# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — BMT Commodity Corp. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0471%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 1012

## Text

In The

October Term, 1988

BMT COMMODITY CORP. and DELCA DISTRIBUTORS,
INC.,

Petitioners,

VS.
THE UNITED STATES,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

JACK GUMPERT WASSERMAN
Counsel of Record
FREEMAN, WASSERMAN & SCHNEIDER
Attorneys for Petitioners
90 John Street
New York, New York 10038
(212) 619-1770

8027
tz *NJ (201) 257-6850 (800) 3 APPEAL *NY (212) 840-4640°MA (617) 542-1114
DOC (202) 783-7288°PA (215) 925-6500°USA (800) 5 APPEAL

ry A ., y

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. In a case of first impression arising under the federal
antidumping law, did a panel of the Court of Appeals err when
it affirmed the reviewing court’s use of inferences and assumptions
to supply a rationale wholly missing from the agency’s explanation
of the applicable legal standard?

2. Did the panel of the Court of Appeals err when it affirmed
the lower court’s conclusion that the agency’s determination was
supported by substantial evidence on the record, where the agency
conceded that its determination (a) rested on evidence that contains
a blatant and fatal error and (b) ignored evidence of record which
the reviewing court held to be directly relevant to the crucial issue?

i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The caption of the case contains the name of all parties in
the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the U.S.
Court of International Trade,* except that Codfish Corporation**
appeared as Defendant-Intervenor in the U.S. Court of
International Trade.

* Petitioner BMT Commodity Corp. is a privately held corporation whose
shareholders are private individuals. Delica Distributors, Inc. is a wholly-owned
subsidiary of BMT. Neither corporation has any publicly held affiliates.

** Upon information and belief, Codfish Corporation is a privately held
corporation.

itt

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee es eeeeseedeuvaaneu i
ee ee cuba ad cbeceeseeeeén ii
EE, uv csevensskssesssseveuetnccrneees iii
I ou as cuadececoulbinnsesesstiakanan iv
INS cs wc pub edgedenketeeGe ede sacaeesnees 2
PN Saunt ohnb666eesdnsadeadesasduseeenunane 2
Pe Ng Sha Neciioscewilaatsbunexewebevesuss 2
NE OO BU OOD nnn ni nddssededacedenn deans 3

po Pe eee 4
IR CRcctaus Sc dkeuE de de deuuauesDeleadeewes 5
EL GE CIN s side ndsdcnwenvcseceecessucnnaa 5

The Antidumping Proceeding And The Commission’s
PE dc dG 6604040000 000045 ban oaeee 6

PE cida rah swans cheba wa kee ea een ant 8
The Decision Of The Court Of Appeals ........... 9

Reasons For Granting The Writ ...................... 10

iv

Contents
Page

I. The Lower Court Improperly Supplied A Rationale
Not Articulated By The Commission. ........... 10

Il. The Commission’s Determination Was Not Supported
Br Ss CPI pwccncncedscccccunssss 14

A. The Feasibility Study Contains A Blatant Error
That Invalidates Its Conclusions............ 14

B. The Commission Failed To Consider Relevant
Evidence In The Citicorp Study. ........... 16

edt Dale eee ee aa anaes es 18
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases Cited:

American Rubber Products Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 214 F.2d 47
Ss SE cba nsnadccdcccdpscuniaaneesesecsea 17

Babcock & Wilcox Co. v. United States, 2 CIT 74, 521 F.
Supp. 479 (1981), vacated as moot, 4 CIT 3 (1982)
PO ee Pe FE OE EEE EERE a My EAP ge We ES 14

Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. v. National Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 462 U.S. 87, 103 S. Ct. 2246 (1983)

Bowen v. American Hospital Ass’n, 476 U.S. 610, 106 S. Ct.
Sy Ms cddabiebcsencdsesedadudaedeeieeswes 11

Contents
Page

Bowman Transportation, Inc. v. Arkansas-Best Freight
System, Inc., 419 U.S. 281, 95 S. Ct. 438 (1975)

WYTTPTITITTT ITT TT ee ee 16

Burlington Truck Lines v. United States, 371 U.S. 156, 83
SB. GR. Bae CE hd ac chvevccstannsss sss 11

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402,
ee rg | Ar 11

Consolidated Edison Co. v. N.L.R.B., 305 U.S. 197, 59S.
CR, Be ED kd dan ddarie tases PER ee a re 16

Kenda Rubber Industrial Co. v. United States, 10 CIT__,
Gao F. Be. Bee Clee + 8 eeskctadetreeee 16

Motor Vehicie Mfrs. Ass’n v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins.
Co., 463 U.S. 29, 103 S. Ct. 2856 (1983) ....... 4, 11, 13

SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194, 67 S. Ct. 1575
GRPGE) « Siccpecccsccedssassbvsecesndensananiaaee 11

USX Corp. v. United States, 11 CIT ___, 655 F. Supp. 487
(RSET) 0sb-bbsneducennssesssxb0s2 te 16

vi

Contents
Page
Statutes Cited:
Tariff Act of 1930:
§ S16A(b\(1)(B), 19 U.S.C. § 1516(b)(1)(B) ........ 2
§ 735(b)(1)(B), 19 U.S.C. § 1673(b) 1B) .......... 3
Other Authority Cited:
K. Davis, Administrative Law Treatise (2d ed. 1980)
5 00cccceecececccceeeetees ne ceanun aeeee ak enee 17
APPENDIX
Appendix A—Opinion Of The United States Court Of
Appeals For The Federal Circuit .................. la
Appendix B—Opinion Of The United States Court Of
International Trade (Denying Rehearing) .......... 3a
Appendix C—Opinion Of The United States Court Of
International Trade (Decision And Judgment) ...... lla

Appendix D—Determination Of The U.S. International
Tends Comment 2... ccccccccccescccncoccesseces 2Sa

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

-
October Term, 1988

BMT COMMODITY CORP. and DELCA DISTRIBUTORS,
INC.,

Petitioners,

vs.
THE UNITED STATES,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Petitioners BMT Commodity Corp. and Delica Distributors,
Inc. (hereinafter collectively referred to as ‘“‘BMT’’), respectfully
pray that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit entered
on August 9, 1988.

2
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of a panel of the Court of Appeals is set forth
as Appendix A and is reported at 852 F.2d 1285. The opinions
of the Court of International Trade are set forth in Appendices
B and C and are reported at 674 F. Supp. 868 and 667 F. Supp.
880, respectively. The determination of the United States
International Trade Commission is set forth in Appendix D and
is published as USITC Publication No. 1711.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on August
9, 1988. (App. A). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).
STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 516A(b)(1)(B), 19 U.S.C. § 1516a(b)(1)(B), provides
as follows:

Judicial review in countervailing duty and
antidumping duty proceedings

(b) Standards of review.—

(1) Remedy.—The court shall hold
unlawful any determination, finding, or
conclusion found—

(B) in an action brought under paragraph
(2) of subsection (a) of this section, to
be unsupported by substantial evidence

on the record, or otherwise not in
accordance with law.

Section 735(b)(1)(B) of the Tariff Act of 1930, 19 U.S.C.
§ 1673d(b)(1)(B) (prior to 1984 amendment), provides as follows:

Final determinations
(b) Final determination by Commission.—

(1) In general.—The Commission shall
make a final determination of whether—

(B) the esteblishment of an industry in
the United States is materially retarded, ©

by reason of imports of the merchandise with
respect to which the administering authority
has made an affirmative determination under
subsection (a)(1) of this section.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from a determination of the U.S. International
Trade Commission (the ‘‘Commission’’) in an antidumping
‘‘injury’’ proceeding. In July 1985, the Commission determined
that the establishment of an industry in the United States was
materially retarded by reason of imports of certain Canadian fish
products which the U.S. Department of Commerce had found
to be sold at less-than-fair-value. Certain Dried Salted Codfish
from Canada, Inv. No. 731-TA-199 (Final), USITC Pub. 1711
(July 1985) [Appendix D].

BMT sought judicial review of the Commission’s
determination. On July 22, 1987, the U.S. Court of International
Trade entered a judgment upholding the Commission’s
determination. On November 22, 1987, BMT ’s motion for
rehearing was denied. BMT Commodity Corp. v. United States,
11 CIT___, 667 F. Supp. 880 (1987) [Appendix C], rehearing
denied, 11 CIT___, 674 F. Supp. 868 (1987) [Appendix B]}.

BMT appealed to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal
Circuit, which affirmed the lower court’s judgment on the basis
of the lower court’s opinions. BMT Commodity Corp. v. United
States, 852 F.2d 1285 (Fed. Cir. 1988) [Appendix A]. This petition
follows.

The Issues Presented

The first issue presented by this petition is whether the panel
of the Court of Appeals correctly applied this Court’s decision
in Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass’n v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,
463 U.S. 29, 43, 103 S.Ct. 2856, 2866-67 (1983), and similar cases.
It is petitioner’s position that the lower court improperly
reformulated the different opinions of the individual
Commissioners and admittedly employed the liberal use of
assumptions and inferences to supply its own rationale for the
agency decision.

The second issue presented by this petition is whether the
panel of the Court of Appeals erred in affirming the Commission’s
determination notwithstanding the Commission’s admission that
(i) the sole evidence which the Commissioners considered on the
dispositive issue contains a blatant, obvious and critical error,
and (ii) the Commissioners failed to consider all the evidence of
record which the lower court held to be probative of the issue.

Overview

The federal courts have not previously considered the legal
standard for determining whether the establishment of an industry
in the United States has been ‘‘materially retarded’’ by less-than-
fair-value (‘‘dumped’’) imports and, therefore, this is a case of
first impression. All the parties agree that this determination must
rest on a finding that the nascent U.S. industry is viable before
it is entitled to protection from imports. (This long-standing
principle was recognized in 1791 by Alexander Hamilton in his
‘*Report on Manufacturers.’’) The parties disagree over the
standard for assessing an industry’s viability.

Here, the individual members of the Commission never
articulated a common legal standard and, in fact, voiced sharply
different opinions. Faced with widely different views, the lower
court resorted, admittedly, to inferences and assumptions to
reformulate the Commission’s views and identify a single legal
standard which the court then ascribed to the Commission’s
majority.

Equally wrong, the lower court also held that the
Commission’s determination of ‘‘viability at inception’’ was
supported by substantial evidence of record, even though the
Commission’s conclusion was based on fundamentally (and
admittedly) flawed evidence and ignored other evidence which
the court admitted was directly relevant.

Statement Of Facts

The product at the center of this litigation — dried salted
codfish — has long been a traditional food for peoples living along
the Mediterranean and Caribbean Seas and throughout Latin
America. U.S. demand for dried salted fish is concentrated in
Puerto Rico. Petitioner BMT, a United States corporation, imports
this product from Canada and elsewhere and sells it in Puerto Rico.

