# Opposition Brief — Jordan v. Hodel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0317%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 1006

## Text

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

EVELYN JORDAN, PETITIONER
Vv.

DONALD P. HODEL, SECRETARY OF INTERIOR

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases:
Albermarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405 (1975) .. 3
Cohen v. Fred Meyer, Inc., 686 F.2d 793 (9th Cir.
NINN ec Bae dee aren ca ie en Dat ns 5
Craft v. Metromedia, Inc., 766 F.2d 1205 (8th Cir.
1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1058 (1986)... ... .. 4
EEOC v. Detroit Edison Co., 515 F.2d 301 (6th Cir.
1975), vacated, 431 U.S. 951 (1977) ....... Gay 4
Great American Federal Savings & Loan Ass'n v.
Novotny, 442 U.S. 366 (1979) .....0000 00... 3
Harmon vy. May Broadcasting Co., $83 F.2d 410 (8th
ee I aie cs age pets ta, ye Gore 4
Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, ic. 417 F.2d
ed. a 8 ee eee . 4
Jones v. Flagship Int'l, 793 F.2d 714 (Sth Cir. 1986) 5
Lehman v. Nakshian, 453 U.S. 156 (1981) .... 3,4
Lorillard vy. Pons, 434 U.S. 575 (1978) ..... 3
Olin v. Prudential Ins. Co. of America, 798 F.2d 1 (Ist
ae Ec x's cre. 4
Robinson vy. Lovillard Cotp.. 444 F. 2d 791 (4th Cir.),
cert. dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971) .. 4
Shah v. Mt. Zion Hospital & Medical Center, 642 F.2d
268 (9th Cir. 1981) . saa 4
Slack v. Havens, $52 F. dd 1091 (9th Cir. 1975) : 4
Sullivan v. School Bd. of Pinellas County, 773 F.2d 1182
(Lith Cir. 1985) eye. tate 4
Texas Dep’t of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S.
248 (1981) ....... : 5
United States v. Lee Way Motor Freight, Inc., 625 F.2d
918 (10th Cir. 1979) , see ie, 4
United States Postal Serv. Bd. of Governers v. Aikens,
460 U.S. 711 (1983) Ends 5
Williamson v. Handy Button Machine Co. 817 F.2d 1290
(7th Cir. 1987)
Youakimv. Miller, 425 U.S. 231 (1976) . 3

(1)

II

Statute: Page
Civil Rights Act of 1964, Tit. VII, 42 U.S.C. 2000e
| PP ee 2,4

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 88-673
EVELYN JORDAN, PETITIONER
v.

DONALD P. HODEL, SECRETARY OF INTERIOR

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Petitioner claims that (1) the district court erred in deny-
ing her a jury trial on her Title VII gender discrimination
claim; and (2) the courts below erred in refusing to shift to
the defendant a burden of proof by clear and convincing
evidence, Once petitioner established a prima facie case of
gender discrimination.

1. Petitioner was hired as an administrative assistant
at the United States Fish and Wildlife Service in 1972.
Three years later, she filed a complaint with the Service
claiming that she was the victim of gender discriminafion.
In particular, she alleged that her immediate supervisor
Ronald DeVall suggested that it was necessary for her to
engage in a sexual relationship with him in order for her to
keep her job or obtain a promotion, and that after she
refused his advances he retaliated against her in various
ways. Administrative proceedings resulted in a finding of
no discrimination. Petitioner thereafter filed a complaint
in district court, alleging that she was a victim of gender

(1)

2

discrimination, in violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000e et seg., on several grounds:
(1) she was sexually harassed at her work place; (2) she suf-
fered various adverse personnel actions in retaliation for
her decision to refuse DeVall’s advances and to file a claim
of gender discrimination; and (3) she was actually and
constructively discharged. Pet. App. 20-22.

