# Amicus Curiae Brief — DeFunis v. Odegaard

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1598%3A26

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1974
- **Citation:** 416 U.S. 312

## Text

eo erer ee ee eeeee eee eeeeeenesteeeeeeeeesese

eo ee eee eee eee et Feeeeeeseseeeee

Introduction and summary of the argument ..............

AQUOS 48s « w55 Canis ocho o Cee 48S Wis teBe Fcc coc 6
I. Factual analysis: The traditional screening devices used
by the law school had a severely adverse impact on
nonwhite applicants and were not justified by any sub-
stantial state interest ..... 2.0.05 .ccs cece wnccccecce 6
A. The law school’s use of the college degree, the col-
lege grade point average and the law school admis-
sion test score as entry criteria almost entirely ex-

eluded minority applicants .................... 6
1. The college degree 6... i Seve ci cee ee 8
2. The college grade point average (GPA) ..... 9
8. The law school admission test (LSAT) ...... 11

4. The predicted first year average (PFYA) .... 13
B. The entry criteria which adversely affect minority
applicants are not justified by any substantial

SRMNO< CHINN F906 00s BS OS, ee cd 16
Fo RD OUP UO ob ks icpeccceccevll ew ck 16
2. The college grade point average (GPA) ..... 17

3. The law school admission test score (LSAT).. 23
C. The law school’s minority admissions program was
a reasonable attempt to rectify the exclusionary
effects of its entry criteria .................... 24
II. Legal analysis: There are four independent reasons
why the decision of the Washington Supreme Court
Stes Til MERGE 655 0’ lis 4003 04 te dn wn blank 6 OS. 26
A. Petitioner asks this court to issue an unconstitu-
tional order since the relief requested would re-
quire the law school to return to a system of ad-
missions that gives priority to white applicants
on the basis of discriminatory entry criteria
which are not justified by any substantial state
reece erts sty eit fant) Bio 27
1. The equal protection clause prohibits a public
law school from using entry criteria which dis-

ee

. Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 pro-
hibits the use of invalid law school admissions
criteria which are discriminatory in effect ...

3. A decision not to allow public agencies sub-
stantial discretion to rectify their discrimina-
tory practices would be a decision to perpetu-
OO I oho ove tccccescanncsborre

The traditional presumption of unconstitutionality

does not apply to an ameliorative racial classifica-

tion challenged as a discrimination burdening

WE SG SFE) 6 EF Ea a REGU A HI 8 Fee

1. The minority admissions program does not bur-
den a minority group traditionally subjected
to private and public discrimination ........

2. The minority admissions program does not
nine litically Nid ait inwition

3. The minority admissions program cannot be
presumed to stigmatize racial minorities .....

Even if a compelling state interest is the standard

by which the university’s actions are to be meas-

sured, the university had such an interest ......

ee

47

47

49

55

Table of Authorities Cited

Cases Pages

Armstead v. Starkville Municipal Separate School Dist., 461
F.2d.276 (6th Cir, 1998) -. aac -scegancavnvepdosics 23, 29, 37
Arnold v. Ballard, 6 E.P.D. 98675 (N.D. Ohio 1973) ....... 48

Associated General Contractors of Massachusetts, Inc. v. Alt-
shuler, 6 E.P.D, 98993 (1st Cir., November 30, 1973) ....49, 51

Baker v. Columbus Municipal Separate School District, 462

PAS TES FOG, BOCES occ cite viscccHe sedi ctectcute 37
Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954) ............-.-.00- 56
Bridgeport Guardians v. Bridgeport Civil Service Commis-

sion, 482 F.2d 1333 (2nd Cir. 1973) .............0ee000- 47
Brooks v. Beto, 366 F.2d 1 (5th Cir. 1966) ............... 51
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954) ........ 57
Carmichael v. Craven, 457 F.2d 582 (9th Cir. 1971), cert.

Gua; GOW Use: WOO CIOtE) occ vented case cncconehicges 29
Carter v. Gallagher, 452 F.2d 327 (8th Cir.) (en banc), cert.

Gentes, “G06 -UB: G60 CICA oo sca Ce cace cea vdasaei ces 37, 47
Carter v. Jury Commission, 396 U.S. 320 (1970) .......... 28
Castro v. Beecher, 459 F.2d 725 (1st Cir. 1972) ........ 37, 39, 47
Chance v. Board of Examiners, 458 F.2d 1167 (2nd Cir.

BDTS) .n-vceedb thas Cob xbbi | ies Hee 0% Lede cae seus 23, 29, 39
Coffey v. Braddy, No. 71-44-Civ.-J. (M.D., Fla., August 12,

WEES <5 hoe she nth 4 Chk dae kee oko bbb an ai ed eae ees he 48

Contractor’s Association of Eastern Pennsylvania v. Secre-
tary of Labor, 442 F.2d 159 (3rd Cir.) cert. denied, 404

UB. SOG CIGTT) nc cnn ccs nd deheppnede cs dkttbe Uebs tsb 51
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970) ............ 60
Davis v. County of Los Angeles, 73-63-WPG (C.D. Cal., July

PINS ssuo biceuted cewaae dees ke ceier abe ink dcekatins 48
Dobbins v. Local 212, IBEW, 292 F.Supp. 413 (S.D. Ohio

MME Fie .o 2» 0 cae atiera kubesn aeis ehaaths > kate iaaler en: 40
Emeryville Citizens for Better Government v. Neary, C-71-

940. C.B.B. (N.D. Cal., Oct. 26, 19783) .............-000 52

Erie Human Relations Commission v. Tullio, 360 F.Supp. 628
CWAls Big DUNNE a caces soca ute vivcbiiesivesteeeticecs 48

iv Tas_e or AvTHORITIES CITED

Pages
Fortson v. Dorsey, 379 U.S. 433 (1965) .........s..-055 32
Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677 (1973) .....-....... 59
Gaston County v. United States, 395 U.S. 285 (1969) ....... 59
Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (1960) .............. 82
Graham v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 (1971) .............-. 59
Griffin v. School Board, 377 U.S. 218 (1964) .............. 28, 29
Griggs v. Duke Power Company, 401 U.S. 424 (1971) ......
PFs cde St takeb ahemane te 3, 6, 11, 16, 17, 23, 28, 35, 36, 39, 41, 46
Gruenwald v. Gardner, 390 F.2d 591 (2nd Cir.) ; cert. denied,
SOO TS. CSS CIOGR) «oo oan cas ininpe arenes sae onndnes eden 58
Hawkins v. North Carolina Dental Society, 355 F.2d 718 (4th
CUFT! BETA SP AT RR 15

Hawkins v. Town of Shaw, 437 F.2d 1286 (5th Cir. 1971)... 29
Heart of Atlanta Motel v. United States, 379 U.S. 241 (1964) 54

Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475 (1954) ........0. cee eeee 32, 57
Hill v. Texas, 316 U.S. 400 (1942) ....... ccc cece ee eeveeee 29
Hobson v. Hanson, 269 F.Supp. 401 (D.D.C. 1967), cert. dis-

missed, 393 U.S. 801 (1969) .......ccseeercstvnveannens 29
Hogue v. Bach, No. C-3693 (D. Colo. 1972) .....-..seseeee 48
Hunter v. Erickson, 393 U.S. 385 (1969) ........ceeeeeees 60, 61
In re Griffiths, 413 U.S, 717 (1978) 2.0... se cece ee eee eee 33
Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409 (1968) ........ 50
Joyce v. MeCrane, 320 F.Supp. 1284 (D.N.J. 1970) ........ 51
Katzenbach v. Morgan, 384 U.S. 641 (1966) ............... 50, 54
Labat v. Bennett, 365 F.2d 698 (5th Cir. 1966), cert. denied,

386 U.S. 991 (1967) ........... Sere) BEE eat 29
Labine v. Vincent, 401 U.S. 532 (1971) ........-. eee eeeees 61
Larry P. v. Riles, 343 F.Supp. 1306 (N.D. Cal. 1972) ...... 29
Lau v. Nichols, 42 U.S.L.W. 4165 (Jan. 21, 1974) ....28, 42, 45, 46
Levy v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 68 (1968) ............+-+--6- 61
Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145 (1965) ........... 28
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967) ...........+.eee eee 57
Martinez v. Grand Rapids Civil Service Board, No. G-178-72,

6 Clr. Hs. Rev. 685 (W.D. Mich., Jan. 22, 1973) ......... 52

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973) .... 39

Tasiz or AuTHorities Crrep Vv

Pages
McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184 (1964) ............. 56, 57
Meredith v. Fair, 298 F.2d 696 (5th Cir. 1962) .......... -
NAACP y. Allen, 340 F.Supp. 703 (M.D. Ala, 1972) ....... 48
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963) ................45 32, 33
NAACP v. Civil Service Commission of San Francisco, 6

B.P.D.: $e066: (N.D, Oak. 1078) oo55 is oc cg iccccigees ban 48
NAACP v. Imperial County Irrigation District, No. 60-302-

OT (B.D. Gal. 11S) is aa. RSV eee. 52
Nixon v. Herndon, 273 US. 586°(1927) 08. BES. 59
Norwalk CORE v. Norwalk Redevelopment Agency, 395 F.2d

920 (Sud Oly. B0CB) 65 VTC, SS I 29, 47, 61
Otero v. New York City Housing Authority, 484 F.2d 1122

GOA Cle. POTD) ou skecindeceestvedbaph abies JO SBR E. 29
Palmer v. Thompson, 403 U.S. 217 (1971) ...........0000s 29, 56
Pennsylvania v. O’Neill, 348 F.Supp. 1084 (E.D. Pa. 1972),

modified en bane, 473 F.2d 1029 (8rd Cir. 1973) ........ 47
Pennsylvania v. Stumph, C-69-239-06JCL (N.D. Cal., Decem-

bee DO BAUR) Sine i cikndinsdnXe dineuaraibe der deeedlan 52
Pennsylvania v. Sebastian, No. 72-987 (W.D. Pa., Nov. 20,

1972), affirmed by order, (3d Cir., June 7, 1973) ........ 48
Poreelli v, Titus, 431 F.2d 1254 (3d Cir. 1970) ............ 51
San Antonio School District v. Rodriquez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973)

ye br ry Wy ol OMT ay rene cy eyice (ye orn pry te 58, 60
Scott v. Sanford, 60 U.S, 393 (1857) ............ cece eens 62
Shield Club v. City of Cleveland, 5 E.P.D. 78406 (N.D.

Olas BUFR) sce cncddooculsccp shenepaaseedsesdebiaraneve 48

Slaughter-House Cases, 83 U.S. 36 (1878) ................ 57

Southern Illinois Builders Association v. Ogilvie, 327 F.Supp.
1154 (S.D. TL 1971), affirmed, 471 F.2d 680 (7th Cir.

RGTR) is ban So naib bE naw techen 14 bee ce OPER LANES 51
Springfield School Committee v. Barksdale, 348 F.2d 261 (1st

ORe, TRS: sois wats wehamece be de =e sbikc pated ance 61
Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303 (1880) ........... 56
Swann v. CharlotteMecklenburg Board of Education, 402

UB. BAG s cxtrea asd nis vacseeia- cant lis inca 49, 61

Sweatt v. Painter, 339 U.S. 629 (1950) .............se00e 68

Tasie or AurHorities Crrep

Pages
Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 409 U.S. 205

CASTER). 6. besa Mall SA CA NARA IETS Clie ahd seat obi 68
Turner v. Fouche, 396 US. 346 (1970) nadie bikie oweas een 28, 32
Udall v. Talman, 380 U.S. 1 (1965) .............ccueeeees 46
United Mine Workers v. Illinois Bar Association, 389 US.

NE CRE AG ov hi Ws Go de Nokes CARS DE CAs 54 33
United States v. Carolene Products, 304 U.S. 144 (1938) ....32, 59
United States v. Guest, 383 U.S. 745 (1966) .............. 54
United States v. Ironworkers Local 86, 443 F.2d 544 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 984 (1971) ..........,..005, 40
United States v. Local 638, Enterprise Ass’n, 360 F. Supp.

SPP Tae SONOY a rs ee ee aes 40
United States v. Operating Engineers, Local 3, 0-71-1277

Se EU MOE MOMOE nok Satake oocenhaseedevteawtes: 52
United Transportation Union v. State Bar, 401 U.S. 576

ok MIE PDS ie RSD bP ae BS A RS Ro 33
Vulean Society v. Civil Service Commission, 6 E.P.D. 18974

COS IL i> crc AONE a Whie'dds cinprninrd’s’s pe aduw'es 47, 48
Weiner v. Cuyohoga Community College District, 19 Ohio 2d

35, 249 N.E.2d 907 (1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1004

ERM CME is dais a ti ohb se daticin's Cink tna. we chins oceans asc 51
Western Addition Community Organization v. Alioto, 6

Sa Oe Cites CONE, TOD nib 0 0.5. 0.5.n0.d0s cin cavecanne 48
Williams v. New Orleans Steamship Ass’n, 341 F.Supp. 613

Sin Sin SEE bs, ichin yp cuntiieditindittinnn de tb cath dedilieats « 40

Wright v. Council of City of Emporia, 407 U.S. 451 (1972) 57

Reports and Articles
Baird, Blacks in Graduate and Professional School, Find-
SR WE ee, WERE oaks Ch sew dbec cecnvbaevces 9

Bell, Racism in American Courts, Cause for Black Disrup-
tion or Despair? 61 Calif. L. Rev. 165 (1973) ......... 65

Cleary, Test Bias: Validity of the Scholastic Aptitude Test
for Negro and White Students in Integrated Colleges

ey

Tasie or AvtTHorities Crrep vii

Pages
Evans & Reilly, A Study of Speediness as a Source of
Test Bias, Journal of Education Measurement, vol. 9, no.

