# Opposition Brief — Local Freight Drivers, Local 208, International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. Rozay's Transfer

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0197%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 953

## Text

OCT ZA 1988

3: JOSEPH E. SPANIOL, JR.
¥ CLERK

In The Supreme Court
Of The
United States

OCTOBER TERM 1988

LOCAL FREIGHT DRIVERS, LOCAL 208,
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF
TEAMSTERS, CHAUFFEURS, WARE-

HOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
vs.
ROZAY’S TRANSFER,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STEPHEN P. PEPE
(Counsel of Record)
CLIFF FONSTEIN
O’MELVENY & MYERS
400 South Hope Street
Fifteenth Floor
Los Angeles, California
90071-2895
(213) 699-6000
Counsel for Respondent
Rozay’s Transfer

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Does ee ti 301 of the Labor
Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.
§ 185 ("Section 301") provide federal
courts with jurisdiction to decide
claims based on a union’s' fraudulent
contractual misrepresentations which
induce an employer to sign a collective.
bargaining agreement making the employ-
er liable to a trust fund under the
Employee Retirement Income Security Act

of 1974 ("ERISA"), 29 U.S.C. § 1001 et

seq.?

ae Does Section 301 # £4provide
federal courts with concurrent juris-
diction to decide claims based on a

union’s fraudulent contractual misrep-

resentations even though those claims
may also arguably be unfair labor prac-
tices within the jurisdiction of the
National Labor Relations Board (the

"N.L.R.B.")?

3. Is an employer’s reliance on
a union leader’s fraudulent contractual
mispresentations unreasonable simply
because the misrepresentations involved
the purposeful concealment of a trust

fund vote?

ii :

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 28.1 LIST*

The parties to the proceeding
below were petitioner Local Freight
Drivers, Local 208, International
Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs,
Warehousemen and Helpers of America
("Teamsters Local 208"), respondent

Rozay’s Transfer ("Rozay’s") and amici

curiae Southern California District
Council of Laborers, International
Union of Operating Engineers, Local
Union No. 12, Merchants and Manufac-
turers Association, and the California

Trucking Association.

a: Respondent Rozay’s has no parent

companies, subsidiaries, or affiliates
to list pursuant to Rule 28.1.

iii

TA OF CONTENTS
= Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........2ec0e0. i

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE
yr) PS Sr . Perr ere. Se eee eee ECE Te iii

ye \ '? Se SP is. ¢ 840% PP vii
OPINIONS BEIM sc cccccccccccsccecees 2

UMMMMEEERRR EAM SoS cece cccrecescsdionns 9

STAT me OF ZH CASE wc cccccscscccs 9

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ... ~24

Is THE DISTR COURT HAD SUBJECT

MATTER JURISDICTION UNDER

SECTION 301 TO DECIDE ROZAY’S
FRAUD CLA ON STERS
LOCAL 208’S CONTRACTUAL MIS-
REPRESENTATIONS ......2.22e202. 24

A. Even If There Is A Con-

: Contracts, It Is Irrevel-

ant To This Case Since

The Ninth Circuit In
Southwest Administrators

Found A Valid Collective
Bargaining Agreement ..... 28

iv

Il.

ee The Ninth Circuit’s
Interpretation Of
Section 301 Is Con-
sistent With The
tatuto tent _
And This Court’s
REE ncccescscece

2. There Is No Genuine
Conflict Among The ~
Circuits With Respect

° ’ is-
diction Under Sec-
tion 301 To Decide
A_Labor Contract’s
WRSSMOED cescccsacess

THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG THE
CIRCUITS THAT SECTION 301 GIVES

FEDERAL COURTS CONCURRENT

‘JURISDICTION EVEN OVER MATTERS

WHICH MAY ARGUABLY BE UNFAIR
LABOR PRACTICES ...cccccccccses

Appendix A.

Appendix B.

Reporter’s Transcript
of District Court’s
Status Conference,
dated May 24, 1985.

Pre-Trial Conference

Order, filed January
14, 1986.

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES PAGE(S)

Adams _v. Budd Co., 349 F.2d 368
(3d Cir. 1965) ...... pire wae ae

471 U.S. 202 (1985) ........ 35,36

Amalgamated Ass’n of Street,
Electric Railway &
Vv , 403
- << ». |. \ 52

,
803 F.2d 953 (8th Cir.

1986), cert. denied,

me yee Oe a

3242, 97 L. Ed. 2d 747 .
Th. Fre See 54

tional Union, 476 F.2d 1388
(ms Gee Be BOTS) cc ccccce 39

A.T. Massey Coal Co. v. Interna-

Uni United Mi
Workers, 799 F.2d 142 (4th
Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

U.S. , 107 S. Ct.
1964, 95 L. Ed. 2d 536
(SGNE riot coon ce chad cuenes 45

vii

CASES | PAGE(S)

Black-Clawson Co. v. Interna-
. r yey
,

313 F.2d 179 (2d Cir.

19GZ) sesnecece baeeare esuaeee 328
Board o Vv. iv

Enterprises, Inc., 751 F.2d

L277 (i3GR Gals 1968) «222-2 39,47
Chambless v. Masters, Mates &

Pilots Pension Plan,

571 F. Supp. 1430

yo eS re 57
Charles Dowd Box Co. v. Courtney,

368 UsS. SOB (1962) csccscsecs 40
Food Ha a etc.

v._Valmac Industries, Inc.,
528 F.2d 217 (8th Cir.

EPID) caccocesedetsessccecece 31
Galvez v. Local 804 Welfare
Trust Fund, 543 F. Supp.
316 (E.D.N.¥. 1982) ........ 57,60
Vv j ing,
Co., 455 F.2d 1252
(ISS Gale BOVa) Se dcecccesec 45,49

International Brotherhood of
Electrical Workers, Local

532 v. Brink Construction
Co., 825 F.2d 207 (9th

Cais BOIS. 6c cesieseessecres 49

viii

CASES PAGE(S

Vv. = Om]
851 F.2d 910 (7th Cir.
1988) eeee*eeeee#7#*e#esseeeee##e#e#eese##e##*# 44,46

° j j °.
v. United Brotherhood of
Carpenters & Joiners, 785

F.2d 706 (9th Cir. 1986) ... 49

- Knoll _v. Phoenix Steel Corp.,
465 F.2d 1128 (3d Cir.

1972), cert. denied, 409

U.8. 1226 (1973) caccccccces 56
Laborers Health & Welfare .

Vv Vv d

Lightweight Concrete Co.,

__ U.8. ., 1608 8. Ct.

830, 98 L. Ed. 936

(1988) wccceecesseseeeeeeees 30

Leskiw v. 47 na-
tional Brotherhood of
Elec. Workers, 464 F.2d
721 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 1041
Co a 48

Lexington Cartaye Co. v. Inter-
national Brotherhood of

Teamsters, etc., 713 F.2d
cee Cee Gabe SPOS) ceeeseore 53

ix

CASES

Mack Trucks, Inc. v. Interna-
tional Union, UAW, No.
87-1650 (3d Cir. Sept.
hay ROGED caneenndcas revere eT

Martin v. Hamil, 608 F.2d 725
tS RS eee

national Ass’n of Bridge,
Structu & Ornamental

Iron Workers, 812 F.2d 615
(LOGE Gabe Bee Aare awn ces

Mengel Co. v. Nashville Paper

Products & Specialty Workers
Union, 221 F.2d 644 (6th

RE PN ar ae i a

Mo-Kan Teamsters Pension Fund v.
Creason, 716 F.2d 772 (10th
Cir. 1983), cert. denied,
464 U.S. 1045 (1984) .......

NDK Corp. v. 150, United
Food & Commercial Workers,
709 F.2d 491 (7th Cir.
2 ae ey

Oates v. Teamsters Affiliates
Pension Plan, 482 F. Supp.

4Gi (B.D.C. BOTS) secccccces

Ridens v. Voluntary Separation
Program, 610 F. Supp. 770

(is eee SOT Bee ke oe enue

PAGE(S)

53,54

CASES PAGE(S)
Ro . s Vv. ight
Drivers ca 8 nter-
nationa rothe od of
Teamsters, Chauffeurs,
Warehousemen and Helpers
of America, 850 F.2d 1321
(SUM Cae. BOOB): ckcccsecccee 6,
passim

San Diego Building Trades
Council v. Garmon,

359 U.S. 236 (19359) .cccece $0,591,
52,54

Smith v. Evening News Ass’n,
37h UcBi SOR LBPOS) we ccopnes 38, 9k4 om

Southwest Administrators,

Inc. v. Rozay’s Transfer,

791 F.2d 769 (9th Cir.

1986), cert. denied,

ene - 4 Ber Os CB.

