# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Turks v. United States Postal Service

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0516%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 1031

## Text

: 88-908 (soe

IN THE apr 9 1988
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STAT

October Term, 1988

RAY TURKS, JR.
Petitioner,
V.

United States Postal Service
Respondent,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PS sTWABS 4 oR:
St. Louis, Missouri 63107
A/C314=241-1054

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The question are:

1. Was the evidence adduced against petitioner
good enough to sustain a judgement beyond a
resonable doubt?

2. Was Petitioner deprived of a fair trial and
due process of law and his First and Fifth Adm-
endment Right's to compulsory process by the

U. S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
decision not to permit petitioner to testify?

3. Was the Petitioner deprived of a fair triai
and due process of law by the U. S. Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit being unable to
secure transcript from the outset due to pauper
status?

‘es : L ait ih seit s
———
- ~ s<
An C rs ey. ‘
4 '« . . . . . . . . . . . .
ee a
‘ . . . . . . ‘* . . . . . . d
. . . ’ . . ~ , :
Son +5 AMO waariacioyrn mare "t2- te
| : > - ’ * . . .
maw? ~ = c (‘2 ‘ 7
/ . . . . . . . . .
> ~~ > ih 2 ae ae) el Y . a ie
| i . . . . . .
= . AY
. . . . . . . . . . . . . .
5. Aa F ‘ -~rsr c

IN THE 7
SUPREME COURT of the UNITED States

October Term, 1988

RAY TURKS, JR.
Petitioner,

Vv.
United States Postal Service,

Respondent,

PETTION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT .

The petitioner, Ray Turks, Jr., respect-
fully prays that a writ of certiotari issue
to review the judgement of the United States
court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit on

12 January 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals entered its Memoran-

jum decision affirming the Merit Systems Prot-
ection Board, Docket No. SL0O7528710028 on

12 January 1988.

The Court denied petitioner's request to
appear as to statement of defense.

Said request was ignored by the United
States Court of Appeals for the Federal Cir-

cuit.

JURISDICTION
United States Courts of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit 5 U.S.C. &7703.

The judgement of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Federal -Circuit entered on
January 12, 1988. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 5 U.S.C. & 7703 {c)
(1982). (Appendix E)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
The statues involved are set forth in

pertinent part in Appendix F. They are:
The First and Fifth Amendments to the Con-
stitution of the United States.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
On 12 January 1988, a panel of the United
States Court for the Federal Circuit affirned

the Appeal from the MSPB 1/. :

There findings were based on ...1/
5 U.S.C. 7703 (c) (1982) cited on page 3 of
Judgement dated 12 January 1988.

1. 1/ Merit Sysystems Protection
Board Case No. SL07528710028.

2. 1/ The government asserts that because
Mr. Turks has not provided this
court with a transcript of the
hearing , “he cannot now challe-
nge the presiding official's
findings of fact and the pres-
iding official's for (sic) fac-
tual determinations should be
accorded finality. "No author-
ity is cited for this restraint
on an appellant. Mr. Turks'
statutory burden may be harder
to meet without a transcript,
but his right to challenge the
factual determinations is esta-
blised by law.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Where petitioner from the outset lack of
funds and knowledge did not receive his full
rights to direct appeallate review, due pr-
ocess demands that his judgement be vacated.

Arthur Whitmore, Jr. V. US Postal Service
CHO7528410265 April 6, 1984 -Arbitration ruling

favorable to appellant in that removal to be
too harsh a penalty.

Douglas V. Veterans Administration, MSPB
Order No. ATO75299006 (April 10, 1981) the Board

tee

hy

set forth its authority to modify what
it finds to be unreasonable penalties imposed
by the agencies.

Greorio Natividad V. Department of Agr-
iculture (Docket No. SF075299070) April 22,
1981 = favorable to appellant's that the rec-
ord did not support the charges upon which
appellant's removal was based by a preponde-
rance of the evidence.

Petitioner’ cited the above-mentioned from its
inception but it fail to a deaf hear.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner Ray
Turks, Jr., respectfully requests that writ
of certiorari issue to review the judgement
of the United States Court of Anneals for the
Federal Circuit.

Respectfully submitted this 26th day of

Aan TURKS, JR. a

Petitioner

1123 Angelica

St. Louis, Missouri 63107
A/C 314-241-1054

November 1988.

> Fr

|

ee es Be

—

CERTIFICATE OF SERVIC=

I, Ray Turks, Jr., say that on this

date Wi - BG , 1988, that I have
Lf

denosited in the United States Mail Service,

located at St. Louis, “issouri one (1) true
conies of the entire contents of all of the
foreroing booklets, addressed to:

The Solicitor General Office (1)
Washington, DC 20541

The Counsel U.S. P°stal Service (3)
Washington, DC 20500

in a duly franked envelope.

SE —— a

RAY TURKS, JR...
Petitioner

APPENDICES: Page
Appendix A A- 1

Constitution of the United
States of America - Amendment 1

Constitution of the United
of America - Amendment - 5 A=-2

Appendix B R-1
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit

Appendix C C-c 4
Decision of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit.

Apnendix D D=-D4
Brief of Petitioner/Issue of
United States Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit of 12
January 1988.

Apnendix = Bee2
United States of America Merit
Systems Protection Board -Board's
Decision, Washington, DC.

Appendix F F-F2
Appellant Petition For
Review Before the U.S. Merit
Systems Protection Board, Wash-
ington, DC -Addendum.

Appendix G G-G-11
Appellant's Petition For
Review Before the U.S. Merit
Systems Protection Board, Washing-
ton, DéE.

Appendix H H-H23
Initial Decision of the “Merit
Systems Protection Board.

APPENDICES:

Appendix I
Notice of Charges - Removal
From U. S. Postal Service.

Appendix J
Letter of Decision from the
U. S. Postal Service.

JoJ 2

APPENDIX A
CONSTITUTION
of the
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

AMENDMENT 2
Congress shall make no law respecting an
| establishment of religion, or probhibiting
the free exercise thereof; or abridging the

freedom of speech, or of the press; or the

right of the people peaceably to assemble, and

to petition the Government for a redress of

grievances.

A=-2

AMENDMENT 5
No person shall be held to answer for a capital,
or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a prese-
ntment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in
cases arising in the land or naval forces, or
in the Militia, when in actual service in time
of War or public danger; nor shall any person be
subject for the same offence to be twice put
in jeopardy of life or limb; nor hsall be com-
pelled in any criminal case to be a witness
against himself, nor be deprived of life,
liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.

