# Opposition Brief — Specht v. Jensen

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0398%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 1008

## Text

No. 88-762 oec i

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

ty
Vv

O. GEORGE SPECHT, JR. AND JUNE B. SPECHT,

Petitioners,

ROGER JENSEN, DOUG MARTIN AND
DON OWENS,

Respondents.
a

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To
United States Court Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit

sy
VV

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TxHeopore S. HaLtasy
(Counsel of Record)
Rosert M. Liecuty
Hartasy & McCrea
1873 South Bellaire Street
Writers V, Suite 1400
Denver, Colorado 80222
Telephone: (303) 691-5300

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (806

or call collect (402) 342-2831

) 225-6964

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE . 2
I re 13

SIN, okt istic wig eed otinka a onsendesigebegcaaaimcnieneiannn 26

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

CASES

A Adalman v. Baker, Watts and Co., 807 F.2d 359
(4h Cir, 16) 2... ee ee 17

Apponi v. Sunshine Biscuits, Inc., 809 F.2d 1210

GGG Ce, BOG DP mrciencnconnncaannS cheep 18
Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982) ..... ie 23
Cooley v. United States, 501 F.2d 1249 (9th Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1123 (1975) ..... 18
Davis v. Combustion Engineering, Inc., 742 F.2d

916 (6th Cir. 1984) 24
DiBella v. County of Suffolk, 574 F.Supp. 151

(E.D.N.Y. 1983), aff’d, 762 F.2d 990 (2d Cir. 1985) 17
Hart-Anderson v. Hauck, 748 P.2d 937 (Mont. 1988) 23
Hogan v. American Te lephone & Te legraph Co.,

812 F.2d 409 (Sth Cir. 1987) 18
Loeb v. Hammond, 407 F.2d 779 (7th Cir. 1969) 1s
Mara «& ‘Of ee Ine. Vv. Dine rs’ Club, Ine., 550 F.2d

905 (2nd Cir. 1977). cert. de nie d. 434 U.S. SH 1

(1977) 14, 15, 16, 20
Owe 7 wv. Ke rr-MecGe f & Tp., 698 F.2d 236 (5th

Cir. 1983) 17
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218 (1973) 22
Stole, Penn Central Transportation, 583 F.2d

896 (6th Cir. 1978) 1S
Torres v. County of Oakland, 758 F.2d 147 (6t}

Cir. 1985) 18, 24
United States v. Curtis, 782 F.2d 593 (6th Cir.

1986) 19

United States v. Hearst, 563 F.2d 1331 (9th Cir.
1977) 24, 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Cont!

] ) ; _ ; ] i” hy sf ; hus
} z ~ 2 { ’ ] i 1O
linited Nt Jens HOS F98d 549 {)t (‘iy

] " ; | ~~ 1] ; > {vs | ~ 41] 197¢ »
{, perre / Sf Z 729 | we <4 ‘ { ,

iJS4 ) lf 17
Vu P Webl Sasa & Cast

/ bel | } Z 454 it { , | Oss 1s

Comment, Expert Legal Testimony. 97 Harv. L.

Rev. 797 (1983-84) 20

No. 88-762

ee -QO—__-—_—_-

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

— 0

QO. GEORGE SPECHT, JR. AND JUNE B. SPECHT,

Petitioners,

ROGER JENSEN, DOUG MARTIN AND
DON OWENS,

26 spondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To
United States Court Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit

The petition presents no issue that warrants this
Court’s consideration and accordingly should be denied.
The Tenth Cireuit’s en banc opinion for which review is

sought is reported at 853 F.2d 805.

=)

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

The questions presented by Petitioners set forth no
legal issues that warrant this Court’s consideration and
fail to address the only issue considered by the Tenth

Cirenit, en banc, to wit:

Whether Fod. R. Evid. 702 premits an attorney, called
as an expert witness in a 42 USC, 1983 action, to
stute his views of the law which governs the verdict
and opine whether police officers’ conduct violated
that law.

Petitioners asserted claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 al
leging unconstitutional searches of Petitioners’ home and
office allegedly occurring while private repossessors at
tempted (pursuant to a court order) to reclaim a com-
puter. Respondents are police officers who directed or were
directed to keep the peace regarding same. To prove their
claim. Petitioners offered for expert testimony an attorney,
Daniel Sears, who specialized in criminal law including
Fourth Amendment searches. Petitioners’ attorney repre-
sented to the trial court that Sears would: (1) be qualified
as an expert in the area of search and seizure, constitution-
al law and criminal procedure; and (2) be asked hypotheti-
cal questions to obtain his opinion regarding a) whether a
search took place in both the home and the business, b)
whether there was a consent to search, ¢) what constitutes
a proper search, and d) whether exigent circumstances ex-
isted (Vol. VI, 368-69).