Codfish Corp., of Ponce, Puerto Rico, the defendant-
intervenor in the lower court, is the only company trying to
produce dried salted codfish in the United States. In 1982, the
promoters of Codfish Corp. produced a so-called ‘‘market
feasibility study.’’ According to this study, the proposed project
would involve the purchase of semi-processed (or ‘‘wet-salted’’)
codfish in Canada or Norway, the transport of this fish to Puerto
Rico and the drying of the fish at a local facility. The feasibility
study alleged that the new company would make substantial profits
in its first year of operation.

The company commenced operations in December 1982, but
began to lose money immediately. Faced with serious losses,
Codfish Corp. commissioned a second study by the Citicorp
Capital Markets Group to assess the viability of the company’s
operations and to provide advice concerning future options. The
Citicorp study concluded, in substance, that the company’s existing
operations were not viable’ and recommended that the company
develop a new source of ‘‘wet-salted’’ fish in Alaska. However,
Codfish Corp. was unable to secure the financing needed to
implement the Citicorp study’s recommendations and, in
November 1985, filed a petition for reorganization under Chapter
11 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code.’

The Antidumping Proceeding And
The Commission’s Determination

On July 19, 1984, Codfish Corp. filed an antidumping petition

1. Since the contents of the Citicorp study are confidential business
information covered by a judicial protective order, the specific conclusions of
the study are discussed in the confidential supplement to this petition.

2. These bankruptcy proceedings are still pending.

»

ry)

7

with the U.S. Department of Commerce and the U.S. International
Trade Commission. In July 1985, the Commission, by a 4-to-1
vote, ruled that the establishment of an industry in the United
States (represented solely by Codfish Corp.) was ‘‘materially
retarded’’ by reason of less-than-fair-value imports.of dried salted
codfish from Canada.’

The majority agreed with the contention of all parties that
“*{t}he viability of the nascent domestic industry is a relevant
consideration.’’* Accordingly, the Commissioners focused on ‘‘the
Canadian producers’ and importers’ argument . . . that [Codfish
Corp.'s] operation in Puerto Rico is inherently unviable, and could
never operate profitably, regardless of LTFV imports.’’* The
opinion by the majority Commissioners concluded that:

On the basis of our analysis of [Codfish Corp.'s]
marketing and feasibility study, the initial business
plan of the petitioner appears reasonably calculated
and could have succeeded.*

The majority also determined that Codfish Corp. possessed
‘future viability’’ in the sense of being ‘‘able to recommence
operations . . . and stabilize its production and sales at a level
which will allow it to become established.’’’

3. Appendix D at 2Sa.

4. Id. at 32a. However, as discussed infra at notes 20-21 and accompanying
text, two members of the Commission majority qualified their views in certain
respects. See Appendix D at 3la-32a nn. 16, 20.

5. Id. at 3la.

6. Id. at 32a.

7. Id. at 33a. One Commissioner, Mr. Eckes, did not consider future
viability and therefore did not join this determination.

Having resolved the issue of viability in favor of Codfish
Corp., the Commission ruled that the performance of the company
was ‘‘substantially poorer than that which could reasonably have
been expected’’ and that less-than-fair-value imports from Canada
had contributed to the material retardation.‘

The Decisions Of The U.S. Court Of International Trade

The Court of International Trade first addressed the legal
standard used by the Commission in determining that Codfish
Corp. was ‘‘viable.’’ The court agreed that ‘‘Codfish
Corporation’s viability at inception is a relevant consideration
in this case.’’* However, the court admitted that the ‘“‘majority
opinion does not explicitly state that the Commission was
considering the viability of Codfish Corporation from the time
of its inception,’’ but said that ‘‘this fact may be inferred’’ from
the opinion.'® On the basis of this inference, the court held that
a majority of the Commission had properly considered viability
at inception.

The court also ruled that the consideration of ‘‘future
viability’’ by three members of the Commission majority was

erroneous, but that this error ‘‘does not compel remand.’’''

On the issue of substantial evidence, the court addressed

8. Id. at 3la, 33a-39a.

9. Appendix C at 16a. The court noted that no party contested the relevance
of viability at inception. /d.

10. /d. at 17a n.4 (emphasis supplied).

11. Jd. at 19a.

a

BMT’s arguments that the Commission should not have relied
on Codfish Corp.’s patently and obviously flawed feasibility study,
and had erroneously failed to consider the Citicorp study (which
concluded that Codfish Corp. was not viable).'? Despite its
agreement with BMT that the Citicorp report was directly relevant
to the issue of viability at inception,'’ the lower court held ‘‘that
the Commission’s determination was supported by substantial
evidence.’’'*

On BMT’s motion for rehearing, the court adhered to its
Original decision, despite once again noting BMT’s ‘“‘assert{ion]
. . . that the initial feasibility study prepared on behalf of Codfish
Corporation and the break-even analysis prepared by the
Commission staff are ‘a mass of obviously incomplete data,
demonstrably faulty assumptions and half-baked accounting
techniques.’ ’’'* om

The Decision Of The Court Of Appeals

The Court of Appeals, on the basis of the lower court’s
decision, affirmed the judgment of the trial court that the
Commission’s determination was supported by substantial evidence
and was not otherwise contrary to law.'®

12. Id. at 20a-21a.
13. Id. at 2la-22a.

14. Id. at 22a.

1S. Appendix B at 7a.

16. Appendix A at 2a.

10
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decisions of the U.S. Court of International Trade and
the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit are in conflict
with decisions of this Court on two of the most basic principles
of administrative law: first, the administrative agency, and not
the reviewing court, must articulate a legally sufficient explanation
for its action; and second, an agency’s determination is supported
by substantial evidence only if, based on all relevant evidence
in the record, a reasonable mind might accept that evidence as
adequate to support the determination. The decisions below so
egregiously misapplied their roles as reviewing courts and so grossly
misread the evidence of record as to warrant this Court’s exercise
of its powers of supervision.

The Commission’s failure to articulate the legal standard for
its determination, the court’s substitution of its own rationale
for that of the Commission and the serious misreading of the
evidence of record are impermissible acts which frustrate the
statutory framework of judicial review of administrative action.
The result is even more egregious since it occurs in the context
of a case of first impression.

THE LOWER COURT IMPROPERLY SUPPLIED A
RATIONALE NOT ARTICULATED BY THE COMMISSION.

This Court has held on numerous occasions that it is the
administrative agency, and not a reviewing court, that ‘“‘must
articulate a satisfactory explanation for [the agency’s] action,
including a ‘rational connection between the facts found and the

11

choice made.’ *’'’ Where the agency has failed to provide a legally
sufficient explanation for its action ‘‘{t}he reviewing court should
not attempt itself to make up for such deficiencies; [the reviewing
court] may not supply a reasoned basis for the agency’s action
that the agency has not given.’’'* In short, the reviewing ‘*‘ ‘court
is not empowered to substitute its judgment for that of the
agency.’ rrie

In this case, the four majority Commissioners clearly did not
adopt a common legal standard. Commissioner Eckes, explained
that, unlike the other majority Commissioners, he ‘‘focused on
the viability of the domestic industry during the period of
investigation”’ and ‘‘d[id] not believe that the petitioner must prove

17. Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463
U.S. 29, 43, 103 S.Ct. 2856, 2866 (1983) (citing Burlington Truck Lines v. United
States, 371 U.S. 156, 168, 83 S.Ct. 239, 246 (1962)); accord, e.g., Bowen v.
American Hospital Ass'n, 476 U.S. 610, ___., 106 S.Ct. 2101, 2112-2113 (1986)
(plurality opinion by Stevens, J., joined by Marshall, Blackmun, and Powell,
JJ.); Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. v. National Resources Defense Council, Inc.,
462 U.S. 87, 105-106, 103 S.Ct. 2246, 2256 (1983); Bowman Transportation,
Inc. v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., 419 U.S. 281, 286-287, 95 S.Ct.
438, 442-443 (1975).

18. Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., supra,
463 U.S. at 43, 103 S.Ct. at 2867 (citing SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194,
196, 67 S. Ct. 15875, 1577 (1947)); accord, e.g., Bowman Transportation, Inc.
v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc., supra, 419 U.S. at 285-286, 95 S. Ct.
at 442; cf. Baltimore Gas & Electric Co. v. National Resources Defense Cour. *'
Inc., supra, 462 U.S. at 105-106, 103 S. Ct. at 2256 (“Our only task is to
determine’’ whether the agency provided a legally sufficient explanation.).

19. Bowman Transportation, Inc. v. Arkansas-Best Freight System, Inc.,
supra, 419 U.S. at 285, 95 S. Cr. at 442 (citing Citizens to Preserve Overton
Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402, 416, 91 S. Ct. 814, 824 (1971)); cf Bowen v.
American Hosp. Ass'n, supra, 106 S.Ct. at 2112 (“‘Agency deference has not
come so far that we will uphold regulations whenever it is possible to ‘conceive
a basis’ for administrative action."’).

\2

future viability . . . . ’’*° Commissioner Lodwick stated that he
**focused his attention ... primarily on the viability of the
domestic industry at its inception . . . . [but] also believe[d] that

. future viability is relevant.’’?' The other two majority
Commissioners, Chairwoman Stern and Commissioner Rohr, did
not set forth independent positions, but apparently looked at
something identified as ‘inherent viability’’ and at future viability.

On review, the lower court ignored the individual views of
the Commissioners. Instead, the court conciuded that the history
of Codfish Corp. divides into two time periods. According to
the lower court, the first period was “‘viability at inception,’’ which
apparently meant the viability of the company as it existed when
it commenced operations. (The court ruled that this period of
‘“*inception’’ was the proper time frame for the Commission’s
consideration.) The second period identified by the court was
‘*future viability,’’ which presumably meant the viability of tae
company in its restructured form. (The court ruled that this period
of ‘‘future viability’? should not have been considered by the
Commission.)

But these time periods are not delineated anywhere in the
Commission’s opinion. In fact, the lower court correctly observed
that the Commissioners’ opinion ‘‘does not explicitly state that
the Commission was considering the viability of Codfish
Corporation from the time of its inception.’’*? Instead, the court
“*inferred’” that the majority Commissioners had done so. The
court erroneously believed that it could properly ‘‘infer’’ an

20. Appendix D at 3la n.16, 32a n.21 (emphasis added).
21. /d. at 32a n.20 (emphasis added).
22. Appendix C at l6a n.4.

23. Id. (emphasis added).

13

explanation that the Commission did not articulate.

Equally improper, the lower court stated that ‘“‘the
Commission appears to have used the terms ‘inherent viability’
and ‘viability at inception’ interchangeably.’’** This statement is
contradicted by the lower court’s previous statement that the
Commission’s determination did not explicitly say that it was
considering viability at inception. To the extent the apparent
explanation of the Commission’s views were first advanced in
the Commission’s brief to the lower court, the court improperly
relied on a post hoc rationalization by counsel instead of the
grounds stated by the Commission.** In any event, the court
conceded that the Commission ‘‘appears to have used the terms
. . . interchangeably,’’ and it is obvious that the court based its
decision on what it assumed the Commission meant tc say —
not what the Commission said.

