# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fleming v. Levy

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0989%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 490 U.S. 1036

## Text

i FE OP O*—— a

Supreme Court, U.S, ‘|

}
88-1441% FILED
FEB 27 1999
No. | | JOSEPH F. sPanion, a,
ee

IN THE

Supreme Court
of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

EDWARD J. FLEMING,

Petitioner,

VS.

SHUKI Y. LEVY,
DEBORAH DALE LEVY, and
CHARLES UNDERWOOD,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEAL
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION FIVE

LAW OFFICES OF
DENNIS A. FISCHER
Alan S. Yockelson
Dennis A. Fischer*

1448 Fifteenth Street
Suite 104

Santa Monica, CA 90404
(213) 451-4815

Counsel for Petitioner
Edward J. Fleming

*Counsel of Record

Dukiichine and Reanhie Rieteanic Gerewrces Ince (PAGES / (317, 474.7255

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment require that an individual be afforded
notice and an opportunity to be heard — consistent
with mandatory state statutory authority — when an
appellate court decides issues never raised on appeal or
briefed by the parties?

poe eee

TOPICAL INDEX

QUESTIONS PRESEN LEED ccrccssccccscncnsscsscenctsernnnnees i
BORPRGAL, TICEIIER: cnsinscsincssinsenerecssonnsenanstaqeccionnses we

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROV ESEOND EN VOL VIBE) cecccessreccnsessrscsssvesees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ........ccccccccoscscsscseeee

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
OF CERT ARE scsssssncsccmssininminisonmiieasannsnes 15

THIS CASE PRESENT A COM-
PELLING VEHICLE FOR THIS
COURT TO ADDRESS THE IM-
PORTANT RIGHTS OF NOTICE
AND OPPORTUNITY TO _ BE
HEARD GUARANTEED BY THE
DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT IN
THE CONTEXT OF APPELLATE
PROCEEDINGS WHEREIN
ISSUES NEVER RAISED ON AP-
PEAL OR BRIEFED BY THE PAR-
TIES ARE DECIDED WITHOUT
GRANTING PETITION FOR RE-
HEARING AS REQUIRED BY
STATES SEAL U EES wiscsenssssciscentssmanstiontnse 15

a anew

the ea ah hen Melb) Sa NR

a

CONCLUSION cccccccsssssccccccccsccccscccccccscvcsesscvosesscssooes 23
APPENDIX A
-Opinion of the California Court of
Appeal ...........scccccsocreceeescerescesscssessscsssoseesorssees
- Order Denying Petition for Rehearing ........ A32
APPENDIX B

- Order of the California Supreme Court
Denying Review ..........scsscesssersersssssssesseseees Bl

- Order of the California Supreme Court
Denying Petition for Writ of Mandate ........... B2

—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases

Adoption of Alexander S,

44 Cal.3d 857 (1988) ............. i nsscnipsniotanineanns 22
American Surety Co. vs. Baldwin,

BE FT TI I Sirainttitnecsccsncnscteanetininsesess 19
Butler Brothers vs. McColgan,

ED Te TE CD Site hstscccstesccnsincccecisatatece 20
Fuentes vs. Shevin,

BN TT TEED ecinciteteiascdeisnshesnintasesnns 15, 16
Helis vs. Ward, :

8 20
James vs. Appel,

SEY CERO: ccdernensesnintuntinncehcitsnnainniemnate 16
Ohio ex rel. Bryant vs. Akron Metropolitan

Park Dist,

BE CIE: CIE \ ctnciernsiniienanbectnncnsnnssite 16, 17
People vs. Floyd P,

198 Cal.App.3d 608 (1988) ou... eeeeseeeeees 22
People vs. Loudermilk, ;

195 Cal.App.3d 996 (1987) .......cccscccccssereeees 22
Pittsburgh, C.C. & St. L. R. Co. vs. Backus,

SN, CR ncinescccccnsitinsinbiaticsiiien 16, 17

Saunders vs. Shaw,
BOO WR. BEF GRPEGD cciisenscsscccens 17, 18, 19, 20

ee a ee ee .

Statutes

California Business and Professions Code

dias TEIIAT . dsciinicpitscnsanininennnecnenvadentssesnecesenncess 5
California Government Code
petits GE | scccnensccsscsccencccccesssceee 3, 14, 21, 22
Title 28, Under United States Code
SECtiON 1257, SUDA. (3) ......ccccrerrrrrrreeeessssrrererees 3
Rules
California Rules of Court
Bassas B46, BS, BB cccccccnsececcssessscccscoscaceascovesscscescs 3
Texts
18 Pacific Law Journal 539 (1987) .......eseseeeees 22
Constitutions

United States Constitution
Fourteenth Amendment
OL To eeannntiidbhbsorenersunannenaneniin .. 2

In the
Supreme Court
of the United States

EDWARD J. FLEMING,

Petitioner,

vs.

SHUKI Y. LEVY, DEBORAH DALE LEVY,
and CHARLES UNDERWOOD,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE COURT OF APPEAL OF
THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION FIVE

The petitioner Edward J. Fleming respectfully prays
that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of
the Court of Appeal of the State of California, Second
Appellate District, Division Five, rendered on Septem-
ber 13, 1988, following denial of his petition for review
and mandate by the California Supreme Court on
November 30, 1988. This case presents an important
question of law under the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution concerning the due
process right to notice and opportunity to be heard,
arising in the context of an appellate proceeding

wherein the California Court of Appeal reached issues
neither briefed or argued by the parties and thereby
extinguished property rights vested in petitioner by a
previous, final trial court order, and the appellate court
thereafter refused to grant petitioner mandatory
rehearing as required by state statute to address the
questions raised by its decision. .

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner is Edward J. Fleming, cross-defendant
before the Superior Court for the State of California in
and for Los Angeles County and appellant/petitioner
in the California Court of Appeal. Respondents are
Shuki Y. Levy and Deborah Dale Levy, variously
interveners and respondents in the superior court and
appellate court below. Other parties affected herein are
Thomas R. Morgan, plaintiff, cross-defendant and
appellant, and Charles Underwood, defendant, cross-
complainant and respondent, in the various trial and
appellate court proceedings below.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeal for the State of
California, Second Appellate District, Division Five, is
unreported and is reproduced (along with the court’s
order denying petitions for rehearing) as Appendix A
to this petition. The orders of the California Supreme
Court denying review and denying Fleming’s petition
for writ of mandate are also unreported and are
attached as Appendix B.

Nl i Na

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the California Court of Appeal was
filed on September 13, 1988. Petition for rehearing was
denied by the Court of Appeal on October 12, 1988.
The order of the California Supreme Court denying
review was filed on November 30, 1988. Petition for
writ of mandate was also denied by the California
Supreme Court on the same day. Under California law,
the judgment of the Court of Appeal became final
upon the Supreme Court’s denial of review. Cal. Rules
of Court, R. 24, 25, 28. This petition is timely filed
within 90 days of November 30, 1988. The jurisdiction
of this court is invoked pursuant to Title 28, United
State Code section 1257, subdivision (3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution, section 1, provides in pertinent part: “No
State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge
the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor
deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.”

California Government Code section 68081 pro-
- vides:

“Before the Supreme Court, a court of
appeal, or the appellate department of a
superior court renders a decision in a
proceeding other than a summary denial of a

petition for an extraordinary writ, based upon
an issue which was not proposed or briefed by
any party to the proceeding, the court shall
afford the parties an opportunity to present
their views on the matter through supplemen-
tal briefing. If the court fails to afford that
opportunity, a rehearing shall be ordered
upon timely petition of any party.

“This section shall remain in effect only
until January 1, 1990, and as of that date is
repealed, unless a later enacted statute, which
is enacted before January 1, 1990, deletes or
extends that date.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case has an ancient and complicated history.
Some 25 years ago Thomas Morgan brought suit
against Charles Underwood for specific performance
of an oral partnership agreement. Underwood cross-
complained against Morgan and Edward J. Fleming,
petitioner herein. On March 1, 1971, default judgment
was entered against Fleming and in favor of
Underwood. Underwood was awarded $13,000 in
principal, interest and costs. Underwood obtained a
writ of execution on the judgment, and thereafter the
Sheriff conducted a sale of Fleming’s residence at 2600
Zorada Drive to satisfy the judgment. Underwood was
the high bidder and purchased the Fleming property.
A - 2-3.

Apparently the property changed hands several
times thereafter. The Levys purchased the residence on
May 23, 1978 for $210,000. A-3.

Pl el Es le Bain Sara

On June 4, 1985, petitioner brought a motion to: (1)
set aside and vacate as void the default and default
judgment; (2) cancel and vacate writ of execution; (3)
cancel and vacate abstract of judgment; (4) vacate and
set aside sheriff’s execution sale; (5) cancel sheriff’s
deed; and (6) dismiss cross-complaint against cross-
defendant Edward J. Fleming. CT 1-35. Petitioner
asserted numerous reasons why the default judgment
Underwood obtained against Fleming was void. Ibid.

Underwood was finally served with notice and a
copy of the motion on September 17, 1985. CT 134-
136. Underwood, however, made no appearance. A-3.
On October 9, 1985, after an unreported hearing before
the Honorable Ronald M. George, Judge of the Los
Angeles Superior Court, the matter was submitted. On
October 16, 1985, the court ruled as follows:

“The motion is granted in all respects without
opposition, the file now having been found
and it appearing that the judgment is void
because of (1) improper service of the second
amended complaint; (2) judgment exceeded
the prayer; (3) Hassrick and Fleming’s
declarations establish personal service was
never made on Fleming; and (4) Default was
untimely entered — C.C.P. Sections 473,
581(b), and 583(b).” CT 139.

On December 6, 1985, Judge George signed an order,
drafted by petitioner’s counsel, which vacated the 1971
default judgment in favor of Underwood and restored
petitioner to possession of his former residence.
CT 143-153.

On or about April 7, 1986, a uniformed Los Angeles
County Marshal posted a notice to vacate and writ of

possession at the Zorada Drive home. The notice
required that the premises be vacated by April 12. On
~ or about April 14 the property went into escrow in
anticipation of its sale from the Levys to third parties.
The Levys returned from vacation on April 17 and
found themselves locked out of the Zorada property.
Petitioner moved into the residence. A - 6-7.