APPENDIX B

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit

87-3536

RAY TURKS, JR.,
Petitioner,
V.
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,

Respondent,

Judgment
ON APPEAL from the Merit Systems Protection
Board
in CASE NO (S) $L07528710028

This CAUSE having been heard and considered, it is
ORDERED and ADJUDGED: AFFIRMED
ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

DATED JAN 12 1988 FRANCIS X. GINDHART, Clerk /s/
Francis X. Gindhart, Cler

ISSUED AS A MANDATE: FEB 3 1988

APPENDIX C

Note: This opinion has not bee prepared for
publication in a printed volume because it does
not add significantly to the body of law and it
not of widespread legal interest. It is a public
record. It is not citable as precedent. The
decision will appear in tables published perio-
dically.
United States Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit
87-3536
RAY TURKS, JR.,
Petitioner,
V.
UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE,

Respondent,

DECIDED: January 12, 1988

Before NEWMAN, ARCHER, and MAYER, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM.
DECISION
The decision of the Merit Systems Protec-
tion Board, Docket No. SL07528710028, affirming
the decision of the United States Postal Service,

is affirmed.

ve

ON

APPENDIX C=-2

OPINION

Mr. Turks held the position of Postal
service Tractor Trailer Operator. He was
lischarged on the grounds that he had failed
to operate his vehicle in a safe and proper
nanner, and had submitted a false accident
report.

The administrative judge heard testimony of
the Postal Service personnel who visited the s -
sene shortly after the incident was reported and
yho had taken photographs, a nurse who saw Mr.
furks after the incident, and Mr. Turks himself.
fhe administraive judge found that Mr. Turks
irove his vehicle in an unesafe manner; that he
vas in a single-vehicle accident as charged;
that he was under the influence of alchol when
1e returned to the Post Office; and that he in-
tentinally falsified the accident report.

The administrative judge found Mr. Turks’
rersion of the accident, i.e., that his vehicle
vas struck by stones that were dropped from

i highway overpass, “to be virtually devoid of

>videntiary support, somewhat tainted by his

APPENDIX C=-3

imissions, and, most significantly, not very
srsuasive,”" and described the testimony of the
stal Service witnesses as "straight-foward".
redibility determinations are the province of

ie presiding official, Kumbferman v Department

* the Navy , 785 F. 2d 286, 290 (Fed. Cir. 1986),

id must be sustained unless clearly unsupported.
The board held that Mr. Turks’ misconduct
‘fected the efficiency of the service and that
1e@ penalty of removal was reasonable in view
* the seriousness of the offense. We have
viewed the submissions of the parties, and
mnclude that the decision of the board is not
‘bitrary, capricious, an abuse of diseretion,
- otherwise not in accordance with law; or
tained without procedures required by law,
lle, or regulation beaving been followed; or

S/S U.4.8.

isuppoted by substantial evidence.
03 (c) (1982).

—

‘The government asserts that because Mr. Turks

is not provided this court with a transcript of the
aring, "he cannot now challenge official's for
sic/ factual determination should be accorded

nality".

APPENDIX C-4

No authority is cited for this restraint on an
appellant. Mr. Turks‘'statutory burden may be
harder to meet without a transcript, but his
right to challenge the factual determinations is
established by law.

APPENDIX D

BRIEF of

Ray Turks, Jr.,
87-3536
6 April 1988

Petitioner

Vv.

United States Postal Service

Respondent

ae ee Se See See Se See Set See Sere Sel

BEFORE
Supreme Court of the United States
1 First Street, N. W.

Washington, D.C. 20543

ISSUE

Was the decision by the United States Court of
Appeals for the Federal Circuit of 12 January

1988 proper.

I think not.

APPENDIX De2

FACTS _

Under opinion on page 2 of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit paragr-
aph 1 citing "he was under the influence of
alcohol when he returned to the post office"
was a gross err.

The initial decison of the MSPB dated 6 Feb
1987 on page 11 paragraph 2 and page 12 paragr-
aph 2 & 3 5.U.S.C. 7701 (c) (1) (B) and 5 U.S.C.
7701 {C) (2) (B) whereas the agency could not
support"inluence of Alcohol" in that record of
sobriety rest being given petitioner.

Mitigating circumstance prevail from the
outset in that the agency did not enter in as
evidence Sobriety Test Report; Missouri Work
Report, Emergency Room Report; past disciplinary
Record of petitioner. Article 35 Alcohol And

Drug Recove Programs Agreement between

nited States Postal Service 21 Jul 1984-20 Jyl

1982 And Article 16 Discipline Procedure Section
16.1 Statement of Principle -Agreement between

nited States Postal Service 21 Jyl 1984-20 Jul
1987.

APPENDIX D-3

Petitioner retired from the U. S. Army
after 20 years believe that his rights were
violated under the First and Fifth Amendment
of the Constitution of the United States of
America. Garfield Cade,Jr. v United States

Postal Service (Docket No. SF07528010370)

November 24, 1981; Arthur Whitmore, Jr. V.

U.S. Postal Service CH07528410265 April 6,1984 ,

Gregorio Natividad V. Department of Agriculture

(Docket No. SFO75299070) April 22,1981, Aaron

M. Farris V. U.S. Postal Service (Docket No.

AT0752811012 February 22, 1983, Albert V. Chafee

571 F. 2d 1063, 1068 (9th Cir. 1978), Jacobowitz

V. United States 424 F 2d 555, 563 (CT Cl 1970).
Footnote 1/ 5 U.S.C. 7703 (c) (1982) on

page 3 of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit not take in account

haa em

that due to migtigating circumstance surrounding

petitioner’ from the outset were that he was ina

eo

(Non-Pay Status) but remain on the roll until
| disposition of the case has been either by sett-

lement or throught exhaustion of his MSPB appeal.

/ Being in (Pauper Status)petitioner was

APPENDIX D=4

unable to compensate the MSPB Contract Court
Reporting Service for copy of the transcript
needed to appeal the MSPB Administrative Judge

initial Decision of 6 February 1987. 5 C.F.R.

731 202 (c) 3; Howard v. United States Mo. Civ.

LV-77219 RDF (D. Nev. J,,1 3 1980): (Mem Order

AT 10); Masino v. United states, 589 F 2a 1048,
1055-56 (CT. Cl 1978).

Petitioner pray that the Supreme Court
of the United States vacant the Decision by the
United States Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit.
RAY TURKS, JR., /s/
Petitioner

1123 Anglica
St. Louis, Missouri 63107

APPENDIX E

United States of America
Merit Systems Protection Board

a

Agency

)
RAY TURKS, JR., ) DOCKET NU™“BER
Appellant, ) $LO7528710028
)
v. )
US. POSTAL SERVICE, ) DAT AUG O4 1987
)
)

Robert H. Quinones, St. Lous, Missouri, for the
Appellant,

Donald L. Baker, St. Louis, Missouri for the agency,

BEFORE
Daniel R. Levinson, Chairman
Maria L. Johnson, Vice Chairman
Dennis M. Devaney, Member
ORDER
After full consideration, the Board DENIES
hey
the appellant's petition for review of the
initial decision issued for review set forth

at 5 C.F.R. 1201.115. The initial decision in

this appeal is now final. 5 C.F.R. 1201.113 (b).

APPENDIX E=2

NOTICE TO APPELLANT

You may petition the United States Court
f Appeals for the Federal Circuit to review

he Board's decision in your appeal if the court

as jurisdiction. 5 U.S.C. 7703. The address
f the court is 717 Madison Place, N. W. Washi-
eton, D.C. 20439. The court must receive the

etition no later than thirty days after you

r your representative receives this order.

