# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. Criswell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0717%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 1066

## Text

B8-1ise | Yrs

No.
; JAN 10 1989
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR
IN THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
CHARLES G. CRISWELL,
_ Respondent,
EUGENE R. BLACK, et al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM H. BOICE
(Counsel of Record)
THOMAS J. MUNGER
KILPATRICK & CODY
Suite 3100

100 Peachtree Street
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 572-6500

ROBERT S. HARKEY
GREGORY L. RIGGS
LEGAL DEPARTMENT
DELTA AIR LINES, INC.
Hartsfield Atlanta
International Airport
Atlanta, Georgia 30320
(404) 765-2611

Counsel for Petitioner

ET TR AER SLT SOOO ETD LOT NOT TT OL LEE NTRS \4

WILSON - Epgs PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the “successorship doctrine” should be ap-
plied in an employment discrimination action to require
an acquiring company to hire employees of an acquired
company who do not meet the independent and presump-
tively lawful job qualifications of the acquiring company?

2. Whether the “successorship doctrine” was properly
applied to find continuity of an acquired company’s op-
erations in an employment discrimination action where
there was to be a temporary continuity of some of the
acquired company’s operations during a transition period
but no continuity of the acquired company’s operations
after the acquisition was complete?

(i)

ii
LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to this appeal are Delta Air Lines, Inc.,*
as Petitioner, and Charles G. Criswell, as Respondent,
and Eugene R. Black, Ernest F. Ellis, Arlie A. Gillespie,
Peter T. Hoffman, Jack L. Keyes, Ben D. Laubacher,
Jr., Robert A. Longwell, Alan L. McLaren, Phil G. Most,
Lynn M. Norton, Glen P. Shannon, Donald C. Thompson
and Henry J. Wiegand, as Respondents.**

* The companies to be listed in accordance with Sup. Ct. Rule
28.1 are Atlantic Southeast Airlines, Inc., Comair, Inc., SkyWest,
Inc., and Gatwick Handling, Ltd.

** Western Air Lines, Inc. was a party-defendant at the time
of the March 30, 1987 Order of the United States District Court
for the Southern District of California that is the subject of this
Petition. However, on April 1, 1987, Western Air Lines, Inc.,
merged with Delta Air Lines, Inc., and Western Air Lines, Inc. no
longer exists. Accordingly, Western Air Lines, Inc. is not a party
to this proceeding.

SARRNEEERRT FIRE =o SOUT PR TAL NN A

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
obs yy a) A), yy | rr i
a incall a ncpcoailgennscacibssbcuadtinissdccas ii
pe yg |: aac ea iv
ISR TT a ee a 1
ET Re a ne 2
STATUTE AND REGULATION INVOLVED ............... 3
coe ee 8g lt ie | So! | Cea 3
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.........0............. 6

I. By Applying The “Successorship Doctrine” In
An Employment Discrimination Action To Re-
quire An Acquiring Company To Hire Employees
Of The Acquired Company Who Do Not Meet
The Independent Job Qualifications Of The
Acquiring Company, The Ninth Circuit Has
Conflicted In Principle With The Decisions Of
Other Circuits And Has Decided An Important
Question Of Federal Law Which Has Not Been,
But Should Be, Settled By This Court _............. 6

II. By Determining That There Was Continuity Of
An Acquired Company’s Operations Under The
“Successorship Doctrine’ In An Employment
Discrimination Action Where There Was To Be
A Temporary Continuity Of Some Of The Ac-
quired Company’s Operations During A Tran-
sition Period But No Continuity Of The Ac-
quired Company’s Operations After The Acqui-
sition Was Complete, The Ninth Circuit Has
Conflicted In Principle With The Decisions Of
Other Circuits And Has Decided An Important
Question Of Federal Law Which Has Not Been,

But Should Be, Settled By This Court................. 13
ES NR Ie 19
APPENDIX (Memorandum Decision of Court of Ap-

peals; Order of District Court) -...............000.0000..-..20000.. la

(ili)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Bellingham Frozen Foods, Inc. v. NLRB, 626 F.2d
) i Cs Rp _; SERSPpmnrernseumereomnnucuraeD reer 9
Brown v. Evening News Association, 473 F. Supp.
ROR ET, BI, Re iiceicesenciiensenetincnnpeittoans 14
Burt v. Ramada Inn of Oxford, Mississippi, 507
F. Supp. 386 (N.D. Miss. 1960) ............................ 15
Criswell v. Western Air Lines, Inc., 514 F. Supp.
384 (C.D. Calif. 1981), affirmed, 709 F.2d 544
(9th Cir. 1983), affirmed, 472 U.S. 400 (1985) .. 7
EEOC v. MacMillan Bloedell Containers, Inc., 503
fe B gi Ese. : ) een 7, 13,14
Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB,
U.S. , 107 B. Ce. SRR6 (1967) ....i........... 16, 17
Forde v. Kee Lox Manufacturing Co., Inc., 584 F.2d
rc: C+ es OER eee ee 14, 15
Golden State Bottling Co., Inc. v. NLRB, 414 US.
RS. RRS Ree eanieen een» ane TOR ny ore 7,9
Howard Johnson Co. v. Detroit Local Joint Execu-
ties B.. 497 UB. BOD (RGT4) nase 7
lervolino v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 796 F.2d 1408
(11th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——,
-¢ So fF), 6

In re National Air Lines, Inc., 700 F.2d 695 (11th

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 933 (1983) ..7, 8, 11, 13

Musikiwamba v. ESSI, Inc., 760 F.2d 740 (7th

CR, TD irs acen ges ann-cenorecnnpneeninmcnntinnngeninic 7,8, 11, 14

Slack v. Havens, 522 F.2d 1091 (9th Cir. 1975)........
Thomas Engine Corp., 179 NLRB 1029 (1969),
enforced, United Auto Workers v. NLRB, 442
iP Be) Bk Bt: Re 7p } eens

Statutes:

ek Oe I EE acc sniannnrernncronqencnemmnnbvincseninamniiniate
BO Re Oe I ss ieirreesnescdccrnn:onnniinnnaorniattnnphancentannammenantianio
Be i eI in cicrcntcidprcn tins cinnsdccttiiventmminrtiblaarnnegntie

Regulations:
pk fe Gk IRE Renreenerennuan ane nite none epe nent

a nw hn

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No.

