# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gray v. Johansson

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0134%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1961
- **Citation:** 368 U.S. 835

## Text

uTice-supreme Vour., U.S.

FILED
JUL 31 1961

‘RE Cm pry
Ec

no_2.7 7%

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1961

G. & H. TOWING COMPANY, Petitioner
VERSUS

EDWIN E. JOHANSSON, KANSAS CITY BRIDGE CO.,
MERRITT-CHAPMAN & SCOTT CORP., AND
PELICAN ISLAND DEVELOPMENT CORP.,

Respondents

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

ROYSTON, RAYZOR & COOK
Cotton Exchange Building
Galveston, Texas
ROBERT EIKEL
1910 Tennessee Building
ROBERT EIKEL, Houston 2, Texas
Of Counsel Attorneys for Petitioner

Alpbs Lew Brief Co., 402 M & M Bidg., Houston 2

a

SUBJECT INDEX

OPINIONS BELOW
JURISDICTION s
THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
STATEMENT

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
ARGUMENT

CONCLUSION

4

APPENDICES
I. Opinion of Court of Appeals
II. Opinion of District Court
II]. Judgment of the Court of Appeals
IV. Pertinent Provisions of the Contract for Tug Hire

V. The Entire Contract for Tug Hire

PAGE

LIST OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE
Bisso v. Inland Waterways Corporation, 1955, 349 U.S. 85
a 3, 12, 13, 15, 19, 22
Charente Steamship Co. v. United States, 5 Cir., 1926, 12

F.2d 412 . 14, 26
Dampskibsselskabet Atalanta A/S v. United States, 5 Cir.,

31 F.2d 961, 1929 A.M.C. 855 4, 14, 26
Dougall v. Spokane, P. & S. Ry. Co., 9 Cir., 207 F.2d 843,

cert.den., 347 U.S. 944. 29
Fries v. United States, W.D. Ky., 76 F.Supp. 36, aff. 170

F.2d 726, cert.den., 336 U.S. 954 29
Gray, et al. v. Johansson, et al., 287 F.2d 852 2
Guy v. Donald, 203 U.S. 399 4, 14, 26
Homer Ramsdell Transportation Co. v. La Compagnie

Generale Transatlantique, 182 U.S. 406 . 26
Luria Bros. & Co., Inc. v. Eastern —— Co., 2 Cir., 1937,

89 F.2d 900... ; 18
McAllister v. United States, 348 US. 19 25
Moran Towing & Transp. Co. v. Nav. Lib. Triestina, 2 Cir.,

1937, 92 F.2d 37, 1937 A.M.C. 981, cert. den. 302 U.S. 744 24
Pennsylvania Railroad v. The Beatrice, 2 Cir., 1960, 275

I te ee er Se eva w pane cou ; 3, 13, 21, 24
Sherlock v. Alling, 93 US. 99 ° 14, 26
Standard Oil Co. v. Anderson, 212 US. 215 4,14, 29
States Marine Corporation of Delaware v. Victory Carriers,

Inc., 9 Cir., 1959, 272 F.2d 463 . 3, 13, 21, 24

Sun Oil Co. v. Dalzell — Co., 287 U.S. 291
24, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, 19, 23, 28

The China, 7 Wall. 53. 26
The Etona, S.D. N.Y., 64 F. 880, aff. 2 Cir., 71 F. 895 18
The Oregon, 158 U.S. 186 . 26
United States v. Chris Nielson, 349 U.S. 129 21, 3,18, 15, 22

UNITED STATES STATUTES
28 U.S.C. 1254(1) 2

FRERTS

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1961

G. & H. TOWING COMPANY, Pefitioner
VERSUS _

EDWIN E. JOHANSSON, KAI-SAS CITY BRIDGE CO.,
MERRITT-CHAPMAN & SCOTT CORP., AND
PELICAN ISLAND DEVELOPMENT CORP.,

Respondents

-PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

G. & H. Towing Company, respondent, prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the ,
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit,
affirming the interlocutory decree of the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Texas in favor
of. the libellants-Edwin E. Johansson, Kansas City Bridge
Co., Merritt-Chapman & Scott Corp., and Pelican Island
Development Corp, and remanding the cause for proof of
damages.

,
-

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 287
F. 2d 852 and appears infra Appendix, p. 33, et seq.
The opinion is reported also at 1961 A.M.C. 793, but in-
accurately in its original version, which was iater corrected
- by order of the Court of March 27, 1961. The unreported
opinion of the United States District Court, its Findings
of Fact and Conclusions of Law, is printed infra Appendix,
p. 39, et seq., and at R. 874-887.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth
Circuit was entered on March 15, 1961, and copy thereot
is printed infra Appendix, p. 51. Thereafter petitioner
presented to the Court of Appeals petition for rehearing,
which was denied without further opinion on May 3, 1961.

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under the Act of
June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 928, 28°U.S.C., Sec. 1254

(1).
THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

This petition presents the following questions:

I.

Whether the “pilotage clause” generally agreed upon be-
tween ships and their towing tugs in American harbor
movements is lawful, particularly under these circum-
stances:

An ocean-going vessel with her master in command
upon her bridge and with a full crew at their stations but
without motive power, was being shifted by tugs within
the confines of Galveston harbor. A licensed pilot, but an

3

employee of the company which was the charterer and
operator of the tugs, was on the bridge as “dead-ship”
pilot. On the advice of this pilot, the master ordered the
ship’s crew to drop the vessel’s anchor, clearly an act ot
pilotage or vessel management and not of towage. The
anchor struck a submerged pipe line. The tugs were in
no way involved and were absolved from any liability.

The contract between the vessel’s operator and the tug
owner contained no words attempting to relieve the tugs
or those connected with them for responsibility for negli-
gent fowage, but it did provide that any pilot upon a
towed vessel was the servant of the vessel, and that neither
the tugs nor their owners or agents or charterers would be
liable for any acts of the pilot.

Did your Honors hold in Bisso v. Inland Waterways
Corporation, 1955, 349 U. S. 85, that such a pilotage
clause was invalid, as the Courts below have held, or is such
a pilotage clause valid particularly where the negligence
claimed is an act of pilotage, as your Honors have held in
Sun Oil Company v. Dalzell Towing Co., 287 U. S. 291,
and in United States v. Chris Nielson, 349 U. S. 129, de-
cided on the same day as Bisso, and as has also since been
held in States Marine Corporation of Delaware v. Victory
Carriers, Inc., 9 Cir., 1959, 272 F. 2d 463, and Pennsylvania
Railroad v. The Beatrice, 2 Cir., 1960, 275 F. 2d 209, and
in all other decisions where a pilotage clause similar to the
one in the contract here was at issue?

II.

The operators of an ocean-going vessel desire to shift
her from one harbor berth to another. Although her full
crew is aboard, the vessel has no motive power, her engines
undergoing routine repairs. The operators have a contract

4

for tugs with one towing company, but another company
actually operates the tugs which on request are sent to
shift the vessel. By the contract the first towing company
also offers to provide a pilot for such a shift, but it has no
pilot in its employ and the tug operating company sends
to act as pilot a regular salaried employee, its port captain,
who is licensed by the United States Government to pilot
vessels in these waters, The pilotage fee charged the vessel
is paid to the contracting towing company, which pays
part thereof to the tug operating company, which in turn
pays part to the pilot.

With the pilot on the bridge during the shift are the
vessel’s master and third officer, and when told by the pilot
it was time to do so, the master has the crew drop anchor.
A pipe line is damaged by the anchor. The towing tugs
are held in no way to‘ blame. The contracting towing com-
pany, as owner of one of these tugs, is held not liable.

Is the tugboat operating company whose regular em-
ployee he is responsible as his employer for any negligence
of the pilot in the dropping of the anchor, as the Court
below holds; or is the pilot an independent contractor for
whuse acts such company is not responsible while he acts
as pilot, in accordance with the holding of Guy v. Donald,
203 U.S. 399, and the holding of the Court below in Damp-
shibsselskabet Atalanta A/S v. United States, § Cir., 31 F. 2d
961, 1929 A.M.C. 855, and a borrowed servant of the ship
or contracting towing company, in accordance with the rule
of Sun Oil Compapny v. Dalzell Towing Co., 287 U.S. 291,
and Standard Oil Co. v. Anderson, 212 U.S. 215?

STATEMENT

This is a suit for damages to one of the two submerged
pipe lines caused by its being struck by an anchor dropped

5

from a vessel being turned to enter a slip of the Port of
Galveston, Texas. The slip was known as Slip “A.”

The suit was in admiralty, and jurisdiction in the Dis-
trict Court for the Southern District of Texas lay under
the Act of June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 931, Title 28,
U. S. Code, Sec. 1333(1), amended Act of May 24, 1949,
c. 139, Sec. 79, 63 Stat. 101, and Act of June 19, 1948,
c. 526, 62 Stat. 496, Title 46, U. S. Code, Sec. 740.

Suit for damages in excess of $280,000 was brought by
libellants as those at interest upon the pipe line against the
M/V HAR CANAAN, from which the anchor was
dropped, and her operator, and against the assisting tugs and
their owning and operating companies, and by later amend-
ment against the pilot of the M/V HAR CANAAN,
petitioner Emmett Gray. Cross-pleadings were filed.

The evidence was largely without dispute, and with the
exception of the facts surrounding the issuance of the
order to drop the anchor, is with reasonable accuracy
though it is respectfully submitted too briefly summarized
by the District Court in its Findings of Fact, printed below
at Appendix, p. 40.

“Briefly, these are the controlling facts:

Pursuant to a permit issued by the United States Corps
of Engineers, on January 27 and 28, 1958, libellants laid
two pipe lines in a dredged trench on the bottom of Gal-
veston harbor. On the Galveston Island end, the lines
came out of the water about eighteen feet from the eastern
side of Slip “A.” From this point at the entrance to Slip
“A” the pipe lines ran almost at a right angle to the center
line of the channel directly across Galveston harbor to a
point opposite Slip “A” on Pelican Island.

The last of three Notices to Mariners relative to the
pipe lines was issued on January 16, 1958, and it notified

6

navigation interests of the location of the pipe lines, stat-
ing that the lines would run between Pier 41 (which is
immediately adjacent to and to the east of Slip ““A”) and
Pelican Island, and that “the location of the pipe lines is
marked by warning signs on Pier 41 and on Pelican
Island.”

Instead of the location being so marked, the sign on Pier
41 was in fact placed at its nearest point to them some
thirty-one feet east of the end of the pipe lines, and the
sign on the Pelican Island side across the harbor was
placed on a platform in the water east some one hundred
fifteen feet from the pipe lines.

The two pipe lines were laid on January 27 and 28,
and at no time between the time of their laying and the
time of the casuzlty on March 21 were the pipe lines ever
found to be farther apart than ten feet and actually were
crossed and had to be pulled apart on March 3, R. 596,
$99, and were pulled farther apart also on March 16 near
their Galveston Island end when found there to be only
one and one-half feet apart. R. 601-603.

The anchor struck the westernmost of the two pipe lines.
Since there was no evidence that the other line was touched
by the anchor, and since this line as stated lay no more
and probably less than ten feet from the one struck by the
anchor, it is manifest that had the pipe lines lain between
the warning signs neither would met have been struck.

