# Opposition Brief — Holt v. Alleghany Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0764%3A15

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1966
- **Citation:** 384 U.S. 28

## Text

I sg eS RTA ORE AEP SEAT

Ne

- IN THE

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

JORN F. DAVTS, CLERK

ima Court of the United States

‘OCTOBER TERM, 1965

~

No. 132

' MARGARET L. HOLT and KATHLEEN L. McMAHON,

individually and on behalf of all other shareholders
of ° ALLEGHANY. CORPORATION. similarly situated,
"Petitioners,

against

ALLAN F. KIRBY, CHARLES T. IRELAND, JR.,.
' FRED M. KIRBY AND ALLEGHANY CORPORATION,

Respondents.

. a. 1
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

:

Statement in Opposition to Motion of Randolph
Phillips, dated February 4, 1966, for Leave to File a

Brief and to Make Oral Argument as Amicus Curiae

Water R.-.MAnNSFIELD, |
Attorney for Respondents,
Autan P. Kirspy, CuHartes T.

IRELAND, Jr. and Frep M. Kirsy.

Evucene V. Rostow,
JouHn J. McCann,
Of Counsel.

-
—_ <_~" > Peter aeons

ROT SE erry ee ¥

Statement i in Opposition nae ,

Conclusion

TABLE OF CONTENTS

The Background of Phillips’ Motion .

The Evolution of the Jurisdictional Issue

Argument

1. Phillips’ Motion-:and Brief do not completely or
correctly report the decisions on jurisdiction
made by the New York courts in Zenn ................

' 2. The litigated decision of a New York court on
- its subject matter jurisdiction is entitled to full
- faith and eredit, as the — of Appeals -held
here

3. Petitioners have sek abandoned eoniion 5 of
’ their Questions Presented

4, Kirby was made a party to the final judgment
in Zenn, and is entitled to the nin of that
judgment as res judicata

_5. Phillips’. Motion is untimely and. otherwise
objectionable

Table of Cases

PAGE

~]

11

15

Anicrican Distilling Co. v. Brown, 295 N. Y. 36, 64

NE. 2d 347 (1945)

American Surety Co. v. Baldwin, 287 U.S. 156 (1932) |

Baldwin v. Iowa State Travelling Men’s Ass’n, 283
U. S. 522 (1931) soca
Berryhill v. United States, 199 F. 2d 217 (6th Cir.
1952) :

Caterpillar Tractor Ca. v. indeveubtionsl Horvestes
Co., 120 F. 2d 82 (3d Cir. 1941)

11
15

2, 20

ii

Chicot County —_ Dist. v. Baxter State Basi,

ke Eee ee
Coe v. Coe, Sa4 U. S. S76 (1968) . ............................. ae vi
Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan res i 337 U.S. ore ;

(1949) ......... LT EER. NOTE —16
Comstock v. Group of Institutional serene 339°

= ik). | eon a 6°
Cook v. Cook, 342 U. S. 126 (1951) iatibilial RES ane 11.
Curb & Gutter Dist. No. 37 V. Parrish, 110 F. od 902

(8th Cir. 1958) ....... 2
Dann vy. Studebaker Packard Corp., 288 R. 2d 201

ES | gE ean eer 12,13
Davis v. Davis, 305 U.S. 32 (1938) . Sa ye 11

Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde, 336 U. S. 271 Sscueae nd
on rehearing, 339 U. S. 605 (1950) .. Riietnenaideess

Hanna Min..Co. v. Dist. 2, M.E.B.A., 86 8. Ct. 327

(Dec. 6, 1965) ......... = ES Soe 16
Hecht v. Farnsworth T.V. & Radio Corp., 39 N.Y.S.
+ 2d 724 (S. Ct., N. Y. Co. 1949) 0002... 14
Howard, v. Furst, 283 F. 2d 790 (2d Cir. — cert.. ~
denied, 353 U. s. 937 (1957) 13
3 I. Case Co. v. Borak, 377 U. 8.426 | Sena 12, 14
Kalb v. Feuerstein, 308 U. S. 433 (1940) 2.22... 16

. Kauder.v. United Board & Carton Corp., 199 F. 8

Supp. 420 (S.D.N.Y. 1961) ...... s eteladabeeandephpasntidisehs - 14

‘Levi ine V. Silve rman, 43 Mise. 2d 415, 251 aia ed
68 (S. ©. Monroe Co. 1964) LARTER AES SEO. He 14

Malkan v. General Transistor Corp. ., 27 Mise. od 677,

207 N.Y.S. 2d 345 (S. Ct., Queens Co. 1960) ............ 14
Mekrut v. Gould, 16 Mise. 2d. 326, 188 N.Y.S. 2d 6 . .

(S. Ct, N. Y. Co. 1959) ....... asia cieaasiciadiiiedabustath Gace cicety i414
O’Boyle v. Bevil, 259 F. 2d 506 (5th Cir. 1958) CPS =
Pick Mfg. Co. v. G.M. Corp., 299 U.S. 3 (1936) Seek 6

Reiter v. Universal Marion Corp., 299 F. 2d 449
seid Cir. 1962) 4

ee

iii

“

Ripperger v. A. C. Allyn & Co., 113 F. 2d 332 (24

Cir.), cert. denied, 311 U. S. 695 (1940) ..........-2--2-+-+ 15 —
San Diego Building Trades Council v.,Garmon, 359
ma tT RT ee 16
Standard Power & Light Corp. v. Investment Ass’ n,.
29 Del. Ch. 593, 51 A. 2d 572 (1947, siienitidiieanddalaianiiien 14
Wyatt v. Armstrong, 186 Mise. 216, 59 N.Y.S. 2d 502
-(S. Ct., N.Y. Co. 1945) .......ceccecerneee B

Zenn v. Anzalone, 1 App. Div. 2d 662, 146, N.Y.S. 2d~
286 (1955) ; 1 App. Div. 2d 773, 149 N.Y.S.2d
213 (1956) . Ssnieitsin oh sicagldasiesieibinaiile ications .F
Zenn Vv. dinibas: 10 App. Div. 2d 912 (lst Dep’t
1960), 11 App. Div. 2d 938, 210 N.Y.S. 2d 748 cian

Dep't | pean pide eta 10
Table of Statutes and Rules
Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a) «........: E- 6
‘Securities sed Act, §14(a), 15 U.S.C.A. §78n
(1963) sasadieaniialipaniininldssscirigiaas . 1,5,17
Securities Exchange Act 92, 15 USS. C. rs §78aa
(1963) sci cele aahldnhebiosisihenbaglaeasiachoaiadeiasiaide ferecnnsess 1,12
Securities Exchange Act §28, 15 U. S.C.A. §78bb .
(1963) Pay ee nar ne tat ene 12, 14
Sew. CES Bebe -AR6B) ciao | 19
| Textbooks | |
' 7 Moore, Federal Practice 633-34 (2d ed. 1955) ........ 2
\

| IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM; 1965

Nb. 132 Aas
o

Marcaret L. Hour and Karritern L. McManon, individu-

ally and on behalf of all other shareholders of Alleghany ;

a similarly situated,
Potitionete,
against |

Autan P. Kirpy, Cuartes T. [retanp, Jr., Frep M. Kirsy
and ALLEGHANY CoRPORATION, :
. : Respondents.

- ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES. COURT OF
; APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT.

Statement in Opposition to Motion of Randolph
: Phillips, dated February 4, 1966, for Leave to File a
Brief'ard to Make Oral Argument as Amicus Curiae

Phillips’ motion rests on a misconstruction of petition-
ers’ brief, and an incomplete recital of the relevant pro-
ceedings below. It clarifies, however, the fact that this
proceeding is a true collateral attack on a state court
judgment, based on a claim of preemption, and not a bill

for relief from fraud. Both Phillips arid petitioners con-
tend in essence that the existence of the Securities -

Exchange Act, §§ 14(a) and 27, 15 U.S.C.A. §§ 78n, 78aa

2

(1963), deprived the New York court of jurisdiction over
the Zenn* stockholders’ suit, even though the court decided
that the cause of action was rooted in state law, not the
Securities Exchange Act (Ex. K-137, R. 1640-41; Ex. K-
138, R. 1720).** -

We oppose Phillips’ motion on five grounds:

(1) Phillips’ petition misstates the course of* the pro-
ceedings in Zenn, where the issue of the state court’s
_ jurisdiction in the light of § 27 of the Securities Exchange
Act was adjudicated not once but twice, rio review being
sought in this Court. “General counsel for the plaintiff
stockholders in Zenn, the draftsman of the complaint
there, expressly supported the decision of the New York
_ courts that Zenn was a suit to enforce state law, not
one to enforce liabilities and duties created by the Securi-
ties Exchange Act. |

(2) The Court of Appeals en bane was correct in its
view that the New York courts’ decisions on the jurisdie- |

* Zenn, et al. v. “Anasiow, et al., N. Y. Sup. Ct. N. Y. Co., Index
No. 7244/1954 (Ex. 1, R. 701, opinions, Ex. K-137, R. 1592-1716;
Ex. K-138, R. 1717-1720). . Two related proceedings in the District
Court for the Southern District of New York are linked in various
ways to this action, but are not directly involved in this appeal, or
‘this motion.

** In a diversity case dealing with a sitatiads found to be one of
state law, a federal court can set aside a New York judgment only on
grounds which would justify collateral attack if like proceedings had ~
been brought in a New York court. Reiter y. Universal Marion
Corp., 299 F. 2d 449, 453 (D.C Cir. 1962) ; Q’Boyle v. Bevil, 259
F. 2a 506, 511-12 (5th Cir. 1958) ; cf., ‘Curb & Gutter Dist. No. 37
v. Parrish, 110 F. 2d 902, 907, 910 (8th Cir. 1958) ; Caterpillar
Tractor Co. v. International Harvester Co., 120 F. 2d 82, 85-86 (3d

Cir. 1941) (rule applied between district courts sitting in different
* states) ; 7 Moore; Federal Practice 633-34 (2d ed. 1955) ; cf. Griffith
v. Bank of New York, 147 F. 2d 899 (2d Cir. 1945), cert. denied 325
U. S. 874 (1945) where, however, the court found compliance with
New York law in any event. Id at 903. .

=e . ®

3

tion of the court in Zenn are res judicata, and entitled
to full faith and credit.

(3) Phillips* states that petitioners have abandoned |
question 5 of the Questions Presented in their Petition
for Certiorari. This is not so. Dressed in the language of
questions 1 and 2 of their Petition, question 5.is the
cornerstone of their argument.

