# Response Respondent — Public Affairs Associates, Inc. v. Rickover

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0155%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Response Respondent
- **Published:** January 1, 1962
- **Citation:** 369 U.S. 111

## Text

ae wo oY oe tO :
=e Office Supreme Court, U.S.

SJ PREME COURT. J, ue F i y - D

ne
A TAR 's) 62/

NE —=+ JAMES 8. BROWNING. Clerk

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

OcToOBER TERM. 1969"

Vick Apwirnat Hywan G. Rickover, Petitioner
v.
Pupuic Arratrs Associates, Inc. Trading as
Pustic Arrairs Press, Respondent

On Conditional Cross-Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit

RESPONSE FOR RESPONDENT
PUBLIC AFFAIRS ASSOCIATES, INC.

STANLEY B. Frosu
i300 Connecticut Ave. N.W.
Washington 6, D.C.

Harry N. RosENFIELD
1735 De Sales Street. NW.
Washington 6, D. C.

Attorneys for Respondent

INDEN

Memorandum on Conditional Cross-Petition tin Ne. 739)
Reply to Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari
iin No. O1974

i. Petition in No. 649 presents questions of law
Il. Confliet among Courts of Appeals
HI. Conflict with applicable decisions of this Court.
Bubilier is inapplicable
1, Patent and copyright are basically different
2. Ditlerent statutory bases for Government officials
3. Dubilier moot
4. Cross-Petitioner comes without “clean hands”
IV. Unsettled questions of Federal law
V. Unsettled Constitutional questions

Conclusion

CUPATIONS
CASES:

A.F.L. v. Swing, 312 U.S. 321

Alfred Bell & Co. v. Catalda Fine Arts, 191 F.2d 99

Associated Press v. United States. 326 U.S. 1]

Benny v. Loew's Inc.. 239 F. 2d 532. aff'd per curiam
by equally divided court. 356 U.S. 43

Bridges v. California, 314 U.s. 252

Callaghan v. Myers. 128 U.S. 617

Dellar v. Samuel Goldwyn, Inc.. 104 F. 2d 661

Fisenschiml vy. Faweett Pub.. Inc. 246 F. 2d 598. cert.
denied 355 U.S. 907

First Trust Co. of St. Paul v. Minn. Historical Soc., 146
F. Supp. 652. aff'd sud nom. U.S. v. First Trust Co. of
. Peal, 251 fF. 24 273

Page

.10

i Index Continued

Page
LCA, vu b. & Oe Ce, S27 U.S. 3
Sawvery. Crowell, 16 F. Supp.. 471. aff'd 142 F.2d 497.
cert. dented 3235 US. 735 110
Tok-vig ve Broce Pub. Co. Lol F.2d 664 1]
Us. v. Dubilier Condenser Corp., 289 U.S. 178 5-9
Los.v. Felin & Co. 334-008. 624 5
U.S. v. Parke, Davis & Co.. 362 U.S. 29 3
Wheaton v. Peters. 8 Peters 59] >
\\ bSCOMS En Kleetrie Co.. v. Dinere Co.. 282 | SS. 813 5
CONSTITUTION. STATUTES AND Expect rive Action:
Constitution, First Amendment. Second Clause 2.10. 12
\tomie Energy Act of 1946 7
Copyright Aet. 17 U.S.C. 8 EN
NAS. Act of 1958, $305 6.7
Patents. 35 U.S.C. 260 6
Printing Law. FE OS.C. 58 y ae, Ae
Research and Marketing Act of L916 7
Los. Senate. Committee on Interstate and For. Comm. 13
LoS. Senate, Select Committee on Small Business:
1959 Hearings ri
1960 Hearings 8
Executive Order No. LOO96 8
ALE.C.. Patent Poliey Statement 9
Dept. of Defense Regulations, 32 C.F.R. Part 9 7
Dept. of HLE.W. Regulations. 15 C.FLR. Part 6 7

Leeat WRITINGS:

