# Amicus Curiae Brief — Maxwell v. Bishop

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1441%3A14

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1970
- **Citation:** 398 U.S. 262

## Text

LIBRARY pie | FILED
SUPREME COURT & } OCT 24 1999
3 No: 13

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1969

WILLIAM L. MAXWELL, PETITIONER,
Vv.

O. E. BisHor, Superintendent of Arkansas State Penitentiary,
RESPONDENT

On Writ of Certiorari to the Un ted States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF BERL I. BERNHARD, WILLIAM COLEMAN, SAMUEL
DASH, JOHN W. DOUGLAS, STEVEN DUKE, WILLIAM T. GOSSETT, JOHN GRIF- -
PITHS, RITA HAUSER, GEORGE N. LINDSAY, BURKE MARSHALL, MONRAD 5.
PAULSEN, STEVEN R. RIVKIN, WHITNEY NORTH SEYMOUR, JEROME J. SHE-
STACK, CYRUS R. VANCE, and JAMES VORENBERG, URGING REVERSAL

BERL |. BERNHARD

“L" Street MAS. RITA HAUSER

ty 0.c. 20038 110 East 42nd Street

WILLIAM T. COLEMAN, JA. ‘New York, New York 10017

2636 Fidelity Phitedsiphie Trust Building . esones &. LINDSAY

aa ahead New York, New York 10022

Georgetown Lew Center BURKE MARSHALL

Washington, 0.C. 20907 a“ Armonk, New vers sone
MONRAD S&S. PAU

cee - 100 Sect, WW. Gnteardy of Vinghte tw Behoet

Washington, 0.C. 20006 Cheriottesvilie, V 22904 .
STEVEN A. RIVKI

Yeo Lom Gobet 918 - 16th Street, N.W.

yl
Ww

WiLLiam r GOssEeTT wae

Detroit, Michigen 486226 New York, New York 10006

JOHN GRIFFITHS JEROME J. SHESTACK

Yele Lew Sehoot 1719 Packerd Building

New Hever, Connecticut 06520 Philedeiphie, Pennsyivenis 19102

CYRUS F. VANCE JAMES VORENBERG

120 Brosedwey Herverd University Lew School

New York, New York 10005 Cambridgh) Massechusetts 02140

(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS.

Page
CHUN. a cece game. 0 e'ss oe nb pwc ere beeen (1)
Interest of Amici Curiae. -. 0.0... hestatare wu ‘eb te |
DE TGs ok ea ea eee et eeeseesseoes an
1. Without appropriate standards, the Arkansas single-
verdict. procedure is susceptible to racially motivated
decisions on the imposition of the death penalty, in
violation of the constitution’s due process and equal
PROLCCHON BUATAMIGES oe ee ga, ce
I. The single-verdict procedure compounds the vices of -
standardless sentencing and imposes needless and im-
permissible burdens on the right to a fair trial on the
issue of guilt or innocence 2.0.00. eee 4
CONGED 6.6 es ee Paes Ce eee ele 18
a CITATIONS :
Cases: ,

_ Estes v. Texas, 381 U.S. $32 (1965) 2000. ee, 10
Giaceo v. Pennsylvania, 382 US. 399 (196) 0... 4, 13
Griffin v. California, 380 U.S. 609 (1965)... 7, 12, 15, 17, 18
Higgins v. Peters, U.S. District Court, No. LR-OS-e-176, °

E.D. Ark. (September 25, 1968) 200 ee eee 7
Jackson v. Denno, 378 U.S. 368 (1964)... .. «Sn 385
Loving v. Virginia, 388 US. 1 (1957) deena 7
Lyons v. Oklahoma, 322 U.S. 596 (1944)... ie aetna ste
In Re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (19SSp 00 Sl, 10
North Carolina v. Pearce, 395 US. 711 ;

CIRO 6650s ae se + 9, 2, 15, 17, 18
Offutt v. United States, 348 US. 11 (1954) 0 10

Rogers v. Richmond, 365 US. $34 (1961) 6

(ii)

Searber v. State, 226 Ark. 503, 291 S.W. 2d 241 (1950)...
Sheppard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333 (1966)... 00... re

Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 554 (1967)... 0...
Tumey v. Olfie, 273 U.S.:510 (1927): ........

