# Amicus Curiae Brief — Johnson v. New York State Education Department

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1547%3A04

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 75

## Text

_—

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

Interest of Amici .................. fA ALPERT A BOSE 2

| American Federation of Teachers ......... atonal 2
PRE LALIT ON 2
GEER ES TN et 3
Argument ................. TREN Hee ETSI! CAEN we ON: Sen EME 4

Introduction:

Under Either the “Close Scrutiny” Test or the
Traditional “Rationality” Test, Petitioner Chil-
dren Are Denied Equal Protection of the
Laws by New York State Statutes Which
Permit the Conditioning of Their Receipt of
School Books Upon the Payment of a Fee .... 4

Part I.

The Close Scrutiny Test Is Offended Because
the Right Asserted Is Constitutionally Fun-
damental, the Classification Is Suspect, and
the Discrimination Is Unnecessary to the
rn UN ho 6

A. Conditioning the Access of Children to
Classbooks Upon the Payment of a Fee
Is a Particularly Invidious Discrimina-
SUMIE -pnncagkiscedbisiail iakadéleatcceshebcadatitaingiai 6

1. The Consequence of Forcing
Some Children to Attend School
Without Books Is Educationally
RL OW RNa eee 6

2. Children Form a Powerless Class
Specially Protected by the Four-
teenth Amendment ............0......... &

i
Page

B. Education Is a Constitutionally Funda-
SR I ire 11

1. Education as an Aspect of the
First Amendment Right to Know.. 14

2. Education as an Aspect of the
First Amendment Rights of Polliti-
cal Expression and Association .. 17

C. The Injury to Petitioners Is Not Neces-
sary to Promote Any Compelling State
OUUUIDD ) " Seaiiiinitditatnedaanncttlltiininplicaiadunmibibiicis 23

Part II.
The Rationality Test Is Offended Because the
Book Rental Fee Requirement Is Not Rea-
sonably Related to State Objectives -......... 24

A. The Rental Fee Requirement Arbitrar-
ily Injures Children Because of the
Wealth or Behavior of Their Parents .. 24

B. The Classification Is Both Inconsistent
With State Purposes and Unnecessary

ND cdatehtsskiinanccshics canacdnceilal Sensatabecicch csisinditscemren 33

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Application of President and Directors of George-
town College, 331 F.2d 1000 (D.C. Cir. 1964) .. 10

Breen v. Kahl, 296 F.Supp. 702 (W.D. Wis. 1969).. 10
Bullock v. Carter, 40 U.S. Law Wk. 4211 (February

nathan aR RE TIES LS EERE EA ioe Se > ©
Bunim v. Bunim, 298 N.Y. 391, 83 N.E.2d 848
ghee EEE AEE SLE NIR RY SAY ce RD SCRA 26
Carrington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89 (1965) .................. 28
Chandler v. South Bend Community School Cor-
poration, Civil No. 71 § 51 (U.S.D.C. N.D. Indi-
SRE Gy SU ED circesccrctccccsoncntinsinicsinwcn 27, 33
Cox v. Louisiana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965) .................. 13
Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970) ..........
PS 2 SESE le: SY T a ae OS OE TES 13; 28, mm
Dunn v. Blumstein, 40 U.S. Law Wk. 4269 (March
| I i a i al al as 28, 32
Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147 (1939) ...........- 12, 23
Serrano v. Priest, 5 Cal.3d 584, 487 P.2d 1241

(1971) m~ . ia ..12, 20
Shapiro v. Dorin, 99 N.Y.S.2d 830 | re 26
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) ...... 6, 32
Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960) ............ 12, 22
Smith v. Smith, 15 Utah 2d 36, 386 P.2d 900

(1963) ..n.n.neeeecceeceenenensneneesneseneesnensnsnsnsnensnncsesnness 26
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) ..........-..-- 15

Sweazy v. New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234 (1957) .... 15
Tinker v. Des Moines School District, 393 U.S. 503

(1969) .........cecesesnseereceeneneneenssnsenenenenenneaens 14, 15, 27
United States v. Carolene Prodicts, 304 U.S. 144
(1938) ..nececscesceecseseensnenensnesnssenenensnsneneseeneneneneanes 9, 10

—

Page
Whitney v. California, 274 U.S. 357 (1927) 18
Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U-S. 23 (1968) ........ ™ ao

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions
New York Constitution, Article XI, Education, §1 .. 29
New York Education Code, §§701 et seq., §3204,
§3205, §3209
Books and Reports

Blackstone, Commentaries (Jones ed.) (San Fran-
cisco, Bancroft-Whitney, a 10

SE HP sthittiiiiatheieiissconsienseass. 12

Law, (St. Paul, a, aaa 18, 19

Report of the New York State Commission on the
Cost, Quality and Financing of Elementary and
Secondary Education, Volume 1 (Albany, 1972)

a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1971
No. 71-5685

Daisy JOHNSON, ef al.,
Petitioners,
vs.

New YORK STATE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT, et al.,
Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
AMERICAN FEDERATION OF TEACHERS
WILLIAM H. CLUNE Ill
JOHN E. COONS
AND
STEPHEN D. SUGARMAN
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER CHILDREN.

We present this brief in support of petitioner chil-
dren with the consent of the parties pursuant to Supreme
Court Rule 42.

The opinion below of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit is reported at 499 F.2d
871 (2d Cir. 1971).

a

pao, ae

Interest of Amici.
American Federation of Teachers.

The American Federation of Teachers is a voluntary
association of education workers, which was founded
in 1916. It has more than 275,000 members through-
out the United States. The purpose of the organiza-
tion is to elevate the character and advance the interests
of the occupation of teaching and to promote the cause
of education in the United States. In furtherance of
this purpose, AFT has long worked to insure the ade-
quate and equitable financing of public education
throughout the nation. The AFT has worked for more
than a half century to provide for equal educational
opportunity for all American children. Though the
present case challenges only a single aspect of a com-
plicated school financing system for a single state, it
raises the applicability of the Equal Protection Clause
to state allocation of resources to school children, an
issue which has major implications for the financing of
public education in every American community, urban,
suburban and rural. For all these reasons the American
Federation of Teachers joins in presenting this brief.

Individual Amici.

