# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Emeryville Trucking, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0100%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 980

## Text

In the
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1988

EMERYVILLE TRUCKING, INC.,
Petitioner,

Vs

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

STUART A. WILLIAMS

ECKERT SEAMANS CHERIN
& MELLOTT

600 Grant Street, 42nd Floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
(412) 566-6000

Counsel of Record

ee

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
I. Joint Employer—National Labor Relations Act

A. Whether the agent which supervises its principal’s
employees in a manner compelled by the principal and for
the benefit of the principal may be found to be a joint
employer of the principal’s employees.

B. If so, whether the General Counsel for the National
Labor Relations Board may execute a settlement agree-
ment with the principal which imposes primary liability
for unfair labor practices committed by the joint employer
solely upon the agent.

II. Burden of Proof—Unfair Labor Practices—National
Labor Relations Act

A. Whether, absent any evidence of discriminatory
anti-union motivation for a business decision, the burden
may be placed on the employer to prove that the timing of
the decision was not accelerated by the employer’s prior
unfair labor practice.

ll

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 28.1 LIST

The parties to the proceedings below were the peti-
tioner, Emeryville Trucking, Inc., and the respondent,
National Labor Relations Board.

Petitioner Emeryville Trucking, Inc. discloses the fol-
lowing corporate affiliates:

1. Team Transport, Inc.

2. Team Brokerage Services, Inc.
3. Emeryville Trucking Co.

4. Rezzetano Investments

The Respondent before this Court is the National
Labor Relations Board.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 28.1 LIST ......... ll
eo 4 wk scuba ds essecces l
A l
as 2
areameeees OT Pett CASE .. ww... ccc ccc ccees 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......... 7
I. The Joint Employer Issue................. 7

A. The Third Circuit’s application of the
joint employer concept to the agent of
the admitted employer extends the defi-
nition of “employer” beyond the limits
of the National Labor Relations Act
and is inconsistent with the decisions
of this Court and other Courts of
Appeals..... Cod RA Rae RS Wk’ 6-500 oa 7

B. The decision below that the Board’s
General Counsel may execute a settle-
ment agreement with one joint
employer and impose total primary lia-
bility upon the second joint employer
raises important and unresolved
aes Nees i he aS eae 13

iv

Il. The Burden of Proof Issue ...............- 21

A. The Third Circuit’s decision concerning
cancellation of the second round of
leases and the agency agreement is
inconsistent with Section 10(c) of the
Act and conflicts with decisions of this
Court and other Courts of Appeals. ..... 21

e¢ Shi 8 Per ere rrr re eee 28
APPENDIX (under separate cover) ........-.+-++-: la

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page
Ace Doran Hauling & Rigging Co. v. N.L.R.B., 462
fe. f 4st gy rere ner 10
Alladin Indus., 147 N.L.R.B. 1391 (1964)............ 11
Boire v. Greyhound Corp., 376 U.S. 473 (1964)........ 7
Drapery Mfg. Co., 166 N.L.R.B. 805 (1967).......... 18
Howell and Von Schaak & Co., 95 N.L.R.B. 1028
CREE 6d. cedon Adee 11-12

Huntington Hospital, Inc., 229 N.L.R.B. 253 (1977). ..12
Kaylor v. Crown Zellerbach, Inc., 643 F.2d 1362 (9th

Ges ad knacendneenesidise bate ae 9
Laerco Transportation and Warehouse, 269 N.L.R.B.
SOS e Sera mere Ga Rn NC C8 ye eae )

N.L.R.B. v. Babcock & Wilcox, 351 U.S. 105 (1956). . .14

N.L.R.B. v. Houston Chronicle Pub. Co., 211 F.2d
ee ee Se ES onc ubcus kee weeadennd 27-28

N.L.R.B. v. Lassing, 284 F.2d 781 (6th Cir. 1960) . .25-26

N.L.R.B. v. Rapid Bindery, Inc., 293 F.2d 170 (2d
CAP GREE ecbes Ne esce datas ssc eee, 24-25

N.L.R.B. v. Schroeder, 726 F.2d 967 (3d Cir. 1984) ...11

N.L.R.B. v. Transportation Management Corp., 462
ha DOPE ce bb bd ecdeacuneeeuaeesn dt 22

N.L.R.B. v. United Food and Commercial Worker
Union, Local 23, 484 U.S. __, 98 L.Ed. 2d 429
Ey fy Sa a eee par Ie mE oI. Guy sl A pegs 14

Ref-Chem Co., 169 N.L.R.B. 376 (1968), enf't denied
on other grounds 418 F.2d 127 (Sth Cir. 1969)... .17

vi

Teamsters and Auto Truck Drivers, 253 N.L.R.B.
632 (1980) 0... cc ccccccccccccccccccccsscncees u

United States Steel Corp., 270 N.L.R.B. 1318 (1984) ...9

Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340 U.S. 474
(19S1) ..ccccccccccccccccccccccsccccccsesess 14

Wright Line, a Division of Wright Line, 251
N.L.R.B. 1083 (1980), enf'd on other grounds
662 F.2d 899 (ist Cir. 1981), cert. denied 455
U.S. 989 (1982)... . cece cece cence teen eeees 22

MISCELLANEOUS
N.L.R.B. Casehandling Manual, § 10130.4.......---- 20
N_L.R.B. Casehandling Manual, § 10635 .....----++: 20

l
OPINIONS BELOW

The memorandum opinion of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit (Mansmann, J.) has not
been reported. It is reprinted in the appendix hereto, p.
91a, infra.

