# Brief for Petitioner — Bushnell v. Ellis

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0100%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for Petitioner
- **Published:** January 1, 1961
- **Citation:** 366 U.S. 418

## Text

CC jp ; Mice, prem LOU DS
%e PETIT ue 8 1, . .
; ;
XX °
mo ‘ : t JA Me a | iw ‘ 'N Rte
wr Por crporee cocre ar ome
IN THE SUPREME COURS UF THE UNITED
OCTOBER TERM, 100)
No. 561
“EAMES Mo BUSHNELL.
I’, ney ’
‘ \
B. ELLIS, Director, 1 Dapartinent of Corrections,”
WT / jel /
WRIT OF CRELICGRARDL To Jrbk eo \] Al’) \
7 kf TENAS
s vy
BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER
Pp
a #
. . Perneye DD. Waerran
Be ( ‘dai / / /
" _ 4
L000 Chal? ray

i/ (srr) “ /

. ENDEX
SUBJECT INDEX

eo

\ : » Page

Brier row THR PeTIrioNnen:
,

Opinion Below “ ]

| Jurisdiction: | pare 7

| Question Presented biel aoe 2
_ Constitutional Provision and Statutes Involved 2
“Stateme ood rage cuaacietvsnateparsuvisv devas sorkengesecotsiatetindeys s
Summary of Arewne Sere are sadn ee: tek lee ae

) Argument: *-

The State court's Conviction of Petitioner on the —
charge of robbery ky assault, after the court's
refasal or failure to appoint defense counsel,
deprived Petitioner of due process of law because

| @ he was unable to protect himself at trial in view
of his yguth and ignorance, the conduct of the
1£ court ant the prosecuting attorney, and complex
. problems as to the admissibility and purpose of
MIE ios ices ccses screeners Nescestouitn ton: . 26
Comelusion ...9.ccccs.cessseesceeseeeee Mpasdetsakienccetenroetadias © Fass 39°
| * | CITATIONS |
| CASES: + ; $. |
|. Abston v. State, 182 Tex. Cr. R. 130, 102 S.W.
} * ‘ Te scsasccetnvinahiicnrcabtcaciccexsnnicniguahitamiah sciccisi hones 20
* Allgood v. State, 141 Tex. Cr. R. 327,148 S.W.
. | 2d 433 ..... Agienbnisne awenxolsauticoastnanihacthaaancivels vaieaes 30
} e “ Bingham y. Slate, 97° Tex. Cr. R. 594, 262 SW.
y . TIE scisnriss ves staaniatesistatonrasavmuactios tetas eceatiis 30
’Brooken v. State, aigt ex. } PP: in 1, »S.W. (30 27
' Brown v.Mississtppr, 297 U.S. 278 ..ccceceeeeeseees 29
- Cash v. Culver, 358 U.S. 683 .........ccccccccsccsssseeceees 39, 36
| eo Cavazos v. State, 143 Tex. Cr. R. 564, 160 S.W.
f seca tevievincthetscn oie viciastaiedasteestaiecgaoeaicnen 30
| | . .

ii.

IN DbsX
Priapre
Chambers vo Florida, SoU UWS, 227 av
Childress Vv. State, 92 Tex, Ce. R. 215, 241 De! W,
129 : . oe
Davis vo State, 105 Tex. Cr. R. 496, 308 SW. 2d
SS) beens Bu
Dayyv State, ‘ > Tex’ ( r. R.173, 338 SW. 2a Sil 82
Dean, Stal 2p x. Cig SAT THE SW. 974 30
Dennis vy. State, 141 Tex, (rr, R. 304, 148 S.W. 2a
LQ0S i ‘2 ol
Dimgrtv Sale, 136 Tex. Cr. Ro 197, 240 S.W.-
Sd 293 . Fe iksayi Se ; * gv
hen part Bush, 166 Tex, ¢ r. R. 399, 313,8.W. 2d 4
287 TV ESRERMS FAB. ye oe ste Oe sbedy oo

Kar parte Davis, a1 Tex. Cr. R. 608, 108 SAW. S894 27
1 Pi aphid Harrelson, Qi Okla. es. R. 399, 264 :.

Bibbs Vv. Burke, 837 US. 773 sicadcdpeeadouneinievist ioe Say
Gitbert v. State, 162 Tex. Cr. R. 200, 284 SW. 2d

A Cre a ear Sa. OS

Golemon v. State, I 57 Tex. Cr. R. 534, 247 SW, .

I sarap Ree hs
Huttoy NT OEC | ad Bee WH 6 SI xccncnccccctwaccovsvecsccxes ee a
In re Charles, 344 P.2d 1118 ........ ir ee ee ae 27

Kunz v. State, 166 Tex. Cr. R. 4, 310 S.W. 2d
SERN ee henner ee ee ees cc 2

Lisenba s. California, Ai Bap a 28

Mahoney vy. State, 33 Tex. Cr R. 288, 26 S.W. 622 3

Massie Vv. State, 27 Tex? App. 577, 11 S.W. 638 3
Moore v. State, 324-S.W. 2d 879.........:....¢.............. 31, 38
NVuvarvtte v. State, 103 Tex. Cr. R. 449, 281 SW.

Pak ae ee ee a ee 31
Parker 'v. State, ‘01 Tex. Cr. R. 68, 238 S.W.,, 943 3
Payne v. Arkansas, 366 U.S. 560 ck. WS, 29
Pettibane v. Nichols, 208 U.S. 192. coccccscoseccs ce. tae
Pierson v. State, 145 Tex. Cr. R. 388, 168 S.W,

See a ee oe 31
Pollard v. State, 33 Tex. Cr. R. 197, 26 S.W. 70 32
Roberts v. State, 44 Tex, Cr. R. 267, 708. W. 4233 of
Sexton v. State, 83 Tex. Cr. R. 416, YOS. Ww. $33 .. 31, 32

INDEX il
0
; » Pa
Stalery. State, 30 7Pex, Cr, Ro 167, ouS.W. 2d

py Se «RE 29-30
Stafford, Stete, Wy Tex . R. 174, 67 SW. 2d

Je) . ee ‘ pa oe s : ol
Thompson Ve State, 124 Tex. Cr. R. 440, 63 S.W.

Ld S49 : /
Tou UNE nil Vi Drink : oud [us, ib i
Vaughn ve State, Wo Tex. Cr R, Tle, loo SAW,

ee AO hae ge ER OD eer @
Ward ve Te ras, 316 U.S. 347 27, 28, 29
Williams “ooSTale, 88 ‘Tex. Cr. R. Si, 225 S.W.

liz eek po Reagan on a
We iloughby Sa State O87 Tex. Cr, Re 40, 219 SOW.

ee hil Aa beter athan waapiies ME LS eat ae 31

STATUTES:

2s United States . ica Bh . ;
See, 1257 .. FE AE Fare el ae ien Ms ale s
See. 2106... ae Eto Ye ae

Vernon's Penal Code of Texas: :
Art. 1408 (Robbery). 3
Art.56 (Intoxication and 1 Use of narcotic: sas

a de MEE Sorscianca ie e 34

V ernon’s Code of Criminal Proce ‘pre of Texas:
Art. 2150 (When felony nv has been committed) 4, 27
‘Xrt. 217 (Must ti ike offer nder be ‘fore magis-

trate)... aE EE Set As Tic hoes: alles Rie ch ace ob ioe 4, 24, 28, 30 -
Art. 240 (Examining Ee i ee
Art. 247 (Warning to acetised) 000. . 4,28
Art. 248 (Voluntary stateme wigs entices’ Sage
Art. 491 (No arraignment) 000 ”
Art. 494 (Court shall appoint counsi 1 oe i)
Art. 494 (Same, as amended effective June
1, 1959) : : #° F
Ag. 120 (WwW he: n eontvasion shall not be.
OED cto, sriteesteeeegesecsecaeretsteereseee Oy 2D, BY, BI
Lotiisiana Aets 1928, Nol 2, Soe J. Art. ob
(Arrest without warrant) = = Ae

iv

*. Louisiana Aet:

OTHER

> 32° Tes:

»

INDEX

1h, No.
Close purstit, arrest) .,
Lonisiant Nets 1955, No.
(Close pursnit, bearing )
“ ‘

AU TITORITIES ; r

Noteg 96 A.L.R. oi) (1928)

IS4,

US4, Boe.’

See,

1 Branch’s
ed. 1956)
Jur, 300- \ | ae

o
- °
»
°
. 4s
.
‘
¥
.
cs)
6
° 6
@
\
’
“
°
~
a
oo
“
”
\
,’
.

Annotated Pe nal Code. of Te ‘Xa (2 d

e q
®
co Py " Le
1 a
° fe
2
\ (, 26
a
¥ ~
oy P
ge
ot {
¢. S
Lond
4 > |
® H
’
i
e « »
F t
3 ~-
2 ro)
4
= -
a 7

IN THE SUPREME COURT. THE’ UNITED STATES

QCTOBER TERM, 1960 |

” —

ee

ae ' No. 561 & ae
\ \ ianebineiantd — a
JAMES M. BUSHNELL.

