# Petition for a Writ of Certiorari — Garrison v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA34086415_1690%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1943
- **Citation:** 320 U.S. 751

## Text

Bs

1 CHARLES FLAC

OCTOBER, 1943, TERM.

WILLIE GRAY GARRISON, PETITIONER,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI AND
BRIEF IN SUPPORT THEREOF.

D. B. HotMgEs,
BEN F. CAMERON,
LESTER E. WILLs,

Meridian, Mississippi,
Attorneys for Petitioner.

Supreme Court of the United States

RAEN LI TEP MOLES RT IEEE on

2) A Po

SR ea Fhe erat i 91 ‘3 -

TABLE OF CASES
Petition for Certiorari

men SION 5 cache te caso csecedeaonnasonticdan aanisiliecanioie 1

Opinion Below_.. cMarket 4

Jurisdictional Statement... UsSMetlena bien Morena rate t tere Ne 4

E.R ea Ecce en EVO ER EASE. 5

Remons for Allowance of Writ OT

SEY 6. NEON Wi Oey OT TE 8

Brief in Support of Petition

Siatement of Facts__£.£.___._.___.. a 9

emery a ATT... ice
Argument—

dae, ER RRS BPR a rrmecnries REDD sO Dy tek aM ES

Decisions of Supreme Court... 19

Federal Statutes... ee:

Circuit Court of Appeals Decisions. tetas a

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Cases 26

Right to Have Law Correctly Stated —...._._ _ 28

MMIII sis ochcsi-s-osceamppnloabcdsincosctucsidiui spelen siete eaaeeve baseciealiokc me 29

TABLE OF CASES

Ash vs. Ash, Comberback 367... ____..___.___._..14 18

Barker vs. Dixie, 2 Strange 1051-_..--- 14, 18

Bates vs. United States, 269 Fed. 563... 15, 25

Beaton vs. United States, 5 F. 2d 966... 5, 26

Bernal vs. United States, 241 Fed. 339... 16, 26

Bradley vs. United States, 264 Fed. 79... «16, 27

Bright vs. Eynon, 1 Burrow 390... 14, 19

Brown vs. United States, 9 F. 2d 588... 15, 26

Casey vs. United States, (9 Cir.) 20 F. 2d 752 16, 27, 28

II INDEX

Commonwealth vs. Rollins, 242 Mass. 427, 136 N. E.

a coe cesieeneeaainaghinciinte 14,17
Coplin vs. United States, (9 Cir.) 88 F. 2d 652 scene
Detroit United Ry. Co. vs. Craven, 13 F. 2d 352. 15, zi
Ex parte United States, (7 Cir.) 101 Fed. 870, 131

i al coca ncpsnaiedpamesigsnipialitimeietiden 16, 28
Gibson vs. Hunter, 2 H. Blackstone 187 — of

Lords, 1793) a aS ai A 19
Harrison vs. United States, 7 F. 2d 259, 262. 15, 23
Haws vs. Victoria Copper Mining Co., 160 U. S. 303,

313 | Ng Sek gt hala ia 14, 19
Sondite « VS. . United States, 219 U.S. 79, 91. 14, 20
Holmgren vs. United States, 217 U. S. 509, 521 14, 20
Hyde vs. United States, 225 U. .. 3, 2. 14, 21
Jones vs. Spencer, 77 L. T. R. 536__--.-.---.---.-..14, 20
Jordan vs. United States, 120 F. 2d 65 —.... ......... 16, 27
Katz vs. United States, 273 Fed. 157 Mawar 15, 23
Lopez vs. United States, 17 F. ' 15, 23
Mattox vs. United States, 146 U. S. 140 14,117
Maitox vs. United States, 146 U. S. 919... “14, 19, 27
McDonald vs. Pless, 238 U. S. 264, 268 . phe 14, 20
Murhard Estate Co. vs. Portland, Seattle e Ry. | Co., 163

Fed. 194 ~ ; 15, 26
Ogden vs. United States, “112 Fed. 523 we 15, 24
Paine vs. St. Paul Union Stockyard Co., 35 F. 24 624. 15, 26
Prisament vs. United States, 96 F. 2d 865_. we fC
Pugh vs. Bluff City Excursion Co., 177 Fed. 399 15, 25
Rex vs. Francis, 2 Strange 1015... BP: _...14, 19
Shannon vs. Shaeffer Oil and d Refining ¢ Co., “51 F. 2d