B ERROR | AWaseveaaa cpdakwbackts edad iets 11

Fruend, Constitutional Dilemmas, 45 B.U.L. Rev. 13 (1965) 54

Goolsby, A Study of the Criteria for Legal Education and
Admission to the Bar, 20 Journal of Legal Education 175
CREGFR kde nasds daviadetndentenes etek Va 24

Hoyt, The Relationship between College Grades and Adult
Achievement. A Review of the Literature (1965) ....17, 18,19

Price, Taylor, Richards and Jacobsen in Performance Meas-

ures of Physicians (1963) .........cuccsescccccces 19, 20, 21
Warren, Current Grading Practices (1971) .............. 21
Wechsler, Toward Neutral Principles of Constitutional Law,

13 Bary, Sag ter. A CGB), xi cin beast borne Dokshodsds 59

Yeager, Litigation Under Title VII of The Civil Rights
Act of 1964, The Construction Industry and The Problem
of The “Unqualified” Minority Worker, 59 Geo.L.J. 1265
(ADVE) ULE OVE Oa es Ceo teceieeceercestenoe 40

Statistical Data

United States Bureau of the Census, The Social and Eco-
nomic Status of Negroes in the United States, Current

Population Report Series, P-23, No. 38 (1970) ..:........ 8
Statutes and Regulations
Civil Rights Act of 1866, 42 U.S.C. 1981 ................ 37

Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000d
cevabacneds Ghee badeameness seeaerwet 6, 28, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 54

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e
RRS E REYES TRE Serre Ee 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 46, 50, 54

S65 COR WN WE. ose vee ae 41, 42, 43, 44
38 Fed. Reg., §§17978 et seq. (July 5, 1973) ......00c00-. 44, 45

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocrosper Term 1973

No. 73-235

Marco DeF unis, et al., Petitioners,
vs.
CHARLES ODEGAARD, President of the University

of Washington, et al., Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of
the State of Washington
BRIEF OF THE LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY AND
THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT
OF COLORED PEOPLE, ET AL., AS AMICI CURIAE

INTEREST OF LEGAL SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS

Legal Aid Society of Alameda County, Atlanta
Legal Aid Society, Inc., Legal Aid Bureau, Ine. of
Baltimore, Legal Aid Society of Cleveland, Hawaii
Legal Services Project, Michigan Legal Services As-
sistance Program, National Employment Law Proj-
ect, Community Legal Services, Inc. of Philadelphia,
and Seattle Legal Services Center, are legal service
organizations which provide legal assistance to low-
income individuals. A high proportion of these clients

2

are members of racial minority groups. Amici have
found that they are able to deliver more effective legal
assistance to the individuals and communities they
serve when the legal staff includes minority attorneys
familiar with the problems and persons of the com-
munity, Many legal service attorneys, including some
who have worked on the preparation of this brief,
were admitted to law school through a minority ad-
missions program. Such programs are essential if
legal services and the entire legal profession are to
achieve any meaningful level of integration.

Like the NAACP, legal service organizations are
continually involved in efforts to combat the effects
of racial discrimination in employmert, housing,
schools, and many other areas. We believe that prog-
ress in civil rights depends primarily upon the volun-
tary efforts of public and private organizations to
rectify the widespread effects of racial discrimina-
tion. Racial discrimination, although often unin-
tended, is so pervasive that the litigation process
cannot be relied upon by itself to protect the rights
of racial and ethnic minorities. For these reasons, we
have been involved in the creation of numerous af-
firmative action programs, voluntarily adopted by
public agencies, that use racial classifications to rem-
edy racial discrimination. Reversal in this case would
seriously jeopardize, if not destroy, these and future

programs, to the severe detriment of our minority
clients.

ee Te Oe ae Ee ee ee

3

INTEREST OF THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR THE
ADVANCEMENT OF COLORED PEOPLE
The National Association for the Advancement of
Colored People (NAACP) is a nonprofit membership
association representing the interests of approxi-
mately 500,000 members in 1800 branches throughout
the United States. Since 1909, the NAACP has
sought through the courts to establish and protect the
civil rights of minority citizens. In this respect, the
NAACP has often appeared before this Court as an
amicus in cases involving school desegregation,
employment, voting rights, jury selection, capital
punishment, and other cases involving fundamental
human rights.

The present case is of particular importance to the
NAACP because it centers around a public educational
institution’s efforts to cure voluntarily the effects of a
racially discriminatory selection device. The NAACP
has long encouraged private and public bodies to take
such steps and has supported legislation designed to
foster voluntary compliance with the law. The con-
cern of the NAACP is that, should this Court rule in
favor of the Petitioner; the concept of voluntary
compliance will be wholly nullified, educational insti-
tutions attempting to ‘‘objectify” their selection pro-
cedures will be encouraged to intensify their reliance
upon the paper qualifications of applicants; and such
items as the Law School Admissions Test, college
degrees, and grade point averages, will once again
become ‘‘masters of reality.” Griggs v. Duke Power
Co., 401 U.S. 424, 433 (1971). A foreseeable byprod-

ENF ET I LGPL, SOIT EOE GOBASE TAAL ITED

4

uet of this process will be the resegregation of every
public educational institution using such devices, as
the record indicates will be the case with respect to
the University of Washington Law School.

CONSENT OF THE PARTIES
With the consent of both parties pursuant to Rule
42 of the Supreme Court Rules, Amici respectfully
submit this brief in support of Charles Odegaard, et

al., Respondents.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

This case has repeatedly been characterized as one
involving the legality of a ‘“‘preference given on the
basis of race alone to members of certain so-called
‘minorities’.” Petitioners’ Opening Brief, p. 2. This
characterization totally distorts the facts of the case.
This is a case in which a racial classification is used
not to grant a preference but, on the contrary, to
alleviate severe discrimination burdening minority
groups. The only person asking for a racial prefer-
ence in this case is the petitioner, who asks this Court
to grant a racial preference to whites by preventing
the Law School from taking action which is abso-
lutely necessary to neutralize the severely discrimina-
tory effects of its own entry criteria.

The most fundamental fact in this case is that if
the Law School had not adopted a minority admis-

I

RTA PEI ELTL OSE OP PE BEE | ae

5

sions program, ite entry system would have been so
gromaly dr ‘matory as to result in the creation of

AN eunety! ma. egregated student body. Without the
minority admimsions program, only one, or at most
two, of all black, Chicano, Filipino and Native
American applicants would have been admitted. Fur-
thermore, the discriminatory entry criteria do not
measure the ability to perform in the legal profes-
sion, or for that matter, the ability to perform in law
school. Thus, Petitioner requests that he be granted
an admissions preference on the basis of severely dis-
eriminatory entry criteria which are invalid and
unjustified by any state interest.

This brief admittedly attacks several revered tradi-
tions in the admission procedures of most educational
institutions. It does so for a reason. This brief will
show that the University of Washington Law School
has in the past used entry criteria which have little
or no demonstrable relationship to law school per-
formance, and even less to subsequent performance as
a lawyer. Given this background, Amici argue that
the Law School not only has the freedom to try dif-
ferent selection criteria which will increase minority
participation, while not hurting the quality of legal
education and legal practice, but in fact may be con-
stitutionally required to use different criteria.

This brief presents four reasons why the decision
of the Supreme Court of the State of Washington
should be affirmed. First, as stated above, the relief
requested by petitioner would be illegal if granted
since it involves a return to a discriminatory system

6

which does not satisfy the requirements of the equal
protection clause, the rule of Griggs v. Duke Power,
and Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.
Second, public agencies such as the Law School have
discretion to adopt programs, such as the minority
admissions program, designed to rectify the discrimi-
natory effects of their own screening mechanisms.
Third, the Law School’s minority admissions pro-
gram does not involve the type of raciai classification
to which the presumption of unconstitutionality ap-
plies; since the program is rationally related to legiti-
mate state interests, it is constitutionally permissible.
Fourth, even if the racial classification were charac-
terized as suspect, the minority admissions program
serves a compelling state interest and is, therefore,
constitutionally valid. Each of these four reasons is
sufficient for affirmance.

ARGUMENT

I. FACTUAL ANALYSIS: THE TRADITIONAL SCREENING DE-
VICES USED BY THE LAW SCHOOL HAD A SEVERELY AD-
VERSE IMPACT ON NONWHITE APPLICANTS AND WERE
NOT JUSTIFIED BY ANY SUBSTANTIAL STATE INTEREST.

A. The Law School’s use of the college degree, the college grade
point average and the Law School Admission Test score as
entry criteria almost entirely excluded minority applicants.

The record before this Court establishes that the
Law School, in screening applications for the class
which was to enter in 1971, used at least three sepa-
rate criteria which were severely discriminatory in

7

effect against nonwhite persons.’ First, the Law
School had an absolute requirement that applicants
be college graduates. Applications from nongraduates
were not even considered. Second, the Law School
used the applicants’ college grade point averages
(GPA’s) as a screening factor. Third, the Law
School used the applicants’ scores on the Law School
Admission Test (LSAT) as a screening factor. Fur-
thermore, the GPA and LSAT were not simply two
screening devices among many; they were the funda-
mental criteria which determined in most instances
which persons were to be admitted or excluded. The
record makes it quite clear that if nonwhite race had
not been used as a neutralizing entry criterion, all but
one of the nonwhite applicants (excluding Asian)
would probably have been denied admission, nearly
all of these on the basis of LSAT score and GPA
alone. The severely discriminatory effect of each of
the three entry criteria is explained fully in the fol-
lowing sections.

1Respondents, in presenting their case below, did not concentrate
on making a clear record regarding the racially discriminatory
effects of their own entry criteria. This is quite understandable
since it is not easy either to recognize or to display publicly the
facts regarding racial discrimination within one’s own organization.
It is therefore not surprising that respondents chose to present the
case in terms of the permissibility of their minority admissions pro-
gram rather than in terms of the illegality of their traditional entry
system. Despite the fact that no direct effort was made to prove
the discriminatory effect of the entry criteria, however, the record
does contain sufficient information to compel the conclusion that
the entry system would have discriminated against nonwhites if
race had not been used as a neutralizing entry criterion.

\
\

1. The college degree.

Information gathered during the 1970 Census dem-
onstrates that the percentage of white persons who
obtain college degrees is much higher than it is for
persons of nonwhite races.? In 1970, only 6.1% of
all black persons between the ages of 25 and 34 had
completed four or more years of college while 16.6%
of white persons between the ages of 25 and 34 had
completed four or more years of college. Census Re-
port at 81, Table 67. Thus, the percentage of white
persons who have completed four or more years of
college is nearly three times as high as the per-

centage of black persons.

TABLE A

PERCENT OF POPULATION 25 To 34 Yrars OLp WHO
CoMPLETED F'our YEARS OF COLLEGE OR More.

Black White
1960 4.3% 11.7%
1966 5.7% 14.6%
1970 6.1% 16.6%

Additional tables which appear at pages 82 and 84
of the Census Report show that the rs.al disparity
also exists in present college enrollment and that
other minority races are similarly underrepresented.*

2Census information is, of course, subject to judicial notice by

this Court. Statistics comparing college attendance of black and
white persons have been set forth in The Social and Economic
Status of Negroes in the United States, 1970 BLS Report No, 394.
published in 1971 by the Bureau of the Census [hereafter referred
to as the Census Report].

’The use of the college degree as a strict prerequisite for entry
may account in large part for the fact that only 4.4% or 70 out of
1601 applicants for entry into the Law School in 1971 were non-

z

—

$

2. The college grade point average (GPA).

A recent study by Leonard L, Baird of the Educa-
tional Testing Service (hereinafter ETS) has estab-
lished, on the basis of solid and extensive data, what
has been known from narrower stidies for a long
time, namely, that the average college GPA of white
students is substantially higher than of nonwhites.
Baird, Blacks in Graduate and Professional School,
Findings, val. 1, no. 2 (Princeton, N. J.: Educational
Testing Service, 1974).* The study was based upon a
survey of 21,000 students who were seniors in 1971
at 94 colleges across the nation.

For purposes of this brief, the key finding in
Baird’s study is set forth at page 5.

About a third (34 percent) [of the black stu-
dents] had undergraduate grades of C or C+,
compared to 16 percent of the whites; 44 percent
had B grades compared to 32 percent of the
whites; and only 21 percent had B+, A or A+
grades compared to 50 percent of the whites.

In tabular form, these findings are as follows:

RAcE
GPA | Black White
B-+ and above 21% 50%
B 44% 32%
C or C+ 34% 16%

white. Clearly some discriminatory mechanism was operating even
prior to the receipt of applications, and it seems safe to conclude
that the college degree requirement played a substantial role in
reducing the percentage of minority applications to such a dis-
proportionate level.