The district court denied petitioner’s request for a jury
trial on her Title VII claim. Pet. App. 13-14. Thereafter,
the district court granted partial summary judgment for
the government, ruling that petitioner had not been
discharged for an impermissible reason and that she was
dismissed because she had refused to return to work after
being on administrative leave for more than four years.
App., infra, la-3a.' The court reserved decision on peti-
tioner’s other claims. Following a bench trial, the district
court found that petitioner had not been subjected to a
hostile work environment, had not been subjected to
retaliation for filing an administrative complaint, and had
not been constructively discharged. Jd. at 4a-13a.? As the
district court summarized: “It is crystal clear that Plaintiff
and her immediate supervisor were not well suited to
working with one another. The Court finds that it was
their personality clash, not any overt or invidious sexual
considerations or retaliation, that was the ultimate cause
of all of the difficulties which bring this matter to Court.”
Id. at 9a.

' The district court’s order of October 1, 1985, is not reprinted in
the petition appendix, but is reprinted in an appendix to this
memorandum.

2 The district court’s decision of April 29, 1986, is not ~eprinted in
the petition appendix, but is reprinted in an appendix to this
memorandum.

The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 18-38. It
upheld the district court’s ruling that petitioner was not the
victim of a hostile or abusive work environment. /d. at
25-31. The court also upheld as not clearly erroneous the
district court’s finding that petitioner was not the victim of
retaliation for rejecting DeVall’s advances or for filing her
Title VII administrative complaint. Jd. at 33-36.

2. a. Petitioner claims that she was entitled to a jury
trial on her Title VII claims. However, “there is no right to
trial by jury in cases arising under Title VII.” Lehman v.
Nakshian, 453 U.S. 156, 164 (1981); see Great American
Federal Savings & Loan Ass’n v. Novotny, 442 U.S. 366,
375 (1979).3 The ability to recover backpay in a Title VII
Suit does not confer on a plaintiff a legal right that entitles
a plaintiff to a jury trial, since “under Title VII, the
availability of backpay is a matter of equitable discretion.”
Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 584 (1978) (emphasis
added; footnote omitted) (citing A/bemarle Paper Co. v.
Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 421 (1975)).4 Accordingly, the
district court correctly denied petitioner’s request for a
jury trial.

3 Also, petitioner did not preserve that claim. Although petitioner
asked for a jury trial in district court (Pet. App. 9-12), which denied
her request (/d. at 13-14), and petitioner listed that claim in her state-
ment of issues on appeal, which was filed more than a year before her
opening brief (id. at 15), petitioner did not present that claim in her
opening or reply briefs on the merits (Appellant Br. 4, 21-48; Ap-
pellant’s Reply Br. 7-25) or in her petition for rehearing (Pet. App.
39-51). The court of appeals also did not address it. Under these cir-
cumstances, petitioner abandoned her claim in the court of appeals,
and this Court should decline to review it. See, e.g., Youakim v.
Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 234 (1976).

+ Every court of appeals that has addressed this question has ruled
that a plaintiff does not have a right to a jury trial ona Title VII claim,
holding that such claims are equitable, not legal, even when back pay

4

b. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 9-11) that the lower
courts misallocated the burden of proof in her Title VII
retaliation claim. She argues that once she established a
prima facie case that she had been forced to endure a
hostile work environment, the government should have
been required to prove by clear and convincing evidence
that DeVall had no improper motive for taking adverse
personnel actions against her.°

However, the district court found that petitioner was
not forced to endure a hostile work environment, the court
of appeals upheld that ruling (Pet. App. 30-31), and peti-
tioner does not challenge it in this Court. The court of