(4) Kirby, although he had not theretofore been served
- or appeared, was made.a party to the Zenn eourt’s judg-

' ment approving the supplemental stipulation of settlement

(Ex. K-357, R. 2113), and is fully entitled to claim the
benefit of the Zenn judgment As res judicata. He in no
way “misled” the Court .of. Appeals below as to the deci-
sions on jurisdiction in Zenn. — :

(5) The. mation is not timely under this Court’s Rule
42(2), and is otherwise objectionable.

‘The Background of Phillips” Motion

The sole issue alleged, tried below and appealed in the
present proceeding (“Murchison”)* was whether respond-
_ ent Allan P. Kirby (“Kirby”) defrauded the Zenn court
by concealing “inside information” consisting of*favorable. .
income forecasts. of Investors Diversified Services, Ine.
(“IDS”), a Minnesota investment company, which he knew
or should have known at the time of a certain transaction
in 1949 and early 1950 (R. 174-75). The relief sought was
the setting aside of Kirby’s separate settlement in Zenn
(R.187-89).

* Murchison, et al. v. Kirby, et al., U. S. Dist. Ct., S.D.N.Y., 60
Civ. 3511 (R. 166). Opinions below, R. 2287-2388.

4
The District Court found after trial that the plaintiff
had failed to prove any wrongdoing by Kirby (R. 2325)...
On appeal with respect to ‘that issue—the only issue
pleaded and tried—the Court of Appeals unanimously
_ affirmed; finding, in the words of the dissenting opinion,
that “insofar as the plaintiff’s case here hinged upon estab-
lishing personal dereliction by-Kirby with respect to the
settlement hearings, this was not made out” (R. 2351).
The dissent, however, adopted a suggestion made for
the first time upon appeal, that two other Zenn defendants
(Robert R. Young and Robert W. Purcell) committed a
“fraud” upon the Zenn court, for which Kirby should be .
held responsible. The only support offered by the dissent
fer this theory was a statement of petitioners’ counsel
during the trial below, which the dissent truneated in such
a way as to make it appear to state the opposite of what
- the-record shows to have been said (R. 2351). The actual
statement’ of petitioners’ counsel (R.’ 6 06) was:

“Mr. Updike: Well, it seems to me, sir, that if
Mr. Kirby entrusts the responsibility to some extent .
of his being a. director of Alleghany, if he entrusts
some of that résponsibility to Mr. Young, then Mr.
Kirby cannot avoid accepting the consequences of
¢ whatever Mr. Young may have done, and I do not .
say that it was Mr. Young and I do not say for a
". moment that it was Mr. Purcell, and I do not know
who is responsible.” . (Italics added.)

The dissent (R. 2351) omitted the italicized portion
above, which showed that petitioners’ counsel was explicitly
disclaiming any frand by Young or Purcell,-and quoted
the first part as the sole basis for its theory that counsel
was claiming such liability.

No such claim against Kirby based on the conduct -of
Young’ or Purcell was alleged, suggested or tried before

Hs)

the District Court. On the contrary, petitioners specifi-
cally disclaimed any such wrongdoing by Young and
Purcell, or any claim that Kirby was jointly responsible

‘with them. Throughout the trial, petitioners’ counsel,

draftsinan of the amended complaint in Murchison, toak
the view that the. complaint raised no issues with respect .
to actions by Young, Purcell, or anyone except Kirby.*
Furthermore, the record. contradicts the dissent’s sugges-
tion that these parties acted jointly. o€ that there was
fraud on, the part of Young and Purcell.

The Evolution of the Jurisdictional Issue

In Zenn, plaintiffs and objectant stockholders (to whom
Phillips | was a consultant) claimed, inter alia, that the
transaction was fraudulent as a matter of common law
(Ex. 1, R. 702- 04) because Kirby, Young and Purcell
kept favorable: inside information from the stockholders
who ratified it. In addition, they claimed the transaction

‘was objectionable because ratified on the basis of a proxy |

statement which violated §14(a) of the Securities Ex-
change Act, 15 U.S. C. A. §78n (1963) (Ex. 1, R. 704-05).
The alleged concealment of this “inside information” was
pressed in Zenn by objecting stockholders as a reason for
not approving the settlement as fair and adequate. (Ex.
K-41, R. 1504-14, 1517-21, 1523-26, 1530-31). . The only dif-
ference in this respect hehe Zenn and Murchison turns
on the inferences to be drawn from the existence of 12
documents (not in evidence in Zenn) which petitioners’

* This was made doubly clear in plaintiffs’ successful-resistance to ~ :

Kirby’ s defense that indispensable parties had not been joined. (R.
206). Petitioners’ counsel said, “Far from being indispensable parties
the absent Zenn defendants are not even proper parties and would be
entitled to summary judgment were plaintiffs to have sought to join
them here.” ( sipmeen s Post-trial maply Br., p. 45).

6

.

counsel found in a new search of _the files of Kirby, ©

Alleghany and particularly of IDS (which was in the -—

control of the Murchisons during the pendency of Zenn.)

The courts below gave a short answer to the contentions
of petitioners’ counsel based on these documents. The 12
documents, they found, whether connected with Kirby,
‘Young, or Purcell, were at most_ cumulative of evidence
already before the Referee in Zenn. - ee
* Judge Dawson concluded that these documents, “which
were not called for at the hearings and most of which were
not in [Kirby’s] possession but were in the possession of
IDS” (R. 2325) were not “of such significance that they
would warrant the Court upsetting the decision. of. the
State court in any event” (R. 2324).

Judge Moore, for the majority of the Court of Appeals
panel below, concluded that at most, the documents
“would have been but cumulative evidence upon the. basic
issue of Kirby’s fraud” in Zenn (R. 2342). Judge Kauf- _
man, concurring below, found the documents basically
cumulative of information already before, the Referee in.
Zenn, and ‘not “sufficient to warrant upsetting the New
York judgment, as against Kirby” (R. 2349).

These concurrent findings of fact dominate the case.*

Faced with the force of Rule 52(a) as to their 12 docu-
ments, petitioners’ counsel attacked the jurisdiction of the

* Unless the Court reverses the: findings as “clearly erroneous”
- under Rule 52(a) Fed. R. Civ. P., it cannot and should not reach the
questions raised in one form by Phillips, and in another by petitioners.
This Court has always regarded itself as “concluded” by such con- .
current findings of fact by two courts below, in the absence of a “very
exceptional showing of error.” Comstock v. Group of Institutional |

Investors, 335 U. S. 211, 214 .(1948); Graver Mfg. Co. v. Linde,
336 U. S. 271, 275 (1949), aff'd on rehearing, 339 U.S. 605 (1950) ;
Pick Mfg. Co. v. G. M. Corp., 299 U. S. 3 (1936). Petitioners make
no attempt in their brief or their petition to challenge these findings

directly. °

7

state court in-Zenn. That attack was correctly rejected by
a unanimous opinion of the Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit, sitting en bane.

Petitioners have re- presented their jurisdictional attack
in the form of an arguinent ‘based on preemption.
Randolph Phillips now seeks leave to present the jurisdic-
tional argument in the form in which it was unanimously
rejected by the Court of Appeals.

Phillips’ motion for leave to file a bricf amicus curiae
should be denied for the reasons set forth below.

~ Argument

me * Phillips’ Motion and Brief do not completely or
correctly report the decisions on jurisdiction |
made by the New York courts in Zenn.

With emphasis, Phillips’ brief (p. 6) states that the
1955-1956 decisions by the’ New York courts constitute
“the entire record on which the court below decided that
the jurisdictional issue was res judicata. PS

The record i is to the contrary.

On October 6, 1955, objectant Rosen moved in the New
York Supreme Court in Zenn to enjoin any further settle-
ment proceedings before the Referee on two grounds, one
of which was that the court lacked jurisdiction. over the
claimed violation. of §14(a) mentioned in the complaint
because of the “exclusive jurisdiction” provision of §27.
The.court denied the motion, and the Appellate Division,
First Department, affirmed and denied leave to appeal to
the Court of Appeals, Zenn v. Anzalone, 1 App. Div. 2d
662, 146 N.Y.S. 2d 286 (1955); 1 App. Div. 2d 773, 149
N.Y.S. 2d 213 (1956). No attempt was made to petition
for certiorari. — 3

8

_ The Appellate Division’s consideration of the problem
en objectant stockholders’ motion was far from perfune-
tory. The motion was most seriously contested. We attach
as an appendix the brief of Thomas F: Daly, Esq., counsel
for defendants* on the appeal to the Appellate Division,
First Department, from the denial of the motion by a Jus-
tice of the Supreme Court in New York. Phillips quotes
- a passage from pp. 15-16 of this brief (Br. p. 7). But

he neglects to point: out that from p. 3 to p. 15, Mr. -
Daly argued in most positive form for a conclusive de-
termination of jurisdiction. The passage Phillips quotes .
is obviously. an alternative, “fall-back” argument, in the
event the Court disagreed with his major’ contention.

Furthermoré, the fecord in Zenn shows that William
E. Haudek, Esq., a partner of Pomerantz, Levy and
Haudek, general counsel for the Zenn plaintiffs—the
draftsmen of the complaint—opposed Rosen’s jurisdic-
tional motion on the ground that the complaint stated “a
claim arising under the common law”, and that the refer-
ence to §14(a) was merely duplicative of the common law
aspects of the case, and, surplusage. His affidavit in
‘opposition, which was before both the New York Supreme
Court and its Appellate. Division, stated:.

«(2) The allegation of the complaint referring to
$14 of the Securities Exchange Act is but.a legal
conclusion. There is nothing in the complaint to
f suggest that the Securities Exchange Act was to be

the basis, let alone thé only basis, of the first cause
of action. The facts alleged in ‘the first causé of
action, including those relating to the false proxy
statement, clearly state a claim arising under the
common law; see In re.Scheuer, 50 N. Y. Supp. 2d .
500, 501 (S. Ct., N. Y. Co., 1942) ; Matter of R’ Hoe

* Mr. Daly’s representation did not include Kirby.

teak 9

& Co., 1387 N. Y. Supp. 2d 142, 148 (S. Ct., Bronx
Co., 1954). This Court has undoubted jurisdiction
to pass upon this common law-claim even if it be |
coterminous with a possible federal claim.” (p. 44*).

