# Hollis v. Provident Life & Accident Insurance

> Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit · August 8, 2001 · 259 F.3d 410

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/24847

## Case

- **Full name:** J.L. HOLLIS, Plaintiff-Appellant-Cross-Appellee, v. PROVIDENT LIFE AND ACCIDENT INSURANCE COMPANY, Defendant-Appellee-Cross-Appellant, and Paul Revere Insurance Group, Defendant-Appellee
- **Court:** Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
- **Decided:** August 8, 2001
- **Citations:** 259 F.3d 410; 26 Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 2000; 2001 U.S. App. LEXIS 17653; 2001 WL 830689
- **Precedential status:** Published
- **Opinion:** Opinion by Garza
- **Judges:** Garza, Davis, Jones
- **Cited by:** 21 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/24847

## How later opinions describe it (automated extraction)

- holding that the plaintiff’s “independent contractor status does not preclude him from being a beneficiary”

## Opinion text

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

_____________________________

No. 99-60877
_____________________________

J.L. HOLLIS,

Plaintiff-Appellant-Cross-Appellee,

v.

PROVIDENT LIFE AND ACCIDENT INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee-Cross-Appellant,

and

PAUL REVERE INSURANCE GROUP

Defendant-Appellee.

__________________________________________________

Appeals from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Mississippi
__________________________________________________

August 8, 2001

Before REYNALDO G. GARZA, DAVIS and JONES, Circuit Judges.

REYNALDO G. GARZA, Circuit Judge:

This case involves claims for denial of benefits under two

disability insurance policies. Appellant-cross-appellee Larry

Hollis (“Hollis”) began work with R.M. Hendrick Graduate Supply

House, Inc. (“Graduate Supply”) as a salesman in 1970. Graduate

Supply sells class rings, diplomas, regalia, graduation

-1-
invitations, yearbooks, and other similar items to high schools

and colleges.

As a Graduate Supply sales representative, Hollis was

assigned a territory and was responsible for servicing the

schools within that territory. Hollis would load his car with

Graduate Supply products, deliver them to the schools, make a

sales presentation to the students, and then reload his car. In

addition, Hollis serviced some of Graduate Supply’s commercial

accounts.

Prior to August 1, 1981, Graduate Supply treated Hollis as

an employee, but, on August 1, 1981, Hollis and Graduate Supply

signed an agreement that made Hollis an independent contractor.

Under the agreement, Hollis was required to pay his own travel

expenses, provide his own vehicle, and pay his own employment and

income taxes. Hollis determined when he would visit his assigned

schools, and he was solely responsible for maintaining Graduate

Supply’s contracts with those schools. In return, Graduate

Supply paid Hollis a commission on the items he sold. However,

Graduate Supply was Hollis’s primary source of income, he had the

same duties as employee-sales representatives, and he shared in

year-end bonuses like Graduate Supply’s employees.

Additionally, Graduate Supply had a program to provide life,

medical, and disability insurance for its employees in which

Hollis participated. Pursuant to this program, Hollis procured a

-2-
disability insurance policy from Provident Life and Accident

Insurance Company (“Provident”). Graduate Supply’s employee-

sales representatives obtained disability policies from a company

called Lincoln Life. On his own, Hollis obtained a second

disability policy from Paul Revere Insurance Company (“Paul

Revere”).

Graduate Supply paid $600.00 per year, or $50.00 per month,

of the premium of each salesman’s policy procured pursuant to its

benefit program. If a salesman purchased a policy that cost more

than $600.00 per year, Graduate Supply would pay the excess as it

became due and then deduct it from the salesperson’s monthly

compensation. The premiums on Hollis’s Provident policy were

paid in this fashion.

The Provident policy would pay a monthly benefit of

$4,100.00 in case of disability at a cost of $2,020.00 per year.

The Paul Revere policy would pay a monthly benefit of $2,100.00

in case of disability. Both policies provide benefits in case of

“total disability,” but each policy defines that term in a

slightly different way. Under the Provident policy, “total

disability” means that “due to injury or sickness” the insured is

“not able to perform the substantial and material duties of [his]

occupation.” Under the Paul Revere policy, “total disability”

means that “because of injury or sickness,” the insured is

“unable to perform the important duties of [his] occupation.”