951, 93 L. Ed. 2d 999

‘es by ter eres 2;

passim

Teamster’s a 4 ealth &

Welfare Fund v. Kohn

Beverage Co., 749 F.2d
315 (6th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 471 U.S.
LOL? (1965S) cece vswrccesssce 57

xi

CASES
Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln

Mills of Alabama, 353 U.S.
G68 C20) cethsnsicdeank cas

United Steelworkers of America v.

Rome Ind., Inc., 437 F.2d
GGi (SE CA. 2970) os ccaves

STATUTES

Employee Retirement Income
Security Act ("ERISA")

29 U.S.C. §§ 1001 et seg ....
§ 515 (29 U.S.C. § 11345) ....
Labor Management Relations Act

6-304 (20 G.8.0c 6 SOR) bccss

SECONDARY AUTHORITIES

12 S. Williston, A Treatise
On The Law Of Contracts

§ 1523 (3d ed. 1970) ...

wis

PAGE(S)

34,35

i

29

i,
passim

31

No. 88-535

In The Supreme Court
Of The
United States

OCTOBER TERM 1988

LOCAL FREIGHT DRIVERS, LOCAL 208,
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF
TEAMSTERS, CHAUFFEURS, WARE-

HOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
vs.
ROZAY’S TRANSFER,
' Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The Respondent, Rozay’s Transfer,
respectfully submits the following
Opposition to Petitioner’s Request for

a Writ of Certiorari.

OPINIONS BELOW

This is the second time a Petition

for Writ of Certiorari has been filed

in this Court involving the- same

underlying dispute. The first case,
Southwest Administrators, Inc. Vv.

Rozay’s Transfer, 791 F.2d 769 (9th
Cir. 1986), sere. eee, .. 0.8. 3
107 §. Ct. $51, 33 i. Bee 26 999 (1967)
was a pension collection action brought
by the Western Conference of Teamsters
Pension Trust Fund (the wT rue)
against Rozay’s in which the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals ("Ninth
Circuit") affirmed a judgment against
Rozay’s for $122,789.03 in retroactive

pension contributions, liquidated

damages, attorneys’ fees, plus

interest. Southwest Administrators,
791 .24 at 772. The Ninth Circuit
reached this result even though it also
acknowledged that Teamsters Local 208
fraudulently induced Rozay’s into
signing the collective bargaining
agreement (the "“Agreement") which gave
rise to its liability to the Trust.
id. at 77i=72. The present case is
Rozay’s suit against Teamsters Local
208 for fraudulently inducing it to

sign the Agreement.

At the core of both cases is
Teamsters Local 208’s fraud. Teamsters
Local 208’s President, Archie
Murrietta, fraudulently induced Rozay’s
President, William S. Rozay, to sign

the 1981-1984 Agreement by purposefully

deceiving him as to the Trust’s vote to
require retroactive pension contribu-
tions, an act of fraid which led to
Rozay’s liability in Southwest Adminis-
trators. ig. a6 Ties At a status
conference called to announce the
Southwest Administrators decision, the
district court described Murrietta’s

conduct in the harshest terms:

"Now if I have ever in my
‘life seen a case of pure fraud it
is this case.

"Mr. Murrietta deliberately,
willfully, and knowingly defrauded
Mr. Rozay. There isn’t the
slightest doubt about it.

"I have never in my life seen a
situation which was clearer in
terms of fraudulent conduct than
this situation with respect to
Mr. Murrietta.

Wome

"(Ijt is a disgusting set of facts,
and I am using the word ‘’disgust-
ing’ deliberately with very calm
reflection.

"I do not regard it as proper
conduct on the part of a union to
defraud an individual who is
negotiating with them, and then
have the trust fund take the
benefit of it, and that is exactly
what happened here.

" a

"tt is the most unfair
conduct I have ever seen.

"(T]he result I have reached is
totally inequitable.

"I feel this is one of the very few
times when I feel really that I
have done the wrong thing." (App.

A at A-2 -- A-11.)
. "App. A at A-2 -- A-11" refers the
Court to pages 2 through 11 of Appendix
-A attached hereto. The reporter’s

transcript of a special status confer-
(Footnote Continued)

Despite the magnitude of Murrie-
tta’s fraud, the district court ruled
that it was no defense to the Trust’s
collection action. The Ninth Circuit
affirmed the district court’s decision,
holding that Teamsters Local 208’s
fraud in the inducement rendered the
Agreement "voidable" rather than "void"
and, thus, not a defense to a trust

fund’s collection action.* Southwest

(Footnote Continued)

ence to announce the Southwest Admin-
istrators decision is reproduced as
Appendix A, infra, A-1 -- A-12.

. The Ninth Circuit also invited
Rozay’s to file an action for
indemnification against Teamsters Local

208. Southwest Administrators, 791
F.2d at 777 n.4; Rozay’s Transfer v.
Local Freight Drivers, Local 208,

International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of
America, 850 F.2d 1321, 1331.

Administrators, 791 F.2d at 774-75.

This Court denied certiorari on January

a7, i987.

On October 26, 1984, Rozay’s filed
the present complaint against Teamsters
Local 208. By judgment entered on July
2, 1986, the district court again found
Teamsters Local 208’s conduct fraudu-
lent. It rescinded the fraudulently
induced Agreement and required Team-
sters Local 208 to indemnify Rozay’s
the monies it owed the Trust as a
result of Southwest Administrators and
the legal fees which it incurred in

defending that case.

Teamsters Local 208 appealed this

decision to the Ninth. Circuit on

October 22, 1986, and on June 24, 1988,

the Ninth Circuit affirmed the district

court’s decision. Rozay’s Transfer v.
Local _ Freight Drivers, Local __208,
International Brotherhood of Teamsters,
Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of
America, 850 F.2d 1321 (9th Cir. 1988).
On the issue of Teamsters Local 208’s
fraud, the Ninth Circuit noted: "The
district court obviously found the
testimony presented by Rozay’s Transfer
more credible than Murrietta’s, and

4

with good reason." Id. at 1327.

Rozay’s adopts the statement of

Teamsters Local 208.*

STATUTES INVOLVED

Rozay’s adopts the statement of

Teamsters Local 208.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Rozay’s, a small trucking company,
and Teamsters Local 208 were parties to

a collective bargaining agreement which

° Teamsters Local 208 -did not

petition the Ninth Circuit for
rehearing.

expired on September 30, 1981. South-
west Administrators, 791 F.2d at 771.
Pursuant to this agreement Rozay’s made
monthly pension contributions on behalf
of its employees to the Trust. Id.
After the agreement expired and while
negotiations were continuing over a
successor agreement, Rozay’s continued
to make the required contributions.

id.

In approximately November 1981,
Rozay’s and Teamsters Local 208 agreed
to a tentative successor agreement
which Teamsters Local 208 was’ to
prepare. Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d at
1331. Rozay’s, however, did not re-
ceive a draft agreement~“until April 18,

1982. Id. Because the draft contained

10

several errors, Rozay’s, on May 6,
1982, returned the document to Team-
sters Local 208 with corrections. Id.
Rozay’s never received a corrected

draft of this document. Id.

During this six month period,
Rozay’s experienced severe financial
difficulties. Rozay’s Transfer, 850
F.2d at 1327, 1331. Indeed, an accoun-
tant on behalf of Teamsters Local 208
predicted a net loss of $17,508 for
Rozay’s in 1982. Thus, on June 11,
1982, Rozay’s, after first discussing
the matter with officials of Teamsters
Local 208, mailed the union a certified
letter, proposing various economic

concessions including cessation of

pension contributions. 74. @#& 2331.

11

Although Teamsters Local 208 received
the letter, it never replied. Id.
Rozay’s also made several telephone
calls to Teamsters Local 208, which
were never returned, in an attempt to
get a response to the proposed conces-

sions.

On June 28, 1982, Rozay’s sent a
second certified letter to Teamsters
Local 208 which stated that because
Rozay’s had not received a response to
the June 11, 1982 letter, it assumed
Teamsters Local 208 had no objection to
the proposed changes and would, there-
fore, implement the changes on July 6,
1982. When Teamsters Local 208 did not
respond to the second letter, Rozay’s

implemented the proposed changes. See

12

Southwest Administrators, 791 F.2d at

771; Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d at
133i.

In September and November 1982,
several months after Rozay’s' imple-
mented the changes, Teamsters Local 208
filed an unfair labor practice charge
with the N.L.R.B. and a_e grievance
alleging, in part, that the cessation
of pension contributions was an unfair
labor practice and violated the collec-

tive bargaining agreement. Southwest

Administrators, 791 F.2d at 771.