If, as Phillips claims (Br. p. 10), the party who brings
the suit really is master to decide what law he will rely.
upon, Mr. Haudek’s affidavit should end the matter. =

In addition, Phillips must have overlooked the fact that
when the issue was raised before the Referee, he ruled
upon it in his decision of November 17, 1958, (R. 1640-41)
in these terms: | ep

“Before diseussing the merits of these charges
and defenses, I must consider the objections which
have been made, particularly by the objectant
Rosen, to the jurisdiction of this-Court to pass upon
the settlement of this cause of action. __ |

“The objection is based on the contention that the
first cause of action rests in part at least upon the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934, and that See. 27

_ of ‘that Act vests in the Federal Court exclusive
jurisdiction of all claims based thereon.
_ “This jurisdictional question was raised by objec-.
tant Rosen at Special Term of this Court in the
form of a motion to vacate the order of reference
herein. This motion was denied by Mr. Justice
McGivern, and his decision was affirmed by the
Appellate Division, First Department (1 App.’ Div.
2nd 662, 146 N.Y.S. 2d 286, Exhibit 411). a
“While it is doubtful if anything remains of the

jurisdictional question after these decisions, even .

that doubt has been resolved by the recent decision

_ *“Papers on Appeal from Order” in Zenn before. the Appellate .

Division of the New York Supreme Court, 1st Department, October -
26, 1955, “Affidavit in Opposition to the application of Samuel R.
Rosen.” PAT Perm 5 © ‘

eB a Pe OE Pe eat ire 7
.
Ps “ :
-
,

10

of the United States Seite of ae for the eo-
ond Circuit, in Howard vs, Furst, 238 F. 2d 790
(1956). Upon substantially similar facts to those
at bar, the Court of Appeals with reference to a
‘cause of action based, as here, upon a false proxy
statement, held that ‘every essential element of
appellant’s case depends upon common law and the
statutes of the State of New. York,’ and: that
- ‘appellant’s claim is for violation of State created
rights, in no real or -substantial sense dependent
upon the provisions of the Securities Exchange Act
of 1934 relative to proxy statements;’ so that ‘the
_ allegations with reference to the proxy statement
constitute a mere excrescenee or superfluity tacked

on to what are otherwise sufficient allegations of a“ -

claim for relief under New York law.’

“Accordingly, the Court. of Appeals affirmed the
judgment of the District Court, which dismissed the
Complaint for lack of jurisdiction over the subject
matter.

“Since Howard v. Furst, supra, in all essential
respects is similar to the case at bar, it follows that
the provision of the Securities Exchange Act, con-
ferring exclusive jurisdiction upon the Federal
Courts, is inapplicable here, and that this Court
does have jurisdiction to pass. upon the fairness of
the settlement of this litigation, including the. first
cause of action in the Complaint.”

The Report of the Referce was confirmed by the Su-.
preme Court of New York, and “adopted as the decision”
of that court (Ex. K-138, R. 1720). The firal orders of.
-the Supreme Court approving the settlement in Zenn were
appealed to the Appellate Division, First Department, -
which dismissed the appeals without opinion. Zenn v.
Anzalone, 10 App. Div. 2d 912 (1st Dep’t 1960), 11 App.
Div. 2d 938, 210 N. Y..S. 2d.748 (1st Dep’t 1960).

11

The New York courts thus decided repeatedly that the
gravamen of Count I of the complaint in Zenn was rooted
in state law, not in §14(a) of the Securities Exchange
Act, and that the Zenn court therefore had jurisdiction of
the case. No effort was made by Phillips (who was
actively engaged in Zenn) or by any other’ stockholder or
stockholders’ group to obtain further appellate review, in
the Court of Appeals of New York or in: this Court, ,of
the Supreme Court’s decision.* |

2. The litigated decision of a-New York. court
on its subject matter jurisdiction is entitled
. to full faith and credit, as the Court of Appeals
held here. ——s. ;

The New York courts passed _on the jurisdictional:
‘questions not once, but. twice. Their decisions could
have been reviewed by: direct appeals to the Court of -
- Appeals of New York and to this Court. This was not
done. In this state of the record, the litigated decisions
of the New York court on its jurisdiction and on the
nature of the case before.it are entitled to full faith
and credit, and are res judicata. Durfee v. Duke, 375
U. S. 106, 111, 116 (1963); Cook v. Cook, 342 U. S. 126
(1951); Sherrer v. Sherrer, 334 U. S. 343, 350 (1948) ;
' Coe v.. Coe, 334 U. S. 378 (1948); Davis v. Davis, 305.
U. S. 32, 40 (1938); Treinies v. Stmshine Min. Co., 308
U. S. 66, 78 (1939); Baldwin v. Iowa State Travelling
Men’s Ass’n; 283 U. S:. 522, 525-26 (1931); American
_ Surety Co. v. Baldwin, 287 U. S: 156, 166-67 (1932).

* Phillips was an active pafticipant in Zenn, associated with coun-
sel for obiectant stotkholders who pursued the jurisdictional issue.
(R. 481-82). . His brief-does not explain why he is not now estopped
to attack objectant stockholders’ decision to make peace and consent

to the judgment approving the settlement. ‘

12

Thus petitioners are forced to invoke extreme doc-

trines of ‘preemption, and must claim now, as Phillips —
does frankly, that the existence of §27 of the Secur-

ities Exchange Act ‘would permit this Court to treat
as totally void the entire elaborate six-year proceeding in
Zenn—motions, hearings, settlements, judgments and all—
disregarding the jurisdiction expressly left in the states
under $28 of the same Act.* i.
There is no hint of support. in J. I. Case Co- v. Borak,
377 U. S. 426 (1964) for such a position. That case was a
direct review of one aspect of a federal court proceeding
found by the trial court to be based on the Securities Ex-
change Act. The Court could not and did not consider

the problem of collateral attack by federal courts on .

state court judgments—the sole issue in the present pro-
ceeding—and did not qualify or weaken the authority of
Durfee, American Surety Co. v. Baldwin and the other
cases mentioned aboye, in any way. The principle of
‘finality which those decisions représent is fundamental to

the orderly life of any judicial system, and particularly of

fr

that. the Referee. was relying on cases ovérruled in Borak.
(Br.,. pp. 14-15). But Borak does not deal with the
‘status: of a state court judgment determining that the

_ our federal system. | aie ra
Phillips seeks to invoke Borak sag by inferring

‘ease before it was rooted in state. law, rather than: the.

Securities Exchange Act. In Borak the Court was at
pains carefully to distinguish Dann v. Studebaker Pack-

* Section 28 of the Securities Exchange .Act provides “(a) The
rights and remedies provided by this chapter shall be in addition to
any and all other .rights and remedies that may exist at law or in
equity .. .”. The jurisdiction of stat€ regulatory agencies is also
specifically preserved. 15 U.S.C.A. §78bb (1963). 7

fr

Q

13

ard Corp., 288 F. 2d 201 (6th Cir. 1961), where this

Court’ said, “it was ‘held that the - ‘preponderance of

questions o% state law which would have to be interpreted

and applied in order to grant the relief asst - is:
so great that the federal question involved ... is really
“negligible in comparison.’” 377 U. S. at 434, ‘This find- -
ing was parallel to that made by New York: courts in -

Zenn. The issue before this Court in Borak was whether
the federal courts: were limited under §27 to declar-
atory relief in civil suits to enforce the” Securities Ex-
change Act. Borak decided that in a ease whieh the
lower court found to be. one to enforce duties or liabilities
created by the Securities Exchange Act, the’ federal court

_ eould provide all- forms of judicial relief necessary te

resolve. the controversy before it-in the light of the

- policies of the Act.

The clarification of the Jaw of sensiian accomplished

by Borak defines another aspect of the problem of res
judicata raised by Phillips. Since the jurisdictional issue

raised in Zenn was decided in accordance with the state’
- of the law as it then existed, the final Zenn judgment. _
should not now be disturbed because of a change in deci-
sional law ‘made five years alter that judgment was

entered.
As movant Phillips points out (Br., p. 14), under the

- federal decisional law as it existed throughout the course

of the Zenn proceedings, -no private.or derivative right to

full remedial relief was recognized as generally available RS

for a violation of §14(a). See Dann v. Studebaker Packard
Corn., 288 F. 2d 201 (6th, Cir. 1961) ; Howard v: Furst, 283
F. 2d 790 (2nd Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 353 U. S. 937
(1957). It was in reliance on the law as it then existed
that the Zenn Referee, ir® his report,. rejected objectant
Rosen’s jurisdictional challenge (R. 1640-41). |

OS ae ee ae ee
.
. m é

14.

' Zenn was therefore not a case where the state court
- attempted to evade the effect of the federal jurisdictional
legislation. On the contrary, the state court applied the
federal decisional law as it then existed, and under. which
full relief could be had only under, state law. The law of
New York did,-and still does provide relief for injuries
resulting from the use-of falsé or misleading proxy state-
ments., E.g., Wyatt v. Armstrong, 186 Mise. 216, 59 N.Y.S.
2d 502 {S. Ct. -N: Y. Co. 1945); Hecht v. Farnsworth T.V.
& Radio Corp., 89 N.Y.S. 2d 724 (S. Ct, N. Y. Co. 1949).*
See’ Securities ‘Exchange Act §28, 15 U.S.C.A. §78bb
(Way. |
Some four’ years. after Zenn was finally decided, as

Phillips points out (Br. pp. 14-15), this Court clarified |

the remedial law of the Exchange Act. J.-J. Case Co. v.
Borak, 377 U. 8S. 426 (1964). But a change in_ the
decisional law,. after all proeeedings in an action have
been completed and a final judgment entered, is no ground
for collateral attack on the jurisdiction of the court which
rendered that judgment. Chicot County Drainage Dist. v.

* Movant’s cases at pp. 13 and ‘15 of his brief do not bear on the
problem. Thus only violations of the Securities Exchange Act were

eaded in American Distilling Co. v. Brown, 295 N.Y. 36, 64 N.E. 2d

7 (1945) (§$16(b) claim for short-swing profits) ; Mekrut v. Gould,
16 Misc. 2d 326, 188 N.Y.S. 2d 6 (S. Ct., N. Y. Co. 1959) (§8 claim for
_ failure to meet capital requirements ) ; Standard Power & Light Corp. v.

Investment Ass’n, 51 A. 2d 572, 579, 29 Del. Ch. 593 (1947)
(X-14A-1 claim for failure to include proxy statement when soliciting
proxy). In Levine v. Silverman, 43 Misc, 2d 415, 251 N.Y.S. 2d 68
(S. Ct., Monroe Co. 1964), the New York court struck a §10(b)
claim for lack ofjurisdiction, but nonetheless allowed the complaint to
stand on the same facts insofar as it stated a claim under New York
law. Malkan v. General Transistor Corp., 27 Misc. 2d 677 207 N.Y.S.
2d 345 (S. Ct., Queens Co. 1960), was an anticipation by a New York
court of what Borak thereafter held. For a similar anticipation by a

federal court, also after Zenn, see Kauder v. United Board & Carton

Corp., 199 F. Supp. 420, 421 (S.D.N.Y. 1961).

