# Amicus Curiae Brief — Gottschalk v. Benson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1546%3A13

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1972
- **Citation:** 409 U.S. 63

## Text

T Tun Covet Devetorep tue Law or Parat
’ Processes ro AccommopaTe New TecHNoLocies ....

35%„wʒi ,......
2
3.
% oo... cc ccccccesss,.....
5
6
7

came Ast of Mating Bow ....................

v. Procram Controt or Macuines Is A TECHNOLOGY
Warce Is Parentaste Unver tHe Law Devetorep
N

Tue Covet Betow Fottowep tue Law DeveLorep sy
Tun Court iu tHe Prater Aub Wet Decisions ...
I. The Art of Spectrographic . vecaciuacs
4 The First Prater and Wei Decision of November
::!!!

3. The Decision in Prater and Wei of August 14. 1969,
415 F. 2d 1393, After — ET Te

Tux Later Decisions or rue Court or Customs Au
P Parent Arras Fottowep tue Law DeveLorep sy
Tun Cover to Accommopate Orner New Tecu-

—— eee

„2/536

Oe
**
eee

ee

——! ! ͤ4„%e.%ũ ¶⁵ꝗ ͤ ꝶk᷑

eee 2

VIII. Tas Art or Convertinc Sicnwats 1x Binary Coven
Decimat Notation Into Onpinary Binary Notation 34

Application of Benson, 441 F. 2d 682 (C. C. P. A.

—T—T.!. . 3⁴

IX. Tux Tacit Approvat sy tHe Patent Orrice or THe
Eartizr Decisions, Discussep Apove ............. 3

X. Tuts Tecunorocy Is Accorpep Patent Protection

1 Fon I WAA. ³¹ww 37

1. Gres OEE RE ĩ ODE eer ey oe 38

D ĩ AAA é 9

3. Federal Republic of German E

EE EE “Sc covtccsyandocodedesesscceees 41

ZI... , Mee 43
APPENDICES :

I. U. S. Patent No. 3,339,457—Pun ............... Al
—J... „ m5 A3
III. U. S. Patent No. 3,551, 568— Prater & Wei A4
IV. U. S. Patent No. 3,564,221—Wheeling ............ AS

V. The Benson and Tabbot Invention ................

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

In re Abrams, 188 F. 2d 165 (C. C. P. A. 1951) ......... 22. 24
Application of Benson, 441 F. 24 682 (C. C. P. A. 1971) ..4, 34, 37
Application of Bernhart, 417 F. 24 1395 (C. C. P. A. 1969) 25,27, 39

Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U. S. 780 (1876) ...... 6, 10, 11, 12,22, 24

Comptograph Co. v. Mechanical Accountant Co., 145 Fed. 331
JJ 8b 6 ¼ ͤ ... ... 18

Don Lee Inc. v. Walker, 61 F. 2d 58 (9th Cir. 1932) 22

Expanded Metal Company v. Bradford, 214 U. S. 366 (1909) 14
Application of Foster, 438 F. 2d 1011 (C. C. P. A. 171 — 31

Application of Chiron, 442 F. 24 985 (C. C. P. A. 171) 31
Halliburton Oil Well Cementing Co. v. Walker, 146 F. 2d 817
ce c ( 22

Application of Hammack, 427 F. 2d 1384 (C. C. P. A. 1970) 29,33
Application of Hammack, 427 F. 2d 1378 (C. C. P. A. 1970) . 2
MacKay Radio and Telegraph Company v. Radio Corporation

of America, 306 U. S. 86 (19 . ͥ 28
Application of Mahony, 421 F. 2d 742 (C. C. P. A. 1970) ..27,29
Application of Mcliroy, 442 F. 24 1397 (C. C. P. A. 1971) 32
Application of Musgrave, 431 F. 2d 882 (C. C. P. A. 1970)

29, 30, 32, 33
Application of Naquin, 398 F. 2d 863 (C. C. P. A. 1968) 30
O'Reilly v. Morse, 36 U. S. 62 (18583) 5,6

Application of Prater, 415 F. 2d 1378 (C. C. P. A. 1968) . .20, 21, 23
Application of Prater, 415 F. 2d 1393 (C. C. P. A. 1969) 20, 23, 24
Risdon Iron and Locomotive Works v. Medart, 158 U. S. 68

yVyVyjyu Z ͤ tow dese 11, 12
In re Shao Wen Yuan, 188 F. 2d 377 (C. C. P. A. 1951) ..22,24
TV OSB COGS vn cssccccdccesscoscoss 22

Sperry Rand Corporation v. Bell Telephone Laboratories, In-
corporated, 208 F. Supp. 598 (S. D. N. Y. 1962), 317
Oe ED sino scencncvcceeecesacs 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued).

Page
Application of Tarczy-Hornoch, 397 F. 2d 856 (C. C. P. A.
1968)
The Telephone Cases, 126 U. S. 1 (1887)
Tilghman v. Proctor, 102 U. S. 707 (1880)
United States v. Adams, 383 U. S. 39 (1966)
Application of Waldbaum, 173 U. S. P. Q. 430 (No. 8619,
C. C. P. A. April 20, 1972) 32, 39, 40
Waxham v. Smith, 294 U. S. 20 (1935)
Application of Wheeling, 413 F. 2d 1187 (C. C. P. A. 1969) .,

FOREIGN CASES CITED.

Badger Company, Incorporated’s Application [1970] Pat. Cas.
36 (Great Britain)
Gever’s Application [1970] Pat. Cas. 91 (Great Britain) 38, 39, 42
In the Matter of a Patent Application Serial No. 961,392
JJ. bas hou cddkauevieshcckvecocccdeces 39
National Research Development Corporation’s Application
(1961) Pat. Cas. 135 (Australia)
Philips Electrologica GmbH, Docket 17 W(pat) 6/68 (Fed-
eral Republic of Germany)
Slee and Harris’s Application [1966] Pat. Cas. 194 (Great

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroszr Tau 1971.

—— —

No. 71-485.

ROBERT GOTTSCHALK, ACTING COMMISSIONER
OF PATENTS,
Petitioner,

V.

GARY R. BENSON AND ARTHUR C. TABBOT,
ney Respondents.

———

Ox Wair or CxRTIORARL To THE
Uxrrep States Court or Customs AND Patent Appzats.

BRIEF AMIOUS CURIAE FOR MOBIL on.
CORPORATION.

Mobil Oil Corporation respectfully submits this brief
with the consent of both parties. The letters of consent
have been filed with the Clerk of this Court.

I.

QUESTION PRESENTED.

Whether the Court of Customs and Patent Appeals
erred in finding the method of operation of a general pur-
pose computer as set forth by claims 8 and 13 comprises
subject matter which may be patented under 35 U. S. C.
100 and 101.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

II.
THE INTEREST OF AMIOUS OURIAE.

Mobil Oil Corporation is a corporation originally or-
ganized August 10, 1882 under the laws of New York. Its
principal business is the exploration for, production, refin-
ing and marketing of petroleum hydrocarbon on a world-
wide basis. As a supporting activity Mobil has several
research facilities in different parts of the country utilized
for original research to develop the full potential of com-
puter applications in its various fields of activity. Mobil;
computers are in twenty-four hour a day use in processing

seismic signals to identify oil bearing subsurface formations
and in operation of its refineries to increase yield and to
enhance qualjty of products therefrom. Its large expendi-
tures in research and practical applications involving com-
puter operation have given rise to proprietary information
deemed of great value.

In order to determine company policy as to how best
to protect its proprietary rights in the new methods of
operation and control of computers and their use as com-
ponent parts of other systems, Mobil appealed adverse
decisions of the Patent Office rejecting patent claims on
this technology. Mobil asked the Court of Customs and
Patent Appeals to decide whether the Patent Office had
changed its past practice and was correct in denying patent
protection to new and different operations of computers.
If the answer were to be affirmative, a company policy of
seeking trade secret protection would be indicated; if
negative, it would continue to publish the results of its
research under the protection provided by the patent

system.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 3

III.
THE PURPOSE OF THIS BRIEF.

As a result of Mobil’s appeals and the appeals of others
to the court below, a body of law consistent with prior
decisions of this Court has been developed. The court
below has imposed safeguards to avoid overclaiming by
applicants. It has insisted on full and complete disclosures

of automatic systems, with claims properly drafted to
define subject matter within 35 U. S. C. §§ 100 and 101 and
meeting the requirements of 35 U. S. C. § 112.
Mobil’s primary purpose here is to show that the recent
decisions of the Court of Customs and Patent Appeals on
ing technology do conform to prior decisions of
this Court and statutory authority. Over the years this
Court has developed case law in fulfillment of the Consti-
tutional mandate by granting for limited times the exclu-
sive right to discoveries in new fields of technology. As
these new and previously unknown fields of technology
came into being, this Court was faced with the problem of
whether the lew subject matter was patentable and with
the question of the breadth of the claims to be granted in
each new field.

