# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Schoo v. United States Postal Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0825%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 491 U.S. 904

## Text

\ Supreme UOurt, wes

a a) FILED
88-125 no

JOSEPH E. SPANIOL, Je
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED ania

No. ia ost

October Term, 1988

TEDDYANNE SCHOO,
Petitioner,
vs.
U. S. POSTAL SERVICE; JOHN C. HOLMES;
CHARLES T. HALL; JASPER GRADY;

WILLIAM G. FELAND; WILLIAM DODSON;
WARREN BLOOMBERG,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MARK ERIC HERMAN

14 W. Madison St.
Baltimore, MD 21201
(301)837-2144

Counsel for Petitioner

No.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

ee

TEDDYANNE SCHOO,
Petitioner,
VSe
U. S. POSTAL SERVICE; JOHN C. HOLMES;
CHARLES T. HALL; JASPER GRADY;
WILLIAM G. FELAND; WILLIAM DODSON;
WARREN BLOOMBERG,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

A) QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Is notice of the institution of civil liti-
gation on the supervisory employee of the Petitioner

sufficient notice in order to allow Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 15(c) to relate back an Amended Com-
plaint adding the proper party, Postmaster General,
and to allow such action to be considered a timely
filing within the requiements of 42 U.S.C. Section
2000e-16(c). Given actual and timely notice, albeit
to Petitioner’s supervisor, and not the Postmaster
General, and given the Postmaster General did not
show one oita of prejudice, whether the opinion
below is in direct conflict with the liberal notice
requirements imported into the remedial
discriminatory law statutes, as enunciated in

Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21, 106 S.Ct. 2379,

1986. Also see: Cooper v. United States Postal

Service, 4/1 U.S. 1022, (Dissent of Judge White).

B) PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

At the commencement of this action, Teddyanne
Schoo was Plaintiff and U. S. Postal Service, John
C. Holmes, Charles T. Hall, Jasper Grady, William G.
Feland, William Dodson and Warren Bloomberg were
Defendants. At the Appellate level, the Appellant
was the Petitioner and the Appellee was the Respond-

ent.

6 Watts attain %

1)

2)

C) TABLES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENT FOR REVIEW....cececeee
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS....csccccees
TABLES

TABLE OF COmtentSecsccccccccccccccccece

Table of Authorities:
ee ee ee ae a eo

Statutes, Rules and
Regulations..eccseee

REFERENCE TO THE OFFICIAL REPORTS BELOW
Cec hac ch ace becdeeeeeceences

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS IN THE PRESENT
ae aa ee wen ee ees

CONCISE STATEMENT OF THE CASE....ccccce

ARGUMENTS OUTLINING THE REASONS RELIED
UPON FOR THE ALLOWANCE FOR THE WRIT....

De ee oegaeenesnebeccdeececéecerve
CERTIFICATE OF DUT RUieasss steeds eseaee

(jj (eee ctes kd a bbe oes 6 dees eee 6 8ee
Schoo v. U. S. Postal Service, United

States Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit, No. 88-156

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Balanciere v. United States Postal Service,

648 F. Supp. 38, 40 (D.Colo. 1984).........

- 3-

21

22

18

Bruce v. Smith, 581 F.Supp. 902, 906
(W.D. Va. 1984) ccccccccccccccccccccccoces 15, 18

Cooper v. United States Postal Service, 471 U.S.
1022 (Dissent of Judge White)....... 2, 13, 17

Dutka v. Southern Railway Co., 92 F.R.D. 375,
377 (N.D. Ga. 1981) .coccccccccesccceccce 18

Eatkins v. Read, 710 F.2d 184, 187
(4th Cir. 1983) ccccccccccccccccccccccccs 15

Faulkner v. Bolger, 655 F.Supp, 717
(E.D. Ark. 1987) ccccccccccccccccccccccces 13

Gonzales v. Department of the Air Force, 110
FRD 350 (N.D. Tex. TFSSPccccececseseccses 16, 17

Hendrix v. Memorial Hospital of Galveston County,
776 F.2d 1255 (5th Cir. 19B5) ecccccccccccccce 15, 19

Hernandez Jimenez v. Calero Toledo, 604 F.2d
99, 102-03 (lst Cif. EOFS heceosecsesecece 18, i9