= antl

15

Baxter State. Bank, 308 U.:S. sf (1940); Ripperger v.
' A.C. Allyn & Co., 113 F. 2d 332, 333 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
311 U. S. 695 (1940). “If such was the rule, so-called
final judgments would lose most of their finality.” Berry-
hill vy, United States, 199. F.2d 217, 219 (6th Cir. 1952).

3. Petitioners have not abandoned question 5 ‘of
their Questions Presented.

The sole ground ady anced to justify Phillips’ appear-
ance as amicus curiae is that petitioners have “abandoned”
question 5 of the Questions Presented in their Petition for
Certiorari.* But Phillips’ position rests 6n a misappre-
hension of petitioners’ brief. - Petitioners’ entire legal
argument here rests on the substance of: question 5.

Petitioners’ brief recognizes that their collateral attack
on the jurisdiction of the New York court in terms of the

theory of question 5 faces insuperable obstacles, by reason \

of the New York courts’ decisions on jurisdiction. Cases
like Durfee and American Surety Co. v. Baldwin, supra,

bar any attempt to urge question 5 in the. form in which

it was framed. ;
Petitioners are likewise aware .that the plan of the

Securities Exchange Act is not one, of wholesale pre--

emption of state law. It is not the federal incorporation
‘law which Congress has often considered, but never

passed. It does not supersede state blue-sky laws, state

corporation laws for companies doing interstate business,
or state court, jurisdiction in stockholders suits and other
suits in which state corporation laws, and laws against

“* “5. Did the state court have jurisdiction to authorize the settle-

ment of the exclisive federal claim being assérted here? If not, can .

that court’s approval of the setflement bar prosecution of that claim
which is ‘still pending in the federal district court?” Petition for
Certiorari, p. 4.

i | [i , ‘en 4 mys

Hay SRR]

16

fraud, are interpreted. Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan

Corp., 337 U. 8. 541 (1949). On the contrary, its plan is to:

.

superimpose federal rights and duties on those created by ©

state law, as §28 of the Act makes clear, with peaceful co-
existence contemplated for both. In this respect, the

Congressional. purpose in passing the Securities Exchange

Act was altogether different from the approach it adopted
in seeking to bring the chaotic and dangerous strife be-
tween labor and managenient under the control of law in
‘its basie labor legislation of 1935 and .1937, San Diego
_ Building Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U. S. 236, 240,
244-46 (1959); Hanna Min. Co. v. Dist. 2, M. E. B. A., 86
S. Ct. 327, 331-32 (Dee. 6, 1965)*

Conscious of these hurdles, petitioners’ counsel present
‘the issue of question 5 indirectly in the language of ques-
_ tions 1 and 2 of the Questions Presented.** They seek a

* Nor is the problem of the Zemn court’s jurisdiction in the light |

of §27 ar. in any way to that considered in Kalb v.°

Feuerstein, 308 U. S. 433 (1940), where the court carried out the
express purposes of ‘Congress i in passing the Frazier-Lemke Act, 11
U.S.C.A. 203 (1946) for the relief of farmer debtors during the
- depression of the ‘Thirties. There the Congressional purpose was to
protect farmers completely against mortgage foreclosure once a farmer
filed his petition under the Frazier-Lemke Act.

** “1 Where federal statutes (Section 14(a) of the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934 and Rule X-14A-9) impose upon corporate
directors standards, of disclosure deemed necessary for the protection
of the interests of minority shareholders, must a federal district court
apply a comparable federal standard of disclosure in determining
whether derivative actions alleging violation of those statutes have
been fraudulently settled?

“2. If application of a comparable federal standard of disclosure
requires that the settlement be set aside, should the fact that such
settlement had been approved by a state court judgment prevent a
federal district court from. barring, the use of such judgment in a
pending parallel federal action or from setting that settlement aside

because of (a) the doctrine of Erie v. Tompkins, (b) the principles.

of res judicata, or (c) considerations of comity, even though the *

fraud leading to the settlement has been committed on the federal as
well as the state court: ?” Petition for certiorari, p. 3.

17

review of the New York courts’ jurisdiction by claiming
that Zenn can be treated as a case under §14(a). of the
Securities Exchange Act—despite the New York courts’
final determination that it wasn’t—for two purposes:
(1) to-determine What constituted a. “fraud” on the state
court in Zenn, and (2) to invoke the “fraud” so described
as a ground justifying collateral attack by a federal court
on a state court judgment.

_ Petitioners use this circuitous route to seek a review
of the Court of Appeals’ unanimous en bane decision re-
jecting the position advanced hy Phillips because a frontal
attack is barred by the force of the law on which the Court.
of Appeals based its determination. Petitioners there-
fore argue that §14(a) of the Securities. Exchange Act,
dealing with the process of soliciting stockholder votes,
should be interpreted to establish a- special burden of
enquiry and of coming forward which the New York court
should have required Kirby to meet; equally, that it should
be read to establish a special senidard ‘defining the avail-
ability of collateral attack on state court judgments for
“fraud.” A new. team of lawyers in this proceeding ‘has
gone over the files of Kirby, Alleghany and especially of
IDS (under the control of the Murchisons while Zenn was
_ pending) and found some 12 documents which stockholders’
counsel in Zenn either missed or decided not to use. Peti-
tioners now- say that §14(a) required .Kirby to have
’ offered these 12 cumulative documents ,in evidence in

‘ -Zenn. They add that the New York court’s failure to

enforce such a burden on Kirby in Zenn was not error,
but something more, converting its judgment into a nullity,
and justifying collateral attack in the name of “fraud.”
Thus petitioners argument would achieve the same result
advocated by Phillips—complete preemption.

18

Since the substance of Phillips’ argument runs through

- the petitioners’ brief, there is no need for an additional

brief.

4 Kirby was made a party to the final judgment

in Zenn, and is entitled to the protection of
that judgment as res judicata.

Phillips cannot be heard to urge that Kirby be estopped —

to claim the benefit of the state judgment. as res judi- -

eata on the jurisdictional issue. Kirby expressly con-
sented to the jurisdiction of the Zenn court for the purpose
of its entry of the judgment approving the settlement,
which is here under collateral attack (R. 2112).

No settlement of litigation would ever be undertaken
if the parties did not believe that a court’s judgment
approving that settlement after a full hearing was pro-
tected by the principle of res jiidicata, and entitled to
full faith and credit. Indeed, one of. the principal pur-

poses of the Zenn court’s decision was “to bring an end to

.* this protracted litigation with its attendant expenses and .
-constant demands upon the time of Alleghany’s officers.”
(Ex. K-138, R. 1719)

5. Phillips’ Motion is untimely and otherwise
objectionable. .

Phillips protests that his motion is timely because made
within anly ‘two weeks of thte time he learned of petition-
ers’ “abandonment” of their question’5 on the jurisdiction.
of the Zenn court. He claims “a double interest in this -
eage,” both as a holder of 100 shares of Alleghany stock
since November. 1954, and as “a representative of the
stockholders’ gr eup” from. whom “the suppressed docu-

-ments described by petitioners’ brief herein were withheld”

(Motion, p. 2; Br. p. 2).

19

Phillips’ claims here are dubious.’ His acquisition of
Alleghany stock in November 1954 (shortly after the Zenn
action was commenced by others, and long after the
1949-50 exchange complained of therein) gives him no
special standing in equity. Phillips was present and par-

ticipated as a defendant throughout the trial below, during |
which ‘petitioners’ counsel repeatedly charged that the’
Zenn court had been defrauded by the concealment ef vari- -

ous documents marked in evidence. At no time did Phillips
indicate or express any opinion that he or-his “group” had
been defrauded by the failure of anyone to adduce evi-
dence, nor did. he so testify below when this charge was
presented. As a “representative” of the stockholders
group who “negotiated the Kirby settlement at issue here”
(Motion, p. 2), Phillips was one of the foremost “pro-
ponents” of the settlement wlien it was finally submitted
to and approved by the New York Supreme Court. His
concern at this late date because of his disagreement with
the approach in petitioners’ brief is hardly ground for an

eleventh hour motion made. two. weeks after the time for

filing a brief amicus had expired (Sup. Ct. Rule 42(2)).*

* The brief also contains several baseless charges of personal wrong-
doing (R. 183-84). Thus, at p. 3 of his brief, Phillips asserts that
Pomerantz, attorney for the: Zenn plaintiffs, was found guilty of
“ ‘unconscionable conduct’ ” ‘by the federal court in 1955. How-
ever, a reading of the opinion cited and quoted by. Phillips fails to
reveal any such finding, and none was in fact made. Breswick & Co.
v. Briggs, 135 F. Supp. 397, 403, 406 (S.D.N.Y. 1955).

. Again, at p. 21, Phillips refers to what Judge Moore “stated with
respect to the transaction ‘whitewashed’ by the Referee.” One may
search Judge Moore’s opinion in vain for the quoted characterization

. supplied by Phillips. Judge Moore did say that “as long as there are

lawyers there will be expressions of honest belief that- better settle-
ments could have been obtained had subsequent counsel been in charge

initially.” (R. 2343).

We do not remark on the comments of like character coricerning

the payment of the Referee’s fee and-attorney Pomerantz’s fee ( Br.

p. 21). ~

* 20

:

Phillips ‘accepted the jurisdiction of the Zenn court in
1959, and is collaterally estopped from attacking it here.

Caterpillar Tractor Co, v. International Harvester Co., 120

F. 2d 82, 84 (3rd Cir. ipl).

Conclusion
we

Recognizing their failure of proof on the case against
Kirby, which was the only one pleaded and tried (R. 174-

75), and their equal failure of proof on their new case —

against Young and Purcell, first asserted before the Court
of Appeals and now presented (without benefit of plead-
‘ings or trial) on the strength of a dissent below, petition-
ers have turned to their argument based on §14(a)
of the Securities Exchange Act, raised in this Court for
the first time, in a final effort to reopen this bitter episode
in the corporate war between Allan P. Kirby and the
- Murchison brothers. |

' Since petitioners’ argument is the functional equivalent
of Phillips’ contention under question 5 of the Questions
Presented in the Petition for Certiorari, there is no need
here for an additional brief on the point.