‘This study is about to be published,

10

As these findings show, the percentage of white cvi-
lege students having GPA’s of B+ or above is nearly
two and one-half times as high as that of blacks, and
the percentage of white students having GPA’s in the
C range is less than half that of blacks. The severely
discriminatory effect of the use of the college GPA
as an entry criterion for graduate school is particu-
larly striking in view of the fact that most graduate
schools tend to expect at least a B+ college GPA on
the part of those students to whom they offer admis-
sion.®

From the data available in the record in the pres-
ent case, it appears that the use of college GPA’s for
screening Law School applicants in 1971 would have
had a substantial discriminatory effect if it had not
been neutralized by the minority admissioris program.
Of the 328 applicants whose GPA’s are reported in
the Single Appendix, only 4.2% of the whites had
GPA’s below 3.0, while 43.2% of the nonwhites had
GPA’s below 3.0 (A-37-46).°

5Baird’s study confirms findings of previous studies which were
based on narrower data. See, e.g., Cleary, Test Bias: Validity of the
Scholastic Aptitude Test for Negro and White Students in Inte-
grated Colleges (Princeton, N.J.: Educational Testing Service,
1966), at 16-19.

®This analysis is based solely upon data in the record relating
to persons invited to attend or on the waiting list as of August 1,
1971. If Asians were excluded from ihe figures for nonwhites, the
discriminatory effect would be substantially greater than that shown
in the table. On the other hand, if GPA’s of the other white appli-
cants were taken into account, the difference might be lowered. The
difference would not, however, be neutralized, since the severe dis-
parity between PF'YA’s of whites and nonwhites reflects substantial
disproportion in both GPA’s and LSAT scores. See section
I(A) (4).

11

Race
GPA Nonwhite White
Below 3.0 43.2% 4.2%
(19) (12)
3.0 to 4.0 56.8% 95.8%
(25) (272)

8. The Law School Admission Test (LSAT).

A recent study demonstrates that blacks score on
the average substantially lower than whites on the
LSAT.’ Evans & Reilly, A Study of Speededness
as a Source of Test Bias, Journal of Education Meas-
urement, vol. 9, no. 2 at 123-31 (1972). The study
was based upon a comparison between the LSAT per-
formance of 465 black students enrolled in predomi-
nantly black southern colleges and a random sample
of 2495 students tested at regular testing centers in
1970. The purpose of the study was to determine
whether the time limits involved in the LSAT have
a discriminatory effect on blacks. In order to reach
any conclusions on this issue, the study team had to
generate data on the mean LSAT scores of the spe-
cial black sample and the regular sample. These data
are set forth in the following table:

7This Court has had first-hand experience with discriminatory
written aptitude tests in the Griggs case, in which the Wunderlic
Personnel Test was held to be discriminatory and its use enjoined.
Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971).

12

Mean LSAT Score

Black sample 56.12 (n=230)
(speeded )

Black sample 56.49 (n=235)
(unspeeded )

Regular sample 86.27 (n=1251)
(speeded )

Regular sample 85.99 (n=1245)
(unspeeded )

As the table shows, the black students had an average
score of roughly 56 while the regular students had an
average score of roughly 86. The discriminatory ef-
fect was, in short, drastic.’

The record in this case strongly suggests that the
unneutralized use of LSAT scores would have had a
severely discriminatory impact on the applieants for
Law School entry in 1971. The following table is
based upon data contained in the Single Appendix at
37-46 for the 330 applicants who were either invited
to attend the Law School or placed in the top two
quartiles of the waiting list.

that no fee was charged. It is clear, however, that these factors
cannot account for the drastic difference in scores.

This is confirmed by two recent but not yet published studies
by the Educational Testing Service, which demonstrate substan-
en i te mean LSAT scores of whites and nonwhites. While
we have informed of these studies ETS personnel, ETS
has so far refused to make these studies pu lic.

RRR I EET EE TIE

13

Race

Nonwhite White

600 and above 27.3% 87.7%
LSAT Score

below 600 72.7% 12.3%

500 and above 59.1% 100.0%
LSAT Score

below 500 40.97% 0.0%

60 and above 29.5% 76.5%
Reading Score

below 60 70.5% 23.57%

Thus, the conclusion is unavoidable that the Law
School’s use of the LSAT as an entry criterion would
have had a severe racially discriminatory effect if it
had not been neutralized by the minority admission

program.

4. The Predicted Pirst Year Average (PFYA).

The extremely discriminatory effect of the Law
School’s screening system is further evident from the
facts present in the record regarding the use of the
Predicted First Year Average (PFYA) as a major
screening factor. The PFYA is a composite measure
based upon college GPA (junior-senior years) and
LSAT scores. Since, as shown above, both of these
criteria are discriminatory, it is no surprise that the
PFYA is also discriminatory. The following table
shows that, if the PFYA’s of all 1601 Law School
applicants are taken into account, the percentage of

14

whites who had PFYA’s above 75 was more than two
and one-half times that of nonwhites.

Race
PFYA Nonwhite White
Above 75 12.9% (9) 94.0% (531)
Below 75 87.1% (61) 66.0% (1000)

Petitioner, Marco DeFunis, had a PFYA of 76.23.
At that score, the disparity between whites and non-
whites is even more extreme. The rate at which non-
white applicants achieved PFYA’s above that figure
was nearly six times the rate of the nonwhite appli-
cants, Most striking is the fact that only one non-
Asian minority in comparison to 282 whites achieved
a score above 76.23.

Race

Nonwhite
PFYA. (Excluding Asians) White

Above 76.23 3.2% (1) 18.4% (282)
Below 76.23 96.87% (30) 81.6% (1249)*

*The tables in this section are based upon figures set forth in the
Single Appendix. 540 of the 1601 applicants had PFYA’s above
75 (A-34). 9 of the 44 nonwhite applicants invited to attend had
PFYA’s above 75 (A-3746). Since nonwhites with much lower
PFYA’s than 75 were admitted, it is assumed that all of the 26
nonwhites who were denied had PF YA’s lower than 75. Since only
9 of the 540 applicants whose PFYA’s exceeded 75 were nonwhite,
the other 531 were white.

288 applicants had PFYA’s above 76.3 (A-34) and therefore
above Mareo DeFunis whose PFYA was 76.23 (A-34). Only 6
nonwhites had PFYA’s above DeFunis (A-37-46, 52). Therefore,
at least 282 of the 1531 white applicants had PFYA’s above De-
Funis. Only 1 out of 31 nonwhites (excluding Asians) had
PFYA’s above De Funis (A-56). Note, also, that if the 26 non-
whites who were denied admission were included in this table, the

amas | om

15

When these figures are analyzed further, it appears
that if the Law School had not sought to neutralize
the discriminatory effect of the PFYA, the admis-
sions system would have resulted in an essentially
segregated Law School. In all probability, of the
combined applicants from the black, Chicano and
Native American races, at most two would have been
admitted if the Law School had not developed a
minority admissions program. Out of 1315 white ap-
plicants with PFYA’s below 76.20, only 33 (2%)
were invited to attend. Since all but one of the non-
Asian minority applicants had PFYA’s below 76.20,
we must assume that if race had not been used as a
factov, only 2% would have been invited to attend.
Thus, at most, one black, Chicano or Native Ameri-
can might have been invited in addition to the one
who had a PFYA above 76.20.

In sum, the unneutralized use of the Law School’s
entry system (including the use of the college degree,
the GPA, the LSAT score and the PFYA) would
have had an almost totally exclusionary effect on non-
Asian minority applicants and would have perpetu-
ated the past racially segregated character of the
Law School.”

nonwhite percentage would be even lower. Thus, the 3.2% figure
is substanti higher than the —— figure.

It should be noted that these tables include data on all 1531
white applicants, so the differences are real and not subject to any
arguable reduction.

There are cases which suggest that a fourth factor, the require-
ment of recommendation letters, may also have been discriminatory.
See, e.g., Hawkins v. North Carolina Dental Society, 355 F.2d 718
(4th Cir. 1966); Meridith v. Fair, 298 F.2d 696 (5th Cir. 1962).

16

B. The entry criteria which adversely affect minority applicants
are not justified by any substantial state interest.

1. The college degree.

Policies governing requirements for bar member-
ship in various states demonstrate that there is no
substantial reason for using college graduation as a
prerequisite for entry into law school. See, e.g,
Black’s Law Dictionary (Rev'd 4th ed. 1968), pp.
UXXV-LXXX. As late as 1968, only seven states re-
quired a college degree or its equivalent as a prereq-
uisite to beginning law study. Ibid. The American Bar
Association’s recommendation was only three years’
college study before the start of law school. Ibid.
Furthermore, the entire history of the Americal legal
profession flies in the face of any contention that a
college degree requirement for lawyers is necessary
to the operation of the legal profession. This Court
can take notice of the fact that college graduation was
historically not a requirement for entry into law. On
the contrary, the legal profession, like the other skilled
trades, used apprenticeship as its training method.
Persons seeking to become lawyers obtained positions
in the offices of practicing lawyers and learned law
through on the job training.

In Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971),
this Court emphasized the danger of using diplomas
and degrees as fixed barriers to economic opportuni-
ties.

The facts of this case demonstrate the inade-
quacy of broad and general testing devices as well

as the infirmity of using diplomas and degrees as
fixed measures of capability. History is filled

17

with examples of men and women who rendered
highly effective performance without the conven-
tional badges of accomplishment in terms of cer-
tificates, diplomas or degrees. 401 U.S. at 433.

Nowhere is this statement more applicable than in the
legal profession, In this regard it is worth noting
that Abraham Lincoln, who had only one year of for-
mal education, would have been summarily denied ad-
mission under the criteria used by the Law School.

2. The college grade point average (GPA).

Available evidence from the social sciences demon-
strates that college grade point average does not have
a substantial correlation with success in law or in-
deed in any other vocation. One study summarizes
the available research on the issue through 1965. Hoyt,
The Relationship between College Grades and Advit
Achievement. A Review of the Iiterature (Iowa City,
Iowa: American College Testing Program, 1965). In
his report, Hoyt examined the relationship between
college grades and adult achievement. in business,
teaching, engineering, medicine, scientific research,
miscellaneous additional occupations (including law)
and non-vocational activities. The overall conclusion
of the study is that college grades have no demon-
strable relationship to any measures of adult accom-
plishment.

Although this area of research is plagued by
many theoretical, experimental, measurement, and
statistical difficulties, present evidence strongly
suggests that college grades bear little or no rela-

18

tionship to any measures of adult accomplish-
ment, Id. at i. (Emphasis added.)

The conclusions reached in Hoyt’s report for the
specific areas examined are as follows:
Business: “The weight of evidence suggests no
relationship between the two [college grades and
future success in business].” Id. at 12.

Teaching: “Only isolated examples from past
research indicate a correlation between grades
and a measure of teaching success. In those in-
stances where positive results were found, the re-
lationships were generally of a very low magni-
tude.” Id. at 20.

Engineering: “Until more intensive work is done
to devise suitable criteria of engineering success,
the relationship of college grades to engineering
performance cannot be established definitely.” Id.
at 24.

Medicine: “At this time, medical school grades
seem to bear a positive relationship to the early
success of physicians. These grades are appar-
ently not predictive of physician performance
after the first few years of practice. The evidence
suggests that undergraduate grades are unrelated
to success in medical practice.” Id. at 30.

Scientific research: “While all findings are not
perfectly consistent, college grades seem to have
no more than very modest relationship to mea-
sures of research performance.” Id. at 36.

These findings are quite striking for several reasons.
First, the conclusion that is consistently reached is
that college grades have either no correlation or at

19

best a very modest correlation with adult achieve-
ment. Second, the studies focused on professional
activities such as medicine and engineering, which are
sufficiently similar to law to raise similar doubts about
the relationship between college grades and success
in legal work. Third, the report even rebuts the re-
lationship between college grades and success in such
purely “academic” fields as scientific research, where
one would expect some substantial relationship to exist
if anywhere. Thus, on the basis of the available re-
search, it seems safe to conclude that college grades
are certainly not significantly related to success in the
down to earth, rough and tumble of law practice and
probably not related even to success in the more aca-
demic side of law, including research, teaching and
appellate work.**

Perhaps the mo: { sophisticated study on this subject
was that reported by Price, Taylor, Richards and Ja-
cobsen in Performance Measures of Physicians (Uni-
versity of Utah, 1963). In carrying out the study, the
team analyzed approximately 200 performance mea-
sures (including ratings by other physicians, self-
ratings, number of requests for consultation, contribu-
tions to the field, quality of hospitals in which work

11The available research dealing with the legal profession itself
was unfortunately too meager to allow any firm conclusion. These
studies are reported at page 37 of Hoyt’s report. Two rather early
and unsophisticated studies (Kunkel 1917; Gambrill 1922) sug-
gested “a modest relationship between academic and occupational
success.” A later study (Jepsen 1951) involving doctors, lawyers,
and engineers shows “a significant negative correlation (—.15) ...
between college GPA and salary.”

