# Chicago White Sox, Ltd. v. Automobile Mutual Insurance Co.

> Appellate Court of Illinois · November 29, 2023 · 240 N.E.3d 1153

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/9905719

## Case

- **Court:** Appellate Court of Illinois
- **Decided:** November 29, 2023
- **Citations:** 240 N.E.3d 1153; 2023 IL App (1st) 230101
- **Precedential status:** Published
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Cited by:** 1 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/9905719

## How later opinions describe it (automated extraction)

- noting a reviewing court “may affirm on any basis appearing in the record, whether or not the circuit court relied on that basis or its reasoning was correct”

## Opinion text

2023 IL App (1st) 230101
First District
Third Division
November 29, 2023
No. 1-23-0101

CHICAGO WHITE SOX, LTD.; CHISOX )
CORPORATION; CWS MAINTENANCE COMPANY; )
AT YOUR SERVICE, LLC; and AXIS INSURANCE )
COMPANY, Individually and as Subrogee of Chicago )
White Sox, Ltd., CHISOX Corporation, CWS )
Maintenance Company, and At Your Service, LLC, )
)
Plaintiffs, ) Appeal from the Circuit Court
) of Cook County.
v. )
) No. 16 CH 6403
STATE AUTOMOBILE MUTUAL INSURANCE )
COMPANY and WE CLEAN MAINTENANCE AND ) The Honorable
SUPPLIES, INC., ) Anna M. Loftus,
) Judge Presiding.
Defendants )
)
(AXIS Insurance Company, Plaintiff-Appellant; and )
State Automobile Mutual Insurance Company, )
Defendant-Appellee). )

PRESIDING JUSTICE REYES delivered the judgment of the court, with opinion.
Justices Lampkin and Navarro concurred in the judgment and opinion.

OPINION

¶1 The instant appeal arises from a dispute between plaintiff AXIS Insurance Company

(AXIS), as subrogee for plaintiffs Chicago White Sox, Ltd., CHISOX Corporation, CWS

Maintenance Company, and At Your Service, LLC (collectively, the White Sox plaintiffs), and

defendant State Automobile Mutual Insurance Company (State Auto), the insurer for defendant

We Clean Maintenance and Supplies, Inc. (We Clean). After a patron was injured at a Chicago

White Sox game, he filed a lawsuit against the White Sox plaintiffs, and the White Sox
No. 1-23-0101

plaintiffs tendered the defense of that suit to State Auto, the insurer for We Clean, a company

with which the White Sox plaintiffs had contracted to perform cleaning services at the ballpark.

State Auto, however, rejected the tender and refused to defend the suit, claiming that the White

Sox plaintiffs were not “additional insureds” under its policy. The White Sox plaintiffs—and

AXIS, as their insurer—filed suit against State Auto and We Clean, alleging that State Auto

had wrongfully denied coverage. Both AXIS and State Auto filed motions for summary

judgment, and the circuit court granted summary judgment in favor of State Auto, finding that

the White Sox plaintiffs were not “additional insureds.” AXIS now appeals, and for the reasons

that follow, we affirm.

¶2 BACKGROUND

¶3 Parties and Underlying Lawsuit

¶4 Beginning in 2008 and continuing at least through 2012, the White Sox plaintiffs entered

into a series of written agreements with We Clean pursuant to which We Clean agreed to

provide cleaning services for all home games played by the Chicago White Sox during the

applicable baseball season.

¶5 In 2011, while at U.S. Cellular Field, 1 Raymond Myles was injured as he was walking

down a ramp. Myles filed a lawsuit against the White Sox plaintiffs in the circuit court of Cook

County (the underlying lawsuit), alleging that they were negligent in causing his injuries due

to, inter alia, failing to inspect the premises to ensure that the ramps were free from excessive

garbage. The lawsuit was later voluntarily dismissed and subsequently refiled under a different

case number, and was ultimately settled for an undisclosed amount.

While the facility was known as U.S. Cellular Field at the time at issue, it has since been
1

renamed as Guaranteed Rate Field.
2
No. 1-23-0101

¶6 In 2014, the White Sox plaintiffs tendered the defense of the underlying lawsuit to State

Auto, the insurer for We Clean, as additional insureds under We Clean’s insurance policy. The

White Sox plaintiffs made a second tender in 2015, but State Auto refused to provide them

with a defense. A third tender was made in 2016, which State Auto again refused to accept,

and the White Sox plaintiffs and AXIS, their insurer, ultimately incurred the costs of defending

and settling the case.