On the morning of March 21, the M/V HAR CANAAN
was performing routine maintenance work upon her en-
gines and had no motive or rudder power, but in order that
her loading could continue it was desired to shift her from
the berth where she then lay about two miles through Gal-
veston harbor waters to another berth in Slip “A.” Her
agent notified the tug company, that the vessel was to be
shifted “dead-ship,” by the course of dealing it being un-

7

derstood that she had no motive power and that tugs and
a pilot were to be sent to her. Respondent Emmett Gray
was sent to act as pilot along with three tugs for power.

‘When he went aboard the vessel Captain Gray explained
to the master that it would be necessary to drop the ship’s
anchor to assist in turning the vessel when Slip “A” was
reached, and the master approved this planned maneuver,
giving orders to his crew to have the anchor ready.

The vessel was then moved by the tugs through the
harbor to Slip “A.” During the entire time of this shifting,
the tugs were directed by the pilot Captain Gray, but the
master was in command and hed with him on the bridge
was the third officer, her full crew was aboard the vessel,
and the vessel’s chief officer with the required number of
seamen were manning their deck stations.

When the vessel was near Slip “A,” the pilot told the
master the anchor should be dropped. The master testified
that he then checked the prominent signs warning of the
pipe line crossing and only after making sure the anchor
would drop well clear of any lines did he permit the ship’s
third officer to transmit the order to the chief officer and
crew forward, who dropped the anchor. R. 681-683.

Captain Gray testified that he knew generally that pipe
lines were being laid across the harbor between Pier 41
and Pelican Island but had not actually sighted them nor
while they were being worked on had before this time
piloted a ship in their vicinity nor had read the Notices
to Mariners dealing with them. In giving the order or
advice to the master to drop the anchor he relied on the
warning signs as to the location of the lines. (Captain
Gray’s recollection was that the master gave the order to
drop the anchor before Gray pointed out the signs to him;
the master testified positively, however, that he asked
Gray about the signs and himself checked them to be sure

the anchor would fall clear before giving the order to his
crew to drop the anchor. R. 681-683.)

There was no evidence that the three tugs furnishing the
motive power for the movement of the vessel were in any
way at fault.

For sometime prior to the day of the casualty, those tugs
which assisted in the movement of ocean-going vessels with-
in the harbors of Galveston and some other Texas ports,
i.e., which were used in the harbor towing of deep-sea vessels
such as the M/V HAR CANAAN, were owned by three
separate towing companies. One of these was Bay-Houston
Towing Company, whom the operator of the M/V HAR
CANAAN by signed contract engaged to provide all the
tugboat power it required.

These three owning companies made all agreements with
ship operators requesting the services of towboats, but did
not actually operate the tugs. The tugs were chartered bare-
boat 19 an operating company, petitioner G. & H. Towing
Company, that manned and operated them, so as regardless
of ownership to utilize the tugs most efficiently in assisting
vessels needing tugboat power.

Only at Galveston, where the state-licensed bar pilots
before the time of this casualty did not offer pilotage ser-
vices for such ships, did the three towing companies offer
to furnish pilotage for ships without motive power. But
these owning companies did not themselves employ any pilot
to perform such services; they requested petitioner G. & H.
Towing Company to furnish a pilot to perform their con-
tracts.

To act as such pilot for a ship without motive power,
G. & H. Towing Company designated its port captain,
respondent Emmett Gray. Captain Gray was licensed by the
United States Government to act as pilot for the waters of
Galveston harbor, but he held no license as a bar pilot from

*

ee

Oe Re ay et eg Sa

9

' the State of Texas and was not a member of the Galveston
Pilots Association.

While, as stated, the operation of the tugs was done
only by G. & H. Towing Company, their charterer, the
three owning companies maintained separate soliciting
cflices and were actively competitive with each other, for
they and not G. & H. Towing Company made the contracts
with steamship operators for tug services and billed for the
services, and only the company having such contract re-
ceived thirty-five per cent of the amounts paid. Even if
it owned the tug which performed the service unless it
had the contract with the steamship operator the owning
company received none of the revenue derived from that
particular towing job. In each instance the charterer,
petitioner G. & H. Towing Company, received sixty-five
per cent of the revenues earned, being paid by the con-
tracting owning company and not by the steamship oper-
ator. R. 784-785.

Where in Galveston harbor pilotage services were fur-
nished a ship without motive power, the contracting tow-
ing company kept thirty-five per cent of the charge made
the ship, paid G. & H. Towing Company sixty-five per
cent, and out of its sixty-five per cent G. & H. Towing
Company paid Captain Gray $20.00. R. 787.

There is not an iota of evidence that to secure tug
services in Galveston or elsewhere steamship operators were
in any way required to sign any agreement with any of the
towing companies as a condition of receiving the services
of tugs, but if a steamship operator did sign an agreement
by whch it agreed to obtain all of the tug services it needed
only from the one owning company with which it con-
tracted, it obtained the tug services at a ten per cent
discount off the tariff rates. Appendix IV, p. 52.

10

The charterer of the M/V HAR CANAAN, Maritime
Overseas Corporation, had before the casualty signed such
an exclusive contract with Bay-Houston Towing Com-
pany, and it received the ten per cent discount for the
tug hire and the pilotage furnished the vessel on the day
in question, paying the sums due to Bay-Houston Towing
Company. R. 727-729.

There were no material differences between the contracts
offered steamship operators. Each contained a provision
allowing the use of tugs other than those owned by the
contracting towing company like this:

“Should Bay-Houston Towing Co. tugs be not con-
veniently available for the required services, the said
Bay-Houston Towing Co. shall have the right to
designate or engage the tugs, and such other tugs and
their owners or operators shall be covered by this con-
tract as though they were Bay-Houston Towing Co.

tugs.
And each contained a “pilotage clause,” as follows:

“Whenever any pilot goes on board a vessel to assist
her movement or handling, he becomes and continues
to be solely the servant, agent and employee of said
vessel, and her owners and/or charterers in respect of
all acts done by him, or all omissions, and all orders
given by him to any tugs engage or to said vessel or
otherwise, in the movement or handling of said vessel,
or in connection with any decisions made by said pilot
as to the manner or method of handling said vessel,
and néne of the tugs or their owners, agents, Masters,
servants, employees or charterers shall be responsible
or liable for any act or omission of said pilot, or for
any claims or damages caused by or resulting for any
act, omission or order of said pilot.”

11

Each contract also contained as part of the tariff for
Galveston-Texas City the provision:

“Pilotage-Shifting Vessels Without Own Power. . .
$60.00.”

Nowhere in the tariffs, nor in the contract signed by
Maritime Overseas Corporation with Bay-Houston Towing
Company covering the movement of the M/V HAR
CANAAN on the day of the casualty, is there any language
which could conceivably be read to mean that the towing
companies contracted to move vessels from one location
to another. The company offered and agreed only to pro-
vide tugboat power, and the rates charged were only for
each tug furnished, though these rates of course varied
with the distance the tug assisted the vessel. Appendix V,
p. 55.

The Trial Court found that Captain Gray was negli-
gent in giving the order to drop the anchor, which fell
on the pipe line, the “presence” of which he should have
known from other sources and from the prominent warn-
ing signs but as to the location of which he was not mis-
led by the position of the warning signs. The master of
the M/V HAR CANAAN was found not at fault because
“the pilot’s lack of knowledge was not manifest so as to
warrant intervention by the Master.” Gray was held liable
personally for his negligence and found not to be a loaned
servant to the vessel, and G. & H. Towing Conspany liable
because he was its employe acting in the scope of his em-
ployment, and the M/V HAR CANAAN liable in rem
for the negligence of Gray “as her pilot.”” The vessel was
allowed indemnity from both Gray and petitioner G. & H.
Towing Company.

—_ eee he” a

12

The towing tugs and their owners were found not liable.

The exculpatory provisions of the pilotage clause of the
eontract with the vessel’s operator were held to be void,
«ance being placed upon Bisso v. Inland Waterways
Corporation, 349 U. S. 85, on the ground that the mono-
polistic situation in Galveston harbor gave no freedom of
choice to vessels in the type of towing contract offered
and to secure tugs vessels had to agree to such exculpatory
provisions. Sun Oil Company v. Dalzell Towing Co., Inc.,
287 U. S. 291, was distinguished.

The Court of Appeals affirmed, petitioner Gray’s neg-
ligence being found to be a failure to use due care “to
find out just where the pipe lines were, in that, without
soundings or otherwise taking adequate precautions to
precisely locate the pipe lines he dropped the anchor
on them.” No mention is made of the master of the
M/V HAR CANAAN.

After thus imposing upon petitioner Gray an absolute
duty to know the exact location of the pipe lines, and
holding petitioner responsible as his employer, the Court
below agreed the pilotage clause was invalid under
the Bisso decision and distinguished the case of Sun Oil
Company v. Dalzell Towing Company as one dealing
“with pilotage in its real sense of service rendered by
publicly licensed involuntary or compulsory pilots” and
stated Gray was not such a pilot, the case really
being merely one where G. & H. Towing Company
furnished a towing service to a dead ship and its port
captain conducted it. The liabilities of the M/V HAR
CANAAN and of Maritime Overseas Corporation were
then affirmed under the law governing pilotage. (The
Court of Appeals by its order of March 27, 1961, cor-
rected its statement that Maritime Overseas Corporation

had been found liable in personam.)

Oceana “gue Eee Lt

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Your Honors should grant writ of certiorari in this
cause for the following reasons:

(1) To correct the manifest error of the Court of
Appeals in refusing to follow the settled law that an
exculpatory pilotage clause such as that in the contract
here is valid and not contrary to public policy and un-
enforceable, there being not a single other American
decision so holding, and your Honors having expressly
upheld as valid such a clause in Sun Oil Company v.
Dalzell Towing Co., 287 U.S.291, and having as recently
as 1955 affirmed the validity of such a clause in United
States v. Chris Nielson, 349 U.S 129, decided the same
day as Bisso v. Inland Waterways Corporation, 349 U.S.
85. We respectfully submit that the Court is in plain
error in holding applicable to this case of pilotage the
decision in Bisso v. Inland Waterways Corporation, which
only held invalid a broad towage freedom-from-liability
clause, and in declaring the Sun Oil Company v. Dalzell
Towing Co., case inapplicable as one of “publicly licensed
involuntary or compulsory pilots,” that Dalzell case being
clearly one where no compulsory pilot was at all in-
volved and being instead one where the captain of one
of the assisting tugs directed the ship maneuver. We
further earnestly submit the decision below is in direct
conflict with the recent decisions in Sfates Marine Corpo-
ration of Delaware v. Victory Carriers, Inc., 9 Cir., 1959,
272 F. 2d 463, and Pennsylvania Railroad v. The Beatrice,
2 Cir., 1960, 275 F. 2d 209, and with all other decisions
where the pilotage clause has been directly at issue. Since
a similar pilotage exculpatory clause is, as far as peti-
tioner can tell from the decisions, at use in every American
port, this decision if left unreversed would tend to upset

"Th tie STb AS RE i SENAY

6, Cisune ane 7S ee ee

14

an important segment of American maritime law and
contracts under which most ocean-going vessels are
‘moved in American harbors.