In the event, however, that this Court should grant
Phillips’ motion, we respectfully request (1) permission to
file a reply brief with the, Court and (2) fifteen (15) min-
utes additional time for oral argument in reply thereto.

Respectfully submitted,

Wa ter R. MANSFIELD,
Attorney for Respondents,
‘Attan P. Kirsy, Cuartes T.

IRELAND, Jr. and Frep M. Kirsy. |

_Evcene V. Rostow,
Joun J. McCann,
(Of Counsel.

;
i
5
4
'
f
t
'
:
: .
*

To be argued by -
THomas F. Day

«Supreme Court
OF THE STATE OF NEW. YORK,

AppaLLaTe Drvision—Fmst DePaRTMENT.

\ .
Sapre Zann, et al.,
' + Plaintiffs-Respondents,

against |
J. J. Anzacone, et al.,
Defendants-Respondents.

Samuet R. Rosen,
Petitioner-A ppellant.

-BRIEFSFOR DEFENDANTS-RESPONDENTS

° YOUNG, ET AL.

This is an appeal from an order of the Supreme
Court, New York County (by Mr. Justice McGiv-

‘ern), denying appellant’s motion to vacate an or-
der of reference previously entered in this action. —

This action arises from the consolidation of ten
stockholders’ derivative suits brought on behalf
of defendant Alleghany Corporation (“Alleghany”
hereinafter). The actual defendants aré present

_and past directors of Alleghany and other per-

sons allegedly associated with them.
The parties agreed to settle the action subject

to court approval. Upon Alleghany’s application’

a

+ (229), the ine below (by Mr. J ustice McGiver n)
| entered its order of August 18, 1955 appointing a
‘Referee to, hear and report on the fairness of
the proposed settlement and directing that all
stockholders of. Alleghany be notified of the hear- _
ing (211). A notice approved by the Court and
_ setting forth the full terms ‘of the: settlement
agreement was sent to the stockholders (223, 244).
The hearings before the Referee commenced on
- ‘September 19, 1955 (127) and have heen regularly
e ontinued. Their transcript comprises more than
2,000 pages to date and close to 400 exhibits have
heen marked i ‘in evidence. - ;

Appellant i is one of a group who have announced
their intention of conducting a proxy fight to oust:
the present management of -Alleghany, including

-. gome. of the present defendants, see Rosen v..

Alleghany, 133 F. Supp. 858 (S. D. N. Y., 1955),
and the instant action is a part of their campaign.

Appellant Rosen, not a party to this action, is
a. stockholder of Alleghany and has, as such, ac-
tively participated in the hearings (127-8). After
two unsuccessful attempts by appellant’s attorneys.
‘to.stay these hearings in the federal court (124-"
6), he moved in the Court below on September
15, 1955 for a stay of the settlement hearings and
for an order directing Alleghany to issue a supple-
mental notice to stockholders advising them of the
" pendericy of a companion action in the federal .
court (21-3). The Court below. (by Mr. Justice
McGivern) denied this. motion on September 28, .
‘1955 (126-7) ; and no —_ has been taken from
this ~~

.. Thereupon, on October 6, 1955, appellant Rosen

moved to vacate the order of reference altogether
(13). Appellant made this motion seven weeks

3

rane

after the order of*reference and long after the

commencement of the settlement hearings. «He |

offers no excuse for this delay. His asserted

grounds are (1) that the Court lacks jurisdiction

of one of the numerous claims involved in this

action; (2) that the proponents of the settlement .

have “unclean hands” because. they did ot inform

Mr. Justice McGivern.of the BS¥aRe'6f b related -

action in the federal court; and (3) that the notice
of hearing sent to the stockholders was inadequate
(26-7; App. Br. 2). From the order of Mr. Justice

McGivern denying this motion .(7), Rosen has —

taken this appeal.
| POINT'I =

The Court below has jurisdiction to deter-
mine the fairness of the proposed settlement

_’ because none of the causes of action herein

_ is subject to exclusive federal: jurisdiction.

¢

- Appellant contends that the Coyrt. below lacks
jurisdiction to.pass upon the proposed settlement -
because, ‘so he claims, the first cause of action of |

the complaint hereivi is based upon the Securities
Exchange Act of 1934 whose § 27 provides ,for

exclusive federal jurisdiction. Concededly, the -

other ‘seven causes of action (alleging an even
greater nufnber of charges’ of wrongdoing) are
within the Court's undisputed jurisdiction.

7 - Appellant’s~ contention is predicated = the

allegation of the complaint that a proxy statement
issued by Alleghany violated the Exchange Act
(313). That allegation, however, must be read in
the context of the factual allegations set forth in
the first cause of action. Appellant carefully re-

frains from summarizing those facts. Upon-con-

a of those facts it will be seen that:
\ : pee | |

* te ree aoe

\

Se ‘.

(a): The first cause of action states facts
constituting ordinary common law fraud and
deceit (and states a cause of action sounding
in conspiracy and another for failure of. the
defendants to conform to the terms -of the

board resolution authorizing the transaction *
attacked) as to which the Court’s a

_ is unquestioned;

(b) The sufficiency of the cause of action

‘ would not be impaired if the allegation of
.° violation. of the Exchange Act were elimi-
nated from the complaint; accordingly

(e) Upon identical facts the federal court
has held not only that it lacks exclusive jur-

_ isdiction of a claim of this character, but that -—

~it has no jurisdiction at all.. Lapchak v.
Sisto, C. C. H: Fed. Securities Law Reporter,
No. 90721 (D. C., S. D. N. Y., opinion of July

wn

20, 1955, by Dimoek,.D. J.). A copy of the Lap-:-

chak opinion is set forth in the ~ecord (148-

162). Judge Dimock held that the plea of:

violation of the Exchange Act was “either
mere surplusage or a mere pretext for asser-
tion of federal jurisdiction” (161).

Although the ‘Lapchak opinion was forcefully |

called'to appellant’s attention in the Court below
- (130), appellant passes it over in silence—appar-
ently in the hope of having the last word. in an
attempt to distinguish that case in his reply brief.

We proceed: to show the complete analogy of
the first cause of action at bar to the claim al-
leged in Lapchak v. Sisto, supra. .

The first cause of action here alleges, in “hort
(290-316): In 1949 Alleghany owned substantial
amounts of the stock of a corporation known as
‘Investors Diversified Services, Inc. (“IDS” here-

5

inafter)- (297-9). In. mber 1949 Alleghany’s
board of directors resolved ta permit Alleghany’s

.. officers to exchange preferred stock of. Alleghany
* held by them for some of the IDS stock owned by
Alleghany: the exchange was to be subject to
stockholder approval (299-300). Two of ‘Alle- -
ghany’s officers, the defendants Young and Kirby, .
accepted’ that offer and tendered a large amount
of Alleghany preferred stock to be exchanged for
IDS stock (300-2). Alleghany thereupon solic-
ited stockholder approval of this exchange by
~ means of a proxy statement which was false and
misleading in that it failed to reveal various facts
indicating that the IDS. stock to be surrendered

by Alleghany had much greater value than the ~

preferred stock which Alleghany was to receive
(302-4, 309-13). On the strength of the proxies
‘procured through this proxy: statement, ‘Alle-
ghany’s management secured stockholder ap-
proval of the exchange (314) which was there-
upon consummated (305-7).

In addition ‘to these factual averménts, the
complaint states as a conelnsion of law that the —
proxy statement violated § 14(a) of the Exchange
Act, 15 U. S. C..§ 78n(a).

Compare these semetions with those in Lap-
chak v. Sisto, supra.. That was a stockholder’s
derivative action brought on behalf of Barium
Steel Corporation. The complaint alleged that
some of Barium’s officers, together with their
associates, owned the stock of a corporation
known as Republic Industries, Inc. , The direc-
tors of Barium resolved to acquire the Republic
stock and to issue new Barium stock in exchange .
therefor. In order to carry out the plan, it was -
necessary to increase Barium’s authorized capital
stock. Barium’s management solicited the stock-

a ; ; ; 6 <

_ holders’ approval of the capital increase ” means —

of a proxy statement which was false and mislead- |
ing in that it failed to set forth various facts in-
dicating that the stock to be issued by Barium had
much greater value than the Republi stock which
Barium was to receive. On the strength of the

proxies procured through this proxy statement,

Barium’s management -obtained the necessary
stockholders’ approval of the capital increase;
and the exchange of Barium stock for —
stock was thereafter carried out.

In addition to these factual allegations, the

‘Barium complaint stated the legal conclusion that

the proxy statement violated 4 14(a) of the Ex-

‘ change Act; and it invoked federal jurisdiction on

the basis of § 27 of the Exchange 7 15 U.S. C.
-_ 78aa.

~ Such being the allegations ye ae —

plaint, Judge Dimock held (153, 159-62) :

*

“T am convinced that this court has no jur-
isdiction over the subject matter of this ac-
ao" ;.

“Even plaintiffs concede that if the proxy
\. statement were followed by a fair exchange
the directors would not be liable to the corpo-
ration. Also, it is clear that, had the proxy
statement been- perfectly lawful but followed
by an unfair exchange, the directors would be
liable for damage sustained and profits real-
-ized in violation of their fiduciary duties.

“The common plan, as plaintiffs allege it, >
was to foist a less valuable block of stock of
Republic upon Barium in exchange for a more
valuable block of stock of Barium. The -in-
creased authorization and related false proxy
statements were merely incidental to the plan.
Since the liability asserted by plaintiffs may -
be proved without regard to the proxy state-

ee | of ia

ments and cannot be proved without regard to
the alleged breach of fiduciary duty it is im-
possible to say that plaintiffs are asserting
a right under or created by a federal law. The
allegations as.to the proxy statements are

either mere surplusage or a mere Foitine for.

assertion of federal jurisdiction.

Citing au-
. thorities.]

“The motions to dismiss are granjed on the

ground of lack of federal jurisdiction.”

The complaint in Lapchak v. Sisto, supra, is in

ail essential respects analogous to the first cause ©

of action at bar. There, as here, the corporation
was to exchange stock owned by it for stock owned
hy. its directors. There, as here, the exchange re-

_ quired stockhalder approval. There, as here,

stockholder approval was secured by a proxy state-
ment alleged to have been false and misleading in

that it failed to-set- forth various facts showing the

disproportion between the value of the stock to

be surrendered and the value of the stock to be.

acquired by the corporation. There, as here, the

~ proxy statement was.alleged to violate § 14(a) of

the Exchange Act. There, as here, the approval

.of the stockholders thus secured was followed by
the actual consummation of the exchange. The
federal court’s holding that it was without_juris—

diction under § 27-of the Exchange Act compels
the conclusion that the first cause of action at bar
is likewise outside the scope of federal jurisdic-

tion—and certainly not subject to the exclusive .

jurisdiction provided by § 27.

