# Jurisdictional Statement — Shakin v. Board of Medical Examiners of Cal.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1081%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Jurisdictional Statement
- **Published:** January 1, 1968
- **Citation:** 390 U.S. 410

## Text

ee ' Supreme Court, U.S
SUPREME COURT, U. & FILED
“ ‘INTHE: | FEB 1 169
Sapene Court of the wei, i \
ea or mb, Pra 1967-5 * sea
| me { 1

a

7 WHRLJAM LLOYD SHAKIN, M.D.
be eas ’ Petitioner and Appellant;
>) aaa

BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS eS.
THE PrArS OF CALIFORNIA, en, 2

- Defendant and Respondent.

(>)

o-

, Appeal From The J wleuiant Of The Supreme
Caurt Of The State Of California ©

MARKS & SCHNEIDER . .
* BURTON MARKS and 0

HARVEY A: SCHNEIDER

8447 Wilshire Blvd., Suite 217
Beverly Hills, Calif. 9021 Ss oe
Telephone (213) 653-4141 I achicha huss
: etre ‘ Attorneys for Petitioner and
| Appellant. ,

DEAN-STANDEFRR eramawy >

~ _
* .
® .
*
2
~ " |
: \
. . ; 2
. ’ ; -
. :
d *
> ©
: -
o ® =
.
~ e
. 48 > . e :
, 5 . e =}
ve
. - . o
a
“
. . * .
. ih :
> e « .
uy ; . ,
i.e : :
’
e-
ad ,
. a
. e .
. -
. - a
> . .
Pe 7.
-%
.
.
4
oa 7 -
« : . .
y
7
.
4 ee
——
e ¢ .
= =
Pe:
% °
c oe e -
‘ ‘
. ° —
mie
———— .
——— :
. . bad ad
.
. + -
. " ; : e
oye wetness OEP ERAT | OTe Nhe ote se eee an a
'

. 2
a
.
.
e-
.
.
‘
o s
‘
°
.
.
.
—_—_—
«
\
\
Nv e%
.
S
%
—

/\ TOPICALINDEX st

(a) Nature of appeal ke POT ae hr mf 1 )
2 panes ee (b): Grounds for invoking pire teens 7 e..
© Questions presented pera git Ser NE ee
(a) Statement Of The Case Cen te ee - .9
(e) Federal questions présented are ,
substantial 1... -. 0. eee epee eee eo e.
Conclusion ........ waveae beet ca ian al oe 2

_ FABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Elforandtv. Russell, 384 U.S. 11, oe
- 86 S.Ct. 1238, 16 L.Ed. 2d 321 Beye Me
Giles v. Maryland, _- US. - ye cee
87 S.Ct. __ TTL.Ed.24 737 Sen ee

Seas: Stewart & Co: v. Sadrakula, .
309 U.S. 94, 60 S.Ct. 431, 84 L.Ed, 396,

127 ALR EM ose. .e eee eee ea
. Lemnbiogt 2, Celieente, $85 ae 225, 7 s =
788. 240, 2 L.Ed.2d 228° 2.2... os ee %
. Meyer v. Nebraska; 262 U.S:390, . -—
: 43 S.Ct. 625, 67 L.Ed. 1042 ......... ba -
. of a? gover ;
vos Morgan.y. United States, 304 U.S. 1, , 7 5
. 58 S.Ct. 773, 82 LEG. 1129 3.2.05... 6. 4.
» Most v. State Bar, 67 A.C WU Atsekviceetesyt: \

Doo Dene Deters tie page

— ‘83 S.Ct. 1240, 10 L.Ed.24 349 PRS Pee
he

“TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

“Cases (cont), Bat Varn ae ~ Page
* NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S.415, - SA aes

“83 S.Ct. 328, 9 L.Ed. 24 405 - ekevaxescs oo
New York ex rel. Bryant v. Pisisnatmnn, .
"(278 US. 63, 49 S.Ct: 61, 73 LEd. 184... 3
Heiko v. Coaieouaat, 08US519,/ —

* 58 S.Ct. 149, 82 L.Ed. 288.022... 2... 4
"Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400, Ss

