# Motion to Dismiss or Affirm — Vokes v. City of Chicago

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0472%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Motion to Dismiss or Affirm
- **Published:** January 1, 1964
- **Citation:** 377 U.S. 124

## Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

MAR 9 1964

JOHN F. DAVIS, CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocrorer Term, 1962.

No. 855

ROBERT G. VOKES, er a.
Appellants,
vs.
CITY OF CHICAGO, a Mesicrpat Convonation,

Appellee.

———E—EEEE

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS.

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM.

Joun (C. MELANIPHY,
Corporation Counsel of the City of Chicago,
911 City Hall, Chieago 2, Illinois,

Attorney for Appellee.
Sypney R. Dresiy,

Ropert J. CoLiins,

Assistant Corporation Counsel.

Of Counsel.

INDEX.

PAGE
Motion to Dismiss or Affirm ...................... 1
EIS EI, ig A ell an eo Le | 2-8
SUI res caries oh ed gig poe can a g'ee bic on ak 8

AUTHORITIES CITED, »

Federal cases :
City of New Brunswick v. Zimmerman, 79 F. 2d

OR ee Re Se ea ee 6
Evanston Cab Co. vy. City of Chicago, 325. F. 2d
ee: SOI SUED oo eo aw ec Shen cc ven. 7

State cases:
City of Chicago v. Vokes, 28 Ul. 2d 475, 193 N. EB.

ON ooo oo ens hens sac chincsciwcsees. 3,5
City of Elgin v. Winchester, 300 IL. 214, 183 N. E.

- (| Teter eee ere eee FY |
Ex Parte Trish, 121 Kan. 72, 250 Pac. 1056, 61

ee Mes Me POR GMD once ce civnccsercccese 6
Hinebaagh v. James. 119 W. Va. 162, 192 8. E. 177

we tS een 6
Jewel Tea Co. v. Town of Bel Air, W2 Md. 536.

192 Atl. 417 (1937) . fr re eee i)
Larson v. City of Rock id 371 Til. 441, 21 N. E.

| a SE Ree an Aer 4,5
Mayor and City Council of Havre de Grace vy.

Johnson, 123 Atl. 65 (Md. 1923) .............. 6
People v. Bowen, 11 Mise. 2d 462, 175 N.Y. 8, 2d

125 (Court of Special Sessions of City of New

York, Appellate Part, Ist Dept.. 1958). 0... 5

People ex rel. Hater ©. Fiynn, 13 Ll. 2d 368, 150
N. E. 2d 183 (1957) ...;. ¥ oF pee

“
ii
Whipple vy. City of South Milwaukee, 218Wis. 395,
- Be Pe et errr Torre 5, 6
Yellow Cab Co. v. City of Chicago, 296 TL 38s,
307, 71 N. HB. 38 G5S (1967) .............0.. 7
Yellow Cab Co, v. City of Chicago, 23 I. 2d 453,
456, 178 N. E. 2d 330 (1961) .................. 7,8

Statutes:
Illinois Revised Statutes, chap. 24, pars. 11-42-6,

RPO, RAD HOOD oc ce sccesevnercuces 2
Municipal Code of Chicago, chapters 28, 28.1,
195A, 195A-1 (1939, as amended) .......... > s %
Miscellaneous :
Se CE cb oh ona eee nceee eens uraGn os 6
Fe EE hank caakauny os clean hewn ore 6

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1963.

No. 855.

ROBERT G. VOKES, er at..
Appellants,

vs.

CITY OF CHICAGO, «a MusictraL Corporation,
Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS.

MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM.

Appellee, pursuant to Rule 16(1)(b)(c) of the Revised
Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, moves
that the appeal be dismissed on the ground that it does
not present a substantial federal question and further be-
cause the judgment rests on an adequate non-federal basis ;
alternatively, appellee moves that the final judgment of
-the Supreme Court of Illinois be affirmed on the ground
that the question is so unsubstantial as not to warrant

rr?

further argument.

to

ARGUMENT.