ROBERT E. TAYLOR /s/
Clerk of the Board

|

APPENDIX F

ADDENDUM

RAY TURKS, JR.,

Appellant Docket Number

SL07528710028

we Date: 2 April 1987

U.S. POSTAL SERVICE
Agency

ee a a a er er er

PETITION FOR REVIEW
BEFORE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA MERIT SYSTEMS PROCTECTION
BOARD

Appellant believe that certain inequites
(See 5 C.F.R. 1201.151(b)) existed during the
MSPB hearing prior to the initial decision of
6 Feb. 1987.

Appellant had made motion for two (2) witne-
sses on his behalf (Lewis and Victor Kirkpatrick)
whereas Lewis Lee allowed to give testimony thus
witness Victor Kirkpatrick testimony excluded.

See Certify document dtd 27 Feb 87.

RPpellant believe that this certify document

is paramount to the Appeal whereas Chapter and

SP ee ee

APPENDIX Fe-2

and Verse of the MSPB 5 C.F.R 1201 not adhere

to. See 5 C.F.R. 1201.73; 5 C.F.R. 1201.57,

5 C.F.R. 1201.62, 5 C.P.R. 1201.56, 5 G.Fh,
1201.73, 5 C.F.R. 1201.114, 5 C.F.R. 1201.115 (bd)
and Albert v. Chafee 571 F. 2d 1063, 1068 (9th Cir.

1978), Jacobowitz v. United States, 424 F. 2d 555,

563 (CT Cl. 1970).

Appellant pray that this Addendum Petition
for review 5 G.F.R. 1201.114 be given considera-
tion as to the Appeal dated 25 March 1987. See
Exec. Order 9830 of Feb 24, 1987 01.2(d), 3 C.F.R.
608 (1943-1948 Comp.).

FOR THE APPELLANT:

Encl: Certify Document dtd 25 Feb 87

ROBERT H. QUINONES/s/
Appellant's Representative

2225 Lindsay Lane
St. Louis, Missouri 63031-5626

APPENDIX G

RAY TURKS, JR., Docket Number
Appellant, $L07528710028
wa
US.S. POSTAL SERVICE .
Agency Date: 25 March 1987
=

PETITION FOR REVIEW
BEFORE
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA MERIT SYSTEMS PROTEC-
TION BOARD

Pursuant to 5 C.F.R. 1201.114 objections to
the MSPB Initial Decision of February 6, 1987
hereto noted: Appellant believe removalby the
agency to harsh a penalty for the situation/
circumstance.

Mitigating circumstances are the fact that
the agency from the outset cited that appellant
was under the influence of alcohol whereas this

matter was never proven.

APPENDIX G=2

No sobriety test given appellant to ascert-
ain this. While under due stress appellant made
out PS Form 91 (Accident Report).

Appellant (I0D) Injury on Duty not cited
in Agency Response Tabbed File dated 10 Nov 86.

Not allowed to initially select a physician
or hospital.

SF-46 suspended and revoked prior to Fact
Finding Report Recommendation.

Remained on duty while injured and visited
hospital for treatment after tour ended.

Picture's of accident site identification
questioned.

Appellant's first set of iterrogatories
dated 25 Nov 86 as to agency interrogatories
dated 12 Dec 86 changed or failed to answer
fully. See 5 C.F.R. 1201.73

Prior to removal appellant had no past

disciplinary action. Douglas v. Veterans

Administration 5 MSPB 280 (1981). On page 14

Initial Decision citing four past disciplinary
action used in selecting the appropriate penalty

thus appellant had none believe this to be in

APPENDIX G=3

See 5 C.F.R. 1201.56 (c) (3); See Garfield Cade
Jr. v. United States Postal Service (Docket

No. SFO7528100370) November 24, 1981,Arthur
Whitmore, Jr., v. U. S. Postal Service CH075284-
10265 April 6, 1984, Rufus M. Combs v. U. S.
Postal Service Docket No. DA075209178; Gregorio
Natividad v. Department of Agriculture (Docket
No. SFO75299070) April 22, 1981, Arrow M. Farris
v. U. S. Postal Service Docket No. AT 0752811012,
Edmund A. Relthmaier v. Department of The Air
Force (Docket N,. DA075299021) May 5, 1981,
Phillip T. Riggin v. Department of Health And
Human Services, Social Security Adminidtration
(Docket NO. PHO7528010273) May 4, 1981, Oscar

L. Bowers v. U. S. Postal Service Docket No.
AT075209258, JOseph Person v. United States
Department of Agriculture (Docket No. CH075209116)
February 10, 1981,Chalres R. Johnson v. Government
Printing Office (Docket No. DC075209003) April
15, 1981, and Byrd v. Campbell, 591 F.2d 326,
331-32 (5th Cir. 1979), Boyce v. United States
543 F.2d 1290 (CT. Cl 1976).

APPENDIX G- 4

Paragraph 2 page 12 of Initial Decision
"I find that the Agency's Charge is Supported
by the Preponderance of the evidence and it is
sustained. 5 U.S.C. 7701(c) (1)(b)" Appellant
finds this to be be in err. See 5 C.F.R 1201.

56 (c)(3).

Paragraph 3 page 10 of Initial Decision

Nurse Williams testimony "Appellant had a
strong smell of alcohol on his breath, his eyes
wits red, and that he appeared to be under the
influence of alcohol" Appeallant finds this to

be in err. ‘©: See 5 C. F. R. 1201.56 (c)(3)

and Oscar L. Bowers, v. U. S. Postal (Docket

No. AT0O75209258).

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT
ARTICLE 35
ALCOHOL AND DRUG RECOVERY PROGRAMS
SECTION 35.1 PROGRAMS

The employer and the Unions espress strong
support for programs of self-help. The Employer
shall provide and maintain a program which shall
encompass the education identification, referral,
guidance and follow-up of those employees affli-
ected by the disease of Alcoholism. When an employ-
ee is referred to PAR by the Employer, the PAR
Counsellor will have a reasonable period of time
to evaluate the emplployee's progress in the

APPENDIX G=5

program. “= The parties will meet at the national
at least once every six months to discuss existing
and new programs. This program of labor-management
cooperation shall support the continuation of the
PAR Program at the current level. In addition, the
Employer will give full consideration to expan-
sion of the PAR Program where warranted.

An employee's voluntary participation in
such programs will be considered favorbly in
jisciplinary action proceedings.

Statement of Nurse Brenda Williams in Agency
Tabbed File #10 shows no date to Tony Hospkins
MVO Dept. MPO"He appeared to be under the inf-
luence of Alcohol, Drug, or on need of psychiatric

care" Appellant view these remarks as arbitrary

and capricious and is in err. See 5 C.F.R 1201.

56 (c) (3). See Arthur Whitmore, Jr., _v. U.S.

Postal _CHO7528410265 April 6, 1984.

Nurse Williams stated " He had small part-
icles on his arms which he stated was glass &
nad an abrasion on his rt elbow stated there was
zlass within. Appellant had sustained a job
related injury and nurse Williams was aware of
same. See 5 C.F.R. 1201.56 (c) (3).

