# Motion to Dismiss or Affirm — Alaska v. Operating Engineers

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1223%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss or Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1969
- **Citation:** 393 U.S. 405

## Text

Ort

;
| SA.
ss

No.
Supreme Court of the United States:

ere ee ee

STATE OF ALASKA -

and
WALTER = [licken. Governor of the State of
Alaska, G. Kenxr Epwanps, Attorney General

of the oe of Alaska, Tuomas J. Moore,
Commissioner of Labor of the State of Alaska,
Leo A. Pritiips, ALerep M. Warre and WittiAM
Jones, members of International UCiion of
Operating Engineers, Local 302,
Appellants,

Vs.
INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING ENGINEERS,
AFL-CIO, IxvernatrionaL UNION OF OPERATING
EnGixernrs, Locan 302, WinLiam 'TYREE, CLARK

Wricutr, Doxaty E. Conxern, AnuN XX. DECHANEY,
| and National Lapor Renarions Boar, |
Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE Unirep States Districr Cocrr
FOR THE District oF ALASKA,

Consolidated Cases Nos. — J-18-67 and. J-19-67,
Reported in 287 F.Supp. 589 (D. Alaska, 1968 )

MOTIONS TO DISMISS AND OR AFFIRM z

J. DUANE VANCE .
of Vanck, Davies, Roperts «. Berris
1411 Fourth Avenue Building, Rm. °815
Seattle, Washington 98101 |
Rosert BoocHEVER 4
_of FAULKNER, BANFIELD, BooCHEVER & DooGan
31 Franklin Street, Suite 201
Juneau, Alaska 99801
Attorneys for all Appellees eree pt the

ad

*.

bien

Supreme Court of the United. States

Srare or’ ALASKA
and
WaALterR J. HickeL, Governor of the State of
Alaska, G. Kent Epwarps, Attorney General
of the State of Alaska, Tuomas J. Moore,
Commissioner of Labor of the State of Alaska,
Leo A. Puruips, ALFRED M. WuiIre and WILLIAM
JONES, members of International Union of
Operating Engineers, Local 302,
Appellants,
vs.

. INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING ENGINEERS,
AFL-CIO, INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING
ENGINEERS, LocaL 302, WitLIAM TYREE, CLARK

Wricut, Donatp E. Conner, Artin A. DeCHANEY,

- and NatTionaL LABorR RELATIONS Boarb,
Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED States District Court
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA,

Consolidated Cases Nos. — J-18-67 and J-19-67,
Reported in 287 F.Supp. 589 (D. Alaska, 1968 )

MOTIONS TO DISMISS AND/OR AFFIRM

J. DUANE VANCE
- of Vance, Davies, Roperts « Bertis

1411 Fourth Avenue Building, Rm. 815

Seattle, Washington 98101 :

RoBeRT BooCHEVER

of FAULKNER, BANFIELD, BOOCHEVER & Dooaan

311 Franklin Street, Suite 201 .

Juneau, Alaska 99801 ;

Attorneys for all Appellees except the
National Labor Relations Board

THE ARGUS PRESS en ea SEATTLE, WASHINGTON

ee

INDEX

ding itcen crcecreendiacennaaiines
II Statement in Support of Motion to Affirm ......

III Motion to Dismiss as to Appellants Leo
A. Phillips, Alfred M. White and :
RR II neni teerienrintnminresenitcbeninninces on

IV Statement in Support of Motion to Dismiss
as to Appellants Leo A. Phillips, Alfred

M. ‘White and William Jones ...................: . Re 13.

Se RNR IS a TONE ERC Ise co CE MER

TABLE OF CASES
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen vs. Baltimore
a O. BR, Caz, Fai Oi GUD we GG oases.
Brown vs. Anderson, for <0 SS en ioe
DeVeau us. Bratsted, 363 US 144 ..... ee eeeenee
Ford Motor Company vs: Huffman, 345 US 330...
General Electric Company vs —

_ il

(CA5 1961) 294 Fed. (49) GO een . 12
Hill vs. Florida, 325 US 538 chen esd ated 6, 8, 9, 15
Humphrey vs. Moore, 375 | Reinet 11
Ironworkers’ Union vs. Perko, 373 US 701 ......... ay |
Local 24, International Bro. of Teamsters —