In Illinois municipalities may license and regulate taxi-
cabs (Til. Rev. Siat. 1963, chap. 24, par. 11-42-6) and may
regulate the use of streets (Tll. Rev. Stat. 1963, chap. 24,
par. 11-80-2) and traffic thereon (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1963, chap.
24, par. 11-80-20).

Each city and village has adopted its own local ordi-
nance licensing and regulating the operation of taxicabs
within their own municipalities. Appellants are employees
of the Evanston and Skokie Cab Companies engaged in
the business of transporting passengers for profit over the
public streets. The Chicago ordinance prohibits appellants
from operating their taxicabs over Chicago streets without
a license (Municipal Code of Chicago, Section 28-2). How-
ever, appellants may enter Chicago with a passenger and
discharge such passenger in Chicago, after which appel-
lants may not solicit or aeeept passengers within Chicago
‘Municipal Code of Chicago, Section 28-3).

Appellants contend that their constitutional rights have
been violated hecause they were arrested in Chicago where
they were engaged in operating their taxicabs for profit
conveying fassengers from a point within Chicago to a
destination within Chicago. They were operating solely
within Chicago and had not entered the City for the pur-
pose of discharging passengers accepted for transporta-
tion outside the City.

Appellants are not chailenging those provisions of the
Chicago ordinance whith led to their arrest, i.¢., that they
were operating unlicensed taxicabs over the streets of
Chicago for profit. Rather, they are attacking an entirely
separate provision of the ordinance, riz.: the portion of

3

the ordinance relating to corporate applicants for a Chi-

cago license which provides, in part (Municipal Code of
Chicago, Section 28-5.1) :

‘*All corporate applicants * * * shall be organized

or qualified to do business under the laws of Illinois

and have their principal places of business in the city
of Chicago * * *.’’

Appellants argue that this requirement is discriminatory
against, Illinois corporatiofs which do not have a Chicago
address and that, therefore, appellants should not have
been found guilty of violating ordinance provisions which
prohibit them from operating unlicensed vehicles over
Chicago streets. Appellants contend that to require cor-
porate applicants to have their principal places of business
in the municipality which licenses them is a violation of
constitutional guarantees of due process and equal pro-
tection of the laws.

The court below answered appellants’ contentions and
reviewed the authorities, both pre and con, and concluded
that the ordinance provisions in question were a reasonable
exercise of the police power. (City of Chicago v. Vokes,
28 Til. 2d 475, 198 N. KE. 2d 40.) It would be repetitious
for us to employ the same arguments here and in the
interest of brevity we adopt the opinion of the court below
as our argument. -

With one exception (and the exception sustains our posi-
tion, not appellants’), none of the authorities relied upon
by appellants are relevant to the issme before the Court.
The courts have uniformly rejected as unconstitutional any
arbitrary discrimination against non-residents. On_ the
other hand, the courts have sustained legislation required
under the police power for the protection of local citizens.
The latter is the situation in the case at bar.

In City of Elain v. Winchester, 300 Il. 214, 133 N. E. 205

4

(1921), an ordinance was held to be unconstitutional as
unreasonable and arbitrary. In that case, Elgin adopted
an ordinance prohibiting the distribution of advertise-
ments in the city without first obtaining a license so to
do. A bond of $3800 was required of each applicant and
a fee of $2 per day for each person employed was charged.
However, residents of Elgin were not required to obtain
a license if the mayor issued them a permit. A traveling
salesman from New York distributed pamphlets advertis-
‘ing Jell-O products and solicited orders for such products.
The Illinois court held this to be an arbitrary diserimina-
tion without any redeeming features. Indeed, none were
advanced.