Annot.. Application and effect of “shop rght rule’, 61
A.L.R. 2d 356 7

Buckle. Property Rights in Creative Works, 32 J. Par.
Orr. Soc. $14 6

Index Continued il

Pave
Cohen. Fair Use in the Law of Copyright. Ascar, Cory-
RIGHT Law Sywupositw Ne. 0. 16 (1955) 1]
Finkelstein, Public Performance Rights. 7 Coryrient
PROBLEMS ANALYSED 69 0
Gunnels. Copyright Protection for Writers Emploved by
the Federal Government. 960 Wasn. U.L.Q. 182 1
Here. The Patentee v. the Copyrightee, Ascav. Cory-
hiGHT Law Sywpositvi. Sth Series. 191 6

latman, Fain Use or Copyricurep Works, Copyright
Office Study No. 10. p. 15 41958) 1]

Needham, Pape Recording, Photocopying & Fair Use.
Ascap, Copyricut Law Syupositm No. 6. p. 75

(1959) 1]
Recent Cases. Copyright. 9 Carn. ULL. Rev. 104 3
Recent Cases, Copyright. 33 Texp, L. Q. 305 6
Recent Decisions. Copyrights. 5 Virw. L. Rev. 38] I
STEDMAN. Parents 6-7 6
Wicwore. Evinencr. 1:2 3
Wririncs ov Jawes Vaptsosx. ¥ 1:598 1]

\IISCELLANEOL Ss:

~ Frankfurter. Jo. comment from Bench. 20 LoS.L Weer

3186 y 4
Halaby. N.E.. testimony before Senate 1
Rickover, testimony on patent policy 6.9
United States. Brief betore the Court 1]

Washington Post. Feb. 22. 1961 1:

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroper Teru. 1960
No. 739

Vick Apwiran Hywan G. Ricnover. Petitioner
v.

Pernice Arras Associutes, Ine.. Trading as

Puspiic ArFairsS Press, Respondent

Response of Respondent to Conditional

Cross-Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Publie Affairs Associates Inc.. Trading as Publie Affairs
Press. respectfully submit this Re-ponse to the Conditional Cros--
Petition fora Writ of Certiorari in Ne. 739.

The Conditional Cross-Petition in No. 739 also includes ma-
terial (pages 7-14) which is tantamount of an Opposition to the
Petition fora Writ of Certiorari filed by Public Affairs Associates
in No. 649. Consequently, this Response will include

(1) a Memorandum on the Conditional Cross-Petition in
No. 739, and

(2) a Reply to the Cross-Petitioner’s Opposition to the Peti-
tion in No. 649.

~

MEMORANDUM ON CONDITIONAL CROSS-PETITION
(IN NO. 739)

Cross-Petitioner in’ Ne. 739 requests a conditional writ ot
certiorari on the issue of dedication i.e. whether dissemina-
tion of his speeches in otheial press release form prier te
attempted copyright: registration pleced them ino the pull
dlomain.

The nature and manner of such release have important rela
tionship to the seope of the Cross-Petitioner’s official dutie-. and
to the Constitutional guarantee of Freedom of Pres- Iwn
major psstes taised by the Petittron im Ne OVO, Tn this contest
the growing tendenes of top-level Government ofheials te “gos
ernment-by-press-release””) makes the Conditional Cross-Petition
in No. 739 meritorious of this Court’. consideration, especially
because of a third issue raised in) No. OF9: the need for thi-
Court to deal with the unsettled but tnpertant questions of eo
struction of the Copyright Net and the Printing Paw. in partie 4
ular, clarification of the meaning of “Government peblication.—

Public Affairs Associates. Tne. therefore. raise mo obpeetio
to the granting of the Conditional Cross-Petition in Ne. 730.
the Petition m No. O19 be oranted,

REPLY TO OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI CIN NO. 649)

The CrossPetitioner’s opposition to the Petition in Neo G19

makes various arguments whieh. it is respectfully sulmyitterd

present no valid reason for denial of the Petition in Ne. OF9.

