# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Sutherland v. United States Postal Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0848%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 1082

## Text

' a i
( "Supreme Court, u.s.
Z se : a)
88-1279 4h ED
a “1 ]}] JAN 25 toe
1 YOStAH € SPAN
No. oO re i -

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBER TERM, 1988

WALTON SUTHERLAND,

Petitioner,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE
and EDWARD R. TISCH, POSTMASTER GENERAL
OF THE UNITED STATES,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

WALTON SUTHERLAND
Petitioner Pro Se

P.O. Box 16277

Jersey City, NJ 07306
(201) 332-4357

=a

~

— : c: :
en ele — —
= oo
a } a

ae

rag
is

~~ —

Seen he

ae
oo
a =

> ASD

y=

os

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

A. Whether a federal court can
dismiss a timely filed complaint for
lack of proper service if the Clerk of
the court failed to issue a summons
forthwith and tender the summons to
the plaintiff so that the plaintiff
might be able to timely serve the
summons and complaint upon the defendants
of an action.

B. Whether a federal court may
deny a pro se plaintiff his request
for counsel merely upon the basis that
he is articulate in the presentation
of a case.

C. Whether a federal court can
dismiss a complaint for failure to
name the proper defendant if:

(1) the notice of the right
to sue contained an error which misled
the plaintiff to name the wrong party;

and

a3

(2) if the statute of
limitations is equitably tolled; and

(3) if notice was timely
given to the party to be amended in
the lawsuit.

D. Whether the federal court can
dismiss a complaint for failure to
follow the instructions for service
placed upon a notice of the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission if
said notice contained no instructions
with which to follow.

E. Whether a federal court can
dismiss an amended complaint if the
Original complaint was timely forwarded
to the U.S. Marshal rather than the
Attorney General of the United States

or the U.S. Attorney or his designee.

iii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
The petitioner is WALTON SUTHERLAND,

a former Postal Mechanic of the United
States Postal Service appearing pro
se. The respondent is the UNITED
STATES POSTAL SERVICE and EDWARD
TISCH POSTMASTER GENERAL OF THE UNITED
STATES. Said respondents were repre-
sented by Samuel A. Alito, Jr.,
United States Attorney of Newark, New

Jersey.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Questions Presented........ceceees i
Table Of Authorities. ..ccccsssccss vi
Opinion Below...... isc danaceaneunne 2
Constitutional and Statutory
PFOVISiONS TNVOLVOG. «ccccccccscses 4
Statement of the Case... sccscccccs 5

Reason for Granting the Petition.. 12

1. The District Court and the

Court of Appeals are Mistaken

as to the Meaning of Federal

RulS APG) 6 abc ccceesennenesdessees 12

2. The Amended Complaint Should

Stand Because Forwarding of Process
for Service of the Complaint Issued

to the United States Marshal

Within the Statutory Period....... 20

3. The Statute of Limitations
Herein is Equitably Tolled........ 21

4. The Petitioner was Denied Due
Process of Law by the Court's

Denial of Effective Access to

CHO COUPE 6 sia bees sce eaeueeee an sae 23

5. The District Court's Holding
Was £6: BECOEs ccc ccs &e cd aoe ee eee 24

COMBI UGIOR, 64s hed 4K Ree 2>

Appendix A
Appendix B
Appendix C
Appendix D
Appendix E
Appendix F
Appendix G
Appendix H

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Milam v. United States Postal

Service, 674 F.2d 860 (llth
it Sa | ree arer a 22

Schiavone v. Fortune,
28 * esc. ) ee 13-15

Sims v. Heckler,
725 F.2d 1143 (7th Cir.,
L9BE) cc ccccccscecccsscesceses 22

Williams v. Army and Air Force

Exchange Service,

830 F.2d 27 (3d Cir. 1937)... 8,14,
16

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND RULES

U.S. Constitution Article V... 4,24

United States Code

2B U.E.C. $509. cc cccccccccesec 4,21
426 U.S.C. BSG). cccccscscsasecs 4,21
28 U.S.C. 569 (CC)... eee eeeeeee 4,21
28 U.S.C. §1254 (1).........2.. 4

28 U.S.C. $1291. cc ccccccccces 4,11
49 U.S.C. OTFL a cecsceessecesan 4,12
29 U.S.C. $794(a) 2. cc ccc eccees 4,21
29 U.S.C. §$794(C).. cece ceeceee 4,12

vil

Page
42 U.S.C. 2000e et seg...... 4,11
42 U.S.C. 2000e-16(c)....... 4,21
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
DEP Cs eae ee eae Leeuw an 4,5,24
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
DO Ciucs SKK Ree Oe eee 4,7
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
eT Eg reer eer em ees 4,8
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
RN bs gaa aw ol eb ka oe eo 4,7,12-
i3,20

TOs cssvidens césssaskeéseenees 4,7

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
DGD aa weodns Owe Ke be hae cere 4,11

NO:

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1988
WALTON SUTHERLAND,

Petitioner,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE
and EDWARD R. TISCH, POSTMASTER
GENERAL OF THE UNITED STATES,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner, WALTON SUTHERLAND,
respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the orders
of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit dated September

9, 1988 and October 31, 1988.

OPINION BELOW

The order of the Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit affirming the
judgment of the District Court for
the District of New Jersey (Newark)
is dated September 9, 1988 and is set
forth as Appendix "A" (App. A). The
order of the Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit denying petitioner's
request for a rehearing en banc and
of the panel is dated October 31,

1988 and is set forth as Appendix
"B". Upon information and belief,
both orders are not reported.

The order of the District Court
of the District of New Jersey (Newark),
dated January 13, 1988, which dismissed
the original complaint of the petitioner
is set forth as Appendix "Cc".

The District Court order of the
aforesaid Court, dated March 15,

1988, which dismissed petitioner's

complaint and amended complaint is

set forth as Appendix "D". Upon
information and belief, both orders
are unreported.

The Opinion of the District Court,
herein, which is not dated, is set
forth as Appendix "E". The letter
opinion of the District Court herein,
which is dated March, 1988 is set forth

as Appendix "F".

JURISDICTION

Upon information and belief, the
orders of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit were
entered on September 9, 1988 and
October 31, 1988. The Petition for
Certiorari is filed within the time
permitted for filing. This Court's
jurisdiction to review the case rests
upon 28 U.S.C. §1254 (1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Constitution,
Articie V, 28 U.:8.¢. $1254, 28 ¥.8.¢.
$i291, 29 U.S.C. $791, 29 8.8...
$794(a)S (c), 42 U.S.C. 2000e-16(c),
28 U.S.C., §§509, 561 and 569(c) and
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
4(a), 12(b), 15(a), 15(c), 56, and
60(b) are reproduced in pertinent

part in Appendix "G".