The supplemental decision and order of the National
Labor Relations Board is reported at 285 N.L.R.B. No.
132, and is reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. 76a, injra.
The decision and order of the National Labor Relations
Board is reported at 278 N.L.R.B. No. 153, and is
reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. 38a, infra.

JURISDICTION

Invoking its jurisdiction under 29 U.S.C. § 160, the
respondent National Labor Relations Board (“Board’’)
issued a complaint alleging that the petitioner Emeryville
Trucking, Inc. (“Emeryville”) “and/or” Helms Express
had committed unfair labor practices within the meaning
of the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 151, et
seq. (“Act’).' On March 24, 1986, the Board issued a Deci-
sion and Order, finding certain violations of the Act. See p.
38a, infra. On September 24, 1987, the Board issued a
Supplemental Decision and Order, finding additional vio-
lations of the Act. See p. 76a, infra.

On the Board’s application for enforcement and
Emeryville’s cross-application for review, the Third Cir-
cuit on May 11, 1988, entered a judgment and an opinion

‘As will be discussed infra, Helms Express was subsequently dis-
missed from the case as a result of a settlement agreement with counsel
for the Board’s General Counsel.

2

enforcing the Board’s Decision and Order, as supple-
mented. See p. 91a, infra. Emeryville’s petition for rehear-
ing or rehearing in banc was denied by the Third Circuit
on June 9, 1988. See p. 96a, infra.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment
of the Third Circuit is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED
29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq. National Labor Relations Act.

[The full text of the National Labor Relations Act is
reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. la, infra.]

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Background

Emeryville owns a fleet of tractor-trailer vehicles that
it leases to various common carriers for use in the freight
hauling business. Beginning in 1979, Emeryville leased its
fleet of trucks to the Astro Division of Helms Express.
Each tractor-trailer unit was covered by a separate written
equipment lease which stated:

The equipment which is the subject of this Lease shall
be driven by an employee of [Helms Express] at all
times that it is in the service of [Helms
Express]... {Helms Express] expressly reserves the
right to control the manner, means, and details of, and
by which the driver of such leased Equipment per-
forms his services, as well as the ends to be
accomplished.

Accordingly, Helms Express hired and employed the driv-
ers of the leased equipment.

In addition to the equipment leases, Emeryville and
Helms Express entered an agency agreement. Among other

3

things, Emeryville agreed, as an agent of Helms Express, to
manage the Helms Express freight terminal located at War-
rendale, Pennsylvania. The agency agreement required
Emeryville:

To comply with all the rules, policies, and procedures
from time-to-time established by {Helms Express]
including, but not limited to, the control of drivers’
logs, the verification of hours of service, and inspec-
tion of vehicles.

~*~ * &*

To advance to drivers not more than the percentage of
revenue and/or other maximum amount as (Helms)
may from time-to-time prescribe.

*-_ * *

[T]o make no commitment. .. to any driver applicant
regarding employment without the express prior
approval of [Helms Express].

The agency agreement was terminable by either party at
any time.

Terms and conditions of employment for the Helms
Express drivers, who were members of Teamsters Local
Union No. 800, were governed by the National Master
Freight Agreement (“NMFA”). Helms Express negotiated
and signed the NMFA. Emeryville neither negotiated nor
signed the NMFA. Prior to the instant case, grievances
arising under the NMFA were filed with, processed by, and
defended by Helms Express.

Emeryville, as agent of Helms Express, performed
ministerial tasks related to the Helms Express drivers.
Thus, Emeryville dispatched drivers as provided in the
NMFA; distributed Helms Express payroll checks; issued

ne anaaaaanreiaaareaaeaia anemia ds tii

4

monies for sick and vacation days as provided in the
NMFA from a fund created by Helms Express; and,
accepted employment applications and hired probationary
employees subject to the final approval of Helms Express.

The Emeryville-Helms Express Relationship

In 1980-81, the business relationship between Emery-
ville and Helms Express deteriorated significantly. Among
other things, Helms Express announced (and then
rescinded) a decision to close a freight terminal at Gary,
Indiana, which Emeryville managed pursuant to the
agency agreement; opened a second freight terminal at
Gary, Indiana in violation of the agency agreement and in
competition with the Emeryville-managed terminal; uni-
laterally and without purported justification withheld three
percent of the lease payments due to Emeryville pursuant
to the equipment leases; and, deducted from the equip-
ment lease payments due to Emeryville the amount of two
grievance awards owed by Helms Express pursuant to the
NMFA.

In an effort to resolve the differences between Emery-
ville and Helms Express, Emeryville agreed to permit
Helms Express to operate the second Gary freight termi-
nal. In exchange, Helms Express agreed to pay Emeryville
a one percent commission on the second terminal’s reve-
nues and guaranteed that the second terminal would not
solicit existing customers of the Emeryville-managed ter-
minal. Helms Express reneged on both of these promises
and refused to execute a written agreement embodying
them.

5

The Packer Grievance and the
First Round of Lease Cancellations

In early 1981, Helms Express employee Melvin
Packer (‘Packer’) filed a grievance with Helms Express
alleging a violation of the NMFA. Specifically, Packer pro-
tested that the Emeryville dispatcher acting as Helms
Express’ agent at the Warrendale terminal directed him to
““dead-head”’ (operate his tractor-trailer without a load on
board) from Detroit, Michigan to Warrendale.

Packer successfully pursued his grievance under the
NMFA. However, Helms Express refused to pay the
award, referring Packer to Emeryville. When Packer
appeared at Emeryville on September 14, 1981, Emery-
ville, frustrated with its treatment at the hands of Helms,
cancelled the leases of the equipment driven by Packer and
the drivers junior to Packer. Two weeks later, Helms
Express laid off these drivers.