Statement of Supervisor Reginald Speed dtd
ll Jul 86 in Agency Tabbed File #12 "At 2:30 PM,
“tr. Turks arrived at the Main Post Office and

came to me. He had glass on him and requested

APPENDIX G-6

to go to the First Aid Unit. I Sent him to the
First Aid Unit. At Approximately 2:45 PM, the
First Air Unit called me back and stated that
Mr. Turks had no injuries, but they going to
send him to the hospital". This is in err. See
5 C.F.R. 1201.56 (c) (3).

vupervisor Speed acknowledge that Appellant
had sustained a Job Related Injury by signing
U.S. Department of Labor (CA-1) See Attached
CA-1 dtd 5 Jul 86.

Supervisor Speed checked Box 36 that appellant
injury was not caused by willful misconduct nor
intoxication or intent toinjure self or another
also he checked Box 41 that support appellant
injury of 5 Jul 86. See 5 C. F. R. 1201.56 (c)(1).

Immediate Supervisor Speed made no mention th-
at appellant under the influence of alcohol.

Attached forms-VA Form 10-2577d, VA Form
10-1000a, Federal Personnel Manual 810-17 Sub-

chapter 5-1 Medical Care a (3). Lutheran Medical

Center of St. Louis, Main Post Office Appointment

Card, USPS/Health Unit dtd 7/7/86.

APPENDIX G- 7

USPS/Health Unit dtd 6/5/86/.
By Letter dtd 9 Jul 86 Agency Tabbed File
#11 Superintendent Vehicle Operations Unit Jesse
D. Martin temporarily suspended appellant SF-H6.
By Letter dtd 16 Jul 86 Agency Tabbed File
#15 Superintendent Vehicle Operations Unit

Jesse D. Martin revoked appellant SF-46.

O_O

This action by Superintendent Jesse D.
Martin is improper and procedure defective in

that the Fact Finding Report in Agency Tabbed

OP EOE CES A KOM

File #16 was not finalize till Z1 Jul 86. App-
ellant believe this to be in err. See 5 C.F.R.

| 1201.56 (c) (3).

Te Matted he ree

Collective Bargaining Agreement
(Memo 193)

1. The safety and health of employees is
of significant concern to the parties signatory
in this Memorandum of Understanding, According,
the parties further agree that the following is
not intended to provide driving privileges to
an employee when such privilege would place the
safety of the public or the employee at risk.

2. The mere fact that an employee was in-
voloved in a vehicle accident is not sufficient to
warrant automatic suspension or revocation of
driving privileges or the authomatic application
of discipline.

3. When an employee's SF-46 is temporarily

APPENDIX G-8

suspended as a result of a vehicle accident, a
full review of the accident will be made as soon
as possible, but not later than fourteen (14)
days, and the employee's SF-46 and driving
privileges must either be reinstated, suspended,
or revoked as warranted, if the decision is to
suspend or revoke the employee's SF-46, the
employee will be provided, in writing, the
reason (s) for such action.

4, This Memorandum of Understanding is not
intended to define the conditions or circumstances

_for which an employeets SF=-46 may be suspended or
reovked.

Date: October 17, 1984; incorporated into
December 14, 1984.

Appellant documents as to the Medical State-
ment dated 5 Jul 86 were omitted from Agency Res-
ponse Tabbed File dated 10 No 86 thus Initial
Decision page 12 paragraph 2 cited that "I
find that the Agency's charge is supported by
the preponderance of the evidence and it is sus-
tained". Appeallant believe this to be untrue
and is in err. See 5 C.F.R. 1201.56 (c)(2)(3).

Further Deloch and Dewit in Initial Decision
page 11 paragraph 2 citing appellant under the
influence of alcohol along with nurse Williams

was not supported by a sobrierty test. This is

inerr. See 5 C.F.R. 1201.56 (b)(1)(c) (1) (2) (3).

APPENDIX G-9

Fact Finding Report #192/86 dated 21 Jul
86 in Agency Tabbed File #16 under INJURIES/
failed to include the appropriate medical
statement's whereas said report was not fully
develope as to the imjury to the appellant.
this is in err for proper procedure not followed
as to Chapter and Verse of Memo 193 and Article
29. See 5 C.F.R. 1201.56 (b) (1) (3) (ce) (3).

Since Mr. Moselle Deloch, Supervisor,
Vebicle Dispatching participated in appellant
accident report then the question is where is
his tatement? Appellant believe this is in
err. See 5 C. F. R. 1201.56 (b) (1) (ce) (1) (2) (3).

Statements' Nurse Williams, Supervisor Speed,
and Notice of Charge-Removal, Letter of Decision
all cited influence of alcohol but none cited
appellant injury clearly constitute discrimin-
atory employment practice and disparity to
appellant.

Also this type of action by the Agency clea-
rly shows inconsistencies in the Agency Response

Tabbed File dtd 10 Nov 86.

Under these particular circumstance in this

APPENDIX G-10

case I find that the Agency has not carried
its burden of demonstrating that removal
was reasonable.
The following named employees all falsified
and were allowed to remain in employment.

Mr. R. Moentman, W/M Mail Handler STIL MPO
(1981)

Mr. N. Barnes, B/M Mail Handler STL MPO
(1981)

“Mr. D. Jones, W/M Supervisor TT (1973)
Intoxicated.

Interrogatiories dtd 12 Dec 86 of Agency
Tractor Trailer Operator allowed to change to
non-driving due to accidents' effective 27 Oct 81
this not allowed to appellant is disparate treat-
ment. (Julius A. Carter, Jr.).

Rufus Williams, Jr. Tractor Trailer Operator
allowed tochange to non-driving this not allowed
to appellant is disparate treatment.

The agency did not give consideration to all
factors involved in deciding what penalty was
appropriate, including not only the gravity of

the offense but other matter as mitigating cir-

cumstsnces.

APPENDIX G-11

FOR THE APPELLANT:

Encls:

ROBERT H. QUINONES/s/_
ppellant's Representative
2225 Lindsay Lane

St. Louis, Missouri 63031-5626

A/C 314-921-6337

US Dept. Labor (CA-1 dtd 5 Jul 86).

. VA Form 10-2577d dtd 5 Jul 86 (Pres-

cription Form).

VA Form 10-1000a dtd 5 Jul 86 (Abbre-
viated Medical Record).

Medical Unit Appointment Card no
dtd STL/MPO.

STL/Health Unit USPS dtd 6/5/86.
st/Nealth Unit USPS dtd 7 Jul 86.

Lutheran Medical Center of St.
Louis.

Federal Personnel Manual 810-Sub-
Chapter 5.

a a be

APPENDIX H

RAY TURKS, JR.,
Appellant, DOCKET NUVBER

SL07528710028

LF

U.S. POSTAL SERVICE, DATE:FEB 6 1987

Agency,

Cewewwwwewww

Stanford Richardson, Jr., Esquire, St. Louis,

for the appellant Missouri

Donald L. Baker, for the agency.