Hornsby v. United States Postal Service, 787
F.2d 87, 91 (3rd Cif « EPOO) 66sbbecedenece 14

Kirk v. Cronvich, 629 F.2d 404, 408
(5th Git. 1980) cccccccccccccccccccsccscccs 15, 18

McGuiness v. United States Postal Service, 744
F.2d 1318 (7th Cir. > eee 13

Ramirez v. Burr, 607 F.Supp. 170, 173 (D.C.
Tex. 1984) ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccce 18

Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21, 106 S.Ct.
2379 (1986) .ccccccccccccccccccscccccccce as 12,
15, 16, 19

Williams v. Hidalgo, 663 F.2d 183, 187
[PuGe Cire 1980) cccccccccccccccccccccecs 13, 14

Wood v. Worachek, 618 F.2d 1225, 1230
(7th Cir. it. ) PP PrrrrrrrrrrrrreyrTrrTrriy. 19

«i>

ee ee ee Tk. ee

Statutes, Rules and Regulations

42 U.S.C. Section 2000(e)-l6c
Civil Rule of Federal Procedure 15(c)

D) REFERENCE TO THE OFFICIAL REPORTS BELOW

The Honorable Judge Joseph C. Howard of the
United States District Court dismissed this action
with prejudice for failure to name a proper party
Defendant. On December 21, 1987, a Motion to Alter
Amend Judgment Request for Hearing was filed and the
Motion was denied January 12, 1988. The case was
not reported in an official text. The Appellant

decision, decided December 27, 1988 was unpublished.

E) JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. Section 1251(4).

F) STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED IN THE PRESENT

ACTION

Rule 15. Amended and Supplemental Pleadings
(a) Amendments. A party may amend the partys
pleading once as a matter of course at any time
before a responsive pleading is served or, if
the pleading is one to which no responsive
pleading is permitted and the action has not
been placed upon the trial calendar, the party
may so amend it at any time within 20 days
after it is served. Otherwise a party may
amend the party’s pleading only by leave of
court or by written consent of the adverse
party; and leave shall be freely given when
justice so requires. A party shall plead in
response to an amended pleading within the time
remaining for response to the original pleading
or within 10 deys after service of the amended
pleading, whichever period may be the longer,
unless the court otherwise orders.

{c) Relation Back of Amendments. Whenever the
claim or defense asserted in the amended plead-
ing arose out of the conduct, transaction, or -
occurrence set forth or attempted to be set
forth in the original pleading, the amendment
relates back to the date of the original plead-
ing. An amendment changing the party against
whom a claim is asserted relates back if the
foregoing provision is satisfied and within the
period provided by law for commencing the
action against the party to be brought in by
amendment that party (1) has received such
notice of the institution of the action that
the party will not be prejudiced in maintaining
his defense on the merits, and (2) knew or
should have known that, but for a mistake
concerning the identity of the proper party,
the action would have been brought against the
party.

- 6-

The delivery or mailing of process to the
United States Attorney, or the United States

Attorney’s designee, of the Attorney General of
the United States, or an agency or officer who
would have been a proper defendant if named,
satisfies the requirement of clauses (1) and
(2) hereof with respect to the United States or
any agency or officer thereof to be brought
into the action as a defendant.

2. Section 2000e-16. Nondiscrimination in Federal

Government employment
(a) Discrimination prohibited. All personnel
actions affecting employees or applicants for
employment (except with regard to aliens
employed outside the limits of the United
States) in military departments as defined in
section 102 of title 5, United States Code, [5
USCS Section 102] in executive agencies (other
than the General Accounting Office) as defined
in section 105 of title 5, [5 USCS Section 105]
United States Code (including employees and
applicatants for employment who are paid from
nonappropriated funds), in the United States
Postal Service and the Postal Rate Commission,
in those units of the Government of the Dis-
trict of Columbia having positions in the
competitive service, and in those units of the
legislative and judicial branches of the Fed-
eral Government having positions in the compe-
titive service, and in the Library of Congress
shall be made free from any discrimination
based on race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin.