‘Larson vy. City of Rockford, 371 IN. 441, 21 N. E. 2d 396
(1939), involved an ordinance licensing automatic vending
machines for the sale of candy, peanuts, soft drinks, pop-
corn and gun. The ordinance provided forthe. issuance
of licenses upon evidence (p. 4438): es

“«* * * that the applicant,.if an individual, or the per-
son in charge of the business, if it is a firm or corpo-—
ration, is a responsible person of good character and
reputation having a residence or business address in
the city of Rockford.”’

Suit was brought by an individual and also by a corpora-
tion. In sustaining the ordinance the Illinois court distin-
guished the arbitrary discriminatory aspects condemned
in the City of Elain ease and said (pp. 445, 446) :

‘*The ordinance. was adopted by the city council * * *
for the protection of the public * * *. Where the
council reasonably exercises its legislative power over
subjects properly within its legitimate fieid, the re-
eyirement will be upheld. * * * {T]he city council
might reasonably have believed that public safety and
health would be promoted by requiring operators * * *
to maintain a place where inspectors * * * might com-
municate with them * * * and where customers might

register complaints and receive adjustments. * * *
Under such circumstances, we believe the council was
warranted in requiring every operator to establish
a * * * business address in the city for the protection
of customers and to facilitate enforcement of the
ordinance.’’

Thus, the test is whether the legislation under attack
is a reasonable exercise of legislative judgment for the
protection of the public or whether it is an arbitrary ex-
pression of legislative power enacted solely to diserimi-
nate in favor of residents. The court below reviewed in
patient detail the many cogent reasons why the ‘* place
of business*’ requirement was reasonable (28 TIl. 2d 475,
pp. 478-482) and concluded that there was no merit to
appellants’ constitutional objections—

Authorities other than Illinois décifions are equally in-
applicable to the facts in the case at bar. People v. Bowen,
175 N. Y. S. 2d 125, 11 Mise. 2d 462 (Court of Special
Sessions of City of New York, Appellate Part, Ist Dept.,
1958) held invalid an ordinance making two years resi-
dence in the city a prerequisite to application for a license
as a sightseeing guide as applied to persons conducting an
interstate tour. The court held thet the two-year require-
ment served fo purpose and was therefore unreasonable.

Jewel Tea Co. v. Town of Bel Air, 192 Ati. 417 (Md.
1937), involved an ordinance which made it unlawful for
any person not a resident to solicit orders frort residents
of the town without having a license so to do. Jewel Tea
sought an injunction réstraining the enforcement so that
its salesmen could solicit orders for articles to be shipped
in from Washington, D. C. No regulatory features were
contained in the ordinance and it was held to be arbitrary
and invalid.

Whipple v. City of South Miwaukec, 261 N. W. 235 (Wis.
1935), is another instance (like City of Elain v. Winchester,

6

300 Til. 214, discussed above) of the cases upon which de-
fendants rely. In W hipple (as in City of Elgin) the ordi-
nance complained of provided for a license fee, but its terms
were inapplicable to residents. Although defendants quote
extensively from Whipple, it is thus proved to be distin-
guishable from the case at bar.

City of New Brunswick v. Zimmerman, 79 F. 2d 428 (3rd
(ir, 1935), is similar to People v. Bowen, 175 N. Y.S, 2d
125, discussed above, where the ordinance requited a year’s
residence before a barber's license could be applied for.
It is completely foreign to the issues in the case at bar.

Mayor and City Council of Havre de Grace v, Johnson,
123 Atl. 65 (Md. 1922), is described by defendants as ‘the
closest case on the facts’’ and defendants quote at length
from the case. Again, however, defendants rely upon
an ordinance substantially different from the regulatory
ordinance in the case at bar. In the Havre de Grace ease
the ordinance prohibited entirely the operation of taxieabs
on certain streets of the municipality, but the ordinance
was inapplicable to ‘‘operators ov drivers of automobiles
who are actual and bona fide residents of the city * * * and
who have resided therein for a continuous period of six
months."’

