# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bishop v. Gwaltney

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0190%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 491 U.S. 904

## Text

No.

Supreme G

F
oe 1988

rt
ED

SEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

FILED
JUL 26 1988

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED [ATES “ERK

October term, 1988

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

anil

MERLIN BISHOP, e¢ al.,

VS.

Petitioners,

GEORGE MICHAEL GWALTNEY, et al.,

Respondents.

On petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
California Supreme Court

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Thomas M. Burton
5820 Stoneridge Mall

Road
Pleasanton, CA 94566
(415) 484-3233

lam —— tll Ah st

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Is a state court action brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983
and the 14th Amendment against the California Highway Patrol for
its on-duty officer's murder of a female motorist, subject to
dismissal because the California Court of Appeal rules that a state

agency is not a "person" within the meaning of § 1983?

2. Isa § 1983 state court action against the California
Highway Patrol doomed to dismissal under Monell ‘s anti-agency
dictum, even though the state court did not consider petitioners’
claims that:

a) Monell is not binding in state court,

b) California has waived agency immunity by Gov. Code §

815.2 and Vehicle Code § 17001,

c) Both § 1988 and California common law allow state
substantive law to enhance the § 1983 federal remedy
in astate court action, and

d) Agency liability has been adequately plead to bring the

case under Brandon v. Holt in any event?

————

3. Does an action brought in state court directly under the

14th Amendment of the Constitution lie against the California
Highway Patrol via Bivens and Nevada v. Hall on the one hand,
and via numerous state and federal direct action cases on the other,
irrespective of the "personhood" and respondeat superior issues
incident to actions against government entities in federal court under

§ 1983?

4. Does the conviction in federal court of the state's police
officer for the criminal violation under 18 U.S.C. § 242 of a
motorist's civil rights by taking her life, preclusively compel by
"state action” the California Highway Patrol's liability under 42
U.S.C. § 1983 and the 14th Amendment for deprivation of the same

civil rights?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I. THIBOUTOT IMPLICITLY ESTABLISHES THAT THE
QUESTION OF WHETHER OR NOT THE STATE IS A
‘PERSON' UNDER SECTION 1983 HAS NO RELEVANCE TO
A STATE COURT SECTION 1983 ACTION ............ 9

Il. GOVERNMENT ENTITY LIABILITY IN A STATE COURT
ACTION IS NOT PRECLUDED BY MONEI OR TUTTLE ...... 12

Ill. THE CHP IS DIRECTLY LIABLE FOR THE
CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATIONS OF ITS AGENT
ON THE BASIS OF THE CONSTITUTION ITSELF

NOTWITHSTANDING THE EXISTENCE OR APPLICATION
OF §§1983 AND 1988

IV. THE STATE POLICE OFFICER'S CRIMINAL
CONVICTION UNDER 18 U.S.C. § 242 FOR VIOLATING THE
DECEDENT'S CIVIL RIGHTS BY TAKING HER LIFE
RENDERS THE STATE LIABLE AS A MATTER OF LAW
UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 1983 AND THE 14TH AMENDMENT FOR
VIOLATING THE DECEDENT'S CIVIL RIGHTS BY TAKING
HER LIFE.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Page

Brandon v. Holt, 469 U.S. 464 (1985)... .......20505. 15
Bell v. Hood 327 U.S. 678, 684 (1946) .........50005. 26
ae ut a Oey a a a aT 28
I a a eae Lio ao bbe ok be be ke nko Py
Bivens v. Six Unknown Fed. Narcotics Agents 403 U.S.

RE eras ee ey 6
0 FAR ee ae eee ee ee eee ee Pee ee 21
ane a ae aa is So Sa ae ow ew ees de 6 Ap ee 17
Brandon v. Holt 469 U.S. 464 (1985). ...........25505. 8
Brown v. Board of Education 347 U.S. 483 (1954) ........ 26
Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S. 715

RASS atk ol nia aid one a Ok Ee 8a O Al Oe 37
Duarte v. City of San Jose 100 C.A.3d 648, 657 (1980)...... 14
Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974). ... .......... 10

iv

Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160 (1941) ............ 33
Emich Motors Corp. v. General Motors Corp. 340 U.S.

IN oe ho aa ee wee
35
Ex Parte Young 209 U.S. 123 (1908)...........0.000- 26
Bx Parte Youns 200 U.S. 125. CISGS) . wc ee 10

First Lutheran Church v. Los Angeles County, 482 U.S._,
ee er Pee 26
Hopkins v. Clemson Agriculture College, 221 U.S. 636
eS oh bee So ak ee ee 7,27
Iowa-Des Moines National Bank v. Bennett, 284 U.S. 239,

0 as we ek ee ee
7, 27
Se ee ee eae ee) eee ee ee ee 37
Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co. 457 U.S. 922, 936 (1982) ..... 36
Maine v. Thiboutot 448 U.S. 1 (1980) ................ 6
Pe ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee 10
Ee Sh bai, ADAG. ose wae OTs Le ca ce to hee
Re rire PR ate 8, 13, 14, 28

Monell v. Dept. of Soc. Serv. of City of N.Y., 436 U.S.

Vv

Monell v. Dept. of Social Services 436 U.S. 658 (1978) ..... 6
er 21
Monroe ...... a 23, 28
eee 24
Moor v. Alameda County 411 U.S. 693 (1973) ........... 8
Moor v. Alameda County, 411 U.S. 693 (1973) .......... 22
Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1978) ................. 27
Oklahoma City v. Tuttle 471 U.S. 808 (1985) ............ 8
Otherson v. Department of Justice, I.N.S.., 711 F.2d 267
ee 35
Poindexter v. Greenhow 114 U.S. 270 (1884) ........... 7
Poindexter v. Greenhow, l]4 U.S. 270 (1884) ........... 27
Pye v, Bases epee ee areee)................. 11
Quern v. Jordan 440 U.S. 332, 337 (1978) ............. 10
a ye et 11
Shapiro v. Thompson 394 U.S. 618, 643 (1969) .......... 32
Strauss v. State 330 A.2d 646, 648 (N.J. 1974)........... 7
Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park 396 U.S.229 (1969) ........ 24
Co ee ee a ee eee re 11

United states v. Guest, 383 U.S. 745, 755 (1966) ....... 6, 33:
United States v. Gwaltney, 790 F.2d 1378 (9th Cir. 1986) .... 5
United States v. Price, 383 U.S. 787,794, n. 7 (1966)....... 35
Ward v. Love County 253 U.S. 17 (1920).............. 27
Ward v. Love County 253 U.S.17 (1920) .............. 7
White v. County of Orange, 166 C.A.3d 566 (1985) ........ 14
White v. County of Orange, 166 CA. 3d 566 (1985) ........ 8
White v. Greenhow 114 U.S. 307, 308 (1884) ........... 7
Williams v. Horvath, 16 C.3d 834 (1876) .............. 8
Williams v. Horvath, 16 C.3d 834 (1976) .............. 12

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sanger 343 U.S. 579 (

vii

OPINION BELOW

The Order of the California Supreme Court denying
petitioners’ petition for review was filed April 27, 1988. On
January 29, 1988 the California Court of Appeal for the Fourth
Appellate District affirmed the Order of the Superior Court of San
Bernardino County upholding the Attorney General's demurrer and

dismissing petitioners’ first amended complaint.!

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1)

1 The parties to the action are Merlin Bishop and June
Bishop, as administrators of the estate of Robin Bishop, deceased,
and individually on their own behalf vs. George Michael Gwaltney,
James Burchett, Junior David Martin, Leonard De Groff,
individually and as officers of the California Highway Patrol, and
The Department Of The California Highway Patrol, a state agency,
and Does I through XX.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

1. No State shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States;
nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor deny to any perscn within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws. Amendment XIV, § 1.

2. Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,
regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or the District
of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of the
United States or any other person within the jurisdiction thereof to
the deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immunities secured by
the Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in any
action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for redress.

42 U.S.C. § 1983.

3. Whoever, under color of any law, statute, ordinance,
regulation, or custom, willfully subjects any inhabitant of any state,
territory, or district to the deprivation of any rights, privileges, or
immunities secured or protected by the Constitution or laws of the
United States, or to different punishments, pains, or penalties, on
account of such inhabitant being an alien, or by reason of his color,
or race, than are prescribed for the punishment of citizens, shall be
fined not more than $1000 or imprisoned not more than one year, or
both; and if death results shall be subject to imprisonment for any

term of years or for life. 18 U.S.C. § 242.

4. The jurisdiction in civil...matters conferred on the district
courts by the [Civil Rights Acts]...., for the protection of all persons
in the United States in their civil rights, and for their vindication,
shall be exercised and enforced in conformity with the laws of the
United States, so far as such laws are suitable to carry the same into
effect; but in all cases where they are not adapted to the object, or are
deficient in the provisions necessary to furnish suitable remedies....,

the common law, as modified and changed by the constitution and

3

statutes of the State wherein the court having jurisdiction of such

civil....cause is held, so far as the same is not inconsistent with the
Constitution and laws of the United States, shall be extended to and
govern the said courts in the trial and disposition of the cause....42

U.S.C. § 1988.

5. A Public entity is liable for injury proximately caused by
an act or omission of an employee of the public entity within the
scope of his employment if the act or omission would, apart from
this section, have given rise to a cause of action against that

employee or his personal representative. Gov. Code § 815.2.

6. A public entity is liable for death or injury to person or
property proximately caused by a negligent or wrongful act or
omission in the operation of any motor vehicle by an employee of

Raab
the public entity acting within the scope of his employment. Vehicie

Code § 17001.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners alleged that on the night of January 11, 1982 near
Barstow, California, George Michael Gwaltney, (Gwaltney), a
highway patrolman clothed, motorized and armed by the California
Highway Patrol (CHP), stopped Robin Bishop, a young attractive
female motorist driving her car alone on Interstate 15 from Los
Angeles to her home in Las Vegas. After handcuffing her,
Gwaltney put Robin in his patrol unit and transported her to an
isolated location. There, he raped Robin in the back seat of his patrol
car and afterward executed her with one shot to the back of the head.

Petitioners also alleged that Gwaltney's prurient propensities
were notorious among his colleagues and supervisors. His CHP
locker sported a plaque proclaiming an interest and expertise in
female genitalia and contained female undergarments and a card
collection of the anatomical measurements of Gwaltney's hatade
arrestees. Gwaltney on at least three prior occasions had fondled or
had sex with young female motorists he had stopped for alleged

infractions.

After two mistrials in San Bernardino County, Gwaltney
was finally convicted in federal court for depriving Robin Bishop of
her civil rights and sentenced to 90 years in federal prison. United
States v. Gwaltney, 790 F.2d 1378 (9th Cir. 1986) cert. den., 107
S.Ct. 1337 (1987).

Robins’ parents, having failed to comply with the 100 day
claims presentation requirement of the California Government Tort
Claims Act, filed their action under 42 U.S.C. §§ 1983, 1985,
1986, 1988 and the Fourth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendment of
the United States Constitution against Gwaltney, his supervisors
and the CHP, charging cruel and unusual punishment, false
imprisonment, unlawful search and seizure, sex discrimination,
failure to protect, wrongful death, gross negligence, loss of

parenthood, and deprivation of due process of law and of equal

protection of the laws.2 The trial court's order of dismissal of all
causes of action for failure to state a claim was affirmed on appeal as
to all defendants except Gwaltney whose default was entered by the
Superior Court clerk. The California Supreme Court denied review.
Petitioners sought to evade the state claims presentation bar
by bringing a § 1983 civil rights action and to avoid the 11th
Amendment bar by filing the action in state court. The court of
appeal, however, relying on earlier California cases which
petitioners thought to be an unthinking vestige of pre-Monell § 1983

doctrine, held that a state agency such as the CHP was not a

'

2 The Court of Appeal’s assertion at p. 13a that ".....plaintiffs
entire complaint was predicated only on section 1983" justifying its
ignorging plaintiffs’ direct action constitutional arguments, is
erroneous. Paragraph 18, incorporated into every cause of action of
the First Amended Complaint, states: "As a direct and proximate
result of the above described unlawful, malicious, deliberate, and
reckless acts and omissions of defendants committed under color of
authority as patrolmen of the CHP and while acting in that capacity
Robin Bishop suffered grievious bodily harm and loss of life, all in
violation of her rights under the laws and Constitution of the United
States, and in particular the Fourth, Eighth and Fourteenth
Amendments thereof and 42 U.S.C. 3 1983 and 1985(2)(3)." In
addition, the body of the First, Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth,
Seventh, Ninth, and Tenth causes of action expressly mention that
defendants’ conduct violates the Constitution of the United States.
The court relied only on the caption of the First Amended Complaint
for its statement.

