# Motion to Affirm — In re Gross

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1259%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 394 U.S. 321

## Text

‘Apiilication 9 Behalf of -

Py

Joszer Ewart Gross, ; tA :
Rea For Writ of Habeas Corpus.

Sars ot the Be of Caloris

se or age

Xo. Se
ey
=

ted tr be

a a

SUBJECT INDEX |
| | Page:
I sicsiesensieisaiiciinicaniseniastaiiienbitinsionti 2
Argument’ ............. Sela B Ap eene _—
; I. : ‘
The Appeal Was Not Docketed in. Compliance
With the Rules of This Court ........ - 4 .-
Probable Cause Existed for Issuance of |
the Search Warrant .............-... piniinay eaeniiaetiian 4
III. ie

The Arresting Officer Had Probable Cause td’
Believe That a Felony Had Been Committed 10 -

, IV. |

There Was Probable Cause That a Misdemeanor ©
Had Been Committed in the Presence of the |
Arresting Officers: 2... .-..-s--secsssssssseeeseeeenns il

The | Search for and Seizure of Evidence From
Appellant Without a Warrant Was Lawful .... t2

Conclusion. ......... sanasutanaianeananncasnannteneenacananny sslbiiiasanianni:: a

.
’
= -
eee ee
.

hae

“s
ee, ea

- ss *
NR BE tri ci ee es Dye

q

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases _ ' Page

Aday v. Municipal Court, 210 Cal. App. 2d 229 Ses 9

Aday v. Superior Court, SS Cal: 24 780 ....... cs

* Dunn v. Municipal Court, 220 Cal. App. 2d 858 .... 8
Farnsworth ¥. Cote, 199 Cal. App.’2d 762 ssc eel

Flack v. ‘Municipal Court, 66 Cal Ot 90) wk... 8, 12

Galena v. Municipal Court, 237 Cal. App. 2d 581 6
Gross on Habeas Corpus, 69 A.C. No. 16, Min. p. 4 3

Holden v. Arnebergh, 265°A.C.A. 103 -.0....-s0:-sese0-- 9
Lee Art Theatre v. Virginia, 20 L. Ed. 2d 1313 ...... 8

- Marcus v. Property Search Warrant, 367 US. 77.
Roynan v. Batten, 55. Cal. App. 2d 861 ............ Sooo LL
"-;People v. Hines, 260 A.C.A. 13 --escesssscsssssssssesieseessssee 11
People v. Munoz, .198 Cal. App. 2d 649 -secccssssccse 10
— People v. Perez; 259 A.C.A. 391 ceccssssssssnseeseen wa ae
People v. Scott, 224 Cal. App. 2d 146 escossseecsseeee 10
_ People v. Webb, 66 Cal, 2d 107 ......... ‘eign

Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757, 16 L. Ed.
fg Fee 3

| Rules |

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the United
Ns SN WN scisccicieuiesicciirscatvrenchiacniinersinreniniinsiotenbines 1
Rules hg United States Supreme Cun. Rule 13 ......... 4

Statutes j Page

- California Penal Code, Sec.

| ees dita ae
California Penal Code, Sec. 311.2 .........2, 6, 7, 10, 11
California Penal Code, Sec. 1525 .................:1... mn ae
California: Penal Code, Sec. 1538.5 .........-..-cc0-ccceses » ae
California Penal Code, Sec.) 1539 2000002... .e.cccccceee 9
RE cassravnicosdacoeisetcs 9

California Penal Code, Sec.

ineied iP ae aml a

pie Dat nee Ag omitie se

wok

LOLOL L LEE LOR TOE TEN IIT NIE EE NES PRA

odie al itheh RO ti ie ee Pen. S
.

.

SR ASE ts EE, SSE Oy RR Te Se eee
> Nery :

-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States.

October Tetm, 1968
No. 1035

Application on Behalf of
| JosEPpH EmMET Gross, |
For Writ of Habeas Corpus.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
-A iain

On Appeal From the Appellate Seninee of the ia
perior Court of the State of California in-and for the
County of Los Angeles.:

MOTION TO AFFIRM THE JUDGMENT
AND/OR DISMISS THIS APPEAL.

