# Appellants Brief Opposing Appellees Motion — Wabaningo Boy Scout Camp v. Michigan Tax Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0382%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appellants Brief Opposing Appellees Motion
- **Published:** January 1, 1963
- **Citation:** 375 U.S. 19

## Text

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OcTOBER TERM, 1963

No. 231

WABANINGO BOY SCOUT CAMP,
A Michigan Nonprofit Corporation,
Appellant,
vs.
MICHIGAN STATE TAX COMMISSION,

Appellee.
No. 232
EVANSTON Y.M.C.A. CAMP,
A Michigan Nonprofit Corporation,
Appellant,
vs.
MICHIGAN STATE TAX COMMISSION,
Appellee.

Appeals from the Supreme Court of Michigan

APPELLANTS’ BRIEF OPPOSING APPELLEE'S
MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

Of Counsel: HARRY D. REBER
Fremont, Michigan
STEPHEN R. SMITH

RICHARD A. BEYER AMOS M. MATHEWS
JAMES G. STAPLES 28 Union Station Building
ALBAN WEBER _ Chicago 6, Illinois

Attorneys for Appellants

Lo Salle Street Press—Chicago 10

INDEX

SUBJECT MATTER

RI TORII 6c ies oso cenn ens cd ao hae cha hanees
Although appellee asserts a contrary conclusion,
appellee’s admissions reveal that appellants have
presénted a substantial Federal Question.

coe Oe SA hb id ks sxe 54a ahh eae ea ecey «o
Except by making two erroneous assertions, ap-
pellee does not attempt to contradict or question
any statement in appellants’ statement of the case.

ARGUMENT

1. Appellants are proper parfies in interest to present
nf PUP TETCTAT eee Teer eee ere

to
by

The inheritance tax cases cited by appellee (pp.
11-21) rest upon a special principle of state sover-

eignty not applicable here ....................
3. The judgments of the Supreme Court of Michigan
DEO DER WUD Faw esac ce asdacabeceas bs aaes
IUD <5 x saree cavnnuceseciescessackaaceser

AUTHORITIES CITED
Cases

Cincinnati, N. O. & T. P. Railway Co. v. Rankin, 241
a Se I ee ae ees

Dearborn Clinic and Diagnostic Hospital, In re, 342
Mich. Gi3, 71 N..W. Dd ZEB (ARGS) x. doc ec cscs nss

Edwards v. Leaver, 102 F. Supp. 698 (DCRI 1952) ....

International Harvester Co. v. Wisconsin Department
of Taxation, 322 U.S. 435 (1944) .................

11
11

3
10

ii

PAGE
Maxwell v. Bugbee, 250 U.S. 525 (1919) 2... .0.0.0... 9
Muilaney v. Anderson, 342 U.S. 415 (1952) .......... 10
Phillips Chemical Co. v. Dumas Independent School
District, 361 U. S. 376 (1960) ................ 9,10, 11
Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268 U.S. 510 (1925) ...... 6
Raley v. Ohio, 360 U. S. 423 (1959) »............... 4
Toomer v. Witsell, 384 U.S. 385 (1948) .....0...02... 10, 11
Travis v. Yale & Towne Manufacturing Co., 252 U.S.
I OS a hat Be ae CAN Sc a chs 7
United States v. Burnison, 389 U.S. 87 (1950) ...... 9
CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES
Fourteenth Amendment ................0-05- 2, 4,5, 8, 10
Par. Fourth of $7.7 as amended, Michigan Stat. Ann.
DE cis ii cas ed kex tac vhesarekaeedesens 2, 6,8, 11

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OcTOBER TERY, 1963

No. 231

WABANINGO BOY SCOUT CAMP,
A Michigan Nonprofit Corporation,

Appellant,
vs.
MICHIGAN STATE TAX COMMISSION,
Appellee.
No. 232
EVANSTON Y.M.C.A. CAMP,
A Michigan Nonprofit Corporation,
Appellant,
vs.
MICHIGAN STATE TAX COMMISSION,
Appellee.

Appeals from the Supreme Court of Michigan

APPELLANTS’ BRIEF OPPOSING APPELLEE'S
MOTION TO DISMISS OR AFFIRM

QUESTION PRESENTED

Although appellee asserts a contrary conclusion, appel-
lee’s admissions reveal that appellants have presented a
substantial Federal question.

