# Opposition Brief — Bersani v. United States Environmental Protection Agency

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0511%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 1089

## Text

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

JOHN A. BERSANI, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL
' PROTECTION AGENCY, ET AL.

JOSEPH ROBICHAUD AND CITIZENS IN SUPPORT OF
ATTLEBORO MALL, PETITIONERS

v.

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL
PROTECTION AGENCY, ET AL.

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM C. BRYSON

Acting Solicitor General
DONALD A. CARR

Acting Assistant Attorney General
PETER R. STEENLAND, JR.

MARGARET N. STRAND
GERALD H. YAMADA

Acting General Counsel Attorneys
ANNE H. WILLIAMS-DAWE Department of Justice
CATHERINE A. WINER Washingion, D.C. 20530
Altorneys (202) 633-2217
Environmental Protection
Agency

Washington, D.C. 20460

cd

“

QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether the Administrator of the Environmental Pro-
tection Agency abused his discretion in determining, under
Section 404(c) of the Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1344(c),
that the development of a shopping mall in a 49.5-acre
wetland in Attleboro, Massachusetts, would have an unac-
ceptable adverse effect on wildlife. |

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
sb sea wseeeredesdaswseee 1
Cee ee ot ise aw ecckededeecbedeenee 2
PC TEe Sahu ie oss pes ekdeubes ed cedectecsoe 2
Es cedudededd meses ¢ LAG eanekawss penena ene seed 10
ere hese eee Re hel ee peebeseanseneee bees 15
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Case:
United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc., 474 U.S.
ee ls sab osaueveee 2
Statutes and regulations:
Administrative Procedure Act, § U.S.C. 701 ef seq.:
i eee eee kot ed ees he wuss adv ae 8
Ee 8
Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 ef seq.:
CE . isso cccsccccccceasasesera 2,11
i oo snccccdéddscbaceseseunae 2
iin MD ccdo6ssccsccscccescceeese 2,4, 11
§ 404(b), 33 U.S.C. 1344(b) (1982 & Supp. IV
DPE tc lose ea iehodkséeccedaeseeanen 2, 6, 12
§ 404(c), 33 U.S.C. 1344(c) ... 2.22... 3, $, 12, 13,14
iis DEE scccccocccssccccecccesenes 2
40 C.F.R.:
Pt. 230:
re ee ceeds bows adeeb ddaeeda 2,8
NS. skchxesecdeccendeusea 2,9
i ic cccedenneenesveseewess 3
ei Tees hats sb hcene cee seeeeees 3
EN ea eae ae ee eS 3, 12

(Il)

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-902
JOHN A. BERSANI, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL
PROTECTION AGENCY, ET AL.

No. 88-929

JOSEPH ROBICHAUD AND CITIZENS IN SUPPORT OF
ATTLEBORO MALL, PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES ENVIRONMENTAL
PROTECTION AGENCY, ET AL.

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUII

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (88-902 Pet. App.
la-29a) is reported at 850 F.2d 36.' The opinion of the dis-
trict court (Pet. App. 32a-63a) is reported at 674 F. Supp.
405. The Final Determination of the Assistant Administra-
tor (Pet. App. 64a-108a) is unreported.

' Unless otherwise indicated, “Pet. App.” reters to the appendix to
the petition in No. 88-902.

(1)

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 30a)
was entered on June 8, 1988. A petition for rehearing was
denied on September 2, 1988 (Pet. App. 109a-110a). The
petitions for a writ of certiorari were filed on December 1,
1988. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28
U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. The Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 ef seq., was
enacted in order to “restore and maintain the chemical,
physical, and biological integrity of the Nation’s Waters”
(Sec. 101, 33 U.S.C. 1251). Under Sections 301 and 502 of
the Act, 33 U.S.C. 1311 and 1362, any discharge of
dredged or fill materials into “navigable waters” — defined
to include “waters of the United States”—is forbidden
unless authorized by a permit issued by the Secretary of
the Army, acting through the Corps of Engineers, pur-
suant to Section 404, 33 U.S.C. 1344 (1982 & Supp. IV
1986). See United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes,
Inc., 474 U.S. 121, 123 (1985).

