# Opposition Brief — Michigan v. Thornburgh

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0084%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 980

## Text

=a ee OT ee ae —

6)

No. 88-402

IN THE UNITED STATES SUPREME CO

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

THE STATE OF MICHIGAN, Petitioner

Vv.

EDWIN MEESE, Attorney General
for the United States, Respondent

and
STEVE ASMAR and METRO INSTITUTIONAL

FOOD SERVICES, INC.
intervening Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SIXTH
CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

LAW OFFICES OF LAWRENCE J.
STOCKLER & ASSOCIATES, P.C.

BY: LAWRENCE J. STOCKLER
Attorneys for Intervening Respondents
15565 Northland Drive, Suite 500 E
Southfield, MI 48075
(313) 569-7700

a ;
4
e
e
: ‘
en
| a
= oor
°
f ;
° Del
Sh Y
2 »
‘
2
s ‘ |
6
= ‘
.
: =
, : |
‘
°
| e
2 | :
| Dae
‘ : |
< . q z
= os
| t
*
=
é
:
a < | | |
oO |
, ‘
; ®
4
| : fil ire
pf.
° = : | :
{ :
‘ :
A is |
. 5 5 “3 : i es =
” $ : ;
| . “ “ ,
5 -

°
}
he
,
ar
f J
rif

STATEMENT OF QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l.

im iz WW, V5.4. 45 BS. m-
APPLICABLE TO THE STATES
PURSUANT TO THE TENTH AMEND-
MENT, OR, IN THE ALTERNATIVE,
DOES CONGRESS HAVE THE AU-
THORITY TO BIND STATES UNDER
THE "WIRETAP LAW" PURSUANT TO
THE COMMERCE CLAUSE?

iS SECTION 2535 OF TITLE i OF
THE OMNIBUS CRIME CONTROL AND
SAFE STREETS ACT OF 1968 BIND-
ING UPON THE STATES PURSUANT
TO AMENDMENTS OTHER THAN THE
TENTH AMENDMENT TO THE UNIT-
ED STATES CONSTITUTION?

0199B

| °
TABLE OF CONTENTS ;

PAGE(S) =

Table of Authorities iii - vii =

Opinions below ix SS

Constitutional and statutory Ba
provisions involved ix - xiv

Statement of the Case | t= 4 =

Reasons for denying petition > - 35 =
Argument | >

Argument II 17 = 35 ~

Conclusion 36 =

0199B

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Berger v. New York

87 S.Ct. 1873, 388 U.S. 41,
18 L.Ed.2d 1040 (1967)

Clark v. U.S.
eatectin) 21t Fe. 916

Duncan v. United States
48 F.2d 128 (D.C. Ore. 1931)

Gelbard v. United States
408 U.S. 41, 48, 92 S.Ct. 2357
33 L.Ed.2d 179 (1972)

Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining

and Reclamation Ass'n, Inc.,
452 U.S. 264, 101 S.Ct. 2352,
69 L.Ed.2d 1 (1981)

Hunter v. Underwood

R7t Usd. Zea, Od B.Ct. 1916,
85 L.Ed.2d 222 (1985)

Katz v. United States
389 U.S. 347, 88 S.Ct. 507,
19 L.Ed.2d 576 (1967)

Olmstead v. United States
277 U.S. 438, 48 S.Ct. 564,
72 L.Ed. 944 (1928)

Payton v. New York

Riddick v. New York

445 U.S. 573, 100 S.Ct. 1371,
63 L.Ed.2d 639 (1980)

0199B

PAGE(S)

24, 25, 26
27, 28

%, 8, 3

32, 33, 34
35

>, 6, 7

12

28, 30, 31

32

25

28

PAGE(S)

Pensacola T. Co. v. W.U. 8
96 U.S. 1, 24 L.Ed. 708

Scarborough v. United States 14, 15
431 U.S. 563, 97 S.Ct. 1963
52 L.Ed.2d 582 (1977)

United States v. Darby 9, 10
312 U.S. 100, 312 U.S. 657,
81 S.Ct. 451, 85 L.Ed. 609 (1941)

United States v. Von Stephens 2-33
774 F.2d 1411 (C.A. 9 1985)

United Transportation Union v. 13
Long Island Railroad Company

455 U.S. 678, 102 S.Ct. 1349,

71 L.Ed.2d 547 (1982)

Western Union Teleq. Co. v. Pendleton 8
t44 Uide Sal, 1 Detuks 1148,
30 L.Ed. 1187

MICHIGAN CASES

People v. Warner 16
401 Mich. 186, 258 N.W.2d 385 (1977)

FEDERAL CONSTITUTION

v.3. Const, Art. 1, §$ 8, Gi. 1 5. 13
iwe Get, Are. 1. 3 &,. Gec 2 5s. 6, 10

13,
.S. Const, Art. 1. $8, Gl. 7 8
First Amendment o. ae

0199B

BEE ERERCESEEE

PAGE(S)
Fourth Amendment 1, 48, 20; 2
30
Fifth Amendment ts ae
Tenth Amendment Rig dec ae
a Pee y eee
Fourteenth Amendment 12, 28
FEDERAL STATUTES
18 U.S.C. §§ 1201-1203 14
18 U.S.C. § 2510 et seq. la By ee
18 U.S.C. § 2515 3S; Bates 2
MICHIGAN STATUTES
M.C.L. § 750.539(a) et seq. 23
OTHER AUTHORITIES CITED
114 Cong. Rec. 14773 (1968) 15
United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History “
United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History, p.2113 17

| 0199B

vi

United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History,
p.2153-54

United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History,
p.2155

United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legisiative History,
p.2157

United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History,
p.2159

United States Code, Congressional!
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History,
p.2161

United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History,
p.2162

PAGE(S)

20,

20

20

20

21

22

=e eugcirgrteegaitngnd i

United States Code, Congressional
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History,
po.2184-5

United States Code, Congressional!
and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968,
Vol. 2, Legislative History,
p.2189

01996

PAGE(S)

22, 23

23, 24

viii

No. 88-402

IN THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1988

THE STATE OF MICHIGAN, Petitioner
Vv.

EDWIN MEESE, Attorney General
for the United States, Respondent

and

STEVE ASMAR and METRO INSTITUTIONAL
FOOD SERVICES, INC., Intervening Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SIXTH
CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

The Intervening Respondents, STEVE
ASMAR and METRO INSTITUTIONAL FOOD
SERVICES, INC. respectfully request that this
Court deny Petitioner's Petition for Writ of

Certiorari to the Sixth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the District Court for the
Eastern District of Michigan is attached hereto
as Appendix A. The opinion of the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals is appended as Ap-

pendix 8B.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the District Court for
the Eastern District of Michigan was entered
on August 10, 1987. The judgment of the Sixth
Circuit Court of Appeals was entered on July
6, 1988. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254,

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

a The First Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides in relevant part:

"The Congress shall have Power

+ * *

01996

To regulate commerce’ with foreign
nations, and among the several States,
and with the Indian tribes."

) Bi The Fourth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides in relevant part:

"The right of the people to be secure in
their persons, houses, papers, and
effects, against unreasonable’ searches
and seizures shall not be violated, and no
Warrants shall issue, but upon probable
cause, supported by Oath or affirmation,
and particularly describing the place to
be searched, and the persons or things
to be seized."

ae The Fifth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides in relevant part:

"No person shall be held to answer for a
capital, or otherwise infamous’ crime,
unless on a presentment or indictment of
a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in
the land or naval forces, or in the Mili-
tia, when in actual service in time of War
or public danger; nor shall any person be
subject for the same offence to be twice
put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall
be compelled in any criminal case to be a
witness against himself, nor be deprived
of life, liberty, or property, without due
process of law; nor shall private property
be taken for public use, without just
compensation."

4 , The Tenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides in relevant part:

0199B

:

xi

"The powers not delegated to the United
States by the Constitution, nor prohibited
by it to the States, are reserved to the
States respectively, or to the people."

5. The Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution provides in relevant

part:

"Section 1. All persons born or natu-
ralized in the United States and subject
to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of
the United States and of the State where-
in they reside. No State shall make or
enforce any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive
any person of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor deny to
any person within its jurisdiction the
equal protection of the laws.

* * *

Section 5. The Congress’ shall have
power to enforce, by appropriate legis-
lation, the provisions of this article."

6. Title 18, U.S.C. § 2510 provides in

relevant part:

"As used in this chapter [18 USCS §§
2510 et seq. ]--

* * *

(2) ‘oral communication’ means any oral
communication uttered by a person exhib-
iting an expectation that such

0199B

xii

communication is not subject to _ inter-
ception under’ circumstances justifying
such expectation;

(3) ‘State’ means any State of the United
States, the District of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and any
territory or possession of the United
States;

(4) '‘intercept' means the aural acquisi-
tion of the contents of any wire or oral
communication through the use of any
electronic, mechanical, or other device.

(5) ‘electronic, mechanical, or other
device’ means any device or apparatus
which can be used to intercept a wire or
oral communication other than --

(a) any telephone or telegraph instru-
ment, equipment or facility, or any
component thereof, (i) furnished to
the subscriber or user by a commu-
nications common carrier’ in the
ordinary course of its business and
being used by the subscriber or
user in the ordinary course of its
business; or (ii) being used by a
communications common carrier in the
ordinary course of its business, or
by an investigative or law enforce-
ment officer in the ordinary course
of his duties;

(b) a hearing aid or similar device being
used to correct subnormal hearing to
not better than normal;

(6) '‘person' means any employee, or
agent of the United states or any State or
political subdivision thereof, and any

0199B

:

xiii

individual, partnership, association, joint
stock company, trust, or corporation;

* * *

(8) ‘contents,’ when used with respect
to any wire or oral communication, in-
cludes any information concerning the
identity of the parties to such communica-
tion or the existence, substance, pur-
port, or meaning of that communication;

(9) "Judge of competent jurisdiction'
means --

(a) a judge of the a United States
district court or a United States
court of appeals; and

(b) a judge of any court of general
criminal jurisdiction of a State who is
authorized by a statute of that State
to enter orders authorizing inter-
ceptions of wire or oral communica-
tions;

* * *

(11) ‘aggrieved person' means a _ person
who was a party to any intercepted wire
or oral communication or a person against
whom the interception was directed."