The lower court conceded that the ‘‘Commission’s use of
the term ‘future viability’ is somewhat confusing.’’** However,
the court resolved the confusion by volunteering that ‘‘{i]n this
investigation, . . . the term ‘future viability’ refers to the viability
of Codfish Corporation only in its restructured condition.’’*” Here
again, the court supplied an explanation not set forth in the
Cormmission’s determination.

24. Id. at 17a n.5 (emphasis added).

25. See e.g., Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass’n v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins.
Co., supra, 463 U.S. at 50, 103 S. Ct. at 2870 (“courts may not accept appellate
counsel’s post hoc rationalizations for agency action’’).

26. Appendix C at 18a n.6. The court could not ascertain with certainty
whether the Commission had used this term to mean the ability to survive into
the future or the viability of Codfish Corp. in its restructured form foreseen
in 1985.

27. Id. at 18a n.6.

14

Further, the lower court pointed out that “‘[o]ne of the four
commissioners in the majority stated that he had considered
‘viability during the period of investigation’ rather than viability
at inception.’’** Despite this explicit statement, the court ruled
that he ‘‘appears to have considered the same factors as the other
members of the majority.’’** Once again, the lower court’s decision
rests on what the court assumed, and not on what the
Commissioner said.

In sum, based entirely on what the majority ‘‘appeared”’ to
have done and what the court “‘inferred,’’ the reviewing court
supplied its own rationale to support the Commission's
determination. In so doing it violated a basic precept of
administrative law. Instead, it should have remanded the case for
further proceedings in accordance with law.”

THE COMMISSION'S DETERMINATION WAS NOT
SUPPORTED BY SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE.

A. The Feasibility Study Contains A Blatant Error That Invalidates
Its Conclusions.

The majority Commissioners admitted that their assessment
of the viability of Codfish Corp. at its inception was made ‘‘[o]n 4

28. Id. at 20a n.9. . 7
29

Id. (emphasis added). The lower court ruled that if Commissioner Eckes’
standard was not the same as “‘viability at inception,”’ his decision was erroneous.
Id.

30. Cf. Babcock & Wilcox Co. v. United States, 2 CIT 74, 76, $21 F. Supp.

479, 482 (1981) (remanding case for further consideration where ‘*[t}he views
of the Commissioners . . . are diverse’"), vacated as moot, 4 CIT 3 (1982).

preenreenuals

15

the basis of our analysis of [Codfish Corp.’s] marketing and
feasibility study . . . ."’’' Their reliance on the study was grossly
misplaced, for it contains a blatant error which, if corrected, leads
to the conclusion that Codfish Corp. was expected to be a losing
venture from the beginning.

The feasibility study’s projection of expenses, sales, and
profits purportedly shows that the company would have substantia!
profits in its first year of business.’* However, this projected
conclusion requires the company to sell a substantial quantity of
merchandise that it was not planning to produce. In the Court
of Appeals, counsel for the Commission conceded that the
feasibility study contains this error.’’ If the error is corrected,
the feasibility study shows that the company would suffer massive
losses, without showing any possibility of future profitability.

This error is fatal to the Commission’s determination that
Codfish Corp. was a viable entity at its inception. The Commission
determined that ‘‘[t]he elements of viability which are important
in this investigation [include] the ability to produce a. . . product

. . which can be sold at a price which is competitive with fairly

31. Appendix D at 32a. The Commissioners’ opinion does not identify
any other evidence of record that was considered on this issue.

For purposes of Point II of the Argument, BMT assumes, arguendo, that
the lower court correctly ruled that ‘‘viability at the inception’’ was the standard
applied by all members of the Commission majority.

32. Since the entire contents of the feasibility study are confidential business
information covered by a judicial protective order, the conclusions of the study
and the error in the projected earnings are discussed in the confidential
supplement to this petition.

33. See Appellee’s Confidential Brief at 39-40, BMT Commodity Corp.
v. United States, App. No. 88-1188 (May 4, 1988).

Ee

16

traded imports.’’** But Codfish Corp.’s own feasibility study shows
(after the blatant error is corrected) that it could not make a profit.

Both courts below disregarded this error in assessing the
substantiality of the evidence of record. This Court has
unequivocally held that substantial evidence ‘‘ ‘means such relevant
evidence as a reasonable mind might find adequate to support
a conclusion’ *’** and that the ‘‘substantiality of evidence must
take into account whatever in the record fairly detracts from its
weight.’’** Had this standard been properly applied to the evidence
of record in this case, the result below could not stand.

B. The Commission Failed To Consider Relevant Evidence In
The Citicorp Study.

The lower court apparently agreed with BMT’s argument that,
if the Commission had failed to consider the Citicorp study, its
investigation would have been legally insufficient. The court
explained that the ‘‘absence of information necessary for a
thorough analysis may render a [Commission] determination
unsupported by substantial evidence.’’’’ Moreover. the lower court

34. Appendix D at 32a.

35. Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474, 477, 71 S.Ct. 456,
459 (1951) (citing Consolidated Edison Co. v. N.L.R.B., 305 U.S. 197, 229,
59 S. Ct. 206, 216-217 (1938)). j

36. Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., supra, 340 U.S. at 488, 71 S.Ct.
at 464.

37. USX Corp. v. United States, 11 CIT ___, 655 F. Supp. 487, 493 (1987);
accord, e.g., Kenda Rubber Industrial Co. v. United States, 10 CIT __., 630
F. Supp. 354, 358 n.4 (1986) (Reversible error would exist where *‘the Commission
ha[s} not conducted a thorough investigation as required by statute."’); Budd
Co. v. United States, 1 CIT 67, 74, 507 F. Supp. 997, 1003 (1980) (‘‘[T]here
has been a lack of diligence by the Commission in seeking informaticn available
| Fae ’

17

rejected the government’s contention that the Citicorp study was
not a reasonable basis to assess viability at the inception because,
as the government argued, the study was ‘‘ ‘prepared with the
benefit of two years experience, and the hindsight which
accompanies experience ... .’ ’’** Instead, the court ruled that
the timing of the study does not diminish its ‘‘probative value
on the issue of viability’? and that ‘‘[a] report analyzing the
progress of an industry over time may contain important insights
into how ... specific factors affect profitability ....’’*°

However, the lower court erroneously concluded that the
Commission’s failure to consider the Citicorp study did not
warrant reversal because the Commission had considered the study
in assessing future viability.*° This reasoning ignores the court’s
own ruling that future viability should not have been considered;
it also erroneously assumes that the Commission would have
reached the same determination on viability at inception if it had
considered the Citicorp study.

The affirmance of the lower court’s position by the Court
of Appeals in this case is at variance with the views of other circuit
courts of appeals. In analogous cases the reviewing court (in other
circuits) has reversed and remanded an agency determination where
the agency had erroneously failed to consider relevant evidence.*'

38. Appendix C at 2la.
39. Id. at 2la-22a.

40. Id. at 22a.

41. E.g., American Rubber Products Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 244 F.2d 47, 51
(7th Cir. 1954) (N.L.R.B. finding reversed where ‘‘the Board erred in holding
{that certain] evidence lacked probative value... . ’’). See generally 3 K. Davis,
Administrative Law Treatise § 16:11 (2d ed. 1980).

18

In summary, if the Commission had considered the Citicorp
study, the Commission would, in all likelihood, have determined
that the company was not viable. The Commission failed to
consider the study for this purpose and therefore committed
reversible error; as did the reviewing courts in sustaining the
Commission’s determination.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioners respectfully pray that
this Court issue a Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of
the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

Dated: New York, New York
November 7, 1988

Respectfully submitted,

Jack Gumpert Wasserman
Counsel of Record
FREEMAN, WASSERMAN &
SCHNEIDER

Attorneys for Petitioners

90 John Street

New York, New York 10038
(212) 619-1770

la

APPENDIX A—OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BMT COMMODITY CORP. and Delca Distributors Inc.,
Plaintiffs-Appellants,
Vv.
The UNITED STATES,
Defendant-Appellee,
Codfish Corp.,
Defendant.
Appeal No. 88-1188

United States Court of Appeals,
Federal Circuit

Aug. 9, 1988

Appealed from U.S. Court of International Trade; Restani,
Judge.

Jerry P. Wiskin, Freeman, Wasserman & Schneider, New
York City, argued for plaintiffs-appellants. With him on the brief
were Jack Gumpert Wasserman and Patrick C. Reed.

Judith M. Czako, Office of General Counsel, U.S. Intern.
Trade Com’n, Washington, D.C., argued for defendant-appellee.
With her on the brief were Lyn M. Schlitt, Gen. Counsel and
James A. Toupin, Asst. Gen. Counsel.

2a

Appendix A

Before SMITH and MAYER, Circuit Judges, and
BENNETT, Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM.

BMT Commodity Corporation (BMT) appeals from the
judgment of the Court of International Trade in BMT Commodity
Corp. v. United States, 667 F.Supp. 880 (Ct. Int’] Trade 1987)
(Restani, J.). In this judgment the court sustained the International
Trade Commission’s (Commission) decision ‘‘that ‘the
establishment of an industry in the United States is materially
retarded by reason of imports of dried heavy salted codfish from
Canada, which the Department of Commerce has determined are
sold at less than fair value.’ ’’ Jd. at 881. BMT contests whether
the Commission applied the proper legal standard, whether the
Commission’s procedures were understood by the court, whether
the Commission’s determination was supported by substantial
evidence, and whether the Court of International Trade correctly

ruled that plaintiffs should have contested adverse confidential

evidence during the Commission’s proceedings.

We find no justifiable basis for overturning the decision of
the trial court and we see no need to reiterate its published analysis,
which we adopt. Accordingly, we affirm on the basis of that
opinion.

AFFIRMED.

)

3a

APPENDIX B—OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE (DENYING REHEARING)

BMT COMMODITY CORP.,
and
Delica Distributors, Inc.,

Plaintiffs,

v.
The UNITED STATES,
e. Defendants,
and
Codfish Corp.,
Defendant-Intervenor.
No. 85-7-00915

United States Court of International Trade
Nov. 19, 1987

Freeman, Wasserman & Schneider (Jack G. Wasserman and
Jerry P. Wiskin), New York City, for plaintiffs.

Lyn M. Schlitt, Gen. Counsel, James A. Toupin, Asst. Gen.
Counsel and Judith M. Czako, U.S. International Trade Com’n,
Washington, D.C., for defendants.

4a
Appendix B

Patton, Boggs & Blow (Bart S. Fisher, Michael D. Esch, and 4
Daniel E. Waltz), Washington, D.C., for defendant-intervenor.

OPINION
RESTANI, Judge.

Plaintiffs, BMT Commodity Corp. and Delca Distributors,
Inc., pursuant to Rule 59 of the Rules of this court, move for
a rehearing of this court’s opinion and judgment in this action.
BMT Commodity Corp. v. United States, 11 CIT ___, 667
F.Supp. 880 (1987). That opinion and judgment denied plaintiffs’
motion for judgment based upon the administrative record
challenging the International Trade Commission’s (Commission)
final affirmative dumping determination in Certain Dried Salted
Codfish from Canada, USITC Pub. No. 1711, Inv. No.
731-TA-199 (July 1985) (ITC Determination).

