# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — North Central Airlines, Inc. v. Civil Aeronautics Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA04386419_0871%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1959
- **Citation:** 360 U.S. 903

## Text

4

f En
mee oe bie os js
) | & PO BECANING. Sherk
“IN ‘The
—upren Court of the Anited States Ss

i January Term, 1959”
hy . t

ig ; 8g me) st

. No. me pi *+ :

' Norto CextraL Aimuines, Inc. Petitroner
a
¥.

Civin- AERONAUTICS Bosnp. Re sponde ut

LAKE CENTRAL AikiINeEs, Ixc., litervenor
Lake Cextral Exprover Srockuotprn: Grove, litercenos

PETITION FOR A. WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT :

ce 1200 Sheraton Building
ce. Tae 11 14th Street. No W:
Vashington 5. Dn C.

PP of J Atlornesy. haw. Petitioner

v A. L. Witkki “Saree et

"" WILSON . Eres Printinc Co - RE 7-6002 . WASHINGTON 1. D. C.

Ps “
I TN eaistnsithnercicertccttccess. Ndi ica Sate seenennsenel

ag ;

INDEX

Questidgs Presented 00000008000 oc. scene .

Constitutional Provisiens-Statutes and, Regulations —
3

of the Civil Aeronauties Board Involved............

Statement of the Case ie a

_ Reasons’ for Granting the, Tt... Tee:

A.

( ‘ .
.

The Board Did Not Have the Power to. In-

vite and Permit the Intervention of Other
Prospective Purchasers of the Lake Cen.
tral Stock and to Thus Convert the Acqui-—
"sition Proceeding into a Campetitive Hear-

ho nee Megan » GNEPSa A

The Board’s Action in Holding Individual .
| Ex Parte Conferences with Members of the

Lake Central Employee Stockholder -Gro&
was an Improper Departure from the Us-
‘ual Course of Administrative Proepeding,
a Departure from this Court's Decisions.
and a Violation of North Central's Rights
to a Full‘and Fair Hearing............

The Civil Aeronautics Board's Action in
‘Permitting the Amendment of the Lake
Central Voting Trust Agreement without
Notive to North Central Deprived, North

. Central ef a Full and Fair Hearing under

Amendment Number Five to the Constitu-
tion of the United States by Departing
from the Prior Decisions of the Supreme
ORG cscstilsssrnseasgeatnnenistacsdaechastebasasgompenet iets

By

10

13

whe

.

i INDEX (Continued)

Page

D. The U.S. Court of inhale for,;the District
of Columbia Circuit Improperly Sanctioned
an Unexplained. Departure by th# Civil Ae-

-* * gonautics Board from its Prior. ‘Norms

‘Concerning Acquisition ‘and Merger Cases.. - Ws
Conclusions .. AES TN ee i geet piensa erate sac oe
-Appendix A .......... tle Linney sami rosea detanai poles Si
_ Appendix B aa accusam Ba ae pecrads csinaitieion, a
: Appendix SS csansanceenonsanncnnaiusdecernsine A AAS vitae Po) |

CITATIONS Sirsa es.

__-brizona-Monarch Merger Cast, 11. CAB 246 (1956). 9,19,
20, 23, 24 .
Ashbacker Radio Corp. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327, 66
S.Ct. 148 (19459 2 RT Se RO 2.16. 17
Continental-Pioneer , Acquisition Case; “ Sowtiat No. 7“
6457, Order No. E-8803, ‘dated December (,
GS St Ra Ties AE Ree Hen eeRP Menem tr : 11.
~— Eastern-Colonial Acquisition o Assets, Docket No.
5666, Order No. F,-8446, dated June zy, 1954, ;
Appendia ‘i, p. 1 ........... eiahiledeineescbaicos sdlcaptaamiapninatonnes aay

Fluing -Tigers-Slick Merger. Pane, 18 CAB a
CORR Ae eee ke
Hall, et al. v. FCC, 99 U SS. hve. D.C. 36, 937 F.2d)...
a a es ee i
Hartman y. North Central Airlines. _Ine., 241 F. 2d_
— E> EE) SER Ren emeee aT non Ean 9 ne \5.8
Lynch ve US 299. US. 571 (1934) Nets taciilbeesickt ear iS
McKay ve W wre mmaier, IOUS. App. D. C. 313, 226
B. 2d 39 (1955) ........: ela cea iia iadeabitpe tact Fi
Mississippi Valley Case, 8 CAB 726, 752 (1947) ls 20

Monarch-Challenger Merger Case, 11 CAB 38 (1949)
Morgan et alive U.S. et al, 304 U.S. 1, = S.Ct. ;
res (YBR) Bo i ees ae 14

ts = a

‘ eae Se” kt ge ines
NLRB vy. Mall _ Con, is b-2d 700. (ith ¢

i) eR ET rere ERR A ORG ECON ADEN DO MORVOPIDEE ADEE ce
Qhia Be M Tele dean Co. v. Public Utilities Comsmis- a
| sion, 301 1.8. 292 (1937) . seteduetsied vavhdatlbsysagenetagnccdede ae
Reopened Indiana-Ohio Local Service Case, 16 AB are
OO Ce incest etecesc secon :...' 4,5, 6,8
Root Refining Co. v. Universal Oil Products Co., 169 | .
F. 2d 514 (3d. Cir. 1948) «.......2.: SOREN Raye * He.
‘Secretary of Agricidture v.17 'S8., etal. “SUS. a
SI aE, We CE nao aces ontecesis 18, 24
* Service to. Phoenix Case, Docket _ a 6247, Order:
No. E-11833 (1957.) .002...2.. eae. TCR eRe anne oe 2}
— Seven States Area leretignti, Docket ti. 7454. *
Order No. F-1: 3254, Nett Decembér 8, 1958...... 21
Texas-Oklahoma Case, 7 AB 481, 537 (1946)........ 20°
West Coast: Empire Case HC AB 971 (1952) 9,19, 20,
23, 24
Williston Basin bigs Case, 18 CAB 873. (1954). 2T
“WKAT vo FCC, 25 58. F. 2d 418 (D.C. Cir, 1958)... 15
WORZ, Inc. v. FCC, 79 S.Ct. 114) (1958)...................; oo ee
bs onstitution of the U pited States: ed
Aniendment _ Abe See Wie kee 2 212, 16,27
Statutes: *- % | :
Federal’ Administrative Proc ‘edure, Act:
ae. grt uaa Se My ane ee S mae EA ROM eh 27
2b . . DIES APES ee ieee ap a ReO es Lech he OM INT a ® 27, 28
DI Ss Ri rhcar alive cinikicsecagttorttaundioonatecndags cake ta
: I et iesedinatash Sener aphenciossehcsnbinieeraginan, 18, 20
Seivil Aeronautics Act of 1938 .
Oa taille css sic asetvidtbicite satin nia ooieasieniccie 29, 30
MN ie Stake eaa cena windleas Aden 11
i. Ye EE ANE RN hikitorievuinaee 10, 30, 31
eo) Le eee NN Gh oR S oa

“~~ . . . . ihe : .

PE a. |

ion of the United, States Court of Appeals 1 for the Dis.”
trict of Columbia Circuit is set fee in Appendix B ‘to
this Brief. — a ess Sie ae Wises:

. JURISDICTION .

The “‘iedgment of the United States Court of “Appeals
for the District of Columbia’ Circuit, was entered on Janu-
ary 29, 1959. The jurisdictidn of this Court is. invoked
under 28 U.S.C. 1254. :

' QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the Civil Aeronautics Board have die: power
to convert an acquisition proceeding under ‘Section 405.
of. the Civil Aeronauties .Act ‘of 1938.into a competitive
‘hearing by inviting and permitting the -intervention of
‘prospective buyers of. the Lake Central stock other. than

- North Central, and by permitting the intervention of the -

Lake Central Employee Stockholder ‘Group, thereby dis-
torting and changing the statutory test of uw hether’ the
acquisttion was not consistent with the public inte rest 10
which of several alternatives for the operation of Lake
Cejtral was, in the discretion of the Givil Aeronautics
Board, preferable?