OO, CHEST, Te SIP TI hecceteehecaicictisndivctnteasenceenonese 2, 10
Missouri-Kansas Pipeline Co. vs. United

States of America, 312 US 502 ............ A cline 13
Mullaney vs. Anderson, 342 US 415 —000000 2... 10
Nash vs. Florida Industrial Insurance

Commission, 389 US 239 .....222.--.-cccecscrcscsecceesesneeseees 9

Nucsse vs. Camp, (CADC 1967) 385 F.2d 694 .... 14

i baat Ca et MALE ALISO ALLER EG RAMA as Se BMS BS 0 WA ic LL PAI AED CB PAD Oe Oo Soa Ns CARDED DA 5 a

ASS ntel a reeretanatan 4

MEd STN ea Raat AS lt Eso wanede ce

iv
TABLE OF CASES
: | Page

Pan Am Airways vs. California Division |

Labor Law, 203 F Supp 324 ..00.0.. ec
Plumbers’ Union vs. Borden, 373 |

OF I Sos csicclecitietpieomaedeapntamnprnh tiles 2, 10, 11, 15
Textile Workers’ Union of America vs Allendale

Co., (CADC 1955). 226 F.2d 766 ................... 13, 14
‘United Steelworkers vs. Warrior & G. Nav. Co.,
| I Oe eee eetinesseanarsiimnnteinintnanonnsiseas 11
Vaca vs. Sipes, 386 US 171 ...........0......... ee 11, 12

OTHER AUTHORITIES ©

Labor-Management. Relations Act of 1947,

as amended, (29 USC 151 ff). ......0.0000.0s. 3
Subsection (4) of Section (2) of the Act

Ca Re WU. I rcs bcscerdstuipelicoidegaceisibslansaniiconiiend woeee 4

a | Pen ee Te ee Eee te: eee . 4

Section (9) (a) of the Act (29 USC see. 159) .... 4

Supreme Court of the United States

STATE OF ALASKA
and

. Watter J. Hickent, Governor of the
State of Alaska, G. Kent Epwarps,
Attorney General of the State of
Alaska, THomas J. Moore, Commis-
sioner of Labor of the State of
Alaska, Leo A. PHILLIPS, ALFRED: M.
WHiItE and WILLIAM JONES, members
of International Union of Operating
Engineers, Local 302, - Appellants,

VS.

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING
EnGINEERS, AF L-C1O, INTERNATIONAL
UNION OF OPERATING ENGINEERS, Lo-
caL 302, Wi1sdmM ‘TrreE, CLARK
WricHt, DonaLtp E. CoNNER, ARLIN, |™
UA. DECHANEY, and NatTionaL Lasor
RELATIONS Boarb, A ppellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED States District Court
FOR THE DIsTRICT OF ALASKA,

Consolidated Cases Nos. — J-18-67 and J-19-67,
Reported in 287 F.Supp. 589 (D. Alaska, 1968)

MOTIONS TO DISMISS AND/OR AFFIRM

q
MOTION TO AFFIRM
All appellees, except the National Labor Relations ©

2 a my
Board, move to affirm the judgment below pursuanit
to Rule 16 on the ground that it is manifest. that
the questions on which the decision of the cause de-
pends are so unsubgtantial as not to need further

argument. ; ss
II

STATEMENT IN SUPPORT OF
MOTION TO AFFIRM

The Three J udge Court below stated in part:

‘Since the question is so clearly free of doubt
... [further litigation] would have served no use-
ful purpose.’’ (App. to Jur. St. p. 16)

The decision below was clearly compelled by Hill vs.
Florida, 325 US 538; Plumbers’ Union vs. Borden, -
373 US 690; and Local 24, International Bro. of
Teamsters vs. Oliver, 358 US 283.

Other cases cited by the Court below or herein
lend interpretive value to the decisions in those three
cases, or substantiate their continuing vitality, but
those three cases, appear conclusive of the issues in-
volved in this ease.

For brevity, the International Union of Operat-
ing Engineers will hereinafter be referred to as the
International, whereas, the International Union of
Operating Engineers, Local 302 will be referred to

as Local 302.

