# Reply Brief — Quality Inn South v. Patel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0454%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 1011

## Text

lu

No. 88-830

IN THE
SUPREME COURT G¢ THE UNITED STATES

NOVEMBER TERM, 1988

QUALITY INN SOUTH, Manibhai Patel, Dilip Patel,
Sumani Corp., Inc.,
Petitioners
v.

RAJNI J. PATEL,
Respondent

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

BARNABY W. ZALL
Law Offices Of Barnaby W. Zall
1156 15th Street, N.W.
Suite 525
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 857-5360
Counsel of Record
Counsel for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

Cordia A. Strom

Immigration Reform Law Institute

1666 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Suite 402

Washington, D.C. 20009

(202) 462-1969

——

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Doe v. Reivitz, 830 F.2d 1441 (7th Cir. 1987) ... .6,7
Immigration and Naturalization Service v. Delgado,
CS ee eee eee 2
Mathews v. Diaz, 426 U.S. 67 (1976) ......... 3

In re Reyes, 814 F.2d 168 (Sth Cir. 1987), cert.
denied, Griffin and Brand of McAllen, Inc. v.

Reyes, 108 S. Ct. 2901 (1988) ........... 7
Sure-Tan v. National Labor Relations Board,
ee I kg Blain wis « n'o o 7
United States v. Lopez, 521 F.2d 437 (2d Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 995 (1975) ......... 2
STATUTES

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended, 29
U.S.C. §§ 201-219 (1982 & Supp. IV 1986) .. .1,5

Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986,
Pub. L. No. 99-603, 100 Stat. 3359 (codified
in scattered sections of 8 U.S.C.)

I og oe sb aa oe a ula passim
Re al) aa ncaa ko aa 6
EY Db a's 6 bo Wie 6a 6k RO 3
IE 5. on o's a 0 0.5 Ad 3 eRe KO 2
ES ia a ad 6 ek ade oo 2
a ere a

SUSL G15 ocak shee eee eee

Gee ttl 1. nce ean se eee eee
See. 115 oc es bee eee
ee 5 ere re
18 U.S.C. § 1546 (1982 & Supp. IV 1986) ......

OTHER

H.R. 3810, 99th Cong., 1st Sess. (1985) .......

H.R. Rep. No. 682 (Part I), 99th Cong.,
26 Seen. CIBER | 6k 4 8 EC

Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1985,
S. Rep. No. 132, 99th Cong., 1st Sess. (1985) . .

Sep. Ct R10)... 5s 5 eee

No. 88-830

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

NOVEMBER TERM, 1988

QUALITY INN SOUTH, Manibhai Patel, Dilip Patel,
Sumani Corp., Inc.,
Petitioners
v.

RAJNI J. PATEL,
Respondent

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONERS

f

+o

PETITIONERS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

Respondent does not understand the scope of the
Immigration Reform and Control Act of 1986, Pub. L.
No. 99-603, 100 Stat. 3359 (codified in scattered sec-
tions of 8 U.S.C.) (Supp. IV 1986) [hereinafter IRCA].
Surprisingly, neither does amicus curiae United States
Department of Labor. Both fail to understand this
Court’s prior cases involving the rights of illegal aliens
to government largesse, or how those cases affect the
decision below.

These failures to understand are reflected in the
failure of either opposing brief to deal substantively
with the effect of the IRCA on prior cases and legal
theories. As a result, neither opposing brief adequately
deals with the question of remedies avaiiable in a
private action brought under the Fair Labor Standards
Act by an illegal alien. Neither opposing brief ade-
quately deals with the question of how a court should
apply labor-law-related remedies to interfere least with
the immigration laws. Sure-Tan v. National Labor Rela-
tions Board, 467 U.S. 883 (1984).

Thus, neither opposing brief provides valid reasons
why this Court should not grant the petition for a writ.

I. THE IRCA IS A COMPREHENSIVE
ATTEMPT TO REMOVE ALL ILLEGAL
ALIENS FROM THE UNITED STATES.

Both respondent and amicus erroneously imply that
the IRCA is so limited in its sweep as to allow some
avenue for illegal aliens to remain in the United States.
Amicus, for example, while noting that the IRCA “com-
prehensively amended the INA to include new
measures for controlling illegal immigration to the

2

United States,” contends that the IRCA did not
criminalize the acceptance of employment by illegal
aliens in this country. Brief of U.S. Department of
Labor as Amicus Curiae at 3 [hereinafter Amicus].

Taking such a narrow view of the IRCA distorts the
tremendous effect of the 1986 law. There is no longer
any legitimate means by which an illegal alien can
remain in this country. A review of even a few of the
provisions of IRCA illustrates how miserly are
respondent’s and amicus’ concepts of the effect of the
IRCA.