2. Did the Civil Aeronautics. Hone improperly. ‘eerie

Nortlr Central of its right to a ° full and. fair hearing unde’
the Fifth Ame.timent .of the ‘Constitution, , the “A minis-
trative. ProcedureAct, the Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938.

and the Rules and Regulations’ of the Board by holding ,

individual ex parte conferences with representaatives of
the Lake Central. Employee Stockholder Group concern-

ing. matters pertinent to the acquisition of the Lake Cen-

tral stock by North Central?

3. Did the Court below : ‘improperly sdfction a depar-
ture from the doctrine announced by this Court in Ash-
backer Radio a v. FCC, 326 iF UR 327, 66 S.Ct.

®
.

4

| nS
148:(1945) and deprive North Central of a full and fair
hearing :when it failed.to hold that the Civil Aeronautics.
Board had erréd in permitting without notice to North
Central the amendment. of the Lake Central Voting Trust
‘Agreement so as to allow the transfer of the voting trust
a to’ the Lake. Central Employee . Stockholder
Group, thereby placing North Central in the, position of
having to displace an éstablished liGensee instead ‘of |
merely having to take over the operation of the airline
from, an unfit management? — : : cs

4. Did the Court below improperly sanction -an un-
bs explained departure by the Civil Aeronautics Board from |
"its established precedents concerning acquisition and

merger cases?. 2 es .

- CONSTITUTIONAL -PROVISIONS, STATUTES AND...
REGULATIONS OF THE CIVIL AERONAUTICS _
is BOARD INVOLVED |.

The consideration of this. case involves Amendment _
Number V to the. Constitution of the United States, por- |
tions of the Administrative Procedure Act {5 U.S.C. 1001
et seq.], the. Civil Aeronautics Act of 1938 [49 U.S.C. ‘401
et seq.], and portions of the Economie Regulations of
‘the Civil’ Aeronautics Board...The pertinent sections of
_ are set forth fully in, Appendix A to this:

ition. Baqi ess ae

us @ 3 Pear’

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioner, North Central Airlines, Inc., is a Wisconsin
corporation engaged in’the business of scheduled inter-
state air transportation of persons, property and ‘mail
pursuant. to a certificate of public convenience and ne-
cessity issued by: the Civil Aeronautics Board; Lake.
‘,. Central Airlines, Inc. is a Delaware corporation also
engaged in the. scheduled interstate air transportation
of persons, property and mail under a certificate of pub-,

?

‘operators. On the other hand,

lie yaaa and necessity. Petitioner is one Of the.

ke Central Airlines is

_ largest, lowest cost and least” Ete a local ervive
a

and most subsidized

.

one of the smallést; high®st co
local service operators. “44
ee .

Petitioner initiated theudivcceedings beléw when it
‘ sought the approval-of the Civil Aeronautics Board. un-
der Section 408 of the Civil Aeronautics Att of 1938 of
a contract to purchase ‘approximately M5. percent of hie
Lake Central stock from John V. Weegper, Rose "OC Weis

_ ner, William W,, Weesner and various corporations con.

‘trolled by them (Reg, 43; 54, 60). The acquiSition con-

tract, of wick North, Centia] sought approval grew out
of: thy Reopened’ Indiana- Ohio. ‘Local. Service. Case, 16
CAB 880°(1953) Which the Board reopened ‘in order to
; investizate alleged improper, illegal and dishonest: prac-

* tices ir? thé field of air commerces by the Weesners and
their associates and theif effect upon the fitness, willing- |
ness and ability of Lake Centraf Airlines to.“engage jin
scheduled air transportation. ,:The hearing. examiner in
that case found that there had been serious violations .of :
‘the Civil Aeron@utiées Act by. John Weesner, Lloyd Hart-

man, the present executive vice ‘president of Lake Central;
and several other Weesher associates (Exam, I.D., €AB
--Docket No. 4034, pp. 20 and -43).' He: ‘Fecomumended that.
Weesner: divest. himself of the management and control
vf Lake Central. , Before. the Board had acted on the.

_

‘e 1 Similarly, the examiner in North, Centfal’s acquisition case.

‘found more recent dishonest andilegal practices by the Lake

4

against him by North. Central for breach of: fiduciary

"Central. management which involved this same Lloyd Hartman
(Rec. 450 and 451). He w: zed at their. alacrity in: (1)
\ rajging the salaries of. the etsployees to allow them to. pay for
their stock; (2) binding the airline to pay for the. Weesners’
legal fees; (3) indemnifying Dr. Robert Stewart, am of
the Lake Central board of directors, for loss arising out ote

tion
ship; - (4) defraying their ‘expenses incurred. in Opposing the ac-
quisicion with company funds; and (5) managing Lake Central
‘for their personal ends rather than for the public interest.

-% ce aa

’
/ . /

« 7}

.. | + 5 | ee
-examiner’s recomntendations, Weesner attempted to sell
his interest in Lake Central in order to salvage his: in-
vestment. See Hartman :v. North Central Airlines, Ine.,
941. F.2d 859 (7th Cir, 1957): On September 1Q. 1992,
North Central’ offeréd to purchase the stock from the’
‘Weesners and a written contract was entered ‘into on
September 17, 1952 (Ree. 46).2. Subsequently, on Octo-

, ber 17, 1952,, the Civil Aeronautics oatd upheld theif -

fy

trial exapymeger in the*Reopened Indidhna-Ohio Local Serv-
we Case,.supra, at. O44, and ‘found that the Weesners were
unfit to engage -in air transportation and: that they must
divest themselves, of control of Lake Central. Solely on

' - the ba®is- of North Central’s contract and. the. financial

fitness which North*Central. gave to Lake Central, she
Board granted Lake Central a 30-day ‘extension. DuNng -
this period, the Weesners were to’ promulgate -and pre- ©
sent to the oar a plan for divestment of their stock.
For this pfirpose, the, Weesners proposed .and the Civil

«

+ Board approved a Voting Trust Agreement.’

etilioner requested Board approval under Section 408
of the Civil ‘Aeronautics Act of its contract by applica-.

¥ ‘tions dated September 30 and November 1, ‘1952. (Docket

No. 5770)* and for approtal of interlocking relationships

‘ under Section 409 of the Civil Aeronautics: Act on March

"18, 1953 (Docket No. 6024). Ozark Airlines and Trans-

°

2 This contract was aménded by a;subseguent written contract
of October 17, 1952 (Rec. 54). sie . ;

‘3 Thereafter, in spite of their contract ‘with, North Central, the
"Weesners attempted to resell their interest in Lake Central, now -
in the form of voting trust certificates, to Ozark Airlines, Roscoe

\

’ . Turner: and others. Hartmavt v. North Central Airlines, Inc.,

supra. #n doing so, the Weesners were violating’ a provision in
their contract with North Central by which they agreed to fully

_ cooperate with North Central in the prosecution of; an application”

for approval of the acquisition (Rec. 49).

‘Rec. 43-46,°64. oa *
* Rec. 6-11... wae: sig
: a
4 J
os. |

port Air Group requested *éonsolidation into Doeket No
5770 of their applications to be considered as pojgntiat
transferees of Lake Central. At the preheaftng confer.
ence in Docket No, 5770, North Central objected to the
consolidation of applications of other potential purchas.
ers and requested that the issues in this case be restricted
to ‘the consideration of its acquisition agreement (Orig.
Tr. 230). North Central's objections were formalized in
_ its answers. to the motions of Ozark and Transport Air
‘Group for consolidation (Orig, Tr. 259). The. Board,
however, converted North Central's acquisition progeed-
ing into a‘cbmpetitive proceeding when it instituted an
investigation ‘*. . . to determine whether and upon what
terms the acquisition of tlie majority stockholding in-,
terest in.duake Central by North Central, Ozark and/or
Air Group, and whether and upon what. terms the acqui- .
sition of Lake Central’s Route No. 88, in whole or in
part, by North, Central, Ozark and/or Air Group is ‘con.
‘sistent with. the public interest . . .”’ and consolidated this
investigation with Docket No. 5770 (Orig. Tr. 301).*

Finally, on June 25, 1954,.the Weesners succeeded in
contracting to resell the same stock, now in the form of .
voting trgyt certificates, that they had previously con-
_ tracted .to sell North Central. They entered an_ option
contract to sell their voting trust certificates to Lloyd
r ebecw i naas Robert Clifford.” Hartman and Clifford

i

6

“ The Board further manifested its desire that the acquisition
proceeding be a competitive one when ‘it permitted the inter-
vention in 1954 of the Lake Central Employee Stockholder Group
(Orig. Tr. 484) over North Central's bitter protest.