Local 302, wane ‘main office is in Seattle, Wash-
ington maintains. offices in Juneau, Anchorage and
Fairbanks in .Alaska and Wenatchee, Yakima and
Mt. Vernon in Washington. In other areas it works ©
through the nearest Building Trades Council (Doce.
No. 7. Vol. I). -“

3

Prior to 1967, Local 302 had, pursuant to elections
duly held, been certified by the National Labor Re-
lations Board as the collective bargaining represen-
tative forémployees of more than sixty employers doing
business’ in the State of Alaska, including, as one em-
ployer, the Alaska Chapter of the Associated General
Contractors of America which was comprised of dif-

‘ferent individual contractors who, at that time,

numbered in excess of may members (Doe. No. 7,
Vol. I).

In 1967 the legislature of the State of Alaska en-
acted a law, set forth as Appendix ‘‘D”’ of the
Jurisdictional Statement, which made it a crime, with
a fine of not less than $1000 nor more than $10,000
for a ‘*. . . national or international labor organiza:
tion having 100° or more members in good standing
who reside or work in Alaska . , .”’ not to have duly
chartered locals in the state. (Emphasis supplied)

The International admittedly did not have any sep-
arately chartered locals in Alaska.

At this point, of course, Local 302 could not con-
tinue to carry out its duties as certified collective

_ bargaining agent, as those duties are described and

defined by, the Labor-Management Relations Act of
1947, as amended, (29 USC 151 ff) without sub- .
jecting its International to criminal prosecution.

There is nothing in the Labor- Management Relations ~
Act of 1947, as amendéd, (29 USC 151 ff) which
would have prevented any group of Alaskans from
forming their own union and having participated in
the sixty some elections which were held upon the
petitions of Local 302. Nor is there anything in the

Act that would even now prevent the filing of peti-
tions by such aise ae at appropriate times.

Maite: (4) of Section (2) of the Act (29 USC
sec. 152) reads as follows:

‘The term ‘representatives’ includes any. indi-
vidual or labor organization. a

Subsection (5) of the same section. reads as follows:

‘*The term ‘labor organization’ means ° any
organization of any kind, or any agency or em-
ployee representation committee or plan, in which
employees participate and which exists for the
purpose, in whole or in part, of dealing with
employers concerning grievances, labor disputes, _

_ Wages, rates of pay, hours employment or con-
ditions of work.”’

Section (9) (a) of the Act (29° USC see. 159)
reads in part as follows:

‘*Representatives designated or selected for the
purposes of collective bargaining by the majority
of the employees in a unit appropriate for such
purposes, shall be the exclusive representatives
of all the employees in such unit for the purposes

- of collective bargaining ... ”’ (Eniphasis sup-
plied ) : |

The effect and meaning of the 1967 Statute of
Alaska was that the employees of an appropriate
unit could not exercise the rights guaranteed under
Section 9.to select a collective bargaining represent-
ative, as that term is defined in the above quoted sec-
_ tions, if that representative happened to be affiliated
with an international union which did not have a
chartered local in the state without the threat of
criminal sanctions being imposed.

3)

The State filed several criminal actions against the
Intérnational, Local 302 and its representatives and
agents (Exs E & F to Dac. No. 1, Vol. 1). Also a
civil action was commenced by the State in the Sup-

erior Court for the: State of Alaska’ bottomed on the
' statute seeking various forms of injunctive relief
. (Ex G to. Doe. No. 1, Vol. I).

Certain regulations having. been promugulated by

the State to implement the statute in the meantime’ |

(Ex A to Doc. Ng. 1, Vol. I & Ex D to Doe. No. 71,

Vol. III) the Ammociated ° General Contractors of
Alaska, with whom Local 302 had a contract, served
‘notice that they declined to comply with the contract
until determination of the. question of the validity
of Bs Alaska statute (Ex E to. Doe. 1, Vol. III).

bide two actions were commenced, one J-18-67,
being brought in the name of several individual
members of Local 302 and Local 302 itself. The li-
ternational intervened as a party plaintiff in that
action (Doc. No. 41, Vol. I). This action was insti-
tuted against the various officials of the State of
Alaska charged with the enforcement of the statute
and sought to declare the statute unconstitutional
and enjoin a

The second sim J-19-67, was brought by Local
302 against the Alaska Chapter of Associated General
Contractors of America, Inc.-seeking specific per-

formance of its contract (Doc. No. 1, Vol. III). The -

State of Alaska intervened in that case as a defen-
dant because the issues framed in that case likewise
centered around the constitutionality of the Alaska
statute. Loeal 302 then likewise praved for relief

against the Intervenor State of Alaska (Doc. No. 15, .

