# Williams v. D&J House Doctors, L.L.C.

> Ohio Court of Appeals · October 14, 2025 · 2025 Ohio 4716

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11170193

## Case

- **Court:** Ohio Court of Appeals
- **Decided:** October 14, 2025
- **Citations:** 2025 Ohio 4716
- **Precedential status:** Published
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Judges:** Willamowski
- **Cited by:** 2 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11170193

## Opinion text

[Cite as Williams v. D&J House Doctors, L.L.C., 2025-Ohio-4716.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO
THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT
SENECA COUNTY

RACHEAL WILLIAMS, CASE NO. 13-25-08

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

v.

D & J HOUSE DOCTORS, LLC, ET AL., OPINION AND
JUDGMENT ENTRY
DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES.

Appeal from Seneca County Common Pleas Court
Trial Court No. 21 CV 0230

Judgment Affirmed

Date of Decision: October 14, 2025

APPEARANCES:

Anthony J. Richardson, II for Appellant

Bradley S. Warren for Appellee
Case No. 13-25-08

WILLAMOWSKI, J.

{¶1} Plaintiff-appellant Racheal Williams (“Williams”) appeals the

judgment of the Seneca County Court of Common Pleas, arguing that the trial court

erred in granting summary judgment. For the reasons set forth below, the judgment

of the trial court is affirmed.

Facts and Procedural History

{¶2} In May of 2021, Williams submitted an offer to purchase a house that

had been owned by Brice Taylor (“Taylor”) since July of 2017. As part of this

process, she was given a residential disclosure form in which Taylor represented

that he did not “know of any water or moisture related damage to floors, walls, or

ceilings as a result of flooding; moisture seepage; moisture condensation[.]” (Doc.

37, Ex. C). He also indicated that he was not aware of any water intrusion, leakage,

accumulation, or excess moisture.

{¶3} On May 26, 2021, Williams and Taylor signed a purchase agreement

that contained an “as is” clause and made the transaction contingent upon a home

inspection. After walking through the house and examining the premises on three

or four occasions, Williams hired a person from D&J House Doctors, LLC (“D&J

House Doctors”), to perform an inspection. By this point, the house was vacant as

Taylor had already moved to a new location in April of 2021.

-2-
Case No. 13-25-08

{¶4} After the inspection was completed, Williams closed on the house on

July 23, 2021 and moved onto the premises. In this timeframe, Williams obtained

a homeowner’s insurance policy from American Family Insurance Company

(“AFI”) that had an effective date of August 5, 2021. This policy contained an

exclusion for losses caused by “Continuous or Repeated Seepage.” (Doc. 16, Ex.

A).

{¶5} On August 18, 2021, Williams’s son discovered mold on the floors of

the two side-by-side closets in the master bedroom. On further examination,

Williams found that this mold went several feet up the closet walls and was

beginning to appear on the other side of the closet wall in the kitchen. On November

29, 2021, Williams filed a complaint that named D&J House Doctors as a defendant.

{¶6} In November of 2021, Williams also filed a claim with AFI. In

response, AFI hired a leak specialist to examine Williams’s property. On December

13, 2021, the leak specialist submitted a report to AFI.1 While examining the

premises, the specialist did not locate any active leaks in the areas with mold

damage. On March 2, 2022, AFI denied Williams’s insurance claim in a letter that

quoted the policy exclusion for losses caused by “Continuous or Repeated

Seepage.” (Doc. 37, Ex. R).

1
AFI referenced this report in its motion for summary judgment “simply to show that American Family did
investigate the claim” and did not rely on the truth of the matters asserted therein to establish “the cause of
the water intrusion.” (Doc. 43).

-3-
Case No. 13-25-08

{¶7} On May 16, 2022, Williams filed an amended complaint that included

Taylor and AFI as defendants. Williams raised breach of contract, nondisclosure,

negligent misrepresentation, and fraudulent misrepresentation claims against

Taylor. She also raised breach of contract and bad faith claims against AFI.

{¶8} On January 19, 2023, Williams had a general contractor, Joseph

Schlosser (“Schlosser”), examine the mold damage in her house. In a deposition on

May 15, 2023, Schlosser stated that he could not reach a conclusion as to the cause

of the mold damage without pulling up the flooring but suggested that the absence

of a moisture barrier under the solid surface flooring may have led to the mold

damage.

{¶9} During the summer of 2023, Schlosser returned to Williams’s house

and pulled up the flooring to further examine the condition of the property. He then

wrote a report that stated he believed the mold damage in the closets was caused by

the failure to install a moisture barrier under the flooring in the house. However, he

did not reach a conclusion as to what caused the water intrusion that led to the mold

damage.

{¶10} On November 20, 2023, AFI filed a motion for summary judgment.

Taylor and Williams filed motions for summary judgment on November 27, 2023.

