on the jury verdict in favor of the
plaintiff. Concluding that the district court lacked subject
matter jurisdiction, we vacate.

I. FACTS AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Plaintiff Melvin O’Carroll (O’Carroll) held a valid
flight ticket issued by Chaparral Airlines (Chaparral)
for passage between Portland, Maine and Alexandria,
Louisiana. The entire trip was to have taken several
hours, and was comprised of three flight segments:
Portland to Boston, Boston to Dallas (DFW) and DFW
to Alexandria. Early in his journey, O’Carroll met a
cousin, Robert Rollins (Rollins), and the two traveled
together consuming a number of beers en route. Shortly
after O’Carroll and Rollins boarded the Chaparral flight
at DFW for the final leg of their journey, a commotion
arose on the aircraft. Testimony at trial indicated that
O’Carroll and Rollins asked a flight attendant for liquor
immediately after boarding and were loud, boisterous and
intoxicated. At one point, Rollins advised the pilot that
he (Rollins) would “help him fly the plane.” During
the ensuing chain of events. Chaparral discovered an
irregularity with O’Carroll’s ticket. A flight attendant
asked O’Carroil to deplane and check with the gate

A-3

agent regarding the ticket mix-up; O’Carroll, however,
uttering obscenities, refused to move. Ultimately, after
being summoned by the Chaparral Captain, the: police
arrived and removed O’Carroll and Rollins from the
aircraft. The two were thereafter charged with disorderly
conduct and jailed.

O’Carroll brought the instant action in United States
District Court asserting various state law claims because
of what O’Carroll alleged to be his wrongful exclusion
from the Chaparral flight. Jurisdiction of the district court
was based entirely on diversity of citizenship. After a
trial before a jury, a verdict was returned which awarded
O’Carroll $260,273.23 in damages. The Magistrate denied
Chaparral’s subsequent Motion for Judgment Notwith-
standing the Verdict and Chaparral’s Rule 12(b)(6)
Motion to Dismiss. Thereafter, the Magistrate entered
judgment on the jury’s verdict and Chaparral timely
perfected this appeal.

II. DISCUSSION

Chaparral argues that the state law claims which
formed the basis of O’Carroll’s action are preempted
by federal law. We agree. There are three instances
where federal law will be found to preempt state law.
First, Congress may expressly preempt state law. Shaw
v. Delta Air Lines, 463 U.S. 85, 95, 103 S. Ct. 2890,
2899, 77 L.Ed.2d 490, 500 (1983). Second, congres-
sional intent to preempt may be inferred, generally from
the pervasiveness of the federal regulatory scheme. Rice
v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230, 67 S. Ct.
1146, 1152, 91 L.Ed. 1447, 1459 (1947). Third, when
state law conflicts with federal law or interferes with

Os

the achievement of neression byectives, preemption
occurs even though state law may not be displaced in its
entirety. Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul,
373 U.S. 132, 142-43, 83 S. Ct. 1210, 1217, 10 L.Ed.2d
248, 257 (1963): Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52,
67-68, 61 S. Ct. 399, 404, 85 L.Ed. 581, 587 (1941).
The existence of any of these circumstances is sufficient
to establish preemption. See Michigan Canners & Freezers
Assn v. Agricultural Marketine & Bareainine Board,
467 U.S. 461, 469, 104 S. Ct. 2518, 2523, 81 L.Ed.2d
399, 406 (1984) (summarizing three types of preemp
tion).

There can be no question that the Federal Aviation
Act applies to the regulation of air travel. Section 1511
vests an air carrier with broad discretion with respect
to whom will be granted or denied passage. Section 1511
reads in part:

Subject to reasonable rules and regulations prescribed
by the Secretary of Transportation, any such carrie
may also refuse transportation of a passenger or
property when. in the opinion of the carrier, such
transportation would or might be inimical to safety

of flight.

49 U.S.C. App. § 1511(a). The discretion conferred by
the above section, while decidedly expansive, is not un-

fettered. Section 1374 provides that all air carriers must

provide safe and adequate service, equipment, and

facilities land] establish. observe, and enforce
just and reasonable . rules, regulations and prac
tices relating to [air travel]. No carrier or
foreign air cart shall make, give, or cause any

undue or unreasonable preie renc or advantage to

A-5

any particular person . . . or subject any particular
person . . . to any unjust discrimination or any
undue or unreasonable prejudice or disadvantage in
any respect whatsoever.