Re _15, 26
Slade’s Case, Style 138 ; sc ptiaciicvihsiecpge
Smith vs. United States, 231 Fed. 25. fob a ne
Smith vs. United States, 281 Fed. 696_........____ 15, 24
Spreckels vs. Brown, 212 U. S. 208, 215... 14, 20
State vs. Messino, 325 Mo. 743, 30 S. W. 2d 750, 755... .14, 17
Stokes vs. United States, 93 F. 2d 744... —...16, 27
Sulzbacher vs. Continental Casualty Co., 88 F. 2d 122. 15, 26
Tate vs. Baugh, 264 Fed. 892... 215, 8

INDEX III

Towe vs. United States, 238 Fed. 557... 15, 24

United States vs. Glasser, (7 Cir.) 116 F. 2d 690, re-
versed in part Glasser vs. United States, 315 U. Ss.
Oe ak LENSE

Wood vs. Guston, ‘Style 466. SS |
Woodford vs. Eades, 1 Strange 425, eas er

STATUTES
Act of January 31, 1928 (28 U.S.C. A. 86la) 14, 22
Constitution of United States, Amendment Six... _ 16
Criminal Code, Section 19 (18 U. S. C. A. 51)...
Sens 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 13
Criminal Code. Section 37 (18 U. S. Cc A. 88)... 2,8
Criminal Code, Sections 19 to 21 (18 U. S. C. A. 51,
52, 54) aiti asl 8

Judicial Code, Section 240, as “amended by Act of
February 13, 1925, Subsection (a) (28 U. S.C. A.
347) - é 4,5
Judicial Code, ‘Section 269, formerly R. s. ‘See. 726 (28
ae SS | ‘ _5, 6, 14, 17, 20, 21
Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule ees Ls Oe
Supreme Court Rules, Rule XXXVIII. 4

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER, 1943, TERM.

WILLIE GRAY GARRISON, PETITIONER,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Petitioner, Willie Gray Garrison, respectfuliy prays
that a writ of certiorari issue from this Honorable Court
to review a final judgment of the United States Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, rendered on the
28th day of May, 1942.

SUMMARY STATEMENT.

Petitioner and another were convicted in the Western
Division of the Northern District of Alabama on one of
two counts, each of which charged one and the same con-
spiracy under Section 19 of the Criminal Code (18 U. S.
C. A. 51). The indictment was drawn on the erroneous
assumption that an overt act was a necessary element of
the offense. In charging the jury, the trial court fell into
this same error, and also erroneously charged that the
object of the conspiracy, as charged in the indictment,

2

was an offense against the United States, obviously con-
fusing the offense denounced by Criminal Code, Section
19, with the offense defined by Criminal Code, Section 37
(18 U. S. C. A. 88), and assuming that some section of
the Criminal Code denounced the commission of the acts
which might be the objects of criminal conspiracies under
Section 19. Moreover, the court charged the jury that:

“The question for you to determine is, did these
defendants, or either of them, oppress or threaten or
intimidate Mr. Dorough because of his having re-
ported the activities of the defendant (petitioner) in
the whiskey business,”

thereby authorizing the jury to convict if they found that
the overt act charged in the indictment, which was also
the object of the alleged conspiracy, had actually been
committed, without regard to whether or not the defend-
ants had conspired.

Insofar as the two counts charged violation of Section
19, they were identical. Unnecessary and superfluous al-
legations follow the conspiracy charge in each count, al-
leging the commission of different overt acts, and this
was the only difference between the counts. Although
each count charged the same conspiracy, both counts
were submitted to the jury under the charge mentioned
above. The jury convicted as to Count One, but acquitted
as to Count Two. Since the offense charged in each
count was one and the same, the jury must have taken
the court at its word, and considered whether or not the
defendants had oppressed, etc., Dorough for the reasons
stated, and must have found that they did so oppress as
charged in Count One, but did not oppress as charged in
Count Two. Under this, the only consistent interpreta-
tion of the record, the jury acquitted as to the conspiracy,
which was the only offense charged in the indictment.

On appeal, petitioner brought forward his motion for
a directed verdict on the insufficiency of the evidence.

& i Be
te o's
aoa}

3

The Court of Appeals found that there was some evidence,
under the wide latitude allowed in conspiracy cases, and
stated that

“The circumstances convinced the jury that there
was concert of action and community of purpose,”

and thereupon affirmed the conviction, one Judge dis-
senting on the ground that there was no evidence of con-

spiracy.