* Lloyd Hartman was one of the associates of the Weesners who
had been censured in the Reopened India hio Local Sernic?
cae, supra. So far as Hartman and Cliff. were concerned, it
was a windfall as they took the Weesners’ certificates subject to
any North Central rights. If the value of the stock were to de-
preciate, they would not oppose the acquisition ‘by North Central ©
and permit North Central to bear the loss. If the value appre-
ciated, they would (a) claim that North Central had breached its

-~

.

2

later sold a part of the certificates ta some of the em-

ployees of Lake Central and: thereafter labeled their
p for conspicuous consumption purposes as the Lake

Central Employees Stockholder Group. . '

During the latter part of May or the first part ef June’

~ in 194, Hartman and-Clifford and other. representatives
of the Employee ‘Stockholder Group proceeded with a&

diabolical scheme to capture Lake Central for themselves:

and held informal er parte conferences with individual
Board members. The matters which were distussed were
whether thére would We any official objection to their go-

ing forward with the stock purchase program and wheth-_

_er Lake Central should be operated ax a separate entity
or merged or dismembered 4Orig. Tr. 1985, 364, Appendix
C). The result of these conferences was the consumma-
tion of the aption voting trust purchase contract between
the Weesners and Hartman arid. Clifford entered into on
‘ the 25th of June, 1954 (Ree. 202). :

Now that they had both feet in the door, the Employee
Stockholders openly and actively opposed the acqnisition.
They petitioned the Board for leave to intervene in
Dacket No, 5770 (Orig. Tr. 149)... The Board allowed the
intervention of the Employee Stockholder Group * (Orig.

Tr. 430), thereby further manifesting itx intention that:

the North Central acquisition proceeding be a competi-
tive one. This permitted the Weesners’ assignees, the
‘Lake Central Employee Stockholder (iroup, whose ax

%

~

a *. , v 7 “*

viously meaning “the” acquisition contract entered -into
between the acquiring and the acquired airline, “The
Board’s power in acquisition eases under Section 408 is

sentient can act only if one of the carriers applies
fo

-

r approval of an acquisition agreement, Certainly the
oard cannot institute aequisition proceegivgs of its own
or force unwilling carriers inte a merger, and it ts obluged -
to respect contractual agreements unless they are not
consistent with the. public. interest. . Such aA power would
have the effect of forcing vither an unwilling buyer or
an unwilling seller te ‘consent tu the aeqaisition. Lew
wally, therefore, the Board is limited fo the consideration
af that agreement of which approval ix reene steed.

One of the things cimaide: read to be
under Section 20b) of the Civil Aero
fostering-6f sound economic conditions tain transporte —
tation. Mergers and a a ‘tions -are methods of, effect-
ing this consideration. "Undoubtedly, (t. Was the inten-
tion of Congress in passing Section 408 to favor strength.
ening of weak carriers through mergers and acquisi-
tions)? For thi reason, Congress made an. acquisition
inferentially ino the public interest by crequyrimg that the
Board - “approve the acquisition unless it finh- that it will
not be ‘consistent with the public interest. Tf the deci
sions of the Civil’ Aeronautics Board and the Court of
Appeals are allawed to stand, the Congressional intent
wi Wy bn thwarted. Carriers will be reluctant to enter inte

Lin publie interest -
ities Net is the

‘1! The Executive Branch of the Government and the Civil Aero-
nautics Board have given effect to this policy in favor of mer-
gets and acquisitions. See Statement of Policy respecting Eto-
nomic Program of 1949 issued Feb. 26. 1949: Annual Report of
the Civil Aeronautics Board. 1950, p. 2. Easternolorial Ac-
quisition of Agaets, et No. 5666. Order No, E-844*. dated

June 17. 1964, App x 1, p. 1: Flying Tigers-Slick Merger Care,

18 CAB 326 (1954): Centincste Plancer Acquisition Case, Docket

‘No. 6457, Order No: E-8803, dated Dec. 7, 1954. p. 3: President's

Air Coordinating Conese Report on Civil Air Policy. May
1954, p. 14.

- a

+

merger and acquisition agreements: and io institute the
expensive, involved, time-consuming procedures: necessary
‘to obtain Board. approval if they know in advance that

the Board will protong thesproceedings and make. thei

even more hazardous and expensive.by inviting to par-
ticipate their competitors, who have absolutely no in
terest in the original agreement. and no contractual ey.
posure, This is particularly true in view of the fact
“that in a eonipetitive hearing each party theoretivall:
‘has equal opportunity, whereas in an acquisition proceed

ing the. acquiring. airline has contracted for its position 7

and exposed itself to the economic rigk. The Civil Aero:
nauticg Board should not be permitted to transcend Nort)
Central's) constitutional: rights under the Fifth:’Amend-

ment by violating the sanctity of its ‘contract. Suen,.

a Violation results from both enlarging the limited con.
dition, which the statute places upon contracts of acqui-
sition, and from permitting the assignee ef the seller tw
formally and officially violate its contractual commitme: !
to cooperate in ohtaining approval by allowing such 2s
signee “to pose the most obstreperous opposition ts

approval. P

A spike ‘ration of: this question bw. this Court is «of
extreme importanee not only as a guide te the Civil Aer.

yautics Board’ in future proceedings before ‘it: but alsoe.

‘as a guide te Other administrative agencies. This +
the first time that the Civil Aeronautics Board has openly
ane flagrantly converted va -hasie Seetion 408 proceeding
into a competitive one. This Court‘now. has the opportu.
wity te Glarife for the Civil Aeronautics, Board and the

air industry the extent of the Board's authority in thy

field of mergers and acquisitions. “A decision on th

point will be a guide for, future acquiring and mergine.

earners in dete ‘rmining whether or not they should ente”
into. st th vsihitimeeaies A decision denving certiorari and

12 SeeeLynch V. ws . 292.U S. 571. 579 (1934).

i

P \ , - 13 e

thereby affrming the Court below and the Civil Aero-
nautics Board will suppress ‘the desire ot air Qarriers
fo enter agreements even though they thay be in the
public interest. . This is ‘particulardy important.in Our
maturing air. transportation system which iS constantly”
* attempting to increase efficiency through every means
possible, including acquisition and merger. The ultimate
_ effect would be the suppression of the developgrent of
the anost efficient type of national air transportatpon
system. ; 3

B. The Board's Action in Holding Individual Ex Parte
. Conferences with Members of ‘the Lake Central
Employee Stockholder Group was an Improper
. Departure from the Usual Course of Administrative .
Preceeding, a Departure from this Court’s Deci-
siens, and a Violation of North Central’s Rights to

a Fall and Fair Hearing. ,
- The record in this case shows that membets of the.
Lake Central Employee Stockholder Group held individ. .
ual er parte conferences’ with Board méinbers prior 10
entering: into ah option contract: to purchase the Lake
Central voting trust certificates (Orig. Ree. 364, 198),
Appendix (). The matters discussed af*these ‘confer-
ences were whether or not there was any official objection
to the Lake: Central Emplovee Stockholders going: for-
:’ ward with their option contract and whether such a pro-
gran might well be considered as an answer to the ques-
tion of. whether Lake Central should be operated as a
separate entity or merged or dismembered. “At the very
least, these conferences involved a discussion as to the
merits of the Lake Centrat Employee Stockholders’ con-
tention that. they had an interest in the acquisition: case
which would -allow them to intervene, North Central
should have been afforded an opportumty to appear and
oppose the Lake Central Employee Storkholders’ conten-
* fion of interest: No such oppdtunity was afforded North

\.