Amici are private disinterested individuals who have
been writing and publishing on the problems of dis-
crimination in the distribution of educational resources
for a number of years. Their interest is that of scholars
concerned that the present issue be resolved in a man-
ner befitting our constitutional system as well as ful-
filling the educational aspirations of a free society.
Petitioners in this case include children and their par-
ents. This is a class action. Amici present this brief

—7—" aii

specifically on behalf of the children petitioners whose
interests in some cases may be different from their Par-
ents.

Summary of Argument.

Through Sections 701, et seq., of its Education Code,
the State of New York has established a system for the
provision of class books in its public elementary schools
which operates in a Particularly invidious manner. The
New York public education system is a multi-billion

state is doing great injury. Amici ask this Court

_ Squarely to hold that education is part of a child’s First
Amendment rights of speech and association and that
to condition his access to those rights upon the Payment
of a fee by a third Party constitutes a denial of equal
Protection of the law under the Fourteenth Amendment
of the U.S. Constitution.

This brief has two areas of special concern: First, it
deals with the need for heightened judicial solitude be-
cause of the unique relationship of the class of injured
petitioners and the interest at stake. Second, it em-
Phasizes the ways that education is planted on the feet
of the constitutionally fundamental rights of speech and
association.

ae ~
ARGUMENT.
Introduction:

Under Either the “Close Scrutiny” Test or the Tradi-
tional “Rationality” Test, Petitioner Children Are
Denied Equal Protection of the Laws by New York
State Statutes Which Permit the Conditioning of
Their Receipt of School Books Upon the Payment
of a Fee.

Petitioners argue that to condition their access to
public school books which are employed as the basic
texts for elementary courses upon the payment of a
fee gives rise to an invidious discrimination which de-
nies to them the equal protection of the laws. Amici
support this position.

While there has been much debate about the
reach of the equal protection clause, recent opinions of
the Court make clear the analytical process that is to
be employed. Mr. Justice Marshall, speaking for the
Court in Dunn vy. Blumstein, 40 U.S. Law Wk. 4269
(March 21, 1972), which strikes down durational
residency conditions upon the right to vote, sets out the
analysis succinctly: “To decide whether a law violates
the Equal Protection Clause, we look, in essence, to
three things: the character of the classification in ques-
tion; the individual interests affected by the classifica- f
tion; and the governmental interests asserted in support >
of the classification.” Jd. at 4271.

The Court then goes on to say “In considering laws
challenged under the Equal Protection Clause, this
Court has evolved more than one test, depending
upon the interests affected and the classification in-
volved.” Id. at 4271. Amici submit that there are es-
sentially two tests; or, better put, a State is held to
one of two standards in defending the constitutionality
of its challenged law. This point is neatly stated by

_ — = oe

Chief Justice Burger in Bullock v. Carter, 40 U.S. Law
Wk. 4211 (February 24, 1972), which strikes down
filing fee conditions on the right of a candidate to enter
a primary election: “The threshold question to be re-
solved is whether the filing fee system should be sus-
tained if it can be shown to have some rational basis
or whether it must withstand a more rigid standard of
review.” Id. at 4214. He calls that latter standard the
“close scrutiny” test. Mr. Justice Blackmun in Graham
v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 365 (1971), dealing with the
rights of aliens to welfare, uses essentially the same ap-
proach, saying “Under traditional equal protection
principles, a State retains broad discretion to classify
as long as its classification has a reasonable basis. . . .
But the Court’s decisions have established that [cer-
tain] classifications . . . are inherently suspect and sub-
ject to close judicial scrutiny.” Jd. at 371-372. A number
of decisions have phrased the “close scrutiny” test as
one in which the State must show that the classification
is “necessary to promote a compelling state interest.”
See Dunn v. Blumstein, 40 U.S. Law Wk. at 4272,
Kramer v. Union Free School District, 395 U.S. 621
(1969), Williams v. Rhodes, 393 U.S. 23 (1968).

This case is one which invokes the “close scrutiny”
test, calling for the State to justify the challenged clas-
sification as necessary to support a compelling interest;
in addition, however the State’s interests with respect
to the challenged discrimination are so weak or unre-
lated that they cannot be justified even under the more
tolerant “rationality” test. Because of Amici’s belief
in the constitutionally fundamental importance of the
interest of the petitioners that is here at stake, we
turn in Part I to the “close scrunity” test and analysis.
In Part II the application of the “rationality” test and
analysis shall be considered.

oe

PART I.

THE CLOSE SCRUTINY TEST IS OFFENDED BECAUSE
THE RIGHT ASSERTED IS CONSTITUTIONALLY
FUNDAMENTAL, THE CLASSIFICATION IS_ SUS-
PECT, AND THE DISCRIMINATION IS UNNECES-
SARY TO THE STATE’S OBJECTIVE.

After the unanimous opinion in Bullock v. Carter,
supra, it seems firmly established that poverty may not
serve as a barrier to the enjoyment of certain consti-
tutionally fundamental interests. This case may be
viewed, then, as one of those in the line including
Griffin v. Ilinois, 351 U.S. 12 (1956); Harper v.
Virginia Board of Elections, 383 U.S. 663 (1966);
and Bullock v. Carter, supra, in which petitioners chal-
lenged a state rule which imposed a fee upon the exer-
cise of a constitutionally fundamental interest. The in-
terest here at stake is that of children in education;
that such interest is constitutionally fundamental is the
core of this brief. Before turning to the fundamentality
of education, however, Amici wish to emphasize the
invidiousness of the fee payment requirement.

A. Conditioning the Access of Children to Classbooks
Upon the Payment of a Fee Is a Particularly In-
vidious Discrimination.

1. The Consequence of Forcing Some Children to Attend
School Without Books Is Educationally Disastrous.

Seemingly stating what it thought was obvious, the

Court in Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969),

observed:

[The State] . . . could not, for example, re-
duce expenditures for education by barring indi-
gent children from its schools. Jd. at p. 633.

WER Gliekdeeee De

sushi Sdaa ae ate ae

_ eae ie

It is bitter irony that this is effectively the situation that
petitioners face.