Respondents made a lengthy record objecting to Sears’
proffered testimony (Vol. VI, 873-87). Prior to Sears tes

tifving, the trial court inquired of Petitioners’ counsel,

“Now, are you indicating that this is an area of a fact

that he is going to give opinion on?” (Emphasis added.)
Petitioners’ counsel responded :

First of all, I don’t think it’s limited any more under
the expert witness law that you couldn’t call an ex-
pert to testify to his opinion of the law. So that’s my
first response; but yes, I believe that this is an area
of fact. I’m going to give him a hypothetical set of
facts that are based on the evidence. Based upon
those facts, I’m going to ask him if it’s his opinion
based upon those facts that these various things took
place: (1) a search: (2) a consent search, or whether
consent was voluntary, and (3) and finally, that with-
out one of those two and without exigent circum-

stances—and T’ll ask him whether he believes there

were exigent circumstances at both—in both instances
[the search of business and the search of residence]
—bhbased upon the lack of those three things, what kind
of a search was this in his opinion. And he will say
that in his opinion, it was an tllegal search based on
those facts (emphasis added).

(Vol. VI, 369-70) Thus, it was made clear from the start
that Sears’ testimony would involve legal concepts of
search, consent, exigent circumstances and, ultimately, an
opinion that it was an i/legal search, notwithstanding Pe-

titioners’ assertion that such concerned matters of fact.

Direct-examination by Petitioners’ counsel included
the following legal opinions of Sears (references are to
App. C):

“It is normally recognized that warrantless entry
into any premises are per se unreasonable and con-
stitute an unlawful search.” p. 62.

“(I]f the people whom you have indicated were
approached with regard to gaining access to the
premises did not have the authority to consent to
a search, then the entire episode, the entry into
the premises, the subsequent search and inspection
of the premises, would constitute an unlawful
search.” p. 62.

In responding to a question concerning to which
areas of Petitioner’s office his legal conclusions
would apply, Sears testified: “If there is no con-
sentual—if there is no free and voluntary consent
by an authorized person to give access to the
premises, then it would include all portions inside
the building, both common areas as well as the
private areas of any individual whose premises
are searched.” p. 62.

After Petitioners’ counsel set forth a second hy-
pothetical which recapped the facts from Peti-
tioners’ point of view, attorney Sears said that,
“Yes, [ would conclude a search did take place.”
p. 63.

‘*First of all, as I indicated in my initial response
with regard to the search of the business prem-
ises, it must start from the basie premise that any
warrantless search is per se unreasonable. From
that point forward, again, there are various excep-
tions to that doctrine which may make a search
lawful.

‘*As applied to these facts, it would be my under-
standing that a search could be conducted only on
several bases: First of all, if there was probable
eause to believe that the property that was being
sought is on the premises and if there is
exigent circumstances to believe that either the
property is going to be removed or evidence is
going to be destroyed, then an entry could take
place on that basis. The only other basis that

I’m aware of would be on a consensual basis; and
a consensual search must be premised on a free
and knowing waiver of the right to refuse to con-
sent to a search. And if that is preceded by any
colorable claim of authority, such as process which
is not tantamount to a valid search warrant, any
subsequent search, which I’ve already indicated
took place, would be unlawful.’’

Question: “Do I understand, then, your opin-
ion to be that there was not a consensual search ?’’

Answer: “That is correct, based upon the
submission of the process apparently to Mrs.
Specht, on the basis of your indication it was not
a valid search warrant, on the basis of the an-
nouncement that there was an intention to search
for property. On those bases, I would submit that
there was no free and knowing consent entered on
the basis of the facts that have been presented.’’

pp. 63-64.
* “It would be my opinion that all persons that en-
tered the premises conducted a search... [on the

basis that] the initial invitation, if it may be called
that, of Officer Owens to enter the premises was
not tantamount to a consensual search. If there
was not a further invitation extended to the other
individuals, certainly their rush ifto the premises
would be an unlawful intrusion. Any sightings or
observations that took place, any wanderings
jthrough the premises, would be tantamount to an
‘unlawful search.’’ p. 65.

Sears gave further legal opinions under direct examina-
tion which were not set forth by Petitioners in Appendix C
(references are to Vol. III of the record below) :

'Representation by Petitioners that Appendix C constitutes
the “entire testimony’ of Sears on direct examination (Pet. 3,
62) is incorrect.

‘‘There is another doctrine as an exception to a
warrantless search which legitimizes what is called
‘plain-view observations.” The difficulty with
that doctrine under this set of cireumstances is
that an officer has to be where he has a right to
be before observations can be deemed an excep-
tion to a warrantless search or an unreasonable
search.’’ p. 55, Il. 14-19.

When asked if his opinion would change if Mrs.
Specht had in fact invited the persons into her
home, Attorney Sears replied that “ [i]t would
change only if I knew Mrs. Specht knew she had
a right to refuse their entry, if they had stated
their purpose for being there, if she was aware
that they were there to search the premises, if
she was fully aware of all attendant rights, in-
cluding the right to refuse their entry. ... After
all those conditions were satisfied, then she would
be in a position to consent to searech.’’ p. 55, 1. 23
through p. 56, |. 6.