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The appeal to the United State
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
arose out of a Title VII action filed
by the petitioner, Sutherland, in the
United States District Court for the
District of New Jersey. Sutherland's
complaint named only the federal
agency for which he worked, the Postal
Service, as defendant. Although
timely filed, process did not issue
to the petitioner in order that the
summons and complaint could be served
before the statute of limitations had
run. The petitioner herein filed his
complaint as a pro se litigant in the
District Court of New Jersey on July
23, i987. Subsequently, the Clerk
of the District Court never issued a
summons to petitioner who awaited
delivery of the summons to him pursuant

to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 4

(a) so that he might affect proper
and timely service. After having
filed his complaint, the petitioner
herein contacted the Postmaster
General's office by telephone. He did
SO because the notice supplied to him
failed to delineate the address for
service of the summons and complaint.
The petitioner made clear that he had
commenced an Equal Employment
Opportunity suit for discrimination.
The petitioner asked for and obtained
the address with which to serve
papers.

Petitioner continued to await the
delivery of the summons to him yet it
never came inasmuch as the Clerk of
the District Court herein issued the
Summons on July 28, 1987 and forwarded
the same to the U.S. Marshal and not

to the petitioner.

The Marshal never effected timely

service upon the defendant within the
statute of limitations. The statutory
period for commencing the lawsuit and
effecting service was 30 days after
petitioner's receipt of his notice of
right to file a civil complaint.
Petitioner received said notice on
June 29, 1987 and thus July 29, 1987
constituted the end of the statutory
period for commencing and serving the
defendants to the lawsuit.

The United States filed a motion
to dismiss pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.
P. 12(b) and/or for summary judgment,
pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 56,
alleging that the wrong party had
been named and that leave to amend
should not be granted because it
would be futile since relation back
under Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(c) was

unavailable. The United States

asserted that under the recent decisions

in Schiavone v. Fortune, 977 U.S. 21

(1986) and Williams v. Army and Air

Force Exchange Service, 830 F.2d 27

(3d Cir. 1987), Sutherland's failure
to name and serve the correct defendant
within a limitations period was
fatal to his complaint.

After the United States' motion
was filed but before the return date
thereof, Sutherland, without leave of
Court, filed pursuant to Federal Rule
15(a), an amended complaint which
added Edward Tisch, Postmaster General
of the United States, as a named
defendant to the caption of the
complaint.

By letter to the Court dated
November 25, 1987, the United States
requested that the Court also dismiss
the amended complaint for the reasons

contained in its motion papers.

a

The District Court accepted the United

States' arguments and granted summary
judgment dismissing the complaint and
amended complaint.

By letter dated January 25, 1988,
Sutherland asked the Court for relief
from the Final Order dismissing the
complaint and amended complaint on
the grounds that: the complaint was
filed in a timely fashion; the court
failed to consider his request for
appointment of counsel; and the notice
("Notice") informing Sutherland of
his right to file a civil suit within
thirty (30) days from the date he
received the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission's ("EEOC")
decision, was ambiguous inasmuch as
Said Notice directed petitioner to
name as defendant the aforesaid agency
or department head.

The District Court rejected

10

Sutherland's arguments finding that
he did not present the Court with
such extraordinary circumstances to
justify relief from the Final Order.
The District Court reiterated its
position that the complaint and
amended complaint were dismissed and
would remain dismissed, since Sutherland
failed to name the proper party in
his original complaint pursuant to
the instructions on the EEOC Notice,
and the amended complaint cannot
relate back to the original complaint,
Since it was not filed and served
within the statutory period. The
District Court also determined that
its failure to appoint counsel for
Sutherland did not warrant vacation
of the Final Order. The Court,
thereupon, determined that Sutherland
was not entitled to the appointment

of counsel.

11

Sutherland appealed to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit from the District Court's
Final Orders dismissing the complaint
and amended complaint and the March
15, 1988 Order denying his Rule 60(b)
application for relief from the Final
Order. The Court of Appeals affirmed
on September 9, 1988 the orders of
the District Court and denied petitioner
the right to have a rehearing en banc
and of the panel on October 31, 1988.

The jurisdiction of the Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit to
review the orders of the District
Court of New Jersey emanated from
28 U.S.C. §1291. The District Court
of New Jersey's jurisdiction to enter-
tain the action herein emanated from
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000(e) et seg.,

as amended, and the Rehabilitation

12

Act of 1963, 29 U.S.C. 791 and 794(c),
as amended.

THE REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This petition presents substantial
questions of law having a widepsread
effect on the rights of all pro se
litigants to file a Title VII cause
of action. This petition should be
granted because this case involves
monumental issues of constitutional
and procedural importance.

1. The District Court and the
Court of Appeals are Mistaken as to
the Meaning of Federal Rule 15(c).

The District Court as affirmed by
the Court of Appeals held that since
the plaintiff failed to name the
proper party in his original complaint,
any attempt to amend the complaint
must fail because the amendment cannot
relate back to the original complaint
Since the complaint was not filed and

served within the statutory period.

—— eee

13

The above holding does not reflect
the law as stated by Federal Rule

15(c) or in Schiavone v. Fortune, 977

U.S. 21 (1986). The key issue is not
service but notice within the statute
of limitations. In the case at bar,
the petitioner placed the Office of
the Postmaster General on notice as
to his commencing the instant lawsuit.
It is true that the petitioner did
not effect service within the statutory
period simply because process did not
issue to the petitioner to permit him
to effect timely service. However,
the petitioner herein is not barred
from amending his original complaint
so long as the defendant who is
subsequently amended to the lawsuit
had notice of the action within the
Statutory period. Timely service of
the complaint is not necessary to

allow a complaint to be amended

———a7”~

14

pursuant to Rule 15(c).

Review of the instant case is
urgently needed in order to correct
any possible misinterpretation of
the law by the Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit. The Court has
taken upon itself by nature of its

holding in Williams v. Army and Air

Force Exchange Service, supra, to

twist the meaning of the clear holding

of the Supreme Court in Schiavone

v. Fortune, supra:

(1) The holding in Schavone v.

Fortune, supra, pertained to private

parties and not governmental agencies.
Nevertheless, the Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit has attempted

to apply the Schiavone holding applicable

to governmental agencies.

(2) The Supreme Court in theSchiavone

decision addressed itself as to the

requirement of notice as required

ere

15

by the Federal Fules of Civil Procedure
15 (c). The Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit has required as

a result of the Schiavone decision

that there be timely service as opposed
to timely notice in order to make
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 15(c)
operable. Such is not the law.

(3) The Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit has based its holding
vis-a-vis the meaning of Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure 15(c) upon a
case that never involved a ruling by
the District Court below on whether
Federal Rule 15(c) should or should
not be granted. As an appellate
court, the Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit could only sustain or
reverse solely upon the rulings of
the District Court below.

(4) The holding of the Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit in the

I

Ne

16

Williams decision, supra, completely

contradicts the holding of the Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit in

the case at bar. This is so because
in both cases, the issue of equitable

tolling was raised. In the Williams

decision, the Court held that, since
the government engaged in no mis-
representations to the plaintiff
therein, the doctrine of equitable
tollings was inapplicable.

