# Brief for the Respondents in Opposition — Wilson Milling Co. v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA34086415_1863%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the Respondents in Opposition
- **Published:** January 1, 1944
- **Citation:** 320 U.S. 800

## Text

INDEX

Opinions below

Jurisdiction - - - - - ‘ ee oan ED oe
Question presented - Beas eee ae ts tots
COURT ToS ages aay alg a are Ge Pee MISSES RPV ER aa cy
Statement-_--- --

Argument. . — =
Conclusion. - . Neo tee —_ =
Appendix. - -

CITATIONS
Cases:

Anniston Mfg. Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 337 .

Commissioner v. Blaine, Mackay, rye Co., now pending in
the Opie Cire. .. oc lee eae ap

Helvering v. Amer. Dental Co., 318 U. S. 322__.- ee

Helvering v. Cannon Valley Milling Co., 129 F. 2d 642

Helvering v. A. L. Killian Co., 128 F. 2d 433..

Hirsch vy. Commissioner, 115 F. 2d 656 a

Johnson v. Igleheart Bros., 95 F. 2d 4, certiorari denied, 304
U. S. 585- : ne u

Kingan & Co. ' v. Smith, a7 F, Supp. 217

Louisville Provision Co. v. Glenn, 18 F. Supp. 423, dismissed,
90.F. 2d 1012....-. ; kaa.

Moundridge Milling Co. v. Cream of Wheat Corp., 105 F.
2d 366___- er ata tte Po a a ek a nes and

North American Oil v. Burnet, 286 U.S. 417 pais

Rickert Rice Mills v. Fontenot, 297 U. . 110...

Schoellkopf Aniline & Chemical Works v. United States, 77
Ct. Cls. 529 Boe ais Cae ne ae oe

Security Flour Mills Co. . Commissioner, No 276, present
hs | Rs PA eee ae ee ee ey ee arc

Sportwear Hosiery Mills v. Commissioner, 129 F. 2d 376

Spring City Co. v. Commissioner, 292 U. 8S. 182

Union Packing Co. v. Rogan, 17 F. Supp. 934. .

United States v. Butler, 297 U. S. 1._._._.-.

United States v. Hudson, 299 U. S. 498 ats

White Packing Co. v. Robertson, 89 F. 2d 775 7

(1)

564154--43

II

Statutes: Page
Agricultural Adjustment Act of 1935, ¢. 25, 48 Stat. 31, as
amended by the Act of August 24, 1935, c. 644, 49 Stat.

Ota cies ae Seok an ee a dears so ahs oh Seon SG ig in 4
Revenue Act of 1934, c. 277, 48 Stat. 680, Sec. 43._.____- 6
Revenue Act of 1936, c. 690, 49 Stat. 1648:

OR lo cece nen e aa akan ehanena st aa ee 6

Pe ey ee eke Nae el Sen Coe eee eatin atertd 4,5, 11

OO Mi eteceesehe auton tab ston cag ae ahe cosas 5, 12

Sec. 902 (7 U. S. C. 1940 ed., Sec. 644)... .________- 4

Revenue Act of 1938, c. 289, 52 Stat. 447, Sec. 43._______ 6
Miscellaneous:

B. SOOe, 19RE-1 Com. RWG Choo on nde ccesccce 7

_

Guthe Supreme Court of the Bnited States

OcroseR TERM, 1943

Witson MiILiinc Company, A DissoLvep Corpora-
tion, BY A. J. LanpruM, R. E. Lee WIson, JR.,
J. H. Crain, 8. A. REGENOLD AND W. F. Witson,
TRUSTEES IN LIQUIDATION, PETITIONER

Vv.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH
CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Tax Court of the United
States (R. 13-20) is reported at 1 T. C. 389. The
opinion of the Cireuit Court of Appeals (R.
30-34) is not yet officially reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Circuit Court of Appeals
was entered on October 18, 1943 (R. 35). The
petition for a writ of certiorari was filed on No-
vember 26, 1943. The jurisdiction of this Court
(1)

2

is invoked under Section 240 (a) of the Judicial
Code, as amended by the Act of February 13,
1925.
QUESTION PRESENTED

In 1935 the taxpayer purchased flour at prices
which included the processing tax imposed under
the Agricultural Adjustment Act and resold the
flour at prices which similarly included the tax,
In 1937 it received reimbursements from two of
its vendors representing amounts of the tax bur-
den which had been passed on to it and which
it had in turn passed on. Is the amount of these
reimbursements subject, for the year 1937, to the
unjust enrichment tax imposed by Section 501 of
the Revenue Act of 1936?

STATUTE INVOLVED

The statute involved is set forth in the Appen-
dix, infra, pp. 11-13.

STATEMENT

The facts as found by the Tax Court may be
summarized as follows:

The taxpayer is an Arkansas _ corporation,
organized on August 7, 1930, to engage in the
wheat and corn milling business. It was dis-
solved on May 2, 1938, and its directors are its
trustees in liquidation. (R. 14.)