In deciding whether to issue a permit under Section 404,
the Corps is governed by guidelines developed jointly by
the Secretary and by the Administrator of the Environ-
mental Protection Agency (EPA). 33 U.S.C. 1344(b) (1982
& Supp. IV 1986). Those guidelines provide that “no
discharge of dredged or fill material shall be permitted if
there is a practicable alternative to the proposed discharge
which would have less adverse impact on the aquatic
ecosystem” (40 C.F.R. 230.10(a)). The guidelines further
specify that an alternative is “practicable” if “it is available
and capable of being done, after taking into consideration
cost, existing technology, and logistics in light of overall
project purposes” (40 C.F.R. 230.10(a)(2)). Moreover, an

OO EE EEeoOw'

3

otherwise available alternative may be considered even if it
is “not presently owned by the applicant,” provided that
such alternative can “reasonably be obtained, utilized, ex-
panded or managed in order to fulfill the basic purpose of
the proposed activity” (ibid.).

The guidelines also state two presumptions that govern
the Corps’ evaluation of practicable alternatives. First,
where a proposed project will affect a “special aquatic
site” (which is defined to include wetlands (see Pet. App.
36a)), but the project does not by its nature require access
to such an aquatic site, the guidelines state that “prac-
ticable alternatives that do not involve special aquatic sites
are presumed to be available, unless clearly demonstrated
otherwise” (40 C.F.R. 230.10(a)(3)). Second, where the
project will affect a special aquatic site, “all practicable
alternatives to the proposed discharge which do not in-
volve a discharge into a special aquatic site are presumed
to have less adverse impact on the aquatic ecosystem,
unless clearly demonstrated otherwise” (ibid.).

Section 404(c), 33 U.S.C. 1344(c), authorizes the Ad-
ministrator of the EPA to veto a permit that otherwise
would be issued by the Corps, where the Administrator
determines that the proposed discharge “will have an unac-
ceptable adverse effect on municipal water supplies,
shellfish beds and fishery areas (including spawning and
breeding areas), wildlife, or recreational areas.” An “unac-
ceptable adverse effect” is one that has an “impact on an
aquatic or wetland ecosystem which is likely to result in
significant degradation of municipal water supplies (in-
cluding surface or ground water) or significant loss of or
damage to fisheries, shellfishing, or wildlife habitat or
recreation areas” (40 C.F.R. 231.2(e)). The Administrator
must exercise that “veto” power in accordance with
established procedures. See 40 C.F.R. Pt. 231.

4

2. a. The present case concerns petitioner Pyramid
Companies’ proposed construction of a shopping mall in
certain wetlands, known as “Sweedens Swamp,” located in
Attleboro, Massachusetts. Sweedens Swamp is a 49.5-acre
wetland, which is part of an 80-acre site near Interstate 95.
It is undisputed that Pyramid’s proposed shopping center
would involve the discharge of dredged or fill materials in-
to “waters of the United States,” thereby requiring a per-
mit under Section 404 of the Clean Water Act. Pet. App.
3a, 6a, Ya.

Some time prior to April 1982, Pyramid’s predecessor,
the Edward J. DeBartolo Corporation, purchased the
swamp. At that time, there was a second, non-wetland site
available, only three miles away in North Attleboro,
Massachusetts, that could also have accommodated the
proposed shopping mall. On July 1, 1983, however, the
New England Development Company, a competitor of
Pyramid, began to purchase options to buy the North At-
tleboro site. Thereafter, in December 1983, Pyramid pur-
chased Sweedens Swamp from DeBartolo. Pet. App.
9a-lla, 40a.

In August 1984, Pyramid applied to the New England
regional division of the Corps for a permit to discharge in-
to Sweedens Swamp.? It sought to fill or alter 32 of the
49.5 acres of the swamp; to excavate nine acres of uplands
in an attempt to create artificial wetlands; and to alter 13.3

2 Because Massachusetts requires state approval for projects that
would fill wetlands, DeBartolo had previously applied to the
Massachusetts Department of Environmental Quality Engineering
(DEQE) for permission to build on Sweedens Swamp. DEQE initially
denied the application. Thereafter, in March 1985, DEQE granted ap-
proval to Pyramid for the project, based on an application of regula-
tions that were in effect when DeBartolo had applied. That determina-
tion was eventually upheld by the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial
Court. Pet. App. 9a-10a.

acres Of existing wetlands to improve its environmental
quality. Some time later, Pyramid proposed to mitigate
the adverse impact on the wetlands by attempting to create
36 acres of replacement wetlands in an off-site gravel pit.
Pet. App. Ila.

