# Madeline Tanner v. Commissioner, Social Security

> Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit · February 12, 2015 · 602 F. App'x 95

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/2779138

## Case

- **Full name:** Madeline Brown TANNER, Plaintiff-Appellant, v. COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY, Defendant-Appellee
- **Court:** Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
- **Decided:** February 12, 2015
- **Citations:** 602 F. App'x 95
- **Precedential status:** Unpublished
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Judges:** King, Agee, Davis
- **Cited by:** 91 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/2779138

## How later opinions describe it (automated extraction)

- finding reversal for failure to assign weight to a medical opinion pointless because “the RFC assessment and [the doctor’s] opinion are largely consistent, and it is highly unlikely, given the medical evidence of record, that a remand to the agency would change the Commissione…
- stating that while the state agency consultants did not have benefit of the whole record, “the ALJ did, and he made clear that their findings were consistent with the evidence of record, including evidence submitted since the date of reconsideration”
- finding, in spite of the ALJ’s error, reversal not warranted where it was “highly unlikely, given the medical evidence of record, that a remand to the agency would change the Commissioner’s finding of nondisability”
- explaining “medical records often span [long time periods, so] it is inevitable that some evidence will show signs of a claimant’s improvement and other evidence will show signs of a claimant’s regression”

## Opinion text

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 14-1272

MADELINE BROWN TANNER,

Plaintiff - Appellant,

v.

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,

Defendant - Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the District of
South Carolina, at Charleston. Joseph F. Anderson, Jr., Senior
District Judge. (2:12-cv-03001-JFA)

Submitted: January 29, 2015 Decided: February 12, 2015

Before KING and AGEE, Circuit Judges, and DAVIS, Senior Circuit
Judge.

Affirmed by unpublished per curiam opinion.

John B. Duggan and Daniel R. Hughes, Duggan & Hughes, LLC,
Greer, South Carolina, for Appellant. Marshall Prince,
Assistant United States Attorney, Columbia, South Carolina, and
Marcelo N. Illarmo, Special Assistant United States Attorney,
Boston, Massachusetts, for Appellee.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.
PER CURIAM:

The Social Security Administration twice denied Madeline

Tanner’s claim for disability insurance benefits. After each

denial, Ms. Tanner sought review of the Commissioner’s decision

by filing suit in the United States District Court for the

District of South Carolina. The district court upheld the

agency’s second denial of benefits. Ms. Tanner appeals the

district court’s judgment, arguing that the court improperly

applied the “mandate rule” to preclude consideration of two of

her challenges to the administrative law judge’s findings.

Although the district court’s application of the mandate rule

was erroneous, we nevertheless affirm.

I.

On October 17, 2005, Ms. Tanner, then a special education

teacher, intervened in a fight between two students. During the

fight, Ms. Tanner sustained injuries to her left upper

extremity, left shoulder, and the left side of her neck. She

commenced medical treatment in 2006 for a variety of mental and

physical complaints, including chronic pain, numbness of the

extremities, PTSD, anxiety, and depression.

Ms. Tanner applied for disability insurance benefits in

December 2007. Her claim was denied initially, upon

reconsideration, and after a hearing before an administrative

law judge. Ms. Tanner filed suit against the Commissioner in

2
federal district court, arguing that the ALJ (1) failed to

consider the opinions of her treating physicians; (2) failed to

properly assess her credibility; and (3) failed to consider the

effects of her impairments in combination. The magistrate

judge, to whom Ms. Tanner’s case was referred, recommended

remand for additional consideration of opinion evidence, but

rejected all of her other arguments. The district court

accepted the magistrate judge’s recommendation and vacated the

Commissioner’s decision denying Ms. Tanner disability benefits.

Upon remand, the agency held a second hearing before a

different administrative law judge. Yet again, the ALJ denied

Ms. Tanner’s claim for disability insurance benefits. Ms.

Tanner filed suit in district court, asserting arguments nearly

identical to those raised in her first suit against the

Commissioner. This time, however, the magistrate judge

recommended that the district court uphold the Commissioner’s

denial of benefits.

The magistrate judge declined to consider Ms. Tanner’s

challenges regarding the effects of her impairments in

combination and the ALJ’s adverse credibility determination.

The magistrate judge reasoned that those arguments had already

been rejected and were “secondary to [Ms. Tanner’s] main concern

about evaluation of medical source opinions.” The magistrate

judge concluded that the previous determinations constituted

3
“the law of the case” and declined to depart from them. The

district court agreed with the magistrate judge’s assessment of

the issues and incorporated the recommendation into its decision

upholding the denial of benefits. Ms. Tanner timely appealed

the district court’s decision.