A. Employer Sanctions

As all parties recognize, the IRCA made it illegal
to hire an illegal alien. 8 U.S.C. § 1324a.

B. Harboring and Shielding Megal Aliens

Neither respondent nor amicus recognized the
changes to 8 U.S.C. § 1324 (as distinguished from 8
U.S.C. § 1324a, which IRCA created). That section,
which criminalizes “conduct tending substantially to
facilitate an alien’s remaining illegally in this country,”
United States v. Lopez, 521 F.2d 437, 441 (2d Cir.), cert.
denied, 423 US. 995 (1975), was substantially
strengthened by IRCA. The amendment weakened the
so-called Texas Proviso, which had for so long stymied
this Court’s analysis of immigration law enforcement.
Immigration and Naturalization Service v. Delgado, 466
U.S. 210, 240 (1984). The authors of the amendment
were well aware of the cases interpreting this section
and intended to expand and clarify coverage of
employers of illegal aliens. Jmmigration Reform and
Control Act of 1985, S. Rep. No. 132, 99th Cong., 1st
Sess. 29-30 (1985).

C. Fraudulently Obtaining Employment

In addition, the IRCA also criminalized an alien’s
false attestation or use of documents to obtain employ-
ment. The IRCA amended 18 U.S.C. § 1546 to
criminalize attempts to circumvent the prohibition on
hiring.

D. Denial of Welfare Benefits

Further, the IRCA substantially restricted an illegal
alien’s ability to obtain social services benefits.’ IRCA
established a comprehensive method to remove illegal
aliens from state welfare rolls. IRCA, sec. 121.

E. Denial of Adjustment of Status

IRCA prohibited many illegal aliens from legaliz-
ing their status. Although IRCA generously gave mil-
lions of illegal aliens amnesty, 8 U.S.C. § 1255Sa, at the
same time, it restricted eligibility for amnesty to those
illegal aliens with many years’ residence in this country.
In addition, aliens who entered illegally or violated the
terms of their entry were not allowed to adjust to per-
manent residence after the passage of IRCA. 8 U.S.C. §
1255(c)(2).

1 This court has long held that illegal aliens do not have
constitutional rights to social services: “Neither the
overnight visitor, the unfriendly agent of a hostile foreign
power, the resident diplomat, nor the illegal entrant, can
advance even a colorable constitutional claim to a share in
the bounty which a conscientious sovereign makes available
to its own citizens and some of its guests.” Mathews v. Diaz,
426 U.S. 67, 80 (1976).

F. Unlawful Entry

IRCA continues the criminalizing of entry into the
United States without inspection and admission by im-
migration officers. 8 U.S.C. § 1325.

G. Congressional Findings and Declarations

Finally, Congress twice declared its resolve that il-
legal immigration be stopped. First, Congress found
that it is an essential element of the program of im-
migration control that the “INS and . . . other ap-
propriate Federal agencies . . . prevent and deter the
illegal entry of aliens into the United States and the
violation of the terms of their entry.” IRCA, sec. 111.
Then Congress declared its resolve that “the immigra-
tion laws of the United States should be enforced
vigorously and uniformly.” IRCA, sec. 115.

Is it consistent with IRCA that one government
agency should strive “vigorously and uniformly” to
“prevent and deter” illegal immigration while at the
same time another branch of government is providing
illegal aliens with the financial means to remain in this
country? The Eleventh Circuit felt its decision below
allowing an illegal alien to maintain an action for
thousands of dollars in back pay and liquidated
damages reflected a “seeming anomaly”, Petitioner’s
Brief at Appendix B10; a better view might be that the
Eleventh Circuit misunderstood the sweep of the chan-
ges made by the IRCA.

Respondent and amicus similarly miss the com-
prehensive nature of these changes and declarations.
They thereby miss the essential point of IRCA: illegal
aliens are not to be allowed to remain in this country.
Any activity by a government agency to enforce a labor-
related law should not encourage or allow an illegal
alien to remain in this country. To do otherwise would

5

undercut the complex and comprehensive structure
created by the IRCA.

II. RESPONDENT’S AND AMICUS’ VIEW OF
THE ROLE OF THE DEPARTMENT OF
LABOR IS INCONSISTENT WITH THE
PLAIN LANGUAGE OF THE IRCA.

Respondent’s and amicus’ views on the role of the
Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Labor
are inconsistent with the plain language of the IRCA.
Both respondent and amicus contend that Congress in-
tended the Wage and Hour Division to increase its en-
forcement of the FLSA. Respondent’s Brief in Opposi-
tion at 6 [hereinafter Opp.]; Amicus at 11. Seemingly,
under respondent’s and amicus’ legal reasoning, this in-
crease is to occur at the expense of, or at least com-
pletely independent of, the enforcement of the new
prohibition on hiring illegal immigrants.