-3-
Beginning in 1980, Hollis experienced occasional lower back

pain and muscle spasms. Between 1980 and 1995, Hollis visited

physicians several times for diagnosis and treatment of his back

pain. The physicians told him that he did not have a ruptured

disk or any other surgical problems. They advised Hollis to stay

off his feet for a few days and take pain medication. In May of

1995, Hollis experienced severe back pain and spasms while

unloading boxes of merchandise from his vehicle. He again visited

a physician, Dr. Lynn Stringer, who performed an MRI on him and

diagnosed him with advanced degenerative disc disease. His

physician told him that excessive driving, bending, lifting and

stooping was the reason for his back pain. Hollis attempted to

continue working, but on August 17, 1995 he resigned from

Graduate Supply due to his back problems.

On August 23, 1995, Hollis submitted his claim forms to

Provident and Paul Revere. Dr. Stringer completed the Attending

Physician Statement portion of the form. She reported the

diagnosis as advanced degenerative disc disease and explained

that the condition was permanent. She advised Hollis to either

change his work habits or stop working. Within six months of the

filing of the claim, both Provident and Paul Revere began paying

benefits to Hollis.

In early 1997, Provident acquired Paul Revere and

transferred Hollis’s file to a different claim representative,

-4-
Sally Moore. Moore contacted Hollis and told him that the typed

attending physician’s statements he had been submitting must be

handwritten. In a telephone conversation, Hollis informed her,

“very aggressively” according to Provident and Paul Revere, that

he would continue to submit typed forms to save his physician

time. Approximately one and half hours after this telephone

conversation, Moore reopened the investigation into Hollis’s

claim and ordered additional physician statements and

surveillance of Hollis’s daily activities. Both Provident and

Paul Revere terminated his benefits in early 1998 on the ground

that he did not have a “total disability” as that term is defined

under the policies.

In April of 1998, Hollis filed suit against Provident and

Paul Revere in Mississippi state court for breach of contract and

bad faith denial of disability insurance benefits. The case was

removed to federal district court on May 5, 1998. In the federal

district court, Provident moved for summary judgment on Hollis’s

state law claims on the ground that they were preempted by the

federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act (“ERISA”). The

district court denied its motion. The case was tried to a jury

on May 28, 1998. As to Provident, the jury found that Hollis was

totally disabled as defined by the Provident policy and that

Provident acted in bad faith in denying Hollis’s claim. As to

Paul Revere, the jury found that Hollis was not totally disabled

under its policy.

-5-
In addition to policy benefits, the jury awarded $100,000 in

damages for mental anguish and emotional distress to Hollis for

Provident’s bad faith denial of disability benefits. Hollis

moved the district court to award attorney’s fees and costs, but

the district court denied the award.

On appeal, Hollis raises two points of error. First, he

claims that the district court erred by failing to award

attorney’s fees and costs. Second, he claims that the jury’s

answer that he was not totally disabled under the Paul Revere

policy must be set aside because: it cannot be reconciled with

the jury’s answer that he was totally disabled under the

Provident policy, the jury arrived at this answer by

impermissibly considering evidence regarding Hollis’s preexisting

condition, and it is against the great weight of the evidence.

Provident raises three points of error by way of cross appeal.

First, Provident contends that Hollis’s state law claims are

preempted by ERISA. Alternatively, Provident argues: 1) there

was insufficient evidence to support an award of damages for

emotional distress and 2) Hollis’s expert witness was not

qualified to testify as to whether Provident denied his benefits

in bad faith.

I.

The first issue we must decide is whether ERISA preempts

Hollis’s state law claims against Provident. Provident moved for

summary judgment on the ground that ERISA preempts Hollis’s state

-6-
law claims, but the district court denied the motion. We reverse

the decision of the district court.

ERISA “shall supersede any and all State laws insofar as

they may now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit plan . .

.” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) (1994). More specifically, Section

1144(a) bars state law causes of action when two elements are

present: 1) the state law claims address areas of exclusive

federal concern, such as the right to receive benefits under the

terms of an ERISA plan; and 2) the claims directly affect the

relationship between the traditional ERISA entities–the employer,

the plan and its fiduciaries, and the participants and

beneficiaries. See Weaver v. Employers Underwriters, Inc., 13

F.3d 172, 176 (5th Cir. 1994); Memorial Hosp. Sys. v. Northbrook

Life Ins. Co., 904 F.2d 236, 245 (5th Cir. 1990). Hollis’s state

law claims concern the right to receive benefits under an ERISA

plan, and his claims directly affect the relationship between

traditional ERISA entities. Therefore, ERISA preempts his state

law claims against Provident.

A. ERISA Plan

The first element of preemption–whether the state law claims

address areas of exclusive federal concern, such as the right to

receive benefits under an ERISA plan–is met. Clearly, Hollis

claims a right to receive benefits under the disability insurance

policy Provident issued. However, this fact alone is

-7-
insufficient to meet the first element of preemption. He must

claim a right to receive benefits under an ERISA plan for

preemption to occur. See Weaver, 13 F.3d at 176. Hollis

concedes that Graduate Supply established and maintained an ERISA

plan1. The issue, therefore, is whether Hollis’s disability

insurance policy with Provident constitutes part of Graduate

Supply’s ERISA plan.

As mentioned above, under the terms of the Graduate Supply

plan, a salesman would choose a disability insurance policy, and

Graduate Supply would pay $600 per year in premiums on that

policy. Hollis chose a disability policy from Provident, and

Graduate Supply paid $600 per year in premiums on that policy.

Holis argues that his Provident Policy was not part of Graduate

Supply’s ERISA plan because he selected Provident as his

insurance company, while all the other salesmen selected Lincoln

Life. The terms of the Graduate supply plan, however, provided

that Graduate Supply would pay $600 regardless of which insurance

company was selected. With respect to disability insurance,

Graduate Supply treated Hollis the same as it treated any other

1
Hollis states in his brief that “[t]he ‘plan’ did exist as
to the employees of Graduate Supply, and Hollis could only have
been a plan participant if he had been designated a beneficiary
by one of the employees of the plan or by a provision of the plan
itself.” At oral argument, Hollis’s attorney was asked, “[do]
you agree it’s an ERISA plan?” He responded by stating “I don’t
disagree with the district court’s finding of fact to that
effect.”

-8-
salesman. Thus, Hollis’s Provident policy was part of Graduate

Supply’s ERISA plan.

B. “Participant” or “Beneficiary”

Although the existence of an ERISA plan is a necessary

requirement for preemption, its existence does not necessitate

preemption. See Weaver, 13 F.3d at 176. For preemption to

occur, the claims must “directly affect the relationship between

traditional ERISA entities–the employer, the plan and its

fiduciaries, and the participants and beneficiaries.” See 29

C.F.R. § 2510.3-3(b) (2001); Memorial Hosp. Sys., 904 F.2d at

245. Because Hollis’s claims directly affect the relationship

between traditional ERISA entities, the second element of

preemption is met.

Claims of breach of duty of good faith, breach of contract,

and denial of benefits, like Hollis’s claim against Provident,

certainly can be preempted by ERISA. See Weaver, 13 F.3d at 177.

However, the rule that the claims must “directly affect the

relationship between traditional ERISA entities” has a standing

component as well. See id. Claims, such as those referenced

above, are preempted only when the claimant is a plan

“participant” or “beneficiary.” See id. Thus, for preemption to

occur, Hollis must be either a participant or beneficiary as

ERISA defines those terms. Provident does not assert that Hollis

is a participant.

-9-
Thus, ERISA preempts his claims only if he is a beneficiary.

ERISA defines beneficiary as “a person designated by a

participant, or by the terms of an employee benefit plan, who is

or may become entitled to a benefit thereunder.” 29 U.S.C. §

1002(8). Clearly, Hollis is a person who, by the terms of the

Provident policy, a part of Graduate Supply’s ERISA plan, “is or

may become entitled to a benefit thereunder.” Id. He was the

beneficiary of the disability insurance policy, he was entitled

to receive benefits under that policy in the event of total

disability, and he did, in fact, receive benefits from Provident

for several months. Therefore, under the definition’s plain

language, Hollis is a beneficiary.