This brief presents the development by this Court of
the law with respect to new processes now defined in 35
U. S. C. 5 100:

(b) “The term ‘process’ means process, art or
method, and includes a new use of a known process,
machine, manufacture, composition of matter, or
material.” :

The accepted patentability of programming technology
and the leading cases of the C. C. P. A. involving new opera-
tions of computers is then presented. Because this appeal

4 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Ou Corporation

is from an ex porte proceeding in the Patent Office, the
record is unduly limited. Therefore, an analysi« of other
C. C. F. A. decisions involving new and uncbvicus uses of
computers is necessary to provide « somewhat broader baw
for a review of the instant decision. These other decision:
aleo demonstrate the care with which the C. C. F. A. bas
considered the subject matter.

A discussion of the Benson and Tabbot case itself ip.
cludes « description of their method of code conversion is
Appendiz V of this brief. One of the key points of this
appeal is the limited scope of the rejection. The Benes
and Tabbot application is rejected only under 35 U. &. C
§ 101, to the exclusion of other sections of the patent statutes

Finally, thie brief deals with the practice in other

Methods and processes have been recognized as patent
able eubject matter cines the inception of our patent system.
An early text by Willard Phillips, The Law of Patents
for Inventions, 1887, at pages @2 et seq, provides a most

page 100 Di the principles of the machine,’ says the
same jodge, in another case, ‘is meant the modus operonds,

—
Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Ol Corporation 5

the peculiar device or manner of producing any given ef.
fect.’ "', citing Whittemore v. Cutter, 1 Gallison, 478. Phil-
lips cites many cases to the effect that the epplication of «
principle represents patentable subjects matter. More
specifically, at page 102:

It by opplication be meant the mode of operating,
or the mechanical combinations, means, or instruments,
by which « principle or theory is carried into opera-
tion, in this sense, the new application of « theory or
principle, may be the subject of « patent.

Again, at page 103:

Thus, Mr. Justice Johnson says, ‘the legal title to
„ patent consists not in « principle merely, but in an
spplication of « principle, whether previously in exist.
ence or not, to some new and useful purpose’ (Whitacy
v. Carter, Pessenden’s Pat. 10. (All empbasis in
original )

Mr. Phillips’ understanding of the law of patentable
subject matter is substantiated by the following decisions
of this Court.

L The Art of Telegraphy.

O'Reilly v. Morse
6 U. B. G2 (1883)

This case brought before the Court the inventions of
Samuel Morse having to do with the new art of
which created a new industry in a new field of technology.
All claims before the Court except claim d were held valid
and infringed. Of these claims, claims 6 and g are bere
relevant.

„Hint. I ae claim as my invention the system of

signs, consisting of dots and spaces, and of dots, spaces,

6 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Ol Corporation

and illustrated, in combination with machisery for re
cording them, as signals for telegraphic purposes

“Eighth I do not propose to limit myself to the
specific machinery, or parts of machinery, described a
the foregoing specifications and claims; the exsence of
my invention being the use of the motive power of the
electric or galvanic current, which | call electro magne
tiem, however developed, for making or printing intel
ligible characters, letters, or signa, at any distances,
being a new application of that power, of which I claim
to be the Gret inventor or discoverer.” (56 U. 8. %)

Claim 6 is of interest bere since this Court in 183
recognized that in this new art the use of « code or system
of signs in combination with machinery for recording then
represented patentable subject matter.

The eighth claim was, as stated by the Court, too broad
and not warranted by law (56 U. 8. 113). Thus overclaim-
ing was the basis of the ruling of invalidity.

The Court contrasted the overclaiming by Morse with
the proper claim by one Neilson (56 U. 8. 114-116). The
latter had limited bis process to the heating of the air by «
device intermediate the blower and the furnace. Neilecs
had not claimed merely the discovery that bot sir would
promote ignition better than cold. He properly claimed «
receptacle in whatever form arranged to beat the air on its
way from the blower to the furnace. Thus thie Court illus
trated the difference between proper scope of claims and

overclaiming.

2. The Art of Producing Ficur.

In this case the defendant had not used the same appa
ratus as disclosed in the plaintiff's Cochrane patents

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Od Corporation 7

fore, the question was squarely presented as to whether the
defendant had employed the process specified by the claim
and, in particular, the extent that a process must be limited
to the particular apparatus disclosed. In answering this
question, the Court first stated a premise :

That a process may be patentable, irrespective
of the particular form of the instrumentalities used,
cannot be disputed. If one of the steps of a process be
that « certain substance is to be reduced to a powder,
it may not be at all material what instrument or
machinery is used to effect that object, whether a
hammer, a pestle and mortar, or a mill. Either may
be pointed out; but if the patent is not confined to
that particular tool or machine, the use of the others
would be an infringement, the general process being
the same.”’ (94 U. 8. 787, 788)

This was followed by an oft-quoted definition of « process
in terms of the fact situation before the Court:

“A process is a mode of treatment of certain
materials to produce a given result. It is an act, or
a series of acts, performed upon the subject-matter to
be transformed and reduced to a different state or
thing. If new and useful, it is just as patentable as is
& plece of machinery. In the language of the patent
lew, it le an art. The machinery pointed out as suitable
to perform the process may or may not be new or
patentable ; whilst the process itself may be altogether
new, and produce an entirely new result. The process
requires that certain things should be done with certain
substances, and in « certain order; but the tools to be
ee ee OS ey ean”
(94 U. 8. 788)

N Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

The foregoing quotations, though they seem clear
enough, gave rise to questions raised in later cases as to
whether the Court was setting up limits applicable to the

facts of the case without foreclosing the applicability of a
broader definition in the context of a different fact situation.

3. The Art of Manufacturing Fat Acids in Glycerine.

Tilghman v. Proctor
102 U. 8. 707 (1880)

In this decision the Court clarified its views on process
claims.

Mr. Justice Bradley described the patented invention
as follows:

**Tilghman’s discovery was made in 1853, and was,
in brief, this: ‘That the fat acids can be separated from
glycerine, without injury to the latter, by the single
and simple process of subjecting the neutral fat, whilst
in intimate mixture with water, to a high degree of
heat under sufficient pressure to prevent the water
from being converted into steam without the employ-
ment of any alkali or sulphuric acid, or other saponify-
ing agent: (102 U. 8. 712-13)

Whether process claims were applicable to this new tech-
nological development was answered as follows:

„What did Tilghman discover? And what did he, in
terms, claim by his patent? He discovered that fat
ean be dissolved into its constituent elements by the
use of water alone under a high degree of heat and
pressure; and he patented the process of ‘manufactur-
ing fat acids and glycerine from fatty bodies by the
Irn

}
’

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 9

Had the process been known and used before, and not
been Tilghman’s invention, he could not then have
claimed anything more than the particular apparatus
described in his patent; but being the inventor of the
process, as we are satisfied was the fact, he was entitled
to claim it in the manner he did.

That a patent can be granted for a process,
there can be no doubt. The patent law is not confined
to new machines and new compositions of matter, but
extends to any new and useful art or manufacture.
(Emphasis by the Court.) (102 U. 8. 721-22)

Mr. Justice Bradley continued to present his own broad

discussion of the nature of an invention in an art or process:

It seems to us that this clear and exact summary of
the law affords the key to almost every case that can
arise. ‘Whoever discovers that a certain useful result
will be produced in any art by the use of certain means
is entitled to a patent for it, provided he specifies the
means.’ But everything turns on the force and mean-
ing of the word ‘means.’ It is very certain that the
means need not be a machine, or an apparatus; it may,
as the court says, be a process. A machine is a thing.
A process is an act, or a mode of acting. The one is
visible to the eye,—an object of perpetual observation.
The other is a conception of the mind, seen only by its
effects when being executed or performed. Either may
be the means of producing a useful result. (Empha-
sis by the Court.) (102 U. S. 728)

10 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

4 The Art of Telephony.

The Telephone Oases
126 U. 8. 1 (1887)

Famous claim 5 of the Bell patent reads as follows:

„8. The method of, and apparatus for, transmit-
ting vocal or other sounds telegraphically, as herein
described, by causing electrical undulations, similar in
form to the vibrations of the air accompanying the said
vocal or other sounds, substantially as set forth.“
(126 U. 8. 531)

The opinion by Mr. Justice Waite states:

In this art—or, what is the same thing under the
patent law, this process, this way of transmitting
speech—electricity, one of the forces of nature, is
employed; but electricity, left to itself, will not do
what is wanted. The art consists in so controlling the
force as to make it accomplish the purpose. It had long
been believed that if the vibrations of air caused by
the voice in speaking could be reproduced at a distance
by means of electricity, the speech itself would be re-
produced and understood. How to do it was the ques-
tion.