I. Petition in No. 649 presents questions of law.
In alleging that the Petition in No. 649 present~ questions ot
1 Ch. Mr. Justice Frankfurter’s comment from the Bench that “the

public relations counsel is part of our American way of life” 20 Los
L. Week 3186 (Dec. 19, 1960)

tact and not of law. Cross-Petitioner misconceives the entire
port. Petitioner in Ne. O19 does not contest the tacts as found
bin the eourts below: Petitioner eotitests only the erroneous rule
of faw applied tw those court= to the undisputed facts.

There is nota single disputed issue of tact inthis case. Both
the Trial Court, 177 Bo Supp. at 002. and the Court of Appeals,
2B. 2d at 264. decided the case upon an “agreed statement
of tacts and undisputed document: in the reeord. What is in
dispute is whether Government press releases containing speeches
vv oa high-level tederal otheer on matters related to and con.
nected with lis otheral duties are “Government publications”
ond theretore not subject to copyoght under the Copyright Vet
and the Printing Law. or whether they are private publication-
lewaily subjeet te yo reht. This determination is a legal one.
Phe legal consequences of undisputed taet- raise questions ot
laws ones which are traditionally sulijeet te appellate review
and inne degree intrusive upon the fact-finding tanetions of the
lower courts,

This Court hax sand that ior oa question of law whether the
lower court “applied the kD ae standard to essentially und:s-
puted taet<" . that “the legal effeet ot evidence is a question of
law *) and that its funetion is “to aseertain the meaning of the

findings [ot tact] in order to determine their legal signifieanee 7”

The Petition in Ne. 649 does not require this Court to review
the taets since both parties accept the Lact. a= found below. Thi-
Petitron presents the Court with a variety of important quesion-

oft Law. for example:

1 Weestonr ON bvrener 2 bd eed Tob: see also Wiseomein
Flectric Co. v. Dumore Co... 282 0.8. 813 + 18304.
1 nited States v. Parke. Davis Co J62 Eos. 20) bb 1960),
Interstate Commerce Commission v. Lourmsille and No Ro Ce. 227
ts. 88, 92 (1913).

> Lmited States vo John J. Felin & Co. 334 ULS. 624. 649 (1948).

i

(1) The legal scope of Votheial duty” and “otheial responsr-
bility” of a Government otheial:

(2) The /egal meaning of the statutory term “Governmen
publication” as used in the Copyright Net and the Printing Law:

(3) The legal effect of Cross-Petitioner’s status as a top-level
ecovernment ofheral: and

(4) The Constitutional issue of Freedom of Pres- under the
birst Amendment.

Il. Conflict among Courts of Appeals.

All the other Courts of Appeals that have ruled on this precise
copyright question have t ken a different and conflicting view ot
the applicable rule of the Law from that adopted by the Court
below.” In Saver in the Second Circuit) and the Lewis and
Clark case in the Fighth Cireuit® both eourts ruled that whethe:
a Government emplovee’s publication was within his others
duties depended on the relationship between the subject matte:
of the publication and the responsibilities of his Government
position. These two Court. of Appeals ruled that such connec:
tion between the publieation’s subject matter and the emplovee’-
ofheral duties created a Government publication. The Court

beelow. however, reyected any stich doctrine of ‘relationship
or Meomnection.” and mstead adopted the conflicting leval doe-
thine that a “Government publication” comes inte beige onky of
it was the spree ifie object ot the emplovees duties to produc eit.
In addition. Sawyer attached weight to the tact that Government
facilities and time were used to produce the publieation. Whereas

the Court below dismissed such criteria altogether. Ino short.

© See Gunrnels. as quoted in Petition +n No. O89) at p 6.

7 46 F. Supp. 471 (DCS. DN.Y. 19421, affd 142 F.2d 497 62d
Cir, LORD. cert. denied $23 Us. 735 «19440.

S First Trust Co. of st! Pauly. Minn. Historical Society. 146 F. Supp.
652.668 (D.C. Minn. 1956). aff'd sub nom. Vos. y. First Trust Co. of
St. Paul. 251 F.2d 686.691 (8th Cie, 1058).

the Courts of Appeals for the Second and Eighth Cireuits apply
directly conflicting legal doctrines from that adopted below.