2

“Appellee asserts (p. 4) that “appellants’ jurisdictional
statement does not properly state any federal questien.’’
But soon thereafter appellee’s own admissions (pp. 4, 6)
reveal that this conclusion is erroneous. For appellee states
ip. 4):

**We believe the only possible federal question to be:

‘**Can the State of Michigan distinguish, for ad
valorem property tax exemption purposes, between
camp facilities available to the use of its residents,
as compared to camp facilities available to the use
of nonresidents ?””

Then appellee states (p. 6):

“If the appellants ** * had established that their
camp facilities were used by Michigan residents in sub-
stantial part (50 per cent at least), presumably they
would have been granted the ad valorem property tax
exemption here in question.”’

Thus appellee concedes that appellants are, by para-
graph Fourth, as construed by the Michigan Court, denied
the tax exemption granted other Boy Scout and Y.M.C.A.
organizations soiely because appellants’ Boy Scouts and
Y.M.C.A. youth are nonresidents. This is the same ‘*ques-
tion presented*’ set forth in our jurisdictional statement
(p. 4), and it presents a question of equal protection of the
laws under the authorities there cited (pp. 7-10).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Except by making two erroneous assertions, appellee does
not attempt to contradict or question any statement in ap-
pellants’ statement of the case.

Although appellee asserts (p. 5) that it ‘‘cannot accept
appellants’ statement of the case,** appellee actually does

3

not attempt to contradict or question any statement therein
except by the making of two erroneous assertions.

First, appellee states (p.5):‘*There is not a scintilla of
evidence presented to substantiate the allegation that these
corporations in fact operated and conducted themselves as
nonprofit corporations.’* Appellee’s statement is not cor-
rect. In the proceedings before appellee, the Tax Commis-
sion, appellants filed sworn statements that they have al-
ways operated, and used their camp properties, within the
limitations of their articles as nonstock, nonprofit, member-
ship corporations. *(Wabaningo App. 4a, 6a, 14a, 19a;
YMCA App. 4a, Ga, Iza, Ia, 18a). These sworn state-
ments have never been denied. They are part of the reeord
on which appellee Tax Commission acted and which was
before the Supreme Court of Michigan. (Wabaningo App.
la-2a, 27a-28a; YMCA App. la-2a, 33a-34a). These sworn
statements are the type of evidence which is receivable be-
fore the\ Tax Commission in proceedings to determine
whether property is exempt from taxation under the exemp-
tion statutes. Ze re Dearborn Clinic and Diagnostic Hos-
pital, 342 Mich. 678, 71 N. W. 2d 212 (1955).

Actually, appellants made no direct ‘‘allegation”’ in their
statement of the case that they ‘tin fact conducted them-
selves as nonprofit corporations.’ The presumption exists
until the contrary is proved that a corporation of limited
powers acts within those powers and does not act u/tra vires.
Cincinnali, N. O. & T. P. Railway Co. v. Rankin, 241 U.S.
319, 327 (1916).

Appellee’s only other disagreement with our statement
of the case is the assertion (p. 5): **Neither is there merit

* The parenthetic references (Wabaningo App.) and (YMCA App.) refer
to the printed appendices of the record certified here from the Supreme
Court of Michigan.

+

to the statement that these corparations would have been
exempted from real property taxation, if it were not for
the amendment setting forth the membership requirement. ”’
That is not correct. For many years before the amendment
of paragraph Fourth in 1960 appellants had been exempted
by the statute from real property taxation to the same
extent that all other Boy Scout and Y. M. C. A. organiza-
tions were exempted, Y. M. C. A. property being wholly
exempt and Boy Scout property up to 160 aeres. (Juris. St.
4a). The 1960 amendment changed that (id.), and appellee
admits (p. 6), by the quotation we have set out above, that
except for the amendment_(or if 50 per cent of appellants’
members were Michigay residents) appellants would still
be enjoying such exemptions.