“Appellee, pursuant to Rule 16 of the Revised Rules
of the Supreme Court of the United States, moves
that the. judgment of the Appellate Department of the
Superior Court of the State of California, in and for
the County of Los Angeles, rendered and entered July
31, 1968, be affirmed and/or that. the appeal taken
therefrom | to this Court, be dismissed on the ground

that the said judgment appealed from rests upon an ade-_

quate non-federal basis.

shit oe A tone Siete.

ry bt ies

6 fa hat NE Pe er rae

Cente eek

‘e a ne a ee |

Statement.

This is a direct appeal from a judgment entered July

31, 1969, by the Appellate. Department of the Superior
. Court « the State of mane allied in and for the County
_-of Los Angeles.

Appellant was charged i a verified complaint, filed
in the Municipal Court of the Los Angeles Judicial
District with two counts of having violated Penal Code
Section 311.2. It was alleged that on June 16, 1967, the
appellant “did wilfully and unlawfully and knowingly
send and cause to be sent, bring.and cause to be brought
into this state for sale and distribution, and in this state
prepare, publish, print, exhibit, distribute, offer to dis-
tribute, and have in his possession with intent to dis-
tribute, obscene matter, to wit: Obscene Film.”

‘On December 11, 1967, the appellant pursuant to
California Penal Code Section 1538.5 made a motion to -
suppress the evidence. By memorandum opinion the
court denied the motion on February 23, 1968.

‘ An appeal of the denial of the motion was taken to
the Appellate Department of the Superior Court of
the State of California in and for the County of Los
Angeles. Briefs were filed in said appellate court
and oral argument presented.: The matters were sub-
mitted and thereafter on July 31,-1968, the order deny-

ing the motion was affirmed with a written unpublished |

opinion (Jurisdictional Statement, Appendix “A”). A

petition for Rehearing or Certification to the Court of

oe

| Appeal was denied on August 13, 1968 (Jurisdictional

Statement, Appendix “B’). On November 4, 1968, the
appellant filed a Notice of Appeal to the United States.
Supreme Court in the Appellate-Department of the Los
Angeles Superior Court.’ |

On or about October | 11, 1968, the appellant filed a
petition .for writ of habeas corpus in the California

Supreme Court. The petition was denied without a
hearing on November 13, 1968 (Gross on Habeas Cor-

pus, 69 A.C. No. 16, Min. p. 4).

1This was the judgment of the highest court of the State in —

this. proceeding since certification to the Court of Appeal was
denied. (Schmerber v. California, (1966) 384 U.S. 757, 16

© tial al Maa ated dad kn aA Rei re Nae Rn 6 ea oe eer OS eed aioe A rent ee erie QS a gif ee

set Sahl 2 a eo Mies

ita ted ait PIR hind tne 002 tone ee et ae. ee eee RY le

Bh Bi tier

a th hadaasson aasiaiasa erin tasaten
*
e-

ARGUMENT.

I,

The Appeal Was Not Docketed in Compliance
With the Rules of. This Court.

Not more than ninety days after the entry of the

judgment appealed from it shall be the duty of- the -

appellant to docket the case.

Rule 13 of Rules of “United States Supreme | |
Court.

The judgment of the ‘enim Department was en-

- tered on July 31, 1968. The Petition for Rehearing

or Certification was denied on August: 13, 1968.
Though the appellant did file the Notice of Appeal-in

_the Appellate Department within ninety days on No-

vember 4, 1968, his case was. not “docketed” in this
Court until February 11, 1969. Therefore the case was
not timely docketed.

Though the appellant believed “that the better rem-
edy would be to proceed by way of habeas corpus to the
California Supreme Court”, this collateral attack on the
Appellate Department’s judgment does not justify the
appellant’s violation of Rule 13 of this Court. —

II.

Probable Cause Existed for Issuance of the
| Search Warrant.

Sgt. Anthony Baldassano of the Los Angeles Police
Department was conducting an investigation on June
15, 1967. Robert A. Rubin was under observation by
Sgt. Baldassano and at approximately 9:00 P.M. on
that date, Sgt. Baldassano observetl Rubin drive to
6410 Colgate Avenue, in the City of Los Angeles.

This is the address of the home of appellant R. yn
~ pp. 61, 62].