Taking a disinterested view of the challenged prac-
tice, it is difficult to imagine a more efficient policy
for crushing whatever hopes these children have of be-
coming participating members of this society. Its effects
must inevitably resound in ever corner of the child’s
life and personality—now and in the future. Confining
our attention to his school experience two general effects
upon the child may be emphasized. First is his failure
to master the content of education; the second is the
labeling of the child as a person of none or little per-
sonal worth. Both the majority below and the defend-
ants concede both effects, but a word or two more is
appropriate.

The child’s plight must be viewed in the context of
complusory education. The fact that school attendance
is legally mandatory has powerful bearing on the state’s
constitutional obligation. It may be that in a purely
voluntary system the state would have no duty either
to provide educational services or to equalize those it
did provide. The element of compulsion, however,
changes all that. Compulsory school attendance is a
drastic imposition upon the individual’s freedom of ac-
tion and association, a massive system of regimentation
justified only by the overriding benefits which educa-
tion yields both to individual and society; deny those
benefits, and the burden on liberty becomes insup-
portable.

Ae, OS

The plain fact is, however, that bookless children are
not getting the education which provides the justifica-
tion for compulsion. They are not learning reading, or,
if they are, it is no fault of the school. Further, the

ne —

deprivation is here given a sharper edge because other
children in the same classroom do have books. This
makes the harm more serious than in Griffin v. Illinois,
supra. There, although the rich could afford trial tran-
scripts while the poor could not, rich and poor were
not competing with each other for limited opportunities
for jobs or college admission. Hence, a benefit for the
rich did not itself hurt the poor. Here, all school chil-
dren are in competition, a competition that will shape
their future roles and participation in society. Under a
system which is designed to operate for the benefit of
students who have books, the bookless suffer a most
onerous handicap. In short, to be bookless is effectively
to be excluded from the competition.

Instead, what the bookless children are learning is
that the government to which they pledge their alle-
giance each morning is providing others with education
while it provides them with compelled custody and
daily humiliation. They are learning that school is the
springboard to full personal life in this society—for those
other children with the key to the public system. For
themselves the experience is a conditioning exercise for
the sure-to-fail. This discrimination is so utterly crude
it is almost comic in its hyperbolic favoritism for the
well born.

2. Children Form a Powerless Class Specially Protected by
the Fourteenth Amendment.

Whether a particular child enjoys the intended bene-
fits of public education in Hempstead depends entirely
upon his luck. Being enrolled in public school is in-

sufficient; he must also have* been born in the right
home.

a

Nic ol a sha 2 en A Ene

Politics may or may not help him, but clearly there is
nothing that he himself can do to help politics along.
He must await the beneficence of others, because he
bears the “unalterable trait” of childhood. He has
neither money nor vote. He is but one of a unique
minority which is (we might say) disenfranchised by
its very minority. There is some danger that this may
be viewed merely as an advocate’s effort to be artful
with a purely formal and technical point. Children, it
may’ be urged, are “represented” politically by the
votes of their parents. However, for two good reasons
this answer suffers even more from formalism than
does the objection itself.

First, the truth is that a very significant number of
children do not have voting parents. This parental
failure to vote is a neglect of the child’s interest that
he is helpless to alter. Second, even the parent who
does vote is inevitably subject to many influences that
conflict with the educational interests of his children.
Every other public program competes with education
for voters’ (adult) support. It would be quite unrealis-
tic to imagine that, on educational issues, parents vote
as would their children if those children were them-
selves franchised and aware of their self-interest. For
both these reasons the proxy suffrage through the paren-
tal franchise must necessarily be seriously defective in
its representation of petitioners’ class.

That defect is a justification for “heightened judicial
solitude” by this Court for the plight of the children
who now seek its aid. Graham v. Richardson, supra,
365 U.S. at 372. Plaintiff-children qualify as one of
those “discrete and insular minorities” which are spe-
cial objects of judicial protection. United States v.

i ae

Carolene Products, 304 U.S. 144, 155 (1938). The
opinion in Breen v. Kahl, 296 F. Supp. 702, 708 (W.D.
Wis. 1969), well summarizes the predicament of the
student:

. Students . . . do not vote in school board
elections; political redress of their grievances is
not open to them; theirs is a situation in which
judicial vindication of constitutional protections
has been considered particularly appropriate. . . .
Cautious counsel to avoid judicial involvement in
serious constitutional issues merely because they
concern younger people, in my view, is neither
prudent, expedient, or just. It is time to broaden
the constitutional community by including within
its protections younger people whose claim to
dignity matches that of their elders. See In re
Gault, 387 U.S. 1, 87 S. Ct. 1428, 18 L.Ed.2d 527
(1967).

Their utter helplessness has been a source of the
common law’s tender concern for children from the
days of the Yearbooks. See generally Blackstone, Com-
mentaries (Jones ed.), Book I, Chs. X VI-X VII, 446-466
(San Francisco, Bancroft-Whitney, 1915). Special rules
for the protection of minors formed a significant part
of what tradition knew as the “Law of Persons”. Today
most of these protections have been codified. This is
not to suggest that every constitutional claim advanced
by or on behalf of a child has special weight, but only
that the best interests of children, as courts have
identified them, will weigh heavily—even in the constitu-
tional scale. Prince v. Massachusetts, 321 U.S. 158
(1944); Application of President and Directors of
Georgetown College, 331 F.2d 1000, 1008 (D.C. Cir.
1964).

ee Te

Plaintiff children are not in their present misfortune
because they deserve education less: Indeed, as far as
the record discloses, each is indistinguishable from his
peers. He is a child, merely another part of that natural
democracy of children—all poor, all helpless, all depend-
ent upon society. That these children should have been
singled out from their peers as they have is but the
curious effect of state policy. New York has decided that
it will provide quality education to those children who
find an adult to sponsor them—and some never find one.

Thus for all pupils the principal benefits of this multi-
billion dollar public enterprise depend upon the pay-
ment of fees by third parties. Such an apparatus is not

_ merely bizarre; it is a public humiliation and an un-
merited badge of inferiority for the child of poor or
obdurate parents. In this respect these pupils are in a
position strikingly similar to victims of racial or other
unjustified discrimination. They are made to suffer by
the “unalterable trait” of lineage or childhood. Lindsey
v. Normet, 40 U.S. Law Wk. 4184, 4189 (February 23,
1972).