~ js sought. Olin v. Prudential Ins. Co. of America, 798 F.2d 1, 7 (Ist

Cir. 1986); Sullivan v. School Bd. of Pinellas County, 773 F.2d 1182,
1187 (lith Cir. 1985); Shah v. Mount Zion Hospital & Medical
Center, 642 F.2d 268, 272 (9th Cir. 1981); United States v. Lee Way
Motor Freight, Inc., 625 F.2d 918, 940 (10th Cir. 1979); Harmon v.
May Broadcasting Co., 583 F.2d 410, 410-411 (8th Cir. 1978); Slack v.
Havens, 522 F.2d 1091, 1094 (9th Cir. 1975); EEOC v. Detroit Edison
Co., 515 F.2d 301, 308 (6th Cir. 1975), vacated on other grounds, 431
U.S. 951 (1977); Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791, 802 (4th
Cir.), cert. dismissed, 404 U.S. 1006 (1971); Johnson v. Georgia
Highway Express, Inc., 417 F.2d 1122, 1125 (Sth Cir. 1969); see
Williamson v. Handy Button Machine Co., 817 F.2d 1290, 1293 (7th
Cir. 1987); see also Craft v. Metromedia, Inc., 766 F.2d 1205, 1209
n.3 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1058 (1986). Further, during
Congress’s consideration of the 1972 amendments to Title VII, which
extended the Civil Rights Act of 1964 to the federal government, the
Senate rejected an amendment that would have conferred a right to a
jury trial in Title VII cases. Lehman v. Nakshian, 453 U.S. at 167
n.16.

$ Petitioner did not raise that claim in her opening or reply briefs in
the court of appeals, and that court did not consider it. In fact, in the
petition for rehearing that petitioner filed in the court of appeals, she
stated that a plaintiff bears the ultimate burden of proof ona Title VII
retaliation claim. Pet. App. 46. Petitioner therefore cannot raise this
claim for the first time in this Court.

appeals therefore correctly held that the only action peti-
tioner took that could serve as the basis for a retaliation
claim was her decision to file an administrative complaint.
Id. at 33. Moreover, the court of appeals also correctly
held (id. at 32) that petitioner’s retaliation claim should be
judged under the same allocation of the burdens of pro-
duction and proof that apply to a disparate treatment
claim. Jones v. Flagship Int’l, 793 F.2d 714, 724-729 (Sth
Cir. 1986); Cohen v. Fred Meyer, Inc., 686 F.2d 793 (9th
Cir. 1982). And it is firmly settled that the plaintiff bears
the ultimate burden of proof on a disparate treatment
claim. United States Postal Serv. Bd. of Governers v.
Aikens, 460 U.S. 711, 714-716 (1983); Texas Dep’t of
Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 256-257
(1981). Thus, because the court of appeals applied the
correct analysis to the district court’s findings, the decision
below does not warrant further review.

It is therefore respectfully submitted that the petition
for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

DECEMBER 1988

® Petitioner misstates (Pet. 9-10) the holding in the Ninth Circuit’s
decision in Cohen v. Fred Meyer, Inc., supra, by suggesting that
Cohen mandates a shift in the burden of proof in a hostile environ-
ment situation. Cohen involved a retaliation claim, not a claim of a
hostile work environment, and the court made perfectly clear that
“(t]he ultimate burden of persuading the court that defendant
unlawfully retaliated against her remains at all times with the
plaintiff.” 686 F.2d at 796-797.

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA

No. A78-290 Civil
EVELYN JORDAN, PLAINTIFF
VS.

WILLIAM P. CLARK, SECRTARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF THE
INTERIOR, DEFENDANT

[FILED OCT. 1, 1985]

ORDER
(Partial Summary Judgment Granted)

Defendant moved for partial summary judgment on
August 20, 1985. The motion is unopposed, despite the
Court’s minute order of September 19, 1985, directing
counsel for Plaintiff to show cause within five days from
the latter date why Defendant’s motion for partial sum-
mary judgment should not be granted. The Court is not in
the habit of soliciting opposition in his fashion, but
neither does the Court wish to have matters where there is
some substantial potential for disagreement decided by
default.

The Court has reviewed the substance of Defendant’s
motion and has taken into consideration the provisions of
Local General Rule 5(B)(4), which in substance provides
that: “[f]ailuresto file a brief by the adverse party shall be
deemed an admission that, in the opinion of counsel, the
motion is well taken.”

(la)

2a

On undisputed facts, the Court finds that on January
25, 1980, Plaintiff was terminated as an employee of De-
fendant for her refusal to return to work after November
15, 1979. The Court further finds that no appeal was taken
from the foregoing administrative decision to terminate
Plaintiff as an employee of Defendant.