In the instant case, even though
there waS apparent misrepresentation
by the government as to who was the
proper party to be named as defendant,
the Court nevertheless failed to rule
that the doctrine of equitable tolling
waS inapplicable.

Guidance from the Supreme Court of
the United States is urgently needed in
order to rectify the Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit's possible confusion.

17

Furthermore, the U.S. Attorney in
his papers before the Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit set forth
erroneous information and factual
statements. The U.S. Attorney in his
appellate brief said: "Sutherland did
not serve the postal service until
August 20, 1987, twenty-two (22) days
after the expiration of the time
period provided by law for commencing
the action." The truth of the matter
is that process did not issue to
Sutherland at all to allow him to
effect timely service of the original
complaint since the Clerk of the
District Court forwarded process to
the U.S. Marshal and not to Sutherland.
It must be emphasized, therefore,
that Sutherland did not serve the
Postal Service at all with the original
complaint since he was not delivered

process. However, the U.S. Attorney

ee

argued that Sutherland did not make
tardy service to the Postal Service on
August 20, 1987. Such is utterly not
the truth.

Furthermore, the U.S. Attorney
argued in the same brief before the
Appellate Court herein, that: "It is
also undisputed that the Postmaster
General did not have notice of this
action within the thirty (30) day
period for commencing it." Once again
the Appellate Court may have been
misled by possible fraud on the part
of the U.S. Attorney. Sutherland did
not enter into any stipulation with
the U.S. attorney to the effect that
the Postmaster General did not have
notice of this action within the thirty
(30) day period for commencing it. In
fact, the record below is silent as to
any claims as to notice to the

Postmaster General having been made by

Sutherland. In addition, the U.S.
Attorney failed to produce into evidence
an affidavit from the Postmaster
General attesting to lack of receipt

of notice during the aforementioned
period. It is evident, therefore,

that the statement of the U.S. Attorney
as to "undisputed" lack of notice to
the Postmaster General may clearly be

a falsehood. The petitioner Sutherland
was never questioned by the U.S.
Attorney as to the notice issue of the
case. Furthermore, the petitioner
never made any statements as to the
notice issue in hisS moving papers.

The truth is that the U.S. Attorney

had no evidence to support his claim

of "undisputed" lack of notice and

thus should have merely stated to the
Appellate Court that the petitioner
Sutherland has made no statement as to

notice because he was never questioned

20

on that issue.
2. The Amended Complaint Should
Stand Because Forwarding
of Process for Service of
the Complaint Issued to the
United States Marshal Within
the Statutory Period.

It is well established that
pursuant to Rule 15(c) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure that the
mailing or delivery of a process to
the United States Attorney, or his
designee, or the Attorney General of
the United States, or any agency or
officer who would have been a proper
defendant if named satisfies the
requirements of the law as to adequate
notice to any federal agency. In the
case at bar, process was forwarded to
the U.S. Marshal within the required
statutory period for commencing the
action. It is evident that the U.S.

Marshal is an agency of the U.S.

Department of Justice as established

21

by 28 U.S.C. §561 and following. In
addition, the U.S. Marshal is an
agency of the U.S. Attorney General
Since all functions of the Department
of Justice less any exceptions noted

by statute vest in the Attorney General
by virtue of 28 U.S.C. 509. See also
28 U.S.C. 569(c).

3. The Statute of Limitations
Herein is Equitably Tolled.

The notice tendered by the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission to
the petitioner Sutherland (Appendix H)
was defective inasmuch as it instructed
him to "name the official agency or
department head as defendant." Naming
the official agency as defendant in
the case at bar was contrary to the
law as established by 42 U.S.C. §
2000e-16(c); 29 U.S.C. §794(a). The
statutes require the head of the

department to be named as defendant.

——-

22

The defendants argued that the
doctrine of equitable tolling does not
apply to the U.S. or its agency due to
the doctrine of sovereign immunity.

The Circuit Courts are split as
to this issue. Compare, for example,

Sims v. Heckler, 725 F.2d 1143, 1145

(7th Cir., 1984) wherein the distinction
between federal and private employers
has led the Seventh Circuit to hold
waiver, estoppel, and equitable tolling
unavailable in Title VII cases against

the government and Milam v. United

States Postal Service, 674 F.2d 860

(llth Cir. 1982) where a different
conclusion was reached.

It is prayed that the Supreme
Court resolve the issue as to whether
equitable tolling may apply toa
governmental agency or officer in
order to remedy any apparent injustice

as revealed here where the petitioner

;

was misled by the government to his
detriment to name the wrong defendant.

4. The Petitioner was Denied Due

Process of Law by the Court's
Denial of Effective Access
to the Court.

Petitioner beseeched the District
Court to appoint counsel on his behalf
at the time of filing his complaint.
The Court failed to rule upon his
timely application. When he subse-
quently asked for the appointment of
counsel, the District Court held that
a reading of plaintiff's complaint and
Supporting papers indicates that "he
is capable of presenting the facts in
a clear and articulate manner...
Therefore I do not find that counsel
would have been appointed in this
case." (See Appendix F).

Such a statement is a logical and

legal absurdity. The pro se petitioner

beseeched the Court for counsel in

24

order to properly prepare, file and
serve a proper complaint. To deny
petitioner counsel merely because he
is articulate is a denial of due
process of law as guaranteed by the
Fifth Amendment as is the Court's

failure ab initio to rule upon the

petitioner's initial application for
counsel since the Court's ruling denied
petitioner effective access to the
Court. Being articulate cannot nullify
one's opportunity to have counsel
appointed in a civil proceeding. In
addition, the Court's failure to
deliver the summons to the petitioner
pursuant to Federal Rule 4(a) also
constituted a denial of due process

and a denial of access to the Court.

5. The District Court's Holding
Was in Error.

The District Court held that if

the plaintiff complied with the

Sl

25

instructions placed on the EEOC's
notice ( See Appendices F and H) with
respect to naming the proper party
defendant and timely service, the
complaint would not have been dismissed.
The Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission's notice contained no
instructions as to proper service so
how could the petitioner herein have
followed said instructions. In
addition, process never issued to
plaintiff so that he could effect
service of the original complaint in a
timely fashion.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a Writ of
Certiorari should be granted.

Dated: Jersey City, New Jersey
January , 1989

Respectfully submitted,

WALTON SUTHERLAND
Petitioner Pro Se

APPENDIX

Order of the Court of Appeals
For the Third Circuit, dated
September 9, 1988, Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 88-5238

WALTON SUTHERLAND,
Appellant

Vv.

U.S. POSTAL SERVICE, &
EDWARD TISCH, Postmaster
General of the United States

Appeal from the United States
District Court for the District of
New Jersey (Newark)

(D.C. Civil Action No. 87-2957)
District Judge: Hon. Harold A. Ackerman

Submitted Under Third Circuit Rule 12(6)
June 14, 1988

Before: HIGGINBOTHAM, SLOVITER and
MARIS, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT ORDER

After consideration of all con-
tentions raised by appellant, it is

ADJUDGED AND ORDERED that the
judgment of the district court be and
is hereby AFFIRMED.