Bell discovered that it could be done by gradually
changing the intensity of a continuous electric current,
so as to make it correspond exactly to the changes in
the density of the air caused by the sound of the voice.
This was his art. (126 U. S. 532)

That a patentable method need not necessarily involve
a change in state of matter, as in the process involved in
Cochrane v. Deener, is made abundantly clear by this
Court in the statement: |

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 11

What Bell claims is the art of creating changes of
intensity in a continuous current of electricity, exactly
corresponding to the changes of density in the air
caused by the vibrations which accompany vocal or
other sounds, and of using that electrical condition
thus created for sending and receiving articulate speech
telegraphically. For that, among other things, his
patent of 1876 was in our opinion issued ; and the point
to be decided is, whether as such a patent it can be
sustained. (126 U. S. 533-4)

The Supreme Court sustained the patent. They did
60 after a consideration of Cochrane v. Deener and other
authorities on this point as summarized in the statement:

Thus, an art—a process—which is useful, is as much
the subject of a patent, as a machine, manufacture, or
composition of matter. Of this there can be no doubt,
and it is abundantly supported by authority. Corning
v. Burden, 15 How. 252,267; Cochrane v. Deener, 94
U. S. 780,787,788; Tilghman v. Proctor, 102 U. 8. 707,
722, 724, 725; Fermentation Co. v. Maus, 122 U. 8. 413,
427, 428. (126 U. S. 533)

5. The Art of Making Pulleys.

Risdon Iron and Locomotive Works v. Medart
158 U. 8. 68 (1895)

Philip and William Medart sued the Risdon Company
for infringement of three of their patents . >ulleys. In
accordance with Medart’s alleged invention, the pulley
center was precisely cefitered, the ends of the spokes were
ground concentrically with the axis, the face of the rim
was ground concentric with the axis, and the edges of the
rim were ground to square them. As a result, the pulley
was more balanced, faultless in shape, stro! and more

12 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

durable. While recognizing these desirable characteristics,
the opinion of Mr. Justice Brown clearly states that they
did not result from a new discovery of the patentee but
rather were the result of superior workmanship (158 U. 8.
79). Accordingly, the Court found all three Medart patents
to be invalid.

In reaching this conclusion, the opinion discusses in
length the unpatentability of processes which are ‘‘the
mere function of a machine. The question of the patenta-
bility of processes which are ‘‘the inherent function of a
machine has been repeatedly argued ever since.’ At that
time, the opinion in Risdon cast doubt on the patentability
of all processes performed by machines. This doubt was
resolved in favor of patentability by later decisions of this
Court.

This is thoroughly discussed in Whitney, Patentable
Processes, 19 Harv. L. Rev. 30 (1906). Mr. Whitney’s
interpretation of Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U. S. 780 (1876)
concludes that a process is not to be limited to a series of
acts upon a material to be transformed and reduced to a
different state or thing.

Then Mr. Whitney discusses the period of time fol-
lowing Risdon Locomotive Works v. Medart, during which
early mechanical processes were considered unpatentable.
He observed, pages 34, 35:

„More concretely, the function of every machine
is to perform some definite process—some act, or series
of acte—upon a material object, by which it is trans-
formed into a different state or thing. It follows that
this process is not simply the function of the machine.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 13

The two are entirely distinct entities. The one, as
stated by Mr. Justice Bradley in the Tilghman Case,
‘is a conception of the mind, seen only by its effects
when being executed or performed.’ The other is the
production of those physical effects upon a material
object.

Mr. Whitney was well grounded in the process by
which inventions come into being. He observed, pages 35,

In the natural course of development, many pro-
cesses of manufacture are first performed by hand,
then partly by machinery d partly by hand, and,
finally, automatically, by a machine. For others,
machines have not yet been devised; and such processes
must be performed wholly or in part by hand. Still
other processes are beyond the power or skill of the
hand, and must be performed, if at all, by a machine.
But, however carried into effect, the process is still a
process; and it matters not whether it was first prac-
ticed by hand, or was discovered and reduced to prac-
tice only in connection with the development of a
machine. It does not cease to be such because it is, or
must be, performed by mechanical means.

The paper concludes with a penetrating analysis as

applicable today as it was in 1906:

The patentability of a new process should, under
our laws, be determined solely by ascertaining whether
such process, as distinguished from the means by which
it is to be performed, is new and useful, and amounts
to an invention or discovery. If it meets this test suc-
cessfully, the process fulfills every requirement, and is
the proper subject of a patent.

14 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

This Court’s decision in Expanded Metal Company v.
Bradford, 214 U. S. 366 (1909) seems thoroughly to have
adopted Mr. Whitney’s analysis,

In this case the Supreme Court had again under con-
sideration the nature and character of method and process
claims. Expanded sheet metal was old, but the patentee,
Golding, had come up with a new way of making expanded
metal. He devised a method by means of which the metal
could be simultaneously cut and expanded.

This Court laid to rest any doubt as to the patentability
of mechanical processes by its conclusion:

We therefore reach the conclusion that an inven-
tion or discovery of a process or method involving
mechanical operations, and producing a new and useful
result, may be within the protection of the Federal
statute, and entitle the inventor to a patent for his dis-
covery.’’ (214 U. S. 385, 386)

The quotation from the opinion of Mr. Justice Waite
is particularly relevant here:

„It is lastly contended, and this is perhaps the
most important question in the case, that in view of the
former declarations and opinions of this court, what is
termed a process patent relates only to such as are
produced by chemical action, or by the operation or
application of some similar elemental action, and that
such processes do not include methods or means which
are affected by mere mechanical combinations, and a
part of the language used in Corning v. phe ws 15

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 15

How. 252, and Risdon Locomotive Works v. Medart,
158 U. S. 68, is seized upon in support of this contention.
We have no disposition to question the decision in those
cases. (214 U. S. 381, 382)

After discussing Tilghman v. Proctor noted above, Mr.
Justice Waite, said:

That this court did not intend to limit process
patents to those showing chemical action or similar
elemental changes is shown by subsequent cases in this
court.“ (214 U. S. 384)

5 Mr. Justice Waite then quoted from the opinion in
Westinghouse v. Boyden Power Brake Company, 170 U. 8.
537 (1898), as follows:

„These cases [158 U. S. 68, and 103 U. S. 461] as-
sume, although they do not expressly decide, that a
process to be patentable must involve a chemical or
other similar elemental action, and it may be still re-
garded as an open question whether the- ‘patentability
of processes extends beyond this class of inventions.“
(214 U. S. 384)

He added these significant words:

Where the process is simply the function or opera-
tive effect of a machine, the above cases are conclusive
against its patentability; but where it is one which,
though ordinarily and most successfully performed by

machinery, may also be performed by simple manipula-
tion, such, for instance, as the folding of rina
peculiar way for the manufacture of paper bags, or a
new method of weaving a hammock, there are cases to
the effect that such a process is patentable, though none
bol the powers of nature be invoked to aid in producing

16

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

the result. Eastern Paper Bag Co. v. Standard Paper
Bag Co., 30 Fed. Rep. 63; Union Paper Bag Machine
Co. v. Waterbury, 39 Fed. Rep. 389; Travers v. Am.
Cordage Co., 64 Fed. Rep. 771.“ (214 U. S. 384, 385)

It is not the hammock or paper bag that is patented, it

is the process producing them.

7. The Art of Hatching Eggs.

Waxham v. Smith
294 U. B. 20 (1935)

The Supreme Court, speaking through Mr. Justice

Stone, referred with approval to the Expanded Metal case
and said:

„By the use of materials in a particular manner he
secured the performance of the function by a means
which had never occurred in nature, and had not been
anticipated by the prior art; this is a patentable method
or process. Corning v. Burden, 15 How. 252, 267, 268;
Risdon Iron d Locomotive Works v. Medart, supra, 77;
Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U. S. 780, 788. A method, which
may be patented irrespective of the particular form of
the mechanism which may be availed of for carrying it
into operation, is not to be rejected as ‘functional,’
merely because the specifications show a machine capa-
ble of using it. Expanded Metal Co. v. Bradford, 214
U. S. 366, 382-386; Cochrane v. Deener, supra, 787, 788;
et. Holland Furniture Co. v. Perkins Glue Co., 277 U. 8.
245, 255, 256. (294 U. S. 22)

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 17

v. N
PROGRAM CONTROL OF MACHINES 18 A TECHNOL.-
OGY WHICH IS PATENTABLE UNDER THE LAW
DEVELOPED BY THIS COURT.

1. The Analog System.

of generated physical quantities such as shaft rotations,
electrical voltages, and cam-operated switches. Systems
of the foregoing type have from the beginning of the patent
system been patentable. Multiplication, division, subtrac-
tion and integration are common operations in systems of
the foregoing kind.“

18 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

represented by the On state of an electronic device and

the other by the “Off” state. Tne numbers or words
in digital systems can extend to any desired eig

missioner said
2. (Cont'd)
vention is to mechanically the occurrence of this error.”
(145 Fed. 345)
The Court then to examine the patent and the prior art
and found that claims were to a new and unobvious
invention and held them valid and 2 ph Co.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 19

A programable machine, such as a general pur-
pose computer, with its various parts not intercon-
nected to perform any useful combined operation is
merely a ‘warehouse’ of unrelated parts. It may well
be that the same machine, with a program device cor-
rectly related thereto, may yield a novel and useful
machine combination due to the new interrelation of
parts. In other words, the fact that such a prior art
machine can have its parts interrelated by a program
device in a new way to carry out machine functions of
a specialized character may well result in a new patent-
able combination, unless there is a prior art teaching
that would make the interrelations and results thereof
obvious.

Similarly, new methods of operation performed by the
machine with the new program may be patentable. The
amici curiae in support of the Petitioner seem to argue
that this case involves the patentability of computer pro-
grams per se. It does not. Benson and Tabbot claim the
new method performed by a general purpose computer with
their program.