The Agency Agreement Cancellation
and the Second Round of Lease Cancellations

Foliowing the first round of lease cancellations on Sep-
tember 14, 1981, Emeryville anticipated a response from
Helms Express with respect to the numerous problems in
their relationship. To the contrary, no response was
received. On September 24, 1981, Emeryville cancelled the
agency agreement and all remaining equipment leases.
Helms Express acknowledged the cancellations without
protest and notified its drivers of their layoff.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board initially con-
cluded that the agency agreement and the second round of
equipment leases were lawfully cancelled by Emeryville as
an independent business decision. The Board specifically
found that Emeryville ceased doing business with Helms

6

because Helms “‘was paying no attention” to Emeryville’s
continuing complaints about their business relationship.
The Board stated that the second round of cancellations
was separate from the first round and would have occurred
regardless of the Packer grievance. See p. 70a, infra.

In its Supplemental Decision and Order, however, the
Board reversed its field and concluded that the second
round of cancellations also violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1)
of the Act. The Board found that the first round of cancel-
lations “accelerated” the second, stating:

While [Emeryville’s] relationship with Helms had
become frayed even before the Packer grievance, there
is nothing to indicate that absent the discriminatory
14 September layoffs, [Emeryville] would not have
continued the balance of the Helms leases to term. In
these circumstances, we find the General Counsel has
established that Emeryville terminated the balance of
the truck leases with Helms on 30 September as a
result of the unlawful 14 September layoffs. Such con-
duct, which caused the layoff of 30 additional drivers,
must be found to violate Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of the
Act, unless it can be shown that an independent inter-
vening event caused the second round of
cancellations.

See p. 79a-80a, infra.
In reaching its decision, the Board further stated:

[W]e do not disturb the judge’s finding, which we pre-
viously adopted, that the record fails to show any spe-
cific discriminatory motivation for the second round
of cancellations. No such evidence is necessary where
it has been established, as in this case, that an action
adversely affecting employees’ terms and conditions of
employment came about as a result of unlawful acts,

———

7

rather than as a result of completely independent law-
ful events.

See. p. 82a, infra.
Yet the Board added:

In the compliance stage of this proceeding, [Emery-
ville] is free to introduce evidence establishing that
factors other than the Packer grievance would have
resulted in an earlier termination of some or all of the
discriminatees and thereby mitigate its backpay
liability.

See p. 83a, infra.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
I. The Joint Employer Issue

A. The Third Circuit’s application of the joint
employer concept to the agent of the admitted
employer extends the definition of “employer”
beyond the limits of the National Labor Relations
Act and is inconsistent with decisions of this
Court and other Courts of Appeals.

In Boire v. Greyhound Corp., 376 U. S. 473 (1964), a
general contractor, Greyhound, operated a number of bus
terminals. Greyhound engaged a subcontractor, Floors,
Inc., to provide cleaning services at the terminals.
Although Floors, Inc. hired, paid, disciplined, transferred,
promoted, and discharged the cleaning employees, Grey-
hound took part in setting up work schedules, determining
staffing levels, and supervising day-to-day activities. A
union filed a petition seeking to represent the cleaning
employees at the terminals, alleging that Greyhound and
Floors, Inc. were joint employers.

a eaiieeaieieaeenaeiaminasl

8

This Court framed the issue as follows:

Whether Greyhound ... possessed sufficient control
over the work of the employees to qualify as a joint
employer with Floors... .

376 U. S. at 481. The Court concluded that Greyhound’s
status as a joint employer was “essentially a factual issue.”
Id.

The rationale supporting the imposition of joint
employer status on the general contractor under the facts
of Boire v. Greyhound is sound. The general contractor
possesses a clear choice. If the general contractor wishes, it
may retain a true independent contractor and leave that
independent contractor wholly to its own discretion with
respect to the control and direction of its own employees.
In that case, the general contractor insulates itself from
whatever liability may arise from the unfair labor practices
committed by the subcontractor.

If, conversely, the general contractor elects to partici-
pate in the control and direction of the subcontractor’s
employees, the general contractor cannot later disclaim
responsibility for unfair labor practices committed against
those employees. Having opted to become a “partner” in
the direction and control of a group of employees, the
general contractor becomes liable for any unfair labor prac-
tices committed by the “partnership.” A contrary result
would permit the general contractor to place itself in the
best of all worlds—possessed of the authority to control
and direct employees but insulated from liability for its
actions by the presence of a nominally “independent”
subcontractor.

The joint employer analysis, however, becomes funda-
mentally flawed when transplanted from the factual setting

9

of Boire v. Greyhound to the reversed factual setting of this
case. Here, Helms Express, the principal, is analogous to
the general contractor and Emeryville, the agent, is analo-
gous to the subcontractor. The principal/general contractor
in this case accepted and performed, rather than sought to
avoid, the obligations of the employer. Helms Express was
the signatory to the NMFA and determined the labor rela-
tions policies applicable to its own employees. Pursuant to
the agency agreement, Emeryville was compelled to
observe the policies dictated by Helms Express. The mini-
mal discretion exercised by Emeryville fell far short of that
exercised in many cases where the Board and the courts
have declined to find joint employer status. Laerco Trans-
portation and Warehouse, 269 N.L.R.B. 324 (1984); Team-
sters and Auto Truck Drivers, 253 N.L.R.B. 632 (1980);
United States Steel Corp., 270 N.L.R.B. 1318 (1984).