(b) Role of Civil Service Commission; com-
pliance of departments and agencies with rules
and regulations. Except as otherwise provided

a J «=

in this subsection, the Civil Service Com-
mission shall have authority to enforce the

provisions of subsection (a) through appro-
priate remedies, including reinstatement or
hiring of employees with or without back pay,
as will effectuate the policies of this sec~
tion, and shall issue such rules, regulations,
orders and instructions as it deems necessary
and appropriate to carry out its responsibili-
ties under this section. The Civil Service
Commission shall--

(1) be responsible for the annual review
and approval of a national and regional equal
employment opportunity plan which each depart-
ment and agency and each appropriate unit
referred to in subsection (a) of this section
shall submit in order to maintain an affirma-
tive program of equal employment opportunity
for all such employees and applicants for
employment;

(2) be responsible for the review and
evaluation of the operation of all agency equal
employment opportunity programs, periodically
obtaining and publishing (on at least a semi-
annual basis) progress reports from each such
department, agency, or unit; and

(3) consult with and solicit the recommen-
dations of interested individuals, groups, and
organizations relating to equal employment
opportunity.

The head of each such department, agency, or
unit shall comply with such rules, regulations,
orders and instructions which shall include a
provision that an employee or applicant for
employment shall be notified of any final
action taken or any complaint of discrimination
filed by him thereunder. The plan submitted to
each department, agency, and unit’ shall
include, but not be limited to--

=o §«

(1) provision for the establishment of
training and eduction programs designed to
provide a maximum opportunity for employees to
advance so as to perform at their highest
potential; and

(2) a description of the qualifications in

terms of training and experience relating to
equal employment opportunity for the principal
and operating officials of each such depart-
ment, agency, or unit responsible for carrying
out the equal employment opportunity program
and of the allocation of personnel and
resources proposed by such deparment, agency,
or unit to carry out its equal employment
opportunity program.
With respect to employment in the Library of
Congress, authorities granted in this sub-
section to the Civil Service Commission shall
be exercised by the Librarian of Congress.

(c) Civil action by party aggrieved. Within
thirty days of receipt of notice of final
action taken by a department, agency, or unit
referred to in subsection 717(a) [subsec. (a)
of this section], or by the Civil Service
Commission upon an appeal from a decision or
order of such department, agency, or unit on a
complaint of discrimination based on race,
color, religion, sex oor national origin,
brought pursuant to subsection (a) of this
section, Executive Order 11478 or any succeed-
ing Executive orders, or after one hundred and
eighty days from the filing of the initial
charge with the department, agency, or unit of
with the Civil Service Commission on appeal
from a decision or order of such department,

~ 9 «

agency, or unit until such time as final action
may be taken by department, agency, or unit, an
employee or applicant for employment, if
aggrieved by the final disposition of his com-
plaint, or by the failure to take final action
on his complaint, may file a civil action as
provided in section 706 [42 USCS Section
2000e-5], i: which civil action the head of the
department, agency, or unit, as appropriate,
shall be the defendant.

(d) Application of certain provision. The pro-
visions of sections 706(f) through (k) [42 USCS
Sections 2000e-5(f)-(k)}, as applicable, shall
govern civil actions brought hereunder.

(e) Continuing responsibility of agencies and
officials to assure nondiscrimination. Nothing
contained in this Act [title] shall relieve any
Government agency or official of its or his
primary responsibility to assure nondiscrimina-
tion in employment as_ required by the
Constitution and statutes or of its or his
responsibilities under Executive Order 11478
relating to equal employment opportunity in the
Federal Government.

(July 2, 1964, P. L. 88-352, Title VII, Section
717, as added Mar. 24, 1972, FP. Le. 92-261,
Section 11, 86 Stat. 111.)

G) CONCISE STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 13, 1987, Petitioner brought suit
against the United States Postal Service and various
supervisory employees pursuant to Article 47,
Section 2000e-l6(c) of the United States Code. The

- 10 -

a

United States Postal Service filed a motion to

dismiss the claim for failure to name the proper
party. Petitioner sought leave to amend _ the
complaint and a ruling that the amended complaint
should relate back under Rule 15(c). The Trial
Court below denied Petitioner”s motion for leave to
amend and dismissed the complaint with prejudice.
On February 5, 1988, an Appeal was timely noted to
the 4th Circuit.

Petitioner, TEDDYANNE SCHOO, timely filed
administrative charges of employment discrimination
against her employer, the United States Postal
Service, with the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission in January, 1982. After pursuing her
grievance through the appropriate administrative
hearings, the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission issued a final decision of "no discrim-
ination." However, the initial opinion sent to
Petitioner was incomplete. The corrected decision
was forwarded to Appellant on April 21, 1987.