7. Title 18, U.S.C. § 2515 provides in

relevant part:

"Whenever any wire or oral communication
has been intercepted, no part of the
contents of such communication and no
evidence derived therefrom may be re-
ceived in evidence in any trial, hearing,
or other proceeding in or before any

01998

XiVv

court, grand jury, department, officer
agency, regulatory body, legislative
committee, or other authority of the
United States, a State, or a_ political
subdivision thereof if the disclosure of
that information wouid be in violation of
this chapter [18 USCS §§ 2510 et seq.]."

0199B

*
ie
va
2
=
s

lf

Tee eee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The State of Michigan is contesting the
constitutionality of the Omnibus Crime Control
and Safe Streets Act of 1968 based upon the
Tenth Amendment. If the State of Michigan is
correct then, of course, the purpose for Title
18 U.S.C. § 2510 et seq. would be thwarted
and Congress' power to control commerce would
be thwarted and be meaningless. Further-
more, the State ignores the constitutionality of
Title 18, U.S.C. § 2510 et seq. as applicable
to the states under the First, Fourth and Fifth
Amendments of the United States Constitution
as made applicable to them by the Fourteenth
Amendment.

What transpired in this particular is that
there was an illegal wiretapping made of con-
versations involving three individuals, none of
whom had given authorization nor had known
about such electronic recording of their con-

versations on a tape. The perpetrator of the

0199B

improper act then mailed the tape to an attor-
ney. The attorney then proceeded to make
use of this tape and disseminate the contents
of the tape in an unauthorized manner includ-
ing giving a copy to the Wayne County Pros-
ecutor's office.

An attempt was made to have a grand
jury investigation based upon the tape. The
grand jury judge quashed the tape pursuant to
Title 18, U.S.C. § 2510 et seq. The State of
Michigan never appealed and attempted to come
to this Court directly by a Petition for Writ of
Certiorari for which the Petition was denied.
Thereafter the State of Michigan commenced
litigation in the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Michigan. Summary
judgment was entered on the grounds that
Title 18, U.S.C. § 2510 et seq. did not violate
the Tenth Amendment of the U.S. Constitution
and that Congress did have the power under
the commerce clause to- regulate - illegal

wiretapping, including the prohibition of the

0199B

Fe ee eeeeekekeseetee «|

use of any evidence derived therefrom in,
among several areas, state courts (§ 2515).
An appeal was made to the United States Court
of Appeals, Sixth Circuit and that court
sustained the dismissal, but for other reasons,
including the fact that the State had not used
their own procedural steps in appealing the
dismissal through the state courts.

At this particular time what is at issue is
whether the State of Michigan is immune from
the provisions of Title 18, U.S.C. § 2515, that
no evidence shall be received in any hearing
in its courts when an electronic recording is
tainted.

The Complaint was filed in the within
matter by the State of Michigan on _ the
grounds that Title III] of the Omnibus Crime
Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968, and more
particularly § 2515 therein, is unconstitutional
pursuant to the Tenth Amendment of the
United States Constitution and therefore is not

applicable or binding upon the states.

0199B

Intervening Appellees aver that the State
of Michigan has failed to read the Senate
Report set forth in the United States Code,
Congressional and Administrative News, 90th
Congress, Second Session, 1968, Vol. 2,
Legislative History, which had clearly indicated
that the basis of Title III is to protect the
right of privacy and that it has nothing what-
soever to do with the Tenth Amendment.

Also, case law is cited in support of

Intervening Appellees' position.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Ms
TITLE 18, U.S.C. § 2515 IS INAPPLICABLE
TO THE STATES PURSUANT TO THE TENTH
AMENDMENT, OR, IN THE ALTERNATIVE,
CONGRESS DOES HAVE THE AUTHORITY TO
BIND STATES UNDER THE "WIRETAP LAW"
PURSUANT TO THE COMMERCE CLAUSE.

The commerce clause of the United States
Constitution, Art. |, § 8, Cl. 1 and 3 state as
follows:

"Tne Congress shall have Power

* * *

To regulate commerce’ with foreign
nations, and among the several States,
and with the Indian tribes."

In Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining and Recla-

mation Ass'n, Inc., 452 U.S. 264, 101 S.Ct.

2352, 69 L.Ed.2d 1 (1981), this Court held
that the Surface Mining Control and Reclama-
tion Act was constitutional and did not violate
the commerce clause or the Tenth Amendment
of the United States Constitution. This Court

held that if there is any rational basis for

0199B

such finding it must defer to congressional
findinas that regulate activities which affect
interstate commerce. Further, the de-
nomination of an activity as "local" or "“intra-
state" activity does not resolve the question of
whether Congress may regulate it under the
commerce clause, but commerce power extends
to those activities intrastate which so affect
interstate commerce, or exertion of power of
Congress over it, as to make regulation of
them appropriate means for attainment of
legitimate end, the effective execution of the
granted power to regulate interstate commerce.
See United States Constitution, Art. I, § 8,

Ci. 3, supra. In Hodel, supra, this Court

held that in order for a state to succeed in its
claim that the congressional commerce power

legislation is invalid under the Tenth

Amendment, the _ state must satisfy three
requirements: (1) THERE MUST BE A
SHOWING THAT THE CHALLENGED STATUTE

REGULATES STATES AS STATES; (2) THAT

01996

THE FEDERAL REGULATION MUST ADDRESS
MATTERS THAT ARE INDISPUTABLY
ATTRIBUTES OF STATE SOVEREIGNTY; AND
(3) 1T MUST BE APPARENT THAT STATES'
COMPLIANCE WITH FEDERAL LAW WOULD
DIRECTLY IMPAIR THEIR’ ABILITY TO
STRUCTURE INTEGRAL OPERATIONS IN
AREAS OF TRADITIONAL FUNCTIONS.

This Court further held in Hodel, supra,

that the Tenth Amendment did not limit con-
gressional power to preempt or displace state
regulation of private activities affecting inter-
state commerce. Congress does not invade
areas reserved to the states by the Tenth
Amendment simply because it exercises its
authority under the commerce clause in a
manner that displaces the states' exercise of
their police powers.

In the case at bar, there is no question
that recording of phone conversations off of
the telephone involves interstate commerce.

See Duncan v. United States, 48 F.2d 128

01998

—————————

(D.C. Ore. 1931) where the court stated,
among other things, that the transmission of
ideas by telephone or telegraph is regulated
by Congress pursuant to the commerce clause,

citing Pensacola T. Co. v. W.U., 96 U.S. 1

,

24 L.Ed. 708 and Western Union Telea. Co. v.

Pendleton, 122 U.S. 347, 7 S.Ct. 1126, 30

L.Ed. 1187. In Duncan, supra, it was held

that in regulating interstate commerce Con-
gress may exercise police power which, in the
absence of such delegation to the federal
government, would be exclusively within the
police power of the state. The determinative
point is whether or not the Constitution does
delegate to the United States police power
which, in the absence of such delegation,
could only be exercised by the states. The
Duncan court further discussed the power of
Congress under the constitutional grant to
regulate commerce between the states pursuant
to U.S. Const., Art. |, § 8, cl. 7 such as the

Mann Act, violation of the child labor laws,

01996

_-* 8 Beeereeeseene @ |

and the violation of the mail fraud statute,
etc. The Duncan court further held that the
power of Congress to regulate’ interstate
commerce could only be accomplished by
prohibiting those aets which could only be
effectuated by the evil intended.

The Duncan court cited Clark v. U.S.,

(C.C.A.), 211 F. 916 wherein the Federal
Criminal Code of 1909 was sustained as a
constitutional exercise of the power of Con-
gress to regulate interstate commerce.

In United States v. Darby, 312 U.S. 100,

312 U.S. 657, 81 S.Ct. 451, 85 L.Ed. 609
(1941) it was held that Congress' power under
the interstate commerce clause was the power
to prescribe the rule by which commerce is to
be governed, and it extends to those regu-
lations which aid, foster and protect the
commerce, and further embraces those which
prohibit it. The power of Congress over
interstate commerce is complete in itse!f, may

be exercised to its utmost extent, and

0199B

10

acknowledges no limitations other than are pre-
scribed by the Constitution, and that power
can neither be enlarged nor diminished by the
exercise or nonexercise of state power, citing
Mio. Gonet., Art. |. § 8, d&. 3. I Darby,
supra, this Court he!ld that Congress, follow-
ing its own conception of public policy con-
cerning restrictions which may appropriately
be imposed on interstate commerce, is free to
exclude from the commerce articles whose use
in the states for which they are destined may
conceived to be injurious to the public health,
morals or welfare even though the state has
not sought to regulate their use, and such
regulation is not a forbidden invasion of state
power merely because either its motive or its
consequence is to restrict the use of the
articles of commerce within the states of desti-
nation and is not prohibited unless by other
constitutional provisions. It was further held

in Darby, supra, that there was no objection

to the assertion by Congress of the power to

0199B

_ = ee eeeeeeteaeeaeaaa a

11

regulate interstate commerce in that its
exercise is attended by the same_ incidents
which attend the exercise of the police power
of the states. The purpose of regulation of
interstate commerce are matters for’ the
legislative judgment upon the exercise of which
the Constitution places no restriction and over
which the courts are given no_ control.
Whatever Congress' motive and _ purpose,
regulations of commerce which do not infringe
some constitutional prohibition are within the
plenary power conferred on Congress by the
commerce clause. |

If the State of Michigan is correct, then,
of course, Congress would not have the power
to restrict illegal wiretapping of phone conver-
sations or air transmittal of many types of
communications, whether it be voice or whether
it be by electronic means. Such communica-
tions could be intercepted and used for any

purpose.

