# Opposition Brief — Faux-Burhans v. Board of County Commissioners

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0519%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 1042

## Text

No. 88-910 2 | FILED.
30
tn The DEC 1988
F. SPANIOL, JF

Supreme Gourt of the Huited States = —

October Term, 1988

AMOS D. FAUX-BURHANS,
Petitioner,
vs.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF FREDERICK
COUNTY,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
' . @f Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JOHN S. MATHIAS
County Attorney
Counsel of Record
JOSEPH E. EMERSON
Deputy County Attorney
Attorneys for Respondent
Office of the County Attorney
Winchester Hall
12 East Church Street
Frederick, Maryland 21701

(301) 694-1030
“Ts
-— (212) 940-4640%|. (516) 222-1606-WEST. (914) 683-9363
ALB. (S18) 463-7126 *NJ (201) 257-6850°MA (617) 542-1114
DC (202 783-7288+PA (215) 925-0500°USA (800) 5 APPEAL ky

TABLE OF CONTENTS

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

SUMMARY
ARGUMENT

ke

II.

Iit.

CONCLUSI

OF ARGUMENT

The Fourth Circuit Decision
Does Not Conflict with Any
Decision from the Circuit
Courts of Appeal.

The Fourth Circuit Decision
Does Not Conflict with Any
Decision of this Court.

The Fourth Circuit Court of
Appeals Did Not Decide an
Important Question of
Federal Law.

ON

Page

11

14

15

| TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Page

v. ‘

Cedarhurst, 238 F.2d 812
(2a Cir. 1956) 6-7

P Airli ve ;
Hempstead, 398 F.2d 369
(2d Cir. 1968), cert denied
393 U.S. 1017 (1969) 7

riti j sv fe)
‘a ‘of M.Y¥,, S58 F.2G 73; Soa
(2nd Cir. 1977) 5

City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air

Terminal, Inc., 411 U.S. 624
(1973-) 5S. 6, 12, a3, 14

— Vv ‘
j , 674 F. Supp.
1172 (D. Md. 1987) 3

Faux-Burhans v. Bd. of County Comm*rs.
of Frederick County, No. 88-3929

(4th Cir. 1988) petition for cert.
filed,57 U.S.L.W. 3423 (U.S. Dec.

20, 1988) (No. 88-910) Ze S, 13
Garden State Farms, Inc. v. Bay, 77 N.J.
439, 390 A.2d 1177 (N.J. 1978) “4
La Salle Nat‘l Bank v. County of ‘

Cook, 34 Ill. App. 3d 264,
340 N.E.2d 79 (Ill. App. Ct. 1975) 4

ii

Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc. v. City
of Burbank, 457 F.2d 667 (9th Cir.

1972), aff*‘d 411 U.S. 624 (1973) 5
2 ’
322 U.S. 292 (1944) 12
,
711 F.2d 1006 (11th Cir. 1983) 6
’
331 U.S. 218 (1947) 10

v. Gianturco, 651 F.2d 1306
(9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied

sub nom. Dept. of Trans. of Calif.
_v. San Diego Unified Port District

’

455 U.S. 1000 (1982). 6
Santa Monica Airport Assn. v.
City of Santa Monica, 659
F.2d 100 (9th Cir. 1981) 5
U.S. v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256
(1946) 11
, 447 F.2d

972 (2d Cir. 1971), on rem. 367
F. Supp. 1338 (D. Conn. 1973),
aff‘d 496 F.2d 452 (2d Cir. 1974)

cert. denied 419 U.S. 958 (1974) 7
Wright v. County of Winnebago, 73

Ill. App. 3d 337, 391 N.E.2d 772

(Ill. App. Ct. 1979) 3

iii

: tituti i: “oo
U.S. Const. Art. VI, cl. 2

Statutes
42 U.S.C. § 4901-4918

49 U.S.C. § 1305

Treatise

5 Rathkopf, The Law of Zoning and
Planning § 60.01 (4th ed. 1988)

iv

13

10

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Respondent is the Board of County
Commissioners of Frederick County,
Maryland. The five county commissioners.
are:

J. Anita Stup, President .

Mark L. Hoke, Vice President

Sterling E. Bollinger, Sr.