On April 23, 1986, the Levys filed an ex-parte
application as “specially appearing third parties” “for
[an] order correcting order of December 6, 1985,
entered as a result of clerical error or inadvertence.”
CT 185-202. The Levys also filed an ex parte
application for orders (1) recalling writ of possession
of real property; (2) quashing levy of writ of possession
of real property; (3) staying execution on order for
possession of real property; (4) seeking temporary
restraining order. CT 203-216. The Levys’ applications
were opposed by petitioner on the basis that they were
not parties to the action and thus had no standing, and
further that paragraph 13 of the December 6, 1985
order enjoined the Levys from asserting an adverse
claim. CT 217-239.

A hearing was held in the Superior Court of the
State of California for the County of Los Angeles on
April 23, 1986, the Honorable John L. Cole, Judge
presiding. I-RT 1. Petitioner’s counsel acknowledged
that the Levys had not been given notice of the 1985
motion to set aside the 1971 default judgment.
However, petitioner asserted that the Levys were
informed at the time they purchased the residence in
1978 of Fleming’s claim to the property. I-RT 9-10.
Judge Cole issued a temporary restraining order and

4
:
:
4

issued an order to show cause re preliminary
injunction. I-RT 11; CT 240-247.

On April 30, 1986, the Levys filed a “Complaint in
intervention for: 1) Declaratory Relief, 2) Injunction.”
CT 291-304. The Levys’ complaint in intervention was
opposed by petitioner. CT 328-343.

On May 19, 1986, petitioner filed his opposition to
the Levys’ order to show cause for a preliminary
injunction, ex parte application for order correcting
order of December 6, 1985, and ex parte application to
recall writ, quash writ, stay execution on order, and
temporary restraining order. CT 354-381. Petitioner
also filed a separate motion to strike the Levys’
complaint in intervention. CT 382-409. The Levys filed
their responsive pleadings, CT 413-437, and petitioner
replied. CT 438-456.

Petitioner maintained in his pleadings that notice
was not required because the Levys were not parties to
the action and were chargeable with notice of the
invalid judgment. CT 362. Petitioner also urged that
the Levys were not bona fide purchasers and he was
not required to give them notice before dispossessing
them. CT 363-369. The Levys’ pleadings rejoined that
the court should correct “clerical” errors in the order
of December 6, 1985 because the court was misled into
believing that no third parties were involved in the
action. CT 418-423. The Levys also claimed that they
were bona fide purchasers. CT 423-431. Finally, the
Levys maintained that the court was without jurisdic-
tion to quiet title or award petitioner possession of the
property as against innocent third parties without
notice of the action. CT 432-435.

On May 23, 1986, the matter came on for hearing
before the Honorable Ronald M. George, the initial
trial judge. II-RT 1. The court first inquired why
petitioner waited 11 years before seeking to set aside
the 1971 judgment. Mr. Friedlander (Fleming’s then
counsel) explained that petitioner told him that he was
sick, adding that someone else told counsel that
petitioner had cancer. II-RT 9-10. Judge George then
asked,

“... why, in the lengthy recitations involved
in the motion initially noticed for June 4,
1985, and ultimately heard on October 9,
1985, the motion totaling 31 pages with some
detailed history, and various proceedings,
why is there a dearth of post-1974 history, in
particular with regard to good faith pur-
chasers.

“Why was nothing disclosed to the Court
with regard to the present status of the title
and occupancy?” II-RT 12.

Mr. Friedlander replied: “At the point in time when I
prepared the motion I was not concerned with nor
aware of subsequent transfers.” Ibid.

Judge George thereupon confronted Friedlander
with his own admission that he knew of subsequent
transfers prior to the October 9, 1985 hearing. Counsel
was asked whether or not he believed that was a
material change warranting disclosure to the court. II-
RT 13. Friedlander explained that he researched the
effect of Fleming’s subsequent transfers, “[a]nd the
research I did reflected that anybody who holds title
through a title that was defeasible such as would stand
in the same shoes in terms of they would not have

title.” II-RT 14. He denied that he intentionally
withheld such information from the court. Ibid.

Moving on to what the court called the “merits of
the underlying matter”, II-RT 15, petitioner’s counsel
argued that a title search would have put subsequent
purchasers on notice that the 1971 judgment was void.
He argued that the Levys’ remedies lay in suing those
in their chain of title and/or the title insurance
company. II-RT 15-19. When asked whether there was
any evidence showing that the Levys had notice of a
defect in their chain of title, counsel stated that he did
not know “‘because this is in a summary proceeding.”
II-RT 19.

“On the face of the record, unless the Court
postpones the matter to allow depositions to
be taken of the Levys to find out what, if
anything, they knew from the broker or title
insurance company, there is nothing in the
record that would reflect to the Court that
they had any kind of notice, actual notice.”
II-RT 20.

Finally, the court asked petitioner’s counsel why —
given the fact that petitioner sat on his rights for many
years — “‘it is not more equitable to have Mr. Fleming
relegated to a lawsuit against Underwood or other
persons or parties possibly, instead of the Levys... .?”
II-RT 20. Counsel’s only response was that the cases he
read did not raise laches as a bar and that the Levys
had vacated the house prior to petitioner taking
possession. II-RT 21-22. Petitioner argued that the
most the Levys were entitled to was an independent
action to quiet title “so that a judge or jury might
determine, based upon a full exploration of the facts

ee,

and circumstances, as to who is entitled to possession
and title as opposed to each other.” II-RT 24.

In the course of his ruling, Judge George made
several observations. First, he found no justification for
the 11 year delay in seeking to set aside the 1971
judgment. II-RT 43-44. Second, the court noted: “Mr.
Fleming’s present counsel should have by way of
supplemental written presentation or orally at the time
of the hearing on October 9, 1985, brought to the
Court’s attention the fact that Mr. Underwood was no
longer in possession and that in fact there were good
faith purchasers or at least purchasers who might be
purchasers in good faith in existence inasmuch as that
was a material-consideration for the Court.” II-RT 44.
Finally, Judge George observed that “somebody
involved in these proceedings must go to court against
the title company, that given the delay and all the other
circumstances I have alluded to, it is more equitable
that Mr. Fleming, with his laches and other conduct, be
the one to have to obtain monetary damages from the
title comapny [sic] or some prior title holder rather
than the Levys who took in good faith and in the
Court’s opinion without any negligence or transgres-
sion committed by them with regard to these various
proceedings.” II-RT 45. :

Judge George further stated:

“... I would not have signed the order
December 11, 1985, had I been aware of the
existence of subsequent purchasers. That is
subsequent to Mr. Underwood. And certainly
not if I had any indication that they were
bona fide purchasers which I am finding on

ee ee oe ee Y

po, ae

this state of the record the Levys to be.” II-
RT 46.

The court deemed the signing of the order “clerical
error,” “inadvertence,” and encompassing relief broad-
er than intended, especially in regard to relief against
third parties. II-RT 48.

Petitioner’s counsel expressed concern that a finding
that the Levys were bona fide purchasers would
destroy any quiet title action. II-RT 49. The court
responded: “I made only that sort of finding and
observation which I think is pertinent to the resolution
of what is before me and I am not indicating that I am
precluding a full litigation in the quiet title action of
that question.” II-RT 49-50. As the court explained,
although it was modifying its previous order and
restoring the Levys to possession of the property, it was
doing so “without prejudice to any of the parties... -
II-RT 49, emphasis added; see also II-RT 50. The court
also stated: “I have no problem with restoring the
Levys to the possession they were in prior to this order
except that I do not want anything that the Court does to
be taken as a resolution of the claims that Fleming may
have against Underwood.” II-RT 32-53, emphasis added.

The “Order Correcting and Modifying Order of
December 6, 1985 Re Motion of Cross-Defendant
Edward J. Fleming” was signed on June 6, 1986.
CT 483-489. The corrected order still provided that the
default against petitioner and in favor of Underwood
be vacated and set aside. CT 487-489. Petitioner timely
filed a Notice of Appeal “from the ‘Order Correcting
and Modifying Order of December 6, 1985 re Motion
of Cross-Defendant Edward J. Fleming’ filed on
June 6, 1986.” CT 490-491.

Ste ee

Petitioner’s opening brief in the Court of Appeal
raised four issues: (1) Was the June6, 1986
modification of the December)6, 1985 order properly
made under the doctrine of clerical error? App. Opn.
Br. 16-23; (2) assuming the December 6, 1985 order
contained clerical errors, did the court have jurisdic-
tion to enter ancillary orders? App. Opn. Br. 23-24; (3).
the Levys were legally chargeable with notice that
Underwood’s title.was void and that their own title was
defeasible, App. Opn. Br. 25-27; and (4) the court erred
in granting the Levys leave to intervene. App. Opn. Br.
27-31.

At no time did petitioner’s appellate counsel.
challenge the superior court’s determination that the
1971 Underwood judgment was void. In fact, petitioner
specifically disclaimed raising such issues: “[{] As set
forth more fully in Fleming’s motion, the default
judgment was void upon its face. The reasons that it
was void upon its face are not germane to this present
appeal, but are detailed in the motion.” App. Opn. Br.
2, emphasis added.

The Levys’ responsive brief on appeal advanced
numerous points: (1) The trial court had the authority
to correct its previous order under the doctrine of
clerical error, Resp. Br. 10-19; (2) the trial court had
the authority to issue ancillary orders, Resp. Br. 19; (3)
the Levys were bona fide purchasers whose title could
not be dispossessed by a void judgment in their chain of
title, Resp. Br. 20-28; (4) the trial court was without
jurisdiction to quiet title as against third parties who
had no notice of the action, Resp. Br. 28-30; (5) the
Levys had standing to intervene, Resp. Br. 30-33; and
(6) sanctions should be awarded for maintaining a

pee aa

frivolous appeal. Resp. Br. 33-35. At no time did the
Levys address or raise issues concerning the propriety
of vacating and setting aside the default judgment
obtained against petitioner by Underwood.