01998

12

A further clarification of the power of
Congress to regulate interstate commerce,
prohibit the use and dissemination of illegal
wiretaps and prohibit the use of evidence in
any hearing, etc. pursuant to Title 18,
U.S.C. § 2515 is set forth in Hunter v. Un-
derwood, 471 U.S. 222, 105 S.Ct. 1916, 85
L.Ed.2d 222 (1985). It was held in Hunter
that the Tenth Amendment cannot save legis-
lation prohibited by the subsequently enacted
Fourteenth Amendment. In the case at bar,
the State of Michigan has failed to recognize
that the First, Fourth and Fifth Aswunbiiiiics
are made applicable to the states by the Four-
teenth Amendment.

In United States v. Von Stephens, 774

F.2d 1411 (C.A. 9 1985) it was held that the
application of the federal theft statute to
defendant's unlawful receipt and cashing of
warrants did not violate the state's rights
under the Tenth Amendment. This was a valid

exercise of congressional power under the

0199B

2 ee BSeeeaHeReeeeektaa a

13

constitutional section allowing Congress’ to
provide for the general welfare, and does not
violate a state's rights under the Tenth
Amendment, citing U.S. Const., Art. I, § 8,

ae In Von Stephens, supra, the court

held that the Tenth Amendment provides that
the powers that are not delegated to the
United States by the Constitution are reserved
to the states. Art. I, § 8, cl. 1 allows Con-
gress to provide for the general welfare of the
United States which includes preventing of
illegal wiretaps, as well as Art. I, § 8, cl. 3
granting Congress plenary power to regulate
commerce among the states.

In United Transportation Union v. Long

Island Railroad Company, 455 U.S. 678, 102

S.Ct. 1349, 71 L.Ed.2d 547 (1982), it was held
that the Tenth Amendment did not prohibit
application of the Railway Labor Act to a
state-owned railroad engaged in_ interstate
commerce since operation of the railroad was

clearly not an integral part of traditional state

0199B

14

activities generally immune from federal regu-
lations.

Furthermore, in Scarborough v. United

States, 431 U.S. 563, 97 S.Ct. 1963, 52
L.Ed.2d 582 (1977) this Court discussed the
constitutionality of a particular provision which
was in violation of Title 7 of the Omnibus
Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968,
being Title 18, U.S.C. §§ 1201-1203. One of
the petitioner's defense was that merely pos-
sessing a firearm was not a nexus "between
the states" so that the court’ lacked
jurisdiction over him and he should not have
been tried and convicted. The trial court held
that it was not necessary that the government
prove that the defendant purchased the gun in
some state other than that where he was found
with it or that he carried it across state line,
nor must the government prove who. did
purchase the gun. All that had to be
demonstrated was that the firearm possessed

by a convicted felon had previously traveled in

0199B

»
it
z
.

15

interstate commerce. The Scarborough court

then held that the theories raised by the
defendant could create serious loop holes in
the congressional plan to "make it unlawful for
a firearm . . . to be in the possession of a
convicted felon," citing 114 Cong. Rec. 14773
(1968).

Like Scarborough, in this’ particular

instance, if the State of Michigan is correct,
then illegal wiretapping can run_- rampant
because the federal government has no control
over interstate commerce of telephone lines,
telegraph lines and the like. Furthermore,
one the hidden dangers which the grand jury
judge in Wayne County recognized was that
this would encourage, rather than prevent or
deter, police to have illegal wiretappings made,
mail the tape anonymously to themselves, and
then use the same in court as evidence against
the participants in such phone conversations;
whereas, Title 18, U.S.C. § 2510 et seq. has

built-in safeguards for warrants being issued

019SB

16

for legal wiretaps. The State of Michigan's
proposition would allow state officers to run
amuck, among other things, and encourage
other violations by private citizens. See
People v. Warner, 401 Mich. 186, 258 N.W.2d
385 (1977) where the State of Michigan itself
recognized the constitutionality of Title 18,
U.S.C. § 2510 et seq.

The attorney general of Michigan has
failed to differentiate between the con-
stitutionality of Title III of the Omnibus Crime
Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 as to the
states versus the interpretation and the appli-

cation of Title 18, U.S.C. § 2510 et seq. to

particular instances. It appears that what the

Michigan attorney general was attempting to do
was have the United States District Court act
as an appellate court to the State of Michigan,
Circuit Court for the County of Wayne, Grand
Jury Judge, as to that judge's interpretation
and applicability of the wiretap law in a par-

ticular instance that was heard before him.

0199B

aera es

SEE BE BRE RBS SESS SRE REZER

17

SECTION 2515 OF TITLE III OF THE
OMNIBUS CRIME CONTROL AND SAFE
STREETS ACT OF 1968 IS BINDING UPON
THE STATES PURSUANT TO AMENDMENTS
OTHER THAN THE TENTH AMENDMENT TO
THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

In the United States Code, Congressiona
and Administrative News, 90th Congress
Second Session, 1968, Vol. 2, Legislative
History, p.2113, the purpose of the Omnibus
Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968 has
been set forth as follows:

"Title II! prohibits all wiretapping and

electronic surveillance by persons * * * ,

This proposed legislation conforms to the

constitutional standards set out in Berger

v. New York [87 S.Ct. 1873, 388 U.S. 47

(1967)], and Katz v. United States [88
S.Ct. 507, 389 U.S. 347 (1967)]."

Furthermore, the Senate Report at pp. 2153-54

states:

"Title Ill is essentially a combination of
S. 675, the Federal Wire Interception Act,
introduced by Senator McClellan on Janu-
ary 25, 1967, and S. 2050, the Electronic
Surveillance Control Act of 1967, in-
troduced by Senator Hruska on June 29,
1967. Subsequent to the introduction of
S. 675, the U.S. Supreme Court, on June
12, 1967, handed down the decision in

01996

18

Berger v. New York, 87 S.Ct. 1873, 388
U.S. 41, which declared unconstitutional!
the New York State statute authorizing
electronic eavesdropping (bugging) by
law-enforcement officers in investigating
certain types of crimes. The Court held
that the New York statute, on its face,
failed to meet certain constitutional stan-
dards. In the course of the opinion, the
Court delineated the constitutional criteria
that electronic surveillance legislation
should contain. Title II] was drafted to
meet these standards and to conform with
Katz v. United States, 88 S.Ct. 507, 389
U.S. 3"7 (1967).

Title Ill has as its dual purpose (1)
protecting the privacy of wire and oral
communications, and (2) delineating on a
uniform basis the circumstances and
conditions under which the interception of
wire and oral communications may be
authorized. To assure the privacy of
oral and wire communications, title III
prohibits all wiretapping and -electronic
survetllance by persons other than duly
authorized law enforcement officers
engaged in the investigation or prevention
of specified types of serious crimes, and
only after authorization of a court order
obtained after a showing and finding of
probable cause. The only exceptions to
the above prohibition are: (1) the power
of the President to obtain information by
such means as he may deem necessary to
protect the National from attack or hostile
acts of a foreign power, to obtain intelli-
gence information essential to the Nation's
security, and to protect the _ internal
security of the United States from those
who advocate its overthrow by force or
other unlawful means; (2) employees of
the Federal Communications Commission

0199B

19

may, in the normal course of employment,
intercept and disclose wire communications
in the discharge of the monitoring re-
sponsibilities discharged by the Commis-
sion in the enforcement of chapter 5 of
title 47 of the United States Code; and
(3) employees of a communication common
carrier may intercept and disclose wire
communications in the normal course of
their employment while engaged in any
activity necessary to the rendition of
service, or protection of the rights or
property of the carrier of such commu-
nication."

The Senate Report further noted at p. 2154:

"The first case in which the Supreme
Court considered the status of
wiretapping was Olmstead v. United
States, decided in 1928, 48 S.Ct. 564,
277 U.S. 438. It held that the tapping of
telephone wires and the use of the inter-
cepted messages did not constitute an
unreasonable search and seizure under
the Fourth Amendment, there being no
trespass into constitutionally protected
areas and no seizure of anything tangi-

ble.

* * *

Soon after the enactment of the Federal
Communications Act, the Supreme Court
held in Nardone v. United States, 58
S.Ct. 275, 302 U.S. 379 (1937), that
evidence obtained by wiretapping in
violation of section 605 was inadmissible in
Federal courts. The decision was based
not on constitutional grounds, but rather
on the Court's supervisory powers over
Federal courts and officers."

oR RBPRPEREER ERE SEE ES

0199B

20

At p. 2155 the Senate Report states as follows:

"Thus the Supreme Court has effectively
prevented the use in both Federal and
State courts of intercepted communications
by wiretapping, as well as the fruits
thereof. State officers would be subject
to Federal prosecution and, therefore,
most State prosecutors do not use such
evidence, although it is authorized by
their State statutes."

At p. 2157 the Senate Report defined the
purpose of Title II! as follows:

"The major purpose of title III is to
combat organized crime."

At p. 2159 the Senate Report states as follows:

"The principal argument of those who
oppose wiretapping and electronic surveil-
lance by law enforcement officers on court
order is that it will destroy our right of
privacy."

In further discussing Title III, the Senate
Report states as follows at p.2161:

"Organized criminals must hold meetings
to play plans. Where the geographical
area over which they operate is large,
they must use telephones. Wiretapping
and electronic surveillance techniques can
intercept these wire and oral communica-
tions.

* 7 *

Debate over the _ constitutionality of
wiretapping and electronic surveillance

0199B

SESS SRSEREERESER ECE Ss

21

techniques has raged insistently since the
Court decided in 1928 in Olmstead v.
United States, 48 S.Ct. 564, 277 U.S. 438
(1928), that wiretapping accomplished
without a physical trespass into a consti-
tutionally protected area did not violate
any provision of the Constitution. That
debate has taken many forms. It has
posted many hypotheses. All of them
need not now be considered, for the
Court itself now has authoritatively set
down the constitutional standards in this
area on the use of these techniques in
Berger v. New York, 87 S.Ct. 1873, 388
U.S. 41! (1967), and Katz v. United
States, 88 S.Ct. 507, 389 U.S. 347

(1967).