In connection with its application for a permit, Pyramid
submitted information concerning “practicable alter-
natives” to the Sweedens Swamp site, including the North
Attleboro site. In rejecting the latter site as an alternative,
Pyramid contended that it “ ‘lacked sufficient traffic
volume and sufficient access from local roads’ ”; that
“ ‘potential department store tenants had expressed strong
doubts about the feasibility of the site’”; and that
“ “previous attempts to develop the site had met with
strong resistance fiom the surrounding community.’ ” Pet.
App. lla-12a (emphasis omitted).

On May 2, 1985, after receiving comments from EPA
that were critical of the proposed construction, the Corps’
regional division recommended to national headquarters
that the permit to construct the mall be denied. General
John F. Wall, the Director of Civil Works at the national
headquarters, disagreed. He found that Pyramid’s pro-
posal to create an off-site artificial wetland sufficiently
mitigated the adverse environmental effects of the project.
He also determined that the North Attleboro site was
unavailable as an alternative because it had been “op-
tioned by another developer.” On June 28, 1985, pursuant
to Wall’s directive, the Corps sent Pyramid a notice of its
intent to grant the permit. Pet. App. 12a-13a.

b. EPA thereafter initiated a review of the Corps’ deci-
sion under Section 404(c). On May 13, 1986, the agency
determined that a permit should not be issued (Pet. App.
64a-108a). The agency first found that Sweedens Swamp
“provides many wetland values such as wildlife habitat,

——————

6

food chain production, natural flood storage, ground-
water discharge, and water quality renovation” (id. at
76a). “Construction of a large shopping center at
Sweedens Swamp,” the agency explained, “would
drastically change the hydrology, soils, and biology of the
area” (ibid.). In particular, the agency found that the pro-
posed project would eliminate or alter a substantial part of
the wildlife habitat in the swamp, including “species of
birds, small mammals, and amphibians, that are typical of
New England forested swamps” (id. at 77a). The agency
therefore concluded that‘ the mall project “would have
adverse impacts on wildlife values protected by section
404(c)” of the Clean Water Act (id. at 83a).

The agency next addressed the question whether the
adverse effects of the mall project were “unacceptable,”
explaining that that question turned, in part, on whether
there were less drastic alternatives available. The agency
found that the North Attleboro site was a “practicable
alternative” to Sweedens Swamp (Pet. App. 86a-10S5a). It
determined that the North Attleboro site was feasible,
noting that New England Development was pursuing a
similar project on that site (id. at 88a). The agency also
concluded that the North Attleboro site was “available.”
In reaching that conclusion, EPA examined the period
during which the company was investigating the trade area
and before it selected Sweedens Swamp (when it “entered
the market” (Pet. App. 95a)), as well as the period between
Pyramid’s purchase of Sweedens Swamp in December
1983 and the submission of its permit application in July
1984. The agency observed that the guidelines under Sec-
tion 404(b) “were intended to avoid unnecessary filling of
wetlands and to require a prospective discharger to take a
hard look before concluding that upland sites are not
available” (id. at 92a (emphasis in the original)). Ac-

cordingly, the agency reasoned, “ijt is both fair and con-
sistent with the Guidelines to review the period of
availability as including the period when the developer is
selecting a site for its project” (id. at 93a). EPA found that
the record clearly showed that “Pyramid and New England
Development were exploring the same trade area at ap-
proximately the same time and that Pyramid decided
against the North Attleboro site solely on the basis of un-
suitability” (id. at 95a). The agency also explained that
“{t}he uncontested fact is that Pyramid never checked the
availability of the North Attleboro site during its in-
vestigation of the market, notwithstanding its knowledge
that Sweedens Swamp suffered from significant en-
vironmental constraints. Pyramid rejected the site not
because it was unavailable but because Pyramid believed it
was not an economically viable site.” /d. at 94a. The agen-
cy concluded that Pyramid had not “met its burden of
showing that the North Attleboro site was unavailable”
(id. at 95a-96a).?