Costs taxed against appellant.

BY THE COURT,

Circuit Judge

Attest:

Sally Mrvos, Clerk

SEP 9 1988

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 88-5238

WALTON SUTHERLAND,
Appellant
Vv.
U.S. POSTAL SERVICE, &

EDWARD TISCH, Postmaster
General of the United States

(D.C. Civl No. 87-2957)

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: GIBBONS, Chief Judge, SEITZ,
HIGGINBOTHAM, SLOVITER, BECKER,
STAPLETON, MANSMANN, GREENBERG,
NUTCHINSON, SCIRICA and COWEN,
Circuit Judges and MARIS, Senior
Circuit Judge.*

The petition for rehearing filed
by appellant in the above-entitled

case having been submitted to the

judges who participated in the decision
of this Court and to all the other
available circuit judges of the circuit
in regular active service, and no

judge who concurred in the decision
having asked for rehearing, and a
majority of the circuit judges of

the circuit in regular service not
having voted for rehearing, the petition
for rehearing by the panel and the
Court in banc, is denied.

BY THE COURT

Circuit Judge
Dated: October 31, 1988

*Honorable Albert B. Maris, Senior
Circuit Judge sat on the original
panel and does not desire rehearing
by the panel.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY
WALTON SOUTHERNLAND,: Hon. Harold A.

Plaintiff,: Ackerman

V. :

UNITED STATES POSTAL: Civil Action No.
SERVICE, PRESTON : 87-2957

TISCH, Postmaster

General of the : ORDER

United States, :

Defendant.:

This matter having been opened
by the Court by Samuel A. Alito, Jr.,
United States Attorney for the District
of New Jersey (by Janice Montana,
Assistant U.S. Attorney), for an Order
dismissing the Complaint and Amended
Complaint for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction and the Court having
considered the papers submitted, without
Oral argument pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.
P. 78, and for good cause shown,

IT IS on this 13th day of January,
1988.

ORDERED that the Complaint and

Amended Complaint be and are hereby

dismissed with prejudice.

HON. HAROLD A. ACKERMAN
UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT JUDGE

on Ahab hdl

Order of the District Court of
New Jersey dated March 15, 1988,
Appendix D

JM:mgg - 3486S/P5
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF
WALTON SUTHERLAND, :NEW JERSEY

Plaintiff, :Hon. Harold A.

:Ackerman
Vv. :

‘Civil Action No.

UNITED STATES * 37-2957

POSTAL SERVICE,
PRESTON TISCH, :
Postmastre General :ORDER
of the United :
States,

Defendants.

This matter having been opened
to the Court by plaintiff Walton
Sutherland, Pro Se, upon plaintiff's
application for relief from the Court's
January 13, 1988 Order and decision
dismissing the Complaint and Amended
Complaint for lack of subject matter
jurisdiction and Samuel A. Alito,
Jr., United States Attorney for the

District of New Jersey (by Janice

Montana, Assistant U.S. Attorney),
submitting opposition thereto and
the Court having considered the papers
Submitted, without oral argument pur-
Suant to Fed. R.Civ. P. 78, and for
good cause shown,

IT IS on this 15th day of March,
1988,

ORDERED that plaintiff's applica-
tion for relief from the January 13,
1988 Order and decision dismissing
the Complaint and Amended Complaint

with prejudice, be and is hereby denied.

HON. HAROLD A. ACKERMAN
United States District
Court Judge

a thy ct

Opinion of the District Court of
New Jersey, Not Dated Appendix E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

WALTON SUTHERLAND, $ Civil Action
: No.87-2957
Plaintiff,:
We : OPINION
UNITED STATES :
POSTAL SERVICE :
Defendant.:

ACKERMAN, District Judge

INTRODUCTION

This employment discrimination
action is brought by plaintiff, Walton
Sutherland, a former employee of the
United States Postal Service. Before
me today is the motion of defendant,
United States of America, to dismiss
the complaint upon which this suit

is based.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On July 23, 1987, plaintiff,
proceeding pro se, filed his initial
complaint in federal court in which
he alleged that he was the victim
of a reprisal for statements he made
to an Equal Employment Opportunity
("EEO") counselor and handicap discrim-
ination. This complaint was served
upon the Attorney General of the United
States on August 19, 1987 and the
United States Post Office as well
as the U.S. Attorney's Office for
the District of New Jersey on August
20, 1987.

On October 16, 1987, the Clerk
of the Court granted the request of
the government for an extension of
time within which to respond to the

complaint.

a A Ce el aad 0) lal aie” SA

On November 2, 1987, the United
States moved for an order dismissing
the within complaint pursuant to Fed.
R.Civ. P. 12(b)(1) for lack of subject
matter jurisdiction on the ground
that the United States Postal Services
is not a proper party defendant to
plaintiff's claims and any attempt
to amend the complaint to name the
Postmaster Geneal as a defendant is
untimely.

On November 5, 1987, plaintiff,
without leave of court, filed an amended
complaint in which he named Postmaster
General Tisch as a defendant in this
action. On December 2, 1987, this

complaint was served upon the Attorney

General of the United States, United

States Postal Service, and the United
States Attorney's Office for the

District of New Jersey.

The government now moves to dismiss
the within complaint pursuant to Fed.R.
Civ.P. 12(b)(1). Since the motion
attacks the complaint on its face,
the court must consider the allegations
embodied in the complaint as true.

Mortensen v. First Federa Sav. & Loan

Ass'n, 549 F.2d 884, 891 (3d Cir.
1977). In reviewing the complaint,

I am simultaneously mindful that a pro
se complaint is held to less stringent
standards than formal pleadings drafted

by lawyers. See Haines v. Kerner,

404 U.S. 519, 520 (1972); Hurd v.
Romeo, 752 F.2d 68, 70 (3d Cir. 1985).
FACTS
With this standard in mind, I
find that on July 4, 1986, plaintiff

arrived at his place of employment,
the New Jersey International and Bulk

Mail Center in Jersey City, New Jersey

and his supervisior, John Boykin,
informed him that he was not permitted
to begin his shift, upon instructions
of their superintendent, Mr. Aponto-
Colon. Apparently, Mr. Aponte-Colon
informed Boykin that plaintiff could
not begin work unless he produced a
doctor's note that outlined any limita-
tions on his ability to perform his
duties as a postal mechanic that may
have been caused by his diabetic con-
dition and participation in insulin
therapy.

As a result of the refusal of
the Postal Service to permit plaintiff
to work, plaintiff was absent from
his position for five days. During
this period, plaintiff received sick
leave pay.