Petitioners’ attorney asked Mr. Sears to assume
that if Mrs. Specht was not aware of her right to
refuse entry and ‘‘wasn’t advised of those rights,
would your opinion as to the search occurring,
the legality of the search, or the consent of the
search change?’’ Sears responded that ‘‘my opin-
ion would not change.’’ p. 56, Il. 13-23.

‘It would be my conclusion that it was the joint
activity of all persons who entered the premises.”’
p. 57, Il. 19-20.

At this point, Respondents’ counsel commenced cross-
examination of Sears. Of necessity this examination af-
forded Sears the opportunity to express further legal opin-
ions: however, Respondents’ counsel had no choice but to
conduct such examination in light ef Sears’ testimony per-

—

‘

mitted in direct examination (references are to Vol. III
of the record below) :

‘*If there is an owner or possessor of the premises
that has joint occupancy of the premises, that per-
son may be in a position to consent to a search.’’
p. 102, ll. 16-18.

‘*A search can be accomplished if someone is stand-
ing with their eyes opened in a place where they
have no right to be.’’ p. 109, ll. 13-14.

‘*(I]t would be my—it is my opinion that once
the other four officers entered without invitation
that there was joint action on behalf of all five
of them, and it was an unlawful intrusion. The
clearest factor that in my opinion turns any in-
vitation that was extended into an unlawful in-
trusion by Officer Owens is when he demonstrates
that he is there to search for a computer and that
he has a court order, which was not a valid search
warrant.’’ p. 113, ll. 3-10.

Question: “How do you find... [the private re-
possessor’s] actions to be actions pursuant to
state authority?”

Sears: ‘‘Because he was acting in concert with
state law enforcement officers.’’ p. 113, 1. 24
through p. 114, 1. 2.

When asked what ‘‘acting in concert’’ meant,
Sears testified as follows: ‘‘A knowing partici-
pation in the endeavor. Now you want me to
outline the facts that I relied upon? * * * It would
be on the basis that there was apparently joint
activity after Officer Owens was on the prem-
ises of the other four to enter.’’

Question: ‘‘Through prior agreement with Offi-
cer Owens?’’ :

Sears: ‘‘Certainly tacit agreement by their ac-
tions. * * * It would be my position on the basis

that there is an unlawful intrusion when the
other four entered the premises that until and
unless there is an indication that one or more
of them are withdrawing from the participation
of the activity inside that yes, they have joined
in concert with that single purpose.’’ p. 115, Il. 8-
9 and p. 115, 1. 23 through p. 116, 1. 2 and p. 116,
1. 22 through p. 117, 1. 2.

Redirect-examination by Petitioners’ counsel:

* After Petitioners’ counsel added two pages of

additional assumptions regarding the search of
Mr. Specht’s office, Sears responded, “[a]s to
my conclusion as to whether an unlawful search
was conducted under those circumstances, my
opinion would not change.” p. 124, Il. 3-5.

*

‘‘And even if that person [who allowed certain
defendants to enter the office building] had the
authority and the standing to consent to a search,
it would be my conclusion that that consent was
obtained under a colorable claim of authority and
therefore no valid consent could enter.’’ p. 124,
I]. 14-18.

‘* As T indicated, even assuming that Mrs. Specht’s
invitation to Officer Owens to enter... fher
house] at that point in time was free and knowl-
edgeable, the subsequent entry of the officers viti-
ated any consent for entry on onto the premises;
and any search thereafter that was conducted by
walking through the premises, observing the con-
tents within the living accommodations, would
not be plainsight observations by officers or in-
dividuals who were in a position where they had
a right to be. And considering all the cireum-
stances that have been presented to me during the
course of the hypothetical questions, it is my firm
judement that there was no consensual search af-
forded the officers.” p. 126, Il. 8-19.

ae

9

**Since the initial entry was illegal, it would be
my conclusion that any acts, any further intru-

sions into the premises, were also unlawful.’’ p.
126, Il. 20-22.

Question: ‘‘Assume an additional fact . . . that
Mrs. Specht didn’t know the difference between
a search warrant and a court order to search.
Would that change your opinions in any way?’’

Answer: ‘‘No. Again I believe we go back to
my first response this morning that by presen-
tation of some claim of authority, the officers,
unless that claim is afforded by a valid search
warrant—any consent that is sought is obtained
under a colorable claim of authority. ...’’ p. 126,
1. 23 through p. 127, 1. 6.

Question: ‘‘Assuming these additional facts that
I have given to you today as to the residence,
would that in any way—would they in any way
change your opinion that the search at the resi-
dence was a joint action participated in by all
five parties?”’

Answer: ‘‘No.’’

Question: ‘‘And as to Hampden Industries,
assume the new facts that I gave you as to Hamp-
den Industries. Would those new facts in any
way change your opinion as to the participation
of the one officer now and the three persons from
the Denver area [the private repossessors] as to
their joint action and participation in the search ?’’