The Berger decision reversed by a vote
of 6 to 3 the conviction, secured through
a court-ordered eavesdrop, of a New
York public relations man for conspiracy
to bribe the chairman of the New York
State Liquor Authority. In declaring the
New York eavesdropping statute unconsti-
tutional, the Court held that (1) a con-
versation is within the fourth amendment's
right to privacy protections, and the use
of electronic devices to seize conver-
sations is a search within the meaning of
that amendment; (2) the language of the
New York statute was so broad that it
resulted in a trespassory intrusion into a
constitutionally protected area and _ is
violative of the fourth and i4th amend-
ments; and (3) evidence obtained by an
eavesdrop which violates the fourth
amendment must be excluded in State
courts."

The Senate Report further held on p.2162 as

7
fol!

0

W ¢ -

01996

"On certiorari the Supreme Court held
that the CGovernment's activities in elec-
tronically listening to and _ recording
petitioner's words constituted an unlawful
search and seizure within the fourth
amendment and reversed the conviction.

* * *

In concluding, the Court held that the
Government agents ignored the procedure
of antecedent justification that is central
to the fourth amendment, and a procedure
the Court held to be aé_ constitutional!
pre-condition of the kind of electronic
surveillance involved in this case.

Working from the hypothesis that any
wiretapping and _ electronic surveillance
legislation should include the above
constitutional standards, the subcommittee
has used the Berger and Katz decisions

as a guide in drafting title Ill. Each
section of title III is discussed in detail

in the analysis section of this title,
including those provisions which are
intended to conform to the Berger and
Katz decisions."

In discussing the importance of banning of the
use of improperly obtained information from
illegal wiretaps, the Senate Report held as

follows:

"Section 2515 of the new chapter imposes
an evidentiary sanction to compel compli-
ance with the other prohibitions of the
chapter. It provides that intercepted
wire or oral communications or evidence
derived therefrom may not be received in

01996

— a I

23

evidence in any proceeding before any
court, grand jury, department, officer,
agency, regulatory body, legislative
committee, or a political subdivision of a
State, where the disclosure of that infor-
mation would be in violation of this chap-
ter. The provision must, of course, be
read in light of section 2518(10)(a) dis-
cussed below, which defines the class
entitled to make a motion to suppress. It
largely reflects existing law. It applies
to suppress evidence directly. * * * AND
IT 1S NOT LIMITED TO CRIMINAL PRO-
CEEDINGS. SUCH A SUPPRESSION RULE
TS NECESSARY AND PROPER TO PRO-
TECT PRIVACY." (Emphasis Added)
(p. 2184-5).

IN MICHIGAN, WIRETAPPING OR ELECTRONIC
EAVESDROPPING IS BARRED AS TO ALL,
BOTH THE PUBLIC AUTHORITIES AS WELL AS
PRIVATE PERSONS. [See M.C.L. § 750.539(a)
et seq]

The Senate Report clearly indicates at p.
2189 the importance of Section 2518 of Title III
as follows:

"Section 2518 of the new chapter sets out

in detail the procedure to be followed in

the interception of wire or oral commu-
nications.

oa * 7

Subparagraph (a) requires the identity of
the person who makes, and the person

01998

who authorized the application to be set
out. This fixes responsibility.

* * *

Each of these requirements reflects the
constitutional command of particularization
[Berger v. New York, 87 S.Ct. 1873, 388
U.S. 41, 58-60 (1967): Katz v. United
states, 68 S.Ct: $07, 389 U.S. 347,
354-56 (1967)]."

In the case of Berger v. New York, 87 S.Ct.

1873, 388 U.S. 41, 18 L.Ed.2d 1040 (1967) the
Court held that a conversation is within the
Fourth Amendment's protections and use of
electronic devices to capture it is a "search"
within the meaning of the U.S.C.A. Const.
Amend. 4. The Court further held that the
Fourth Amendment's’ right of privacy’ is
enforceable against states through due process
clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

In Berger, supra, Justice Clark delivered

the opinion on behalf of the Court in discuss-
ing the eavesdropping statute of New York as
follows:

"We have concluded that the language of

New York's statute is too broad in _ its
sweep resulting in a trespassory intrusion

0199B

:

—————7~

25

into a constitutionally protected area and
is, therefore, violative of the Fourth and
Fourteenth Amendments. This disposition
obviates the necessity for any discussion
of the other points raised."
In Berger, supra, the Supreme Court
discussed the development of bugging and
wiretapping and then discussed the ffirst

wiretap case of Olmstead v. United States, 277

U.S. 438, 48 S.Ct. 564, 72 L.Ed. 944 (1928)
and the_ scientific development of electronic
devices used for bugging and wiretapping from
that day forward and also the exclusionary
rule of evidence along with the Fourth Amend-
ment's protections. The Berger Court further
held as follows:

"It is now well settled that 'the Fourth
Amendment's right of privacy has been
declared enforceable against the States
through the Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment. Mapp v. Ohio,
367 U.S. 643, 655, 81 S.Ct. 1684, 1691, 6
L.Ed.2d 1081 (1961). 'The security of
one's privacy against arbitrary intrusion
by the police--which is at the core of the
Fourth Amendment--is basic to a _ free
society.' Wolf v. People of the State of
Colorade, 338 U.S. 23, 421, 89 Bsmt.
1359, 1361, 93 L.Ed. 1782 (1949). And
its ‘fundamental protections * * * are
guaranteed * * * against invasion by the

0199B

26

States.' Sanford v. State of Texas, 379
U.S. 876, Sat, 83 S.Ot. See, Ben, t2
L.Ed.2d 431 (1965). This right has most
recently received enunciation in Camara
v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523, 87
S.Ct. 1727, 18 L.Ed.2d 930. 'The basic
purpose of this Amendment, as recognized
in countless decisions of this Court, is to
safeguard the privacy and security of
individuals against arbitrary invasions by
governmental officials.' At 528, 87 S.Ct.
at 1730. Likewise the Court has decided
that while the ‘standards of reasonable-
ness' required under the Fourth Amend-
ment are the same under the Fourteenth,
they ‘are not susceptible of Procrustean
application * * *,' Ker v. State of
California, 374 U.S. 23, 33, 83 S.Ct.
1623, 1630, 10 L.Ed.2d 726 (1963). We
said there that 'the reasonableness of a
search is * * * (to be determined) by the
trail court from the facts and circum-
stances of the case and in light of the
"fundamental criteria" laid down by the
Fourth Amendment and in opinions of this
Court applying that Amendment.' Ibid."

Furthermore, in Berger the Court held as
follows:

"In any event we cannot forgive the
requirements of the Fourth Amendment in
the name of law enforcement. This is no
formality that we require today but a
fundamental rule that has long’ been
recognized as basic to the privacy of
every home in America. While'[t]he
requirements of the Fourth Amendment
are not inflexible, or obtusely unyielding
to the legitimate needs of law enforce-
ment.' Lopez v. United States, supra, at
464, 83 S.Ct. at 1404 [dissenting opinion

0199B

27

of Brennan, J.), it is not asking too
much that officers be required to comply
with the basic command of the Fourth
Amendment before the innermost secrets
of one's home or office are invaded. Few
threats to liberty exist which are greater
than that posed by the use of
eavesdropping devices. Some may claim
that without the use of such devices
crime detection in certain areas may
suffer some delays since eavesdropping is
quicker, easier, and more certain. How-
ever, techniques and practices may well
be developed that will operate just as
speedily and certainly and--what is more
important--without attending illegality.

It is said that neither a warrant nor a
statute authorizing eavesdropping can be
drawn so as to meet the Fourth Amend-

ment's requirements. lf that be true
then the 'fruits' of eavesdropping devices
are barred under the Amendment. On

the other hand this Court has in the
past, under specific conditions and cir-
cumstances, sustained the use of eaves-
dropping devices. See Goldman v. United
States, 316 U.S. 129, 62 S.Ct. 993, 86
L.Ed. 1322: On Lee v. United States, 343
ee eer se eae, 867, 96 L.Ed. 1270;
Lopez v. United States, supra; and
Osborn v. United States, supra. In the
latter case the eavesdropping device was
permitted where the 'commission of a
specific offense' was charged, its use was
‘under the most precise and discriminate
circumstances' and the effective adminis-
tration of justice in a federal court was at
stake. The States are under no greater
restrictions. The Fourth Amendment does
not make the ‘precincts of the home or
the office * * * sanctuaries where the law
can never reach,' Douglas, J., dissenting

28

in’ Warden, Maryland Penitentiary v.
Hayden, 36/ U.S. £98, 3a, sf 58.Ct.
1642, 1657, 18 L.Ed.2d 782, but it does
prescribe a constitutional standard that
must be met before official invasion is
permissible. Our concern with the stat-
ute here is whether its language permits
a trespassory invasion of the home or
office, by general warrant, contrary to
the command of the Fourth Amendment.
As it is written, we believe that it does."

In Payton v. New York and Riddick v. New

York, 985 U.S. 573, 100 S.Ct. 1371, 63
L.Ed.2d 639 (1980), the Supreme Court held
that Fourth Amendment to the United States
Constitution is made applicable to states by the
Fourteenth Amendment.

In Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347,

88 S.Ct. 507, 19 L.Ed.2d 576 (1967), it was
held that the government's” activities in
electronically listening to and_- recording
defendant's words spoken into a_ telephone
receiver in a public telephone booth violated
the privacy upon which’ the defendant
justifiably relied while using the telephone
booth and thus constituted a "search and

seizure" within the Fourth Amendment, and the

0199B

fact that the electronic device employed to
achieve that end did not happen to penetrate
the wall of the booth could have no
constitutional significance. Furthermore, the
Fifth Amendment, to some extent, reflects the
Constitution's concern for the right of each
individual to a private enclave where he may
lead a_ private life. Under the Fourth
Amendment, the protection of a_ person's
general right to privacy, this is, his right to
be let alone by other people, is, like the
protection of his property and of his very life,
left largely to the law of the individual states.
The First Amendment imposes limitations upon
governmental abridgment of freedom to
associate and privacy in one's associations.
Searches conducted outside the judicial process
without prior approval by a judge or a
magistrate, are per se unreasonable under the
Fourth Amendment, subject only to a_e few
specifically established and well delineated

exceptions. What a person seeks to preserve

0199B

30

as private, even in an area accessible to the
public, may be constitutionally protected under
the Fourth Amendment. Footnote 5 holds:

"The First Amendment, for example,
imposes’ limitations upon governmental
abridgment of ‘freedom to associate and
privacy in one's associations.'"