The general purpose computer plus its program is the
most versatile machine yet invented. With each different
program it is converted into a new and different machine
in terms of the operations performed and the results
achieved. Whether a new operation of the machine is
patentable depends upon whether the new operation, alone
or as part of an overall system, is unobvious and repre-
sents an advance in the useful arts in which it is utilized.‘

4
1

20 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation
The question of the patentability of a program per se

Stil ddan te the alatlats ot Peter ane Wet
and in many of the subsequent cases, the court below con-
sidered Patent Office rejections based upon 35 U. 8. C.
§§ 100, 101, 102, 103 and 112. Thus there were rejections
based upon anticipation, obviousness, and statutory sub-
ject matter, as well as whether or not the claims met the
requirements of section 112 in particularly pointing out
and distinctly claiming the invention. In the case now
before this Court a rejection based solely on 35 U. 8. C.
§ 101 is under consideration.

1. The Art of Spectrographic Analysis.

Prater and Wei discovered how to achieve a spectro-

graphic analysis of a mixture of gases to determine with
increased accuracy of measurement the concentration of

/

2 The First Prater and Wei Decision of November 20,

de preferred over the analog computer.)

9
.
4

" presented to the court for decision was whether claims

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 21

each gas in a mixture. Their discovery was the relation-
ship between error magnification and the size of the deter-
minant of each subset of a plurality of sets of simultaneous
equations. Their invention resided in an analog system or a
properly programmed digital computer which would not
only make the search for the set of equations to be utilized,
but also determine the concentration of each of the con-
stituents in the gaseous mixture. Their claims were di-
rected to the manner of making use of the discovery by a
new and different operation of a computer, whether analog

or digital.

1968, 415 F. 2d 1378.

The arguments in this case were heard by Chief
Judge Worley, Associate Judges Rich, Smith and Almond
and Senior District Judge Kirkpatrick from the Eastern
District of Pennsylvania.

Recognizing the importance of the issues involved, the
court, Opinion by Judge Smith, not only considered the
reasoning of the Board of Appeals but reviewed in depth
the several arguments on which the Examiner based his
rejection of all of the Prater and Wei claims. The Exam-
iner recognized that Prater and Wei were entitled to patent
coverage on their Analog embodiment of their system. How-
ever, the Examiner argued that if the claims would embrace
a properly programmed general purpose digital computer,
then Prater and Wei would not be entitled to such claims
notwithstanding the fact that they had disclosed that for
certain applications the use of the ditigtal computer would
be indicated. (For complicated problems, Prater and Wei
disclosed that the general purpose digital computer would

The Patent Office argued that the principal question

22 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

could be interpreted to read on a mental process. If so,
they would be unpatentable as falling outside the statutory
classes of Sections 100 and 101. To support this position
there was reliance upon the case of In re Abrams, 188 F. 2d
165 (C. C. P. A. 1951). The court thoroughly studied the
Abrams case as well as the case of In re Shao Wen Yuan,
188 F. 2d 377 (C. C. P. A. 1951). The decision presents
reproductions of the drawings from the Abrams case to-
gether with a discussion of the issues involved. The court
properly concluded that in Abrams the disclosure was
mental in character. No automatic system was disclosed.
It was necessary for the operator to utilize the procedures
disclosed by Abrams and to think about the various steps
and to interpret the results of each step in order to pro-
ceed with the next one. The same conclusions were drawn
in respect of the decisions in Halliburton Oil Well Cement-
ing Co. v. Walker, 146 F. 2d 817 (9th Cir. 1944) and Don
Lee Inc. v. Walker, 61 F. 2d 58 (9th Cir. 1932).

As part of the thorough consideration of the questions
involved, Judge Smith in his Opinion beginning page 1387
reviewed the development of the patent law from its consti-
tutional origin and in particular the import of the decision
of this Court in Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U. S. 780 (1876).
The conclusion was properly reached that this Court in
Cochrane v. Deener did not set up limits in respect of
process patentability but intended and explicitly said:

„That a process may be patentable irrespective of the
particular form of the instrumentalities used,’’. (94
U. S. 787)

The intended breadth of 35 U. S. C. 6 101 was made evi-
dent by Judge Smith's reference to two cases, Smith v.
Snow, 294 U. S. 1 (1934) and Wazham v. Smith, 294 U. 8.
20 (1935). In these cases, this court indicated that the

7

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 23

‘process met the requirements of patentability because the
performance of a function which had never occurred in
nature, which had not been anticipated by the prior art,
was attained.

The court in Prater and Wei then concluded:

This distinction from Abrams (that his process could
only be performed in the mind as far as the dis-
closure was concerned) leads us to our present holding
which is that patent protection for a process disclosed
as being a sequence or combination of steps, capable of
performance without human intervention and directed
to an industrial technology—‘useful art’ within the in-
tendment of the constitution—is not precluded by the
mere fact that the process could alternatively be car-
ried out by mental steps. (415 F. 2d 1389)

Thus the rejection of the process claims was reversed. Fol-
lowing a brief discussion.of the apparatus claim, its rejec-
tion was also reversed.

3. The Decision in Prater and Wei of August 14, 1969, 415
F. 2d 1393, After Rehearing.

After grant of the petition by the Patent Office for re-
hearing, the court granted permission for amici curiae to
file briefs and to participate in the oral argument. Briefs
were presented by Bell Telephone Laboratories, Inter-
national Business Machines Corporation (IBM), Honey-
well,, Inc., Applied Data Research Inc., and the Association
of Independent Software Companies (Software Associa-
tion). .

The court comprised Chief Judge Worley, Judge
Maguire, Senior District Judge, District of Columbia and
Associate Judges Rich, Almond and Baldwin. The Opinion
was by Judge Baldwin.

24 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

The court again found that the fact situation presented
was not controlled by Abrams, Yuan, or Cochrane v. Deener.
Besides adopting Judge Smith’s more detailed analysis of
the Abrams case, the Opinion again reviewed that case to-
gether with Yuan and Cochrane v. Deener.

The key to the decision on Rehearing lies in the finding
of the court, page 1403:

that there is no-dispute, as between the principal
parties, that appellants have disclosed a patentable
statutory process. (Emphasis by Court.)

The opinion by Judge Baldwin then points out that there
remains a question of whether Prater and Wei were en-
titled to a claim broad enough to cover a mental process
coupled only with pencil and paper markings as well as the
operation of a properly programmed general purpose digi-
tal computer and the operation of an analog device.

The Court held to be fatal the attorney’s admission
that claim 9 could, absent the specification, be read on a
„pencil and paper execution“. Since claim 9 was thus
found to read on subject matter for which Prater and Wei
did not seek coverage, this admission was held to run afoul
of Section 112. Accordingly there was affirmance by the
court of the Patent Office rejection of all of the method
claims as not meeting the requirements of Section 112.

Apparatus claim 10 however fell into an entirely dif-
ferent category. For an apparatus claim, any ‘‘mental
steps’’ issue is absent. Claim 10 was a typical means-plus-
function claim expressly permitted by the third paragraph
of 35 U. S. C.§112. The C. C. P. A. reversed the Patent
Office rejection of this claim.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 25

VII.

THE LATER DECISIONS OF THE COURT OF OUB.-

‘TOMS AND PATENT APPEALS FOLLOWED THE LAW

DEVELOPED BY THIS COURT TO ACCOMMODATE
OTHER NEW TECHNOLOGIES.

1. The Art of Producing Isometric Drawings.

Application of Bernhart
417 T. ad 1395 (O. O. P. A. 1969)

This case related to the applicability of a general pur-
pose computer in producing isometric drawings by a plotter
under the control of a general purpose computer. The
ability of the Patent Office to search such subject matter
is evident from its citation of the relevant prior art. The
recognition by the court of that prior art as anticipatory
is evidenced by its affirmance of the rejection of claims 13
and 18. The court reversed the Patent Office in respect of
claims 19-21 because the prior art was not anticipatory and
the claims met the test of statutory subject matter.

The reasoning of the court as set forth in the opinion
by Judge Lane includes the adoption of the Commissioner’s
position of 1966, supra, by pointing out that if the machine:

‘tis programmed in a certain new and unobvious way,
it is physically different from the machine without
that program; its memory elements are differently
arranged. The fact that these physical changes are
invisible to the eye should not tempt us to conclude
that the machine has not been changed. If a new
machine has not been invented, certainly a ‘new and
useful improvement’ of the unprogrammed machine
has been, and Congress has said in 35 U. S. C. 6 101
that such improvements are statutory subject matter
for a patent.“ (417 F. 2d 1400)

2% Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

The Court then observed that the vast majority of
newly programmed machines might well be held to be
obvious to those skilled in the art and hence unpatentable
under 35 U. S. C. $103. With this statement we agree
since in each case involving the new operation of a com-
puter, the statutory requirements must be met in respect
of novelty and unobviousness.

That the C. C. P. A. rigidly followed not only earlier
decisions of this Court, but the intent of Congress is clear
from the following statement :

„We think it is clear that in enacting section 101

Congress meant to exclude principles or laws of nature

and mathematics, of which equations are an example,

from even temporary monopolization by patent. Ac-
cordingly, no rule of law should be announced which
would impress a monopoly upon all uses of the equa-
tions disclosed by appellants here in their patent
application. To allow the claims in issue here would
not prohibit all uses of those equations. As we have
pointed out above, a member of the public would have
to do much more than use the equations to infringe
any of these claims. He would have to use them in
the physical equipment recited in the claim. Moreover,
all machines function according to laws of physics
which can be mathematically set forth if known.’’ (417
F. 2d 1399)

The Court concluded that the claimed apparatus was
statutory subject matter and some of the claims were
ee. over the = art.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 27
2. The Art of Digital Data Communications.