Te re casa ed Biase

20

was performed, etc.) and then settled on 80 measures
which were used for computer analysis. The sample
studied included 102 medical school faculty members,
190 certified medical specialists and 217 general prac-
titioners. The results of the study are set forth in the
following important statement:

A second, very consistent finding of this re-
search was that academic achievement does not
bear a positive relationship to performance as a
practicing researcher, academician, or physician.
On the contrary, in each of our five studies both
premedical and medical school achievement was
found to be essentially independent of the numer-
ous measures of professional contributions, ac-
complishments, and activities that we analyzed.
. . . [A]ecross all groups studied . . . academic
grades showed a zero (chance) relationship to our
measures of physician performance. In view of
this, medical school selection programs, which
tend to select students that have attributes neces-
sary for successful accomplishment in medical
school and assume that these same attributes are
also necessary for performance in medical prac-
tice, should be searchingly examined. Id. at 111.
(Emphasis added.)

The Price, Taylor report is important because it is
an extremely sophisticated study of an important pro-
fessional field which demonstrates a radical absence
of relationship between college grades and profes-
sional performance.

The studies reported in this section raise another
important point, namely the relationship between law
school grades and success in the practice of law. The

21

studies indicated that there is no substantial correla-
tion between graduate school grades and success in
professional life. The Price, Taylor study, for exam-
ple, found that “both premedical and medical school
achievement” showed a “zero (chance) relationship”
to physician performance. This finding was confirmed
by Hoyt, who states that medical school grades are
“not predictive of physician performance after the
first few years of practice.” Hoyt, supra at 30. Thus,
even if college grades did accurately predict law
school grades, this would not justify the use of col-
lege grades as a law school entry criterion, since law
school grades are immaterial to success in the legal
profession, the agreed goal of the law school program.

Finally, and this is the point which ultimately re-
duces petitioner’s position to its true absurdity, col-
lege GPA’s are not even good predictors of law
school grades. In fact, college GPA’s are not even
good predictors of first year law grades.

Yet even if the probability of earning good
grades is accepted as the most justifiable basis
for selecting graduate students, problems still re-
main in the use of undergraduate grades for se-
lection. They just don’t predict graduate school
grades very well.

Studies relating undergraduate grades to first-
year grades in graduate and professional schools
over the past 20 years and in all kinds of pro-
grams have shown correlation coefficients that
fluctuated around the value 0.30. Warren, Cur-
rent Grading Practices (Washington, D.C.: Amer-
ican Association for Higher Education, 1971) at 5.

22

In short, college GPA’s are relatively poor predictors
even of first year graduate school grades. What about
college GPA’s as predictors of second and third year
grades? Here the performance is even poorer, partic-
ularly in clinical courses.”

Predictions of grades beyond the first year of
graduate school have been still lower, and predic-
tions of grades in clinically oriented programs
have been little better than chance. Jd. at 6.

Once these facts are understood, the irony of peti-
tioner’s position becomes manifest. Petitioner asks this
Court to order the Law School to admit him in pref-
erence to nonwhite applicants on the basis of a cri-
terion which purports to predict first year law school
grades, but which does so poorly, which predicts sec-
ond and third year grades even more poorly, which
does not predict grades in clinical courses and which
does not predict the achievement of the law school
student after graduation. To grant petitioner’s re-
quest would be to raise first year law school grades
to a position of independent significance which they
cannot begin to merit and then use them as a basis for
denying to the nonwhite races entry into the legal
profession, thereby ignoring one of the most important
rights in the American system, namely, the right to
equality of opportunity without regard to race. As
Hoyt stated in the conclusion of his study.

12Clinical courses are often more representative of actual work

in the legal profession generally than are the purely academic
courses,

PETE ORY ETP TNO Te Me MM I NATH MONIT, ON NNT RI AEN NR

23

The practice of basing admission to schools
of education, business, engineering, or medicine**
largely or exclusively on undergraduate grades
seems indefensible. Hoyt, supra at 49-50.

8. The Law School Admission Test Score (LSAT).

The record is totally devoid of any evidence that the
LSAT is job related, i.e., that it is a valid predictor
of performance within the legal profession. One rea-
son for this is that no validation studies have been
undertaken, This fact has been confirmed by the Ed-
ucational Testing Service, the organization which is
responsible for administering the LSAT, Further-
more, it is very unlikely that the LSAT (an aptitude-
type test) would correlate with success in a general
field as broad and diversified as the legal profession.
The federal courts have consistently frowned upon the
use of a single general symbolic-analytic aptitude test
as a screening device for entry into a general field
containing a wide variety of different jobs for the ob-
vious reason that written tests simply cannot accu-
rately measure the qualification of individuals for
widely divergent human activities. See, e.g., Griggs
v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424 (1971) (Wunderlic
Personnel Test); Armstead v. Starkville Municipal
Separate School District, 461 F.2d 276 (5th Cir.
1972) (Graduate Record Examination); Chance v.
Board of Examiners, 458 F.2d 1167 (2d Cir. 1972)
(National Teachers Test).

18 And, we would respectfully submit, law.

see aks POO PEE, CPI I MIG e LL eet, be PORTER ae SE TYP ee

24

Furthermore, the available evidence suggests that
the LSAT is not even a valid predictor of law school
grades. See, e.g., Goolsby, A Study of the Criteria for
Legal Education and Admission to the Bar, 20
Journal of Legal Education 175 (1967):

Research reports to date present overwhelming
evidence that tests used in the selection process
do not predict the criterion of grades at any prac-
tical level, including a report concerning LSAT
(Barbara Pitcher, 1965) published by Educa-
tional Testing Service.

The Court should note that the LSAT is designed
solely to predict first year law school grades, If sec-
ond and third year grades are taken into account, the
correlation is even below that reported by Goolsby.
Finally, the LSAT is not designed in any way to pre-
dict performance in clinical courses, which may be
more direetly related to actual performance within
the legal profession than grades-in.academic courses.

C. The Law School's minority admissions program was a reason-
able attempt to rectify the exclusionary effects of its entry
criteria.

We have demonstrated that if the Law School’s
minority admissions program had not existed its entry
criteria would have excluded all but one. or at most
two, black, Chicano, and Native American applicants.
Furthermore, we have demonstrated that the exclu-
sionary criteria are invalid since they do not measure
the ability of the applicant to practice law, or for

DRY ANN IM GaN EAPC ELINOR RY HHL RUIN LMS YELLIN SI ON AMEN 1 TUN ME HA aed mvt

PARA SS TO WHEY

25

that matter, the ability of the applicant to perform
in law school. In any case, it is clear that the record
does not demonstrate that the entry criteria are valid.

The Law School’s minority admissions program was
a reasonable attempt to neutralize the exclusionary
effect of the invalid entry criteria. Unlike a quota,
the minority admissions program did not establish an
inflexible percentage or number of minority appli-
cants to be admitted regardless of their qualifications.
The minority admissions program was a_ perfectly
proper attempt by the Law School to provide an
alternative method for locating qualified minority
applicants without being solely restricted to the dis-
criminatory and invalid entry criteria that had un-
justifiably excluded them in the past.

The evidentiary record indicates that approximately
twelve percent (eighteen out of one hundred and fifty)
of the enrollees at the Law School in 1971 were mi-
nority. This percentage is substantially less than the
percentage of minorities in the United States, i.e., ap-
proximately 16.3% not ineluding Asians. This fact
is particularly important in light of the explicit pol-
icy of the Law School to become a national law
school and to seek students throughout the United
States. Furthermore, the percentage of minorities ad-
mitted to the Law School reasonably reflects the mi-
nority percentage in the immediate Seattle area
(11.0% not including Asians) and in the Western
United States (15% for the states of Washington,
Oregon, California, Montana, and Idaho). These per-
centages clearly indicate that the Law School’s minor-

ew Lal A ld

—

ity admissions program only neutralized the discrim-
inatory effects of its entry system."*

It is important to note that the minority admissions
program does not result in the admission of unquali-
fied persons. On the contrary, it is based upon an
accurate perception by the Law School that the mechan-
ical entry criteria are not adequate measures of quali-
fications for minority persons. Indeed, as discussed
above, the entry criteria do not even validly measure
the qualifications of white applicants. This points
out a fundamental fallacy that reappears consistently
in the briefs submitted by petitioners and amici. They
argue that Marco DeFunis is more qualified than the
minorities who were invited to attend the Law School.
Yet, the contention that petitioner is more qualified
is primarily based upon the fact that he had a some-
what higher performance on the PFYA. Since the
PFYA is an invalid measure of qualifications, the
small difference in the PFYA scores simply does not
prove that he is more qualified.

I. LEGAL ANALYSIS: THERE ARE FOUR INDEPENDENT
REASONS WHY THE DECISION OF THE WASHINGTON 8U-
PREME COURT MUST BE AFFIRMED.

Petitioner’s request for relief must be denied for
four separate reasons. First, the relief requested by
petitioner would contravene the equal protection

14We believe that even if the Law School had enrolled a higher
percentage of minorities than presently reside in the western states,
this would have been a proper means of eradicating the effects of
its own past discrimination. In any case, it is not essential to reach
this issue here. '

a eaaemnnnennenmneneteeemeneeenennemeneenmennnnnnen tenement

27

clause and the Civil Rights Act of 1964 since, by re-
quiring a return to the former system of admissions,
it would give preference to white applicants, and al-
most totally exelude nonwhite applicants, solely on
the basis of entry criteria which are racially discrimi-
natory in effect and which are not justified by any
substantial state interest. Second, public agencies such
as the Law School have discretion to adopt programs
designed to neutralize the effects of agency policies
which have an adverse impact on racial minorities.
Third, the racial classification used by the Law School
should not evoke the presumption of unconstitution-
ality normally applied to racial classifications bur-
dening racial minorities; since the Law School has
shown that the minority admissions program is rea-
sonably related to a legitimate state purpose it should
be upheld. Fourth, even if the most rigorous stand-
ard of equal protection review were used to test this
program, it would be satisfied because the program
is justified by several overriding state interests.

are not justified by any substantial state interest.

The preceding section of this brief established, first,
that inflexible application of the Law School’s me-
chanical entry criteria would almost totally exclude
minorities from a legal education, and from the legal
profession, and second, that these mechanical criteria
are not validly related either to performance within

law school or the legal profession. Given these facts,
it is evident that petitioner has mischaracterized the
ease when he refers to it as a “minority preference
case.” To the contrary, it is precisely petitioner who
seeks to obtain an illegal preference when he asks this
Court to order the Law School to give him priority
over nonwhite applicants solely on the basis of invalid
and racially exclusionary entry criteria. The relief
that petitioner requests must be dcnied since it would
contravene (1) the equal protection clause as tradi-
tionally understood, (2) the equal protection clause
as interpreted in light of Griggs v. Duke Power Co.,
401 U.S. 424 (1971) and (3) Title VI of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000d, which this
Court recently relied upon in striking down educa-
tional policies which had a discriminatory effect on
minority groups. Lau v. Nichols, 42 USLW 4165
(Jan. 21, 1974).

1. The equal protection clause prohibits a public law school from using
entry criteria which disproportionately disqualify nonwhites in the
absence of a substantial or compelling justification.

Stated most charitably, this case involves the use
of facially neutral entry criteria which almost totally
exclude racial minorities. Numerous decisions of this
Court and lower courts hold that such exclusion vio-
lates the equal protection clause unless it is specifi-
cally shown to be justified by some substantial state
interest. See, e.g., Turner v. Fouche, 396 U.S. 346
(1970); Carter v. Jury Commission, 396 U.S. 220
(1970); Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145
(1965) ; Griffin v. School Board, 377 U.S. 218 (1964) ;

Hill v. Texas, 316 U.S. 400 (1942); Armstead v.
Starkville Municipal Separate School Dist., 461
F.2d 276 (5th Cir. 1972); Carmichael v. Craven, 457
F.2d 582 (9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 929
(1972); Labat v. Bennett, 365 F.2d 698 (5th Cir.
1966), cert. denied, 386 U.S. 991 (1967).*

Whenever a state classification has a substantially

adverse impact on minority races, at a minimum, the
state has the obligation to justify its action.

[Tjhe Board’s examinations have a significant
and substantial impact on black and Puerto Rican
applicants. That harsh racial impact, even if un-
intended, amounts to an invidious de facto classi-
fication that cannot be ignored or answered with
a shrug. At the very least, the Constitution
requires that state action spawning such a classi-
fication “be justified by legitimate state considera-
tions.” (citations omitted.) Chance v. Board of
Examiners, 458 F.2d 1157, 1175-76 (2d Cir. 1972).

Sec, e.g., Otero v. New York Housing Authority, 484
F.2d 1122 (2d Cir. 1973) ; Hawkins v. Town of Shaw,
437 F.2d 1286 (5th Cir. 1971); Norwalk CORE v.
Norwalk Redevelopment Agency, 395 F.2d 920 (2d
Cir. 1968) ; Larry P. v. Riles, 343 F. Supp. 1306 (N.D.
Cal. 1972); Hobson v. Hanson, 269 F. Supp. 401
(D.D.C. 1967), cert. dismissed, 393 U.S. 801 (1969).