United States v. Jackson, 390 U.S. 570 (1968)... . |.
Whitus v. Balkcom, 333 F.2d 496 (Sth Cir) 1964)...
Witherspoon v. Hlinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968)... “— “ ne

Worcester v. Commissioner, 370 F.2d 713 (Furst Cw.
ERS eo, Sah eae ee a ar

Statutes.

Model Penal Code. American Law Institute, Section
OR a he

Other Authoritics:

President's Commission on Law Entorcement and Admin

stration of Justice, Report “The Challenge of Came in

. a kree Society” (1967) ee. Tear eee ree

Wright, Federal Practice and Procedure (Criminal) Sections

NS os igs gl ¢ 0:8’ oe

13

”)

)

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1969

No. 13

WILLIAM L. MAXWELL, »
Petitioner,
Vv.

O. E. BISHOP,
Superintendent of Arkansas State Penitentiary,
Respondent.

af

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit

BRIEF AMICI CURIAE OF BERL I. BERNHARD, WILLIAM COLEMAN,
SAMUEL DASH, JOHN W. DOUGLAS, STEVEN DUKE, WILLIAM T. GOS-
SETT,- JOHN GRIFFITHS, RITA HAUSER, GEORGE N. LINDSAY, BURKE
MARSHALL, MONKAD S. PAULSEN, STEVEN R.. RIVKIN, WHITNEY
NORTH SEYMOUR, JEROME J. SHESTACK, CYRUS R. VANCE, and JAMES
VORENBERG, URGING REVERSAL.

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE! °

The amici curiae join to tender Argument to the Court
on an aspect of this case which reflects the most funda-

‘Pursuant to Rule 42, paragraph 2, there have been lodged with
the Clerk the written consents-of the parties to the filing of this
Brief Amici Curiae.

’

mental dimensions of their individual professional respon-
sibilities as members of the Bar.

The first motivation prompting this brief is a pfotes-
sional concern to preserve and develop the standgrds.of
fairness in the administration of justice standir
heart of our constitutional structure. Each of the signers
of this brief is familiar with the problems of criminal law
enforcement and with the practical requirement that the
American system of criminal justice function with sub-
stantial fairness to all accused of crime.

In addition, each of the signers‘of this brief has pledged
his professional skills to the fulfillment for all Americans
of civil rights under law. Since the context in which this
case rises to Constitutional proportions is shaped by the
factor of race, the signers consider Argument with respect
to the bearing of this factor essential to the full and
proper development of the questions fairly comprised in
this case. oat

Because considerations of procedural fairness and racial
"justice come together in the constitutional issues here on
review, the undersigned hereby respectfully tender this
briel amiict curiae

‘.

3
ARGUMENT

WITHOUT APPROPRIATE STANDARDS, THE ARKANSAS
_SINGLE-VERDICT PROCEDURE IS SUSCEPTIBLE TO —

RACIALLY MOTIVATED DECISIONS ON THE IMPOSI-

TION OF THE DEATH PENALTY, IN VIOLATION OF THE

CONSTITUTION’S DUE PROCESS AND EQUAL PRO-
_ TECTION GUARANTEES.

Standards to. guide juries in selegting convicted persons
for capital. punishment are essential to comply with the
Due Process requirement that discretion be limited and
that the criminal process include structural guarantees
against decisions based on passion and prejudice, as well
as the Equal Protection requirement that the State not
“ invite racially motivated decisions. Appropriate stand-
ards can be devised by any State which wishes to delegate
to juries ‘the power to impose the death sentence.

: ieee’

The death penalty for a “capital” offense has become
the exception, rather than the rule. and this accentuates
‘the need for standards to determine the occasions on
which it is to be inflicted if administration of the death
penalty is to meet .Due Process requirements. . The
current rarity of the death penalty also destroys the
support of tradition for the Arkansas practice.