Petitioner,
. iy *
‘ d US,
O. B. ELLIS, Dircetor, Texas Department-of Corrections,

Respondent.

eo ON OVW RIT OF CERTIORARL TO THE COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
. OF TEXAS

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

Opinion Below
The Canrt of Criminal Appeals of Texas denied Peti
stoner’s petition for writ of habeas corpus and motion, for
rehearings Without writtensorder or opinion (R. 44, 47).

Jurisdiction

Petitioner's petition. for writ of habe Haas corpus was de
pied by the: Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas on dan.

- ary 1d, 1960 (CR. 44). Motio& for rehearing was denied) |
by. that Court on February 16, 1960 CR. 47), Petition for
writ of certiorari was filed on February 25. 1960, and: on

> \
> ’
> e

¢, i) 2

o

)

ot

%

o
December 5, 1960 was eranted with leave to proceed my
forma pauperis, ‘Che jurisdiction ol | Us ( gurt rests. On.
28 U.S. C, 1257 (3). ,

‘ Question Presented

Whether a young, ignorant, and indicat defendant is
deprived of due, process of lay in violation of the Four-
teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution when
he is ue to trial Om a rege charxe ina State mee with.

exclude
vaca aie and oréjndicial pe RARE sncluding
an’ involuntary written confession, and did not limit) the

jury’s consideration of evidence of aeprior. conviction for

another offense.
ri ‘ : o os :
‘Constitutional Provision and Statutes Involved

.
se

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to fle United
States Constitution. provides in pertinent part:

“No State shall make or enforce amy law Which shall
abridge the privileges or immufities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall dhy State deprive any per. ,

sgn of life, liberty, or propytty, Without.due process of
law; nor deny fi, any person ‘vithin’ dingindicdon the
equal protection of the laws,’ :

Seetion. 12 252, Title 28, Enfted States Code provides in
pertinent part: ;

81257. State courts; appe: il; certiorari ; on

“TF inal judgme nts or decrees rendered by the hisshest
6
court of a State in which a deci ‘slo could be hid, Tada s
> be reviewed by the Supreme Court is s follows:

é 4
. '* * er * *.
' i °

(3) By writ of certiorafi, where the validhiv oi a
treaty Or statute of> the

Siuestion or where the validity of a State statute is

Nuited States is drawn in

drawn an question on the ground of its being repugnant
to the Constitution, treaties of kaws of Che L nited
Stafes, or whe re ans title, right, privaeve or dyna
/ nity, Ws Fxpevially set up or clatuied nae the Cogisti-
tution, treaties or statutes ol, or commission held) or

lb» authority exercised under, the United States,

. 6 e .
Section 2106, Title 28, Uhited States Code provides:

—_

“106. Determination
sd

“The Supreme Court opayy other court of appellate

: Jurisdietion may
4 reverse any judgment,
fully brought before it for review, and may remand the

nodify, vacate, set aside vor
ree, or order of a court law-

‘ause and direct ‘the entry of such appropriate judg-
ment, decree, or order, .or require such further pro-
ceedings to be: had us. May be Het under the cirenn-
stances.” +

Article 1408, Title XVIT, Vernon's Penal Code of Texas ,
provides ; ha oe

p . = e- .
“Art. 1408. Robbery ei '
“Tf any person by assault, or violence, or by putting
“f - in fear of life or bodily injury, shall fraudulently take
orth Herson_oFe posseMion of another ama prop
ee erty Witheintent to appropriate .the same to his own
use, he shall be security by confinement in the pent.
4 tentiar’ for life, or for a term of not @. ~ than five
, . vears; and when a firearm or other deadly weapon

ix used or exhibited in the commission of the offense,
the punishment shall de death or be confinement. itt
the penitentiary fop any term not less than five years.”

.

4
F ; a “ +
4 . a e. er" ® ° . ‘ ‘ : A.
\rticte 215, Tithe od Chapter 1, Vernon's Code of Crim
inal Procedure of Texas provides. . .

“Arto 2ta When felony has been cominitted

“Where it is shown by seit is Bre ‘ory proof to Th peace
officer, Upon the represeytation of a eredible person,
that a felony has heen ‘committed, and that the of
fender ix about to PSCagh PIE, sO that there Is no thie “to
prociire a wirrant, su peace officer may, without war
rant, pursue and arrest the accused.’

Article 217, Title 5,-Chapter 1 (Arrest Without War-
rant), Vernon's Code. of Criminal Procedure of Texas

4

‘provides : @¢

“Art. 21%. Must take offender before magistrate

Pid *.

“In each case onumerated in this chapter, the person
mitking the arrest shall immediately take the person
varrested before the magistrate who may have ordered
the arrest, or before the nearest magistrate where the

arrest was made Without an oder.” .
Article 245, Title 5, Chapter 3, Vernon’s Code of Crimi-
nal Proce — of Texas provides : 5 ,
° oe

“Art. 245, Examining trial

“When the aceused has been brought before a twagis-"
trate, that officer shall proceed to: examine into the
° trutheof! the accusation made, allowing the aecused,
however, sufficient tine to precure counsel.”
. (ie * we: a 4
Article 247, Title 5, Chapter 3, Vernon's: Texas Code of
Criminal Procedure provides :
“Art. 2447. Warning te accused

“Before the examination of the witnesses, the magis:
trate shall inform the accused that it is his right to

ona

a
-

oA
4) , . :

: | ;

2 ° ® ° .
wake a statemenk relative to the eeeusadon drought
avainst Hin. butoat the same time shall alse inform

him that he ean not be eompelledsto aiftke any state

nent whatever, and That ifele does make such state.

ment, it may be used jn evidences avainst hin)” °

inal Procedure of “Texas provides :

A rficle fs

“Art. 248, Voluntary pie cas

“Or the accused, desires ; to niake a volunts uy state. @

ment, he may do xo before thee ‘Naufnation of any wit-
ness, but not afterward. Itis statement shall be. re-
duced to writing by or under the direction of the magis-
trate, or by fle accused or his counsel, and shall he
signed ‘i the accused by affixing his name or mark,
but shall not be sworn’to by him, The magistrate shall
attest by his own certificate and Signature to the execu-
tion and signing of the statement.”*° 00 j
o

“Article 491, Title 7, Chapter 4, Vernon's Code of Crim-
inal Procedure ‘of Texas provides:
a se

“Art. 491. No arraignment -— oth, .
o F ry \ .
“There shall be no arraigmment of a defendant ex-
ceptu

«

4, Titly ie a 4, Verfon’ s Code of (‘rim-

“Art. -494.
“When

Court shall appoint counsel ¢

Article 248,. Tithe 5, Chapter 3, V?rnon's Code of Crim-

a

(KB an indictinent for a capital offense.” 6

pose of being arraigned, if it appear that he has nos

counsel and is too poof to employ counsel, the corirt
hall appoint one or moré practicing Wtorneys to de-

,

the accused is broiwfght into court for the pur. +

fend him: The counsel So appointed _ have attest —

one day to- prepare for trial.”

~

° .
Article 494, Vernon's Code af Criminal Procedure of
Texas, astamended effective Jane, 1959, provides :
a “Art. 494, Court shall appoint counsel
a es
“Whenever it is made known to the court at am ar
riigmment orany other time’ thas ine recused-elmarced
‘ with a felony is tod poor to employ a eouasel, the
court shall appoint one (1) or hore practicing attor
neyvs to defend him, ae | ;
“The coumsel so appointed shail have ten (10) days
to prepare for trial, unless sugh time be waived in
writing by said attornéss and, the accused.”

‘

ti $ . :

Article 727, Title 8, Chapter 7, Vernon's Code of Crint

‘ s “ e “_ ‘ :
inal Procedure of Texas, provides ;

“Art. (ue When Confession shall mot be ised Fs

“The confession shall not be used i at te time it
Was made, the defendant was in jail or ethor place, of
confinement, hor while he is in the eustody of an offi.
cer, Unless made in the voluntary statement of aceused,
taken before an examining court in accordance with
law, or be made in writing and signed by him: whieh >,
‘written statement shalh show thipAhie has hoon warned |

vaby the person to,whom the same is made: First, that
healoos not have to make any statement at all, Seéeond,
that any statement made may be used in evidence
-against® lim oon his trial for the offense concerning
Which the confession is therein made: Or, unfess in.

connection with said_confession, he makes statements
. of facts or circumstances that are found to he true,
which conduce to establish his guilt, such as the find:
ing of secreted or stolen property, or tle instrument
with which he states ‘the offense was commuitted, Tf
the defendant is tnable to write his name, and sign®
the statement by making his mark, such statement shal

A

; 7
. \
» me ; 4
not be admitted in evidenes, ess tt he witnessed by
sole person other than a peice coficer, who shall sign
\ the same as a witness,”

? ‘
. Seetion 1, Lonisiana Aets 1986, No. 284. now Louisiana
Revised Statutes 13:S4.1 (1900), Code of ¢ ‘riiminal Proce

dure, pyovides in relevant part:

ae :
“Seetion 1, Be it enacted by the Legislature of
Louisiana, That any meniber of a daly organized State,

county or manieipa peace unit of anethor State of the
United States who enters this State‘in close pursult,
and’ continues witha this State inosuch close pursuit,
'

of a& person in order to arrest hin on the grounds:that
he has wommitted a felony in such other State, shal!
a _ have the same anthoritw Yo arrest and hold in custody
such person, as juember of a duly organized State,
parish or municipal peace unitlol this State haves te,
©. arrest and hold in eustody a person oy the ground
7 - that he has conmnitted a felony in this State.” !
Sectio® 2, Louisiana Acts 1986, Ne. 284, néw Louisiana
Z Revised Statutes 15:84.2 (1950), Code of Criminal Pro-
| cedure, pravides :