B. Education Is a Constitutionally Fundamental In-
terest.

Petitioners and other amici, no doubt, will deal at
length with the vital role of education in our society.
Hence, on the general fundamentality of education, we
can be very brief. The essence of the argument is this:
Education is crucial to both state and individual in a

rich variety of ways—social, economic, intellectual, and
political. It cannot be dismissed as merely social and
economic or as “merely” anything. It is too rich in its
implications to be captured in a formula. To appreciate
the fundamentality of education it must be viewed in

—

all its many aspects—intellectual, political, social and
economic. This is a theme familiar and congenial to the
Court from its long consideration of education in the
racial context. In fact it is one of the most common
themes in our vast social literature. If there is any ac-
tivity accepted as fundamental in our society, surely it
is education. For a general discussion of the question
see Serrano v. Priest, 5 Cal.3d 584 at 604-610, 487
P.2d 1241 at 1255-1259; Coons, Clune, and Sugarman,
Private Wealth and Public Education, (Cambridge,
Harvard University Press, 1970) at 364-366, 370-373,
387-393, 397-419.

Amici, here, wish to emphasize but one aspect of
education, the aspect which we believe is most signif-
icant: This is education’s direct tie-in to First Amend-
ment rights of speech and association. We seek to re-
affirm education’s place among those “rights” and “fun-
damental interests” which are of peculiar juridical im-
portance because they are essentially intellectual activ-
ities (e.g. speech, press, thought) and/or political ac-
tivities (e.g. voting and association) and thus, in either
case, are “. . . vital to the maintenance of democratic
institutions”. Schneider v. State, 308 U.S. 147, 161
(1939). Of course, any distinction between intellectual
and political activities is artificial; the two are indis-
solubly linked in their crucial role as guardian of a free
society. Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479 (1960). Only
a people which steadfastly remains both intellectually
and politically “open” retains the capacity for perpetual
self-renewal. A society may abide the widest range of
social and economic experimentation through legisla-
tion without losing the power fo reform itself—so long
as it rejects efforts by government to encourage per-
manent intellectual or political classes and orthodoxies.

_ — aaa Siins

Hence the Court has viewed its first responsibility to
be the protection of the sources of public communica-
tion and political participation from government con-
straint and discrimination.

Within this classic framework the Court has selec-
tively considered the application of the Equal Protec-
tion clause to a wide variety of legislative classifica-
tions involving many different human needs and ac-
tivities. While sometimes tolerating the most poignant of
merely personal economic deprivations, as in Dandridge
v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970), it has held the
state to the highest standard of fairness in matters af-
fecting politics and speech. In these areas the Court
has been virtually unanimous. Thus in Williams v.

_ Rhodes, supra, Mr. Justice Black himself emphasized
for the majority that the intertwining speech and politi-
cal rights there asserted “. . . rank among our most
precious freedoms . . .”, and for this reason trigger a

special burden of justification by the state. And where
the First Amendment was implicated in Cox. v. Loui-
siana, 379 U.S. 536 (1965), again it was Justice

Black insisting upon the state’s duty of neutrality in

the provision of opportunities to hear and be heard.

“To limit access . . . to some views but not other .. .”
is forbidden as an “invidious discrimination”. 379 U.S.
at 579-580.

Amici argue that education stands squarely planted
on the constitutional feet of politics and speech. Educa-
tion is at once a political activity of the first order and
the primary influence of the state upon the intellectual
life of its citizens. The majority below cites Dandridge
v. Williams, supra, and asserts that education is a “so-
cial and economic” interest. As far as it goes that is
quite correct. Education’s significance in this respect

— | 4—

could scarcely be denied. However, no matter how im-
portant the social and economic effects of education
may be and however much these add to its constitu-
tional status, it is chiefly education’s political and in-
tellectual character which give it its constitutional funda-
mental stature.

L. Education as an Aspect of the First Amendment Right
to Know.

In some contexts this Court has described education
specifically as a right encompassed by the First Amend-
ments guarantee of freedom of speech, tracing the rele-
vant judicial history to the 1920's. Thus in Griswold v.
Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965), the Court states
that “. . . By Pierce v. Society of Sisters, supra, the
right to educate one’s children as one chooses is made
applicable to the states by the force of the First and
Fourteenth Amendments”. 381 U.S. at 482. In Tinker
y. Des Moines School District, 393 U.S. 503 (1969),
the Court again interpreted Pierce v. Society of Sisters,
268 U.S. 510 (1925) and Meyer v. Nebraska, 265
U.S. 390 (1923) as based upon the First Amendment
and spoke of the rights of students, as students, arising
thereunder. 393 U.S. at 506-07. See also Epperson v.
Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968).

Technically, it may have been stretching a point for
the Court to cite either Pierce or Meyer as First Amend-
ment cases. Each is, formally speaking, an example of
substantive due process, and neither specifically men-
tions the First Amendment. Nevertheless, the Court is
clearly correct in its modern interpretation of these
cases, for their very core is the‘recognition that educa-
tion’s impact upon the personality, intelligence, and
loyalties of children raise fundamental issues of free-

— sellin

dom of the mind. It is not surprising that Pierce and
Meyer show a current vitality uncharacteristic of sub-
stantive due process decisions generally.

The ways in which speech and education interpene-
trate are diverse, and not all of them are at stake here.
For example, here there is no active frustration by the
State of a particular attempt to communicate such as
that presented in Tinker v. Des Moines, supra. What
is involved is another aspect of free speech—the right
to know and to receive information. That right
has been repeatedly declared by this Court. Thus
Sweazy v. New Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234, 250 (1957),

speaks of the right of students “. . . to inquire, to
study and to evaluate, to gain new maturity and un-
derstanding . . .” and Keyishian v. Board of Regents,

385 U.S. 589, 603 (1967) describes the classroom as
a unique example of the “marketplace of ideas”. Of
course, the right to receive information is enjoyed by
more than schoolboys, Stanley vy. Georgia, 394 US.
557 (1969), and is sufficiently precious that it moved
this Court in Lamont v. Postmaster General, 381 US.
301 (1965) to the first invalidation in history of a
federal statute on First Amendment grounds. The unani-
mous decision in that case deserves additional attention.