~ Application of Mahony |
1 r. 24 742 (0. O. P. A. 1970)

In the transmission of a sequence of electrical signals
representing a stream of data bits, it is necessary to have
synchronization between the sending and receiving termi-
nals. This synchronization, or framing, allows proper
identification of the individual words in the stream. This
is done by inserting so-called framing bits into the data
stream. The identification of these framing bits repre-
sented the subject matter on appeal. The decision and
Opinion by Judge Lane represents an important clarifica-
tion in the development of the law.

The principal question deeided by the court was

whether the appealed claims covered a machine imple-
mentation of the process and not mental steps. The court

5. (Cont’d.)
rons t and Fetter appeal. A portion of a selected method claim
follows :

18. A method of ng rae developing a textile weave
design from an outline design displayed upon an assumed
coordinate grid by operating a data processing system having
data storage means and graphic data display means to display
arbitrary weave patterns within arbitrarily bounded areas of
said outline design, said method comprising the steps of:

operati a portion of said storage means as a weave memory

( ) for assembling’ stored bits in coordinate arrays
representing a plurality of available weave patterns,
each having a distinctive arrangement of warp and weft
thread crossing

operating said display means in accordance with the data

stored rely in said and said area

i
N

28 Brief Amicus Ouriae for Mobil Oil Corporation

was concerned with the breadth of the claims and used the

claims themselves as the yardstick in determining com-

pliance with the Patent Act by asking what they mean to

one skilled in the art to which the invention pertains. If

ee Seen Sentra wh a meatal
process, they are statutory.

r eourt pointed out that the invention could be
illustrated by pencil and paper representation, as a method
can sometimes be better understood by using an equation
interrelating various factors to be utilized in reaching a
solution.“ Nevertheless when the claims call for a bit
stream’’, recognized dictionaries, such as the Computer
Dictionary and Handbook (1966) by Charles J. Sippl, make
clear that those skilled in the art use the term bit stream

4. . . in conjunction with transmission methods in
which character separation is accomplished by the
terminal equipment, and the bits are transmitted over
the circuit in a consecutive line of bits.“ (421 F. 2d
(746)

The Court concluded that in acting on the bits in a
bit stream, physical phenomena has been set forth the
same as in electrical circuitry where sinusoidal electrical
signals are involved.

While one may draw a sine wave soprestntative of
such electrical signals, when signals of sine wave form
are called for they are again physical in character. Thus
it is customary in the electrical arts with reference to elec-
trical signals to talk about chopping, rectifying, filtering

6. The Court so held in MacKay Radio and Telegraph Company
v. Radio Corporation of America, 306 U. S. 86, 100 (1939) in

this Court found no problem in the use of a formula in defining
Carter’s radio antenna. The basis for invalidity was Carter’s effort

during prosecution of the application to modify and broaden the
formula to a point where it involved new matter.

4

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 29

‘and soon. So it is in the computer art. Bit streams and
bits, and the manner in which they are operated upon, are
just as physical in nature as sinusoidal electrical current
which operates electrical motors for the well-being of so-
The court distinguished the Mahony case from Prater
and Wei in that Prater and Wei were seeking to cover
only machine executed methods but their method claims
were broader than their invention—hence overclaiming.
From the foregoing it will be seen that the court did
not open widely the door to the granting of patents. When
the court below has been presented with a rejection under
Section 112 of the Patent Act, it insisted that each applicant.
fully comply with the requirements of this section. 1

3. The Art of Tracking Vehicles.

Application of Hammack, 427 F. 2d 1378 and Applica-
tion of Hammack, 427 F. 2d 1384 (C. C. P. A. 1970)

The two Hammack applications described the deter-
mination of the position and velocity of moving objects,
such as aircraft, space vehicles, ballistic missiles, and sub-
marines.

The decisions of July 2, 1970 affirmed the rejection by
the Patent Office of all claims on appeal because of in-
definiteness and failing to meet the statutory .
of Section 112.

4 The Art of Seismic Exploration.

Application of Musgrave
481 F. 2d 882 (C. OC. P. A. 1970)

The Musgrave case may be considered to be a com-
panion ease of Prater and Wei (both assigned to Mobil
pie Oil Corporation) in that both disclose analog systems for

—

30) Brief Amicus Curiac for Mobil Oil Corporation

the practice of the method and for support of broad ap.
paratus claims. The Musgrave case dealt with seiemic
operations and in particular how to obtain better and more
useful information about the nature and character of sub-
surface formations in locating oil fields.

An earlier case, Application of Naquwin, 398 F. 2d 863
(C. C. P. A. 1968), dealt with the same subject matter.
In the Naqwin case, the Patent Office rejected the claims
only on the basis of lack of a complete disclosure meeting
the requirements of the first paragraph of Section 112. The
computer program had not been disclosed. The court re-
versed the Patent Office on the basis that the Examiner
himeelf had agreed that the principles of how to program
a computer to perform the steps were well known to those
skilled in the computer art. It was only necessary to have
a flow diagram explaining the particular advance in the

art made by Naquin. A complete computer program was
not necessary to complete the disclosure since such pro-
gramming would be well within the skill of the art to
produce.

In contrast with Naquin, Musgrave disclosed a fully
operative analog system but like Prater and Wei mentioned

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 31
5. More Seizmic Prospecting Art.

Application of Foster
r. 2d 1011 (0. 0. P. A. 1971)

This application (also assigned to Mobil Oil Corpora-
tion) described methods of processing geophysical data to
eliminate distottion present in seismograms.

Judge Almond in his Opinion cautioned that one must
draft claims which meet the requirements of 35 U. 8. C.
$112 in that they must set forth only the machine imple-
' mented processes which applicant regards as his invention.
When they go beyond this point, the Patent Office correctly
rejects them (438 F. 2d 1015). Because of this, the court
afirmed the Patent Office as to claims 4, 7-13, and 15-18 but
reversed as to claims 1-3, 19, 20, 26 and 27. These latter
claims met the requirements both of 35 U. 8. C. 4 101 and of
U. 8. C. 4112 Specifically, the court found that the use
merely of the word signals does not limit the claim to
machine implemented processes. A statement that they are
“electrical signals, or other language of the art as in
Mahony, must be present to make the claims commensurate
with the applicants’ own definition of what they were seck-
ing to cover. When the claims go beyond that, Ie, over-
daiming, the Patent Office position will be affirmed.

6. The Art of Operating Computers.

Application of Ghiron
. 24 085 (0. C. P. A. 1971)

Ghiron and Ulrich were seeking claims on a method of
facilitating transfers dictated by programs for processing
data in a computer operating in overlap mode.
| The court, Opinion by Judge Baldwin, followed the

earlier decisions in respect of insufficiency of disclosure
_ (42 F. 24 991). Again, the court makes self-evident the

32 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

care with which it approaches the problem of patentability
in this new and exciting field of endeavor. Apart from the
prior art rejection which was reversed, the court found
great merit to the position of the Patent Office on the in-
adequacy of the disclosure as to how one would use a special

purpose computer to practice the invention.

7. More Computer Operating Art.

Application of McIIroy
442 . 24 1397 (0. d. P. A. 1971)

In the Mellroy case, the Patent Office rejection of the
claims as drawn to non-statatory subject matter under 25
U. g. C. 4101 was reversed.

The court found that where a process has practical
value in enhancing the internal operation of digital com-
rr
useful arts and hence statutory.

8. The Art of Analyzing Data In Computer- Comtrolled
Bystems.

Application of Waldbaum
173 U. s F. Q 430

(Mo. 8619, C. C. P. A. April 20, 1972)

This is the last C. C. P. A. decision on programming
technology decided at the time of writing this brief.

The C. C. P. A. reversed the Patent Office rejection
under 35 U. 8. C. 4101.

The opinion is significant for ite further clarification
of the phrase technological arts as used in Benson and
Tabbot here on appeal and as originally used by the
C. C. P. A. in Musgrave. The Waldbawm opinion makes
clear that ‘‘technological arte as used by the C. C. P. A. is
synonomous with the phrase useful arte as it appears in

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 33

the patent clause of the Constitution. This considerably
clarifies the issue on appeal here. Is the Benson and Tabbot
BCD to binary conversion technique a ‘‘technological’’ or
„nul art’’? If it is, it meets the constitutional require-
ment which is all that the statutory language of 35 U. S. C.
101 is intended to convey.

9. Summary of Section VII of This Brief.

The above decisions are to be contrasted with the posi-
tions urged by Petitioner and amicus L. B. M. that the Court
of Customs and Patent Appeals, in the aforesaid decisions,
has in effect directed the Patent Office to grant patents on
scientific principles, mental procesdes and abstract intel-
lectual concepts. That court has not taken such a position
but rather has closely adhered to the standards set forth by
this Court.