In the first part of its decision, the California Court
of Appeal concluded that the Levys had standing to
intervene as persons affected by the judgment of the
court below. A - 8-11. In the second part of its opinion,
the Court of Appeal held that the superior court erred
in correcting the December 6, 1985 order on the basis
of clerical error. A - 12-15. However, in an effort to
afford broader relief to the Levys, the Court of Appeal
reached out to decide issues adversely to petitioner
concerning the validity of the Underwood judgment. A
- 15-23.

Additionally, the California Court of Appeal held
that petitioner should be denied all relief because he
proceeded with unclean hands. A - 23-30. The
appellate court declined to impose sanctions, A - 30.
However, pursuant to California Business and
Professions Code section 6086.7, the court notified the
State Bar of California that it had reversed the present
judgment due to willful misrepresentations which
misled the trial court with regard to material facts. A -
31. Finally, the Court of Appeal’s decision vacated
both the June 6, 1986 and December 6, 1985 orders and
directed the trial court to deny petitioner’s June 4, 1985
motion for relief with prejudice. A - 31-32.

On or about September 28, 1988, petitioner filed both
his ‘“Appellant’s Petition for Rehearing” and
‘A ppellant’s Petition for Mandatory Rehearing” in the
Court of Appeal. Petitioner therein urged reconsider-
ation of its decision on the ground that no appeal had

|

aniline

been taken from the December 6, 1985 judgment. His
petition pointed out that the merits of the issues raised
in his original motion to set aside the default (as
reflected in the December 6, 1985 order) were never
briefed or argued on appeal, and the court had never
given prior notice that it intended to consider and
decide such issues. App. Ptn. Rehg. 3.

Petitioner -further insisted that rehearing was
mandatory under the present circumstances pursuant
to California Government Code section 68081, which
provides in relevant part:

“Before the Supreme Court, a court of appeal,
or the appellate department of a superior
court renders a decision in a proceeding other

_ than a summary denial of a petition for an

extraordinary writ, based upon an issue which
was not proposed or briefed by any party to
the proceeding, the court shall afford the
parties an opportunity to present their views
on the matter through supplemental briefing.
If the court fails to afford that opportunity, a
rehearing shall be ordered upon timely
petition of any party.”

Notwithstanding these grounds, the petitions for
rehearing were denied summarily on October 12, 1988,
without provision for supplemental briefing. A (Order
denying rehearing).

On or about October 21, 1988, petitioner filed both a
“Petition for Review” and “Petition for Writ of
Mandate, Prohibition, Certiorari and/or Other Appro-
priate Relief” in the Supreme Court of California. In
both pleadings petitioner sought relief from the Court
of Appeal’s failure to grant mandatory rehearing

—Sa____——__

=!

pursuant to Government Code section 68081. In both
instances, petitioner asserted that he was denied “his
constitutional guaranty of due process of law... .”
Ptn. for Rev. 12; Ptn. for Writ of Mandate, etc. 18.
Both petitions were summarily denied by the California
Supreme Court on November 30, 1988. B-1.

REASON FOR GRANTING
THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THIS CASE PRESENTS A COMPEL-
LING VEHICLE FOR THIS COURT TO
ADDRESS THE IMPORTANT RIGHTS OF
NOTICE AND OPPORTUNITY TO BE
HEARD GUARANTEED BY THE DUE
PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE FOUR-
TEENTH AMENDMENT IN THE CON-
TEXT OF APPELLATE PROCEEDINGS
WHEREIN ISSUES NEVER RAISED ON
APPEAL OR BRIEFED BY THE PARTIES
ARE DECIDED WITHOUT GRANTING
PETITION FOR REHEARING AS RE-
QUIRED BY STATE STATUTE

As this Court emphasized in Fuentes v. Shevin, 407
US. 67, 80 (1972):

“For more than a century the central
meaning of procedura) due process has been
clear: Parties whose rights are to be affected
are entitled to be heard; and in order that they
may enjoy that right they must first be
notified.’ Baldwin v. Hale, 68 U.S. 223, 233.
See Windsor v. McVeigh, 93 U.S. 274; Hovey v.
Elliot, 167 U.S. 409; Grannis v. Ordean, 234

ae

U.S. 385. It is equally fundamental that the
right to notice and an opportunity to be heard
‘must be granted at a meaningful time and in
a meaningful manner.’ Armstrong v. Manzo,

380 U.S. 545, 552.”

The Constitution’s requirement of notice and
opportunity to be heard encompasses more than just
notions of fair play. “Its purpose, more particularly, is
to protect [a person’s] use and possession of property
from arbitrary encroachment — to minimize substan-
tively unfair or mistaken deprivations of property
.... Fuentes v. Shevin, supra, 407 U.S. at 80-81. The
risk of arbitrary deprivations are minimized when an
individual is given the opportunity to be heard:

“For when a person has an opportunity to
speak up in his own defense, and when the
State must listen to what he has to say,
substantively unfair and simply mistaken
deprivations of property interests can be
prevented, It has long been recognized that
‘fairness can rarely be obtained by secret, one-
sided determination of facts decisive of
rights.... [And nJo better instrument has
been devised for arriving at truth than to give
a person in jeopardy of serious loss notice of
the case against him and opportunity to meet
it.’ [Citation omitted.]” Id. at 81.

In spite of the foregoing precepts, it has often been
said that appellate review and petitions for rehearing or
new trial are not essential elements of due process of
law. Pittsburgh, C.C. & St. L. R. Co. vs. Backus, 154 US.
421, 426-427 (1894); James v. Appel, 192 U.S. 129, 137
(1904); Ohio ex rel. Bryant vs. Akron Metropolitan Park

so

Dist, 281 U.S. 74, 80 (1930). Nevertheless, such broad
statements have always been tempered with the
realization that the guarantee of due process does
contemplate that ample opportunity to be heard must
have been afforded at some stage of the proceedings.

For example, in Pittsburgh, C.C. & St. L. R. Co. v.
Backus, supra, 154 U.S. at 426-427, it was said:
“‘Rehearings, new trials are not essential to due process
of law, either in judicial or administrative proceedings.
One hearing, if ample, before judgment, satisfies the
demand of the Constitution in this respect.” Likewise,
in Ohio ex rel. Bryant v. Akron Metropolitan Park Dist.
supra, 281 U.S. at 80, Chief Justice Hughes explained:
‘As to the due process clause of the 14th Amendment,
it is sufficient to say that, as frequently determined by
this court, the right of appeal is not essential to due
process, provided that due process has already been
accorded in the tribunal of first instance.”

This Court has briefly touched upon claims similar
to those presented by petitioner in Saunders v. Shaw, 244
U.S. 317 (1917). That case involved a state suit for an
injunction against the collection of a drainage tax. At
trial, evidence that the land in question was outside of
the levee system and would derive no benefit was
objected to by the defendant and excluded as
inadmissible. However, such evidence was “spread
upon the record and completed in order to carry the
case to the supreme court.” Id. at 318. Defendant
offered evidence that the land was not in the Gulf of
Mexico. But when plaintiff attempted through cross-
examination to show the physical condition of the
property, defendant successfully objected that the
subject was foreclosed by the court’s previous ruling.

‘iinslincis

Judgment was entered for defendant and intervener,
which was initially affirmed on appeal by the state
supreme court. Id. at 318-319.

Rehearing was granted, however. Recognizing that
the answer and testimony showed that the land in
question was low and marshy, had not been benefited,
and could not be drained, the state supreme court
reversed its prior judgment and granted an injunction
against the assessment upon the land. Saunders, supra,
at 319. Defendant sought a rehearing, which was
denied under a court rule which provided that only one
rehearing should be granted. Ibid. Defendant brought a
writ of error to this Court claiming that he had been
“deprived of due process of law, contrary to the 14th
Amendment, because the case has been decided against
him without his ever having had the opportunity to
present his evidence.” Ibid. This Court agreed with
defendant that his right to due process of law had been
violated and reversed the judgment. Id. at 320.

The Saunders decision also addressed the question of
whether the defendant’s claim of constitutional error
was properly raised. In holding that it was, the Court
explained:

“The record discloses the facts but does not
disclose the claim of right under the 14th
Amendment until the assignment of errors
filed the final day before the chief justice of
the state granted this writ. Of course
ordinarily that would not be enough. But
when the act complained of is the act of the
supreme court, done unexpectedly at the end of
the proceeding, when the plaintiff in error no
longer had any right to add to the record, it

=

: would leave a serious gap in the remedy for
infraction of constitutional rights if the party
aggrieved in such a way could not come here.
The defendant was not bound to contemplate
a decision of the case before his evidence was
: heard, and therefore was not bound to ask a
ruling or to take other precautions in
advance. The denial of rights given by the
14th Amendment need not be by legislation.

. Home Teleph. & Teleg. Co. v. Los Angeles, 227

U.S. 278. It appears that shortly after the
supreme court has declined to entertain the
petition for rehearing the plaintiff in error
brought the claim of constitutional right to
the attention of the chief justice of the state
by his assignment of errors. We do not see
what more he could have done.” Saunders vy.
Shaw, 224 U.S. at 320, emphasis added.

Subsequent opinions of this Court have cited
Saunders v. Shaw, supra, both for the proposition that
the Fourteenth Amendment right to due process of law
may be implicated when an appellate court surprises a
party or creates some innovation, and that in such
circumstances constitutional claims are timely raised
after the appellate court has thus acted. In American
Surety Co. v. Baldwin, 287 U.S. 156 (1932), for instance,
it was explained:

“The Surety Company petitioned for a
rehearing. In that petition, besides reiterating
several of its previous contentions, it urged,
for the first time, that the rendition of the
judgment on its undertaking violated the due
process clause of the Fourteenth

oe

Amendment. The petition was denied without
opinion. The federal claim there made cannot
serve as the basis for review by this Court.
The contention that a federal right had been
violated rests on the action of the trial court
in entertaining judgment without giving
notice and an opportunity to be heard. The
same ground of objection had been raised
throughout the proceedings but solely as a
matter of state law. There had been ample
opportunity earlier to present the objection as
one arising under the Fourteenth
Amendment. [Citations omitted.] This is not a
case where, as in Saunders v. Shaw, 244 U.S.
317, 320, the federal claim arose from the
unanticipated disposition of the case at the close
of the proceedings in the state Supreme Court.”