- lJ] -

On May 13, 1987, Petitioner filed suit against
the United States Postal Service and the employees
who were involved in the alleged acts of discrim-
ination against her. Petitioner’s supervisor, John
Holmes, was served with notice of the suit on May
23, 1967

The Trial Court below dismissed the complaint
with prejudice. The Appellant Court affirmed,
erroneously holding that insufficient notice was
given by service of notice on Petitioner’s super-

visor to satisfy Schiavone, despite -no showing of

actual prejudice.

H) ARGUMENTS OUTLING THE REASONS RELIED UPON FOR
THE ALLOWANCE FOR THE WRIT

Petitioner strongly urges that a Writ of
Certiorari should be granted in this case because

Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21, 106 S.Ct. 2379

(1986) is being misapplied, an extremely shorter
time requirement is defeating meritorious liti-
gation, Federal Rule 15(c) is being misapplied, and

- 12 -

nt Oks Pacer i

the se ACRE Pinta Rha net ae

aacntdiiniatseatinsnttinsssainsll

Maer baer tena“

because the dissent in Cooper opened the door for a

case, such as this, where actual notice was given to

alleviate the harsh results of Cooper and McGuiness

ve. United States Postai Service, 744 F.2d 1318 (7th

Cir. 1984).

The dissent in Cooper noted that "there is no
unanimity among the Circuits concerning the proper
interpretation of Rule 15(c)“s notice provision."
471 U.S. at 1024.

Title VII, Section 717 of the Civil Rights Act
provides that "within thirty days of receipt of
notice of final action" an aggrieved party may file
a civil action. Final notice includes notification
of the right to sue and notification of the time
limit within which the action must be filed.

Williams v. Hidalgo, 663 F.2d 183, 187 (D.C. Cir.

1980). The grounds for the agency action are also
an important part of the notification process. See,

Faulkner v. Bolger, 655 F.Supp. 717 (E.D. Ark.

1987). Here, the final notification of the decision
of the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission was

- 13-

not received by Petitioner until after the Com-
mission issued their corrected decision on April 21,
1987. The statutory period does not begin to run
until Petitioner has received proper notification of

the agency action. Williams v. Hidalgo, 663 F.2d

183, 188 (D.C. Cir. 1980), Hornsby v. United States

Postal Service, 787 F2d 87, 91 (3rd Cir. 1986). The

thirty days began to run from April 24, 1987
(including the three days provided for mail delivery
under Rule 6[e]).

John Holmes, Petitioner”’s former supervisor and
an employee of the United States Postal Service,
received notice of the institution of the suit by

service effected on May 23, 1987, which was within

the thirty day period.

After naming the wrong parties as defendants
in the matter, Petitioner sought leave to amend the
pleadings and a ruling that the amended pleadings
related back under Rule 15(a) and 15(c). Four
factors must be satisfied in order to permit an
amendment to relate back to the original pleadings.
The basic claim must have arisen out of the conduct

o 14 =

Seca

set forth in the original pieading. The added party
must have received such notice that it will not be
prejudiced in maintaining its defense on the merits.
The party must have or should have known that but
for a mistake, the action would have been brought
against him. Finally, the last two requirements
must have been fulfilled within the _ prescibed

limitations period. Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S.

21, 106 S.Ct. 2379, 2384 (1986). Informal notice of
the commencement of the action or constructive

notice is sufficient to satisfy the notice require-

ments of Riled 15(c). Kirk v. Cronvich, 629 F.2d

404, 408 (5th Cir. 1980); Bruce v. Smith, 581 F.

Supp. 902, 906 (W.D. Va. 1984). Notice need not be

effected by service of process. Eatkins v. Read,

710 F.2d 184, 187 (4th Cir. 1983). It may be
inferred where the named defendant has identity of
interests with the added party or is an agent for

the added party. See, Kirk v. Cronvich, supra;