On January 17, 1983, while the
N.L.R.B. charge and the grievance were
pending, Mr. Rozay, Murrietta, and

Maurice L. Anderson, then Director of

13

the Western Conference of Teamsters and
an International Vice President of the
Teamsters, met and negotiated a eetthe>
ment of the charge and grievance. See
Southwest Administrators, 791 F.2d at
771. Under the terms of the settle-
ment, Rozay’s and Teamsters Local 208
would execute a collective bargaining
agreement under which Rozay’s would
resume making the 98 cents per hour
pension contributions prospectively.
,c Fe | ae > 2 In exchange, Teamsters
Local 208 agreed to accept lower wages
of $1.00 per hour. Id. It was also
agreed that Rozay’s would not be
obligated to pay the unpaid pension
contributions for the previous months.
Id. By this agreement, Rozay’s would
not exacerbate its already precarious

-

14

—

financial situation because the pro-
spective resumption of pension contri-
butions would be offset by the wage
reduction. Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d

at 1327.

The subject of the unpaid pension
contributions was specifically dis-
cussed by the parties. As the Ninth

Circuit stated in Southwest Administra-

tors:

"In light of the company’s preca-
rious financial position, Rozay
expressed serious concerns about
being required to make retroactive
pension fund contributions for the
period between May, 1982 and Feb-
Buery, i963. ... Murrietta and
Anderson assured Rozay that the
delinquent payments would be
forgiven noting that the trust
fund had waived the unpaid pension
contributions of other employers
under similar circumstances." 791
F.2d at 771-72.

iS

Following the January 17, 1983
meeting, Mr. Rozay sent a letter dated
January 21, 1983 to Murrietta with a
copy to Anderson, confirming the terms
of the January 17, 1983 agreement that
there would be no retroactive pension
contributions. See Rozay’s Transfer,
850 F.2d at 1327. In his reply letter,
Murrietta did not deny Mr. Rozay’s
characterization of the settlement
agreement as it related to pension

contributions. Id.

Pursuant to the January 17, 1983
agreement, Murrietta, on January 26,
1983, wrote the Trust on behalf of
Rozay’s, requesting relief from payment

of the retroactive pension contribu-

16

tions. Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d at

1327.

On February 16, 1983, the trustees
of the Trust voted to deny the request
to forgive Rozay’s unpaid pension
contributions. Rozay’s Transfer, 850
P.2@ e¢ i330. The Trust’s decision
meant that Rozay’s would owe the Trust
$76,133.29 in addition to liquidated
damages and interest if Mr. Rozay
Signed the Agreement. This development
transformed the January 17, 1983 agree-
ment from an agreement tailored to help
Rozay’s survive its mounting economic
difficulties by keeping its costs
stable into something completely
different -- the assumption of an over

$76,133.29 debt. Id.

av

On March 4, 1983 at a Teamster’s
social function, a Trust representative
told Murrietta of the Trust’s decision.
Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1327-28.
Rozay’s was not informed of the Trust’s
decision until late March 1983. Id. at

1335.

On March 8, 1983, Murrietta and
Mr. Rozay met to execute the documents

which confirmed the January 17, 1983

agreement. Southwest Administrators,
791 F.2G@ @6 veea These documents
included the Agreement, the side

agreement resolving the grievance and
N.L.R.B. unfair labor practice charge,
and the Employer-Union Pension Certifi-

cation. Id.

18

When Murrietta and Mr. Rozay met
on March 8, 1983 to sign these docu- :
ments, Murrietta knew of Rozay’s severe
financial problems. Teamsters’ Local
208’s own accountant had confirmed the
adverse economic news, and Mr. Rozay
had explained his company’s financial

problems to Murrietta. See Rozay’s

Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1327, 1331. ze
is also undisputed that Murrietta knew,
having read Mr. Rozay’s letter dated
January Bis 1983, that Mr. Rozay
believed that the January 17, 1983
agreement included only prospective

pension payments and not retroactive

pension contributions.

Yet despite these facts and al-

though Murrietta knew the retroactive

19

4
ie

pension contributions was the key to
the entire Agreement, he did not tell
Mr. Rozay what he had learned four days
earlier -- that the nature of the
Agreement had been completely changed
by the Trust’s decision not to waive
the unpaid contributions. Rozay’s
Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1328. Murrietta
intentionally failed to advise
Mr. Rozay of : the Trust’s decision
because he knew that if Mr. Rozay were
told that the unpaid contributions of
$76,133.29 would not be forgiven,
Mr. Rozay would not have signed the
three documents. Id. As the district

court stated in Finding of Fact No. 24:

"At the time that Murrietta and
Mr. Rozay signed the March 8, 1983
collective bargaining agreement,
Murrietta knew that the Trustees

20

had voted not to forgive Rozay’s
unpaid contributions, but he did
not disclose this fact to
Mr. Rozay. The existence of an
obligation to pay the $76,133.29
in unpaid contributions was a
material fact. Murrietta did not
disclose this fact to Mr. Rozay
because he knew that if Mr. Rozay
was told that the past contribu-
tions would not be forgiven,
Mr. Rozay would not execute the
collective bargaining agreement."*

ad As the district court said in
Southwest Administrators:

"At the very moment [Mr. Rozayj
Signed [the Agreement], Murrietta
knew very well indeed that the
motivating reason for Mr. Rozay to
go into this transaction had been
negated, and he didn’t tell him
about it. Now if that is not
fraud, then I have never seen it."
(App. A at A-8.)

See also Southwest Administrators, 791
P.2a at 774 ("{t]he fraudulent
misrepresentation .. . went directly
to the employer’s central motivation
for entering into the agreement.")

21

- Mr. Rozay, assuming that unpaid
contributions world be forgiven, signed
the Agreement, side agreement, and the
pension agreement. Rozay’s Transfer,
850 F.2d at 1328. Teamsters Local 208
thereafter withdrew the N.L.R.B. unfair
labor practice charge and the griev-

ance. Southwest Administrators, 791
F.2d at 772.

Subsequently, the Trust filed the
Southwest Administrators suit against
Rozay’s to collect the retroactive
pension contributions, and Rozay’s,

thereafter, filed the present case

22

against Teamsters Local 208 pursuant to

Section 301.*

° Teamsters Local 208’s_ Petition
suggests that Rozay’s delayed filing
the present lawsuit or failed to
request - that the Agreement be
renegotiated and that this somehow
indicates that Rozay’s was satisfied
with the extra $76,133.29 unbargained
for debt. Petition at 5. There,
however, was no delay in filing the
present lawsuit and no opportunity to
renegotiate the Agreement. As the
Ninth Circuit explained:

"It was not until the deposition of
Uranga [a Trust official] on April
30, 1984 .. . when the contract
had nearly expired, that Rozay’s
Transfer first learned of
Murrietta’s fraud, and it was not
until March 12, 1985 during the
Southwest Administrators trial and
after the contract had expired,
that Murrietta finally confessed
to his concealment." Rozay’s
Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1328.

23

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

Teamsters Local 208 did not
contest the district court’s Section
391 jurisdiction below and in fact
stipulated in the Pre-Trial Conference
Order, without any objection, that the
district court’s subject matter juris-
diction was invoked "upon grounds that

this is an action pursuant to [Section

24

301]." (App. B at B-3.)* After losing
at the district court, Teamsters Local
208, for the first time, contended
before the Ninth Circuit that the
district court did not have jurisdic-
tion to award damages because this case
was preempted by ERISA. Having lost
before the Ninth Circuit, Teamsters
Local 208 now contends, for the first
time, to this Court that the district
court did not have proper’ subject
matter jurisdiction to hear the present
dispute because Section 301’s grant of

jurisdiction over "suits for violations

of [labor] contracts" does not give

. The Pre-Trial Conference Order is

reproduced as Appendix B, infra, pages
B-1 -- B-26.

25

courts jurisdiction to determine a
labor contract’s validity. Teamsters
Local 208 did not give the Ninth
Circuit an opportunity to consider this
contention either during the appeal or
subsequently by requesting recon-

sideration of the decision.*

Teamsters Local 208’s latest and
limited analysis of Section 301 is, in

any event, wrong for several reasons.

. Significantly, in their briefs to

the Ninth Circuit, Local 208 and the

amici curiae Southern California
District Council of Laborers’ and
International Union of Operating

Engineers, Local Union No. 12 only
challenged the propriety of the
district court’s remedies under Section
301 and repeatedly conceded that the
district court had jurisdiction under
Section 301 to rule on the Agreement’s
validity.