Title 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16(d) makes the provisions of
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g) applicable to this action. The latter
section provides in pertinent part:

No order of the court shall require the. . . reinstate-
ment... of an individual as anemployee. . . if such
individual was .. . discharged for any reason other

than discrimination on account of race, color,
religion, sex, or national origin or in violation of sec-
tion 2000e-3(a) of this title.

In consideration of the foregoing, the Court concludes
that Plaintiffs January 25, 1980, termination was for
reasons other than those proscribed by Section 2000e-5(g)
and therefore reinstatement cannot be ordered by this
Court on account of that termination. However, the par-
ties must understand that this ruling does not preclude
Plaintiff from pursuing her complaint, as well as the
possibility of reinstatement and retroactive pay, if Plain-
tiff can establish (among other elements of her case) that
she was constructively discharged from her job prior to
January 25, 1980, on account of sex or some other
discriminatory and therefore proscribed basis. Muller v.
United States Steel Corp., 509 F.2d 923, 930 (10th Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 825 (1975); Satterwhite v. Smith,
744 F.2d 1380, 1381 (9th Cir. 1984).

3a

DATED at Anchorage, Alaska, this Ist day of October,
1985.

/s/ H. Russell Holland

H. RUSSELL HOLLAND
United States District Judge

4a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA

No. A78-290 Civil
EVELYN JORDAN, PLAINTIFF
VS.

WILLIAM P. CLARK, SECRTARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF THE
INTERIOR, DEFENDANT

[FILED APR. 29 1986]

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Court trial in this matter was concluded on March 7,
1986. The Court has considered the testimony and exhibits
presented at trial and the oral argument of counsel. Based
upon the foregoing and upon the joint statement of un-
contested facts filed herein by the parties, the Court makes
the following:

Findings of Fact

1. Plaintiff in this case is a female who began working
for the United States Fish & Wildlife Service as an admin-
istrative assistant in the office of the Alaska area admin-
istrator at Anchorage, Alaska, on April 9, 1972. Plaintiff
had initially been hired on November 4, 1968, by the
Department of Defense in a civilian capacity as a card
punch operator, GS-2 level, assigned at Elmendorf AFB.
On September 9, 1969, she transferred to Fort Richardson
in a GS-3 position as a clerk-stenographer, and on Octo-

Sa

ber 19, 1969, moved to an administrative clerk position at
a GS-4 level with the Office of the Adjutant General in
Anchorage. On December 12, 1970, Plaintiff transferred
to the Alaska Railroad as a clerk-typist at the equivalent of
a GS-4 level. On April 15, 1971, her position was the sub-
ject of a reduction in force.

2. Plaintiff was thereafter hired as an administrative
assistant at a GS-5 level at the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Serv-
ice. At this time, Plaintiff’s immediate supervisor was ad-
ministrative officer Ronald C. DeVall. Shortly after Plain-
tiff was appointed to this position and for a period of time
thereafter, Plaintiff and Mr. DeVall regularly went to
lunch together, and matters other than business were
discussed on such occasions. During one such luncheon in
May of 1982, Mr. DeVall made statements which Plaintiff
understood as a sexual advance. Mr. DeVall had been
known to tell jokes and make comments that had sexual
overtones. At least one of Plaintiff's co-workers, Ms.
Louise Waddel, had heard Mr. DeVall make such off-
color comments in the past on another occasion, but had
not taken him seriously.

3. In June of 1973, Plaintiff was promoted from the
GS-5 level to the GS-7 level. During early spring of the
following year, 1974, a review of Plaintiff's position
description was made by Mr. William Struhs, a personnel
officer with the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service located in
Portland, Oregon, who found she was not eligible for pro-
motion at that time.

