# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Richmann v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0910%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 490 U.S. 1089

## Text

. Supreme Court, U.S.
A FIL ¢D

‘] FEB 10 1989

Iu the ae.
Suprene Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

No.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

DANIEL PAUL RICHMANN

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

STEVEN ANTOLAK

Of Counsel to:

COLICH & CAHILI

:20 Lumber Exchange

10 South Fifth Street
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55-402

(612) 333-7007

Attorney for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

When the Government uses a citizen volunteer as
an undercover drug agent, then decides not to use
that citizen, but fails to inform the citizen of the
termination of his agency, and finally prosecutes
him for drug conspiracy violations for acts
committed during his putative agency, has the
Government violated the citizen’s Due Process
rights?

I.

Did the District Court err when it required
Petitioner to prove that a juror’ extrajudicial
contact was prejudicial without permitting an
interview of the tainted juror?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Seem Meee WORREIN A D),.................000ceseeeee i
eee AE PAR ATER IESO............20000.ccc000. Hl
EE MEET ac. c5c.ccrsescccenenccessssseseseeeeess |
UN sa. scandcssasscccassecsesssoscscesseasesess 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS.................. 2
Daeememree Wer inte CASE.......................... 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION..8

I. Due Process Violations.............. 8

I]. Juror Misconduct..................... 14
EI loci coscccsscccssccnssccssscessccscccesscee: 19
APPENDIX

Ul

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484 (1976)...9

Mattox v. United States, 146 U.S.140 (1892).....14

Remmer v. United States, 347 U.S. 227

Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165 (1952)......... 8

Tanner v. United States, US. , 107
ee PR es csccntavasovnces 18

United States v. Emmert, 829 F.2d 805
ee eo cnéainnkeneceasenaees 9

United States v. Forrest, 620 F.2d 446
es i cecekbchosences 16

United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423 (1973).....9

United States v. York, 830 F.2d 885
SR it BUNT Viccvicccvacascsvcnnccccdendsdésvecedacns 9

lil

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1988

United States of America,

Respondent,
VS.
Daniel Paul Richmann,

Petitioner.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

Daniel Paul Richmann petitions for a writ
of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in
this case.

OPINIONS BELOW
Petitioner was convicted of conspiracy to

distribute controlled substances in the District of

Minnesota. Appeal was taken to the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals which affirmed the
conviction. The opinion of the Court of Appeals
(Appendix, p.1) is reported at 860 F.2d 837 (8th
Cir. 1988). The District Court’s rulings are not
reported.
JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals
(Appendix, p.14) was entered on October 26,
1988. Petitioner’s petition for rehearing and
rehearing en banc was denied on December 13,
1988 (Appendix, p.15). The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Amendment V:

“No person shall be held to answer
for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval
forces, or in the Militia, when in
actual service in time of War or

ty

public danger; nor shall any person
be subject for the same offence to be
twice put in jeopardy of life or limb;
nor shall be compelled in any
Criminal case to be a witness against
himseif, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor shall private
property be taken for public use,
without just compensation.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 19, 1986, Dan Richmann was
the President and Chief Executive Officer of
Ackerson Construction Company. Until that date,
he believed that he was also an undercover drug
informant for the Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA) Task Force in
Minneapolis. When a search warrant was
executed on December 19, 1986, at his office,
however, he was told that the DEA Task Force
had decided long before not to use him. That was
the first time Dan Richmann learned of any such

decision.

————————————————————

Soon after that search, Dan Richmann was
indicted for Conspiracy to Distribute Controlled
Substances and was tried under the District
Court’s jurisdiction conferred by 18 U.S.C.
§ 3231.

Dan Richmann first started using cocaine in
1978. On May 1, 1980, he was admitted to St.
Mary’s Rehabilitation Center for inpatient
treatment of his addiction. He remained free of
cocaine until November of 1984 when he began
using the drug again. Mr. Richmann’s addiction
deepened into heavier use until he was again
admitted to inpatient treatment in December 1985.
After finishing inpatient treatment, Mr. Richmann
approached the DEA and offered information on
some of the highest placed cocaine dealers in the
Minneapolis/St. Paul area, including Vasilious
Loukas (Bill Loukas), a man who later would be a
co-defendant of Mr. Richmann. Mr. Richmann
had neither been arrested nor charged with any

crime when he approached the DEA.

