# Brief for the Respondents in Opposition — Laughlin v. Garnett

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA34806415_2040%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondents in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1944
- **Citation:** 322 U.S. 738

## Text

ROE DOIN oa oacteccskse as eaiwtwokucnwececcsncneeoes 1
PUR ok nar cane ASK ane ehhh Cdcedes Canon bee ntaS Meeeie 1
RORINGNE SPONONUN shins ane h ast ccatnanssuccias nsec wncemme 2
EE IT LCE OT CECT ETT TEE ET ET 2
RI 6 kk Cadena tees naw nd lense nin ienssaweeseansne A
RRM iL ca ie been do tee eed neanathENeteedsab ene nan ewe 8

CITATIONS
Cases:
Adame eT. Gel. ©. 107 Po GY ASO. 2 nce cnencccses 5
Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Abbott, 130 F. (2d) 40___-- 4
Anderson v. Rohrer, 3 F. Supp. 367...........-.--.----- 5
Coleone ¥. Gated; VIG F Cay 8G ean cence s cence cewese ans 6
Coener ©; Armee, SE PO. BiG cas sc once as ince awcccnd 7
ae 4 v. O'Connor, 99 F. (2d) 135, certiorari denied, 305

5
Larecque ¥. Dorsey, 200 Pea: G60 .6... oon cence ccvcnnce 7
Sees $F: Fes, THe FG) Gio ncas ccc ecncsnccsasixn 6,7
National Surety Co. v. Page, 58 F. (2d) 145, rehearing de-
WOE, OE Bs Gee) ies Covna cen kebivucGicwanseetcawen
Piscine ¥. Daseh, OF F. CR) GI cennsccccwntesccesnxss
Spalding v. Vilas, 161 U. 8, 483._.......-.-------------
United States v. Atherton, 102 U. S. 372__.__.-.---------
Yaselli v. Goff, 12 F. (2d) 396, affirmed, 275 U.S. 503____--
Rules:
Rule 12 (f) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure_---_----
Rule 15a of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure-_-------

(1)

me OO Om OOD

584286—44

ROR RL ENGLER IIE ONES LR Se TINT Ne Mga

Inthe Supreme Gourt of the Wited States

OctoBER TERM, 1943

No. 820
JAMES J. LAUGHLIN, PETITIONER
v.
LESLIE C. GARNETT, JOHN W. FIHELLY, AND ALLEN
BaKER

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF
COLUMBIA

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The per curiam opinion of the court of appeals
(R. 49-50) is reported at 138 F. (2d) 931. The
order of the district court denying petitioner’s
motion for leave to file a proposed third amended
complaint appears at pages 41-42 of the record.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (R. 51)
was entered on November 8, 1943. A petition for
rehearing was denied on November 13, 1943 (R.
(1)

aie lee

MD bermtinemrenencnepnmenrer acon

2

54). On February 11, 1944, the Chief Justice of
the United States extended petitioner’s time for
filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to March
13, 1944 (R. 53), and on March 11, 1944, he
granted petitioner an additional extension of time
until March 28, 1944 (R. 53). The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on March 28, 1944.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
Section 240 (a) of the Judicial Code, as amended
by the Act of February 13, 1925.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the district court abused its discretion
in denying petitioner leave to file his proposed
third amended complaint.

STATEMENT

Petitioner instituted an action for conspiracy
and for malicious prosecution against respondents,
a former United States attorney, an assistant
United States attorney, and a police officer at-
tached to the United States attorney’s office (R.
3-14). The answer to the complaint filed by re-
spondents alleged as a ‘‘further defense’’ that the
complaint failed to state a claim upon which relief
could be granted against respondents, in that the ~
complaint showed on its face that respondents’
acts were performed in the course of their official
duties (R. 44-45). Without formal action by the
district court, petitioner filed an amended com-
plaint (R. 14-20), and, after respondents had

poy So er Day meee waar Sees

3

moved under Rule 12 (f) of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure to strike the amended complaint
(R. 45-46), again voluntarily amended his com-
plaint without formal action by the court (R. 20-
23). Motions by respondents to dismiss the second
amended complaint on the ground that it failed to
state a claim (R. 45-46) were sustained, and peti-
tioner was given leave to move for permission to
file a third amended complaint, provided that a
copy of the proposed complaint accompanied the
motion (R. 23). The motion was made (R. 23-
41) and denied (R. 41-42). On appeal, the Court
of Appeals for the District of Columbia affirmed
the order denying leave to file the proposed third
amended complaint (R. 51).