In their motion for rehearing, plaintiffs argue that: (1) the
court misconstrued the opinions of the Commission regarding
*“‘viability at inception’’ and ‘‘viability in the future,’’ and (2)
the court misinterpreted or overlooked evidence of record. For
the following reasons, plaintiffs’ motion for rehearing is denied
in all respects. .

A motion for rehearing is addressed to the sound discretion
of the court. United States v. Gold Mountain Coffee, Ltd., et
al., 8 CIT 336, 601 F.Supp. 212 (1984). The exceptional
circumstances for granting a rehearing were clearly enunciated
in W.J. Byrnes & Co. v. United States, 68 Cust. Ct. 358, C.R.D.
72-5 (1972) as follows:

A rehearing may be proper when there has

Sa

Appendix B

been some error or irregularity in the trial, a serious
evidentiary flaw, a discovery of important new
evidence which was not available, even to the
diligent party, at the time of trial, or an occurrence
at trial in the nature of an accident or unpredictable
surprise or unavoidable mistake which severely
impaired a party’s ability to adequately present its
case. In short, a rehearing is a method of rectifying
a significant flaw in the conduct of the original
proceeding.

68 Cust. Ct. at 358 (footnote omitted).

The purpose of a rehearing is not to retry a case. Brookside
Veneers, Ltd. v. United States, II CIT__, 661 F.Supp. 620
(1987), appeal docketed, No. 87-1379 (Fed. Cir. June 4, 1987).

With regard to their first argument, plaintiffs assert
specifically that the court wrongly inferred that the Commission
majority explored Codfish Corporation’s viability at inception.
In addition, plaintiffs allege that the court incorrectly concluded
that Codfish Corporation filed a petition under the bankruptcy
laws in late 1984 and that this error ‘‘colors the relevant time
frames which all parties (and the Court) recognize as critical and
bears directly on the sufficiency of the evidence relied on by the
Commission’s majority.’’ Plaintiffs’ Memorandum at 4-5.

These grounds possess none of the criteria upon which a
rehearing may be granted. Plaintiffs argued at length in their
motion for judgment on the administrative record that the
Commission failed to focus its material retardation analysis on
Codfish Corporation’s ‘‘viability at inception.’’ They are not now
entitled to a rehearing simply because the court rejected those

6a

Appendix B

arguments. This court has consistently denied motions for
rehearing premised solely on the moving party’s dissatisfaction
with the trial court’s decision. E.g., V.G. Nahrgang Co. v. United
States, 6 CIT 210 (1983); Industrial Fasteners Group v. United
States, 3 CIT i104 (1982); Gold Mountain Coffee, 8 CIT 336, 601
F.Supp. 212.

There appears to be some confusion between the date of
bankruptcy and the date operations of Codfish Corporation first
ceased. In fact, the bankruptcy petition appears not to have been
filed until November, 1985, several months after the Commission’s
final determination of July, 1985 and approximately a year after
Codfish Corporation first discontinued its operations. Any error
as to the date of official filing is not, however, a ‘‘significant
flaw’’ which gives rise to the right for rehearing. In fact, such
an error would in no way affect the substance of the court’s
decision. Because this court concluded, and plaintiffs agree, that
the appropriate focus of analysis of viability of the domestic
industry in this material retardation case was at its inception, the
precise date dt which the bankruptcy petition was filed is
inconsequential. Furthermore, to the extent the court discussed
viability other than based on analysis of initial feasibility, it was
concerned with plans for future operations, not change in legal
status under the bankruptcy laws.

Plaintiffs’ second argument in support of their motion is that
the court misinterpreted or overlooked evidence of record.
Specifically, they claim that the court erroneously concluded that
plaintiffs did not contest the raw data contained in Codfish
Corporation’s initial feasibility study; and that the court
misconstrued the record in determining that there was substantial
evidence to establish that Codfish Corporation had sufficient
working capital and that the market for dried salted codfish was
not declining.

7a

Appendix B

Plaintiffs assert now, as they did in their original brief, that
the two documents on which the Commission relied, the initial
feasibility study prepared on behalf of Codfish Corporation and
the break-even analysis prepared by the Commission staff, are
‘‘a mass of obviously incomplete data, demonstrably faulty
assumptions and half-baked accounting techniques.’’ Plaintiffs’
Memorandum at 12. In support of this general condemnation,
plaintiffs claim that transportation costs utilized in the initial
feasibility study were flawed and that the study’s reliance on the
procurement of raw materials from traditional source countries
was misplaced. Plaintiffs’ Memorandum at 13.

In making its determination, the Commission concluded that
any disadvantages Codfish Corporation may have had vis-a-vis
Canadian producers in the areas of transportation costs or in
procuring raw materials were offset by advantages gained in
reduced labor costs and easy access to local markets. ITC
Determination at 7. The court found this conclusion to be
supported by substantial evidence in the record. 667 F.Supp. at
885-86.

Plaintiffs’ present assertion that ‘‘the raw data in the initial
feasibility study regarding Codfish Corporation’s transportation
costs was specifically attacked and unquestionably demonstrated
to be seriously flawed’’ is simply incorrect. Plaintiffs’
Memorandum at 13. The only attack on transportation costs by
plaintiffs prior to the motion for rehearing was leveled at raw
data contained in Codfish Corporation’s May, 1985 study, not
the initial feasibility study, and relates to the cost of transporting
raw material from ‘‘new sources.’’ Plaintiffs’ Main Brief
supporting their Rule 56.1 motion at 30. The accuracy of this
data, which is relevant only to the issue of Codfish Corporation’s
viability after it was already affected by LTFV imports, affords

8a

Appendix B

plaintiffs no basis for a rehearing. Likewise, plaintiffs’ preference
for conclusions contained in the Citicorp study regarding the cost
effectiveness of Codfish Corporation procuring raw materials from
traditional source countries over those contained in the initial
feasibility study affords plaintiffs no basis for a rehearing.
Plaintiffs, once again, are simply repeating arguments previously
made in this case which have been rejected by the court.

Plaintiffs state two objections to the court’s treatment of
the working capital issue: first, the court should not have faulted
plaintiffs for failing to present specific evidence regarding Codfish
Corporation’s capital needs because the Commission denied
plaintiffs’ request for disclosure of Codfish Corporation’s initial
feasibility study; and second, the court’s conclusion that Codfish
Corporation’s working capital was adequate was based on
unsubstantiated statements of counsel which demonstrates an
absence in the record of substantial evidence which would support
this factual determination by the court. Plaintiffs’ Memorandum
at 14-17.

While access to Codfish Corporation’s feasibility study might
have helped plaintiffs prepare their argument, given the availability
of other sources of relevant information, including the opportunity
to question Codfish Corporation’s president Paulo da Cunha at
the May 20, 1985 ITC hearing, the court is not convinced that
the Commission’s refusal to disclose the feasibility study
irreparably hindered plaintiffs’ presentation. In any case, disputes
regarding access to information at the administrative level should
be resolved during the administrative proceeding. Substantial
evidence exists in the record to support the Commission’s
determination and the determination will not be overturned merely
because, under other circumstances, plaintiffs might have presented
more evidence.

ne

9a

Appendix B

Plaintiffs argue that the court’s opinion on working capital
cites only statements of counsel in support of this conclusion and
not actual evidence in the record. Although counsels’ statements
are cited, this does not signify that evidence of record does not
exist. The court had before it the entire record compiled before
the Commission, including the initial feasibility study, when it
evaluated plaintiffs’ arguments and the Commission’s
determination. E.g., ITC Staff Report at A-31 to A-38; Codfish
Corporation’s Initial Market Feasibility Study, reprinted in ITC
Staff Report A-101, A-109 (Appendix C). Based upon this
evaluation of the record, the court found that substantial evidence
existed to support the conclusion that Codfish Corporation did
not lack working capital with which to purchase inventory. If
plaintiffs wish to take issue with this evaluation, they may not
do so now before this court. ‘‘An allegedly incorrect evaluation
of evidence by a trial court is not a proper ground for rehearing
but for appeal.’’ Eiseman-Ludmar Co. v. United States, 2 CIT
109 (1981). Although this matter did not come before the court
for de novo hearing, the proposition remains true here as well.

Plaintiffs’ final argument, that substantial evidence does not
exist to support the conclusion that the demand for cod was not
declining, must also be dismissed. Plaintiffs cite a statement by
the Puerto Rico Chamber of Commerce that demand in Puerto
Rico for dried salted fish had declined. In support of the contrary
conclusion, the Commisson relied upon data that the sales volume
of cod was stable at relatively high price levels. Plaintiffs contend
that this data is inaccurate and beyond the scope of investigation
because the data was not compiled at the time of Codfish
Corporation’s inception. First, this argument takes issue with the
court’s evaluation of evidence and provides plaintiffs with no basis
for a rehearing. Second, this argument is not compelling. The
pricing data relied upon by the Commission appears in the

10a

Appendix B

appendix to the determination. The fact that the data was compiled
in 1985 should not obviate its probative value. In verifying the
relevance of portions of the Citicorp Study, the court recognized
that following the progress of an industry could reveal important
information about initial viability, (provided LTFV effects were
taken into consideration). Consumer demand is clearly a factor
that may be better understood by observing fluctuations over time.
Thus, there does not seem to be any inconsistency in the court’s
analysis.

In summary, plaintiffs have advanced no argument that the
court did not consider in its original decision and have presented
no acceptable grounds for granting a rehearing.

Accordingly, plaintiffs’ motion for a rehearing, pursuant to
Rule 59, is denied and the original decision must be adhered to.

lla

APPENDIX C—OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF INTERNATIONAL TRADE (DECISION AND
JUDGMENT)

BMT COMMODITY CORP., and Delica Distributors, Inc.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

UNITED STATES and United States International Trade
Commission

Defendants,
and
Codfish Corp.,
Defendant-Intervenor.
Court No. 85-7-00915
United States Court of International Trade.
July 22, 1987.

Freeman, Wasserman & Schneider, Jack G. Wasserman, New
York City, for plaintiffs.

Lyn M. Schlitt, General Counsel, Michael P. Mabile, Asst.
General Counsel and Judith M. Czako, U.S. Intern. Trade Com’n,
Washington, D.C., for defendants.

12a

Appendix C

Patton, Boggs & Blow, Bart S. Fisher and Michael D. Esch, ’
Washington, D.C., for defendant-intervenor. -

OPINION
RESTANI, Judge:

Plaintiffs initiated this action to challenge the International
Trade Commission’s (Commission) final affirmative dumping
determination in Certain Dried Salted Codfish from Canada, Inv.
No. 731-TA-199, USITC Pub. No. 1711.' In its determination,
the Commission concluded that ‘‘the establishment of an industry
in the United States is materially retarded by reason of imports
of dried heavy salted codfish from Canada, which the Department
of Commerce (Commerce) has determined are sold at less than
fair value (LTFV).’’ ITC Determination at 3.