Further under Footnote 5, it is held:

"To some extent, the Fifth Amendment too
"reflects the Constitution's concern for *
x * 'k * * the right of each individual 'to
a private enclave where he may lead a
private life.'" Tehan v United States ex
rel. Shott, 382 U.S. 406, 416, 86 S.Ct.
459, 465, 15 L.Gd.20 853. Virtually
every governmental action interferes with
personal privacy to some degree. The
question in’ each case is whether that
interference violates a command of the
United States Constitution."

The Court further held:

"x * * For the Fourth Amendment protects
people, not places. What a person know-
ingly exposes to the public, even in his
own home or office, is not a subject of
Fourth Amendment protection. See Lewis
v. United States, 385 U.S. 206, 210, 87
S.Ct. 424, 427, 17 L.Ed.2d 312; United
States v. Lee, 274 U.S. 559, 563, 47
S.Ct. 746, 748, 71 L.Ed. 1202. But what
he seeks to preserve as private, even in
an area accessible to the public, may be
constitutionally protected. See Rios v.
United States, 364 U.S. 253, 80 S.Ct.
1431, 4 L.Ed.2d 1688; Ex parte Jackson,
96 U.S. 727, 733, 28 .80. @F7.”

0199B

31

The Court continued:

"He did not shed his right to do so
simply because he made his calls from a
place where he might be seen. No less
than an individual in a business office,
in a, friend's apartment, or in a taxi-
cab, a person in a telephone booth may
rely upon the protection of the Fourth
Amendment. One who occupies it, shuts
the door behind him, and pays the toll
that permits him to place a call is surely
entitled to assume that the words he
utters into the mouthpiece will not be
broadcast to the world. To read the
Constitution more narrowly is to ignore
the vital role that the public telephone
has come to play in private communica-
tion." (Footnotes omitted).

The Court further stated:

"Thus, although a closely divided Court
supposed in Olmstead that surveillance
without any trespass and without the
seizure of any material object fell outside
the ambit of the Constitution, we have
since departed from the narrow view on
which that decision rested. Indeed, we
have expressly held that the Fourth
Amendment governs not only the seizure
of tangible items, but extends as well to
the recording of oral statements over-
heard without any ‘technical trespass
under * * * focal property = law.'
Silverman v. United States, 365 U.S. 505,
ott, =1.mGt. See, Ses, & 86.20: 734.
Once this much is acknowledged, and
once it is recognized that the Fourth
Amendment protects people--and not
simply 'areas'--against unreasonable
searches and seizures it becomes clear
that the reach of that Amendment cannot

0199B

32

turn upon the presence or absence of a
physical intrusion into any given enclo-
sure.

We conclude that the underpinnings of
Olmstead and Goldman have been = so
eroded by our subsequent decisions that
the '‘'trespass' doctrine there enunciated
can no longer be regarded as controlling.
The Government's activities in electron-
ically listening to and _ recording the
petitioner's words violated the privacy
upon which he justifiably relied while
using the telephone booth and_ thus
constituted a ‘search and seizure’ within
the meaning of the Fourth Amendment.
The fact that the electronic device em-
ployed to achieve that end did not happen
to penetrate the wall of the booth can
have no constitutional significance."

In Gelbard v. United States, 408 U.S. 41, 48,

92 S.Ct. 2357, 33 L.Ed.2d 179 (1972), at page
46 the Court heid as follows:

"In Title Ill, Congress enacted a compre-
hensive scheme for the regulation of
wiretapping and electronic surveillance.
See United States v. United States Dis-
trict Court, 407 U.S. 297, 301-306. Title
Ill authorizes the interception of private
wire and oral communications, but only
when law enforcement officials are inves-
tigating specified serious crimes and re-
ceive prior judicial approval, an approval
that may not be given except upon com-
pliance with stronger’ conditions. 18
U.S.C. §§2516, 2518(1)-(8). If a wire or
oral communication is intercepted in
accordance with the provisions of Title
l1!, the contents of the communication

01998

33

may be disclosed and used under certain
circumstances. 18 U.S.C. §2517. Except
as expressly authorized in Title Ill,
however, all interceptions of wire and
oral communications are flatly prohibited.
Unauthorized interceptions and the disclo-
sure or use of information obtained
through unauthorized interceptions are
crimes, 18 U.S.C. §2511(1), and _ the
victim of such interception, disclosure, or
use is entitled to recover civil damages,
18 U.S.C. §2520. Title III also bars the
use as evidence before official bodies of
the contents and fruits of illegal inter-
ceptions, 18 U.S.C. §2515, and provides
procedures for moving to suppress such
evidence in various proceedings, 18
U.S.C. §2518(9)-(10)."

Furthermore, the Court in Gelbard, supra,

held as follows:

Fe)

"The unequivocal language of §2515
expresses the fundamental policy adopted
by Congress on the subject of wire-
tapping and electronic surveillance. As
the congressional findings for Title III
make plain, that poiicy is strictly to limit
the employment of those techniques of
acquiring information:

'To safeguard the privacy of inno-
cent persons, the interception of
wire or oral communications where
none of the parties to the commu-
nication has consented to the inter-
ception should be allowed only when
authorized by a court of competent
jurisdiction and should remain under
the control and supervision of the
authorizing court. Interception of
wire and ora! communications should

34

further be limited to certain major
types of offenses and specific cat-
egories of crime with assurances that
the interception is justified and that
the information obtained thereby will
not be misused.' §801(d), 82 Stat.
211,!

The Senate committee report that accom-
panied Title III underscores the congres-
sional policy:

* * *

Hence, although Title III authorizes
invasions of individual privacy under
certain circumstances, the protection of
privacy was an overriding congressional
concern. Indeed, the congressional
findings articulate clearly the intent to
utilize the evidentiary prohibition of §2515
to enforce the limitations imposed by Title
II! upon wiretapping and electronic sur-
vetllance:

* * *

And the Senate report, like the congres-
sional findings, specifically addressed
itself to the enforcement, by means of
§2515, of the iimitations upon invasions of
individual privacy:

* + om

Section 2515 is thus central to the legisla-
tive scheme. Its importance as a pro-
tection for ‘the victim of an unlawful
invasign of privacy' could not be more
clear. The purposes of §2515 and Title
lil as a whole would be subverted were
the plain command of §2515 ignored when
the victim of an illegal interception is

01996

EERE RS RSSERSESESERSSSBBES

35

called as a witness before a grand jury
and asked questions based upon that
interception. Moreover, §2515 serves not
only to protect the privacy of commu-
nications, but aiso to ensure that the
courts do not become partners to iilleaal
conduct: the evidentiary prohibition was
enacted also ‘to protect the intearity of
court and administrative proceedinas.'
Consequently, to order a grand jury
witness, on pain of imprisonment, to
disclose evidence that §2515 bars’ in
unequivocal terms is both to thwart the
congressional objective of protecting
individual privacy by excluding such
evidence and to entangle the courts in
the illegal acts of Government agents."
(Emphasis Added) (pp. 47-51)

0199R
199!

36

RELIEF REQUESTED

WHEREFORE, Intervening Appellees move
that the Appellants' request for relief be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

LAWRENCE J. STOCKLER 6& ASSOCIATES,
PeG.

aw

— MP gt
/
= > , f
/ ; (Aw 2 nm » «l
BY (Ki i! y 4 L¢ NLL /? pa ‘ea 7 .

LAWRENCE J. STOCKLER (P 21042)
Attorneys for Intervening Appellees
15565 Northland Drive

Suite 500 Northland Towers East
Southfield, MI 48075

(313) 569-7700

°
J

Dated: November 7, 1988

2 2eASEeaegsgegegagii a

-la-

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN
SOUTHERN DIVISION

THE STATE OF MICHIGAN,
Plaintiff,
vs. Civ. No. 87-CV-70865-DT

EDWIN MEESE, ATTORNEY GENERAL
FOR THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant,

and

STEVE ASMAR and METRO INSTITUTIONAL
FOOD SERVICES, INC.,

Intervening Defendants.

/

AMENDED OPINION AND ORDER

F
This is an action for a declaratory judg-
ment. 28 U.S.C. § 2201; Fed. R. Civ. P.
57. Plaintiff, the State of Michigan, seeks a
declaration that Title III of the Omnibus Crime

Control Act and Safe Streets Act of 1968 ("the

0199B

te SE Prt a as tt a Oe

-2a-

Act"), 18 U.S.C. §§ 2510-2520,! violates the

'tThe case focuses on section 2515, which

provides in full:

Whenever any wire or oral communication
has been intercepted, no part of the
contents of such communication and no
evidence derived therefrom may _ be
received in evidence in any _ trial,
hearing, or other proceeding in or before
any court, grand jury .. . of the United
States, a State, or a political subdivision
thereof if the disclosure of _ that
information would be in violation of this
chapter.

Section 2511 provides in pertinent part:

(1) Except as otherwise _— specifically

provided in this chapter any person
who -
(a) willfully intercepts, endeavors to
intercept, or procures any other
person to intercept or endeavoer to
intercept, any wire or oral
communication;

* * *

(c) willfully discloses, or endeavors
to disclose, to any other person the
contents of any wire or_ oral
communication, Knowing or having
reason to know that the information
was obtained through the
interception of a wire or_ oral
communication in violation of this
subsection; or

(Footnote Continued)

0199B

Tenth Amendment of the United States Consti-

tution” as applied to the states. Section 2515

of Title 18 prohibits, inter alia, a state or

political subdivision from introducing as evi-
dence in any proceeding the contents, or
fruits thereof, of a communication intercepted

in violation of section 2511.

(Footnote Continued)

(d) willfully uses, or endeavors to
use, the contents of any wire or oral
communication, Knowing or having
reason to know that the information
was obtained through the
interception of a wire or_ oral
communication in violation of this
subsection;

shall be fined not more than $10,000 or
imprisoned not more than five years, or both.
Pub. L. 90-351, Title III, § 802, June 19,
1968, 82 Stat. 216. The Electronic
Communications Privacy Act of 1986, Pub. L.
99-508 (effective January 20, 1987),
comprehensively revised Title li] but
preserved section 2515 without amendment.