Appellee observes (p. 5) that the question of equal pro-
tection under the 14th Amendment was first presented in
appellants’ applications for leave to appeal from the decei-
sion of appellee Tax Commission to the Supreme Court of
Michigan. The Court granted the application and con-
sidered and ruled on the question. (Juris. St. 10a, 12a).
That adequately brings the Constitutional issue here. Raley
v. Ohio, 360 U.S. 423, 486 (1959). Moreover, that issue first
emerged from the Tax Commission's decision.

5
ARGUMENT

1.

~ :,
Appellants are proper parties in interest to present the
Constitutional issue.

Under its Part 1, page 8, appellee argues (pp. 8-11) that
appellants’ lack standing to sue. Appellee’s first point in
support of that contention is (p.&) that since appellants are
Michigan Corporations ‘‘a question of discrimination be-
tween residents and nonresidents is not involved in this
proceeding,’* and therefore appellants cannot invoke the
Constitutional issue on their own behalf.

This point has no merit. Since appellants are denied tax
exemption solely because the Boy Scouts and Y.M.C.A.
youth who use their camps are nonresidents, appellants are
the victims of discriminatory taxation, and they have stand-
ing to invoke on their own behalf the equal protection clause
of Ahe 14th Amendment, under the principles of the cases
cited on page 9 of our Jurisdictional Statement.

Appellee then contends (p. 9) that appellants are not ‘tin
a position to espouse the cause of nonresident Boy Scouts or
Y.M.C.A. youth** who use their eamps. Appellants do not
rest their standing on that basis. Our position is that due
to our close relationship with the nonresident vouth we have
standing to attack paragraph Fourth on our own behalf
because of the discrimination it works upon us by reason
of that relationship. Our position is squareiy supported by
the cases cited in our Jurisdictional Statement (pp. 9-10),
and it was originally set forth immediately preceding those
citations (foot p. 8, top p. 9).

Appellee’s three numbered points (p. 9) only emphasize
the solid foundation for appellants’ standing to sue. The

6

first two points can be considered, together. They are that
there is no ‘‘direct relationship’? between appellants and
the Ilinois youth who use the camps, and that the require-
ment that appellants pay taxes *‘bears no direct or legal
relationship’’ to such youth.

On their face these contentions lack any merit. Appel-
lants’ liahility for taxes is created solely by the fact that
Illinois youth attend the camps. This demonstrates that-
there is both a direct and a legal:¥elationship between ap-
pellants and these youth, and between these youth and ap-
pellants’ liability for taxes, that gives appellants standing
to sue. See, for example, Pierce v. Society of Sisters, 268
U.S. 510, 530, 534-536 (1925), cited and brietly explained in
our Jurisdictional Statement (p. 9).

Appellants, for many years exempt from taxation to the
same extent as all other Boy Scout and Y. M. C. .A. organiza-
tions, were denied that exemption by the 1960 amendment
(Juris. St. 3) solely because their membership, as the word
was construed by the Michigan Court, are nonresident Boy
Scouts and Y. M. C. A. youth (Juris. St. 5-6). Thus there
is a clear financial impact upon appellants solely because
their members are nonresidents.

joing now to the record, it there appears that there is a
direct and legal corporate relationship between appellants °
and their Illinois youth who use their camps. .\ppetlants’
respective articles of association show that appellants ate
expressly designed and authorized to provide and operate
eamp facilities for, and to train and discipline, the Boy
Scouts and Y.M.C.A. youth who use them. Thus Wa-
baningo’s articles, adopted and filed in 1924, provide in part

*)*)

(Wabaningo App. 23a) that the corporate purpose is:

‘*To promote through organization, the ability of boys
to do things for themselves, and others, to train them

7

to scout craft, and to feach them patriotism, courage
self reliance, Aud Kindred virtues, using the strictly
educational program and methods which are now in
common use by Boy Scouts; * °° to provide benevolent
and charitable means whereby boys may obtain phys-
ical, social, moral, and religious eultere, and the de-
velopment of good character and citizenship through
life in the out of doors * ”

The Y.M.CLA. Camp articles, adopted and filed in 1928,
employ similar phraseology. (YMCA App. 20a).