26

First, it is not even necessary to
reach the jurisdictional controversy
which Teamsters Local 208 attempts to
manufacture because its contractual
misrepresentations fall squarely within
Section 301’s ambit even if that
provision is read narrowly to preclude
consideration of a labor contract’s
validity. Second, the conflict among
the circuits which Teansters Local 208
perceives is illusory. The decision
below is consistent with the Congres-
sional intent, this Court’s own rulings
that Section 301 be read broadly, and

with the emerging consensus of circuit

opinions.

27

Even if there were a genuine
conflict of authority concerning
Section 301 jurisdiction over cases
involving a labor contract’s validity,
such a conflict has no bearing on the
outcome of the present case. The same
result would have been reached irre-

spective of the Agreement’s validity.

Indeed, in Southwest Administrators,

28

the Ninth Circuit held that the Agree-
ment was valid, a "voidable" but not
"void" agreement. Southwest Adminis-
trators, 791 F.2d at 774. Because a
valid underlying labor contract is a
condition precedent for a trust fund’s
collection action against an employer
for delinquent contributions, Rozay’s

could not have been adjudged liable in

Southwest Administrators had the Agree-
ment been invalid. As the Ninth
Circuit explained, "Without [the

Agreement], the trust fund would not
have been able to pursue its prior
action under Section 515 of ERISA, 29
U.S.C. § 1145, to collect these contri-
butions, for an action under Section
515 is available only to collect.

‘promised contributions. ’" Rozay’s

29

Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1334 quoting
Laborers Health & Welfare Trust Fund v.
Advanced Lightweight Concrete Co.,

U.S. , 106 S&S. Ct. 830, S32, 96 kL.
Ed. 936, 942 (1988). Thus, Teamsters
Local 208’s assumption that the dis-
trict court’s jurisdiction was depen-
dent upon its power to declare a labor
contract invalid is incorrect. There
was a valid Agreement. The Trust’s
suit against Rozay’s was based on that
Agreement, and both Rozay’s and Local
208 abided by the Agreement throughout
its term. See Rozay’s Transfer, 850

F.2G at 1328.
Indeed, by emphasizing the Agree-
ment’s rescission, Teamsters Local 208

loses sight of what this case is really

30

about -- Teamsters Local 208’s fraudu-
lent contractual misrepresentations and
what remedies flow from that wrongdoing
and not the Agreement’s validity.* The
district court’s decision to rescind
the Agreement is only one of many
appropriate contract remedies. See,

e.g., 12 S. Williston, A Treatise On

The Law Of Contracts § 1523 (3d ed.
1970); Food Handlers Local 425, etc. v.
Valmac Industries, Inc., 528 F.2d 217,
219 (8th Cir. 1975) (union’s reforma-
tion suit against employer for fraud in

the course of executing a labor

sg The district court’s rescission of

the Agreement is a nice gesture but
nothing more. Whether rescinded or
not, Rozay’s is liable to the Trust for
over $122,789.03 solely because of the
Agreement.

an

agreement). Thus, because this case
involves a contractual violation --
Teamsters Local 208’s contractual mis-
representations -- the question of
Section 301’s scope need not be ad-

dressed.

32

The Ninth Circuit’s Decision

Is Consistent With The

Congressional Intent Underly-
ing Section 301, This Court’s
Decisions Interpreting That
Provision, And The Evolving

Consensus Of Circuit Opin-

ions.

oe The Ninth Circuit’s

Interpretation Of Sec-

tion 301 Is Consistent

With The Statutory

Intent And This Court’s

Decisions.-

The Ninth Circuit’s interpretation

of Section 301 is consistent with the

statutory

intent and this Court’s

33

repeated rulings that Section 301
should be read broadly. In enacting
Section 301, Congress determined that
labor peace would be fostered if the
courts rather than the N.L.R.B. were
given jurisdiction to decide disputes
of a contractual nature. Textile
Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills of

Alabama, 353 U.S. 448, 454-55 (1957).*

In granting the judiciary such authori-
ty, Congress expected the federal
courts to develop a uniform common law
of labor contracts. As this Court

explained, Section 301 is "a congres-

” Congress specifically rejected

language which would have allowed

disputes involving "violations of
contract" to be heard by the N.L.R.B.
as well as by the courts. Lincoln

Biiis, 353 0.8. at 452-53 n.3.

34

sional mandate to the federal courts to
fashion a body of federal common law to
be used to address disputes arising out
of labor contracts." Allis-Chalmers

Corp. Vv. Iaeck, 471 U.S. 202, 209

(1985) (emphasis added). Indeed, Con-
gress made it clear that it did not
seek to frustrate this goal by unduly
limiting the type of actions within

Section 301’s ambit:

"(Section 301] contemplates not
only the ordinary lawsuits for
damages but also such other reme-
dial proceedings, both legal and
equitable, as might be appropriate
in the circumstances; in other

words, proceedings could, for
example, be brought by the
employers et to secure

declarations from the Court of
legal rights under the contract."

93 Cong. Rec. 3656 (1947) (statement of

Rep. Barden), quoted in Lincoln Mills,

35

353. U.S. at 455-56. To accomplish
these goals of labor peace and the
creation of a uniform federal law of
labor contracts, this Court has consis-
tently read Section 301 broadly. See,
e.g., Smith v. Evening News Ass’n, 371
U.S. 195, 199 (1962) ("§ 301 is not to

be given a narrow reading"); McNally

b NG..Vs ‘n
of Bridge, Structural & Ornamental Iron

Workers, 812 F.2d 615, 619 (10th Cir.
1987) (“The dual purposes of § 301, to
promote industrial peace and develop
uniform law, demand that the statute be

construed broadly") .*

bd In is- Ss Vv

471 U.S. 202 (1985), the Court,
considering Section 301 preemption of
(Footnote Continued)

36

Consistent with this Court’s broad
approach, the Second, Third, Fifth,
Tenth, and Eleventh as well as the
Ninth Circuit courts have all recog-
nized that Section 301 encompasses

questions of contact validity.

(Footnote Continued)

state tort actions, reemphasized the
expansive scope of -Section 301, no
matter the label -- contract or tort --
placed on the action:

"(Q]uestions relating to what the
parties to a labor agreement
agreed, and what legal
consequences were intended to flow
from breaches of that agreement,
must be resolved by reference to
uniform federal law, whether such
questions arise in the context of
a suit for breach of contract or
in a suit alleging liability in
tort. Any other result would
elevate form over substance and
allow parties to evade the
requirements of § 301 by
re-labeling their contract claims
as claims for tortious breach of
contract." Id. at 211.

37

Black-Clawson Co. Vv. International

Ass’n of Machinists, 313 F.2d 179,
181-82 (2d Cir. 1962) ("We find nothing

in the history of Section 301(a) which
indicates an intention to restrict that

~~

section to suits for damages or specif-

ic enforcements"); Mack Trucks, Inc.,

-. International Union, UAW, No.
87-1650, slip op. at 15-22 (3d Cir.
Sept. 12, 1988) (district court has
jurisdiction under Section 301 to
decide the existence of a labor con-
tract) ; Ww s | ica
Vv. e . , 437 F.2d 881,
882-83 (5th Cir. 1970) (it is unneces-
sary to allege contract breach because

"the court was empowered to decide the

issue of existence of a contract");

McNaliy Pittsburg, Inc. v. Interna-

—

38

ti ss’n of Bridge, Structural &
Ornamental Iron Workers, 812 F.2d 615,
617-19 (10th Cir. 1987) (trial court
had jurisdiction under Section 301 to
consider a complaint which addresses
only the validity and not a violation
of a labor contract); Boa of Trustees

v. Universal Enterprises, Inc., 751

F.2d 1177,: 1184 (llth Cir. 1985) ("a
district court has jurisdiction under
Section 301 to make a determination as
to whether a collective bargaining

agreement in fact exists"); Associated

nt tiona Union, 476 F.2d 1388,
1402 n.25 (Em. Ct. App. 1973) ("the
question of whether a collective
bargaining agreement has been validly

entered intc in the first instance

39

have been held to be so related to the
subject of ‘suits for violation of’
labor contracts as to permit their
resolution by district courts by virtue

of [Section 301]").

Indeed, this Court has suggested
the very same result in Charles Dowd

Box Co. v. Courtney, 368 U.S. 502

(1962). Charles Dowd held that a state

court could assert jurisdiction over a
Section 301 suit seeking a declaration
that a contract existed so long as the
state court applied federal law. Id.
at 507. In so rviling, this Court
implicitly recognized that a court may
do exactly what the district court did
below -- rule on a labor contract’s

validity.

40

Se COS tiie

i There Is No Genuine
Conflict Among The Cir-
cuits With Respect To A

Court’s i j ion

Unde ecti 30 fe)

Decide A Labor Con-
tract’s Validity.