85 S.Ct. 1065, 13 LB 20923 Pas iY

~ Right ¥. Georgia, 373 US. 284,

ware v. Board of Bar Beekeied

“+ ~ 353 U.S. 232; 77 S.Ct. 752,

» A LBA2d 796 222.
"Scott v: Donald, 165 U:S. 58," fds =
170 S.Ct. 265, 41 L.Ed. 632)... 2... 3:
Sorrels v. United States, 287U.S.435,.° =
: SBR AG TLRS 5 Y..62 os... 4
-. Zitney v. State Bar, 64 Cal. 24787, aN oo
A era 66 Cafes osaegnsns 4
| ene?” 7 ae ps
a. S. Constitution First. hineineia aria os : 4, 7,
‘Fifth Amendment ...... 7,
; Fourteenth Amend. ..... 3, 4, 7, 8
98 USC.1257(2) .:....). By, Ss epee pen
1094.5 C.C.P.(Calif.) ....... 2,4, 5, 6,7, 8, 11, 12, 13
1203.4 P.C. (Calif.) ...... hoki caeuisouas eta ee

«

*

7. | October Term, 1967

foe _. SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

r es 7 : No.
p : We. .
WILLIAM LLOYD SHAKIN, M.D. _ a oe
: Petitioner and Appellant, - °* *

© * _= os . > 4
» ‘ BOARD OF MEDICAL, EXAMINERS OF
THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
2 | : Defendant and Respondent. --

«

Peg i, Appeal From The Judgment Of The
‘ __ . Supreme Court of The State Of.
California. .

" “JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT =,
: att . 9 | ’ z . : . . a : ~ T *
es (RULE 13(2) and 12)
RULES OF THE UNITED STATES
. SUPREME COURT”
(a) This is an appeal taken from the order ofthe °

Supreme Court of the State of California dated November 1; a on
1967, denying, without opinion, 4 hearing on the decision of :

the Court of Appeal for the State of Calif ig dated Septem-.

- ber 5, 1967 (Appendix A), affirming the denial of a Petition
.e for Writ of Mandate, which denial was made and entered by

the Superior Court of the State of California | for the County’

of Los Angeles on May 27, 1966. Prior to the denial of. the.

Petition for Hearing by the California Supreme Court, a Peti-
_tion for Rehearing had been denied, without opinion, by the
Court of Appeal on Octoberl4, 1967. The opinion of the -
Court-of Appeal i is reported officially i in Volume 254 Advance
California Appellate Reports at page 109. There is no official IOP ae.
report of the decision to date. _ ati,
(b) The jurisdiction, of this Court is invoked on the

grounds, inter alia, that section 1094. 5 of the California
Code of Civil Procedure has been sustained against a claim
of unconstitutionality under the F ederal Constitution.
Other questions also invoke federal corstitutional questions
and invoke the jurisdiction of this Court. (See infra.)

‘ . @) Appellant’s certificate to practice medicine
and surgery in the State of California was revoked by the |
respondent. BOARD OF MEDICAL EXAMINERS. OF THE.
STATE OF CALIFORNIA after administrative proceedings . ie
were held purportedly pursuant to the provisions of section. . >)
1094:5 Of the California Code of Civil Procedure. Appel- |
lant’s Petition for Writ of Mandate, which sought reinstate- . |
‘ment of his certificate, was denied by the Superior Court of ) ‘
. the State of California for the County of Los Angeles, and Seah
this denial was affirmed by the California Court of Appeal, ; :
as aforesaid. The California Supreme Court denied a hearing
after the decision by the Court of Appeal. ra

> Ue Re ee

_ Gi) The judgment of thie Superior Court of the
County of Los Angeles was entered on May 27, 1966. The .
decision of the Court of Appeal of the State of California -
affirming the judgment of the Superior Court was rendered
on September 5; 1967 (Appendix A). “A rehearing was
‘ denied by the Court of Appeal on Octoberl4, 1967. The .
California Supreme Court denied a hearing on November 1,
1967." -The Notice of Appeal was filed on November 26, '
1967, in the Cou of Appeal of the State of California, the
COMET WTA Poseenned of the septen (Rutes of the Palted
States Supreme Court, Rule 10(3) ).

(iii) Jurisdiction ofthis Court is conferted by

- Title 28, U.S.C.,section 1257(2).