Richard L. Grossnickle

Charles C. Smith

The individual commissioners are not

parties to this proceeding.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The district court granted the

motion for summary judgment filed by the

Board of County Commissioners of
Frederick County, ‘Maryland.
Faux-Burhans _v. County __Comm*rs. of
Frederick County, 674 F. Supp. 1172 (D.
Md. 1987). Pet. App. B. In an

unpublished per curiam opinion, the
Fourth Circuit affirmed. Faux-Burhans
vy. Bd. of County Comm‘rs. of Frederick
County, No. 88-3929 (4th Cir. 1988)
Pet. App. A and Cc. The facts of this
case are adequately discussed in the two
lower court decisions, so they need not

be repeated here.

vi

No. 88-910

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988
AMOS D. FAUX-BURHANS,
Petitioner,
Vv.

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS
OF FREDERICK COUNTY,

Respondent,

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
Petitioner has failed to identify
any conflict between local zoning and
federal regulation of aviation. The
Fourth Circuit decision does not
conflict with any of the cases cited by
Petitioner. It involves no important

questions of federal law. The Petition

should be denied.

ARGUMENT

The three grounds asserted in this
Petition do not constitute valid reasons
for granting the Writ of Certiorari.

This Petition should be denied.

I. The Fourth Circuit Decision
Does Not Conflict with Any Decision from
the Circuit Courts of Appeal.

Petitioner ascribes to the Fourth
Circuit decision the broadest sweep
since Hercules cleaned the Augean
stables. Petitioner characterizes the
holding as: "Federal Law Does Not
Preempt Zoning of Navigable Airspace By
a Local Government." Pet. at 9. The
Fourth Circuit’s decision is not nearly
so broad. In an unpublished per curiam

decision, the Fourth Circuit made short

shrift of Petitioner’s broad pronounce-

ments that federal sovereignty over all

navigable airspace precluded local
zoning of airports. The Court then
held:

Faux-Burhans has not, however,
identified any federal statute or
regulation explicitly or implicitly
preempting the regulations imposed
by the county ordinance involved
here nor has he demonstrated any
actual conflict between federal
statutes or regulations and the
county requirements. hers

Faux-Burhans v. Bd. of County Comm’rs.
of Frederick County, No. 88-3929 (4th
Cir. 1988) petition for cert. filed, 57
U.S.L.W. 3423 (U.S. Dec. 20, 1988) (No.
88-910) Pet. App. at A-6.

The District Court similarly noted:

In the instant case, plaintiff
can point to no federal statute or
regulation explicitly or implicitly
pre-empting the broad areas of
regulation of the size, scope, and
manner of operations at a private
airport such as his.

Faux-Burhans v. Bd. of County Comm’rs.
of Frederick County, 674 F. Supp. 1172,

1174 (D. Md. 1987).
Petitioner has now briefed this

matter in three courts and has not yet

pointed to any conflict between the

local ordinance and the federal statutes
and regulations. The reason is simple:
no conflict exists.

Petitioner asserts that several
circuit court decisions are in conflict
with the Fourth Circuit opinion. None
of these decisions, however, conflicts
with the real holding of the Fourth
Circuit -- that Petitioner has not
identified a conflict. The cases cited
by Petitioner can be distinguished from
Faux Burhans because each of the circuit
court decisions identifies a conflict
between a local ordinance and a federal
statute or regulation. ' Petitioner has
identified no conflict.

Petitioner asserts a federal pre-
emption of local zoning. None of the
circuit court decisions cited by
Petitioner stands for such a broad
proposition. In fact, none of these
cases involves zoning.

-4-

Petitioner alleges a conflict with
the 9th Circuit decision in Lockheed Air
Terminal, Inc. v. City of Burbank, 457
F.2d 667 (9th Cir. 1972), aff’d 411 U.S.

624 (1973). This Court affirmed the 9th
Circuit decision holding that federal
noise controls preempted local curfews
affecting air traffic schedules.?+ City
P mere yy Lock} . aj r ina)
Inc. 411 U.S. 624 (1973). No zoning
ordinances were involved so neither this
court nor the 9th Circuit based its
decision on federal preemption of
zoning. Petitioner’s contrary

assertions are not accurate.

