# Hill v. Ruan Transp. Mgmt. Sys., Inc.

> Court of Appeals of North Carolina · May 20, 2026

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11329088

## Case

- **Court:** Court of Appeals of North Carolina
- **Decided:** May 20, 2026
- **Precedential status:** Unpublished
- **Opinion:** Opinion by Judge Michael Stading
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11329088

## Opinion text

An unpublished opinion of the North Carolina Court of Appeals does not constitute controlling legal
authority. Citation is disfavored, but may be permitted in accordance with the provisions of Rule
30(e)(3) of the North Carolina Rules of Appellate Procedure.

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF NORTH CAROLINA

No. COA25-848

Filed 20 May 2026

North Carolina Industrial Commission No. 21-020331

DONALD DURHAN HILL, Employee, Plaintiff,

v.

RUAN TRANSPORTATION MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS, INC., Employer,
and ACE AMERICAN INSURANCE COMPANY, Carrier, Defendants.

Appeal by Plaintiff from order entered 16 June 2025 by the Full Commission

of the North Carolina Industrial Commission. Heard in the Court of Appeals 11

February 2026.

Donald Durhan Hill, pro se.

McAngus, Goudelock & Courie, PLLC, by Jeffrey B. Kuykendal, for defendant-
appellees.

STADING, Judge.

Donald Hill (“Plaintiff”) appeals from an Opinion and Award entered 16 June

2025 by the Full Commission of the North Carolina Industrial Commission (“Full

Commission”). Plaintiff argues the Full Commission erred by failing to attribute

sufficient weight to a report and deposition testimony of a physician. For the reasons

below, we affirm the Full Commission’s order.
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

I. Background

The evidentiary record tends to show Plaintiff was employed by Defendant

Ruan Transportation as a truck driver. In that role, Plaintiff was tasked with picking

up and transporting “returns” to Atlanta, Georgia, loading freight, and delivering the

freight to various locations in Charlotte, North Carolina. Then, on 3 May 2023,

Plaintiff suffered a back injury while working. The back injury resulted after

Plaintiff’s truck hit a “large pothole while driving in a work zone on Interstate 85 in

South Carolina.” A “Form 19” report of Plaintiff’s injury from his employer noted

“while driving [Plaintiff] hit a dip in the road that jolted his body” resulting in injuries

to his left upper back.

Plaintiff returned to work on 5 May 2021. While back at work, Plaintiff

reported that he was experiencing pain while driving and requested additional time

off. That evening, Plaintiff sought professional care and went to Atrium Health Kings

Mountain Emergency Department with complaints of lower back and left shoulder

pain. There, Plaintiff was seen by Richard Keith Hughlett, M.D., and received a

physical examination and X-rays of the “lumbar spine and left shoulder.” Although

the physical examination revealed discomfort, the X-ray’s “were negative.” At that

time, Plaintiff was “diagnosed with low back pain, prescribed cyclobenzaprine for

spasms, and [was] advised to follow up with his primary care provider.” On 14 May

2021, Plaintiff went to NextCare Urgent Care with complaints of persistent lower

-2-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

back and left shoulder pain. There, Brittany Clemmons, PA-C, diagnosed Plaintiff

with lumbar strain and upper back strain, and referred Plaintiff to physical therapy.

Plaintiff was prescribed “naproxen” and released to work with restrictions on

strenuous pushing or pulling, lifting greater than ten pounds, bending, kneeling, or

squatting. On 27 May 2021, Defendant Ruan Transportation and Defendant Ace

American Insurance Company (“Defendants”) filed a “Form 63” and began to make

workers’ compensation payments to Plaintiff “without prejudice.”

Plaintiff continued to seek multiple treatments after 27 May 2021, including a

visit to Herman C. Gore, M.D., at Carolina Spine, Pain and Rehabilitation on 9 June

2022. Plaintiff reported neck and lower back pain resulting from the 3 May 2021

incident. After completing his examination, Dr. Gore recommended: a

“transforaminal lumbar epidural steroid injection, an EMG nerve conduction study

of the upper and lower extremities, a lumbosacral orthotic back brace, TENS unit,

chiropractic therapy, home exercises, and a follow-up evaluation.” On 20 September

2021, Plaintiff went to OrthoCarolina. Stefan A. Renuad, D.O, evaluated Plaintiff’s

injuries. Again, Plaintiff reported “left flank low back pain” from the 3 May 2021

incident. A physical examination revealed “free range of motion of bilateral hips

without pain or restriction” and Plaintiff’s symptoms were noted as “axial in nature,

not typical of radicular or spinal pathology” but could require up to four more months

to heal. Plaintiff was again placed on light duty and continued seeking treatment for

his injury, including attending physical therapy until approximately May 2022.