\ ‘ “Section 2. That if an arrest is made in this State
Jby an officer of another “State in accordance with the

se - provisions of Section J oof this Act, he shath without
unnecessary delay, take the person arrested before a
magistrate of thy parish in which the arrest was made,

» Who shall conduct a hearing nda purpose of deter.

ot inining the lawfulness of the arpest. Tf the maistrate
determines thiéet the arrest was lawful, die shall commit

2 cunlh

‘ the pergon arrested to await, for it reasonable, tie,
Se . ' ee
the Jissuance of an extradition warrant by the Gov
) ernor of thig State, Tf the magistrate determines that
* the arrest was unlawful, le shall discharge the person
‘4
arrested,”

8

Section TL, Article 60, Louisiana Nets 128, Noo 2, oy
Louisiana Revised Statutes Ld:00 (1950), Code of Criminal
Procedure, provides : 6 %
"60, Arrest without warrant, when permitted

"Any peace Officer diay, withent oo warrant, arrest
aperson; 9 )
’ ° . ‘ . **
#(2) When sueh person has committed a felony al:
though mot in the presence of the officers: 4

»

“(3). W hen a felony in faet has been committed and

he has reasonable exuse to helieve that, sueh person
has committed itt +
- .

(4) When he has reasonable cause to believe that
a felony has been committed and reasonable cause te

believe that such persén has committed ity

Statement

” Vv
. I.

The Proceedings in the Texas District Court.

A. Tie Ispterment :

~ On February 22. 144, a grand jiry of the Distriet Court
of Orange County, Texas, Mdieted Bushnell for robbery by
assault CR. b2). The ind#ttment charged that on or about
ebyuuyy 12. 144, Bushneth by assault upon and yielence
to HL. Myers: and by putting Myers in fear of life @gnd
hoglily injury, took $200.00 from hin (RL 1).

I... Tue Tran ees
1. The Plea ai

nr

Bushnell pleaded not guilty CR. 35).

how

=o

9

; Wane.
2 The Lack ot Represeutotion of Deegitiant

Atetripl Bushnell was not represented hy, nn attorney
'y open ’ ‘ : 5 . 4
MR. Oo) and aeted as counsel for himself (RO 3). Te eross
exiieined four of the SIN Willesses for the Stote (RR. 10
12-133, lv, IS, 20, OO, BL). Te did) net object to ans
questions msked I the proseention or to TTT evidence
introduced,

a?

The court reporter recorded: the trial proeeodings only
durmy the examination of witnesses, The trial reeord or
statement OF fyvets is silent as to whether Bushnell ex-
amined the veniremen on coi dire, oy exercised peremptory
Challenves, orohjectod to the instructions to the jury, Any
eolloguy between the court and the defendant prior to the
testimony of Withesses, or in connection with the formula:
tien of the charge to the jury. was net reported, The
trial ‘record does not rethoet whefier usted] Pec uerstes
the appointinent of COUN SOL ak Au i eter etic eourt
Whether or not, he had a right oto Counsel, Or Wits offered
vourteppointed cotigised: Neither Bushnell nor the court
hientioned the matter of defense counsel during the re-

ported proceedings CR. oo).

Petitioner, in hia petition for writ of habeas ned iy)
the Courtiaf Criminal Appeals of Texgs, alleged: {ha por
culfing ef the case for trial hetstated to the eourt that he!
Lid ne attorney, was toe poor te employ counsel, Was not
familiar with law. and was unable to adequately defend
hima@t (R. 40,42). Te iso alleged that he asked the court
to appoint counsel to defend hin, thitt Stel request wits.
denied. and that he did nof waive his right to counsel
CR. 40, 42). s me:
' ‘ Mi ' &
a The Carcnnistanees of Defendant at the Trial

In his petition for writ of habeas corpus in the Court
Fe eed ~~ we? Ss
of Criminal Appeals of Texas, Petitioner atieved that when
‘ . 6°

7 ov
10

tried h@was 22 vears old and had only a sixth-grade edu
cation (R. 4 427 Petitioner was actuaily 20 vears of age
at the time of trial, and the age shown in such petition was
apparently a typographical error, At trial the proseeuting
Witness twice spoke of Bushnell as a “boy (R. 6), ‘and
the distriet attorney called’ Bushnell “a young man” (RR.
26). The constable who arrested Bushnell testified for. the
State that Bushnell had said that ‘he had been shook mp
in the Army and he was taking Amatol tablets for relief”

(R. 31). Bushyell testified on cross-examination that he.

had been granted a medical discharge from the Army CR,
J1), and was taking Amatol “all the time” upen a doctor's
prescription, because “L's a nérve medicine, [have moods”
(R, 23). oh he constable also testified that he took what-
ever money was on the defendant at the time of Arrest

(CR. 12), A deputy sheriff testified for the State that he °

paid for some telegrams sent by Bushnell from jail CR. 29),
Bushnell testified on cross-examingtion that his mother
Was sick and not able to come to the trial and that "EP don't
have a father Lean depend on” (R. 25), and that he had
no friends at the triak CR, 2s), The district attorney asked
Bushnell if ge had been put in jail shortly after his arrest
and had been there continuously until trial, and Bushnell
affirmed that he had been (it, 24-20).

4. The Bvidence astto the Mleged Offense

gw The State’s evidence was a signed statement, including
a confession, by Bushnell (RR. 16-17), and the testimony of

‘six persons, Hfeluding four local law enforcement: officers,
Bushnell was the only defense witness (Ry 19-28),

a, al. L. Myers

v, re

Myers, the profceuting witness, testified on direct. ex-
ainination (R. 4-10) substantially that: On, or ahout Feb.
ruary LZ, 1944, when he was going to buy lumber, his

o

_—

11

ear gave onutoand slipped into a diteh. Te walked into a
heer tavern a Vidor, Texas, and vot two bows, one of
Whom Way Robert Marshall to pull bite out. Outside the
tavern aman, identified by Myers as the defendant, asked
Whethyr Myers was alone and other questions, and. said
to vet in defendant's car, that defendant would earns tim
to vet admechanic. Myers got in the ear, alone with Bush-
nell, Instead of going toward Orange, Bushnell turned
down another road, Bushnell gave a drink to Myers, who
in a minut®-hegan to fool numb and knew he “was doped.
Bushnell got a sit-shooter, stirted toa stop butewent fire
ther, then stopped and ordered Myers out, Myers got
lithe gunoonm him, and hit

outs Bushnell cursed tit, tel
hin entting hin 4o the bowe and in three places, leaving
sears over lig eves find on tis nose, Bushnell threatened
to shoot a bullet through Myers’ brain and took 26% r\
thing” from Myers, including about S210 from Mv i it
fold, lig gas ration tiekets and ‘his eveulasses, Ms
staved in-a diteh about 2 or 2bo hours. walked oly" tiles
until he way found by a eonstable, and “might neat bled
to death’) Mvers positively plentified Bus neil as the dian
who robbed Rid? assaulted dua,

Myers was asked and testified on direct examimitron as
follows; ’

No" * So they got after hin then, asked ane his
description and Podeseribed tina and they caught fam,
He taken about 8210000, PT had ome S100 bil and th:
other iN SOUS: | mig | have Hisael One sO, Vhes wot byaverh

é S128.00, and hie said-he spent the other in-a gambling

dump. i a
That's Bushnell? 7 U
A. Yes, sir CR. 6-7). “ ,

You rt he took sodie other Possessions?