The taxpayer discontinued the milling of wheat
in 1934 and thereafter bought flour on the open
market from other milling companies and sold it
to retail grocers. During 1937 it received the

—

3

amount of $3,794.92 as reimbursements from two
of its vendors on flour purchased in 1935. The
reimbursements were made with respect to flour
delivered under contracts known as ‘Miller’s
National Federation Uniform Sales Contract
(Adopted July 10, 1934).’”’ (R. 14.) These con-
tracts called for the delivery of a specified num-
ber of barrels of flour at a specified price per
barrel, and contained a clause reading in part
as follows (R. 14):

Taxes: The price named in this contract
includes all taxes as at the date hereof pro-
claimed by the Secretary of Agriculture by
virtue of the authority vested in him by

\ the Agricultural Adjustment Act of the
United States. * * * if any tax in-
cluded in the price hereof shall be decreased
or abated, then, in that event, said decrease
or abatement shall be deducted from the
price hereof.

No separate charge was made by the vendors for
processing tax, but the price per barrel was
sufficient to include the processing tax on wheat.
This flour the taxpayer sold at a specified price
per barrel, using as the cost price to determine its
sale price, the price paid by it to its vendors. No
separate charge was made to its vendees for the
processing tax. (R. 15.)

The taxpayer did not receive enough from the
sale of its products to cover its cost and expenses
of operating. It reported net losses on its income

4

tax returns for the years 1935, 1936 and 1937 in
the respective amounts of $11,436.81, $4,554.40 and
$8,677.06. (R. 15.)

The Commissioner determined that the tax-
payer was subject, under Title IIT of the Revenue
Act of 1936, to an unjust enrichment tax equal
to 80% of the reimbursements (R. 15). The Tax

Court affirmed the Commissioner’s determination
(R. 21) and its decision was in turn affirmed by
the Circuit Court of Appeals (R. 35).

ARGUMENT

Introductory.—Titles IIT and VII of the Reve-
nue Act of 1936 were enacted in response to the
decisions in United States v. Butler, 297 U. 8.1,
and Rickert. Rice Mills v. Fontenot, 297 U.S. 110,
holding invalid the processing taxes imposed by
the Agricultural Adjustment Act of 1935, ¢. 25,
48 Stat. 31, as amended by the Act of August 24,
1935, ¢. 641, 49 Stat. 750. Title VII conditioned
the refund of processing taxes which had been
paid to the Government upon a showing by the
claimant that he had not shifted the burden of
the tax ‘directly or indirectly.’ Section 902 (a).
See Anniston Mfg. Co. v. Davis, 301 U. S. 337.
Title III was directed at reaching the unjust en-
richment resulting from the invalidation of the
processing taxes in cases where the taxes had not
been paid to the Government, or where, if paid,
refunds had already been made. By Section 501
a tax of 80% was levied on the net unjust enrich-

es

5

ment or ‘windfall’? income. Clause (1) of See-
tion 501 (a) reached processors who had passed
on the burden of the tax but had not remitted to
the Government. Clause (2) reached cases, such
as the instant one, where a purchaser of a taxed
commodity had in turn passed on the burden of
the tax and had then received reimbursements
from his vendor. Clause (3) reached cases where
the processing tax had been paid to the Govern-
ment, but had been refunded. Section 501 (1)
provided that the tax was to be imposed on the
net income from these sources regardless of losses
from other transactions, and Section 502 avoided
double taxation by granting as a credit against
the tax the amount of other federal income’ and
excess profits taxes payable on that income. As
both the Tax Court and the Circuit Court of Ap-
peals have held, the reimbursements of $3,794.92
which the taxpayer received in 1937 fell squarely
within the terms of the statute.

1. There is but a vague relationship between
the instant case on the one hand and Security
Flour Mills Co. v. Commissioner, No. 276, present
Term, and Helvering v. Cannon Valley Milling Co.,
129 F. 2d 642 (C. C. A. 8th), on the other hand.
In those cases processors made reimbursements
to their vendees in years after 1935 and sought
to deduct, as business expenses, the amounts of
those reimbursements from their incomes for
1935, the year in which they had made the sales

6

with respect to which the reimbursements were
made, rather than from their incomes of the later
years. Those cases turn upon a specific statutory
provision (Sec. 43 of Title I of the Revenue Acts
of 1934,’ 1936,’ and 1938*), which deals only with
the time when deductions and credits shall be
taken.’ The instant case presents no question
under Section 43. It does not even present any
real issue as to the time when an item of income
is to be reported. For even if it should be
assumed that the taxpayer was on the accrual
basis of accounting, there is nothing in the record
to support any suggestion that a right to the re-
imbursements had accrued at any time prior to
1937. It is not shown and it cannot be assumed
that the taxpayer’s vendors had agreed prior to
that time to make the reimbursements. Proces-
sors frequently took the position [in which they
were sustained; see Moundridge Milling Co. v.
Cream of Wheat Corp., 105 F. 2d 366 (C. C. A.
10th); Johnson vy. Igleheart Bros., 95 F. 2d 4
(C. C. A. 7th), certiorari denied, 304 U. S. 585]

1 ©, 277, 48 Stat. 680.