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,
Petitioner,
¥.
CHARLES G. CRISWELL,
oni Respondent,
EUGENE R. BLACK, et al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Delta Air Lines, Inc. (“Delta”) respect-
fully requests that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review
the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of |
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered on October 12,
1988, affirming an Order of the United States District
Court for the Central District of California entered on
March 30, 1987.

OPINIONS BELOW

The memorandum opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, entered on October 12,
1988, has not been reported. It is reprinted in the Ap-
pendix hereto, p. la, infra.

2

The Order of the United States District Court for the
Central District of California (Tashima, D. J.), entered
on March 30, 1987, has not been reported. It is reprinted
in the Appendix hereto, p. 7a, infra.

JURISDICTION

On September 9, 1986, Delta and Western Air Lines,
Inc. (“Western”) entered into an Agreement and Plan
of Merger which contemplated that Delta would merge
Western into itself on April 1, 1987. This action began
when Delta informed Respondents (former Western Sec-
ond Officers) that they would not be offered cockpit posi-
tions with Delta because they did not meet Delta’s inde
pendent Second Officer job qualifications. Respondents
then sought an injunction in the United State District
Court for the Central District of California against
Delta by claiming that a May 12, 1981 injunction issued
against Western in an action under the Age Discrimina-
tion in Employment Act, as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 621
et seg. (the “ADEA’’), required Delta to hire them as
Second Officers. On March 30, 1987, the District Court
entered an Order holding that, under the “successorship
doctrine,” the injunction against Western required Delta
to hire the fifteen Respondents as Second Officers even
though they did not meet Delta’s Second Officer job re-
quirements. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, Delta ap-
pealed that Order to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit. On October 12, 1988, the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered
an order affirming the District Court’s March 30, 1987
Order. No petition for rehearing was sought.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment
of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth
Circuit is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

3

STATUTE AND REGULATION INVOLVED

The Age Discrimination In Employment Act of 1967,
as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 632, provides in pertinent part:

(a) It shall be unlawful for an employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any
individual or otherwise discriminate against any
individual with respect to his compensation,
terms, conditions, or privileges of employment,
because of such individual’s age; .. .
(f) It shall not be unlawful for an employer, em-
ployment agency or labor organization—

(1) to take any action otherwise prohibited un-
der subsections (a), (b), (ec) or (e) of this
section where age is a bona fide occupational
qualification reasonably necessary to the normal
operation of the particular business, or where
the differentiation is based on reasonable factors
other than age,....
Code of Federal Regulations, Title 14, Section 121.383
(ec) provides:
No certificate holder may use the services of any
person as a pilot on an airplane engaged in opera-
tions under this part if that person has reached his
60th birthday. No person may serve as a pilot on an
airplane engaged in operations under this part if
that person has reached his 60th birthday.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 9, 1986, Delta and Western entered into
an Agreement and Plan for Merger which contemplated
that Delta would merge Western into itself on April 1,
1987 and that Western would no longer exist as a cor-
porate entity as of that date. C.R. 425 at 2. At the time
of that Agreement, the fifteen Respondents were em-
ployed by Western as Second Officers.1 Although not

1 Second Officer is a term used by both Western and Delta to
designate the pilot who occupies the third seat behind the Captain

4

required to do so, Delta voluntarily offered the Respond-
ents employment with Delta effective April 1, 1987.
Tr. 6; C.R. 421(a) at 6; C.R. 421/b) at 10; C.R. 423 at
7; C.R. 424 at 8. However, Respondents did not meet
Delta’s independent and long-established qualifications
for its Second Officer positions. Jd. Specifically, Respond-
ents were disqualified from serving as Delta Second Offi-
cers because each was past his sixtieth birthday and
Delta prohibits a pilot disqualified from Captain or
First Officer (co-pilot) service by his age? or other rea-
son from bidding down to or serving in the subordinate
Second Officer position. Zd.; Tr. 7, 10, 30, 31. Accord-
ingly, because they did not meet Delta’s Second Officer
job qualifications, Delta informed Respondents that they
could not be offered that position at Delta but they would
be offered ground positions. Jd.

On March 2, 1987, Respondents filed a Motion with
the United States District Court for the Central District
of California seeking an injunction that would require
Delta to hire them as Second Officers. C.R. 419. In their
Motion, Respondents contended that Delta was a “succes-
sor’ to Western and was therefore bound by a May 13,
1981 injunction issued against Western in an ADEA
action that prohibited Western from applying a similar
but distinct job qualification to Second Officers. C.R. 216;
C.R. 419. Two days before the April 1 acquisition date,
the District Court issued an Order which held that, with
respect to Respondents, Delta is a “successor” to Western
and that therefore Delta was required to employ Re-
spondents as Second Officers, notwithstanding the fact
that they did not meet Delta’s independent qualifications
for that position. See p. 8a, infra. The District Court

. and First Officer (co-pilot) in a three-man cockpit and, among
other things, performs the duties of the flight engineer position.

214 C.F.R. § 121.383(c)}, the Federal Aviation Administration’s
“Age 60 Rule,” prohibits service as a Captain or First Officer upon
reaching the age of 60.