BEFORE

Dupree P. Heard
Administrative Judge

INITIAL DECISION

By petition timely filed, appellant appeal-
ed the action of the agency removing him from the
position of Tractor Trailer Operator, effective
September 29, 1986. As a preference eligible
in the U. S. Postal Service with more than one
year of current continous service in the same

or similar position, appellant is entitled to

APPENDIX H-2

to appeal his separation to the Merit Systems
Protection Board (the Board). 5 U.S.C. 7511 (a)
(1) (B),7701.

For the reasons set forth below, the agency's

removal action is AFFIRMED.

ANALYSIS AND FINDING’:

The agency charged appellant with submitting
a false accident report and failing to operate his
vehicle in a safe and proper manner on July 5, 1986.
Appeal File (AF), Tab 6, Subtab 22. The agency
claimed that appellant's Operator's Report of
Motor Vehicle Accident (SF 91) dated July 5, 1986,
is false. The report reads as follows:

I left AMF (Air Mail Facility) app. (sic)

1230 hrs traveling East on I-70. Return-

ing to the Main Post Office at the overpass

at West Florissant, someone droped (sic)

some stone from the overpass causing dam-

age to the vehicle which I was driving,

upon impact I swerved to the right and hit

a road marker.

AF. Tab 6. Subtab 8. During the Board hear-
ing, the agency produced supervisor Mozelle Deloch

and Vehicle Operations Analyst Randy W. Dewit, as

witnesses.

APPENDIX H=3

See testimony of Mozelle Deloch and Randy W.
DeWit, tapes 3, 4 and 5, sides 1 and 2. Del-
och and DeWit testified that during their
ivestigations on July 5, 1986, they determined
that appellant had a single-vehicle accident

at the North Hanley Road exit and Interstate
70. Deloch and DeWit stated that their inves-
tigations did not show that an accident had
occurred at the West Florissant or Taylor over-
passes and Interstate 70 as alleged by appellant.
Deloch and DeWitstated that they found no rocks
or stones in the area that were large enough to

cause the extensive amount of damage that had

occurred to the Postal Service vehicle. Del-
och and Dewit related that a fourteen-foot

high and six-foot wide steel road sign had

been knocked down at the North Hanley Road

exit and that the available evidence supported
their conclusion that appellant had a single-
vehicle accident at that exit. Deloch and DewWit

also related that they did not see a damaged

road marker at the West Florissant or Taylor

overpasses.

LS

APPENDIX H-4

DeWit stated that appellant advised him that
Donald Nisters had observed the accident. AF,
Tab 6, Subtab 16. DeWit also related that he
talked to Donald Nieters and was advised that
while he (Nieters) was changing a flat tire on
his automobile at the Aidelaide exit and Inster-
state 70, appellant parked a Postal Service
vehicle behind him. DeWit further related with-
out dispute that Nieters told him that he had
not seen any stones dropped on appellant's
vehicle.

In his supplementary report dated July 7,
1986, appellant stated in part as follows:

I arrived at the AMF at app. (sic) 1215 hrs.
I was hot and feeling weak. I went into the
bathroom and wash (sic) my face and was feel-
ing fine. I departed about 1230 hours about
five minutes after I left I began to feel
dizzy andtired for about 2-3 minutes. I
can't recall what I did. I pass (sic) out
and hit something or something hit me. I
don't know where it happen (sic) I think

it was somewhere East on I-70. Before reg-
aining full conscious (sic) of what I

was doing or where I was at I though (sic)

I was seeing people, flying glass and fly-
ing stones when I became fully aware of what

I was doing. I was ng ee the Flori-
ssant or Taylor overpass (sic) my tractor

was headed for a guard rail, I straighted (si

APPENDIX H=5

it back out on the highway and came to a stop
just East of the overpass while looking at the
damage to my tractor, Mr. Donald Nieters came
up. While talking to him, I understood him to
say he saw items falling off the overpass. In
my earlier confuss (sic) state of mind, that
was the only thing that I could think of,

that could havr happen (sic).

AF, Tab 6 Subtab 9. Appellant's testimony
was very confusing and vague.Specifically, app-
ellant testified that someone dropped some six-
inch diameter stones on his vehicle from either
the West Florissant or Taylor overpasses and he
swerved to the right and hit a road marker. Howe
ever, On cross-examination, appellant stated that
he was "semi conscious". when the accident occurred
and that he did not actually know ehat happened
to his vehicle. See testimony of appellant, tapes
l1 and 2, sides 1 and 2. Appellant stated that
when he came to his "senses" he parked his veh-
icle behind Mr. Nieter's vehicle at the Aidelaide
exit, about one mile from the West Florissant over-
pass. Further, appellant stated that he did not
gO back to look at the stones at the West Floris-
sant overpass. Moreover, appellant stated that

he really did not know if any stones had actually

hit his vehicle. Appeallant stated that he

APPENDIX H-6

claimed that stones were dropped from the West
Florissant or Taylor overpasses because Nieters
had told him that “maybe" someone had dropped
stones onto his vehicle. Neveretheless, on
cross-examination, appellant conceded that
Nieters had never told him that he had seen any-
one drop stones on his Postal Service vehicle.
Based on the testimony from DeWit and appellant,
I find that Nieters did not observe anyone drop-
ping stones on appellant's vehicle and he never
told appellant that stones actually caused the
damage to his vehicle.

In support of his case, appellant procduced
Lewis Lee, Tractor Trailer Operator, as a witness.
See testimony of Lewis Lee, tape 5, sides 1 and2.
Lee testifed that the day after the accident, he
and appellant went out to the West Florissant
and Taylor overpasses and Interstate 70. Lee
stated that there was debris, i.e., small rocks,
glass, etc., in the areas. Lee also stated that
there was a small road marker, measuring six

inches by eight inches, laying off from the left

side of the road under the West Florissant over-

pass.

APPENDIX H-7

However, Lee conceded that he had no idea where
the road marker and the debris came from or how
long the debris and other trash had been on the
road. Lee further stated that he and appellant
looked at the North Hanley Road exit area, but
did not see any signs of an accident.

Deloch and DeWit testified that they saw
and took photographs of the North Hanley Road
exit area and they concluded from their personal
obserbations that appellant's accident had occ-
urred at that location. Agency's Hearing Exhi-
bits 2 and 3. Deloch and DeWit explained that
where the exit ramp separates from Interstate 70,
it forms a "V" shape or penninsula until it
reaches the crest of a hill at the North Hanley
Road overpass. They also explained that the
North Hanley Road sign, which was fourteen feet
in height and six feet in width had been placed
in the penninsula and anchored in concrete. They
further explained that the steel legs which sup-
ported the North Hanley Road exit sign, measured

fourt-and-three-quarter inches in width and that

these steel legs had been broken off at ground

level and were bent and twisted. Deloch and DeWit

APPENDIX H-8

related that tire marks were in the grass penn-
insula area which measured twenty-four inches
in width and that the width of the tires on
appellant's trailer was twenty-four inches in
width. They also related that the road sign was
found to be in several pieces. Agency's Hearing
Exhibit 2. They further related that photographs
were taken of thewWest Florissant and Taylor areas,
and stated that no signs of an accident were foun-
d, no large stones were found, and no six-inch by
eight-inch road marker was found. Based on the
photographs showing the extensive damage to
appellant's tractor and trailer, I find that a
small six-inch by eight-inch road marker could
not have caused such-damage, even if appellant
did hit the road marker as claimed. Agency's
Hearing Exhibit 2.