*uThe powers not delegated to the United
States by the Constitution, nor prohibited by
it to the States, are reserved to the States
respectively, or to the people."

0199B

-U3-

Plaintiff argues that the only conceivable
justification for the Act is the Commerce
Clause of the Constitution. Art. 1, § 8, cl.3.
Plaintiff recognizes that the United States
Supreme Court has affirmed the wide scope of
the Commerce Clause even as applied to the

states, but relies on language in Garcia v. San

Antonio Metropolitan Transit Authority, 469

U.S. 528 (1985), that can be construed as
having left open the possibility that the Tenth
Amendment might impose some "affirmative
limits . . . on federal action affecting the
States under the Commerce Clause." Id. at
556. Plaintiff contends that the Act exceeds
such affirmative limits.

The complaint mainly addresses legal
questions, not facts. Its statement of the
facts of the underlying "controversy" is limited
to the following:

Plaintiff is in receipt of a recording of

telephone conversations containing evi-

dence of public corruption. The record-

ing was delivered anonymously, and
recorded by a person or _ persons

0199B

-auaeg@GgaeweaegweweweeaHeteaeeH8 & & &

unknown. 18 USC 2511 and 2515 are pre-
venting investigation of these apparent
acts of public corruption.

The "recording" is an audio cassette tape
recording that has been the subject of consid-
erable dispute in civil matters on the Court's

docket. Jo-Dan, Ltd., Inc. v. Detroit Board

of Education, No. 86-CV-72565-DT; A & M

Corp. v. Landmark Shoppe, Loe No.

86-CV-72738-DT;: Asmar v. Detroit News, Inc.,

No. 86-CV-73390.

Plaintiff did not allege that a prosecution
is advancing in which a state prosecutor will
attempt to introduce as evidence the recording
or evidence peree therefore. The complaint
did allege that the United States Supreme
Court had previously declined to assert origi-

nal jurisdiction over the matter.°

3 plaintiff apparently sought to invoke the
Supreme Court's original, but not exclusive,
jurisdiction over controversies between the
United States and a State. See 28 U.S.C. §

(Footnote Continued)

0199B

-6a-

Concerned that the case was not "ripe"
for judicial consideration, the Court issued an
Order to Show Cause on March 13, 1987,
giving both parties an opportunity to comment
on whether a "case or controversy" exists, as
required by Art. III, § 2, cl. 1 of the Consti-
tution. The Order noted that plaintiff ap-
peared to be seeking "an advisory decree upon

a hypothetical state of facts." Ashwander v.

Tennessee Valley Authority, 297 U.S. 288,

325 (1936), cited in Advisory Committee Notes
to Rule 57, supra. The Order also noted that
a federal court will not declare on _ the

constitutionality of aspects of an investigation

(Footnote Continued)

1251(b)(2). The complaint states that the
Supreme Court declined leave to plaintiff to
file a bill of complaint in this matter and that
the Solicitor General opposed _ plaintiff's
application on the ground that the _ federal
district is a more appropriate original forum.
The Supreme Court's one sentence’ order
expressed no opinion as to the appropriate
forum in this matter. State of Michigan v.

Meese, 107 S.Ct. 1274 (1987).

0199B

-7a-

in progress. See Hastings v. Judicial

Conference of the United States, 779 F.2d

i en ee

1093, 1100-03 (D.C. Cir. 1985). Finally, the
Order stated that it does not appear that "all
parties having an interest [in the declaration
sought] or adversely affected [have been]
made parties or bef[en] cited." Advisory
Notes, supra.

Plaintiff's response to the Order to Show
Cause revealed that the Wayne County Citizens
Grand Jury issued subpoenas in ané inves-
tigation related to matters disclosed on the
tape recording of various telephone conver-
sations, including officials of the Detroit Board
of Education, intercepted in probable violation
of 18 U.S.C. § 2515. Following a motion in
Wayne County Circuit Court to quash the
subpoenas based on the Act, a Wayne County
circuit judge supervising the grand jury
quashed the subpoenas on June 18, 1986,
citing the Act as the basis for his decision.

Plaintiff filed the state court order quashing

0199B

the subpoenas and a transcript of the exten-
sive hearing on the motion. Plaintiff argued
that the state judge's action created a "case or
controversy" because it deprived the State of
the only means of investigating the matters
discussed in the conversations on the tape.
Defendant filed a response to the Order
to Show Cause on April 13, 1987. Defendant,
who is jcined in the case because he is
"charged with the responsibility of enforcing
the laws of the United states," agreed with
plaintiff that the matter is ripe for judicial
consideration. Defendant asserted that purely

legal questions are involved and unlikely to be

clarified by further factual development. See

Thomas v. Union Carbide Agricultural Produc-

tions Co., 473 U.S. 568, 581 (1985); Babbitt

“The Attorney Genera! is a proper party
to any action affecting the interests of the
United States. See 28 U.S.C. §§ 516, 517,
2403(a); see also Fed. R.Civ. P. 24(c).

01996

ac negewermteTtiegtF wees = w=

-99-

v. United Farm Workers National Union, 442

U.S. 289, 300-01 (1979).

For the reasons stated on the record of
the hearing on May 4, 1987, the Order to
Show Cause was dismissed by Order of May 5.
On May 22, the intervening defendants - one
of whom admits involvement in the intercepted
conversations - moved to intervene either as of
right, Fed. R. Civ. p. 24(a)(2), or by per-
mission, Fed. R. Civ. P. 24(b)(2). The
motion was granted on June.

Now before the Court are cross-motions
for summary judgment. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56.
There are no disputes over facts, as the case
presents a purely legal question. The parties
have ably briefed the issue, and the Court has
conducted its own analysis beyond the scope of
the briefs.

For the reasons that follow, defendant's
Motion is GRANTED and the case is DIS-

MISSED.

0199B

-10a-

A.

This case clearly poses a question about
the limits of the principle of federalism and its
embodiment in the Bill of Rights, the Tenth
Amendment. Much has been said of late about
federalism and the role of the judiciary.

Compare, e.g., The Status of Federalism in

America (Reporting of the Working Group on
Federalism of the Domestic Policy Council,
Nov., 1986) (bemoaning the failure of the
Supreme Court to overrule more Congressional

statutes), and Van Alstyne, The Second Death

of Federalism, 83 Mich. L. Rev. 1709 (1985)

(criticizing Garcia, supra), with J. Choper,

Judicial Review and the National Political

Process: A Functional Reconsideration of the

Role of the Supreme Court (1980) (proposing

that the Supreme Court rule such federalism
issues to be nonjusticiable questions that must
be left to the political branches).

At least two state courts have noted that

section 2515 involves questions of federalism

01998

a nueegegrmigeeBvepevweeweg9r = = w=

-lla-

when applied to state court proceedings that

are traditionally of state concern. Compare In

re Marriace of Lopp, 378 N.E.2d 414, 421

(Ind. 1978) (refusing to apply section 2515

under circumstances of case), cert. denied,

439 U.S. 1116 (1979), with Halpin v. Superior

Court of San Bernardino County, 495 P.2d

1295, 1305 (Cal.) (rejecting Tenth Amendment

challenge to section 2515), cert. denied, 409

U.S. 982 (1972). One constitutional scholar has
noted that, in general, the "[e]xpansion of
federal criminal jurisdiction raises some of the
most sensitive problems of potential congres-
sional impingement upon the values of

federalism." G. Gunther, Constitutional Law

Cases and Materials 194 (9th ed. 1978).

B.

However divergent may be the political,
academic, and state court views regarding
federalism, the Court is bound to look for
guidance in the decisions of the Supreme Court

of the United States. The issue is not decided

01996

od Ye

in a legal vacuum. The Supreme Court has
considered the scope of the Tenth Amendment,
even though its teachings on that subject may
be in a state of flux. Briefly, however, this
much can be said: there is not a single case
that can be considered “good law" that pur-
ports to overrule a federal statute on the
ground that it violates the Tenth Amendment.

In Usery v. National League of Cities,

326 U.S. 833 (1976), the Supreme Court
struck down a federal minimum wage statute
for state employees as violative of the Tenth
Amendment. After Usery, however, the
Supreme Court declined to invalidate a single
federal law applicable to the states on the
ground that it interferes with their autonomy
under the Tenth Amendment. Now, even
Usery is no longer the law. With the Supreme
Court's decision in Garcia, supra, which
overruled Usery, the Tenth Amendment has

become a dead letter in constitutional law.

-1l3a-

Subsequent to Garcia, it is not clear what
standard applies to issues like the one before
the Court. Garcia seems to have discarded

Usery's "balancing" test. See 469 U.S. at 564

n.7 (Powell, J., dissenting). But see id. at

579-80 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (disagree-
ing that Usery announced a "balancing" test).
However, Garcia fails to “identify or define
what affirmative limits the constitutional struc-
ture might impose on federal action affecting
the States under the Commerce Clause." Id.
at 556. Indeed, the State of Michigan admits
that "it is difficult to conceive a method of
analysis for the question here at issue." While
the State has attempted to fill this void with
some imaginative legal and political analysis, it
does not lead to the declaration it seeks.
Cc.

The Supreme Court is unlikely to accept
the State's argument here, since the Supreme
Court has applied the exclusionary rule - a

judicial supervisory rule not required by the

01996

-14a-

Constitution, see United States v. Leon, 468

U.S. 897, 905-06 (1984) - to the States, with
the same result as here of suppressing evi-
dence the State seeks to introduce in a prose-
cution. Under the exclusionary rule, states ar
bound to exclude evidence in some cases even
where governmental agents obtained the evi-
dence in subjective good faith (as, for exam-
ple, where an officer's seizure of the evidence
under a facially deficient warrant is not objec-
tively reasonable). Leon, 468 U. S. at
922-23. The Supreme Court has aiready noted
that, as the exclusionary rule was understood
at the time, section 2515 proscribes such
evidence not only to deter misconduct by
governmental agents but also to preserve the
integrity of court proceedings, i.e., "to
ensure that the courts do not become partners

to illegal conduct." Gelbard v. U.S., 408

U.S. 41, 49-51 & n.8 (1972) (quoting the
Congressional findings that precede Title Ill, §

801 (b), 82 Stat. 211). Thus, the State's

0199B

-15a-

argument here that its agents did nothing
reprehensible in obtaining the recording at
issue is not relevant.