II.

Before us, the parties agree that the district court’s

application of the mandate rule was erroneous. Ms. Tanner

argues that the error can only be cured by a reversal of the

district court’s order and a remand of her case to the agency.

The Commissioner contends that the error is harmless. We agree

with the Commissioner.

“The mandate rule prohibits lower courts, with limited

exceptions, from considering questions that the mandate of a

higher court has laid to rest.” Doe v. Chao, 511 F.3d 461, 465

(4th Cir. 2007). An interest in finality also undergirds the

law of the case doctrine. “[W]hen a decision of an appellate

court establishes ‘the law of the case,’ it ‘must be followed in

all subsequent proceedings in the same case in the trial court

or on a later appeal . . . unless: (1) a subsequent trial

produces substantially different evidence, (2) controlling

authority has since made a contrary decision of law applicable

to the issue, or (3) the prior decision was clearly erroneous

and would work manifest injustice.’” Sejman v. Warner-Lambert

4
Co. Inc., 845 F.2d 66, 69 (4th Cir. 1988) (quoting EEOC v. Int’l

Longshoremen's Ass’n, 623 F.2d 1054 (5th Cir. 1980)).

The mandate rule is “a specific application of the law of

the case doctrine.” United States v. Bell, 5 F.3d 64, 66 (4th

Cir. 1993) (internal citation and quotation marks omitted). We

have stated in dicta that it “applies with equal authority to .

. . administrative agencies.” Scott v. Mason Coal Co., 289 F.3d

263, 267 (4th Cir. 2002). We presume without deciding that the

Social Security Administration is an agency to which the mandate

rule applies.

The magistrate judge (and by extension, the district court)

invoked the mandate rule in order to avoid reviewing the

arguments that it believed the court had previously resolved in

Ms. Tanner’s first suit against the Commissioner. The “mandate”

purportedly binding the Social Security Administration was that

on remand, it was to reconsider only certain opinion evidence in

Ms. Tanner’s record. We do not view the second ALJ’s decision

as running afoul of the mandate rule, and in any event, we have

the authority to review all of Ms. Tanner’s challenges to the

ALJ’s decision in our review for substantial evidence.

Upon remand of Ms. Tanner’s case to the agency, the first

ALJ’s decision was vacated and a different ALJ presided over Ms.

Tanner’s second hearing. At the second hearing, the ALJ

received additional medical evidence totaling more than 100

5
pages and heard new testimony from Ms. Tanner and a vocational

expert. Given the inclusion of this additional evidence, the

ALJ was obliged by agency regulations to reassess Ms. Tanner’s

disability claim de novo through the date of the new decision.*

See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(3) (stating that the agency’s five-

step sequential evaluation process requires that it consider

“all evidence in [a claimant’s] case record” when making a

disability determination). Therefore, the ALJ’s findings

regarding credibility and the combined effects of Ms. Tanner’s

impairments were based, in part, on new evidence, and as a

result, could not run afoul of the mandate set forth by the

district court.

As we explain below, even if the district court had

considered all of Ms. Tanner’s arguments against the ALJ’s

decision, reversal would not have been appropriate.

III.

“When examining an SSA disability determination, a

reviewing court is required to uphold the determination when an

ALJ has applied correct legal standards and the ALJ’s factual

*
The Social Security Administration’s Hearings, Appeals,
and Litigation Law Manual “HALLEX” notes that the Appeals
Council will vacate the entire prior decision of an
administrative law judge upon a court remand, and that the ALJ
must consider de novo all pertinent issues. HALLEX I-2-8-18,
Administrative Law Judge Decisions in Court Remand Cases.

6
findings are supported by substantial evidence.” Bird v. Comm’r

of Soc. Sec. Admin., 699 F.3d 337, 340 (4th Cir. 2012).

“Substantial evidence is such relevant evidence as a reasonable

mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Johnson

v. Barnhart, 434 F.3d 650, 653 (4th Cir. 2005). “In reviewing

for substantial evidence, we do not undertake to re-weigh

conflicting evidence, make credibility determinations, or

substitute our judgment for that of the Secretary.” Craig v.

Chater, 76 F.3d 585, 589 (4th Cir. 1996). Significantly, a

district court and an appellate court apply the same standard of

review when considering a claimant’s appeal from a denial of

social security benefits.

To that end, we affirm the district court because our

independent assessment of all of Ms. Tanner’s challenges

demonstrates that the ALJ’s decision is supported by substantial

evidence.

A.