Pe. 2 aie E a -

*
>

oe

Central and therefore it was deprived of a full and fair - -

hearing: |

Er parte conferences in judicial tribunals are improper,
amounting to reversible error. E.g.,, Root Refining Co. v.
Universal Oil’ Products Co., 169 F.2dON, 534-535, 540.

honor and dignity ‘as, members of a judicial tribunal.

(4 (3d Cir., 1958). Members of admi istrative agen.
cies are expected to conduct themselves with. the same

Section 3@0.T of~the Board's Economic Regulations re.»

quires that the Board members and its ‘staff condug

themselves with the same fidelity to standards of pro.
priety that charactérize a court and its staff.-- Section

300.2. of these same Economic Regulations ‘specifically —

condemns the practice of holding er parfe conferences

between ‘Board members and other interested persons or

parties (Appendix A).
This Court has held that the practice of holding ¢,

parte conferences’ in administrative proceedings is) im-
“proper, Morgan, et al. v. U. S., et al., 304 US. 1, 5S.

S.Ct. 773 (1938). There; Mr. Chief Justice Hughes, speak-

ing for the majority, in a much-quoted opinion, said, 204
U.S. at 19: 7 . :

; - ore

“Congress, in requiring a ‘fuil hearing’ had regard

to judicial standards not in-any technical sense bu:

“with respect to those \fundanehtal requirements of

fairness which are of the essence of due process in ii

proceeding of & judicial nature. {f in an equjty caus:

the special master or the trial judge periphied the

piaintiff’s attorney to formulate the findi gs upon

the evidence, conferred er parie with the plaintiff’: °

attorney regarding them, and then \adopted his. pro-
‘ posals without affording an opportunity to his of
ponent to know their contents and present objections,
_ there would be’ no hesitation in setting aside the re-

”

port er decree as having beer made without a fair

hearing.

\

+The U. S. Court of Appeais for the District of Columbia.

in affirming the decision of the Civil Aeronautics Board.

»

°

15

sanctioned the improper es parte conferences of the
Board and therefore neglected its responsibility of strict-
“Wy enforcing the requirement of a full and fair adminis-
trative hearing. Such a requirement should be even more
strictly enforced against an: administrative agency than
against the Courts since the administrative tribunal has
such broad discretionary power. Ohio Bell Telephone
Company v.: Public Utilities Commission, 301 USS. 292,
304 (1987). Bs he

We ask that .the Supreme Court use its supervisory

- powers to remedy the basic impropriety und injustice

perpetrated by .the Civil Aerofiauties Board and sane-
tioned by the U. S. Court of Appeals in permitting these
er parte conferences. This ‘Is ‘the same typeof thing
which prompted this same lower Court to remand an-
other case, WKAT' v. FCC, 208 B24 418 (D.C. Cir. 1958).
to the Federal Scocpiaades tally Culione for a deter-
mination as to whether the parties were prejudiced by
sitnilar ex. parte’ conferences with a Commission member.
The Supreme Court recently granted certiorari in the
case of. WORZ, Inc. v. FCC, 79 S.Ct. 114 (1958), and,
remanded it to the. Court of Appeals for appropriate
action. The WORZ Case also involved ex parte confer-.
ences at the Cominission level. Petitioner submits that
cunless decisions containing this kind of practice are re-
versed and remanded, the administrative process Will be
continually eroded and ultimately destroyed. This Hon-
orable Court should review sui case= and clearly estab-
lish, the proposition that er pc earings” will vitiate
an administrative order to the extent that if presented
to this Court, it will review and reverse such cases. Suth —
a holding will have g salutory effect on the administra-:

tive process-and adniinistrative justice. This large and *

ever-growing field of law should be given the, guidance
and strength necessary to assure the continued public
confidence and support which is necessary for its ulti-
mate survival. . . |

aon 4

16

Cc. The Civil pevesanation Board's Action in. Permit-
ting the Amendment of the ‘Lake Central Voting
Trust Agreement without Notice to North Central
Deprived North Central of a Full and Fair Hear-
ing under the. Fifth Amendment to the Constitution :
by Departing from the Prior Decisions of the Su-
preme Court. .

In Ashbacker Radio. Corporation v. FCC, supra, the
Supreme Court held . “would
create a local service system of unprecedented size with
route mileage extending close’ to 5,000'miles . . "_ (Ree.

486). The Board has not previously let the unprecedented

size of merged airlines interfere with approval of such

inergers. In the’ Arizona-Monarch Case, supra, it cre-

ated a local -sérvice -carrier (Frontier Airlines) of un-
e —"

<>.
¥r

7

|

eir operation. We have constantly ey. °

© .
: 21
precedented size. Frontier became the largest local serv-
ice carrier in the céuhtry. Every time Frontier is granted
a new route is achieves unprecedented size, yet the Boaril
expresses no hesitancy in granting it, additional route-.
Service to Phoenix Case, Docket No. 6247, Order No.

E-11833 (1957); Williston Basin Area ‘Case, 18 CAB 873
(1954).

Recently, in the Seven States Area. Investigation,
Docket No. 7454, Order No. E-13254, dated December 5,
' 1958, the Board increased the route miles served by three
carriers, Frogtier, Ozark and North Central, bo that ‘they
now exceed 51000 route miles. Each of these three carrier@
“by virtue of the decision in the S@ven States Case, is now
, certificated to serve unduplicated route miles equal to
“more than the combined route mileage served by* North
Central and Lake Central at the time exhibits were first
submitted in this case in September of 1955 or at the
time of the decision in this case in July’ of 1957. Why
is the creation of local service carriers o unprecedented
gsizes in area cases and route certification cases in. the
public interest, whereas such creation is contrary to the
public interest in acquisition cases? Why is Frontier
allowed to maintain its status as the largest local serv-
ice carrier in terms of route miles while North Central
is denied. authority to acquire Lake Central because the
combined systems would comprise more route miles than
our largest local service carrier (Orig. Tr. 4275, 4276)¢
Since the Board has pot endeavored to answer these ques-
tions and explain-its inconsistencies, its findings are in-
sufficient. As already suggested, the reasons given by the
Board were not only inconsistent with its.prior deter-
minations, but are fundamentally inconsistent With each
_ other. The finding that North Central ‘and Lake Central

@ not,serve complementary trade areas makes ludicrous - -

the’ conclusion that there would he a tendeney, if the
acquisition Were approved, to coacentrate on the long-haul
traffic. Moreover; the Board has already imposed a mul-

2
,

‘

|
oe

titude of restrictions -in North Central’s and Lake Cen.
tral’s certificates to prevent just such situations and to
insure the protection of local service. wr

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Colum.’
bia’ has itself condemned inconsistent, action by adminis-
trative tribunals. Hall, et al. v. FCC, 99 U.S.App.D.C.
“36, 237 F.2d 567 (1956) ; McKay v. Wahlenmaier, 96 U.S. |
. App.D.C.-313, 226 F.2d 35 (1955). Yet in this’ case. it
_ disregarded its own: precedents and sanctioned the

Board’s unexplained departure frgm_ prior norms with-.

out citing a single authority in support of its action. It

said (Rec. 566): .

“We think that the judgment. of the Board in-this
case was not arbitrary and was not a departure from
established norms which, would have bound it.”