An examination of the decisions of the Courts of
Appeals reveals that the joint employer analysis simply has
no place in factual contexts analagous to this case. In
Kaylor v. Crown Zellerbach, Inc., 643 F.2d 1362 (9th Cir.
1981), a warehouse operator leased trucks with drivers
from a trucking company. The warehouse operator pos-
sessed “‘full control over the dispatch, routing, and use of
its trucks and the hours of service of the drivers”. 643 F.2d
at 1365 (emphasis added). The trucking company, how-
ever, employed the drivers pursuant to a collective bar-
gaining agreement and remained solely responsible for
wages and benefits. Jd.

The Ninth Circuit flatly rejected the contention that
the warehouse operator was a joint employer of the driv-
ers. The court stated:

10

The business relationship of [the warehouse operator]
and [the trucking company] were close and intercon-
nected. But appellants produced no evidence of joint
ownership or control of the two companies. Although
[the warehouse operator] necessarily directed the driv-
ers to some extent, the trucking company was in con-
trol of their wages, benefits, and working conditions.
On this record, no issue is raised that [the warehouse
company] and [the trucking company] were joint
employers of the drivers.

643 F.2d at 1368.

Similarly, in Ace Doran Hauling & Rigging Co. v.
N.L.R.B., 462 F.2d 190 (6th Cir. 1972), the Sixth Circuit
held that drivers of equipment leased by the owner to a
terminal operator were employed solely by the owner-les-
sor, who hired, fired, and compensated the drivers. As the
court stated, “[a]ny other result would greatly expand the
meaning of the term ‘employee’ under the Act, an expan-
sion which Congress explicitly inhibited in [the 1947 Taft-
Hartley amendments]”. 462 F.2d at 194.

Further, the Third Circuit failed to recognize the sig-
nificant practical difficulties its decision creates for the
steel hauling sector of the trucking industry or any other
industry where principal-agent relationships are common.
Common carriers such as Helms Express are ill-equipped
to manage their own terminal operations without the assis-
tance of agents such as Emeryville. The effect of the Third
Circuit’s decision will be to deter potential agents from
accepting such assignments rather than expose themselves
to joint employer liability for the actions of the principal.

In lieu of the Third’s Circuit’s misplaced reliance on
joint employer principles, a proper analysis of this case
begins with the language of Section 2(2) of the Act, which

11

provides that “(t)he term ‘employer’ includes any person
acting as an agent of an employer, directly or indi-
rectly...” 29 U.S.C. § 152(2). In interpreting Section 2(2),
the Board has long held that an employer is liable for the
acts of an individual agent acting under the employer’s
apparent authority, even if such acts are contrary to the
employer’s instructions. The individual agent in such cases
is, in effect, the employer for purposes of fixing liability.
Alladin Indus., 147 N.L.R.B. 1391 (1964).

In N.L.R.B. v. Schroeder, 726 F.2d 967 (3d Cir. 1984),
the Third Circuit addressed the importance of the agency
concept to the statutory scheme enacted by Congress. As
the court noted, the plain language of the statute renders
“employer” status critical to the determination of Section
8(a) violations. The court found this proposition especially
compelling where, as in the instant case, the contractual
employer is a party to a collective bargaining agreement,
stating:

In general the party with whom the employee has
reached a labor agreement, be it an individual or a
corporation, does not (or cannot) speak individually.
Instead, it speaks through specific persons. The NLRA
recognizes this obvious fact by defining an
“employer” in Section 2(2) as including agents, direct
and indirect, of the employer.

726 F.2d at 970.

Relevant Board decisions demonstrate that, in situa-
tions analogous to the instant case, it is the principal alone
and not the agent that is the statutory “employer.” In the
early case of Howell and Van Schaak & Co., 95 N.L.R.B.
1028 (1951), owners of various commercial buildings
entered into agency contracts with real estate management
companies. The agency contracts, which were terminable

12

at will, provided that the management companies would
receive a percentage of gross rent collected in compensa-
tion for the services provided. Although actual hiring and
firing of the employees was handled by the management
companies, veto power over those decisions was retained
by the building owners. The Board found:

It is clear that such authority as [the management
companies] have over the employees involved herein
stems solely from the respective contracts of agency
which may be terminated at will. In view of the fact
that the essential right of control over matters funda-
mental to the employment relationship is retained by
the building owners and is exercised by [the manage-
ment companies] only at the will of such owners, we
find that... the building owners are the Employers.

95 N.L.R.B. at 1029. See also Huntington Hospital, Inc.,
229 N.L.R.B. 253 (1977).

In examining the facts of this case, it is plain that the
acts of Emeryville which the Board found to be indicative
of joint employer status are nothing more than the mani-
festation of Emeryville’s role as Helms Express’ agent. In
fact, the agents in Howell and Huntington Hospital exer-
cised far greater authority than Emeryville was found to
have exercised in this case. Pursuant to the Helms Express-
Emeryville agency agreement, Emeryville dispatched
Helms Express’ employees as required by the NMFA, to
which only Helms Express was a party; advanced expense
money; administered sick day and vacation funds and
made payments from the funds in accordance with Helms
Express’ obligations under the NMFA; and, received
employment applications and hired drivers subject to

13

Helms Express’ approval. In the performance of these obli-
gations, Emeryville operated under policies established by
Helms Express.

Most significantly, the record is devoid of any evi-
dence that Emeryville’s performance of its agency obliga-
tions did not inure to the exclusive benefit of Helms
Express. Each and every one of Emeryville’s duties might
have been as easily performed by individual supervisors,
managers, or other agents employed by Helms Express.
The fact that Helms Express elected to operate its business
and discharge its responsibilities under its collective bar-
gaining agreement with the union through the employment
of a corporate agent cannot alter the fact that Helms
Express at all times remained the sole employer of its
employees under Section 2(2) of the Act.