1the Circuit Courts of
Appeals have interpreted this decision
narrowly and have not extended it beyond
noise control. See, British Airways v.
Port Auth. of N.¥., 558 F.2d 75, 83 (2nd
Cir. 1977); Santa Monica Airport Assn.
v. City of Santa Monica, 659 F.2d 100
(9th Cir. 1981).

Two of the other cases cited by
Petitioner followed City of Burbank and
similarly held that federal noise
controls preempted local curfews.

Pirolo v. City of Clearwater, 711 F.2d
1006 (11th Cir. 1983); San Diego Unified
Port District v. Gianturco, 651 F.2d
1306 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied sub
nom. Dept. of Trans. of Calif. v. San
Diego Unified Port District, 455 U.S.
1000 (1982). Again, zoning was not

involved, so the courts did not find any
broad - federal preemption of local
zoning.

The Court similarly promulgated no

broad statement of general. federal
preemption of zoning in Allegheny
Airlines v. Village of Cedarhurst, 238

F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1956). This case
involved an ordinance by a neighboring
village restricting Idlewild Airport
flights at elevations less than 1,000
feet. This ordinance directly
conflicted with Civil Aeronautics Board
regulations on landings and takeoffs.
American Airlines v. Town of Hempstead,
398 F.2d 369 (2d Cir. 1968), cert denied
393 U.S. 1017 (1969) involved a local
noise ordinance which directly
conflicted with ‘Federal ~- Aviation
Administration (FAA) regulations on
flight patterns and flying procedures.

In United States v. New Haven, 447 F.2d
972 (2a Cir. 1971), on rem. 367 F.

Supp. 1338 (D. Conn. 1973), aff’d 496

F.2d 452 (2d Cir. 1974) cert. denied 419
U.S. 958 (1974), a state court ordered

the closing of a runway at a
federally-funded airport. The state
order conflicted with clear zones
established by the FAA and with the
FAA’s control of navigable airspace at
this federally-funded airport. All
three of these cases stand for the
ordinary principle of law that, under
the Supremacy Clause, U.S. Const. Art.
VI, cl. 2, federal law prevails where
there is a direct conflict between local
and federal regulations. Because
Petitioner has not identified such a
conflict, the cases do not support
Petitioner’s contention. Once again,
none of these cases involved zoning.
Contrary to Petitioner’s assertions, the
cases do not establish a broad federal

preemption of all local zoning.

State courts considering this issue
have found no broad federal preemption
of local zoning. The decisions have
held that local zoning of airports is
valid. E.g., Wright v. County of
Winnebago, 73 Ill. App. 3d 337, 391
N.E.2d 772 (Ill. App. ct. 1979): La
Salle Nat’] Bank v. County of Cook, 34
Ill. App. 3d 264, 340 N.E.2d 79 (Ill.
App. Ct. 1975); Garden State Farms, Inc.
v. Bay, 77 N.J. 439, 390 A.2d 1177 (N.J.
1978). . See, 5 Rathkopf, The Law of 7
Zoning and Planning §60.01 (4th ed.
1988).

Petitioner has cited no case broadly
holding that federal law preempts local
zoning of navigable airspace. This
Court should not create such a pre-

emption. Sound policy reasons suggest

that zoning power should remain with

local government. As this court stated

in Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331
U.S. 218, 230 (1947):

Congress legislated here ina
field which the States have
traditionally occupied.... So we
start with the assumption that the
historic police powers of the States
were not to be superseded by the
Federal Act unless that was the
clear and manifest purpose of
Congress.

Petitioner has shown nothing to
suggest that "the clear and manifest

purpose of Congress" was to preempt all

local zoning in this area.*

Petitioner’s broad preemption argument

must fail.

21f Congress had intended a
preemption of zoning, a power
traditionally exercised by local
government, it could have specifically
done so in the statute. Congress did
expressly preempt other state regulation
of air transportation. 49 U.S.C.
§1305. Congress did not expressly
preempt zoning.