4. On January 13, 1975, Plaintiff notified Mr. Henry
Hanson, the deputy area director for the U.S. Fish &
Wildlife Service in Alaska, and its equal employment op-
portunity counselor, that she intended to file a formal
complaint based on allegations of sex discrimination. The
formal complaint, which was filed on February 26, 1975,

6a

was investigated in April of 1975 and a report followed on
April 25, 1975. The matter was reviewed, without a formal
evidentiary hearing at Plaintiff’s request, by the U.S. Fish
& Wildlife Service which issued a report on April 26, 1976,
and later by the director of equal employment opportunity
for the Department of the Interior, who issued a report
dated December 3, 1976. Plaintiff thereafter appealed
these decisions to the Appeals Review Board of the U.S.
Civil Service Commission, which issued its written deci-
sion on September 22, 1978. At Plaintiff’s request, no for-
mal hearing was ever held. Plaintiff filed the present suit
in the United States District Court within thirty (30) days
of receipt of this decision.

5. From May 2, 1975, until November 14, 1979, Plain-
tiff was on authorized “leave without pay” status at her re-
quest. Effective January 25, 1980, Plaintiff was removed
from her position for refusal to return to work after
November 15, 1979. No appeal was taken from this ac-
tion.

6. At the luncheon meeting on May 15, 1972, at which
Plaintiff understood she received a sexual advance from
her supervisor, Mr. DeVall, Plaintiff and Mr. DeVall were
more probably than not engaged in flirtatious conversa-
tion and conduct which could, and probably did, leave
each of them with the impression that he or she had been
the recipient of a sexual advance.

7. Even if expressed as an overt solicitation as con-
tended by Plaintiff, the Court finds that the foregoing
May 15, 1972, exchange between Plaintiff and Mr. DeVall
did not rise to the stature of a condition of employment or
promotion. Plaintiff’s evidence fails to convince the Court
that any adverse job action resulted from her refusal of the
Overture attributed to Mr. DeVall.

8. Plaintiff contends that she was harassed by
telephone calls from Mr. DeVall. The evidence in this

7a

regard is very meagre. There is clear evidence of only one
telephone call to Plaintiff's residence, and this is disputed
by Mr. DeVall. Plaintiffs proof fails to establish a pattern
of harassment through telephone calls. Assuming that
multiple telephone calls were made, the Court is not con-
vinced that the telephoning persisted for any significant
length of time, nor that it rose to the stature of condition
of continued employment or promotion. Such is not even
suggested by the evidence.

9. Plaintiff has made other claims of harassment. In
oral testimony, the Court heard allegations of offensive
touching at Plaintiff's place of work. Civen the history of
this case, it is inconceivable that Plaintiff would not have
made these most recent allegations of sexual harassament
during the course of the several years of administrative
proceedings which preceded this litigation. To give Plain-
tiff the benefit of the doubt, and assuming that she has not
simply manufactured these additional allegations of
harassment, the Court finds that any physical contact be-
tween Plaintiff and Mr. DeVall on the job was of so in-
significant a nature as to not rise to the stature of
unwelcome sexual contact. Had the supposed contacts
been of this stature, they surely would have been men-
tioned by Plaintiff during the course of the administrative
investigation of her sexual harassment complaint.

10. Mr. DeVall was given to telling off-color stories
and making occasional sexist comments in the work place.
Much of this conduct appears to have been directed at men
as well as women. Without meaning to condone this con-
duct in any degree, the evidence simply does not support a
finding that the foregoing conduct, to the extent that it
was unwelcome, offensive, and/or sexually discriminatory
in its impact, was also sufficiently pervasive so as to aiter
the terms of employment and create an abusive work en-
vironment.

8a

11. Plaintiff has contended that in the course of
reevaluating her job description in 1974, duties were im-
properly taken away from her. The Court is not convinced
that this action was an outgrowth of the refusal of an
alleged sexual overture two years prior. Moreover, the
evidence taken as a whole clearly establishes that there
were legitimate administrative reasons for making dele-
tions from Plaintiff’s job description. The duties removed
were those of a lesser grade position, and those duties in
fact tended to downgrade Plaintiff's job rather than
enhance its status.

12. Plaintiff has contended that she was denied a pro-
motion to GS-9 level in June of 1974. The Court finds that
Plaintiff was not entitled to such a promotion. Further-
more, there is insufficient evidence to convince the Court
that Plaintiff's job might have been structured so as to
qualify her for a GS-9 level, but was not so structured
because of discriminatory sex considerations.