“~

Basically, the Court is condoning. the improper activity
ofthe Board and_attributing it to administrative discre-
‘tion. But it was impossible for the Court to.determine
_ wifether the Board was exercising :valid administrative
| discretion because the Board did not explain its incon-
sistency. The Board’s findings were insufficient to allew

the Court to properly perform its task of judicial review. «

Furthermore, the Court’s ‘findings on: this point were
vague, indecisive and inconsistent. It-admits that. the
Board is bound by prior norms, but inconsistently holds

. that the agency’s discretionary powers,” or “judgment,’’
are so broad as to permit it to make unexplained de-
partures from these norms... Ith allows that the Courts ’
nust insure that agencies stay “within the bounds of
reason and outside the realm of eaprice,”’ vet it .does
not require that the Board state sufficient “reasons” for
its inconsistent action ‘here. It -is impossible for peti-
tioner to determine just what the Court is holding when

-. it seeks to bind the: Civil Aeronautics Board on. prior
precedents yet sustains an unexplained departure on: the
gxrounds of. discretion. ; eet

{

- ; _ = 93

«Obviously the lower Court feels. that there should be
some explanation for the -Board’s inconsistent action be-
- cause it attempts to supply lame reasons of its own. It
. says (Ree, 565) that the Board is entitled to depart from
its prior norms with regard to “size’? of the - merged
systems because “size” is a relatiye term and its im-
portance depends upon the cireunftances.” It is these
“circumstances” which petitioner. seeks to. discover. if
the Board explains these “circumstances” it has explained
its departure from prior norms. Ifthe circumstances are .
the same in both’cases then the‘ Board’s action is arbi- °
trar} should be reversed. on) gee

e Court goes on to say (Rec. 566) that North Cen-
tral has-not accurately assayed the holding-of the Board
in the Arizona-Monarch Merger Case, supra. It says that
the Atizoga-Monarch Case stands for the proposition
that “a merger ‘need not have the effect of increasing
the ‘ntra-system long hauls.” . Mergers deal with inter-
drea problems and certainly would have no effect what-
soever on “intra-system long hauls.’’ Furthermore,
“feeder’’ carriers are limited by the conditions of their
certificates to. the provision of short haul local service.
We submit that it is the Court and not petitioner who
has not “accurately assayed” the holding of the Arizona-
Monarch Case.’ Moreover, no attempt was made to ex-

* plain the findings of the Board i in the West Coast-Empire

Case, supra, which also support North Central's conten-
tion. :

The Court said the Board rested its decision in ‘the
Arizona-Monarch Case, supra, on other. circumstances
than the find\jng that the routes of the companies were
not complemeytary. However, as we assay the decision,
the Bourd sai
plementary iy/irrelevant. The Board has therefore based
its decision’ here on a’ consideration, previously jheld_ in
the Arizona-Monarch and West Coast-Empire Cases, su-

-

that whetlier or not the routes are com- .

pra, to be irrelevant. When the other ‘basic finding of

“unprecedented size” is found inconsistent with other
decisions set forth supra, it is evident that both primary
reasons for the Board’s decision are based on findings
previously decided to be irrelevant. :

Even if there were other circumstances sufficient to ‘in-

voke the proper use of discretion in the Arizona-Monarci _ .

and West Coast-Empire Cases, no such circumstances ex.
isted here. There was-no good reason giten which would
distingujsh the prior inconsistent Board actions. Bot)
primary findings supporting the Board’s decision had
been previously found irrelevant in considering consist.

ency With the public interest. « a

As a practical matter; the Court of Appeals affirmed the

decision of the Board when-it did not have sufficient find. |

ings before it to permit it to properly perform its task
of judicial review.

‘The question of how much effect sdguld be given to

‘prior administrative decisions and ‘actions is an ill-define«

ohe. This case represents an excellent ‘opportunity for
the Supreme Court to add substange to: its pronounce-

“ments in the Secretary of Agriculture Case, supra, that

unexplained departures from prior norms constitute in-

Sufficient findings... Such a decision by the Court would

be ‘invaluable as a guide for all administrative agenciv

- and for the litigants ‘that appear before them.

CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, petitioner prays that a wit of cer
tiorari may issue under the seal of this Honorable Court
in this cause directed to the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the District. of Columbia Circuit, and upon such -

review the judgment .f said Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Cireuit he vacated, reversed and set

aside, and that thix case be remanded to said Court with
a ¢ P .

P-3)
instructions te praved further in accordance with the
views of this Court.

©

° yb! A. L. Wrerren
: _ 1200 Sheraton Building
711 14th Street, N.-W.
o Washington 5, DC.-

Atlornes lor Petitrones
a ‘on @ as : é

Dated: April 28, 19597

PROOF OF SERVICE

I, Asher Louis Wheeler, the attorney for North Cen
tral Aielines, Inc., the petitioner herein, and a member
of the Bar of the Supremé Court of ‘the Lonited States,
hereby certify that on the 29th day of April, 199% |
served eopies) of the foregeing Petition for Certiorar
to the Supret th Court of the Pnited States on the sev
eral parties thereto as follows:

¥ On the. U ‘nited States, by leaving a cep) the ‘reel at
the office of O. D. Ozment, Eis). = pay Gieneral Coun.
sel, Litigation and Research, for the Civil Aeronautic.
Board, at Room 906 of the Universal Building, Wash
ington, D.C. and by mailing ajeopy on a duly addressed
envelope, with first class postage prepaid, te the Soaleitor
General, Department of Justice, Washington a D.C. *

2. On the Civil Aeronautics Board, by mailing’ a copy.

in a duly addressed envelope, with first class postave
prepaid, to Franklin M. Stene, Esq., its General Counsel,
at the offices of the Board, Washington, D. C..°

3. On the Lake Central Airlines Employee Stockholder
Group, and Lake Centra? Airlines, Inc.. intervening’ re-

‘

o

spondents, by mailing copies in duly addressed envelopes, .
with first class postage prepaid, to their respective at-
-torneys of record as follows:

Albert F. Grisard, Esq. °
412 Metropolitan Baak Building <>
~ Washington 5, De. 7 pM :
Attorney for the’ Lake Central Employees Stock-
holder Group _ .

James L. Highsaw, Jr. Esq. _
Mulholland, Robie & Hickey |
~ Tower Buildin aoe ‘ sae
Washington, D. (. ; ;
. Attorney for Lake Central Airfines, Ine.

4

‘ /3/ Asher Louis Wheeler
ASHER Lovis. WHEELER.
1200 Sheraton Building |
Washington 5D. C. ee
: Altoney for North Central

Airlines, Inc. =
April 28, 1959
i Q
¢

\\

a,

, 27
APPENDIX er

CONSTITUTION OF THE UN NITED STATES,
AMENDMENT {V.]

No .person shall pe held ‘to answer for a capital,
otherwise infamous rime, unléss on a presentinent or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in
the land or naval forces, or'in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any
person be subject for thé same offense to be twice put
“in jeopardy of: life or- limb; nor shall be compelled in
any criminal case " be a witness against himself, nor
be deprived of life, Cliberty, or property, without due
‘process of law; nor shall-private property be taken for
public use, without just compensation. . oe

FEDERAL ‘ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURE ACT
SEC. 5. [5 US:C..§ 1004]. In every case of adjudi-

cation required by statute to be determined on the record

after oqportunity for an agency hearing,

. o * s P
. ‘

y \
provide for tlie exclusion of irrevelant, immateri l, or
unduly repetitious evidence anid no sanction cone a im.
posed or rule or order be ‘issued except upon donsid-
eration of the whole: reegrd or such portions thereof, as
may be cited by any party and as supported by and in -

&ccordance with the reliable, probative, and substantial — |,
‘evidence. Every party shall have the right to’ present
his case or defense by oral or documentary evidence, ‘to
submit rebuttal evidence, and to conduct such cross-ex-
amination as may be required for a full and true disclo-
sure of facts. - ) ae

® @ @ ‘@.
SEC. 8.. (5 U.S.C. § 1007]. In cases in ‘which a hear. .
ing is required to be conducted in conformity with sec. |
tion 7— — |
pap ° « ° .
(b) Submittals and decisions.—Prior ‘to each recom-
‘mended, initial, or tentative decision, or decision upon
“agency review of the decision of subordinate officers the
. parties shalf* be afforded a reasonable opportunity. to
_ submit for the consideration of the officers participating
in such decisions (1) proposed findings and cenelusions,
or (2) exceptions to the decisions or recommended deci-
sions of subordinate officers or to tentative agency deci-
sions, and (3) supporting reasons for such exceptions or -
proposed findings or conclusions. The record shall show
the’ ruling upon each such finding, conclusion, or ex-
ception presented. All decisions (including initial, ree- —
“ommended, or tentative decisions) shall become a part
of the record and include a statement of (1) findings
— and conclusions, as well as, the reasons or«basis therefor.
upon ali the material issues of fact, law, or discretion «
presented on the record: and (2) the appropriate rule,
‘order, sanction, relief, or denial thereof. |