The Lamont decision struck down the federal act
and regulations which required addressees of “commu-
nist political propaganda” to specifically request such
mail before it would be delivered by the postal au-
thorities:

The Act sets administrative officials astride the
flow of mail to inspect it, appraise it, write the
addressee about it, and await a response before
dispatching the mail. Just as the licensing or tax-
ing authorities in the Lovell, Thomas, and Mur-

ieee

dock cases sought to control the flow of ideas to
the public, so here federal agencies regulate the
flow of mail. . . . the addressee in order to receive
his mail must request in writing that it be de-
livered. This amounts in our judgment to an un-
constitutional abridgment of the addressee’s First
Amendment rights. The addressee carries an af-
firmative obligation which we do not think the
Government may impose on him. 381 US. at
306-07.

In Lamont not only was the intended recipient of
speech recognized as the locus of the First Amendment
right, but the protection of the flow of ideas to him
extended even to unsolicited information. Lamont v.
Postmaster General, 229 F. Supp. 913, 916 (S.D.N.Y.
1964). In this regard a comparison of Lamont and
the instant case is instructive. New York has created
an enormous system for promoting the flow of a very
particular set of information and ideas to a very par-
ticular set of recipients including the plaintiff children.
This flow is invested with such importance by the State
that it constrains the intended recipients by law to
join the system and attend to its messages. For their
part the intended recipients have expressly indicated
(if not otherwise, by this very litigation) their strong
interest in receiving this information.

In all respects the comparison to Lamont favors
plaintiff children. Their right to receive the coveted
learning is scarcely inferior in status to that enjoyed
by the casual addressee of an unsolicited piece of mail.
Similarly, a comparison of the relative burdens im-
posed on speech favors the instant claim. New York
has cast upon plaintiff children an “affirmative obliga-
tion”—here the acquisition of books—as a precondi-

ee. 1

tion of equal access to the flow of ideas. In Lamont
the mere requirement that the addressee request the
mail was held “an unconstitutional abridgement of the
addressee’s First Amendment rights” that outcome is
all the more justified here where the affirmative obliga-
tion cannot even be performed by the very person af-
fected; that is, the child must depend on a third per-
son to provide the key to the information system.

The practical effect of the New York practice is a
crushing burden upon the right to know. Plaintiff-
children are effectively limited in their employment of
the public information system by the fee payment re-
quirement. It is no answer to this that the State has no
duty to promote the flow of ideas. Having chosen to do
so it may not proceed upon the basis of what is essen-
tially a discrimination by wealth and lineage, Lindsey v.
Normet, supra, at 4189.

The protection of the right here asserted is supported
by every consideration which has historically moved
this Court in speech cases. Education and speech share
the common objective that inquiry and debate in our
nation remain informed and vigorous. It is even false
to their nature to separate the two by the conjunction:
education is speech, just as speech is always a form of
education. And, if speech be precious, the full measure
of judicial concern must likewise focus on those in our
schools for whom the message of public education is
designed.

2. Education as an Aspect of the First Amendment Rights
of Political Expression and Association.

This argument, like the last, deals with education/
speech. It differs only in its concentration upon the
political side of the petitioner pupils’ future life as cit-
izen. It argues the existence of an important relation

ae

eam,

between what is happening to that child in the Hemp-
stead schools and what can be expected of him later
as a decision maker in a democratic society.

This Court has identified a wide variety of political
expression and associational activity specially protected
under the First and Fourteenth Amendments. See gen-
erally Lockhart, Kamisar, and Choper, Constitutional
Law, 766-1020 (St. Paul, West, 1967). These “recog-
nized rights” have a common quality—all are designed
to protect the citizen’s role in the democratic political
process by assuring both his access to ideas and his op-
portunity within the law to associate to promote such
ideas as he supports.

This central concept is so well and so long estab-
lished that the multiplication of precedent would be
pointless. Much of it is summarized in the terse expres-
sion of the majority in Whitney v. California, 274 US.
357 (1927).

Those who won our independence believed . . .
that public discussion is a political duty; and that
this should be a fundamental principle of the
American government. 274 U.S. at 375.

The interest at stake is speech to be sure, but clearly
it is more than the mere right to speak. The audience
is at least as important as the speaker. Meiklejohn
puts it nicely:

“[I]n . . . political self-government, the point of
ultimate interest is not the words of the speakers,
but the minds of the hearers . . . [A]s the self-
governing community seeks . . . to gain wisdom in
action, it can find it ofily in the minds of its
individual citizens. If they fail, it fails.” Meikle-

RPE re er ae I FEES a a Rr ere! ager I Trew

_ — slifioen

john, Free Speech and its Relation to Self-Govern-
ment (1948), reprinted in Lockhart, Kamisar,
and Choper, supra, at 789.

Thus, the cherished protection is not merely for the
speaker or even the particular audience; it is for all of
us:

The constitutional safeguard, we have said, “was
fashioned to assure unfettered interchange of ideas
for the bringing about of political and social
changes desired by the people.” Roth v. United
States, 354 U.S. 476, 484. “The maintenance of the
opportunity for free political discussion to the end
that government may be responsive to the will
of the people and that changes may be obtained
by lawful means, an opportunity essential to the
security of the Republic, is a fundamental princi-
ple of our constitutional system.” Stromberg vy.
California, 283 U.S. 359, 369. New York Times v.
Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 269 (1964).

It is the total system of free political discussion that
is crucial; it is the frustration of the system by govern-
ment that is forbidden. And if it be the case that public
education is indispensable to full and fruitful political
intercourse, then the character of its dispensation is a
speech issue of grave consequence.

That, of course, is the essence of the proposition here
asserted. It is direct and simple: Education is not only
important to political intercourse; it is the very gateway
to all effective participation. It is that human activity
which alone can justify the epistemological assumptions
of a political democracy. Without it the constitutional
dependence upon popular Participation is merely
absurd.

i

Thus when the state provides education it is engaging
the child in perhaps his first—and certainly his first
organized—political experience. On a mass basis the
state deliberately—and properly—affects the character
of our political life in two distinct but related ways.
First, through prescribed curricula the state largely fixes
the major concepts and content of our political dis-
course. Secondly, and more important, the acquisition
of skills and general culture through education power
fully conditions the young citizen’s general capacity for
effective participation in the life of his society, including
government.