13. In summary as to the foregoing, the Court finds
that Plaintiff does belong to a protected group. Plaintiff
was not subject to unwelcome sexual harassment with the
possible exception of the May 15, 1972, off work en-
counter. As to the latter, while such conduct was based
upon sex, the situation was not sufficiently pervasive to
alter the conditions of employment or create an abusive
working environment.

14. Plaintiff has contended that her promotion from
GS-5 to GS-7 in 1973 was delayed. The Court finds that
there was no significant delay in this promotion, and in
particular the Court finds that any delay was not occa-
sioned because Plaintiff refused her supervisor’s alleged
sexual advance in May of 1972.

15. Plaintiff has claimed that she was denied manage-
ment training. The Court finds that Plaintiff was afforded

hn ne alll

9a

substantial training at Government expense and, when cer-
tain training was denied, legitimate reasons for a refusal
existed. Management training was not refused Plaintiff
because of the alleged sexual advance in May of 1972.

16. Plaintiff claims that her job performance ratings
were downgraded, that she received a ninety-day warning
notice, and that certain other adverse memoranda were
placed in her personnel file in retaliation for her filing an
administrative sex discrimination complaint. While the
aforementioned incidents, if viewed in isolation, might
give rise to the inference of retaliation, after considering
all of the evidence the Court is unable to find by a
preponderance of the evidence that there has been any
retaliation against Plaintiff. The conduct which Plaintiff
asserts to be retaliatory appears to the Court to be more a
reaction to a problem of clashing personalities than acts in
retaliation for the filing of a discrimination complaint.
The alleged adverse filings are certainly a reaction to
Plaintiff's conduct, but the Court is not convinced that sex
discrimination or the filing of Plaintiff's complaint on this
subject had anything to do with Plaintiff's downgraded
performance ratings, the consequential ninety-day warn-
ing, or other adverse matters placed in her personnel file.

17. It is crystal clear that Plaintiff and her immediate
supervisor were not well suited to working with one
another. The Court finds that it was their personality
clash, not any overt or invidious sexual considerations or
retaliation, that was the ultimate cause of all of the dif-
ficulties which bring this matter to Court.

18. In amplification of the foregoing, the Court finds
that Plaintiff was possessed of a compelling need to
achieve and succeed on her job. The Court is well aware of
the fact that this attribute historically has been seen as a
“plus” in men and occasionally as a “negative” quality in
women. In the past it has not been uncommon for men

10a

possessed of this quality to be characterized as “can do”
people and “go-getters,” whereas women with this at-
tributes were characterized as “pushy women” or worse.
The Court finds no clear evidence of the latter philosophy
in Plaintiff's employment. Rather, Plaintiff's female co-
workers appear to have had every bit as much difficulty
relating to and working with her as did her immediate
supervisor and other male personnel.

19. In her desire to promote herself, Plaintiff has
come across as being divisive, presumptuous, and vitriolic.
She has manipulated her physician in order to absent
herself from work in the latter stages of this matter. She
has taken upon herself to assume responsibilities which
were not hers and, in one instance, appears to have under-
mined the effectiveness of her employer in a Native hire
program. Plaintiff and her supervisor and Plaintiff and
other employees have engaged in loud and angry argu-
ments, some of which degenerated into the exchange of
vulgar suggestions.

20. In summary, the Court finds that Plaintiff was a
very disruptive influence in her workplace. The Court is
convinced that Plaintiff's downgraded performance
ratings and other adverse comments placed in her file were
substantially justified.

21. The Court does not find nor intend to suggest that
this matter was handled well by Plaintiff's employer. In-
deed, it appears that during the period between 1972 and
1975, the area administrator’s office for the Fish &
Wildlife Service was ineffectual, both in handling what
was admittedly a very difficult personnel problem as be-
tween Plaintiff and her immediate supervisor and in
handling that situation when it was brought to a confron-
tation by Plaintiff in the context of a discrimination com-
plaint. Be this as it may, once an outside investigator
was appointed, Plaintiff’s discrimination complaint was

lla

thoroughly and exhaustively evaluated administratively.
No discrimination was found and, on reexamination of
that issue, the Court also so finds. A resolution of Plain-
tiffs complaint was offered by the employer which was
fair, just, and equitable —indeed, for more than Plaintiff
was entitled io in the opinion of the Court. The employer’s
resolution was rejected by Plaintiff.