"person" under § 1983 amenable to suit in a state court action, and

that even were it such a "person", it would nevertheless not be liable
under the respondeat superior strictures of Monell v. Dept. of Social
Services 436 U.S. 658 (1978).

Petitioners argued that this Court had never held that a state
was not a "person" amenable to suit under § 1983 in a state court
action but had, to the contrary, strongly implied that it was. Maine
v. Thiboutot 448 U.S. 1 (1980),n. 7, and that in any event the state
was directly liable in its own courts for direct actions to redress
federal constitutional violations. Petitioners contended that "The
Fourteenth Amendment protects the individual! against state action,
not against wrongs done by individuals." United states v. Guest,
383 U.S. 745, 755 (1966),Bivens v. Six Unknown Fed. Narcotics
Agents 403 U.S. 388 (1871).3 Bivens had before been used in a

3 After Monroe v. Pape 365 U.S. 167 (1961) barred
municipal liability under § 1983, the Bivens direct action device
invoking the 14th Amendment was successfully used to attack
municipalities: Turpin v. Mailet, 579 F.2d 152 (2d. Cir.) (en banc),
vacated and remanded for consideration in light of Monell sub nom.
City of West Haven v. Turpin , 439 U.S. 974, 978 (1978),
modified on remand, 591 F.2d 426(2d. Cir. 1979) (en banc) (Police
brutality and illegal arrest alleged).; Cox v. Stanton, 529 F.2d 47
(4th Cir.1975); Davis v. Passman, 544 F.2d 865 (Sth Cir. 1977);
Gordon v. City of Warren, 579 _" 386 (6th Cir. 1978); Wiley v.

state action brought under the federal constitution, Strauss v. State
330 A.2d 646, 648 (N.J. 1974).
Aside from Bivens and long before it, petitioners argued,

this court had upheld actions both in federal and state courts brought

- directly under the constitution to grant redress, including damages:

White v. Greenhow 114 U.S. 307, 308 (1884) (state official's
seizure of property);Ward v. Love County 253 U.S.17 (1920)
(unconstitutional collection of taxes); Poindexter v. Greenhow 114
U.S. 270 (1884) (unlawful seizure of property by State officer);
Hopkins v. Clemson Agriculture College, 221 U.S. 636 (1911)
(taking of property without just compensation); Jowa-Des Moines
National Bank v. Bennett, 284 U.S. 239, 247 (1931) (County
officers collected tax in violation of Fourteenth Amendment).
Because § 1983 was procedural, not substantive law,

petitioners had also argued that they were not subject to the Monell

Memphis Police Dept. 548 F.2d 1247 (6th Cir. 1977); Amen v. City
of Dearborn, 532 F.2d 554 (6th Cir. 1976); McDonald v. Illinois,
557 F.2d 596 (7th Cir. 1977), cert denied, 434 U.S. 966 (1877);
Owen v. City of Independence, 421 F. Supp. 1110 (W.D. Mo.
1976), 560 F.2d 925 (8th Cir. 1977), 438 U.S. 902 (1978), 589
F.2d 335 (8th Cir. 1978). Section 1983: Sword and Shield,
American Bar Ass'n, p. 65. n. 15 (1983).

9

respondeat superior dictum but to the contrary, were entitled to rely
on the substantive statutory and case law of California which holds
that the agency employing an on-duty police officer is liable for
intentional wrongful acts. Gov. Code § 815.2, Motor Veh. Code §
17001, White v. County of Orange, 166 CA. 3d 566 (1985),
Williams v. Horvath, 16 C.3d 834 (1876).

Petitioners also argued, using Moor v. Alameda County 411
U.S. 693 (1973), that they were entitled under 42 U.S.C. § 1988 to
apply state substantive agency law to implicate the CHP, and that in
any event, they were not subject to the Monell agency dictum since
they were proceeding directly against the state under the 14th
amendment in its own courts rather than by way of § 1983 ina
federal court.

Petitioners claimed that in any event their case was more like
Brandon v. Holt 469 U.S. 464 (1985) than Oklahoma City v. Tuttle
471 U.S. 808 (1985) so that the CHP was both directly and
vicariously liable for its agent's on-duty torts of constitutional
dimension.

The California appeal court chose not to address the

numerous issues raised on appeal with respect to the state's direct

10

liability for federal constitutional violations, the use of § 1988 to
supply California common law to compensate for federal law
deficiency in protecting civil rights, the procedural-substantive law
dichotomy allowing the application of liability provisions of the state
tort claims act in a §1983 state court action, and the waiver of
agency immunity by Gov. Code § 815.2 and Vehicle Code § 17001.
Petitioners’ arguments, in part, tracked a seminal article,
"Sovereign Immunity and the Supremacy Clause: Damages Against
States In Their Own Courts For Constitutional Violations” by Louis
E. Wolcher, 69 Cal. L. Rev. 189 ( 1981). Yet the appeal court,
restricted itself simply to following prior California decisions

misconstruing the opinions of this court.

11

ARGUMENT
I[

THIBOUTOT IMPLICITLY ESTABLISHES THAT THE
QUESTION OF WHETHER OR NOT THE STATE IS A
'PERSON' UNDER SECTION 1983 HAS NO
RELEVANCE TO A STATE COURT SECTION 1983
ACTION

The california court's recourse to the simplistic formula
derived from the § 1983 federal cases that a "state is not a person" is
inconsistent on its face because a state is a "person" for prospective
equitable relief under § 1983 even in federal court. The Eleventh
Amendment protects the state from retroactive monetary relief
whether or not it is a "person" in a § 1983 federal action, Ex Parte
Young 209 U.S. 123 (1908); Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651
(1974), and Quern v. Jordan 440 U.S. 332, 337 (1978), but not
when the action is in a state court, Maine v. Thiboutot, supra.

In a state court § 1983 action, the state is liable for

12

retroactive relief at least to the extent of attorneys fees under § 1988
of the federal act because there is no state immunity to federal law.
If Maine were not a "person" under § 1983, it could not have been
liable for attorneys fees under § 1988 of the act. There is no
mention in the Thiboutot opinion of a contention that Maine was not
liable under § 1988 because it was not a "person" subject to the civil

rights act. Rather, the defense in Thiboutot was :

In the face of the plain language of section 1983 and
our consistent treatment of that provision, petitioners
nevertheless persist in suggesting that the phrase
‘and laws' should be read or limited to civil nghts

and equal protection laws. 448 U.S. at p. 6.

The simple defense in Thiboutot would have been that Maine was

not a ‘person’ under § 1983. Since such a defense was well known

to be synonymous with Eleventh Amendment immunity, itself

having no place in a state court action, the defendants in Thiboutot
were relegated to contending that other language in § 1983 precluded
| using the Civil Rights Act to attack federal Social Security statutes

13

Se

bearing no ostensible relation to civil rights. Aside from the
footnote dictum, the total absence from Thiboutot of any discussion
of the state's "personhood" shows that it is no issue in a state court
action. The federal court cases to which the California court of
appeal points via the prior California case of Pyne v. Meese 172
CA.3d 392 (1985) are thus unimportant in the wake of Thiboutot.

There is an obvious and insupportable inconsistency
between this Court's ruling in Monell that the authors of § 1983
intended cities to be subject to suit as "persons" under § 1983 and
the California court's conclusion that states are somehow not
"persons" under § 1983. There is no apparent distinction between
characterizing municipalities and other governmental subdivisions as
“persons” subject to § 1983 jurisdiction, but not states, except alone
for the Eleventh Amendment's protection of states.

The majority's rejection in Quern of Justice Brennan's
cogent argument that § 1983's authors intended states to be persons
under § 1983 was simply the majority's obedience to the supremacy
of the Eleventh Amendment's immunity over a federal statute giving
no direct signal of an intention to abrogate the constitutional

protection. As seems abundantly clear from this Court's opinions,

14

when a State is the defendant in a § 1983 action in federal court, the
focus is not "personhood" but immunity. Accordingly, the appellate
court grievously erred in concluding that the CHP was not amenable
to suit in California's courts because it was not a "person " under §

1983 of the Civil Rights Act.

II
GOVERNMENT ENTITY LIABILITY IN A STATE

OR TUTTLE

The California court of appeal thought Monell v. Dept. of
Soc. Serv. of City of N.Y., 436 U.S. 658 (1978) an absolute bar to
petitioners’ attack against the CHP for respondeat superior liability,
and totally ignored the California Supreme Court's application of

substantive state tort claims act liability to enhance the § 1983

15

} COURT ACTION IS NOT PRECLUDED BY MONELL

remedy when the action was brought in state court. Williams v.
Horvath, 16 C.3d 834 (1976).

In Williams, the court held that § 1983 overrode the claims
presentation requirements of the state tort claims act, but did not
preclude application of the indemnification provisions of the state

tort claims act in a state court action founded upon § 1983:

...entirely different considerations prevail in
determining application of the claim requirement and
the indemnification provisions of the Tort Claims
Act. With regard to the claim section, the question is
the extent to which state procedural obstacles may be
invoked to obstruct the rights of plaintiffs relying on
federal law. On the issue of indemnification,
however, there can be no charge that these
provisions obstruct invocation of the federal right; on
the contrary, they enhance that right by insuring that
the individual employee is able to meet his

responsibilities. 16 C.3d at p. 847.

16

Similarly, petitioners’ state court § 1983 action is not precluded by
Monell from invoking against the CHP the respondeat superior
provisions of the state tort claims act to enhance the federal remedy
for violation of Robin Bishop's civil rights.

In addition to Gov. Code § 815.2's respondeat superior
provisions, Vehicle Code § 17001 also renders the CHP vicariously
liable for its agent's conduct using his patrol car to confian, rape and

transport Robin to a place where he could conveniently kill her:

A public entity is liable for death or injury to person

or property proximately caused by a negligent or

any motor vehicle by an employee of the public
entity acting within the scope of his employment.

(emphasis added)

The vehicle need not be moving, but only in a "state of being at
work" to impose liability. Duarte v. City of San Jose 100 C.A.3d
648, 657 (1980).

Finally, in White v. County of Orange, 166 C.A.3d 566

,
)
)
)
)
|
)
)
} wrongful act or omission in the operation of
)
;
;
,

17

taal

;
p
,
;
}
p
p

(1985) the employing entity was liable for a deputy sheriff's

confining a female motorist in his patrol car, threatening to rape her:

The use of authority is incidental to the duties of a police
officer. The County enjoys tremendous benefits from the
public's respect for that authority. Therefore, it must suffer
the consequences when the authority is abused. 166 C.A.3d
at p. 572.

Both by statute (Gov. Code § 815.2, Veh. Code § 17001)
and by case law, White v. County of Orange, supra, California has
shown no inclination to accept the Monell agency restrictions, but to
the contrary, has adopted the more rational view that the government
Goes not deserve more protection for its common law torts than for
its constitutional torts. The California appeal court mistakenly
thought it was sitting as a federal court merely because petitioners’
action sounded in § 1983 and the 14th Amendment. Accordingly, it
considered itself constrained by Monell when it was not.