.)
’

: 12

A. Yes? he taken all iny: ration hooks, every ration
‘book Thad. We got the A cards, they Wits Gn hinn,
and my evertasses, Pe even taken Iny evewhiss sand
hid them, g&ick themoin the cashion of tits ear, They
got ny eveltissos find A cards, also, ©" * CR. 7), a

re ee 4 .
(). | Picve vou stated that the officer later returned
your gas ration book?
A, Yes, sir, the A, They got them off of him and
part oof the money,
°(). And soyle of your doney?
A, Some of niv money, and mv everlasses (RO),

b. Clade (Hop) Williamson

Williamson, a prosecution witness, was a constable of
Orange (County? Texas, at the time, of the alleged offerse
andoatethe the of tral CR. TO-TD), On direet examination
he Gas asked the follow? questions to whieh he wave the
followimy answers:

) ¥ ¢
A. There wits a couple of haves come Togne and told
me that there was a fetlow that pieked up Mr. Myers,

() De vou Rnow Whose those hove were?
A. Robert: Marshall, and Stephens,
bf A ds Robert Marshall here? -

’

A. Yes,

) Do you know where Stephensgs! g

\. Heads in the army,

c Q). AN right.

| A. So they said that they saw timowith a gun aid
said he turned off the wrong way to get tum heme,
and said. "Hop. you better fook and see about it;
it lon look right’, So't got to hunting lim. * " °

FAs Bae

~

|

La)

Williamson seat ied fiat on the mond he found Myers, whe
was artbeat up. Sirty and blood ameb eidn't have his
wood sense, hardiy” and that: Movers told Wilhanmson what
had happened CR. TD). Williamson testified le started

‘looking for Bustineli, ran hin te Lonistama ame eanueht hina,
then brought hina hack and searched him OR. 12). He tes-.
tilled that heaiot fragn Budinell momes. and its CON pons

and ylasses Which were wiven hack to Myegs OR. 12). On
redireet exatiimation Willitunson Was asked and answered
is follows: 5 ;
o, °
Wii were vou looking for Fin thar ofthe?
NA. Boeause TP ohad the infortation on hime tht he
© Was the jaan that robbed MrMyers OR, 31

C.e Prisha rt Marslall

On direct exgnination Marshall testiiied for the State
dbstantially ass follaws: The and @ how taiend, NWenneth
) wry

ey fe.* \"
Stevens, Were in a partor in) Vidor? where Myers

med them tocpull his ear Ant ot thi: ditehdand the pulled

itn out. Bushnell tad been inside and Ti L come out and

vot in acenr. Myers Was drinking a beer ddd went over to

Bustnellts ear and Feftqwith bia, Marti! ds tified. Bush.

Hellas the nian that Myers lett with Mf hey Whrahi all
ws /

also Was asked and testified as follows £0 >>
4 & 7
Q), ATL right, what didi vou do then! ‘

Kenneth sd ob doen't believe he Was taking tain
home; lets fo and tell Hop to watch and see where he

went# * * * (RR, 14). ' —
° on ° "
d. J). L. Stand field os

Standtield, shervfh ot Otanmwe County OR 1) and oa
Witness for the State, Was asked a®d testified on direct

eMunination as follows:
' ’

he.

‘i
.

(). Do you know anything aboutua pocketbook belong
ing to Mr. Myers? |

A. Well, there was a deputy trom [believe it was
Kountze, rang me and said he had found id, wifi scine

and that two boys had broftreht it to dara ane ssid
they found it between Terry and Connell.

(). Ana tat wis a pocketbook that was identified as. ,
delunging to Mr. Myers? |

A. Phat’s right (R. 19).

ve Defendant Bushnell

While cross-cxamininf \bvers, Bushnell denied that he
robbed or hil ever seen Myers (RR. 1) or that hie had
ever owned a gun-(R. 10), and testified that on the might
of the robbery he was “delirious”, “passed out’ and was
taking medieme™’, and that he remembered nothing about

it (RY).

Qn dorect examination Bushnell testified that on the
night of tUM&alieged robbery he was in the tavern at Vidor,
drank rum and beer, took some “femotal’, remembered
‘nothing tyereafter, and woke up in his ear “over there by
Louisiane” (R. 19-20), He testified that he then drove te
Lake Charles, Louisiana, bad breakfast there, and was ar
rested when coming back. home to DeQuines, Lotisiani

(R. 20).

Qn cross-examination, Bushnell repeatedly said under
persistent questioning that he was not xuilty (R. 21, 24.
Jv). He again said he “passed out in that place (R. 21).
He stated several times that he was framed (R. 21, 22, 24)
and that he had never seen Myers CR. 21, 24). He stat d
thatshe didarot beat Myers CR. 21, 27), did not take mones
from him (KR. 21) or his glasses or ration books (R. 24, 27,
28), did not get Myers inta Bushnell’s ear (R. 21, 24, 277."
and did not give him liquor with amatol (R. 21). Bushnell

denied that he had told county attorney Sexton that hes
a

-

. a. Oe
. ? :
. ; ‘ ,* >
robheod Mvers OR. 22). and denied that after arrest he had
said that he wailted to plead guilty’ (R. 26). g

: i Louis York vee
» » Qs
York, a deputy sher'¥ of Orange Connty’ CR. 28 29) anid

a rebuttal avitmess por thie State, was asked and testified for
the State, with respect bus ee i]: 3 .

Q). Do vou remembey the last term of Court, le of
rored himeel as wanting to plead guilty? 4 ‘

» A. He did (R. 29).

%
2 Ce Th. Woy he u Sheikha dpe veel, jets '] at
“puring the State's case in chiet, W. PL Sexton, County

ktterms of Orange Covnty at the time of trial and at the
time of the alleged offemses OR, ls), testified that he took
a statement from Bushnell OR..15-16), wiheh was intro
duced as Sfate’s Exhibit Neue RR. 16). The statemayt ts as
follows (R. 16-17): : .

. “LT. dames M. Mushnell, being in the eustody of Top
Williamson, Comytabl oof Preemet Now Pour, Orang:
County, Texas, aid having been warned by WP.
Sexton, the person te whom the heremafter set out

statement Ix by me made, that bdo mot have te make ”
any statem sitat all, and that any statement made by
re maa’ ‘be used in evidence against me oon the trial
for’ the offense coneerming which this statement
made, do here make the following voluntary statomeut
in writing to the said W. oP. Sexton, to wat: —

“My name is fi ames MM. Hyushnell and Foam twenty
live vears of age. On’ the night of February P2. Hd,
I was at Vidor, Texas, at a beer joint. While at this
beer joimt | drank quite a bit of rum and beer and
took some amatol tablets. TP then left the place and a
inan Whose name do vet know got in the ear with me
[rode down a ssderoad trom: Tighway 40 appre

i:

16 ‘
© a
imately three miles. -L then robbed this man and took
what money he had on his person from him, which wis
approximately $200.00 in currency. During the rob
bery Lhit him with a beer bottle and struck him with
my fists. 1 then put hign out of phe car and then drove
to Orange, Texas; L was arrested just across the Sabine
River Bridge by Mr. Hop Williamson and Mr. |
Thompson. [ returned from Louisiana voluntarily with
Mr. Hop Williamson. I was convicted in the State of
Louisiana for swindling with worthless. checks ap- .
proximately three years ago-and served a term in the
Lovisiana State Penitentiary.

“I make this confession voluntarily and | was not
coerced. or threatened by Mr. Williamson or Mr.
Thompson or by Mr. Sexton, the County Attorney, in
the making of this statement. The same is true in
every respect and | realize that b¢ the making of this
voluntary statement that the same can be used against
me on my.trial. Witness my hand this 14th day of
February, 1944. + : /

° Fa)

ri /s/ James M. Bushnell”
‘ ms &
). The Oral Testimony as to Whether Piske Il's

Signtd ( ‘onfession Ww as | voluntary

hed

The alleged ‘robbery’ of Myers oe¢eurred on the- night of

Saturday, February 12, 1944 (R. 1, 4, 7, 8, 19), at about
10:30 P.M. or midnight (R. 8, 9). Constable Williamson
testified that he found Myers about 4:00 or 4:30 the reatter
and then started looking for Bushnell (R. a he. con-
stable went to several places where Bushnell had stayed,
and near a hotel by®the depet ‘saw Bushnell and “run”
him to Louisiana “until we caught him” (R. 12). When
asked by the district attorney whether he was jailed some
12 or 15 hours after the robbery, Bushnell testified with-
out contradiction that he Whs putein at 5°A.M. on.Sunday

=

°

~ _
di

rr

(R. 24), February 13) 1944. Bushnell’s confi ssion was
signed oy the following day, Mebruary 74 (R. 17).

Bushnell testified that constable Williamson and an of-,
ficer Thompson arrested him in Louisiana CR. 20, 26) after
they shot at the back of his car CR. 20), and this was not
disputed, Petitioner asserted four times that the cansiabte
jerked hamvout of the car on a Louisiana highway snc beat

: him over the Bead CR. 15, 2), 26). Although’ the constable’

testified that "TL mever touched vou over there” in Louisiana
(R.-12), the State did ngt attempt te show that Buslined!
Was not jerked:from his car and beaten in Louisiana, by
someone, When the constable was asked by Busha!

whether the constable, at the time of the arrest, pat Bush

nell in a ear that belonged “to this «ther guy that run cae
down first and beat me and stomped me” and later put. -
Bushnell in the constable’s own car, the witness admitted
that “The man was Lee Anderson and he’ owns a grocery
stere” (Re 31-82). The constable had previously testified
that “They was helpingeus trying to stop him at the hotel,
and we brought litm back” (RR. 31).