We submit that this decision .of the federal -

court concerning its own jurisdiction carries more
than the ordinary weight in this Court. Just as
federal courts yield to the construction of state law
by state courts (Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U. S.

64), so the state courts yield to the delimitations

SS —

8

- of federal jurisdiction announced by federal court

decisions.

In this case, Judge Dimock’s decision in the

. Lapchak.case gains added weight from the recent.

decision of the Court of Appeals: for the Second

- Circuit in Subin v. Goldsmith, 224 F. 2d 753 (C. A.
2, 1955). The complaint there, like the first cause. °
of action at bar, stated a claim based upon a proxy _

statement alleged to have been false and violative
of §14(a) of the Exchange Act.: The majority
of the Court said (224 F. 24, at 774): |

“In imine it 38 at least doubtful that it was
the intention of the Congress to create any
substantive rights by the provisions of Sec-
tions .14(a) and 29(b) of the Security Aet.”

—~ We submit that the Court hee jertndicthen: -
-approve the settlement of the first cause of action -
herein and that § 27 of the Exchange Act in no

wise impairs that jurisdiction.

Appellant’s brief (pp. 12-13) charges that we:
- have elsewhere expressed the belief that the claim

alleged: in the first cause of action could be predi-

cated on the Exchange Act. A careful reading.
~~. will show that our own statements said only that
the complaint alleges a violation of the Securities

Act of 1934. This is patently true. We have
never conceded that there is a cauge of action
which arises from such a violation. The Lapchak
and Subin cases now establish that there is no

such cause of action.

*.

POINT II

Even if (contrary to the Lapchak case, supra)
the Securities Exchange ‘Act aspects of the
first cause of action were cognizable in the
federal court, the state court would still have
jurisdiction to pass upon the common law
fraud claim alleged in the first cause of action.

We shall assume, for argument under this point-
head, that the first cause of ‘action, so far as it
alleges a violation of the Exchange Act, is cogniz-
able in the federal court pursuant to § 27 of that
Act. The first cause of action alleges, however,
facts sufficient to constitute a claim for common. °
law fraud and deceit.” We shall show-that the
Court below is not-prevented by § 27 of the Ex-
change Act from approving a settlement: of that
common law claim. a

1. The dllegation of the complaint that Al-
leghany’s proxy, statement violated the Exchange
Act is a bare conclusion of law. Stripped of that
' legal conclusion, the ‘first cause of action clearly.
alleges facts constituting a claim for common law.
fraud. §28(a) of the ‘Exchange Act, 15 U.S. C.
§78bb(a), expressly preserves plaintiffs’ right to
prosecute that claim in the state court, unham-
pered by the jurisdictional limitations of § 27. So
far as. here pertinent, § 28(a) of the Exchange. ,.
Act provides: rss

“The. rights and remedies provided by this
‘chapter shall be in addition.to any-and all

_ other rights and remedies that may exist at
law or in equity; but io person permitted to
maintain a suit for damages under the provi-
sions of this chapter shall recover, through

'- satisfaction of judgment in one or more ac: .

Riise Neil saiersidtiersiee se

—_—

a=

tions, a fotal amount in excess “of his actual,
_.—@amages on account of the act complained -f.

e® @ @)»)

The impact, of this provision upon. the case at
"bar is plain. To the extent that ( contrary to the
_Lapchak ease, supra). the claim) may be said to

rest upon a violation of the Exchange Act,’it is .-

subject to the exclusive federal jurisdiction. But
to the extent that the same facts spell out a claim |
for common law fraud, plaintiffs are free to assert
it in the state court, and the state court has un-
questionable jurisdiction to approve the settlement ;
of that claim.

nik different conclasion would lead te intoler-
Able results. For illustration we refer to $ 10(b)
“of the Exchange Act, 15 U. S. C. § 78)(b), which:
forbids fraud in the-sale of securities. It is well
settled that a defrauded purchaser of securities
‘may sue the seller for damages under this provi- -
sion; Apemaagh v. Raytheon.Mfg. Co., 188 F. 2d
783, 787 (C. A. 2, 1951); Fratt v. Robinson, 203 F.
2d 627 (C. A:.9,-1953). If the defrauded pur-

chaser asserts his claim under the Exchange Act_

he must, of course, ‘proceed in the federal -court.

> But that possibility does not preclude him from

<

‘asserting a claim for common law fraud; and if
he asserts that claim in the state court, $ 28 of the

. Act clearly preserves: for him that state court
remedy. As was held:-in Abraham v. Selig, N. Y.

L. J. 1939, p. 2709, col..3 (Sup. Ct., N. Y..Co., not

- otherwise reported ; opinion quoted in. full) :

“The complaint contains 61 causes of action
on behalf of 33 plaintiffs. Thirty-eight of the
causes, which are substantially identical, are
alleged against the defendants comprising the ~
firm of Homes & Davis, who move to strike.
certain allegations from each of the 38 causes,
or, in | the alternative, to require an amended

ee
complaint separately stating and nunibering
the two distinct causes stated in each of the 38
causes. It is contended. that each cause al-
.. leges a common-law action in fraud and de- -
‘” ceit and a statutory action under the provi-
sions of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,
and that the allegations relating to that act
- should be stricken. The act, however, spe-
cifically provides that all. remedies created by
it and enforceable in the federal. jurisdiction
_- only, shall be in addition to all other existing
- rights and'remedies. Thus plaintiffs are not
precluded from praceeding upon the common-
law cause for fraud and deceit. They ‘may
also rely upon incidental violations of the act
as constituting part of the alleged wrong. The
motion is therefore denied. Order signed.”

The decision demonstrates these propositions —
relevant to the case at bar: |

(a) The same facts may give rise to a
‘Statutory claim under the Exchange Act and
to a common-law claim for fraud. |

(b) Although the statutory claim is subject
to exclusive federal jurisdiction, the concomi-
tant common law claim is cognizable in the
state court. |

(e) The state court does not lose jurisdic-
tion of the common law claim even though the .
complaint contains an jncidentai allegation
that the Exchange Act-was violated.

The first cause of action at bar states facts con-
stituting a common law claim for fraud and is .
therefore cognizable in the state court. Even if
the same facts should be,held-to give rise to a
statutory claim which would be subject to. ex--

clusive federal jurisdiction, § 28 of the Act-would —

nevertheless preserve the state court’s jurisdic-

. i .
tion over the common law claim. The allegation
that the proxy statement violated the Exchange

Act is at most conclusory and incidental and_.does |

not destroy the jurisdiction of the state court.

The same. conclusion was reached in two Dela-
ware cases, both entitled Kaufman v. Shoenberg,

one decided by the Court of Chancery and the ~~

other by the federal District Court. In both cases
a stockholder attacked the same stock option plan

upon the ground, among others, that the. stock- -

holders” approval of-the plan had been secured by
a false proxy statement. In the state court action

the plaintiff based his claim upon the common |

law, in the federal court upon the alleged viola-

‘tion of the Exchange Act. The state court action. .

was the first to go to trial; the Chancellor enter-
-. tained jurisdiction and dismissed the claim on the
merits because the proxy statement was not false.
Kaufman v. Shoenberg, 91 A: 2d 786,’790-1 (Del.
Ch., 1952). The defendants then moved for:sum-
“mary judgment in the federal court on the ground

of res judicata. The court’s attention was called _

to an earlier Delaware decision (Investment ‘Asso-
ciates v. Standard Power & Light Corp., 29 Del.

Ch.’ 225; 48: A. 24-501, aff’d 20 Del? Ch. 593, 51 A.
2d 572) .which’ had held that the state court —

could not pass upon violations of ‘the Exchange

Act. But since the state court’s decision in Kauf-

_ man -was based only upon the common law, the
federal court recognized it as. valid and binding.
It also sustained the defense of res judicata on
the ground that the federal claim under the Ex-
- change Act was coterminous with .the common
law claim for fraud and that “the gist of the two
actions [was] the same.’

A copy. of the unreported opinion of the federal “ee

court in Kaufman v. Shoenberg (D.. -C.. Del., Civil

on

ie

” Action 1413; February 15, “1954. ‘by - Bodney,
D. J.), will a submitted at, the asin of this

appeal. -

We submit that the Court labess has Jurisdic-
‘tion of the common law claim for. fraud alleged
in the first cause of action. It has power,'there- .

- fore, to pass upon the fajrness of the settlement.

' of all causes of action herein, including the first.
And if, as we are confident they will, the Referee
and: Mr. Justice McGivern find on the full record |
that the proxy statement was not false or mis-
leading, that finding arid/or the Court’s judgment

| will conclude . the federal question, if any.

2. None of the ‘authorities cited i in appellant’ 8
brief (pp.:10-11) militates. against our position.

_ American Distilling Co. v. Brown, 295 N. 7. 36
(1945), was an action to recover so-called short-
_ swing profits of corporate insiders. under 4§ 16(b)
of the Exchange Act, 15 U.S. C. §$ 78p(b). Claims
- ofthis character have their sole basis in the Ex-
_ change Act; they are created by statute and have
no ‘couriterpart in the common law. The Court of
Appeals was therefore clearly right in dismissing
the action as being subject to the exclusive juris-
- dietion of the federal courts. The question here
. presented—whether, the state court may retain
_ jurisdiction of a concomitant common law claim
_ . for fraud—could. not arise in the American Dis- *
tilling case for the simple reason that, upon the
facts there alleged, no bse eommon | law claim
existed. ;
Equally inapposite is einai 4 &é Light
‘Co. v. Investment Associates, 20 Del. Ch. 593, $1."
- A. 2d:°572 (1947). The plaintiffs there attacked -

an election of, corporate directors on the ground
that their opponents had solicited stockholders’,

|

14

proxies without furnishing a written proxy state
ment as required by SEC Rule X-14A-1. Again
the requirement to furnish a written proxy state-
ment rested exclusively upon the Exchange Act
and the regulations issued thereunder; it had no
counterpart at common law. The Delaware court
was therefore clearly right in refusing to pass
upon the alleged violation of the Exchange Act. .
‘The court indicated however that it would have
been willing to pass upon the merits of the plain-
tiff’s contention if it had been based at state
law (51 A.°2d, at 579):

“The solicitation, the proxy, and the voting
of the same have not been challenged under
the provisions of the General —,
Law of this State.”