The domestic industry under review consists of only one
company, defendant-intervor Codfish Corporation, which
commenced operations in November 1982, in Ponce, Puerto Rico.’

1. The results of the final determination are also published at 51 Fed.Reg.
16,904 (May 7, 1986).

2. Although the Tariff Act of 1930 does not specifically include Puerto
Rico as part of the United States for purposes of the Act, plaintiffs have not
contested this issue. The court notes that the Tariff Schedules of the United
States and the Antidumping Act of 1921 both contained definitions of ‘‘The
United States’’ which encompassed Puerto Rico. The Trade Agreements Act
of 1979 did not adopt the definition of ‘“‘United States’’ included in the
Antidumping Act of 1921, but there is no indication that Congress intended
to exclude Puerto Rico from the purview of the Act. See S. Rep. No. 249,
96th Cong., Ist Sess. at 107 (no substantial rules intended to be changed except
as indicated in the Report), reprinted in 1979 U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News
381, 493.

a

13a

Appendix C

Id, at 5. Due to declining import prices, Codfish Corporation
suffered large operating losses from 1982 through the third quarter
of 1984. On July 19, 1984, it filed its antidumping petition; five
months later it ceased operating and filed a petition for
reorganization under the federal bankruptcy laws. At the time
the final determination was published, Codfish Corporation had
taken steps to reopen its plant. It received approval for a $2 million
line of credit from the Government Development Bank, and
negotiated several new agreements for the procurement of fresh
cod and the distribution of its processed product. Jd. at 8-9.

In its determination, the Commission concluded that a
pervasive pattern of underseliing by dominant Canadian imports
of codfish had resulted in the suppression and depression of
domestic prices. Jd. at 11. The Commission confirmed virtually
all of defendant-intervenor’s allegations of lost sales and revenues,
id. at 12, and further found that the prices of Canadian imports,
after falling continuously from 1982 through the third quarter
of 1984, rose across the board after defendant-intervenor ceased
production in the final quarter of 1984. Jd. at 11.

Plaintiffs do not contest these conclusions; rather, they
challenge a portion of the legal framework developed by the
Commission for cases involving the material retardation of
domestic industries. The parties agree that existing case law,
administrative precedent, and legislative history offer little guidance
in this area. Prior Commission determinations establish only that
‘*(1) application of the material retardation standard is not limited
to industries that have not yet begun production, but extends as
well to new facilities that have initiated production but have not
yet stabilized their operations; (2) because the attempt to establish
a new industry is inherently unique, determination of whether
the establishment of an industry is materially retarded is to be

l4a

Appendix C

made on a case-by-case basis; and (3) in instances involving an
industry that has not yet undertaken production, there must be
a sufficient indication that the industry has made a ‘substantial
commitment’ to commence production.’’’ Jd. at 4-5.

The Commission developed additional legal standards to
complete the analytical framework necessary for its material
retardation analysis. It first attempted to ascertain whether the
investigation involved material injury or the threat thereof, rather
than material retardation. Because defendant-intervenor was
“‘never able to stabilize production at a level which even
approached a reasonable break-even point,’’ the Commission
determined that its operations were never ‘‘established,’’ and,
therefore, that material retardation was the applicable legal
standard. Jd. at 5.

Having concluded that material retardation was at issue, the
Commission then stated that the proper inquiry for determining
the presence of material retardation was ‘‘whether the level of
activities of Codfish Corporation reflect merely the normal start-
up conditions of a company entering an admittedly difficult market
or whether the performance is worse than what could reasonably
be expected and thus be deemed materially retarded.’’ Jd. The
majority determined that Codfish Corporation’s performance was,
in fact, worse than what could reasonably be expected, but it did
not conclude that material retardation had been established at

3. See, e.g., Thin Sheet Glass from Switzerland, Belgium, and the Federal
Republic of Germany, Inv. Nos. 731-TA-127, 128, and 129, USITC Pub. No.
1376 (1983) (Preliminary Dumping); Certain Commuter Airplanes from France
and Italy, Inv. Nos. 701-TA-174 and 175, USITC Pub. No. 1296 (1982)
(Preliminary Dumping); Sa/mon Gill Fish Netting of Manmade Fibers from
Japan, Inv. No. 751-TA-5, USITC Pub. No. 1234 (1982) (Review of Dumping
Determination under § 751(b) of the Tariff Act of 1930).

15a

Appendix C

this point. Instead, the majority stated that the viability of
defendant-intervenor’s business was also a relevant concern in
this case. Jd. at 7. The elements of viability that the Commission
considered important in this case were “‘the ability to produce
a marketable product, which is qualitatively acceptable to
purchasers, and which can be sold at a price which is competitive
with fairly traded imports.’’ /d. at 8. After finding that Codfish
Corporation’s business was viable, the Commission concluded
that material retardation had been established. Jd. at 8-9.

Plaintiffs object to the Commission’s treatment of the viability
issue, claiming that the legal standard of viability formulated by
the majority was not in accordance with law, and that its finding
of viability was unsupported by substantial evidence. These issues
are addressed below.

I. The Legal Propriety of the Commission’s Viability Standard

Plaintiffs argue that the Commission’s determination was
not in accordance with law because a majority of the
commissioners did not adopt ‘‘a single, identifiable standard of
law’’ on the issue of viability. Plaintiffs’ Reply Brief at 7. In the
determination, one commissioner focused solely upon the viability
of the domestic industry during the period of investigation. He
explicitly stated that, in his opinion, the petitioner need not prove
future viability. ITC Determination at 7 n. 16. Another
commissioner considered the viability of Codfish Corporation at
its inception, but stated that future viability was also relevant
‘*as it strengthen[ed] his conclusions concerning the viability of
the domestic industry.”” Jd. at 8 n. 20. The two remaining
commissioners who concurred in the majority opinion focused
upon the viability of Codfish Corporation at its inception and
in the future. Jd. at 7-8.

16a

Appendix C

In order for the Commission’s determination to be upheld
in this case, the court must be able to discern from the
determination that a majority of the Commission has based its
conclusions upon legally sufficient reasoning. See 19 U.S.C.
§ 1677(11)(c)(1982). C. USX Corp. v. United States, 11 CIT
___., 655 F.Supp. 487, 497 (1987) (action remanded where
majority of commissioners failed to cumulate imports for reasons
contrary to law). The court will first consider the soundness of
the Commission’s legal approach and will then discuss the extent
to which the legal underpinnings were accepted by the individual
commissioners.

None of the parties to this proceeding have challenged the
Commission’s conclusion that Codfish Corporation’s viability at
inception is a relevant consideration in this case.‘ As plaintiffs
have stated, it would be counterproductive for the unfair trade
laws to provide relief to domestic industries that cannot compete.
See R. Caves and R. Jones, World Trade and Payments 260 (1973)
(‘protection is not worthwhile if the [domestic] industry could
never compete’’); accord, J. Viner, Dumping: A Problem in
International Trade 137 (1966). The imposition of duties upon
foreign :mports would only increase costs to American consumers,
without providing a reciprocal benefit to nascent American
industries. In its determination, the Commission considered
Codfish Corporation’s labor, energy and raw materials costs; the
cost-effectiveness of its distribution and marketing channels; and
the effect of the hot, humid Puerto Rican climate on the cost

4. The majority determination does not explicitly state that the Commission
was considering the viability of Codfish Corporation from the ‘time of its
inception; however, this fact may be inferred from the Commission’s statement
that it analyzed the company’s initia/ business plan and original marketing and
feasibility study. ITC Determination at 8.

17a

Appendix C

of drying the codfish. ITC Determination at 7-8. These variables
can all affect the viability of a nascent enterprise, and therefore
were proper objects of scrutiny for the Commission.’

Although it agrees with the analysis of ‘‘viability at inception’’
performed by the Commission, the court has some reservations
about the Commission’s analysis of ‘‘future viability.’ Observing
that Codfish Corporation had ceased operations and filed for
bankruptcy in November 1984, the Commission stated that ‘‘[t]he
future viability of petitioner’s business operations is a relevant

5. Codfish Corporation seizes upon language in the determination to argue
that the Commission was solely concerned with inherent viability. See ITC
Determination at 7. It contends that the inherent viability standard requires
the Commission to conclude that an industry is not viable only if “‘inherent
disadvantages entirely unrelated to the effects of LTFV imports . . . remove
any commercial possibility that the industry could become established. " Brief
of Defendant-Intervenor at 13. In effect, Codfish Corporation requests that
the Commission ‘‘defer to the business judgment of investors, so long as their
plan of operations is within the realm of commercial reasonableness.”’ /d. at 12.

In the determination and in its brief, the Commission appears to have used
the terms ‘‘inherent viability’’ and ‘‘viability at inception’’ interchangeably. Its
finding of viability was based upon evidence that ‘‘the initial business plan of
(Codfish Corporation] appear(ed] reasonably calculated and could have
succeeded.’ ITC Determination at 8. This analysis of viability does not appear
to be as deferential to the judgment of investors as the interpretation offered
by Codfish Corporation. Some of the factors considered by the Commission,
such as marketing channels and energy costs are not truly inherent in the nature
of an enterprise since they may change over the short term. Furthermore, nothing
in the Commission’s determination implies that the judgment of investors, no
matter how misguided, should be accorded substantial deference. Without
attempting to define the parameters of the viability standard further, a task
the Commission will no doubt undertake in future cases, the court simply
concludes that the Commission acted reasonably in the selection of factors to
be considered in making the viability determination here.

18a

Appendix C

issue in determining whether the establishment of a domestic
industry is being materially retarded.’’ ITC Determination at 8.
It then discussed Codfish Corporation’s new plans for
recapitalization, product distribution, and alternative sources of
cod supply. Jd. at 8-9. On the basis of this information, the
Commission performed a ‘‘break-even analysis’? of Codfish
Corporation’s operations to determine whether it ‘‘could be able
to recommence operations, given fairly traded competition from
imports, and stabilize its production and sales at a level which
will allow it to become established.’’ Jd. at 9.°

The import of the Commission’s analysis is that it could have
denied relief based upon the conditions under which Codfish
Corporation was to be reorganized. In other words, even if it
had found Codfish Corporation’s pre-reorganization problems
were attributable to LTFV imports, the Commission could have
made a negative determination simply because the imposition of
duties would not have been an effective solution to the injured
industry’s problems.

Such a test would run afoul of 19 U.S.C. § 1673d(b)(1)(B),
by allowing the Commission to make a negative determination
when material retardation is being caused by LTFV imports. In
its determination, the Commission considered the reorganized
industry’s new characteristics to evaluate future viability. The

6. The Commission’s use of the term ‘‘future viability’’ is somewhat
confusing. A determination that an industry is ‘‘viable’’ necessarily means that
it is capable of surviving into the future. To the extent that ‘‘future viability’’
is used in this redundant fashion, the court has no objection to it. In this
investigation, however, the term ‘“‘future viability’’ refers to the viability of
Codfish Corporation only in its restructured condition. The court’s objection
to the Commission’s ‘‘future viability’’ analysis specifically refers to the use
of the term in this fashion. ss

vay ere" | |

19a

Appendix C

Commission, however, failed to consider how the existence of
LTFV imports in the marketplace affected the terms upon which
the reorganized Codfish Corporation procured fresh financing
and signed new contracts. Where the Commission judges ‘‘future
viability’’ based upon factors affected by LTFV imports, without
adequately considering such effects, its analysis is inherently
flawed. If no allowance is made for the continuing effects of LTFV
imports, foreign enterprises that force nascent domestic firms into
bankruptcy, in certain circumstances, could preclude indefinitely
the establishment of such industries. Such a result cannot
reasonably be intended by the statute.’