After AFI and Taylor had filed briefs in opposition to Williams’s motion for

-4-
Case No. 13-25-08

summary judgment, she filed an affidavit and report from Schlosser on January 18,

2024.

{¶11} The trial court issued a judgment entry on January 31, 2025 that denied

Williams’s motion for summary judgment and granted summary judgment in favor

of Taylor and AFI. In reaching these decisions, the trial court noted that Williams

had failed to establish the source, cause, and timing of the water intrusion that led

to the mold damage in her house. While Taylor had moved to strike Schlosser’s

affidavit, the trial court referenced this document in its judgment entry. The claims

against D&J House Doctors were dismissed without prejudice for failure to perfect

service.

{¶12} Williams filed her notice of appeal on February 24, 2025. On appeal,

she raises the following three assignments of error:

First Assignment of Error

The Trial Court did not properly weigh the evidentiary material
in the record when deciding that there was no genuine issue of
material fact sufficient to give Appellant her day in court.

Second Assignment of Error

Granting Brice Taylor’s Motion for Summary Judgment was
inappropriate because Appellant produced sufficient evidence of
a substantial latent defect that was either created or concealed by
Brice Taylor and therefore the ‘as is’ language in the Purchase
Agreement is inapplicable for purposes of dismissing Appellant’s
claims.

-5-
Case No. 13-25-08

Third Assignment of Error

The Trial Court erred by granting American Family Insurance’s
Motion for Summary Judgment because Appellant produced
sufficient evidentiary material to create a genuine issue of
material fact as to the source and timing of the water and mold
damage and Appellant’s claims must be decided by a jury.

Legal Standard for Summary Judgment

{¶13} Appellate courts review an order granting summary judgment de novo.

LVNV Funding LLC v. Culgan, 2023-Ohio-4706, ¶ 5 (3d Dist.). Under Civ.R. 56,

a motion for summary judgment may be granted where no genuine issue of material

fact exists for trial; the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law; and

reasonable minds can only reach a conclusion that is adverse to the nonmoving

party. Williams v. ALPLA, Inc., 2017-Ohio-4217, ¶ 5 (3d Dist.).

{¶14} In making a motion for summary judgment, the moving party bears

the initial burden of demonstrating that no genuine issue of material fact exists for

trial and that it is, therefore, entitled to judgment as a matter of law. James B. Nutter

& Co. v. Estate of Neifer, 2016-Ohio-7641, ¶ 5 (3d Dist.). The moving party need

not produce evidence to carry this burden but is required to identify the materials in

the record that indicate summary judgment is appropriate. Kent v. Motorists Mutual

Insurance Company, 2022-Ohio-1136, ¶ 8 (3d Dist.).

{¶15} If the moving party carries its initial burden, the burden then shifts to

the non-moving party to establish that a dispute over a genuine issue of material fact

-6-
Case No. 13-25-08

exists for trial. Hall v. Kosei St. Marys Corporation, 2023-Ohio-2021, ¶ 6 (3d Dist.).

To defeat the motion for summary judgment, the non-moving party must do more

than issue mere denials but must identify specific facts that establish its position.

Gardner v. XPO Logistics Freight, Inc., 2024-Ohio-4633, ¶ 10 (3d Dist.).

{¶16} Since an award of summary judgment can terminate the litigation, trial

courts should grant motions for summary judgment with caution. Beair v.

Management & Training Corp., 2021-Ohio-4110, ¶ 18 (3d Dist.). Accordingly,

courts must resolve any doubts and construe all the evidence in favor of the non-

moving party. Durnell’s RV Sales Inc. v. Beckler, 2023-Ohio-3565, ¶ 29 (3d Dist.).

First Assignment of Error

{¶17} Williams argues that the trial court’s failure to name certain exhibits

in its judgment entry indicates that the trial court did not review all of the relevant

materials in the record and constitutes reversible error.

Legal Standard

{¶18} “The wording of Civ.R. 56(C) makes it clear that a trial court must

conscientiously examine all the evidence before it when ruling on a summary

judgment motion.” Murphy v. Reynoldsburg, 65 Ohio St.3d 356, 359 (1992). Since

“Civ.R. 56(C) places a mandatory duty on a trial court to thoroughly examine all

appropriate materials filed by the parties,” a trial court’s failure “to comply with this

requirement constitutes reversible error.” Id. at 360.

-7-
Case No. 13-25-08

Legal Analysis

{¶19} In this case, Williams attached four exhibits and a number of pictures

to her motion for summary judgment. On appeal, she asserts that the trial court

failed to review several of the exhibits attached to her motion for summary

judgment. The only basis that Williams provides for this assertion is the fact that

the judgment entry did not expressly mention each of these exhibits by name.