_ Since the first cause of action at bar states fact:
‘constituting a common law claim under the laws
of this State, the Standard Power & Taght case
is clearly beside the point, as appears from Kau f-
man v. Shoenberg, supra. —

- - Eliasberg v. Standard Oil Co., 23 N. J. ‘So.
431, 92 A. 2d 862, 868-9 (1952), aff'd 12 N. J. 467,
97 A. 2d 437 (1953), is authority for our position
rather than appellant’s. - A stockholder there at-
tacked a stock option plan on the ground that the
approval of the plan by stockholders had been .
procured by a misleading proxy statement. The
court held that it could not pass upon the alleged
violation of the Exchange Act since that was a
matter of exclusive federal jurisdiction. But since
the claim was-also maintainable at common law,
the. court proceeded to consider it on the merits
- and dismissed it, not for lack of jurisdiction, but”
for lack of factual foundation. By the same token,
the Court below may.pass upon the common law
fraud claim alleged herein even though the viola-

15 |

on of the Exchange Act _— be dena’ to be
beyend. its jurisdiction.

Appellant’s last authority is /n re R. Hoe & Co.,
137 N. Y. S. 2d 142 (Sup. Ct., Bx. Co., 1954). That
case involved a petition to set aside the election of
corporate directors upon the principal ground
that false proxy. material had been used. The
_ court, far from rejecting jurisdiction, determined
the claim on its merits. The only issue upon |
which the court refused to pass was the peti-
tioner’s contention that three items used in the
. solicitation of proxies had not been cleared with
the SEC, as required by SEC Rule. X-14A-6(d).
Since that requirement was of purely statutory
_ origin, without any counterpart in the common
law, we have no quarrel with the decision. ‘For
the reasons we have repeatedly stated it has
meueny no application to the case at bar.

. 3. We submit that for all the reeons stated in .
this and the preceding point of this brief, appel-

' lant’s attack upon the jugjsdiction of the Court

below is unfounded. We «dd, however, the final

observation that appellant’s attack on the ond .

ings below is in any event premature.

Alleghany has applied to the Court below for
- an inquiry into and the approval of the proposed’
settlement. The Court below has, so far, neither
granted nor denied the application. What it did
_ do was to appoint a Referee in order to assemble
and report on all relevant facts and considerations
bearing upon the requested approval of the settle-
ment. Among the matters thus to be considered
. by the Referee and by the Court below are the
extent to which the Court has power to approve
the settlement. If the Referee or the Court below
should conclude that any part of the proposed

16

settlement cannot be passed upon’ by the’. state
court, they will doubtless so advise the parties and
notify them either to. limit their settlement. or to
eliminate from the complaint the reference therein
to the Exchange Act. If such a suggestion should
be made and if it should be adopted by the parties,

the issue presented by appellant would become |

moot. We submit, therefore, that appellant’s

present jurisdictional attack is premature and.

that this Court should defer consideration thereof
until such time as a judgment of the Court:below
approving the proposed settlement may be pre-
sented to this Court for review.

POINT iil

Appellant’s charge of “unclean hands’ is
unfounded and should, in ‘any event, be ad-
dressed to the Referee (before whom appel-
lant is making the very charges he is now

pressing upon .this Court).

After. the parties had entered into the stipula-
tion of settlement it became the duty of the at-
torney for Alleghany to submit it to the Court
‘below for its approval or disapproval. He did
precisely that: By motion of July 27, 1955. (229)
he moved “for judicial inquiry into and determina-
tion on the merits of the fairness, reasonableness
and adequacy of said stipulation of settlement and
the settlement of the action provided for therein,
and for the approval thereof.” His moving affi-
davit (235) set forth the complete terms of the

stipulation of settlement; it summarized the na-—

ture of the action and the pleadings; it referred
to the extensive discovery proceedings and depo-

sitions had in this and a companion action in the.

= Nea oe > . .
nate a eternal ae hy nj Wana we ns CRY ei ciettinvs MiG Ret eta bss og

A7

federal court; and it stated that extended negotia-

tions had preceded the settlement agreement. The

Court below thereupon entered its order of refer.

ence (211). |

We submit that Alleghany’s procedure was al-
together proper’ and in accordance with familiar
practice long established in the settlement of
stockholders’ derivative actions.

The gist of appellant’s attack on this procedure

‘is his claim that “the proponents of the settle-

ment concealed from the Court below material
facts with regard to actions pending in the Fed-

_ eral Court on behalf of Alleghany” (App. Br., p:

2). Itis thus necessary to give a brief descrip-
tion of the proceedings in the Supreme. Court and.
in the: federal court.

The varidus* stockholders’ suits consolidated
herein were, for the most part, commenced in or
about April 1954 and were consolidated in June
1954. Simultaneously a number of similar actions
were commenced in the federal District Court for
Southern New York and were there likewise con-
solidated under the caption Zennm et al. v. Anza-
lone et al. (Civil No. 92-205). In both actions the
firm of Pomerantz, Levy & Haudek was desig-
nated as general counsel for the plaintiffs. This

firm conducted extensive depositions and discovery .

proceedings (240). It was this firm which nego-
tiated the set*lement with defendants. ,

In February 1955 two other stockholders -of
Alleghany commenced a derivative action in the
same federal court entitled Breswick & Co. et al.
v. Briggs et al. (Civil No. 98-371). This was some
ten months after the commencement of the Zenn
case-and eight months after the orders of consoli-

dation were entered both in the federal and state

wha Seat Ly SLES aa
. .

18 .

courts. The plaintiffs in the Breswick action -

were represented by Rosston,. Hort & Brussel,
Esqs., which firm also acts as co-attorneys for ap-
pellant Rosen in the hearings before the Referee
‘herein (123-4). The amended:complaint in the

Breswick action alleges some, but not all; of the »

claims which are being asserted herein (24).
On June 6, 1955 Breswick & Co. and ‘one Ran-

dolph Phillips commenced another action in the

federal court—not a derivative suit—in which
Alleghany and the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion were named as defendants. That action was
brought to set aside certain orders of the Inter-
state Commerce:-Commission which, among other

things, continued Alleghany under I.C.C..regula-
tion. and authorized — Alleghany to issue a new ©

class of preferred stock in exchange for its out-
standing Series A Preferred stéck.. A temporary
injunction was issued in that case by a statutory

three-judge court on July 21, 1955, the, court say-
ing that Alleghany had become an investment
company subject to S.E.C. rather than I.C.C.
jurisdiction ; Breswick & Co. v. United States, 134
F. Supp. 132. (The report omits the. dissenting
opinion of Judge Hincks. )

These were the proeeedings pending at the time.

Alleghany applied for the settlement ; re on
July_27, 1955.

_ We turn.to a consideration of the inequities and
“frauds which were allegedly perpetrated by the
proponents of the settlement and which are said
to contaminate the proposed settlement to. such
an extent that this Court should bar the Trial
Court from receiving any evidence on. the fairness
of. the settlement. :

LLL LLL a eT

19

1. The three-judge court action.

Appellant argues that our settlement, if ap-
proved by the Court, would barter away the
claimed Breswick victory before the three-judge
court. He wholly omits to inform this Court that
the settlement herein, in express terms, excludes
from its scope all the issues litigated before the
three-judge court. Thus the stipulation of settle-
ment. which was. before Mr. Justice McGivern
when he ordered the reference defines with meticu-
lous precision the issues which were not to be in-
cluded. in the settleément—and they are precisely ~

the issues before the three-judge court ( 258-260): .
_ &* * © this stipulation, and all peeeeetines,
notices and acts connected therewith shall
- without prejudice to:

(a) Any judicial or administrative decision, .

ruling or determination concerning Alle-

ghany’s obligation, if any, to register under
and otherwise conform to the Investment

Company Act of 1940; United States: Code, -
Title 15, Sees. 80a-1, et seq. ; “fs
(b) The Claim alleged in the complaint for

an injunction against the proposed exchange

by Alleghany of its 514% Series A $100 Par.

Value Cumulative Preferred Stock’ against

its new 6% $10 Par Vaiue.Convertible Pre-

ferred Stock.” at

The stipulation of settlement, with these quali-
fications, was part of the notice sent to the stock-
holders.

What, then, is left of appellant’s contention?
He argues, or at least asserts, that the impact of
the interlocutory decision of the three-judge
‘court materially enhanced the value of the deriva-
tive claims assertéd in this Court; and that the
failure to disclose that decision to Mr. Justice

McGivern,.in applying for the order of reference, _
constituted ‘the withholding of a material -fact..

Appellant’s - exgraniat is shot oe with fal-

lacies. “eae | pa aa |
(a) Let us assume,” arguendo (but see infra),
_appellant’s premise that the three-judge decision
did enhance the value of the claims being settled.
Even so, that decision was but one among a great
number of factors which might either strengthen

--‘or weaken the claims herein. It has never been

the practice—and it would be a senseless pro-
cedure—in an: application for a settlement hear-
ing to inform the Court, in advance of the hearing |
requested, of all the material facts which may tend
to’ support or to negate the liability of. the de-
_ fendants. The very purpose of the hearing re-
quested is to afford a forum to ascertain the ma-
terial facts. If, as appellant, contends, the inter-
locutory three-judge‘decision has a material bear-
ing on the merits of this case, then the time so to .
argue is at the hearing—not in connection with
the application for the hearing. .

The rule contended for by appellant—that facts
bearing on the’ pros-and cons of the proffered

settlement must be made known to the Court in .

connection with an application for a settlement
hearing—misconstrues the nature of the. appli-
cation. The application for a hearing or refer-
ence is not designed to persuade the Court that
the settlement is fair and adequate. It-merely
asks the Court to set in,motion the ‘machinery by
. which the adequacy or {inadequacy of the settle-
ment may be.determined. -Both common’ sense
and uniform procedure. rebel at the suggestion
(implicit in appellant’s charge) that a motion to
_ hear the evidence of: the material facts must set .
forth those facts themselves. |

Ee WN EE Cr ar wee

a AG AAI

aw a SE A IN Ee BTN ON LIS Be « SOAR nL os AAO

91

In fact, the decision of the ‘three-judge court

was placed in evidence before the Referee at the

very opening of the hearings. Counsel for ap-
pellant has been strenuously arguing to the Ref-

eree that that decision furnishes strong support .

for the claims sought to be settled. ‘The Referee,
the Court below and, upon review, this Court will
thus have every o ortunity to-Bive that decision
such weight ‘as it may be entitled to in conjunction

with all other facts bearing upon the merits or: .

demerits of this litigation and the adequacy of the

‘proposed settlement. But it is fatuous to claim

that the three-judge decision had any, material
bearing upon the granting, of. the reference as
such. . a

(b) We. have thus far assumed that the three-
judge decision—as appellant asserts—materially
enhanced. the value of the claims to be settled.
The opposite, however, is true.