Since the Fourteenth Amendment and § 1983 reach only

"state action", not private conduct, the state employer is implicated

18

by definition, else would its conduct not be unconstitutional in the

first place:

If the doctrine of respondeat superior would impose
liability on the city in an ordinary tort case, a fortiori,
that doctrine must apply to the City in a §1983 case.
....When a police officer is engaged in the
performance of his official duties, he is entrusted
with civic responsibilities of the highest order. His
mission is to protect the life, the liberty, and the
property of the citizenry. If he violates the Federal
Constitution while he is performing that mission I
believe that federal law provides the citizen with a
remedy against his employer as well as a remedy
against him as an individual. .....if Congress
intended to impose liability on municipal
corporations, it must have intended to make them
responsible for at least some of the conduct of their

agents. 471 U.S. 839, 834, 835 (Stevens dissent)

19

Here, Officer Gwaltney's conduct was the most grievous
and shocking imaginable for a law enforcement officer. Not only is
the CHP's liability not precluded by Monell and Tuttle, it is
compelled by Brandon v. Holt, 469 U.S. 464 (1985):

[Petitioners], who were seventeen years of age,
drove to the Memphis Hunt and Polo Club while on
a date and parked in a dark and secluded driveway
area...After approximately thirty minutes had
elapsed, a Chevrolet pickup truck entered the
driveway where [petitioners] were parked....The
driver of the truck identified himself to [petitioners]
as a police officer and showed them an official police
identification card bearing the name and photograph
of Robert J. Allen....Mr. Allen ordered Mr. Muse to
step out of the car. After briefly questioning him,
Officer Allen maliciously, and without provocation,
struck Mr. muse in the neck and head with his fist
and then stabbed and cut Muse on the neck and ear

with a knife. As Officer Allen tried to break into the

20

car where [petitioner] Elizabeth A. Brandon was
seated, Mr. Muse jumped into the driver's side of the
car and quickly drove away. Officer Allen fired one
shot at the escaping vehicle from his police revolver.
The bullet shattered the front window on the driver's
side of the car. Officer Allen followed plaintiffs in a
high speed chase which ended at St. Joseph's
Hospital East, where plaintiffs sought medical care
and assistance and reported the unprovoked attack

upon them by Officer Allen.

This Court held:

In at least three recent cases arising under § 1983, we
have plainly implied that a judgment against a public
servant "in his official capacity" imposes liability on
the entity that he represents provided, of course, the
public entity received notice and an opportunity to
respond. We now make that point explicitly. 469
U.S. at pp. 471-472.

2 1

ill

However notorious officer Allen's reputation in B: andon among the
officers of the precinct, his recently installed supervisor had no
actual knowledge of Allen's propensities or disciplinary record. 469
U.S. at p. 467. Because of the code of silence, few complaints
were ever filed by police personnel. 469 U.S. at p. 467. Both the
police supervisor and the governmental entity employing Allen,
however, were liable since the supervisor was sued in his official
Capacity as a public servant.

Petitioners alleged that Officer Gwaltney's prurient

propensities were not only notorious but outlandish:

a. George Michael Gwaltney had stopped a twenty-
three-year old female motorist for having a loud
muffler but did not issue her a ticket, after which the
motorist had sexual relations with Gwaltney in the
back of his patrol car several times in the immediate

vicinity where Robin Bishop's body was found.

b. In march 1979, Gwaltney stopped a female

22

, rrr frTrT7T.yTrT{ TT, VT VR VV ww VW Ww

motorist and her boyfriend for "weaving" on I-15.
After putting the boyfriend in the patrol unit out of
view, Officer Gwaltney searched the female motorist
three separate times in the area of her breasts and
crotch, once after handcuffing her. The woman
motorist was wearing a tight fitting tee shirt and blue
jeans and it was obvious without a physical search
that she carried no weapons. The frequency and
lingering nature of each of the three searches
indicated that their objective was sexual, not routine.

Gwaltney did not search the boyfriend for weapons.

c. In February 1980, Officer Gwaltney gave another
twenty-three-year-old woman a speeding ticket. He
later appeared at her place of employment where he
made vulgar sexual innuendoes toward her and stated
that he would have the traffic charges against her

dismissed, which he later did.

d. Officer Gwaltney kept file cards on women in

23

:
p
p
'
7
7
,
)
>
}
Z

whom he had sexual interest. Two such cards were
found in his California Highway Patrol locker, one

of them with Robin Bishop's name on it.

e. Officer Gwaltney's locker at the California
Highway Patrol locker in Barstow, California, had a
plaque proclaiming his interest in female genitalia and
the locker itself contained female undergarments and

nightgowns. (First Amended Complaint, 4 15(a-g).)

Petitioners also alleged that Gwaltney's antics and attitude were
known to his supervisor and encouraged as part of a pattern and

practice of play-boy tolerance:

At all times material, the defendant James Burchett
(Burchett) was a police officer of the CHP assigned
as Captain of the Barstow Substation, having direct
supervision of the defendant Gwaltney and acting as
the agent and servant of the CHP in the course and
scope of his employment, Burchett either knew or

24

aie

County's investigation into his culpability for killing
Robin Bishop...... The department of the California
Highway Pairol is an agency of the State of
California charged with the safey of motorists on
California Highways. It clothes its officers with the
power to compel and the means to kill, but has a
policy, pattern and practice of allowing the abuse of
that power by some of its male officers in the
Barstow area, including the defendant Gwaltney
herein, for personal sexual gratification, so long as
those officers meet their traffic citation quotas and

should have known of Gwaltney's prurient interest
in sex and of his pattern and practice of exacting
sexual tribute from female motorists, but both
accommodated Gwaltney's propensities and took no
action to curb such conduct or to restrict Gwaltney's
assignments from dealing with the female motoring
public. Burchett warned Gwaltney of a weapons -
confiscation conducted as part of San Bernardino

J

3 generally comply with the department's regulations.

25

|

(First Amended Complaint, Jf 5, 8).

If petitioners are successful in proving liability against Gwaltney's
supervisor, Burchett, Gwaltney himself having defaulted,
petitioners need then only prove up a case of damages. Once done,
petitioners presumably, under Brandon v. Holt, are entitled to

collect the judgment against the CHP:

Part II of the Court's opinion announces the novel

- proposition that in suing a public official under 42
U.S.C. § 1983, a money judgment against a public
official ‘in his official capacity’ is collectable against
a public entity that employs the official. This
startling doctrine - that a plaintiff may name as
defendant only an agent, but nonetheless succeed in
imposing damages on the principal who was not
named - would seem to be at odds with the most
rudimentary notions of pleading, parties and of due
process. 469 U.S. at pp. 475-476, (Rehnquist, J.,

dissenting).

26

This Court held that because Monell came down after Brandon was
filed and before it was decided, plaintiffs there could simply amend
their complaint, but that such a formalism was not necessary as the
City would have to respond in damages in any event for its agent's
conduct in his official capacity. 469 U.S. at pp. 475-476.

All that the plaintiffs needed to prove in Brandon was that
(1) the city's police officer viciously assaulted them and (2), the
officer had a history of violent and irregular behavior that was well
known within the department, 469 U.S. at p. 464. Again, Justice
Rehnquist, in dissent, recognized that the majority had held that
"naming an official as a defendant ' in his official capacity’ is
sufficient to impose liability upon a municipal corporation not named
as defendant....." 469 U.S. at p. 477.

Since Brandon was decided in light of Monell, under federal
law and in federal court, where a single officer's conduct is
notorious and egregious, agency "policies" which keep the conduct
from surfacing, establish entity liability, even when a newly
installed supervisor in his official capacity and for whose oversight

the city is liable, is ignorant of the subordinate officer's offending

27

EE ee

conduct. 469 U.S. at p. 467.

Petitioners met their burden of pleading entity liability under
Brandon. They are thus entitled to prove out their allegations as the
plaintiffs in Brandon were allowed to do. The distinction between
Brandon and Tuttle is that in Tuttle, the jury was allowed to infer
entity liability from a single incident of misconduct without the
benefit of additional evidence, 471 U.S. at p. 821. In Brandon, the
jury had before it several incidences of officer misconduct known to
the department but which department procedures obscured from the
supervisor. Such procedures triggered entity liability by virtue of the
fact that the supervisor was unknowing when he should not have
been, 469 U.S. at p. 467.

Finally, Moor v. Alameda County, 411 U.S. 693 (1973)
stands for the principle that § 1988 allows the application of
California respondeat superior law where the laws of the United
States are deficient to afford redress for the unconstitutional

deprivation of civil rights:

...{B]ut in all cases where [laws of the United States]

_are not adapted to the object, are deficient in the

28

rn nn nn Se ee a a

provisions necessary to furnish suitable
remedies....., the common law, as modified and
changed by the constitution and statutes of the State
wherein the court having jurisdiction of such
civil...cause is held, so far as the same is not
inconsistent with the Constitution and laws of the
United States, shall be extended to and govern the
said courts in the trial and disposition of the

cause....42 U.S.C. § 1988.

Since Monroe at that time precluded entity liability, plaintiff
in Moor argued that state respondeat superior law should be applied
to supply the federal law deficiency. This Court held, however, that
since Monroe expressly protected municipalities from liability,
plaintiffs could not use state law to contravene federal law which the
statute prevented as compared with furnishing suitable state law —

remedies to supplement deficient federal law, which the statute

In effect, petitioners are arguing that their particular

29

‘ 5

actions may be properly brought against this County
on the basis of § 1983. But whatever the factual ©
premises of Monroe, we find the construction which
petitioners seek to impose upon § 1983 concerning
the status of municipalities as "persons" to be simply

untenable. 411 U.S. at p. 707.

The construction of § 1983 concerning the status of
municipalities as "persons" is no longer untenable, but, to the exact
contrary, such construction of the statute is now officially approved
by Monell. Since by Monell, municipal immunity to a § 1983 action
has disappeared, Moor has no further force to preclude the
application, pursuant to § 1988, of Gov. Code § 815.2 and Vehicle
Code § 17001 in order to establish respondeat superior liability
against the CHP in state court. Monell’s respondeat superior
strictures are, after all, only policy nostrums, not even an attempted
Statutory construction of 1871 legislation. As such, they do not
preclude the application in state court by § 1988 of California
common law agency principles to enhance the federal remedy

provided by § 1983.

30

In Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park 396 U.S.229 (1969), a
racial discrimination case brought under § 1982, This court

described the great breadth of § 1988:

[W]here federally protected rights have been
invaded, it has been the rule from the beginning that
courts will be alert to adjust their remedies so as to
grant the necessary relief. And it is also well
settled that where legal rights have been
invaded, and a federal statute provides for a
general right to sue for such invasion,
federal courts may use any available remedy
to make good the wrongs done.
The existence of the command of the statutory right
implies the existence of all necessary and appropriate
remedies..

A disregard of the command of the statute is a

wrongful act, and where it results in damage

to one of the class for whose especial benefit

the statute was enacted, the right to recover

31

the damages from the party in default is

implied....
This means, as we read in § 1988, that both federal
and state rules on damages may be utilized,
whichever better serves the policies
expressed in the federal statutes.....The rule
of damages, whether drawn from federal or state
sources, is a federal rule responsive to the need
whenever a federal right is impaired. 396 U.S. at p.
239, 240 (emphasis added)

The appeal court's artificial and facile arguments to support
its decision that petitioners have no remedy under the federal
constitution in state court for its most flagrant infraction, are out of
harmony with the spirit and purpose of § 1983. Section 1983 is
only a procedural remedy, not a substartive statute. It provides a
vehicle for relief and recovery for violations of the federal
constitution. It is the door both to federal and state courts for that
purpose. Both Congress and the California Supreme Court intend

the remedies thereby available to be plenary, not parsimonious. No

32

more fundamental rights secured by the Constitution exist than those
brutally taken from Robin and her parents by the State in this case.
Section 1988, therefore, is aptly suited to incorporate Gov. Code §
815.2 and Vehicle Code § 17001 in order to make the CHP liable.