4 hte tion PBI ae in ic a EASA Wi el Oe ihe Ne Hb BSGaa

Td

[tlhe Fe:
.

DR Sp ahd SB epi aie RIE -k

x ae
Hee

a jo 64a

Vol. III).

Plaintiffs asserted .several grounds of unconsti-
tutionality which are set forth in the opinion of the
Court below (See page 9, app. Jur. St.)

‘The following language from this Court’s decision
in Hill vs. ¥lorida, 325 US 538, effectively demon-

strates the inv alidity of the Alaska statute:

‘“T1] It is apparent that the Florida statute

_ has been so construed and applied that the union

and: its selected representative are prohibited
from functioning as collective bargaining agents,
or in any other capacity, except upon conditions
fixed by, Florida. The declared purpose of the
Wagner Act, as shown in its first section, is
to encourage collective bargaining, and to pro-
tect the ‘‘full freedom’’ of workers in the selec-
tion of bargaining re}yresentatives of their own
choice. To this end Cohigtes made it illegal for
an employer to interfere with, restrain or coerce
employees in selecting their representatives. Con-
gress attached no conditions whatsoever to their
freedom of choice in this respect. Their own best

we

judgment, not that of someone else, was to be.

their guide. ‘Full freedom’ to choose an agent
means freedom to pass upon that agent’s quali-
fications. (emphasis supplied)

‘Section 4 of the Florida: act circumscribes .

the ‘full freedom’ of choice which Congress said

employees should possess. It does this by re-.

quiring a ‘business agent’ to prove to the satis-

- faction of a Florida Board that he measures up

to standards set by the State of Florida as one
who, among: ether things, performs the exact

. funetion of a collective bargaining representa-

tive. To the. extent that Section 4 limits a -union’s
choice of such an ‘agent’ or bargaining repre-
sentative, it substitutes Florida’s judgment for

ana ast as

ee eer oe ee ae Sidi

i

the workers’ judgment.

‘*Thus, the ‘full freedom’ of. employees in col-, :

’ lective bargaining which Congress envisioned as .

essential to protect’ the free flow. of commerce
among the states would be, by the Florida statute,
shrunk to a greatly limited freedom. No elabo-
ration seems reqtired to demonstrate that Sec-

- tion 4 as applied here ‘‘stands as an obstacle to

the accomplishment and execution of the full pur-
poses and, objectives of Congress.’? Hines v.
Davidowitz, 312. U.S. 52, 67, 61 S.Ct. 399, 404,
85 L.Ed. 581; Cloverleaf Butter Co. v. Patterson,
315 US. 148 62 S.Ct. 491, 86 L.Ed. 754; Napier
v.- Atlantic, Coast Line R. Co., 272 U. S. 605, 47
S.Ct. 207, 71 L.Ed. 432. It is not amiss, however,
to call attention to the fact that operation of
this very section’ has already_interfered with the
collective bargaining process. An employer be-
fore the Labor Board defended its refusal to
bargain with a duly selected representative of |
workers on the ground that the representative
had not secured a Florida license as a business
agent. In the Matter of Eppinger & Russell Co.,
et al., 56 N.L.R.B. 2259. The Board properly re-
jected the employer’s contention, holding that
Congress did not intend to subject the ‘full free-

dom’ ‘of employees to the eroding process of

‘varied and perhaps eonfileting provisions of
state enactments.’ Cf. N.L.R.B. v. Hearst Publi-
cations, Ine., 322 US. 111, 64 S.Ct. 851, 88 L.Ed.
1170.

‘*Sinece the Labor Board las held that an em-
ployer must bargain with properly selected union
agent despite his failure to secure a Florida
license, it is argued that the state law does not
interfere with the collective bargaining process.
But, here, this agent has been enjoined, and: if
the Florida law is valid he could be found guilty
of a contempt for doing that.which the act of
Congrgss permits him to do. Furthermore, he

a,

Wri bs) eae t

CRE ANU ROOR U LLCRM ENG. 8 wre LS
“

8
pee under Section 14 of the state law, be con-
Nicted of a misdemeanor and subjected to fine,
and imprisonment. The collective bargaining
which Congress has authorized contemplates two
-parties free to bargain, and cannot thus be frus-
trated by state legislation. We hold that Section ©
4 of the Florida Act is repugnant to the National
Labor Relations’ Act.