‘2) To correct the error of the Court in holding that
where an employee of a towing company is aboard a fully
manned vesscl under the command of her master acting
a3 the vessel’s pilot and held by the Court to a standard
of care even greater than that lawfully required of pilots,
and voluntarily engaged by the vessel’s operator, his reguiar
employer is responsible forkis negligent pilotage acts, the
holding of the Court of Appeals being directly contrary
to the maritime law that pilots are independent contractors
‘subject only to the control of the vessel’s master, as held
in many cases, including Guy v. Donald, 203 U.S. 399,
Sherlock v. Alling, 93 U.S. 99, and two cases decided by
the Court below, namely Charente Steamship Co. v. United
States, 5 Cir., 12 F. 2d 412, atid Dampskibsselskabet
Atalanta v. United States, 5 Cir., 31 F. 2d 961.

(3) To correct the error of the Court below in holding
that a pilot, normally employed in another capacity, fur-
nished to a contractor so that it can perform its contract
to provide a pilot for a fully manned vessel in command
of its master though without motive power, remains in the
employment of his regular employer during all the time he
is aboard the vessel acting as pilot and does not become
the servant of the vessel or the contractor, so that his
general employer is liable for his negligent pilotage acts,
the holding of the Court below being directly contrary to
the decisions of Sun Oil Company v. Dalzell Towing Co.,
287 U.S. 291, and Standard Oil Co. v. Anderson, 212 US.
215.

15

ARGUMENT
I.

With all respect, petitioner respectfully submits that the
Court below has confused the decisions which hold invalid
clauses exempting companies and tugs from liability for
negligent towage with the decisions which uphold the
validity of exemptions from liability for acts of pilotage.
We submit that this is abundantly clear from a careful
reading of Bisso v. Inland Waterways Corporation, 349
U.S. 85, striking down towage exemptions and carefully
affirming the correctness of decision of Sun Oil Company
v, Dalzell Towing Co., 287 U.S. 291, where the exemption
is a pilofage exemption as here, and a careful reading of
United States v. Chris Neilson, 349 U.S. 129, which also
affirms the validity of pilotage exemptions and states Bisso
voids only fowage exemptions,

The consequences of this mis-reading of those decisions
are that petitioner, while not even a party to the contract
under the terms of which the tugs and the pilot were
furnished the vessel, and engaged only in the business of
operating tugboats, is denied the protection of the pilotage
exemption expressly set forth in the contract and to which
the Court of Appeals acknowledges it would otherwise be
entitled since the Court helds “in effect that neither Gray
nor the Towing Company, his employer, would be liable
for the negligence of Gray, its employee, indeed its port
captain.” Petitioner is therefore held liable for damages
stated to be in excess of $280,000.00, and instead of being
allowed indemnity from the vessel operator as it would be
had the case been correctly decided in accordance with
numerous decisions, particularly those decided by the Court

RBA SRRR A of. EY

16

of Appeals for the Second Circuit, is instead required to
indemnify the vessel!

Petitioner respectfully submits that this decision is con-
trary to the settled American maritime law governing
in circumstances such as these.

The Contract Afforded Petitioner Exemption for Pilotage
Faults, Though Not for Towage Faults

The contract between Bay-Hovuston Towing Company

and Maritime Overseas Corporation, operator of the M/V
HAR CANAAN, is reproduced at Appendix V, p. 55,
below.
It will be noted that petitioner G. & H. Towing Com-
pany is not a party to this contract and not named therein,
though the pilotage clause clearly exempts petitioner G.
& H. Towing Company because it exculpates the charterers
of the tugs furnished the vessel and the contract.

Nowhere in the contract is any language exempting the
tugs or those at interest upon them for any faults of towage
or tug operation.

On the oth: hand, the contract in several places -ex-
pressly says that the company only agrees to furnish ‘ug
power, and expressly provides against liability for the
acts of “any pilot” on board an assisted vessel. This
clause reads:

“Whenever any pilot goes on board a vessel iv assist
her movement or handling, he becomes and continues
to be solely the servant, agent and employee of said
vessel, and her owners and/or charterers in respect of
all acts done by him, or all omissions, and all orders
given by him to any tugs engage or to said vessel or
otherwise, in the movement or handling of said vessel,

17

or in connection with any decisions made by said pilot
as to the manner or method of handling said vessel,
and none of the tugs or their owners, agents, Masters,
servants, employees or charterers shall be responsible
or liable for any act or omission of said pilot, or for
any claims or damages caused by or resulting for any
act, omission or order of said pilot.”

It will have been noted that the Court of Appeals has
by implication held that had this clause been valid, it would
have protected petitioner G. & H. Towing Company.

There can be no doubt that petitioner comes within the
language of the clause even though not a party to the
contract. The contract was between Bay-Houston Towing
Company, a tugboat owner and a respondent herein, and
Maritime Overseas Corporation, the charterer and claimant

and operator of the M/V HAR CANAAN, a respondent
herein. The contract expressly permitted the towing com-
pany to furnish tugs other than its own, and it called upon
petitioner G. & H. Towing Company, charterer of the
tugs furnished the M/V HAR CANAAN to tow it, to
supply the tugs.

By the contract Bay-Houston Towing Company also
agreed in Galveston harbor to furnish a pilot for 2 ship
which was to be shifted without its own motive power.
There is nothing in the contract which required Bay-Hous-
ton Towing Company to furnish any particular pilot, and
it secured the pilot for the vessel from petitioner, the
tugs’ charterer. The pilotage clause is not restrictive, and
it expressly exempts the tug charterer, petitioner, from any
liability for the acts of any pilot. It is therefore clearly
established here that by the express terms of the pilotage
clause of the contract petitioner is exempted from liability

18
for the acts of the pilot Gray while aboard the vessel per-
forming pilotage duties.

Dropping the Anchor Was
an Act of Pilotage

It is certainly clear that dropping the ship’s anchor can-
not rightfully be deemed an act of towage. It was clearly
an act in the navigation and management of the vessel,
accomplished by the ship’s crew on the command of the
ship’s master and at the suggestion, advice, or order of the
ship’s pilot on the bridge.

The towing tugs obviously had nothing to do with the
dropping of the anchor, as is clearly demonstrated by the
fact that the District Court dismissed the libel as to them
and their owners and absolved them from liability.

Decided cases likewise hold that the dropping of a ship’s
anchor is an act in the management of a vessel. Please see
The Etona, §.D. N.Y., 64 F. 880, affirmed 2 Cir., 71 F.
895, and Luria Bros. & Co., Inc, v. Eastern Transp. Co., 2
Cir., 1937, 89 F. 2d 900, both Harter Act cases.

And finally, petitioner Gray has been held by both
Courts below to the high standard of care required of
pilots, he was sent aboard the vessel as pilot and acted under
his government license of pilot, and the District Court
held him as pilot and held the vessel in rem “for the negli-
gence of Captain Gray as pilot.” The contract of course
called him a pilot.

Pilotage Exemption Clauses Are Valid

Petitioner believes that there have been no previously
decided cases in which the applicability of a like pilotage
clause has been directly at issue that have held such a clause

19

invalid. The decided cases have so uniformly upheld the
validity of such clauses that Mr. Justice Frankfurter in
his dissenting opinion in Bisso v. Inland Waterways Cor-
poration, 349 U.S. 85, at 98, e¢ sey., was able to assert on
a review of the authorities that all exemption clauses in
towing contracts had theretofore been found to be valid.

The decision in Bisso 1. Inland Waterways Corporation,
at page 92, clearly holds pilotage exculpatory clauses valid,
citing Sun Oil Company v. Dalzell Towing Co., in the fol-
lowing language:

“It is contended that the towage contract rule we
have accepted was rejected by this Court in Sun Oil
Co. v. Dalzell Towing Co., 287 U.S. 291, 53 S. Ct.
135, 77 L. Ed. 311. We disagree. Unlike the Steamer
Syracuse, The Wash Gray and the instant case, Sun
Oil did not involve a contract designed to relieve a
towboat owner from liability for negligent towage.
The contractual clause there involved related only to
pilotage. The clause provided that a tug captain who
piloted a vessel propelled on its own power should be
considered the servant of that vessel and that the tug
owners should not be liable for his negligent pilotage.
Sun Oil construed this contract as relieving the tug-
boat owners from all liability for negligence of the
tug captain while piloting Sun Oil’s vessel and held
the contract valid as thus construed. But both the
Court of Appeals and this Court recognized that hold-
ing the pilotage contract valid did not conflict with
The Steamer Syracuse or The Wash Gray. Indeed, this
Court express!y stated that the Sun Oil decree was
‘not in conflict with the decisions’ in The Steamer
Syracuse and The Wash Gray. It is of course possible
that the Court found an absence of conflict in the
casessbecause of a different construction given the dif-

20

ferent contracts involved. We doubt this, but how-
over this may be there are more basic differences upon
which we prefer to rest this Court’s statement that Sun
Oil did not conflict with the two prior cases.

“There are distinctions between a pilotage and a
towage exemption clause which make it entirely rea-
sonable to hold one valid and the other invalid. A
pilotage clause exempts for the negligence of pilots
only; a towage clause exempts from all negligence of
all towage employees, Pilots hold a unique position in
the maritime world and have been regulated exten-
sively both by the States and Federal Government.
Some state laws make them public officers, chiefly re-
sponsible to the State, not to any private employer.
Under law and custom they have an independence
wholly incompatible with the general obligations of
obedience normally owed by an employee to his em-
ployer. Their fees are fixed. by law and their charges
‘must not be discriminatory. As a rule no employer,
no person can tell them how to perform their pilotage
duties. When the law does not prescribe their duties,
pilots are usually free to act on their own best judg-
ment while engaged in piloting a vessel. Because of
these differences between pilots and towage employees
generally, contracts stipulating against a pilot’s negli-
gence cannot be likened to contracts stipulating
against towers’ negligence. It is one thing to permit
a company to exempt itself from liability for the
negligence of a licensed pilot navigating another com-
pany’s vessel on that vessel’s own power. That was the
Sun Oil case. It is quite a different thing, however
to permit a towing company to exempt itself by con-
tract from all liability for its own employees’ negli-
gent towage of a vessel. Thus, holding the pilotage
contract valid in the Sun Oil case in no way conflicts
with the rule against permitting towers by contract

21

wholly to escape liability tor their own negligent tow-
a ing.”

Petitioner respectfully submits that your Honors af-
firmed this validity on the same day in the following por-
tion of your decision in Unit:d States v. Chris Neilson,
349 U.S. 129, 130:

*. . ; We granted certiorari to consider the meaning
and validity of the pilotage clause, 348 U.S. 811, 75
S. Ct, 59, and at the same time granted certiorari in
two other cases, today decided. which involve validity
of contracts exempting towers from liability for negli-
gent towage. Bisso v. Inland Waterways Corp., 349
U.S. 85, 75 §. Ct. 629; Boston Metals Co, v. The
Winding Gulf, 349 U.S. 122, 75 S. Ct. 649.