The very intricate question of the impact, if

ne any, of the three-judge decision on the claims now

heing settled is not and was not before the three-
judge court. In its final opinion of November 18.
195%, that court states in passing :
“There is not before us the question
whether Alleghany may be _liable to Pre-

ferred stockholders for any loss that they
may suffer.” 2

This comment plainly suggests that Alleghany is

more likely to incur liabilities than to acquire -

rights against others if it~was subject to the

‘Provisions of the Investment Company Act re-
‘garding unregistered investment companies.

Appellant’s. argument runs into -another diffi. -

eulty. The interlocutory three-judge decision on
which he relies has now been superseded by the

te .

22

final decision, of November 18, 1955. That. deci-
sion renders it, to say the least, extremely doubt-
ful whether Alleghany was subject to the Invest-
ment..Company Act at the time of any of the
transactions (other than the exchange offer) al-
leged in the complaint. :

Moreover, the various retreats and indications |
of uncertainty in the RSSEMIpinion of the three-
judge court (which includes Judge Walsh)-.lend
support to our belief that, when all the facts are —
known, the. defendants will be found. to have a
complete defense to all liability under the Invest-
ment Company Act by virtue of the good faith
provision of Section 38(c) of that Act.

These considerations cannot, of course, be fully
expounded within the confines of this brief. They.
concern the merits of the settlement which are not -
in‘issue upon this appeal. They confirm, however,
our position that the three-judge court procee@
ings had no bearing whatever upon the granting
of the reference as such-and that, in any case, the
_,issue is now sub. judice before the Referee at
Special Term.

‘2. The Breswick derivative: action in the Pedaeel |
Court.

Again appellant a that the order of ref-
erence is vitiated because, in applying for it, Al-
leghany failed to disclose to Mr. Justice McGivern .
that “thé Breswick action was being actively pros-
ecuted in the United States District Court for
the Southern District of New York, and that a
motion for summary judgment for plaintiffs had
been made and was pending therein” (App. Br.
16).

The argument is nothing short of captious.

- ° . . iat . , . — —— _ ne
face : ‘ abetaned os 5 i 2 ers ni lias a TN Se deca a needa AEES FA RA cans | 5
Fae aR abl em RRR: “samen ieee” js a Pibatin cath pretsea hata abet loses ahah ‘enna. veidenmctte sine taahigud putative TAS oe

———

|.

: 3 .

23

To begin with, the “active” prosecution of the

Breswick derivative action consisted of a motion’
Wfor-a temporary injunction which was denied -

(Breswick v. Briggs, 130 F. Supp. 953), and a mo-
tion ‘for summary judgment which was likewise

" denied (87). On the other hand, it was general
counsel for the plaintiffs herein who conducted

depositions and discoveries and amassed the docu-

mentation which is currently being ‘placed before

the Referee in staggering volume.

Secondly, the Breswick derivative action. was

‘commenced .ten months after the action at bar.

It alleges some, but not all of the causes of action
set forth in the present suit. So did other stock-
holders’ actions, also not consolidated with the

‘Zenn action, which like Breswick asserted over-

lapping claims. Since the Court below was ap-

prised of the issues in the suit at bar, no useful

purpose would ‘have been served by enumerating

the various duplicatory actions pending in another |

forum. | : “t Bier
Thirdly, the very order of reference required

that notice of the settlement hearings be sent to

all stockholders. .The Breswick‘ plaintiffs were
thus notified of the hearings and given an oppor-
tunity to present all their evidence and arguments.

Of this opportunity, counsel for Breswick have —

availed themselves to the hilt:

‘Appellant’s contention that the pendency of the

Breswick action and its vigorous prosecution

were “material” facts which were withheld from
Mr. Justice McGivern when a settlement refer-

ence was requested necessarily implies that, had °

Mr. Justice: McGivern been informed of these
facts, he might have refused to. order an inquiry
into the fairness of the settlement. A mere state-

24 ae

ment of the proposition would : seenr sufficient to
refute it. . an

| 3. The charge that the settlement. was reached with 7
undue haste. |

‘ — next argues that ‘the settlement was
‘announced only four days after the decision of
- the three-judge court. The implication seems to

be that the settlement was reached hastily in an .

attempt to escape the effects of that decision.

This argument of appellant seeks to impugn the
fairness and good faith of the settlement.. But
that very question is now pending before the Ref-
eree where counsel for.the appellant has cross- |
examined at great length on that issue. One of
the factors bearing upon the fairness of the set-
tlement may be the manner in which it .was ©
reached. If it should develop at the hearings that
the proposed settlement was reached with undue
haste and in an inequitable manner, the Referee
and the Court. below will take that fact, if it be —
one, into account. But appellant would have this
Court condemn the settlement in total disregard
of the evidence, which is being assembled before
the Referee on this very issue. Such procedure

would put. the cart before the horse. Our courts a

render their judgments after trial, not before.

The record here shows that the settlement was
not reached hastily but‘ after “extended negotia-
-tions” (240). We expect to show before the Ref-
eree that discussions cominenced in the summer —
of 1954 and proceeded on and off, until an oral |
agreement for settlement was reached on April -
18, 1955—long before the three-judge court .pro-
ceedings were even commenced. If the Referee
and the Court below accept our. evidence, it will

——— ee —

25
refute appellant’s biceps that the settlement. was
reached ae undue haste and in an inequitable
manner. , oe, :
4. The claimed inadequacy of the settlement.
Appellant’s final contention is that the amount
of the settlement is inadequate and that-the de-
‘fense of good faith interposed by defendants is
unfounded. It is, however, too plain for argument ©
that the sufficiency of the settlement and the merits
of the defenses are the very subjects to be deter-
mined, in the*first place, by the Referee, then -by
the Court below and, finally, upon appeal, by this
- Court. "Those matters are to be determined upon
evidence, not on the mere say-so of appellant.

We submit that | appellant’s charge that the pro-
ponents of the settlement came into ‘the Court be- *
low with “unclean hands” is utterly ifounded and
should be rejected. ‘Far from suppressing: any
- material facts, the proponents instituted the pro- |
cedure best designed to place all the material facts

before the Court. Appellant’s motion, if granted, ~
would have suppressed the truth. The Court be-'
--low was-clearly right in denying the motion.

_ POINT. IV
_ The netics to ‘stockholders was area ;

" ‘Kppellant’s brief attacks the adequacy of the
notice ‘sent to the stockholders mainly because the.
_ notice summarized the nature of plaintiffs’ charges
- instead of setting forth a detailed: summary cf
the various allegations of wrongdoing aileged in
the complaint. No such objection to the notice

\ was ever presented to the Court below (50-52).
It should therefore vas | out of hand.

In any event, appellant omits to inform the
_ Court that the notice expressly invited the stock-
holders to inspect the pleadings which were open
for inspection at.the office of general counsel for
the plaintiffs and of the attorney for Alleghany
(227-8). Any stockholder wishing to acquaint
himself with the detailed nature of the contro-
versy was this placed in a position to do so; and’
a great many availed themselves of that oppor-
tunity. The effectiveness of the notice is con-
firmed by the fact that, at the opening of the set-
tlement hearings, the large Byrne Room of the
Association of the Bar of the City of New York
was filled to capacity by —_— shareholders
and their counsel.

Any attempt to summarize the complaint in the
notice to stockholders in greater detail than was
_ done would have obscured rather than illuminated.

The copy of the complaint set forth in this record .

covers 65 printed pages (289-482). More impor- |
tant, however, than its length is the extreme com-
plexity of the transactions set forth therein. Any

effort at a more détailed summary would but have . |

invited criticism of the paraphrase.

_If the purpose of a notice of settlement is to
ferret.out all the potential opposition that resides
in the ranks of the shareholders, may we submit
as a practical matter that this notice has been ex-
. traordinarily effective. The hearings that are pres-
ently going on and have been going on over the
past two months have elicited the most militant

opposition that we have ever seen in a hearing of __

this character. Counsel for appellant, who cor- .
rectly characterizes himself as leader of the oppo-
sitior, has been granted and has availed himself —
of .a virtually complete discovery and inspection
of Alleghany’s files. The major portion of the

27

_ transcript of hearings now comprising more than
2,000 pages consists of the cross-examination con.
ducted by counsel for appellant and other objec-
tants and of their offers of documentary and other
evidence. Under these circumstances it is rather
ironic for appellant to complain that the notice to
stockholders might have been inadequate to af-
ford complete protection to the stockholders.

Appellant next complains that the notice to
. Stockholders did not mention the Breswick deriva.
tive suit and the three-judge court proceedings.
The charge has been answered in a previous por-
tion of this brief. The notice to’stockholders did
not purport to set forth any of the grounds which
might tend to support or to defeat the liability
of the defendants. There was-no more reason to
inform thé shareholders of those two litigations
than to inform them of the fact that in the course
of the deposition of defendants taken by general
counsel certain important admissions or denials °
were made by one or another witness. In-accord-

ance with usual procedure, Alleghany informed - ;

the shareholders of the broad issues sought to be
_ settled, of.the precis ms and conditions of the
settlement agreeent ant right and privi-

* lege to ask for and secure the voluminous plead-

ings herein and whatever other supporting detail
they might wish.

To accept the proposed innovation of this appel-
lant by requiring the notice to shareholders to
set forth the pros and cons which tend to augment
or diminish recovery, would invite prolixity and
confusion in’a notice which should be simple and
clear. Moreover, no lawyer preparing sych a
notice, however careful, would be exempt from a_
~harge that one or another of the many attorneys
in the twenty or more companion litigations had

— 28

indeed done something of great importance which
should be communicated to the shareholders.

Down the road proposed by this appellantlies
nothing but mischief. We submit that Alleghany’s

notice to the shareholders was fair and honest and
in acvordance with well cotntianed procedure in
this type of case. a ,

a - |
j

“CONCLUSION |
It is respectfully submitted that the order

appealed from should be affirmed.
| Dated, November 25, 1955. |

Respectfully submitted,

: a
Lorp Day & Lorp,

Attorneys for Defendants-Respondents
Young, et al.

- Tuomas F. Daty,
Sau L. SHERMAN,

Of Counsel.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0764%3A15. Public record. Not legal advice.