; ‘Section 6, as here applied, stands no bation.
. The requirement as to the filing of information

. and the payment of a $1.00 annual fee does not,
in and of itself, confiict with the Federal Act.
But for failure to comply, this union has been en-
joined from functioning as a labor union. It could ,
not without violating the injunction and also sub-
jecting itself to the possibility of criminal punish-

ment-even attempt:to bargain tosettle a controversy ~

or a strike. It is the sanction here imposed, and
not the duty to report, which brings about a_
situation inconsistent with the federally protect-
ed process of collective bargaining. Cf. Western

- Union Telegraph Co. v. Commonwealth of Mas-
" sachusetts, 125. U.S. 530, 553, 554, 8 S. Ct. 961,
965 966, e L.Ed. 790; Kansas City Southern R.
Co. v. Kaw Valley Drainage District, 233 U.S.
75, 78, 34 S. Ct. 564,565, 58 L. Ed, 857, ‘St. Louis
Southwestern Ry. v. State of Arkansas, 235 U.S.
350, 368, 35 S. Ct. 99, 204, 599 L. Ed. 265.. This
is true because if the union or its representatives
acted as bargaining agents without making the
required reports, presumably they would be liable
-both to punishment for contempt of court and
to conviction under the misdeameanor section
of the act. Such an obstacle to collective bargain-
ing.cannot be created: consistently with the Fed-
eral Act;?_

As stated by the Court below any doubt as to the

continuing vitality of the decision of Hill vs. Florida,

325 US 538 was dispelled: by its recent approval in

9

the case of Nash vs. Florida Industrial Insurance
Commission, 389 US 235. |

Alaska relies in large ‘measure on DeVeau vs.
Brasted, 363, US. 144. Appellant states (Jur. St. p.
19): ‘‘There is no requirement of Congressional ap-

Veau, this court distinguishing. Hill specifically said:

_. ‘An element most persuasive here, Congressional ap-

proval of the heart of the State legislative program
explicitly brought to its attention, was not present
in that [Hill] case.’’ (emphasis meio

_proval in DeVeaw or in any other case .....”’ In De- —

a

This Court also. mere in DeVeau “. .. that the
challenged State legislation was part of | a program, -

_ fully canvassed by Congress through. its own investi- .
gations, .. .”’ (Emphasis supplied). These quotations

from, DeVeau were cited and analyzed by the Tnree
Judge Court below. The Court concluded that these

distinctions made the doctrine of Hill rather than
that of DeVeau applicable to the present case.

The 1968 amendments adopted by the legislature
of Alaska, which are contained in Appendix ‘‘E”’ of
the Jurisdictional Statement, added to the penalties;

' specifically provided for civil enforcement by injunc-

tive relief and added a new crime for ‘‘interference

in chartering’’. Since the Court below invalidated the
_ Act of 1967 (which would carry with it invalidation

of the 1968 amendments), it seems unnecessary to
advert further to the amendments of 1968 except to
point out that the type of burdens and strictures,
common to those stricken down in Aill vs. Florida,
esi were increased.

+

By like token, since the decision of the Court below

Payne APE eee FO

1a esd and rnd Seale At Ku Sm ph eX

10
struck down the laws of | 1967, we do not here more
than mention the fact that the 1968 amendments per-
mitted exemptions from criminal prosecution to
unions which included ‘‘local hire preference pro-

visions’’ in all of their agreements. Similar exemp-
tion is denied to other unions who would equally be

guilty of violation of the criminal‘provision but whose
* contracts were difterent. The 1968 amendments clarify
.the clash with the doctrine of Local 24 of IBT vs:

Oliver, 358 US 283 and the conflict with the equal.
protection clause. Mullaney vs. Anderson, 342 US 415;
Brown vs. Anderson, 202 F. Supp. 96 (lnvelving
Alaska resident preference statutes or regulations).