Answer: ‘‘No.’’ p. 127, l. 18 through p. 128, |. 2
and |. 22.

‘*[A}n unlawful search was conducted of Hamp-
den Industries and all the premises located with-
in that common building.’’ p. 128, ll. 24-25 through
Sp Ae Bs

10
* When Petitioners’ attorney asked Sears what his
opinion meant concerning the participation of the
police officers, Sears responded:

‘*That would be pursuant to my conclusion that
there was joint activity and that all persons were
involved in an unlawful search.”’

Question: ‘‘ And yesterday in response to... [Re-
spondent attorney’s] questions, | believe you—in
response to his question about state action, in your
opinion, does that constitute state action, in these
two instances?"’

Answer: “Yes.” p. 129, ll. 13-20.

When Petitioners’ attorney asked Sears specif-
ically with respect to his understanding of the law
and whether Sears’ opinions would change as it
related to Sears® understanding of the law as it
existed in 1978, 1980, 1982, 1984, Sears answered
his opinions would be the same, “[b]ased upon my
reading of the law. ...” p. 130, ll. 10-24.

Recross-examination by Respondents’ counsel:

Question: “‘Mr. Sears, do you agree that all
your opinions .. . depend on two things: (1) your
understanding of the facts as have been given
to you by ... [| Petitioners’ counsel], and (2) your
understanding of the law as it applies to those
facts?”’

Answer: ‘‘Yes.’’ p. 131, ll. 7-13.

* Question: ‘‘Cutting throngh all the gobble-
dygook, if they say they’re there to pick up a
computer, she invites them in, are they in there
by consent?”’

Answer: ‘‘Not under those limited cireum-
stances, no.”’

Question: ‘*Not in your opinion, anyway ?’’

a os

11

Answer: ‘‘No.’’

Question: “And in making that statement, you’re
presuming what the law is to those sets of facts.
I mean you have to.”

Answer: ‘‘T am rendering an opinion on my
basis—on the basis of my understanding of the
current law and the progression of law of search
and seizure over the last number of years.’’ p.
152, 1. 16 through p. 133, 1. 1.

Question: ‘*Have you ever been known to dis-
agree with the court as to what the law of the
cireuit is?’’

Answer: ‘‘Absolutely.’’

Question: “All right. So you’re not saying
that you ean affirm to this jury that your under-
standing of the law is going to be identical to
... [the trial court’s] understanding of the law
is in this area?”’

Answer: “[The trial court’s] . . . understanding
of the law is controlling in this ease.’’ p. 133, Il.
7-15.

At pages 135 through 139, Respondents’ counsel
questioned Sears hypothetically regarding wheth-
er a teacher’s entrance into a student’s locker
constituted a Fourth Amendment search, which
included this colloquy:

Question: “Now, is it your understanding of the
state of the law... that if a law enforcement offi-
cer merely facilitates the search by a private in-
dividual that that private individual was other-
wise going to undertake anyway, in your opinion,
is that prohibited under the Fourth Amendment?’’

Answer: ‘‘I believe it is... .’’ p. 137, 1. 20
through p. 138 1. 2.

12

Along these same lines as above regarding wheth-
er state action occurred, Sears stated that *‘l
don’t think it has to be at the direction or
control of [a] police officer. At least that’s not
my understanding .... It’s a matter of whether
it is jointly participated in with law epforce-
ment agents.’’ p. 141, I. 10-13.

Redirect-examination by Petitioners’ counsel:

*

Question: ‘‘Mr. Sears, in talking about this
purpose between the private individual and the
police officer, does this purpose have to be to
conduct a search, or can it be some other common
motive, such as seeking the recovery of a com-
puter ?”’

Answer: “Well, . . . under the cireumstances
presented here, I don’t characterize any differ-
ence.” p. 142, IL 20-25.

Question: ‘‘Would it be correct, then, under the
facts as you know them, as [ have given them
to you, as I have asked you to assume, that none
of your opinions would change, then, as to the
reasonableness of the search, [and] the participa-
tion of the parties? Is that correet?”’

Answer: ‘*That’s correct.”’

Question: ‘‘It’s your opinion that you found
this common purpose. [t that correct ?’’

Answer: ‘‘Based upon the facts that have
been revealed to me, ves.’* p. 148, IL 4-12.

Sears: ‘‘My understanding is that there were
pronouncements both from law enforeement as
well as Mr. Jacobs that the intent was to search ;
and I deem that to be a concert of action with a
common purpose,”*

Question: ‘*And the facts, then, as I gave them
to you, after hearing them as to actually what

13

happened-—would you deem that to be either con-
cert of action or joint activity?”

Answer: “That would be my conclusion, yes.” p.
143, 1. 19 through p. 144, 1. 1.

In response to an inquiry by Petitioners’ attor-
ney whether it mattered if an officer or private
person was the leader, Sears responded: ** Well,

. again, as I understand the law in this area,
you have to evaluate the totality of the cireum-
stances; and I think you have to evaluate the
activity that was participated in by all the indi-
viduals. So, no, it does not alter or change my
opinion.”’ p. 144, IL 9-13.