Supervisors Reginald Speed, Sterling A.
Hopkins, Mozelle Deloch and Vehicle Operations
Analysts Donald D. Taylor and Randy W. DeWit,

testified without dispute that the tractor-

trailer vehicle driven by appellant on July 5,

1986, had the following damage:

APPENDIX H-9

The postal vehicle sustained adented bumper
on the left side of the tractor. The bumper
was pushed back to a point where the bumper
and the step below the passenger door meet.
This dent or imprint extends from the bottom
of the bumper and is clearly visible up-
ward to the top of the cab. The imprint
on the bumper and on the cab by thefront
grill both measure 4 3/4 inches. Mhe
windsheild on the passenger side was smashed
inward. The top of the cab, along the line
of the imprint, was pushed in and down.
As a result of the impact on the left wind-
shield, the right windshield buckled and
cracked. The largest portion of fragmented
glass is directly in line with the imprint
on the cab and bumper. On rither side of
the line, the fragmentation is less severe.
The rain channel on the rear of the cab is
torn and dented. This tear is directly
behind the damage on the front of the cab.
-. On the passenger side of the trailer,
a few feet back from the nose, was a hole
approximately the size of a baseball.
There were two gashes on the roof the nose
of the trailer, approximately 18 inches
apart. These were situated appeoximately
in the middle. There were also long thin
scratches behind the cab on the trailer
(and)...at several damaged locations on the
trailer, there was evidence of green paint.

AF, Tab 6, Subta 22. All of the supervisors
and the Vehicle Operations Analysts stated that
the extensive damage to appellant's vehicle
could not have been made by stones being dropped
on it. Concerning Louis Lee's statement that

he did not see any signs of an accident at the

North Hanley Road exit area the day after the

APPENDIX H-10

accident, supervisorHopkins testified without
dispute that the Missouri Highway Department
informed him that one of many maintenance crews
had cleared away the property damage at the North

Hanley Road exit. Accordingly, I find that prior

to appellant and Lee going out to the North Hanley
Road exit, a maintenance crew from the Missouri
Highway Department had cleaned up the area.
Accordingly, I find that this is the reason why
appellant and Lee did not find the extensive
wreckage from the accident as plainly revealed in
the photographs taken on the day of the accident.
Agency's Hearing Exhibit 2.

Based on the probative evidence of record, I
find that accident that appellant had on July 5, 1
986, occurred at the North Hanley Road Exit area.
I find that the undisputed documertary evidence,
expecially the photographs taken on July 5, 1986,
and the testimonial evidence from Deloch and
DeWit show that the same paint scrapings made
from the North Hanleu Road exit sign, which was

rereen in color, were found on appellant's trailer

and tractor. I also find that the size and the

APPENDIX H-11

wide imprint in the front of appellant's tractor
was the same size, i.e« fourt-and-three-quarter
inches. I further find that tire imprints in the
grass penninsula area at the North Hanley Road
exit area measured twenty-four inches in width
and that the width of the rear tires on appellant
trailer was elso twenty-four inches in width.

I note that the height of the North Hanley
Road sign was fourteen feet and that the height
and size of the North Hanley Road sign would
account for the damage to the top rear of the
tractor and the roof of the trailer, which was
eleven feet, six inches in height. I aiso note
that taken from the legs of the Hanley Road exit
sign were two pieces of blue and white plastic,
which matched the postal decal stripes on the
front of the tractor. I further rote that there
were tire scuff marks found on the curbing at the
Hanley road exit and that there were scuff marks
on the rear tires of appellant's vehicle. However
I find that the record evidence fails to show

that there were scuff marks or tire traaoks at
either the West Florissant or Taylor areas.

Further, I find that even if someone dropped some

APPENDIX H-12

stones on appellant's vehicle, as alleged, this
would not have caused the extensive damage to his
tractor and trailer,i.e., the damage to the front
bumper of the tractor and the four-and-three-
quarter inch wide imprint in the front of the
tractor.

Based on the record as a whole, I find that
it is more probably true than not true that on
July 5, 1986, appellant left the road at Intersta
70 and the North Hanley Roadexit and jumped the c
where he continued east, hitting the Hanley Road
exit sign. I also find that as a result of this
impact, the sign bent toward the tractor. I
further find that one of the steel legs which
supported the sign, caused an imprint from the
front of the bumper of the tractor to the top of
the tractor, causing damage to the nose of the
tractor. Furthermore, I find that another part
of the sign hit the roof of the trailer and cause
a baseball size hole in it. Based upon the recor
evidence, I conclude that appelant misrepresented
his version of the accident and that he was solel

responsible for the damage to his Postal Service

APPENDIX H-13

vehicle.

In addition, appellant testified that he had
several alcoholic drinks six hours before arriving
at work. Appellant subsequently changed his
testimony and stated that he had alcoholic bever-
ages eleven hours before reporting for work.
Nevertheless, appellant asserted that he was not
under the influence of alcohol on July 5.

Brenda Williams, Registered Nurse, testified
that on the day in issue, appellant had a strong
smell of alcohol on his breath, his eyes were red,
and that he appeared to be under the influence of
alcohol. See Brenda Williams, tape 2, sides 1 and
2; AF, Tab 6 Subtab 10. Williams stated that dcuri-
ng the entire time that she attempted to assist
appellant, he demonstrated hostility or made sexual
advances toward her. Williams stated that she told
appellant that if his improper behavior did not
stop, Postal Service Security Officers would be
summoned.

In light of the conflicting testimony from
appellant and Williams, I must assess and weigh the

probative value of each witnesses testimony. See

|
.

APPENDIX H-14

Borninkhof V. Department of Justice, 5 .S.P.R.

77 (1981). First, I find that the record evidence
contains substantial evidence which tends to corr-
oborate Williams* version. Specifically, supervisor
Deloch and Vehicle Operations Analyst DeWwit stated
that they smelled alcohol on appellant's breath.
Deloch and DeWit indicated that they were a few
inches away from appellant while talking to hin.
They also indicated that appellant appeared to be
under the influence of alcohol, and that he was
loud and argumentative. Based on the record
evidence, I find that Deloch and DeWit had reason-
able opportunities for making a determination as
to whether appellant was under the influence of
alcohol.

Lewis Leee testified that he didnot smell!
any alcohol on appellant's breath. However, Lee
did not offer an opinion concerning appellant was
under the influence of alcohol. Lee stated that
during most of the time that he was talking to

appellant, he was eight or nine feet away, except

APPENDIX H=-15

for a few seconds when he brused some glass off

of him. Accordingly, based on Lee's statements,

I find that he did not have a reasonable opportun-
ity to make a determination concerning whether a-
ppellant was under the influence of alcohol.