¢

od

4 toe

i)

SEC. 10. [5 U.S.C. § 1009]. **°*

(e) Scope of review.—So far as nécessary to decision |
and where presented the. reviewing court shall decide all
relevant questions of law, interpret constitutional and
statutory provisions, and determine the meaning or ap-

°. - plieability of the terms of any agency action. It. Shall
(A) compel agency action unlawfully withheld or un- -
reasonably delayed; and (B) hold unlawful and set ‘aside 4
agency action, findings, ‘and conclusions found to be (1) ;
_ arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or otherwise
not iti accordance with law; (2) comtrary to constitutional
right, power, privilege; or immunity; (3) in exéess of
statutory jurisdiction, authority, or limitations, or short
of statutory right; (4) without observance of. procedure
-required by .law; (5) unsupported by substantial evidence
‘in any case subject to the requirements of sections 7
d 8 or otherwise reviewed on the record of any agency
- hearing provided by statute; or (6). unwarranted by the
faéts to the extent that up facts are subject to trial
de nove by the reviewing court. In making the forego- :
ing determinations the ‘court shall review the whole rec- _
ord or such portions thereof as may be\cited by .any oe
party, and due account shall be taken of ‘the rule of
_ prejudicial . error. Be ON

bad e e- e.

> : - , = : .
(b} The regulation of air transportation in sich man-
-¢ mer as to: recognize and preserve the inherent.advantages
of, assure ‘the highest degree of safety in, and foster
sound economic conditions’ in, such transportation, and
to improve the. relations betweén,. and coordinate trans.
portation ‘by, air carriers; 2 teen
(¢) The promotion of adequate, economical, and ct-
ficient service by air carriers at reasonable charges, with.
out unjust discriminations, undue preferences or advan. |
tages,’or unfair or destructive competitive practices: Net
, (4d) Coinpetition to the extent necessary to assure tle
sound develépment .of ‘an air-transportation system prop-
erly adapted to the needs of the foreign and domestic .
commerce of the United States, of the Postal Service, |

and of the national defense; ©» "
i . “*. . i es : >
(e) The regulation: of air commerce in-such manner as
to best promote its development and safety; and

(f) The encouragement and development of civil aero- -°
nautics. - Nye eee at a
’ 6 e Sd © .
SEC. 401. [52 Stat. 987, as amended by 56 Stat. 265,
«G1 Stat. 449, 49 U.S.C. 481) | ee
ee G $ e re :
_(d)(1) The Authority [Board] ‘shall issue’ a certificate.
authorizing the whole of any part of the transportation
covered by the application, if it finds that. the applican:
ix fit, Willing, and able to. perform such transportation
properly, ‘and: to conform .to_ the provisions: of this ‘Act
and the rules, refulations, and requirements of the Auth-
_ My [Boaed] hereunder, and that such transportation j-
‘required by the public convenience and necessity; other-
wise’ such application shail be denied. °° 7. .

(2) In the. ease of an application for a certificate to
‘engage in temporary’ air _transportation, the Authority
[Board} may issue a certificate authorizing the whole or

— 3 “te

=" se

a% 4
. y .
.

@. - ‘

. “ 4
: ‘

.
.

. : 7
ext : ° : +S : : oF

any part thereof for such limited periods as may be
required by the public convenience and necessity, if it

finds that the applicant is. fit, willing, and able properly / -

to perform -such_ transportation | And to conform to the

‘ provisions of thiX Act and. the rules, régulations, and

requirements of the Authority- [Board] hereunder.

' fe is ‘approved by. the Authority [ ae ‘as ie con-

sistent -= - public interest. °
ine 408. [52 Stat. 1001, 49 U.S.C. 488]

(b) Any person seeking approval of a consolidation, -

merger, purchase, lease, operating contract, ‘or acquisi-

tion of control, specified ‘in subsection (a) of this sec-

tion,. shall present an application to the Authority
[Board], and thereupon the -Authority {Board] shall —

notify the persons involyed in: ‘the consolidation, merger,

"= purchase,. lease, ——. contract; or. aang ieee of con-

ity
chase, lease, . operating contract, or acquisition of «ontrol
will not be consistent with, the public interest or that
the conditions of this section will not be fulfilled, it shall
by order, lapprove | such consolidation, merger, purchase,
lease, operating contract, or acquisition of control, upon .
such terms. and conditions as it shall find ‘to be: just and
reasonable and with such modifications as it may pre-

‘
~\

_ seribe : pee, ? aoe ie

e e £ . e' 3 oe

SEC. 409 [52 Stat. 1002, 49 U.S.C. 489] > r Agger

. one hundred and éighty dase after the effective date of

‘this section,’ it shall be unlawful, unless such relation- °

32 ~ | oF

ship shall have been approved by order of the Author.
‘ity [Board] upon due showing, fn the form and manner
préscribed by the Authority [Board], that. the public
interest will not be adversely affected thereby—

(1) For any air carrier to have and retain an officer

\ or director who is an officer, director, or member, or who

‘\. as a’ stockholder holds a controlling interest, in any other
“person who is, a: common carrier or is engaged in any
sees of aeronautics: of

(2)FKor any air. carrier, knowingly and’ willfully, 10
have and™“xetain an officer or director who has a repre-
sentative or faminee who represents suck officer or dirc-
tor as.an officer, director, or member, or as a stockholder
holding a controlling™interest; in any other person who Re
is a common carrier or i3¥ vaged in any phase of aero-
nautics.?% ero 6 bsp Oe PP tet

(3) For any person who, is an offiger-or, director of an
air ‘carrier: to. hold the position of officér, director, or
member, or to be a_ stockholder holding a controlling ©
Interest, or to Have ‘a representative or rominee who rep,
resents such person as an officer, diréetor, or member, or
as a stockholder holding a controlling interest, in any
other persen who is a common carrier or is engaged. in y,

any phase of aeronaitics.

_ (4) ‘For any air carric, have and retain © ¥ officer
or director who is an “offi, director, or member, or
‘who asa stockholder holds a- controlling interest, in*any
‘person whose principal business, in* purpose or in fact,
_js the holding of. stock in,:or control of, any other per-

son engaged in any phase of aeronautics;

(5) For any air carrier, knowingly and willfullt, to ’
q@liave and retain an officer or‘director who has a repre-
_-Seniative or nominee who represents such officer or di- .
tector as an officer, director, or. member or as a stock-. |
holder: holding ‘a controlling interest, in any person whose

*

.33 ,
. principal business, in purpose or in fact, is the holding
of stock in, or control of, any other, pergon engaged -in
any ‘phase of’ aeronaunes. , ;

6) For ant person who is an ‘dle ag director®f an
air carrier to hold the position of officer, director, ¢@r
member, or to be a stockholder holding a controlling -in-
terest, or to have a representative or nominee whe repre: > |
sents ‘such person as an offiver, director, or member, or
as a stockholder holding a controlling interest, in any:
person whose princi pat business, in purpose or in. fact,

is the holding of stock in,.or control of, angoother person -

engaged in any phase of aeronautics, .
, se . ° ’ ’
~ © PROCEDURAL REGULATIONS
7 Principhes or PRacTICcr OF rite Civ,
. ArRoNAUTICS Boakp

§ 300.0 Applicability of part. The principles of prac-

gies set out-herein to the extent applicable shall govern

‘the felationghip between the Board, its staff, and all other
persons,

§ 300.1 Judicial standards .of practice. ‘In any re
spects the @unctions of the Board are similar to those +
of a court and parties to cas® befyreét and those whe
represent such ‘partie? are expected to. conduct: them-
selves with honor and dignity. By the same token, the
members of the Board, and those of its employees who
participate with the.Board Members. in ‘the determina:
“tion of cases upon a reeord, are expected ‘to conduet «'
themselves with ‘the same fidelity to. standards of pro-
priety that characterize a-court and its staff. The stand-
ing and effectiveness.of the Board are in direct relation .
to its observance, that of, its staff, and the parties and
attoarfeys appearing before ft, of the highest standard-
‘of judicial and protensienet ethics.» .