We begin with Ms. Tanner’s challenge to the ALJ’s adverse

credibility determination. This Circuit has developed, in

accordance with SSA regulations, a two-step process for

evaluating a claimant’s subjective complaints of pain. First,

there must be “a showing by objective evidence of the existence

of a medical impairment which could reasonably be expected to

produce the actual pain, in the amount and degree, alleged by

7
the claimant.” Craig, 76 F.3d at 594 (internal quotation marks

omitted).

If the claimant meets this threshold obligation, the ALJ

must next evaluate the “intensity and persistence of the

claimant’s pain, and the extent to which it affects her ability

to work.” Id. at 595. The evaluation takes into account all

available evidence, including “the claimant’s medical history,

medical signs, laboratory findings, . . . evidence of the

claimant’s daily activities, specific descriptions of the pain,

and any medical treatment taken to alleviate it.” Id. The

claimant’s allegations regarding the severity and persistence of

pain cannot be dismissed solely because objective evidence of

pain is lacking; at the same time, however, the claimant’s

allegations “need not be accepted to the extent they are

inconsistent with the available evidence.” Id.

Substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s adverse credibility

determination. The ALJ concluded that Ms. Tanner’s medically

determinable impairments could reasonably be expected to cause

the symptoms alleged, but he discounted the extent of her

subjective complaints because they were inconsistent with the

medical evidence. The ALJ noted that Ms. Tanner’s self-reported

activities of daily living varied dramatically. At times, she

reported being able to participate in physical activities such

as babysitting and household chores, and at other times, she

8
reported being unable to engage in previous hobbies. With

respect to her physical symptoms, the ALJ highlighted other

inconsistencies, all of which are supported by the medical

evidence of record, including complaints of numbness during some

visits to doctors and no numbness at others. Furthermore,

despite her persistent complaints of pain, Ms. Tanner has

responded relatively well to medication.

B.

Ms. Tanner’s argument that the ALJ failed to consider the

effects of her medically determinable impairments in combination

is without merit. “To be sure, an ALJ must ‘adequately explain

his or her evaluation of the combined effects of [a claimant’s]

impairments.’” Reid v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., 769 F.3d 861, 865

(4th Cir. 2014) (quoting Walker v. Bowen, 889 F.2d 47, 50 (4th

Cir. 1989)).

The ALJ did just that. He first described Ms. Tanner’s

non-severe impairments and noted that her obesity “combined with

her musculoskeletal impairments does not result in impairments

that meet or equal listing severity.” (emphasis added). The

ALJ then described Ms. Tanner’s severe impairments and

concluded that, “[t]he claimant does not have an impairment or

combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the

severity of one of the listed impairments.” It is thus clear

from the opinion that the ALJ expressly considered Ms. Tanner’s

9
impairments in combination. Moreover, because Ms. Tanner made

the threshold showing of severe impairments, the ALJ was

required to continue the sequential evaluation and consider all

of her impairments, both severe and non-severe, that

significantly affect her ability to work. See 20 C.F.R. §

404.1523 (“[W]e will consider the combined effect of all of [a

claimant’s] impairments without regard to whether any such

impairment, if considered separately, would be of sufficient

severity.”). Accordingly, Ms. Tanner’s argument fails.

C.

Ms. Tanner argues that the ALJ erred when he failed to

accord the opinions of her treating medical providers great

weight. She asserts that the ALJ cherry picked medical evidence

to support his finding of non-disability. Given the several

years that medical records often span, it is inevitable that

some evidence will show signs of a claimant’s improvement and

other evidence will show signs of a claimant’s regression.

“Where conflicting evidence allows reasonable minds to differ as

to whether a claimant is disabled, the responsibility for that

decision falls on . . . the ALJ.” (internal quotation marks and

citation omitted). Craig, 76 F.3d at 589.

Our review of the ALJ’s opinion, and of the medical record,

demonstrates that the ALJ failed to expressly assign weight to a

physical Medical Source Statement completed by Dr. LeBlond in

10
January 2012. However, this error is harmless because it is

clear from the ALJ’s RFC assessment that he accepted most of Dr.

LeBlond’s findings. The ALJ’s treatment of the other opinion

evidence from Drs. LeBlond, Holdren, Freeman, and Page, and Ms.

Williams, is supported by substantial evidence. Accordingly,

our discussion here is limited to an evaluation of Dr. LeBlond’s

Medical Source Statement.