Rubin was observed to enter the home and stay ap-
proximately one hour [R. T. p. 66]. Sgt. Baldassano —
observed both Rubin and appellant emerge from the
_ house and go to a car [R. T. pp. 66,-67], parked near.
Rubin’s car [R. T. p. 68]. ‘ Sgt. Baldassano observed
the appellant’ remove two brown paper bags from his
car and give them'to Rubin [R. T. p. 67]. A: brief
conversation ensued [R. T. p. 68]. Rubin placed the
bags in his car and drove off [R. T. pp.-68-70].
Baldassano foJlowed Rubin. Rubin was arrested at ap-
proximately 12:15 A.M. on June 16, 1967 [R. T. p. 7]..

Rubin had been continuously under Sgt. Baldassano’s. -

surveillance until he was arrested [R. T. pp. 73-74].

During this time Sgt. Donald D. Shaidell of the
Los Angeles Police Department was obtaining a search .
_ warrant for the search of Rubin’s home and car [R. T..
p. 14]. Upon issuarice of this ‘warrant which author-
ized a search of appellant’s home and car, Sgt. Shaidell
went to Rubin’s home and executed the warrant [R. T.
p. 15]. Several reels of 8mm. movie prints were seized
from Rubin’s car [R. T. pp. 18-19]. Sgt. Shaidell
looked at the films. - |

Sgt. Shaidell then contacted Sgt. Baldassano by
radio, learned of: Rubin’s present location [R. T. p. 17],
and went to that place [R. T. p. 71]... Rubin was ar-
rested in the vicinity of Cahuenga Boulevard and
Barham Boulevard [R. i. p. 55]. A search of the
car disclosed two brown paper sacks in the rear seat
[R. T. p. 74]. The officers observed that the sacks
contaitied 12 and 24 reels of 8mm movie. The twelve

ow AOA cts pholeh eiaiBlt iit

movies, entitled “B-Boy”, depicted acts of sexual inter-
course and oral copulation [R. T. pp. 35-36]. The

twenty-four movies, entitled ““A-9”, depicted a lone fe-

male engaged in acts of masturbation [R. T. pp. 38-40].
There wére numerous copies of each film and the offi-
cers inspected several of them [R. T. pp. 37-40].

_ After transporting Rubin to jail the officers re-
turned to appellant’s home and at approximately 2:30
A.M... they: identified themselves and placed appellant
under arrest [R. T. p. 7] for conspiracy to violate Sec-
tion 311.2 of the California Penal Code [R: T. pp.
58-59]. After this arrest and after receiving permis-
sion from appellant, the officers searched appellant’s car
and house [R. T. p. 47-48]. They found reels of 8mm.
movies depicting acts of sexual intercourse and oral

copulation [R. T. p. 23]. A brown paper bag con- *

taining 9 reels of film was found in the house as well —
as a box containing 28 reels of film in 35mm tin cans.
fR. T. p. 23].

A search warrant cannot be issued but upon probable
cause, supported by affidavit, naming and describing the —
person, and particularly describing the property and the

- place to be searched.

California’ Penal Code Section 1525. -

The standard or test of probable cause in a search
warrant is approximately the same as that applicable
to an arrest without a warrant, namely; such a state

of facts as would lead a man of ordinary caution or

prudence to believe and conscientiously entertain a
strong suspicion of the guilt of the accused.

Galena v. Municipal Court, (1965) 237 Cal.
App. 2d 581, 586.

. \

’ Robert A. Rubin was known to Sergeant Shaidell, the
affiant, as an individual he had previously arrested on
“obscenity” charges. Shaidell had participated in “ob-
scenity” investigations involving films made at *"" »’s

residence. Rubin had been seen by other ‘of fine: -

tering the premises of persons subsequently atrest.. for

. violation of “obscenity” statutes. Known’ pornography

dealers have been seen at Rubin’s home [Affidavit, pp.
2-4]. : | :

An anonymous phone call was received by another of-
ficer and related to Sergeant Shaidell to the effect that
Rubin was in possession of 1,000 reels of 8mm movies
depicting acts of sexual intercourse and oral copulation.

- This disclosure was supported by a conversation over-

heard by a fellow vice officer during -the course of an

. obscenity investigation -the day after the phone call.