Hendrix v. Memorial Hosptial of Galveston County,

776 F.2d 1255 (5th Cir. 1985).

- 15 -

Notice of the suit to Petitioner’s supervisor,
Postal employee John Holmes, should be considered as
notice to the Postmaster General, relying on the

fact that the case of Gonzales v. Department of the

Air Force, 110 FRD 350 (N.D. Tex. 1986) was reversed

upon the Court”s reconsideration of it in light of

Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21, 106 S.Ct. 2379

(1986). Gonzales v. Department of the Air Force,

638 F.2d 1323, 1325 (N.D. Tex. 1986). The Supreme

Court, in Schiavone v. Fortune, made it clear that

in order for a complaint to relate back under Rule
15(c), the added party must have received notice of
the institution of the proceedings within the

prescribed time period. Schiavone v. Fortune, 477

U.S. 21, 106 S. Ct. 2379, 2384 (1986). The District

Court, in Gonzales v. Department of Air Force, 638

F. Supp. 1323 (N.D. Tex. 1986) granted Defendants”
motion to dismiss because neither the Department of
the Air Force nor the United States Attorney had
been notified within the thirty day period. The
Court did not reverse its earlier reasoning that

» §6 =

notice to a lesser agency official would be con-
sidered notice to the head of the agency. Gonzales

ve. Department of the Air Force, 638 F. Supp. 1323,

1325 (N.D. Tex. 1986). The Appellant Court relied

on the case of Cooper v. United States, 740 F.2d

114, 715 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 105 S.Ct.

2034 (1985) in rejecting Petitioner’s argument.
That case is singularly not applicable here. In

Cooper, no one was timely notified of the impending

civil litigation within the thirty day period.

In the case at bar, notice of the civil suit
was served on a supervisory employee of the United
States Postal Service within the thirty day time
period. The employee participated in all of the
grievance proceedings on behalf of the United States
Postal Service and acted with the authority of the
Postal Service and, hence, the head of the agency.
Clearly, an employee who had the authority to fire
and defend against an employment discrimination

grievance proceeding has the authority to receive

- 17 -

notice of the civil litigation when the aggrieved
employee was unsatisfied with the results of those

proceedings. See, Kirk v. Cronvich, 629 F2D 404,

407 (5th Cir. 1980); Balanciere v. United States

Postal Service, 648 F. Supp. 38, 40 (D.Colo. 1984).

The purpose of Rule 15(c) is to prevent the
Statute of limitations fror. barring an action where
the wrong party was sued but where the correct party
had sufficient notice of the commencement of the

action. Dutka v. Southern Railway Co., 92 F.R.D.

375, 377 (N.D. Ga. 1981). Sufficiency of the notice
must be evaluated in light of the policy objectives
of the statute of limitations, which include
avoiding undue surprise and permitting investigation
and collection of evidence while it is still fresh.

Ramirez v. Burr, 607 F. Supp. 170, 173 (D.C. Tex.

1984). Identity of interests between the original
and added parties is an appropriate guide in meas-
uring the possible prejudice that could be incurred

by the added party. See, Bruce v. Smith, 581 F.

Supp. 902, 906 (W.D. Va. 1984); Hernandez Jimenez v.

- 18 «

Calero Toledo, 604 F2d 99, 102-03 (lst Cir. 1979);

Wood v. Worachek, 618 F2d 1225, 1230 (7th Cir.

1980); Hendrix v. Memorial Hospital of Galveston

County, 776 F2d 1225, 1228 (Sth Cir. 1985). The
"linchpin" of the relation back rule is notice,
either formal or informal, within the prescribed

time period. Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21, 106

S.Ct. 2379, 2385 (1986).

Here, the Postmaster General had notice of the

institution of the civil suit through notice of the
suit to its employee, John Holmes. The Postmaster
General did not personally participate in the

decision to discharge Petitioner. His only know-

ledge of the events necessarily must come from his
employee--the man who made the decision to discharge
Petitioner, who fully participated in the investiga-
tion of Petitioner”’s complaint of discrimination at
the administrative level, and the man who was timely
notified of the institution of the civil action.

- 19 -

CONCLUSION

Either FRCP 15(c) is going to be liberally con-
strued, or it is not. It is unfair for litigants in
some circuits to have their day in Court, while
others suffer seeing their cases dismissed. Dis-
missal is not required in this case. Timely notice
was sent to a key supervisory employee with an
identity of interest. No prejudice has been shown.
Relating back should be favored where the statute of
limitations is as short as 30 days. Relating back
should be formed where the litigant seeks to remedy
a discriminatory art, where rectification benefits

the public as whole.