Hl. Conflict with applicable decisions of this Court.

Cross-Petitioner does not deny that the dispositive legal
question here is whether his activities were in the course of his
offieial duties as a top-ievel Government ofheial. Nor does he
deny that the applicable decisions of this Court cited in the
Petition (pp. & 11) deal precisely with the question of determit-
ing when the activities of an executive official of the Federal
Government come within his “otheial duties.”

To avoid the impact of these directly applicable decision-.
Cross-Petitioner cites decisions of this Court dealing with report-
ing af judicial opinions. The two decisions cited are Callaghan
r. Veers, 128 U.S. 617 twhich was decided in 1888 and did
not relate toa Federal otheer at all). and Wheaton rv. Peters. 3
tos. (Peters) SOL (rendered in 1834).

The cases cited do not related to executive otheials of top-level
rank. Both eases pre-dated the controlling statutes here involved.
The prohibition against copyrighting of “Government publica-
tions” originated in the Printing Law (44 U.S.C. 58) in 1895, 28
Stat. 608, §52: the prohibition in the Copyright Aet (17 LSe.
8) was enacted in 1909, 35 Stat LOTS. $7.

Consequently the decisions in these two cases have no effect
on the current legal situation controlled by the statutes cited.

The Cross-Petitioner also cites a patent case. U.S. 2. Dubilier
Condenser Corp.’ Although this case was heavily relied upon
by the District Court and strongly urged upon the Court of
Appeals in Cross-Petitioner’s briet below, the Court of Appeal-
ignored the case altogether.

Dubilier is inapplicable to the present case for at least four

reasons:

* 280 LOS. 178 (1933). Mr. Justice Stone dissented. with Mr. Justice
Cardozo and Chief Justice Hughes concurring therein.

\

0

1. Patent and copyright are basically different.

Dubilier involved a patent; (ae present case involves copy-
right. The Constitution “recognizes that the standards for
patents and copyrights are basically different" And. the
statutory standard of valid patentalile inventions is considerably
different from the definition of copyrightable subject matter.”
Because “there is a wide distinction between a pateut and a
copyright.” “the eases which relate to the one subject are not

1°

altogether controlling as to the other.”

2. Different statutory bases for Government officials.

In Dubilier this Court itself pointed out that its decision was
based Upon unique statutory provision- applicable only te
patents. that Government ofheials had been specifically auther-
ized to take out patents for their Government work coder a
statute going back to 1883, and that the statute gave to the United

13

States a free shop-right to use such patents.!? Tt has also been a
well-recognized part of our law for the U.S. Government itself
to hold patent rights on inventions devised by public servant
and private parties engaged Ly government agencies. For

example. the National Aeronautics and Space Aet of LO58
| |

‘0 Alfred Bell & Co. vy. Catalda Fine Arts. LOL F.2d 99, Loweo2 (L951)
ithe various legal and practical differences are outlined at length.

' Buckle. Property Rights in Creative Works { Comparison of
Copyright and Patent Laws, 32 J. Pat. Orr. Sec, FLA, A264385 19508:
Finkelstein. Public Performance Rights... . 7 Corymieut Prowirsts

Axarysep (1951) 69.70. See also Herr. The Patentee v. the Copy-
rightee, Ascap, Copyricut Law Syuvostun, Fifth Series (1L95d+. 19]
i... the differences... are many.” )

'2 Sreoman, Patents 6-7 (1939): Recent Cases, Copyright-Richt of
Government Officer... 33 Teme. L. Q. 365.369 (1960) (Decisions in
the patent cases would not necessarily be controlling in copyright cases”)

13 289 LS. 178, 189, 201, 192. The statute presently appears in
35 U.S.C, 26.

requires certain patents to be in the Government's name.'*
A similar provision prevails in the field of atomic energy.”
By direction of Congress the Department of Agriculture in-
cludes in its contracts a requirement that the results of its re-
search and investigations be made available to the public either
by dedication, assigament to the Government, or such other
means as the Secretary shall determine.'® In still other agencies.
the applicable statute authorizes Government agencies to take
litle to such patents in the public interest.!7

In copyright, a completely different and contrary. statutory
pattern prevails. The Copyright Aet, 17 U.S.C. 8. and the
Printing Law, 44 U.S.C. 58. specifically prohibit both the Gov-
ernment itself as well as Government emplovees from taking
copyright in any Government publications.'* And, contrary to
the situation with patents.’’ the Government has. no shop-right
in copyrighted materials.