> C. 690, 49 Stat. 1648.

3 ©, 289, 52 Stat. 447.

* Commissioner v. Blaine, Mackay, Lee Co., now pending
in the Third Circuit, on review of Memorandum Decisions
of January 17, 1942, of the Board of Tax Appeals (1942
P-H Memorandum Decisions, pars. 42,022, 42,032), also
raises that issue, namely the proper time for deduction of
reimbursements to vendees and of attorneys’ fees paid in
a suit attacking the validity of the processing taxes.

7

that the tax clause of the Miller’s Federation Con-
tract (R. 14) imposed no liability upon them to
make such payments. The record does not show
that there was here anything more than the usual
decision to pay the vendee’s claim; nor does it
show that any agreement to make the payments
was reached prior to 1937.2 The courts below
were therefore plainly correct under long settled
principles (see North American Oil v. Burnet,
286 U.S. 417) in holding that the reimbursements
were properly to be reported in that year.*
Neither Spring City Co. v. Commissioner, 292
U. S. 182, nor Schoellkopf Aniline & Chemical
Works v. United States, 77 Ct. Cls. 529, nor I. T.
3064, 1937-1 Cum. Bull. 94, is to the contrary.
They all hold that an item does not become in-

* There is certainly nothing in the case to suggest that the
reimbursements were gratuities. Cf. Helvering v. Amer.
Dental Co., 318 U.S. 322. Petitioner's assertion that the re-
imbursements were necessarily either gifts or made pursuant
to a fixed and definite right under the Miller’s Federation -
Contract is patently fallacious. It cannot be assumed that
there was an absence of the usual controversy leading to
negotiations resulting in a definite settlement.

* Since under any view the reimbursements were income of
1937, it was doubtless for this reason that the Circuit Court
found it unnecessary to consider the new issue, tendered there
at the eleventh hour, as to whether the taxpayer filed its re-
turn for that year on the cash or accrual basis of accounting.
Moreover it is to be observed that the evidence relied upon
by the taxpayer (Pet. 12-13) to show that the accrual system
was used is self-contradictory and hardly supports that
conclusion.

8

come to a taxpayer on the accrual basis until the
right thereto has become fixed.

2. There is no merit to the suggestion that the
opinion of the Cireuit Court is in conflict with its
own decision in Helvering v. A. L. Killian Co.,
128 F. 2d 483; see also Hirsch v. Commissioner,
115 F, 2d 656 (C. C. A. 7th). Those cases hold
simply that where there is a reduction in the pur-
chase price of property before the vendee has fin-
ished paying for it, the amount by which the
obligation has been reduced does not constitute
income to the purchaser, but is only a revision of
the original price. Here, however, the goods had
already been bought, paid for and resold; the
money turned over to the taxpayer by its vendors
in the year 1937 could hardly be viewed as other
than income in that year. See Sportwear Hosiery
Mills v. Commissioner, 129 F. 2d 876 (C. C. A.
3d).

3. The suggestion that Title III of the Revenue
Act of 1936 is unconstitutional ignores more than a
quarter of a century of history. The term ‘net
income’’ taxed by the statutes has never been the
net gain or profit of the taxpayer in the economic
sense; it has always been simply the difference be-
tween ‘‘gross income” as statutorily defined, and
the deductions as statutorily limited. From the
beginning some items which might properly have
been included in gross income have been excluded
therefrom, and from the beginning the items of

9

deduction have never attempted nor purported to
include all of those which in the economic sense
should be subtracted in order to arrive at net
gain. It has long been a normal feature of the
income tax that a taxpayer might sustain a net
loss in the accounting or economic sense, but never-
theless have a net income subject to tax. Famil-
iar and everyday examples are those arising from
the limitation upon the allowance of capital losses

as deductions. It is clear that there is no con-.

stitutional requirement that Congress allow a tax-
payer to deduct other losses from his unjust
enrichment net income,

The constitutionality of the unjust enrichment
tax has been sustained in Wivte Packing Co. v.
Robertson, 89 F. 2d 775 (C. C. A. 4th); Kingan
& Co. v. Smith, 17 F. Supp. 217 (S. D. Ind.);
Louisville Provision Co. v. Glenn, 18 F. Supp.
423 (W. D. Ky.), appeal dismissed, 90 F. 2d 1012
(C. C. A. 6th); and Union Packing Co. v. Rogan,
17 F. Supp. 934 (S. D. Cal.). And United States
v. Hudson, 299 U. S. 498, seems to have put to
rest any question concerning the power of Con-
gress to levy a special tax upon income arising
from a particular source.

Cees!
i

a

= gd

10

CONCLUSION

The decision below is plainly | correct and is
not in conflict.with-any-other- decision. There is
no oceasion for further review and the petition
should be denied. |

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES Fany,
Solicitor General.
| SaMvEL O. CuarK, Jr.,
Assistant Attorney General.
SEWALL Key,
BERNARD CHERTCOFF,
Special ‘Assistants to the Attorney General.
DECEMBER, 1943

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA34086415_1863%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