III

THE CHP IS DIRECTLY LIABLE FOR THE
CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATIONS OF ITS AGENT
ON THE BASIS OF THE CONSTITUTION ITSELF

NOTWITHSTANDING THE EXISTENCE OR

APPLICATION OF §§1983 AND 1988

Many of this Court's landmark constitutional cases arose not
under § 1983, but under the constitution itself. Brown v. Board of
Education 347 U.S. 483 (1954); Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v.
Sanger 343 U.S. 579 ( 1952); Ex Parte Young 209 U.S. 123
(1908); Bell v. Hood 327 U.S. 678, 684 (1946); Wolscher, supra,

33

at pp. 272, 285. See also First Lutheran Church v. Los Angeles
County, 482 U.S.__, 96 L.Ed.2d 250, 264 (1987) ("..claims for
just compensation are grounded in the Constitution itself...Statutory
recognition was not necessary. A promise to pay was not
necessary. Such a promise was implied because of the duty
imposed by the Amendment. The suits were thus founded
upon the Constitution of the United States." (emphasis (bold) added
and (italics) in the original)

Similarly, state court actions have long permitted direct
attack against Governmental entities for constitutional violations.
Ward v. Love County 253 U.S. 17 ( 1920); Poindexter v.
Greenhow, 114 U.S. 270 ( 1884); Hopkins v. Clemson Agriculture
College, 221 U.S. 636 (1911); Jowa-Des moines National Bank v.
Bennett, 284 U.S. 239, 247 (1931). |

This Court in Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1978), having
refused to protect Nevada's treasury from a Californian's tort
damage claim, should no less refuse to protect California's treasury
from a Nevada citizen's claim for the far more serious deprivation of
constitutionally protected rights.

Article ITI, § 5 of the California Constitution allows suits

34

a7 = i. dl VW Cail
? : B wy 4
fae. Ji

r

against California brought in such courts as shall be directed by law.
The California Tort Claims act is no shield to such suits since by
federal common law its claims presentation provisions do not apply
to a § 1983 action, and the tort claims act on its face applies solely to
torts, not to actions founded expressly and directly upon violations
of the federal constitution itself.

This Court has created another avenue of direct action for
constitutional violations, Bivens v. Six Unknown Fed. Narcotics
Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971). Bivens allowed direct action
founded upon constituticnal violations where § 1983 was not
available because the suit was for damages against federal narcotics
agents not operating by way of "state action". The federal court's
jurisdiction was thus predicated not on § 1983 but on the general
federal jurisdiction provisions of 21 U.S.C. § 1331. Thereafter the
Bivens rationale was used successfully to obtain redress directly
under the Fourteenth Amendment against municipalities which
Monroe held were not "persons" within § 1983.

Since Monell overruled Monroe, there has been less need to
employ the Bivens direct action rationale, but its rationale should be

available to reach entities that are hiding behind the concepts of §

35

Pd’, ‘9 - Pa = *

1983 "nonperson" status or the respondeat superior protection of
Monell. It is not correct to say that Bivens only reaches federal

officers, not state agencies themselves:

This view is flawed, however, because it loses sight
of the reason why the Bivens Court decided to imply
a constitutional remedy in the first place. The Court
recognized that there was something uniquely
harmful about constitutional violations that was not
adequately addressed by existing laws governing
private relationships. And the extra something is the
defendant officer's status as an arm of government
that is forbidden by a written constitution from
performing certain conduct that private law may
inadequately police or even condone. In short,
the Bivens remedy holds the defendant
officer liable as a surrogate for the
government. He is liable precisely because
the government, through him, has violated

constitutional rights. When the surrogate is

36

EEE EEE EE E_E_E_AEAE_ER_eEA-*

eliminated and the government, such as a
state is sued directly, on its most basic
level Bivens analysis yields the same result
as when an officer is sued. This is because
existing remedial law, in the form of the section 1983
cause of action, is inadequate to answer all our
constitutional concerns. Accordingly, judicial
implication of a remedy is warranted -- “appropriate”
in the vernacular of Bivens--unless there is some
good reason not to do so. Wolscher, supra, at p.

286. (emphasis added)

The evil conduct of the State's officer in this case justifies
extending the Bivens model to the state itself, as urged by Wolscher.
The practice of direct action has been so widespread, that there is no
reason why it is not appropriate in this case, especially if, as the
court of appeal held, § 1983 was not available to petitioners because
California was not.a "person" under the Civil Rights Act, and that
even if it were, the CHP would not be amenable to damages for the

redress of its agent's constitutional violations because of the

37

’ ” Py

respondeat superior dictum of Monell. Wolscher advocates
application of the Bivens model to overcome just such casuistic

evasions:

...[MJany state and lower federal courts, even before
Davis and Carlson, used the theory of Bivens to
imply constitutionally appropriate remedies against
local governments who acted contrary to the
fourteenth amendment.

Indeed, the Supreme Court's own cases, prior to
Bivens, that upheld the power of federal courts to
award injunctions and damages against state officers
acting unconstitutionally rested ultimately on a test of
appropriateness rather than strict necessity. The
plaintiffs in these cases might have been referred to
State courts and the state tort law for relief, with
Supreme Court review to assure that it was given.
Instead the Court gave the broadest possible
interpretation to 28 U.S.C. section 1331 and to the

concept of state action, with the result that federal

courts assumed practical suzerainty over the
unconstitutional acts of state officers even though
this was not, in theory, strictly necessary to protect
the plaintiff's rights.

Given this background and the policies voiced in
Davis and Carlson, it is difficult to see why the basis
of a Bivens cause of action does not extend to
fourteenth amendment rights and to other justiciable
rights against the states created by the Constitution .
It may be that in a given case a particular claim
against a particular defendant ought not to produce
liability. But this goes to the question of what
immunities are available as defenses to an otherwise
appropriate Bivens cause of action, or at best to the
existence on the facts of that case of special factors
counselling hesitation in the judicial creation of the
remedy. It does not undercut the applicability of
Bivens as a general matter to constitutional
provisions restraining state action.

....[J]ust as Bivens held that Congress’ unexercised

39

Dsenaaietlenepeerandisbindeall A on BoAMs Wo wet de 6 ‘sesieriientians =
BE PRT TEL ETRE LEP EES LENE ICAE CE LIEN S EET Oe a -

legislative powers do not automatically foreclose a
constitutionally implied damage remedy against
federal officers, so too the mere existence of
Congress’ powers under section five of the
fourteenth amendment has never been thought
sufficient to preempt the power of courts to protect
fourteenth amendment rights by appropriate remedies.
Were the rule otherwise, much of what the Court has
done in the field of constitutional rights against the
States would be without legitimacy: The lower
federal courts’ jurisdiction in many of its
most important cases was invoked on the
ground the plaintiffs' claims arose under
the constitution, not under section 1983 or

any other congressional enactment. Wolscher

at pp. 286-287. (emphasis added)

The CHP is also directly liable for its agent's depriving
Robin Bishop of the privileges and immunities insured by the

Fourteenth Amendment. Robin was returning through California to

40

is a "person" under § 1983 and whether or not a municipality is
liable under a § 1983 action in federal court by respondeat superior.

Petitioners are entitled to direct action constitutional redress
in the courts of California and in this federal court for the brutal rape
and murder of their daughter by the state's on-duty officer charged
with public safety on the federal interstate highways. He was armed
with the state's authority to stop a motorist and the power to kill her,
and he used it. By its agent's using authority expressly conferred
by California, the state is liable to Robin's family for depriving

Robin of her most fundamental civil rights.

IV

THE STATE POLICE OFFICER'S CRIMINAL
CONVICTION UNDER 18 U.S.C. § 242 FOR
VIOLATING THE DECEDENT'S CIVIL RIGHTS BY
TAKING HER LIFE RENDERS THE STATE LIABLE
AS A MATTER OF LAW UNDER 42 U.S.C. § 1983
AND THE 14TH AMENDMENT FOR VIOLATING THE

43

her home in Nevada when she was stopped, raped and killed by an
on-duty officer of the state in full regalia, who had to have his
uniform cleaned the day after the murder. The right to interstate
travel is "a virtually unconditional personal right guaranteed by the
Constitution to us all", and its violation is a deprivation of due
process. Shapiro v. Thompson 394 U.S. 618, 643 (1969).

Remedies for the interruption of interstate travel have also
been based on the denial of the equal protection clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment:

It is a commonplace that rights under the Equal
Protection Clause itself arise only where there has
been involvement of the State or of one acting under
the color of its authority. The Equal Protection
Clause ‘does not....add anything to the rights which
one citizen has under the Constitution against
another.'..... The Fourteenth Amendment protects
the individual against state action, not against wrongs
done by individuals.’ This has been the view of the

Court from the beginning. It remains the Court's

41

view today. United States v. Guest, 383 U.S. 745,
755 (1966)

" Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160 (1941), defendant was
prosecuted for bringing into California an indigent in violation of
state law. This Court held that the state law violated both the
commerce clause and the privileges and immunities clause of the

federal constitution:

So, when the Fourteenth Amendment was adopied in
1868, it had been squarely and authoritatively settled
that the right to move freely from State to State was a
right of national citizenship. As such it was
protected by the privileges and immunities clause of
the fourteenth Amendment against state interference.

314 US. at p. 178, 179.

Where the state's officer, as here, interfered with Robin's right of
national citizenship protected by the Fourteenth Amendment, the

state is directly liable for the interference, whether or not California

42

DECEDENT'S CIVIL RIGHTS BY TAKING HER LIFE.

The state's officer could not have been convicted for the
criminal deprivation of Robin Bishop's civil rights by taking her life
absent a finding of "state action". 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is the civil
counterpart of 18 U.S.C. § 242 so that the “state action" requisites

are the same:

"Under color" of law means the same thing of § 242
that it does in the civil counterpart to § 242, 42
U.S.C. § 1983..United States v. Price, 383 U.S.
787,794, n. 7 (1966).

Gwaltney's conviction for acting under "color of law” in killing
Robin Bishop, and which constitutes "state action", makes him a
state actor, a status precluding civil court review. Emich Motors
Corp. v. General Motors Corp. 340 U.S. 558,569 (1951); Otherson
v. Department of Justice, 1.N.S..,711 F.2d 267 (D.C. Cir. 1983)
Inasmuch as his status as a state actor is a prerequisite to criminal

conviction not subject to review by civil courts, it is binding upon

44

reflect a two-part approach to this question of "fair
attribution." First, the deprivation must be
caused ..... by a person for whom the State
is responsible.....Second, the party charged
with the deprivation must be a person who
may fairly be said to be a state actor. This
may be because he is a state official...or

because his conduct is otherwise chargeable

to the State. Without a limit such as this, private
parties could face constitutional litigation whenever
they seek to rely on some state rule governing their
interactions with the community surrounding them.
Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co. 457 U.S. 922, 936
(1982) (emphasis added)

In Lugar, allegations of civil rights deprivations were upheld against

private parties for using presumptively valid prejudgment attachment
procedures allegedly defective under the due process clause of the
constitution. In the case at bar, however, the status of Gwaltney as

a state actor because he is a state official for whom the state is

46

the courts in this action for civil remedies.
The same requisite exists, as well, in actions founded upon

the 14th Amendment and 42 U.S.C. § 1983, as is this one:

As a matter of substantive constitutional law the state-
action requirement reflects judicial recognition of the
fact that "most rights secured by the Constitution are
protected only against infringement by
governments,”....In 1883, this Court...affirmed the
essential dichotomy set forth in [the Fourteenth]
Amendment between deprivation by the State,
subject to scrutiny under its provisions, and private
conduct, ‘however discriminatory or wrongful,’
against which the Fourteenth Amendment offers no
shield.' Careful adherence to the "state action”
requirement preserves an area of individual freedom
by limiting the reach of federal law...

Our cases have accordingly insisted that the
conduct allegedly causing the deprivation of a federal

right be fairly attributable to the State. These cases

45

FILED

Jan 2 7 1988
Court of Appeal
COURT OF APPEAL, FOURTH DISTRICT
DIVISION TWO
STATE OF CALIFORNIA
MERLIN BISHOP, ET AL.