Further, I find Willisms' testimony to have
been clear, straight-forward, detailed and consist-
ent with her prior contemporaneous written stateme-
nt, concerning appellant's lack of sobriety. I
also find that the statements from Deloch and
DeWit corroborate Williams testimony. On the
other hand, I find appellant's version and Lee's
statement to some extent, to be vague and lacking
in detail. I also find that appellant's version
to be virtually devoid of evidentiary support,
somewhat tainted by his admissions, and, most
significantly, not very persuasive.

Accordingly, I find appellant deliberately and
intentionally falsified his accident report, and
that he failed to drive his vehicle in a safe and
proper manner. Based on the record as a whole, I
find that the agency's charge is supported by the
preponderance of the evidence, and it is sustained.

5 U.S.C. 7701 (c)(1)(B).

APPENDIX H-16

Under 5 U.S.C. 7701 (c)(2)(B), nothwith-
standing the fact that the agency met its evid-
entiary burden on the charge, its decision may
not be sustained if appellant demonstrates that
the action was taken because of prohibited dis-
crimination. In his petition for appeal, appe-
llant stated that:

I was prejude (sic)removed from Postal

Service two times for the same charges and

now I'm being labeled as being unfir to

work for the Post Office with my work re-

cord and education (sic) background I

believe that no one have (sic) the rights

(sic) to put that type of label on me because

of the way I think.

AF, Tab 1. Appellant bears the burden of
proving an affirmative defense by a preponder-
ance of the evidence. See Pinto v. Department
of Labor, 11 M.S.P.R. 442 (1982). While apne-
llant has generally clsimed that the action was
affected by prohibited discrimination, he nenver
indicated the basis, i.e., race, sex, religion, etc.
» for such discrimination. Accordingly, I find
that appellant has not not made a valid claim

of discrimination. See Meehan v. U. S. Postal

Service, 718 F.2d 1069 (Fed Cir. 1983).

APPENDIX H-17

The agency's adverse action must also be
"for such cause as will promote the efficiency
of the service’ 5 U.S.C. 7513(a). Here, I
find that appellant's action of causing a
single-vehicle accident and falsifying an acc-
ident report concerning the cause and location
of his accident plainly constitutes such cause
as effects the efficiency of the service. See
Phillips v. Bergland, 586 F.2d 1007 (4th Cir.
1978).

1 In Meehan, 718 F.2d, at 1073, the court held
that:

In view of the full panpoly of procedures

and protection ... which are conferred

upon an employee. .. the basis for asser-
ting discrimination should be expressly and
unequivocally stated, and not be so worded
as to require the Presiding Official to
strain to‘suppy it.

The remaining issue is whether the action
taken by the agency, removal, is within the
parameters of reasonableness under all the
facts and circumstances present. See Douglas
v. Veterans Administration, 5 MS.P.R. 280
(1981). in the instant case, I find that

appellant's falsification of his accident

APPENDIX H-18

report to be especially egregious in light of
the position he held. In addition, supervisors He-
nry C. Voss and Starling A. Hopkins testified that
as a result of appellant's serious misconduct, the-
y had lost confidence in his ability to properly
performs his duties. See tapes 2, 3 and 4, sides
land 2. They indicated that the agency is res-
ponsible for the safe and efficient delivery of
mail to its customers and that appellant must be
held to a high standard of trustworthinless and
intergrity. I find that the seriousness of app-
ellant's offense and the effect on the employer-
employee relationship is significent. The charge
against appellant in the instant case relates
directly to his "reliability, veracity, trust-
worthinless (and) ethical conduct. ..." See
Embry v. Hampton, 470 F.2d 146, 147 (4&th Cir.
1972).

Appellant further cited his three years of
federal service and claimed that his removal
demonstrate disparate penalty with respect to

the discipline given to four other employees.

The record evidence indicates that Rufus Williams,

.

APPENDIX H-19

Anthony White, Julius A. Carter and Walter k,
Paker, were disciplined, aa Wi, issued remova]
letters, demoted or Suspended, for speeding and
failing to properly operate their vehicles, AF,
Tab 11. Notwithstanding appellant's claim of

disparate penalty, I find that all of the com.

ing that any of the comparison employees fabrj-
cated stories concerning a Single-vehicle acci-

dent or made misstatements concerning the 10ca-

tion of an accident. Accordingly, I fine that the

comnarison employees used by appellant do not show

disparate treatment.
After a careful balancing Of the relevant
penalty factors, I find that the mitigating fac.

tors presented by appellant are Plainly insuff-

al imposed by the agency. Accordordingly, I find
hat the arency action, removal, was not unreason-

ble under a1} the facts and Circumstances present,

| eter

APPENDIX H=20

See Book v. U. S. Postal Service, 675 F.2d 158,
(8th Cir. 1982).

DECISION

The agency's action removing appellant is

herey AFFIRMED.

REV IcwW RIGHTS

This initial decision of the Merit Systems

Protection Board will become a final decision of

the Board on March 13, 1987, unless a petition for

review is filed by that date or the Board reponens

the case on its own motion. 51 Fed. R@g. 25157,

251159, (1986) (to be codified at 5 C. F. R. 1201.

113 and .117).% Any party or the Office of Pers-

onnel Management may seek to have it reviewed by

the Board by filing a petition for review with:
Officeof the Clerk

Merit Systems Protection Board

1120 Vermont Ave., N.W.

Washington, D. C. 20419

in accordance with 5 C. F. R. 1201.114 of the

Board's regulations. The parties should note

that they are required to serve any petition for

review and any subsequent pleading on all parties.

Ses

APPENDIX H-21

For additional information, see5 C.F. R. 1201.
114. The petition for review must be filed

on or before March 13, 1987, and must set

forth objections to the initial decision, su-
pported by reference to applicable laws, regula-

tions, and the record.

—

2 On July 10, 1986, the Board republished its
entire rules of practice and procedure in the
Federal Register. For ease of reference, cit-
ations will be to the Board's regulations at
5 Cc. F. R. Part 1201. However, parties should
refer to 51 Fed. Reg. 25146-72 (1986) for the
text of all references to this part.

Any appellant adversely affected or apgrr-
ieved by a final decision of the Board may file
a petition with the United States Court of Apneals
for the Federal Circuit, if the Court has jurisd-
iction. 5 U. S. C. 7703. A petition may not be
filed while the case is pending before the Board.
To be timely, the petition for judicial review

must be recieved by the Court within thrity days

after the Board's decision becomes final. Pet-
itions must sent to:

U. S. Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit

APPENDIX He22 -

717 Madison Place, N.W.
Washington, D. C. 20439

THE BOARD: DUPREE P. HEARD /s/
Administrative Judee

APPENDIX H-23

URKS V. U.S. POSTAL SERVICE
ISPB DOCKET NO. SL0O7528710028

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certiify that copy of the foreroing
nitial Decision was sent this date, by regular
ail to the following parties;

Mr. Ray Turks, Jr.
1123 Angelica
St. Louis, Missouri 63107

Nr. Stanford Richardson, Jr.
Attorney at Law

2616 N. Kingshighway

St. Louis, Missouri 63113

“Yr. Donald L. Baker
U. S. Postal Service
1720 Market Street, Room 2073
St. Louis, vYissouri 63155-9401

Office of Personnel Manarenent
ATTN: Appellate Policies Brsnch
1900 E. street, N. W. = Room 7635
Washington, D. C. 20415

ebruary 6, 1987 KIMBERLY PETERYEY2R /s/

(date) Legal Clerk

APPENDIX I

(2) RSpeed :436-4419;92-A15
July 25, 1986
SUBJECT: Notice of Charges - Removal

To: Ray Turks, Jr. SSN 429-48-9366
Tractor Trailer Operator
1123 Angelica
St. Louis, Mo. 63107

Certified Mail #P240314301
Return Receipt Requested

This is advance written notice that is is prosped
to remove you from the Postal Service effective
no sooner than thirty (30) days from your receipt
of this notice. The reasons for this proposed
action are:

You are a Tractor Trailer Operator assigned

to duties at the Vehicle Maintenance Facil-
ity, St. Louis, Mo. Anessential requirement
of your position is the safe and proper oper-
ation of assigned vehicles and the proper and
accurate reporting of accidents. You are also
reauired to be alert and physically ready

to perform your duties.