Finally, the agency concluded that “locating a shopping
mall at the North Attleboro site would have less adverse
impact on the aquatic ecosystem” (Pet. App. 98a). Among
other things, the agency noted, “the North Attleboro site
has less than one acre total wetlands, scattered in small
pieces, compared to the 32 acres to be filled at Sweedens
Swamp” (ibid.). The agency also rejected as insufficient
Pyramid’s proposal to mitigate the adverse impact of its
project by creating a wetland complex out of a mostly

> EPA also noted that since New England Development had not ac-
quired all its options on the North Attleboro site until July 1984, the
site may have remained available to Pyramid throughout that period.
In addition, the agency found that because of “[t]he special cir-
cumstances of this case,” any alternative that had been available to
Pyramid’s predecessor should likewise be regarded as an alternative
available to Pyramid. Pet. App. 95a-97a.

upland gravel pit. It found that the proposal “presents
substantial risks and uncertainties” (id. at 10la), and that
“even if successful,” the proposal “would not provide the
same kind of habitat as that which would be lost at
Sweedens Swamp” (id. at 103a-104a).

3. Petitioners thereafter brought an action in the
United States District Court for the Northern District of
New York, challenging EPA’s decision as arbitrary and
capricious under the Administrative Procedure Act, 5
U.S.C. 704, 706. On cross-motions for summary judg-
ment, the district court ruled for respondents (Pet. App.
32a-63a). The court first found (id. at 47a-55a) that in
deciding whether the proposed use of the wetlands would
have an “unacceptable adverse effect,” the agency was en-
titled “to take into account the existence of a ‘practicable
alternative’ ” (id. at 48a). Turning to the merits, the court
upheld EPA’s finding that the North Attleboro site con-
stituted a practicable alternative to Sweedens Swamp. The
court agreed that the North Attleboro site was both feasi-
ble (id. at 55a-57a) and available to Pyramid (id. at
57a-59a), and it rejected petitioners’ contention that a site
may be found to be “available” under 40 C.F.R. 230.10(a)
only if it is available to the developer at the time that the
agency acts on the developer’s permit application. The
court found, instead “that the record supports the EPA’s
finding that the North Attleboro site was available to
Pyramid at the time it ‘entered the market’ in September or
December of 1983” (id. at 60a).4

* The district court also held that “[e]ven assuming that the EPA
reached an arbitrary decision regarding the availability of a prac-
ticable alternative, its Final Determination must be upheld as
reasonable because it was based upon a rational, independent finding
that a significant loss in wildlife would result from the construction of
a mall at Sweden’s [sic] Swamp” (Pet. App. 61a).

9

4. The court of appeals affirmed by a divided vote
(Pet. App. la-29a). The court first held that EPA’s con-
struction of the governing regulations—according to
which the availability of the North Attleboro alternative
should be judged as of the time that Pyramid entered the
market for a construction site—was reasonable in these
specific circumstances. The court explained that although
the language of 40 C.F.R. 230.10(a)(2) is phrased in the
present tense, “ ‘the regulations do not indicate when it is
to be determined whether an alternative “is” available,’
i.e., the ‘present’ of the regulations might be the time the
application is submitted; the time it is reviewed; or any
number of other times” (Pet. App. 16a (emphasis in the
original)). Moreover, the court noted that the purpose of
the regulations “is to create an incentive for developers to
avoid choosing wetlands when they could choose an alter-
native upland site” (ibid.); petitioners’ reading of the
regulations, the court stated, “would thwart this purpose
because it would remove the incentive for a developer to
search for an alternative site at the time such an incentive
is needed, i.e., at the time it is making the decision to select
a particular site” (id. at 16a-17a). “If the practicable alter-
natives analysis were applied to the time of the application
for a permit,” the court explained (id. at 17a), “the
developer would have little incentive to search for alter-
natives, especially if it were confident that alternatives
soon would disappear.”®

Judge Pratt dissented (Pet. App. 25a-29a). In his view,
the market entry analysis improperly “focus[es] on the
decisionmaking techniques and tactics of a particular
developer” (id. at 26a) and “inject[s] exquisite vagueness”

$ The court also held that EPA’s “market entry” approach to the
regulations was not in conflict with prior practice (Pet. App. 17a-19a),
and that it was neither excessively vague nor unfair (id. at 22a-24a)

10

into the determination of whether a particular site is an
“available” alternative (id. at 27a). Judge Pratt concluded
that the availability of a site should instead be based on
“the circumstances which exist at the time [EPA] makes its
decision” (id. at 28a).