~~. This brings us to the state court civil injunction

proceedings initiated by the State. Prior to the hear-
ing by the Three Judge Court, a preliminary injunc-
tion was granted in this state court proceeding which
pertained solely to the operation of Loca] 302’s hiring
hall and it’s procedures. Although the complaint in
that case (p. 19 of Jur. St.) alleged violation of the
so called ‘‘Local Autonomy Act’’, and although ¢oun- ©
sel now chooses to designate it as a ‘‘public nuisance’’ -
action, the preliminary injunction is defended upon:
the ground that it is warranted by this Court’s ruling

“in Vaca vs. Sipes, 386 US 171. ‘The Three Judge

Court below held that,- instead, the action and the
preliminary injunction granted by the Superior Court
were invalidated under the ruling of this Court in

Plumbers’ Union vs. Borden, 373 US 690.

Vaca dealtk with individual rights in the pro-
cessing of grievances or enforcement of individual -
rights. Borden on the other hand, dealt with alleged
discriminatory practices in the operation of a hiring
hall. We ‘quote from Borden:.

| ug a6

“The problems inbrent in the operation o.
unton hiring halls are difficult and complex, see
Rothman, The Development and Current Status
of the Law Pertaining to Hiring Hall Arrange-
ments, 48 Va L Rev 871, and point up the im-
portance of limiting initial competence to adjudi-
cate such matters to a single expert federal
agency.” (Emphasis supplied) 373 US 696, 697

The case of Ironworkers’ Union vs. Perko, 373 US
701, heard and decided at the same time as the Borden
ease, lends further support to the position that the
_ Borden doctrine is applicable to the case at bar.

__-The court: below-placed its reliance upon Borden
and the fact that hiring hall discrimination was there
claimed as itwas in the Superior Court. action here.

?

2 However, in + linaeaihinn Vaca, .we cannot help
but note another matter.

Certainly this Court in Vaca vs. Sipes, 386 US 171,
was not intending to re-invalidate broad scale use of
‘the discredited labor injunction. No injunction was in-
volved there. Vaca dealt with an individual problem

and its resolution. The injunction here’applied to the

entire operation of the union’s hiring hall and pur-.
ported to freeze it into operating under its contract
provisions.

t

Such ‘‘freezing’’ is entirely inconsistent with the

doctrine that collective bargaining is a continuing ~

process, United Steelworkers vs. Warrior & G. Naw.
- Co., 363 US 574 and the duty of the respective parties
to apply, interpret, amend or even supplement a con- .
tract where necessary or desirable, Humphrey vs.
Moore, 375: US 335; and Ford Motor ici y US.
Huffman, 345 vai 330.

‘8

eer shaaphiciib eine M cnanc opto et A GCs Samet Sel ate Mie
. :

REG AR ata NNR AS Ui SARL SWORN Uh cents ishacilapi sp She enewsie ANNI

of eagle themselves, into the ¢
ing process.

Official state intrusion ‘into the free eollectivé bar-
gaining process interferes with the bargaining par-
ties? federal rights. Local 24'of I.B.T. vs. Oliver, 358
US 283;. General Electric Company vs. ' Callahan,
(CA5 1961) 294 F.2d 60, Cert Dism 369 US 832; and

Pan Am Airways vs. California Division Labor Law,

203 F Supp 324.
Vaca does not hold otherwise.
Therefore, it is clear that Plumbers Union vs.

Borden,- 373 US 690, is controlling here as to’ state
court jurisdi¢tion and Vaca vs. —_— 386 US ral is

__not- “apposite.

Ii

MOTION TO DISMISS AS TO APPELLANTS .
LEO A. PHILLIPS, ALFRED M. WHITE AND |
- \WILEIAM JONES :

‘All appellees, except the National. Labor Relations
Board, move the Court to dismiss the appeals of Leo ~

- A. Phillips, Alfred M. White and William Jones

for the reason that they were not:parties below.

STATEMENT IN SUPPORT OF MOTION TO
_ DISMISS AS TO APPELLANTS LEO A.
PHILLIPS, ALFRED M. WHITE AND.
. WILLIAM JONES

On May 3 1968, Leo A. Phillips, Alfred M. White

and William Jones moved to intervene in Cause No..