Id. at 163-164, emphasis added and footnote omitted.
Similar expressions are found in Helis v. Ward, 308 U.S.
365, 369-370 (1940) and Butler Brothers v. McColgan,
315 U.S. 501, 509-510 (1942).

The instant case, on the other hand, directly
implicates the principles expressed by Saunders.
Petitioner without question was surprised by the
breadth and depth of the California Court of Appeal’s
holding and disposition. Without notice or an
opportunity to be heard, the Court of Appeal decided
issues neither raised on appeal, briefed, or argued by
the parties. No appeal was ever taken from the
December 6, 1985 order vacating and setting aside the
1971 default judgment obtained by Underwood against
petitioner. The relief sought by the Levys was
modification and correction of the December 6, 1985
order to restore them to possession and title of the

ree

ee
aS Dome > Leak

i

Mrs Wa

residence. CT 185-202. The Levys never challenged the
trial court’s determination that the 1971 Underwood
judgment against petitioner was void. Even on appeal,
the Levys maintained only that they did not and could .
not have notice that the Underwood judgment was void
because it was procured by fraud. Resp. Br. 21-22.

Not even the trial court after learning of the
misleading nature of counsel’s represeniations saw fit
to vacate that portion of the December 6, 1985 order
granting petitioner relief as against Underwood. Cf. II-
RT 43-51; CT 487-489. The Court of Appeal went out
of its way to reach issues not presented on appeal and
to order a dismissal of petitioner’s action against
Underwood, with prejudice, without his having notice
or an opportunity to be heard before important
property rights vis-a-vis Underwood were irrevocably
extinguished. See A - 31-32.

Petitioner called this unanticipated deprivation of
due process to the attention of the Court of Appeal in
two separate petitions for rehearing which he timely
filed after the appellate decision was rendered. In both
petitions, specific reference was made to California
Government Code section 68081, which provides for
rehearing in the appellate courts of California upon
specified conditions:

‘Before the Supreme Court, a court of appeal,
or the appellate department of a superior
court renders a decision in a proceeding other
than a summary denial of a petition for an
extraordinary writ, based upon an issue which
was not proposed or briefed by any party to
the proceeding, the court shall afford the
parties an opportunity to present their views on

a, a

the matter through supplemental briefing. If
the court fails to afford that opportunity, a
rehearing shall be ordered upon timely petition
of any party.” Cal. Gov. Code §68081,
emphasis added.

The note in 18 Pacific Law Journal 539 (1987)
indicates that the provisions of section 68081 are
mandatory. See also: Adoption of Alexander S, 44
Cal.3d 857, 864-865 (1988); cf. People v. Floyd P. 198
Cal.App.3d 608, 612, fn. 2 (1988); People v. Loudermilk,
195 Cal.App.3d 996, 1004, fn. 1 (1987).

California Government Code section 68081 clearly
represents this state’s legislative directive that the
parties involved in appellate proceedings be afforded
the requisite notice and opportunity to be heard which
is encompassed in the due process clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment. When an appellate court
disregards the statutory mandate and broadens the
scope of review in order to decide issues not framed by
the parties, the same concerns about abridging notice
and hearing rights are implicated as in the context of
trial court proceedings. As this Court’s Fuentes
decision? recently observed in the latter setting:

“The constitutional right to be heard is a
basic aspect of the duty of government to
follow a fair process of decision-making when
it acts to deprive a person of his possessions.
The purpose of this requirement is not only to
ensure abstract fair play to the individual. Its
purpose, more particularly, is to protect his
use and possession of property from arbitrary
encroachment — to minimize substantively
unfair or mistaken deprivations of property

ae oa

..+. Fuentes v. Shevin, supra, 407 U.S. at 80-
81.

Those same fundamental principles are no less at
stake when it is an appellate court that reaches out to
decide issues never raised by the parties. When such »
appellate action adjudicates an individual’s claim
pertaining to his or her interest in the use and
possession of property, the result of the court’s denying
a meaningful opportunity to be heard may be drastic —
indeed, the permanent extinguishment of that property
interest.

The constitutional command of due process, as well
as the state’s statutory law encompassing due process
concerns, required that petitioner at least be able to
address issues raised for the first time by the decision
of the California Court of Appeal. Certainly this must
be so when that decision leads directly to the
deprivation and final termination of a person’s
property rights, as occurred in this very case by virtue
of the court’s unrequested, and unwarned, dismissal of
Fleming’s action against Underwood with prejudice.

CONCLUSION

The California Court of Appeal’s refusal to grant
rehearing after its opinion reached issues never raised
on appeal or briefed by the parties was a clear denial of
petitioner’s right to due ; rocess of law as encompassed
by the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States
Constitution. This case raises fundamental constitu-
tional questions heretofore given little or no treatment
in the context of appellate proceedings. Petitioner

_— wR

respectfully prays for the issuance of a writ of
certiorari to address the important question presented
by this case.

Respectfully submitted,

LAW OFFICES OF
DENNIS A. FISCHER
Alan S. Yockelson, Esq.
Dennis A. Fischer, Esq.*

DENNIS A. FISCHER
Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

APPENDIX A

—

APPENDIX A

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL
OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION FIVE

THOMAS R. MORGAN, B022367
Plaintiff and (Super. Ct.
Cross-Defendant, No. C845685)
vs.

clshi ef 227502 -Sezaxo 5]

CHARLES UNDERWOOD, FILED

SEP 1 3 1938

)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
)
Defendant and )
Cross-Complainant, )
)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

ROBERT N.WILSOM _ Clark

Gisgus, ‘“-1cc%

EDWARD J. FLEMING,

Cross-Defendant and
Appellant,

SHUKI Y. LEVY and
DEBORAH DALE LEVY,

Interveners and
Respondents.

pay. OE

APPEAL from a post-judgment order of the Los
Angeles County Superior Court, Ronald M. George,
Judge. Reversed.

Herzfeld & Rubin, Martin S. Friedlander and David
E. Wheeler for Cross-Defendant and Appellant
_ Fleming.
Cooper, Epstein & Hurewitz, Carl Grumer and
Jeffrey D. Spilman for Interveners and Respondents
Levy.

Mr. Fleming appeals from a post-judgment order
which modified a final judgment of the trial court. The
final judgment, in effect, had quieted title to certain
real property in appellant Fieminig; and the Levys,
blameless third parties who were unknown to the court
at the time of the hearing, were thereby dispossessed.
The post-judgment order sought to remedy the
inequitable result of the earlier ruling. In the interests
of justice, we reverse the trial court by vacating both
the post-judgment order and the judgment, and we
direct the trial court to deny with prejudice Fleming’s
underlying motion for relief.

BACKGROUND

This case has a somewhat complicated history.
Approximately 25 years ago, Thomas R. Morgan
brought an action against Charles Underwood for
specific performance of an oral partnership agreement,
among other causes of action. Underwood cross-

es

=

complained against Morgan and against Edward J.
Fleming, the appellant herein. Fleming’s default was
entered, and on March 1, 1971, the trial court found in
favor of Underwood on both the complaint and cross-
complaint. It awarded Underwood approximately
$13,000 in principal, interest, and costs as against
Fleming. In July, Underwood obtained a writ of
execution of the judgment; and in September, after due
notice, the Sheriff conducted a sale of Fleming’s
residence at 2600 Zorada Drive to satisfy the
judgment. Underwood was the high bidder and
purchased the property for approximately $15,000. The
record indicates that Underwood later initiated an
unlawful detainer action to gain possession of the
property.

The property on Zorada Drive eventually was sold to
the Levys, respondents herein, on May 23, 1978, for
$210,000, the fair market value at that time.!

On June 4, 1985, Fleming filed a motion to set aside
and vacate the default judgment, cancel and vacate the
abstract of judgment and writ of excution, vacate and
set aside the sheriff’s execution sale, cancel the
sheriff’s deed, and dismiss underwod’s_ cross-
complaint. Fleming asserted that the judgment was
void on its face.

Mr. Underwood was served with notice and a copy
of the motion, but did not appear.? Although both

! The superior court file, of which we take judicial notice (Evid.
Code § 452, subd. (d) (1)), contains a declaration by Mr.
Underwood, dated April 22, 1986, stating that he “‘long ago sold
this real property to a third party, who sold to yet another third
party, who sold it to yet another third party.” The last sale
presumably was to the Levys.

2 The record reflects that copies of the notice of a June 24

yy eee

Fleming and his Attorney knew at least by the time the
hearing was held on October 9, 1985, that Underwood
no longer owned the property, the Levys were neither
served nor otherwise given notice.

The October 9 hearing was conducted by Judge
George, and only Fleming appeared. Fleming’s
attorney did not inform the court of the Levys. The

hearing and the motion were mailed on May 0 to a law firm
which had represented Underwood in this matter in 1974. The
documents were received on June 6. The firm had not had contact
with Underwood since 1974 and was unable to locate him. An
attorney from the firm, as “‘an officer of the court, ” requested a
continuance of the scheduled June 24 hearing, based in part on the
fact that Underwood had been represented by other counsel in a
1976 unlawful detainer action. Fleming opposed the motion,
insisting that he had served Underwood’s attorneys of record. His
counsel argued that “‘the record in this case reflects that said law
firm is the last attorney of record in this case.” On June 20,
Fleming, through his attorney, provided the firm with the address
of Underwood’s current residence, an address different from that
of the property in dispute. On June 24, Judge Newman continued
the hearing. On July 24, Judge Newman denied Fleming’s motion
on the basis that it was “notice deficient.” On September 17,
Fleming served Underwood.