'f Section 305, 72 Stat. 435 (1958), 42 Us C. 2457.

'S Atomic Energy Act of 1946, as amended, 68 Stat. OFF (1954), 42
U.s.C. 2182 41958).

'© Research and Marketing Act of 1946, 7 U.S.C. 427i.) The De vart-
inent’s Consistent practice has been te require an assignment of patent
rights to the government, Statement of Assistant Secretary of Agricul-
ture. “Patent Policies of Departments and Agencies of the Federal
Government-L959” Hearings Bejore a Subcommittee of the Senate
Select Committee on Small Business, 86th Cong. Ist Sess... on “The
Effect of Federal Monopoly Policies on Competition, Monopoly. Beo-
nomie Growth, and Small Business.” Dee, 8 9. 10, 1959, p. 354
‘hereinafter referred to as Senate Hearings).

'T For Defense Department. see Senate Hearings, at p. 338 et seq:
12 CER. Part 9: for Department of Health. Education and Welfare.
see Senate Hearings, at 361: 45 CPLR. Part 6.

'S The only exception is for the Postmaster General in’ connection
with illustrations of stamps. 17 U.S.C. 8 (proviso in first paragraph)

'Y In patents, shop-rights most commonly arise not by express agree:
ment but “by implication of the circumstances of the employment.”
Annot.. Application and effect of ‘shop right rule’... 61 A.L.R. 2d 356,
368 (1958).

3. Dubilier moot.

Executive Order No. 10096" has mooted Dubilier?' This
Order establishes a uniform patent policy for government em-
ployees’ inventions which gives to the U.S. Government (except
vs waived) “the entire right title and interest” in all inventions
made by any government employee

“( 1) during working hours, or (2) with a contribution by the

Government of facilities, equipment, materials, funds. or in-

formation, or of time or services of other Government em-

plovees on official duty, or (3) which bear a direct relation
to or are made in consequence of the official duties of the
inventor.”

1. Cross-Petitioner comes without “clean hands.”
Cross-Petitioner’s reliance upon Dubilier is inconsistent with
his public espousal of an exactly opposite position for other
Government officials; he comes here without “clean hands.”
As recently as April 8. 1960. he told a Senate Committee that
“Where the Government bears all or nearly all the co-t. where
the facilities belong to the Government. aad where the Govy-
ernment bears all the risk. the people should own the patents.
The American people are spending their money for the re-
search and development; therefore, the patents should belong
to them.?? ... The Government should own patents resulting
from work it has financed.?> ... I believe that patents should

20 Jan. 23, 1950, 3 C.F.R. 292 (1949-1953 comp.)

“' Cf: Recent Cases, Copyright... . 9 Catu LBs. bee, 105
(1900+. Cross-Petitioner’s Counsel substantially agreed with this
view. Brief for Appellee Below. pp. 8-9.

22 LS. Senate. Select Committee on Small Business. Subcommittee
on Monopoly, Patent Policies of Government Departments and Agencies

1960, Committee Print, 86th Comg, 2nd Sess.. April & 19600 p. 2
(hereinafter cited as Conference)
25 Id at 6,

))

eenerally belong to the Government where Government moneys

is used to develop them 7-4

In view of a justifieation urged by the Trial Court for it-
decision (i.e. that private copyright is necessary “to encourage
. 7 a 95 .
intellectual development” of government. official-*?). Cross-
Petitioner's farther comments to the Senate Committee are il-

luminating:

“Nor do PT agree with the. statement frequently made that
inless there is such a patent provision. their emplovees will
not work assiduously. TP have never seen anything of the
sort. A man who has an idea in his mind. if he is worth hi-
salt. will want to get it out. He will fight all obstacles to cet

. +26
it out.