: ‘ : Q

»*

*

34 .

--

.

$300.2 Hearing cases; improper influence. It is os.
‘sential in eases to be detérmined after notice and hear.
ing and upon'® record that the Board's judicial charac.
ter be recognized and protected. In-sffch cases: f

(a). It. is improper that there be any private eommu-
nication on the metits of tle case to a member. of the
Board or. its staff or examiner in the case by an)
person, either in private oF public. life, unless provided
for by law. .

(b) It is: likewise improper that.there be any private
communication on the merits of the case to a member ‘if
the Board or to .the examiner in the wase by any meni.
bers of the Board’s staff who participate in the hearing
as witnesses or as counsel. i Rae Ce

Tes, Bh .
Ae) st is improper that there be any effort by any per.
son interested in. the case to sway the judgment of th

‘ Board by attempting to bring pressure or influence ti.

bear upon the members of the Bogrd or its staff, or tha:
such person or any member of the Board’s staff, di.
rectly 6r indirectly, give statements to the press or rad «,
by paid advertisements or otherwise, designed to: influ-
“ence the Board’s judgment in the case.

; ee e..°*% e
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPBALS
POR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA cCIMCL YT

; | No. 14261

Nortu Centra Amunes, LXc., PETITIONER
. . v. '
Civu. Arroxautics Boary RESPONDENT
Lake Centra Arnuyes Emptoyven, Stockuo iver Grove
and Lake Cenrear Aruines, [Nc UN TRRVENORS

On Petition for Review of an Order of the
‘ Civil Aeronauties Board. )
-_ * ‘ ,

“ Decided January 29,1959 *

Mr. A.-L. Wheeler gnd Mr, Maruin Klitsner of the bar
of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Wisewmsin, pro haé
_vice, by special leavot Court, for petitioner. Mr. Emory
N. Ellis, Jr., alsoventered an appearance for petitioner.

Mr. Robert L.‘ Toomey, Attorney, Civil Aeronautics
Board, with whom Mr. Franklin. M. Stone, General Coun-
el, Civil Aeronautics Board, Mr. John H. Wanner, Asso-
ciate Gerieral Counsel, Civil Aeronautics Board, Mr. O. D.
Ccment, Axsistant General Counsel, Litigation and Re-
-earch, Civii Aeronautics Board, Mr, Ulrich V. Hoffmann,
Attorney, Civil Aeronauti¢s ‘Board, and- Mr. Daniel M.
Friedman, Attorney, Department of Justice, were on the
brief, for respondent. Mr. Morris © hertkor, Attorney,
Civil Aeronanti¢s Board, also entered an appearance for
respondent:

36 ts
Mr. James L. Highsaw, Jr., with whom Messrs. Clar.
ence M. Mulholland and Edward J. Hickey, Jr., were on
the brief, for ‘intervenor ‘Lake Central Airlines, Inc.

Mr. Albert F. Grisard was on the brief for intervenor
Lake Central Airlines Employee Stockholder Group.

' Before PRETTY#Ax, Chiéf Judge, and Wieve K. Mu.
Ler and Wasuineton, Circuit Judges.

Pretryman, Chief Judge: This is an airline acquisition
case, here on a, petition to review an order Of. the
Civil Aeronautics Board.'’ North Centtal Airlines, Inc.
(which for brevity and clarity we shall call merely
“North”) sought to acquire a majority of the stock of
Lake Central Airlines, Inc. (which we shall call “Lake”).
The dispute has been going on for a long time, at Jeast
six years, and has many complications and ramifications.
We think we need not here go into that background. In. .
September, 1952,-North and the Stockholders of Lake
. executed a contract whereby North was to acquire 96 per
cent of the stock of Lake. ~The contract had to be ap-
proved by the Civil Aeronautics Soard: The, Board re.
fused to approve it, and év. the case is here. - .
- The key concept in this controversy. is “local service’
qr “feeder service”. This is a type of airline operation
. Certificated by the Board upon the ‘basic principle: of
fashioning 8 local service route system on the needs of
a given trade area for short-haul and feeder service"
The purpose is to provide short-haul services “geared to
Jocal needs and maximum development: of local traffic”
and concentrating the carriers’ efforts “ori operations in
reasonably compact and homogeneous marketing areas.”
This is 4 clear and reasonable concept. It is in contradis
tinction \to: trunkline sé@ryice, which operates to carry
_ over long ‘distamees witha minimum of stops.
North is certified as a feeder or local service ‘carrier

1 Sec.” 408, Civil. Aeronautics Act, 52 StTaT. 1001 (1988). as
_ aménded, 49 U.S.C.A. § 488. 3

Ny)

37

_in the area northwest of Chicago-Detroit. It extends
north to the Canadian border. and west to Grand Forks-
‘Fargo-Omaha. It has stops at the big cities in the area’
-—such as Milwaukee and Minneapolis-St. Paul—but also
at La (Crosse, Winona, Clintonville, Ironwood, Thief +
River Falls, Manitowoc, - and many others of like size

and character. ee m
~~! . Lake: is certified ax a feeder or local service carrier
_ in the area southeast of Chicago-Detroit. It thus adjoins

North on the Chicago-Detroit Jine.. It has stops in the big
cities in the area—such as Cleveland, Buffalo and Cincin-
nati~but also- at Erie, Youngstown, -Mansfield, ‘Lima,
Logansport, Zanesville, Kokomo, Terre. Haute, and —
of like size and character. :

The problem; from the -Board’s point of view, was
whether the combination of these two local feeder services
into one operation was inconsistent with the public inter-
est. The Board has long been of the view that the .two

_ areas on either side of. the Chicago-Detroit line are Sepa-
“rate marketing areas and the local traffic requirements
are dissimilar. It so decided.in 1950 in a case known
as the. Parks Investigation Case.* - Traffic tends to flow
toward and. into the big cities—especially Chieago—on

.. feeder services, but not beyond such places on these serv.
ices, The record in the present case discloses, the Board

held, that “the trade centers of Chicago and Detroit serve-

| as a dividing line between the two areas’ served by North

Central and Lake Central, respectively, and that few local

| travelers proceed beyond these terminals via the local

service routes: involved.” The thrust of the Board's

_ Opinion was .that the combination of these two areas into

ome Operation, which would then extend from Buffalo-

is Pittshurg to Grand Forks-Duluth, would violate the whole

a vrinciple of local or feeder service and would clearly im-
pinge upon trunkline cértificates.

211 C.A:B. 779.

38

. . ¢ ;
The Board found, as we have indicated, that there is:
' jittle \nter-area traffic between the two local feeder route
services. It found that the combined area would be too big
for the sort of concentrated local homogeny deséred f@ |»
cal feeder certificates. In the Board's opinion feeder sery.
ice should be centered in the area to be serwed and should
be ‘soundly integrated for that purpose. In terms of
- route mileage, nurnber of cities served, density of popu
lation, and geographical area covered, the combined car.
riers would take.on characteristics akin to a trunkline
carrier and pose a threat to existing trunklines,

‘The Roard said it wanted loca) feeder carriers *to con
centrate on local needs and local traffic problems, and \'
feared that the temptation to woo through traffic over
the long distances and between the big cities whieh would
be within the service area of «a combined North-Lake
operation, would be too insistent to be resisted. The
Board found that each of these carriers, North and Lak.
is in sizable proportions ax a feeder seryicve and each has.
sufficient room for development in its own drea. Thr
Board disagreed emphatically with the éxaminer in li-
view that the combination was necessary to preserve
<ake, and the Board ex plained its view in — by i
ported by the developing traffic figures. ee ee

The Board found that subsidy savings would be effec vl
by the acquisition, if permitted, but-that this saving War
outweighed by the adverse effects’ oti the overall public
‘interest.