Sn; ot ~ band Cases believed to sustain the uridction of
, , dL. Appellate jurisdiction: New York ex
rel. Bryant v. Zimmerman, 278 U.S. 63, 67, 49 S.Ct. 61, 73
- L.Ed. 184, 187; James Stewart &.Co. v. Sadrakula, 309 US.»
94, 60 8.Ct. 431, 84 L.Ed. 596, 127 ALR 821; Lambert v..
California; 355 US. 225, 78 S.Ct. 240, 2 L.Bd,2¢ 228. |

2. Generally as to subsidiary questions
involving constitutional issues: Scott v. Donald, | 165 U.S.
538, 170 S.Ct. 265, 41 L.Ed. 632. i. }

= The right to-have a.license to practice
medicine is one of those rights protected under the First | .
- and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constiti-

tion and is encompassed within the definition and concept. -

of the word “liberty”: Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners,
353 U.S. 232, 238-239, 77 S.Ct. 752, 1 L.Ed.2d 796, 801-
802; Meyer 4. Nebraska, 262 U.S. 390, 399, 43 S.Ct. 625,
67 L.Ed. 1 21045.

.

“ ee Feet, 4. Where ey are involved affecting
First Amendment and Fourteenth Amendment rights, those
procedures, must be followed with scrupulous exactitude and -
~ the most natrow construction possible given to the statutes .
and procedures i volved, so as:to permit a minimum of inter-
ference with tt, a ae based rights: Elfbrandt v.
Russell, 384 U.S. 11, 86 S.Ct. 1238, 16 L.Ed. 2d 321; NAACP |
», ‘Button; 371 U.S. 415, 83 S.Ct. 328, 9 L.Ed.2d 405; Right
—Y, Georgia, 373 U. s. ‘284, 83 S. Ct. 1240, 10.L-Ba-24 349: Cal
b 5. “Due process” and ‘ “equal Prot€ctions”:
aa, eS 58 S.Ct. 149, 82 L.Ed. 288.
-*~6. The individual’s constitutional rightto x»
. ‘ross-examine witnesses and rebut evidence against him: Morgan .
-y, United States, 304 U.S. 1, 58 S.Ct: 773, 82 L.Ed. 1129;
--Pointer v: Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 85 S.Ct. 1065, 13 L.Ed. 2d 925. ;
"es 7~ The individual’s constitutional right to
present evidence on the issue of entrapment: Sorrels v. United _
States, 287 U.S. 435, 53 S. Ct. 210, Hi L.Ed. 413: Cf. Giles v.
Maryland, a US. ___, 87 B.Ct.- o.3% Ed.2d 737..
| | 8: * In th the case of disSplinary proceedings -
involving attorneys in the State of California; all reasonabie .
déubts are resolved in favor of. the accused and if equally .
favorable inferences may be drawn from a proved fact, the
. inference which le ds toa conclusion of i innocence, rather nae és
than one leading to a conclusion of guilt, will be accepted:
Most v. State Bar, 67 A.C. 600; Zitny v. State Bar, 64 Cal.2d
787, 789-790, 51 Cal.Rptr. 825.
(v)~ “California Code of Civil nae section
1094: :5 is found in its original: form in Stats 1945, ¢. 868,
Dp. 1636, sec. 1. The section was amended in Stats 1949, c.
| 358, p. sad see. 1. Section 1094- = it existed at all times

Palko v.

* : : “ 6 4; “a - 7 -
’ > e

o a

NX
\

Pan

' &

y material to this case and as it presently exists, reads as follows:

(a) Where the writ is issued for the purpose of 7

| inquiring into the validity of any final administrative a

order or decision made as the result of a proceeding
in which by law a hearing is required to be given, |
evidence is s required to be taken and discretion in the

‘determination of facts i is vested in the inferior tribunal,

_ corporation, board or officer, the case shall be heard.

by the court sitting without a jury: All or part of the

record of the proceedings before the inferior tribumal,

-- petition, m#
. - authorities or may be
rs If,the expense of pre
7 record hes be been borne by the atic party, woh

g

corporation, or officer may be filed with the .
, ‘with respondent's points and
yidered to be filed by the court.

in, all or any part of the

expense shall be taxable as costs. - i.
~' “(®)-The iriquiry in such a case shall extend to
the sajeaias whether the respondent has proceeded

_ without, or in’excess of jurisdiction; whether there

. was a fair trial; and whether there was any prejudicial

abuse of discretion. / buse of discretion i is established —

. if the fespondent has not proceeded in the manner a
_ required by law, the order or decision is not supported

_by the findings, or the findings are not t supported by

-&

the evidence. - &
“(c) Where it is claimed that, the findings are ‘not
supported by the evidence, in cases in-which the court
is authorized by law to exercise its independent judg-
ment on the evidence, abuse of discretion is establish-

_ed if the court determines that the findings are not

. supported by the weight of the evidence; and inall ~

he ‘ .