ARGUMENT

The decision of the court of appeals is correct and does
not conflict with any decision of this Court or of any other
court of appeals. Moreover, petitioners’ challenge to the
EPA’s decision arises principally from the unusual facts of
this case: that by the time Pyramid submitted its applica-
tion for a permit, a competitor had begun purchasing op-
tions to an otherwise available upland site, thereby making
it arguably unavailable to Pyramid. The agency’s fact-
bound determination, upheld by both the district court
and the court of appeals, warrants no further review.

1. Petitioners first contend (88-902 Pet. 13-18) that the
“market entry” formulation “provid[es] no guidance to the
regulated community of the standard to which it will be
held” (id. at 13), because EPA has “refused to specify the
point in time at which the availability inquiry begins” (id.
at 14). Petitioners assert that governmental planning agen-
cies, in particular, “are always in the market” (id. at 15). In
petitioners’ view, the EPA’s standard is imprecise end
they contend that as a result “{ljocal, state and regional
planning efforts will be undermined” (id. at 17).

The ‘question when, precisely, a developer is “in the
market” for purposes of the “market entry” standard is
simply not presented in this case. As the agency found —in
a finding that petitioners do not dispute—“[t}he un-
contested fact is that Pyramid never checked the availabili-
ty of the North Attleboro site during its investigation of

11

the market, notwithstanding its knowledge that Sweedens
Swamp suffered from significant environmental con-
straints” (Pet. App. 94a). Indeed, the agency noted (ibid.
(citation omitted)), “Pyramid rejected the site not because
it was unavailable but because Pyramid believed it was not
an economically viable site. Pyramid stated that it would
have turned down the site for its project even if it were of-
fered ‘for free.’ ” In short, Pyramid never considered the
North Attleboro site at all, regardless of when Pyramid
was in the market or the site was available. The EPA ac-
cordingly had no occasion in this case to resolve the
precise moment at which a developer may be said to be “in
the market,” for purposes of determining the ayailability
of competing alternatives.

2. Petitioners next contend (88-902 Pet. 18-25) that
EPA’s market entry standard is inconsistent with the pur-
pose of Section 404 of the Clean Water Act, because it
does not require “an objective inquiry into the impacts on
the physical environment that would result from the
choice of one site over another” (id. at 20). In petitioners’
view, EPA’s analysis “disregards the environmental im-
pacts on the land in question” and thereby “fail[s] to pro-
tect the wetland” (ibid.).

As the court of appeals explained, however, EPA’s ap-
plication of the regulations in this case is entirely faithful
to the purposes of the Clean Water Act. The Act is de-
signed, in principal part, to “restore and maintain the
chemical, physical, and biological integrity of the Nation’s
waters” (33 U.S.C. 1251). By focusing on the period dur-
ing which a developer is considering its options, and has
not yet committed its resources to a particular wetland
site, the market entry standard “create[s] an incentive for
developers to avoid choosing wetlands when they could
choose an alternative upland site” (Pet. App. 16a). By con-

12

trast, “[iJf the practicable alternatives analysis were ap-
plied to the time of the application for a permit, the
developer would have little incentive to search for alter-
natives, especially if it were confident that alternatives
would soon disappear” (id. at 17a).

Petitioners assert (88-902 Pet. 20), however, that the
market entry approach “leads inevitably to consideration
of factors far different from those contemplated by Con-
gress.” For example, in this case, petitioners argue, the
agency inappropriately requested records reflecting the
developer’s efforts to pursue upland alternatives. Peti-
tioners apparently believe (see id. at 21, 23-24) that the
EPA may evaluate only the environmental impact of a
project, and may not consider whether there are alter-
natives available to the developer. There is no basis for
that contention. Section 404(c) of the Act, 33 U.S.C.
1344(c), expressly requires the agency to determine
whether the proposed project “will have an unacceptable
adverse effect.” As the district court observed (Pet. App.
48a), Section 404(c) does not preclude the EPA, in deter-
mining whether an “adverse effect” is “unacceptable,”
from considering whether less “adverse” alternatives were
available. Indeed, the regulations promulgated under Sec-
tion 404(c) state that the Administrator should consider
the “relevant portion of the [404(b)] guidelines” in making
his Section 404(c) unacceptability determination; the Sec-
tion 404(b) guidelines expressly require a consideration of
practicable alternatives. See 40 C.F.R. 231.2(e); Pet. App.
6a-7a & n.2, 48a.