5

explained the basis for its Order by stating, “[i]t ap-
pears to the Court that Western’s and Delta’s flight
operations will not be fully integrated until sometime in
the future. At this point, then, Delta is a successor for
the purposes of the pending motion.” See p. 8a, infra.
Delta appealed that Order to the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

In its appeal, Delta argued that the District Court
improperly applied the successorship doctrine to require
Delta to hire as Second Officers former Western em-
ployees who did not meet Delta’s independent Second
Officer job qualifications. Delta also argued that the
District Court had improperly found that Delta was a
successor to Western on the basis of the fact that West-
ern’s pilot work force would not be completely integrated
into Delta’s pilot work force immediately after the
merger since it was undisputed that it would be com-
pletely integrated after a short transition period. In
fact, upon the completion of the merger and the inte-
gration of Western’s work force into Delta’s work force,
it was undisputed that there would be no identifiable
former Western operation. C.R. 425 at 4, 5; C.R. 428
at 3, 4; Tr. 12.

On October 12, 1988, the Ninth Circuit affirmed the
District Court’s Order. See p. la, infra. The Ninth Cir-
cuit held that the successorship doctrine could be applied
to require an acquiring company to hire employees of
the acquired company, even though they did not meet
the job qualifications of the acquiring company. The
Ninth Circuit also held that there was sufficient con-
tinuity of the Western operations to find that Delta was
a successor to Western because Delta had not completely
integrated the two pilot work forces on the April 1, 1987
effective date of the acquisition. Delta then timely filed
this Petition.

6
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. By Applying The “Successorship Doctrine” In An Em-
ployment Discrimination Action To Require An Acquir-
ing Company To Hire The Employees Of An Acquired
Company Who Do Not Meet The Independent Job
Qualifications Of The Acquiring Company, The Ninth
Circuit Has Conflicted In Principle With the Decisions
Of Other Circuits And Has Decided An Important
Question Of Federal Law Which Has Not Been, But
Should Be, Settled By This Court.

By requiring Delta to hire unqualified former Western
employees, the Ninth Circuit applied the successorship
doctrine in an unprecedented manner. It is undisputed
in this action that the Delta Second Officer qualifications
that Respondents failed to meet are presumptively law-
ful. However, even if that were not the case, Delta has
successfully defended these qualifications against a claim
that they were age discriminatory in an ADEA action.
Iervolino v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 796 F.2d 1408 (11th
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, U.S. ——, 107 S. Ct. 1300
(1987).

When Delta denied Respondents Second Officer posi-
tions because they did not meet Delta’s qualifications,
Respondents did not challenge the lawfulness of these
actions in an ADEA action against Delta. Instead,
Respondents filed a Motion in District Court contend-
ing that they were exempt from Delta’s job qualifica-
tions because that District Court had enjoined West-

3 In that case, Delta maintained that its Second Officer job quali-
fications are either based on reasonable factors: other than age
(“RFOA”’) or, if age based, are justified as a bona fide occupational
qualification (‘““BFOQ”) reasonably necessary to the safe operation
of Delta’s business. Jervolino v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., supra, 796
F.2d at 1411; 29 U.S.C. § 623(f)(1). The jury entered a general
verdict in favor of Delta and the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the decision, holding that there
was “substantial evidence” to support Delta’s RFOA defense and
that Delta’s BFOQ defense was “amply supported by the record.”
Id. at 1419.

7

ern from applying similar, but distinct, qualifications
that had been found to violate the ADEA. By exempting
Respondents from Delta’s Second Officer qualifications.
the District Court and the Ninth Circuit denied Delta
the right to once again establish the lawfulness of its
qualifications and distinguish its qualifications from the
former Western qualifications.* Thus, the Ninth Cir-
cuit’s decision forced Delta to hire employees who clearly
do not meet Delta’s job qualifications without any find-
ing that those qualifications were unlawful. The pre-
cedent set by the Ninth Circuit’s decision both conflicts
in principle with the decisions of other Circuits and pre-
sents an important question of federal law that this
Court has not, but should, address.

In requiring Delta to hire employees that did not meet
its presumptively lawful qualifications, the Ninth Cir-
cuit relied solely on the “successorship doctrine.” This
Court has not yet confronted that doctrine in an employ-
ment discrimination action. Several Circuits, however,
have utilized that doctrine to determine whether an
acquiring company will be required to remedy certain
unremedied unlawful employment practices committed by
the acquired company before the acquisition. Musiki-
wamba v. ESSI, Inc., 760 F.2d 740 (7th Cir. 1985) ;
In re National Air Lines, Inc., 700 F.2d 695 (11th Cir.
1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 933 (1983); Slack v.
Havens, 522 F.2d 1091 (9th Cir. 1975); EEOC v. Mac-
Millan Bloedell Containers, Inc., 503 F.2d 1086 (6th Cir.
1974).° Under the doctrine, the acquiring company is

4 For example, unlike Delta, Western formerly allowed down-bids
by Captains to the Second Officer position in a broad variety of
circumstances and the only circumstance in which Western denied
down-bids was by Captains nearing age 60. Criswell v. Western
Air Lines, Inc., 514 F. Supp. 384, 392 (C.D. Calif. 1981).

5 These courts have generally borrowed the doctrine from its
use in the labor law context. See, e.g., Howard Johnson Co., Inc. v.
Detroit Local Joint Executive Bd., 417 U.S. 249 (1975); Golden
State Bottling Co., Inc. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168 (1973).

8

treated as an innocent party and it is the acts and em-
ployment decisions of the acquired company that are at
issue. Musikiwamba v. ESSI, Inc., 760 F.2d 740 (7th
Cir. 1985).