This Court has explicitly stated that a finding of illegal racial
discrimination does not need to be based upon a prior finding of
intent or purpose to discriminate. See, ¢.g., Palmer v. Thompson,
403 U.S. 217, 225 (1971); Griffin v. School Board, supra; NAACP
v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963).

30

There has been no adequate showing of a legitimate
state interest justifying the entry criteria used in
this case.* On the contrary, as demonstrated in sec-
tion I. B supra of this brief, the college degree, the
college GPA, and LSAT scores do not validly predict
success in the legal profession or even, to any sub-
stantial degree, suecess in law school. These criteria
are only useful in that they have a mild correlation
to first year law school grades, Their use for this
extremely limited purpose cannot possibly justify the
exclusion of black, Chicanos and Native Americans
from legal education and entry into the legal profes-
sion.

Furthermore, there are at least three reasons why
this Court should subject the Law School’s use of
discriminatory entry criteria to particularly close
scrutiny and deny the relief requested in the absence of
a showing of an overriding need to continue their use.
First, respondents were aware of the impact of their
admissions criteria. At least some of the respondents

*®We believe that in this case the petitioner should have the
burden of proving the substantial state interest supporting the use
of the discriminatory entry criteria. In the norma! case of alleged
racial discrimination, the plaintiff seeks to enjoin the use of dis-
criminatory criteria, and the burden is upon the state to justify
its continued use of that criteria. However, in this case, petitioner
seeks to compel the Law School to use discriminatory criteria for
purposes of admitting him instead of nonwhite applicants. Since
the Law School opposes the exclusive use of those criteria, it would
make no sense to require the Law School to prove that the criteria
are supported by a substantial state interest.

Moreover, in this case, petitioner asserts that he is more qualified
than nonwhite applicants that have been admitted to the Law
School. Since petitioner is seeking to prove that he is more quali-
fed primarily on the basis of the entry criteria, he should have the
bu of proving that such criteria are valid measures of qualifi-
cation.

31

had first hand knowledge of the relative GPA’s,
LSAT scores and PFYA’s of the white and nonwhite
law school applicants. As professional academicians
and specialists in the screening of applicants, respond-
ents certainly know that college grade point averages
and scores on difficult symbolic-analytie written tests
are criteria which have a severely adverse effect on
nonwhite applicants.’ Respondents must be presumed
to have intended the obvious known results of their
behavior. Moreover, respondents could have discon-
tinued the use of these discriminatory criteria if they
wished. Thus, this is not a case involving wholly in-
nocent use of ciuosifications having a discriminatory
effect. The fact that respondents adopted an affirma-
tive action program to neutralize the discriminatory
effects of their entry system clearly shows that they
were indeed aware that discrimination was present in
the system’* Had respondents failed to do so, minor-

17The discriminatory effect of written tests of nearly all kinds
has been common knowledge within the academic community for
many years.

18Once respondents became aware that « Mtry system was
grossly discriminatory, they had only two yptions. First, they
could have discontinued the use of the discriminatory criteria. Sec-
ond, they could have adopted a minority admission program de-
signed to neutralize the discriminatory effects of the criteria (as
they, in fact, did in this case). If this Court now prohibits re-
spondents from following the second course of action, the result
will be that respondents—and other law schools throughout the
nation—will be forced to discontinue the use of educational re-
quirements, the GPA and the LSAT as screening i
Otherwise, the law schools would be subject to suit for using ex-
clusionary and invalid criteria. This would mean that law schools
would have to resort to wholly subjective entry criteria. Until
rational alternatives are available, the sensible and legally permis-
sible approach is to allow the law schools to continue using the
suspect criteria and to implement minority admission programs to
neutralize their discriminatory effect.

32

ity applicants could plausibly have challenged their
admissions program as purposefully discriminatory.

Second, this Court has repeatedly recognized that
when a classification results in a virtually complete
exclusion of minorities, close scrutiny is appropriate
and the state must come forward with some substan-
tial justification. Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475
(1954). In this case, virtually all blacks, Chicanos
and Native Americans would have been excluded and
an essentially segregated Law School would have re-
sulted if the discriminatory effect of the PFYA had
not been neutralized by the minority admissions pro-
gram.

Third, the right to nondiscriminatory entry into the
legal profession is a preferred right which this Court
is obliged to protect with extreme care. Cf. Turner v.
Fouche, 396 U.S. 346 (1970); Fortson v. Dorsey, 379
U.S. 433, 439 (1965) ; Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S.
339 (1960); NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963).
The fundamental concept which underlies the doctrine
of preferred position is that the courts have a special
obligation to prevent restrictions which interfere with
the free operation of the political process since, in a
democracy, it is the political process to which the
people must look for an adjustment of their griev-
ances. The preferred position doctrine applies, if any-
where, precisely in cases involving restrictions on the
access of minority racial groups to the political
process. United States v. Carolene Products, 304 U.S.
144, 152 n.4 (1938).

33

The relief requested by petitioner would drastically
restrict the access of minority groups to the legal
profession, which has historically maintained a domi-
nant position within the political process. Ever since
the Constitutional Convention, lawyers have domi-
nated the national legislature. For example, at the
present time, nearly seventy percent of the members
of the United States Senate and over fifty percent of
the members of the House of Representatives are
lawyers. “By virtue of their professional aptitudes
and natural interests, lawyers have been leaders in
government throughout the history of our country.”
In re Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717, 721 (1973).

Furthermore, the rights minority races achieve
through the political process will only be enforced if
there are attorneys willing to do so. This Court has
ruled that litigation brought to protect the civil rights
of minority groups is a mode of political expression
which deserves special protection because groups that
are unable to achieve their objectives through the
ballot frequently must turn to the courts. NAACP v.
Button, 371 U.S. 415, 429-30 (1973). Since litigation
may be the most practicable avenue open to a minor-
ity person to petition for redress of grievances, the
interest racial minorities have in equal opportunity
to enter law schools, and thus the legal profession,
should also deserve special judicial attention. Cf.
United Transportation Union v. State Bar, 401 U.S.
576, 585-86 (1971); United Mine Workers v. Illinois
Bar Association, 389 U.S. 217 (1967).

34

Spread throughout the record in this case and
throughout the legal literature is overwhelming evi-
dence that nonwhite races (particularly blacks) have
been excluded from the legal profession in drastic dis-
proportion to their numbers in the population. Thus,
although roughly eleven percent of the nation’s citi-
zens are black, approximately one percent of the
nation’s lawyers are black. [See discussion in §I1.(D),
infra.}| The exclusion of nonwhites from the
legal profession has contributed to the alienation of
minority groups from the political process. So serious
has the adverse effect been that the nation was forced
to suffer through a series of divisive race riots in the
1960’s before the scope of the problem could even be
perceived by the dominant political forces.

Petitioner asks this Court to rule that law schools
cannot undertake programs designed to rectify the
discriminatory effects of the entry criteria that they
have used and continue to use. If this request were
granted, it would sharply curtail the access of the
nonwhite races to the legal profession. For this rea-
son, such a request must be subjected to especially
close scrutiny in order to ensure that the preferred
right of nonwhite races to nondiscriminatory entry
- into the legal profession is not violated.

35

2. The equal protection clause, interpreted in light of Griggs v. Duke
Power Co., prohibits the creation of racially discriminatory bar-
riers to employment such as those involved in this case in the
absence of a showing that such barriers are job-related and justi-
fied by business necessity.

(a) The rule of Griggs v. Duke Power Co.: racially discriminatory
barriers to employment are illegal unless they are proved to be
job-related.

In 1971, this Court handed down one of the most
important decisions in the history of equal employ-
ment opportunity law, Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401
U.S. 424 (1971). This case established the funda-
mental rule that “barriers to employment” which are
racially discriminatory in their effect are prohibited
by Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C. § 2000e, unless they are “shown to bear a
demonstrable relationship to successful performance
of the jobs for which ... [they were] used.” Jd. at
431. As the Court stated, “If an employment practice
which operates to exclude Negroes cannot be shown
to be related to job performance, the practice is pro-
hibited.” Id.

Chief Justice Burger’s opinion indicates that the
Court’s holding was based on two basic perceptions
regarding the use of employment criteria. First, even
where they are “fair in form,” such criteria are fre-
quently “discriminatory in operation” and act as
“built-in head-winds” which prevent minority persons
from obtaining equal employment opportunity. Sec-
ond, many criteria which employers use to screen
applicants for employment are not job related: they
simply do not predict the applicant’s ability to per-

36

form the job in question. In such cases, the use of
the discriminatory criteria is not justified by any
“business necessity.”

Normally, in applying the rule of Griggs v. Duke
Power Co., the court must ask only two questions.
First, are the employment criteria racially discrimi-
natory in effect? Section I(A) supra of this brief
shows that in this case, the answer to this question
is yes, Second, are the employment criteria job-
related and justified by business necessity? Section
I(B) supra of this brief shows that in this case, the
criteria are wholly invalid and unjustified. Here,
however, there are two additional questions which
must be asked. First, does the Griggs test, which was
originally based upon Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, also apply by virtue of the equal pro-
tection clause to the creation of discriminatory em-
ployment barriers by state agencies? Second, is
admission te law school a barrier to employment with-
in the meaning of the Griggs test?

(b) The equal protection clause prohibits state agencies from en-
gaging in conduct which, if undertaken by private organizations,
would constitute employment discrimination in violation of
Griggs v. Duke Power Co.

In its initial form, Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964 did not apply to state and local govern-
mental agencies. Therefore, not long after Title VII
became effective, the question arose whether legal
standards developed in Title VII cases against pri-
vate employers also applied to employment discrimi-
nation cases against state agencies based upon the

RE ces acarll eae

37

equal protection clause and the Civil Rights Act of
1866, 42 U.S.C. 1981. The lower courts which have
considered this issue have concluded that Title VII
standards also apply to state agencies through the
equal protection clause. Thus, for example, the Sec-
ond Circuit, in affirming an injunction prohibiting the
use of a written examination for determining promo-
tions within the New York City School system, stated,
[O]nce discrimination has been found it would be
anomalous at best if a public employer could
stand back and require racial minorities to prove
that its employment tests were inadequate at a
time when this nation is demanding that private
employers in the same situation come forward
and affirmatively demonstrate the validity of such
tests. See Title VIT of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e; Griggs v. Duke Power
Co., 401 U.S. 424, 432, 91 S.Ct. 849, 28 L.Ed. 2d
158 (1971). The anomoly would only be empha-
sized by the recent passage of the Equal Employ-
ment Opportunity Act of 1972, which broadened
Title VII to include state and city public em-
ployers. Chance v. Bd. of Examiners, 458 F.2d
1167, 1176-77 (2d Cir. 1972).

For similar holdings, see, e.g., Baker v. Columbus
Municipal Separate School Dist., 462 F.2d 1112, 1114
(5th Cir. 1972); Armstead v. Starkville Municipal
Separate School Dist., 461 F.2d 276, 279 (5th Cir.
1972) ; Castro v. Beecher, 459 F.2d 725, 732-33 (1st
Cir. 1972); Carter v. Gallagher, 452 F.2d 327 (8th
Cir.), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 950 (1972). These cases
reflect the salutary principle that public agencies

38

should at least live up to the standards imposed on
private employers.

The proposition that ,ules developed under Title
VII apply in cases brought under the equal protection
clause is fully supported by a functional analysis of
the operative provisions of the two laws. Although
Title VII is a lengthy statute, its operative provision
reduces to a declaration that ‘‘it shall be an unlawful
employment practice for an employer .. . to discrimi-
nate against any individual with respect to his . . .
employment. . . .” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e. Similarly, the
equal protection clause prohibits the denial of ‘equal
protection of the laws”, a term which has been con-
strued to mean “racial discrimination” generally.
Thus, conduct which violates the general prohibition
of Title VII would, if carried out by a state agency,
violate the equal protection clause:

Although differing from the present case in the
respects that it was a decision under Title VII
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and that it con-
cerned intra-company assignment of employees
by a private employer, Griggs construed broad
statutory language proscribing classification of
employees: ‘‘in any way which would deprive or
tend to deprive any individual of employment
opportunities or otherwise adversely affect his
status as an employee, because of such individu-
al’s race . . . or national origin.” 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000e-2(a)(2). With substitution of *‘appli-
cants” for “‘employees” the quoted statutory lan-
guage not unfairly describes what we hold to be
the constitutional constraints on a public em-
ployer. We cannot conceive that the words of the

——————————————————————

39

Fourteenth Amendment, as it has been applied
in racial cases, demand anything less. Castro v.
Beecher, 459 F.2d 725, 733 (1st Cir. 1972).

Thus, like Title VII, the equal protection clause re-
quires the elimination of discriminatory devices that
foster racial stratification to the disadvantage of
minority citizens. McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green,
411 U.S. 792 (1973), citing with approval, Castro v.
Beecher, supra; Chance v. Board of Examiners, supra.

(c) Sinee the law school’s racially discriminatory entry criteria
function as barriers to employment in the legal profession, the
Griggs rule should be used to test their legality.