Counsel for North argues that the conelusion of tl.
Board does not follo¥ rationally from the ultimate find.
ings; that the ultimate findings- do not flow reasonall)
from the basic findings; and that the latter are not sup.
ported by the evidence as a whole. This is the skillful
way of attacking agency orders, being a method of prob
ing each link along the line of agency action. Tt would.
unduly -prolong this opinion to diseuss each of these a--
serted failures, but we have examined them and _ think
none of them reveals a fatal defect.

The reasoning of the Board seems amply clear. We
think the conclusion flows rationally from the ultimate
findings, and these in turn rest upon ample basic findings.
The latter seem to be supported by ample evidence. Of

course there are disputes as to the inferences to he drawn’)
from raw factual data, but it is not our function to draw .

inferences. Our function is to ascertain whether the infer-

ences drawn by the ‘administrative ageney are within the

reasonable boundaries prescribed by the facts. We think
they are in this case. :

With the assistance of supplemental memoranda from
counsel, for. the parties, the, court has explored several
questions relating to the procedure before the Board, but
we find no reversible error in these respects.

North urges.that the language of Section 40&(b) of the
statute raises a presumption in faver of wergers of alr
carriers. He that as it may, any such presumption could
hardly survive the considered judgment of the Board, as
expressed in a case such asx the present one, that a par-
ticnlar proposal ix not consistent with the public interest.
_» North says the Bord was arbitrary and failed to make
sufficient findings when it departed from established
norms, For example, North says the proposition that the
size of a proposed merged system is immaterial to ap-
_ proval of the merger ix an established rule. It refers to
a Dumber of cases, But “size” ix a relative term, and its

. importance, depends upon” circumstances. Recause the -

Board found the.size ef a merged system immaterial in
one case cannot make it.an +piiiategal rg and in all cases
and under all circumstances. And Nertl save the Board
established im the Arizona-Monarch- Merger Case* that

feeder routes need not be contplementary in order to be -

merged. It suite that in.the present case the Board, in
consistently, held the trade areas of the two airlines must
be complementary. ‘But we think North does not aceu-
rately assay either holding. In Arizona-Monarch the

711 C.A.B. 246 (1966). «:

—

oa Sake ‘ '
\ ¢’) "Board said that: two feeder systems need not be geo-
' graphically complementary ; that is, a merger need not
have the effect of increasing the intra-system long hauls.
In-the present case the Board. pointed out, as one feature
of the proposed merged system, the lack of inter-akea
local traffic. But in Arizona-Monarch the Board stress\d
other circumstances. In the instant case the. lack of- this
traffic was one of several critical factors. We find nb
inconsist@ncy. These problems cannot be solved by
mathematica! computation. Judgment necessarily enters
into each one, and the Congress has given the. agen:
. power to exercise that judgment. Ax was properly
| ee ee pointed out in the Southwest-West._ Coast Merger Cases
the Board: is concerned principally with the national air
route pattern. Thix Court can and should insure that th
agency stays within the bounds of reason and outside the
realm of caprice, but the court cannot substitute its on n.
. judgment as to what would or would not be inconsiste nt
with the’ public interest in a proposed merger. We think
the judgment: of the Board in this case was not arbitrary
and was not a departure from ‘established ‘norms which:
would ai boand, it. - ?

Affirmed.

\

‘14°C.A.B. 356, 358 (1961).
ee

.
’
— * .
‘2 .
. . . ‘ oe ee
‘ - ”
3 . \ °
- °
-
.

a

- APPENDIX C
COPY | aa
Law Offices.
»ALBERT F. GRISARD
l2 Metropolitan Bank Building
Washington 5, D. C. is
| July 29, 1954 —

Honorable Chan Gurney

Chairman . oe
Civil Aeronauties-Qoard oe
Washington 25,‘D. C.. a ae

. Re : Doc ‘ket No. 6234
Dear Senator Gurney:

. Reference is made to the several. eonterealiinna Messrs.
Gwin Hicks, Lloyd W. Hartman, Robert W. Clifford and
the undersigned have had with you and the Members of
the Board. regarding. the acquisition by an employee
group of the Weesner stock interest in Lake Central Air-

ployee group and the Weesner family signed a Memoran-
dum of Understanding and Intent, which was subsequently
filed with you, setting forth the agreement of the Wees-
ners to grant an option to the employee group for the
purchase of the majority stock interest in Lake Central.

As yqu know, the Weesners. through’ thei counsel,
Charles 8. Murphy, thereafter approac hed the Board for
permission to discuss a sale of the Weesner stock inter
est to Capitol Airways, Inc, of Nashville, Tennessee.

When these negotiations terminated the Weesners then -
~ resumed negotiations -with the employee group withthe
result that an option contract was executed on “June 25;
1954. Copies of the option contract have been’ furnished
‘each Member of: the Board.

Under such contract, the employee representatives were
givene30 days, or until July 25, 1954, to obtain firm eom-

lines, Inc. On May--21, 1954, representatives of the em-. -

ee

‘42

sip, a a

mitments from the officers and employees df Lake. Central
and such other persons as they might designate for: the
purchase of the entire Weesner stock interest, amounting:
to 80,954 shares out of 83,039 shares outstanding. These
commitments were obtained - on July, 23, 1954, and writ. -
ten notice thereof given to Mr. Charles S. Murphy op

July 26, 1954.

It has been generally understood by the employee rep-
resentatives that they should make a showing to the

- Board on or before August 1, 1954, of the existence’ of -

(1) the above-mentioned employee stock purchase com-
mitments and (2) commitments from. dutside sources for
the’ purchase of new securities which would yield the
corporation at least $250,000, in order to prevent‘ a dis.

Missal of the show-cause proceeding (Docket No. 6234)

for a one-year extension of Lake Central’s certificate for
Route No. 88. The employee group has made very sub-
stantial progress toward obtaining the latter commit.
ments, but has been handicapped in completing the re-
financing program by August 1, 1954, because (1) of

.the time lost while the Weesners explored the proposal

of Capitol Aitways, Inc., and (2) of the fact that ‘the
delay attending the exploration. of the Capitol Airways
proposal resulted in the. employees’ refinancing efforts

being carried on in. a period when many of their invest-

ment. contacts. were vacationing. Under the provisions of
the option contract, the employee group has until: August

25, 1954, to obtain”this necessary additional financing.

Despite these handicaps of short available time and

’ the vacation season, preliminary commitments have al-

ready been obtained from businessmen and industries of
Mansfigld, Lima, Columbus, Toledo and Dayton, Qhio, and
active negotiations are now being conducted with similar
persons jin Indianapolis, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago,
Bloomington; Indiana, and’ Jackson, Michigan. The re-'
sponse’ has been heartening and the present indications *

a a
/

e .
.
. as .
. . << me eet e oo
.
. . 7
‘ * ‘

e

.

_ . :

43
are that the goal of the refinancing program will be at:
tained within the time allowed by the option contract.

Because of this substantial progress made by the em-

ployee group, we respectfully request that the Board
defer any further action on Pocket No. 6234 or Docket

No, 5770 until the refinancing program is completed
which, under the terms of the option contract, cannot
be later than August 25, 1954. In order that the Mém-
bers may have a personal, direct knowledge of the prog:
ress already made in the brief period since June 25, 1954,
We suggest.and would welcome the opportunity of an
informal meeting’ next Thursday or Friday (August 5th
or 6th) between the Board and representatives of the
management and employees’ of Lake Central. If the
Board’s schedule does not permit of this joint meeting,
it is hoped that Lake Central's representatives may meet

with the Members individually on either of such days, at

times convenient to the Members.

I shall very much appreciate feceiving word from you
regarding the foregoing suggestion.

Sincerely =. if

/s/ Albert F. Grisard’
Albert F. Grisard /
Counsel for Lake Centra! Airlines, Ine.

Copy: Vice Chairman Harmar D. Denny
| Member Oswald Ryan

Member Josh Lee

Member Joseph P. Adams

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA04386419_0871%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