And again:

“oS .. ARC and NASA work. In these Selds the law places
ownership of patents initially in the U. >. Government. Thi-
vives the Government the opportunity to make them available
to everyone. In omy opinion, this is a good system. beeause
it makes new information available quickly. Otherwi-e.

as7

there is the possibility of withholding information .. .

24 Id at 7.
S177 F.Supp. at 604.

“© Conference, at 4.

** Id. at 5. Cross-Petitioner is an AEC as well as Navy official. ABC.
patent poliey is this: “It is the Commission’s view that where the
(Commission sponsors and pays for research and development
that the resultant inventions and discoveries should be the property of
the Government for the benefit. not only of the particular contractor.
but of the-general public... Evervone is entitled to the use of
the scientific and technical data and the inventions and discoveries
that have resulted from Commission contracts.” Statement of AEC’s
Assisiant General Counsel for Patents, Senate Hearings. at pp.

234-35.

10

For the aforesaid reasons. it is respectfully submitted that

Dulilier is not an “applicable” decision of this Court.”

IV. Unsettled questions of Federal law.

In claiming that the Petition in No. 649 involves no un-ettled
law. Cross-Petitioner ignores the Copyright Office’s -tatement
that the present law in this field i- unsettled and that its clarifiea-
tion is necessary. (See Petition in No. O19. pp. 10-171. Cross
Petitioner's only answer is that Congress ean change the Liw if
it wants to do so; this is but an admission that the law is umn
~ettled.,

Cross-Petitioner contends that this Court is incompetent to
deal with the question of unsettled law (p. 13). We reject such
argument. Tf this Court applies te the facts of the instant case
the legal doctrines it has elsewhere enunciated as to the scope
of “official duty” of a Government officer (see Petition in Ne.
619. pp. 8-11). or the legal rules applied by the Court of
\ppeals for the Second and Eighth Circuits in copyright eases.
this Court's decision will be fully effective not only in dealing
with this particular ease. but al-o in setting a clear poliey that
can prevent conflicts with the law described in the Petition in

No. O49 at pages 18-22.

V. Unsettled Constitutional questions.

Cross-Petitioner would abolish the Freetom of Press provision
of the First Amendment. He argues that there is no Constitu-
tional issue of Freedom of Press in this case because the only

protection to. the press is through the doctrine of “fair use”

28 A contrary decision by this Court is all the more rea’ for go ont.
ing the Petition in No. 649, in order that the Bench. the Bar. the Gov-
ernment and the public at large mav know which of two allegedly
applicable lines of decisions of this Court are te control, those defining
“official duty” or those in the patent realm.

(p. 14).°% Thus summarily stripped of Constitutional standing
and guaranty, Freedom of Press would be relegated to the role
of a non-statutory exception to Copyright Act. Gone would be
the publie’s “right to know: ”? gone the safeguard of “the widest
possible dissemination of information from diverse and antag-

onistic sources: *' gone the “right of freely examining public

characters and measures. and of free communication thereon:
gone the protection for “dissemination of controversial informa:
tion which the public i3 entitled to receive’? —— gone, as Consti-

tutional rights.’* all these and other attributes of a Free Press.

2) "Fair use” is an undependable reed for a free press to lean upon.
The Copyright Office has said. “Fair use is not a predictable area of
copyright law.” Latman. Park Use Or Copyricutep Works, Copyright
Office Study No. 10. p. 13 trimeo. Aug. 1958)... Another commentator
has said that. “There is no agreement on the nature ef the doctrine”
and has pointed to the “confusion as to the nature and source of the
doctrine” Needham. Tape Recording. Photocopying and Fair Use.
Ascar, Copsricut Law Sy Meositm No. 6. p. 75 (1959). See Della
©. Samuel Goldwyn. Inc.. LO4 F. 2d 661, 662 (2d Cir. 1939) (Fair use
is “the most troublesome problem in the whole law of copyright”).
Ci also: Cohen, Fair Use In The Law Of Copyright, Ascav, Copyricit
Law SyMpositw No. 6, 43. 46 (1955).