Plainuffs and Appellants, E003i61
v. (Super. Ct. No. BCV
GEORGE MICHAEL GWALTNEY, et al., BCV 1150)
Defendants and Respondents. OPINION
J

APPEAL from the Superior Court of San Bernardino

53

responsible is not, in the light of his criminal conviction for
employing state action to take the life of Robin Bishop, open to
question. Were he not so, he could not have been convicted and
sentence to prison for 90 years. Were he not so, he could not be
pursued in this action under § 1983 and the Fourteenth Amendment.
While the reach of "state action" has been fairly broad,
Lugar, supra, and Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365
U.S. 715 (1961), it is abundantly clear in this case that Gwaltney
was a State actor using the power and prerogative of his position to
deprive a woman, solely because she was a woman, of the ultimate
civil right, her life. Since only a police officer by virtue of his status
as a government Official is so favorably situated as to be enabled and
empowered to stop, frisk, or assume possession of any woman of
his choice merely upon a colorable infraction of the traffic laws, §
1983 and the 14th Amendment were designed to, and must, provide

redress and deterrence beyond the person of the individual officer:

Of greatest importance, however, is the
nature of the wrong for which § 1983 provides a

remedy. The Act was primarily designed to provide

47

a remedy for violations of the United States
constitution - wrongs of the most serious kind. As
the Court recognizes, the individual officer in this
Case was engaged in "unconstitutional activity.” But
the conduct of an individual can be characterized as
"unconstitutional" only if it is attributed to his
employer. The Fourteenth Amendment does not
have any application to purely private conduct.
Unless an individual officer acts under color of
official authority, § 1983 does not authorized any
recovery against him. But if his relationship with his
employer makes it appropriate to treat his conduct as
State action for purposes of constitutional analysis,
surely that relationship equally justifies the
application of normal principles of tort law for the
purpose of allocating responsibility for the wrongful
state action. Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, supra, at pp.

839-840,(Stevens, J., dissenting)

Justice Stevens’ reasoning and marshalling of historical authority

48

throughout his entire dissent in Tuttle is irrefutable, and should, in
this case, petitioners respectfully submit, be the touchstone for
putting liability for Gwaltney's conduct where it clearly and nghtly
belongs pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 242, 42 U.S.C. § 1983, and the
Fourteenth Amendment; squarely upon the California Highway
Patrol, the source of the "state action" upon which Gwaltney's
conviction and the jurisdiction of this court rest. The facts at bar are
far different from the sole instance of excessive force in Tuttle,
where the decedent had summoned the police as a hoax and
pretended to be the robber whom he, himself, had reported. If the
calculated and deliberate death of a motorist on interstate highways
at the hands of a ruthless and flamboyant state police officer cannot
be laid at the door of the highway patrol, then of what use is the

Constitution? Who will patrol the Highway Patrol?

CONCLUSION

Between Robin Bishop and the California Highway Patrol

organization stands only the Constitution and This Court. She was

49

female motorist traveling at night alone in the desert on an interstate
highway. She was unarmed, and obliged by law to stop when a
red light flashed behind her from the CHP's patrol vehicle driven by
its armed and uniformed officer. He was a large man much older
and stronger than she, standing behind a badge bearing the
imprimatur of California.

The CHP trained, armed and supervised its. officer.
Gwaltney handcuffed Robin Bishop with CHP handcuffs which the
CHP had taught him to use. He drove Robin in a CHP marked
vehicle to a lonely place he had used to humble other young,
attractive female motorists, he tuned in the CHP dispatcher on the
CHP radio and forced Robin to have sexual intercourse with him
while she was handcuffed in the back seat of the CHP vehicle. He
then shot her in the back of the head with the CHP revolver, and
radioed to the CHP dispatcher that he had found a women's body by
the roadside. The CHP helped him avoid detection so that he could
dispose of his CHP weapon, and have his CHP uniform cleaned,
and the CHP gave him aid, comfort and remuneration during the
investigation and criminal trials that followed. The words Gwaltney

spoke as he apprehended Robin Bishop, whatever they were, were

50

the authoritative words of the CHP, and the bullet that killed her
belonged to the CHP.

Neither Robin Bishop, nor any other attractive woman,
would have stopped her car alone in the desert at night for George
Michael Gwaltney, private citizen. Nothing but the paraphernalia
provided by the CHP could have caused Robin to stop for George
Michael Gwaltney, converse with him, be confined by him, and be
touched by him. Gwaltney had possession of and was using CHP
property with the CHP's consent. He could not have perpetrated his
successive unspeakable crimes and constitutional violations upon
Robin Bishop without the help, assistance, training, property and
protection of the CHP.

Gwaltney would have gone free after the two San
Bernardino County mistrials had he been George Michael Gwaltney,
private citizen. Only because he was George Michael Gwaltney,
CHP officer, was the Federal District Court in the Central District of
California able under the Civil Rights Act to gain jurisdiction over
him. He was amenable in that forum solely because he was the
agent of the State of California acting within the course and scope of

his agency at the time he deprived Robin Bishop of her civil rights.

51

If, without being an agent of the state of California, Gwaltney could
not have been convicted in federal court for criminally violating
Robin Bishop's civil rights, how is it possible that the State of
California is not civilly liable for the self-same acts? Without
California's state action, there would have been no federal crime of
which Gwaltney could be guilty. Since Caiifornia's agency has
been established beyond a reasonable doubt by Gwaltney's
conviction, the same agency as a matter of law and res judicata
makes the CHP civilly liable for deprivation of the same civil nghts.
Unfortunately, the sad pattern and practice of the CHP’s
abnegating responsibility and having no liability for its officers’
crimes committed in uniform and on duty led, on June 23, 1988, to
the conviction of a second CHP officer for the murder of a young,
attractive female motorist in San Diego. CHP patrolman Craig
Peyer was convicted of murdering Cara Knott of El Cajon, a 20 year
old student at San Diego State University, after pulling her car over

Dec. 27, 1986.

DATED: July 20, 1988 By Thomas M. Burton

County. Rufus L. Yent, Judge. Affirmed.

Burton, Brunt & Robbins and Thomas M. Burton for
Plaintiffs and Appellants.

John K. Van De Kamp, Attorney general, Richard D.
Martland, Chief Assistant Attorney General, Marvin Goldsmith,
Senior Assistant Attorney General, Randal! B. Christison,
Supervising Deputy Attorney General, Kristin G. Hogue, Luis R..,
Vargas, Deputy Attorneys General for Defendants and Respondents.

The appeal here is from a judgment of dismissal following
the sustaining of a demurrer. The underlying action was brought by
Merlin and June Bishop, almost three years after their 23-year-old
daughter Robin (the victim) had been raped and killed by California
Highway Patrolman George Michael Gwaltney, and about six
months after Gwaltney had been convicted of charges related to the
acts noted and sentenced to federal prison for 90 years. The Bishops
sued as administrators of the victim's estate and on their own behalf,
alleging that Gwaltney, three of this supervisors, and the California
Highway Patrol (CHP) had violate plaintiffs’ civil rights as secured

RA

under 42 U.S.C. section 1983. “Gwaltney defaulted and the
demurrer of the remaining defendants was sustained with leave to
amend. Plaintiffs declined to amend and the complaint was
dismissed as to those defendants. Plaintiffs have appealed from the
ensuing judgment of dismissal. After reviewing the record on
appeal, on our own motion, we issued an OSC re: sanctions for a
frivolous appeal as it related to plaintiffs’ appeal against the CHP.
PROCEEDINGS IN THE TRIAL COURT

The complaint alleged that Gwaltney was assigned to the
Barstow substation of the CHP and was at all times acting as the
agent and servant of the CHP in the course and scope of his
employment; that Gwaltney had a "notorious, indiscreet and prurient

interest in sex and had developed a pattern and practice of using the

‘- Section 1983 recites in relevant part: "Every person who,
under color of any statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage,
of any State or Territory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or
Causes to be subjected, any citizen of the United States or other
person within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any
rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution and
laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in
equity, or other proper proceeding for redress." (Emphasis added.)

The state courts of California have concurrent jurisdiction
with the federal courts to hear actions brought under 42 U.S.C.
section 1983.

55

complaint sought a total of over $100,000,000 in compensatory and
punitive (exemplary) damages and attorney's fees.

The supervisor defendants and the CHP (hereafter
defendants) demurred to the complaint on the grounds that it did not
state facts sufficient to constitute causes of action (Code Civ. Proc.,
§ 430.10, subd. (e)) because: (1) the CHP, as a state agency, is not
a "person" within the meaning of section 1983 (see fn. 1,_supra); (2)
the supervisor defendants had not personally participated in or
caused the alleged deprivations; (3) counts 1 through 5 (cruel and
unusual punishment, false imprisonment, unlawful search and
seizure, sex discrimination, and failure to protect) and count 10
(impeding the investigation) did not survive the victim's death; (4)
the facts alleged in counts 1 (cruel and unusual punishment) and 4
(sex discrimination) were insufficient to constitute such causes of
action; (5) the facts alleged in count 5 (failure to protect), count 7
(negligence) and count 10 (impeding the investigation) were
insufficient to constitute causes of action cognizable under the
federal Civil Rights Act; (6) as to all counts, plaintiffs had an
adequate state law remedy.

After a hearing, defendants’ demurrer was sustained on all

57

counts "for failure to state a cause of action under federal civil rights
law." Plaintiffs were given 30 days to amend their complaint, but
chose not to do so. Defendants then noticed a motion to dismiss the
complaint. Thereafter, plaintiffs amended the complaint as to count
7 (negligence) only, and conceded that a judgment of dismissal
could be entered against the amended complaint. Such a judgment
was entered, and this appeal followed.
DISCUSSION

Plaintiffs contend: (1) they have stated facts sufficient to
constitute causes of action against the CHP and against the
supervisor defendants for both vicarious and direct liability; and (2)
they have adequately pleaded constitutional deprivations under the
several theories alleged.

|
LIABILITY OF THE CHP

Plainuffs content first that the CHP is vicariously liable for
Gwaltney's deprivation of the victim's constitutional rights, because
such deprivation occurred within the course and scope of
Gwaltney's employment. However, plaintiffs rely on cases in

which the plaintiffs had sued counties or cities for vicarious liability

58

L.Ed.2d 358, 99 S.Ct. 1139], the Supreme Court
firmly held that states ere not amenable to suit under
section 1983 because of the immunity conferred
upon them by the Eleventh Amendment. [Citation.]
Both_Quern and its predecessor, Edelman v. Jordan
(1974) 415 U.S. 651 [39 L.Ed.2d 662, 94 S.Ct
1347], involved an action brought against a state or
its officials in federal court.....Plaintiffs argue Quer
is inapposite, as they have chosen to proceed in state
court [fn. omitted], thus alleviating any potential
Eleventh Amendment problems. They do not rely on
any direct decisional holding but rather primarily
upon a footnote in Maine v. Thiboutot (1980) 448
U.S. 1 [65 L.Ed.2d 555, 100 S.Ct.
2502)....{/stating], "No Eleventh Amendment
question is present, of course, where an action is
brought in a state court since the Amendment, by its
terms, restrains only "[t]he Judicial power of the
United States.”” (448 U.S. at pp. 9-10, fn. 7 [65
L.Ed.2d at pp. 562-563]).)

60

prerogatives and powers of this office to exact sexual tribute from
female motorists whom he apprehended”; that the supervisor
defendants knew or should have known of such pattern and practice
and taken action to curb it; that the CHP had a "policy, pattern and
practice" of allowing Gwaltney and other male officers in the
Barstow area to use their official powers for personal sexual
gratification, as long as the officer met their traffic citation quotas
and generally complied with departmental regulations, and that
Gwaltney, using the authority and property of the State of California
a, had stopped the victim for speeding and then raped and executed
her.

The complaint alleged further that the foregoing actions
constituted, as to the victim: cruel and unusual punishment (count
1); false imprisonment (count 2); unlawful search and seizure
(count 30; sex discrimination (count 4); failure to protect (count 5);
wrongful death (count 6); negligence (count 7); and deprivation of
life without due process of law (count 9), and, as to the victim's
parents, loss of parenthood (count 8), and deprivation of the due
process right to have Gwaltney brought speedily to justice (by

impeding the investigation of the victim's death) (count 10). The

56

under California Government Code section 815.2,‘ which provides

for such liability on the part of a “public entity,” including a county

“or a city. In the case here, however, plaintiffs sued the CHP under

42 United States Code section 1983 (see fn. 1, supra), which
provides for liability for a “person,” and more significantly, as wil!
be amplified hereafter, it has been judicially decided categorically
that “a state is not a ‘person’ under section 1983." (Pyne v. Meese
(1985) 172 Cal. App.3d 392, 403.)