“4¢Sun Oil Co. v. Dalzell Towing Co., 287 U.S. 291,
§3 §. Ct. 135, 77 L. Ed. 311, involved the meaning
and validity of a pilotage contract substantially the
same as the one here. One of Dalzell’s tug captains
negligently piloted Sun Oil’s vessel causing the boat
to ground and suffer damages. Sun Oil sued Dalzell.
The contract exempting Dalzell from liability for
pilotage was pleaded as a defense. This Court held
that the tug company could validly contract against
being ‘liable for any damage’ caused by the negli-
gence of one of its captains in piloting Sun Oil’s ves-
sel and construed the contract there as having that
ad

That petitioner’s reading of these decisions is correct is
further established, it is respectfully submitted, by the
decisions in States Marine Corporation of Delaware v. Vic-
tory Carriers, Inc., 9 Cir., 1959, 272 F. 2d 463, and Penn-
sylvania Railroad v. The Beatrice, 2 Cir., 1960, 275 F. 2d
209.

22

Petitioner therefore respectfully submits that the Court
below is clearly in error in its interpretation of Bisso v.
Inland Waterways Corporation, Sun Oil Company v. Dal-
zell Towing Co., and United States v. Chris Neilson, and
that its decision is clearly in conflict with the two last
cited cases decided by the Courts of Appeal for the Ninth
and Second Circuits.

No Circumstances Here Justify Denying
Validity to the Pilotage Clause

The trial Court found that public policy required the
pilotage clause to be denied validity because under the
monopolistic situation prevailing in the port of Galveston
a vessel had no freedom of choice in the type of towing
contract offered and must accept a contract with the ex-
culpatory provisions to secure tug assistance.

While it is not admitted that where as here three separate
owning companies charter their tugs to an operating com-
pany to secure efficient service there is any monopolistic
situation, nevertheless the Court is in plain error .in stating
that a vessel had to agree to a contract with the exculpa-
tory clause to secure tug assistance.

There is absolutely no evidence that vessels were under
any requirement to sign the contract, as the operator of
the M/V HAR CANAAN did here, in order to obtain tug
assistance, As an examination of the contract shows, the
inducement to sign it and agree to the contract is the ten
per cent discount afforded those signing the contract. This
was so testified to. R. 803. And please see Appendix IV,
p. 52, and particularly the closing sentence of the of-
fer, “All charges are net, except when services are per-
formed under contract, then a discount of 10; is to ap-
ply on all tariff rates.”

23

This clearly shows ships could secure tugs without having
to sign the contract, and there is as stated no evidence to
the contrary.

Further, none of the cases, which uniformly uphold the
validity of pilotage clause exemptions, and which are from
the great breadth of decisions found in harbor towing
contracts in similar terms ir practically all American ports,
have ever intimated that because towing services are not
furnished by numerous companies the pilotage exemption
is invalid. And in the exemption clause employed in the
greatest American port, New York, the exemption is ac-
corded from acts of the captains off the tugs, a much
broader exemption chan the one here of a licensed pilot,
even though an employee of the towing company actually
furnishing the tugs.

Nor does reason support this view why such a clause
should be held invalid. Pilots are licensed by governmental
authority and exercise independent judgment and are not
subject to supervision and control, except on occasion by
the master of the vessel. And why should an assisting tug
be obligated to assume the ship’s responsibility for the acts
of the pilot? The ship is a common carrier, the towing tug
not. If the towing tug diligently performs its towing du-
ties, why should it be burdened with an added responsibility
for the pilot?

The Court of Appeals did not base its decision holding
the clause invalid upon the ground stated by the District
Court, but instead preferred to affirm on the ground that
petitioner was in fact not a pilot but simply one in charge
of a dead-ship towing operation.

(Of course, its characterization of the Dalzell case as
one of true pilotage by publicly licensed compulsory or in-

24

voluntary pilots is manifest error; in that case the piloting
was done by a captain from one of the assisting tugs, and
the exculpatory clause was one stating a captain off a tug
became an employee of the vessel being assisted.)

Since the exculpatory clause generally used in New York,
and held valid in Sun Oil Company v. Dalzell Towing Co.,
deals with a tug captain and not a pilot, as do many such
clauses held valid, the reason given by the Court of Ap-
peals is without support in the adjudicated cases.

Its description of the facts here is in error also, it is sub-
mitted with all respect: the contract, which cannot right-
fully be ignored as the Court apparently does, nowhere
provides that a complete towing service was to be pro-
vided the ship. The contract provided only for tug power,
which was furnished, and entirely independently had a
clause agreeing in Galveston harbor to provide a pilot on
request where the vessel was to be shifted without motive
power. :

And of course, finally, the acts of negligence charged in
this vase were acts of pilotage, not towage, and the Bisso
case reference is in error also.

Petitioner respectfully submits, therefore, that the Court
of Appeals is in clear error in denying the validity of the
pilotage clause under the circumstances of this case, and
that he is by such clause in accordance with the settled
law enforced in Moran Towing & Transp. Co. v. Nav. Lib.
Triestina, 2 Cir., 1937, 92 F. 2d 37, 1937 A.M.C. 981,
cert. den. 302 U.S. 744, and Pennsylvania Railroad v. The
Beatrice, 2 Cir., 1960, 275 F. 2d 209. and States Marine
Corporation of Delaware v. Victory Carriers, Inc., 9 Cir.,
1959, 272 F. 2d 463, entitled to be indemnified by the
M/V HAR CANAAN and its operator Maritime Overseas

25

Corporation from any liability to respondents the pipe line
owners.

II.

The M/V HAR CANAAN here, though without mo-
tive power, was fully manned, and throughout the maneu-
vering of the vessel her master and third officer were upon
the bridge along with the pilot and her deck crew were
at their proper stations.

Captain Gray undoubtedly was the vessel’s pilot, though
a pilot voluntarily engaged by the vessel’s operator. The
Trial Court in conformity with the evidence found him
to be a pilot, held him liable for what are clearly acts of
pilotage and not towage in accordance with standards of
care imposed on pilots, and held the vessel liable in rem
for his acts “as pilot.” Of course such fact findings are
under the rule of McAllister v. United States, 348 U.S. 19,
binding upon the Court of Appeals, but nevertheless that
Court has at least inferentially accepted the finding that
Captain Gray was a pilot by holding him to a standard of
care even greater than that imposed upon pilots.

The contract between Bay-Houston Towing Company
and respondent Maritime Overseas Corporation denomi-
nated him a pilot, and the master of the vessel considered
Captain Gray to be the vessel’s pilot.

Under such circumstances there can be no doubt of the
error of the Court of Appeals in holding petitioner G. &
H. Towing Company liable for Captain Gray’s acts simply
because it was his normal or general employer.

It has long been settled maritime law that a pilot aboard
a navigated and manned vessel is an independent contractor,

eh a ae eat

SS

26

himself responsible for his acts, Guy v. Donald, 203 U.S.
399, even though the vessel and its operators are as his
employer also responsible. Sherlock v. Alling, 93 U.S. 99,
and please see the statements to that effect also in Homer
Ramsdell Transportation Co. v. La Compagnie Generale
Transatlantique, 182 U.S. 406. The Court of Appeals below
has itself expressed the rule clearly in Dampskibsselskabet
Atalanta v. United States, 5 Cir, 31 F. 2d 961, 962, in the
following language:

“The fundamental principle underlying the exemp-
tion of pilots’ associations from liability for negligence
in performing their duties as pilots is that the associa-
tion exercises no control over the manner in which
those duties are to be performed, and therefore a pilot
cannot be said to be an agent of the association in that

respect.”

While the pilot is an independent contractor he never-
theless is subject to the master’s control and does not relieve
the master of his command of the vessel. This is of course
settled maritime law, as held in The China, 7 Wall. 53,
The Oregon, 158 U.S. 186, and many other cases, including
the decision of the Court below in Charente Steamship Co.
v. United States, § Cir., 12 F. 2d 412, at p. 413.

Can there be any doubt that if in the course of the move-
ment on this occasion the pilot had given orders imperiling
the vessel itself or other vessels using the harbor it would
have been the duty of the master upon the bridge with
Captain Gray to have countermanded the order or relieve
him from acting as pilot?

And how could any control over Captain Gray have been
exercised by petitioner G. & H. Towing Company?

Do eS AIA TLIC IRE TH UCR IS ary Oe enn | 4
. *.

27

Peitioner respectfully submits that holding it as the gen-
eral employer of the pilot for his acts while serving aboard
the vessel as pilot is clearly wrong and directly contrary
to the settled law and such holding should be reversed.

iil.

Peiuioner G. & H. Towing Company respectfully submits
further the Court below was clearly in error likewise in
holding it as the employer, just as the trial Court was in
clear error in so holding petitioner and in finding that
while acting aboard the vesse! as its pilot Captain Gray
was not a borrowed or loaned servant.

It is of course true that while Captain Gray was in the
regular employment of G. & H. Towing Company neither
he nor G. & H. Towing Company were parties to the
contract between Bay-Houston Towing Company and
respondent Maritime Overseas Corporation, under which
the vessel requested his services and under the terms of
_ which he went aboard the vessel.

The contract of course did not obligate Bay-Houston
Towing Company to obtain a pilot from petitioner: it
could have furnished any person qualified to act as pilot,
its own employee or any other person. Without a doubt,
in securing the pilot from petitioner to fulfill its con-
tractual obligation, Bay-Houston Towing Company made
the person furnished to that extent its own agent or servant
so far as this could lawfully be done. Of course it is clear
Bay-Houston Towing Company was paid for the pilot’s
services in accordance with the contract at the contract
rate, and it retained a portion of the amounts paid.

How can it be found if the evidence is given its lawfu'
effect that Bay-Houston Towing Company was not there-

28

fore the special employer of the pilot and that while aboard
the vessel Captain Gray was certainly no longer the em-
ployee of G. & H. Towing Company?

It is of course noteworthy that Pay-Houston Towing
Company was dismissed from this cause and held not |.2ble,
along with its tug and the other tugs and their owners,
and while this was done because there was no proof at all
the towing services were negligently performed, it is sub-
mitted such dismissal effectively results in finding that
actually, as is of course the law, pilot Gray was the servant
of the vessel and its operators while aboard it as pilot.

Certainly the pilot Gray while aboard the vessel and
acting as pilot was the loaned employee of the vessel and
its operator Maritime Overseas Corporation, if regard is
paid to the settled law. This is certainly the holding of
your Honors in Sun Oil Company v. Dalzell Towing Co.,
287 U.S. 291, where it is said:

“Respondent’s responsibility is not to be extended
beyond the service that it undertook to perform. It
did not furnish pilotage. The provision that its tug
captains while upon the assisted ship would be the
servants of her owner is an application of the well-
established rule that when one puts his employee at _
the disposal and under the direction of another for the
performance of service for the latter, such employee
while so engaged acts directly ior and is to be deemed
the employee of the latter and not of the former.
Denton v. Yazoo & M.V.R. Co., 284 U.S. 405, 308,
§2 S. Cr. 141, 76 L. Ed. 310. It would be unconscion-
able for petitioner upon occurrence of a mishap to
repudiate the agreement upon which it obtained the
service.”