Plaintiff also claims that he

was denied access to the work site

because of statements he made to Mr.
Fred Kroog, an EEO counselor for the
Postal Service. The record, however,
reveals that plaintiff contacted the
EEO counselor on August 6, 1986, at
which time plaintiff claims the July
4, 1986 personnel action constituted
unlawful handicap discrimination. On
January 30, 1987, plaintiff filed an
EEO complaint of handicap and reprisal
discrimination with the United States
Postal Service. On March 5, 1987,

the agency found that plaintiff failed
to seek EEO conuseling in a timely
manner. On June 25, 1987, the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission
("EEOC") affirmed the decision of the
agency based, in part, on the fact
that plaintiff failed to establish
that he contacted an EEO counselor in

a timely fashion. Specifically, the

EEOC found no support for plaintiff's
assertion that he contacted such a
counselor on July 7, 1986.

On June 29, 1987, plaintiff received
notice of the EEOC's final decision and
was informed that he had a right to
file a civil action in federal court
within thirty days of receipt of the
final decision of the EEOC and that
in such action he must specifically
name the official agency department
head either by name or title, and that
failure to do so "may result in the
loss of any judicial redress." See
Notice of Right to File a Civil Action,
attached to plaintiff's complaint.
Plaintiff filed his initial complaint
in federal court on July 23, 1987.
Review of that complaint reveals that
the only named defendant is the United

States Postal Service.

iene

In its motion to dismiss, the United
States argues that since the Postal
Service is not a proper party defen-
dant, this Court lacks subject matter
jurisdiction. Specifically, the
government argues that section 717
of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. §2000(e)-16(c),
requires that a federal employee who
files a civil action for employment
discrimination against a federal agency,
name as defendant the head of the depart-
ment, by title or name. The government
further argues that any attempt to
amend the complaint to name the Post-
master General as a defendant is time
barred and would not relate back to
the date the original complaint was
filed since the new defendant would
not receive notice of the action within
the applicable limitation period.

In response to this motion, plaintiff

filed an amended complaint in which
he specifically names the Postmaster
General as a party defendant.

DISCUSSION

Plaintiff alleges that conduct
on the part of agents of the Postal
Service constituted unlawful reprisal
discrimination in violatio of section
717 of Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-16, and
handicap discrimination, in violation
of section 501 of the Rehabilitation
Act, 29 U.S.C. §791, et seq.

Section 717 of Title VII prohibits,

inter alia, the United States Postal

Service from taking any personnel
actions which discriminate on the basis
of race, color, religion, sex or
national origin. This provision also
protects a federal employee's right

to speak out against discriminatory

practices carried on by a federal

agency. See, e.g., Neely v. Blumenthal,

458 F.Supp. 945, 956-57 (D.D.C. 1978).
If a federal agency engages in personnel
actions which are motivated by the
employee's exercise of this right,
the agency may be liable for what
is commonly referred to as reprisal
discrimination.

Similarly, a federal agency may
be liable for acts of unlawful handicap
discrimination. Sections 501 and
504 of the Rehabilitation Act, 29
U.S.C. §791, 794, provide a statutory
basis upon which an individual may
bring a private cause of action to
obtain relief from handicap discrimina-
tion on the part of the federal govern-

ment of its agencies. See Prewitt

v. United States Postal Service, 662

F.2d 292, 304 (Sth Cir. 1981).

If a federal employee seeks to
pursue a claim of race, religion,
reprisal, sex, national origin or
handicap discrimination, he or she
must comply with the procedures

delineated in section 717(c). See 29

U.S.C. §794a, which states that a
federal employee pursuing a claim of
handicap discrimination must seek
redress in accordance with the
procedures set forth on section
717(¢).

Section 717(c) states that

Within thirty days of receipt of
notice of final action taken by

-.. the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission upon an appeal from a
decision or order of [the United
States Postal Service] ... ona
complaint of discrimination, an
employee ..., if aggrieved by the
final disposition of his complaint
--.- may file a civil action ... in
which civil action the head of the
department, agency or unit, as
appropriate, shall be the defendant.

ee

Thus, the statute clearly requires

that the only proper defendant in suits
brought by federal employees under
Title VII and the Rehabilitation Act

is the head of the department or agency
in which the alleged discrimination

took place. Williams v. Army & Air

Force Exchange Service, 830 F.2d 27,

29 (3d Cir. 1987); Johnson v. United

States Postal Service, et al., No.

85-5596 (D.N.J. filed September 24,
1986) (unpublished). Since it is undis-
puted that the correct defendant in

this action is the Postmaster General,
as indicated by either name or title,
the initial complaint in this suit

fails to reveal a basis upon which

this court could exercise subject matter
jurisdiction.

The plaintiff, however, on November

5, 1987, amended his complaint by naming

the Postmaster General as a defendant.
This amendment was made without leave
of court. Federal Rules of Civil Pro-
cedure 15(a) provides that a party

may amend a pleading once without leave
before a responsive pleading is served.
A motion to dismiss, filed by a defen-
dant, does not constitute a sensintatve
pleading that bars a party from amend-
ing aS a matter of course. Fed.R.

CivlP. 7(a); Neifeld v. Steinberg,

438 F.2d 423, 425 n.3 (3d Cir. 1971);

Kronfeld v. First Jersey Nat'l Bank,
638 F.Supp. 1454, 1460 (D.N.J. 1986);

Markovich v. Vasad Corp., 617 F.Supp.

142, 143 (E.D. Pa. 1985) and cases
cited therein; 6 C. Wright & A. Miller

Federal Practice & Procedure §1483

at 411-12. Thus, as the defendant

has not answered plaintiff's complaint,

but rather has filed a motion to dismiss,

which is not a responsive pleading,

plaintiff may file his complaint as

a matter of right if the amendment
is made in a timely fashion and thereby |
relates back to the initial complaint
as of originally filed at that time.
Rule 15(c) governs the relation
back of an amendment to alter the party
against whom a claim asserted. The .
rule states that such an amendment
relates back to the date of the original
pleading if
(1) the basic claim arose out of
the conduct set forth in the original
complaint;
(2) the party to be brought in
received such notice of the action
as it will not be prejudiced in
maintaining its defense;
(3) that party knew or should have
known that, but for a mistake con-
cerning identity of the proper

party, the action would have been
brought againt it; and

(4) the second and third requirement
must have been fulfilled within
the prescribed limitations period.

Schiavone v. Fortune, 106 S.Ct. 2379,

2384 (1986); Williams, supra, 830

F.2d at 29; Cooper v. United States

Postal Service, 740 F.2d 714 (9th

Cir. 1984).

There is no doubt that the claim
plaintiff seeks to assert against the
Postmaster General in his amended
complaint is identical to that set
forth in the original pleading. There
is, however, a question as to whether
the Postmaster General received notice
of this action within the prescribed
limitations period of 30 days after
final action was taken by the EEOC.

In the case at bar, the EEOC took

its final action on June 25, 1987

and plaintiff received notice on June
29, 1987. Thus, according to the

30 day limitations period, the Post-

master General should have received

|

notice of the within action on July
29, 1987. Although the initial
complaint was filed on July 27, 1987,
service was not effectuated upon the
Postmaster General until December 2,

1987. The Supreme Court in Schiavone

observed that notice may be imputed
to such a "subsequently named and
sufficiently related party" by the
timely filing of a complaint and
notice, within the limitations period,
to the party named. 106 S.Ct. at
2384. Continuing, the court noted
that the "linchpin is notice ...
within the limitations period. Id at
2385. In the case at bar, the
Postmaster did not receive notice
within the limitations period.
Moreover, even substituted service
upon the Attorney General or the U.S.