Plainuffs have devoted over 20 pages of their opening brief
and several pages of their closing brief to an attempted refutation of
the holding in Pyne that a state and its agencies may not be sued as
“persons” under section 1983. We have read plainuffs arguments
with great care, and have concluded that they are more than
adequately answered (or anticipated) by the following reasoning in

Pyne itself:
"In Quern v. Jordan (1979) 440 U.S. 332 [59

4 Section 815.2 recites in relevant part: "(a) A public entry is
liable for injury proximately caused by an act or omission of an
employee of the public entity within the scope of his employment if
the act or omission would, apart from this section, have given rise to
a cause of action against that employee or his persona!
representative.

59

"That footnote has not gone unnoticed, either
by the courts or commentators. [Citations.]
However, the majority of state courts which have
directly addressed the issue of whether the holding of
Quern is applicable to actions in state courts have
held that it is. [Citations.j6/ [In footnote No. 6, the
court stated, in relevant part] The United States
Supreme Court has not yet decided the issue, and we
are unwilling to find the footnote in Thiboutot
dispositive....Moreover, we recently held that the
State courts of California should apply federal law to
determine whether a complaint pleads a cause of
action under section 1983 sufficient to survive a
general demurrer....in Sykes v, State of California
(Dept. of Motor Vehicles) (9th Cir. 1974) 497 F.2d
197, 201, the court held the DMV is not a ‘person’
within the meaning of section 1983.....
ae: Upon reading [the cases cited by
defendants], one might conclude the question of

whether a state is immune from suit because of the

6 1

Eleventh Amendment or whether it is immune
because it is not a ‘person’ are one and the same,
i.¢., a State is not a ‘person’ under section 1983
because of the Eleventh Amendment. However, this
is not necessarily so.

"One case observed ‘two traditional obstacles
to suing states in federal courts under 42 U.S.C. §
1983: (1) the eleventh amendment bar against suing
states in federal courts; and (2) judicial interpretations
of § 1983 holding that states are not "person" within
the meaning of the statute.’ (.... Verner v, State of
Colo. (D. Colo. 1982) 533 F.Supp. 1109,
1113.)....." (Pyne v. Meese. supra, 172
Cal.App.3d 352, 401-403.)

In view of all the above, plaintiffs’ contention that the CHP
may be sued as a "person" under section 1983 is entirely without
merit, if not specious. More particularly, there is not a shred of
authority cited to support the assertion that the State of California is
a person; the legal reality is that all the authority is precisely to the
contrary (infra).

62

is liable for death or injury to person or property proximately caused
by a negligent or wrongful act or omission in the operation of any
motor vehicle by an employee of the public entity acting within the
scope of his employment"). “However, this theory was neither pled
nor argued in the trial court. At oral argument, counsel for plaintiffs
conceded that the theory had not been pled, but insisted that such an
omission was not a problem, because plainuffs were enutled to
recover if their complaint alleged facts which stated a cause of action
under any theory, regardless of whether the theory had been
identified.

In support of this argument, plainuffs' attorney referred us
to the cases he had cited on thee issue in his reply brief. However,
none of the cited cases concerned the failure to plead a statutory
theory of recovery; moreover, “the general rule [is] that statutory
causes of action just be pleaded with particularity.....[e]very fact

essential to the existence of statutory liability must be pleaded.”

(Susman vy, City of Los Angeles (1969) 269 Cal.App.2d 803,809.)

4 At oral argument, counsel for plaintiffs characterized Section
170001 of the Vehicle Code forcefully as his "best shot” in
establishing the liability of defendants, adding that it was plaintiffs’
“clearest avenue of recovery."

66

Moreover, even if the CHP could have been sued under
section 1983, it could not have been sued for vicarious liability
thereunder. In Monell v, Dept, of Soc, Serv, of City of N.Y.
(1978) 436 U.S. 658, the U.S. Supreme Court held that local
governing bodies could not be sued for vicarious liability under
section 1983. In their reply brief, plaintiffs argue that White v.
Orange County, supra, 166 Cal.App.3d 566, held that Government
entities could be sued for vicarious liability for police misconduct.
However, the suit and the holding in White were based on the
California Tort Claims Act, and the suit here and the holding in
Monell are based on the Federal Civil Rights Act. * More
particularly, in White, the court reasoned that "in [California]
governmental tort cases, 'the rule is liability, immunity is the
exception.'.....Government Code section 815.2, subdivision (a)
[see fn. 2, supra], follows common law and imposes governmental
liability for injuries proximately caused by acts of employees within

the scope of employment." (Id., at p. 570, fn. omitted.)

3-Plaintiffs state in their opening brief that their allegations
"are not mere tort claims in constitutiona’ guise but because of their
gravity, clearly assume substantive due process constitutional
dimensions."

xiii

More particularly, as the U.S. Supreme Court stated in
Monel, "it is when execution of a government's policy or custom,
hel hea tons foe 3 by —
fairly be said to represent official policy, inflicts the injury that the
government as an entity is responsible under § 1983." (Monell v.
Dept.of Soc. Serv, of City of N.Y... supra, 436 U.S. 658, 694,
emphasis added.) In the case here, plaintiffs did not and could not
allege that the CHP had an "official" policy that its officers should
rape and kill female motorists. Accordingly, even if the CHP could
have been sued under section 1983, it would not have been directly
liable to plaintiffs thereunder on this latter theory.

Plaintiffs also contend that plaintiffs [sic] are directly liable
pursuant to Nevada v. Hall (1979) 440 U.S. 410. However, the
issue in Nevada was whether the State of Nevada was liable for tort
damages based on California law, while the issue in the case here is
whether the State of California is liable for violations of federal law
(see fn. 3, supra). Accordingly, Nevada has no legal relevance to
the case here. In this connection, counsel's representation of the
law on this point come perilously close to a violation of Rule 7-105

of the Rules of Professional Conduct.

64

Plaintiffs also contend that the CHP is directly liable
pursuant to Bivens v, Six Unknown Fed, Narcotics Agents (1971)
403 U.S. 388, because Bivens allows direct action founded upon
constitutional violations where section 1983 is not available.
However, we need not decide whether Bivens applies to this case,
because plaintiffs; entire complaint was predicated only on section
1983. More particularly: (1) the complaint is enttled
“COMPLAINT FOR VIOLATION OF CIVIL RIGHTS (42
U.S.C., §§ 1983, 1985, 1986, 1988]"; (2) the allegation of each
cause of action therein is prefaced by the heading "Violation of Civil
Rights (e.g. "FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION" (violation of Civil
Rights - Cruel and Unusual Punishment), and (3) the prayer as to
each cause of action seeks "damages due to the violation of [the
victim's civil rights caused by [e.g.] defendants’ cruel and unusual
punishment.” Accordingly, having limited their pleading to section
1983, plaintiffs cannot credibly argue that the CHP is liable under a
different theory. The sophistry here practiced is both clumsy and
palpable.

Finally, plaintiffs contend that the CHP is liable to them for
having violated section 17001 of the Vehicle Code ("A public entity

65

In the case here, there were absolutely no allegations in the
complaint as to any “operation of [a] motor vehicle” by Gwaltney in
committing the wrongful acts complained of. Equally lacking, there
were no allegations that plaintiffs had complied with the claims
requirements of Government Code section 900 et seq. in connection
with the Vehicle Code section 17001 theory of liability. In view of
these omissions, plaintiffs’ contention that they are entitled to
recover under Vehicle Code section 17001 is whol!y without merit.

In view of all the above, the trial court properly sustained the
CHP’'s demurrer.

I]
LIABILITY OF THE SUPERVISORS

The CHP supervisors named as defendants in plaintiffs’
complaint were: (1) James Burchett, the Captain of the Barstow
Substation of the CHP; (2) Junior David Martin, the head of the
Inland Division of the CHP; and (3) Leonard De Groff, the Director
of CHP Personnel. Plaintiffs alleged that the foregoing supervisors
“knew or should have known" of Gwaltney's practice of sexually
harassing female motorists; that the supervisors took a “laissez-

faire” attitude towards such practice and failed to establish a firm

67

policy to prevent it; that such failure constituted a "reckless
disregard" of, or "deliberate indifference" towards, the rights of
female motorists, and "a lack of that degree of care which prudent
and reasonable individuals [in the supervisors’ positions] would
show in exercising [their] duties, " and that such failure proximately
caused the victim's death.

However, "without a showing of_direct responsibility, " a
section 1983 action will not lie against police supervisory officers
for "failure to act [even] in the face of a statistical pattern" of police
misconduct. (Rizzo v, Goode (1976) 423 U.W. 362, 3786,
emphasis on "direct" added, emphasis on "failure" in original.) For
supervisory officials to be liable under section 1983, there must be
an "affirmative link between the occurrence of the various incidents
of police misconduct and the adoption of any plan or policy by [the
officials] -- express or otherwise -- showing their authorization or
approval of such misconduct." (Id., at p. 371, emphasis added.)

"The result of Rizzo and subsequent cases in the lower
federal courts applying the standards it announced is that a failure of
a supervisory official to supervise, control, or train the offending

individual officers is not actionable absent a showing that the official

68

either encouraged the specific incident of misconduct or in some
other way directly participated in it. At a minimum a plaintiff must
show that the official at least implicitly unauthorized, approved, or
knowingly acquiesced in the unconstitutional conduct of the
offending officers. [Citation.]

"Where, as here, the constitutional violation was not alleged
to be part of a pattern of past misconduct, a supervisory official or a
municipality may be held liable only where there is essentially a
complete failure to train the police force, or training that is so
reckless or grossly negligent that future police misconductjs almost
inevitable [citation], or would properly be characterized as
(6th Cir. 1982) 668 F.ed 860, 874.)

In the case here, plaintiffs did not and could not allege that
the defendant supervisors "directly participated" in raping or killing
the victim, or “implicitly authorized, approved or knowingly
acquiesced" in the rape and murder, or that the supervisors’ failure
to train and supervise the CHP personnel was so reckless or grossly
negligent that the rape and murder were “almost inevitable” or

“substantially certain to result." Accordingly, under the Rizzo/Hays

69

frivolous is not whether [the attorney] acted in the honest belief he
had grounds for appeal, but whether any reasonable person would
agree that the point is totally and completely devoid of merit, and,
therefor, frivolous.’ [Citing cases.]" (In re Marriage of Flaherty.
supra, 31 Cal.3d 637, 649.)

In my routine review of the record on appeal and my study
of the briefs, I of course encountered Pyne v. Meese, supra, 172
Cal.App.3d 392. There is little if any difference between Pyne and
the case before us. In_Pyne the plaintiff had undertaken to press a
section 1983 case against the Department of Motor Vehicles. In a
cogently reasoned opinion Pyne held that no cause of action under
section 1983 could be stated against the DMV as an agency of the
State of California. That portion of the Pyne opinion which
marshals the U.S. Supreme Court cases on this issue we quoted
earlier in our opinion dealing with the merits. What we note now is
further language in Pyne which categorically states, "Moreover, this
court has previously concluded that a state is not a ‘person’ under
section 1983 and we find no reason to reject that holding or
reasoning. (CLaylor vy. Mitze] (1978), 82 Cal.App.3d 665, 670...;
see also Mezey vy. State of California (1984) 161 Cal.App.3d 1060,

standard recited above, plaintiffs did not state a section 1983 cause
of action against the supervisors and the demurrer was likewise
properly sustained as to them.

Plaintiffs otherwise rely on Pennhurst State School and
Hosp. v. Halderman (1983) 465 U.S. 89, where the issue was
whether a federal court could award injunctive relief against state
officials on the basis of state law, and Bundy v. Jackson (D.C. Cir.
1981) 641 F.2d 934, where the issue was whether sexual
harassment of an employee violated Title VII. Neither of the
foregoing cases has any legal relevance to the case here.

In view of our holding that the demurrer was properly
sustained as to the CHP and as to the supervisors, we need not
address plaintiffs’ contention that they have adequately pleaded
constitutional deprivations under the several theories alleged.

Ill
SANCTIONS

In this division for years we have followed an informal
policy of not awarding sanctions for a frivolous appeal unless there
is unanimous agreement to do so. In this instance, lacking such

unanimous agreement, the motion for sanctions will be denied.

70

DISPOSITION
The judgment is affirmed, and the motion for sanctions is

denied.
NOT FOR PUBLICATION

ls/McDaniel
Acting P.J.