29

As has been pointed out above, certainly no one other
than the master of the vessel had any control over Captain
Gray while he was upon this manned vessel performing
his duty as pilot. Within the tests laid down by your
Honors in Standard Oil Co. v. Anderson, 212 U.S. 215, and
those in Fries v. United States, W.D. Ky., 76 F. Supp. 396,
affirmed 170 F. 2d 726, cert. den. 336 U.S. 954, and Dougall
v. Spokane, P. & S. Ry. Co., 9 Cir., 207 F. 2d 843, cert.
den. 347 U.S. 904, certainly Captain Gray was the em-
ployee of the vessel and nof of petitioner. As the rule is put
in the Dougall case, at page 846:

“The test is not for whose benefit the workman is
performing services but who had the right to control
him in the performance of his duties.”

Furthermore, the holding of the Court of Appeals that
this maneuver after all was simply a towing operation of
petitioner's under the direction of its employee Captain
Gray 1s clearly wrong.

This holding of course first of all ignores completely
the contract and the contractual relationships here. The
‘contract between Bay-Houston Towing Company and
Maritime Overseas Corporation did not call for anything
more than the furnishing of tugs and a pilot: it did not
in any way call for Bay-Houston Towing Company to
take charge of and to move the ship as an entire job.

Nor was of course petitioner a party to that contract,
as has been pointed out.

Conclusively to the contrary of the Court’s holding, it
is respectfully submitted, is the fact that the vessel was
fully manned, and the vessel and its movements were in
direct charge of the vessel’s master, who never either in
law or in fact relinquished his command to Captain Gray.

woe

30

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, it is respectfully prayed
that this petition for writ of certiorari be granted and that
the judgment of the Court of Appeals be reversed and the

___petitioner freed from liability and indemnified from any

liability by the vessel and its operator respondent Maritime
Overseas Corporation, and petitioner be held not required
to indemnify the claimant of the M/V HAR CANAAN.

Respectfully submitted,

ROYSTON, RAYZOR & COOK
Cotton Exchange Building
Galveston, Texas

ROBERT EIKEL
1910 Tennessee Building
Houston 2, Texas

By
Attorneys for Petitioner

ROBERT EIKEL,
Of Counsel

31

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that service of the within petition for
writ of certiorari was made upon McLeod, Mills, Shirley
& Alexander, 801 Santa Fe Building. Galveston. Texas.
attorneys for respondents, and Eastham, Watsor, Dale &
Forney, 538 Mellie Esperson Building, Houston. Texas,
attorneys for respondent Maritime Overseas Corporation,
claimant of the M/V HAR CANAAN, by mailing copy
of the same to them at their addresses shown, this
day of July, A. D. 1961.

— Se ee

ROBERT EIKEL

NS PEEP Se A ot ea ee eee

33

APPENDIX I.

IN THE

Anited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 18619

EMMETT GRAY, G & H TOWING COMPANY and
MARITIME OVERSEAS CORPORATION,
Appellants,

Vv.

EDWIN E. JOHANSSON, KANSAS CITY BRIDGE
COMPANY, MERRITT-CHAPMAN & SCOTT COR-
PORATION, and PELICAN ISLAND DEVELOP-

MENT CORPORATION,
Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas.

(March 15, 1961.)

Before TUTTLE, Chief Judge, HUTCHESON, Circuit
Judge, and CLAYTON, District Judge.

HUTCHESON, Circuit Judge: This appeal is from
findings and a judgment in admiralty in favor of the
libeliants, in a suit brought by them as owners of pipe
fines, for damages resulting from their negligent destruc-
tion in the course of shifting the M/V Har Canaan as a
dead ship to a slip in Galveston Harbor.

34

A great deal of testimony was taken on the issue of
fault, and the district judge made full findings in effect
that the destruction of the pipe lines was due to the
negligence of the respondent, Emmett Gray, port cap-
tain for G & H Towing Co., who was furnished by it
as a pilot for the dead ship movement.

Based on these findings, the court adjudged: (1) Gray
liable; (2) the Har Canaan liable in rem; (3) Maritime
Overseas, owner of the Har Canaan, not liable in per-
sonam; and (4) G & H Towing Co., the employer and
furnisher for the movement of Emmett Gray, its port cap-
tain liable in personam. He also denied and awarded in-
demnity as follows:

“Thus, as to the liability over between the
several respondents, the following conclusions are

made.

“6. G & H Towing Company and Captain
Emmett Gray are not entitled to indemnity from
Maritime Overseas Corporation, or from the Har
Canaan, for any payment they may be required to
.make under the decree to be entered herein.

“7. Maritime Overseas Corporation, as claim-
ant of the Har Canaan, is entitled to indemnity
from Captain Emmett Gray, individually, and
from G & H Towing Company for any liability
it will have to libellants under the decree to be
entered herein, The liability of Captain Gray
and G & H Towing Company to Maritime Over-
seas will be joint and several.”

Gray, as the respondent held primarily liable, here
insisting that the findings and conclusions, that he was
negligent in handling the ship so as to cause injury to the
pipe lines, are clearly erroneous, launches massive attacks
upon the findings, that he was negligent, and urges upon

35

us that the cause of the injury to the pipe lines was negli-
gence not on his part but on the part of the pipe line
owners in not properly laying and maintaining the lines
in place and in not clearly and properly marking their
location.

The other appellants icin him in this attack and argue
mightily that the district judge has misconceived what
actually occurred and that the findings of negligence are
against the truth and right of the case.

The G & H Towing Company, in addition to its attack
upon the negligence findings of the court, strongly attacks
the court’s conclusion, that the clause in its contract pro-
viding in effect that it would not be liable for the acts of
pilots furnished by it would not avail it, as an erroneous
‘conclusion of law, and urges that, because of that clause,
Gray’s negligence would not be imputed to it, and it could
not, therefore, be held liable for it.

The Har Canaan and Maritime Overseas Corporation,
its owner, argue vigorously that they were not responsible
and cannot be held liable for the negligence of the pilot.
Each of these argue that the conclusions on idemnity are
wrong.

For the reasons hereafter stated, we are of the opinion:
that the district judge was right throughout in his findings
of fact and in his conclusions of law, that Gray was guilty
of negligence in causing the anchor to be dropped upon the
pipe line, and that, as a result of his negligence, he and
the other respondents found liable are liable to the pipe
line owners for the damage done them; and that the right
of exoneration, action over, or indemnity is as he concluded
it to be.

Taking up first the primary question of whether the
findings of fact as to fault should be set aside, we think

36

it sufficient to briefly say that the matter of fault or
negligence is a disputed issue, and that, on the record as
a whole, there was ample evidence for the district judge
to find, as he did: that Gray and, therefore, the Har Canaan
and its owners, and the G & H Towing Company knew
that the pipe lines were laid in the slip under permit;
that the burden was heavily upon them to show, in defense
of their act in dropping the anchor, that they had made
proper inquiries as to just where they were laid; and that
due care had been used in dropping the anchor to avoid
striking and injuring them in the course of the ship’s
movement; that, in short, Gray and the other respondents
could not shift liability for the affirmative acts causing
injury to the pipe line as a result of dropping the anchor
on the lines by complaining here that, as matter of law,
the pipe line owners were at fault in not marking more
precisely the position of the lines, or that the findings that
they were not are clearly erroneous,

In declaring these views, we are not holding chat the
district judge could not have found the fault and re-
sponsibility as these contend he should have. We are hold-
ing, though, that it was entirely proper for the. district
judge to find, as he did, upon the whole facts, that the
proximate cause of the injury sued for was the failure
of Gray to use due care to find out just where the pipe
lines were, in that, without soundings or otherwise icking
adequate precautions to precisely locate the pipe lines, he
dropped the anchor on them with damaging results.

With the highly important question of primary fault
for the injury thus disposed of by our holding that the
court’s findings as to Gray’s negligence are not clearly
erroneous and must be approved, we turn to the other
questions raised by the several appellants.

2 Reais TE f

37

The first of these is the complaint of all the appellants,
including Gray, that the district judge erred in refusing
to give effect ro the pilotage clause' in the towing contract,
providing in effect that neither Gray nor the Towing Com-
pany, his employer, would be liable for the negligence of
Gray, its employee, indeed its port captain.

Of this, we think it sufficient to say that we agree:
with the district judge’s conclusion that the libellants,
strangers to the contract, cannot, of course, be held bound,
or in any way affected, by its terms; and also with his
conclusions with respect to actions over for exoneration
or indemnity that appellants are bound and precluded by
the decision and holding in Bisso v. Inland Waterways
Corporation, 349 U.S. 85, that such a clause is invalid.
In addition, we think it clear that respondents’ reliance
on Sun Oil Co. v. Dalzell Towing Co., 287 U.S. 291, will
not at all do there, both because of the decision in the
Bisso case, which, on full consideration, rejected the Dalzell
case as authority for the position here taken, and because
the Dalzell case dealt with pilotage in its real sense of
service rendered by publicly licensed involuntary or com-
pulsory pilots, and Gray in the case was not such a pilot.
Though called a pilot, he was merely the person in direct
command with respect to a dead ship towing operation

1 “Whenever any pilot goes on board a vessel to assist
her movement or handling. he becomes and continues to be
solely the servant. agent and employee of said vessel, and
her owners and/or chirterers in respect of all acts done by
him, or ail omissions, and all orders given by him to any
tugs engaged or to said vessel, or otherwise, in the movement
or handling of said vessel. or in connection with any decisions
made by said pilot as to the manner or method of handling
said vessel, and none of the tugs or their owners, agents,
masters, servants, employees or charterers shal! be responsible
or liable for any act or omission of said pilot, or for any
claims or damages caused by or resulting for (sic) any act.
omission or order of said pilot.”

+. East gt

38

who, as such, conducted the operation by coming on board.
Look at it as one will, nothing more can be made of this
case than that it is a mere case of a towing service furnished
by G & H Towing Company and pe-formed by its port
captain who. though denominated “pilot”, was merely the
one in charge of a dead ship towing operation who con-
ducted it by coming on board the dead ship, and the effort
to limit the liability of the towing company for the acts
of those furnished by it to conduct the towing maneuver
must fail here, just as it failed in the Bisso case, and the
judgment denying effect to the invoked clause of the con-
tract must be affirmed.

We are also of the opinion that there is no merit what-
ever in Gray’s claim that he is protected from liability
for his own fault by the terms of the contract, even if
it were otherwise regarded as valid. Neither is there any
merit in the claim of Maritime Overseas Corporation and
Har Canaan, that they are not liable for Gray’s acts
because, under the law governing pilotage, they could not
be held liable for the pilot’s negligence. We find nothing
in the cases cited by them, nothing in the cases generally,
which supports this claim. Indeed, we chink the cases have
settled the law to the contrary, even in a case of true in-
voluntary or compulsory pilotage. Cf. Publicker Industries,
Inc. v. Tug Boat “Neptune” Company et al, 171 F(2) 48;
United States v. Chris Nielson, 349 U.S. 129. We are, there-
fore, of the clear opinion that the court’s findings of fact
as to fault in the injury to the pipe lines cannot be set
aside as clearly erroneous; that his conclusions. that the
respondents held liable were in fact and in law responsible
to the libelants, are correct and may not be set aside; and
that all questions as to actions over for exoneration and/or
indemnity were correctly decided, and the decree is in all

things AFFIRMED.