Respectfuly submitted,

Ya [Mhraete

MARK ERIC HERMAN
14 W. Madison Street

Baltimore, MD 21201
837-2144

Counsel for Petitioner

- 20 -

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this a7 day of

CHenuatyr , 1989, three copies of the above

Petition for Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit and Appendix were
mailed first class, postage pre-paid, to Brecken-
ridge C. Wilcox, United States Attorney, Office of
the United States Attorney, 101 W. Lombard Street,
8th Floor, United States Court House, Baltimore,
Maryland 21201; Roann Nichols, Assistant United
States Attorney, United States Court House, 101 W.
Lombard Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2692;
Jesse L. Butler, Assistant General Counsel; David G.
Karro, Esquire, Office of Labor Law, Room 6414, 475

L°Enfant Plaza, Washington, DC 20264.

Vig. Wd
\ Mawr. Rue

MARK ERIC HERMAN

-~ 21 -

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-1556

TEDDYANNE SCHOO
Plaintiff - Appellant

Ve

U.S. POSTAL SERVICE; JOHN C.
HOLMES; CHARLES T. HALL; JASPER
GRADY; WILLIAM G. FELAND; WILLIAM
DODSON; WARREN BLOOMBERG
Defendants - Appellees

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
District of Maryland, at Baltimore. Joseph C.
Howard, United States District Judge. (CA-87-
1216JH).

Argued : November 1, 1988
Decided: December 27, 1988

Before WINTER, Chief Judge, and MURNAGHAN and
SPROUSE, Circuit Judges.

Barbara Lynn Matthews for Appellant. David George
Karro (Jesse L. Butler, Assistant General Counsel,
Office of Labor Law, U.S. POSTAL SERVICE; Breckin-
ridge L. Willcox, United States Attorney, Roann
Nichols, Assistant United States Attorney, on brief)
for Appellees.

- 92 «

—o—_—— er

PER CURIAM:

Teddyanne Schoo appeals the judgment of the
district court dismissing her title VII action
against the United States Postal Service, John C.
Holmes, Charles T. Hall, Jasper Grady, William G.
Feland, William Dodson and Warren Bloomberg. The
district court effectively denied Schoo’s Fed. R.
Civ. P. 15(c) motion to amend her complaint to name
the Postmaster General as a defendant by dismissing
it because the Postmaster General was not so named
as required by statute. We affirm.

Schoc filed a complaint before the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission in 1982 alleging
discrimination in her termination from her job in
the Baltimore Post Office. In 1985, she appealed
the unfavorable decision within the EEOC, which
determined that Schoo had no cognizable claim and so
advised her in a letter of April 9, 1987, which she

received on April 13.1 The EEOC also advised her

l
The last paragraph of the Analysis and Find-
ings section of the EEOC letter to Schoo ended in
mid-sentence. Through her attorney, she advised
them of that defect on April 14, and she received a
corrected letter, dated April 21, om April 24.

= 93 =

that she had thirty days from the date of receipt to

file an action in district court.

In Schoo’s original district court complaint
filed on May 13, 1987, she named the United States
Postal Service and six individuals as defendants.
One of those individuals, John C. Holmes, was her
immediate supervisor in Baltimore. Schoo”’s com-
plaint was mailed to several defendants on May 22,
1987. Holmes received his copy on May 23. To com-
plete her action against the Postal Service, Schoo
mailed the summons and complaint to the Baltimore
Postmaster on May 22. He received them on May 27.

Schoo filed an amended complaint on October 26, 1987

2

It is evident from Schoo”’s complaint that she
intended service on the Baltimore Postmaster as
service on the Postal Service. However, since the
Baltimore Postmaster did not receive the summons and
complaint until more than thirty days after either
EEOC letter, Schoo relies on her service of Holmes
as furnishing the requisite notice to the Postmaster
General.

—) a

naming the Postmaster General as a defendant pur-
suant to Rule 15(c). This, of course, was beyond
the thirty-day limitation period even if that period
started upon receipt of the second EEOC notifica-
tion. In Schoo’s rule 15(c) motion, however, she
asked that the ameded complaint relate back to May
13, 1987, the date she filed her original compJaint.
The district court, ruling that the Postmaster Gen-
eral had not received the required rule 15(c) notice
of the original complaint, disallowed the amended
complaint and dismissed the action. On appeal,
Schoo contends that, under Rule 15(c), service on
Holmes, her supervisor at the Baltimore post office,
was sufficient notice to the Postmaster General that
the action was pending against him.