Only.a small fraction of persons convicted of offenses
for which death ts a possible penalty actually receive the
death sentence, im Arkansas or anywhere else (see Peti-
tioner's Appendix B, at 244-344). It is nowsunthinkable
that any ‘significant, proportion of “capital” offenders
could be put to death. Thus the defimitions of so-called

a

4
» ae | ; :

“capital offenses” no longer reveal anything about the
criteria by which the death sentence may be Mposed,
-In capital cases, the ubsence of any relationship between
the elements of the offense and the punishment imposed
makes compelling the need for explicit) standards to
guide the jury. The sentencing jury in a capital case ts
empowered to select for a special and awesome penalty
a very few. victims from among the total pool ot con-
victed persons. It should hardly require argument that
the power to make such a selection cannot be delegated
without any standards at all. in a constitutional system
which will not allow delegation of the power to Impose
court costs onan acquitted defendant as on a mere tind
ing that he was guilty of “some misconduct” which “has
given rise to the. prosecution.” -Giaccor Periisvdvania.
382 US. 399 (1966). Due process of law is denicd-in
the most fundamental way when a decision to forbert
lite is:made on the basis of no legal rulecat all

harher in our history, when the death sentence was a |
normal adjunct to a conviction, the definition of a
capital crime genera ly provided some guidance tor the
occasions on which capital punishment would fy
inflicted: and made plausible the proposition that a jury,
might lawfully be lett wath unguided discretion toa dts
pense meres

There is unquestionably a great differen

between discretion to reprieve and. discretion to take oa
life. Ultimately, whether a situation involves the one ot
the other is a question of fact. The fact is that capital
sentencing in’ 1969 conststs of the selection of victims

-

‘not the selection of persons to be spared

When a death sentence ts no longer a serious possibility
for the vast majority who commit) the proscribed

offense, it becomes a fiction to pretend that the commis-
sion of the offense itself is the cause of the sentence.
The offense has become. an excuse fo execute a man for
other unrelated or virtually unrelated reasons, Perhaps

such a system is permissible bat only if these collateral .

reasens are Clearly prescribed. Arkansas’ juror, delegated

the power fo make society's most awesome choice, is

4 *
HIVen no criterie upon which to make it, He is left to his
prejudices and: hits subgonscious for the keys to dec Sian,
Often, as Petitioner’ S statistics at least strongly suggest,

the juror is moved by -his tear of difference and decides .

lo mmpose the death penalty upon the defendant becuuse
of his race F

The disappearance of the death penalty ‘as a normal
consequence of, conviclion for even the most heinous
offenses has not only enlarged the gperational content
of jury “diseretion”, and created the necessity for
Standards, if has climinated tradition as a ground: for
perpetuating the Arkansas practice. The issue now
before the Court is vastly different from what it might
have been SY i few decades: apo, “though i remins
clothed in Ite sume conceptual aArMents

I

The Arkansas procedure is tantamount to an instru
fon that race may be taken ito account and is thhis a
deprivation of Equal Protection of the Laws

!
Hoan. Arkansas court, or any other court, were to
charge a-sentencing jury that it could consider race in
deciding defendants fate, a sentence imposed by such a
ry Would be vod with no proot whatever that the yurs

ts .
° 7

al

had actually been racially motivated i Tr rt the ~“n
tence (see Petition for Certoran. pp 46-27) The some

Constifutional nuke woo fortion where ne wptleme ts
death Our systemeof pure trials tests wont Che assnienagetoeyn
that wines are guided and influenced by what thes an
and are not told by the presaling pudge Countless con
victioms ate reversed peers veut “in evens purmdiotioen low

hare Hi hs not uinalmmnen fey a com ietion
itned for the sole re Jeon thal an Hast rition
Mo CrP lenicemis “wus unclean oF contysang Ney
boderal Pratwe and Privcediuure (€ criminal See

ins, 4K" aU Patty Nume os Com te Nien hud been

DT ee nm hin reason than 1a, fathuge cf thy ourt te’

"gistnid fully nh eee Hoyas, want «¢ ‘ ave evnatel

deol TR sf eon ete oo the lerevnaread off
the i Weroght saga ca., S A fivaths i* Mh te cont
cams. 1 fb ne anewee thal the part Poge Peabody” cannben gts ml
anveas. that the omens were sogtied ot oteymetoon
thed guilt was cleat. of that Hy pone a meet gealls wi
ae a poosssbeiler al rvvbstunnade miamibne © cremegh th
vitiate the prom codungs Ttaas Corton fee ea al tthe satin
tide wehon ie ono TRL Le LD Shr ee
logrnc tras Compan. Kewet Ru he *\ ae | ae

S341. S4he tm 4p 0b%et weth ‘ni >
1S She tt etd pat ly tia “testa 4
Toe 4) «fee Beem UR Gg ieee .