49 U.S.C. App. §§ 1374(a)(1) & 1375(b). Further,
an implied cause of action against an air carrier under
section 1374 for abuse of the discretion accorded it by
virtue of section 1511 has been recognized. See Diefenthal
v. C.A.B., 681 F.2d 1039, 1050 (Sth Cir. 1982): see
also Mason vy. Belieu, 543 F.2d 215 (D.C. Cir. 1987)
cert. denied, 429 U.S. 852, 97 S. Ct. 144, 50 L.Ed.2d 127.

While the pervasive breadth of the Act as discerned
from the language quoted above would tend to indicate
congressional preemptive intent, there is no need to rely
upon inference alone as section 1305, which is entitled
“Federal Preemption,” expressly preempts state law and
reads in pertinent part as follows:

[N]Jo State . . . shall enact or enforce any law, rule,
regulation, standard, or other provision having the
force and effect of law relating to rates, routes, or
services of any air carrier having authority under
subchapter IV of this chapter to provide air trans-
portation.

49 U.S.C. App. § 1305(a)(1). In view of this explicit
manifestation of congressional intent, we conclude that
O’Carroll’s common law claims are preempted by section
1305 and thus the district court lacked subject matter
jurisdiction over the instant action. See also Cippollone
v. Liggett Group, Inc., 593 F.Supp. 1146 (D.C. N.J.
1984), rev'd on other grounds, 789 F.2d 181. Conse-
quently, we need not reach any other issues raised on
appeal.

A-6

lil. CONCLUSION

Because O’Carroll, in his complaint, alleged only state
law based claims, and because we have determined that
Congress intended through section 1305 to preempt state
law based claims, we conclude that the district court
lacked jurisdiction over the instant suit. The judgment

of the district court is therefore vacated

VACATED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APP]
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

ALS

MELVIN O’CARROLI
Plaintiff-Appellee
V
AMERICAN AIRLINES, IN¢
Defendant,

CHAPARRAL AIRLINES, IN¢
Defendant-Appellant

lidge, JOHNSON, and JOLLY.

cause came on to be heard on the

On

A-8

appeal and was taken under submission on the briefs
on file.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here
ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment
of the District Court in this cause is vacated, and the
cause is remanded to the District Court for further pro-
ceedings in accordance with the opinion of this Court

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that each party bears
its own costs on appeal.

January 12, 1989

ISSUED AS MANDATE: February 21, 1989

A-9

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-2560

MELVIN O’CARROLL,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

Va

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,
Defendant,

CHAPARRAL AIRLINES, INC.,
Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Texas

(February 9, 1989)

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, JOHNSON, and JOLLY,
Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

On petition for rehearing, appellant Melvin O’Carroll
contends that 49 U.S.C. § 1506 preserves his state law
based negligence claims. Section 1506 reads as follows:

Nothing contained in this chapter shall in any way
abridge or alter the remedies now existing at com-

A-10

mon law or by statute, but the provisions of this
chapter are in addition to such remedies.

49 U.S.C. § 1506. In making this contention, however,
O’Carroll overlooks the fact that section 1305, entitled
“Federal Preemption” was enacted by Congress well after
section 1506. Therefore, we conclude that section 1305
is a clear indication of congressional intent to preempt
and is controlling. The petition for rehearing is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ SAM JOHNSOIN
United States Circuit Judge

2-3-89

A-11
SUMMARY OF THE RECORD

Chaparral Airlines, Inc. is a commuter airline supply-
ing connecting service to American Airlines under the
name “American Eagle.” Among its flights is a direct
flight from Dallas-Fort Worth Airport (DFW) to Alex-
andria, Louisiana.

Melvin O’Carroll had been working in Maine and on
September 14, 1986, he was traveling from Portland,
Maine, back to his home in Oakdale, Louisiana. near
Alexandria (Tr. 24, 25, 27, 28).

The ticket on which O’Carroll was traveling on Sep-
tember 14, 1986, is in evidence as Pl. Ex. 1. It cost a
total of $444.00, and was prepaid by O’Carroll’s em-
ployer (Tr. 26, 33). The ticket was signed by O’Carroll
as the passenger and was non-transferable and non-
refundable (Tr. 26, 33, 34). This ticket covered O’Car-
roll’s entire trip from Portland, Maine, to Alexandria,
Louisiana, with legs from Portland to Boston, Boston to
DFW, and DFW to Alexandria (Tr. 27).