SE ae Se A RG Se PA 0 ra Reiita FF ‘

39
APPENDIX II

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS
OF LAW

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This proceeding is brought in rem against the Israeli
vessel] HAR CANAAN, claimed by Maritime Overseas
Corporation; in rem against the Tug J. R. GUYTON,
owned by Bay-Houston Towing Company; in rem against
the Tugs JUNO and ALBATROSS, owned by Suderman
& Young Towing Company; and in personam against Bay-
Houston Towing Company; Suderman & Young Towing
Company, and G. & H. Towing Company, the charterer
and operator df the three tugs named. and Emmett Gray,
an individual, employed as Port Captain by G. & H. Tow-
ing Company. The Libellants are Pelican Island Develop-
ment Corporation, the owner of the pipeline work which
was damaged in this casualty; Merritt-Chapman & Scott
Corporation, general construction contractor for the Peli-
can Corporation; Edwin E, Johansson, sub-contractor un-
der Merritt-Chapman & Scott for construction of water
and sewer pipelines between Galveston Island and Pelican
Island; and Kansas City Bridge Company, sub-contractor
under Johansson for the cross channel portion of this con-
struction which was immediately involved. By impleading
petition of cross-libel, Maritime Overseas Corporation asks
indemnification from the Tugs J. R. GUYTON, JUNO,
and ALBATROSS, and from all the named respondents,
for any recovery libellants may obtain against the HAR
CANAAN or her claimant, and by smpleading petition
or cross-libel, those same respondents jointly and severally
ask indemnification from Maritime Overseas Corporation
for any recovery libellants may obtain against them.

40

A trial having been had on the issues of liability alone,
and having received and considered the evidence and the
briefs and arguments of the proctors for the respective
parties, these Fndings and Conclusions are made by me
pursuant to Admiralty Rule 461.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The channel between Galveston Island and Pelican
Island is a part of the Galveston harbor. Slip A is im-
mediately west of Pier 41 on the Galveston Island or
southerly side of this channel. The width of the channel at
this point is approximately 1400 feet, and the channel at
this point is dredged to a depth of approximately 35 feet
between the harbor lines, a distance of 1125 feet.

2. On April 12, 1956, a permit was issued to libellants
through the office of the United States Corps of Engineers
for the construction of water and sewer mains, each ap-
proximately 12 inches in diameter, to be laid in a trench
across the Galveston channel, and at a depth not less than
$0 feet below mean low water. By amendment of thie per-
mit on December 16, 1957, the center line for this cross-
ing, at the southerly or Galveston Island end, was estab-
lished at a point which the evidence shows to be approxi-
mately 18 feet eastward from the northeast corner of Slip
A, and the line of bearing for the crossing from that point
was N 10° 23’ 25”, or almost directly across the channel
to a point opposite on Pelican Island.

3. Acting under this permit, as originally issued and so
amended, Merritt-Chapman, as general contractor for the
Pelican Corporation, contracted with Johansson for the
construction of these pipelines, and Johansson in turn sub-
contracted to Kansas City Bridge Company that part of
the work which involved laying the sub-aqueous lines. A

41

‘trench was dredged across the channel to the necessary
depth of 511% feet, which was approximately 16 feet deeper
than the normal depth of the channel between the harbor
lines. The dredged trench followed the center line of the
crossing as established by the amended permit, and extended
about 50 feet to either side of that centerline. This portion
of the work was completed prior to November 27, 1957,
and soundings of the trench were made by the United States
Corps of Engineers on that date. Late in 1957, Kansas City
Bridge Company began receiving sections of the steel pipe
to be laid at a job site-at the Pelican Island end of the cross-
ing, and for sometime thereafter was engaged in welding
short sections of this pipe into 400 foot lengths, testing
the welds, and covering this pipe with a protective wrap-
ping. Meanwhile, in December, 1957, and January, 1958,
a large “whirley” or crane barge was used to dredge the
ends of the trench, outside of the harbor lines. A cavein of
the bulkhead at the northeast corner of Slip A, caused by
this dredging, was repaired in December, 1957. In January,
1958, a bulldozer was used to cut a 400 foot ditch on
Pelican Island into which the long sections of pipe could
be placed preparatory to their being drawn into the water.

4. On January 27, 1958, pulling cables were stretched
across the channel, and the leading section of each pipeline
was hung below a barge at the Pelican Island end. On the
ensuing four days, the two p’pelines were drawn behind
this barge and laid in the trench across the channel which
had been dug to receive them. On January 31, 1958, the
channel was cleared again for marine trafic. Between
February 6 and February 25, 1958, the whirley barge wa;
employed as riser sections were welded to the two pipe-
lines, first at the Galveston Island end, then the Pelican
Island end. Between February 27 and March 4, 1958, divers

42

were used to walk the pipelines and ascertain their position
and alignment. The whiriey barge was used to uncross the
lines at one point in mid-channel during this work. On
March 5, the lines were filled with water for hydrostatic
pressure tests, and they remained filled with water until
the later casualty.

§. The remaining work on the pipelines prior to the
casualty in suit, which occurred on March 21, 1958, was
concerned with the construction of a thrust block over the
risers at the Galveston Island end, just east of the entrance
to Slip A, and itnmediately in front of the bulkhead be-
tween Slip A and Pier 41. Sleeves were welded around the
risers where they passed through the bulkhead, a wooden
form was constructed for the thrust-block, and this was
lowered into place over the risers after the ground had
been cleared by a diver. On the morning of March 21,
and at the time of the casualty, concrete was being poured
for this thrust-block. A diver was then below directing
this work, and his tenders were on the deck of the whirley
barge which lay at the northeasterly corner of Slip A, and
partly into that Slip. The crane of the whirley barge ex-
tended over the work area. On the channel side of the
bulkhead, a small “sea mule” and a larger flat barge were
immediately above and adjacent to the work area, and per-
sonnel employed by Kansas City Bridge Company were on
these work boats as well as upon the bulkhead.

6. In addition to the physical evidence already related
showing the construction and placement of these pipelines
across the channel, and to the notice thereof contained in
the permit issued by the United States Corps of Engineers,
at least three “Notices to Mariners” had been issued by
the Corps of Engineers, on November 15, 1957, December
25, 1957, and January 16, 1958, advising of this construc-

43

tion. On December 30, 1957, double signboards, measuring
7 feet 10 inches, by 16 feet. on each face, and bearing
large letters reading “WARNING. -PIPL CROSSING—
DO NOT DRAG ANCHOR” were placed on either side
of the channel, the sign on the Galveston side being centered
about 31 feet east of the center line established for the
crossing, and the sign on the Pelican side being centered
about 115 feet east of this center line. The legend of either
sign was easily visible to any ship proceeding up or down
the channel.

7. The Israeli ship HAR CANAAN is a dry-cargo ves-
sel of 10,311 gross tons, Her length is 515 feet 2 inches,
and her beam is 66 feet 7 inches. She carried two anchors
forvard, each weighing approximately 8900 pounds. Ac—
the time of this casualty the ship was light and drawing
approximately 10 feet. Her forecastle deck was approxi-
mately 40 feet above the water line, her bridge deck was
approximately 60 feet above the water line, and the hori-
zontal distance from the hawse-pipes in the bow of the ship
to the bridge was about 200 feet.

8. On the morning of March 21, 1958, the HAR
CANAAN was fully manned, equipped and seaworthy
excepting that her main engines were shut down for re-
pairs. Her agents at Galveston, Strachan Shipping Com-
pany, gave an order to Bay-Houston Towing Company
to furnish three tugs and a pilot to move the HAR
CANAAN as a “dead” ship from Pier 15, where she was
then lying, to Sunset Grain Elevator at the inner end of
Slip A. The distance between these points was approxi-
mately two miles.

9. Bay-Houston Towing Company held a contract with
Maritime Overseas Corporation, operator of the HAR
CANAAN, to move its vessel on stated rates and terms.

44

10. The only towing companies offering tug service for
shifting ocean going vessels in the port of Galveston at
the time in question were Bay-Houston Towing Company,
Suderman & Young Towing Company, and Intracoastal
Towing & Transporation Company. Each of these com-
panies owned a nuraber of harbor tugs. These three “‘own-
ing companies” competed with one another in the sense
that they solicited their own business, made their own
contracts, and invoiced the towed vessels for the service
performed, However, the services which were available to
the owners and operators of ocean going vessels in the port
of Galveston from the three “owning companies” were
identical. This comes about in that the three “owning com-
panies” did not 6perate their own tugs, bur all three
chartered, bareboat, their tugs to G. & H. Towing Com-
pany, an operating Company, which was owned jointly by
the three “owning companies”. In carrying out the orders
for towing service, G. & H. Towing Company would use
the tugs which were most readily available and convenient,
without regard to the ownership, and regardless of which
of the three “owning companies” may have had the con-
tract with the vessel to be towed. The contracts between
the “owning companies” and the vessels (or their owners
or charterers) expressly allowed for performance in this
manner. The contracts offered by the three “owning com-
panies” (their owners or charterers) were identical in terms,
and upon a single printed form. The rates too were the
same, save for an exclusive contract a ten percent (10‘, )
reduction was allowed. The contract with Maritime Over-
seas was of this nature, and carried the ten percent (10°, )
discount.

11. Among the other provisions of this contract, to
which reference is made for all purposes, was the following

45

provision, which by reason of its significance is quoted
here:

“Whenever any pilot goes on board a vessel to assist
her movement or handling, he becomes and continues
to be solely the servant, agent and employee of said
vessel, and her owners and/or charterers in respect to
all acts done by him, or all omissions, and all orders
given by him to any tugs engaged or to said vessel or
otherwise, in the movement or handling of said ves-
sel, or in connection with any decisions made by said
pilot as to the manner or method of handling said
vessel, and none of the tugs or their owners, agents,
Masters, servants, employees or charterers shall be re-
sponsible or liable for any act or omission of said pilot,
or for any claims or damages caused by or resulting
for any act, omission or order of said pilot.”

12. Captain Emmett Gray, one of the respondents, is
full time ‘and salaried employee of G. & H. Towing Com-
pany. Prior to March 1, 1958, he had served for several
years as night dispatcher for G. & H., and on that date he
became Port Captain for G. & H., and was placed in full
charge of the dispatching office. Since 1932, he has held
an unlimited pilot’s license covering Galveston harbor, as
well as other adjacent waters. As Port Captain for G. & H.,
he was the “dead ship” pilot assigned by his employer for
all shifting of dead ships within Galveston harbor when
the tugs operated by G. & H. were employed. Out of the
fixed charge made for shifting a vessel without her power,
Captain Gray received a percentage of this charge (in addi-
tion to his salary from G. & H.), with the balance of the
charge going to the company owning the contract (one
of the three “owning companies”), and G. & H. as the
operating company. In this regard, it should be noted that
Captain Gray’s duties with G. & H. did not contemplate,

46

nor did he accept, employment as a harbor or branch pilot
(meeting incoming vessels at the sea buoy, and bringing
them, usually under their own power, into Galveston har-
bor, with converse seivice for out going vessels.)