In spite of the definition, Hollis gives two separate and

independent reasons why he is not a beneficiary. First, he

argues that independent contractors, such as himself, cannot be

ERISA beneficiaries. Second, he argues that the definition of

beneficiary does not include a person whose services resulted in

the accrual of the benefit. We are not persuaded by either

argument.

Relying on our decision in Weaver, the district court

concluded that an independent contractor can not be an ERISA

beneficiary. In that case, Weaver, an independent contractor,

sued his employer and the insurance carrier obligated to pay

benefits under the ERISA benefit plan. See Weaver, 13 F.3d at

-10-
173-74. We decided that ERISA did not preempt state law in that

case because Weaver was neither a participant nor a beneficiary.

See id. at 176. We said that Weaver was not a participant

precisely because he was an independent contractor. After all,

ERISA defines a participant as “any employee . . . who is or may

become entitled to a benefit.” 29 U.S.C. § 1002(8). However, we

gave an entirely different reason why Weaver was not a

beneficiary. See id. at 177. Weaver was not a beneficiary

because the benefit plan did not designate him as a beneficiary.

See id. In other words, Weaver was not a person who could ever

become entitled to benefits; thus, he did not meet the definition

of beneficiary.

For this particular issue, what we did not say in Weaver is

more important than what we said. We did not say that his status

as an independent contractor had anything to do with him not

being a beneficiary. In fact, implicit in our holding in Weaver

is that an independent contractor can be a beneficiary so long as

he is a person “who is or may become entitled to a benefit” under

the plan. Therefore, Hollis’s independent contractor status does

not preclude him from being a beneficiary.

Similarly, Weaver’s claim that his own services accrued a

benefit had nothing to do with our holding that he was not a

beneficiary. However, citing a footnote from an opinion of the

Fourth Circuit, Hollis argues that a beneficiary under ERISA

-11-
includes only “a person other than one whose service resulted in

the accrual of the benefits, but who is designated as the

recipient of benefits accrued through the service of another.”

Darden v. Nationwide Mutual Ins. Co., 796 F.2d 701, 704 n.3 (4th

Cir. 1986)(emphasis added). In other words, Hollis argues that a

beneficiary is limited to people such as the worker’s spouse and

children. Until now, we have not squarely decided this issue.

However, the other courts of appeals faced with this issue have

decided that beneficiary includes those persons whose services

accrued the benefit. We agree with our sister courts.

In Peterson v. American Life and Health Ins. Co., the Ninth

Circuit, relying on the plain language of ERISA’s definition of

beneficiary, held that an ERISA beneficiary includes “any person

designated to receive benefits from a policy that is part of an

ERISA plan.” 48 F.3d 404, 409 (9th Cir. 1995). The Peterson

court reasoned that “to hold otherwise would create the anomaly

of requiring some insureds to pursue benefit claims under state

law while requiring others covered by the identical policy to

proceed under ERISA.” Id. The Peterson court noted that “such a

scenario would frustrate Congress’s intent of achieving

uniformity in the law governing employment benefits.” Id.

Other circuits have found the Ninth Circuit’s reasoning as

persuasive as we do. In Prudential Ins. Co. of America v. Doe,

the Eighth Circuit held that the controlling shareholder in a law

-12-
firm was an ERISA beneficiary because he was “designated to

receive benefits under the terms of the “employee benefit

policy.” 76 F.3d 206, 208 (8th Cir. 1996). In Wolk v. Unum Life

Ins. of America, the Third Circuit held that a partner in a law

firm was an ERISA beneficiary because she was designated to

receive benefits under an employee welfare benefit plan. 186

F.3d 352, 356 (3d Cir. 1999). Finally, in Engelhardt v. Paul

Revere Life Ins. Co., the Eleventh Circuit held that a physician-

shareholder of a professional corporation was an ERISA

beneficiary because he was a beneficiary under the group

disability insurance plan. 186 F.3d 352, 356 (11th Cir. 1999).