Appellee’s third point (p. 9) is that there is no showing
that the youth whe use the camps are adversely affected by
the denial of the tax exemption. ‘Whatever may be the
materiality of this point, appellee’s statement is not cor-
rect. The articles of each appellant provide :

‘A charge, based upon the actual cost of operation and
maintenanee, may be levied upon such persons as may
attend the camp and be able to pay. therefor.” (Waz-
baningo App. 24a-2oa; YMCA App. 21a.)

Any charge, suchas taxes, increases the costs that must
be paid by the campers. Appellants, the taxpayers, have a
corporate duty and legal standing to contest the validity of
these taxes. Jnternational Harvester Co. v. Wisconsin De-
partmen¥ of Taxation, 322 U.S. 485, 440 (1944); Travis v.
Yale & Towne Manufacturing Co,, 252 U.S. 60, 75 (1920),
both cited in our Jurisdictional Statement (p. 9).

Appellee’s footnote observation (p. $), that ‘technically
neither appellant is a Y.M.C.A. or Boy Seout organiza-
tion,’’ is shown to’ he without foundation by the undisputed
facts set forth in our Jurisdictional Statement (pp. 4, 5.%0)-;
in brief, Wabaningo Boy Seout Camp is a corporation
wholly owneed and cantrolled by Evanston Council of the
Boy Scouts of America, and Evanston Y.M.CLA. Camp_is a

Fs

lee

8

corporation wholly owned and controlled by Evanston
Y.M.C.A. Wabaningo was incorporated in 1924 and its de-
clared purpose in its articles, brief excerpts from which are
set out above, mark it as nothing else but a ‘*Boy Scout
organization.”* (Wabaningo App. 22a-27a). Evanston Y.M.
C.A. Camp was incorporated in 1925 and its articles sim-
ilarly show it to be a** Young Men’‘s Christian Association.
(YMCA App. 20a-24a).

Appellee says (p. 10) that ‘tit is not [appellants*| mem-
bers who are adversely affected by the denial of the tax
exemption in question but rather the members of the Illinois
Boy Scout and Y. M. C. A. organizations.’* The Michigan
Court held tat **membership’* in paragraph fourth means
the youth attending the camps. (Juris. St. 5-6). These
youth are Boy Scouts or Y. M. C. A. youth of the Illinois
organizations; the youth members of the related Michigan
and Illinois organizations are identical.

Appellee states (p. 10) that appellants ‘tare instruments
of Llinois corporate entities.”" This is true, but appellatts
have a vey close and active relationship with their Boy

*Scout and Y. M. C. A. youth members; they are ‘live and
active instruments. They turnish training, inspiration, and
discipline for their members and they finance the camps by
charges upon their members, as shown by the above ex-
tracts and other provisions of their articles. (Wabaningo
App. 22a-27a; YMCA App. 20a-24a).

Thus it is idle for appellee to say (p. 11) in’ closing its
argument on standing to sue, that the relationship between
appellants and their members who use the camps ‘tis too
remote and too inconsequential and unsubstantial for ap-
pellants to be in a position to raise the equal protection
argument here posed."* when (1) in faet that relationship
is very close and intimate, and (2) as a matter of law that

9

relationship brings into play the statutory discrimination
against appellants and deprives them of the exemption,

2.

The inheritance tax cases cited by appellee (pp. 11-21)
rest upon a special principle of state sovereignty not ap-
plicable here.

Appellee’s argument captioned “*. Appellants do not pre-
sent a substantial federal question’? (pp. 11-21) is based
upon inberitance tax cases, which are not applicable here.
The principle of these cases is that since arstate has the
power to determine who shall take property by devise or
descent, it May discriminate against nonresidents and
others in respect both of the right to inherit and the level
of inheritance taxes. See Marweell vo Baghee, 250 U.S. 525,
040-542 (1919) cited by appellee (p. 15).

The principle of the inheritance tax cases Is sw juris,
It has never been extended to any other form of taxation.
No discrimination in other forms of taxation based on non-
residence has ever been sustained, so far as we can discover,
‘and appellee cites no authority therefor,

The absolute inapplicability of the inheritance tax prin-
ciple to ad valorem property taxes is demonstrated by com-
paring Uuited States v. Burnison, 339 Us. 87 (1950), with
Phillips. Chemical Co. vo. Dumas Independent School Dis-
trict, 861 U.S. 376 (1960), both cited by appellee (pp. 14, 78).
Burnison sustained a California statute which made de-
vises to the United States invalid even theugh California
permitted devises to the state and its subdivisionsy The
Court held that this discriminatory treatmerft: was Wie
the state's power. citing Waswell v. Bagher. supra.