13. On the morning of March 21, 1958, Captain Gray
boarded the HAR CANAAN as she lay at Pier 15, and
assumed the conning of the vessel. He informed her Master
ot his intention to use the port anchor in turning the ship
into Slip A. and the First Mate of the HAR CANAAN,
with a deck crew, was stationed in her bow and the anchor
made ready for use on orders from the bridge. Thereupon,
the HAR CANAAN was moved westerly down the chan-
nel toward Slip A, with the Tugs JUNO, ALBATROSS,
and J. R. GUYTON, made up alongside and providing the
only motive and directional power for the vessel under
orders given directly to them by Captain Gray from the
bridge of the HAR CANAAN. The Master of the HAR
CANAAN was also upon the bridge of his vessel at all
times during the maneuver, and he relayed to the First
Officer in the bow and the crew orders as received from
Captain Gray during the maneuver, including the order
to let go the port anchor. The helm of the HAR CANAAN
was lashed, as her propelling machinery was shut down, and
she had no steerageway of her own.

14. Shortly after noon, as the HAR CANAAN reached
the vicinity of Pier 41, she was navigated by the tugs at
an angle from the center of the channel toward the open-
ing of Slip A. Captain Gray then ordered the port anchor
to be dropped, with one shot of chain, and this order was
promptly executed. Subsequently, the bow of the ship,
with anchor down, continued to move toward the north-
east corner of Slip A and came within about 10 feet of con-
tact with the whirley barge in that position before the
anchor was heaved in some five minutes later. Almost im-

47

mediately after the anchor was dropped, violent move-
ments of the sewer pipe, which was westerly of the two
pipes being laid, were perceptible to the workmen on shore
as well as to the diver working underwater. Sounds such
as would have been caused by the breaking of the pipe-
line were also heard by the workmen on shore when the
anchor of the HAR CANAAN was heaved in. Subsequent
investigations did show that the sewer line was badly bent
or broken, but still in the trench, at a point approxi-
mately 250 feet out in the channel, and was completely
broken at a point only 90 feet from the bulkhead, with
the ends of the pipe at this point pulled out of the trench
and lying in front of the opening to Slip A.

15. Immediately prior to the arrival of the HAR
CANAAN at Slip A on the 21st of March, 1958, the
water and sewer lines were being constructed Ly libellants
in accordance with the permit duly issued for that pur-
pose, and these two pipelines were properly situated at the
depth and in the position prescribed in such permit, as
amended December 16, 1957.

16. The port anchor of the HAR CANAAN was
dropped on, or dragged over, one, or perhaps both of said
lines, on March 21, 1958, breaking the sewer line, the more
westerly of the two, and causing damages to each of the
libellants in amounts to be determined.

17. Captain Gray was neg'igent in giving the order to
drop the anchor when he shou!d have been aware of the
construction and presence of the pipelines from general
knowledge, the Notices to Mariners, and the prominent
warning signs which were plainly visible.

18. Captain Gray was not misled by the position of the
warning signs, and was negligent in giving the order to
drop the anchor without regard to the presence of the pipe-
lines,

48

19. The tide was nearing the end of the ebb, and the
wind was from the southeast at force three, although
neither weather, wind nor tide were factors of any con-
sequence in the handling of the HAR CANAAN at the
time, and no emergency or necessity required that the
anchor be dropped at the place where it was dropped.

20. Captain Gray was acting within the scope and course
of his employment by G. & H. Towing Company at all
times material hereto, and was not a loaned servant to
the vessel or her operators at such times.

21. The Master of the HAR CANAAN was not nezgli-
gent in failin, to intervene, or displace, the pilot when
the order to drop the anchor was issued by Captain Gray,
because the situation was not one of obvious danger, and
the pilot’s lack of knowledge was not manifest so as to
warrant intervention by the Master.

22. Neither the Master nor crew of the HAR CANAAN
was negligent, or at fault, in any particular.

23. The assisting tugs were properly maneuvered by their
crews in accordance with orders given them, and were in
no way at fault.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Captain Emmett Gray is personally liable for his own
acts of negligence.

2. G. & H. Towing Company is liable for the negligence
of Captain Gray as its employee.

3. The HAR CANAAN is liable, in rem, for the negli-
gence of Captain Gray as her pilot.

4. Libellants are entitled to recover their provable dam-
ages, as their interests may appear, from the HAR
CANAAN, in rem, from G. & H. Towing Company, in
personam, and from Emmett Gray, individually. The lia-
bility so decreed shall be joint and several.

49

§. Libellants are not entitled to recover from che tugs
J. R. GUYTON, JUNO, or ALBATROSS, in rem, or
from Bay-Houston Towing Company or Suderman &
Young Towing Company, in personam.

The foregoing Conclusions dealing with the liability of
the respondents to libellants, in my judgment, follow quite
readily from the Findings of Fact set out above, and pre-
sent no serious question of law.

The libellants obviously were not parties to the contract
of towage between Maritime Overseas ind Bay-Houston,
and the liability of respondents to libellants has been deter-
mined without regard to the provisions of such contract.

In considering the question of liability over between’
the various respondents,, however, the validity of the so-
called “pilotage” clause (Finding No. 11) is placed in issue.

Maritime Overseas contends such provision is void, as
contrary to public policy, relying primarily on Bisso 1.
Inland Waterways Corp., 349 U.S. 85, and the related
Opinions immediately following. Respondents G. & H. and
Captain Gray in supporting the validity of the exclupatory
provisions rely primarily on Sun Oil Co. v. Dalzell Towing
Co., Inc., 287 U.S. 291.

Under the facts found above, in my judgment, Bisso is
controlling, by reason of the following circumstances,
which I consider to have been stressed by the Court; (a)
the vessel was being moved entirely under the power of
the furnished tugs, and without power or control of her
own; and (b) by reason of the monopolistic situation
which prevailed in the vicinity of Galveston harbor, where-
by a vessel had no freedom of choice in the type of towing
contract offered, but must accept a contract with such
exculpatory provisions if in fact it was to secure the assist-
ance of tugs in its movement. Here, as in Bisse, the vessel
was under complete control of Captain Gray, as an em-

. 50

ployee of the towing company, and such towing company
did “have power to drive hard bargains.”

The instant case is distinguished from Dalzell in these
same particulars, for there the Court points out (a) “It
was not shown that respondcnt was to have or at any time
did have control of the tanker or that it agreed or under-
took to co more than to furnish tugs to assist her while
using her own propelling power.”; and (b) “Respondent
had no exclusive privilege or monopoly in respect of the
services that petitioner desired to have performed for its
CONE 6-6 2 There is nothing to suggest that the parties
were not on equal footing or that they did not deal at
arm's length.”

Thus, as to the liability over between the several respond-
ents, the following Conclusions are made.

6. G. & H. Towing Company and Captain Emmett
Gray are not entitled to indemnity from Maritime Overseas
Corporation, or from the-HAR CANAAN, for any pay-
ment they may be required to make under the decree to
be entered herein.

7. Maritime Overseas Corporation, as claimant of the
HAR CANAAN, is entitled to indemnity from Captain
Emmett Gray, individually, and from G. & H. Towing
Company for any liability it will have to libellants under
the decree to be entered herein. The liability of Captain

= Gray and G. & H. Towing Company to Maritime Overseas
will be joint and several.

The Clerk of the Court will furnish counsel of record
a copy hereof.

Counsel will present appropriate order promptly.

Done at Houston, Texas, this 24th day of December,
1959.

BEN C. CONNALLY
United States District Judge

51
APPENDIX III

No. 18619
JUDGMENT

Extract from the Minutes of March 15, 1961
EMMETT GRAY, G. & H. TOWING COMPANY,
and MARITIME OVERSEAS CORPORATION,
Appellants

v.

EDWIN E. JOHANSSON, KANSAS CITY BRIDGE
COMPANY, MERRITT-CHAPMAN & SCOTT
CORPORATION and PELICAN ISLAND
DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION,
Appellees

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of the
record from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas, and was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here
ordered, adjudged and decreed by this Court that the decree
of the said District Court in this cause be, and the same
is hereby, affirmed;

It is further ordered, adjudged and decreed that the
appellants, Emmett Gray and G. & H. Towing Company,
be condemned to pay the costs of this cause in this Court
for which execution may be issued out of the said District
Court.

$2

APPENDIX IV
PERTINENT CONTRACT PROVISIONS

BAY-HOUSTON TOWING CO.

* *# *

“The rates quoted herein, and the furnishing of tug
power for harbor or other towage undertaken hereunder,
are founded on the consideration that this agreement shall
not be construed to be a personal contract, and it is under-

stood that
BAY-HOUSTON TOWING COMPANY

and the parties at interest with us shall have the benefit of
the exemption from liability contained in the United States
Limitation of Liability Statute, Title 46 U.S.C.A. 181 to
184, both inclusive. ,

, 195

“The Bay-Houston Towing Co. offers to meet your
steamers upon arrival at Galveston, Houston, Texas City,
Corpus Christi, or Port Aransas, and provide tugboat power
for your steamers while in port, in accordance with tow-
boat tariff shown herein and conditions named therein.

“Should Bay-Houston Towing Co. tugs be not con-
veniently available for the required services, the said Bay-
Houston Towing Co, shall have the right to designate or
engage the tugs, and such other tugs and their owners or
operators shall be covered by this contract as though they
were Bay-Houston Towing Co. tugs.

53

“Whenever any pilot goes on board a vessel to assist her
movement or handling, he becomes and continues to be
solely the servant, agent and employee of said vessel, and
her owners and/or charterers in respect of all acts done
by him, or all omissions, and all orders given by him to
any tugs engage or to said vessel or otherwise, in the move-
ment or handling of said vessel, or in connection with any
decisions made by said pilot as to the manner or method of
handling said vessel, 1nd none of the tugs or their owners,
agents, Masters, servants, employees or charterers shall be
res ,onsible or liable for any act or omission of said pilot,
or for any claims or damages caused by or resulting for
any act, omission or order of said pilot.

“This contract to become effective on the date shown
above and to remain in force until —
and to continue thereafter from year to year until cancelled
by either party on an anniversary date of this contract.
After written notice, rates named herein may be adjusted
in the light of increase or decrease in operating expenses
due to changes in laws or regulations and changes in work-
ing conditions of labor and labor co's in all branches.

“All charges are net, except when services are performed
under contract, then a discount of 10‘, is to ipply on all
tariff rates.

BAY-HOUSTON TOWING COMPANY

abide cic setdeasseatcencla slit satcanaladeairaaieie

Se ee ee ee eee ee ee ee a es

54

ACCEPTANCE

“We accept the offer of the Bay-Houston Towing Co.
for all tug power our steamers, or steamers operated for our
account, unless otherwise bound by charter may require
at the Ports of Galveston, Houston, Texas City, Corpus
Christi and Port Aransas, in accordance with the rates and
conditions named in tariff shown herein.