7

ARGUMENT

The Tenth Cireuit en banc properly recognized and
applied legal principles consistent with those recognized
by cireuit courts throughout the country. First, it noted
that Rule 702 does not permit an expert to encroach upon
the trial court’s authority to instruct the jury on the ap-
plicable law, stating ‘‘it would be a waste of time if wit- -
nesses or counsel should duplicate the judge’s statement
of the law, and it would intolerably confound the jury to
have it stated differently’? (App. B 42). The court fur-
ther referred to Fed. R. Evid. 704 and its advisory notes
that make clear that opinions which merely tell the jury
what result to reach or that are phrased in terms of in-
adequately explored legal criteria are prohibited. Finally,
the court below recognized that ‘testimony which articu-
lates and applies the relevant law .. . circumvents the
jury’s decision-making function by telling it how to decide

. —

14

the ease” (App. B 43). The court properly concluded that
“the expert in this case was improperly allowed to instruct
the jury on how it should decide the case” (App. B 44).
The rationale of the Tenth Cireuit is not in conflict with
any circuit court.

The Tenth Cireuit recognized that a witness may
properly be called upon to aid the jury in understanding
the facts and evidence even though reference to those facts
is couched in legal terms (App. B 46). The court noted
that an expert’s testimony is proper under Rule 702 if the
expert does not attempt to define the legal parameters
within which the jury must exercise its fact-finding func-
tion (App. B 47). It then stated:

However, when the purpose of testimony is to direct
the jury’s understanding of the legal standards upon
which their verdict must be based, the testimony can-
not be allowed. In no instance can a witness be per-
mitted to define the law of the ease (App. B 47).

The legal principles enunciated by the court below are in
conformity with the decisions of the cirenit courts through-
out the country. The most often cited case authority relat-
ing to the admissibility of legal opinion is Marx € Co., Inc.
v. Diners’ Club, Inc., 550 F.2d 505 (2nd Cir. 1977), cert.
denied, 434 U.S. 861 (1977). The Marz court considered
whether the trial court properly admitted the testimony
of a securities attorney regarding legal standards. The
appellate court recognized that the expert, having been
qualified in the area of securities regulation, was com-
petent to explain practices ordinarily followed by lawyers
and corporations in shepherding a registration statement
through the SEC. Id. at 508-09. However, it found re-
versible error where the expert testified not only as to the

15

customary practices of the trade, but as to the legal stan-
dards he believed derived from a contract that should
have governed defendants’ conduct. Id. at 509. The court
noted that the expert not only construed the contract, but
“repeatedly gave his conclusions as to the legal signifi-
cance of various facts adduced at trial’’ (id. at 510)—pre-
cisely what the trial court below permitted Sears to do.

The Mara court made clear that such legal opinions
would not have been otherwise admissible even if the wit-
ness had been qualified as an expert in contract law,
stating:

It is not for witnesses to instruct the jury as to ap-
plicable principles of law, but for the judge. As Pro-
fessor Wigmore has observed, expert testimony on law
is excluded because *‘the tribunal does not need the
witness’ judgment ... [T]he yudge (or the jury as in-
structed by the judge) can determine equally well

.”’ The special legal knowledge of the judge makes
the witness’ testimony superfluous. VII Wigmore on
Evidence § 1952. at 81.

Id. at 509-10 (emphasis in original).

The Marz court explained why expert legal opinions
were superfluous:

As Professor MeCormick notes, such testimony
‘‘amounts to no more than an expression of the [wit-
ness’] general belief as to how the case should be de-
eided.’”, McCormick on Evidence, §12 at 26-27. The
admission of such testimony would give the appear-
ance that the court was shifting to witnesses the re-
sponsibility to decide the case. McCormick on Evi-
dence 412, at 27. It is for the jury to evaluate the
facts in the light of the applicable rules of law, and

16

it is therefore erroneous for a witness to state his
opinion on the law of the forum.

Id. at 510.

Significantly, the Second Circuit in Marz recognized
the danger inherent in cross-examination under such cir-
cumstances:

[Compelling the opponent to cross-examine to repair
the damage is to invite disaster, for much will turn on
the obstinaney of the expert, and repetition before a
jury, especially on cross-examination, is likely to im-
press the jury. The applicable law, not being foreign
law, could, in no sense, be a question of fact to be de-
cided by the jury.

Id. at 511.

The Sixth Cireuit in United States v. Zipkin, 729 F.2d
384 (6th Cir. 1984), followed Marz in finding reversible
error in permitting a bankruptcy judge to testify as an
expert witness on matters of law, to wit, his understanding
of the Bankruptey Act and the meaning of a written order
he had issued. Holding the admission of such testimony
regarding questions of law to be both improper and preju-
dicial, the court stated:

It is the function of the trial judge to determine the
law of the case. It is impermissible to delegate that
function to a jury through the submission of testi-
mony on controlling legal principles.