The constable testified that he had arranged fora Louisi-
ana officer to “run” Bushnell across the State line, and
that such officer “said he would follow him and back us
yp (ROL). The constable testified that when he caught

Bushnell, he asked Bushell if he wanted to let the Louisi
ana officer “run him across or come on back, and he said,
“TH -eome on back’ (R. 31). The constable testified’ that

he took Petitioner to the police station at Orange when
he came back (R. Ob) \and pat him in jail GR. 12).
F : i
Petitioner testified twice that at the police station the

~ constable aid officer Thompson tried to get him to confess

and beat and stomped him on the floor (R. 20, 27). He
testified: “LT was beat-worse than a dog: then when they
vot through beating, they taken me in an office and sat mie

o

18

in a chair and knocked me down. He said ‘I’m goin to
slap you—I ‘d like to kill you, but 1 w ant to do it the right
way.’ Ie knocked me qut twice and whe n they got through
knocking me around, they threw some water on me, and
then they threw me down the stairs” (R. 20). None of such
testimony was denied. The constable admitted using force
against Petitioner at some time; when asked by Peétitione:
Whether “you beat me up across in Louisiana”, the Constable
‘testified “[- never touched -you over there” and “1 ain't
touched you but once” (R. 12-13). When asked by Bushnell
if he “beat me up without merey”, the constable answered,
“It wasn’t over in Louisiana” (R. 12, 13). After the eon-
stable so testified on cross-examination, the State excused
the witness, (R. T8). When the constable was recalled on
rebuttal, the district attorney did not ask him whether he
or anyone else beat or stomped Bushnell but asked him
only whether he or Thompson “put these sears on his body”
or “hit him or beat him in any way to make those sears”,
to which the constable answered in the negative (R. 31).

It was undisputed that Bushnell was taken to the office of
the county attorney, Mr. Sexton, to make the signed state-
ment (R. 18, 80). The County attorney, when asked if
Bushnell then looked like he had been abused, answered,
“Tle was—he had a bandage on his head, yes, sir” (R, 18),
Bushnell testified without contradiction that at that time
he could not see out of his eye (R. 18, 22), and that his nose
‘and eyes were bleeding (Re 80). When Bushnell, attempt
ing to cross-examine county attorney Sexton, stated that
he was threatened in Sexton's office about the statement,
and askedvif that. was right, the county attorney did not
deny Uhat.a threat was made but evaded Bushnell's ques.
tion by asking Bushnell, “You didn’t tell me anything abont

t, did you?” (R. 17). When Bushnell then stated to the
wah attorney that the constable had threatened at that
time to tie and ecow-whip him, and asked the witness if that

19

was right, the county attorney did not deny it) bat said
only, “Lt didn’t hear that” (GR. 17). The district attornes
then asked the county attorney whether Bushnell told the
county attorney at the time of the statement about being
mistreated or abused or forecd to make the statement
AR. 18), but did not ask if Bushnell was threatened or
_forced to maké it. On te-cross examination of Mr. Sexton,
when Bushnell said that iv Mr. Sexton's office “they said
~ Thad to sign a statement, said that day if it wasn't sign a,
‘they would get it one way or the other", Mr. Sexton an
swered that “no such conversation as that took place” (CR.
1s). Jushnell testified on cross-examination that he first
told’ the county attorney he did not rob Myers, but that
officer Thompson then said “You just as well say > ou did,
or we will getit out of you” CR. 22). Bushnell we stified
that at the time of such statement by Thompson, the county
attorney “was there, but he was called off to talk to two
ladies who was outside in the lobby” (R. 22). Bushnell
peated that he was told he had to say he did it (R. 24)
and that he had to giye the statement CR. 27). The State
introduced no evidence, other than a confession itself, eon
tradicting such testimony that he had to give the state
ment and was told th.t he had to. although the counts
attorney testified that, Bushnell said that the statement
was true (R. 18). Bushnell’s testimony that he showed the
county attorney a “rupture they gave me” and sears on dis
hack and that he couldn't read at the time the. statement

was given, Was denied by the county aftorney (R. 15.30).
. v ~

The district attorney, when ecross-cxamining Bushnell,
assamed that he had heen subjected to violence by the of
ficers, and condoned it in the following interrogation (R,
YO-24 7): ,

Q. And you don't. know the reason why Williamson
and ‘Thompson was looking for you?

s -

20

They didn't siy nothing, they run up and as soon
‘fas my car—-1 stoyped, they jerked me out and beat
meup, and over the head, out inthe highvay.

Q. Do you think it was right for a young man fike
you to take an old O9-year-old man and beat) him
out, put a buneh of sears on his face, take his money
vud hit him! But the offigers has to get a little bit
rough with you and you don't think that’s right, ix
that the ticket” ‘

“A. No, they don’t have the right to do me like that.

Q. They did you like they should have done yon.

A. No, they shouldn't have beat me and stomiped me
in the police station. mee 4

Q. Why?

A. Because they shouldn't. Not while I was till
im Louisiana, and get me and stomp me,

Q. | guess you think you did what you should have
‘done to Mr. Myers?

\. I didn't do its

Q). Suppose you had—would you have said ‘it, was
right to do it? : ¥

A. Lnever done it.

Qs What’ kind of treatment would you be in favor of
vivingea man that would beat Old Man Myers up as
he said he was beaten up? ere

A. All Lean say, | didn’t do it.

* (. You are not answering my question,

A. That is all t care to saye

(), What kind of treatment would yon be in favor of
for — a gan?

. | wouldn't be in favor af be ating him up like a
ake like theysdone mew L begged for merey.

(). You think they gave you merey?

A. No. .

(Q)..Just like you meted out to Mr, Myers,sor would
have to anybody else?

\. Tdidn't do anybody like that.

y

v

” ; 9y
& ; we? .

There is no suggestion in the record that any warrant
for Bushuell’s arkest had been issued, and Bushnell testi
fied without contradiction that he was arrested “without a
permit” (R, 20), “without a license” CR. 83). It is inferable +
frome the trial record as a whole that prior to the time
Bushnell signed the written statement, the officers did not
fine him befere a magistrate For an examining trial,

6. The Conduct of th Trial’ Judge p

When Bushnell Was) cross-examine Myers and at
tempted to testify bymself, the eourt instructed defendant ?
“You may not testify, You ean tell that when you take
the stand” (R.9);and agai to “just ask questions” CR.) :,

-and again: “You can testify to that when you get on th
e stand” (R. 10). While Bushnell was cross-examining con

stable Williamson, the court said, “You can testify fo that
whep your turn éomes up” (R.12).'So far as is shown in
the statement of facts, the court gave no other inetructions
hor any warning to Bushnell.- The only assistanee given
Bushnell wby ‘the court was during: cross-oxamination of
county attorney Sexton, when the caurt direeted the de
fondant to ask the yetness Whether he knew Bushnell was
threatened in his office (R. 17). The court did not ask un)
question of any witiess, * bye

~ on ‘ 9 ° on . : ‘ :
1. The Cross-Kavaminalion oN bushuell as ta Characthes
o °
and Reputation rae

‘Bushnell was asked the following questions by the district
‘attorney and gave the following answers, on cross-examine,

tion: ; f
Q. I thought vou had been in the State Penitentiary
for three years, in Louisiana? .
A. L know, there are a lot of things that poople
thpught. es
1oUg o

Q. Well, that isn't true, you haven't been in’ the

penitentiary ! :
A. Pheen toa house at COPreetion,
Q. You weren't in the penitentiary for three years! -
A. ‘No, sir. ; ; :
(). How long were you there? pes |

A. Might months,

(). Whiy did you teal Mr. Sexton you were there ap. .
proximately three years ? |

A. L told hisi—-when [ came in-his offiee my heart
Was sWinming, ‘A couldnt see out of my eye. You
seu, Tm black under Yny eyes, Ihe asked me had |
been in apd | told hint | been in a house of correetion
eight months (R, 21-22). ;

. . * . g .

Q). Cam't you tell the sheriff to serve subpor nag on
the witnesses? Can you ask the county?
AL T got some letters—L wrote to miy sister and my
emother,

(). They didn't reéeive them?

A. Nobody knows if the mail got out. * =

Q. They are not interested enough to come over here
and look after you? te, See

A. She's not able. ;

(). You don’t have anybody interested enough in you
to come over? ; Soo

AS My mother does (kh. 20). F

v

“Q. You.don’t have any friends at all?
A. Lhave friends. es
Q. Where are they?) In Louisiana? Noue of thom

ary here, ; ’
A. No, | don't have themuateht here, Leouldn'’t make

acall, anyway (R. 28).

8. The Charge tothe Jury

The court's charge to the jury included the following
instruction:

“You are further instructed that unless you believe
from the evidence bevonda reasonable doubt that prior
1 the time the defendant maderagd signed the written

~ statement introduced “in ovideet if heealidl, that he
the defendant, was properly warne@ by the offieer te
wht setiel statetttentt seta tititeles fests tlteet The ebiet thet
hi ive to make any statement at all} gnd seconds that any
stile mient ‘miacde hy him, the defe indi Ura, Thicas nel could
be cused in evidence daninst him ona trial for the
offense concerning Whicheit Was made, anel after being
so warned, he voluntarily wud without coercion, persia
siogi, inducement or promise of immunity of wary kind,
made the statement Introduced thoovidence, and unless
you so beljeve, or HW Vou hav: a reasonalle doubt there.
of, vou will disregard uch state ment for any and all
purpyses ant all parts theredf end consider the same
for purpose” CR, 30-51 ys ’

No instruction*was given with: respect to. the defendant's
oral confessions introduced in the testimony of Myers and
deputy sheriff York, o®excluding any other evidence fron
considedation, or limiting consideration of the evidence of
defendant's prior coavietion to the jssa of lis erodibility,

W The Verdict, Judgment and Sentence

. : A

TheJury found Bushnell guilty and assessed his pani shigs
ment as 3d years (R. 34). The courtlentered judgment on
the verdict CR. 8-36), and imposed sentence of not less
than 5 nor more than 35 years in the penitentyiry CR. 387).
No motion for new trial was made (R. 386), and nu apper!
Was daken.:

wy

24
11.
v
The Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus.