In the context in which the successorship doctrine is
normally utilized, a company has unlawfully discrimi-
nated against an employee and is then acquired. Thus,
although the acquiring company may continue to oper-
ate the business of the acquired company in substantially
the same form, the acquired company no longer exists as
an entity from which the victim of discrimination can
seek a remedy. Although the acquiring company is an
innocent party, if it is a “successor” to the acquired
company, courts may order the acquiring company to
remedy the unlawful practices of the acquired company
(e.g., by reinstating with back pay an employee dis-
criminatorily discharged by the acquired company). See,
e.g., Musikiwamba v. ESSI, Inc., 760 F.2d 740, 746 (7th
Cir. 1985). The courts and the National Labor Relations
Board (in the labor law context) have transferred lia-
bility in this context when, but for the acquired com-
pany’s unlawful discharge, the successor would likely
have retained the employee after the acquisition had he
still been employed by the predecessor at the time of the
acquisiiton. Id.; Thomas Engine Corp., 179 NLRB 1029,
1030 (1970). In such cases, the burden placed on the
successor is de minimis because it is merely required to
hire a particular qualified employee. Musikiwamba v.
ESSI, Ine., supra, 760 F.2d at 747. Thus, the burden is
substantially outweighed by the employee’s right to a
remedy even when the discriminating entity has dis-
appeared after an acquisition. Jd.

In contrast, the successorship doctrine is not applied
to require an acquiring company to hire employees who
do not meet its independent job qualifications. See, ¢.9g.,
In re National Air Lines, Inc., 700 F.2d 695 (11th Cir.
1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 933 (1983) ; Golden State

PIN a lhe dS

9

Bottling Co., Ine. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168, 178, n.4
(1973). In that context, it is the acts of the acquiring
employer that are at issue. If the refusal to hire, or
a job qualification of the acquiring employer, is unlaw-
fully discriminatory, the employees who are not hired
have a remedy merely by filing an employment discrimi-
nation action against the acquiring employer. Thus, un-
less the acts at issue were committed by an acquired
employer that has disappeared, the successorship doctrine
is both unnecessary and inapplicable. As this Court
stated in the labor law context, “the successor’s obliga-
tions do not arise out of its own unfair labor practices.”
Golden State Bottling Co., Inc. v. NLRB, supra, 414 U.S.
at 178, n.4.

Accordingly, although the National Labor Relations
Board will apply the successorship doctrine to require
a successor to reinstate with back pay employees who
were unlawfully terminated by the acquired company,
it will not apply the doctrine to issue a cease and desist
order restricting the successor from engaging in unlaw-
ful acts, even if they are the same acts that were com-
mitted by the predecessor. Id.; Thomas Engine Corp.,
179 NLRB 1029, n.4 (1969), enforced, United Auto
Workers v. NLRB, 442 F.2d 1180 (9th Cir. 1971).
Thus, a successor cannot be required under the doctrine
to hire an individual unlawfully terminated by the
acquired company if it would not have hired the individ-
ual in any event because of its own independent hiring
policies or decisions. See, e.g., Thomas Engine Corp.,
supra, 179 NLRB at 1030; Bellingham Frozen Foods,
Inc. v. NLRB, 626 F.2d 674, 681 (9th Cir. 1980). If it
is the successor’s acts (whether based on the same or an
entirely different policy as the acquired company) that
have deprived the acquired employees of employment,
they must seek a remedy directly against the successor
by showing that its acts were unlawful.

10

In this case, however, the Ninth Circuit has completely
ignored the principles discussed above and has applied
the successorship doctrine in an unprecedented manner.*®
No other court has extended the doctrine in this fashion
to strike down the job qualifications of an acquiring com-
pany without any showing that the qualifications were
unlawful.

The precedent set by this decision should not be ignored
merely because of the similarity between Western’s for-
mer policy and Delta’s policy. The similarities of the
two policies are irrelevant to the Ninth Circuit’s decision.
Under the Ninth Circuit’s decision, an employee who
successfully established that his employer had unlawfully
discriminated against him would be exempt from any
independent job qualifications applied by a company that
acquired the discriminating employer if those qualifica-
tions had the same effect on his employment as the
acquired company’s action. For example, if a terminated
employee successfully established that his employer un-
lawfully terminated him because of an age restriction
and was consequently reinstated, a company that ac-
quired his employer would be required to hire that em-
ployee in the same position even if the employee did not
meet the acquiring company’s independent experience,
skill or even eyesight qualifications. The acquiring com-
pany’s status as a “successor” alone would prevent it
from applying its own qualifications and the “successor”
would have no opportunity to defend its qualifications as

®The Ninth Circuit rejected Delta’s argument presented here
only after it mischaracterized it. Delta did not and does not con-
tend that a successor can never be held liable for a predecessor’s
unlawful employment practice merely because it is an innocent
party. Instead, Delta is contending that a successor can only be
held liable under the successorship doctrine for the unlawful prac-
tices of the predecessor and not its own allegedly unlawful prac-
tices or qualifications. Liability for a successor’s unlawful employ-
ment practices or qualifications can be established only through
a direct action against the successor.

11

being lawful. Indeed, even if those qualifications had
previously been upheld as lawful, the successor could not
uniformly apply them because one of its new employees
had been subjected to age discrimination by his prior
employer.