The Commission’s analysis of ‘‘future viability,’’ however,
does not compel remand. The Commission did not make a negative
determination based upon ‘‘future viability.’” The Commission’s
decision was affirmative, and its analysis is sufficient to support
the affirmative determination. All four commissioners concurring
in the majority opinion agreed on the analysis of the relevant
issue here: Codfish Corporation’s viability apart from the effects
of LTFV imports (which in this case is essentially ‘‘viability

7. Plaintiffs argue that the Commission’s finding of ‘‘future viability’’ is
equivalent to a determination that there is a ‘‘threat of future injury’’ to a nascent
industry. Plaintiffs’ Brief at 12. Plaintiffs contend that this test defies
Congressional intent, because Congress specifically chose to incorporate a
“*threat’’ analysis only with respect to material injury of an established industry.
See 19 U.S.C. § 1673d(b)(1)(A) (1982 & Supp. III 1985). The court does not
find this argument persuasive. The Commission did not find that there was
a threat of ‘‘future retardation,’’ as plaintiff contends. Rather, the Commission
concluded that the reorganized corporation could become established. ITC
Determination at 9. In effect, the Commission performed a present material
retardation analysis with respect to both the original and restructured entities.

20a
Appendix C

at inception’’).* The only difference of opinion among this group
concerned the propriety of ‘‘future viability’’ as a relevant factor
in the case.’ For this reason, the court concludes that the
determination was reached in a manner in accordance with law.

II. Substantial Evidence

Plaintiffs also contend that the Commission’s final
determination is not supported by substantial evidence in the
record. ‘‘Substantial evidence’’ refers to ‘such relevant evidence
as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a
conclusion.’’ Matsushita Electric Indus. Co. v. United States, 750
F.2d 927, 933 (Fed.Cir.1984) (quoting Universal Camera Corp.
v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 477, 71 S.Ct. 456, 459, 95 L.Ed. 456
(1951)). Again, plaintiffs, do not challenge the portion of the
determination regarding causation, but attack only that portion
of the determination relating to the viability of Codfish
Corporation. Specifically, plaintiffs contend that the Commission
relied upon ‘‘error-ridden’’ documents; accepted the company’s
unrealistic assertions regarding its fixed costs, future sources of
cod, and future costs of transportation; and improperly failed

8. The court does not preclude the possibility that in another case it can
be demonstrated that an industry once considered viable is no longer viable
because of changing conditions, apart from the effects of LTFV imports. See
supra, note 6. This is not the case at hand. Plaintiffs have made no showing
that there were such unaffected factors.

9. One of the four commissioners in the majority stated that he had
considered ‘‘viability during the period of the investigation,’’ rather than viability
at inception. ITC Determination at 7 n. 16. This commissioner, however appears
to have considered the same factors as the other members of the majorit’. Even
if his reasoning were construed to conflict with the other members, the
determination would still be supported by a majority of three commissio.ers.

2la

Appendix C

to consider the declining market for cod in its break-even analysis.
Plaintiffs’ Brief at 24-34. In addition, plaintiffs contend that
Codfish Corporation was not viable at its inception because it
was located in a hot, humid region where drying costs are high,
and because it lacked adequate capital, marketing ability, and
an economical source of cod. Plaintiffs’ Brief at 18-22.

Plaintiffs do not contend that the initial feasibility study
considered by the Commission was flawed because of defects in
the raw data contained in the report. Rather, plaintiffs challenge
the conclusions reached in the document, and express a preference
for the findings made in a separate study prepared by the Citicorp
Capital Markets Group. Plaintiffs allege that the majority erred
by not considering this report and adopting some of its conclusions.
In essence, plaintiffs are questioning the thoroughness of the
Commission’s investigation. See Kenda Rubber Indus. Co. v.
United States, 10 CIT ___., 630 F.Supp. 354, 356 n. 4 (1986)
(contrasting determinations not supported by substantial evidence
to those in which the underlying investigation was not legally
sufficient).

In response, the government has challenged the relevancy of
the Citicorp report, stating that ‘‘a study prepared with the benefit
of two years experience, and the hindsight which accompanies
experience, is hardly a reasonable basis upon which to conclude
that Codfish Corporation was not viable at its inception.’’
Defendants’ Brief at 20. Plaintiffs dismiss this argument as
‘“*crypto-legalese mumbo-jumbo”’ and maintain that the timing
of the report should not affect its probative value on the issue
of viability. Plaintiffs’ Reply at 13.

Plaintiffs’ characterization of defendants’ argument is a bit
overstated, but not far off the mark. A report analyzing the

22a

Appendix C

progress of an industry over time may contain important insights
into how a specific factors affect profitability, provided that these
factors are considered in light of the possible effect of LTFV
imports. Nevertheless, it is apparent that the Citicorp study was
considered by the Commission during the preparation of its own
break-even analysis. See ITC Determination at A-24. Thus, the
ITC cannot be said to have conducted an insufficient investigation
as a matter of law; the real question at issue is whether, in light
of the Citicorp report, the Commission’s findings are supported
by substantial evidence.

After reviewing the remaining allegations and related material
in the record, the court finds that the Commission’s determination
was supported by substantial evidence. Although plaintiffs assert
that Codfish Corporation’s working capital was inadequate, they
presented no evidence to the Commission regarding the level of
working capital necessary for the proper functioning of Codfish-
Corporation’s facility. Plaintiffs offered some evidence on the
amount of working capital their own facility requires, but this
data was not shown to be applicable to Codfish Corporation.
Hearing Transcript at 112. Furthermore, defendant-intervenor
presented uncontroverted evidence that Codfish Corporation never
lacked working capital with which to purchase inventory. See
Prehearing Brief of Codfish Corp. at 36. ;

From the record, it is also clear that the Commission was
aware of Codfish Corporation’s practice of marketing strictly to
wholesale purchasers. ITC Staff Report at A-13. Although
plaintiffs argue that this strategy destroyed the company’s viability,
there is no evidence in the record demonstrating that this was
an unreasonable practice, or that it was an inherent feature of
the company’s business strategy. Plaintiffs cite a passage from
the Citicorp study which concluded that the company ‘‘did not

es

23a

Appendix C

establish a coherent marketing strategy,’’ but the study did not
conclude that direct access to retailers was essential for viability.
It stated that ‘‘{a] link to an existing strong wholesaler with a
good sales force is the logical route for the company to follow
.... Citicorp Study, Doc. 2, at 49.

The Commission also rejected plaintiffs’ assertion that
consumer demand for cod was declining. It specifically noted that
the sales volume of codfish was stable at relatively high price levels
in 1985, a fact suggesting that demand was not declining for the
product. ITC Determination at 12. Plaintiffs’ remaining
contentions, that sources of codfish were too expensive, and that
the Puerto Rican climate is unacceptable for a fish drying
operation, were found by the majority not to outweigh advantages
that Codfish Corporation gained by locating near a large codfish
market with low labor costs. ITC Determination at 7. It is not
the function of this court to ‘‘re-weigh’’ factors considered by
the Commission; it may only consider whether the Commission’s
determinations are supported by substantial evidence. Matsushita
Electric, 750 F.2d at 936. The Commission has clearly satisfied
this test.

As indicated, the court has concluded that the Commission’s
finding regarding initial viability was supported by substantial
evidence. The court need not consider whether substantial evidence
supported the Commission’s determination with respect to the
industry’s post-bankruptcy cod sources, transportation costs, and
re-capitalization because the record contains no evidence to support
a decision to set aside the finding of initial viability due to changed
circumstances independent of LTFV imports.'°

10. As discussed above, the court does not find it necessary to review the
(Cont’d)

24a

Appendix C

For the foregoing reasons, the Commission’s decision is
sustained.

JUDGMENT

This case having been duly submitted for decision and the
Court, after due deliberation, having rendered a decision herein;
now, in conformity with said decision,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED: that plaintiffs’ motion for
judgment based upon the administrative record is denied and this
action is hereby dismissed.

(Cont'd)

Commission's discussion of ‘future viability.’’ The court notes, however, that
if it had reviewed this aspect of the determination, it would have rejected
plaintiffs’ arguments. The Commission’s ‘future viability’’ analysis considered
the same factors discussed in its analysis of ‘‘viability at inception,”’ and was
supported by substantial evidence contained in the Citicorp study and in the
Commission’s own break-even analysis.

—

2Sa

APPENDIX D — DETERMINATION OF THE U.S.
INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION

UNITED STATES INTERNATIONAL TRADE COMMISSION
Washington, DC

Investigation No. 731-TA-199 (Final)
CERTAIN DRIED SALTED CODFISH FROM CANADA
Determination

On the basis of the record' developed in the subject
investigation, the Commission’ determines, pursuant to section
735(b) of the Tariff Act of 1930 (19 U.S.C. § 1673d(b)), that
the establishment of an industry in the United States is materially
retarded by reason of imports from Canada of certain dried heavy
salted codfish, provided for in item 111.22 of the Tariff Schedules
of the United States, which have been found by the Department
of Commerce to be sold in the United States at less than fair
value (LTFV).

Background

The Commission instituted this investigation effective January
29, 1985, following a preliminary determination by the Department
of Commerce that imports of certain dried heavy salted codfish
from Canada were being sold at LTFV within the meaning of
section 731 of the Act (19 U.S.C. § 1673). Notice of the institution
of the Commission’s investigation and of a public hearing to be

~

1. The record is defined in sec. 207.2(i) of the Commission’s Rules of
Practice and Procedure (19 CFR § 207.2(i)).

2. Vice Chairman Liebeler dissenting.

26a

Appendix D

held in connection therewith was given by posting copies of the
notice in the Office of the Secretary, U.S. International Trade
Commission, Washington, DC, and by publishing the notice in
the Federal Register of February 21, 1985 (SO FR 7236). The
hearing was held in Washington, DC, on May 20, 1985, and all
persons who requested the opportunity were permitted to appear
in person or by counsel.

VIEWS OF CHAIRWOMAN PAULA § STERN,
COMMISSIONER ALFRED E. ECKES,
COMMISSIONER SEELEY G. LODWICK, AND
COMMISSIONER DAVID B. ROHR

On the basis of the record in investigation No. 731-TA-199
(Final), we determine that the establishment of an industry in
the United States is materially retarded by reason of imports of
dried heavy salted codfish from Canada, which the Department
of Commerce (Commerce) has determined are sold at less than
fair value (LTFV). The Commission’s investigation reveals
suppression and depression of domestic prices, as well as confirmed
instances of lost sales and lost revenues due to imports from
Canada. The petitioner was unable to market its product
competitively and thereby stabilize its production and sales at a
level which would allow it to become established.