alin

other cases abuse. of discretion is established if
the court determines that the findings are not .
. supported by substantial evidence i in the light of.
~ the whole record, 7
~ _ “(d) Where the court finds that there is rele-
vant evidence which, in the exercise of reasonable
| diligence, could not have been produced ot which
was improperly excluded at the hearing before
‘ respondent, it may enter judgment as provided i in
; subdivision (€) of this section remanding the case
to be reconsidered in the light of such evidence;
or, in cases in which the court is authorized by
law to exercise its independent judgment on thé
evidence, the court may admit such evidence at —
the hearing on the writ without oe the
case.
“(e) The court shali enter judgment either
. commanding respondent to set aside-the order or
decision, or denying the writ. "Where the judgment
_ commands that the order or decision be set aside;
‘it may order the reconsideration of the case inthe -
light of the court’s opinion and judgment and may.
order respondent to take such further action.as is
- | _ specially enjoined upon it by law but the judgment
oe shall not.limit or control in ariy way | the discretion
legally vested i in the respondent. ;
°° “(f) The court in which proceedings under
; this section are instituted may stay the operation
of the administrative order or decision pending the
judgment of the court, or until the filing of a notice
of — from the a or until thie expiration

of the time for filing such notice whichever occurs
first; provided that no such stay shall be imposed or ©
continued if the court is satisfied that it is against
the public interest. If an appeal is taken from a
denial of the writ, the order or decision of the
agency shall not be stayed except upon the order
_ of the court to which such appeal ts taken; provided
that,»in cases where a stay is in effect at the time of
: filing the notice of appeal, such stay sliall be con-
tinued by operation of law for a period of. twenty
(20) days from the filing of such notice. If an appeal
is taken from the granting. of the writ, the order or
' decision of the agency is stayed pending the deter- *-
_ mination of the appeal untess the court to which
~ such appeal is taken shall otherwise order. Where
any final administrative order or decision is the
subject of proceedings under this section, if the
petition shall have been filed while the penalty
imposed is in full force and effect the determination .
shall not be considered to have become moot in
cases where the penalty imposed by the administra-
- tive agency has been eompleted or complied with | |
during the pendency of such proceedings.” ~
(c): The questions presented on this appeal are as follows:
1. Whether the - application and interpretation of ©
California Code of Civil Procedure section 1094. 5 with respect
to licensed physicians and surgeons denies to such physicians
and surgeons liberty, due process of law and equal protections ,
of law, in violation of Amendments I, V and XIV to the United
States Constitution, where: “
@) A licensed physician and | surgeon (as in s the

&

§

a

instant case) is not given an opportunity to confront the
administrative agency (the respondent Board of Medical
Examiners) which has the.power to revoke licenses, either
in defense of an accusation brought to revoke such license
or by way of mitigation, where members of other learned |
professions, e.g., attorneys at law, are so permitted.
~“ ~~" Gi) Physicians and surgeons are’not afford-
ed an opportunity to object to thé: finding made by'the _
hearing examiner until such time as the findings have already
been submitted to and acted upon by the respondent Board
of Medical Examiners.
ae (iii) The license of an attorney at law may be *
revoked only after all reasonable doubts are resolved i in favor
of the accused and where, if equally favorable inferences may
be drawn from a proved fact, the inference which leads to a
conclusion of i innocence, rather than one leading to a con-
clusion of guilt, will be accepted, but the same standards are |
not applied in a proceeding commenced for the purpose of
revoking the license of a physician and surgeon.
2. Whether the judicial interpretation of the oe are
scope offreview (both primary and appettate) of administra-
. ‘tive p proceedings pursuant to the provisions of California
Code of Civil Procedure section 1094. 5 violates Amendments,
I, V and XIV to the United States Constitution, either on its | ’
face or,.in the instant case, where: boll
(i) The onerous perfalties and disabilities | |
which an be imposed upon an individual such as appellant
(including, as,herein involved, the deprivation of the consti-
- tutionally protected, right to engage in the profession. of his
. own choosing) ; are subject to the most narrow and restrictive
review, with the result that, for all practicable eeccauie, no -

. 9

a ai

review at all is afforded.
(ii) The accused is denied the right to raise
thei issue of entrapment.
' .(iii) An aggrieved person’ is denied the right
Bi s to work in his chosen and lawful profession pending appellate
a review, at the discretion of the appellate court (i.e., where the
appellate court refuses to stay proceedings pending appeal,
upon timely motion being made), so that the right to eeeeel
: ‘becomes inétely a sham and the appellate “ies are
thereby rendered Se ae :
3. _ Whether the administrative procedures employ-
_ ed by the respondent Board of Medical Examiners were vicla-
tive of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-.
stitution, in that appellant was not afforded his constitutional
- right to cross-examine a witness and rebut evidence offered
against him.