As is evident from the opinions of
the Second, Third, Fifth, Ninth, Tenth,
and Eleventh Circuits, the evolving
consensus is that a court may decide a
labor contract’s validity under Section
301. Recently, for example, the Third
Circuit distinguished several of its
earlier opinions which are relied upon
by Teamsters Local 208 and concluded
that Section 301 grants courts’ the

jurisdiction to determine a _ labor

41

~_

contract’s validity. Mack Trucks, Inc.
Vv. Internationa) Union, UAW, No.
87-1650 slip op. at 20-22 (3d Cir.
Sept. 12, 1988) (jurisdiction over
declaratory -judgment action that a
contract existed). The Third Circuit
rejected the same limited interpreta-

tion of Section 301 which Teamsters

Local 208 now posits in its Petition:

"This view [that courts cannot rule
on a labor contract’s validity)
. ignores Congress’ broader
concern that the courts -- as
opposed to the NLRB -- be granted
authority to decide disputes of a

contractual nature." Mack Trucks,
No. 87-1650, slip op. at 17.

4

Only the Seventh Circuit decision

in NDK Corp. v. Local 1550, United Food
& Commercial Workers, 709 F.2d 491 (7th

Cir. 1983) seems to conflict with the

42

decision below. In NDK the Seventh
Circuit, without reference to any
contrary decisions by this Court, chose
to adopt a limited reading of Section
301, holding that it "provides juris-
diction for suits for violation of
contracts but not for determinations of
the validity of contracts where validi-

ty is the ultimate issue." Id. at 493.

Recently, however, the Seventh
Circuit has indicated that it may
retreat from NDK’s narrow reading of
Section 301. It acknowledged that NDK
conflicts with the decisions of other

circuits and warned:

"“NDK may not be our Court’s final
word on the several complex juris-
dictional issues raised by union
and employer efforts to invoke the

43

§ 301 LMRA jurisdiction of the
federal courts in cases involving,
inter alia, the question of
whether a particular employer is
bound by the terms of an existing,

valid collective bargaining
agreement." International Broth-

erhood of Electrical Workers,

Local 481 v. Sign-Craft, Inc. 851
F.2d 910, 914 (7th Cir. 1988).

The remaining cases which Team-
sters Local 208 cites do not in any way
conflict with the decision below.
While these cases stress Section 301’s
literal language that the provision
encompasses suits for "violations" of
labor contracts, they do not neces-
sarily reject the broad approach which
recognizes that this jurisdictional
grant allows courts to decide a con-
tract’s validity. Indeed, each of
these cases is distinguishable from the

present case because they concern

44

matters which have nothing to do with a
labor contract as a contract, the focus
of Section 301. Because these cases,
instead, were non-contractual, involv-
ing pure labor questions such as
representational issues which are
traditionally decided by the N.L.R.B.,
the courts properly found no Section

301 jurisdiction. See Hernandez _v.

National Packing Co., 455 F.2d 1252,

1253 (lst Cir. 1972) (issue described
as one of contract "validity" is really
a representational issue based on the
employer’s "supposition that the
[union] no longer reflects the wishes
of the majority of the bargaining

unit"); A.,T. Massey Coal Co. v. Inter-

national Union, United Mine Workers,

499 F.4a@ 142, 3144. (408 Cir. 1966),

45

cert. denied, u.s. ; £07 -F.. CS;

1964, 95 L. Ed. 2d 536 (1987) (declara-
tory judgment action that employer and

its affiliates are not bound by con-

tract negotiated by one of its affili-

ates); Mengel Co. v. Nashville Paper

Products & Specialty Workers Union, 221

F.2d 644, 645 (6th Cir. 1955) (employ-
er’s declaratory judgment action
seeking to declare invalid an arbi-
tration award based on employer’s
contention that the collective bargain-
ing agreement did not limit the employ-
er’s ability to discharge at-will);
International Brotherhood of Electrical
Workers, Local 481 v. Sign-Craft Inc.,
851 F.2d 910 (7th Cir. 1988) (represen-

tational issue of whether an employer

46

properly repudiated a multi-employer

agreement).

The present case, by contrast,
involves straightforward contract
issues: when does a_-— contracting
party’s fraudulent concealment of a
material fact result in actionable
damages. This is a fundamental issue
of contract formation and just the sort
of contractual question Congress
preferred the courts rather than the

N.L.R.B. resolve. ee Board of Trust-

ees v. Universal Enterprises, Inc., 751

47

F.2d 1177, 1184 (11th Cir. 1985)
(Section 301 jurisdiction is proper
because "the question whether a
contract was in existence is purely a

matter of contract law") .*

. Teamsters Local 208’s Petition

also relies upon two Third Circuit
decisions decided before Mack Trucks,
Adams _v. Budd Co., 349 F.2d 368 (3d
Cir. 1965) and Leskiw _v. Local 1470,
International Brotherhood of Elec.
Workers, 464 F.2d 721 (3d Cir.), cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 1041 (1972). In both
cases, employees sued their union and

employer for disregarding their
interests during the course of
negotiations. Adams, 349 F.2d at

369-70; Leskiw, 464 F.2d at 722-23.
The recent Mack Trucks decision
distinguished these two cases because,
just like the First, Fourth, and Sixth
Circuit cases discussed above which
Local 208 cites, they involve claims
which are independent of the labor
contract and, therefore, are not proper
Section 301 claims. Mack Trucks, No.
87-1650, slip op. at- 20-21. Mack
Trucks also distinguished the First

(Footnote Continued)

48

(Footnote Continued)

Circuit’s Hernandez decision and the
Seventh Circuit’s NDK decision, noting
that these cases "merely concluded that
the plain language of § 301 £xbars
jurisdiction to consider a suit

concerning the existence of a
collective bargaining agreement." Id.
at 2i n.1i0.

The inconsistency which Teamsters
Local 208 sees in previous Ninth
Circuit decisions (Petition at 9 n.3)
Only reflects an evolving consensus.
Recent Ninth Circuit cases have
uniformly adopted a= broad inter-
pretation of Section 301 which com-
ports with this Court’s analysis.
International Brotherhood of Electrical
Workers, Local 532 Vv. Brink
Construction Co., 825 F.2d 207, 212
(9th Cir. 1987); John 6. Griteie,
Construction Co. v. United Brotherhood
of Carpenters & Joiners, 785 F.2d 706,
712 (9th Cir. 1986). In any event,
Teamsters Local 208 should have calied
its perceived "inconsistency" to the
Ninth Circuit’s attention in its appeal
or by a motion for hearing en banc.
Having failed to give the Ninth Circuit
this opportunity to "correct" any

(Footnote Continued)

49

II. THERE Is NO CONFLICT AMONG

Teamsters Local 208 argues that
the decision below conflicts with San
Diego uildi des nci Vv.
Garmon, 359 U.S. 236 (1959) and its
progeny. These cases hold that the
N.L.R.B. possesses primary jurisdiction

over activities which are arguably

(Footnote Continued)

claimed “inconsistency," it is now too
late to raise this issue with this
Court.

50

unfair labor practices. There is,
however, no such conflict between the

present case and Garmon.

This case falls squarely within
the broad exception to Garmon preemp-
tion which Congress carved out when it
enacted Section 301. As noted above,
this provision gives the judiciary
rather than the N.L.R.B. subject matter
jurisdiction over disputes arising out
of labor contracts. This Court has
repeatedly affirmed the broad scope of
Section 301 jurisdiction even over

matters which may arguably be unfair

labor practices. In Smith v. Evening

News Ass‘’n, the Court stated:

"The authority of the Board to deal
with an unfair labor’. practice

51

—_-. |

which also violates a collective
bargaining contract is not
displaced by § 301, but it is not
exclusive and does not destroy the
jurisdiction of the Courts in
suits under § 301."* 371 U.S. at

197.
a See also Amalgamated Ass’n_ of
Street ctric Railw Mo oach

Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274,
300 (1971) ("We have exempted § 301

suits from the Garmon principle because
of the evident congressional determina-
tion that courts should be free to
interpret and enforce collective-
bargaining agreements even where that
process may involve condemning or
permitting conduct arguably subject to
the protection or prohibition of the
National Labor Relations Act").