Like product and the domestic industry’
Dried heavy salted codfish is a processed fish made from

fresh cod, a groundfish caught on or near the sea bottom in cold
or temperate waters, such as the North Atlantic and the northern

1. Vice Chairman Liebeler joins in this discussion of the like product and
domestic industry.

Ne — ue ° “

27a

Appendix D

Pacific Ocean.’ In our preliminary determination’ regarding this
product, we concluded that the like product is dried heavy salted
codfish, and the domestic industry consists of the operations of
petitioner Codfish Corporation, the only known processor of dried

heavy salted codfish in the United States. No party has raised

any arguments in favor of a different determination, and the
information in the record does not suggest a different conclusion.
Therefore, we adopt the definitions of like product and domestic ~
industry reached in our preliminary determination.‘ *

Material retardation of the establishment of a domestic industry

Section 735 of the Tariff Act of 1930 requires that the
Commission make a final determination of whether—

(A) an industry in the United States—
(i) is materially injured, or

(ii) is threatened with material injury, or

(B) the establishment of an industry in the
United States is materially retarded,

2. Report of the Commission (Report) at A-2-A-3.

3. Certain Dried Salted Codfish from-Canada, Inv. No. 731-TA-199
(Preliminary), USITC Pub. 1571 (1984) (hereinafter Preliminary
Determination).

4. Preliminary Determination at 3-5.

5. Because of the manner in which petitioner maintains its records, some
of the information concerning the domestic industry includes data relating to
production of other dried salted fish such as pollock or hake. To the extent
possible, we have considered only data related to petitioner’s operations
producing dried heavy salted codfish.

OC —————

28a

Appendix D
by reason of LTFV imports.°

The petitioner in this investigation alleged that the
establishment of a domestic industry is materially retarded by
reason of LTFV imports of dried heavy salted codfish from
Canada. Prior Commission determinations regarding the issue
of material retardation establish that: (1) application of the
material retardation standard is not limited to industries that have
not yet begun production, but extends as well to new facilities
that have initiated production but have not yet stabilized their
operations; (2) because the attempt to establish a new industry
is inherently unique, determination of whether the establishment
of an industry is materially retarded is to be made on a case-by-
case basis; and (3) in instances involving an industry that has not
yet undertaken production, there must be a sufficient indication
that the industry has made a ‘‘substantial commitment’’ to
commence production.’

A significant question with regard to the issue of material
retardation in this investigation is whether it is appropriate to
view the case as one of material injury or the threat thereof, rather

6. 19 U.S.C. § 1673d.

7. See, e.g., Thin Sheet Glass from Switzerland, Belgium, and the Federal
Republic of Germany, Inv. Nos. 731-TA-127, 128, and 129 (Preliminary), USITC
Pub. No. 1376 (1983); Certain Commuter Airplanes from France and Italy, Inv.
Nos. 701-TA-174 and 175 (Preliminary), USITC Pub. No. 1296 (1982); Salmon
Gill Fish Netting of Manmade Fibers from Japan, Inv. No. 751-TA-5, USITC
Pub. No. 1234 (1982).

29a

Appendix D

than material retardation. Petitioner commenced production in
late 1982, and produced dried heavy salted codfish on a commercial
basis through November 1984, when it shut down its operations.*
However, during the entire period of its operations, the petitioner
was unable to stabilize production at a level which even approached
a reasonable break-even point. We determine that the domestic
industry in this investigation, which consists of petitioner’s
operations in Puerto Rico, was never ‘‘established,’’ and that
therefore material retardation is the applicable standard in this
investigation.

In the preliminary investigation, the Commission phrased the
question of material retardation as ‘‘whether the level of activities
of Codfish Corporation reflect merely the normal start-up
conditions of a company entering an admittedly difficult market
or whether the performance is worse than what could reasonably
be expected and thus be deemed materially retarded.’’® We used
this approach in analyzing the issue of material retardation in
this final investigation. The difficulty is determining what level
of performance ‘‘could reasonably be expected.’’ The market and
feasibility study prepared by petitioner and FOMENTO” at the
inception of its business operations provides us with a benchmark
of expected performance against which to measure the actual

8. Petitioner plans to reopen its plant in summer 1985, pending the
conclusion of negotiations with the FDIC concerning loans from the now-
bankrupt Girod Trust, and the receipt of additional capital financing from the
Government Development Bank of Puerto Rico. See Report at A-5.

9. Preliminary Determination at 6-7.

10. Project Description for the Establishment of the Portuguese-Puerto
Rican Codfish Corporation, reprinted at Report, Appendix C. FOMENTO is
the Spanish acronym for the Government of Puerto Rico Economic Development
Administration.

30a

Appendix D

performance of petitioner.''

There does not appear to be any serious dispute that Codfish
Corporation has not operated successfully.'* Domestic shipments
of dried heavy salted codfish during all periods of petitioner’s
operations were substantially below its projected break-even
quantities.'? Even during its best period, January-November 1984,
petitioner’s capacity utilization rate fell well below its projected
break-even level.'* Employment declined during petitioner’s period
of operations, and since November 30, 1984, all production and
related workers have been on temporary layoff.'’ Financial
information obtained from Codfish Corporation indicates that it
it lost money during its entire period of operations. The company
has a relatively large current debt, as well as long-term debt related

11. We note that such feasibility studies are based on assumptions about
the future and that it is not unexpected that petitioner’s actual performance
might be below that projected. A feasibility study such as that presented in
this investigation must be analyzed in light of actual conditions in order to
determine what performance could reasonably be expected.

12. Due to the relatively short time Codfish Corporation has been in
existence and the manner in which it maintains its data, we do not have the
same data available concerning the condition of the domestic industry as in
a more typical investigation.

13. Report at A-12. Because there is only one company in the domestic
industry, almost all information concerning its operations is business confidential
and thus can be discussed only in general terms.

14. Report at A-12. See Jd. at A-23 for a discussion of petitioner’s initial
market study and projected sales and production volumes. Further break-even

analyses of petitioner’s operations appear at pages A-24-A-26 of the Report.

15. Id. at A-13.

2a

NC, SD en Dire Sm oa Nae

es care tn is wissen necii his

3la

Appendix D

to investment in physical facilities. Petitioner has never achieved
a level of operation which even approaches a break-even level.
Thus, the information on the record indicates that Codfish
Corporation’s performance to date is substantially poorer than
that which could reasonably have been expected.

A principal focus of the Canadian producers’ and importers’
argument has been that petitioner’s operation in Puerto Rico is
inherently unviable, and could never operate profitably, regardless
of LTFV imports.'* They allege that the hot, humid climate of
Puerto Rico makes it entirely unsuitable for a fish drying
operation.'’ Petitioner responds by arguing that its plant is a
feasible operation, due to lower labor costs and certain marketing
and distribution advantages, which outweigh its relatively high
energy costs. Our examination of the information in the record
indicates that the major component of petitioner’s costs of
production is raw material costs.'* The disadvantages of petitioner
vis-a-vis Canadian producers’ costs in certain areas are balanced

16. Commissioner Eckes focused on the viability of the domestic industry
during the period of investigation in making his determination of material
retardation. He does not believe the petitioner must prove future viability to
obtain relief from unfair imports.

17. Fish drying operations require the passage of constant streams of warm,
dry air over the fish for a period of up to 5 days. Petitioner’s entire factory
is air conditioned, to provide an appropriate temperature to prevent spoilage
of the fish during initial handling and processing. By contrast, the cooler, dryer
climate of Canada means that air conditioning of plants is not required. In
addition, the Canadian producers close their plants during the warmest months
of July and August. It must be noted, however, that petitioner’s plant is
acknowledged to be a state-of-the-art fish drying plant.

18. Report at A-15.

32a

Appendix D
against advantages enjoyed by petitioner in other areas.

The viability of the nascent domestic industry is a relevant
consideration in deciding the issue of material retardation in this
investigation. The elements of viability which are important in
this investigation are the ability to produce a marketable product,
which is qualitatively acceptable to purchasers, and which can
be sold at a price which is competitive with fairly traded imports. '*
On the basis of our analysis of the above-mentioned marketing
and feasibility study, the initial business plan of the petitioner
appears reasonably calculated and could have succeeded.

The Canadian producers and importers argue that, given its
current status and the current market for dried heavy salted
codfish, petitioner will never be able to reopen its plant and operate
it as a successful business.*° The future viability of petitioner’s
business operations is a relevant issue in determining whether the
establishment of a domestic industry is being materially retarded.*'
Codfish Corporation has provided us with information concerning
its plans to reopen its plant in Puerto Rico. Petitioner has received
approval of a $2 million line of credit from the Government
Development Bank, to provide necessary additional capital.*?

19. See Salmon Gill Fish Netting of Manmade Fibers from Japan, Inv.
No. 751-TA-5, USITC Pub. 1234 (1982).

20. Commissioner Lodwick focused his attention in this investigation
primarily on the viability of the domestic industry at its inception in making
his determination. However, he also believes that the following discussion of
Codfish Corporation's future viability is relevant, as it strengthens his conclusions
concerning the viability of the domestic industry.

21. See note 16, supra.

22. Report at A-S5.

33a

Appendix D

Codfish Corporation has also recently signed an agreement with
Packers Provision, the largest meat distributor in Puerto Rico,
pursuant to which Packers Provision will handle marketing and
distribution of petitioner’s product through its existing channels,
as well as develop new markets for the product.”’ In addition,
petitioner has made arrangements to procure raw material (wet
salted codfish) from Alaska and New England at competitive world
market prices.**

Based on this information concerning petitioner’s plans, the
Commission has prepared a break-even analysis of petitioner’s
operations, using information collected from independent sources
where possible as well as information provided by petitioner. We
are persuaded that petitioner could be able to recommence
operations, given fairly traded competition from imports, and
stabilize its production and sales at a level which will allow it
to become established.**

Causation
Petitioner’s argument regarding causation in this investigation

rests primarily on its contention that the price of Canadian imports
has been continually lowered in an effort to prevent its

23. Id. at A-7; Transcript of Hearing (Tr.) at 38-41, 61.
24. Report at A-26-A-27.

25. We do not believe a negative determination is warranted simply because
the imposition of antidumping duties may not be a complete solution to
petitioner’s difficulties. The antidumping-law is not intended to be punitive;
neither is it intended to protect domestic industries from fair competitive forces.
It is intended to allow domestic industries the opportunity to compete free from
injury caused by unfairly traded imports.

34a

Appendix D

entrance into the market.”* Thus, pricing data are critical in our
determination.

A new entrant into the market must consider what sales
volume, at a certain price, is necessary for the business venture
to succeed. Petitioner’s initial business plans called for prices to
be established somewhat below the then-current prices for imports
of dried heavy salted codfish from Canada. As a new entrant
to the market, particularly when, as is the case here, the product
is sold largely on the basis of price, it would be reasonable for
petitioner, whose product was as yet unproven, to seek to undersell
the dominant Canadian imports in order to capture a share of
the market.