On the morning of the incident made the basis of this
suit, O’Carroll began his trip at 5:30 A.M. (Eastern
Time) with a bus ride to the local airport for a flight
to Portland (Tr. 31). The trip was scheduled to end
with arrival in Alexandria at approximately 9:00 P.M.
(Central Time) (Tr. 36). The incident in question oc-
curred at approximately 7:00 P.M. (Central Time) at
DFW (Pl. Ex. 5, 6).

While in Boston awaiting his flight to DFW, O’Carroll
met his cousin, Robert Rollins (Tr. 32). They flew on
the same flight to DFW, but were not seated together

(Tr. 34).

A-12

During the course of this day-long trip, until he went
to Chaparral’s terminal area at DFW, O’Carroll drank
four or five beers (Tr. 35, 69).

O’Carroll and his cousin. Rollins, boarded Chaparral’s
flight to Alexandria together and they were assigned
seats at the front of the plane, near the cockpit. (Tr.
37-39). O’Carroll had no idea as to what, or how much,
Rollins had had to drink during the day. (Tr. 40).

Prior to boarding Chaparral’s aircraft at DFW, O’Car-
roll went through Chaparral’s terminal area, and pre-
sented his ticket (Tr. 36; Tr. Sup. B-1). O’Carroll’s
boarding pass is in evidence as Pl. Ex. 2.

As he entered the plane, O’Carroll had to pass the
flight attendant, Morris (Tr. Sup. B-1). He sat in his
seat (Tr. 38, 39), and aside from asking “When do we
get our drinks?” the flight attendant noted nothing about
O’Carroll or his conduct, and assumes he remained seated,
until the question arose about O’Carroll’s ticket (Tr.
Sup. B-2, 3).

Just before take-off, the young lady who had taken
O’Carroll’s ticket prior to boarding, came aboard the
plane and told O’Carroll his ticket was no good and that
he would have to get off (Tr. 41, 52). Although she
had the ticket in her hand, she did not explain what
the problem with the ticket was (Tr. 42). She told
O’Carroll he would have to take a flight the next day
(Tr. 42).

O’Carroll refused to leave the plane because he be-
lieved his ticket was good and, since he only had $13.45
in cash, he did not want to be stuck at the airport over-
night. (Tr. 41-44; Pl. Ex. 6 [p. 3—*“Book-In Report”]).

A-13

None of Chaparral’s personnel advised O’Carroll that
the airline would take care of his overnight expenses
if he would deplane to have the ticket checked out (Tr.
47), Chaparral’s flight attendant, Morris, did not know
the company’s policy or procedure for handling such
matters (Tr. Sup. B-5). Chaparral’s gate attendant, Mary
Beth Hopkins, was not called to testify by Chaparral.

The only contact O’Carroll had with the plane captain
was when the pilot told O’Carroll the ticket was no good
and threatened to call security (Tr. 46). O’Carroll
thought such a call would be a good thing since security
might be able to straighten matters out (Tr. 46, 47).
Chaparral’s captain, Steven Zeigler, was not called to
testify by Chaparral although he was present in the
Courtroom (Tr. 14) and was the “Complainant” on the
“Arrest Record” arising out of this incident (Pl. Ex. 5-7).

Before O’Carroll was removed from the airplane by
the security personnel, Chaparral’s employees had deter-
mined that the ticket was in fact valid (Tr. 128; Tr. Sup.
B-5, 6). In the meantime, Chaparral’s flight attendant,
Morris, decided O’Carroll was intoxicated, but made no
tests to aid himself in that decision (Tr. Sup. B-6, 7).

Chaparral’s second officer, Ramsey, testified about his
observations, but he was not shown as a “witness” on
the “Arrest Report” arising out of this incident (PI.
Ex. 5-7).

Ramsey’s further testimony revealed that O’Carroll was
seated throughout the time Ramsey was observing him
(Tr. 126). Ramsey did not talk to O’Carroll (Tr. 127).
Ramsey’s observation of O’Carroll lasted 10 to 15 seconds
(Tr. 127, 129).

A-14

The initial complaint made to DFW police by Captain
Zeigler was that O’Carroll was “disorderly and intoxi-
cated” (Tr. Sup. B-14; Pl. Ex. 6, 8). However, O’Carroll
was not charged with “intoxication” (Tr. Sup. B-22, 25).