Finally, the Ninth Circuit’s unprecedented decision
ignores and fails to serve the underlying purpose of the
successorship doctrine as set forth by courts in other
Circuits. In determining whether a successor should be
required to remedy the acts of the predecessor employer
that no longer exists, the courts balance the interests of
the employees and the successor. Musikiwamba v. ESSI,
Inc., 760 F.2d 740 (7th Cir. 1985); In re National Air
Lines, Inc., 700 F.2d 695, 698 (11th Cir. 1983), cert.
denied, 464 U.S. 933 (1983). When applied correctly,
the successorship doctrine upholds the right of an em-
ployee to seek a remedy against an innocent acquiring
company when it has acquired a discriminatory employer
that no longer exists and when it is merely required to
provide a remedy by hiring a specific qualified employee
or group of employees. However, the precedent set by
the Ninth Circuit’s decision ignores that balancing of
interests. The alleged discriminatory employer in this
ease (Delta) still exists and a remedy can be sought
against it directly. The only burden upon Respondents
in this case is the burden placed upon all individuals
who claim they have been discriminated against by a
prospective employer—the burden of proof of establish-
ing employment discrimination in a lawsuit. Moreover,
the burden upon Delta is certainly not de minimis. It
was not merely required to hire a particular group of
qualified employees but instead was required to ignore
long-standing safety qualifications.? Delta has been de-

7The Delta Second Officer qualifications at issue are based in
part upon Delta’s organization of its three-man cockpit crews. All
three Delta cockpit crew members are pilots. The Second Officer
position at Delta is an entry level training position in which a

12

nied the right to uniformly apply this qualification with-
out the opportunity of defending its lawfulness as it has
successfully done in the past.

The Ninth Circuit has applied the successorship doc-
trine in a unprecedented manner to create a special class
of Delta pilots immune from Delta’s presumptively valid
flight safety qualifications. Delta is unaware of any re-
ported decision in another Circuit that has extended the
successorship doctrine in this manner. Delta submits
that the Ninth Circuit’s decision on this important mat-
ter conflicts in principle with the decisions of courts in
other Circuits that restrict the use of the successorship
doctrine to instances where the decision of the acquired
company is at issue. Finally, the Ninth Circuit has de-
cided an important question of federal law and created
an expansive precedent in an area that has not been,
but should be, addressed by this Court. Accordingly, con-
sideration of this matter by this Court is essential.

pilot observes and learns Delta’s flying procedure. Delta has an
“up-or-out” policy pursuant to which a Second Officer eventually
qualifies for and advances to First Officer and ultimately to Captain..
Those pilots who are unable to advance are terminated. This
structure insures that the most senior pilot in the cockpit is the
Captain who is the pilot in command. The next most senior pilot
is the First Officer and the most junior pilot in the cockpit is the
Second Officer. If senior former Captains are allowed to “bid-
down” to the Second Officer position, the predictability of rela-
tionships in Delta’s cockpits would be compromised and the utility
of this training position would be lost. A Delta cockpit with the
most senior pilot occupying the subordinate Second Officer position
is more likely to be a cockpit in which the lines of authority and
command responsibility are blurred. The resulting ambiguity of
roles and relationships is likely to result in cockpit confusion, which
is the antithesis of the predictable and safe environment sought
by Delta.

13

II. By Determining That There Was Continuity Of An
Acquired Company’s Operations Under The “Succes-
sorship Doctrine” In An Employment Discrimination
Action Where There Was To Be A Temporary Con-
tinuity Of Some Of The Acquired Company’s Opera-
tions During A Transition Period But No Continuity
Of The Acquired Company’s Operations After The
Acquisition Was Complete, The Ninth Circuit Has
Conflicted In Principle With The Decisions Of Other
Circuits And Has Decided An Important Question Of
Federal Law Which Has Not Been, But Should Be,
Settled By This Court.

The Ninth Circuit determined that there would be
substantial continuity of Western’s operations after the
acquisition and that therefore Delta was a “successor” to
Western. That decision conflicted at least in principle
with the decisions of other Circuits because the determi-
nation of continuity was based solely upon the extent of
the integration of the predecessor into the acquiring com-
pany at the beginning of a transition period after which
the predecessor would be completely integrated into the
acquiring company. The Ninth Circuit thus chose a date
that did not reflect the undisputed planned outcome of
the acquisition to determine whether the acquisition
would result in the substantial continuity of the opera-
tions of the acquired company. In doing so, the Ninth
Circuit decided a vital question of federal law which has
not been, but should be, addressed by this Court.

As described above, the purpose of an examination of
the “successorship doctrine” in the employment discrim-
ination context is to determine whether an innocent ac-
quiring company will be required to remedy the unrem-
edied, unlawful employment practices engaged in by the
acquired company before the acquisition. Jn re National
Air Lines, Inc., 700 F.2d 695, 698 (11th Cir. 1983), cert.
dened, 464 U.S. 933 (1983); EEOC v. MacMillan Bloe-
dell Containers, Inc., 503 F.2d 1086, 1089 (6th Cir.

14

1974). Courts have adopted a nine-part, fact-specifie in-
quiry to determine whether an acquiring company is a
successor to an acquired company for purposes of an em-
ployment discrimination action. Musikiwamba v. ESSI,
Inc., 760 F.2d 740, 750 (7th Cir. 1985); EEOC v. Mc-
Millan Bloedell Containers, Inc., supra, 503 F.2d at
1094; Slack v. Havens, 522 F.2d 1091 (9th Cir. 1975) ;
Brown v. Evening News Association, 473 F. Supp. 1242,
1244-1245 (E.D. Mich. 1979). These inquiries are: (1)
whether the new company substantially continues the
business operations of the acquired company; (2)
whether the new company uses the same plant; (3)
whether the new company uses the same or substantially
the same work force; (4) whether the new company uses
the same or substantially the same supervisory person-
nel; (5) whether the same jobs exist under substantially
the same working conditions; (6) whether the new com-
pany uses the same machinery, equipment and methods
of production; (7) whether the new company produces
the same product; (8) whether the new company had
notice of the charge against the acquired company; and
(9) the ability of the predecessor to provide relief. Id.

The first seven of the above factors have been called
the “continuity” or “sameness” factors. Slack v. Havens,
522 F.2d at 1095; Musikiwamba v. ESSI, Inc., supra,
760 F.2d at 751; Brown v. Evening News Association,
supra, 473 F. Supp. at 1245. The focus of these con-
tinuity factors is to determine whether the acquiring
company “essentially continues the operations of the
former corporation.” In re National Air Lines, Inc.,
supra, 700 F.2d at 698.