4

Mr. Richmann met with Sergeant Harry

Baltzer of the DEA Task Force and discussed

setting up drug dealer Bob Tory and accumulating
evidence against drug dealer Bill Loukas. After
these discussions, Mr. Richmann’s reliability as an
informant/undercover agent was established by
setting up a drug purchase in March 1986. Mr.
Richmann introduced an undercover DEA agent
to drug dealer Bob Tory and a one ounce cocaine
purchase was concluded.

A short time after this successful drug buy,
the DEA decided not to use Mr. Richmann as an
informant. The DEA claimed that a confidential
informant had said that Mr. Richmann had
revealed the description and identity of the
undercover agent he had worked with in the Tory
purchase. The DEA, however, did not tell Mr.
Richmann that he would not be used. It was only
on December 19, 1986, when a search warrant
was executed at his place of business that Mr.

Richmann learned of the DEA’s decision.
>

Between March, 1986, when he made the
controlled buy, and December 19, 1986, when the
search warrant was executed, Mr. Richmann
collected evidence against Bill Loukas and kept it
in his office. Mr. Richmann had exchanged small
bills for money orders for Loukas and kept the
receipts in his office. He had a car phone installed
in Loukas’ car and kept the records in his office.
The monthly bills for that phone were also sent to
office. This evidence was seized in the December
19th search, with the aid and cooperation of Mr.
Richmann, and was used against him to prove an
alleged conspiracy with Mr. Loukas.

In June of 1987, Mr. Richmann was
convicted by a jury of conspiring to distribute
cocaine in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 846. After his
conviction, Mr. Richmann discovered that one of
his jurors had discussed the case with a third party
who was either in the jury pool awaiting selection
or was a juror sitting on a different case. As part

of the conversation, the juror from this case stated
6

that Mr. Richmann was being taken advantage of

and taken down the Primrose Lane. Mr.
Richmann’s counsel requested the opportunity to
investigate the matter and to have that juror
testify regarding the entire conversation to see if
the conversation had any prejudicial effect on the
jury. The trial court denied the motion,
primarily because Mr. Richmann had failed to
show any prejudice from the juror’s statement.
Appeal was taken to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. The Eighth
Circuit affirmed the judgment of conviction, and
later denied a petition for rehearing and rehearing

en banc.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION
I.
DUE PROCESS VIOLATIONS

THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS
DECIDED AN IMPORTANT QUESTION
OF FEDERAL LAW WHICH HAS NOT
BEEN, BUT SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY

THIS COURT.

More than 30 years ago, this Court held
that Due Process prohibits convictions based on
Outrageous police conduct: “Convictions cannot
be brought about by methods that offend a sense
of justice.” Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165,

173 (1952) (police cannot pump a suspect’s
stomach after the suspect has swallowed drug
capsules). When police conduct “shocks the
conscience,” Id. at 172, a defendant’s Due Process
rights are violated, and dismissal is appropriate.

Since Rochin, the increasing sophistication

of the illicit drug trade has forced the courts to
allow a wide range of police tactics. This Court

has held that law enforcement personnel may
8

infiltrate drug rings and even participate to a
limited extent in unlawful practices. United States
v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 432 (1973). Federal

agents may supply the main ingredient to
manufacture a drug, or even the illicit drug itself
to trap suspects. See Russell; Hampton v. United
States, 425 U.S. 484 (1976). Lower courts have

approved the use of large sums of money and

threats by drug agents to accomplish their
objectives. See, e.g., United States v. Emmert,
829 F.2d 805 (9th Cir. 1987).

The use of informants in drug enforcement

is, of course, permissible. See United States v.
York, 830 F.2d 885 (8th Cir. 1987). Because the
infiltration of drug rings is critical to effective
law enforcement, the use of informants is not only
permissible, it is indispensable. The indispensable
informant, however, is often in a vulnerable and
dangerous position. Accordingly, the informant

shouid have the right to know his exact status vis a

vis the government. To use a person as an
9

informant, exposing that person to the dangers of
detection, without advising that person when they
are no longer being used by the government, is
inexcusable. To then prosecute the person for
acts committed during his putative agency “shocks
the conscience” and should not be allowed.

These are the factual circumstances the
Petitioner presents to this Court. In December
1985, petitioner approached the DEA and
volunteered information on drug dealers. He
even volunteered to act as an undercover
agent/informant to a limited extent. Petitioner did
this on his own accord, not to earn lenient
treatment on a pending charge as most
informants, but because he had kicked a bad
cocaine habit and wanted to clean up the streets.