-10-

II. The Fourth Circuit Decision
Does Not Conflict with Any Decision of
this Court.

Petitioner cites three cases from
this Court; none conflicts with the
holding of the Fourth Circuit in
Faux-Burhans. Petitioner includes
lengthy quotations from two of the
Supreme Court decisions but does not
seriously argue a conflict between these
cases and the 4th Circuit decision.

In U. S. v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256
(1946), this Court held that the federal

government could be liable in inverse
condemnation for damage to landowners
near an airport.? The relevance of

this case is unclear. Petitioner does

-—3——<39W"—(_—§<_8§ 3] = ww ww www ww Ow ew ew ee

3Petitioner’s excerpt from
U.S. v. Causby is incomplete. Pet. at
24-25. The very next sentence of the
opinion states: "But that general
principle does not control the present
case." Jd. at 261.

-ll-

not seek inverse condemnation damages.
This decision and the decision of the
Fourth Circuit do not conflict.

Petitioner also cites Northwest
Airlines _v. Minnesota, 322 U.S. 292
(1944). This case held that the
Commerce Clause and the Due Process
Clause do not bar Minnesota from levying
a personal property tax on airplanes.
Preemption was not an issue. The case
is inapplicable here. *

Petitioner also alleges a conflict
with City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air
Terminal Inc., 411 U.S. 624 (1973). In
City of Burbank, this Court held that

federal law preempted local noise

controls at airports. A locally imposed

‘The Petition includes a
lengthy quotation not from Justice
Frankfurter’s opinion for the Court but
from Justice Jackson’s concurrence.
Pet. at 23-24. No other justice joined
in this concurrence.

-12-

curfew conflicted with the Noise Control
Act of 1972, 42 U.S.C. §4901-4918, and
FAA statutes and regulations. This
Court carefully limited its decision to
noise control only:

It is the pervasive nature of the
scheme of federal regulation of

aircraft momnoise that leads me to

conclude that there is pre-emption.
(emphasis added). City of Burbank

v. Lockheed Air Terminal. Inc., 411
U.S. at 633.

Petitioner here has not asserted any
local noise ordinances or any conflict

with federal noise regulations, so City
of Burbank is inapplicable. . The

decision of the Fourth Circuit is

consistent with City of Burbank.>

Petitioner asserts that
Congress has empowered only the FAA
Administrator to impose the restrictions
contained in the Frederick County
ordinance. Pet. at 22. Petitioner
confuses the possible existence of a
power with the exercise of it. Nowhere
does Petitioner suggest that the FAA
Administrator has asserted, let alone
used, this alleged power.

-13-

Moreover, then Justice Rehnquist’s
dissent (joined by three justices)
recognized that federal law does not
preempt local zoning:

A local governing body could
likewise use its traditional police
power to prevent the establishment
of a new airport or the expansion of
an existing one within its terri-
torial jurisdiction by declining to
grant the necessary zoning for such
a facility. City of Burbank v. Lock-
heed Air Terminal, 411 U.S. at 653.
IIl. The Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals Did Not Decide an Important
Question of Federal Law.

As indicated above, the holding of
the Fourth Circuit is that Petitioner
failed to show any conflict between the
local ordinance and federal regu-
lations. This rather unremarkable
holding, that Petitioner failed to prove
his case, involves no important federal
question. Petitioner’s assertions of
resulting air collisions and chaos are
so desperate and absurd that they
require no refutation or comment.

-14<-

Conclusion
Petitioner has failed to show any

grounds for granting this Petition for
Writ of certiorari. This Petition must
be denied.

JOHN S. MATHIAS

County Attorney

Winchester Hall

12 E. Church Street
Frederick, Maryland 21701
(301) 694-1030

Counsel of Record for

Board of County Commissioners
of Frederick County, Maryland

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this 30th

day of_December_ i988, three copies of

the aforegoing were mailed, postage
prepaid, to Paul Victor Jorgensen, 215
West Main Street, Post Office Box 850,
Middletown, Maryland 21769, attorney for
Petitioner in accordance with Supreme

Court Rule 28.3.

John S. Mathias

12 E. Church Street
Frederick, Maryland 21701
(301) 694-1030

Counsel of Record for

Board of County Commissioners
of Frederick County, Maryland

-15-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0519%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