Another persuasive example against the
State's position is the Supreme Court's re-
quirement that state courts exclude confessions
obtained in violation of the familiar Miranda
warning (or an adequate state equivalent).
Here, the Supreme Court has imposed on state
criminal proceedings a judicially-designed rule
of evidence not required by the Constitution.

See Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433, 444

(1974). The result is to exclude in some cases
evidence voluntarily given and constitutionally

obtained. See Michigan v. Mosely, 423 U.S.

96, 100 (1975); Tucker, supra, 417 U.S. at

443,

By enacting section 2515, Congress
requires exclusion of illegally obtained elec-
tronic recordings, which is a form of obtaining
an incriminating statement without informed

consent or proper safeguards against intrusion

0199B

-1l6a-

of privacy. The State does not say why, if it
is legitimate for the Supreme Court to promote
the integrity of the courts through rules of
criminal procedure, Congress may not do the

same. In Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S.

438 (1927), the Supreme Court endorsed the
power of Congress to make intercepted tele-
phone conversations inadmissible whereas the
courts might lack such power under the Fourth
Amendment (as understood at that time). Id.
at 465-66. Indeed, the legislative history of
section 2515 indicates that Congress largely
intended to reflect existing search and seizure
law. See S.Rep. No. 1097, 90th Cong. 2d

Sess. 66, 96, reprinted in 1968 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News 2112, 2185.

The State concedes that Congress may
forbid private persons from intercepting con-
versations without authorization, but simply
argues that the State may subsequently use
evidence privately intercepted even if its own

agents could not have legally made the initial

0199B

SSE SSBB RSESB BCE REC ESE SS SS

-17a-

seizure. While the Supreme Court has accept-
ed this argument where Congress has not

spoken, see United States v. Jacobsen, 466

U.S. 109 (1984), the Supreme Court has
disallowed state use of such evidence where
Congress has spoken, as in section 605 of the
Communications Act of 1934, the predecessor of

section 2515. See Lee v. Florida, 392 U.S.

3789 (1968).> The State correctly points out

-that the Supreme Court in Lee did not address

the Tenth Amendment issue. Nonetheless, the
Supreme Court's subsequent pronouncements
on the Tenth Amendment and continued appli-

cation of the exclusionary rule to state courts

"The Court in Lee stated: "We conclude .

that nothing short of mandatory exclusion
of the illegal evidence will compe! respect for
the federal law 'in the only” effectively
available way - by removing the incentive to
disregard it.' Elkins v. United States, 364
Memaeee, ef Civeujs.” 392 U.S. at 386-87.
The Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
recently reached the same conclusion under the
current section 2515. United States v. Vest,
813 F.2d 477 (1st Cir. 1987).

01998

-18a-

suggest it would not overrule Lee or the
statutory basis for that decision.

In enacting section 2515, Congress noted,
"Only by striking at all aspects of the problem

can privacy be adequately protect." S. Rep.

No. 1097, supra, at 69 (quoted in Gelbard,

supra, 408 U.S. at 50), reprinted in 1968

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 2156. In
making this statement, Congress indicated that
it considers judicial exclusion of improperly
obtained communications “necessary and prop-
er" to execute its other intentions in Title III.

See S. Rep. No. 1097, supra, at 96, reprinted

in 1968 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 2185
(asserting power found at Art. 1, § 8, cl.
18). As noted above, these other intentions
include judicial integrity, which, as also noted
earlier, was dispositive in the Supreme Court's

decision in Lee to uphold the predecessor

statute to section 2515. In short, Congress
agrees with the Supreme Court that a bright-

line rule of exclusion is best suited to protect

0199B

LL

-19a-

the federal the federal interests at stake.
Such bright-line rules are always best ad-
dressed in the political arena rather than in
the courts, since they evolve against the
background of law developed on an ad hoc
basis by the courts. See Professor Herbert

Wechs!er's seminal work on this subject, The

Political Safeguards of Federalism: The Role

of the States in the Composition and Selection

of the National Government, 54 Colum. L.

Reve. 543, 545 (1954).

Where, as here, the State concedes
Congress's power (absent consideration of the
Tenth Amendment) to enact such a law, the
Tenth Amendment does not impose an indepen-
dent limitation on Congress that permits a
court to reject Congress's view that a narrow

aspect of a_ statute is "necessary" to

i

-20a-

effectively implement its larger purposes. ° As

Sor fessor Van Alstyne has noted the
Supreme Court's general refusal to substitute
its view of what is "necessary" for that of
Congress when federalism concerns’ are
involved. "Usually, . . . even in close cases
when the federalism claims has failed (as most
often it has indeed failed), it has _ failed
because the Court has yielded to an assertion
of some overriding federal interest it deemed
adequate to rationalize the exceptional
intrusiveness of the challenged act." The
Second Death of Federalism, supra, 83 Mich.
L. Rev. at 1/22 & n.61. See Fry v. United
States, 421 U.S. 542, 548 (1975) (upholding
application of federal wage restraints as a
nationai emergency measure); Testa v. Katt,
330 U.S. 386 (1947) (upholding binding nature
of penal provisions of Emergency Price Control
Act on state courts under supremacy clause);
Case v. Bowles, 327 U.S. 92 (1946) (upholding
application of the Emergency Price Control Act
against Tenth Amendment challenge).

While not explicitly considering the Tenth
Amendment issue, the Courth as several times
struck state judicial procedural rules in order
to further a federal legislative goal or protect
a federal statutory right. See International
Lonashoreman's Ass'n, AFL-CIO v. Davis, 106
S.Ct. 1904 (1986) (striking state pleading rule
to protect preemption of National Labor
Relations Act); Dice v. Akron, Canton §&
Youngstown R.R., 342 U.S. 359° (17952)
(striking state procedural rule to protect right
of recovery under Federal Employes' Liability
Act); Brown v. Western Ry. of Alabama, 338
U.S. 294 (1949) (same); see also Chapman v.

(Footnote Continued)

0199B

BREERERREHRERBRHERRaR EF

-21a-

stated by Justice Story: "It is piain,
therefore, that it could not have been the
intention of the framers of this [Tenth]
amendment to give it effect, as an abridgement
of any of the powers granted under the
constitution, whether they are express or

implied, direct or incidental." 3 Commentaries

on the Constitution § 1901 (1833), in V The

Founders! Constitution, 406 (P. Kurland &€ R.

Lerner ed. 1987).

There is nothing peculiar about Con-
gress's intrusion under the Commerce Clause
into state criminal proceedings that compels a
different conclusion. Admittedly, there is
little discussion by the Founding Fathers of
the meaning of the Tenth Amendment as it
relates to criminal laws and their adminis-

tration. This is to be expected, since it was

(Footnote Continued)
California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) (imposing

federal interpretation of "harmless error rule"
over that of state).

0199B

-22a-

presumed that all powers in such matters not
given to the United States would continue,
unenumerated, within the states as before.
However, there is a pertinent reference by
President James Monroe on this’ subject:
"[ T]he administration of justice, and the whoie

criminal code, except in cases of breaches of

the laws of the United States made under and

in conformity with the powers vested in Con-

gress .. . are regulated by State laws." The

Founders' Constitution, supra, at 405., re-

printing in part Views of the President of the

United States on the Subject of Internal Im-

provements (May 4, 1822) (emphasis added).

This statement evidences that one of the few

Founding Fathers’ who may have said anything

While some may disagree with’ the
characterization of Monroe as a "Founding
Father," he participated substantially in the
formation of the Republic, including the
debates about the principle of federalism, and
was familiar with the thinking of the greater

(Footnote Continued)

0199B

-23a-

on the subject did not consider the Tenth
Amendment to establish any special limitation
on Congress simply because it may choose to
exercise its vested power in the _ criminal
arena.

Currently, constitutional doctrine regard-
ing the Tenth Amendment has reverted to its
pre-Usery state, to wit, the Tenth Amendment
is no more than a truism; it tautologically
states that powers not given to the federal
government are reserved to the states. The
Court recognizes the avowed intent of Chief

Justice Rehnquist in his Garcia dissent to

resurrect Usery. 469 U.S. at 580. Perhaps a

majority of the Supreme Court will do so as its

(Footnote Continued)

men who overshadowed him during that era.
Monroe studied law under Thomas Jefferson
beginning in 1780. From 1783 to 1786 he
served in the Congress under the Articles of
Confederation. He was chosen a member of
the Virginia House of Delegates in 1787 and, in
1788, a member of the state convention at
which Virginia ratified the new federal
Constitution.