The DEA tested Petitioner’s reliability with
a controlled drug buy in March 1986 and agreed
to use him. Soon after, the DEA Task Force
decided not to use Petitioner as an informant after

a confidential informant said that Petitioner had
10

revealed sensitive information to others. The
critical fact in this case is that no one from the
government informed Petitioner that he
would not be used as an informant.

Ignorant of the Government’s decision,
Petitioner continued to associate with drug dealer
Bill Loukas, despite his fear of Loukas. In his
private office, Petitioner collected evidence
against Loukas, creating a “paper trail”
documenting money laundering and other drug
activities. When federal agents searched his office
in December 1986, Petitioner was cooperative
because he believed he was working for the very
people who were confronting him. Throughout
the search, Petitioner asked if the agents had
talked with Harry Baltzer, his contact on the DEA
Task Force. Evidence from that search was used
to convict Petitioner.

This case raises the important question of
whether Due Process requires the Government to

advise an informant that they are no longer being
11

used, that they are “on their own.” This Court
has not addressed this issue yet. Due Process
cases have always discussed what the police may
do when dealing with suspects. The question of

what conduct is permissible vis a vis an informant

has not been addressed. Because an informant is
always in a vulnerable position with respect to
both the Government and the drug kingpins they
are setting up, the informant can be abused easily.
It offends society’s “sense of justice” for the
Government to be as dishonest with its informants
as it is with the suspects. Regardless of an
informant’s criminal intent, Due Process should
require, at a minimum, that the Government
advise the undercover informant that the
Government has withdrawn its protective
umbrella. The reasons for the Government's
decision need not be given, but a simple
“termination notice” should be sent to the

informant.

12

—— he

Petitioner's Due Process issue was raised
and briefed in the Eighth Circuit in the context of
a “sufficiency of the evidence” argument. The
thrust of the argument, however, was that the
conduct of the police was so outrageous that his
conviction was unjust. See Petitioner’s Brief to
the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals, p. 24 (’Such
conduct should not be tolerated from the
government as a matter of policy, which is why
the defense of entrapment exist: in the first
place.”); Petitioners Memorandum in Support of
Petition for Reconsideration by the Eighth Circuit
Court of Appeais, p. | (“This is an important case
because it calls into question the effect that
government agents’ conduct can have on the issue
of intent.”); Id. at 12 (“Sgt. Baltzer’s conduct in
this relationship was outrageous and
unprofessional.”); Id. at 14 (“Appellant asks this

Court to consider carefully the conduct of the

Drug Enforcement Administration’s agents in this

case in determining whether to review its original
decision.”)

Petitioner respectfully asks this Court to
remedy these serious Due Process violations and

crant review.

IT.
JUROR MISCONDUCT

THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS
SANCTIONED A RADICAL
DEPARTURE FROM PRECEDENT AND
THE USUAL COURSE OF JUDICIAL
PROCEEDINGS BY THE DISTRICT
COURT AS TO CALL FOR AN
EXERCISE OF THIS COURT'S
SUPERVISORY POWERS.

In 1892, this Court held that private
communications between jurors and third persons
are absolutely forbidden. Mattox v. United States,
146 U.S. 140, 150 (1892). After Mattox, this

Court pronounced the following black-letter law:

14

“In a criminal case, any private
communication, contact or
tampering, directly or indirectly with
a juror during trial about the matter
pending before the jury is, for
obvious’ reasons, deemed
presumptively prejudicial....The
presumption is not conclusive, but the
burden rests heavily upon the
government to establish, after notice
to and hearing of the defendant, that
such contact with the juror was
harmless to the defendant.”

Remmer _v. United States, 347 U.S. 227, 229
(1954). (emphasis added). It appears then, in a

claim of third party communication with a juror,
a defendant would satisfy the Remmer standard by
showing: 1) a private communication with a
juror; 2) the communication was during trial; and
3) the communication was about the matter before
the jury.

Petitioner met the Remmer standard. A

character witness for the Petitioner was
approached by a third party who had had contact

with a juror in Petitioner’s trial. The third party

15

eee

said that he had had a conversation with that juror
during the trial. In that conversation, the juror
said that the Petitioner was being led down the
“Primrose Lane” by the Government, an obvious
reference to the merits of the case. The rest of
the conversation is unknown because the third
party could not be identified and the talkative
juror was not brought in to testify.