The annotations agpon which appellants rely are similarly
vulnerable. 61 A. L. R. 30, is an annotation following
Ex Parte Trish, 121 Kan. 72, 250 Pac. 1056, 61 A. L. R. 232
(1926), another instance (like City of Elgin v. Winchester)
where a license fee was imposed upon non-residents, but
not upon residents: 112 A. L. RL 65 is an annotation follow-
ing Hinebaugh v. James, 119 W. Va. 162, 192 8S. -. 177,
112 A. L. R. 59 (CW. Va. Court of Appeals, 1927), a case in
which the court sustained the denial of a license to operate
as a distributor of non-intoxicating beer to anyone who had
not been a four-year resident. Neither set of facts is ap-
plicable to the case at bar.

Appellants are well aware of the provisions of the Chi-
cago ordinance. They are not seeking, as they would
have this Court believe, the right to be licensed. Such
would be anathema to them. They are already licensed
in their own municipalities, just as Chieago taxicab opera-
tors are licensed by Chicago. Appellants may come into
Chicago to discharge passengers aecepted outside of Chi-
cago, just as Chicago taxieah operators may enter their
municipalities to discharge passengers.

What appellants are seeking is the right to operate
unlicensed taxieabs within the territorial limits of the City
of Chicago, in competition with licensed taxicabs. Appel-
lants want to pick up fares in Chicago and take them to
destinations in Chicago. Provisions of the Chieago ordi-
nanees regulating taxicabs have been substantially the
same for many, many years. Presumably, similar ordi-
nances exist and are enforeed in the municipalities where
appellants are licensed to operate.

Appellant~" conduct was undoubtedly inspired by their
corporate emplovers who have filed a separate suit under
Federal antitrust Jaws, which suit) has been dismissed.
Branston Cah Co. vs. City of Chicago, 325 F.2d 907 (7th
Cir. 1963). In the Kvaustouw Cab Co. suit, identical eon
stitutional arguments were rejected, the eourt there ap
proving the decision of the [linois court in the case at bar.

Independent of the taxical licensing ordinance, the City
of Chicago has for many years limited the number of
tuxieabs that may operate on its streets. The eourts have
sustained the right of the City to limit or restrict the num
her of cabs which are to be operated on the streets and has
enjoined the issuance of additional licenses until hearing-
are conducted to determine the ueed for more taxicabs
(Vellow Cah Cov. City of Chicago, 396 TIL 388, 397). The
present ordinance ( Municipal Code of Chicago, chap. 195A)
was enacted subsequent to extensive public hearings (Ye/-

&

low Cab Co. v. City of Chicago, 23 Ul. 2d 453, 456) and
limits taxicab licenses in the city 10 4600. If appellants
are permitted to operate in the City of Chicago, then the
contract rights of those who now hold licenses are violated
and their business threatened. The validity of the limiting
ordinance has been sustained by the court and, conse-
quently, appeliants cannot operate m defiance of the ordi
nance thereby increasing the number of taxicabs on the
streets of Chicago and destroving the business of those
legally licensed under the ordinance.

In addition to upholdine the ordimance jimmiting the
number of taxicabs which may operate in Chicago, the
court has also held that Chicago residents may not com-
pel the issuance of licenses to them (People ex rel. Hates
v. Flynn, 15 Ul. 2d 368). Thas, resideats and non-resi-
dents are in the same position—uneither can obtain licenses
because the number of taxicabs which may operate in the
city has been restricted to a certain number. To permit
more would frustrate the limiting ordinance and expose
the city to litigation for not adhering to its own ordinance.

CONCLUSION

We respectfully submit that the appellants present no
substantial question for the decision of this Court. and
that the judgment of the Supreme Court of Ilinois should
be affirmed, or, alternatively, that the appeal should be
dismissed,

Respeettully submitted,

Jous (. Meranipay,
Corporation Counsel of the City of Chicag

Attorney for Appellee.

Sypnev R. Drea.
Ronert J. Couns.

Assisigr? Corporation Coumart!
Of Counsel,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0472%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