The recent opinion in Serrano v. Priest, supra, makes
much of this political aspect of education:
At a minimum, education makes more meaningful
the casting of a ballot. More significantly, it is like-
ly to provide the understanding of, and the interest
in, public issues which are the spur to involvement
in other civic and political activities.

The need for an educated populace assumes
greater importance as the problems of our diverse
society become increasingly complex. The United
States Supreme Court has repeatedly recognized
the role of public education as a unifying social
force and the basic tool for shaping democratic
values. 5 Cal.3d at 608, 487 P.2d at 1258.

This Court has never before been asked to protect
the interest in education as part of the rights of speech
and political association. Amici believe it expedient for
the Court now to do so because of education’s unique
impact upoa the child’s development as 4 citizen. Edu-
cation is the very foundation of community life, of
effective participation in the political process, of the

Se ies

consensus of shared democratic values. By transmit-
ting the deposit of learning to the young, education
enables our pluralistic society to identify itself as a
people with a common destiny. As shaper of the child’s
capacity for civic contribution, education is indistin-
guishable from and an integral part of the rights of
speech and association. When the State discriminates
against children in the provision of education, it cor-
rupts the very sources of free discussion and civic
virtue."

Seeing this special role of education helps to correct
the view of the majority below concerning the relevance
of Dandridge v. Williams, supra, and James v. Valtierra,
402 U.S. 137 (1971). The basic theme of the majority
respecting these cases seems incorporated in a sentence
on p. 879:

[A]lthough education is no doubt an area of fun-
damental importance, the Supreme Court has made
clear its view that in the area of social welfare,
the “compelling state interest” theory does not
apply even though basic needs may be involved.

This misses the point. Mr. Justice Stewart in Dan-
dridge carefully avoided any such sweeping limitation
and made quite plain that merely affixing a label such
as “social welfare” or “social and economic” will be
insufficient to divert the Court’s scrutiny:
. . . [H]ere we deal with state regulation in the
social and economic field, not affecting freedoms
guaranteed by the Bill of Rights, and claimed to
violate the Fourteenth Amendment only because
the regulation results in some disparity in grants
of welfare payments to the largest AFDC families.
397 US. at 484.

a =

If anything is plain in the instant case, it is that the
discrimination is not limited to social welfare and that
it does affect speech and association—“freedoms guar-
anteed by the Bill of Rights.” Indeed, as argued at
length above that specific injury is what the case is
all about. (And it is not merely “some disparity”; for
the petitioner-children the result is “educationally dis-
astrous”.) To speak of the interest here as “social
welfare” is to reduce the education of human beings
to the level of their stomach. Did the majority below
come to suppose that the constitutional relevance of an
interest is to be determined merely by its importance to
the creature comfort of the individual? They suggest
as a reductio ad absurdum:

Certainly no one would contend that a student’s
need for textbooks is any more fundamental than
such items as food and clothing which are pro-
vided through welfare grants. 449 F.2d at 879
(f.n. 11).

But of course that is precisely what we do contend.
A child’s mind is constitutionally distinguishable from
his stomach. Dandridge may reject “economic needs of
impoverished human beings”, as the criterion of fun-
damentality, 397 U.S. at 485, but this scarcely implies
that discrimination respecting development of human in-
telligence is of the same order. Indeed, Dandridge explic-
itly states the opposite, citing Shelton v. Tucker, supra,
as an example of a general area in which the Court’s
intervention would be appropriate. 397 U.S. at 484.

=

James v. Valtierra, supra, is an inappropriate anal-
ogy for a like reason. The interest at stake in that
case was housing. One could readily concede the im-
portance of that interest to the affected individuals
without conceding its constitutional relevance. Con-
versely its nonfundamentality tells us nothing about the
issue here. Housing and welfare both being almost
purely economic and social interests, the conclusion
of the majority below with respect to education is sim-
ply a non sequitur.

C. The Injury to Petitioners Is Not Necessary to
Promote Any Compelling State Interest.

The book rental fee requirement must be justified
by the most compelling exigencies of government. But
the weightiest countervailing state interest here ad-
vanced is economy. Such a consideration is quite insuf-
ficient to submerge the right asserted. As with the costs
of littering imposed upon government by handbill distri-
bution “. . . Any burden imposed upon the .. . au-
thorities . . . results from the constitutional protection
of the freedom of speech and press”. Schneider v. State,
308 U.S. 147-162 (1939).

Rather than further detailing possible state interests
here, Amici will postpone that discussion until the “ra-
tionality” test is considered in Part II below, for in-
deed there is not even sufficient and relevant justifi-
cation for the fee under the traditional equal protection
analysis.

ePNEUR EAT ST TOGR MA A

tlie i

PART I.
THE RATIONALITY TEST IS OFFENDED BECAUSE THE
BOOK RENTAL FEE REQUIREMENT IS NOT REA-
SONABLY RELATED TO STATE OBJECTIVES.

A. The Rental Fee Requirement Arbitrarily Injures
Children Because of the Wealth or Behavior of
Their Parents.

The opinion below fails to distinguish relevant sub-
categories of the class represented by plaintiff pupils.
The total class of pupils injured by the challenged
state system is composed of all children who—for what-
ever reason—do not have access to those books re-
quired for participation in the courses of study man-
dated by the state. This larger class may be broken
analytically into at least two groups. The first is com-
posed of those children whose parents or guardians
would have provided the rental money but for their
indigency; it is on these children that Part I of this
brief has focused. The second group is composed of
those children who are bookless for any other reason,
including parental whim or selfishness.

The opinion below treats plaintiffs simply as “indi-
gent children”. By this expression the court clearly
means that they are the children of indigent parents;
it is not the child’s own economic status that is
thought to be relevant. In most contexts this would
be a sensible view; truly speaking all children are poor
and the relevant distinction among them is parental
wealth. However, in the circumstances of this case tiis
merger of child and parent by the majority below ob-
scures what is an important faetor—the separate and
independent status of the child’s right.

This confusion still would be inoffensive if the plain-
tiffs here were clearly members of the first group—

‘ —

those whose parents did not pay the rental fee because
of poverty. In that event the interest of child and par-
ent would in truth be functionally indistinguishable.
This is not to suggest, however, that the discrimination
would be rational.