In the Medical Source Statement, Dr. LeBlond opined that

Ms. Tanner can occasionally lift and/or carry less than 10

pounds in an eight-hour work day, occasionally climb, balance,

stoop, crouch, and kneel, and never crawl. It further provides

that Ms. Tanner can reach infrequently, sit in a hard chair for

10-15 minutes before needing to stand, and has difficulty

writing due to left wrist dominance. Dr. LeBlond noted that his

opinion was based primarily on Ms. Tanner’s subjective

complaints, with support from some physical findings. The ALJ

never expressly discussed or assigned weight to the Medical

Source Statement.

An ALJ is required to assign weight to every medical

opinion in a claimant’s record. 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1527(c)

(“Regardless of its source, we will evaluate every medical

opinion we receive.”) & 404.1527(c)(2) (“We will always give

good reasons in our notice of determination or decision for the

weight we give your treating source’s opinion.”). Failure to

11
assign weight to a treating physician’s opinion can result in a

reversal. See Gordon v. Schweiker, 725 F.2d 231, 235 (4th Cir.

1984) (remanding for agency’s failure to indicate the weight

given to various medical reports in the record and stating,

“[w]e cannot determine if findings are unsupported by

substantial evidence unless the Secretary explicitly indicates

the weight given to all of the relevant evidence.”)

Reversal is not warranted here, in spite of the ALJ's

error, for several reasons. First, the ALJ’s RFC assessment

reflects the credible recommendations provided in Dr. LeBlond’s

Medical Source Statement. The ALJ credited the limitation to

light or sedentary work, which requires lifting no more than 20

pounds, or no more than 10 pounds, respectively. See 20 C.F.R.

§ 404.1567. The ALJ also credited the limitation to occasional

kneeling, crouching, crawling; no climbing of ladders, ropes, or

scaffolds; and no concentrated exposure to pulmonary irritants.

Second, in the ALJ’s discussion of the assessments completed by

state agency consultants, he noted that their conclusions were

consistent with medical evidence submitted since the

reconsideration determination. This evidence would include Dr.

LeBlond’s 2012 Medical Source Statement, which suggests that, at

the very least, the ALJ considered Dr. LeBlond’s opinion in

weighing all of the evidence. Finally, reversing the ALJ’s

decision solely because he failed to assign weight to Dr.

12
LeBlond’s opinion would be pointless. As noted above, the RFC

assessment and Dr. LeBlond’s opinion are largely consistent, and

it is highly unlikely, given the medical evidence of record,

that a remand to the agency would change the Commissioner’s

finding of non-disability.

D.

Ms. Tanner attacks the ALJ’s decision to accord more weight

to the opinions of non-treating, non-examining state agency

consultants than to the opinions of her treating physicians. A

“non-examining physician’s opinion cannot, by itself, serve as

substantial evidence supporting a denial of disability benefits

when it is contradicted by all of the other evidence in the

record.” Smith v. Schweiker, 795 F.2d 343, 345 (4th Cir. 1986)

(emphasis in original). However, “the testimony of a non-

examining physician can be relied upon when it is consistent

with the record.” Id.

Here, while the ALJ assigned “great weight” to the opinions

of consultants who never examined or treated Ms. Tanner, he did

so because their opinions were supported by the medical evidence

as a whole. Ms. Tanner also contends that the state agency

consultants rendered conclusory opinions before important

medical evidence was introduced. We disagree with Ms. Tanner’s

characterization of the state agency consultants’ opinions.

Each opinion included notes with references to specific evidence

13
from the record that supported the consultant’s findings.

Second, while the state agency consultants did not have the

benefit of a full record, the ALJ did, and he made clear that

their findings were consistent with the evidence of record,

including evidence submitted since the date of reconsideration.

E.

For the first time on appeal, Ms. Tanner argues that the

agency did not meet its burden of proof regarding her ability to

perform alternative work, because the vocational expert

concluded that, given her functional limitations, there were no

jobs that she could perform. In so contending, however, Ms.

Tanner overlooks the circumstance that the vocational expert

only reached that conclusion upon questioning from her counsel,

and that her counsel posed hypothetical questions that included

severe functional limitations not supported by the medical

evidence. Indeed, when the ALJ posed hypotheticals to the VE

that set out all of Ms. Tanner’s credible limitations, the VE

responded that Ms. Tanner could perform the jobs of packer,

assembler, marker pricer, sorter, and inspector.

IV.

Based on the foregoing, we conclude that substantial

evidence supports the agency’s decision, and we affirm the

judgment of the district court. We dispense with oral argument

because the facts and legal contentions are adequately presented

14
in the briefing before the court and argument would not assist

our decisional process.

AFFIRMED

15

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/2779138. Public record. Not legal advice.