729 F.2d at 387. While the prosecution argued that any
error was not prejudicial because defense counsel demon-
strated on cross-examiuation that the bankruptcy judge’s
view of the law was erroneous, the Zipkin court disagreed,
‘stating:

17 e

Although defense counsel made a diligent effort to
discredit Judge Ray’s direct testimony, we cannot con-
clude that there was no prejudice. The testimony of
Judge Ray included his legal conclusions. These are
not a proper subject of testimony and their prejudi-
cial effect substantially outweighed any probative
value they might have had. In effect Judg- Ray’s
testimony amounted to a statement that under the
applicable law the defendant was guilty.

Id.

Notwithstanding that Zipkin arose in a criminal con-
text, it is indistinguishable from the case at bar. Cross-
examination only served to compound the prejudice to Re-
spondents.

Marz and Zipkin are but two examples of federal ap-
pellate courts uniformly recognizing the inadmissibility
of expert testimony concerning principles of law. See,
e.g., Second Circuit: DiBella v. County of Suffolk, 574
F.Supp. 151, 152-54 (E.D.N.Y. 1983), aff’d, 762 F.2d 990
(2d Cir. 1985) (exclusion of expert testimony of assistant
district attorney regarding what constitutes probable cause
was proper because such testimony is inadmissible under
Rules 701 and 702 in that it was not helpful to trier of
fact and concerned a subject for which expert testimony
was not appropriate) ; Fourth Circuit: Adalman v. Baker,
Watts and Co., 807 F.2d 359, 365-68 (4th Cir. 1986) (af-
firming the inadmissibility of legal testimony regarding
securities laws disclosure); Fifth Circuit: Owen v. Kerr-
McGee Corp., 698 F.2d 236, 239-40 (5th Cir. 1983) (trial
court properly sustained objection to question by defen-
dant of its own expert as to canse of accident because
question sought from witness concerned his opinion as

18

to legal, not factual, cause of accident); Sixth Circuit:
Apponi v. Sunshine Biscuits, Inc., 809 F.2d 1210 (6th Cir.
1987) (a witness may not instruct the jury as to applicable
principles of law since that is the responsibility of the
judge); Torres v. County of Oakland, 758 F.2d 147, 151
(6th Cir. 1985) (error to allow legal testimony as to what
constitutes ‘‘discrimination,’’ but error harmless because
‘fonly one brief question out of a rather lengthy trial’’) ;
Stoler v. Penn Central Transportation, 583 F.2d 896 (6th
Cir. 1978) (no abuse of discretion in prohibiting expert
witness from testifying he believed crossing was ‘‘extra
hazardous’’ since the expert was being asked for what
amounted to a legal opinion); Seventh Circuit: Loeb v.
Hammond, 407 F.2d 779, 781 (7th Cir. 1969) (no error in
trial court’s refusal to allow an attorney to testify as to
the legal significance of various papers signed by the par-
ties); Eighth Circuit: Hogen v. American Telephone &
Telegraph Co., 812 F.2d 409, 411-12 (8th Cir. 1987) (expert
legal opinion on what constitutes discrimination inadmis-
sible because ‘‘discriminate’’ is a lega] term); Ninth Cir-
cuit: Vucinich v. Paine, Webber, Jackson & Curtis, Inc.,
803 F.2d 454, 461 (9th Cir. 1986) (distinguished the per-
missibility of expert opinion regarding rules of New York
Stock “Exchange and National Association of Security
Dealers from the impermissibility of expert opinion on
federal law, as to which federal judges are authority) ;
Cooley v. United States, 501 F.2d 1249, 1253-54 (9th Cir.
1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1123 (1975) (in the orderly
trial of a ease, the law is given to the jury by the court
and not introduced as evidence, recognizing it would be
most confusing to a jury to have legal material introduced

‘as evidence).

Thus, the Second, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh,
Eighth and Ninth Circuits are not in conflict with that
which the court below held: that opinion evidence on the
governing law and the expression of legal coonclusions
are inadmissible.

It is clear that if legal testimony such as Sears’ were
permitted, each side of a controversy would present its
own legal expert. All of the problems inherent in permit-
ting Sears’ testimony would be compounded, and the re-
sulting confusion to the jury and invasion of the court’s
province would be exacerbated.

The Second Cireuit in United States v. Ingredient
Technology Corp., 698 F.2d 88 (2d Cir. 1983), recognized
the problem:

[I]t would be very confusing to a jury to have oppos-
ing opinions of law admitted into evidence as involv-
ing a factual question for them to decide.

698 F.2d at 97. See also, United States v. Curtis, 782 F.2d
593, 599 (6th Cir. 1986).

Presumably, if expert legal opinion were to be per-
mitted, a legal expert could render legal conclusions on
any legal issue arising in a § 1983 case. The following are
examples: whether the officers acted in good faith or had
qualified immunity from suit, whether their conduct con-
stituted excessive force, whether a false arrest occurred,

or whether the conduct rose to a level of constitutional
deprivation. In short, litigation under $1983 would
deteriorate into a battle of legal experts, leaving in shreds
the basic tenet that the federal judge is the final arbiter

20

of federal law and leaving the jury in a morass of con-
fusion.