With respect to this group of children with poor
parents, it is clear that the wealth classification should
play a distinct role in the application of the traditional
or 1<tionality test. This Court has made clear that
the very employment of a wealth distinction by the
State in its dispensation of benefits and burdens can
cast in doubt the rationality of the device. Thus, in
Harper v. Virginia, supra at 668, the majority stresses
that a voter’s affluence has no reasonable relation to
the purpose of the franchise. And most recently in
Lindsey v. Normet, supra at 4184, the majority opin-
ion by Mr. Justice White voids a financial burden on
appeals in forcible entry and detainer cases for its
very irrationality. Citing Griffin v. Illinois, supra,
and other indigence cases the opinion emphasized the
self-defeating function of a state policy which first
makes the appeal available and then effectively elim-
inates it for those who need it most.

Because petitioners are children, the fee requirement
is also arbitrary because it hurts those whose parents
have the funds yet do not provide the book fee. The
point here is that the child’s right is independent of the
parent. Pupils are not simply extensions of their parents
or guardian. The parent may enjoy an area of pri-
macy in the selection of the style and content of educa-
tion, at least for young children. Pierce v. Society of
Sisters, supra. Nevertheless, the separate interest of the
child is manifest in the limitations imposed on both
parental and state power.

SAARI ARIAS, AEM I

—iGa- _

The New York state decisions on the parental duty
to educate exemplify this position. Shapiro v. Dorin,
99 N.Y.S. 2d 830 (1950) is typical. In protecting the
child from parental neglect of this duty the court re-
marked:

Public Education Laws are the outgrowth of
social legislation designed to give equality of op-
portunity to all children in a society dedicated
to the democratic ideal. Without equality of op-
portunity in education there is no equality among
the children of our democratic society. This has
recently been made clear by the Supreme Court in
Sweat v. Painter, 339 U.S. 629, 70 S.Ct. 848; Me-
Laurin v. Oklahoma State Regents, 339 U.S. 637,
70 S.Ct. 851. . . . The kind and quality of educa-
tion our children receive have like bearing upon
whether they will in later life be able to take
their rightful place in civil society. . . . fd. at
pp. 834-835.

Shapiro v. Dorin, like most of the reported decisions
involves a conflict between the parent and the state
over the child. This tends to obscure the independence
of the child’s own right, making him seem the creature
of one or the other. But he is no one’s creature. This is
confirmed in the many decisions involving custody and
other rights respecting children. Here the touchstone is
“the interests and welfare of the children.” See e.g.
Bunim v. Bunim, 298 N.Y. 391, 83 N.E.2d 848
(1949). In many states the child’s own preference is
relevant in custody cases. See e.g. Smith v. Smith, 15
Utah 2d 36, 386 P.2d 900 (1963}.

This Court has never been faced directly with an
explicit conflict between the child on the one hand

“a =— =

and both parent and state on the other. Occasionally,
however, it has recognized the separate character of the
child’s right. One example is Prince v. Massachusetts,
supra. Here the parent and child were aligned against
the state, but the opinion repeatedly notes that the
child has rights which he enjoys as his own. Of course,
the decision in Tinker v. Des Moines, supra, rests en-
tirely upon the students’ own right to free speech
though it involved no conflict with parental interests.
There, as in In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967), the Court
gave recognition to the independent constitutional per-
sonality of children and students.

The most explicit and highly relevant affirmation of
the child's separate right is the recent decision in
Chandler v. South Bend Community School Corpora-
tion, Civil No. 71 § 51 (U.S.D.C., N.D., Indiana) de-
cided August 26, 1971. Chandler involved the refusal
of parents either to pay certain school fees or to have
them excused by a parental statement of indigency.
As a consequence of that refusal, plaintiff children
were excluded from certain school opportunities. The
court held this practice a violation of the children’s
rights under the Equal Protection clause. The language
of the opinion is explicit on the point of the child’s
Status:

. . . Defendant herein has totally failed to present
any reason why the Plaintiff-students should in-
cur sanctions for their parents’ failure to pay
school fees. The school fee collection procedure
as applied to these minor-Plaintiffs. conditions
their personal right to an education upon the
vagaries of their parents’ conduct, an intoler-
able practice. . . . (Slip opinion, p. 5)

—28--

It would be one thing for the state to decide that
parents shall have the choice whether children shall
attend school. It is quite another to establish a uni-
versal compulsory system, define the appropriate ex-
perience so as to require books for its enjoyment, and
then relegate the provision of books to an independent
private decision.

B. The Classification Is Both Inconsistent With State
Purposes and Unnecessary.

The first question here is whether the classification
of plaintiff children by their parents’ wealth or choice
bears a “reasonable relationship to any valid state ob-
jective”. Lindsey v. Normet, supra. If such classifica-
tion either fails to advance the state objective or is
“unnecessary to assure” its accomplishment, “. . . the
discrimination against the class . . . is arbitrary and
irrational . . .” Id. at 4191. It is not enough that the
practice advance the objective; the practice must be
reasonably “necessary” to that end. If it can be achieved
without imposing the burden, the state’s insistence upon
the classification becomes punitive and irrational. Car-
rington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89 (1965); Rinaldi v.
Yeager, 384 U.S. 305 (1966).

In Lindsey v. Normet, supra, the state required un-
successful tenant defendants in forcible entry and de-
tainer actions to post a bond for double rent as a con-
dition of appeal. This Court found the requirement
both “. . . unrelated to actual rent accrued or to specif-
ic damage sustained by the landlord . . .” and “. ..
unnecessary to assure . . . payment of accrued rent
...” 40 U.S. Law Week at 4191. The irrationality
of the double-rent bond was particularly evident in its

=

effect upon the poor, for it largely frustrated the state’s
own purpose in providing a system of appeals:
The discrimination against the poor, who could
pay their rent pending an appeal but cannot post
the double bond is particularly obvious. For
them, as a practical matter, appeal is foreclosed,
no matter how meritorious their case may be. Jd.

Let us then put New York to the test. Does its prac-
tice promote its own policy? And, if so, is this practice
the only reasonable manner in which that policy may
be promoted?