A heel casminateen atv sodeat what, pete’
tweoner s get tap cfeargesl .ctrepeets The oct toeeon thot
oune. ot all of thee genes prredeatele comhonet wf the
hater a” argttecradyange thaecen tes Gabe tac tree a tor
healing te fate \At OMe, tee oof py totes @ The "
Arh arnn lew teapuitedt thee he tet oft) Pee feo
clectims. defined a¢ thavee mtr tial pont theo eande

a . .

. °

Sehawee

poll’tar, pa the names of such persons were required to
he kept ina poll tax book’ where they were designated
fy tac. The gury fist itself indicated nace (Petituin for
Contronars, p 75h As recently as 1968, the Arkansas
Hs eRe nation statute was bemge enfotced, although |
declared-unconstitutienal in Lovee + Virgina, 88 UES
11196 See Nien e Peters US Distinct Court No
[Rohe 17% FD Ark, September 7S, 1968 tdeclaring
°° the Arthurs Matute arty alia at the behest Of a Negro man
“and a white, witmnan whe were demed martiage heense)
.* during the thirty two vers Haired ately preceding peter
toons tral, Arkupeas execs uted only | white man for
z pe w tik: erevuling 17: Negroes (Petition tor Centra
° 1) Surely. ne more extensive res umstun ferry
as the Arkon watal fabri of 14> ws needed tw show -
hat the vafiens freon Ph hh ~ tMioner squry was selected
and nm which Mt deckfed that he fics dic, was, af the
very feast. tolerant of the view that rape be a Negro was
a more hemos offenke than the same crime hy a white
that the lite fs Negro dete mfant 1s bese. precious than
that of 9 white. Not has ing bien Cohd otherwise by ‘the
= cerint. ot ts alteage thrive fikely that the pur imterpreted the
* _suibswvnpenen ot the death gern peste, wathent caprens
treetetae Theor as authdrisation To take tar antes accent
Thee hottest i Certainly af least as "great’ as the qhrnet
batons vt sions treed rstardonge pemafierty ange the decane
ited ater cn thy ASANTE boon teat a yte shah heat a
LO - one mt ion the defendant » Vathute te take.
the stand wilt feel authvinired to take at mie acounte *
qf d.eettin »” é Alife inet . ger i teade Vinderanal
i as We Conte. an Arh areas TULA wi La that ime
4, Porsible’ Consider, atheony oan ee ee
tfow serborrrencscors as fiver ite torbeestarding -weaht thaws

x >

been correct, for, in placing the issue of life or death in
-° the unrestricted discretion of the jury. the State of
Arkansas doce TAGE Me jury fo consider face, oF any

(+ other irrelevant of impermissible factors

Since. as we have pomted ‘out, powsibhe ‘ misunder-

standings of baste issues, attributable either to what the

jury was told orto what tt was nor told, suffice to

vitiate a garden vanefy of conviction, how can a wholly

different standard be apphed when a lite ts to be taken”

fhe only concenable distinction was rejected by this

. Court when it noted that while deciding between life or
death ts ;

.

different, in hind fronr a finding that the deferidant
committed a specified offense — . . this does not: .
mean that baste requirements of procedtiral fairness
can be ignored simply because the determination
mvolved in this case differs in some respects trom
the traditional assessment Of whether the defendant
e engaged in the proserbed conduct.” Wis frersprnnte
8 Ninos. wt Ss. S10, 523, ’ 3) ¢ $4Pe 3

In samply submitting the mssuc of life or death, without
comment, the tral cout, in the Contest and under the
circumstances, conveyed a gross misconception which
deprived petitioner of bqual Protection of the: liws anil
Accessarily voided bys death sentence

brent it be assumed. agaumt all the evatemee, that the
death penalty was not discriminatorily inthetyd upon:
petitiotier, Due Process compres, the intrendife tion af
protections agaist the apponent resh aw inh dis
etrmingtion |

9 «

Petitioner abundantly proved in the -Disfrict Court
that “Negro defendants who rape white victims have
been disporportionately sentenced to death by reason of
race, during the years 1945-1965 in the State of
Arkansas.” (Petitioner's Brief, p. 19), and the Court of
Appeals wenmied to agree. The statistics for the nation at
large Mtrongly imply that what is true in Arkansas is true
in the entire South (id. at’ 13-14). Accumulated experi-
ence and professional opinion is virtually unanimous,
moreover, that throughout the nation. “the death sen-

fence ts disproportionately imposed and carried out on

the poor, the Negro, and the’ members of unpopular
groups.” President's Commission on Law Enforcement
an’ Administration of Justice, Report (The ¢ halle nge of
Crime-im a r ree Society) (1967) 143 :