The pricing data gathered in this investigation indicate that,
at the wholesale level,”’ prices of both imports and the domestic

26. We note that some attention has been given by all the parties to
the question of whether Canadian producers commenced dumping in order to
prevent petitioner from establishing the domestic industry. Predatory dumping
is not at issue in this investigation, because the Canadian producers’ intent is
irrelevant to the Commission’s determination. Commerce has determined that
imports of dried heavy salted codfish from Canada have been sold at LTFV
in the United States. The Commission must therefore determine whether the
establishment of the domestic industry is materially retarded by reason of those
LTFV imports, regardless of whether they were intended to have that effect.

27. The wholesale level is the most relevant for purposes of comparisons
of import and domestic prices in the U.S. market for dried heavy salted codfish.
Sales to a relatively small number of large wholesale distributors in Puerto Rico
are the first and most critical level of competition between Canadian imports
of dried heavy salted codfish and the domestic product. Prices to these
wholesalers determine not only profit (or loss) to the importer and the domestic
producer, but also set the competitive price advantage or disadvantage of these

(Cont'd)

35a

Appendix D

product declined throughout the period under investigation until
the fourth quarter of 1984.** Moreover, imports of Canadian dried
heavy salted codfish in the most popular product categories, semi-
dry cure heavy salted codfish from Newfoundland and ordinary
cure heavy salted codfish from Nova Scotia and other non-
Newfoundland sources, undersold the domestic product during
most of the quarters for which comparisons are possible until
the fourth quarter of 1984.** Thus, margins of underselling at
the wholesale level characterize prices of the bulk of imports of
dried heavy salted codfish from Canada.*°

Canadian imports accounted for the vast majority of domestic
consumption during the entire period under investigation.’' These
imports came from a number of Canadian producers, and were

(Cont'd)

wholesalers in resales to sub-wholesalers, supermarkets and cash-and-carry chains,
and independent retail grocers. Absent an integrated island-wide distribution
capability in-house, the domestic producer, of necessity, competed with imports
from Canada for sales to these large wholesale distributors.

28. Report at A-30-A-34.

29. Id. Semi-dry cure accounts for the majority of the dried heavy salted
codfish imported from Newfoundland; virtually all imports from Nova Scotia
are of ordinary cure.

~

30. Report at A-30-A-34.

31. Because imports of dried heavy salted codfish enter the United States
in a ‘“‘basket”’ tariff category, including different types of both wet and dried
heavy salted fish, the Commission has calculated import figures for dried heavy
salted codfish based on the questionnaire responses of importers estimated to
have accounted for over 90 percent of all U.S. imports from Canada in 1984.
Report at A-29. Apparent consumption was estimated to be the sum of Canadian
exports to the United States and Codfish Corporation’s domestic shipments,
since imports from third countries were apparently minimal until late 1984. Jd.
at A-28-A-29.

36a

Appendix D

imported into the United States by several Puerto Rican importers,
as well as through brokers in the United States and Canada.*”
The result of this pervasive pattern of underselling by these
dominant imports was suppression and depression of domestic
prices. The result of declining prices in the U.S. market was the
inability of petitioner to market its product competitively at the
wholesale level at a price which would allow it to recoup its costs
and make a profit.”

In addition, we note that the price of imports from Canada
increased at the wholesale level across the board during the fourth
quarter of 1984.°* This increase occurred even before the
imposition of a bonding requirement-following the preliminary
affirmative determination of Commerce. At that time, the market
presence of Codfish Corporation was minimal, as it had sold off
most of its remaining product preparatory to shutting down its
operation in November 1984.

We note, moreover, that first quarter 1985 sales, at higher
prices, appear to have remained at levels comparable to those
achieved in previous years, suggesting that the higher prices did
not significantly affect sales.** This suggests a certain degree of

32. Id. at A-6-A-8.

33. Moreover, when the domestic producer, unable to market its product
competitively at the wholesale level, attempted to sell to the sub-wholesale/ retail
market, offering the same prices, it was undersold at the low end of the import
price range by semi-dry Canadian dried heavy salted codfish. Report at
A-34-A-36.

34. Id. at A-30-A-34.

35. See Prehearing Brief of Codfish Corporation at Attachment E.

tee

— ey

ee ee ee ney

Oat be AE BEI Aa wabns cere

37a

Appendix D

inelasticity of demand, which contradicts the Canadian producers’
and importers’ argument that prices declined due to
decreasing demand in the Puerto Rican market during this time
period. Had the LTFV imports from Canada not drawn the U.S.
market price of dried heavy salted codfish downward during the
period under investigation, petitioner would have been able to
market its product- at prices which would have allowed it to
establish itself in the marketplace. Furthermore, the information
in the record concerning petitioner’s plans for sourcing wet salted
codfish indicates that Codfish Corporation should now be able
to price its product at levels which would allow it to establish
itself in the marketplace. ~

In addition to our analysis of the pricing data in this
investigation, we note that the Commission was able to confirm
virtually all allegations of lost sales and lost revenues by Codfish
Corporation to imports from Canada.** *’ In most of these cases,
the purchasers indicated that the quality of petitioner’s product
was adequate, and that they would be willing to buy petitioner’s
product, provided the price was competitive.”*

Two importers of Canadian dried heavy salted codfish argued
in their briefs and at the hearing that the Commission should
reach a negative determination because dumping by the Canadians
is the result of market forces (i.e., a declining world market price

36. Report at A-41-A-44.
37. Chairwoman Stern notes that these lost sales and lost revenue allegations
represented only a small percentage of domestic shipments and net sales for

the period January 1, 1983 through November 1984.

38. Report at A-41-A-44.

38a

Appendix D

for dried heavy salted codfish, and declining demand in the Puerto
Rican market) and not a response to petitioner’s attempt to
commence production. In addition, the Canadian producers and
importers argued that international market conditions determine
the price of dried heavy salted codfish in the U.S. market, and
that if antidumping duties were imposed, the Canadian imports
in the U.S. market would simply be replaced by low-priced imports
from Norway, Iceland, or some other third country source.”

These arguments are not supported by information on the
record. Such replacement would require that these countries divert
exports from current markets to the U.S. market. Information
in the record suggests that there is a limited amount of dried heavy
salted codfish available from third country sources which can be
directed to the U.S. market.’’

38. We note that, according to information submitted by the Canadian
producers, during 1983 and 1984, Canadian export prices to the United States
were higher than to the rest of the worid. However, there does not appear to
have been a significant increase in third country imports into the U.S. market
until the most recent period. See Report at A-28.

39. Currently, the cod catch is reportedly down 30 percent from prior years,
and this decline has been predicted to continue. Telephone notes of Staff
Economist. Moreover, the proportion of the catch being processed into dried
heavy salted codfish also appears to be declining. Tr. at 135-36. Information
on the record indicates that if the short catch of cod continues, Norway, the
largest producer of dried heavy salted codfish in the world, will not be able
to supply the Puerto Rican market appreciably. Norway has a more profitable
alternative market for fresh cod in the European Community, in addition to
its longstanding barter arrangement with Brazil, the world’s largest consumer
of dried heavy salted codfish, to exchange dried heavy salted fish for coffee.
Report at A-15; Telephone notes of Staff Economist; Letter from O. Biorge,
Norwegian fish producer/exporter, Exhibit 1 to Hearing Testimony of Paolo
da Cunha.

39a

Appendix D

Moreover, the fact that Canadian imports might be forced
out of the market and be replaced by low-priced third country
imports should an antidumping duty order be imposed is irrelevant
to the determination the Commission must make, that is, whether
LTFV Canadian imports materially retard the establishment of
the domestic industry. A mere possibility that the domestic industry
may not be able to compete with third country imports at some
unknown time in the future, whether the imports are fairly or
unfairly traded, does not affect our consideration of the effect
of imports from Canada which are being sold at LTFV.

Thus, we conclude that the establishment of an industry in
the United States is materially retarded by imports of dried heavy
salted codfish from Canada which are sold at LTFV.

VIEWS OF VICE CHAIRMAN LIEBELER

The question before the Commission in Inv. 731-TA-199 is
one of material retardation. The petitioner has not succeeded in
establishing a domestic dried heavy salted codfish industry. Has
the establishment of a domestic industry been materially retarded
by reason of imports of Canadian dried salted codfish which have
been sold at less than fair value?

If the petitioner would not have been able to establish a viable
industry even had the sales of Canadian dried heavy salted codfish
not occurred at less than fair value, then the establishment of
such an industry has not been materially retarded by the less than
fair value sales. The critical question, therefore, is, would there
now be a viable domestic industry, but for these sales at a weighted
average 16.3% below fair value?

I am convinced that the failure to establish a domestic industry
cannot be laid at the door of these LTFV sales. The drying and
curing necessary to produce this product requires hot-dry air, with

40a
Appendix D

the emphasis on the dry. The world’s leading producer of this
product is Norway, followed by Canada. In addition, Portugal,
Iceland and the United Kingdom are also producers. Consumers,
on the other hand, are located in Latin America (especially in
Brazil), Portugal, Italy, Greece, and Spain. It is not mere chance
that has caused a product that is consumed in tropical regions
to be produced at northern latitudes. It is in the nature of the
technology and costs of the industry.

Because the drying process requires removing moisture from
the fish, the lower the moisture content of the ambiant
surroundings, the cheaper and easier the process. Warm air of
a given humidity will contain more mositure than cold air.
Therefore, it is easier to extract moisture from fish in a colder
region. The Canadians and Norwegians have a cost advantage,
in spite of their higher labor costs, in drying and curing the fish
because they need not spend as much on energy in order to carry
out the process.

In addition to the lower energy costs, there are two other
important reasons why the drying is done in Norway and Canada.
The fish are caught at northern latitudes. The drying and curing
process both eliminates weight and prevents spoilage. The closer
the drying is done to the place the fish are caught, the less chance
of spoilage and the lower the shipping cost.

These arguments are persuasive, and are made compelling
by the fact that although the Puerto Rican market is a small
segment of the world market, none of the low-wage South
American countries have a significant dried salted codfish industry.
It is inconceivable that if this industry were viable in Puerto Rico
it would not be even more profitable in Brazil. The failure of
the market to induce other firms to enter in countries with larger

4la

Appendix D

markets, lower wages and similar climates convinces me that this
is not a viable United States industry, capable of competing against
fairly traded imports.

Nor is it likely to become competitive due to a rise in demand.
The market for this product is limited to Peurto Rico and other
ethnic markets in several major cities on the mainland. This is
an ethnic food, consumed primarily as a low cost source of
protein. As incomes rise, purchases of this product fall. The
petitioner has entered a declining industry at an uneconomic
location.

In conclusion, therefore, I determine that the domestic dried
salted codfish industry has not been materially retarded by less
than fair value sales of Canadian dried salted codfish.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0471%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