By ”

(In the provisions covering Assisting Vessels, at Galves-
ton-Texas City, but not under the provisions for services
at other named ports, the contract had a provision “Pilot-
age-Shifting Vessels Without Own Power..... 60.00”)

-

55

APPENDIX V
B H |
TUGS:
Cc. R. HADEN LAURA HADEN
H. 0. WEATHERBEE LUCY HADEN
J. R. GUYTON R. T. McDOW
JENNIFER GEORGE R. J. WALES

W. A. WANSLEY

Pa BARBARA GEORGE
J. HARRIS MASTERSON

TUG BOAT HARBOR TARIFF
EFFECTIVE APRIL 10, 1957

BAY-HOUSTON TOWING CO.

GALVESTON HOUSTON
504 National Hotel Bidg. 811 Cotton Ex nange Building
Phone 5-9381 Phone: CApitol 2-6231
Pier *. Wharf Phone: 3-4673 Dock Phone: W Ainut 8-5406
83-4673 - 5-7534 JAckson 4-8635
Night Phones :{ 5-6542 Night Phones :{ UNderwood 9-2701
CORPUS CHRISTI
Ore Dock

Phone: TUlip 4-8791 & TUlip 3-7843
Night Phone: 53 Ingleside

Gelf Coast Towing, Harbor Towing, 08 Lightering
and Transportation

OIL BARGE IFS 201

CORRESPONDENCE AND WORK SOLICITED

B Teg Calls: diols (Leng, Short, Leng)
H Teg Cals: aaictesn ____( Leng, Short, Leng, Shert)

SRA SSN ER He Ast tae EPS oe newer ee

MICRO ¢

TRADE M

56

TOWBOAT HARBOR TARIFF
GALVESTON, TEXAS CITY AND HOUSTON SIIP CHANNEL

GALVESTON — TEXAS CITY

“lovking or Off Docking. at Gatvston. per tug $190 60

Stifung Dock to Dock per tag 205 00

Off docking and to Botwar Reads. per tug 230 00

Off docking and to Texas City and Decking. per tug 330 00

BKonvar Roads to Texas City or vice versa per tag 230 00

Dorking Off Docking, or Shifting at Texas City, per tus nw oe
Towing vessels oc ocean barges from Gaivestor Bart) Hel.var Roads Texas (ty or Galves

ton Docks, per tug 1 hour or fractional part 105 Ov

Running time chargeabie

Shifting derrick barges —Gaeivesten Harbor &S 00

Galveston to Bolivar Roads BS 06

Galveston te Texas City 135.00

Vietage Shifting Vessels Without Own Power 60 OH

SPECIAL SERVICES

Vultiag on Cay aground
When tug is engaged in assisting vease!. one-half hour free pulling time each succeeding hour or

fractiona| part s wor

When Tug not engaged in assisting vesse! Ver howr or fractions) part 95.00
Running time chargeabic

Purnm@iing and dehvernng water tc ships at anchorage Per Trp 200 00

IN TOWING VESSELS OF BARGES TOWED VESSELS TO FURNISH HaWwSERS

When Tug ordered to certain points to perform services and ordess cancelied after Tug jenves berth minimum
charges of $6000 at Galveston and $9000 at Texas City wii he made

Detention caused by vease! not being ready at time specified when tug ordered to be charged for a! $60.00 per
hour with one-half hour free time allowed

HOUSTON SHIP CHANNEL

BETWEEN
Morgans Pout and Ordnance Depot, Shel), Port Adams. Todd Shipyards or Sheffield $380 OF
Morgans Pont and Baytown 220 OF
Helivar Roads and Morgans Pomt or Baytown 430.00
Bolivar Roads and Ordnance Depot. Shell, Port Adams. Todd Shipyards or Sheffiek 455.00
Galveston and Baytown 440 0H
inne City and Baytown Ra 440.00

ouston ant Noreworthy, Crown, Galena or Sinco 240 00
one and — Shipyards, Port Adams, Sheffield, Shel) or Ordnance Depot 330 00
(alveston and Housten 580 OF
Bolivar Roads and Houston S80 00
Texas City and Houston 580 00
Morgan's Point and Houston 430 00
Hw Bay 405 OF
Baytown and Ordnance Depot. Sheil, Port Adams. Tedc SSipyards or Sheffield 3RO 00

(Norsworthy Crown Galena Sinco Clinten Manchester take same rates as Houston from above points |
: Above charges ieciuding Docking of Off Docking

TOWBOAT HARBOR TARIFF
GALVESTON, TEXAS CITY AND HOUSTON SHIP CHANNEL

HOUSTON SHIP CHANNEL
DOCKING AND OFF DOCKING
Deeting of Off Docking at all pont: between Manchester Terminal and Turn ng Hasin Goth melusive Simo Oe
Decking of OE Dorking at pont. telow Manenester to Norsworthy imelusis. 19 OF
Dorking of Off Decking a! pornts below Norswerthy to Ordnance Depot ineiusics 240
Decking or Off Dorking af Baytown a Oe
SH'FTING

Shifting vessel. between ducts at Manchester Terminal an! Turning tas beth onelasce per tug $20. 00
Shifting vessels between points teiow Manchester to Norsworthy onectusrw: per tug 20 Ow
Shifting veasets from one pont & another on the same dock between port. Selow Norsworthy to Ondnanes

Depot metus: ve 20 08
Shifting vesseis between ports below Norsworthy to Shei inciusive per tug 380 00
Shiftang from on berth to another at Bayt en 230

MISCELLANEOUS SERVICES

Pulling on ships aground
When tug is engaged! in assinting vesse! one half heur free pulling time ach succeeding hour or
fractiona! part 80 00
When tug is not engaged in assisting vesse! per hour or fractional part oo
Running time chargeable
The above rates to a for a mingle tug
vgs to stand by but not put tc work wil! be charged for the same as if pulling
Kates for tow dead ships between points on Houston Ship ( hanne other than above speefied. will be charged for
on “pulling ume basis ~
All towed vessels to furnish towing hawsers
Holding vessels off dock and redocking shifting rates to apply
Standing by or hoiding vesse! in stream or alongmide bank waiting for berth pulling time rate will apply
When T ordered to certain points to perform services and onmters caneriied after Tug leaves berth minimum
ree of $60.00 w)\\ be made
Pemunibien and delivenng water to ships Ver Trip 200 Ov

letention caused by vesee! not being ready at time specified wher tug ordered tbe charged for at $60.00 per hour
with one half hour free time allowed

PORT ARANSAS— CORPUS CHRISTI

Decking off docking or shifting at Harber isiand S2R0
Aamsting between ‘Harter Istand and Corpus Chrvet 430 U0
Sea to Ingleside BRO 00
To dock at ingtenae

When tug is at Ingiemde 290 Oo

When tug is not at Ingiesmde 380 00
Asmeting between ingieeids and Harte: tolan! 2RO 00
A between ingie de and Corpus Christ. pe 380 OO
Sea to Chrmat: and dock “3 430 00
From bridge at Corpus Christ: and to dock at Turning Hasin wharves 210 00
To dock at wharves in ( . nest. Turning Hasire 180 00
“Sh in Corpus Chovat) Turti.g Basin 205 00
Sea to Termina! of the Reynolds Meta! (ompany (Near ingi side) 395 ©
Decking or undo-king at Terminal of the Keynolds Meta) Company (Near Ingieside) 395 00
Prom outesde bridge to al! points between Sunray Dock ane ()) Docks | & 4 inciunive 230 66
From Turmng Basin inside the bridge to above docks 220 00
Te decking or off docking at above dorks 220 08
To shiftang between above docks or between above docks and docks in Corpus Christ) Turning Basin 220 00
Puthng on ships aground

When tug i engaged ir asaiatin. «esse! one half nour free puiling time each sucereding hour or

fractiona! par #0 00
When tug i net engaged m assisting vesse) per hour or fractional part 95 00

ume
When Tug ordered to certain points to perform services and orders canceiied after Tug leaves berth min
imum charges of $60 00 at Corpus ( hmst: and Harber Isiand and 89°06 at Ingiemde wil) be made
The above rates t apply for « single tug

Detention (ne half hour free time ye oer hour 60 00
Furneshing and deliwernng water to ships at Harbor sian’ Ingiesse or ‘ orpus Chet) Per Trp 200 06
OVERTIME RATE

20% will be added to the anf! rates for al! work performed between Ue nours of © IM and ° AM ais for work
performed on Sundays and Holiday» and Mondays folowing Holdays

‘rvertome Rate to apply when service ix started and of completed in an overtime Nour

Starting time wri! be the time Tug leaves berth and time of compietion wo be the tome Tug returns te berth

58

FORCE MAJEURE e

Neither party shall be responsible for delays, failures or omission hereunder due to strikes.
jockouts. labor disturbances, cots, fire, earthquakes, storm, hghtning. epidemics, war disorders,
acts of God, etc

The rates quoted herem. and the furnishing of tug power for harbor or other towage under-
taken hereunder, are founded on the consideration that this agreement shali not be construed to be
a personal contract, and it is understood that

BAY-HOUSTON TOWING COMPANY

and the parties at interest with us shall have the benefit of the exemption from lability contained
in the United States Limitation of Liability Statute, Tithe 16 [ S.C.A. 181 to 184, both inclusive

iene ~ %...

The Bay-Houston Towing Co offers to meet your steamers upon arrival at Galveston, Hous
ton, Texas City, Corpus Christi. or Port Aransas, and pros ide tugbeat pewer for your steamers
while in pert, in accordance with towboat tariff shown herein and conditions named therein

Should Bay-Houston Towing Co tugs be not convementls available for the required services.
the said Bay-Houston Towing Co. shall have the right te designate or engage the tugs, and such
other tugs and their owners or operators shall be covered by this contract as though they wer:
Bay Houston Towing Co tugs

Whenever any pilot goes on beard a vessel te assist her movement or handling, he becomes
and continues to be solely the servant, agent and emplovee of said vessel, and her owners and/or
charterers in respect of all acts done by him, or all emissions, and all orders given by him te any
tugs engage or te said vessel or otherwise in the Movement or handling Of said vessel, or in con
nection with any decisions made by said pilot as te the manner or method of handling said vesse.,
and none of the tugs or their owners, agents, Masters, servants, employees or charterers shall be
responsible or lable for any act or omission of sard print, or for any claims or damages caused by or
resulting for any act, omission or order of said pilot

This contract to become effective on the date shown above and to remain in foree until

and te continue thereafter from vear to vear until cancelled by either

party on an anniversary date of this contract After written notice, rates named herein may be

adjusted in the light of increase or decrease in operating expenses due te changes in laws or regu
jations and changes tn working conditions of laber and labor costs in all branches

All charges are net. except when services are pe rformed under contract, then a discount of
10%. is to apply on all tariff rates

BAY HOUSTON TOWING COMPANY

ACCEPTANCE

We accept the offer of the Bay-Houston Towing Co for all tug power our steamers, or
steamers operated for our account, unless otherwise bound by charter may require at the Ports of
Galveston, Houston, Texas City, Corpus Christ: and Port Aransas, in accordance with the rates
and conditions named in tariff shown hereim

Oye

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0134%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