0199B

-24a-

composition changes and shifts in its politics
and philosophy of constitutional adjudication.
As noted by Professor Herbert Wechsler,
"Federalism would have few adherents were it
not, like other elements of government, a

means and not an end." The Political Safe-

guards of Federalism, supra, at 552. A

return to Usery would likely be considered to
"politicize" the Constitution, which the defen-

dant has cautioned against elsewhere. ° The

BSee Remarks of the Attorney General at
the American Studies Center Bicentennial
Program in Washington, D.C. (June 12, 1987).
The printed version of the Attorney General's
address states at 2: "Too often the
Constitution has been, in a word, politicized.
The modern-day politicization of our supreme
law has been encouraged primarily by political
and judicial liberals . . ." Commentators have
noted, however, that Usery was a conservative
politcal doctrine. A leading treatise on
constitutional law describes the rise of Usery

as follows: "There is little or no explanation

for the shift in the Court's position regarding
the judicially enforceable nature of the tenth
amendment other than the political background
and philosophy of the newly appointed
justices. The decisions of the 1970's,

(Footnote Continued)

0199B

-25a-

long-standing view, however, has been that
the Tenth Amendment will not support political
goals:

The attempts, then, which have been
made from time to time, to force upon this
language [the Tenth Amendment] an
abridging, or restrictive influence, are
utterly unfounded in any just rules of
interpreting the words, or the sense of
the instrument. Stripped of the inge-
nious disguises, in which they are
clothed, they are neither more nor less,
than attempts to foist into the test the
word "“expressly;" to qualify, what is
general, and obscure, what is clear, and
defined. They make the sense of the
passage bend to the wishes and preju-
dices of the interpreter; and employ
criticism to support a theory, and not to
guide it. . . . [Constitutions] are not to

(Footnote Continued)

attacking the established principle of judicial
deference to congressional decisions regarding
federalism issues were joined only’ by
Republican justices. Those justices were
Blackmun, Powell, Rehnquist, Stewart (who
was replaced by the even more states’ rights
oriented Justice O'Connor) and Chief Justice
Burger." J. Nowak, R. Rotunda & J. Young,
Constitutional Law 162 n.33 (ed ed. 1986).
Ultimately, the doctrinal "glue" holding
together the Usery approach proved so weak
that it could not hold even a majority of a
conservative Court, as reflected in the change
of mind by Justice Blackmun, who concurred
in Usery but wrote the opinion of the Court in
Garcia only nine years later.

01998

be frittered away to please the dema-
gogues of the day. They are not to be
violated to gratify the ambition of pclitical
leaders.

Story, Commentaries, supra, §1901

’

Founders' Constitution, supra, at 407.

tip
Even if the Garcia dictum on which the
State relies makes the Tenth Amendment fertile

soil for planting the seeds of a states' rights
movement, it would ill behoove a federal dis-
trict judge to say so by declaring unconstitu-
tional an act of Congress in so important an
area as here. Much has been said of late
regarding the evils of activist judges who
strain to overrule legislation enacted by the
elected representatives of the people. If those
elected to serve in Washington should desire to
constrain the actions of their governments

back home, far be it from this Court to tell

them that they cannot do so. See Garcia, 469

U.S. at 556. see generally The _ Political

Safeguards of Federalism, supra.

01996

-B8SSSe ee eecesLtes & |:

if the Constitution forbids the Act, it is

for someone e!se to say.

SO ORDERED.

AVERN COHN

United States District Judges

Dated: August 10, 1987
Detroit, Michigan

01996

PSOE BERR KER KREBS

APPENDIX B

Lee ee oe oe ee ee ee ee ee ee Oe ee Ue

~~

NOT FOR PUBLICATION
No. 87-1719
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

THE STATE OF MICHIGAN,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
Vv.

EDWIN MEESE, Attorney General for
the United States,

Defendant-Appellee,
and

STEVE ASMAR & METRO INSTITUTIONAL
FOOD SERVICES, INC.,

Intervening
Defendant-Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DIS-
TRICT OF MICHIGAN

BEFORE: JONES and RYAN, Circuit Jucges;
and GIBSON, District Judge.

*

The Honorable Benjamin F. Gibson,
United States District Judge for the Western
District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

01998

«3h

PER CURIAM. The State of Michigan,
brought this declaratory judgment action
asking the district court to find that 18
U.S.C. § 2515, which excludes from evidence
in all state criminal and civil trial, conver-
sations which were recorded in violation of the
federal wiretapping statutes, is beyond the
scope of Congress' Commerce Clause power and
therefore violative of the tenth amendment.
The district court dismissed plaintiff's action.
Ve affirm.

A Wayne County, Michigan grand jury
issued subpoenas based on privately tape
recorded@ telephone conversations anonymously
given to state prosecutors. A Michigan state
court quashed the subpoenas, holding that the
evidence was obtained in violation of Title 111
of the Omnibus Crime Control Act and Safe
Streets Act of 1968, 18 U.S.C. § 2515. The

state court's action ended the grand jury

investigation.

-3b-

On March 10, 1987, the State of Michigan
filed suit in federal district court against the
Attorney General of the United States, seeking
a declaratory judgment that 18 U.S.C. § 2515
was violative of the tenth amendment. Section
2515 states:

Whenever any wire or oral communication
has been intercepted, no part of the
contents of such communication and no
evidence derived therefrom may be re-
ceived in evidence in any trial, hearing,
or other proceeding in or before any
court, grand jury, department, officer,
agency, requlatory body, legislative
committee, or other authority of the
. United States, a State, or a_ political
subdivision thereof if the disclosure of
that information would be in violation of

this chapter.

18 0.3.0. § 2515.

The State of Michigan argued that § 2515
required the suppression of evidence where
the state was not a party because of § 2511
which states in pertinent part:

(1) Except as otherwise = specifically

provided in this chapter any person

who--
(a) intentionally intercepts, endeav-

ors to intercept, or procures any

01998

-Ub-

other person to intercept or endeav-
or to intercept, any wire, oral, or
electronic communication;

(b) intentionally uses, endeavors to
use, Or procures any other person
to use or endeavor to use any
electronic, mechanical, or other
device to intercept any oral commu-
nication when--

(i) such device is affixed
to, or otherwise transmits
a signal through, a wire,
cable, or other like con-
nection used in wire
communication; or

(c) intentionally discloses, or en-
deavors to disclose, to any other
person the contents of any wire,
oral, or _ electronic communication,
knowing or having reason to know
that the information was obtained
through the interception of a wire,
oral, or electronic communication in
violation of this subsection; or

(d) intentionally uses, or endeavors
to use, the contents of any wire,
oral, or electronic communication,
knowing or having reason to know
that the information was _ obtained
through the interception of a wire,
oral, or electronic communication in
violation of this subsection;

shall be punished as provided in sub-
section (4) or shall be subject to suit as
provided in subsection (5).

@BSBRE KR BRR KEK EB 4B GS

-5b-

1s Vea. «6§ 25H. Plaintiff argued that
requiring suppression of the evidence was
beyond the Congress' Commerce Clause power,
under which the Crime Control Act was
passed.

The district court issued a shew cause
order as to ripeness. The parties agreed
there was a case or controversy within article
111 of the Constitution. Thereafter, on
cross-motions for summary judgment, the
district court found that the exclusionary rule
found in 18 U.S.C. § 2515 was constitutional
as an exercise of Congress' Commerce Clause
power.

Although both parties agreed below that
this case was ripe for adjudication, the United
States Attorney General now argues that there
is no "case or controversy" pursuant to article
111 of the Constitution and, therefore, this
court lacks subject matter jurisdiction. The
judicial power of the federal government is

limited to that provided for by article 111.

0199B

-6bD-

Article 111 of the Constitution limits the
"judicial power" of the United States to
the resolution of "cases" and "contro-
versies." The constitutional power of
federal courts cannot be defined, and
indeed has no substance, without refer-
ence to the necessity "to adjudge the
legal rights of litigants in actual contro-
versies." Liverpool S. S. Co. v. Commis-
sioners of Emigration, 113 U.S. 33, 39
(1885). Tne requirements of Art 111 are
not satisfied merely because a _ party
requests a court of the United States to
declare its legal rights, and has couched
that request for forms of relief historical-
ly associated with courts of law in terms
that have a familiar ring to those trained
in the legal process. The judicial power
of the United States defined by Art III is
not an unconditioned authority to deter-
mine the constitutionality of legislative or
executive acts. The power to declare the
rights of individuals and to measure the
authority of governments, this Court said
90 years ago, "is legitimate only in the
last resort, and as a necessity in the
determination of real, earnest and vital

controversy." Chicago §& Grand Trunk
R. Co. v. Wellman, 143 U.S. 339, 345
(1892).

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans

United for Separation of Church and State 454

U.S. 464, 471 (1982). If there is no case or
controversy, this court lacks subject matter
jurisdiction to hear this appeal even though

the parties agreed below that the _ case

0199B

-7b-

was right for adjudication; agreement of the
parties cannot establish subject matter

jurisdiction. In re Rini, 782 F.2d 603, 609 .10

(6th Cir. 1986).
The Supreme Court, discussing the limits
of article Ill power, has stated:

[A]t an irreducible minimum, Art 111
requires the party who invokes’ the
court's authority to "show that he per-
sonally has suffered some actual or
threatened injury as ae result of the
putatively illegal conduct of the defen-
dant," Gladstone Realtors v. Village of
Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91, 99 (1979), and
that the injury "fairly can be traced to
the challenged action" and "is likely to be
redressed by a favorable decision," Simon
v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Org.,
426 U.S. 26, 38, 41 (1976).

Valley Forge Christian College, 454 U.S. at

472. Thus, the plaintiff, in the instant case,
must show that (1) it has suffered actual or
threatened injury, which it clearly has through
the quashing of the subpoenas, and (2) the
injury was the result of an act of the defen-
dant. "The court may not act to redress
injury ‘that results from the independent

action of some third party not before the

0199B

-Bb-

court.'" Toth v. United Auto. Aero. § Aar.

—

Implement Workers, 743 F.2d 398, 404 (6th

Cir. 1984) (quoting Simon v. Eastern Kentucky

Nelfare Rights Organization, 426 U.S. 26, 42

,

(1976)). It is the second element which the
plaintiff fails to satisfy.

Plaintiff's injury did not result from any
action taken by the defendant, the Attorney
General of the United States. Rather, it was
the state trial court judge who quashed th
subpoenas and enforced the federal statute, 18
U.S.C. § 2515. The Attorney General has not
threatened plaintif with any penalty for
attempting to use the taped conversations
which are the _ subject of this_ litigation.
Plaintiff's remedy is to appeal the state court's
decision through the state court system.

Because defendant herein has not caused
the injury suffered by the plaintiff, this court
is without subject matter jurisdiction to hear
this appeal. Although the district court

dismissed the instant action on the merits, this

01996

-Sb-

court may affirm the district court for reasons
other than those stated by the lower court.

Russ' Kwik Car Wash v. Marathon Petroleum

uy

Co., 772 F.2d 214, 216 (6th Cir. 1985).

’

For the reasons stated above the decision

ISSUED AS MANDATE July 28, 1988
COSTS: NONE
01996

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385002_0084%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