As shedding further light on the performance of the
court below, reference may be had to Appendix II, a com-
parative table of claims rejected and claims allowed in the
several cases before the court involving broadly the tech-
nology of program control. The care with which the
C. C. P. A. has scrutinized the rejections of the claims pre-
sented to it on appeal is well demonstrated by the table.’

„

7. The Table shows that the Patent Office had allowed the vari-
mas s thirty-nine claims before the cases were to the
CC. PF. A. on other claims. In these appeals the C. C. P. A. af-
firmed the Patent Office on the rejection of one hundred nine claims,

1 ee NN
r F. 2d 1384 (C. C. P., A. 1970). The
n

*
4
C. P. A. reversed the — —— —
3er , fifty, were
one Application of Musgrave, 431 F (CC. P-A_ i970).

34 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

VIII.

THE ART OF OONVERTING SIGNALS IN BINARY
CODED DECIMAL NOTATION INTO ORDINARY
BINARY NOTATION.

Application of Benson
441 T. 2d 682 (0. O. P. A. 1971)

The opinion by Judge Rich gives considerable attention
to the ground of rejection before the court. The conclusion
was that the only ground of rejection relied upon up to the
time of the appeal was 35 U. S. C. 6 101 (441 F. 2d 684).

Our comments here are limited to a few points which
may aid the Court in a better understanding of the subject
matter and the limited nature of the decision by the court
below.

The conversion of binary coded decimal signals into
signals of binary notation is a simple operation. Neverthe-
less an understanding of what these terms mean and how
the conversion is accomplished requires a bit of study. To
make this task easier, we include in Appendix V a step-by-
step explanation which we hope will prove useful to the
Court. The most pertinent prior art referred to in Ap-
pendix V was found by the Patent Office. It formed the
basis of the rejection of many claims and resulted in can-
cellation of some claims from the application. Only two
claims remain before the Court.

The Commissioner of Patents argues that claim 8
applies to a series of mathematical calculations or mental
steps. However, as we read the claim, it is strictly limited
to the control of a reentrant shift register in a computer
in a manner undisclosed by the prior art to solve a particu-
lar problem. There is no possibility of interpreting claim
8 to cover a new mathematical procedure absent the as-
sumed novel operation of a shift register.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 35

There was no rejection by the Patent Office under
35 U. S. C. 5112. The court below found that the rejec-
tion of both claims was based solely upon 35 U. S. C.
4% 100,101. The court found that claim 8 met the require-
ments of these sections since the claim calls for a method
or process performed on the machine disclosed in the patent
application, namely a reentrant shift register.

Claim 13 falls within a different category. It was
found to be broad enough to cover the machine implemen-
tation disclosed in the application, still another machine
implementation disclosed during prosecution, and a third
manual execution. Because the manual practice would be
. improbable and lacking in any utility, the court decided
that it should realistically be interpreted to cover only the
operation and utilization of a machine such as a digital
computer, a machine clearly in the technological field and
within the definition of useful arts rather than the
“liberal arts

The Court, in finding claim 13 directed to statutory
subject matter applied a standard of reasonableness in
Court in United States v. Adams, 383 U. 8. 39 ). In
the Adams case, as here, the Government in its analysis
of the claims attempted to ignore the technology and the
teaching of the specification. This Court stated:

There are several basic errors in the Govern-
ment’s position. First, the fact that the Adams bat-
tery is water-activated sets his device apart from the
prior art. It is true that Claims 1 and 10, supra, do
not mention a water electrolyte, but, as we have noted,
a stated object of the invention was to provide a bat-
tery rendered serviceable by the mere addition of
water. While the claims of a patent limit the inven-
tion, and specifications cannot be utilized to expand the
patent monopoly, Burns v. Meyer, 100 U. S. 671, 672, 25

36 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

L. Ed. 733 (1880); McCarty v, Lehigh Valley R. Co.,
160 U. 8. 110, 116, 16 S. Ct. 240, 242, 40 L. Ed. 358
(1895), it is fundamental that claims are to be con-
strued in the light of the specifications and both are to
be read with a view to ascertaining the invention,
Seymour v. Osborne, 11 Wall. 516, 547, 20 L. Ed. 33
(1871); Schriber-Schroth Co. v. Cleveland Trust Co.,
311 U. S. 211, 312 U. S. 654, 61 S. Ct. 235, 85 L. Ed.
132 (1940); Schering Corp. v. Gilbert, 2 Cir., 153 F. 2
428 (1946). (383 U. S. 48, 49)

In interpreting claim 13, the C. C. P. A. properly con-
cluded that it is not directed to mental activity, abstract
concepts, scientific principles, or to an equation per se
either new or old.

We do not suggest to this Court that an equation
per ze, a program per se, a schematic diagram per se, or
pencil and paper computations are patentable. Where
new and unobvious operations are performed on a machine
and where the operation of the machine itself is vastly im-
proved by reason of a new and unobvious program, the
court below has found patentable subject matter. Accord-
ingly, we submit that the court below has properly accom-
miodated the patent law to the field of computer technology.
Its holding of patentability should be sustained.

IX.

THE TACIT APPROVAL BY THE PATENT OFFICE
OF THE ZARLIER DECISIONS, DISCUSSED ABOVE.

Following the decision of Prater and Wei upon Re-
hearing, the Commissioner of Patents announced that
the Patent Office would follow that decision on a case-by-
case basis. Though arguments continued to be presented

8. The “Notice of Recission of Guidelines” appeared in 34 F. R.
15724 October 10, 1969.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 37

to the court below in cases where issue had been joined,
no petition for certiorari was filed. On the contrary, the
Patent Office followed the law of Prater and Wei. The
Prater and Wei patent was duly issued, Appendix III, as
was the patent in the Application of Wheeling, 413 F. 2d
1187 (C. C. P. A. 1969). (Mobil also owns the Wheeling
patent and a representative claim is reproduced in Ap-
pendix IV.)

Those active in this field continued to believe the
Patent Office had adopted the Prater and Wei decision. It
was not until the decision in the Application of Benson
that a petition for certiorari was filed. Amicus strenuously
urges that the carefully reasoned decisions of the C. C. P. A.
preceding the instant case be left undisturbed. These deci-
sions provide a workable body of law which can be used
to determine patentability in this new technology. If this
line of decisions is now renounced, the resulting uncer-
tainty will deter, rather than promote, the progress of
this useful art.

x.

THIS TECHNOLOGY IS ACCORDED PATENT
PROTECTION IN FOREIGN JURISDICTIONS.

Though the patent laws of other countries may differ
from our own, and hence decisions of foreign courts on the
questions of law presented by the instant case may not be
directly relevant, this section of the brief is included be-
cause the Brief for Amicus Curiae International Business
Machines Corporation asserts that the practice in other
countries is to deny patent protection for this subject
matter.“ That this is not so is demonstrated by decisions
in the following countries.

9. Brief ~~ Curiae International Business Machines
p. 26.

38 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation
Great Britain.

In the technological field of computer operations, sev-
eral cases have been decided in favor of patentability. In
two cases the question was carefully considered by the
Patent Appeal Tribunal which is presided over by a Judge
of the High Court of England.“ In Gevers’ Application
the invention was a data processing apparatus constructed
and arranged with appropriate mechanographic supports
so that three steps could be carried out by the machine.
The three steps recited in the claims were:

1, Entering a succession of words into a computer
or other data processing apparatus programmed to
translate the words into other words in accordance
with a specific rule and to record the translated words
on cards or tape;

2. To sort the cards or words on the tape into
lists in one of three enumerated ways;

3. To print out the list with the words in the
original form.

The question presented for review by the Patent Ap-
peal Tribunal was whether there was an invention which
fell within Section 101 of the British Patents Act of 1949.
Concerning the subject matter defined by the claim, Gra-
ham, J. stated:

In other words . . it is fair to say that the claim
calls for apparatus which is programmed in a certain
way so as to produce the desired result. (page 95)

The Examiner in the Patent Office had rejected
Gevers’ Application on the basis that ‘‘this alleged inven-

10. , Incorporated’s Applicati 1970] Pat.
Cas, 36 and Servers’ n 0 Pat. Cas. 91.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 39

tion would seem to be a scheme or a plan which, although
it may be ingenious and useful is not a patentable inven-
tion. On this point Mr. Justice Graham stated that
what was claimed was a piece of machinery constrained to
function a certain way and produce a certain desired re-
sult by reason of the program. This was deemed an inven-
tion within the meaning of the patent act.

Prior to Gevers’ Application Mr. Justice Lloyd-Jacob
in Badger Company Incorporated’s Application considered
whether an invention involving the use of a computer of
known type conditioned to produce a drawing of a piping
layout was within Section 101 of the British Patent Act.
The finding was affirmative. The Badger case, involving
as it did a program controlled plotting device, bears
strong resemblence to the technology involved in the
United States Court of Customs and Patent Appeals deci-
sion, Application of Bernhart, 417 F. 2d 1395 (C. C. P. A.
1969).

An earlier decision of the Superintending Examiner of
the Patent Office in Slee and Harris’s Application, [1966]
Pat. Cas. 194 is in accord with the Gevers’ and Badger
cases. In this case, claims to linear programming means
for use in controlling data processing apparatus were al-
lowed on appeal.