-3-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

Then, on 12 September 2022, Plaintiff returned to Dr. Renaud reporting no

relief from prior treatments. After reviewing Plaintiff’s treatment history, Dr.

Renaud concluded Plaintiff was treated appropriately, had shown improvements over

time, and assigned a “one percent partial impairment rating” to Plaintiff’s back. Dr.

Renaud released Plaintiff to return to work without restrictions. That same day,

Defendants filed a “Form 24,” seeking to terminate Plaintiff’s benefits.

On 3 October 2022, Plaintiff sought an independent, second opinion and

examination from Charlotte Ketamine Center. There, Plaintiff was examined by

Neal S. Taub, M.D., and reported his ongoing symptoms and previous treatments

from the 3 May 2021 incident. Dr. Taub diagnosed Plaintiff with “persistent sciatica

status post work-related injury and cervical syndrome.” Dr. Taub also assigned

Plaintiff a twenty-pound lifting restriction. This was Plaintiff’s only visit with Dr.

Taub. The next day, Plaintiff submitted Dr. Taub’s report to the Industrial

Commission, which was challenged by Defendants for being an improper second

opinion under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-25(b). On 21 October 2022, a Special Deputy

Commissioner accepted the report and denied Defendants “Form 24” since Plaintiff

adduced contrary evidence that his condition was still ongoing. Defendants appealed

the decision.

On 31 July 2023, Deputy Commissioner Brown entered an order on

Defendants’ appeal. The order made findings pertaining to the history of Plaintiff’s

injury and treatments and concluded:

-4-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

5. The undersigned concludes as a matter of law that
Plaintiff has failed to prove that he has been disabled
under the Act since September 12, 2022, when Dr. Renaud
released him to return to work without restrictions.
Despite the fact that Dr. Taub’s and P.A. Gore’s opinions
regarding Plaintiff’s ability to work are given less weight
than Dr. Renaud’s, Dr. Taub’s 20-pound restriction and
P.A. Gore’s opinion that Plaintiff is capable of being
employed with his current medical issues support a finding
that Plaintiff is capable of some work, even if he is not able
to return to his pre-injury job.

6. Based upon the preponderance of the credible evidence
before the undersigned, the undersigned concludes that
Plaintiff has failed to prove that he remains disabled. N.C.
Gen. Stat. § 97-2(9)(2020). He is capable of returning to
work and has failed to show that he is incapable of finding
a job within his restrictions. Russell, 108 N.C. App. at 765,
425 S.E.2d at 457.

7. The undersigned concludes that Plaintiff was capable of
returning to work as of September 12, 2022, and because
he never initiated a job search, he was no longer disabled
as of that date.

8. Plaintiff is entitled to a one percent (1%) permanent
partial impairment rating to the back, which is equal to
three (3) weeks of benefits. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-31(23)
(1987).

9. Plaintiff is no longer entitled to temporary total
disability benefits. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-29(a) (2013).

10. Because plaintiff has already received more than three
(3) weeks of temporary total disability benefits since
reaching maximum medical improvement on September
12, 2022, Defendants have fulfilled their obligation under
N.G. Gen. Stat. [§] 97-31.

....

12. Plaintiff sought unauthorized medical treatment from

-5-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

various providers before and after the hearing of this claim,
but Plaintiff has failed to show by a preponderance of the
evidence that a change in health care providers “is
reasonably necessary to effect a cure, provide relief, or
lessen the period of disability.” N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-25(c)
(2017).

Plaintiff appealed the Deputy Commissioner’s order to the Full Commission on 7

August 2023. On 16 June 2025, the Full Commission rendered its judgment on

Plaintiff’s appeal. Plaintiff entered his notice of appeal on 1 July 2025.

II. Analysis

Plaintiff’s argument on appeal rests on the contention that the Full

Commission failed “to give proper weight to Dr. Taub’s medical evaluation” even

though the “report establishes both causation and ongoing disability . . . the

Commission dismissed it without explanation, rendering its conclusion arbitrary and

unsupported.” For the reasons below, we disagree.