3 Fleming argues that the applicable law did not require that
notice be served on the Levys because their title derived from that
of Underwood, whose title was void, and that the Levys were
legally chargeable with notice of the void title and the defeasibility
of their own. Fleming points to a number of cases in support of
this argument, especially Bullard v. McArdle . . . 1893) 98 Cal. 355,
DiNola v. Allison (1940) 143 Cal. 106, Mills v. Laing (1918) 38 Cal.
App. 776, and Arrow Sand & Gravel, I Nc. v. Superior Court (1985)
38 Cal.3d 884. However, the cases on which Fleming relies involve
the impact of a pending appeal on various property interest. In the
instant case, no appeal was ever taken from Underwood’s
judgment against Fleming, which stood undisturbed from 1971
until December 6, 1985.

yy ee

superior court file was missing, and no document
before the court reflected that Underwood was no
longer the owner of the Zorada Drive property. The
court took the matter under submission. By minute
order dated October 16, it granted Fleming’s motion.‘

On Ocotober 25, Fleming served notice of the ruling ©
on Underwood’s former attorneys and on Underwood,
the latter by mail addressed to his residence.

In a lengthy letter to the court dated November 20,
more than one month after the motion had been
granted, Fleming’s attorney emphasized that it was
“very important that Mr. Fleming be awarded
restituton of his home and his pesonal property located
therein.” The Levys were not mentioned.° (Please see
addendum.)

4 The superior court file was “missing” and consequently
unavailable to the trial court on at least three occasions during
these proceedings: on June 24, 1985, when Judge Newman
continued the hearing on Fleming’s motion; on October 9, 1985,
when Judge George conducted the hearing; and on May 23, 1986,
when Judge George heard the Levys’ applications for relief. To
better analyze the maaters before us, we ordered the superior court
file; it is woefully incomplete. Even though the case was filed in
the early 1960s, the file contains no original document dated
earlier than Fleming’s June 4, 1985 motion for relief. There are
some photocopies of earlier documents, but these turn out to be
nothing more than the exhibits Fleming garnered in support of his
motion to vacate the underlying judgment. Although the minute
order of October 16, 1985, wherein the court granted Fleming’s
motion, reflects that the court had the file at that point in time,
there is, of course, no indication of its contents.

5 The court was misled by both the oral and written statements
of Mr. Frielander, Fleming’s attorney. To mislead the court is a
violation of one’s oath, duties, and ethical obligations as an
attorney. (Bus. & Prof. Code, §§ 6067, 6068, subd. (d).)

sonsisiidlicess

Enclosed with the letter was an 11l-page draft of a
proposed order which counsel had prepared for
signature by the trial court. The proposed order gave
relief against Underwood, his family, and “all those in
privity with them, whether as assignees, vendees,
transferees, lessees, encumbrancers. attorneys, agents,
6r ‘Otherwise, who have entered under them, whether
with or with out notice of this action ... ” This
language had not been a part of Fleming’s original
motion. In compliance with a request by Judge George,
Fleming served the proposed order on Underwood.
Fleming did not serve the Levys. Judge George has his
clerk inform Fleming’s attorney that the court would
hold the proposed order for 14 days to allow for
objections from Underwood. The file does not indicate
the Underwood filed objections at this time. The order
was signed by the court on December 6, 1985, and was
recorded the same day.

On or about April 7, 1986, during a period when the
Levys were on vacation in Mexico, a uniformed Los
Angeles County Marshal posted a notice to vacate and
writ of possession at the Zorada Drive property. The
notice required that the property be vacated April 12.°
On or about April 14, the property went into escrow in
anticipation of its being sold by the Levys to a Mr. and
Mrs. Myers. They Levys returned fron their vacation

© The “Notice to Vacate,” which was addressed to ‘Charles
Underwood,” stated in part: “If you claim a right to possession of
the property accruing prior to the commencement of the Unlawful
Detainer action, or claim to have been in possession of the
property on the date of the filing of the Unlawful Detainer action
and are not named in the attached writ, contact the Marshal’s
Offices set forth on this Notice.” There is nothing before us which
reflects that Fleming had filed an action in unlawful detainer.

on April 17 to find that they had been locked out of the
Zorada Drive property. Fleming proceeded to move
into the residence.

(The superior court file discloses that on April 22,
1986, Underwood, represented by a new attorney, .
applied ex parte to Judge Newman for a temporary
order restraining further enforcement of Fleming’s
writ of possession until the court could reconsider
Fleming’s motion to vacate the underlying judgment.
In support of his application, Underwood declared that
Fleming had been served in the underlying action.
Fleming opposed the application on the basis that the
December 6 order had enjoined Underwood from the
proceedings, that Underwood had been properly served
with Fleming’s motion to vacate, that there was a
substantial likelihood that personal property remaining
in the Zorada Drive property, as referenced in the
December 6 order, would disappear because a stay
would give Underwood time to conceal the property,
and that personal property valued at over $745,000
which Fleming had recently moved into the Zorada
Drive residence “‘might well‘disappear’ ” if there were
any delay. Underwood’s application was denied.
Fleming’s attorney expected Underwood to file a
motion to reconsider the December 6 order, but the file
does not reflect that such motion was filed or that any
hearing on the matter was held.

In several appearances before the trial court, the
Levys applied for relief. In an order dated June 6,
1986, “correcting and modifying” the order of
December 6, 1985, the court omitted language in the
original order which had restored the real property to
Fleming, and instead, restored possession to the Levys.

Fleming appeals.

—\

DISCUSSION

Fleming contends that the Levys did not have
standing to intervene and the the court otherwise erred
in modifying the December 6, 1985 order.

Respondents contend that this appeal is frivolous
and request an award of sanctions.

1. Standing.

Fleming first contends that the Levys, who were not
parties to the underlying action of Morgan y.
Underwood, failed to comply with the requirements of
Code of Civil Procedure section 387, subdivision (a)
(387 (a)) and therefore did not have standing to
. intervene. Whether the standards for intervention have
been met is a determination left to the sound discretion
of the trial court. (Northern Cal. Psychiatric Society v.
City of Berkeley (1986) 178 Cal.App.3d 90, 109.)

Section 387(a) provides in pertinent part as follows:
“Upon timely application, any person, who has an
interest in the matter in litigation, . . may intervene in
the action or proceeding. An intervention takes place
when a third person is permitted to become a party to
an action or proceeding between other persons, . . .and
is made by complaint, setting forth the grounds upon
which the intervention rests, filed by leave of the court
and served ...upon the attorneys of the parties who
have appeared,. . .in the manner provided for service of
summons or in the manner provided by Chapter 5
(commencing with Section 1010) Title 14 of Part 2...”

Parties may intervene, if otherwise appropriate, at
any time, even after judgment. (Mallick v. Superior
Court (1979) 89 Cal.App.3d 434, 437.) A right to

oe b
eee

_—

intervene should be asserted within a resonable time,
and an intervener must not be guilty of an
unreasonable delay after knowledge of the suit. (Allen
v. California Walter & Tel. Co. (1947) 31 Cal. 2d 104,
108.) In the matter before us, the Levys were
completely unaware of the instant case prior to April °
17, 1986, when they returned from their vacation and
found that they were locked out of the Zorada Drive
property. By April 23, they were before Judge Cole
seeking relief under an ex parte application for a
temporary restraining order and for an order
“correcting” the December 6 order. Obviously, the

Levys were diligent in asserting their rights, which

shortly led to their being made parties to the action>

After much discussion, neither the court nor the
Levys were sure whether they should bring a separate
action or continue in the instant case in their quest for _
relief. The court clearly recognized the intent of the
Levys to become involved and granted them immediate
relief through a temporary restraining order and order
to show cause why the court should not modify the
December 6 order and give additional relief. The court
further ordered the Levys to post bond and to
personally serve on Fleming’s attorneys a copy of the
order “together with the Ex Parte Applications,
Declaration and Memorandum of Points and Authori-
ties filed herein” not later that April 28. The Levys met
all conditions. The court granted the Levys leave to file
appropriate pleadiings by May 6. Their complaint in
intervention, setting forth grounds, was filed April 30.

As Fleming points out, the file does not contain a
proof of service of the complaint. However, Fleming’s
counsel declared, in support of a motion to strike the
complaint in intervention, that on May 14 he had

—A10—

received a copy of the complaint file stamped April 30,
1986, and a proof of service by mail dated May 13,
1986.

An intervener becomes an actual party to the suit by
virtue of the order authorizing him to intervene.
(Hospital Council of Northern California v. Superior
(1973) 30 Cal.App.3d 331, 336.) At the May 23 hearing
on the order to show cause, Judge George explicitly
granted the Levys’ request for standing. This was
reflected in his order filed June 6.

Although the above facts indicate that the Levys
indeed acquired standing as interveners, Fleming
argues that this is not so because the court failed to
state either during the May 23 hearing and or in its
June 6 order that it was giving nunc pro tunc effect to
the complaint in intervention file April 30. Fleming
fails to cite any authority for this position.

It has been held that one may be allowed to intervene
on oral motion without supporting documents when
the motion is made in the presence of the attorneys for
the parties and the applicant adequately informs the
court and the parties of the basis for the motion. (Simac
Design, Inc. v. Alciati (1979) 92 Cal.App.3d 146, 157.)
Here, Fleming was represented at every hearing and
was timely served with all documents. There was no
confusion regarding the grounds on which the Levys
desired to intervene, albeit there was some indecision as
to procedural matters.

The purpose of 387(a) is to promote fairness, to
insure maximum involvement by all responsible,
interested persons affected by the judgment, to obviate
delay, and to prevent a multiplicity of actions. (Mary
R. v. B& R. Corp. (1983) 149 Cal.App.3d 308, 314.)
Without warning, the Levys had lost title and physical

—Al1l—

access to their property. Judge George made the
appropriate order; there was no abuse of discretion.

2. The June 6 Order.
a. Judicial Error

The grounds on which the Levys sought injunctive
relief and amendment of the judgment were that the
December 6 order had been entered as the result of
clerical mistake or inadvertence and did not reflect the
intention of the trial court since the order, drawn by
Fleming’s attorney, far exceeded the relief originally
requested. The trial court agreed and based its June 6
order on its conclusion of law that the December 6
order had been signed as the result of clerical error.