The second amended complaint alleged in sub-
stance that respondents, acting maliciously, with-
out probable cause, and palpably beyond the scope
of their official duties, prevailed upon certain per-
sous to make false charges against petitioner and
prepare false documents; that on the basis of such
false testimony respondents brought about peti-
tioner’s indictment and trial on several criminal
charges of which he was ultimately acquitted (R.
20-23). The proposed third amended complaint
set forth the alleged reasons which inspired re-
spondents’ malice towards petitioner. It further
alleged that respondents induced certain persons
to make false charges against petitioner and trans-
mitted such charges to the Bar Association in an

5 BNRESTO

WB entrees meninmncemmnmomenn:

endeavor to harass him in the practice of law;
that respondents endeavored to induce petitioner’s
clients to dispense with his services; that on the
promise of lower prison sentences they indueed
certain of petitioner’s clients to make false
charges against him and by means of false charges
and forged documents succeeded in having him
indicted and tried on criminal charges of which
he was ultimately acquitted. The proposed com-
plaint also set forth the means by which petitioner
allegedly discovered the alleged conspiracy and
annexed as part of the complaint affidavits by the
persons who allegedly had been induced to make
the false charges. (R. 24-33.)

ARGUMENT

The narrow question presented by this petition
is whether the district court abused its discretion
in denying petitioner leave to file his proposed
third amended complaint. We think that it is
clear that no abuse of discretion was shown.

The gist of the complaint is that respondents
maliciously instituted criminal charges against
petitioner by the use of false testimony. Peti-
tioner contends (Pet. 9) that the allegations that

2 Under Rule 15(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure
“when justice so requires” the court may allow the filing of
amended pleadings. The granting of such leave is a matter
of discretion and is therefore not subject to review except
for abuse. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Abbott, 130 F.
(2d) 40, 44 (C. C. A. 4); ef. United States v. Atherton, 102
U. S. 372, 375.

* r yn f
Ce eae het panna wy ae ce
i os

Sip ety AEROS OLIN AY BESS ROO NaS So TRAE he Me AEE BTR BE VPI ART, OI Selo ER TENN.

5

respondents induced certain persons to make the
false charges and prepare the false documents
which formed the basis of the prosecution (para-
graphs 18 and 19, R. 29-30) take this complaint
out of the general rule that prosecuting officials
are immune from civil liability for acts performed
in their official capacity even though actuated by
malice.” However, the immunity of a government
official from civil liability extends to ‘‘action hav-
ing more or less connection with the general mat-
ters committed by law to his control or super-
vision.”’ Spalding v. Vilas, 161 U. S. 483, 498;
Cooper v. O’Connor, 99 F. (2d) 135, 139 (App.
D. C.), certiorari denied, 305 U. S. 642. The db-
taining of evidence to be presented to a grand
jury is as much a function of a prosecuting attor-
ney as the presentation of such evidence. Hence,
under the cases cited, respondents cannot be sub-
jected to civil liability for such acts.

Petitioner also contends (Pet. 8) that para-
graphs 13 and 14 of the proposed complaint, in
alleging that respondents Baker and Garnett in-
duced certain persons to make false charges

* Cooper v. O'Connor, 99 F. (2d) 135 (App. D. C.), cer-
tiorari denied, 305 U. S. 642; Yaselli v. Goff, 12 F. (2d) 396
(C. C. A. 2), affirmed, 275 U. S. 503; Anderson v. Rohrer, 3
F. Supp. 367 (S. D. Fla.) ; cf. Spalding v. Vilas, 161 U. 8.
483; Jones v. Kennedy, 121 F. (2d) 40 (App. D. C.), cer-
tiorari denied, 314 U. S. 665; Glass v. Ickes, 117 F. (2d) 273
(App. D. C.), certiorari denied, 311 U. S. 718; Adams v. H.
O. L. C., 107 F. (2d) 139 (C. C. A. 8); Phelps v. Dawson,
97 F, (2d) 339 (C.C. A. 8).