© H. Rep. No. 1758, 85th Cong.. 2d Sess, 17 (see Petition in No.
619, p. 25).

1} Associated Press vo United States, 326 Us. 1. 20 (1945).

“6 Wartives OF Jaws Manso, 398 (1906 ed.) In the exercise
of its Constitutional rights a Free Press is not limited in quoting from
the text of official statements. “ However, the doctrine of “fair use” will
not permit quotation of substantial portion of such important materials.
Benny v. Loew's. Inc. 239 F. 2d. 532. 536-7 (9th Cir. 1956). aff'd per
curiam by equally divided court, 356 U.S. 43 (1958): Toksvig v. Bruce
Pub. Co. ISL F.2d 664.666 (7th Cir. 1950).

UL S. Government's Brief before this Court. quoted in’ Petition
(No. OF95 at pp. 24-25.

4 "Fair” use is only a privilege not a right. 3 VILL.L.Rev. 361, 385

(1958.) Furthermore it is net even a question of law: “. . . the issue
of fair use is a question of fact.” Eisenschiml v. Fawcett Publications.

Swe Dh F.2d 598.604 (7th Cir. 1957) cert. denied 355 U.S, 907 11957).

12

Nowhere is there the slightest scintilla of legal justifieation for
such bizarre Constitutional interpretation. Cross-Petitioner’s
ergnment eviscerates the First Amendment's guaranty of Free-
dom of Press.

On the other hand. this Court guards First Amendment right-
“with a jealous eve.” Cross-Petitioner’s extraordinary pro-
posal would fly directly in the face of this Court's pronounce-
ment that
“).. the First Amendment does not speak equivocalls
It must be taken as a command of the broadest scope that
explicit language. read in the context of a liberty-loving so-
ciety. will allow.”

Petitioner in No. 649 respectfully submits that the Cros--
Petitioner's improper use of copyright to deny the American
people and press the right of access to or even of quotation from
his official statements publicly made as a top-level Government
official presents a serious constitutional question involving Free-
dom of Press under the First Amendment.

Cross-Petitioner would deny Petitioner freedom of press
heeause he is a so-called “free rider” (p. 14). By the same
token the press at large is also a “free rider.” Cross-Petitioner’s
claim in this regard indicates his fundamental legal position:
Le. that any segment of the press can at his will or whim be
denied not only the Constitutional right of Freedom of Pres-
but even Cross-Petitioner’s substituted “right” of “fair use.”

Petitioner submits its Petition in No. 649 on the <ubstantive
hasis of important issues of law -uch as the major undecided
questions of Constitutional law. the unsettled problems of staiu-
tory construction, and the unresolved conflict= with applicable
decisions of this Court and of other Courts of Appeals.

The expressed will of Congress that “Government publica:

tions” shall not be copyrighted. and the substantial evidence

3 A.P.L. v. Swing, 312 U.S. 321. 325 11941).
© Bridges v. California, 314 U.S. 252. 263, 256 (LOFT).

15

of conflicts with or evasions of this Congressional policy.”
as outlined in the Petition in No. 649 (pp. 18-22. and Appendices
E-K}. speak for themselses.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, both the Petition in No. 649 and
the Cross-Petition in No. 739 should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

STANLEY B. Frost
Harry N. Rosenrrenp
March 196]

7 The Petition (No. 649) outlined eight categories of conflicts with
or evasions of the Copyright Act (pp. 18-22). For official confirmation
that the Air Force, Army. Navy. A.E.C. and N.A.S.A. have engaged
in self-styled “gimmicks” to evade statutory restrictions upon Govern-
ment agencies and personnel, see testimony of N. E. Haiaby. Federal
Aviation Administrator-Designate. before U.S. Senate Committee on
Interstate and Foreign Commerce, Feb. 21, 1961. Official Transcript.
pp. 19-26 and 61: Washington Post. Feb, 22. 1961. p. Ad. col. 4-5.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0155%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