B. The decision below that the Board’s General
Counsel may execute a settlement agreement with
one joint employer and impose total primary lia-
bility upon the second joint employer raises
important and unresolved problems.

On December 3, 1984, after commencement of the
hearing on this complaint, the Administrative Law Judge
(“ALS*’) approved a settlement agreement between counsel
for the Board’s General Counsel and Helms Express. The
settlement agreement provided that Helms Express would
be secondarily liable for damages resulting from the first
round of lease cancellations on September 17, 1981, but
that Helms Express’ liability would not extend beyond the
cancellation of the Emeryville-Helms Express Agency
agreement on September 30, 1981.

Emeryville strenuously objected to the General Coun-
sel-Helms Express settlement agreement at the hearing

14

before the ALJ and at all relevant stages of the proceeding
thereafter. Nevertheless, neither the Board nor the Third
Circuit addressed these objections.

This Court recently reiterated that, once the hearing

on the complaint begins, a nonconsenting party may chal-
lenge the settlement before the ALJ, and an appeal of the
ALJ’s determination is available before the Board. Judicial
review of the Board’s decision is authorized by Section
10(f) of the Act. N.L.R.B. v. United Food and Commercial
Workers Union, Local 23, 484 U.S. ——, 98 L.Ed. 2d 429
(1987).

Pursuant to Section 10(f), a reviewing court must set
aside a Board decision “when it cannot conscientiously
find that the evidence supporting that decision is substan- |
tial, when viewed in the light that the record in its entirety |
furnishes, including the body of evidence opposed to the |
Board’s view.” Universal Camera Corp. v. N.L.R.B., 340
U.S. 474, 488 (1951). Review of the Board’s application of
legal precepts to the facts is plenary. N.L.R.B. v. Babcock &

Wilcox, 351 U.S. 105 (1956).

With respect to the facts of this case, the overwhelm-
ing evidence shows that the purpose of Helms Express’
Outrageous conduct was to eliminate Emeryville as the
agent of Helms Express. In so doing, Helms Express ridded
itself of its obligations under the National Master Freight
Agreement, a collective bargaining agreement which
Helms Express negotiated and signed and by which it was
bound. By approving the settlement agreement between
Helms Express and the General Counsel, the Board and
the Third Circuit foreclosed imposition of liability upon
the true wrongdoers.

Ee

15

Overwhelming and unrebutted evidence of Helms

Express’ union animus was never discussed by the Board
or the Third Circuit. This evidence included the following:

When Packer first applied for a position with Helms
Express, he was fired by Helms Express before his
thirty-day probationary period expired. A Helms
Express manager stated that this was due to Packer's
union activities. It was only after Packer’s successful
prosecution of a grievance, with Emeryville’s support,
that Packer became a permanent Helms Express
driver.

When another prospective employee applied for a
position with Helms Express, he too was fired before
his thirty-day probationary period expired. A Helms
Express manager stated that, like Packer, this person
was fired because of his union activities.

After Roy Haggard took over the operation of the
Astro Division, he stated that drivers who were mem-
bers of Local 800 would no longer be hired to drive
trucks leased to Helms Express and idle trucks would
only be operated under non-union contracts.

In late 1980, after Emeryville had ordered twenty-five
new trucks, Helms Express refused to permit Emery-
ville to lease them to Helms Express because union
drivers would have to be hired to drive them. Emery-
ville subsequently leased the trucks to another War-
rendale-based carner, which found enough business to
keep the trucks running.

In violation of the National Master Freight Agree-
ment, Helms Express opened a non-union terminal in
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania.

16

¢ Haggard’s predecessor as head of the Astro Division
was reassigned to run Gemini, a non-union contract
carrier that Helms Express established secretly.

* Helms Express’ parent, Ryder Truck Lines, acquired a
non-union company which directly competed with the
Astro Division. In 1982, after the closure of the Astro
Division was complete, the Helms-Astro agents were
retained by the I.U.-Ryder non-union operations.

Le Ne ee ete sb ar el er etl

POM Aw hm

¢ After the Astro Division shutdown, an officer of
Helms Express stated that Haggard had been brought
in for the sole purpose of closing the Astro Division.

* On September 14, 1981, there were idle trucks leased |
to Helms Express by a fleet owner whose trucks were
domiciled at the Warrendale terminal. These trucks
were idle because of Haggard’s orders that no more :
union drivers from Local 800 be hired. Helms Express
knew these trucks were available and that Packer and
four others were laid off.

As the undisputed facts show, Helms Express almost
certainly committed its own primary, independent viola-
tions of the Act by not transferring laid off drivers to other
trucks and by refusing to pay the Packer grievance. By
approving the settlement agreement, the Board deprived
Emeryville of the opportunity to prove that another party
was primarily liable for any harm suffered by the affected
drivers.

Further, as the record makes clear, Helms Express as
principal actually condoned its agent Emeryville’s conduct.
In the face of the cancellation of two rounds of equipment
leases and the agency agreement, Helms Express offered no
reaction but to accept Emeryville’s actions. Had Helms
Express wished, it could have forbidden Emeryville from
taking actions which supposedly forced Helms Express to

ne A.

———

17

lay off its drivers. For it was Helms Express, not Emery-
ville, which had the right to fire the drivers in question, a
right contained in its labor agreement. Helms Express’
total passivity was merely a convenient way to end the
Emeryville relationship, an outcome Helms Express had
instigated for approximately nine months.

With respect to the law, neither the Board nor the
Third Circuit cites a single case for the startling proposi-
tion that the General Counsel may settle with one joint
employer and impose total primary liability for unfair
labor practices on another. Counsel for the petitioner is
aware of no such authority. This void indicates how radi-
cally the present case departs from the Board's traditional
practice and procedure and from basic standards of
fairness.