“The standard of appellate review of an opinion and award of the Industrial

Commission is limited to a determination of (1) whether the Commission’s findings

of fact are supported by any competent evidence in the record; and (2) whether the

Commission’s findings justify its legal conclusions.” Porter v. Fieldcrest Cannon, Inc.,

133 N.C. App. 23, 25, 514 S.E.2d 517, 520 (1999). “If supported by competent

evidence, the Commission’s findings are binding on appeal even when there exists

evidence to support findings to the contrary.” Ward v. Long Beach Vol. Rescue Squad,

151 N.C. App. 717, 720, 568 S.E.2d 626, 628 (2002). We review the Full Commission’s

-6-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

conclusions of law de novo. Id.

The Full Commission made the following relevant findings:

69. Based upon the preponderance of the evidence in view
of the entire record, the Full Commission finds Plaintiff has
failed to establish that he was entitled to disability
compensation after September 12, 2022. In reaching this
finding, the Full Commission notes that one of Plaintiff’s
authorized treating physicians, Dr. Renaud, released
Plaintiff to full duty work without any restrictions on
September 12, 2022. Plaintiff subsequently unilaterally
sought unauthorized treatment with Dr. Taub, who
assigned a twenty-pound lifting restriction on October 3,
2022, which is attributable to Plaintiff’s unrelated hip
condition and anal fissures and not the compensable May
3, 2021, back injury. Although Dr. Taub opined that
Plaintiff was likely unable to return to work, the Full
Commission assigns less weight to the opinion of Dr. Taub,
as he was an unauthorized treating physician and
evaluated Plaintiff only once. Similarly, while PA-C Drew
opined that Plaintiff could return to work, her opinion is
also given less weight due to her status as an unauthorized
treating physician. His other authorized treating pain
management physician, Dr. Gore, never assigned any
restrictions and released Plaintiff from his care on January
4, 2023. While Plaintiff subjectively believes he is not
capable of doing any work, the medical evidence does not
corroborate Plaintiff’s contention that his pain is such that
he is incapable of work in any capacity.

70. Based upon the preponderance of the evidence in view
of the entire record, the Full Commission finds that
Plaintiff has failed to establish that he conducted a
reasonable job search following the May 3, 2023, back
injury. In reaching this finding, the Full Commission
considers the testimony of Plaintiff that he did not return
to work for Defendant[ ] or seek employment with any
other employer after being released to full duty on
September 12, 2022. Assuming arguendo that Plaintiff’s
twenty-pound restriction by Dr. Taub should be given any

-7-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

weight, Plaintiff also testified that he did not return to
work for Defendant[ ] or seek employment with another
employer after receiving the lifting restriction[.]

The Full Commission made the following relevant conclusions:

5. Subject to the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-25.1,
Plaintiff is entitled to payment of medical expenses
incurred or to be incurred, for his compensable lumbar,
thoracic, and left shoulder conditions as may reasonably be
required to effect a cure, provide relief, or lessen the period
of disability[.]

6. Generally, the employer has the right to direct medical
treatment for an admittedly compensable work injury,
which includes selection of the treating physician. Kanipe
v. Lane Upholstery, 141 N.C. App. 620, 623[–]24, 540
S.E.2d 785, 788 (2000). An employee may select his own
physician if the employer fails to direct medical treatment
in a prompt and adequate manner, in an emergency
situation, or if approval of the unauthorized treatment is
sought from the Industrial Commission within a
reasonable time. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-25(c) and (e) (2023);
Kanipe, 140 N.C. App. at 625[–]26, 540 S.E.2d at 789.
Defendants directed Plaintiff’s treatment for his
compensable back injury with the medical providers at
NextCare, Dr. Renaud, PA Dias, Dr. Hunter, and Dr. Gore
upon admitting liability for Plaintiff’s back injury via a
Form 63. Plaintiff sought unauthorized treatment from
various providers, including Dr. Taub, PA-C Drew, and Dr.
Mehta, before and after the hearing before the Deputy
Commissioner. At the time Plaintiff sought the
unauthorized treatment, he had received prompt and
appropriate medical treatment, and there is no evidence
that Plaintiff sought the treatment due to an emergent
need or situation. Additionally, Plaintiff did not request
approval of the unauthorized treatment within a
reasonable time. Accordingly, the Commission concludes
that Defendant continues to retain the right to direct
Plaintiff’s medical treatment in this claim. . . . Plaintiff has
failed to show by a preponderance of the evidence that a

-8-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

change in health care providers “is reasonably necessary to
effect a cure, provide relief, or lessen the period of
disability.” N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-25(c) (2023).

....