4 Petitioner collaterally attacked «the judgment of ‘he
District Court by petition for the writ of habeas corpus in
the Cour? of Criminal Appeals of Texas CR. oo 44). Peti-

tioner there asserted that the judgment is void under the

Constitution of Texas and the Sixth and Fourteenth Am nd

ments to the United States. Constifution (R. 39), but: the
ynly “question presented” to that Court was whether duc
process of law as guaranteed by the Fourtecnth Amend

ment to the United States Constitution was violated in that

Petitioner was foreed to trial without court-appointed coun
sel (R. 40). Petitioner stated that “being forced to trial
without appointment of counset, and his incapability of
representing hitself adequately, resulted ino him beong
taken advantage of "¢ R. 43), Attached to the petition were
copies of the indietment, jury verdict, Judgment, sentence,
and a certifieate of the court clerk to the effect that Peti

tioner had no attorney at trial (R. 40).

oh]

In his “Petition for Rehearing’! in that Court, Petitioner
asserted that “wa confession taken during a period of iNegal
detention, and... extraeted by coercion and duress at the
hands of Orange County officers” was admitted in evidence *
at his trial (R. 45). Petitioner stated that he vas arrested
without a warrant and was never taken. before a magistrate
us required by Artigg 217 of the Code of Criminal Proce.
dure of Texas, and "@# injury arising therefrom, said eon
fession was extracted by physical abuse of Petitioner
‘administered by the Orange County police officers” (R. 45-
46). Petitioner asserted that had he been afforded. as-
sistance of counsel, Objection could have been made to’
the admission of the confession (R. 46),

Vv

29

2 ie

After Petition (ér Writ of Certiorari was filed in this

Court, the reporter s shorthand record of the proceedings
ut Petitioner's trial Was transcribed ih. 32),

e *
, .

ba 0

, Summary of Argument.
eee c ,

The record of the proceedings at Petitioners trial on
the seri@@s charge of robbery *by assault) show s Without
dispute that) Petitioner, an-cemotionally disturbed young
man of 25, without funds or friends, was tried without
the assistance of counsel, alter having pleaded not gyitty,
His handicap of ignorance, in feting as hiscoWwn counsel,
Was apparent throughout the trial ‘Phe distriet attorney
improperly subyjoc ted Petitioner to humiliating iInterrowy,
tion to show that he was a merciless person of bad reputa
tion, and the trial Judge did not stop _ th questioning or
otherwise materially assist or prote et Petitioner, The Stat
introduced in evidence a signed confession whic h Petitioner
repudiated at the trial Defense counsel could have sugeess
fully objected to such uvidence on the ground that t had
hoon coerced, in view of admissions at the trial that Peti
tioner had been physically, abused aM injured by peate
officors trying to get the contession, Bnd in View ot Peti-
Hioner’s mneontradicted testimony that he had been threat
ened by one of the same officers immediately before signing
the confession: The court nevertheless permitted the jury
to find that the confession was voluntary and®to consider
itas evidence, The State afso introduced, and the jury was
permitted to consider, inadmissible evidence of two oral
confessions attributed toyPetitioner and much other ex
Fadible hearsay testimony. Damaging evidence of a prior

convietion ef Petitioner should have been limited to the

’ ye
purpose of impeaching his credibility, but the court did not
~o limit it.

Qn this record Petitioner's convietion and sentence, on-
tered by tdie Texas court after failure or refusal to ap

‘@

i) | ae | \
26

P :
aint defense counsel, deprived Petitloner of die prec
Of law and are void ander the Pourteeuth Amoendient to
the United States Constitution, Sinee thie record comely
sively establishes the material allegations of Petitioancgs
petition for the writ of habeas corpus, and me tarthes
development of the faets is necessary oon remumd. this
Court should hold that) Petitioner is entitled te the wait
as prayed for in the Court of Criminal Appeals of Toxas

. ARGUMENT

The State Court's Conviction of Petitioner on the Charge
of Robbery by Assault, After the Court’s Refusal or Fail.
ure to Appoint Defense Counsel, Deprived Petitioner of
Due Process of Law Because He Was Unable to Protect
Himself at Trial in View of His Youth and Ignorance, the
Conduct of the Court and the Prosecuting Attorney, sud
Complex Problems as to the Admissibility and Purpo# o!
Evidence,

Indietéd fora grave offense, Petitioner was tried without
the ussista:ce of counsel, convieted, and sentenced to oa
severe teri in prison, ot trial, he was seriously prejudiced
bythe rolloy woerrors*which an attorney could have pre
vented : |

a. The coftrt’s charge to the jury permitted the jury to
find thal Petitioner's written conse sston wmastrglintaru® and

lo COMSIE x: if, ads erudener of quill, " hie +4. such Coufse ston

should hav bie Cr Crt lived d On tlie undies pute dl packs,

That Petitioner's signed confession (HR. Ted?) was ob-
tained I physical violence and threats ts shown hy undis
puted cpidence in the trial record, discussed in Paragraph
1B. oO under eStatement™, supra.

'. Petitioner's arrest in Loutiana, bya Tpxas county peace
officer, Was Without warn (R. 20, 25, 26). Such arrest,

°
. \

BP;

be \

p= s
of ee
ee -
LL *
by the Texas officer geting as sath. comld have been Law fri

under Louisiana haw only af Petitioner had) comunitted a

q ear | ov.
Louisiana Laws 150, No. 284, See.) Assuming. argue aed,

Nelonvoand wis aarested: after ahedose pursuit from Texas
that Petitioner Was law Pally arrested: after close pursuit,
as ghaimed ia the aeresting dficer’s te stimonmy OR D2 aT),
Petitioner Was entithed toy he taken Witheut TI OCes sary >
delay befqre a loca} Louisiana mactstatte for exanmdniation
and commitinent to aiwyaH extradition, Loufsiina Lyuws
10, No. 284, Seve, IY Petitioner an tet agreed te return
with the Texas offieer, as the offieer clammed, and therebs
wath dis risdhty to an immedfate hearing i Louistama and

to extradition, Petitioner did) se after beime beaten ane

When wiven the alternative of being “run aerass” to Texas
o ’

.

HY a Louisiuna offieer GR. Ob-S2o0 After Petitioner was

The Louisiana statute evted in the text gives ai ®ontofistate
petee officer in close primecit: the osamee authority as a Levistanis
offcer\ has to arrest “ae person og the wren That tie has eom
itted a Qelomy dn Leuistana ‘s Lotisianda offieer miay arrest
Vithout a warrant on stich wrodnd whom Usteh, person dias com
Pi Pelomy although diet i Chee presen of the ottieer™ La
Acts, a4 Nou oo See ] Art. 40; 2 Crider Th Sas baw i OTS @
peaer officer tas me authority ds stil te make aie arrest outside
His VOUS Seu CUNT s etted phy Ward \ li pus, Ot Us oy be
de Where the offense Was nel cotumitted: Within tps presenee
orowithin his view, a Texas COHHTS preaee coitieer tae take ian
arrest Without a warrant ody au satistaetory pool that a. felony
Nits bee committed: aod that toe offeauder ts about te escape SO
UM there sono time te procure a warrant Art 21, Vernon's
Code of Criminal Procedure of Texas

Even itt Petitioner: was Widawtally seized im Levistana or un
hess Pally returned to Texas without extroditiou, this would not
have been a defense to the presechution Bowhen Vo State, 26 Tes
App. 120, 9 SW. 785 cIsas! ef. Ba parte Dae aL Tex, Cr R,
HOS TOR SAW OSOD TOT SPY home v Miehols, 205 EOS 192 1906)
Noroais it prolabl’ that under Texas haw a coerced warner af extra
Coton WithOUL assistanee of counsel would ave been Ga defense to
The prosecution or a ground for release of Petitioner @y. Bue part
Harrelson, OF Okla. Cro Ro Soo) Lod Pola OOH 18) adn res
Charles, $44 Pd TDS Okla Cro App Tot Mrdawtul arrest
hos never been reeeunized as i defense to a crinitaal prosecution
hb Texas. See Note, rOD ALA feo 192s

on

returneck te Texas. be was jared and: vielentiy. beaten iR.
12-13, 18, 20, 26-279. The offieers fittled to take han betore
Texas magistrate on the day following, a Monday, as
required by Article 217 of the “Texas Code of Cruninal
Precedure, for an examining trial at whieh Jie could have
pttder ah VaOduntars etaterment, atger being warned by the
Magistrate, as required by Artieles 245 and 24e of the
Code Gf Criminal Procedure, and under the safeguards
inposed by Article 4s of that Code, Instead, Petitioner
was taken before the county attorties ta sim a confession
ORO DAT). Although iegal acts of peace officers leading
up tea confession “do not furnish the aye wer to the con-
stitutional question’, Lisenha vy. Calitorni, 34 US. 21,
oe 61941), the faile cof arresting officers to take the)
accused before an examining magistrate, as required) by
Article 217 of the TPexaa Code of. Crinum P rocedure, his
heen considered by this Court in determinihy gehen i
Coplessionm Was forced, Ward ve. Teras, 716 1,.8. 641, 802
(1942); cf, Payne VE Arkansas, vet LLNS. 56u, a (1s),

‘Ehe, brutal mistreatment of Petitioner was begun when
he Was apprehended, by a person whe helped a ‘constable
run him down CR. 31-32), and was continued at the police
station either on the saqe day or the following day, by’
the arresting constable and another peace officer who were
trving to get a confession CR. 20, OF, 31-32). On the day
after his arrest and upon being further threatened by the
cotistable, Petitioner signed’ the confession (kh. “it. oe),
although he had first told the county attorney who took
liix statement that he did not commit the robbery CR. 22).
v nder these cirenumestances Petitioner's signed confession

‘was not free and voluntary but was the product of

‘When an arrest is made on Sunday, Article 217 of the Code
of Criminal Procedure does not require the arresting officer to tike
the accused be hore a magistrate until Monts iy. See Gilbrrgy Ntate,

162 Tex. Cr. R. 200, 284 SW. 2d 906 1055
re)

-

Pa

‘

COOCTOC TOM GMa duress, fer Petitioner “as ne longer able

Treels to adinit: or “deny or refuse to pnswer Word v.