52

Thus, because the present case
falls within the jurisdictional ambit
of Section 301, the district court had
jurisdiction over this case even if
Teamsters Local 208’s contractual
misrepresentations may also constitute

an unfair labor practice subject to the

N.L.R.B.’s concurrent jurisdiction.*

* None of the cases which Teamsters

Local 208 cites attempts to repeal
Section 301 nor say what Teamsters
Local 208 desperately wants them to
say -- that a union’s fraudulent
conduct in the procurement of a labor
contract is exclusively a N.L.R.B.
matter and not within the Section 301
jurisdiction of the federal courts.
Both Lexington Cartage Co. Vv.
International Brotherhood of Teamsters,-
etc., 713 F.2d 194 (6th Cir. 1983) and
Mo-Kan Teamsters Pension Fund Y,
Creason, 716 F.2d 772 (10th Cir. 1983),
cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1045 (1984), for
example, involved representational
issues -- the employers’ contention

(Footnote Continued)

On
WwW

(Footnote Continued)

that the unions lacked majority status.
These cases did not implicate Section
301’s contract concerns nor did they
hold that contract formation issues
such as fraud are not within Section
301’s jurisdiction. Indeed, Mo-Kan
contrasted the question of majority
status with the contract formation
defense of illegality which it conceded

may be asserted under Section 301. 716

F.2G Q© 773.

Anderson v. Ford Motor Co., 803
F.2d 953 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied,
Pas 5 20% Be. CO. 2042, 37 i.
Ed. 2qd 747 (1987), does not even
discuss the Garmon principle of primary
jurisdiction. In Anderson, the Eighth

Circuit concluded there was no Section
301 jurisdiction because the plain-
Citta’ claims of permanent-status
employment were neither based on nor
referred to the collective bargaining
agreement. id. at 958. By contrast,
not only did the source of Rozay’s
obligation to make the disputed trust
fund contributions arise because of
Teamsters Local 208’s contractual
misrepresentations and because the
fraudulently induced Agreement was

(Footnote Continued)

54

——

be nt ha a tee

eee ee

SON RO a See A Pm oe

| See set na Wad aes Donato

Iii. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION THAT

A_UNION MAY BE LIABLE FOR INTEN-

TIONALLY MISREPRESENTING MATERIAL ,

FACTS DURING THE COLLECTIVE

BARGAINING PROCESS NEITHER CON-

FLICTS WITH RELATED DECISIONS

RENDERED IN OTHER CIRCUITS NOR

RAISES IMPORTANT QUESTIONS OF

FEDERAL LABOR LAW.

As the Ninth Circuit acknowledged,
other than in the present case, no
other court has ruled on the narrow
issue presented by Teamsters’ Local
208’s fraud defense: whether a union

may, with impunity, engage in the most A

(Footnote Continued)

Signed, but also the factual finding of
fraud is based on a lengthy analysis of
the Agreement and the negotiations
leading up to it.

55

"disgusting" fraud so long as_ the
deceit involves factual misrepresenta-
tions concerning trust fund actions.

Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1330.

f

None of the cases cited by Team-
sters Local 208 supports its asserted
and novel right to deceive an employer.
Indeed, the cases Teamsters Local 208
cites stand for the proposition that it
is unreasonable for an employer to rely
on a union’s advice with respect to
trust fund policy or ERISA obligations.

See Knoll v. Phoenix Steel Corp.,

465 F.2@ 1128, 1132 (3€. Cir. i972),
cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1126 (1973)
(misrepresentation concerning an issue

of trust policy -- whether lump sum

pension payments could be made); Martin

v. Hamil, 608 F.2d 725, 729 (7th Cir.
1979) (misrepresentation concerning
employers’ ability to make _ pension

contributions on their own behalf);

Teamster’s Local 348 Health & Welfare
Fund v. Kohn Beverage Co., 749 F.2d

315, 317 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

471 U.S. 1017 (1985) (misrepresentation
concerning employer’s obligation to
make pension contributions for

non-union employees); Galvez v. Local

804 Welfare Rust Fund, 543 F. Supp
316, aay (E.D.N.Y. 1982) (misrep-
resentation concerning employee’s
entitlement to retirement benefits);

Chambless v. Masters, Mates & Pilots

Pension Plan, 571 F. Supp. 1430, 1451

($.D.8.%. 1983) (misrepresentation

concerning conduct constituting forfei-

ad

57

ture of pension benefits); Ridens v.
Voluntary Separation Program, 610 F.
Supp. 770, 772, 774 (D. Minn. 1985)
(misrepresentation concerning employ-
ee’s ability to collect severance

benefits).

These cases, however, are irrele-
vant. Teamsters Local 208’s_ fraud
concerns the concealment of material
facts and not mistaken advice regarding
legal obligations to the Trust. As the
Ninth Circuit emphasized below in
distinguishing similar cases, the
present matter has_ nothing to do with
Mr. Rozay’s perception of Murrietta’s
status, i.e., Mr. Rozay did not rely on

Murrietta’s explication of Trust policy

58

or his analysis of ERISA obligations.

Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1329.

"In the present’ case, Rozay’s
Transfer alleges that the union
intentionally misrepresented a
material fact by failing to
disclose that its obligation to
the trust fund would not _ be
forgiven. Rozay’s Transfer did
not miscomprehend its legal
obligations to the fund, rather,
it misunderstood the state of
facts, known to the union, exist-
ing at the time it entered into a

separate agreement with the
union." Id. (emphasis in origi-
nal).

Thus the rationale underlying the
cases cited by Teamsters Local
208 -- that an employer cannot justifi-

ably rely on a union’s advice concern-

ing trust policy -- is simply not
relevant here. Indeed, as the Ninth
Circuit concluded: "the union has

29

cited no authority or sound legal
principle nor can we discern any,
explaining why rules’ pertaining to
fraudulent inducement should not apply

to the formation of labor contracts."*

Rozay’s Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1330.

The cases which Teamsters Local

208 relies upon are distinguishable for
other reasons as well. Only Galvez
concerns a fraudulent misrepresentation
made by a union representative. Galvez
rejected the fraud claim, not because
the plaintiff/employee’s reliance on
the union’s misrepresentation regarding
trust policy was unreasonable, but
rather because the plaintiff failed in
other respects to establish the
elements of fraud. Galvez, 543 F.
Supp. at 318.

One case cited by Local 208
actually held that an employee’s
reliance on ae eunion’s advice with
respect to pension policy was justified
given the close relationship between
the trust fund and the union official.
Oates v. Teamsters Affiliates Pension

(Footnote Continued)

60

CONCLUSION

For all the reasons stated, the
decision below is not in conflict with
the decisions of other courts of appeal

or of this Court. Respondent Rozay’s

(Footnote Continued)

Plan, 482 F. Supp. 481, 488 (D.D.c.
1979). As an alternative analysis of
Teamsters Local 208’s fraud, the Ninth
Circuit similarly stated that because
the decision to forgive retroactive
pension contributions was discretionary
and because there was a commonality of
interests between Teamsters Local 208
and the Trust, it was not unreasonable
as a matter of law for Rozay’s to
believe that Teamsters Local 208 could
favorably influence the Trust. Rozay’s
Transfer, 850 F.2d at 1328-29.

61

Transfer respectfully submits that the
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

should be denied.
DATED: October 20, 1988.

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN P. PEPE

(Counsel of Record)
CLIFF FONSTEIN

O’MELVENY & MYERS

400 South Hope Street

Fifteenth Floor

Los Angeles, California

90071-2899

Counsel for Respondent
Rozay’s Transfer

62

- >

tad Mili rapa
et eae -

Appendix A
In the United States
District Court
For The Central District
Of California

Before the
Honorable Mariana R. Pfaelzer, Judge

No. CV-83-4194 MRP

SOUTHWEST ADMINISTRATORS, INC.,
Plaintiff,

vs.
ROZAY’S TRANSFER,

Defendant.

Los Angeles, California
Friday, May 24, 1985
1:30 p.m.

- REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT OF
PROCEEDINGS

THE CLERK: Item No. 4, Civil
83-4194, Southwest Administrators, Inc.

versus Rozay’s Transfer.

Counsel, please make your appear-

ances.

MR. PEPE: Good afternoon, your
Honor. Stephen Pepe and Cliff Fonstein
on behalf of defendant Rozay’s Trans-

fer.

MS. WALDECK: Patricia Waldeck of
Pappy, Kaplon, Vogel & Phillips for

plaintiff.

THE COURT: All right. Now sit
down for just a minute. I want to talk

to you.

_

Now we are going up against a body

of established law, in my opinion, that

makes these defenses that can be raised

against a trust fund very difficult to

deal with.

Now if I have ever in my life seen

a case of pure fraud it is this case.

Mr. Murrietta deliberately, will-
fully, and knowingly defrauded Mr.
Rozay. There isn’t the slightest doubt
about it. The reason I had you come
here is that I wanted to say that on
the record. I have said that in the
findings. I did not believe the tes-

timony of Mr. Murrietta.