The central fact that. must be remembered is that
the Law School’s discriminatory entry criteria would
have prevented nonwhites from entering the legal pro-
fession. Thus, even though the law school is not tech-
nically an ‘‘employer” within the meaning of Title
VII, the case does involve discriminatory ‘‘barriers
to employment” within the meaning of Griggs v.
Duke Power Co. In fact, given the “preferred posi-
tion” of the right of insular racial minorities to non-
discriminatory access to the legal profession, we
would submit that the Griggs test must be strictly
applied to this case, and the racially discriminatory
entry criteria rejected, unless they are a necessary
rather than a mere rational method to select law
school applicants.

To treat this case other than as an employment
case would be to ignore the realities involved. The
basic function of law school is to prepare persons for

employment opportunities as discrimination by spe-
cific employers. See, ¢.g., United States v. Tronwork-
ers Local 86, 443 F.2d 544 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,
404 U.S. 984 (1971); Dobbins v. Local 212, IBEW,
292 F.Supp. 413 (8.D. Ohio 1968). Sce generally
Yeager, Litigation Under Title VII of The Civil
Rights Act of 1964, The Construction Industry and
The Problem of The “Unqualified” Minority Worker,
59 Geo.L.J. 1265, 1272-75 (1971). In other cases, the
courts have held that trade associations are employ-
ers for the purposes of Title VII because their in-
fluence over and responsibility for employment prac-
tices applying to the industry as a whole is greater
than any single employer. See, ¢.g., United States v.
Local 638, Enterprise Ass’n., 360 F. Supp. 979, 995
(S.D.N.Y. 1973) ; Williams v. New Orleans Steamship
Ass’n., 341 F. Supp. 613 (ED. La. 1972). The abso-
lute control law schools maintain over entry into the
legal profession makes the analogy to these eases com-
pelling.

Since there is simply no reason to treat this case
differently from standard employment cases, the
Griggs rule should control here. Applying that rule,

41

it is clear that the Law School’s discriminatory entry
criteria cannot be justified even under the normal

“*job-relation” standard, let alone the stricter stand-
ard applicable here: There is no showing of job-
relatedness in the trial record, and as the discussion
in I(B) supra demonstrates, the entry criteria are
clearly not job related. Therefore, petitioner is re-
questing this Court to enter an order requiring re-
spondents to take action which would directly violate
the equal protection clause as interpreted in light
of the Griggs case. Such a request must be rejected.

5. Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits the use of invalid
law school admissions criteria which are discriminatory in effect.
Petitioners have correctly recognized that “[t]}he
University of Washington is heavily funded by fed-
eral assistance of various kinds,” and is therefore
subject to the provisions of Title VI of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000d. [Petitioner's
Opening Brief, at 27.] The conclusion to be drawn
from this is not, however, that Petitioner was sub-
jected to racial discrimination prohibited by the
statute, To the contrary, the statute required the Law
School to take affirmative action to eliminate the dis-
criminatory effects of its previous admissions policies.

Section 601 of the Act bans discrimination on the
“ground of race, color, or national origin” in any
program or activity receiving federal financial as-
sistance.” 42 U.S.C. 62000d. Pursuant to the authority
granted in the statute, the Department of Health,
Education and Welfare promulgated non-discrimina-
tion regulations, which are set forth in 45 CFR $680

et seq. Acceptance of federal funds by the University
of Washington bound the University to comply with
the Act and HEW regulations. These regulations
state that a recipient “may not .. . utilize criteria or
methods of administration which have the effect of
subjecting individuals to discrimination” or have “the
effect of defeating or substantially impairing accom-
plishment of the objectives of the program as respect
individuals of a particular race, color, or national
origin.” 45 CFR 80.3(b) (2).*

As this Court recently acknowledged, the purpose
of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 was to
insure that federal funds would be spent in such a
manner as to aid in the elimination of the pervasive
effects of racial discrimination. The Act prohibits not
only deliberate discrimination, but also actions which
have the effect of discriminating against persons of
a particular race, color or national origin. Lau v.
Nichols, 42 USLW 4165, 4167 (Jan. 21, 1974).

The use of admissions criteria which are discrimina-
tory in effect is specifically prohibited with respect

1945 CFR 80.2(b) (2)

(2) A recipient, in the t of services, finan-
él a de abn ol hich w idee

.

eit
ih
i
‘
:

:

2fiie
af
)

2

f

i

i

3

to institutions of higher education. 45 CFR §§80.3
(b) (2), 804(d), 80.5(¢c).° The Law School used the
PFYA as the primary criterion in the admission of
students, and, as we have shown above, inflexible ap-
plieation of this standard would be severely discrimi-
natory in effect. Since inflexible application of the
Law School’s ordinary admissions standards would
have violated Title VI as interpreted by these regu-
lations, the Law School was required to take affirma-
tive action to neutralize the discriminatory effect of
its admissions criteria. Recent federal amendments to
the regulations confirm the Law School’s obligation
under Title VI to take neutralizing action. They
state that when a program is administered in such a
way as to discriminate against minorities, affirmative
steps must be taken to overcome the effects of prior

More specifically, § 80.3 of the new regulations
provides at (b)(1)(6)(i) that

2045 CFR §804(d):
) Amurances from

h education (including amistance for construction, for
f ean ), the ante Sapte ra een
shall extend to admiasion ’ y,

44

In administering a program regarding which
the recipient has previously discriminated against
persons on the ground of race, color, or national
origin, the recipient must take affirmative action
to overcome the effects of prior discrimination.”

38 Fed. Reg. 17979 (July 5, 1973)

The explanatory statements accompanying the
amendments indicate that this section was added to
clarify a recipient’s obligations under the Act. Section
80.3(b)(6) was added to require funded programs
to take affirmative steps to overcome the effects of
prior discrimination and to indicate that recipients
are not prohibited from taking affirmative action “to
overcome the effects of conditions which resulted in
limited program participation by persons of a par-
ticular race, color, or national origin,” 38 Fed. Reg.
17978 (July 5, 1973). The illustrative applications
also added to the regulations make it clear that af-
firmative action is clearly intended to mean that spe-
cial consideration will be given to minority applicants.
For instance, amended section 80.5(i) provides that it
may be necessary for a recipient to make “selections
which will insure that groups previously subjected to
discrimination are adequately served.” 38 Fed. Reg.
at 17980-81. Section 80.5(j) provides that even if a
recipient has never used discriminatory policies, it

21The second section of 80.3(b) (6) states that a recipient of fed-
eral funds “may take affirmative action to overcome the effects of
conditions which resulted in limiting participation by persons of a
particular race, color, or national origin . . .” even if it has not
engaged in prior discrimination.

45

“may properly give special consideration to race,
color, or national origin to make the benefits of its
program more widely available to such groups, not
then being adequately served.” 38 Fed. Reg. at 17981.

Since Title VI, as implemented by federal regula-
tions, required the University to take affirmative
action to remedy the discriminatory effects of its
admissions policy, it is irrelevant that there was no
judicial finding that its prior admissions policies were
illegally discriminatory. The regulations specify that
the Act bars unjustified exclusion of minorities from
institutions of higher education even when the dis-
criminatory impact is unintended.

This Court recently held that discrimination in
effect burdening national origin minority children
violates Title VI. Law v. Nichols, 42 USLW at 4167.
Lau dealt with a policy, nondiscriminatory on its face,
that discriminated in practice against Asian children.
Similarly, in the instant case, the Law School’s for-
mer admissions criteria, while purporting to treat all
applicants alike, seriously discriminated against mi-
nority applicants. Just as this Court required the
school system to take neutralizing action in Lau to
overcome the language barrier, so here the neutral-
izing action taken by the Law School—the special
admissions program—must be upheld. The regula-
tions implementing Title VI contain explicit direc-
tives defining affirmative steps recipients should vol-
untarily undertake to prevent illegal discrimination
and rectify the effects of past discrimination. The
Law School has taken such steps. This Court should

46

thus defer to HEW’s construction of the statute on
this point,”* and uphold the Law School’s policies.

In this case, it would be particularly anomalous to
hold that affirmative action taken by the University
of Washington Law School is unjustified. The Law
School’s admissions process is governed directly by
Title VI and indirectly by the rule in Griggs v. Duke
Power Co. Both Title VI and Title VII as construed
by the courts and administrative agencies include
strong prohibitions on unexplained de facto discrimi-
nations against minority groups. In Griggs and Lau,
this Court upheld this construction of these two stat-
utes. Both statutes also include potent affirmative ac-
tion requirements which can be imposed by a court or
administrative agency in default of voluntary efforts
at affirmative action. These provisions have also been
upheld. [See cases cited in section II(B) infra.] Since
the fundamental premise of both statutes is the en-
couragement of voluntary compliance, this Court
should uphold the Law School’s minority admissions
policy as a valid attempt to comply with its legal
obligations,

22This Court has consistently given great deference to the inter-
Pee ee ee ie ae an ae its
ration. Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 433-34
(1971); Udall v. Talman, 380 US. 1, 16 (1965). The validity of
an administrative regulation will be upheld if it is reasonably re-
lated to the purpose of the enabling legislation. Here, as in Lau
v. Nichols, the applicable enabling legislation is section 601 of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964. It should be noted that these interpreta-
tive regulations are uniform rules which have been adopted by
every federal agency which extends federal financial assistance.

47

B. The Law School’s use of the minority admissions program to
remedy the discriminatory effects of its entry criteria was
@ constitutionally permissible exercise of its discretion.

1. Racial classifications can be used to remedy past and present racial
discrimination.

In repeatedly characterizing this case as a minority
preference case, petiiioner totally overlooks the fact
that the so-called ‘‘special privilege” involved here is
nothing more than a neutralizing of the racially dis-
criminatory effect of entry criteria which in the past
caused an almost complete segregation of the Law
School, and which would still do so without the mi-
nority admissions program. There are literally hun-
dreds of cases which support the proposition that
racial classifications can be used in order to provide
a remedy for prior and continuing discrimination
burdening minority groups.2* Since this case involves
the use of a racial classification by a public agency,
we will limit our citations to cases in which public
agencies were ordered to use racial classifications to
remedy the effects of their past and present discrimi-
nation. See, e.g., Carter v. Gallagher, 452 F.2d 327
(8th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 406:°U.8. 950
(1972); Castro v. Beecher, 459 F.2d 727 (1st Cir.
1972); Pennsylvania v. O’Netll, 348 F. Supp. 1084
(E.D. Pa. 1972), modified en banc, 473 F.2d 1029 (3d
Cir. 1973) ; Bridgeport Guardians v. Bridgeport Civil
Service Commission, 482 F.2d 1333 (2d Cir. 1973);
Vulcan Society v. Civil Service Commission, 6 E.P.D.

23The courts have, in fact, held that racial classifications may be
mandatory if necessary to prevent racial discrimination. See, ¢.g.,
Norwalk CORE v. Norwalk Redevelopment Agency, 395 F.2d 920
(2d Cir. 1968).

48

1 8974 (2d Cir. 1973); Coffey v. Braddy, No. 71-44-
Civ.-J (M.D. Fla., August 12, 1971); NAACP v.
Allen, 340 F. Supp. 703 (M.D. Ala. 1972); Hogue v.
Bach, No. C-3693 (D. Colo. 1972); Shield Club v.
City of Cleveland, 5 E.P.D. 1 8406 (N.D. Ohio 1972) ;
Pennsylvania v. Sebastian, No. 72-987 (W.D. Pa.,
Nov. 20, 1972), aff’d by order (3d Cir., June 7, 1973) ;
Davis v. County of Los Angeles, 73-63-WPG (C.D.
Cal, July 20, 1973) ; Erie Human Relations Commis-
sion v. Tullio, 360 F. Supp. 628 (W.D. Pa. 1973) ;
Arnold v. Ballard, 6 E.P.D. 1 8675 (N.D. Ohio 1973) ;
NAACP v, Civil Service Commission of Sam Fran-
cisco, 6 E.P.D. 1 8956 (N.D. Cal. 1973); Western
Addition Community Organization v. Altoto, 6 E.P.D.
1 8959 (N.D. Cal. 1973).

The implicit rationale of these cases is that racial
classifications which are used to rectify racial dis-
crimination and achieve equality are obviously not
denials of ‘the equal protection of the laws. In each
of these cases the court imposed a hiring ratio es-
tablishing minimum percentages for the employment
of minority applicants. Every case acknowledged that
such a remedy would impose short-term burdens on
some competing whites, and that applicants from
specific minority groups would be given special con-
sideration. Nevertheless, this special consideration
given to minority aspirants did not transgress the
rights of competing whites to equal protection of the
laws.

49

2. Public agencies may take reasonable actions to recitfy their own
discriminatory practices without s judicial finding of illegal dis-
crimination.

Although in most instances the remedies imposed
in the above cited cases were ordered after a judicial
finding of illegal discrimination, the law does not
restrict the use of remedial racial classifications to
situations where such findings have been made. In
Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education,
402 U.S. 1 (1971) this Court stated that, although the
judicial power to remedy the effects of discrimination
rests on a finding of statutory or constitutional vio-
lation, other government agencies have the authority
to take affirmative action to remedy the effects of
state policies that are discriminatory in fact, even
in the absence of a:specific finding of prior racial
discrimination. As the Court put it:

School authorities are traditionally charged
with broad power to formulate and implement
education policy and might well conclude for
example, that in order to prepare students to live
in a pluralistic society each school should have a
prescribed ratio of Negro to white students re-
flecting the proportion for the district as a whole.
To do this as an educational policy is within
the broad discretionary powers of school authori-
ties; ... 402 U.S. at 16.