The Court of Appeals was wrong in holding that peti
toner was obliged to prove that his particular jury was
racially motivated, and that he fated to do so. Moreover,
no-such impossible burden: need be met to ¢stablish, at
vt very least, that there was a substantial risk that a

ally - uninstructed ry would: give vent to uamper-

Delbite passions and preyudices in IM posing the- death
cr It would be rank. hypocnsy to deny that such a
risk existed and was substantial Nothing more is needed
fo make if incumbent upon a court to take measures to
acumtergset the mk. Compare Nosth Carolina 3 Pearce.
7S LS TH 11969) where this Court recently heh
that ouplic it findings are essential to protect a defendant
against the appyent risk that his. sentesce might be
Masel UPON A IMpeTfossble consideration there
penalty fora prior appeal :

; i
Vtothe heart of our cemepts of Due Process and tay
trial ts the notion that dhe process must be so Structured
s

*

°

as to minimize passion. prejudice or corrupt motives as
ingredients of decision... Trials must not only be tain in
fact, they must appear fair as well, “Justice must satists
the appearance of justice.” Offutt United States, 348
US ib. 1401984) In re Murchison, 349 US 133. bo
(1955). See also, Estes rv Texas, 381 US. $32. S42
(1965) There are, mysrad cases in which this Court has

~ refused ‘to inquire behind the apparcit untairness of a

practice to see whether in the particular case actual
prejudice was effected. See..c eo Tames 1, One, 273
US. $10 61927) where the judge's financial interest (to

- the tune of S12) 1n the outcome of a case was enough to

invyahdate his judgment “Every procedure which would
offer a possible temptation to the aserige man met to’
‘hold the balance nice. clear and truce between the State
and the accused, denies the latter duc process of liw ”
(273 US at $32) A fine of $100 was involved 1
tortion, the substance and dppeanince of tamness ate
required where life is at stake.-not merely in the deter

mination of guilt and imnocence, but im the sentencing
procedure as well, Indeed, because there fs so tittle con

nechion between conviction and re death penalty tops
the sentencing process * which -particularty dermamds
adherence to fair procedures '

fhere are many casetin which thos Court has belt that
specific steps must be taken to ensute the farness and

protect the appearinge of harness of criminal toads

* The ides that Due Process invelves athinmative protec trys

‘measures wonothing new See ce. Meeps’ Mave!
WHATS BIR C1900, where the Court stated thot Din

Process requires trial palpes feo “take street cr@iscue tas

ensure that the balance ws cnesver weihed aediist the

al .
* ~
-

~

accused” there. by possibly prejudicial publicity: here.
we would argue. by the risk of race prejudice. Cf also
Spencer v. Texas, 388 US, 5S4. 01967) (instructions that
prior srimes, introduced pursuant to a recidivist statute,
coull” not be taken info account as to gilt). ‘

A system) which authorizes predominantly white.
middle class juries to mete out a death sentence to any-
one they convict of a so-called “capital” offense, for any
reason or for no reason. and which promises those juries
that they will never be compelled to reveal or to articu-
late their-reasons of lack of reasons, and which results in
the disproporvionate infliction of the death penalty on
Negroes, plain) tails in its duty both to be and to appear
fur Doe Proc&ss in its most elemental sense ts glaringly
denied |

Although about as likelv-as the moon’s being a mirage,
itis rhone the Iss possthle that no jury ever voted.to kill a
defendant because of the color of his skin, his social
status, OF his cconomie condition, Though every known
attempt of socal scentists ta determime the nexus
-between the death penalty and race in the American
South has tailed to exclude the link, though every known
stutesteal study’ shows a connection, though virtually all
students of the subject beheve that there 1s a4 causal fela-
thonehip.ctervbods fiat be wrong. I vervone may also
be wrong that propudicial pubhioity, as im She ppard, supra,
wreaks premdice The point is that so long as the data ts
suchas to peruade sirtually evervone who examines it
that potiwscure executing people because they are Negro,
Die Process demands that the sentencing process include
Hostess te commteniet the apparent csk oft unconstitit
trol his eeerneation Surely. the thelihood of sen

tomorow based apor aie reepeymissibbe Consideration hat

been far more clearly demonstrated in this case than it
was in Pearce, supra, where this Court relied mainly
upon the State's failure affirmatively to demonstrate a
proper basis. The Due Process need for prophylactic
rules requiring specific findings. as in Pearce, or.at least
instructions to the jury on permissibleand impermissible
consideration ‘follows a-fortion’ in this case. The awe-
some factor of death adds immeasurably to the need.