I do not believe that Mr. Anderson
from the evidence before me did any-

thing wrong, but I have never in my

life seen a situation which was clearer

in terms of fraudulent conduct than
this situation with respect to Mr.

Murrietta.

Now that being the case, I made a
finding that there was fraud and then
I on one more occasion have gone
through all of the cases and I cannot
find that under the law of the Ninth
Circuit that gives a defense to Mr.
Rozay against the trust fund. Now I do
believe that what must be done immedi-
ately is that there has to be some
consideration given to an action
brought against Mr. Murrietta and the
union and if you believe that there is
any other finding that should be made
to make more clear what I am now say-

ing, I am perfectly prepared to have

you come back and make an application

for it.

I would have found for Mr. Rozay
if there was any way for me to do it.
I am totally and absolutely disgusted
with the behavior in this case, but I

believe that my hands are tied.

Now what did I do besides reading
all the cases myself? Well, I had my
clerk read all of the cases without
telling my clerk what conclusion to
reach. I just told the clerk what I
had found and said, "Now what do you

see from looking at. all of the cases?"

And the result was the same. Then I
reread all the cases again. Now I
don’t think that the contract ls

ambiguous. If there has ever been a
Situation where it doesn’t appear that
there was any meeting of the minds,
this is it. There is no question about
it. There is no doubt about the fact
that Mr. Rozay knew he was signing a
collective bargaining agreement, and
under the cases that I had in front of
me, it doesn’t seem to me I have any
choice but to follow the cases that are

in the Ninth Circuit.

If I were the trust fund knowing
that that was the feeling of the Court
I would come to an accommodation about
this because it is a disgusting set of
facts, and I am using the word "dis-
gusting" deliberately with very calm

reflection.

I do not regard it as proper con-
duct on the part of a union to defraud
an individual who is negotiating with
them, and then have the trust fund take
the benefit of it, and that is exactly

what happened here.

Now if I have made myself clear

that is all I have to say.

MR. PEPE: Thank you, your Honor.

We appreciate your comments.

THE COURT: It is the most unfair

conduct I have ever seen.

MR. PEPE: We agree with you, your

Honor.

THE COURT: You just can’t con-
ceive of a situation where a trust fund
should get the benefit of that kind of
conduct, but under the Ninth Circuit
case law, I think the trust fund does
not -- or you can’t assert against the
trust fund a defense such as this. He
knew that it was a collective bargain-
ing agreement. He went into it not
knowing what he was doing; that is to
say, he was assuming that the facts
were other than what they actually
were. At the very moment he signed it,
Murrietta knew very well indeed that
the motivating reason for Mr. Rozay to
go into this transaction had been ne-
gated, and he didn’t tell him aut ph ae
Now if that is not fraud, then I have

never seen it.

All right. So now you have the
findings and the judgment. The reason
I am having you in here is that if
there is anything that you think that I
should do to add to the findings, I am
prepared to do that if I reasonably can
because the result I have reached is
totally inequitable. It is the wrong
result on this set of facts, but I

think I am bound by this case.

MR. PEPE: I appreciate your com-
ments, your Honor. We will take a look
at the findings over the weekend and we
will see if we want anything addition-

Si.

THE COURT: I don’t believe Ander-

son did anything wrong at all. I

think he did everything he was supposed
to, even though he wasn’t here to tes-
tify. I thought about that a great
deal, and I don’t know what would have
happened if he had been the one who had
gone over there or if he had _ been
present at the time. I doubt that he

would have let that happen.

MR. PEPE: I think that is cor-

rect, your Honor.
THE COURT: Thank you.
MR. PEPE: Thank you, your Honor.

THE COURT: Incidentally, Ms.

Waldeck, this is no reflection on you

as a lawyer or on the trust fund. Do

you understand that?

MS. WALDECK: Yes.

THE COURT: I have to make this

clear on the record because I feel this

is one of the very few times when I

feel really that I have done the wrong

thing. Thank you.

MR. PEPE: Thank you, your Honor.

MR. ROZAY: Thank you.

(Proceedings concluded)

CREBAZALAS SSE

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT THE FOREGO-
ING IS A TRUE AND CORRECT TRAN-
SCRIPT FROM THE STENOGRAPHIC
RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS IN THE FORE-
GOING MATTER.

/S Beth E. Culberston . July 19, 1985

BETH E. CULBERTSON, CSR DATE

Appendix B

United States District Court
Central District of California

Case No. CV-84-8313 MRP (Bx)

ROZAY’S TRANSFER,
Plaintiff,

Vs.
LOCAL FREIGHT DRIVERS, LOCAL 208,
INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF
TEAMSTERS, CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN

AND HELPERS OF AMERICA,
Defendant.

PRE-TRIAL CONFERENCE ORDER

[Filed January 14, 1986]

Pursuant to Rule 16 F.R.Civ.P.,

Local Rule 9, IT IS ORDERED:

F This is an action for rescis-
sion or, in the alternative, for
indemnification and for fraud. The
parties are Rozay’s Transfer

("Rozay’s"), a California corporation,
plaintiff, and Local Freight Drivers
Union, Local 208, International Broth-
erhood of Teamsters, | Chauffeurs,
ssieainaaaielaiie & Helpers of America
("Local 208"), defendant. The plead-
ings which raise the issues are as

follows:

a. Complaint for rescission
oF, in the alternative, for

indemnification and for fraud.

b. Answer to complaint.

2. Federal jurisdiction and
venue are invoked upon the grounds that
this is an action pursuant to Section
301(a), Labor-Management Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. §185(a).

3. The parties are essentially
in agreement as to the facts and,
therefore, it is estimated the trial

will not take more than (1) day.

4. The trial is to be to the

court.

_- The following facts are

admitted and require no proof:

a. Plaintiff Rozay’s is a
California corporation engaged in
the trucking industry in Southern

California.

b. The truck drivers and
dock workers employed by Rozay’s
are now and for several years have
been represented for purposes of
collective bargaining by defendant

Locai 208.

CS. Rozay’s and Local 208
were parties to a_ ccllective
bargaining agreement ("Agreement")
and an Employer-Union Pension
Certification ("Certification")
which expired on September 30,

1981.

d. The Agreement and

Certification which expired on
September 30, 1981 required
Rozay’s to make contributions to
the Western Conference of Team-
sters Pension Trust Fund ("Trust
Fund") on behalf of employees

represented by Local 208.

e. Rozay’s made regular
contributions to the Trust Fund
during the life of the Agreement
and Certification and continued to
make contributions after the
expiration and through April,
1982, while Local 208 and Rozay’s
attempted to negotiate a renewal

Agreement and Certification.

fi On or about April 18,
1982, Local 208 presented a rough
draft of a new collective bargain-
ing agreement to Rozay’s. After
reviewing the draft, on May 6,
1982, Rozay’s returned it unsigned
to Local 208 with several correc-

tions.

g. Also on May 6, 1982,
Rozay’s Vice President, Richard
Fletcher ("Fletcher"), raised with
Local 208 Business Agent, Eddie
McKiernan ("McKiernan"), Rozay’s
severe economic problems and
explained that in order to stay in
business, Rozay’s would need a
reduction in labor costs. Rozay’s

specifically proposed cessation of

pension contributions, and reduced
holiday, vacation, and sick leave

benefits.

h. On April 26, 1982, the
Trust Fund wrote and informed
Rozay’s that it could not accept
pension contributions unless there
was a current agreement between
Rozay’s and Local 208. On June
30, 1982, the Fund wrote a sub--
stantially Similar letter to

Rozay’s.

F On June 8, 1982,
Fletcher again raised the need for
concessions with McKiernan = and
with Local 208’s Secretary-Trea-

surer, Alex Maheras ("Maheras").

Y

Maheras requested that Rozay’s
make the proposal in the form of a

letter.

: = On June 11, 1982,
Fletcher on behalf of Rozay’s
wrote to Maheras to propose labor
concessions. Specifically, Flet-
cher proposed the following:
cessation of pension’ contribu-
tions; elimination of one week’s
vacation; elimination of two per-
sonal holidays; and elimination of
five days’ sick leave. This
letter was sent _via certified

mail.

xi Local 208 received the
letter of June 11, 1982, but made

no reply.

se On June 28, 1982, on
behalf of Rozay’s, Fletcher sent a
second letter to Local 208.
Fletcher stated that having
received no response to its
June 11, 1982 letter, Rozay’s
assumed that the union had 09no
objections to its proposed chang-
es, and the changes would be
implemented on July 6, 1982. This
second letter was also sent by

certified mail.

m. Local 208 received
Rozay’s letter of June 28, 1982,
but made no response.

n. Rozay’s implemented the
proposals outlined in its June 11,
1982 letter to Local 208 effective

July 6, 1982.