The law which does exist in this area supports the
conclusion opposite that reached, without discussion, by
the Third Circuit and the Board. In Ref-Chem Co., 169
N.L.R.B. 376 (1968), enft. denied on other grounds, 418
F.2d 127 (Sth Cir. 1969), the Board found a manufacturer
to be a joint employer with a contractor hired to do work
on the manufacturer's premises. The union representing
the contractor’s employees filed a timely charge against the
contractor alleging a violation of Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of
the Act. Subsequently, and more than six months after the
alleged unlawful act, the charge was amended to include
the manufacturer as a respondent. The manufacturer urged
the Board that Section 10(b) of the Act mandated dismissal
of the charge against it. The Board disagreed, holding:

(The manufacturer’s] liability under the Act cannot be
considered separate and apart from that of [the con-
tractor]. As joint employer, each is responsible for the
conduct of the other and whatever unlawful practices

Ee

ee ere eee ne

18

are engaged in by the one must be deemed to have
been committed by both... . [T]he nature of the joint
employer relationship is such that the charge against
[contractor] also constituted a charge against [manu-
facturer] for any unfair labor practices found against
its co-employer.

169 N.L.R.B. at 380.

In an analogous case involving “‘single employer” con-
cepts, the Board reversed the decision of an Administra-
tive Law Judge imposing unfair labor practice liability on
only one of the employers jointly and severally liable. In
Drapery Mfg. Co., 166 N.L.R.B. 805 (1967), two compa-
nies were found to have violated Section 8(a)(1), (3), and
(5) of the Act. The Board held:

In our opinion this limitation of affirmative responsi-
bility to only one of the Respondents results in an
order entirely inadequate to remedy the joint unfair
labor practices which have been committed. Accord-
ingly we shall amend the order so that it will be appli-
cable to [both companies].

166 N.L.R.B. at 805.

Thus, Ref-Chem and Drapery Mfg. suggest that settle-
ment with one joint employer is tantamount to settlement
with all. Because the complaint against Helms Express was
dismissed, the complaint against Emeryville must likewise
be dismissed.

Alternatively, if the complaint against Emeryville is
not to be dismissed, a new hearing must be granted with
Helms Express as co-respondent. The inequity of proceed-
ing against one joint employer while not proceeding
against the other is even more obvious in this case than in
Ref-Chem. Unlike Ref-Chem—where, at least, the

19

employer which was party to the labor agreement was ini-
tially charged—the admitted employer and party to the
labor agreement here is released. The unfairness to Emery-
ville is manifest. As a result of the settlement and the
Board’s Order, Emeryville was primarily liable to all of the
Helms Express employees for 15 months. Emeryville’s co-
employer, Helms Express, was secondarily liable to a frac-
tion of the Helms Express employees for 2 weeks. Emery-
ville’s basic rights to contribution and indemnity from its
co-employer cannot be so easily defeated at the whim of
the General Counsel.

Finally, the settlement approved by the Board and the
Third Circuit in this case fails to satisfy even the Board’s
own procedural guidelines. It is plain that the Board’s
Casehandling Manual makes no provisions whatever for
settlement with only one joint employer, although settle-
ment procedures in a variety of other situations are set
forth in great detail. This fact further illustrates the unprec-
edented and unauthorized nature of the General Counsel’s
actions in this case.

The Casehandling Manual does provide procedures
for settlement of parallel violations of Section 8(a)(3) (by
an employer) and Section 8(b)(2) (by a union). While the
company and the union are not “joint” parties in the sense
of the joint employer situation, the Board’s 8(a)(3)—
8(b)(2) procedures do provide guidance concerning the
requisites of a fair settlement. The Casehandling Manual
provides:

Joint and Several Liability: In companion 8(a)(3) and
8(b)(2) cases growing out of the same acts of discrimi-
nation, the stipulated order may require the employer

20

respondent and the union respondent jointly and sev-
erally to make whole the discriminatees. The stipula-
tions should generally not attempt to apportion the
liability between the employer and the union....

Where one party is willing to settle, but the other
respondent insists upon trial of the case, a settlement
agreement may be taken from the party who is willing
to settle. Appropriate provisions should be inserted in
the agreement, however, to assure that the respondent
or respondents signing the stipulation will bear only
its or their proportionate share of the backpay liability
unless efforts to obtain payment of the remaining por-
tion of the backpay from the other respondent or
respondents should fail.

N.L.R.B. Casehandling Manual § 10130.4 (emphasis
supplied).

With respect to compliance with such settlements, the
Casehandling Manual further provides:

Joint and Several Liability: Where the backpay liabil-
ity of a respondent employer and a respondent union
in a companion CA-CB case is joint and several, a//
reasonable measures should be taken by the compli-
ance officer to assure that the liability is in fact borne
equally by the employer and the union.

x * *
In cases where all respondents indicate a desire to

settle (the word “settle” is used herein to cover com-
pliance as weli), each should pay its equal share.

N.L.R.B. Casehandling Manual § 10636 (emphasis
supplied).

Thus, even assuming that settlement with one joint
employer was proper, the terms of the General Counsel-

21

Helms Express settlement simply cannot satisfy even the
Board’s own guidelines. Rather than the fifty-fifty split
contemplated by Section 10130.4, the General Counsel
elected to apportion 100% of liability to Emeryville, with
Helms’ Express only secondarily liable for a tiny fraction
of the total amount. Absolutely no attempt was made by
the Board to see that Helms Express paid its “proportion-
ate share” or “‘equal share.”