AOE AP HP oh a AD

*

—>
_———

F @ “STATEMENT OF THE CASE ronan

' a
2 7 Seer

fe nal ‘On January 29, 1965, an accusation was filed against
¥ appellant, then a duly licensed physician and surgeon i in the
State of California, charging him with misconduct and pray*
ing that disciplinary action be taken against him. The basis
of the accusation was that appellant had been convicted of
the crime of unlawfully selling prescriptive narcotics (demero] |
and codeine). [Appellant was granted probation for this
offense and, as of the time a Petition for Hearing in the Calif-
orni¢ Supreme Court was denied, appellant’ s record had ‘been rs
expunged pursuant to the provisions of California Penal Code/
section 1203.4.] .
As a result of this accusation, on March 2, 1965, a hearing

DARIEN AB oH hE A ADRs I Nw a

TOP UES AAS

‘* ea,

: a CS

eae 7 =10-

was held before the entire respondent Board of Medical
Examiners, at which time Officer Booth Shaw — the police *
officer who was involved i in the arrest of appellant i in the-
criminal case — testified in support of the accusation. (BT
10-30.)! Thereafter, and although appellant expressed a
desire that the matter not be continued (BT 45 ), and after

a vote teken by the Board in executive session, the matter ;
was assigned to a Hearing Officer (BT 45-46). At no.time
during the hearing held on March.2; 9965, or thereafter,
was appellant affordéd an opportunity to cross-examine -
Officer Shaw, although he requested to do so (BT 44).

On June 28, 1965, a hearing was held ‘before George

K. Bellows, a Hearing Officer, Upon the completion of

this hearing, and 0 July 8, 1965, the said Hearing Exam-
iner issued his “Proposed Decision,” by the terms of which
it was recommended that appellant’ s certificate to practice
_ medicine wt faiatids in the State of California be revoked
(CT 16-22). % | ’

On. July 23, 1965, the er Decision” of the
| Hearing Officer was adopted by the respondent Board as
its decision, and it was ordered that appellant's certificate
be revoked effective August 23, 1965 (CT 23). _

On August 23, 1965, appellant filed a Petition for Writ
of Mandate to Compel Reinstatement of His Certificate to.
Practice Medicine and Surgery Fellowing Revocation and -
‘* for Stay or (sic) Operation of Administrative Order Pending
Final Judgment (CT 35-37). "On this date, ~ court decided

ee are As used herein CT and RT refer to the Clerk’s and — Transcripts
on Appeal, respectively. Additionally, BT refers to the transcript of the hearing
before the Board of Medical Examiners on March 2, 1965. This transcript was
admitted into evidence as Exhibit “A” at the hearing held in the Superior Court
(RT 44).

Nae

-l1-

gs

to issue an Alternate Writ of Mandate and stayed execution
of the Order of the respondent Board, on condition that
appellant possess neither a Federal Narcotics Stamp nor
prescriptions and not himself use narcoti¢s except on medical

_prescription therefor (CT: 78). The Alternate Writ of Mandate

was actually issued on October .1, 1965 (CT 38-40): .

~ On Jarluary 28, 1966, the Superior Court, after motion
duly made, granted appellant’s motion to file an amendment >
to the Petition for Writ of Mandate (CT 43). On said date,

“the Amendment to Petition for Writ of Mandate (adding a

second cause of action) was filed (CT .44-48).
‘On March 25, 1966, a hearing was held on the Petition
for Writ of Mandate. During this hearing, counsel for appel-

~ lant moved the court to reopen the case resented on behalf

of appellant and further moved the court tor permission -.°
present testimony on the issue of entrapment; both motions

“were denied (RT 40 and CT 177).

On May 27, 1966, the Superior Court issued its order
denying appellant’s Petition for Writ of Mandate (CT 6 1). -

On August 23, 1966, appellant filed a Motion for New
Trial (CT 205-207), which motion was denied on October 4,
1966 (CT 210). Appellant’s Notice of Appeal was also filed

‘on August 23, 1966 (CT 70). ‘Prior to the filing of the record °°

in the Court of Appeal, motions were made pursuant to sec-
tion 1094. 5 for astay of the Order of Revocation pending
appeal. All of these motions were denied. .