The language of title VII requires that, in
actions brought against government agencies, "the
head of the department, agency, or unit, as appro-
priate, shall be the defendant." 42 U.S.C.A.
Section 2000e-16(c) (West 1981). Actions brought
against the Postal Service must name the Postmaster

- 25 -

General as a defendant. McGuiness v. United States

Postal Service, 744 F.2d 1318, 1322-23 (7th Cir.

1984); Cooper v. United States Postal Service, 740

F.2d 714, 176 (9th Cir. 1984°%, cert. denied, 471

U.S. 1022 (1985).
In a notice attached to the decision it
forwarded to Schoo, the EEOC adviser her that:

- « « [T]he attached decision in your case is
final. You have the right to file a civil
action in the appropriate United States
District Court WITHIN THIRTY (30) DAYS from the
date that you receive this decision... . You
are further notified that if you file a civil
action, YOU MUST NAME THE APPROPRIATE OFFICIAL

AGENCY OR DEPARTMENT HEAD AS THE DEFENDANT.
Rule 25(d)(2) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure provides that you may describe the
defendant by official title rather than by
name. Failure to provide the NAME OR OFFICIAL

TITLE of the agency head or, where appropriate,
the depatment head, may result in the loss of
any judicial redress to which you may be
entitled. (Please note: For this purpose,
Department means the overall national organ-
ization, such as the now defunct Department of
Health, Education and Welfare, not the local
administrative department where you might
work.) You must be sure that the proper
defendant is named when you file your civil
action.

—. =

Rule 15(c) provides in part:

An amendment changing the party against whom a
claim is asserted relates back if ... ,
within the period provided by law for commenc-
ing the action against the party to be brought
in by amendment that party (1) has received
such notice of the institution of the action
that the party will not be prejudiced in main-
taining his defense on the merits, and (2) knew
or should have known that, but for a mistake
concerning the identity of the proper party,
the action would have been brought against the
party.

"The linchpin [of rule 15(c)] is notice..."

Schiavone v. Fortune, 477 U.S. 21, 31, (1986).

Even if we were to use April 24, 1987 as the date
the thirty-day period began to run, and thereby
eliminate any timeliness problem regarding service

on the substitute party, see Schiavone, id., Holmes

was not an adequate substitute for the Postmaster
General. We cannot construe the notice requirement
of Rule 15(C) so liberally as to hold that notice of
an action against the head of a huge organization

such as the Postal Service can be effected by naming
and serving a minor supervisory employee far removed
from the cental commnand and from any organizational

» 37 ~

structure through which the department head ordin-
arily responds to litigation.
The Postal Service is organized in such a way
that
[t]he General Counsel of the Postal Service
shall act as agent for the receipt of legal
process against he Postal Service, and as agent
for the receipt of legal process against...
all .. . officers and employees of the Postal
Service ..« -«
39 C.F.R. Section 2.2 (1988). Although we would not
assume that all postal employees are aware of that
regulation, its promulgation certainly represents a
reasonable exercise of the postmaster’s discretion.
Short of correct service through designated
channels, the postmaster would be placed on notice
so as to satisfy the requirement of rule 15(c) by
other appropriate service. Rule 15(c) provides:
The delivery or mailing of process to the
United States Attorney, or the United States
Attorney’s designee, or the Attorney General of
the United States, or an agency or officer who
would have been a proper defendant if named,

satisfies the requirement of clauses (1) and

= @ «

(2) hereof with respect to the Unites States or
any agency or officer thereof to be brought
into the action as a defendant.

See also rule 4(d)(5), which provides that service
on any agency of the United States may be obtained
by delivering a copy of the summons and complaint to
the United States Attorney for the district in which
the action is brought, or to his assistant or
designee, and mailing the same to the Attorney
General and the agency. The above quoted language
of Rule 15(c) designating specific officials, upon
whom service would comprise adequate rule 15(c)
notice, is obviously not exclusive and implies that
service on some other officials might achieve the
same result. Without exploring all of those pos-
sibilities, suffice it to say that, in our view, a
supervisory employee of a local post office is not
such an official.

In view of the above, the judgment of the dis-

trict court is affirmed.

AFFIRMED

a 26 a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0825%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