We concur:

0 ‘nz Opinion. Bishop v. Gwaltnev. E0316!

I concur in the judgment but feel constrained to add some
comments with reference to the denial of the motion for sanctions in
which I also concurred in accordance with the policy noted in Part
ITI of the opinion.

Counsel for plaintiffs responded in writing to the order to
show cause, but, although he had a full opportunity to do so, he
made no presentation or comment on the matter at oral argument.

During the thirteen years I have held this position, I have never

71

participated in a; case in which the appeal, on legal grounds, has
been so totally devoid of merit. In view of this experience and the
comments which follow, I am at a loss to understand why my
colleagues do not agree that sanctions should have been imposed.

Disposition of matters of this kind, since 1982, have been
controlled by In re Marmiage of Flaherty, 31 Cal.3d 637. Under
Elaherty there are two possible grounds for concluding that n appeal
is frivolous. According to Flaherty, "....an appeal should be held to
be frivolous only when it is prosecuted for an improper motive -- to
harass the respondent or delay the effect of an adverse judgment --
or when it indisputedly [sic] has no merit -- when any reasonable
attorney would agree that the appeal is totally and completely
without merit." (Jd., at p. 650.)

From these statements by the Supreme Court, it is clear that
the grounds are disjunctive, i.e., an appeal may be held to be
frivolous if either criterion is present. The latter ground above
noted is regularly referred to as the "objective standard," and as to
such standard, Flaherty states: "[t]he objective standard looks at the
merits of the appeal from a; reasonable person's perspective. ‘The

problem involved in determining whether the appeal is or is not

72

1065....)" (d., at p. 403.)

Because plaintiffs were and are attempting to proceed against
the CHP, in terms of their pleadings, solely on the basis of section
1983, I was and remain particularly impressed by the above-quoted
Pyne language that "we find not reason to reject that holding or
reasoning.” In view of that language, what soon followed in Pyne
was compelling. The court said "[t]he [trial] court found the
inclusion of these defendants in the action ‘is so clearly contrary to
established law in this matter that it can only be characterized as
frivolous and in bad faith’ and awarded those parties attorneys fees
under Code of Civil Procedure section 128.5. We agree with the
trial court that the order for an award of fees to the State....was
proper." (Pyne v. Meese, supra, 172 Cal.App.3d 392, 405,
emphasis added.)

It was this language, combined with the obvious
circumstances that plaintiffs’ counsel is thoroughly familiar with
Pyne (he cites it repeatedly in this papers), which largely led the

court to issue the order to show cause. What is frivolous in the

74

his written response to the order to show cause by stating
"Irrespective of the unresolved question of state liability in its own
courts under § 1983, the CHP is liable under § 17001 for the rape
and murder of an innocent and unarmed female_motorist by its on-
duty employee by means of the State's motor vehicle.” (Original
emphasis.) There is absolutely no legal basis whatsoever for that
Statement; in my view, such an imposition on this court cannot be
tolerated.

At this juncture, I can do no better than quote from another
case involving the issues of sanctions for a frivolous appeal, "[t}he
vice of the present case is that it has succeeded to the extent that the
state has been put to a considerable expense....in extricating itself
from this piece of ‘legal flypaper,’ not to mention the burden that
has been place on the courts. [§]] While we are not able to measure
the damage to the legal system or the expense to the state, we can

impose sanctions for the taking of this frivolous appeal

which.....will [we hope] deter such conduct in the future."

(Custom Craft Carpets, Inc, v, Miller (1982) 137 Cal.App.3d 120,

125.) ”
In my opinion the motion for sanctions should have been

granted and $5,000 awarded.
NOT FOR PUBLICATION

‘Acting P.J.

7 In Custom Craft Carpets, Inc. the court awarded $5,000

in sanction. (Id., at p. 123.)

79

Third District certainly should be frivolous in the Fourth District
too. ©

Plaintiffs’ written response to the order to show cause relies
primarily on a_dissent in a case form Alaska, State v, Green, 633
P.2d 1381. Otherwise, counsel's discussion of U.S. Supreme
Court cases is massively and precisely refuted by those portions of
Pyne quoted earlier in our opinion.

Accordingly, following the lead of Pyne which itself relied
on earlier California decisions that the State of California is not a
"person" for purposes of section 1983, we can do naught but
conclude that any attempt to appeal based on a contention that the
State is a person under section 1983 cannot be anything else but
frivolous because, under the Flaherty standard, "any reasonable

attorney [who reads the cases] would agree that the appeal is totally

and completely without merit.” (In re Marriage of Flaherty, supra,

5.Although there was no motion for sanctions for a frivolous
appeal in Pyne, the trial court's award of sanctions under section
128.5 of the Code [sic] Civil Procedure, on analogous grounds,
was affirmed. (Id., at p. 405.)

75

31 Cal.App.3d 637, 650.). ©

Plaintiffs’ counsel himself appears, by implication, to be not
too sanguine about his section 1983 position. I am of this view, for
at both oral argument and in this written response to the order to
show cause re: sanctions he takes the position that his "clearest
avenue of recovery" is under section 17001 of the Vehicle Code.
Counsel[s section 17001 argument is fatally flawed as we shall
demonstrate (infra), and so if it is his "best shot," then the section
1983 effort has been given short shrift even by plaintiff's own
counsel.

Section 17001 of the Vehicle Code provides that "A public
entity is liable for death or injury to person or property proximately
caused by a negligent or wrongful act or omission in the operation
of any motor vehicle by an employee of the public entity acting
within the scope of his employment." Counsel for plaintiffs points
out that the CHP is a "public entity." He says it is indisputable that

the rape and murder of the victim were "wrongful acts." He

~ © Tam constrained here to observe that the decision to appeal
must have been based upon the advice of counsel, for there is not
way that the lay plaintiffs would have been in a position, on their
own, to make a decision to appeal.

76_

correctly points out that Gwaltney was an employee of the CHP.
He also argues that Gwaltney was acting within the scope of this
employment at the time of the wrongful acts. Next counsel argues,
"finally it is clear that the rape and murder of Robin Bishop were
facilitated by and connected with "the operation of any motor
vehicle’....". These facts in the aggregate are characterized by
plaintiffs’ counsel as bringing plaintiffs’ cause within the ambit of
section 17001. Such an argument is puerile at best.

First, the statute contemplates death or injury to a victim
which is_caused by the operation of a motor vehicle. The statute
says nothing about being ":facilitated by and connected with" such

operation. The victim was not killed by Gwaltney's operation of his

CHP unit. More importantly, nowhere in the complaint is there any
a a ; 1 by
hich
Finally, it is elementary that any claim pursued pursuant to
section 17001 of the Vehicle Code is subject to the Tort Claims Act.
In this connection, plaintiffs did not allege compliance with the act.
Notwithstanding these gaping deficiencies in the allegations of the

complaint, plaintiffs counsel yet has the effrontery [sic] to conclude

77

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

JAN 6 1989

| JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, Jl
NO. __ 88-527 CLERK

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1988

MERLIN BISHOP, et al.,
Petitioner,

Vv.

GEORGE MICHAEL GWALTNEY, et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the California Supreme Court

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

JOHN K. VAN DE KAMP
Attorney General
RANDALL B. CHRISTISON
Deputy Attorney General

110 West A Street, Suite 700
San Diego, California 92101
Telephone: (619) 237-7772

Attorneys for Respondent

po
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the State of California is a
“person” as that term is used in 42
United States Code section 1983.

Whether, notwithstanding the terms
of 42 United States Code section
1983, the State of California is
subject to liability where the
alleged wrong was not pursuant to
any official policy.

Whether direct liability may be
asserted against the State of
California under Bivens v. Six
Unknown Federal Narcotics Agents 403
U.S. 388 (1971) where such a case
could not be brought under 42 United
States Code section 1983.

Whether a criminal conviction of a
police officer for a civil rights
violation gives rise to strict
liability against a state.

ii.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ......e..-s i
RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ... 8 1
REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD
DTP. so 4 6 ¢ «2 6 « «© @ « « 2
I THE GROUNDS FOR GRANTING
CERTIORARI ARE NOT ONLY ABSENT,
THEY ARE NOT EVEN ASSERTED » 2
A. Monell Official Policy. . 4
B. The State Is Not a Person. 7

Il PETITIONERS’ CONFUSED ARGUMENT
OF DIRECT STATE LIABILITY UNDER
BIVENS AND HALL IS WITHOUT
MERIT . . «© «© © © © © © © © © « 9

III BECAUSE THE PETITION IS UNCLEAR
AND INACCURATE, IT SHOULD BE
DENIED .«. © «© © «© © © © © «© « » ;

IV THE REMAINING CLAIMED BASES ARE
EITHER NOT SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL
QUESTIONS OR ARE SIMPLY

Mma weeerue s 4 6 6 6 8 ee ltl 13
A. Vehicular Tort ...... 14
B. Respondeat Superior ... 14

os inqgemmitication ...-«. 15

iii.

D. Official Capacity Suits
E. Right to Travel
F. State Action

V PETITIONERS’ FAILED TO SERVE
THE PETITION IN COMPLIANCE WITH
RULE 28

_ CONCLUSION

16
17

18

19

22

OPPOSITION
BRIEF

iv.
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Bivens v. Six Unknown Federal Narcotics
Agents,
403 U.S. 388 (1971) arate ier ee oe,

Brandon v. Holt,
469 U.S. 464 (1985) . «+ © « «© «© « «6 © &G

City of Oklahoma City v. Tuttle,
4714 U.S. GOS C905) « ss «0s ee 2 ED

Davis v. Passman,
442 U.S. 228 (1979) OO ial wide aa a Ca at alt ey ee

Della Grote v. Rhode Island,
781 F.2d 343 (lst Cir. 1986) ..... 8

Fayle v. Stapley 607 F.2d 858,
(SER CAs. ASTS) sas se 8 30 oes 6 SS

Fleming v. Dept. of Public Safety,
837 F.2d 401 (9th Cir. 1988) ..... 8

Heckler v. Campbell,
461-°U.8. 456 (2963) «oe 6 Se eee se 9

Monell v. Department of Social Services,
436 U.S. 658 (1978) .... 3, 4, 14, 17

Nevada v. Hall,
440 U.S. 410 (1978) ...«s «2 « BD,

Parker v. Levi,
A Fle & } er er eee ae, eS

Pembaur v. Cincinnati,
475 U.S. 469 (1986) sé we a Se Soe ee

Smith v. State Dept. of Public Health,
428 Mich. 540; 410 N.W.2d 749 (1987) . 7

Stalnaker v. Boeing Co.,
186 Cal.App.3d 1291 (1986) ......412

Tarpley v. Green 684 F.2d l,
(Dsf-e CES. S7GZ) « « 6+ oe et th heh thUuhlU RO

Toledo, Peoria & W.R. Co. v. State of
Illinois,
744 F.2d 1296 (7th Cir. 1984) .... 7

United States v. Adams,
ce Sa a ee ee rca |

Will v. Michigan Dept. of State Police
(BO. BI-ig0F} «ce ecsntirnet & ss vw *F

California Government Tort Claims Act
(Cal. Govt. Code §§ 810-995.6) .... 11

1.

RESPONDENTS BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The respondent, State of
California, acting through the
Department of California Highway Patrol,
respectfully requests that this Court
deny the petition for writ of certiorari,
seeking review of an order of the Court
of Appeal of California, Fourth
Appellate District, Docket No. E003161,

of January 27, 1988.

y

REASONS WHY THE
PETITION SHOULD BE
DENIED

I

THE GROUNDS FOR
GRANTING CERTIORARI
ARE NOT ONLY ABSENT,
THEY ARE NOT EVEN —
ASSERTED

Neither petitioners’ list of
questions presented nor any of their
arguments claims there is any basis for
issuance of a writ of certiorari.
Petitioners do not claim there is a
conflict between the circuits, within a
circuit, or between a circuit and a state
court of last resort. Nor have
petitioners indicated there is an
important issue of federal law which has
not been settled by this Court.

Petitioners assert four questions

for review. As near as respondent can

Je
tell, they are: (1) the California
appellate court erred in holding a state
agency is not a person; (2) the
California court did not consider
petitioners’ argument that Monell v.