Attorney failed to save the plaintiff

since neither of these substituted
defendant parties were served within
the limitations period, as both were
served on August 19 and 20, 1987,
respectively.

Thus, since the defendants failed
to receive notice within the 30 day
limitations period and since the Supreme

Court in Schiavone has admonished

the lower courts from

temper[ing] the plain meaing of
the language (of Rule 15(c)) by
engrafting upon it an extension
of the limitations period equal
to the asserted reasonable time,
inferred from Rule 4, for the
service of a timely filed
complaint([, ]

Schiavone, supra, 106 S.Ct. at 2385,

I am compelled to conclude that plain-
tiff's amendment, naming the Postmaster
General as a party defendant, cannot
relate back to the original complaint.

Therefore, since the initial complaint

fails to comply with the procedures

delineated in Section 717 of Title
VII, I find that this Court lacks
subject matter jurisdiction to resolve
the within controversy and hence the
case is dismissed despite the harshness
of the result in a case wuch as this
which involves such a short statute

of limitations (30 days) and an
untutored litigant ... [A]melioration
of these harsh results, [however] is
for the Rules Committee, not for this

Court." Williams, supra, 830 F.2d at

30.

Letter Opinion of the District Court
of New Jersey, dated March, 1988
Appendix F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
District of New Jersey

Chambers of U.S. Post Office
Harold A. Ackerman and Courthouse
Judge Newark, NJ 07101

NOT FOR PUBLICATION
LETTER OPINION
March , 1988

Mr. Walton Sutherland
P. O. Box 16277

142 Romaine Avenue
Jersey City, NJ 07306

Janice Montana, Esq.
Assistant U.S. Attorney
970 Broad Street

Room 502 ~*

Newark, NJ 07102

Re: Sutherlnd v. United States
Postal Service
Civil Action Number 87-2957

Dear Mr. Sutherland and Ms. Montana:

The court is in receipt of plain-
tiff's request that it reconsider
its decision, filed January 13, 1988,
in which it dismissed plaintiff's
complaint because this court lacked
subject matter jurisdiction to
adjudicate the within controversy.

Specifically, the court found that
plaintiff failed to name the proper
party defendant and his attempt to
amend his complaint in this respect was
not timely.

In support of his request for relief
from this decision and/or for recon-
Sideration, plaintiff argues that he
made a timely request for the appoint-
ment of counsel which the court had not
ruled upon and that with legal
representation, the complaint would not
have contained the technical error
which resulted in its dismissal.
Plaintiff also argues that the EEOC
notice of his right to file a civil
suit did not clearly state that he was
to name the agency head by title or
personal name but rather seemed to
approve of identifying the agency
itself. Specifically, he states that
the notice directed him to "Name the
appropriate official agency or Department
head as defendant." (emphasis added).
The conjunction "or" lead him to conclude
that identifying the agency was
sufficient. Plaintiff stresses that
this ambiguity should not result in
a penalty against him, especially in
light of his pro se status.

In response, the Postal Service argues
that plaintiff failed to file his
complaint in a timely fashion, and plain-
tiff did not formally file his request
for counsel within the statutorily
defined period of 30 days from the date
he received the decision of the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission.
Moreover, the government asserts that
failure of plaintiff to obtain counsel

does not excuse him from his failure
to name the proper party defendant

and file his complaint against that
party in a timely manner. Finally,
the Postal Service asserts that the
EEOC's notice clearly states that
plaintiff was required to identify

the official title or name of the
agency head for the department against
whom he brings suit and thus his claim
that the notice is ambiguous must
fail.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
60(b) provides that a court may relieve
a party from a final order upon a
finding of, inter alia, mistake, in-
advertency, surprise, excusable neglect,
newly discovered evidence, fraud or
misrepresentation. The "remedy provided
by Rule 60(b) is extraordinary and
special circumstances must justify"
setting aside a judgment already entered.
Id. (quotation marks and citations
omitted) and cases cited therein.
Moolenaar v. Government of the Virgin
Islandsa, 822 F.2d 1342, 1347 (3d
Cir. 1987). Thus, the Court may relieve
a party of a final order if presented
with exceptional circumstances. Id.

In general, I do not find that

plaintiff has presented this court

with such extraordinary circumstances

to justify my disturbing the final
judgment I entered. First, as indicated
in my previous decision in this case,
plaintiff failed to file and serve

his initial complaint within the limita-
tions period. Plaintiff now asserts,
however, that this court's failure

to consider his request for counsel

resulted in the technical errors which
lead to the dismissal of his complaint.
The fact of the matter is that had
plaintiff complied with the instructions
placed on the EEOC's notice with respect
to naming the proper party defendant
and timely service, the complaint
would not have been dismissed. Thus,
even assuming his complaint of July

27, 1987, constituted a timely request
for counsel, his failure to obtain
such does not justify his failure

to timely file and serve a properly
pled complaint. See Williams v. Army
& Air Force Exchange Service, 830

F.2G 27, 30°33 (34 Cit. 1967). To
reiterate, in this case plaintiff
failed to name the proper party defen-
dant in his original complaint and

any attempt to amend the complaint
must fail because the amendment cannot
relate back to the original complaint
since it was not filed and served
within the statutory period.

Moreover, even considering plain-
tiff's request for counsel at this
time, I do not find that the circum-
Stances of this case warrant the discre-
tionary appointment of counsel. Roy
v. Robinson, 640 F.2d 474, 477 (3d
Cir. 1981). A reading of plaintiff's
complaint and supporting papers
indicates that he is capable of pre-
senting the facts in a clear and
articulate manner. Further, it appears
that he has sufficient ability to
have presented his case to the court.
Therefore, I do not find that counsel
would have been appointed in this

case.

I will next address plaintiff's
claim that the EEOC's notice is
ambiguous. The notice specifically
states tha an individual bringing a
civil action in Federal court "MUST
NAME THE APPROPRIATE OFFICIAL AGENCY
OR DEPARTMENT HEAD." (emphasis in
Original). Continuing, the notice
provides that '[fJailure to provide
the NAME OR OFFICIAL TITLE of the
agency head or, where appropriate,
the department, may result in the
loss of any judicial redress to which
you may be entitled." (emphasis in
original).

The language of the notice notifies
plaintiff of the requirement that
he or she name the proper party defen-
dant by title or personal name. While
I agree with the court in Williams,
that amending the notices to include
a paragraph that contains examples
of the proper way to denote the party
defendant would add clarification,
I do not find that the absence of
this information indicates that the
present notice is insufficient or
excuses plaintiff's failure to comply
with its requirements.