The State of California contends that “If Arkansas
jurors are. . . bent on racial discrimination, there is no
reason whatever to believe that they will be deterred in
carrying out such discrimination -by any instruction of
combination of instructions which a judge may read to
them.” (Brief of California Ann us Curiae, in Support of
_ Respondent, p. 26) Yet at-the very center of our jury
system is the assumption that instructions are followed.
Cf Spencer vy Texas, supra,.at 568 (1967). TE that
“assumption were abandoned, the entire system of jury
trials agd appellate review would lie without foundation
Furthermore, even if the Court, laying aside that basic
assumption underlying our jury system, were to sssume
that instructions to junes regarding the death pena'ty
would be ignored, Doe Process would nonetheless com
pelthe State of Arkansas to remove its onprimatir trom
the hiwless acts of its purtes.* Compare, Gaitfin os Call
forma, ASO US) O09, O14 C1965) TE Arkansas jurors
were told by the court, either expressly or by tau
Hphcation from cits submission of criteria, that they
could not kill on account of race, the Stite. would: at
least have obtained. at virtua ly no cost, some distance
from the susproon of discrimination When it tals to do
sO, Ho seems fo snany fan minded observers to comlone
racially motivated executions

13

The Arkansas procedure thus feeds the most corrosive
suspicions one can entertain about a legal system, surely
outranking, in its capacity to produce distrust and disre-
spect for law. the use of- forced confessions or illegal
searches to obtain convictions, and other practices which
this Court has condemned and for which it has fashioned
prophylatic rules to protect constitutional nghts.

-
.

1). ‘

The standards for imposition of the death penalty
which. Due Process and Equal Protection require are
readily available -

We have shown three wavs in which the. Arkansas:
delegation, without siandards, of the power to select a
few persons for capital punshment violites fundamental
consiitutional norms. The baste tgredient of standards
Which is absent trom the Cahtorma procedure Could
cusily be supplied The Model Penal C vule, ho e\ample,
which establishes prerequasite findings and enumerates
ugeravating and moitiating circumstances (Amercan baw
Institute, Model Penal Code, Section T1006. pp 128
b3S)) gives detimite standards and intonms the pv. bs
clear umpheation, that it may pot impose the death
penalty for any other reasons fot because of skin color
nor of socnkel sturmding. mor of eoomomn comditnon Baet
son Gatco, ths Courts not called upon to determine
What) the particular critena must be only that there
must be Soe Getimte criteria set by covery: State which
chooses toe autlhonive its putes fo select those bigtern

Whom Copital punestinent. os te be rinpased 5

THE SINGLE VERDICT PROCEDURE COMPOUNDS THI
VICES OF STANDARDLESS SENTENCING AND IMPOSES.
NEEDLESS AND IMPERMISSIBLE BURDENS ON THE RIGHT
1O A FAIR TRIAL ON THE ISSUR OF GUILT OR INNO
CENCE . ea : 3
As petitioner’ has amply shown (Petitioner's Briet at
pp 66-78). a defendant na capital case in Arkansas ts:
faced with aeogrists chowe — He ts permitted te adduce
mitigating evidence on the penalty question only at- the
price of surrendering tas right to full and fai tral on
_the issue of guilt and has right not to incriminate himselt
This is enough te invalidate the procedure “Yet the
chores are even grisher than petitioner suggests Tt an
Arkansas rape defendant really tears that tas tite wall ty
forfort ands bent on saving ihe may be well gydvised oot
merely to surrender his right not to testis and to lorege
the defense of consent and other trial rights, but alse te,
Vield his very neht to be treed Only by pleading guilt,

can he masimise bis cliadees of saving tis tit

Pven leaving out Of accteuit Cubby the Court stroked
- by no means dod the wikespread Practice of-gylty plea
bargaining, the Athansas, Metotvctaet whe pleads peralty

although oot therets sbaclutels ynrmunerine Peesedt con
absence of a plea leupain to that tte ct) trom the death
senfeme. asin € meted Vfates ) Fang Awe my tS 8
1VOND wall nonethetoss'havs pains hasel a ss mle ing hur

s
Whoo is cotirely um contaminated by the tral ot eudt

‘
- ” :
tt oan Aikhutiews vlets Thiet mis witty Tos ) LAL BL lrteernel
of a pur ter TAN thee emrtternge oe trnaticbetius Neweteg? 9 Niebiy -