J-18-67 (Doe. No. 44, Vol. -II). They appeared
through their counsel, Savage, Erwin, and .Curran

(Doe. No. 46, Vol. IL). Exhibits, including affidavits —

to .which were attached numerous -unsworn and un-
‘signed documents, petitions, etc. were filed’ in ‘support
of thé: Motion to Intervene (Doe: No. 44, ‘Vol. II).
On May 22, 1968, an order was entered denying the
motion of Phillips, White and Jones © ‘to intervene
= No. 57, Vol. It). ™

No appeal was taken from that onder.

Thereafter. those proposed intervenor played no crn
additional part in the case. They were, for example, .
‘ “not parties to the stipulations of facts upon which”

the cases were tried (Doc. No. 67. & 68, Vol. IT).
Neither were ,they mentioned in the Court’s opinion
below (Doc. No. 70, Vol. IT) nor in the. judgments

entered (Doe..No. 74, Vol. II).: (There were. two .
judgments entered in the two consolidated cases ‘al-*

though only one, and that. an incorrect copy, is ii-
cluded in the appendix to val J urisdictional State-
ment. ) '

When counsel for the State of Alaska filed his

amended notice of appeal on August 26, 1968 (Doc.

No. 75, Vol. IL), he ineluded the proposed intervenors,

although he had not purported to represent them

before.

If the proposed intervention was of right or the 7

denial was an abuse of discretion, the order denying

intervention was an appealable order. Brotherhood

_ of Railroad Trainmen vs. Baltimore & O. R. Co.,

331 US 519; Missouri-Kansas Pipeline Co. vs. United -.

States of America, 312 US 502; Textile Workers’

; . , -
ial RAS ene Liam hi oe satel

*
cei ten delta nities

hen

Pipe da

fee ae ee
“a

BahGr Bina) KALA RIES be IZA a had To lee

Sk had nd wm

14

: Union of America vs. Allendale Co., (CADC 1955)

226 F.2d 765; Nuesse vs.-Camp, (CADC — ) 385
F.2d 694. —

On. the. other hand, as ‘pointed out by this Court
in Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen vs. Baltimore
& O. R. Co., 331 US 519 at 524; if denial was within
discretion and was not appealabile, and ergo, not re-

viewable here, it would be because there was” ‘some

other remedy available to the proposed intervenors
and their rights to proceed otherwise have not been
impaired.

‘The aniniels effect in this case is that the -appel-
lants seek to bring before this Court-the unsworn
statements, unsigned petitions and other improper
documentary. material’ which were attached to affi-
davits in support of the motien to intervene, which
were never moved against nor answered by the ap- .
pellees and were never before the Three Judge Court,
because of the order denying the intervention. The
stipulation of facts; upon which the case J-18-67 was
tried, signed by all parties, but not by the proposed

_ intervenors, (Doc. No. 67, Vol. II) contained a pro- -
vision that the affidavits submitted by ‘‘parties’’ could

be considered by the Three Judge Court. Appellants,
by. seeking to make these proposed intervenors parties
to this proceeding in the Supreme Court, are appar-
ently attempting, ex post facto, to now make them
‘‘narties’’ under the stipulation and hence, get be-

fore this Court the documents referred to above.. —

_ Therefore, it is ‘respectively submitted that since
the proposed intervenors, Philips, White and Jones,
were not parties to the proceedings: below and did not
appeal from the order denying intervention, mone
appeal should’ ‘be ‘dismissed.

8 1. See | WS 7
| -» CONCLUSION ,
It is respectfully submitted that there is no: sub-

| stantial question but that the. Alaska Statute is un-

constitutional under Hill vs. Florida, 325 US 538 and
Local 24 IBT vs. Oliver; 358 US 283, and that the
Alaska state court lacked jurisdiction of the civil in-
junction suit. under Plumbers’ Union vs. Borden, 373
US 690 and that: therefore, plenary consideration and
oral argument are not nécessary and. the judgment
below should be affirmed. Further, the attempted ap-
peals of the rejected intervenors, Philips, White and
_ Jones,. should: be dismissed.

Respectfully submitted,

J. DUANE “VANCE

of VANCE, DAVIES, Rosekts & Berris |
1411 Fourth Avenue Building, Rm.-815
Seattle, a 98101"

and

-Rospert BooCHEVER
of FAULKNER, BANFIELD, BooCHEVER « Doogan
311 Franklin Street, Suite 201
Juneau, Alaska 99801.
Attorneys for all Appellees except the
o — Labor Relations Board

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1223%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