There is both an inherent and a statutory right for a
court to cause its judgment to be correctly set forth.
(Estate of Eckstrom (1960) 54 Cal. 2d 540, 547; Gravert
v. DeLuse (1970) 6 Cal.App.3d 576, 582.) However,
while a court can correct the record of the judgment, it
cannot alter the judgment actually rendered, “even
though the propsed amendment contains matters
which ought to have been so pronounced.” (Estate of
Eckstrom, supra, 54 Cal.2d at p. 544.) This doctrine is
usually explained through the use of the terms
“judicial error” and “clerical error.” The distinction is
“‘whether the error was made in rendering the
judgment, or in recording the judgment rendered.’
Citation.] ... [{] An amendment that substantially
modifies the original judgment or materially alters the
rights of the parties, may not be made by the court
under its authority to correct clerical error. . .unless
the record clearly demonstrates that the error was not
the result of the exercise of judicial discretion.

—A12—

[Citation.]” (In re Canderlario (1970) 3 Cal.3d 702, 705;
and see Craven v. Crout. . .1985) 163 Cal.App.3d 779,
782.) In Gravert v. DeLuse, supra, 5 Cal.App.3d at page
581, it was said that {t]he disctinction between a
clerical error and a judicial error . . . does not depend
so much on the person making it as on whether it was
the deliberate result of judicial reasoning and determina-
tion.”

In determining whether an error is clerical or
judicial, great weight should be placed on the
declaration of the judge as to his or her intention in
signing the order. (Gill v. Epstein (1965) 62 Cal.2d 611,
615.) Where there is a conflict in the evidence, the
conclusion of the trial court will probably be accepted
on review; however, where the record clearly shows
that there was no clerical error, the recital of the trial
court will not be conclusive. (Morgan v. State Bd. of
Equalization (1949) 89 Cal.App.2d 674, 682; Nathanson
v. Murphy (1957) 147 Cal.App.2d 462, 469.)

In the case at bar, the trial court stated as a
conclusion of law in its June 6 post-judgment order
that the December 6 order had been signed as the
result of clerical error. Our review of the evidence
shows that the trial court was sufficiently uneasy about
Fleming’s motion that it delayed signing the judgment
for 15 days in order to give Underwood, the only
interested party of whom the court was aware, an
additional chance to be heard. Then, based on the
documents put forward by Fleming and on inferences
drawn from representations made by his attorney, the
court ultimately gave the relief sought. That relief
effectively quieted title in Fleming. Thus, the trial
court did exercise its judicial discretion.

—A13—

When the court learned of the resulting plight of the
Levys, it attempted to roll back the judgment by giving
Fleming relief only as against Underwood. However, a
court cannot amend a final judgment simply on the
basis that new evidence has come to light. (Cf. Stevens
v. Superior Court (1958) 160 Cal.2d 264, 270.) In
addition, the relief granted to the Levys was
accomplished through a substantial modification of the
original judgment, and that modification materially
altered Fleming’s rights: he no longer had title or
access to the Zorada Drive property.

There is no conflict in the evidence, and our review
of it leads us to conclude that the error cannot be
termed “clerical.” The decision which the trial court
later sought to correct was the result of judicial
reasoning and determination and therefore could not
be modified under the clerical error doctrine.

At this point, we briefly discuss a case cited by
Fleming in support of his argument that the court’s
error, if any, was judicial and not clerical: Landton v.
Superior Court (1936) 5 Cal.2d 694. Fleming
specifically calls to our attention the following
language from that case: “If the Court miscontrued the
evidence before it, or misapplied the laws applicable to
the facts disclosed by the evidence, or was even misled
by counsel such an error was in no sense a clerical error
which could thereafter be corrected by the court.. ..”
(At p. 696; emphasis supplied.) Fleming seeks to
expand this language to cover a fraud on the court: his
failure to disclose that Underwood no longer owned the
subject property. Lankton has never been cited for this
purpose. Furthermore, an examination of Lankton and
of the cases on which it ultimately relies shows that
“misled” is used only in the sense of “inadvertent.”

_\)

(First National Bank of Fresno v. Dusy (1895) 110
Cal.77; Forquer et al. v. Forquer (1857) 19 Ill. 68, 71.)
Although we conclude that the court’s error was not
clerical, we decline to apply the language of Lankton to
the facts of the case at bar.

While relief was not available to the Levys under the
clerical error rule, other grounds exist.

a. Fleming’s theory of relief.

In his motion to vacate the underlying judgment,
Fleming asserted that the judgment was void on its face
on the eight separate grounds. A judgment is not “void
on its face” unless its invalidity is apparent from an
inspection of the judgment roll. (People v. Davis (1904)
143 Cal. 673, 675.) As discussed below, we conclude
that Fleming’s assertion is without support. We
consider the eight grounds seriatim.

(1) With regard to the summons and second
amended cross-compiaint, he was never personally
served as “Edward J. Fleming” and service on
“Edward J. Flemming” was based on a false return of
service.

A slight error in spelling which does not destroy the
virtual identity of the name (idem sonans) can be
entirely disregarded. (Brum v. Ivins (1908) 154 Cal. 17,
20.) The misspelling of “Fleming ” is such an error,
and it could have been readily corrected by amendment
of the return or testimony as to service. See
“Comment-Judicial Council” uner section 417.10 of
the Code of Civil Procedure as set forth in West’s
Annotated Code, which provides in pertinent part:
“(I]f the process is in correct form, properly issued and
served, and the proof of service is timely filed with the

_—

clerk, a defective affidavit will not destroy jurisdiction;
the court may permit an amendment of the affidavit to
conform to the facts.” (Ginns v. Shumate (1977) 65
Cal.App.3d 802, 806.)

The summons and return of service are part of the
judgment roll (Code Civ. Proc., § 670, subd. (b)), and
both documents show service on “Edward J. Flem-
ming.” Fleming’s argument that he was never
peronally served is based on his own declaration and on
a statement by Royal M. Hassrick. These documents
were submitted in support of his motion to vacate and
are outside the judgment role. (Code Civ. Proc., § 670

subd. (b).)

(2) Fleming was never personally served with the
motion to correct the spelling of his name nunc pro
tunc on the cross-complaint so amended, and no
declaration of personal service in the file establishes
that he was personally served with these documents.
Therefore, the effect of the amendment was to add a
new cross-defendant -- Edward J. Fleming -- after the
statute of limitations had run.

Notice of these subsequent proceedings, which
amended the complaint as mere matter of form, was
not required after Fleming’s default was duly entered.
(Code Civ. Proc., § 1010, Heathman v. Vant (1959) 172
Cal.App.2d 639, 647, Thompson v. Cook (1942) 20 Cal.
2d 564, 568; and see Engelbretson & Company, Inc. v.
Harrison (1982) 125 Cal.App.3d 436, 440.)

(3) The summons on the second amended cross-
complaint was allegedly served on June 24, 1970, and
returned on July 3, 1970, in violation of the three-year
provision of 581la, subdivision (a).

Former section 58la, subdivision (a) generally
provides for mandatory dismissal if return of service is

—A16— i

not made within three years after commencement of an
action. However, this requirement did not apply to
cross-complaints until subsection (b) was added in
1970. (See e.g., Welden v. Davis Auto Exchange (1957)
153 Cal.App.2d 515, 519.) The original cross-complaint
in the case at bar was file October 1, 1964; the first
amended cross-complaint was filed November 30,
1964; and the second-amended cross-complaint was
filed September 16, 1969. The former rule does not
apply.

The modern rule is that a judgment based on a late
return of summons is irregular, but not void. (National
Diversified Services, Inc. v. Bernstein (1985) 168
Cal.App.3d 410, 415-416.)

No motion to dismiss had ever been made in this
action prior to Fleming’s motion of June 4, 1985.

(4) The default against Edward J. Flemming was
entered on March 2, 1971, more than five years after
the filing of the original cross-complaint in violation of
Code of Civil Procedure section 583, subdivision (b).

Former section 583, subdivision (b) provides for
dismissal of an action which is not brought to trial
within five years. However, the period of pendency of
an appeal is excluded from the five-year computation
(City of Pasadena vy. City of Alhambra (1949) 33 Cal.2d
908, 916-917), as well as the period of time between
date a default judgment is entered and the date the
default is set aside (Heward v. Cromwell (1963) 216
Cal.App.2d 613, 616). In Fleming’s own motion to
vacate he states that the court entered judgment on the
complaint in favor of Morgan as against Underwood
on April 12, 1967, which was affirmed on appeal by
remittitur filed April 4, 1969, and that on June 30,
1969, Underwood filed a motion to vacate the default

EC

4 Seer

— heh

and default judgment entered against him, which was
granted September 10, 1969. None of the relevant
documents is contained either in the record before us
or in the superior court file. Under Fleming’s own
pleading it appears that the running of the five-year
period was tolled for roughly two years, and therefore
Fleming’s default was entered within the five year
period.

(5) In violation of section 580, the second amended
cross-complaint did fiot pray for interest and the
request to enter default did not request intereg.

Section 580 provides: “‘The relief granted to the
plaintiff, if there be no answer, cannot exceed that
which he shall have demanded in his complaint... .”
As stated in National Diversified Services, Inc. v.
Bernstein, supra, ““The policy behind this statute is that
a defendant is entitled to be informed of the maximum
liability which he will face if he chooses to default.
[Citations] (168 Cal.App.3d at p. 417.) Under the first
cause of action of the second amended cross-complaint
Underwood states that “there is now due and unpaid
from cross-defendants to cross-complainant the sum of
$5,500.00 with interest thereon at the rate of 7% per
annum from July 5, 1964.” This is nothing more than
legal interest. The statement in the body of the
complaint was adequate to inform Fleming of his
liability.

The entry of a default by the clerk is merely a
ministerial act (Bristol Convalescent Hosp. v. Stone
(1968) 258 Cal.App.2d 848, 862), and it is not essential
to the entry of a valid judgment against a defendant
(Crouch v. H.L. Miller & Co. (1915) 169 Cal. 341, 345). A
clerk has the authority to enter a default judgment for
amounts alleged and prayed for where the judgment is

—A18—

based on an oral promise to pay specific sums set forth
in an action arising on contract for the recovery of
money. (Norman v. Berney (1965) 235 Cal.App.2d 424,
430-431.) The clerk may enter judgment where a
contract provides for some definite, fixed amount of
damages or where such may be ascertained by
computation made by the clerk. (Ford v. Superior Court
(1973) 34 Cal. App.3d 338, 342.) In the case at bar,
damages were based on causes of action for breach of
contract, the amounts were clearly set forth, and
nothing more than legal interest was requested. As
discussed above, the complaint gave notice of the
extent of liability to the defaulting defendant. The
omission of the clerk to include legal interest could
easily have been corrected. In addition, a request to
enter default is not part of the judgment role. (Code of
Civ. Proc., § 670, subd. (b).) The omission did not result
in a judgment void on its face.