Nor was this a case where Emeryville “insisted upon
trial of the case.” Emeryville was never given an opportu-
nity to settle, at least not on the terms presented to Helms
Express.’

In sum, because the issues surrounding settlement
with one joint employer and imposition of total primary
liability upon the second joint employer raise important
problems not addressed by this Court or the Courts of
Appeals, petitioner respectfully suggests that certiorari
should be granted.

II. The Burden of Proof Issue

A. The Third Circuit’s decision concerning cancella-
tion of the second round of leases and the agency
agreement is inconsistent with Section 10(c) of the
Act and conflicts with decisions of this Court and
other Courts of Appeals. |

The resolution of unfair labor practice charges arising
under Section 8(a) (3) of the Act involving so-called “dual
motive” discharge or discipline—that is, discharge or dis-
cipline in which the decision to discharge or discipline an
employee may be motivated by opposition to protected

2Of course, the General Counsel could not offer precisely the same
deal to Emeryville as it did to Heims Express lest both alleged joint
wrongdoers be secondarily liable.

22

activity or by legitimate business reasons, or both—is gov-
erned by the legal standard set forth in Wright Line, a
Division of Wright Line, 251 N.L.R.B. 1083 (1980), enfd
on other grounds, 662 F.2d 899 (1st Cir. 1981), cert. denied,
455 U.S. 989 (1982). The Board’s Wright Line analysis was
approved by this Court in N.L.R.B. v. Transportation
Management Corp., 462 U.S. 393 (1983).

Under the Wright Line test, the General Counsel must
initially make out a prima facie showing of discriminatory
discharge by supporting the inference that protected con-
duct was “a motivating factor” in the employee’s decision.
Only if the General Counsel establishes a prima facie case,
the burden shifts to the employer to show that the dis-
charge or discipline would have occurred even in the
absence of the protected activity. Wright Line, supra at
1089.

The ALJ expressly analyzed whether activity pro-
tected by the Act motivated Emeryville to cancel the sec-
ond round of truck leases and the agency agreement. As a
result of that analysis, the ALJ found no violation of Sec-
tion 8(a)(3) and (1) of the Act:

[O]nce Emeryville discriminatorily cancelled the first
round of leases, the second round of leases and the
agency agreement were cancelled as an independent
business decision ...[O]n the second round of lease
cancellations, Emeryville threw in the towel on Helms
because Helms was paying no attention. I see it as a
business decision that is separate from the first round
of cancellations and that “would have taken place
even in the absence of the protected conduct”. Wright
Line, supra, 251 NLRB at 1089. Other than surmise
that the timing of the second round of the cancella-
tions ten days later was to thwart a Packer grievance

23

or had other anti-union animus, there is no record
support for finding that the second round was not
done out of frustration with Helms, which had made
no effort to reconcile the differences on which Emery-
ville had been seeking redress since July. Once the
Packer grievance triggered the first round of cancella-
tions, there is no knowing when the second round
would have come, if at all.

See p. 70a, infra (emphasis added).

However, the Board’s supplemental decision, enforced
by the Third Circuit, held that the second round of cancel-
lations was “‘accelerated”’ by the first:

While [Emeryville’s] relationship with Helms had
become frayed even before the Packer grievance, there
is nothing to indicate that absent the discriminatory
14 September layoffs, [Emeryville] would not have
continued the balance of the Helms leases to term. In
these circumstances, we find the General Counsel has
established that [Emeryville] terminated the balance
of the truck leases with Helms on 30 September as a
result of the unlawful 14 September layoffs. Such con-
duct... must be found to violate Section 8(a)(3) and
(1) of the Act, unless it can be shown that an indepen-
dent intervening event caused the second round of
cancellations.

See p. 79a-80a, infra (emphasis added).

This analysis is directly contrary to the mandate of
Section 10(c) of the Act, which requires that each indepen-
dent unfair labor practice be proven by “a preponderance
of the testimony taken by the Board.” 29 U.S.C. § 160. The
decisions of the Third Circuit and the Board literally oblit-
erate the Wright Line-Transportation Management

24

requirement of the prima facie case of unlawful discrimi-
nation. Based upon a finding of one unfair labor practice—
the first round of cancellations—the Third Circuit and the
Board inferred a prima facie case in a second independent
complaint. Under the Third Circuit’s reasoning, prior vio-
lations by an employer relieve the General Counsel of the
burden of establishing a prima facie case for future viola-
tions, imposing upon the employer the burden of disprov-
ing the charges.

To the contrary, the prima facie case requirement is
neither relaxed nor excused by the fact that the timing of
the employer’s decision, and not the decision itself, is
alleged to be unlawful. The burden is on the General
Counsel in this case to prove that the second round of
cancellations was accelerated. It is not Emeryville’s burden
to show that, but for an earlier unfair labor practice found
by the Board, the cancellations would not have occurred
later.

In the absence of clear evidence of anti-union animus,
the Courts of Appeals simply refuse to find that a lawful
business decision was accelerated. In fact, even if such
evidence is present, some Courts of Appeals have declined
to adopt the theory that a lawful decision, even if acceler-
ated, constitutes an independent unfair labor practice. An
examination of these cases is instructive in the instant
matter.

In N.L.R.B. v. Rapid Bindery, Inc., 293 F.2d 170 (2d
Cir. 1961), the employer demonstrated lawful reasons,
including inadequate facilities, high costs, and frequent
employee turnover, necessitating the closure of its existing
plant and relocation to new quarters. Prior to a final deci-
sion to relocate, however, an election was conducted and a
union was certified as collective bargaining representative

25

at the existing plant. Approximately one month later, the
employer completed the move. The Board found that the
employer’s decision violated Section 8(a)(3) and (1)
because it was accelerated by the union activity. 293 F.2d
173-74.