Vk SOE SOP SWE ME GI se

one which hiopetully will Laer and ‘Saft hos niitigating ve
dence with a relatively s\ mpathetic ear The defendant :

who pleads wuilty will not. alter all, have “compounded *

His offence” by denying it - His ong and ons appearance:
“ hefore the qr will he in the role of a repe ntent sinner

The evide nee and arguments he adduces will ne be con

Pe rdited? watered down. confused. of compromised by

the trial ot-giilt ts chances of Living: mav be enhance cd
manvtohl The chotees open. and the pressures at work,
wre mot there hore ahitferent-in kind trom: those | in) Jacke nm -
Here. asin Juihein the procedure for asse sain the death —
_ penalty route sly Burntei the exerese, notonty a Pitre:
Vinemiment rigtits. Pat alse at the Sith Amendment

right thea tral on the questetn of gual): :
: se be

The © onrt’s recent decosfon mm Nort Cur may Pearce
me

seer Tea ree UT moe ot trestrhating the ev
erie of Constitutional carb ts (POISE Pressures to torepe
them tee Pane the Court pelt that the danger te the
trey ONer ore Of both, vorPet iy Crema and nanny Constitutional

Hiphets the Comstitutueial taht fe week a tau triad and

.
*

Ot Gs tt nee severe that the petite: resisted the jes

iT. MaeGa eT riphst to @ tread whch are wiberert on the Ark ares

“water Thy (Mr tah ee nenaes Tau. le re) ©) ws wih)
t ;
C2°S) | ath vwretyyl tbey by tHBEabeet fet wepevoviher brow Hapht taet bye

“ beatity whioh gs reanatin, wal Oe the theeat ot Comet thorecn vel
: Te oe Thr tiht SHIP ER ee WEFT FOUR ENS ‘4 staal the chete radars
w vn nil Ris ny NOR Ceo + Ayers SATE alent Wet Peatcnnl
A eT aking a apawoal whah was prrerebinc eal fey the

piek ys TP) at He sey! HHT ab a We eel Phil vel ta « Hivitea ©

Wes tra weiagal TNE bit es eee M Wael beAs Lie es that viel Rac

peeeat they wn /-— o wieder 5 tu 4 ae Pee, they why Was mld ving Seer
sey ett art ts pusfeertaal 4 they b ache ON hy beets Ps thy peenw aad
on My reael wittomay 4 Manwoll sae ily Nea © AY & SCHON
*
sre * pene” Fa tee + Was yes tgierteally .sMilamiimate Th sree ‘ ‘aal ‘lio e
South ary! te Lit se LLL P ’ : ol,
. .

lo’

the non-constitutional mpht te appeal or collateral attack.
inherent iii the possibility of a heavier sentence upon re

trial niust be minimized by pidicnal articulation of a bases
for any stich heavier sentence which evcludes perms

sible penalization bsphes findings were held necessary

fo assure prospective appellants oF petitioners that thes

run ne risk of he nie penalized lor the exerci of thei

rights.

Phe Arkansas capital defendant who resists the pres
sures to plead guilty faces a trial on the asstes of pout
and. if found guilty punishme nt wat whach he is. guaran:
teed both constitution, il cand) non constitiition, ilo rights
Bat given the unhonited capital sentencing dis retin con
terred by Arkansin hae he CACTOISES these runlits atlas
grave perl tle mis be ‘sentenced to death torany re ASOYn
the qiry chooses Cor for. different reasons’ the mnctividinal | _— 2
jurors Choose). and the reasons for his enhanced sentence
remanty stent, uncontrontable and unresewable : The tas
be sentenced to death because hy did not take the wit
ness stand or because Ie did take the stam (and chired
the proses tris Hot rape case Comsentedt of becauee by
ramed the detense at TPES ETEEN ovr bye uise the Cathet teu tis
dnedeed. every trial. decision: whether fey exercise tes
substantial cghts respuines a “press aad a gambh : Wtites
' Kalk, am, MARE dk a9e oSth Oi 1b) ut whiely the