¶7 State Auto Policy and We Clean Contract

¶8 As noted, We Clean was insured by State Auto under a commercial general liability

insurance policy. While We Clean was the sole named insured on the policy, the policy

contained an endorsement adding as an additional insured “[a]ny person or organization for

whom you are performing operations when you and such person or organization have agreed

in a written contract or written agreement that such person or organization be added as an

additional insured on your policy.”

¶9 As relevant to the instant appeal, We Clean entered into several “Contract[s] for Services”

with the White Sox plaintiffs between 2008 and 2012 (the service contracts). All of the service

contracts contained the same language: “Vendor will comply with all insurance requirements

set forth by the Chicago White Sox, and will provide certification of such insurance.” 2

¶ 10 As to 2008, 2009, and 2012, the record also contains an “Indemnification and Insurance

Agreement,” which provides that We Clean “shall procure, at its sole cost and expense, the

insurance coverages set forth below, and shall maintain such coverages in full force and effect

2
The 2011 service contract uses the term “Client” and not “Chicago White Sox,” but the provision
is otherwise identical. We also note that the 2011 service contract provides that it is effective for the
2011 baseball season but that extensions were available for the 2012 and 2013 baseball seasons.
Accordingly, there is no separate service contract for the 2012 baseball season.
3
No. 1-23-0101

as specified in this Agreement. The Contractor shall include the Indemnified Parties and such

other parties as CWS may designate as additional insureds to the insurance policies described

below ***. The insurance coverage afforded under the policies described herein shall be

primary and non-contributing with respect to any insurance or self-insurance carried

independently by the additional insureds.” The agreement further provided that We Clean

“shall promptly furnish CWS with certificates of insurance evidencing the coverages

hereunder, and shall not commence any services until such insurance is obtained.” The

“insurance policies described below” in the agreement consisted of four different types of

insurance, including a commercial general liability insurance policy. No “Indemnification and

Insurance Agreement” for either 2010 or 2011 is contained in the record on appeal, and an

affidavit from a White Sox representative indicates that the White Sox plaintiffs were unable

to locate such a document. 3

¶ 11 Finally, the record on appeal contains certificates of insurance for each year, which provide

that “[t]he following are listed as primary & non-contributory additional insured under general

liability & primary additional insured under automobile liability” and which list the White Sox

plaintiffs as additional insureds. The certificates of insurance include disclaimers that “THIS

CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED AS A MATTER OF INFORMATION ONLY AND CONFERS

NO RIGHTS UPON THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER” and that, “[i]f the certificate holder is

an ADDITIONAL INSURED, the policy(ies) must be endorsed. *** A statement on this

certificate does not confer rights to the certificate holder in lieu of such endorsement(s).”

(Emphases in original.)

3
We also note that, in its motion for summary judgment, AXIS indicates that “We Clean did not
sign separate Indemnification and Insurance Agreements for years 2010 and 2011.”
4
No. 1-23-0101

¶ 12 Complaint

¶ 13 The White Sox plaintiffs filed a complaint for declaratory judgment in May 2016; the

complaint was amended twice, and it is the second amended complaint, which added AXIS as

a plaintiff, which was the operative complaint at the time of the motions for summary judgment

at issue in the instant appeal. While the second amended complaint raised a total of 11 counts,

we discuss here only the ones relevant to the issues on appeal.

¶ 14 Count I of the complaint was against State Auto for breach of contract concerning the

underlying lawsuit and alleged that State Auto breached its 2010-11 policy by refusing to

provide a defense to the underlying lawsuit. Count II alleged that, due to State Auto’s

unreasonable refusal to defend the underlying lawsuit, it should be estopped from raising any

defenses to coverage. Count III was similar to count I, except it alleged that State Auto had

breached its duty to indemnify the expenses incurred in the underlying lawsuit. Count IV

alleged a violation of section 155 of the Illinois Insurance Code (215 ILCS 5/155 (West 2018))

based on State Auto’s conduct. Count V sought equitable subrogation, as the complaint alleged

the AXIS insurance policy was secondary to the State Auto policy, while count VI, in the

alternative, requested equitable contribution for the amounts expended by AXIS. Finally, count

VIII 4 was for declaratory judgment and sought a declaration that State Auto was responsible

for paying the amounts owed by We Clean for We Clean’s breach of the contract between We

Clean and the White Sox plaintiffs, which required We Clean to provide a defense and

indemnification to the White Sox plaintiffs with respect to the underlying lawsuit.