8 Courts in other Circuits have held that the continuity factor
is the most important consideration. For example, in EEOC v.
MacMillan Bloedell Containers, Inc., supra, 503 F.2d at 1089,
the Sixth Circuit referred to the continuity factor as the “key
factor in the determination.” And other courts have held that the
continuity factor must be satisfied before an acquiring company
can be considered a successor. Forde v. Kee Lox Manufacturing

a

15

The Court’s application of the continuity factors in
this case differed significantly from the application of
those factors by courts in other Circuits. In finding that
Delta would continue to operate Western as a separate
entity after the acquisition, the Ninth Circuit and the
District Court relied solely on the narrow factual con-
clusion that the pilot seniority lists for the Delta and
Western pilots would not be fully integrated immediately
upon the effective date of the acquisition. See pp. 4a, 8a,
infra. Instead, Delta had decided that it would continue
to use the Western pilots’ seniority list for Western pilots
and allow former Western pilots to fly former Western
routes and equipment until an integrated pilot seniority
list covering all Delta pilots had been agreed upon and
adopted. Solely because of this transitional step, the
Ninth Circuit held that Delta was continuing to operate
Western as a separate entity indistinguishable from the
pre-acquisition company and that doing so satisfied the
“continuity of operations” factors of the successorship
test.

The Ninth Circuit’s conclusion differed with decisions of
courts in other Circuits for at least two reasons. First,
the Ninth Circuit focused on the continuity of only one
group of employees rather than the overall operation of
Delta’s business after the acquisition. Courts in other
Circuits, however, look to the substantial continuity of
operations in the entire “business enterprise.” Forde v.
Kee Lox Manufacturing Co., Inc., 584 F.2d at 4, 5 (2nd
Cir. 1978); EEOC v. MacMillan Bloedell Containers,

Co., Inc., 585 F.2d 4, 5 (2nd Cir. 1978); Burt v. Ramada Inn of
Oxford, Mississippi, 507 F. Supp. 336, 338 (N.D. Miss. 1980). In
fact, the Seventh Circuit in Musikiwamba v. ESSI, Ine., supra,
stated that the continuity factors were so important in cases such
as this one (that involve a class of individuals seeking injunctive
relief against the acquiring company) that “perhaps no amount
of continuity would suffice” to render the acquiring company a suc-
cessor. 760 F.2d at 751.

eee

16

Inc., supra, 508 F.2d at 1089. Similarly, in applying the
successorship doctrine in the labor law context, this Court
views the “totality of the circumstances” in determining
whether there is a substantial continuity “between the
enterprises” after an acquisition. Fall River Dyeing &
Fininshing Corp. v. NLRB, US. ——, 107 S. Ct.
2225, 2236, 2237 (1987). Accordingly, the Ninth Circuit
ignored a large number of facts that would have been
considered by courts in other Circuits that would have
established that the “totality of circumstances” showed
that Delta would not substantially continue the “busi-
ness enterprise” of Western after the acquisition.°

Second, the Ninth Circuit reached its determination that
Delta would continue to operate Western as a separate
entity solely by viewing the expected status of the two
pilot work forces on the first day after the effective date
of the expected acquisition, rather than shortly there-
after when the contemplated acquisition would be com-
plete and the two pilot groups would be fully integrated.
No court has ever found an acquiring company to be a
successor of the acquired company for purposes of em-
ployment discrimination liability by ignoring the undis-
puted expected result of an acquisition and relying on

® For example, Delta presented undisputed evidence that Western’s
general offices would be closed and that Western employees in those
facilities would be offered transfer to Delta offices. C.R. 425 at 3.
Similarly, Delta presented undisputed evidence that, even if all
former Western employees who were offered jobs with Delta ac-
cepted those employment offers, former Western employees would
comprise only 23% of Delta’s work force. C.R. 428 at 2, 4. In
addition, seniority lists would be integrated to allow Western
employees to fill available vacancies in Delta’s system after the
merger such that former Western employees would be working
with Delta employees on a system-wide basis. C.R. 425 at 4; C.R.
428 at 3. Furthermore, Western employees who became Delta em-
ployees would largely work for different supervisors and many
would be employed in different job classifications and work under
different working conditions. C.R. 425 at 4, 5; C.R. 428 at 3, 4;
Tr. 13.

17

such a narrow assessment of the expected facts at an
arbitrary point along the acquisition and integration
process.

Moreover, because this Court has never addressed the
successorship doctrine in an employment discrimination
eontext, the necessary factors upon which a successor-
ship finding can be based are unclear. With its decision
in this case, the Ninth Circuit had held that the succes-
sorship determination should be made on the first day
after the effective date of the acquisition in spite of the
fact that that date is the beginning rather than the end
of a transition period. Thus, the Ninth Circuit arbitrar-
ily focused on a point that would clearly be one of tran-
sition rather than repose.

Instead, the proper focus should be on the status of
the acquiring company upon the completion of the acqui-
sition and integration rather than upon a point in time
somewhere along the way to that completion. Only then
can it be established whether the acquiring company in-
tended to maintain the business enterprise of the ac-
quired company in substantially the same manner. See,
e.g., Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB, 107
S. Ct. 2225, 2234 (1987) (continuity established if “new
employer makes conscious decision to maintain generally
the same business”) (emphasis added). To ignore the
fact that an acquiring company intends to completely
integrate the acquired company into itself solely because
that integration will not occur immediately renders the
traditional successorship standards meaningless. Obvi-
ously, a large corporation cannot fully integrate an ac-
quired corporation into itself immediately after an ac-
quisition. It takes time to integrate separate work
forces with fairness and a minimum of disruption in the
lives of employees and their families. The continuity
factors are obviously designed to determine whether the
operation of the acquired company will survive substan-
tially intact after a post-acquisition integration, thereby

18

making it more equitable to transfer liability to the ac-
quiring company. In this decision, however, the Ninth
Circuit has created precedent in an important area of
federal law that sets the date upon which the continuity
factors should be applied at an illogical time that bears
no relation to the purpose of those factors.