In evaluating this extraneous contact, the

Eighth Circuit quoted the Remmer standard, but
then added that Petitioner “has not alleged that the
juror was improperly influenced or that
information prejudicial to Richmann was

communicated to the juror.” Remmer in no way

requires a showing of communication of
prejudicial information or improper influence.

See United States v. Forrest, 620 F.2d 446, 457

(Sth Cir. 1980) (“whether the comments are
favorable or unfavorable to the defendant is
immaterial”). The only requirement is that the

defendant show: 1) communication, 2) during
16

trial, 3) about the trial. Petitioner made that

showing. Requiring a greater showing disregards

the presumption of prejudice set forth in

Remmer.

The lower court’s error was compounded
by refusing to allow the defense to call the
offending juror to investigate the possibility of
prejudice. Petitioner is well aware of the
importance of insulating the jury’s deliberative
process. Generally, that interest precludes the
admission of juror testimony to impeach a jury
verdict. Fed. R. Evid. 606(b). The exception to
that rule, however, is when “extrinsic influence”
is alleged, as is here. This Court recently noted
that evidentiary hearings in such cases are

appropriate:

“The Courts holdings requiring an
evidentiary hearing where extrinsic
influence or relationships have
tainted the deliberations do not
detract from, but rather harmonize
with, the weighty Government

17

interest in insulating the jury’s
deliberative process.”

Tanner v. United States, 8. Cera 8
S.Ct. 2739, 2747 (1987). Thus, the lower Courts’

failure to allow (let alone require) an evidentiary
hearing should move this Court to exercise its
Supervisory powers.

In essence, the trial court and the Eighth
Circuit have departed from the accepted and usual
course of judicial proceedings in two ways. First,
the lower courts placed the burden of proving
prejudice on the defendant instead of placing the.
burden of disproving prejudice on the
Government as required by Remmer. Second, the
lower courts compounded the error by not
allowing the Petitioner to call in the offending
juror to investigate the scope of the entire
extraneous communication to show prejudice.
This Court should grant review in the exercise of

its supervisory powers to correct those errors.

18

CONCLUSION

Petitioner respectfully requests that the
Court grant his Petition for Writ of Certiorari to

the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Steven E. Antolak

Of Counsel to:
COLICH & CAHILL
420 Lumber Exchange
10 South Fifth Street
Minneapolis, MN 55402
(612) 333-7007

Dated: February 9, 1989

APPENDIX

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
No. 87-5369
United States of America, *
—
Appellee, *
x
Vv. * Appeal from the United
* States District Court for
Daniel Paul Richmann, * the District Court of
* Minnesota.
Appellant. °

Submitted: June 16, 1988
Filed: October 26, 1988

Before LAY, Chief Judge, Brown, * Senior Circuit Judge,
and BEAM, Circuit Judge.

BEAM, Circuit Judge.

Daniel Paul Richmann appeals his conviction for
conspiracy to distribute cocaine. We affirm.

“The HONORABLE JOHN R. BROWN, Senior United States Circuit
Judge for the Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

PAGE __"_ OF APPENDIX

I. Background

In December of 1985, Richmann, who has a history
of cocaine abuse, contacted a Drug Enforcement
Administration (DEA) agent. He told the agent that he
would be willing to provide the DEA with the names of
many of the large cocaine dealers in the Minnesota Twin
Cities area. In connection with this call, Richmann was
cordacted in February of 1986 by another agent, Sergeant
Harry Baltzer of the DEA Task Force. Richmann and
Baltzer met and it was agreed that Richmann would provide
Baltzer with information about Vasilios (William) Loukas, a
large drug dealer in the area and one of Richmann’s

codetendants.

Initially, in order to test Richmann’s reliability.
Baltzer asked Richmann to arrange the introduction of a drug
dealer to an undercover agent of the DEA. The introduction
was made and the agent purchased a small amount of cocaine
from the dealer. In early March of 1986. Baltzer and the
DEA decided not to use Richmann as an informant in the

PAGE __-_ OF APPENDIX

future. This decision was made after Baltzer learned from
another informant that Richmann had discussed his
involvement with the DEA with persons involved in the drug
business. However, Richmann was not told that he was no
longer working with the DEA. It was felt that to do so
would compromise the informant who had told Baltzer of

Richmann’s activities.

From March of 1986 until his arrest in December of
1986, Richmann continued to associate and deal with
Loukas in the distribution of cocaine. On December 18,
1986, a DEA agent, an agent of the Internal Revenue Service
and an agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation executed
a search warrant at Richmann’s office. Richmann was
present during the search. As it progressed Richmann
offered a substantial amount of information about his
dealings with Loukas and indicated where in the office
physical evidence of these activities was located. During the

course of the search, Richmann was advised of his Miranda

PAGE _>___ OF APPENDIX

rights after which he continued to provide the officers with

information.