On the morning of the day the warrant was issued,
Sergeant Shaidell observed another person. known to a
companion of the affiant to be a person previously
arrested for violation of Penal Code Section 311.2, in
the company of ‘Rubin at his home [Affidavit, pp. 4-6].

The information from the anonymous telephone call
was corroborated the next day, not by another in-
formant, but rather by statements made by third parties,
overheard by an officer investigating obscenity. In
addition Rubin was well known to Sergeant Shaidell as

a person involved with obscenity on: several previous oc-

casions and on the day that: the ‘search warrant was |
sought, Sergeant Shaidell observed a known distributor
of obscenity come to Rubin’s house, leave carrying a
carton, and deliver the carton to another known dis-

‘* tributor of obscenity.

7

ra ee ee en aa iets

Each case must be determined on its own facts. Based
on the foregoing, it is submitted that there was suf-
ficient evidence presented to the magistrate to justify

the issuance of the search warrant; namely, informa-

tion received from an unknown informant, coupled with
substantial corroborating facts known or discovered by
the affiant..

The affidavit described the property to be taken as

follows: “films showing males‘ahd females engaged in

acts of sexual intercourse, oral copulation, sodomy and
masturbation.”* [Affidavit, p. 1]. These are. factual
descriptions, specifically limited to films showing each
of these four acts or combinations thereof. These are
not conclusionary assertions on the- part of the affiant.
The affidavit particularly describes the property to be
seized in accordance with the requirements of Section
1525 of the California Penal Code. “This requirement
is met if the property is described with reasonable par-
ticularity (Dunn. v. Municipal Court, (1963) 220 Cal.
App. 2d 858, 868).

Appellant cites Lee Art Pheatre v. Virginia, (1968)
20 L. Ed.. 2d 1313, 1315, “but this case merely holds an

“affidavit stating only the conclusion that the film was

obscene is insufficient. Here the affidavit sets forth
in detail the scenes depicted.. In. Flack v. Municipal
Court, (1967) 66 Cal. 2d 981, no search warrant was
involved. But in Aday v.+Superior Court, (1961) 55
Cal. 2d 789, seizure of books under a search warrant
based on an affidavit to which a copy of the book was

‘attached was upheld. It was there held that Penal Code
Sections 1539 and 1540 afford sufficient and prompt
methods of securing an adversary judicial review: In
Aday v. Municipal Couri, (1962) 210 Cal. App. 2d
229,. seizure under search warrant issued on affidavit
describing the alleged obscene material was approved
again affirming the adequacy of Penal Code Sections
1539 and 1540 as satisfying the requirements of this
Court in Marcus v. Property Search Warrant, (1961) —
367 U.S. 717 (See also: Holden v. Arnebergh, (1968)
265 A.C.A. 103).

California Penal Code Section 1538.5 specifically au-
thorizes a motion to return property brought on the
ground the property is protected by the free speech
and press provisions of. the federal _and state con-
stitutions. |

a

Appellee contends that'no prior adversary proceeding :
was required prior to execution of the search warrant. |
The procedure that was followed in the instant case _
prior to any search or seizure assures free society that
the sensitive determination of obscenity will be made
- judicially and not ad hoc by police officers in the field.
It. was the magistrate who determined whether the ma-

terial described in the affidavit was obscene. The

magistrate authorized seizure of the film. This ju-
‘dicial determination was not a violation of the First
Amendment. The Search Warrant Statutes of -Cali-
‘fornia are constitutional.

|

- . °
se

.
at Bo

| III.
’ The heciitine Officer Had Probable Cause to
Believe That a Felony Had Been Committed.
_ The. officer testified that he arrested appellant for
conspiracy to violate section 311.2 of the California

_ Penal Code—a felony.

__A criminal conspiracy~is an agreement or criminal
partnership, the design and object of which is to do an

unlawful act or a series of unlawful acts~accompanied

by an overt act to effect the object of such agreement
(People v. Munoz, (1961) 198 Cal. App. 2d’ 649, 655).