Therefore, since I do not find
that plaintiff has brought forth
evidence that indicates that this
court committed an error or
inadvertently entered the order in
any way, I will not vacate my order
of January 8, 1988. While I recognize
the harshness of the result of my
decision, I find that the law of this
Circuit requires strict compliance
with the mandates of the EEOC notice

Oe

and failure to comply results in
dismissal.

An order in conformance with this
Opinion has been filed with the court.

Constitutional and Statutory
Provisions Involved, Appendix G

The Fifth Amendment of the United
States Constitution provides:

No person shall be held to answer
for a capital, or otherwise infamous
crime, unless on a presentment

or indictment of a Grand Jury,
except in cases arising in the
land or naval forces, or in the
Militia, when in actual service
in time of War or public danger;
not shall any person be subject
for the same offense to be twice
put in jeopardy of life or limb;
nor shall be compelled in any
criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived
of life, liberty or property,
without due process of law; nor
Shall private property be taken
for public use, without just
compensation.

(Emphasis added to pertinent

section).

28 U.S.C. §1254 (1)

Cases in the court of appeals
may be reviewed by the Supreme Court
by the following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted
upon the petition of any party to
any civil or criminal case, before
or after rendition of judgment or

decree:

268 U.S.C. §1291

The courts of appeals shall have
jurisdiction of appeals from all final
decisions of the district courts of
the United States, the United States
District Court for the District of
the Canal Zone, the District Court
of Guam, and the District Court of
the Virgin Islands, except where a
direct review may be had in the Supreme

Court.

28 U.S.C. §791

Each department, agency, and
instrumentality (including the United
States Postal Service and the Postal
Rate Commission) in the executive
branch shall, within one hundred and
eighty days after September 26, 1973,
submit to the Office of Personnel
Management and to the Committee an
affirmative action program plan for
the hiring, placement, and advancement
of handicapped individuals in such
department, agency, or instrumentality.
Such plan shall include a description
of the extent to which and methods
whereby the special needs of handicapped
employees are being met. Such plan
shall be updated annually, and shall
be reviewed annually and approved
by the Office, if the Office determines,

after consultation with the Committee,

that such plan provides sufficient

assurances, procedures and commitments
to provide adequate hiring, placement,
and advancement opportunities for
handicapped individuals.
29 U.S.C. §794(a)

(a)(1) The remedies, procedures,
and rights set forth in section 717
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42
U.S.C. 2000e-16), including the applica-
tion of sections 706(f) through 706(k)
(42 U.S.C. 2000e-5(f) through (k)),
shall be available, with respect to
any complaint under section 791 of
this title, to any employee or applicant
for employment aggrieved by the final
disposition of such complaint, or
by the failure to take final action
on such complaint. In fashioning
an equitable or affirmative action
remedy under such section, a court
may take into account the reasonable-

ness of the cost of any necesary work

place accommodation, and the availability
of alternatives therefor or other
appropriate relief in order to achieve
an equitable and appropriate remedy.
29 U.S.C. §794C

There shall be established an
Interagency Coordinating Council
(hereinafter referred to as the
"Council") composed of the Secretary
of Education, the Secretary of Health
and Human Services, the Secretary of
Labor, the Assistant Secretary of the
Interior for Indian Affairs, the
Attorney General, the Chairperson of
the Office of Personnel Management,
the Chairperson of the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission, and the
Chairperson of the Architectural and
Transportation Barriers Compliance
Board. The Council shall have the

responsibility for developing and

implementing agreements, policies, and

practices designed to maximize effort,
promote efficiency, and eliminate con-
flict, competition, duplication, and in-
consistencies among the operations, func-
tions, and jurisdictions of the various
departments, agencies, and branches of
the Federal Government responsible for
the implementation and enforcement of
the provisions of this subchapter, and
the regulations prescribed thereunder.
42 U.S.C. §2000e-16(c)

(c) Civil aciton by party aggrieved.
Within thirty days of receipt of notice
of final action taken by a department,
agency, or unit referred to in sub-
section 717(a) [subsec 9a) of this sec-
tion], or by the Civil Service Comm-
ission upon an appeal from a decision or
order of such department, agency,

Or unit on a complaint of discrimination

based on race, color, religion, sex

Or national origin, brought pursuant

to subsection (a) of this section.
Executive Order 11478 or any succeeding
Executive orders, or after one hundred
and eighty days from the filing of

the initial charge with the department,
agency, or unit or with the .Civil
Service Commission on appeal from

a decision or order of such department,
agency, or unit until such time as final
action may be taken by a department,
agency, or unit an employee or applicant
for employment, if aggrieved by the
final disposition of his complaint,

or by the failure to take final action
on his complaint, may file a civil
action as provided in section 706

[42 USCS §2000e-5], in which civil
action the head of the department,

agency, or unit, aS appropriate, shall

be the defendant.

28 U.S.C. §509.

All functions of other officers
of the Department of Justice and all
functions of agencies and employees
of the Department of Justice are vested
in the Attorney General except the
functions -

(1) vested by subchapter II of
chapter 5 of title 5 in administrative
law judges employed by the Department
of Justice;

(2) of the Federal Prison Indus-
tries, Inc.; and

(3) of the Board of Directors
and officers of the Federal Prison
Industries, Inc.

28 U.S.C. §561

The President shall appoint,
by and with the advice and consent
of the Senate, a United States marshal

for each judicial district.

28 U.S.C. §569(c)

The Attorney General shall super-
vise and direct United States marshals
in the performance of public duties
and accounting for public monies.

Each marshall shall report his official
proceedings, receipts and disburse-
ments and the condition of his office
as the Attorney General directs.
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 4(a)

(a) Summons: Issuance. Upon the
filing of the complaint the clerk
shall forthwith issue a summons and
deliver the summons to the plaintiff
or the plaintiff's attorney, who shall
be responsible for prompt service of the
summons and a copy of the complaint.
Upon request of the plaintiff separate
or additional summons shall issue

against any defendants.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)
(b) How Presented. Every defense,
in law or fact, to a claim for relief
in any pleading, whether a claim,
counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-
party claim, shall be asserted in the
responsive pleading thereto if one is
required, except that the following
defenses may at the option of the
pleader be made by motion: (1) lack of
jurisdiction over the subject matter,
(b) lack of jurisdiction over the per-
son, (3) improper venue, (4) insuffic-
iency of process, (5) insufficiency of
service of process, (6) failure to
state a claim upon which relief can be
granted, (7) failure to join a
party under Rule 19. A motion making
any of these defenses shall be made
before pleading if a further pleading
is permitted. No defense or objection

is waived by being joined with one

oO

more other defenses or objections

in a responsive pleading or motion.

