# SSA Cooper, LLC v. Director, Office of Workers' Compensation Programs

> Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit · April 9, 2014 · 565 F. App'x 253

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/2669342

## Case

- **Full name:** SSA COOPER, LLC; Homeport Insurance Company, Petitioners, v. DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF WORKERS’ COMPENSATION PROGRAMS, United States Department of Labor; Lamont A. Brown, Respondents
- **Court:** Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
- **Decided:** April 9, 2014
- **Citations:** 565 F. App'x 253
- **Precedential status:** Unpublished
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Judges:** Duncan, Agee, Keenan
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/2669342

## Opinion text

UNPUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 13-2258

SSA COOPER, LLC; HOMEPORT INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioners,

v.

DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION PROGRAMS, UNITED
STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR; LAMONT A. BROWN,

Respondents.

On Petition for Review of an Order of the Benefits Review Board.
(13-0127)

Submitted: March 27, 2014 Decided: April 9, 2014

Before DUNCAN, AGEE, and KEENAN, Circuit Judges.

Petition denied by unpublished per curiam opinion.

Richard P. Salloum, FRANKE & SALLOUM, PLLC, Gulfport,
Mississippi, for Petitioners. E. Paul Gibson, E. PAUL GIBSON,
P.C., Charleston, South Carolina; Betty English, OFFICE OF THE
SOLICITOR GENERAL, Washington, D.C.; Mark A. Reinhalter,
Jonathan Peter Rolfe, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF LABOR,
Washington, D.C., for Respondents.

Unpublished opinions are not binding precedent in this circuit.
PER CURIAM:

SSA Cooper, LLC (“employer”) seeks review of the

Benefits Review Board’s (BRB) decision and order affirming the

administrative law judge’s (ALJ) award of longshore disability

benefits to Lamont Brown pursuant to 33 U.S.C. §§ 901-950

(2012). On appeal, employer argues that the ALJ applied the

“true doubt” rule, in violation of the Supreme Court’s holding

in Dir., Office of Workers’ Comp. Programs v. Greenwich

Collieries, 512 U.S. 267, 281 (1994). Employer also argues

that the ALJ’s evaluation and weighing of the medical evidence

is not supported by substantial evidence. Finally, employer

asserts that Brown could have obtained an exemption that would

have allowed him to return to longshore work with medical

limitations and consequently the ALJ erred in concluding that

Brown was unable to return to this work. We deny the petition

for review.

We review “BRB decisions for errors of law and to

ascertain whether the Board adhered to its statutorily mandated

standard for reviewing the ALJ’s factual findings.” Ceres

Marine Terminals, Inc. v. Green, 656 F.3d 235, 239 (4th Cir.

2011) (internal quotation marks omitted). “The factual findings

of the ALJ must be affirmed if supported by substantial

evidence. Review of legal questions is de novo, and no

deference is due to the Board’s legal conclusions.” Id.

2
(internal quotation marks and citations omitted). The court

will not disregard the ALJ’s factual findings merely because

other inferences might have been more reasonable, and deference

is accorded to the ALJ’s inferences and credibility assessments.

Id. “The ALJ may not merely credulously accept the assertions

of the parties or their representatives, but must examine the

logic of their conclusions and evaluate the evidence upon which

their conclusions are based.” Dir., Office of Workers’ Comp.

Programs v. Newport News Shipbldg. & Dry Dock Co. (Carmines),

138 F.3d 134, 140 (4th Cir. 1998).

Employer first argues that the ALJ erred in finding

that Brown was unable to return to his previous employment due

to his back injury. The dispute in this case essentially comes

down to whether the ALJ’s crediting of the medical opinion of

Dr. Patel over that of Dr. Kolehma is supported by substantial

evidence. “Substantial evidence” is “more than a scintilla but

less than a preponderance; it is such relevant evidence as a

reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a

conclusion.” Id. (internal quotation marks omitted). Employer

argues that the ALJ applied the “true doubt” rule, which was

held inapplicable to cases under the LHWCA. We disagree. The

ALJ thoroughly discussed the medical evidence in this case and

properly considered the different opinions regarding Brown’s

condition. We conclude that the ALJ’s decision to credit the

3
opinion of Brown’s treating physician, Dr. Patel, is supported

by substantial evidence.

Employer next argues that the ALJ erred in failing to

consider that, even with restrictions, Brown could have sought

an exemption from the longshore union that would have allowed

him to return to work within his restrictions at no loss of pay.

Employer bases this argument on the testimony of the vocational

expert describing a previous case in which a claimant received

an exemption and returned to longshore work with restrictions,

and cites two provisions of the longshore contract as supporting

its position. We conclude that employer’s argument is without

merit, and the ALJ properly concluded that Brown could not

return to longshore employment. The provisions of the longshore

contract cited by employer merely indicate that a union member

will not lose any seniority credit for a break in service that

results from an injury or illness “to the extent of becoming

eligible for workman’s compensation or for benefits under the

Employers I.L.A. Welfare Plan,” (J.A. 595), and that a union

member may be disciplined for “[p]ersistently failing to accept

employment which he is capable of performing without an

exemption.” (J.A. 599).

These provisions do not establish that a union member

may return to work by seeking an exemption from certain jobs

based on medical restrictions. Moreover, as the ALJ noted,

4
Brown produced a letter from the union stating that a

longshoreman must be 100 percent physically qualified and that

there were no light duty or sedentary positions on the

waterfront. Thus, the ALJ correctly concluded that Brown could

not return to longshore employment with the restrictions imposed

by Dr. Patel.

Our review of the record discloses that the Board’s

decision is based upon substantial evidence and is without

reversible error. Accordingly, we deny the petition for review.

We dispense with oral argument because the facts and legal

contentions are adequately presented in the materials before

this court and argument would not aid the decisional process.

PETITION DENIED

5

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/2669342. Public record. Not legal advice.