Department of Social Services, 436 U.S.

658 (1978), was inapplicable; (3) there
is direct constitutional liability under

Bivens v. Six Unknown Federal Narcotics

Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971); and (4)
because an individual policeman was
convicted of a crime, there is
sufficient “state action” to find
liability as a matter of law.

Respondents submit none of these
questions are worthy of the commitment of
scarce judicial resources. As will be
discussed below, (1) the petitioners did

not plead there was an "official policy”

4.

as required by Monell, supra, 436 U.S.
658; (2) as the threshold question of
official policy was not satisfied, the
question of whether a state is a person
need not be addressed; (3) the question
of whether a state is a person has been
adequately answered, in the negative, by
the weight of state and federal appellate
Opinions, and will be shortly answered by
this Court; (4) for numerous reasons, not

the least of which is this issue is first

raised on appeal, a Bivens, supra, remedy
is inappropriate; and (5) the remaining
arguments are frivolous.

A. Monell Official Policy

Monell requires there be
action pursuant to an official policy

which results in the deprivation of

5.
rights. No policy, official or
otherwise, is alleged here.
As the California Court of Appeal
noted succinctly:
“In the case here, plaintiffs
did not and could not allege
that the CHP had an ‘official’
policy that its officers
should rape and kill female
motorists. Accordingly, even
if the CHP could have been sued
under section 1983, it would
not have been directly liable
to plaintiffs thereunder on
this latter theory.”
(Petition, p. 64.)

Instead, plaintiffs only allege
the state (CHP) had a “policy” of
allowing the offending officer to use his
powers as a policeman for personal
gratification. In other words,

petitioners equate negligence on the part

of the supervisor with an official State

policy.

6.
As this Court recently stated

in Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469

(1986), there must be an allegation an
authorized decision maker adopted a

policy which, when carried out, resulted

in the complained-of act. (475 U.S. at
481.) A plurality of this Court also
stated:

“ranicipal liability under
section 1983 attaches where--
and only where--a deliberate
choice to follow a course of
action is made from among
various alternatives by the
official or officials
responsible for establishing
final policy with respect to
the subject matter in
question.” (Id. at p. 483.)
[Emphasis added. }

As petitioners have not alleged

anything close to the requisite official

76
policy, there is no need to consider the
other issues they have raisedl/.

B. The State Is Not a Person.

Although there is some
contrary authority, the overwhelming
majority of decisions addressing the
question have held a state is not a
person for purposes of the Civil Rights

Act. E.g., Toledo, Peoria & W.R. Co. v.

State of Illinois, 744 F.2d 1296, 1298-

1299 (7th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 470
U.S. 1051 (collecting and analyzing
circuit opinions, and holding a state is

not a person) and Smith v. State Dept. of

1. Petitioners have sought
certiorari review based only upon
liability of the State of California and
its Department of Highway Patrol
(Petition, “Questions Presented”
segment). Petitioners raised below
liability of the wrongdoer’s
supervisors, which theory has since been
abandoned.

8.

Public Health, 428 Mich. 540; 410 N.W.2d

749 (1987), cert. granted, U.S.

|

99 L.Ed.2d 696 (1988). But see Fleming

v. Dept. of Public Safety, 837 F.2d 401

(9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, _____iU.S.
___, 102 L.Ed.2d 212 (1988) (holding a
trust territory is a person but without
discussion or even acknowledgement_of a
majority of opinions to the contrary);

Della Grote v. Rhode Island, 781 F.2d

343 (lst Cir. 1986) (a state is a person
where the State has waived its Eleventh
Amendment immunity).

As this issue has already been

argued to this Court in Will v. Michigan

Dept. of State Police (No. 87-1207), it
hardly makes sense for this Court to
address the issue once again in the same

term. This is particularly the case

9.
where, as here, it would make no
difference in the disposition of the
current case: even were the state a
person, no official policy is asserted.
II
PETITIONERS’ CONFUSED
ARGUMENT OF DIRECT
STATE LIABILITY UNDER

BIVENS AND HALL IS
WITHOUT MERIT

Petitioners claim the decisions of
Nevada v. Hall, 440 U.S. 410 (1978) and

Bivens v. Six Unknown Fed. Narcotics

Agents, supra, 403 U.S. 388 (1971)

provide an alternative basis for relief.
These matters were dealt with by the
Court of Appeal succinctly and correctly.
(Petition, pp. 64-65.)

First, petitioners have improperly

raised this issue for the first time on

appeal. (Heckler v. Campbell, 461 U.S.

10.
458, 468 n. 12 (1983).) The only theory
presented to the trial court was
liability under the Civil Rights Act in
several manifestations.

Second, an exercise of review is
hardly suggested, much less compelled, by
the prior decisions of this Court.
Petitioners assert Nevada v. Hall, supra,
provides for direct action under federal
law. (Petition, p. 34.) Simple
inspection shows Hall deals with the
issue of the susceptibility to suit
under state (California) law when an
employee of another state (Nevada)
ventures into the first state and commits
an ordinary tort. Nothing in Hall
Supports petitioners’ argument of direct

liability of a sovereign state under

federal iaw.

il.

Petitioners then assert Bivens
provides for a remedy under the
constitution when other remedies are not
available. Even were this a correct
interpretation of Bivens, it does not
come into play: petitioners here have
other remedies but either failed to use
them to their advantage or to use them at
all. Petitioners had remedies available
to them under the California Government
Tort Claims Act (Cal. Govt. Code §§ 810-
995.6) but evidently failed to even
attempt to bring such an action. In the
case of their remedy against the
offending officer, Gwaltney, they did not
obtain satisfaction. The purpose of
Bivens is certainly not the creation of a

de facto insurance policy in favor of

unsatisfied suitors.

12.
As one court noted, “Bivens actions
seek to permit recovery where there has
been no remedy available for a violation

of a particular law.” (Stalnaker v.

Boeing Co., 186 Cal.App.3d 1291, 1307

(1986).) [Emphasis added.} Unlike

Bivens and Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228

(1979), there were other forms of
judicial relief available, but
petitioners voluntarily waived them.
Further, even were Bivens relief
available, it is clear the remedy would
lie against the offending officer and
not, by means of vicarious liability,

against the State. (Tarpley v. Green 684

F.2d 1 (D.C. Cir. 1982); Fayle v. Stapley

607 F.2d 858 (9th Cir. 1979).)

ill

BECAUSE THE PETITION
IS UNCLEAR AND
INACCURATE, IT SHOULD
BE DENIED

Rule 21.5 requires a petition to
“present with accuracy, brevity, and
clearness” the matter for review. The
petition fails to comply with this rule.
If for no other reason, this is
sufficient basis to deny the petition.

IV
THE REMAINING CLAIMED
BASES ARE EITHER NOT
SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL

QUESTIONS OR ARE
SIMPLY FRIVOLOUS

Petitioners make several claims
concerning how the federal civil rights
act and the constitution should be

interpreted. Upon even cursory analysis,

one sees these arguments are, at best,

14.

insubstantial and indeed often

frivolous.

A. Vehicular Tort

Petitioners claim they state a
federal claim because California Code
secticn 17001 provides for vicarious
liability for vehicular torts.
(Petition, pp. 17-18.) Obviously, no
federal question is presented.

B. Respondeat Superior

Petitioners claim because
California state tort law provides for
respondeat superior, the Civil Rights Act
should also so provide. (Petition, pp.
15-18.) Obviously, state law has little
to do with this question of substantive
federal law which has been consistently

answered by this Court in the negative.

(E.g., Monell v. New York City Dept. of

15.

Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 692-693

(1978); City of Oklahoma City v. Tuttle,

471 U.S. 808, 831 (1985) concurring
opinion of Brennan, J.)

Cs Indemnification

Petitioners claim because
California law provides for
indemnification of public employees sued
in the course of their duties (Cal. Govt.
Code §§ 825-825.6), the Civil Rights Act
should provide for vicarious liability.

(Petition, pp. 15-17. )2/ For the same

2. Petitioner’s statement of state
law is incorrect. Although a California
public employee is entitled to indemnity
in most situations, this is not one of
them. Government Code section 825
provides the entity shall indemnify an
employee who has requested and received
an unqualified defense. Government Code
section 995.2 provides the public entity
may refuse to provide a defense where the
act was a result "of actual fraud,
corruption, or actual malice.” Without
question, the acts of Mr. Gwaltney were

16.

reason as above, this question of state
governmental relationship hardly presents
a basis for altering federal substantive
law.

D. Official Capacity Suits

Petitioners claim because

suing a municipal employee in his
cfficial capacity is the same as suing
his employing entity, suing Gwaltney
renders the state liable. (Petition, pp.
18-33.) Obviously, Brandon v. Holt, 469
U.S. 464 (1985), makes plain official
capacity suits are quite separate and
distinct from actions based on respondeat
superior. (Id. at pp. 470-471.)
Although petitioners named Gwaltney

“individually and as [an officer] of the

the result of actual malice and
petitioners do not claim otherwise.

17.
California Highway Patrol,” doing so
does not change the analysis. "Since
official capacity suits generally
represent only another way of pleading an
action against an entity of which an
officer is an agent. . .” suing
Gwaltney in this way is only another way
of suing the state directly. (Monell,
436 U.S. 658, 690 n. 55). It does not
create a new form of respondeat superior.

E. Right to Travel

Petitioners claim because the
decedent had a right to travel, she was
deprived by Gwaltney of a federal right.
(Petition, pp. 40-43.) For purposes of
the pleadings, respondent has assumed
there is a protected right, the due

process right to life. How casting

petitioners’ case in terms of a different

18.
federal right avoids the defects of not
pleading a official policy, the state not
being a person and the rest is neither
explained nor explainable.

F. State Action

Petioners claim because
Gwaltney was convicted of criminal civil
rights violations, there is a finding of
state action. (Petition, pp. 43-49.)
This argument is baffling. Evidently,
petitioners believe there is some
separate rule providing for liability if
the wrongdoer has committed an act which
constitutes state action. No review of
controlling authority is necessary--state
action is merely cne of several

requisite elements of a civil rights

action. Again, petitioners seem to think

19.
if one or two elements are satisfied, the
rest of the case must necessarily follow.
V
PETITIONERS’ FAILED
TO SERVE THE PETITION

IN COMPLIANCE WITH
RULE 28

Petitioners purportedly filed with
the clerk of this Court its petition for
writ of certiorari on July 26, 1988.
Service of the petition was made by a

private parcel delivery firm to this

counsel on August 29, 1988. The petition
as received by this counsel recited it
was served by being placed in the United
States Post Office with postage prepaid
on August 24, 1988.

The petition for writ of certiorari
was received by the clerk on August 29,

1988, the same day received by this

ST

20.
counsel. It was returned te counsel for
petitioner by mail dated
September 6, 1988, for failure of
compliance with Rule 33. Sometime later
a corrected petition for writ of
certiorari was filed with the Court.

On November 21, 1988, counsel for
respondent caused to have a telephone
inquiry made of counsel for petitioner to
determine when counsel for respondent
would see the corrected petitions.
Petitioner's counsel stated he could not
say, as he had not yet received the
corrected petition himself, but would
send one to respondent’s counsel as soon
as possible.

Rule 33.3 provides service shall be

made, “Personally or by mail... ator

before the time of filing.” Not only has

21.

there been no service at or before the
time of filing, but also no service was
made by mail. Respondent did not receive
the corrected petition until December 28,
1988, a full five months after filing.

Although service failures do not
deprive this Court of jurisdiction, these
errors are not the mere technical
mistakes having no relevance to this
Court’s as was found in Parker v. Levi,
417 U.S. 733, 742, n. 10 (1974); or

United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39, 42

(1966). Rather, these errors represent a

rather cavalier disregard of the rules.

22.
CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, it is

respectfully submitted this petition

should be denied and respondent be

allowed its costs. | |
g .

DATED: -ren / 4, (10 |
spectfully submitted,

JOHN K. VAN DE KAMP,
ete General of the

sfof California
ee Oe

DAL fe CHRISTISON

Deputy/Attorney General

Attorneys for Respondent
State of California

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0190%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