Tesas, pra SAB U.S, oti. yd.) (1942).

‘| he confession Wile porenpee rts exedndabile benieds t Aoerstons
of this Cork, Prrou oe Misstssipyn, QT et OTe (1936):
Chambers ¥. Florida, 309 US, 227 (1940); Ward v. Texas,

Stpra, B15 7 Dai (1042), Under the principle ‘ealimned

in Payne v. Arkansas, supra, 356 US. S60, S68 1998),
Petitioner's signed combesston eotitd have heen excluded on
objection of counsel :

Sut whereas here, a coerced confession constitutes
ao partoof the evidence Lefore the jury and a general
Verdiet is peturnmed, no one ean say what eredit: and
Weight the jurs gave to the confession. And iInM* hese
erretistanees this Court tias uniformly held that ever
though there may have been sufficient evidence, apart
from the coerced confession, to support a, judyment
af conviction, the admission in evidence, over objec.
thon, of the coerced confe®sion, vitiates the judgment
how “iuyse it violates the’ Due Process Clause of )the
Fourteenth Amendment.” ‘

The written confession was also inadinissible under
Article 727 of the Codevof Criminal Procedure of Texas,
Vieh requires that any @onfession be made “in the volun.’
‘ary statement of accused’. Under that Article, when an
officer at the triakadinits having struek the prisoner sh optly
before the confession, the confession hs inadmissible over
ob jeetion : the court ts required, On rediest, to exclude from
‘hie jury's consideration any such confession which has been
mtroduced: and submission te the jury of the issne of
voluntariness ‘is error. Williams v. State. 8 ee a ae
‘; Je SW Tr (1920); Thompson ¢. Sale 126 Tex Ce
Ro 440, 63 SWoaed S49 (1923 : seta v. Btate. 139 ‘Tex.
Cr R130, LOZ SW, 2d 428 C1937): Sigler v. State, 139 Tex,

~

, @ :

30
a tent (R. 21-22), should have been limited to the purpose of

t inipere one his witlaginecti Mahoney v. psete, ood Tex, Cr.

KR. 388, 26 S.W, 622 (i894); Seaton x, State, 33, Tex. Cr. R.

116, PO SW. Son (1894): Jbaftou 'v. State, 33 SW. 969
“(Te x. Cr. App. Usd6); Roberts v. State, 44 HA, Cr,

267, TUS W, $53 12) : : Navarette ve State, 18 Tex,
: 7h. 4 449, 281 SAW. S63 (1926). Petitioner w as entitled ie a
charge that the jury. could considey such. evidence only

a

¢

for such limited purpose, amd the failtire of the court to
give such charge, whether or not requested, Was reversible
error. Sexton v. State, supra; Mutton vo State, supra. It
could hardly have occurred to Petitioner not to take the
stand, so as to preclude admission of evidence of his prior
conviction, after the trial judge had repeatedly indicated
to Petitioner that the time for jis testimony would be
When it came his turn to take the stand (RL 9, 10).

. , . é

ad. The court failed to instruct the jury to Misregard th
evidence of Petitioner's character or reputation, or to

-reprimand the district attorney for opening up thematter,

when Petitioner had not raised the issue of his Character.
/ ‘ sad
Petitioner on cross-examination was subjected to humili-

ating interrogation which improperly raised the issue of
his character and reputation. After Petitioner had testified
that hy begged far merey from the peace offfeers, the prose. ,
cutor asked, “Just like you hheted out to Mr. Myers) or
would have to anybody else?” (R. 27), Petitioner was also
asked what had kept him “from getting these witnesses
you've told us about”, and whether he had “anybody inter-
ested enough in you to come over” (R. 25), and “You don’t
have any friends at all?" “Where are they? In Louisiana?
None of them are here” (R. 28). Such interrogation, when
Petitioner had not placed his character or reputation in
issue, Was improper. The epurt on its own motion should
have promptly reprimanded the district attorney for ask--

‘ing such questions and instructed the jury to disregard

such questions and any -evidence of character or reputa-

tion so oBtained, Failure to do so was reversible error.

Childress v. State, 92 Tex, Cr. R. 215, 241 S.W. 1029 (1922);
= v. State, 117 Tex. Cr. R. 178, 384 S.W. 2d 871°(1981) ;
cf. PEllard v. State, 33 Tex. Cr. R. 197, 26 8.W. 70 (1894).

-

oo.

abi oi tie Ree TH

’ | 5 e "9

a‘, Mummy ig dludable hi psd a viele dice Was ede: ty /,

Ale testinjony of Myers that his stolen ration book and
wvemasses “was on” Petitioner, and that the offeer got
them and mofey “off of defendant or from his car CR. 7,
9) was hearsay, since it is inferable from the regord that

sw Alvers whs not present at. the time of recovery of such

articles and Was testifying to information received Trem
another, Although consti thle, Williamson later testifie Piha
he recovered the aricles fren defendant, Myers’ fexti-
mony on the matter could have been excluded: Massie. v.
State, 27 Tex. ‘App. S77, 1) SAW. 688) C1889)" Likewise
inadmissible wae Myers’ hearsay testimony tha ,
boak was sent bac A to the sheriffs departimer
view (R. 7) and that an officer could tell of yMftv connection
the defendant had With anybody at Longview (R.10). All
of Shorité Standtield’s testimony, Which» related only to
his conversation with an opt-of-town deputy who said two
hovs had found Myers’ pocketbook on a road, was inad-
inissibte hearsay (R19). Such testimony tended to bolster
the constable’s testimony that defendant said he threw away

the billtald (R. 12).

bis pocket.
om Lony-

Other hearsay evidence to which objection could have
been made was: the testimony of constable Willianison that
the hovs Marshall and Stevensfiad said to him, after Myers
allegedly rode off with defendant, “vou hetter look and see
about it; it don’t look. right” (R. 11); the testimony of
Marshall that Stevens, seeing Myers and 1 defendant leave

‘tovether, said, “Ll don't believe he was taking him home ;

let's go and te Hop to wateh and see where he went” (R.
14); and-Williamson’s statement that he was looking .for
defendant because “Lhad the information on bin tha® he
Was the man that robbed Mr. Myers” (R. 30). ue

Petitioner denied that he committed or was present at
t] bbhery, and did not raise any issue of tenfporary in-

.

&

%

34°

sanity, although he testified that® prior to the tine of the
alleged robbery, he fad been-drinking- rum and heer ‘and
taking femotal, and had been delirious and passed oul,
(R. 9, 19). Tt should be noted, in evaluating cicniattion
of Texas law with respect to'defenses which Petitioner con-
ceivably might have raised, that unde) Article 36 of the
Penal Code of Texas temporary insanity produced by
voluntary recent use of liquor or narcotics or a¥ombination
thereof is not-an excuse for an offense, Inut evidence of such
temporary insanity may be introduce ‘git. in mitigation of the
irc See 1 Branch’s annotated "Pifal Code of Texas

Jdeed. 1956) pp. 53- 50, However, it seems a defendant is
tntitled to aequittal on a finding of temporary insanity re-
— from the use.of whisky mixed with a drug. * Parker

. State, 91 Tex, Cr. R68, 238 S.W. 945 (1922); 12 We.
is pp. 300-301, °

_ At Petitioner's trial, the judge siggested to Petitioner
one question to be asked of a witness (R. 17) but otherwise
gave him nq assistance, The court. showed ‘shocking un:
concern for Petitidwer’s rights, ajlowing the district. at’
torney to pursue improper lines of questioning that con-

-doned the beatings inflicted on Petitioner (Rh. 26-27) and

presented Petitioner to the jury as a merciless and friend:
less.person (RR. 25, 37, 28). The failure of the court to give
‘Petitioner the protection to whrch, he wits “titled in the
charge ‘to the jury Was inexe ‘usable, :

Petitioner when tried was 25 years old, but was younger
than the petitioner in his thirties whose right to counsel
in a non-capital felony case was held to dave been denied
in Gibbs ¥. Burke, 337 U.S. 773° (1949). Petitioner's in-
maturity, his condition as’an emotionally disturbed person,

and his ignorance of how. to protect himeelf at trial, are

.

apparent throughout the record, :

In view ef Petitioner's youth and ignorance, the indif-

ference of the trial judge, the callous questioning by. the
‘ yu

we

"2 35

prosecutor, and the qe bidke lal consequences to Petitiones,

ot bweine triedSvithout the gissistanece of counsel, this. case
ix controlled by the yorineipie reeenth, restated by this
Courtin' Cash vy. Calver, o05 U.S. bao, bog (IUD):

Where the wei oy ahie erhine and. other factors
—eesuch as the age ee education of the defondang, the
ecOnduct of the court gr the prosecuting officials, and
the complicated mature of the offense. charged sand ‘the

possible defenses thereto—render criminal proceedings .