First one must identify New York’s policy objective
respecting the education of primary students. What is
its relevant “purpose”? The majority seeks it in the
legislative statement which accompanied the challenged
§§701. et seq. 449 F.2d at 877. However, this en-
tirely misconceives the issue by fastening upon but one
element in a complex system of public education. One
might even concede (we do not) that the limited pur-
pose vaguely expressed in that preamble was in fact
advanced. This dwes not render irrelevant the larger
purposes held by the legislature for the whole system.
If the legislation effectively frustrates those larger pur-
poses, it may fail even though it accomplishes some
relatively minor objective. Indeed, it would be difficult
to imagine a legislative classification that accomplished
literally nothing of its purpose, even if only the saving
(or spending) of money.

What is the broader purpose of the New York sys-

stem? The state constitution mandates the following:

. a system of free common schools, wherein

all the children of this state may be educated.
N.Y. Const., Article XI, Education, § 1.

—30—

Other portions of the Education Code, for example
those respecting compulsory attendance, flesh out the
picture of legislative purpose. See e.g. § 3204, 3205.
The most explicit expression of relevant legislative pur-
pose may be § 3209:

Public welfare officials . . . shall furnish indigent
children with suitable . . . books . . . and other
necessaries to enable them to attend upon instruc-
tion as hereinbefore required by law. (This section
is noted here not for its creation of substantive
rights but solely as an indication of legislative
purpose in design of the system. )

The state courts have frequently interpreted the leg-
islative purpose of these and related code sections. The
opinion in People v. Turner is often cited:

The object of a compulsory education law is
to see that children are not left in ignorance, that
from some source they will receive instruction that
will fit them for their place in society. 277 App.
Div. 317, 98 N.Y.S. 2d 886, 888 (1950).

In re Myers, 119 N.Y.S.2d 98 (1953), expanded upon
the Turner language and applied it to a parent who
wished to instruct his child at home. Because the
mother was qualified and the child “. . . used the books
designated for this grade by the Board of Education”,
the parent was held to be justified. The purpose of the
legislative scheme was fulfilled.

What then is the relevant state purpose in the light
of these provisions and decisions? Amici suggest the
following formulation: The staté’s purpose is the main-
tenance of a system of education to which all children
have functional access.

. a

Measured by this purpose the challenged practice is
plainly self-defeating. It excludes from the central ex-
perience of the classroom all those who cannot pur-
chase the key. New York has spent billions of dollars
to provide a system of free common schools designed
to instruct all children and then made certain that that
system would fail for the plaintiff pupils. This is a clas-
sic example of irrationality.

Suppose, however, that the Court were to focus upon
the preamble of §§ 701 et seq. as an expression of the
legislative purpose. One would yet be left in impenetra-
ble doubt, for the language of that preamble is ex-
tremely vague. While it would promote science etc.,
it suggests nothing inconsistent with the state con-
stitutional norm of free public education for all. Quite
to the contrary, it calls for “more adequate educa-
tional opportunities”. In any event, these vague senti-
ments, whatever their tone, could scarcely be sub-
stituted for the historic constitutional and legislative ob-
jective we have identified. The only reasonable state-
ment of relevant state purpose is that of providing an
educational system truly accessible to all children.
Again, and obviously, the state here has failed in that
effort by effectively excluding plaintiff pupils.

There is, of course, the possibility argued by the
State that the purpose of the discrimination here is
simply to save money. There is nothing in the pre-
amble of §§ 701 et seq. to suggest this, but amici are
willing to assume it. It is, after all, but a truism; the
state spends for so many purposes, and beyond
that its purpose is not to spend. In any case the point
is easily disposed of. This Court has declared the state’s
Objective of economy an inadequate justification for _
an otherwise unsupportable classification. See e.g.

=

Graham vy. Richardson, supra; Rinaldi v. Yeager, supra;
Shapiro v. Thompson, supra.

But this is only the first reason for holding the
wealth classification irrational. What is ultimately so
exasperating is the pointlessness of this cruelty. Even
if one conceded weight to the state’s interest in saving
resources, that interest becomes irrelevant here where
any number of alternatives can be imagined which
satisfy that end without singling out helpless children as
victims.

In short, the second, equally cogent reason, is the
“unnecessary” character of the discrimination. Lindsey
v. Normet, supra. There exists a variety of methods
assuring the state achievement of all its purposes with-
out the present discrimination against petitioners by
the wealth or choice of their parents.

In evaluating alternatives it should not be overlooked
that New York’s present assistance to school districts
(especially poor districts) is all out of proportion to
the cost here at issue. In 1969-70 New York con-
tributed to local school districts more than $600 per
pupil on a statewide average. See Report of the New
York State Commission on the Quality, Cost and
Financing of Elementary and Secondary Education;
Volume 1, Chapter 2 (Albany, 1972). The point is
that it is misleading to view the $7.50 here at issue
apart from that subvention. New York could have the
effect it wishes merely by miniscule budget shifts which
are more general in their effect—that is which do not
focus upon the poor. What Ney York in fact has done
is to single out these plaintiffs to bear the full weight
of its interest in economy. The poor have been selected
to support the education of the nonpoor. |

; inal:

If the state still wished to permit charging a book
fee, it could, as under the system before the court in
Chandler, permit parents to submit a statement of in-
ability to pay; provided, as in Chandler, that failure to
do either led to sanctions only against the parents and
not the students. If relieving poor parents from the pay-
ment were thought too costly, then perhaps a portion
of the welfare budget could be diverted to the educa-
tion budget. Finally, if necessary, the state might re-
organize its education program so that it did not de-
pend upon books. The range of alternatives open to
the legislature emphasizes the very modest and limited
character of the judicial intrusion here requested.

Conclusion.

Petitioner children have been unconstitutionally
singled out and denied effective access to public educa-
tion in New York. The denial of class books to chil-
dren on whose behalf a fee has not been paid cannot
be tolerated. Respondents’ interest in saving money is
simply insufficient; moreover, amici submit that to save
money in this way is false economy of the worst sort.
Not only are other public school resources devoted
to bookless children substantially wasted; more im-
portantly, the state seems embarked on a course in
which it is squandering some of the most precious re-
sources that it has, namely, these petitioner children.

Dated: May 5, 1972.

JOHN E. Coons,
STEPHEN D. SUGARMAN,
WILLIAM H. CLuneE III,

Attorneys and Amici Curiae.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1547%3A04. Public record. Not legal advice.