3. Petitioners also contend, in passing (88-902 Pet.
25-27), that evaluating alternatives at the time of market
entry is inconsistent with the language of the pertinent
regulations. The court of appeals correctly rejected that
claim. Although the regulations are phrased “in the pres-

13

ent tense” (88-902 Pet. 25), they do not specify the point in
time at which an alternative must be “available” in order to
constitute a “practicable alternative.” The court of appeals
was therefore correct in concluding that “when the agen-
cies drafted the language in question they simply were not
thinking of the specific issues raised by the instant case, in
which an applicant had available alternatives at the time it
was Selecting its site but these alternatives had evaporated
by the time it applied for a permit” (Pet. App. 16a).
Because the text does not resolve the issue, the court cor-
rectly looked to the purpose of the regulations — “to create
an incentive for developers to avoid choosing wetlands
when they could choose an alternative upland site”
(ibid.)—and held that EPA’s interpretation of the regula-
tions comports with that governing purpose.

4. In the court of appeals, petitioners also contended
that the analysis of alternatives at the time of market entry
is inconsistent with the past regulatory practices of both
the Corps and the EPA (Pet. App. 17a-19a). The Second
Circuit rejected that contention, finding that the issue was
one of first impression (id. at 19a). Petitioners do not
renew that claim, apparently recognizing that there is no
conflict among the lower courts over the market entry
analysis. They assert, however, that the issue is sufficiently
important to warrant this Court’s review. But, as the Sec-
ond Circuit observed, EPA had employed its Section
404(c) authority only five times since the enactment of that
provision. During that same time, the Corps has processed
an average of 11,000 permit applications annually. Pet.
App. 9a.

Moreover, petitioners’ present challenge to the market
entry approach contradicts the position they took at an
earlier stage in these proceedings. When petitioners sub-
mitted their supplemental permit application to the Corps
in October 1984, they argued that the appropriate time for

14

assessing practicable alternatives was when the applicant
was exercising its business judgment. Pet. App. 93a. As
petitioners put it at the time, “To avoid this ‘second guess-
ing’ of reasonable business judgments, the regulating
agency’s reference point must be the point in time when
the proponent analyzed its alternatives.” C.A. App. 372.
That is the very time frame that the EPA analyzed, and
that petitioners now repudiate.

5. Finally, petitioners contend (88-929 Pet. 6-12) that
the EPA exceeded its statutory jurisdiction under Section
404(c) when, in making its decision, it considered the en-
vironmental consequences of the proposed shopping mall
for other parts of Massachusetts, in addition to the impact
on Sweedens Swamp. That claim is meritless. Section
404(c) authorizes the Administrator of EPA to prohibit a
proposed discharge when he finds that it “will have an
unacceptable adverse effect on municipal water supplies,
shellfish beds and fishery areas (including spawning and
breeding areas), wildlife, or recreational areas” (33 U.S.C.
1344(c)). By its terms, Section 404(c) does not limit the
regions that the Administrator may take into account in
making his determination, and it certainly does not require
him to consider only the effect on the particular wetland
site. Indeed, because a significant change in the en-
vironmental quality of a particular wetland is likely to af-
fect the quality of surrounding regions (see Pet. App. 77a,
79a), it would not be sensible to construe Section 404(c) as
narrowly as petitioners propose. °®

® Petitioners base their contrary reading of Section 404(c) on the
fact that the provision authorizes the Administrator to prohibit
discharge into a “defined area’ whenever he determines that the re-
quested discharge into “such area” will have an unacceptable adverse
effect (88-929 Pet. 7-8). The quoted language provides simply that the
Administrator must determine whether to permit discharge into a

15

CONCLUSION
The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

WILLIAM C. BRYSON

Acting Solicitor General
DONALD A. CARR

Acting Assistant Attorney General
PETER R. STEENLAND, JR.
MARGARET N. STRAND

Attorneys

GERALD H. YAMADA

Acting General Counsel
ANNE H. WILLIAMS-DAWE
CATHERINE A. WINER

Altorneys

Environmental Protection Agency

FEBRUARY 1989

specific area; it does not provide that, in making that determination,
he is forbidden to consider the environmental impact on surrounding
areas.

<r US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1989—241 699/00127

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0511%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