Finally, to ignore the fact that, after the dust settles
on an acquisition, there will no longer be any continuity
of the acquired company’s business—-and therefore no
successorship—-merely requires relitigation when that
time comes. Such a result causes needless litigation and
expense and ignores the purpose of the continuity factors
of the successorship doctrine—to determine whether an
acquiring company will essentially continue the business
enterprise of an acquired company so that it is fair to
require it to remedy certain unremedied, unlawful prac-
tices of the acquired company.

Accordingly, because of the Ninth Circuit’s decision on
this important and unsettled question, it is imperative
that this Court settle this matter.

19

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, Petitioner Delta Air
Lines, Inc. respectfully requests that this Petition For
Certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM H. BOICE
(Counsel of Record)
THOMAS J. MUNGER
KILPATRICK & CODY
Suite 3100

100 Peachtree Street
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 572-6500

ROBERT S. HARKEY
GREGORY L. RIGGS
LEGAL DEPARTMENT
DELTA AIR LINES, INC.
Hartsfield Atlanta
International Airport
Atlanta, Georgia 30320
(404) 765-2611

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la
APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit
October 12, 1988

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Case No. 87-5771

CHARLES G. CRISWELL;
EUGENE R. BLACK,
Plaintiffs-Appellees,

V.

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,
Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Central District of California
A. Wallace Tashima, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted April 14, 1988
San Francisco, California

Filed: October 12, 1988

Before: BROWNING, NELSON AND CANBY, Cir-
cuit Judges.

2a
MEMORANDUM
INTRODUCTION

This action had its genesis more than ten years ago
when pilot Charles Criswell, and two other plaintiffs,
were forced to retire at age 60 by Western Air Lines
(“Western”). A jury found that Western had violated
the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C.
§§ 621-34, when it (1) refused to allow DC-10 captains
nearing the age of sixty to down-bid to the position of
second officers (flight engineers), and (2) imposed a
mandatory retirement age of sixty on second officers as
a matter of company policy. Criswell v. Western Air
Lines, Inc., 514 F. Supp. 384 (C.D. Cal. 1981). Final
judgment and a permanent injunction were issued on
May 13, 1981 by Judge Tashima.

This court affirmed the district court’s decision. 709
F.2d 544 (9th Cir. 1983). A unanimous Supreme Court
affirmed. 472 U.S. 400 (1985).

Western was acquired by and became a wholly-owned
subsidiary of Delta Air Lines (“Delta’’) in September
1986. The merger was consummated on April 1, 1987.

After the merger, Delta refused to continue Criswell
and the fifteen other movants (“plaintiffs”) as second
officers although it did offer them unspecified ground-
level positions. Delta contends that its action was neces-
sary because of its policy prohibiting captains and first
officers from “bidding-down” and serving as second offi-
cers.

Because of this refusal to continue their employment
in cockpit positions, plaintiffs returned to Judge Tashima
and moved to have defendant Western and respondent
Delta held in contempt of court for failure to comply
with the Final Judgment and Permanent Injunction in
Criswell v. Western Air Lines. The district court granted

3a

the motion, holding that Delta is a successor to Western
and is thus bound by the Criswell injunction.

Delta argues that, for purposes of the Criswell injunc-
tion, it is not a successor to Western and can therefore
remove Criswell and the other plaintiffs from cockpit
positions. We agree with the district court’s analysis
that Delta is a successor to Western. We therefore
AFFIRM.

DISCUSSION
Successorship

In an employment discrimination action, there are
three principal factors relating to successor liability:

(1) continuity in operations and work force of the
successor and predecessor employers;

(2) notice to the successor employer of its predeces-
sor’s legal obligation; and

(3) ability of the precessor to provide adequate re-
lief directly.

Bates v. Pacific Maritime Ass’n, 744 F.2d 705, 709-10
(9th Cir. 1984) (imposing liability for a Title VII con-
sent decree on successor employer); See also Slack v.
Havens, 522 F.2d 1091, 1094-95 (9th Cir. 1975). Be
cause the origins of successor liability are equitable,
fairness is a prime consideration in its application. The
emphasis, therefore, is on the second and third factors
listed above.

[T]wo factors [notice and ability to provide relief]
are critical to the imposition of successor liability.
The successor doctrine is derived from equitable
principles, and it would be grossly unfair, except in
the most exceptional circumstances, to impose suc-
cessor liability on an innocent purchaser when the
predecessor is fully capable of providing relief or
when the successor did not have the opportunity to
protect itself...

4a

Musikiwamba v. Essi, Inc., 760 F.2d 740, 750 (7th Cir.
1985). See Bates, 744 F.2d at 710 (“These factors indi-
cate that both fairness and necessity are inherent con-
siderations in successorship analysis.’’) .

Delta’s Policies

In the present case, all of the elements for a finding
of successorship are satisfied. First, there are continuity
in operations and the work force of the successor and
predecessor employers. There was ample evidence that
during the post-merger period in question, the former
Western flight operations were not integrated into Delta
operations. Former Western personnel continued to fly
former Western equipment on former Western routes,
while Delta’s pre-merger operations continued substan-
tially unchanged. Second, Delta was on notice of West-
ern’s legal obligation; it filed an amicus brief in support
of Western in Criswell v. Western Air Lines. Third,
Western is clearly incapable of providing the relief re-
quired by the injunction; it no longer exists as a corpo-
rate entity. Delta, on the other hand, had and has the
ability to provide adequate relief. The plaintiffs all
down-bid to second officers positions while at Western;
they could obtain complete relief if Delta simply retained
them in the position they held at the time Delta acquired
Western. Delta need not change its up-or-out policy as
it applies to others in order to accord relief to plaintiffs.
Since all three of the factors affecting successor liability
weigh in favor of plaintiffs, the district court did not
err in holding Delta subject to the Western injunction.