(6) The request to enter default filed September 15,
1970, did not request costs, nor did the memorandum
of costs attached to said request include costs.

The second amended cross-complaint prayed for
costs. The photocopy of the relevant page of the
September 15 request to enter default is of such poor
quality that we cannot ascertain whether or not the
costs were included. In any event, as in (5), above, such
an omission did not make the judgment void on its face.

(7) The file does not reflect that Fleming was served
with a memorandum of costs although the judgment
included an award of costs.

A memorandum of costs is not part of the judgment
role. (Code Civ. Proc. § 670, subd.(b).) Many
documents are missing from the file.

—A19—

(8) The sum requested in the second cause of action
is included in the first cause of action and therefore the
judgment exceeded the prayer as measured by the body
of the complaint.

We construe the language of the two causes of action
to mean that various breaches by the cross-defendants '
resulted in damages of $5,000 with respect to each of
two separate undertakings. The figures are accurately
reflected in the prayer. The defaulting cross-
defendants were thus on notice regarding this potential
liability, and the judgment is not void on its face on this
basis.

In summary, there is no support for Fleming’s
assertion that Underwood’s judgment against Fleming
is void on its face.

While judgment void on its face may be set aside by
motion with no limit on the time within which the
motion must be made (Young v. Young (1970) 14
Cal.App.3d 1, 4), a judgment valid on its face may be set
aside on the ground that it is void only on a motion
made within a reasonable time. (Smith v. Jones (1917)
174 Cal. 513, 516.) Generally, a reasonable period of
time has been held to be one year from entry of
judgment. (See People v. One 1941 Chrysler (1947) 81
Cal.App.2d 18, 25.) In the case of a false return of
summons, which Fleming asserts as a ground in his
motion to vacate, the motion can be made after a year
has elapsed: the time limit is “‘a reasonable time from
discovery of the default judgment irrespective of when
it may actually have been entered. [Citations.]” (Munoz
v. Lopez (1969) 275 Cal App.2d 178, 181.) ““Reasonable
time” from date ofdiscovery by analogy to former Code
of Civil Procedure section 473a (now § 473.5) is limited
to one year. (Estate of Estrem (1940) 16 Cal.2d 563,

—A20—

571; Sullivan v. Sullivan (1967) 256 CalApp.2d 301, 304;
cf. In re Marriage of Stevenot (1984) 154 Cal.App.3d
1501 [held as a matter of law that one-and one-half
year delay in seeking relief after due notice of entry of
default is unreasonable].)

“In determining whether the delay by the
complainant in seeking relief has been unreasonable,
many circumstances are to be considered. Although
length of time in itself, aside from its likelihood of
producing hardship, is not a bar, nevertheless the
length of time which has elapsed from the time when
the complainant knew or should have known of the
facts... is an important element where no reason is
suggested for the delay.’ ” (Alexander v. Abbey of the
Chimes (1980) 104 Cal.App.3d 39, 48.) As more fully
discussed below, Fleming knew of the default judgment
at least by the time he was evicted in 1976, and
evidence strongly suggests that he knew much earlier.
The record reflects that Fleming did nothing to set
aside the default and default judgment for approxi-
mately 10 years. And, as Judge George noted, Fleming
offered no evidence of any kind to explain the delay.

We hold as a matter of law thgt Fleming’s motion to
vacate the underlying judgment was not brought within
a reasonable time of his having actual knowledge of the
judgment.

c. Unclean Hands.

It is a familiar rule that one who seeks the
interposition of a court of equity must come into court
with clean hands. (London vy. Marco (1951) 103
Cal.App.2d 450, 453.) The doctrine is not restricted to
cases of actionable fraud. (McDougall v. O’ Hara (1954)

—A21—

129 Cal.App.2d 12, 14.) “For it is not only fraud or
illegality which will prevent a suitor from obtaining
equitable relief. Any unconscientious conduct upon his
part which is connected with the controversy will repel
him from the form whose very foundation is good
conscience. [Citation.]” (DeGarmo v. Goldman (1942)
19 Cal.2d 755, 764.) And, “i]f the record shows upon its
face that the moving party has failed to act in good
faith with the court, that is, has instituted a proceeding
or motion with unclean hands, it is the duty of a
reviewing court in the interest of justice to determine
the propriety of the judgment, decree or order of the
trial court.” (Katx v. Karlsson (1948) 84 Cal.App.2d
469, 473.)

Our investigations have disclosed that an unlawful
detainer action brought by Underwood against Flem-
ing in 1975 is integrally related to the issues at bar. The
record of that action reveals that Fleming was aware
of his rights long ago. We take judicial notice of case
number C138890. (Evid.Code, § 452, subd. (d)(2).)

The unlawful detainer file reflects the facts which
follow. A judgment in favor of Underwood on his
cross-complaint against plaintiff, cross-defendant Mor-
gan and cross-defendant Fleming was entered on
March 16, 1971. On July 23, 1974, a writ of execution
was issued, directing the sheriff to levy on Fleming’s
Zorada Drive property. On July 24, the sheriff levied
on the property. Statutory notice was given, and the
property was sold at public auction to Underwood on
September 12. Under Code of Civil Procedure section
700a, Fleming had a one-yea‘ © eriod within which to
redeem the property by payment of the judgment. No
redemption was made or attempted by Fleming or
anyone else during that period. On September 17, 1975,

—A22—

the sheriff executed and delivered to Underwood a
sheriff’s deed, which was duly recorded. On October 3,
Underwood caused to be served a three-day notice to
quit and deliver up the premises. A complaint in
unlawful detainer was filed October 14. Numerous
attempts were made to serve cross-defendant Fleming
and plaintiff and cross-defendant Morgan, who
apparently were the sole occupants of the Zorada
Drive property at this time. Substituted service was
eventually effected. On or about November 12, a copy
of a request to enter default in the unlawful detainer
action was mailed to Fleming and to Morgan. The
envelopes were sent back marked “refused,” but their
condition indicated that they had been opened and
resealed. On December 5, default was entered against
Fleming and ‘Morgan. Trial was set for January 7,
1976.

Judgment was in favor of Underwood and a writ of
execution entitling Underwood to possession was
issued on or about January 12. On or about January 22,
1976, Fleming appeared ex parte and obtained a stay of
execution pending a motion to vacate. Fleming argued
that the underlying judgment on the cross-complaint
was void and as a consequence the judgment in
unlawful detainer was void as well. His attorney
declared that Fleming had “filed a Notice of Motion to
Vacate” the underlying judgment. The following
grounds for vacation were set forth as part of his
attorney’s declaration: That on March 25, 1971,
Fleming filed a declaration of homestead; on March
12, 1973, he filed a voluntary petition in bankruptcy
which resulted in the judgment for approximately
$13,000 being discharged and in exemption of the
Zorada Drive property; and that because of the
misspelling of his mame, he had no actual or

—A23—

constructive notice of the abstract of judgment.
Fleming’s attorney also declared: “Apparently, from
the court files, it appears that my client, Mr. Fleming,
who was erroneously sued as a cross-defendant as
Edward J. Flemming, aka Mark Roberts, was served
on June 24, 1970, almost six years after the date of the °
original action.”~

Elsewhere, Fleming stated additional grounds: that
the default in the underlying action was entered more
than five years from the date the original action had
been filed; that “it is this moving party’s belief that said
judgment is void on its face because of the time gap
between issuance of summons and the service of
same”; entry of judgment was in excess of five years;
and that he had never been personally served or
adequately notified in the unlawful detainer action.
Fleming requested the court to take judicial notice of
the file of the underlying action.

Fleming submitted an “affidavit” that he had never
been personally served nor had he avoided service in
the unlawful detainer action. Morgan’s “affidavit”
stated that he had found certain notices on January 14
and had turned them over to an attorney.

Underwood opposed the stay and the motion to
vacate on the following grounds: The motion to vacate
had been filed without points and authorities in
violation of various rules of court and, furthermore,
should have been brought in the underlying action; the
abstract of judgment in the underlying action had been
filed prior to Fleming filing for bankruptcy, and
Fleming had not listed Underwood as a secured
creditor in his petition; the five year and three year
statutes (Code Civ. Proc., §§ 581, subd. (a) and 583)
had not been violated because an appeal had tolled the

—',

statutes; that neither Fleming nor Morgan had
submitted legally sufficient affidavits and that their
statements had not even been signed under penalty of
perjury.

Underwood submitted his declaration that when he
had accompanied a deputy sheriff to the residence in
an attempt to serve Fleming, the person who answered
the door identified himself as Royal Moran Hassrick
and stated that he was and had been the sole resident of
the house for the previous four years. Underwood
heard movement within the house during this
conversation.

A Mr. Monson, who lived next door to Fleming,
declared that the residence had been occupied by two
people for six to seven years, but that over the last three
to four years, the occupants had refused to answer the
door on numerous occasions.

Underwood submitted proof that Fleming had been
convicted of mail fraud and use of a fictitious name in
mail fraud.

The trial court lifted the stay and denied Fleming’s
motion without prejudice. Fleming was evicted on
January 13, 1976. The files do not indicate that
Fleming ever renewed his motion.