22. On appeal, the Civil Service Commission ultimate-
ly found that there had been retaliation against Plaintiff.
On retrial of that issue, the Court is convinced that the
evidence does not support such a finding. As stated above,
the Court finds that those actions found to have been
retaliatory were not undertaken because of Plaintiff's
discrimination complaint, but rather solely because of the
dreadful interpersonal relationships which had developed
between Plaintiff and her supervisors and fellow
employees that were in no way sex-oriented.

23. Plaintiff contends that she was constructively
discharged by Defendant prior to her formal administra-
tive discharge. (The final administrative discharge effected
by Defendant is not at issue here, having never been
challenged by Plaintiff.)

24. In 1973, Plaintiff suffered a series of serious
misfortunes (an automobile accident in which she received
a back injury, death of an immediate family member, and
major surgery unrelated to her accident). Plaintiff did not
recover as rapidly as would have been anticipated from her
traumatic injury, and it is very unclear from the evidence
whether the back injury exacerbated the job situation or
whether the reverse was true. The truth likely is that each
compounded the other. More probably than not, job
Stresses aggravated Plaintiffs back injury, and the back
injury aggravated the personality clashes between Plaintiff
and her superiors and fellow employees. This situation

12a

led to Plaintiff taking extended leaves without pay. To the
extent that Plaintiffs job situation may have contributed
to the leaves without pay, the operative cause was poor
personnel interrelationships, not sex discrimination.

25. Plaintiff returned to work briefly in 1979 at a
point in time when a period of extremely rapid growth had
substantially changed the area administrator’s office of the
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service at Anchorage, Alaska. The
Administrative responsibilities of the Anchorage office
has grown tremendously with the result that jobs were very
differently structured. At this point, all of the personnel
(including Plaintiff's immediate superior) who were in-
volved in this matter from 1972 through the completion of
the administrative proceedings on Plaintiff's discrimina-
tion complaint had retired or been transferred to other
sites. The GS-7 job which Plaintiff had performed into
early 1975 simply didn’t exist anymore. As a consequence,
upon her return to work Plaintiff was assigned to work
under Peggy Thomas, the chief of contracting and general
services of the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service at Anchorage,
Alaska. Plaintiff was assigned to do administrative work
involving review and indexing of agreements between the
agency and others. Although Plaintiffs new supervisor
found Plaintiff's work to be satisfactory, Plaintiff was not
happy with her new work and found it stressful. Plaintiff
again voluntarily left her employment with the U.S. Fish &
Wildlife Service at Anchorage. There is no evidence that
Plaintiff's departure was anything but her own choice.

26. The Court finds that Plaintiff was not construc-
tively terminated from her employment at the U.S. Fish &
Wildlife Service at Anchorage, Alaska. Plaintiff was not
forced off the job by an abusive working environment.

l3a

Conclusions of Law

(1) In light of the foregoing findings of fact, the Court
concludes as a matter of law that there has not been a
violation of 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16.

(2) Plaintiff was not denied employment or advance-
ment or other job benefits because of her sex.

(3) Plaintiff was not subjected to harassment which
rose to the stature of a condition of employment or an
abusive working environment.

(4) Plaintiff was not subjected to retaliation because
of her filing a sex discrimination complaint.

(5) Plaintiff was not constructively terminated from
her employment by reason of sex discrimination or harass-
ment.

The Clerk of Court shall enter judgment dismissing
Plaintiff's complaint with prejudice.

DATED at Anchorage, Alaska, this 29th day of April,
1986.

/s/ H. Russell Holland

H. RUSSELL HOLLAND
United States District Judge

US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE 1968 —241 69900014

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0317%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