On Petition for Rehearing, petitioner renewed his Mo-
tion for New Trial, as filed in the trial court, and urged
that the verdict was the result of a mistake of law which
had pervaded the entire proceeding. That the Court of
Appeals fell into the same error as the trial court is evi-
denced by the following quotation from its opinion:

“There was evidence in the record, which the
jury evidently believed, upon which it could find that
there was an understanding and concert of action
between Garrison and Walker, and there is ample
evidence of the commission by Garrison of the overt
act alleged in the first count. The act of one of the
conspirators is the act of all.”

The Court of Appeals took no notice of the renewal
of the Motion for a New Trial, but overuled the Petition
for Rehearing. Therefore, there is open for consideration
by this court, the question of whether the Motion for New
Trial was open for consideration by the Court of Appeals
on questions of law. There are also questions as to
whether or not the motion has been acted upon by the
Court of Appeals, and what disposition of the cause a
proper consideration of the motion would require.

As shown by the majority and minority opinions, the
evidence of conspiracy was either very slight, or com-
pletely nonexistent. Petitioner contends that the trial
court should have directed an acquittal, and that the Court
of Appeals was in error in not reversing on this ground.
An essential allegation of the indictment was that
Dorough was a citizer of the United States. While some

EAE RAP LEAL Slt DARE ESL EIR ELLEN DIN EL MN INE DE ALIN A PEER ABS MOP FSIS Mo ae

4

witnesses testified as to his place of residence, the court
erroneously charged that the evidence showed that Dor-
ough was a citizen of the United States.

OPINION BELOW.

The opinions of the court have not yet been reported,
but are set out in the Record (R. 152 et seq.). No opin-
ions were filed to explain the action of the Court of Ap-
peals in overruling the Petition for Rehearing and Motion
for New Trial (Original Certified Record 175).

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

Within the time allowed by Rule 11 of the Rules of
Criminal Procedure in United States Courts, petitioner in-
vokes the jurisdiction of this court under Section 240 of
the Judicial Code as amended by the Act of February 13,
1925, Subsection (a) (28 U. S. C. A. 347), and Rule
XXXVIII of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the United
States, adopted February 12, 1939.

Petitioner was found guilty by the jury on November
4, 1942 (R. 11). Thereupon he was sentenced and judg-
ment was entered on November 6, 1942 (R. 12). On the
same day, Notice of Appeal was filed (R. 120). Within
the extended time (R. 16), petitioner filed his Bill of Ex-
ceptions (R. 119), and the Transcript of Record was filed
in the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit on
February 3, 1943 (Hem Thereafter, the cause was sub-
mitted to said court on the record and briefs on May 12,
1943 (R. 151), and on May 28, 1943, the judgment of the
District Court was affirmed (Original Certified Record
152, 157). Petitions for rehearing were filed by petitioner's
original attorney (Original Certified Record 158) and by
newly employed attorneys (Original Certified Record 162)
on June 16, and June 18, 1943, respectively, all within
the time allowed for filing such petitions by Rule 29 of

we AONE IA CN

the Rules of the United States Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit.

On June 25, 1943, the Court of Appeals overruled the
petitions for rehearing (Original Certified Record 175),
and on the same date entered its order (Original Certified
Record 176) staying the issuance of mandate for thirty
days to allow petitioner to file this petition to this court.
Attention is called to the fact that it is immaterial whether
the order of the Court of Appeals overruling the Petition
for Rehearing had the effect of overruling the Motion for
New Trial, since this court may grant the writ either be-
fore or after judgment or decree of the Court of Appeals.
Judicial Code, Section 240 (28 U. S. C. A. 347).

od

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

SS RAE RENO ALI RES CI RIES TATE ATTRA OR SLA ID ERE RES Cee Sg

1. Whether or not Judicial Code, Section 269, for-
merly R. S., Sec. 726 (28 U. S. C. A. 391), authorizes the
filing of a motion for a new trial in the Circuit Court
of Appeals in a case tried in the District Court, where
the reasons assigned on such motion present questions of
law, or demonstrate that the trial and all subsequent pro-
ceedings were had on an erroneous theory of law.

2. Whether or not the grant or refusal by the trial
court of a motion for a new trial rests solely in the dis-
cretion of the court and can not be reviewed by the Ap-
pellate Court, even on questions of law, except for abuse
of discretion.

3. Whether or not, after a trial, proceedings subse-
quent to trial in the trial court, including motion for a
new trial; and the consideration of the case on appeal, the
entire proceeding having been conducted on a mistaken
theory of law, and the mistake not appearing to be prej-
udicial to appellant until the Appellate Court stated its
reasons for affirming; appellant may move in the Appel-
late Court for a new trial, renewirig the grounds alleged
in the trial court and adding thereto the ground based
upon the mistake of law.