Stakes are bis lite. fof the pars rinay chose te bel tien tare
prurstinnp tes yriatlits

Trite, evers teva crn the astie att gait ent tthe pewks pre thy
“chore ot tral tactios. bat the dete mbar ret phacedt on
the ditemna ob wy aking anountree clothe New the Cw

lina 'v Poares sep TES TN at Oa capeentinge fron We

cester y Conerestomer TTOD ME TEA TEN) foe wath on

| .

spect te ni the + defendant rows that the Wary. would:

by instruc Ted What fo ccomsider and often What wags to”

consrer See Griffin 1 Cahtornia waging But the At
ha nisats Singleswerdict stanchindbess api HW genteneimnp pro
‘ceeding itertwines and Contuses: the issues of guale and <
penalty white allowing the Naty tree re Wr to conde oe the

y as
>

detendant for uans reason at alll So that revt cirnly thy
capital-dedoadant: placed a position: Where tration th
isstic oO gilt Ceomthie ts woth frial con’ the Jisstic of penalty.
int ale HW) decd: On Tet be proceed an tevin these
} s }
Issties Te ts Comfronted with ohatces a bichenmtul the ex.
: efotwe se relisted of uarantegi) cathts while ton 2
: . : a)
. warned (hat the nes. as gree te make cheath the pn
‘ oh Oo. - :
Miro Vusthoe. Whack: stated) the pertiment. perm iples

\uy op Pans

JAD Stabe cannot permit apypeats i roma case
ertel “Gt OMe Sonne fanny Hithe. Wea ern bane at oom
‘ivted Wefendant te take on win can appeal! Bhat
weogehel pshaneeds fisrys iit Pred Oss of law. “AV ihe
- rhage Tern mt al PW stattites atch Is) wicks istic
romefe coed @rantine APP y His gent gevetlrer tak

rere’ Power gn appeal wohl be Comteans

Pooch Prasat by haw Pewee

Pee peeePeaerety: cael tircertarnty rake’

eo ttererrs To heme whe oer thy

here bewcn fe fetherw et waeudel they oye
Peetrest prenciptes af are priacess oT
' ‘Mint | CoPHO SEPT EEN bing! ibisaent.
.. : ‘=r as .
. i ; s : e
Mei hes attondted the: nwt deteny
1 ith sha torter beharey epee thhtpedt any
: : . °
. : Seats beeet it NI 17 a hha ses uty it
. >
e : shade ahel tea shor ats i! thy dy yids ran st th

y 4 thevsey co oetee Ney! t. \ty qi rr Mi '

4

.

oe

18

has pointed out, for the State to confront a defendant
with such a dilemma is “contrary to the very idea of.
government by law. It... create{s] doubt, ambiguity,
and uncertainty, making it impossible to know which one
of the two conflicting laws to follow”. Jbid. And what
Mr. Justice Black concluded in the context of a State’s
permitting appeals while at the same time taxing the exer- _
cise of the right to appeal is applicable here as well: : It
“violate[s] one of the first principles, of due process.”
Ibid. .

The similarity of this case to Jackson, Griffin, and - |
Pearce makes clear that petitioner, in asking the Court to
invalidate the standardless unitary trial as it exists in
Arkansas, asserts no novel principles. ‘He seeks only
plainly Warranted relief from a procedure which is
destructive of a constellation of well established and
most fundamental constitutional rights. ,

CONCLUSION

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth
Circuit should be reversed. :

_ Berl L. Bernhard George N. Lindsay
William T. Coleman, Sr: Burke Marshall
Samuel Dash _Monrad S. Paulsen
John W. Douglas Steven R. Rivkin .
Steven Duke - .Whitney North Seymour
William T. Gossett Jerome J. Shestack
John Griffiths Cyrus R. Vance

Mrs. Rita Hausér James Vorenberg
Weave Amici Curiae oer

19
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing Brief for
the Amici Curiae have been served by mail, postage pre-
paid, this 24th day of October, 1969, upon counsel for
the respondent, Joe Purcell, Attorney General of Arkan-
sas, Department of Justice, Little Rock, Arkansas, 72201,
and on counsel for the petitioner, Michael Meltsner, 10
‘Columbus Circle, New York, New York, 10019.

Berl I. Bernhard

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1441%3A14. Public record. Not legal advice.