You reported, on PS Form 91, and verbally to

me, that you left the AMF at approxinately
: 12:30, on July 5, 1986, and headed east on
I-70. You reported that at the West Floris-
sant overpass someone dropped some stones
from the overpass causing damage to the veh-
icle. On July 6,1986, when I questioned you
about the damage to the bumper, the front and
top of the truck you stated that stone were
dropped from the West Florissant overpass and
that was all you knew.

On July 7, 1986, at approximately 12:30,
Supervisor S. A. Hopkins and Vehicle Opera-
tions Analyst Donald Taylor accompained you

APPENDIX I-2

to the alleged accident location. You
could not pinpoint where the accident had
happened. You then changed your story cl-
iming that the accident occurred at the
Taylor Avenue overpass. There was no

sign of an accident having happened at
that location.

Mr. Hopkins and Mr. Taylor did find evi-
dence of an accident that matched the fact
circumstances of the damage caused to your
vehicle. This accident was at I-70 and
Hanley. You denied having had an accident
at that location. After being advised of
the unlikelihood of your account of the ac-
cident, you submitted a written statement
dated Jyly 7, 1986, changing youraccout of
the accident. In your written statement, you
stated something or sonething hit you.
You further stated that you did not know
where it happened. You said you thought
you were somewhere on Highway I-70.

When Ms Brenda Williams, RN, of the Main
Post Office Medical Unit examined you on
July 5, 1986, (the day of the accident)

you were hostile and you smelled of alcohol.

The evidence at the accident location and
the damage to your postal vehicle, is
overwhelmingly convincing that you did

run over the sign by the Hanley exit with
your postal vehicle and that the report
submitted by you is false. Your misconduct,
that of having an accident that should have
been prevented and your submission of a
false report is ve:y serious misconduct and
is a violation of your duties and respons-
ibilities as apostal employee as well as a
violation of the code of Ethical Conduct
and the provisions of the M-52 Handbook.

As a preference eligible employee you have the

following rights:

PRET RENT ORE

APPENDIX I-3

You and/or your representative may review
the material relied On tO support these rea-

Monday through Friday. If you do not under-
stand the reason for this notice, contact the
undersigned for further information. You
may answer this notice personally and in
writing, or both, to Mr. Henry Voss, Vanarer,
Fleet Operations, Room 210G, Main Office
Garage, St. Louis, MO, 63155-2620 telephone
number 436-4312 between the hours Of 9:00

AM and 3:00 pm Monday through Friday and you
may submit affidavits in Support of your
answer. If you are Otherwise on Official

secure affidavits and prepare an answer to
this notice. yoy will be allowed ten (10)

answer (s) is receive » Or after the expir-
ation of the 10-day limit, if you do not
answer, you will be fiven a written decision.

You have the right to file a &rievance under
he Grievance-Arbitration Procedure set forth
in Article 15, Section 2, of the National
Agreement within fourteen (14) days of your
receipt of this notice,

REGINALD SPEED /s/ STANLEY A. HOPKINS /s/
Slgnature of Supervisor Reviewing Authority

bee: Decision Maker named herein (send entire
file).
Labor Relations (Room 2073)
Personnel (Room 2073)
ATAL (ail Processing)

Tour Manager (

Mail Processing)

APPENDIX I-4

PSDS
General Accounting
File

Foot Note: "WAS MAILED TO HIS HOME
ON AUGUST 7, 1986 SH /s/

APPENDIX J

(1) HVOSS: 436-4312:12-C30

September 12, 1986

SUBJECT: Letter of Decision
TO: Ray Turks, Jr.

1123 Angelica
St. Louis, Mo. 63107

Certified P312396563

On August 7, 1986, you were issued a notice
proposing to remove you from the U. S. Postal
Service based on the charge (s) outlined in the
notice.

I have given consideration to your personal ans-
wer of August 26, 1986 and all other evidence of
record. Aften listening to you and questioning
you, I find that there are too many inconsistenc-
ies in your story. You did not know the location
that you had your accident. You misquoted a
private citizen, saying that he observed the acc-
ident. Investigation revealed the private party
did not see the accident, which he stated to the
analyst investigating the accident. It is with-
out a doubt that it was not stones that broke

the windshield of the vehicle. The nurse who

saw you in the Medical Unit stated that you anpp-
eared to be under the influence of alcohol.

Two days after the accident, you could not remen-
ber the accident, but you could remember being
tired and dizzy. I find, however, that the charre-
(s), as stated in the notice of Charres-Renoval
dated July 25, 1986 and mailed to you on Aurust
7, 1986, are fully supported by the evidence and
warrant your removal. The action will be effect-
ive September 29, 1286.

As a preference eligible, you have the right to
lappeal this decision in writing to Mr. Earl

| Witten, Regional Director, Merit Systems Prot-
| ection Board, St. Louis Regional Office, 1520
Market Street, Room 1740, St. Louis, 0 63103,
within 20 days from September 29, 1986.

APPENDIX J=-2

If you appeal to the Merit Systems Protection
Board, you should state whether you do or do
not wish a hearing and you should furnish me

a copy of your appeal. For further information
on appeals procedure, contact the undersigned
Henry C. Voss, Telephone 436-4312.

Attached for your reference are a copy of the
Merit Systems Protection Board regulations snd
a copy of the appeal form.

If you appeal to the Merit Systems Protection
Board you thereby waive access to any procedures
under the National Agreement beyond Step 3 of
the Grievance-Arbitation Procedure. If you ap-
peal to the lierit Systems Protection Board, pl-
ease provide me with copy of your appeal.

You are entitled to a representative of your
own choosing throughout your appeal. You and
your representative, if he or she is aU. S.
Postal Service employee, shall be afforded a
reasonable amount of official time for prepara-
tion of your case if you and/or your represent-
ative are otherwise in a in a duty status.

HENRY C. VOSS [s/
Manager, Fleet Operations

St. Louis, Mo. 63155-9721
Name of Higher Level Official (Printed)

Attachments: MSPB Rules and Regulations
MSPB Appeals Form

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0516%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