Consistent with Swann, the court in Associated
General Contractors of Massachusetts, Inc. v. ‘Alt-
shuler, 6 E.P.D, 18993 (1st Cir., November 30, 1973)
recently upheld a voluntarily adopted affirmative
action program, stating that:

50

[P]ublic authorities have a broader discretionary
power to remedy past discrimination than that
of the judicial branch. Jd. at 13.

The statements by the courts in Swann and Altshuler
confirm the fundamental legal principle that public
agencies have constitutional authority to enact affirma-
tive policies that will ensure equal treatment, even
though there may be no prior finding of illegal dis-
crimination. Cf. Katzenbach v. Morgan, 384 U.S. 641,
653 (1966). See also, Jones v. Alfred H. Mayer Co.,
392 U.S. 409 (1968).

Further support for this fundamental principle can
be found in two other lines of cases. The first is a
series of cases upholding affirmative action programs
adopted by federal and state agencies. The second is
the enormous body of Title VII and equal protec-
tion clause cases in which consent agreements have
been approved by district courts in the absence of
specific findings concerning discrimination.

In a series of cases the courts have upheld affir-
mative action plans that set hiring goals or ratios
for minority tradesmen in state or federally financed
construction projects. Although these plans require
that contractors give special consideration to minority
groups when making hiring decisions, they have been
consistently upheld against challenges on equal pro-
tection grounds. None of the plans was predicated
on a specific finding of past illegal discrimination by
contractors.** Each plan was designed to rectify the

24While each of these plans was adopted after an administrative

_ finding that minority tradesmen were significantly underrepresented
on construction projects, such a finding was no more than what was

51

racial imbalance then existing on construction projects,
and the reviewing courts recognized that this interest
was sufficiently important to justify the “color con-
scious” solution. For instance, in Associated General
Contractors of Massachusetts, Inc. v. Altshuler, 6
E.P.D. 18993 (1st Cir. Noy. 30, 1973), the court said:

It is by now well understood .. . that our
society cannot be completely colorblind in the
short term if we are to have a colorblind society
in the long term. After centuries of viewing
through colored lenses, eyes do not quickly adjust
when the lenses are removed. Discrimination has
a way of perpetuating itself, albeit unintention-
ally, because the resulting inequities make new
opportunities less accessible. Id. at 11.

See, Contractor’s Association of Eastern Pennsylvania
v. Secretary of Labor, 442 F.2d 159, 173 (3d Cir.)
cert. denied, 404 U.S. 854 (1971); Southern Illinois
Builders Association v. Ogilvie, 327 F. Supp. 1154
(S.D. Ill. 1971) aff’d 471 F.2d 680, 684 (7th Cir.
1972); Joyce v. McCrame, 320 F. Supp. 1284 (D.
N.J. 1970); Weimer v. Cuyohoga Community College
District, 19 Ohio 2d 35, 249 N.E.2d 907, 908 (1969),
cert. dented, 396 U.S. 1004 (1970). Cf. Brooks v. Beto,
366 F.2d 1 (5th Cir. 1966); Porcelli v. Titus, 431
F.2d 1254 (3d Cir. 1970).

Each of these cases is materially indistinguishable
from the present action. The Law School has recog-
nized the crucial need to alleviate the underrepresen-

patently obvious to the University of Washington Law School, ice.,
the almost total exclusion of racial minorities from its own student
body as well as from the legal profession.

52

tation of minority lawyers in the legal profession and
to neutralize the exclusionary effects of its traditional
admissions criteria. It responded appropriately. The
Law School modified its admissions policies in an
attempt to remedy these evils.

A further indication that public agencies may
rectify their discriminatory practices without a ju-
dicial finding of illegal discrimination can be found
in the judicial approval of consent agreements which
require an employer to use racial hiring ratios to
eliminate the effects of discrimination. See, e.g., Penn.
v. Stumph, O©-69-239-06JCL (N.D. Cal., Dee. 20,
1973) ; Emeryville Citizens for Better Government v.
Neary, C-71-940 CBR (N.D. Cal., Oct. 26, 1973);
NAACP v. Imperial County Irrigation District, No.
60-302-GT (S8.D. Cal. 1972) ; Martinez v. Grand Rapids
Cwil Service Board, No. G-178-72, 6 Clr. Hs. Rev.
685 (W.D. Mich., Jan. 22, 1973); United States v.
Operating Engineers, Local 3, C-71-1277 RFP (N.D.
Cal. 1973).

In each of these cases, most of which involved
public agencies, the parties consented to hiring ratios
without any judicial finding that the employer’s hiring
policies were in fact illegally discriminatory. Evi-
dence that the challenged hiring procedures seriously
disadvantaged minority applicants was deemed suf-
ficient to justify judicial approval. Likewise, in the
present action, the severe disadvantage caused to
minority applicants by the Law School’s entry criteria
should justify its adoption of a program designed to
rectify that disadvantage.

rectify their discriminatory practices would be a decision to per-
Petuate such practices,

The importance of preserving and encouraging the
authority of public agencies to remedy present and
past discrimination cannot be overemphasized. For
decades, the Executive Branch has attempted to
eliminate racial discrimination in employment through
affirmative action requirements in its federal con-
tracts. See, e.g., Executive Order 11246. More recently,
affirmative action programs ha. been adopted by
federal, state, and local agencies throughout the
country to remedy the effect of racial discrimination
in employment, admissions to schools, housing, the
distribution of teachers and students within schools,
and many other areas, The discretion of these agencies
to adopt and implement such programs must be
encouraged if equal treatment for racial minorities
in our society is ever to become a reality. Restriction
of this discretion would not only slow progress in
civil rights to a snail’s pace, but would in fact result
in the perpetuation of past discrimination.

A further effect of restricting the discretion of
publie agencies would be to impose an enormous
burden on the already overburdened judicial system.
It would result in the bringing of a large number of
lawsuits which are wholly unnecessary since many
agencies are willing to rectify their own discrimina-
tory practices without a court order. Moreover, those
agencies which are willing to take affirmative action
to rectify the effects of their diseriminatory practices
are better equipped than the courts to determine the

specific causes of the discrimination and the best
means to compensate for it. This is the reason courts
ordinarily grant substantial deference to the judgment
of the executive and legislative branches. We suggest
that such deference is fully appropriate here.

The Constitution mandates equal protection, not
color blindness. Measures, such as those adopted by
the Law School, which seek to promote, rather than
to deny equal treatment, should not be deemed il-
legally discriminatory. Fruend, Constitutional Dilem-
mas, 4 B.U.L. Rev. 13, 20 (1965). As shown above
§§B(2),(3) supra, Congress, in both Title VI and Title
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, has condemned
unexplained and unjustified discriminations burden-
ing racial minorities. These statutes also express a
strong Congressional commitment to the principle of
voluntary compliance and the necessity for affirma-
tive action aimed at eliminating the effects of past
and present discrimination. This Court has given ex-
traordinary deference to Congress’ judgment about
the need to enact such measures in order to secure
equal protection. Cf. Katzenbach v. Morgan, 384 US.
641 (1966). See also United States v. Guest, 383 US.
745 (1966); Heart of Atlanta Motel v. United States,
379 U.S. 241 (1964). Thus, Congress retains broad
authority to enact laws designed to correct conditions
perceived to involve a denial of equality or other
fourteenth amendment rights; the Court defers to the
presumed need for a remedy, without requiring a
showing of actual discrimination. By the same token,
state agencies should retain authority to preseribe
remedies to implement the guarantees of the four-

In the foregoing portions of this brief, we have
demonstrated (1) that it is wholly incorrect to

granting of a preference since it is used solely to
remedy the adverse impact of the Law School's entry
criteria on nonwhites. In this section of the brief we
will assume solely for purposes of argunieot that the
Law School's minority admissions program does grant
a “preference” to nonwhites and therefore involves
a discrimination burdening some whites, and w¢ will
show that, even if this were so, it would be fully
constitutional. The fundamental proposition oft which
this argument rests is that the racial classification in
this case is not the type of suspect racial classification
to which the presumption of unconstitutionality ap-
plies. Consequently, the Court should not require the
Law School to demonstrate that the admissions
program is necessary to achieve a compelling state
interest, Rather, a less strict standard of review is
appropriate, Sinee the minority admissions program
is a rational means to achieve a legitimate state
interest, it is wholly legal.

This Court has traditionally applied a strong pre-
sumption of unconstitutionality to classifications that
are challenged as discriminating against, excluding,
stigmatizing or otherwise burdening certain groups
that need special judicial protection. See, ¢.g., Mec-
Laughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184, 192 (1964); Boll-
ing v. Sharpe, 2%AT US. 497, 499 (1954). This
presumption is founded upon the indisputable prem-
ise that racial classifications have been used in the
past mainly to the detriment of minority groups
that have been victimized by state sanctioned dis-
crimination and relegated to a position of political
impotence. Were it not for the extraordinary pro-
tection afforded by the judiciary through the pre-
sumption of unconstitutionality ordinarily applied to
racial classifications, these groups would have no
possible way to redress their legitimate grievances.
When, however, the complaint is that whites are
burdened by government action which makes racial
distinctions in order to ameliorate burdens suffered
by members of a minority race, the traditional
rationale for stringent review does not apply. For
the reasons discussed below, the presumption of un-
constitutionality is unwarranted in this case.

1. ‘The minority admissions program does not burden s minority group
traditionally subjected to private and public discrimination.

The major purpose of the fourteenth amendment
was to safeguard blacks against discriminatory state
laws. Palmer v. Thompson, 403 US. 217 (1971);
Strauder v. West Virginia, 100 U.S. 303 (1880);

Slaughter-House Cases, 3 US. 26 (1873). Consistent
with this purpose, a basic function of the presump-
tion of unconstitutionality has been to protect groups
that have historically been victims of private preju-
against them. Cf. Hernandez v. Texas, 347 U.S. 475,
478 (1954). Racial classifications, when they have
been used, all too often have reflected historie preju-
dices, rather than legislative rationality. Their
purpose has virtually always been the preservation
of white supremacy and the subjugation of minority
groups into an inferior civil status. Their effect has
virtually always been to stigmatize and degrade the
minority group. Thus, the judiciary, as the guardian
of individual rights, has closely scrutinized racial
classifications.

This heightened judicial sensitivity has been par-
ticularly necessary because invidious racial classifica-
tions have so often been facially neutral: much racial
legislation has been ostensibly evenhanded, but on
closer view, has stigmatized, subjugated, and damaged
only the minority group. See, ¢.g., Wright v. Council
of the City of Emporia, 407 US. 451, 461 (1972);
McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184 (1964) ; Loving
v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967); Brown v. Board of
Education, 3A7 U.S. 483, 494 (1954). Because even
supposedly neutral racial classifications used by the
state frequently invidiously discriminate against
minority groups, the Court has properly shifted to
the state the burden of justifying the use of these
classifications.

The white majority, however, does not need this
protection. It has not been subjected to historic dis-
crimination or victimized by private prejudice. Af-
firmative action programs such as the Law School’s
minority admissions policy obviously do not stem
from racial antipathy, and their purpose is not to
oppress any racial group. Furthermore, such special
consideration given minority applicants does not com-
pound the burdens imposed by the historical legacy
of slavery, segregation and discrimination. This is
not a classification that seizes on a group that has
historically suffered discrimination and which relies
on this past discrimination as an excuse for heaping
on additional disadvantages. Instead it seeks to al-
leviate these burdens. Cf. Gruenwald v. Gardner, 309
F.2d 591 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 982 (1968).

2. The minority admissions program does not burden politically pow-
erless insular minorities.

Another function of strict equal protection review
has been to protect politically weak minority groups
from class distinctions directed against them through
the majoritarian political system. Recently, the Court
noted that one of the traditional indicia of suspectness
is that the class is “relegated to such a position of
political powerlessness as to command extraordinary
protection from the majoritarian political process”
San Antonio School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S.
1, 28 (1973). Potential abuse of the legislative process
by the majority has been a crucial factor that has
invited close judicial serutiny of legislation that may
discriminate against “discrete and insular” minorities

which are relatively powerless to protect their in-
terests by resort to the political branches, Graham v.
Richardson, 408 U.S. 365, 372 (1971).