8. In the present case, following the May 3, 2021, incident,
Plaintiff was released to return to work with no restrictions
by his authorized treating physician, Dr. Renaud, on
September 12, 2022. Notwithstanding the September 12,
2022, full duty work release by this authorized treating
physician, Dr. Renaud, Plaintiff did not return to work
with Defendant[ ] or a different employer. Plaintiff
subsequently unliterally sought unauthorized treatment
with Dr. Taub. . . . On March 25, 2023, Plaintiff was
terminated from employment with Defendant[ ].
Accordingly, the Full Commission concludes that Plaintiff
is not entitled to temporary total disability compensation
after September 12, 2022, because he failed to meet his
burden of establishing an inability to earn his pre-injury
wages.

The Full Commission’s findings of fact and conclusions of law reflect it did in

fact consider and give weight to Dr. Taub’s testimony; however, it weighed the

opinions of Plaintiff’s other threating physicians to reach its determination that after

12 September 2022, he was no longer entitled to temporary total disability

compensation. See Cauble v. Macke Co., 78 N.C. App. 793, 795, 338 S.E.2d 320, 321

(1986) (citation omitted) (“The plenary powers of the Commission are such that upon

review, it may adopt, modify or reject the findings of fact of the Hearing

Commissioner, and in doing so may weigh the evidence and make its own

determination as to the weight and credibility of the evidence.”).

The Full Commission’s findings of fact show it considered the testimony of Dr.

-9-
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

Taub but “assigned less weight” to his opinion since he was an “unauthorized treating

physician and evaluated Plaintiff only once.” We first note Plaintiff does not

challenge whether Dr. Taub was an “unauthorized” treating physician pursuant to

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-25(c) (2025). Assuming arguendo that Dr. Taub’s status as a

treating physician was “authorized,”1 a review of the record demonstrates other

treating physicians evaluated Plaintiff on multiple occasions, and each opined that

Plaintiff was fit to return to work. Macke Co., 78 N.C. App. at 795, 338 S.E.2d at 321

(“The Industrial Commission has the duty and authority to resolve conflicts in the

testimony whether medical or not, and the conflict should not always be resolved in

favor of the claimant.”).

To this end, the record contains medical records and opinions from Plaintiffs

other treating physicians, particularly, that of Dr. Renaud, who released Plaintiff to

full duty work without any restrictions on 12 September 2022. Plaintiff began seeing

Dr. Renaud on 20 September 2021 and had multiple follow-up visits until 12

September 2022. Dr. Renaud’s initial examination of Plaintiff noted the injury he

1 We note, however, “Approval of an employee-selected physician is left to the sound discretion of the

Commission.” Kanipe v. Lane Upholstery, 141 N.C. App. 620, 626, 540 S.E.2d 785, 789 (2000); see also
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-25 (2025) (“[A]n injured employee may selected a health care provider of the
employee’s own choosing to attend, prescribe, and assume the care and charge of the employee’s case
subject to the approval of the Industrial Commission. In addition, in case of a controversy arising
between the employer and the employee, the Industrial Commission may order necessary treatment.”).
Plaintiff neither argues, nor does the record support there existed a conflict between Plaintiff and
Defendants over the treatment he received. Instead, Plaintiff sought Dr. Taub only after Plaintiff’s
treating physicians cleared him to return to work without conditions. Notwithstanding the
authorization procedure, Dr. Taub’s opinion was still considered by the Full Commission but found to
be less credible than Plaintiff’s long-term treating physicians.

- 10 -
HILL V. RUAN TRANSP. MGMT. SYS., INC.

Opinion of the Court

suffered and was of the opinion that with light work, his recovery could take up to

four more months. From that 20 September 2021 visit, Plaintiff received other

treatments, attended physical therapy, and was placed on light work duty. After

returning to Dr. Renaud almost a year later, on 12 September 2022, Dr. Renaud

concluded Plaintiff was treated appropriately, had shown improvements over time,

and assigned a “one percent partial impairment rating” to Plaintiff’s back. “This

Court has no authority to re-weigh the evidence or to substitute its view of the facts

for those found by the Commission.” Weaver v. Dedmon, 253 N.C. App. 622, 627, 801

S.E.2d 131, 136 (2017). A review of the record shows competent evidence exists from

which the Full Commission could rely on in its fact-finding capacity. Consequently,

the Full Commission’s findings justify their conclusions of law. See Fieldcrest

Cannon, Inc., 133 N.C. App. at 25, 514 S.E.2d at 520.

III. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the Full Commission’s findings of fact are supported

by competent evidence in the record and justify its legal conclusions.

AFFIRMED.

Judges COLLINS and WOOD concur.

Report per Rule 30(e).

- 11 -

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11329088. Public record. Not legal advice.