a
.
RTOS Pes TEER ATS ROR: ERR Ay

6

against petitioner and transmitted such charges
to the Bar Association (R. 27-28), charged acts
which are not within the scope of the immunity
granted to prosecuting officials. It may be, as the
court below suggested (R. 50), that allegations of
the malicious institution of false charges in an
endeavor to cause an attorney’s disbarment * would
present a basis for a civil action against prosecut-
ing officials.* In the instant case, however, there
is no suggestion that the acts alleged in para-
graphs 13 and 14 resulted in the temporary dis-
barment of petitioner alleged in paragraph 27
(R. 32), or even in formal charges against peti-
tioner. In themselves these paragraphs present a
situation analogous to that where efforts to cause
institution of criminal proceedings have proved
unsuccessful and have therefore been held not to
be actionable. Melvin v. Pence, 130 F. (2d) 423
(App. D. C.); Larocque v. Dorsey, 299 Fed. 556,
559 (C. C. A. 2); Cooper v. Armour, 42 Fed. 215
(C. C. N. D. N. Y.). And in any event, as the

’ Malicious attempts to effect revocation of a license have
been held to support actions for malicious prosecutions.
Melvin v. Pence, 130 F. (2d) 423 (App. D. C.); National
Surety Co. v. Page, 58 F. (2d) 145 (C. C. A. 4), rehearing
denied, 59 F. (2d) 370.

* The court below indicated (R. 50) that in its judgment
the presentation of charges to a Bar Association, while
privileged, is beyond the scope of a prosecutor’s normal duties
and therefore not protected by the immunity doctrine ex-
pressed in Cooper v. O’Connor, supra. Cf. Colpoys v. Gates,
118 F. (2d) 16 (App. D.C.).

AER PR AY a OL Tertiary EERE
. MC

7

court below held, the allegations of these para-
graphs, together with those of paragraph 27, are
clearly too vague and indefinite to stand alone as
a cause of action when the main allegations of the
complaint relating to official misconduct on the
part of the respondents are stricken.

Moreover, the question before the district court
in the instant case was whether to allow the pro-
posed third amended complaint as a whole to be
filed. Paragraphs 13, 14, and 27 constitute a
minor undeveloped portion of a long complaint
based primarily on the charge of malicious prose-
eution of criminal offenses. By its dismissal of
the second amended complaint, the district court
had already ruled that the criminal proceedings
presented no ground for relief, and petitioner had
taken no appeal from that order. Yet the bulk
of his third amended complaint consisted of a
repetition, with only unimportant amplifications
of evidentiary details, of the very same allegations
which he had made in the second amended com-
plaint. Clearly, therefore, the inference is war-
ranted that petitioner’s asserted cause of action
rested primarily upon the allegations of false
criminal charges just as had been the case with
all the prior complaints he had filed, and the court
was under no duty to allow him to file a complaint
the main portion of which consisted of a replead-
ing of facts which had already been properly held
insufficient to constitute a cause of action.

P ows —_ 7 - 7
ead RAE HR EPA LN a PLS ONT LL RIE Se THOS LOIS OSL, ET LA hp ES PR a lg - oes
- = $ RM ROT LD or ERG SR RS aa a

RATER ea kd Oe,

Bae AG PLU Sk Sas NR RE NERA SN RIT CN lg BAGS ab PARI ATS

lates

8
CONCLUSION

The action of the district court in denying leave
to file a third amended complaint involved no
abuse of discretion, but on the other hand was
plainly in accordance with applicable decisions of
this Court, and the judgment of the court below
affirming that action presents no question war-
ranting further review. Accordingly, we respect-
fully submit that the petition for a writ of certi-
orari should be denied.

CHARLES Fany,
Solicitor General.
Tom C. CLARK,
Assistant Attorney General.
CHesTeR T. Lane,
Epwarp G. JENNINGS,
Special Assistants to the Attorney General.
BEATRICE ROSENBERG,

Attorney.
Aprin 1944.

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE; 1944

LER an Sara ES Rete eCT >

. nee opt Oe!
RI eRe ame eR Ae fer tt ee a NR Nt is pc Bs vente a pth dei BEN

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA34806415_2040%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