Canada.

The most recent decision in any of the foreign patent
tribunals is that of the decision of the Commissioner of
the Canadian Patent Office on December 8, 1971: Ix tHe
Martres or a patent application serial numbet 961,392." In
this decision, the Chairman of the Patent Appeal Board,

11. The official report is not yet published, but the entire text
dl the decision appears in 58 Patents, Trademark & Copyright Jour-
nal, D-1, ome ge 23, 1971. The rejection of the

8. was recently reversed in Application of
5. G. 430 (No, 8619. C. C. PA A. April 20,

40 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

commenting on the status of the British Patent Office and
Patent Appeals Tribunal decisions, said:

4. . . it is clear to me that both bodies recognize that
inventions involving the use of programmed com-
puters are proper subject matter for patent protection.
It is also clear to me that although some formalities
may have to be observed in drafting claims, there is
nothing in the Appeal Tribunal decisions to suggest
that inventions involving programmed computers
should not satisfy the usual tests of novelty, utility
and inventive ingenuity.’’ (page D-2)

The rejections of claims drawn to methods for controlling
the operation of a computer, claims to a programmed
machine, and claims to the new use of a stored program
data processing apparatus were reversed. This decision
superseded the previous administrative guidelines of the
Canadian Patent Office. See the Canadian Patent Office
Records, December 28, 1971, p. 8, which contains new
guidelines consistent with the Canadian Waldbaum deci-
sion.

Federal Republic of Germany.

The use of program-controlled digital computers was
considered by the German Federal Patent Court in review-
ing an opposition proceeding involving an application of
Philips Electrologica GmbH, Docket 17 W(pat) 6/68.”
The opposition was brought by International Business
Machines (IBM-Germany)—a subsidiary of Amicus Inter-
national Business Machines—and a wholly German com-
pany—AEd, Telefunken. The invention was for a method
of operating a program controlled computer. The intro-
ductory portion of claim 1 translates as:

12. The opinion has not yet been published.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 41

„Method for automatically converting one unit of
value into another, for example, a nondecimal unit of
measurement into decimal within a specified range of
tolerance for data processing machines characterized
in that the unit of value introduced into a multiplying
program controlled computer is, after multiplication
by the specified conversion factor, advanced to a first
memory store

The opponents argued that Philips’ patent applica-
tion was not proper subject matter for patent because
the invention was a directive for the intellectual powers
and involved ‘‘primarily a question of fixing a calculation
method. They argued that the method of claim 1 cannot
be classified into one of the known method categories. The
German Federal Patent Court distinguished between an
invention which may be unpatentable because it is obvious
(lacking inventive height) and an invention which could
not in the first instance be patentable because it is not
proper subject matter for patent. The Court found lack
of inventive height’’. However, the Court rejected the
opponents’ contention that the invention was not a tech-
nology within the meaning of the patent law. A portion
of the opinion translates as follows:

„Thus the subject of the invention satisfies the condi-
tions set before, the subject of the invention is there-
fore in the field of technology in the sense of the patent
system. The technical character of the specified solu-
tion is not refuted by the fact that the specified se-
quence of operations can be carried out without the
use of machine parts (with ‘pencil and paper’).’’

Other Countries.

g The decisions discussed above in Germany, Canada
and Great Britain are the most authoritative thus far on

42 Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation

The three Australian decisions referred to in the
brief of Amicus IBM are decisions of the Patent Office
Superintending Examiner. These decisions were before
the decisions in Gevers and Badger of the Appeal Tribunal
of England. In view of the propensity of the Australian
Patent Office to follow British precedents these Australian
cases would seem to have questionable vitality. Also, the
decisions of the Superintending Examiner appear to de-
part from the principle laid down by the High Court of
Australia in National Research Development Corporation’s
Application [1961] Pat. Cas. 135. The following statement
of the court is pertinent here:

„The point is that a process, to fall within the limits
of patentability which the context of the Statute of
Monopolies has supplied, must be one that offers some
advantage which is material, in the sense that the
process belongs to a useful art as distinct from a fine
art (see Virginia-Carolina Chemical Corporation’s Ap-
plication [1958] R. P. C. 35 at p. 36)—that its value
to the country is in the field of economic endeavour.”’

(page 145)

In its brief on Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Amicus
IBM pleads that ‘‘great weight should be given to the
practice in other countries’’. If this plea is to be honored,
the foregoing decisions in favor of the patentability of
this new technology should be the standard, and the holding
of the court below should be affirmed.

Brief Amicus Curiae for Mobil Oil Corporation 43

XI.
OONCLUSION.

The legal conclusions of the court below are soundly
reasoned and consistent. with the Constitutional purpose
to promote the progress of useful arts. The decision below
should in all respects be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

Viner. E. Woopcock,
RIc HARD E. Kurz,
Woopcock, Was RHBUnx, Kurtz &
Mackmwroz,
1831 The Fidelity Building,
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 19109,
Attorneys for Amicus Curiae,
Mobil Oil Corporation.

Of Counsel:
_Awyprew L. Gasortaur,
General Patent Counsel,
Oswatp G. Hayes,
Associate Patent Counsel,
Mobil Oil Corporation,
150 East 42nd Street,
New York, New York. 10017.

ore ARE TOO LARGE TO BE FILMED

Appendia II

APPENDIX I.

Tama or C C. P. A. Computer Proczamminc Cases Com-

amn Numeze or Caine Urow Wauice Rezecrios Was

BReveeseo Wire Nun on Wien Rezecrioxn Was
Arnd.

No. of Re- No. of Re-
jected Claims jected Claims
No. of Upon Which Upon Which
Claims Allowed the Rejection the Rejection
Before Appeal Was Affrmed Was Reversed
toCC PA. byCCPA. byCCPA.
0 12
Prater & Wei (2) 11 1
Wheeling (Case remanded for determina-

tion of statutory basis of fejec-
tion of five rejected claims.)

3
2
0
0
50
7
0
2
8
15
100

(45 other than (50 other than
Hammack (2)) Musgrave)

44 Appendiæ III

APPENDIX III.

Usrrep Srares Parewr 3,551,658.
Paar & Wai.

6. The method of determining with minimum error
from the spectra of spectral analysis the concentration of
the components of a mixture where the components are
known and the concentration-determining peaks of the
spectral analysis are present in number exceeding the
number of said components, which comprises in an auto-
matic processing system the steps of
generating physical representations in said system of
the magnitudes of the coefficients of simultaneous
linear equations defining the concentrations of
said components as functions of the heights of
said peaks of said spectral analysis,
generating in said system from said physical repre-
sentations of the magnitudes of said coefficients
the magnitude of the determinant of a plurality
of sets of said simultaneous equations, the num-
ber of equations of each of said sets being equal
in number to the number of said components,

in said system comparing said physical representations
of the magnitudes of said determinants of said
sets of equations for identification of the set of
said equations whose determinant has the largest
magnitude, and

generating physical representations of the concentra-

tion of each said component of said mixture from
said physical representations of the magnitudes
of said coefficients of said set of simultaneous equa-
tions having said determinant of largest magni-
tude and from said heights of said peaks included
in said last-named set of equations.

Appendia IV

APPENDIX IV.

Unsrrep Srares Parent 3,564,221.
W aee.ixo.

4. In optimizing a scalar output function of a system
where a set of input values to said system some of which
are independently variable, are interrelated, and coact to
produce said scalar output function, the method which com-
prises the following steps:

generating in the system input signals representative
of said input values, some of which are independ-
ently variable corresponding with said independ-
ently variable input values;

generating from said input signals an output signal
representative of said scalar output function;

storing in said system an intermediate function repre-
sentative of said output signals;

changing said variable input signals by amounts of
random character to produce output signals of
differing magnitude some of which may produce
output signals representative of improved scalar
output functions;

thereafter repetitively changing said variable input
signals by amounts dependent upon, random selec-
tions; and

weighting the random selections by amounts related
to the magnitude of the earlier changes which
produced output signals representing improved
scalar output functions.

Appendia IV
APPENDIX V.

Tue Bewsow Aub Tassor Invention.

Before considering the Benson and Tabbot method
of converting binary coded decimal (BCD) signals to
binary signals, the following background of the binary
and BCD number notations will be helpful.

The Binary Notation.

In the binary notation, the digits ‘‘1’’ and 0 are
placed in positions having values based on sequentially
ascending powers of 2 which increase from right to left.
The values assigned to these positions are:

18 „„ 3 6 8 4 2 1

In the binary notation, the number one“ is repre-
sented by placing a 1 in the first position and a ‘‘0”’ in
all other positions as follows:

13’ 64 2 16 8 4 2 1
0 6000 0001 “One”

For convenience, the values of the positions are given
above each of the binary and BCD numbers.

The number two“ is represented by placing a ‘‘1”’ in
the second position and ‘‘0’s’’ in all other positions as
follows:

The number ‘‘three’’ is written by adding the binary
number one to the binary number two as follows:

2 GH 2 16 8 421
660600 0011 “Three”

Appendiæ IV A7

The binary number nineteen is written by adding to
the binary three a 1 in the position having a value of
sixteen :

1m % 32 i 8 4 2 1 —
0 0 1 0011 Nineteen

The binary number forty-eight is written as the sum
of thirty-two and sixteen as follows:

12 CA 32 16 8 42 1 1
0 9 1 1 0000 Forty-Eight”

The binary number fifty-three is written by adding
a binary four and a binary one to forty-eight as follows:

1B 4 3 6 8 4 2 1 1 .
0 011 I 60 1 re.