Discrimination burdening insular minorities will
not evoke the political response that the majority can
rely upon to protect its interests from invidious
legislation. United States v. Carolene Products, 304
US. 144, 153 at n4 (1938). Further, when a
minority group complains that it is peculiarly
damaged by certain legislation, the judiciary must
listen closely because the minority did not have a
hand in making the decisions involved. Indeed, a
foundation for the illegality of segregation laws is
that they are imposed on “the group that is not
dominant politically, and therefore, does not make
the choice involved.” Wechsler, Toward Neutral Prin-
ciples of Constitutional Law, 73 Harv. L. Rev. 1, 33
(1959). Often, therefore, the judicial branch has of-
fered minority groups their only hope for redressing
their legitimate grievances,

Thus, this Court has found that heightened judicial
solicitude is appropriate when reviewing legislation
affecting aliens, who are unable to vote [Graham v.
Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 (1971)], blacks, who have
historically been excluded from the political process
[Nizon v. Herndon, 273 U.S. 536 (1927); Gaston
County v. United States, 395 U.S. 295 (1966) ], and
women, who face pervasive discrimination in the
political arena, [Frontiero y. Richardson, 411 U.S.
677, 685 n.17 (1973) (plurality) ]. Consequently, when
the political or administrative process has oppressed

protected minority groups, denied them equal treat-
ment, or ignored their needs, the judiciary has taken
an active role in safeguarding the minority from the
depredations of tae majority, Hunter v. Erickson, 393
U.S. 389 (1969). In contrast, the deference the Court
affords most economic and social regulatory legisla-
tion is largely attributable to the simple fact that the
interest groups that are burdened have “more than
enough power to protect themselves in the legislative
halls.” Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 520
(1970) (dissenting opinion).

As Justice Powell put it in a recent case in which
the Court refused to extend further the concept of
suspect classes :

The system of alleged discrimination and the
class it defines have none of the traditional in-
dicia of suspectness: the class is not saddled with
such disabilities, or subjected to such a history
of purposeful unequal treatment, or relegated to
such a position of political powerlessness as to
command extraordinary protection from the
majoritarian political process. San Antonio
School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 28
(1973).

Thus, when racial classifications are used amelio-
ratively to rectify the effects of discrimination, as
in the present case, the rationale for extraordinary
judicial protection is inapplicable. The white majority
has much less need for an alert judiciary that will
guard it from invidious official action. The majority
no more needs judicial protection from a law school
admissions program assisting minority groups than

61

it needs to be protected from a special admissions
program for foreign students, military veterans, the
poor or the physically handicapped.**

As the Court stated in Hunter v. Erickson, in
striking down an ordinance requiring iserimi
tion laws to be approved by referendum, “the reality
is that the law’s impact falls on the minority. The
majority needs no protection against discrimination,
and if it did, a referendum might be bothersome, but
no more than that.” 393 U.S. 389, 391 (1969). The
majority can, any time it feels that a governmental
affirmative action program involves sacrifices it is
unwilling to undertake, resort to the political process
to obtain a remedy.

3. The minority admissions program cannot be presumed to stigmatize
racial minorities.

Petitioner and several amici have argued that the
Law School’s minority admissions program will stig-

*1The only element the challenged racial classification has in com-
mon with the classifications this Court has found presumptively
unconstitutional is that an immutable trait, race, is the basis of
the classification. However, this Court has never ruled that classifi-

vely unconstitu-

tional. See, ¢.g.,Labine v. Vincent, 401 U.S. 532 (1971); Levy v.
Louisiana, 391 U.S.°69 (1968). Moreover, in this instance race is
necessary, method of classification.

Cf. Swann v. Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education, 402 U.S.

is being used only as an effective measure to ameliorate diserimina-
tion in this ease, there is no reason to presume that the classification
is arbitrary and unreasonable,

62

matize minority students. In a fortunately bygone
era, this Court described the white perception oi
blacks as: “... . beings of an inferior order, and al-
together unfit to associate with the white race, either
in social or political relations, and so far inferior
that they had no rights which the white man was
bound to respect . . . a stigma of deepest degradation
was fixed upon the whole race.” Scott v. Sanford 60
U.S. 393 (1857).

In the day of Dred Scott the races were kept
separate because blacks were considered “beings of an
inferior order” and not fit to associate with the white
race. The petitioner now stands the stigma rationale
on its head and implies that the integration of what
would otherwise be a virtually segregated law school
through a minority admissions program will stigma-
tize black law students and lawyers with a stamp of
inferiority. Minority students should not be fore-
closed from a legal education simply because of the
possibility that some whites might misunderstand the
reasons for, and functions of, a minority admissions
program.” A belief that minority lawyers are stigma-
tized solely because they are minorities and may have
attended law school under the minority admissions
program can only stem from racial prejudice which

26The assumption that students admitted through the minority
admissions program are unqualified is totally erroneous. The Law
School accepted no unqualified minority applicants; only those ap-
plicants “whose records indicated that they were capable of suc-
cessfully completing the Law School program” were admitted. Any
suspicion someone might harbor that these students are unqualified
will quickly be di ed since by the time these minority students
are admitted to practice, they will have successfully completed the
same curriculum as their white colleagues.

7

this Court should not condone. Traditionally law
schools have had special admiasions programs which
give special consideration to veterans, the physically
handicapped, and persons from various geographical
areas. Not only have these students not been stigma-
tized, they have not been distinguished in any mamner
from the student body at large. If minority students
are perceived any differently, racial prejudice can be
the only explanation. The realistic view is that minor-
ity races would be stigmatized even more if there
were only a few minority students allowed in law
schools, and if there continue to be few minority
lawyers.

Moreover, if the image conveyed by a minority ad-
missions program is a social and psychological burden,
it burdens minority students, not whites. As the
potential victims of this burden, members of these
groups are best able to evaluate the risks and decide
whether they are willing to assume them. The notion
that minority law students and lawyers will be bur-
dened by a minority admissions policy is especially
ironic when one considers that special: admissions
programs, which now exist in law schools throughout
the country, in most cases were established and sur-
vive with strong support from minority students and
the minority bar.

Since there is little danger that state policy seeking
to assist minority groups will become oppressive and
invidious if the judiciary does not closely safe-
guard the rights of the majority, there is no reason
for adhering to the presumption of unconstitutional-

a pee —

64

ity traditionally applied in other cases involving
racial classifications. Of course, this does not mean
the total abandonment of judicial review in cases such
as this. It only means that the Court should not re-
quire the Law School to demonstrate that its minority
admissions program is necessary to the achievement
of a compelling state interest. Under the applicable
standard of review, the rational basis test, it is clear
that the minority admissions program is constitu-
tionally permissible. See Sec. I(C), supra. Indeed,
as the following discussion will establish, the minority
admissions program is supported by a compelling
state interest.

D. Even if a compelling state interest is the standard by which
the University’s actions are to be measured, the University
had such an interest.

Even if this Court should reject each of the argu-
ments presented in the foregoing sections of this
brief, and characterize the racial classification in this
case as suspect, we would contend that the Law
School’s admissions program is justified by a compel-
ling state interest.** Indeed, the admissions policy is
justified by probably the single most important domes-
tic interest: the need to establish and maintain racial
harmony among the people of the United States.
During the 1960’s racial tension throughout the nation

26We recognize that this Court may in this case apply a standard
of review less stringent than the compelling state interest test, yet
require a stronger showing of the rationality of the classification
and the strength of the interest served than is ordinarily demanded
by the rational basis test. However, we will show that the Law
School’s admissions policy passes muster under the compelling State
interest analysis, as well as any less rigorous standard of review.

exploded into prominence as the single most danger-
ous, destructive and intractable domestic problem
facing this nation. The Law School’s minority ad-
missions program represents an attempt to respond
to this fundamental issue.

In civilized nations governments are established
in large part to secure the peaceful resolution of
clashes between conflicting individuals and interest
groups. The legal system, in particular, is assigned
the fundamental task of ensuring that conflicts are
resolved in a peaceful manner. When entire racial
groups are systematically excluded from pusitions
within the legal system, the result is easy to predict.
The excluded group will feel alienated from the
system, and its legitimacy decreased in their eyes.
They will perceive that the system suppresses them,
and responds fairly only to the dominant racial group.
Bell, Racism in American Courts, Cause for Black
Disruption or Despair? 61 Calif. L. Rev. 165, 174-84
(1973). Ultimately, this diminution of perceived
legitimacy can only result in resort to direct action
by excluded groups outside the legal and political
system to secure a forum for their demands and con-
cerns.

At this time in history, it seems particularly ironic
to argue before this Court that the State of Washing-
ton does not. have a compelling interest in the de-
velopment of programs designed to overcome the
exclusion of the nonwhite races from the legal
profession. The interests involved are precisely the
most fundamental interests of all state and local

66

governments. Individuals may differ about the specific
steps that should be taken in the pursuit of these
fundamental and compelling governmental interests,
but it takes a substantial degree of blindness to argue
that the interest does not exist.

Of course, judicial review of suspect classifications
is not exhausted by a showing of a compelling need
for some governmental action. It must also be shown
that the classification is a rational means to achieve
that interest, and does not impose unnecessary
burdens. Even within these strict limits, however, the
state’s action in this case is constitutional, since there
is no alternative available to the state for integrating
the legal profession other than by ensuring that
minorities are trained for the profession at the state
law schools. Thus, even if the racial classification
involved in this case is reviewed under this Court’s
most stringent standard, the minority admissions
program still meets this test. This was the finding of
the Washington Supreme Court, and it is wholly
correct.

Petitioner has taken the position that the Supreme
Court of the State of Washington was in error in
characterizing the need for additional minority law
students and, ultimately, attorneys, as a compelling
state interest. He has incorrectly characterized the
Law School’s interest in increasing the number of
minority lawyers as stemming primarily from the
belief that minority lawyers provide better representa-
tion for minority clients. Phrased this way, peti-
tioner’s view of the problem is too narrow. In

67

many individual lawyer-client relationships the race
- of the lawyer is undoubtedly irrelevant, but it can
hardly be disputed that the rights of minority groups
will be better protected if there are more minority
attorneys. This is especially true in those situations
in which racial discrimination is involved, or in cases
in which it might be unpopular for white attorneys
to represent minority clients.

The national need for minority lawyers goes far
beyond whatever need minority clients have to be
represented by attorneys of their own race. It is the
sine qua non, extensively documented by the Kerner
Commiss’on in 1968 [Report of the National Advisory
Commission on Civil Disorders 283-88], of full inte-
gration at every level of society, because it concerns
access to positions of political and economic power

where policy-making and the decisional process affect.

the lives of all citizens. Those cases that have come
before the Court in the areas of school desegregation,
employment and public accommodations, as well as
the extensive civil rights legislation of the last ten
years, have all been directed toward bringing about a
fully integrated society. Other cases involving reap-
poitionment, voting rights and jury selection have
been recognized by the Court as affecting the ability
of minorities to obtain a fair parity of political and
economic power in our society.

As we have argued earlier, the legal profession
plays a critical role in the public and private policy-
making sectors of our society. See §II(A)(1),
supra. Yet, minorities are vastly underrepresented

in these sectors. Among the nation’s approximately
300,000 lawyers, roughly 4,000—less than 11% pereent
—are black. There are only 16 blacks in the House of
Representatives and one in the Senate. Significantly,
over 40 percent of these black legislators are lawyers.
On the basis of evidence such as that provided by
the record in this case relating to the University of
Washington Law School’s past admissions’ practices,
without a minority admissions program racial minori-
ties may never be fully integrated into the legal
profession or the major policy-making positions in
The Supreme Court of the State of Washington
found that there were compelling educational reasons
for having a racially integrated law school student
body. The University recognized, as has this Court,
that an all white le » school damages not only minori-
ties, it also harms white students who are deprived
of the benefits of a racially integrated learning ex-
perience. Cf. Trafficante v. Metropolitan Life In-
surance Co., 409 U.S. 205 (1972). This Court recog-
nized the educational benefits of a racially intevrated
law sehool in Sweatt v. Painter, 339 U.S. 629 (1950)
in which the Court, said:
The law school, the ing, ground for legal
learning and practice, cannot be effective in isola-
tion from the individuals and institutions with
which the law interacts. Few students, and no one
who has practiced law, could choose to study in
an academie vacuum, removed from the interplay
of ideas and the exchange of views with which
the law is concerned. Id. at 634A.

Racial isolation in law school can only buttress racial
prejudices and stereotypes which will be carried over
into professional life. The legal profession can little
afford lawyers who have been isolated from other
races, other cultures, and other ideas.

CONCLUSION
For the reasons set out above, as well as those
stated by the Respondents and other amici in support
of their position, the decision below should be affirmed.

January 29, 1974.

Respectfully submitted,
OCuirrosp Sweet
Roorr A. Cray, Jn.
Russet, W. Gattoway, Jn.
Sreruen Koerxa

Sreruen Rowretwr
Legal Aid Society of Alemeds County

Natuante. R. Jones
Generel Counsel
Wu D. Weis
Cuances Canter
James Merenson

Gronce Hamesron
Assn iete Counsel
Netonel Assocation bor the
Advememart A olved People

Micuas. H. Teany
Davip A. W exerer
Atlante Legal Aid Society, inc.
Hanoi 1, Goooman
Bauce E. Expy
Laurence M. Lavin
Community Legal Service, Inc.
Josernu A. Matena

C. Cuuwsrorner Brown
Legal Aid Bureas, Inc.

©. Lrowe. Jones
Eowagrp R.Srear, Jn.
Legal Aid Society of Cleveland
Aas W. Hovseeman
Michigan Legal Service Assstance Program
Dennis R. Yeaorn
E. Ricnarp Larson
Notional Employment Lew Project
Attorneys for Amici Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1598%3A26. Public record. Not legal advice.