The initial “Arrest Report” was changed by Officer
Savino, as to the “Narrative” in Section 41 of the Report,
to remove references to O’Carroll being “disorderly” and
“intoxicated” (Pl. Ex. 5-7). O’Carroll was shown as
being “Non-Ticketed,” and having “none” under “Ticket
No.” (Pl. Ex. 5-7 [Section 42]). However, there is no
dispute that he was ticketed and his ticket is shown on
the “Book-In Report” (Pl. Ex. 6).

The “Arrest Record” shows, that in the officer’s opin-
ion, O’Carroll was “Active” (as opposed to “Unconsci-
ous,” “Passive” or “Hostile”’) and “Drinking” (as op-
posed to “Drunk”) (Tr. Sup. B-23; Pl. Ex. 5-7 [Section
43, 44]).

O’Carroll was never told by the Captain, or any of
Chaparral’s personnel, that they thought he was drunk,
or that he was a threat to the safety of the airplane or
the other passengers (Tr. 48, 49).

O’Carroll left the airplane after being told by one of
the security officers that Captain Zeigler still claimed his
ticket was no good and after the officer put his hand on
his blackjack and said “Now, you get up and come on”
(Tr. 48, 50, 51). O’Carroll was taken to the police car
where he was frisked and handcuffed, then taken to the
DFW jail (Tr. 52, 53).

When he was checked in at the DFW jail, O’Carroll
had $13.45, his plane ticket and no knife or whiskey
(Tr. 54; Pl. Ex. 6). He was fingerprinted, had a “mug

A-15

shot” taken and was placed in an 8-foot-square cell
with 3, later 4, other men (Tr. 55). O’Carroll was in
that cell for about 3 hours, and, although he was cold,
was refused his jacket (Tr. 55, 56). He was then moved
to another, bigger cell (Tr. 56). No tests were performed
on him by the police to determine if he was intoxicated
(Tr. 56).

Because the DFW personnel told his employer that he
had been arrested for being drunk and disorderly, O’Car-
roll’s employer would not post bond for him and refused
his later call for help (Tr. 56, 58).

Sometime around 1:30 or 2:00 A.M. on the morning
of September 15, 1986, O’Carroll was again handcuffed
and moved to the Grapevine, Texas, City Jail (Tr. 58;
Pl. Ex. 7). There, he was fingerprinted and photographed
again (Tr. 58).

Prior to this incident, O’Carroll had never been
frisked, handcuffed or put into a police car (Tr. 53).
Prior to this incident, O’Carroll had never been finger-
printed or booked into a jail (Tr. 55). At the time of
his arrest and book-in, O’Carroll had no outstanding
warrants, holds or record (Tr. Sup. B-19, 26).

While O’Carroll was being jailed, his family was await-
ing his arrival at the Alexandria airport (Tr. 95). Al-
though Mrs. O’Carroll inquired about his situation at
Chaparral’s ticket counter there, she was given no in-
formation (Tr. 95).

Later the morning of September 15th, O’Carroll was
allowed another telephone call and was able to contact
his wife, who borrowed the money and posted his bond
(Tr. 60). He was released from the Grapevine jail on

A-16

the afternoon of September 15, 1986 (Tr. 60). He
walked approximately two miles from the jail back to
Chaparral’s terminal at DFW (Tr. 60).

O’Carroll then flew to Alexandria on the same Chapar-
ral flight from which he had been removed 24 hours
earlier, using the same ticket alleged to have been invalid
the day before (Tr. 61, 62).

This suit, based on Texas common law, was filed on
November 12, 1986 (R. 1). O’Carroll contended that
as a passenger aboard Chaparral’s aircraft, he was en-
titled to Chaparral’s exercise of a high degree of care,
and that such duty was breached when he was accused
of having an invalid ticket, then being intoxicated, then
removed from the aircraft and arrested at the direction
of Chaparral’s personnel (Tr. 195).

This case was tried in the Court of Magistrate J.
Bradford in the Eastern United States District of Texas,

befor ury on August 25 and 26, 1987 (Tr. 2, 149)

Following presentation of the evidence, argument of

counsel and submission of the Court’s charge, the jury

) <
und Chaparral negligent, O’Carroll not negligent, and
yast damages of $75,000.00 and future damages

213)

swarded
aw dal UCU

$177.500.00 (Tr

Following the filing of post-trial motions and the
ys thereon, the Trial Court entered judgment on
m March 14, 1988 (R. 561, 562).

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals vacated that judg-
ment on January 12, 1989, and denied O’Carroll’s Peti-

]

LYay

IR ‘ Til I YT iryv Y.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_1115%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