As the Marz court cautioned in the context of securi-
ties litigation :

With the growth of intricate securities litigation over
the past forty years, we must be especially careful not
to allow trials before juries to become battles of paid
advocates posing as experts on the respective sides
concerning matters of domestic law.

590 F.2d at 511.

The growth in recent years of intricate 4 1983 litiga-
tion has matched the growth of intricate securities litiga-
tion. The necessity for special care to avoid such potential
battles of legal experts, recognized by the Marz court, is
just as applicable to § 1983 cases as it is to security cases.

Where Sears applied his understanding of the law to
assumed facts, his testimony consisted of improper legal
conclusions. See United States v. Jensen, 608 F.2d 1349,
1356 (10th Cir. 1979); see also, Comment, Expert Legal
Testimony, 97 Harv. L. Rev. 797, 797 (1983-84) (‘‘[I]t
remains black-letter law that expert legal testimony is not
permissible’).

The following analysis of Sears’ testimony focuses
primarily on direct examination because cross-examina-
tion, redirect-examination and _ recross-examination of
Sears merely compounded the problems presented in the
direct testimony, as the Varx court predicted would occur.
Marz, 550 F.2d at 511. Sears’ testimony began with three
pages of hypothetical facts regarding the alleged search at

21

Mr. Specht’s office (Vol. ILI, 42-45).2 Sears’ first opinion
was that the hypothetical facts allowed him to “conclude
that a search was conducted” (45, ll. 9-10). Of course,
Sears, speaking as an attorney, was addressing the legal
definition of “search” rather than a lay understanding of
the term.

Thereafter, Sears discussed the per se unreasonable-
ness of warrantless entries, whether there was a consentual
search, whether there was proper authority to consent to
the search and whether a search was unlawful (45, ll. 16-
24). In response to being asked to assume that ‘‘the pres-
ence of the police officer and the document [the writ of pos-
session] had a great effect on... [the] decision to let them
in the building,’ Sears said that this would ‘‘reinforce my
opinion’’ (47, |. 19 through 48, 1. 4).

At this point in his direct examination Sears had in-
structed on legal elements necessary for determination of
an unlawful Fourth Amendment seareh: there was no war-
rant, there was no consent, and there was state action be-
cause of the presence of the police officer.

Sears then was given a lengthy hypothetical regarding
the search of Petitioners’ home. At the end of the hypo-
thetical, Sears responded with the legal conclusion that
a search did take place (51, 1. 12). This was not a factual
conclusion a non-lawyer would give, but was premised
upon his understanding of legal principles. He there-
after instructed further on the law of search and seiz-
ure by commencing a legal analysis of the assumed facts

2Unless otherwise indicated, the remaining citations are to
Vol. Ill, record below.

22

under the legal doctrines of search, probable cause, exigent
circumstances, consent and colorable claim of authority,
as he understood them to be (52, 1. 19 through 53, 1. 25). At
no time did Sears resolve any factual issues as to what
occurred in Petitioners’ home or business. As with a
medical expert, the facts given Sears were always as-
sumed; but, unlike medical expert testimony, Sears
did not explain matters of a sufficiently technical nature
that would assist the jury in its determination of facts
prior to applying the court-rendered law. Instead, Sears
merely gave his rendition of the legal principles applicable
to the assumed factual context.

Sears’ testimony pursuant to direct examination con-
tinued with his legal conclusions that “all persons that
entered the premises conducted a search’? (55, ll. 2-3), that
this search was unlawful (55, 1. 13), and that the ‘‘plain-
view doctrine’? exception did not apply (55, Il. 14-19).
Again, none of these were factual conclusions but were
legal conclusions based upon his understanding of the law
as applied to the assumed facts.

Sears then testified that his opinion that the search
was unlawful ‘‘would change only if I knew Mrs. Specht
knew she had a right to refuse their entry, ...if she was
fully aware of all attendant rights, including the right to
refuse their entry and... [that she was not] faced
with a colorable claim of authority’’ (55, ll. 23 through 56,
1-8)

a

ee

3This opinion was contrary to this Court’s holding in
Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218, 234 (1973); and United

(Continued on following page)

-~

Finally, Sears’ direct testimony concluded with his
legal opinion that ‘‘it was the joint activity of all persons
who entered the premises’’ (57, ll. 19-20). Sears’ refer-

ence to ‘‘joint activity,’’ another legal doctrine, required
Respondents’ counsel on cross-examination to inquire into
Sears’ understanding of the law upon which he based his
conclusion that *‘joint activity’’ existed. Sears affirmed
that ‘‘if a law enforcement officer merely facilitates the
search,”’ that that violates the Fourth Amendment (137,
ll. 22 through 158, 1. 2). This also was not the law‘ and
was contrary to the court’s instructions. Sears’ finding
of joint activity based upon a misconception of the law
prejudiced Respondent officers because without joint ac-
tivity, the acts of the private citizens could not be imputed
to the Respondent officers. Thus, there would be no req-
uisite ‘‘state action’’ to make a search unlawful under the
Fourth Amendment.