Richmann was later indicted along with three drug
dealers. Following a jury trial, Richmann was convicted of
conspiracy to distribute cocaine in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§

841 and 846 and sentenced to eighteen months

imprisonment.
IT. Discussion
A. Third Party Contact by a Juror

Following his conviction, Richmann filed a motion
for a new trial pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P. 33 based on
grounds of juror misconduct. Richmann claimed that one of
his character witnesses was approached, aftcr he testified, by
a man in the parking garage adjacent to the courthouse. This
individual allegedly told the witness that he had spoken to
one of the jurcrs and the juror told him that he thought

Richmann was being taken advantage of and “taken down

PAGE _*__ OF APPENDIX

the primrose lane” by the government. Following a hearing
at which the witness related this incident, the court denied
Richmann’s motion for a new trial and his request to

question the individual juror about the incident.

“{A]ny communication with a juror during trial about
a matter pending before the jury is deemed presumptively
prejudicial to a defendant’s right to a fair trial. (Citations
omitted.) This presumption of prejudice is not conclusive,
but ‘the burden rests heavily upon the Government to
establish * * * that such contact with the juror was harmless

to the defendant.” United States v. Delaney, 732 F.2d 639,

642 (8th Cir. 1984) (quoting Remmer v. United States, 347

U.S. 227, 229 (1954)). However, Richmann has not
alleged that the juror was improperly influenced or that
information prejudicial to Richmann was communicated to
the juror. The government asserts, therefore, that since the

juror was not exposed to any improper influence or

prejudicial information, the contact was harmless.

PAGE _>___ OF APPENDIX

Unless there has been an abuse of discretion by the
trial court, we will not set aside the court’s decision to deny

the motion. United States v. Conzemius, 611 F.2d 695,

696 (8th Cir. 1979). We find that the misconduct
complained of, if any, was harmless to Richmann. No
information appears to have been conveyed to any member
of the jury. Rather, if Richmann’s witness is believed, it
appears that this juror was expressing an idea which was
favorable to Richmann. There was no evidence that this
particular juror, or any other member of the panel, had been
exposed to prejudicial information or evidence other than that
which was introduced at the trial. In fact, as indicated, the
comment the juror purportedly made to Richmann’s witness
was beneficial to Richmann and detrimental to the

goverment. Therefore. a new tral was not warranted.

As regards Richmann’s request to question the jun
is generally considered preferable to insulate jury

deliberations. “The policy does not. however. foreclose

testimony by jurors as to prejudical extraneous information

PAGE _S__ OF APPENDIX

or influences injected into or brought to bear upon the

deliberative process.” Scogin v. Century Fitness, Inc., 780

F.2d 1316, 1319 n.S (8th Cir. 1985). There being no
showing, however, that this was the situation, the district
court was correct in not making further inquiry into the jury

deliberations.

B. Inadmissible Evidence

Richmann’s second assignment of error involves the
testimony of Sergeant Baltzer concerning the reason he
discontinued his use of Richmann as a confidential
informant. Baltzer testified at trial that he had received
information from an informant that Richmann had stated at a
party that he had compromised a DEA agent. Baltzer further
testified that Richmann had recited that he had provided
specific information to other drug traffickers about the DEA

agent, including a description of the agent and the agent's

undercover name.

PAGE ____ OF APPENDIX

Richmann objected to the testimony claiming it was

hearsay. In addition, he argued that because his DEA
involvement was a crucial part of his defense, the testimony
was unfairly prejudicial and the prejudice outweighed the
probative value of the testimony. Richmann also claimed
that the admission of the statements of the unidentified
informant violated his sixth amendment right to confront the
witnesses against him. The government argued that the
Baltzer testimony was admissible because it was offered
only to show the state of mind of Baltzer at the time he made
the decision not to use Richmann as an informant, and not
for its truth. The district court ruled that the testimony
should be admitted on that basis and instructed the jury that
they were not to consider the testimony for the truth of the
Statements made by Richmann, but rather to consider it as
relating to why Baltzer acted as he did. Agent Baltzer’s
activities within the context of the entire drug investigation
were proper matters for the jury to evaluate.
“(E]videntiary rulings are reviewed for an abuse of