The agreement may be inferred from the acts and
conduct of the defendants in mutually carrying out a
common purpose in violation of the statute ( People v.
Scott, (1964) 224 Cal. App. 2d 146, 151).:

_ Here appellant was seen removing two bags from a
car and handing them to another arrestee. This con-
duct occurred after the two had spent approximately an
hour together in appellant’s house. Within a short time

thereafter the bags were found to contain films por-

traying sexual acts. Clearly the necessary, elements of
conduct inferring an agreement and an act in further-

ance thereof were observed by the arresting officer,

The test of probable cause to make an arrest is
whether or not a state of facts is known ‘to the officer
that would lead-a~man of ordinary care and. prudence

to believe, or to eritertain a strong suspicion, that a

person arrested is guilty (People v. Perez, (1968) 259
A.C.A. 391, 399). In determining whether there was

ee

reasonable cause for the arrest the officers are justi- . .

fied in taking into account the past conduct, character
and reputation of the person suspected (Farnsworth.v.
Cote, (1962) 199 Cal. App. 2d 762, 768). The state
of facts here is clearly sufficient to constitute probable
cause that a felony had beencommitted. A police of-
ficer may arrest a person without a warrant: whenever
he has reasonable cause to believe that the person has
committed a felony (People v. Hines, (1968) 260
A.C.A. 13, 16). : |
IV. --
There Was Probable Cause That a Misdemeanor

Had: Been Committed in the Presence of the
Arresting Officers.

California Penal Code Section 311.2 prohibits, among

other things, the distribution of obscene material. Sec-~

tion 311 defines “distribute” as the transfer of posses-
sion, whether with or without consideration. ~

Here one of the arresting officers saw appellant

remove the two bags from his car and hand them to —
Rubin. Within a short time, found by the court below —

to not be unreasonable, (Memorandum Opinion) the of-
ficers determined that the bags contained films depict-
ing sexual conduct. They then knew that a misde-
meanor had been committed in their presence and they

immediately proceeded to arrest appellant. There was,

therefore, no unreasonable delay prior to the arrest of
appellant (Roynan v. Batten, (1942) 55 Cal. App. 2d
861, 866).

,
N

sr

~ aa J a, SEED aa ep MSS SEAN ale Si BOL Oe Nn Sa To memame ee Mah A a ew

—l12—

¥s

The Search for and Seizure of Evidence From
Appellant Without a Warrant Was Lawful. |
The search of appellant’s house and car were pursuant
to a lawful arrest of him at that location. Appellant
consented to the search [R. T. pp. 47 to 48]. In addi-

- tion there was a. high probability that appellant’ would

learn of Rubin’s arrest and hide or destroy the films. *
The officers responding to the emergent naturé of the
situation lost no time in effecting appellant’s arrest and

the search pursuant thereto.

Appellant cites Flack v. Municipal Court, (1967) 66

- Cal. 2d 981, in support of the proposition that a search

pursuant to a lawful arrest without a warrant in an ob-

scenity case, is unconstitutional. Flack does place. limita-

tions on such searches; however, it excepts from these
limitations the legitimate emergency situation (Flack v.
Municipal Court, supra at p. 991). Such an emergency
situation existed here. In addition Flack is not con-
trolling because the search was consented to. Appellant
also asserts that a search without a warrant is limited
to felony cases. The classic justifications for the doc-
trine of search incident to an arrest is the need to dis-
cover hidden weapons and the need to prevent destruc-
tion of evidence by the defendant (People v. Webb,
(1967) 66 Cal. 2d 107, .118)., The need to prevent
the destruction of evidence, i.e., the films, is precisely
the justification for the search here. No limitation is
imposed restricting it to felonies, though the arrest
here was made for a felony anyway.

ition

Conclusion.

The appeal does not disclose that there has been a
violation of appellant’s rights under the Federal Con-
stitution, nor does it show that the highest court of tte
State of -California has decided a federal question in
conflict with the applicable decisions of this Court, or
decided a federal question of substance not theretofore
determined by this Court.

Appellee urges, therefore, that the appellant presents
no substantial question for the decision of this Court;
that the judgment sought to be appealed from should
be affirmed or the ee

— submitted,
RocER ARNEBERGH,
City Attorney,

DonaLp W. Mowat,
Assistant City Attorney, —

Pur E. GREY,
_ Assistant City Attorney,

_MiIcHAEL T..SAUER, |
Deputy City Attorney,

Attorneys for A ppellee.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1259%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