£

10

But in Phillips Chemical Co. v. Dumas Independent
School District, supra, 361 U.S. 376, the Court held invalid
a Texas statute that exempted from ad valorem taxation
state property leased to a private concern, while denying
exemption to Federal property leased to a private concern,
as an unconstitutional discrimination against the United
States. Thus the Court held in effect that the inheritance
tax principle did not apply to ad valorem property taxes.

The only tax cases cited by appellee rest on the inherit-
ance tax princip.c. Appellee’s non-tax cases deal with gen-
eral principles of classification and are not relevant.

Appellee argues (p. 21) that the statute ‘tinvolves .no
mere unconstitutional classification than the requirement
that a nonresident pay a higher fishing or hunting fee in
the State of Michigan than does a resident.’ That argu-
ment has no validity in respect to operations on the scale
of summer camps. In Toomer v. Witsedl, 354 U.S. 380, 395-
$03 (1958), and Mullaney ve Anderson, 342 US. 415 (1952),
commercial fishing licenses higher for nonresidents than
for resideuts were held unconstitutionally disceierfinatory.

Following the Toomer decision Edivards v. Leaver, 102
F. Supp. 698 (D.C. Ro 1.1952), held invalid under the equal
protection clause of the 14th Amendment a Rhode Island
statute because it had characteristics similar to the one here
in issue. It forbade taking fish from the waters of the state
by foreign corporations, and by domestic corporations 00
per cent or more of whose stock Was owned by nonresidents,
and it required that 51 per cent of the crew of a licensed
boat must be residents of the state.

11

3.

The judgments of the Supreme Court of Michigan are not
conclusive.

Appellee argues under its point 3 (p. 21) that ‘*The
judgments of the Supreme Court of Michigan are conclu-
sive.’’ Appellee says that the Michigan Court found that
the purpose of the exemption was ‘‘for the health end wel-
fare of the youth of the State’’- [of Michigan]. But this
purpose cannot justify a discrimination against appellants
solely because the youth using their cgmps are nonresidents.
Toomer ¥. Witsell, supra, 384 U.S. 285, 397-899: Phillips
Chemical Co. v. Dumas Independent School District, supra,
361 U.S. 376, 385-385. Appellee further says: ‘*The Court
found that the statute wes not «esigned to discriminate
against nonresident Y. M. C. A. or Boy Scout members.”’
We submit’ that no such finding can be spelled out, but even
if it could it would not be binding on this Court. See cases.
cited in our Jurisdictional Statement, page &. These cases
dispose of all of the other contentions in appellee’s point
3. There is no merit in them.

CONCLUSION

It should be noted that appellee does not question our
argument in our Jurisdictional Statement (pp. 11-12) that
the 1961 amendment doe: not in any respect relieve para-
graph Fourth from unconstitutionality.

We have fully dealt with the arguments that are repeated
and summarized in appellee’s cenclusion and there is no
need to repeat our arguments here.

We are constrained to suggest, however, that appellee’s
summary presents startling vistas. Assume a discrimina-

12

tory statute directed at corporations having Negro stock-
holders. Under appellee’s theory (pp. 22-23) the corpora-
tion could not object since it is not a Negro, and the stock-
holders could not object since the statute discriminates only
against the corporation. ;

The question here presented is so substantial as to require
plenary consideration ty the Court. Appellee’s motion
should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Harry D. Reser
Fremont, Michigan

Amos M. MatHews Z
280 Union Station Building A,
Chicago 6, Illinois

Attorneys for Appellants

Of Counsel:

STEPHEN R. SmitH
39 South La Salle Street
Chicago 3, Illinois

Ricuarp A. Beyer

220 Prudential Plaza

Chicago 1, Illinois

James G. STAPLES
8 South Michigan Boulevard
Chicago 3, Illinois

ALBAN WEBER g

619 Clark Street
Evanston, Illinois

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0382%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