Without counsel so apt to result in injustice as to be
fundamentally unfair, the Coustitution requires’ that

A the aecused must have legal. ussistanee at his trial.

‘Uveges ve Pennsylvania, 385 US. 437," 441,. or par-
ti®vdar relevance liere are the dgeisions wt ‘the’ (‘ourt
hich have held the appointment of counsel necessary
toa fair trial hecituse of the complexity of the pro-
ceedings. Rice ve Olsan, S24 US. TSG; Gibby v. Burke,
3o7 "S. 773; and se c NV Wliams Vv. Natser, 323 U.S, 471,
475- 4762 ;

The Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas should have

ordered a development of the facts alte ved hy apie
as itdidin fe parle Drush, 166 Tex. Cr. R. SO, oligo 2d
| (1958), That Court did not have’ ‘before At vo state-

smentsof faets (R. 3-32) or the. jury charge (R. 49-51) Which ,

fifve been pliced in the record since the-filing in this Court
of Petition fer the Writ of Ceértiorari. ;

Upon review of habeas corpus cases involving Pt state
court-conviction, without defense counsel, of a non capital

vtelony, this Court, in cases where’ it ihid the full trial ree-

ord before it and the petitioner's allegations ‘were astab-

ished by that record, has concluded that he. convietion
conld net stand, Kg... Townsend y. Burke, 384 US. 736
Wate Gibbs v, Burke, supra: In other such cases, where

«trial record was net before this Court, or the petitioner's

‘ a = .
7 . ‘ ‘
ae ;

¥

3

36

allegations required proof from aide the record, this
Court has determined only that the petitioner was entitled

to a hearing or opportunity to establish his claims. £.%.,

Cash vy. Culver, supra. Lv the case at bar, the condition of
the record before this Court ¢ enables the Court to deter-
mine that Petitioner ix entitled to the writ of habeas corpus
on remand.

The‘record before fhis-Court establishes without dispute
Petitioner's youth and ignorance at the trial, his indigenée
and inability to defend himself, and that he was taken
advantage of, The only issues raised by Petitioner's allega

‘tions ard not. settled by the trial record ‘are. whether he

requested and was denied counsel, and whether he waived
court appointinent of counsel. ve

Under the circamistances a request or demand for counsel,
if madeas Petitioner alleges, was unnecessarye In Gibbs vy.
Burke, ‘supra, 3387 US. 773 (1949), where petitioner had
heen conVicted of a non-capital felony stithout shaving the
assistance of Counsel, the record showed neither a request
for counsel by the petitioner nor an offer of counsel by the
court, and the petitioner conductyd his own defense. , This
Court stated that “a failure to re\uest counsel does not
constitute a waiver when the deferlant does not know of

g itis right to ¢ounsel”, and held that the petitioner’s coi-

stitutional right to a fair trial was denied. In this case, as
in Gibbs, the conclusion is irresistible that Petitioner was
too ignorant to-know that he had a Federal right to counsel.
Moreover, Respondent has conceded in this Court, in his?
Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari
(I. ‘D), that in view of the Texas law as it existed in 1944,
it would have made no difference whether Petitioner -re-
quested the Court to appoint counsel:

“Additionally, under the Texas Criminal Procedural
Law in 1944 it made no difference whether or not Peti-
tioner had asked the Trial Court to appoint counsel to

vv

Oe heed
‘ ord

represent him, which is denied, Even had the record
indirated sueh request, which 4t does not, Petitioner *
Was being twied on a nos-capital felony offense, which
required hoe arraignment and no right to representa. .*
tion by counsel.” | .

‘ ad -

ee z ; >
On the record now before this Court, it is clear that the
Court of parece Appeals of “Texas would not’ require
‘further proof by Petitioner of his atlegations that he re-
adie Pesta: Was indigent and Ba nor waive his Pederal:
cright to the appointment of counsel. In “Moore vy. State,
S24 SW. 2d STM. S80, S81 (Tex. Crim, App. 1909), that

Court said: nf °

’

“The record in this. ease affinmatively reflects that
. this appellant, an eighteen year-old boy, wis not repre-
sented by counsel either of his own choosing or by ap
pointment by the court. There is an absence of pay
© sugyvestion in this case that thé trial court: tendered,
or offered te appoint counsel for Appellant, or that
appellant was fineneiailyable to employ ‘counsel. There
isan absence of any evidence that appellant possessed
sufficient education or was mentally alert to the point
‘of being able‘to represent liimself upon the trial of
this case, . -
. .* « ° &

“Giving effect to the decisions of the SuprémeCourt
of the United States andl the rule of daw announced
thervin, we are,constrained. to agree that under the
facts here presented this conviction Yggst be beygersed,
heeause of the failure on the parted thi@trial court to
appoint counsel for the appellant. 8

“While we have no statute in this state which ore.
quires the gine nt af counsel for one on trial for
an orddingry felony, the Supreme Court Of the United
sta

‘

sin aseries of decisions hats judie ‘ialiy determined

38
.)
and held that failure to appoint counsel for one on tri:
in‘a state court for an ordinary felony may constitut
a denial of due process, under the Fourteenth Amen
ment to the Constitution 6f the, United States.”

ad
*, 4 &
The state of the record in the Moore case was emphasize
by a dissenting opinion, 524 S.W. 2d at SSI, SS2, as follow:
- “* * * There is nothing in this record to show thi

appellant used any diligence to secure counses of h
own’ selection e urlier ; ; hothing to show that Ife desing
that the court appoint counsel forhim* * *. .
.“The effect of the majority opinion is-that, contrar
to its prior decisions, this Court announces the rule
‘be that in al! felony cases wherein the defendant is nm
____ represented by sel_his conviction will be set asic
Sunless the record affirmatively shows that the dees
danas financially able to entploy cotinsel, and’ thi
he possessed sufficient education and mental alertnes

to the point. pf being able to represent himself upe
the trial:” . * o -

.
.

Further development of the fa@s by the Court of Crimin
Appeals of Texas, before,granting the writ of habeas co

pus, thus hee ‘comes unnecessary. ) a -

Petitioner has exhausted his remedies in the courts ¢

Texas, and Respondent so concedes ine this’ Court. Bri

of Respondent in Opposition to ron for Wyit of Cert
: oraki, P. 2,

‘The Court of ‘Criminal Appeals of Texas has held that an ori
inal petition to that *Court.for the wrt of habeas’ corpus. is
proper remedy to prevent enforcement of an unappealed judgme
obtained under circumstances which @bnstituted a denial of
process under the Federal Constitution, La parte Bush, AB 8.)
2d 287, 166 Tex. Cr. R. 399 (1958) (non-eapital felony convicti«

« after denial ofscourt appointed: counsel to presumptively , insa
defendant, held, writ of habpas voFpus granted ten years ‘faft
conviction ), C a al

il @
'
‘
|.
d &
. &
¢
it. @
is 3
a t
On 4
o
v4
o” @
@
yt )

- |
it
n
@¢
il
l- '
7%
t
f 8
‘ f
l- &
iF
\ i
g-° H
a
nit
we, =
Vo \
rth 2
ie 4
er

Le?

39 f

Conclusion

oo... '
The Cogurteol! Criminal Appeals of @oxas erred in refs.
Inv to give Petitioner an opportunity to establisl the mate:
rial allegations. of his petition for writ of habeas corpus
and in refusing to develop the faets and deterinine the issue
raised by Petitioner as to denial of due process under the
Fourteenth Amendinent. Had the Court of Criminal Ap-

“peats considered the fall record whieh ts now before this

» Court, it would heave boon required, wader this Court's deci

sions during the past twenty veags, to grant Petitioner the
writ Of habeas corpus. .The ecireunistances under whieh

Petitioner went to trial and the complexity of the legal

problems which then arose, made if impossible for Peti-

Loner to have atau tal without the gasistene al counsel,

This Court should now deterimin® that Petitioner is entitled
on the trial record to the writ of libeas corpus, and reverse
and remand for further proceedings net qlcouststent with
the opinion of this Court,

Respecthuiy submitted, ‘
ack ; vp
i ; Perey Dé Wiuntass
e Counsel tor Petibioner
2 loo Gul! Biulding
‘ Tlouston 2, Lexite.
‘ ’ ’ a
: 1
, &, ° f
K 4 -)
4
v a .
4
be
ze
. ™*

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385001_0100%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