Delta nevertheless argues that successorship liability
does not apply to the “independent” actions of an acquir-
ing company. Should plaintiffs seek to challenge these
“new” policies they can file a new action against Delta
directly. Delta’s argument ignores a basic tenet of suc-
cessorship doctrine: the obligation imposed on the suc-
cessor is preexisting. As this court noted in Bates, “[i]n

5a

successorship cases, it is necessary to distinguish between
the necessity for finding discrimination in the first in-
stance, and the enforcement of an already established
obligation against a successor employer .... Successor-
ship liability, {] rests upon the consent decree itself, not
upon some independent admission of wrongdoing.” 744
F.2d at 709. Plaintiffs are not challenging Delta’s new
policies per se; they are simply insisting on a fulfillment
of obligations owing to them because of Western’s actions
and the injunction remedying them. “[T]he disappear-
ance by merger of a corporate employer . . . does not
automatically terminate all rights of the [previous] em-
ployees . . .[;] the successor employer may [still] be
required to arbitrate with the union under the [prior]
agreement.” John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376
U.S. 548, 548 (1964). Delta may be free to execute its
own policies to other employees, but it is not free to
abrogate its predecessor’s obligations to plaintiffs under
the injunction.

Challenge to Injunctive Relief

Delta’s final argument, that petitioners must meet the
criteria for injuntive relief, is misdirected; the real issue
in this case is whether successorship liability attaches.
Because the merits of Criswell’s claims have already been
adjudicated, and because the obligation is preexisting, the
plaintiffs need not make an independent showing for in-
junctive relief. Nor need they file a new action.

That the new employer is not a party of the consent
decree is of course irrelevant, for that is the whole
point of the successorship doctrine. The questions is
whether the successorship doctrine applies and, if so,
on what rationale.

Bates, 744 F.2d at 709. Determination of successorship
is a highly fact-specific enterprise, and we find in the
record no reason to disagree with the district court’s

ieee

6a

analysis. See e.g., Howard Johnson Co., Inc. v. Detroit
Local Joint Exe. Bd., 417 U.S. 249, 256 (1974); Bates,
744 F.2d at 709. Delta is a successor to Western for
purposes of the Criswell injunction.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court is affirmed. There
is a continuity of operations between the merged airlines,
Delta had notice of Western’s obligations, and Delta has
the ability to provide relief. The elements for successor-
ship are satisfied. The district court did not err in find-
ing that Delta has succeeded to the position of Western
and is therefore bound by the Criswell injunction.

AFFIRMED.

wrens sage oho

7a

Order of the United States District Court
for the Central District of California
March 30, 1987

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case No. CV-78-2184-AWT (Gx)

CHARLES G. CRISWELL,
Plaintiff,
and

EUGENE R. BLACK, ROBERT P. ELLIOT, ERNEST F.. ELLIS,
ARLIE A. GILLESPIE, PETER T. HOFFMAN, JACK L.
KEYES, BEN D. LAUBACHER, JR., ROBERT A. LONGWELL,
ALAN L. MCLAREN, PHIL G. Most, LYNN M. NORTON,
GLEN P. SHANNON, DONALD C. THOMPSON, and HENRY
J. WEIGAND, Movants,

Vv.

WESTERN AIR LINES, INC.,
Defendant,
and

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., and
AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL,
Respondents.

ORDER

Plaintiff Charles G. Criswell and 14 movants, all flight
officers of Western Air Lines, Inc. who are over 60 years
of age, have moved against Western and Delta Air Lines,

8a

Inc. for a citation of civil contempt and for further re-
lief for failure to obey the judgment and the injunction
in this case, entered May 18, 1981. On the basis of the
submissions before the Court and the arguments of coun-
sel, the following is ORDERED:

1. Plaintiff’s motion is granted as recited herein:

2. Delta is a successor to Western and is bound by
the Criswell injunction (attached and incorporated here-
in) with respect to the employment of plaintiff and
movants. It appears to the Court that Western’s and
Delta’s flight operations will not be fully integrated until
some time in the future. At this point, then, Delta is a
successor for the purposes of the pending motion. The
Order is limited to these 15 individuals who are being
permitted to continue their employment as Second Offi-
cers, and does not apply to those who in the future may
seek to transfer, or “down-bid” from Captain to Second
Officer at age 60 or to serve as Second Officer after age
60.

38. Delta will not suffer significant harm or hardship
because of this Order.

4. The Court considers this Order to be a final, ap-
pealable order.

5. Delta’s motion for a stay of this Order is denied.
Delta has not shown a likelihood of succeeding on the
merits on the issue of whether it is a successor to West-

ern for the purposes of the plaintiff’s and movants’ mo-
tion.

Dated: March 30, 1987
2:00 p.m.

/s/ A. Wallace Tashima
United States District Judge

9a

Approved as to form except as noted below:

Delta and Western request that the order expressly
state:

This is a final order which modifies the May 13, 1981
injunction by applying it to Delta as stated herein. The
order therefore is immediately appealable.

/s/ William H. Boice
Attorney for Defendant Western
and Respondent Delta

Plaintiff’s and movants’ response to above exception:

The Court ruled that it considered its Order to be a
final, appealable Order, The Court did not rule that it
was “modifying” the Criswell injunction and we submit
that the Court did not, in fact, modify the injunction.

/s/ Raymond C. Fay
Attorney for Plaintiff and
Movants

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0717%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