(Continued from previous page)

States v. Watson, 423 U.S. 411 (1976). The prejudice result-
ing from Sears’ erroneous instruction on the law was further
compounded by the trial court’s erroneous refusal to permit
cross-examination of Sears’ legal error by citing case authority
(see 65, Il. 10-15). In Hart-Anderson v. Hauck, 748 P.2d 937, 943
(Mont. 1988), the court held that it was error for the trial
court to permit an attorney to give his legal opinion; and where
such testimony was allowed, under Rule 705 it was further error
to preclude cross-examination of the witness regarding case law
inconsistent with his opinions.

4See Blum v. Yaretsky, 457 U.S. 991, 1004 (1982).

24

In an analogous context, courts have permitted expert
testimony involving limited use of legal terms where such
terms are within the common understanding of a juror;
however, testimony that includes words which have a spe-
cific legal meaning not within common understanding is
not permitted. See Torres supra, 758 F.2d 147 at 1ol
(‘‘The best resolution of this type of problem is to deter-
mine whether the terms used by the witness have a sepa-
rate, distinct and specialized meaning in the law different
from that present in the vernacular. If they do, exclu-
sion is appropriate’’); Davis v. Combustion Engineering.
Inc., 742 F.2d 916, 919-20 (6th Cir. 1984) (testimony that
plaintiff was terminated because of age is admissible but
testimony involving an opinion regarding **unlawful’’ age
discrimination is inadmissible; however, because testimony
on this letter point was slight, error was harmless) ; United
States v. Hearst, 563 F.2d 1331, 1351 (9th Cir. 1977) (in-
terpreted the Advisory Committee’s exclusion of opinions
phrased in terms of “inadequately explored leral criteria”
as referring to terminology, “the meaning of which is not
reasonably clear to laymen”).

This principle distinguishes Respondent Officer Owens’
testimony regarding whether a search took place from
that of Attorney Sears. Contrary to Petitioners’ argu-
ment (see Pet. 12), Owens’ testimony was of an entirely
different character than Sears’ testimony. Officer Owens
testified as follows:

Question: If you didn’t think ... [the private citizen]
had the power to do those things |/.e., seareh the resi-
dence}, when vou were inside the Specht residence and
{the citizen] ... said, ‘‘We have a court order to
search the residence,’’ why didn’t you interrupt and
say, ‘‘No, you don't’?

25

Answer: He was making no attempt to search any-
thing, so I made no attempt to explain the situation.

(Vol. VIII, 769) Obviously, Owens was using the term
‘*search’’ in its lay sense: he believed that no one was look-
ing through rooms, looking under objects, looking behind
doors, or doing other such things that lay people would
characterize as a search. This testimony was permissible
because Owens aided the jury in determining factually
what conduct the men pursued while they were inside Peti-
tioners’ residence; it did not provide a legal characteriza-
tion of that conduct. Consequently, Owens’ testimony was
purely factual and admissible.

On the other hand, Sears’ testimony began where
Owens’ testimony concluded. Sears was instructed to as-
sume what conduct the actors pursued after which he ap-
plied the legal characterizations of ‘‘search’’ and ‘‘unlaw-
ful search.’’ This is a perfect example of an unadorned
legal conclusion. Or, applying the rationale of Hearst,
563 F.2d at 1351, Sears set forth ‘‘inadequately explored
legal criteria’’ because the jury had no independent under-
standing of Sears’ legal terms.

Petitioners have cited no case similar to the instant
ease in which an attorney expounds on constitutional prin-
ciples. Petitioners instead cite cases in which an expert
renders an opinion that, to the extent it may involve a legal
principle, is nonetheless in terms susceptable to lay under-
standing or in the context of explaining a course of con-
duct.

Petitioners’ arguments that their due process and
equal protection rights have been violated by the en

26

banc court’s decision (Pet. 6), and that the Tenth Circuit
opinion has ‘‘prohibited the use of a hypothetical as the
basis for an expert opinion’’ (Pet. 13), are groundless. The
court below merely noted that because the legal expert
assumed hypotheticals and did not attempt to resolve fac-
tual issues, see Pet. 47, n.5, this demonstrated that the ex-
pert did not resolve factual issues. The Tenth Cireuit did
not intimate in any way that the use of hypotheticals upon

which an expert could base his opinion was hereafter pro-
hibited.

III. CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE S, HaLaBy
(Counsel of Record)
Rosert M. Liecury
Havasy & McCrea
1873 South Bellaire Street
Writers V, Suite 1400
Denver, Colorado 80222

~ Telephone: (303) 691-5300

|
|
|
|
|

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0398%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