With the exception noted below, the federal questions |
sought to be reviewed were presented in the trial court (the
Superior Court of the State of California for the County of

Los Angeles) by.way of the Petition for Writ of Mandate

filed on August 23, 1966 XCT 1- “10), thie Supplement t to the

—~12-

Petition for Writ of Mandate (CT.35-37) and the Amendment
to the Petition for Writ of Mandate (CT 44-48) and also at
the hearing of the Petition for Writ of Mandate (See, e.g., °
RI 6-16; 25-27; 40; 43-44). The Petition for Writ of Mandate
was denied i in the trial court.
Appellant presented the federal questions séught to be
reviewed herein to the Court of-Appeal of the State of Calif-
ornia in Appellant’s Opening Brief, ina Reply. Brief, and i in..
_a Petition for Rehearing. Because of the provisions of Code ae
of Civil Procedure section 1094;5, the first opportunity that
appellant had to: raise the issue ‘that section 1094. 5 is uncon- |
stitutiqnal, insofar as the appellate review and stay on appeal
procedures established there are concerned, vas in the Court
of Appeal; all other constitutional i issues, were, as previously
indicated, timely raised in the trial court. The judgment of
_ the tria] court was affirmed by the‘Court of Appeal and the
Petition for Rehearing was denied, réspectively. In affirming.
the judgment of the trial court and holding section 1094. ,
constitutional, the Court of Appeal stated: .
| “Respondent filed its brief in this case on
: July 13, 1967. Thereafter, some 29 days later.
4 appellant filed what is denominated a reply brief
wherein he ‘submits the following for the consid-
eration of the court," — thatthe Administrative ~
’ Procedure Act (Gov. Code, sec. 11500 et seq.) is _
unconstitutional as applied to Doctor Shakin. There _
_. is no merit to such assertion. The act is constitution-
al. Appellant then refers to rule 40 of section 6068
of the. Business and Professions Code. There is no
such numbered rule under such numbered section.
Further, appellant asserts that section 1094.5, \ \

ee.

. Code of Civil Procedute i is unconstitutional as
applied to the facts of this case. This assertion
also lacks merit. The act as here applied is con-

_ stitutional. ” (254-ACA 109, 120. :)
Appellant presented the federal questions sought to
_ ‘be reviewed herein to the California Supreme Court in a
: ! Petition for Hearing, which petition was denig¢d without
opinion. . :

(e) ThStederal questions peuiinand herein are sub-
stantial, in that California Code of Civil Procedure section
1094.5 has been féid constitutional after having been
challenged on the ground, that the interpretation and. appli-
cation of this section to licensed physicians and surgeons

, in general, and to. appellant in particular, violated the First,
Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States
_ £onstitution, in that the appellant has been unconstitutionally
_ deprived of the right to engage in his chosen and lawfut pro-
fession.

Other substantial federal questions presented invol- _
ved the denial of the right to confrontation of. witnesses at
administrative proceedings and the right to present rebuttal

: evidénce i in such a proceeding, as well as the denial of the ;
right to present evidence on the issue of entrapment.
CONCLUSION
This appeal presents questions of constitutional dimen-
_ sion’ Which go to the very heart of administrative proceedings
wherein it is sought to revoke the license of a physician and
surgeon who has spent great amounts of time, effort and

* money in order to obtain his licerise to practice. Iti is respect- .

: Veh “Res eM n x eal
0 MARGIE ARIM HT ew one TOON NE RIT Ph 89 Re rete ° ~

a) ce
fully submitted that because substantial constitutional ,
questions are presented i in this appeal, plenary consideration %
- Should be given to it. Chek oe eee
Respectfully submitted, ;
Mat. oie : MARKS & SCHNEIDER ~
BURTON MARKS me se
HARVEY A. SCHNEIDER .
Attorneys for Appellant
‘ .
; ; 7
o f v
. & ry
- . “ ° ° ”
. Q
}
‘ Pid

flee, ee

hig Aa et

oo

Sod ei Seay\> a)
Sa Ae

5 Male ae

£ ‘9
mbes

eS , bk :
Sty A tae ASL

sci iet deals

Ut bear an tlh Meicamiae SAN ihe ae ath i GARB Nasi cel Nal eal Sela WY tints anh Whale paibaoed ca os oN

wand. pe MET

wm

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_1081%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