O. Rozay’s did not make
pension contributions to the Trust
Fund for the period of May, 1982

through February, 1983.

p. Several months after
Rozay’s ceased making pension
contributions to the Trust Fund,
Local 208 filed an unfair labor

practice charge with the National

Labor Relations Board ("Board").
The charge was filed on September
20, 1982 and amended on Noven-
ber 1, 1982, under Board Case No.
21-CA-21591. Local 208 also filed
a grievance pursuant’ to the
grievance and arbitration provi-
sions of the expired Agreement.
The Board charge alleged that the
cessation of the payment of
pension contributions constituted
an unfair labor practice, and the
grievance alleged that it was a
breach of the collective bargain-

ing agreement.

q. On January 17, 19s3,
William S. Rozay ("Mr. Rozay"),

President of Rozay’s met with

Maurice E. Anderson ("Anderson") ,
International Vice President of
the International Brotherhood of
Teamsters, and Archie Murrietta
("Murrietta"), President of Local
208. The purpose of this meeting
was to resolve the disputes then
pending between Rozay’s and Local
208. This meeting took place in

Anderson’s office.

er: At this January 17, 1983
meeting, Anderson represented to
Mr. Rozay that the Trust Fund had
forgiven unpaid. pension contribu-
tions of other employers in the
past and would see to it that
Rozay’s would not have to make

retroactive contributions for the

Ww
\

12

period of May, 1982 through
February, 1983. Although Anderson
did not articulate how he was
going to accomplish this, he
informed Mr. Rozay during’ the
meeting that he was going to speak
with certain people.

Ss. During this January 17,
1983 meeting, Murrietta represent-
ed to Mr. Rozay that he would
write a letter to the Trust Fund
on behalf of Rozay’s requesting
that the Trust Fund not require
Rozay’s to make pension contri-

butions tor the period of May,

1982 through February, 1983.

t. A couple of weeks later,
Mr. Rozay, anxious to know what
was going on, called Anderson
concerning this subject and,
during that conversation, Anderson
told Mr. Rozay that he was doing
everything that was necessary and
was on the right track to ensure
that Rozay’s would not have to
make pension contributions to the
Trust Fund for the period of time

in question.

u. Mr. Rozay had no further
conversations with Anderson con-
cerning this subject subsequently

thereafter.

Vv. Following the January
17, 1983 meeting, on January 21,
1983, Mr. Rozay wrote a letter to
Murrietta, with a carbon copy to
Anderson. In this letter
Mr. Rozay confirmed his’ under-
standing of the terms of the
egxechent reached on January 17,
1983. Specifically, the letter
stated, "No pension contributions
will be required for the period

April, 1982 through January,

1983."

Ww. On January 26, 1983,
Murrietta sent a reply to Mr.
Rozay’s letter of January 21,
1983, and sent a carbon copy to

Anderson. On the same date,

Murrietta wrote a letter to the
Trust Fund requesting that Rozay’s
be relieved from paying pension
contributions for the months of
July, 1982 through January, 1983
as he earlier indicated he would
do during the January 17, 1983
meeting with Anderson and

Mr. Rozay.

x. On February 16, 1983 the
Trustees of the Trust Fund met to
consider, among other agenda
items, whether to forgive Rozay’s
unpaid pension contributions for
the months of May, 1982 through
February, 1983. The Trustees
voted not to forgive the payment

of these contributions.

B-16

y. On or about March 4,
1983, Michael Uranga, an employee
of Southwest Administrators, the
entity who administers the Trust
fund in Southern California, told
Murrietta at a social gathering
that the Trust Fund had decided
not to forgive the payment of the

unpaid contributions.

Zz. On March 8, 1983,
Murrietta and Mr. Rozay met for
the purpose of executing a collec-
tive bargaining agreement, an
Employer-Union Pension Certifi-
cation, and a settlement agreement
which modified in writing certain
provisions of the collective

bargaining agreement and resolved

all pending disputes between

Rozay’s and Local 208 including
the Board charge and the griev-

ance.

aa. During this March 8,
1983 meeting, Murrietta did not
tell Mr. Rozay that the trustees
of the Trust fund had voted not to
forgive the payment of the unpaid

contributions.

bb. By letter dated March
24, 1983, the Trust Fund notified
Murrietta and Mr. Rozay of its
decision not to forgive the pay-

ment of the unpaid contributions.

cc. After its receipt of
this letter, Mr. Rozay did not
contact the Trust Fund to deter-
mine when the Trust Fund had made
its decision not to forgive the
payment of the unpaid contribu-

tions.

dd. After its receipt of
this letter, Rozay’s’ did not
contact Local 208 for the purpose
of seeking to reopen negotiations
and/or rescind, reform and/or
amend the collective bargaining

agreement Mr. Rozay executed on

March 8, 1983.

ee. After its receipt of

this letter, Rozay’s did not

contact Local 208 for the purpose
of seeking any economic relief
from Local 208 in light of the
Trust Fund’s decision not to
forgive the payment of the unpaid
contributions.

ft. on or about June 20,
1983, the Trust Fund filed an

action in this Court captioned,

Southwest Administrators, Inc. v.

Rozay’s Transfer, Case No.
83-4194-MRP ("Southwest") seeking

recovery of the unpaid pension
contributions, along with inter-
est, liquidated damages, and
attorney’s fees. In that action,

plaintiff Southwest Administra-

B-20

tors, Inc., was the assignee and

representative of the Trust Fund.

gg. In June 1985, after
approximately 4-5 bargaining
sessions which took place in
approximately November 1984, Local
208 and Rozay’s executed a new
collective bargaining agreement.

During those negotiations, the

subject of the Southwest litiga-
tion was not discussed and Rozay’s
did not seek to obtain any econom-
ic relief from Local 208 in light
of the Trust Fund’s decision not
to forgive the payment of the

unpaid contributions.

B-21

hh. On July 6, 1984, Rozay’s
filed a motion in Southwest for_
leave to file a third party
complaint against Local 208. That
conduct represented the first
occasion that Rozay’s had an-
nounced that it wished to reform
and/or rescind the collective
bargaining agreement Murrietta and
Mr. Rozay had executed on March 8,
1983 and/or was seeking monetary
relief from Local 208 arising out
of Murrietta’s conduct culminating
in the execution of the collective
bargaining agreement or March 8,
1983. At that time, Mr. Rozay was
not aware that Murrietta knew that
the Trust Fund had already decided

not to forgive the payment of the

w
!

22

unpaid contributions on the date
that the collective bargaining

agreement was executed.

ii. Subsequently thereafter,

in Southwest Administrators, this

Court held that Rozay’s was liable
to the Trust Fund for the unpaid
pension contributions and entered
judgment in favor of Southwest
Administrators in the amount of
$122,789.03. Added to the amount
of back pension contributions
($76,133.92) waS $15,226.65 in
liquidated damages, $25,039.09 in
interest, and $6,390.00 in attor-
ney’s fees. The interest Rozay’s

oweS 1S continuing to - accrue

pending appeal of Southwest

Administrators.

6. Discovery has been completed.

7; Fhe parties will file a joint
exhibit list. Copies of all exhibits
previously admitted in Southwest

Administrators may be admitted without

objection.

8. The parties have exchanged
witness lists and agree to make
Murrietta and Mr. Rozay available to
testify at trial. Except for use as
possible rebuttal evidence, neither
party intends to present evidence by

way of deposition testimony.

9. No law and motion matters are

pending or contemplated.

10. Bifurcation of the following

issues for trial is ordered:

a. None.

11. The foregoing admissions
having been made by the parties, this
pre-trial conference order shall

supersede the pleadings and govern the

wo
1

25

court of the trial of this case, unless

modified to prevent manifest injustice.

DATED: January 14, 1986

By _/s/Mariana R. Pfaelzer
MARIANA R. PFAELZER
United States District Court Judge

O’MELVENY & MYERS
STEPHEN P. PEPE
CLIFF FONSTEIN

By _/s/Cliff Fonstein
CLIFF FONSTEIN
Attorneys for the Plaintiff

WOHLNER, KAPLON, PHILLIPS,
VOGEL, SHELLEY & YOUNG

By _/s/Robert D. Vogel

ROBERT D. VOGEL
Attorneys for the Defendant

WEI

Pp
JS aa
, de
ee
7 >
et
Paik 6%.
ATI
Rem
*
7
(ae,
rapt A
AES
, aa
re,
aa
Re iss
FA
Sutge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0197%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