4
We note that the second amended complaint contains two counts labeled “count VIII.” Only the
first is at issue on appeal. We additionally note that count VII was directed at We Clean, but the
record indicates that the company was dissolved in November 2016, and the circuit court entered an
order of default against We Clean in October 2020.
5
No. 1-23-0101

¶ 15 Both AXIS and State Auto ultimately filed motions for partial summary judgment with

respect to counts I, II, III, IV, V, and VIII of the second amended complaint. 5 Both motions

primarily concerned the question of whether the 2011 service contract constituted a written

agreement that the White Sox plaintiffs be added as additional insureds on the State Auto

policy such that they would be afforded coverage under We Clean’s policy. AXIS contended

that the service contract, which required We Clean to comply with the White Sox plaintiffs’

“insurance requirements,” sufficed despite the absence of a 2011 indemnification and

insurance agreement, based on the parties’ course of conduct. State Auto, by contrast,

maintained that the absence of an indemnification and insurance agreement meant that We

Clean and the White Sox plaintiffs never expressly agreed to add the White Sox plaintiffs as

additional insureds under We Clean’s policy, as required by the terms of the policy.

¶ 16 On December 15, 2022, the circuit court granted State Auto’s motion for summary

judgment on counts I, II, III, IV, V, and VIII. The circuit court found that the provision in the

service contract that We Clean “comply with all insurance requirements” was not ambiguous

and it therefore could not look to parol evidence to determine whether the insurance

requirements included adding the White Sox plaintiffs as additional insureds to We Clean’s

insurance policy. The circuit court further found that there was no just reason to delay

5
The White Sox plaintiffs also filed a motion for partial summary judgment, which incorporated
the AXIS motion and also sought summary judgment on the second “count VIII” and on count IX,
both of which concerned a different lawsuit that is not at issue on appeal. State Auto also filed a
cross-motion for summary judgment on the second “count VIII” and on count IX. At the time of the
hearing on the motions for summary judgment at issue on appeal, however, the parties informed the
circuit court that the claims concerning the other lawsuit “ha[ve] been resolved,” and the circuit court
later entered an order dismissing those counts with prejudice.
6
No. 1-23-0101

enforcement or appeal of its order, as judgment had been entered in favor of State Auto and

against AXIS. AXIS timely filed a notice of appeal, and this appeal follows. 6

¶ 17 ANALYSIS

¶ 18 On appeal, AXIS contends that the circuit court erred in granting summary judgment in

favor of State Auto, as the evidence established that the White Sox plaintiffs were additional

insureds under We Clean’s insurance policy. A circuit court is permitted to grant summary

judgment only if the pleadings, depositions, and admissions on file, together with the affidavits,

if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is

entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. 735 ILCS 5/2-1005(c) (West 2020). The circuit court

must view these documents and exhibits in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party.

Home Insurance Co. v. Cincinnati Insurance Co., 213 Ill. 2d 307, 315 (2004). We review a

circuit court’s decision to grant a motion for summary judgment de novo. Outboard Marine

Corp. v. Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., 154 Ill. 2d 90, 102 (1992).