6

4. Whether or not the various United States Cir.
cuit Courts of Appeals (and the Supreme Court of the
United States) are “United States Courts” within the
meaning of the first sentence of Judicial Code, Section 269
(18 U. S. C. A. 391), which provides that, “All United
States Courts shall have power to grant new trials, in cases
where there has been a trial by jury, for reasons for
which new trials have usually been granted in courts of
law.”

5. Whether or not “Courts of Law” as used in Ju-
dicial Code, Section 269 (18 U. S. C. A. 391), includes the
Court of the Kings Bench as it was organized and existed
on September 24, 1789, whether sitting at nisi prius, at
bar or en banc; and whether or not the organization of
the United States District Courts and Circuit Courts of
Appeals is analogous to the Court of the Kings Bench in
the handling of criminal cases, in that the power to grant
new trials is preserved on appeal to the same extent as if
the legal questions presented by the record had been re-
served by the trial court at nisi prius or on application for
a venire facias de novo.

6. Whether or not the Circuit Court of Appeals for
the Fifth Circuit committed error in refusing to enter-
tain petitioner’s motion for a new trial, either as presented
in the District Court, on the record on appeal, or as re-
newed in the Appellate Court on a new motion adopting
the grounds of the motion already of record and raising
questions of law, or new matter tending to show that peti-
tioner had not been properly convicted.

7. Whether or not the jury which returned a verdict
against petitioner can be said to have convicted him for
any offense denounced by the United States Criminal Code,
the court having instructed that the question for the jury
to consider was whether or not petitioner had committed
certain acts which did not constitute any offense against
the United States.

8. Whether or not, under all the facts presented by
the record and the legal propositions arising therefrom,
petitioner was entitled to a new trial.

9. Whether or not the court below committed error
in affirming the conviction of petitioner in the District
Court.

10. Whether or not the affirmance of a conviction up-
on slight evidence can stand when it appears that a mis-
take of law pervaded the trial and raises doubts as to
whether or not the jury actually found the defendant
guilty of the offense charged in the indictment.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE OF WRIT.

1. The Circuit Court of Appeals, in not passing upon
the action of the trial court in overruling the Motion for
a New Trial, and in not entertaining the motion filed with
it, deferred passing upon the procedural questions con-
cerning motions for new trials as to which:

A. The decisions of this court are not clear, re-

quire re-examination, or do not cover the questions
here involved.

B. There is an apparent conflict in the decisions
rendered by the various Circuit Courts of Appeals.

C. There is an apparent divergence of views held
by the judges of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals,
under which that court does not rely upon its former
decisions.

2. The course and conduct of the trial, conviction,
and affirmance of the judgment under which this peti-
tioner has been condemned is in violation of the Sixth
Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, in
that the jury was not properly charged by the court as
to the law applicable, but was permitted to convict for
conduct not amounting to an offense against the United
States.

DONC ra Pg

8

3. There being fundamental differences between the
offense denounced by Criminal Code, Section 19 (18 U. §.
C. A. 51), and those defined by Criminal Code, Section
37 (18 U. S. C. A. 88), and no decision of this court as
to the quantity and quality of evidence necessary to sus-
tain a conviction, under the former section; so that lower
courts are compelled to look to the decisions under the
latter section for analogous rulings; this court should con-
sider the sufficiency of the evidence on this record to sus-
tain a conviction under the Criminal Code Section under
which the indictment was returned.

4. The questions raised and to be raised on this peti-
tion are believed to be of great national importance, and
especially so in view of the expansion of rights enjoyed
by citizens under Federal Law, which may be protected
in the United States Courts only by prosecutions under
Criminal Code, Sections 19 to 21 (18 U. S. C. A. 51, 52
54).

PRAYER.

Wherefore, petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari
issue under the seal of this court directed to the United
States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, com-
manding said court to certify and send to this court a full
and complete transcript of the record and proceedings in
said court had in Cause Number 10506 on the docket of
said court, entitled Willie Gray Garrison, Appellant, v.
United States of America, Appellee, to the end that said
cause may be reviewed and determined as provided by
the statutes of the United States and the Rules of this
court; and that the judgment of the Circuit Court of Ap-
peals entered therein be reversed, and for such other re-
lief as law and the due and proper administration of jus-
tice shall demand.

Willie Gray Garrison,

Petitioner.
By D. B. HoLMEs,
Ben F. CAMERON,
LESTER E. WILLs,
Meridian, Mississippi,
Counsel for Petitioner.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA34086415_1690%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