None of the above information was disclosed to
Judge George, and all that was before the trial court
was Fleming’s unopposed motion for relief from the
1971 judgment on the cross-complaint. That motion
sets forth grounds nearly identical to those on which
Fleming relied in 1976. The only important new
ground in Fleming’s 1985 motion for relief is his
assertion for the first time that he was never served in
the underlying action. The only evidence he has
submitted in support of this argument is his declaration

—A25—

that he was never served and a statement by Royal M.
Hassrick that he and.Fleming had been in Colorado
together during the time in which personal service was
said to have occurred. According to this document, Mr.
Hassrick executed his statement at Kolonia Ponape, in
the Caroline Islands, a United States Trust Territory.
It fails to include the required language “‘under the
laws of the State of California....” (Code of
Civ.Proc., § 2015.5)

“«*The burden is on the one coming into a court of
equity for relief to prove not only his legal rights but
his clean hands, and he may not rely on any
deficiencies that may be laid at the door of the [other
party]. [Citation.]’ ” (Katz v. Karlsson, supra, 84 Cal.
App.2d at p. 475.) The record in this case speaks for
itself. It is replete with evidence of a well prepared
plan to “work the system.” Aware that past witnesses
probably would be scattered, that Underwood no
longer had any direct interest in the property, that
courts are jammed with cases, and that judges must of
necessity rely on the good faith of counsel, Fleming
moved for relief. He refused to properly notice
Underwood until ordered to do so by Judge Newman.
As Judge George found below, Fleming and his counsel
“knew prior to [the October 9 hearing] that
Underwood had transferred title to the property. . .to
third parties, but failed to disclose this material fact to
the Court at any time prior to May, 1986.” Fleming
also failed to bring the unlawful detainer action to the
attention of Judge George even though it was directly
related to the issues before the court. After his motion
for relief was granted, Fleming waited more than a
month before presenting Judge George with the
proposed judgment. The document set forth relief far
beyond that granted when the trial court ruled on the

—A26—

motion to vacate. The judgment was signed December
6, 1985, and was recorded the same day. However,
Fleming, in an act akin to lying-in-wait, chose to
execute on his judgment four months later during a
period when the Levys had begun to move out of the
house in preparation for its sale and were on vacation
in Mexico.

“The ‘clean hands’ rule is of ancient origin and
given broad application. It is the most important rule
affecting the administration of justice. ‘Equity denies
affirmative relief for such conduct even though it
thereby leaves undisturbed and in ostensible full legal
effect acts or proceedings which would affirmatively
be set aside but for such consideration. [{] ‘The maxim
is based on conscience and good faith. It is not strictly
or primarily a matter of defense, but is invoked on
grounds of public policy and for the protection of the
integrity of the court.’ [Citation.]” (Katz v. Karlsson,
supra, 84 Cal App. 2d at p. 474.) Fleming’s acts show
not only bad faith but contempt for the administration
of justice. Public policy and the integrity of the court
demand that Fleming be denied all requested relief on
the ground that he proceeded with unclean hands, and
we so hold.

3. Sanctions.
We cannot hold that the appeal was frivolous within

the meaning of In re Marriage of Flaherty (1982) 31
Cal.3d 637, and therefore decline to award sanctions.

—A27—

4. Notice to State Bar of Attorney Miscon-
duct.

Business and Professions Code section 6086.7
provides: “Whenever a reversal of a judgment in a
judicial proceeding is based in whole or in part upon '
misconduct, incompetent representation, or willful
misrepresentation by counsel, the court that ordered
reversal of the judgment shall cause the matter to be
reported to the State Bar for investigation with regard
to the appropriateness of initiating disciplinary action
against the attorney. The court shall also notify the
attorney involved that the matter has been referred to
the State Bar of California for investigation.” Our
reversal of the judgment in the case at bar is based in
part on the November 20, 1985 letter by Martin S.
Friedlander, one of Fleming’s attorneys, to Judge
George, which misled the trial court with regard to a
material fact: that the property no longer was owned
and occupied by Mr. Underwood. Therefore, as
mandated by section 6086.7, the matter shall be
reported to the State Bar for investigation and Mr.
Friedlander shall be duly notified.

—A28—

~

DISPOSITION

We reverse the trial court and order that the post-
judgment order of June 6, 1986, be vacated, that the
judgment of Decemer 6, 1985, be vacated, and that the
trial court deny with prejudice the motion for relief
filed by Mr. Fleming on June 4, 1985.

In the interests of justice, costs on appeal are
awarded to respondents.

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED
LUCAS, PJ.
We concur:

ASHBY, J.
BOREN, J.

—A29—

[ADDENDUM]

HERZFELD & RUBIN
ATTORNEYS AT LAW
[Illegible]

November 20, 1985

The Honorable Ronald M. George
Judge Presiding, Department 84
Los Angeles Superior Court
111 North Hill Street
Los Angeles, CA 90012
Re: Underwood vs. Fleming
LASC Case No. 845685
Hearing Date, October 9, 1985

Dear Judge George:

On October 9, 1985, when I appeared in court for the
hearing on this Motion, your clerk had not as yet
located the file, and at my request, you took Fleming’s
Motion under submisstion. On that date, I advised you
that I was leaving for the Orient on a four week
vacation on October 12, 1985, and that in the event you
ruled favorably on my Motion, I would want an
opportunity to prepare a formal written Order to be
signed by you to fully reflect the findings of the court
and the court orders with respect thereto. I have
prepared for your review and execution, a Court Order
which I believe emobodies your findings and orders
based upon the Motion presented and the court file in
this matter.

I have been quite elaborate in drafting this proposed
Court Order for the following reasons. Mr. Fleming

ey ee

personally resided in the real property located at 2600
Zorada Drive, Los Angeles, California 90046, which
real estate is described in the proposed Court Order.
The court file and the Motion papers reflect that
Charles Underwood enforced the void Judgment by
obtaining a Writ of Execution against Mr. Fleming,
and levying execution against Mr. Fleming’s personal
residence. As a result of the Execution sale of Mr.
Fleming’s residence, at which sale Mr. Underwood was
the highest bidder, the Sheriff seized Mr. Fleming’s
residence, changed the locks, and physically evicted
Mr. Fleming, placing Mr. Underwood into possession
along with all of the personal property of Mr. Fleming
located in Mr. Fleming’s residence.

It is therefore very important that Mr. Fleming be
awarded restitution of his home and his personal
property located therein. For that reason, I have
prepared court orders for your review granting Mr.
Fleming restitution of his premises, along with the
personal property contained therein, quieting title in
Mr. Fleming’s favor as to the physical premises and the
personal property Icoated therein. We are merely
placing Mr. Fleming back into possession and title that
existed prior to the enforcement of the void Judgment
against his real estate and personal property.

I wish to point out to you that I neglected to include
as an exhibit to Mr. Fleming’s Motion, the Indenture
between Peter J. Pitchess, Sheriff of the County of Los
Angeles, and Underwood dated September 17, 1975,
which document was recorded in the Los Angeles
County Recorder’s Office on October 10, 1975. You
will note that paragraph 10 of the proposed Order
deals with this document. Enclosed herewith please
find a photocopy of said Indenture bearing the

—A3i1—

recording information, and I hereby request that you
take judicial notice of the same as being part of the
public records of the County of Los Angeles, and
include the provisions of paragraph 10 in your Order. I
would have included this document as an exhibit to the
Judgment, but I have been informed by the Judgment
Clerk that judgments are not to have exhibits appended
thereto.

In view of the great difficulty your clerk had in
locating the file in archives for you to rule on this
Motion, I have obtained the file for you out of archives
to enable you to review this proposed Order for your
execution. If this proposed Order meets with your
approval, I would appreciate your executing and
having your clerk enter this Order. I also request that
- you have your clerk issue a certified copy of this Order,
and mail the same back to me in the enclosed self-
addressed, stamped envelope. I have enclosed three
copies of this Order for this purpose. If you have any
questions with respect to this proposed Order, please
do not hesitate to contact the undersigned.

Respectfully submitted,
HERZFELD & RUBIN

/S/
Martin S. Friedlander

MSF:le
Enclosures
cc: Mr. Edward J. Fleming

—A32—

<cE CEIVED
OCT 13 1988
HERZFELD & RUBIA

OFFICE OF THE CLERK
COURT OF APPEAL
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT
ROBERT N. WILSON, CLERK

DIVISION: 5 DATE: 10/12/88

Hersfeld & Rubin
David Wheeler

1925 Century Park East
Suite 600

Los Angeles, CA. 90067

RE: Morgan, Thomas R.
vs.
Fleming, Edward J.
Levy, Shuki Y. & Deborah Dale
2 V 8022367
Los Angeles NO. C845685

THE COURT:

Petition for rehearing is denied.

APPENDIX B

SUPRIME CouRT

_ pi FILED
NOV 3 01998

“

Clerk

APPENDIX B ee ee
ORDER DENYING REVIEW

AFTER JUDGMENT BY THE COURT OF APPEAL

2nd District, Division 5, No. B022367
S007624

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN BANK

MORGAN, Respondent,

v.

UNDERWOOD, Appellant
FLEMING, Appellant.

Petition for review of appellant Fleming DENIED.

Chief Justice

ED

NOV 3 01989
. Clerg
ee
ORDER DENYING ALTERNATIVE WRIT

ee

No. S007623

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN BANK

FLEMING, Petitioner

v.

COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND APPELLATE
DISTRICT, Respondent; UNDERWOOD ET AL., Real
Parties in Interest.

Petition for writ of mandate DENIED.

Chief Justice

PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL

State of California
SS.
County of Los Angeles

I, the undersigned, say: I am and was at all times herein’
mentioned, a citizen of the United States and a resident of the
County of Los Angeles, over the age of eighteen (18) years and
not a party to the within action or proceeding; that my business
address is 10835 Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 200, Los
Angeles, California 90025; that on February 27, 1989, I served
the within WPetition for Writ of Certiorari to the Court of
Appeal of the State of California, Second Apellate District,
Division Five in said action or proceeding by depositing true
copies thereof, enclosed in a sealed envelope with postage
thereon fully prepaid, in the United States mail at Los Angeles,
California, addressed as follows:

Clerk. United States Carl Grumer
Supreme Court Jeffrey D. Spilman
One First Street, NE. Cooper, Epstein & Hurewitz
Washington, D.C. 20543 345 No. Maple Drive
(Original + 40 Copies) Suite 200

Beverly Hills, CA 90210
Charles Underwood (3 Copies)

19173 Berclair Lane
Tarzana, CA 91356
(3 Copies)

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true
and correct. Executed on February 27, 1989, at Los Angeles,
California.

OFFICIAL SEAL Claude A A
SHERRI L BELLOTTI (Original si
NOTARY PUBLIC - CALIFORNIA j

LOS ANGELES COUNTY
My comm. expres OCT 2, 1992

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0989%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