At the end of this analysis, we reach the unremarkable

conclusion that ERISA’s definition of beneficiary means precisely

what it says. A beneficiary is “a person designated by a

participant, or by the terms of an employee benefit plan, who is

or may become entitled to a benefit thereunder.” 29 U.S.C. §

1002(8). Because Hollis was a person designated by the terms of

the plan who could become entitled to benefits thereunder, he is

an ERISA beneficiary.

Both elements of preemption are satisfied in this case.

Hollis’s state law claims address areas of exclusive federal

concern because he is claiming a right to receive benefits under

the terms of an ERISA plan. Because Hollis is an ERISA

beneficiary, his claims directly affect the relationship between

-13-
traditional ERISA entities. Therefore, ERISA preempts Hollis’s

state law claims against Provident for bad-faith denial of

disability benefits.

The judgment against Provident is vacated and the case is

remanded to the district court so Hollis’s claims against

Provident can be concluded as appropriate under ERISA. We leave

it to the district court to determine whether Hollis has

exhausted his administrative claims against Provident. If not,

the district court should remand Hollis’s claims against

Provident to the plan administrator. If the claims have been

administratively exhausted, then the district court should

consider whether to allow Hollis to amend his suit to seek review

of the administrative findings under the appropriate standard of

review.2

II.

In addition to preemption, Provident raises two more issues

by way of cross appeal. Provident argues that there was

insufficient evidence to support the award of emotional distress

and mental anguish damages and that Hollis’s expert was

unqualified to testify as to whether Provident denied benefits in

2
“This court requires that claimants seeking benefits from
an ERISA plan must first exhaust available administrative
remedies under the plan before brining suit to recover benefits.”
Bourgeois v. Pension Plan for Employees of Santa Fe Int’l Corps.,
215 F.3d 475, 479 (5th Cir. 2000) (citing Denton v. First Nat’l
Bank of Waco, 765 F.2d 1295, 1300 (5th Cir. 1985)).

-14-
bad faith. Since we hold that ERISA preempts Hollis’s state law

claims against Provident, both of these issues are moot.

III.

Hollis challenges the judgment rendered on the take nothing

verdict in favor of Paul Revere. He argues first that the

verdict in favor of Paul Revere can not be reconciled with the

verdict against Provident. As indicated above, the district

court erred in allowing Hollis’s claims against Provident to go

to the jury, so the jury’s verdict on those claims is essentially

a nullity. Thus, we are only left with the take nothing verdict

in favor of Paul Revere.

Hollis also argues that the jury improperly considered

evidence that he had a preexisting condition at the time he

applied for the Paul Revere policy. During deliberations, the

jury sent a note to Judge Barbour which asked: “Are we allowed to

consider good-faith/bad-faith in determining our decision in

regards to the written application for a policy.” According to

Hollis, the note shows that the jury found in favor of Paul

Revere because it believed he applied for the policy in bad

faith.

Judge Barbour sent a note back to the jury room instructing

them that they should not consider evidence of bad faith/good

faith in the application process to determine whether Hollis was

totally disabled. Juries are presumed to follow the instructions

of the court. See Richardson v. Marsh, 481 U.S. 200, 206, 107

-15-
S.Ct. 1702, 95 L.Ed.2d 176 (1987). Therefore, we must presume

that the jury followed Judge Barbour’s instructions and ignored

the evidence of bad faith in the application process.

Hollis next argues that we should grant a new trial in his

action against Paul Revere because the verdict is against the

great weight of the evidence. After reviewing the record, we are

not persuaded that the verdict in favor of Paul Revere was

against the great weight of the evidence.

Hollis claims the district court erred by failing to award

him attorney’s fees in his action against Provident. Because

Hollis’s state law claims against Provident are preempted by

ERISA, the issue is moot.

IV.

We VACATE the judgment rendered against Provident and REMAND

Hollis’s action against Provident so it can be handled as an

ERISA action. We AFFIRM the take nothing judgment rendered in

favor of Paul Revere.

-16-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/24847. Public record. Not legal advice.