¶ 19 Summary judgment is a drastic measure and should only be granted if the movant’s right

to judgment is clear and free from doubt. XL Specialty Insurance Co. v. Performance Aircraft

Leasing, Inc., 2019 IL App (1st) 181031, ¶ 63. However, mere speculation, conjecture, or

guess is insufficient to withstand summary judgment. Sorce v. Naperville Jeep Eagle, Inc., 309

Ill. App. 3d 313, 328 (1999). The party moving for summary judgment bears the initial burden

of proof. Nedzvekas v. Fung, 374 Ill. App. 3d 618, 624 (2007). The movant may meet his

burden of proof either by affirmatively demonstrating that some element of the case must be

resolved in his favor or by establishing that there is an absence of evidence to support the

We note that, after the filing of the notice of appeal, the circuit court entered an order which
6

“nunc pro tunc” granted summary judgment in State Auto’s favor on count VI of the second amended
complaint, which had been pleaded in the alternative.
7
No. 1-23-0101

nonmoving party’s case. Id. (citing Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325 (1986)). The

purpose of summary judgment is not to try an issue of fact but to determine whether a triable

issue of fact exists. Schrager v. North Community Bank, 328 Ill. App. 3d 696, 708 (2002)

(citing Luu v. Kim, 323 Ill. App. 3d 946, 952 (2001)).

¶ 20 Where, as here, the parties have filed cross-motions for summary judgment, “they agree

that only a question of law is involved and invite the court to decide the issues based on the

record.” Pielet v. Pielet, 2012 IL 112064, ¶ 28. The mere filing of such cross-motions,

however, does not establish that there is no genuine issue of material fact, nor does it obligate

a court to render summary judgment. Id. We also note that we may affirm on any basis

appearing in the record, whether or not the circuit court relied on that basis or its reasoning

was correct. Ray Dancer, Inc. v. DMC Corp., 230 Ill. App. 3d 40, 50 (1992).

¶ 21 In this case, the sole issue is whether the White Sox plaintiffs qualified as additional

insureds under We Clean’s insurance policy. Under the terms of the policy, State Auto agreed

to cover “[a]ny person or organization for whom you are performing operations when you and

such person or organization have agreed in a written contract or written agreement that such

person or organization be added as an additional insured on your policy.” The 2011 service

contract, which was the contract in operation at the time of Myles’s injury, provided that

“Vendor will comply with all insurance requirements set forth by Client, and will provide

certification of such insurance.” Unlike other years, however, there was no accompanying

“Indemnification and Insurance Agreement” in which such insurance requirements were

detailed. State Auto therefore maintains—and the circuit court agreed—that the service

contract was insufficient to constitute a “written contract or written agreement” in which We

Clean agreed to add the White Sox plaintiffs as additional insureds under its policy. AXIS, by

8
No. 1-23-0101

contrast, claims that the circuit court should have looked to extrinsic evidence to conclude that

the “insurance requirements” of the 2011 service contract included the requirement that the

White Sox plaintiffs be added as additional insureds.

¶ 22 In construing a contract, the primary objective is to give effect to the intention of the parties.

Thompson v. Gordon, 241 Ill. 2d 428, 441 (2011). A court will first look to the language of the

contract itself, and if the words in the contract are clear and unambiguous, they must be given

their plain, ordinary, and popular meaning. Id. If, however, the language is ambiguous, the

court may consider extrinsic evidence to determine the parties’ intent. Id. A contract is not

rendered ambiguous simply due to the parties’ disagreement as to its meaning. Clanton v.

Oakbrook Healthcare Centre, Ltd., 2023 IL 129067, ¶ 33. Instead, it is considered ambiguous

“when the contract language ‘is susceptible to more than one meaning or is obscure in

meaning.’ ” Id. (quoting Wolff v. Bethany North Suburban Group, 2021 IL App (1st) 191858,

¶ 37).

¶ 23 In this case, there is no dispute that the language of the insurance policy is clear and

unambiguous—it clearly provides coverage for “[a]ny person or organization for whom you

are performing operations when you and such person or organization have agreed in a written

contract or written agreement that such person or organization be added as an additional

insured on your policy.” See Westfield Insurance Co. v. FCL Builders, Inc., 407 Ill. App. 3d

730, 733-34 (2011) (construing identical language). The only question is whether the terms of

the 2011 service contract satisfy the conditions of the insurance policy. We agree with State

Auto and the circuit court that they do not.

¶ 24 First, the language of the service contract merely requires We Clean to “comply with all

insurance requirements set forth” by the White Sox plaintiffs and does not expressly require

9
No. 1-23-0101

We Clean to name the White Sox plaintiffs as additional insureds under its insurance policy.