If a pleading sets forth a claim for
relief to which the adverse party

is not required to serve a responsive
pleading, the adverse party may assert
at the trial any defense in law or
fact to that claim for relief. If,ona
motion asserting the defense numbered
(6) to dismiss for failure of the
pleading to state a claim upon which
relief can be granted, matters outside
the pleading are presented to and

not excluded by the court, the motion
shall be treated as one for summary
judgment and disposed of as provided
in Rule 56, and all parties shall

be given reasonable opportunity to

present all material made pertinent

to such a motion by Rule 56.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 15(a)
(a) Amendments. A party may

amend the party's pleading once as

a matter of course at any time before

a responsive pleading is served or,

if the pleading is one to which no

responsive pleading is permitted and

the action has not been placed upon

the trial calendar, the party may

so amend it at any time within 20

days after it is served.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 15(c)
(c) Relation Back of Amendments.

Whenever the claim or defense asserted

in the amended pleading arose out of

the conduct,transaction, or occurrence

set forth or attempted to be set forth

in the original pleading, the amendment

relates back to the date of the original

pleading. An amendment changing the

party against whom a claim is asserted

relates back if the foregoing provision

is satisfied and, within the period

provided by law for commencing the

action against the party to be brought

in by amendment that party (1) has

received such notice of the institution

of the action that the party will

not be prejudiced in maintaining his

defense on the merits, and (2) knew

or should have Known that, but for

a mistake concerning the identity

of the proper party, the action would

have been brought against the party.
The delivery or.mailing of process

to the United States Attorney, or

the United States Attorney's designee,

or the Attorney General of the United

States, or any agency or officer who

would have been a proper defendant

if named, satisfies the requirement

of clauses (1) and (2) hereof with

respect to the United States or any

agency or officer thereof to be brought

into the action as a defendant.
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 56.
Rule 56. Summary Judgment
For Defending Party. A party
against whom a claim, counterclaim, or
cross-claim is asserted or a declaratory
judgment is sought may, at any time,
move with or without supporting affida-
vits for a summary judgment in the
party's favor as to all or any part
thereof.
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 60(b)
(b) tishihen: Inadvertence; Excus-
able Neglect; Newly Discovered Evidence;
Fraud, etc.
On motion and upon such terms
as are just, the court may relieve
a party or a party's legal representa-
tive from a final judgment, order,
Or proceeding for the following reasons:

(1) mistake,- inadvertence, surprise,

Or excusable neglect; (2) newly dis-

covered evidence which by due diligence
could not have been discovered in

time to move for a new trial under Rule
59(b); (3) fraud (whether heretofore
denominated intrinsic or extrinsic),
misrepresentation, or other misconduct
of an adverse party; (4) the judgment
is void; (5) the judgment has been
satisfied, released, or discharged,

Or a prior judgment upon which it

is based has been reversed or otherwise
vacated, or it is no longer equitable
that the judgment should have prospec-
tive application; or (6) any other rea-
son justifying relief from the operation
of the judgment. The motion shall

be made within a reasonable time,

and for reasons (1), (2), and (3)

not more than one year after the judg-
ment, order, or proceeding was entered
or taken. A motion under this sub-

division (b) does not affect the

————— —aaaaaOOOOOoOoOOOOEOEOEOEOEOEO OOOO

finality of a judgment or suspend

its operation. This rule does not
limit the power of a court to entertain
an independent action to relieve a
party from a judgment, order, or pro-
ceeding, or to grant relief to a defen-
dant not actually personally notified
as provided in Title 28, U.S.C. §1655,
or to set aside a judgment for fraud
upon the court. Writs of coram nobis,
coram vobis, audita querela, and bills
of review,and bills in the nature

of a bill of review, are abolished,

and the procedure for obtaining any
relief from a judgment shall be by
motion as prescribed in these rules

or by an independent action.

U.S. Equal Opportunity Commission
Notice of Right to File a
Civil Action, Appendix H

You are hereby notified that the
attached decision in your case is final.
You have the right to file a civil
action in the appropriate United States
District Court WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS
from the date that you receive this
decision. If any of your claims were
based on the Age Discrimination in
Employment Act of 1967 (29 U.S.C. §633a),
AS TO THOSE CLAIMS ONLY, you MAY have

up to six years after the right of
action first accrued in which to file

a civil action. See Lehman v. Nakshian,
453 U.S. 156 (1981); 29 U.S.C. §633a(f);
and 28 U.S.C. §240l1(a). You are further
notified that if you file a civil action,
YOU MUST NAME THE APPROPRIATE OFFICIAL
AGENCY OR DEPARTMENT HEAD AS THE
DEFENDANT. Rule 25(d)(2) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure provides that
you may describe the defendant by
official title rather than by name.
Failure to provide the NAME OR OFFICIAL
TITLE of the agency head or, where
appropriate, the department head, may
result in the loss of any judicial
redress to which you may be entitled.
(Please note: For this purpose, Depart-
ment means the overall national organi-
zation, such as the now defunct Depart-
ment of Health, Education and Welfare,
not the local administrative department
where you might work). You must be

Sure that the proper defendant is named
when you file your civil action.

APPOINTMENT OF COUNSEL

If you decide to file a civil action
and do not have or are unable to obtain
the services of an attorney to act

on your behalf, under Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
§20003 et segq., as amended, and the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29 U.S.C.
§§791 and 794c, as amended, you may
request that the Court appoint an
attorney to represent you and may

also permit you to file the civil
action without payment of fees, costs,
Or security. If you want to request
appointment of an attorney, your request
must be FILED WITH THE COURT WITHIN
THIRTY (30) DAYS from the date that

you receive the Commission's decision.

NOTICE OF RIGHT TO. REQUEST
REOPENING

The Commissioners may, in their discre-
tion, reopen and reconsider the decision
in your case if you submit a written
request and argument or evidence which
tends to establish that:

l. New and material evidence
ls available that was not
readily available when the
previous decision was issued;
or

2. The previous decision in-
volves an erroneous inter-
pretation of law or regula-
tion or misapplication of
established policy; or

3. The previous decision is
of a precedential nature
involving a new or unreviewed
policy consideration that
may have effects beyond the
actual case at hand or is
otherwise of such an ex-
ceptional nature as to
merit the personal attention
of the Commissioners.

EITHER PARTIES' REQUESTS AND ANY
SUPPORTING ARGUMENTS, must be submitted
within the 30 day time frame for
filing a request to reopen. ALL
REQUESTS must bear proof of postmark
and be submitted to the Director,
Office of Review and Appeals, Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission,
5203 Leesburg Pike, Suite 900 Falls
Church, Virginia 22041. In the
absence of a postmark, the request to
reopen shall be deemed filed on the
date it is received by the Commission.

FILING A REQUEST TO REOPEN WITH THE
COMMISSION MAY NOT EXTEND THE TIME
PERIOD ALLOWED FOR FILING A CIVIL
ACTION. IF YOU WISH TO PRESERVE YOUR
RIGHT TO FILE A CIVIL ACTION, THE
CIVIL ACTION SHOULD BE FILED WITHIN
THE TIME ALLOWED, EVEN IF YOU DECIDE
TO REQUEST REOPENING BY THE
COMMISSION.

Dolores L. Rozzi, Director
Office of Review and Appeals

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0848%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