The Second Circuit denied enforcement. It held:

In those situations where a change or discontinuance
of business operations is dictated by sound financial
or economic reasons the courts have refused to find
that § 8(a)(3) has been violated even though the
employer action may have been accelerated by the
union activity ... It is our view that the record before
us does not support the inference drawn from it by the
Board that Rapid’s move was motivated by the desire
to avoid its obligations to Union. All of the evidence
points to motivation for sound business reasons.
Though there may have been animosity between
Union and Rapid, animosity furnishes no basis for the
inference that this was the preponderant motive for
the move when convincing evidence was received
demonstrating business necessity. The decided cases
do not condemn an employer who considers his rela-
tionship with his plant’s union as only one part of the
broad economic picture he must survey when he is
faced with determining the desirability of making
changes in his operations.

293 F.2d at 174-75.

In N.L.R.B. v. Lassing, 284 F.2d 781 (6th Cir. 1960),
cert. denied, 366 U.S. 909 (1961), the employer studied its
method of delivering gas with its own employees. The
employer determined that such delivery should be per-
formed by common carrier in the event that any excess
costs were incurred. At that time the employer knew that

26

its truck licenses expired on a certain date and that deliv-
ery services would not be continued beyond that date.
Prior to the final decision, a union requested recognition
and a meeting for purposes of collective bargaining. The
day prior to the first scheduled meeting, the employer
announced that delivery would thereafter be performed by
common carrier, and the drivers were laid off. The Board
found that the employer violated Section 8(a)(3) and (i) by
accelerating the proposed change in operations on account
of union activity. 284 F.2d 782-83.

The Sixth circuit denied enforcement. After reiterating
that a change in operations motivated by financial or eco-
nomic reasons is not an unfair labor practice, the court
concluded:

Fundamentally, the change was made because of rea-
sonably anticipated increased costs, regardless of
whether this increased cost was caused by the advent
of the Union or by some other factor entering into the
picture. This did not constitute discrimination against
the three employees with respect to their tenure of
employment because of membership in the Union,
within the provisions of Section 8(a)(1) and (3) of the
Act.

284 F.2d at 783.

Significantly, the burden in Lassing remained with the
General Counsel to prove that the layoff was, in fact, accel-
erated; the court refused to require the employer, as the
Beard did in the instant case, to prove that the layoff
would not have occurred later (for example, on the date of
the license expiration) absent any union activity. The
Lassing result is sound for two reasons. First, it comports
with Section 10(c) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. § 160(c), which
requires that each unfair labor practice be proven by a

27

preponderance of the evidence. Second, it comports with
the fundamental premise that it is virtually impossible to
prove a negative proposition; by requiring an employer to
conciusively show that, for whatever reason, something
would not have happened, the Board requires proof no
employer can ever provide.

Finally, in N.L.R.B. v. Houston Chronicle Pub. Co.,
211 F.2d 848 (Sth Cir. 1954), the employer terminated its
newspaper delivery employees and established a network
of independent contractors to deliver newspapers. The
Board found that, although economically motivated, the
conversion was accelerated on account of the employees’
concerted activity. 211 F.2d 851.

The Fifth Circuit denied enforcement, holding:

We do not think that, because the respondent acceler-
ated the change-over in order to avoid anticipated
union interference, it necessarily follows that the origi-
nal decision to change was to defeat union organiza-
tional efforts. It is the motive for the decision to
change-over that is material to this controversy rather
than the motive for accelerating the change-over.

211 F.2d 854.

Further the court addressed the particular sensitivity
of reconciling lawful, economically-motivated business
changes with the mandates of the Act. In a passage equally
pertinent to the instant case, the court stated:

When the Board could as reasonably infer a proper
motive as an unlawful one, substantial evidence has
not proved the respondent to be guilty of an unfair
labor practice. Motives are notoriously susceptible of
being misunderstood and hard to prove or to dis-
prove. If an ordinary act of business management can

28

be set aside by the board as being improperly moti-
vated, then indeed our system of free enterprise, the
only system under which either labor or management
would have any rights, is on its way out, unless the
Board’s action is scrupulously restricted to cases
where its findings are supported by substantial evi-
dence, that is evidence possessed of genuine sub-
stance. In our opinion, this is not such a case.

211 F.2d 854-55 (footnote omitted).

As all of the preceding cases make clear, this case
requires an independent showing, based upon a preponder-
ance of the evidence, that the cancellations of the second
round of leases and the agency agreement were unlawfully
accelerated. Because the General Counsel failed to pro-
duce, and the Administrative Law Judge, the Board, and
the Third Circuit failed to find, such evidence, Emery-
ville’s actions were lawful.

CONCLUSION

For these various reasons, this petition for certiorari
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Stuart A. WILLIAMS

ECKERT SEAMANS CHERIN & MELLOTT
600 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219
(412) 566-6000
Counsel of Record

September 7, 1988

29
No.

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OctToser TERM, 1988

EMERYVILLE TRUCKING, INC...
Petitioner,

Vv.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
| Respondent.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

1, Stuart A. Williams, a member of the Bar of this
Court, hereby certify that on the 7th day of September,
1988, three copies of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in
the above-entitled case were mailed, first class postage pre-
paid, to Aileen A. Armstrong, Deputy Associate General
Counsel, National Labor Relations Board, office of the
General Counsel, Washington, D.C. 20570. I further cer-
tify that all parties required to be served have been served.

2 A A «I — <P

STUART A. WILLIAMS

ECKERT SEAMANS CHERIN & MELLOTT
600 Grant Street
. Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219
(412) 566-6000
Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0100%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