discretion only * * * ” and Richmann has the burden of

PAGE _2___ OF APPENDIX

showing that the district court abused its discretion in

admitting the testimony of Baltzer. United States v. Janis,

831 F.2d 773, 779 (8th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108 S. Ct.

1046 (1988). Since Baltzer’s testimony as to the
informant’s statement was of consequence in the
determination of issues properly before the jury and the
informant’s statement was not hearsay as defined by the
rules of evidence, the evidence was admissible. We also
find, as did the district court, that the evidence was not
unfairly prejudicial nor did it violate Richmann’s sixth

amendment rights.
.. Richmann’s Confession

During the search of his office, Richmann
spontaneously provided extensive information about his
activities with Loukas. About two hours into the search, the
agents advised Richmann of his Miranda rights after which

he repeated much of the information he had already given.

PAGE __°_ OF APPENDIX

Richmann, in a pretrial motion, requested that these

statements be suppressed. The trial court denied the motion.

Richmann claims that the statements he made during
the search were taken in violation of his fifth amendment
right against self-incrimination, in spite of the fact that he
repeated the statements after receiving Miranda warnings.

The Supreme Court in Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436

(1966) held that law enforcement officers are required to
advise a suspect of his fifth and sixth amendment rights prior
to a custodial interrogation. The court defined custodial
interrogation as “questioning initiated by law enforcement
otticers after a person has been taken into custody or
otherwise deprived of his freedom of action in any
significant way.” Id. at 444. We find that Richmann was
not in custody during the search of his office. He was never
denied permission to leave the office, nor did he ask to do
so. He was denied permission to contact his wife.
However, that does not constitute a significant deprivation of

his treedom. Evenif Richmann could be considered to have

PAGE —_<__ OF APPENDIX

been in custody during the search, his confession is still

admissible because he voluntarily repeated earlier spontaeous
but unwarned statements after the administration of the

Miranda warnings. Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298, 314

(1985).

D. Sufficiency of the Evidence

In order to convict Richmann of conspiracy to
distribute cocaine, the goverment had to prove beyond a
reasonable doubt that there was an agreement among the
coconspirators, one of whom being Richmann, to commit an
offense against the United States. In addition, the
government must prove that there was an overt act by one of
the coconspirators in furtherance of the agreement.
Richmann’s defense at trial was that he did not engage in any
overt acts in furtherance of the agreement with the intent to
commit a crime. He claims that he could not have formed
the requisite intent because he believed he was working with

the DEA. His intent was to assist the DEA, not, he claims,

PAGE __*__ OF APPENDIX

io commit a crime. In the alternative, he asserts that he was

a victim of entrapment.

In reviewing a claim regarding the sufficiency of the
evidence, “[t]he verdict of a jury must be sustained if there is
substantial evidence, taking the view most favorable to the 4

Government, to support it.” Glasser v. United States, 315

U.S. 60, 80 (1942). We recognize that the government had
the burden of proving all elements of the crime and of
proving that Richmann had a predisposition to commit the

crime if entrapment is alleged. United States v. Irving, 827

F.2d 390, 392 (8th Cir. 1987). Having reviewed the
evidence presented at trial, we find that there was sufficient

evidence for the jury to convict Richmann.
IV. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the

district court is affirmed.

PAGE _'*_ OF APPENDIX

BRKT .

en a |

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,
EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

PAGE __>__ OF APPENDIX

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT
JUDGMENT

No. 87-5369MN
United States of America,
Appellee,

Vv. Appeal from the United
States District Court for
the District Court of

Minnesota.

Daniel Paul Richmann,

* &#e2etes2?etest &

Appellant.

This appeal from the United States District Court was
submitted on the record of the district court, briefs of the
parties and was argued by counsel.

After consideration, it is ordered and adjudged that
the judgment of the district court in this cause be affirmed in
accordance with the opinion of this Court.

October 26, 1988

A True Copy.

ATTEST:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT.
MANDATE ISSUED: 12/2988

PAGE _2___ OF APPENDIX

|

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 87-5369MN

United States of America, *
a.
Appellee, *
*
Vv. * Appeal from the United
* States District Court for
Daniel Paul Richmann, * the District Court of
* Minnesota.
Appellant. °

Appellant’s petition for rehearing en banc has been
considered by the Court and is denied.

Petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.
December 13, 1988
Order entered at the Direction of the Court:

Clerk, U. S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.
PAGE 15 OF APPENDIX

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0910%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