Several courts have found that the lack of such express language is fatal to a claim that a party

is an additional insured. See, e.g., id. at 734 (finding general contractor not to be an additional

insured where there was no direct agreement between the general contractor and the sub-

subcontractor requiring it to name the general contractor as an additional insured); West Bend

Mutual Insurance Co. v. Athens Construction Co., 2015 IL App (1st) 140006, ¶ 28 (finding

general contractor not to be an additional insured where agreement between general contractor

and subcontractor merely required subcontractor to state that the general contractor was an

additional insured on a certificate of insurance).

¶ 25 Additionally, we cannot agree with AXIS that the term “insurance requirements” in the

service contract is ambiguous such that we may look to extrinsic evidence to determine

whether such “insurance requirements” included a requirement that the White Sox plaintiffs

be added as additional insureds. AXIS contends that a court may use extrinsic evidence to

determine the terms of a contract where those terms are missing from the contract itself. See

Academy Chicago Publishers v. Cheever, 144 Ill. 2d 24, 30 (1991) (a contract may be enforced

even though some of the terms may be missing); Rose v. Mavrakis, 343 Ill. App. 3d 1086, 1091

(2003) (same). In this case, however, there are no missing terms or unclear terms—the service

contract specifically states that We Clean is to comply with the White Sox plaintiffs’

“insurance requirements.” The problem is that there apparently were no insurance

requirements in 2011, at least none that were reduced to writing. Thus, without a written

agreement that the White Sox plaintiffs were to be named as additional insureds under We

Clean’s policy, there is no basis for finding that they were, in fact, additional insureds, and the

circuit court properly granted summary judgment in favor of State Auto.

10
No. 1-23-0101

¶ 26 We do not find persuasive AXIS’s reliance on Old Republic Insurance Co. v. Kenny

Construction Co., No. 15-CV-03524, 2017 WL 4921970 (N.D. Ill. Oct. 31, 2017). First, this

case is an unpublished federal district court case, and it is well established that such cases are

not binding on this court. See, e.g., Kerbes v. Raceway Associates, LLC, 2011 IL App (1st)

110318, ¶ 34; King’s Health Spa, Inc. v. Village of Downers Grove, 2014 IL App (2d) 130825,

¶ 63; FHP Tectonics Corp. v. American Home Assurance Co., 2016 IL App (1st) 130291, ¶ 45

n.4; People v. Chatman, 2016 IL App (1st) 152395, ¶ 63 n.27. Moreover, the facts in Kenny

Construction differ significantly from those in the case at bar. There, the subcontract at issue

provided that “ ‘[s]ubmittal of the subcontractor’s evidence of insurances shall include the

contractor, the owner and any other additional insureds as required per the Insurance

Requirement Sheet attached hereto.’ ” (Emphasis added.) Kenny Construction, 2017 WL

4921970, at *1. The district court was therefore required to determine if the reference to “other

additional insureds” meant that the prior listed entities—the contractor and the owner—were

also additional insureds. Id. at *4. Since the term was susceptible to two different meanings,

the district court looked to parol evidence to resolve the ambiguity. Id. at *5. Here, by contrast,

there are no competing inferences, such that parol evidence is necessary to resolve any

ambiguity, and accordingly, we find Kenny Construction to be inapposite.

¶ 27 CONCLUSION

¶ 28 For the reasons set forth above, we affirm the circuit court’s grant of summary judgment

in favor of State Auto. Since there was no written agreement between We Clean and the White

Sox plaintiffs requiring the White Sox plaintiffs to be named as additional insureds under We

Clean’s policy, the White Sox plaintiffs were not entitled to coverage by State Auto.

¶ 29 Affirmed.

11
No. 1-23-0101

Chicago White Sox, Ltd. v. State Automobile Mutual Insurance Co.,
2023 IL App (1st) 230101

Decision Under Review: Appeal from the Circuit Court of Cook County, No. 16-CH-
6403; the Hon. Anna M. Loftus, Judge, presiding.

Attorneys Brian C. Bassett and Danielle K. Kegley, of Traub Lieberman
for Straus & Shrewsberry LLP, of Chicago, for appellant.
Appellant:

Attorneys Robert Marc Chemers and David N. Larson, of Pretzel &
for Stouffer, Chtrd., of Chicago, for appellee.
Appellee:

12

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/9905719. Public record. Not legal advice.