The Binary Coded Decimal (BCD) Notation.

In the BCD notation, the values assigned to the posi-
tions are different but the notation is similar to binary
in that the numbers are written by placing a 1 or a
„0 in the positions having these values. For example,
the BCD number three is:

80 © 20 10 8 4 2 1
0000 0011 “Three”

Note that the first four positions from the right are as-
signed the same value as in the binary notation, but that
the next four positions have different values. Any num-
ber less than ten is the same in both the binary and the
BCD notation. For example, the number three is the
same in both notations. However, in BCD the number
nineteen is different from the binary notation. It is repre-

AB
Plus a ‘ten’:

o 2 2
0 0 0

to give:

o «0 2 421 .
00 0 00 1 Nineteen”

The BCD number ‘‘fifty’’ is written as:

0 © @ 10 8 4 2 1
0 101 0000 a,

and the BCD number ‘‘fifty-three’’ is written by adding
three to fifty to give:

842 1
0011

Converting BCD to Binary.

For many reasons, a change, or conversion, from a
BCD number to a binary number is necessary. Consider

the pencil and paper technique for converting from BCD
to binary.

First, consider the conversion of the BCD number
three:

80 © 20 10 8 42 1
0000 0011 “Theres”

into binary form. The reader knows that all numbers less
than ten are the same in BCD and binary form so he can
merely write the binary number three as follows:

128 64 216 8 42 1
0000 0011 “Three”

Appendia IV A9

Now consider the conversion of the BCD number ten
into binary. The BCD number ten is:

The reader knows that the binary number ten is written
by a binary eight plus a binary two. The first step in
converting the BCD number into binary is to erase, or
mask the ‘‘1’’ in the ten’s column of the BCD number.
This gives:

8 4 2 1 1
0 0 0 0 0000 rs
The second step is to add a binary eight to give:

8 #0 20 10 8 42 1
0 0 0 0 0000
zero plus eight

+ 0 0 0 0 1000 equals “eight”

0 0 0 0 100 0

The third and final step is to add the binary number
two to produce:

80 4 20 10 8 42 1

0 0 0 0 100 0 Binary cight plus
+0 000 001 0 dag tye equals

0 0 0 0 1010

As a final example of converting BCD to binary num-

bers by pencil and paper, consider the conversion of the
BCD number fifty-three:

so © 2 0 8 4 21 . e
0 i101 9 ⁰ 9 1 1 Fifty-Three

First, the reader knows that three is the same in BCD
. and in binary so he will leave unchanged the ‘‘1’s’’ in the

A10 Appendia IV

first two positions. The next 1 is in the ‘‘tens’’ posi-
tion. The reader will erase, or mask, this ‘‘1’’ to give:

The reader will replace this BCD ten with a binary
ten by first adding a binary eight and then adding a binary
two as follows. Adding the binary eight gives:

610 —6— 0 ö . mumber being
con-
+0000 1000 Ae bee be
0 10 0 1 0 1 1
Next, the reader will add binary two as follows:

80 40 20 10 8 42 1
Number i i
0100 1 9 1 1 BCD and binary plus
+ 0 0 0 0 o o 1 0 __ Pinaty two equal new
0 100 1 1 00 1 BCD and binary

Proceeding to the left, the reader will next convert the
„1“ in the position having a value of forty from BCD to
binary. First, he will erase, or mask, the ‘‘1’’ from this
column to give

80 % 2 10 8 4 2 1
0 0 0 0 1101 BCD and binary

He will replace this BCD forty with a binary 32 plus a
binary eight. First, adding binary thirty-two gives:

128 64 32 16 8 4 2 1
Number i i
0-0 0 ο O I I 0 1 8e 7 binary pies
＋ o o 1 „ 00.0 0 deer dane ela
0 0 10 1 1 0 1 Sc binary

Appendia IV All
Finally, the reader will add a binary eight to give:

128 64 32 16 8 42 1
—
0010 1101 N
+0000 1000 binary eight equals binary
0 0 1 1 ioO101

A digital computer programmer can easily program a
digital computer to automatically perform the conversion
in exactly the same sequence of steps as that described
above. There are other known techniques for converting
BCD to binary numbers.* Benson and Tabbot recognized
that the known techniques of conversion were wasteful of
computer operating time and required a relatively large
amount of computer storage capability. They invented a

* The Handbook of Automation, Computation and C ontrol, John
Wiley and Sons, Inc., 1959, pages 2-17, suggests a conversion tech-
nique essentially similar to that described above. The handbook
suggests . the successive powers of the number expressed
in notation of the system into which the number is being con-
verted. The handbook would convert BCD number 53 into inary
by the following steps.

Nocp=0101 0011 BCD fifty-three

Nip 0.1012. + 1101.2 ＋ 0,101.21 + 1-101-20 + 0:10°-28 4

0:10°:2? +4 110% 4 1-10°-20

* 1.0000 (0100) + 1-(1010) (0001) +

1:(0001) (0010) + 1-(0001) (0001)

N,=101000 + 1010 + 0010 + 0001=110101 Binary fifty-three

Another technique for converting from BCD to binary is dis-
closed in U. S. Patent No. 3,026,035 Couleur. In accordance with
this t the BCD number is placed in a shift register. The BCD
number is shifted out of the register one digit at a time. A binary
three is subtracted from any decade having a binary count which is
equal to or greater than eight after any shifting step. After the
shifting is completed, the register contains a binary representation of
the BCD number originally read into the register. The Couleur
Patent was relied upon by the Patent Office in rejecting some of
the Benson and Tabbot claims. These claims were cancelled from
the application. N

A12 Appendia IV

computer process which performs the conversion | more
quickly and with less storage capacity. 3

The Benson and Tabbot Invention.

Benson and Tabbot perform the same masking and
addition steps that were performed in describing the
preceeding BCD to binary conversion. The difference is
that Benson and Tabbot shift the number to be converted
in such a manner that the masking is always performed
on the same position (the second) and the addition is al-
ways performed on the same position (the first).

The Benson and Tabbot invention can be described
by working the conversion with pencil and paper as was
done by the reader in the previous section. However,
doing the Benson and Tabbot conversion with pencil and
paper is somewhat cumbersome; the advantage of their
technique is gained only when it is performed on a machine.
Therefore, the reader is respectfully cautioned that the fol-
lowing pencil and paper description of the Benson and
Tabbot invention will be quite difficult to understand if
the basic principles of the examples in the preceding sec-
tions are not thoroughly understood.

Benson and Tabbot perform their conversion in a
reentrant shift register. A reentrant shift register is a
device which shifts the positions of a BCD or binary num-
ber. Positions shifted out of one end of the register are
inserted into the other end of the register. For example,
consider the BCD number fifty-three:

80 40 20 10 8 42 1
0 101 0011 Fifty-Three

If this number is shifted one position to the right in a
reentrant shift register, the number can be represented as:

1010 1001

Appendia IV A3

If the BCD number fifty-three is shifted one position to
the left it becomes:

8 1 0 0 1 1 0

If the BCD number fifty-three is shifted three positions
to the right it becomes:

eS. 1.4.6 101 0

Benson and Tabbot convert by masking out each 1
and by replacing the masked out ‘‘1’’ with its binary
equivalent. This much is the same as the pencil and paper
- technique previously described. The difference is that
Benson and Tabbot shift the number in their reentrant
shift register so that the masking is always performed on
the same position and the binary additions are always
made tothe same position. Consider the example in which
the BCD number fifty-three is converted to binary by the
Benson and Tabbot method.

The example will be described with reference to the
steps of the Benson and Tabbot claim 8. The first step
is to store the binary coded decimal number fifty-three
in a reentrant shift register so that the positions of this
shift register are:

0 1 0 1 0 0 1 1

(2) The positions are shifted to the right by three
places to produce:

N

0 1 1 0 101 0

(3) The binary ‘‘1’’ in the second position is masked
out to produce:

100 0

Al“ Appendia IV

(4) A binary 1 is added to the first position of the
shift register to produce:
9 110 1001

(5) The positions are shifted two places to the left

(6) A %“ is added to the first position:
0 10 0110

1
Thus far, Benson and Tabbot have performed the
of masking out a 1 and replacing it with a binary

(7) The number is shifted to the right by three places
to produce:

1 101 0100
At this point there is a 0% not a 1 in the second post
tion of the reentrant shift register. Therefore, the num-
ber is shifted to the right one position at « time until

there is a 1 in the second position. Shifting to the right
by one position gives:

o 110 1010

Since there is « 1 present in the second position,
this I is masked out to produce:

Appendia IV Als
A 1 is added to the first position to produce:
9 1190 1001
(5) The number is shifted two places to the left to

10 0101
(6) 4% is added to the first position to produce:
9 0110

point, the Benson and Tabbot technique has
of the 1 in the forty BCD
replacement with « binary ‘‘thirty-two"’

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1546%3A13. Public record. Not legal advice.