In fact, both respondent and amicus contend that
Statutory language authorizing more funds to the Wage
and Hour Division, IRCA, sec. 111(d), is a signal that
Congress intended more FLSA enforcement. For ex-
ample, amicus U.S. Department of Labor, which ought
to know what in a statute affects it, contends: “By
providing increased funding . . . Congress obviously in-
tended the Secretary to enforce the FLSA’s wage and
hour requirements with respect to illegal aliens.”
Amicus at 11.

No such direction appears in the provision of IRCA
that authorizes additional funding. There is only the
Statement that the additional funds are provided “in
order to deter the employment of unauthorized aliens
and remove the economic incentive for employers to
exploit and use such aliens.” IRCA, sec. 111(d). The
only relevant explicit reference to the Department of

6

Labor in the IRCA, however, is that employers retain
employment verification records for inspection by
Department of Labor officials. 8 U.S.C. § 1324a(b)(3).
There is no mention of wage and hour records in the
IRCA. Thus, contrary to the position of respondent and
amicus, the job of the Department of Labor is to help
enforce the prohibition on hiring illegal aliens.

The Senate Committee Report buttresses this in-
terpretation when it declares that the additional funds
are “for enforcement activities in connection with the
bill.” S. Rep. No. 132 at 13. The House Committee
reports and proposed bills, cited in other contexts by
respondent and amicus, contain no specific authoriza-
tion language for the Wage and Hour Division. See
H.R. 3810, 99th Cong., 1st Sess., sec. 111 (1985); H.R.
Rep. No. 682 (Part I), 99th Cong., 2d Sess. 7, 11 (1986).

III. THIS CASE IS APPROPRIATE FOR
REVIEW.

Both respondent and amicus misunderstand the
need for review by this Court. In support of the
proposition that the circuits are not in conflict, both op-
posing briefs cite many cases (most handed down prior
to the 1986 passage of IRCA) in which lower courts
have provided labor-law related and other benefits to
illegal aliens. Opp. at 8; Amicus at 3. These cases,
however, are examples of the need for guidance from

2 For an example of an IRCA provision directing the
Department of Labor to monitor and protect wages and
working conditions for American workers, see 8 U.S.C. §
1186(a)(1)(B) and (g) (1986).

ee

7

this Court on an important topic misunderstood by the
lower courts. Sup. Ct. R. 17.1(c).

It is precisely because the lower courts are
uniformly ignoring the prior decisions of this Court that
this case needs to be reviewed. In several cases, lower
court panels have been split on the essential question
of the rights of illegal aliens. Compare Doe v. Reivitz,
830 F.2d 1441 (7th Cir. 1987) (holding that agency may
not deny family benefits, even though parents were il-
legal aliens and thus ineligible to register for work, as
required by the program) and In re Reyes, 814 F.2d 168,
180 (Sth Cir. 1987), cert. denied, Griffin and Brand of
McAllen, Inc. v. Reyes, 108 S. Ct. 2910 (1988) (noting
that despite prohibition of employment in Migrant and
Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act, illegal
Status was irrelevant under both that act and the Fair
Labor Standards Act) with Doe v. Reivitz, 830 F.2d
1441, 1451 (Wood, J., dissenting) (noting contradiction
between court’s holding and the congressional scheme
to deter illegal immigration) and Reyes, 814 F.2d 168,
171 (Jones, J., dissenting) (arguing that previously no
court has allowed illegal aliens to recover statutory
remedies under the FLSA).

It is notable that respondent barely mentions this
Court’s decision in Sure-Tan. Opp. at 8, n. 3. In Sure-
Tan, this Court held that illegal aliens were employees
covered by the National Labor Relations Act in cases
of explicit anti-union bias, 467 U.S. 883; nevertheless,
remedies available to United States citizens in such
cases would not be available to illegal aliens. /d. at
902-3. In addition, by endorsing the Ninth and Second
Circuits’ expansive interpretations of Sure-Tan on back-
pay and other mechanisms that allow illegal aliens to
remain in the United States, respondent and amicus
again ignore the clear implications of the comprehen-

8

sive IRCA program to eliminate illegal immigration
and remove illegal immigrants from the United States.

CONCLUSION

THEREFORE, Petitioners respectfully request this
Court to issue the writ of certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

BARNABY W. ZALL

Counsel of Record for Petitioners
LAW OFFICES OF BARNABY
ZALL

1156 15th St., N.W. Suite 525
Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 857-5360
Counsel of Record
Counsel for Petitioners
Of Counsel:
Cordia A. Strom

Immigration Reform Law Institute
1666 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.
Suite 402

Washington, D.C. 20009

(202) 462-1969

rE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0454%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