{¶20} However, the first paragraph of the judgment entry named seventeen

filings from the parties that the trial court reviewed before reaching its decision.

This list included the motions for summary judgment from Williams, AFI, and

Taylor. At least twenty-three exhibits were submitted with these three motions for

summary judgment. The fact that the judgment entry did not separately name each

of these twenty-three exhibits does not establish that the trial court did not review

these evidentiary materials.

{¶21} In conclusion, the judgment entry expressly indicates that the trial

court reviewed the contents of Williams’s motion for summary judgment. The trial

court’s analysis also relied on several exhibits that were submitted with the three

motions for summary judgment. In light of this statement and the other materials in

the record, Williams has failed to establish that the trial court did not consider the

exhibits that she included in her motion for summary judgment. Accordingly, the

first assignment of error is overruled.

-8-
Case No. 13-25-08

Second Assignment of Error

{¶22} Williams argues that summary judgment should not have been granted

because she established that a genuine issue of material fact existed for trial as to

whether Taylor knew about or concealed the conditions at issue.

Legal Standard

{¶23} R.C. 5302.30(C) requires the seller of qualifying residential properties

to complete a disclosure form. This document is designed to elicit disclosure of

“material matters relating to the physical condition of the property to be transferred,

including . . . any material defects in the property that are within the actual

knowledge of the transferor.” R.C. 5302.30(D).

Historically, unless a purchase agreement contained an ‘as is’ clause,
sellers of real property were required to disclose latent defects, i.e.,
hidden defects, of which they were aware. See, e.g., Layman v. Binns,
35 Ohio St.3d 176, 178, 519 N.E.2d 642 (1988). But under the
doctrine of caveat emptor, they were not required to disclose patent
defects, that is, defects that would be readily observable through a
reasonable inspection. Id. at 177-178, 519 N.E.2d 642.

Ashmus v. Coughlin, 2025-Ohio-2412, ¶ 18. Now, R.C. 5302.30 “requires sellers

of real estate to disclose patent or latent defects within their actual knowledge . . . .”

Rodgers v. Sipes, 2012-Ohio-3070, ¶ 38 (3d Dist.).

{¶24} “The statute further requires that any disclosure be made in good faith

or with ‘honesty in fact in a transaction.’” Shannon v. Fischer, 2020-Ohio-5567, ¶

18 (12th Dist.), quoting R.C. 5302.30(A)(1). Under R.C. 5302.30(F)(1),

-9-
Case No. 13-25-08

[a] transferor of residential real property is not liable in damages in a
civil action for injury, death, or loss to person or property that
allegedly arises from any error in, inaccuracy of, or omission of any
item of information required to be disclosed in the property disclosure
form if the error, inaccuracy, or omission was not within the
transferor’s actual knowledge.

(Emphasis added.) R.C. 5302.30(F)(1). Thus, “under . . . R.C. 5302.30, sellers are

not required to disclose latent defects of which they lack actual knowledge.” Brown

v. Burnett, 2020-Ohio-297, ¶ 29 (2d Dist.).

{¶25} While R.C. 5302.30 “modifies the common-law duty of disclosure in

certain respects,” this provision “does not create an independent cause of action[.]”

Ashmus at ¶ 17. For this reason, “a buyer’s remedy for nondisclosure is limited to

common-law claims for fraud.” Id., citing Majoy v. Hord, 2004-Ohio-2049, ¶ 17

(6th Dist.) (holding that “a violation of R.C. 5302.30 does not equal fraudulent

misrepresentation per se”).

{¶26} Where a purchase agreement indicates “that the property is being sold

in its ‘as is’ present physical condition[,] . . . the buyer has agreed to ‘make his or

her own appraisal and accept the risk of making the wrong decision.” Mobley v.

James, 2020-Ohio-380, ¶ 35 (8th Dist.), quoting McDonald v. JP Dev. Group,

L.L.C., 2013-Ohio-3914, ¶ 15 (8th Dist.). If a purchase agreement contains an “as

is” clause, then claims of “passive nondisclosure” will generally be precluded.

Mobley at ¶ 35.

-10-
Case No. 13-25-08

{¶27} “However, an ‘as is’ clause will not bar a claim for positive fraud, ‘that

is, a fraud of commission rather than omission . . . .’” Majoy at ¶ 18. For this

reason, an “as is” clause generally “limits the buyer’s claims against the seller to

claims of fraudulent misrepresentation and fraudulent concealment” where the seller

is shown to “have actively misrepresented or concealed facts.” Fowler v. Fimiani,

2017-Ohio-9333, ¶ 54 (11th Dist.).

{¶28} An “as is” clause does not shield a seller from liability for fraudulent

misrepresentations on a residential property disclosure form. Morgan v. Cohen,

2019-Ohio-3662, ¶ 39 (8th Dist.).

To establish a cause of action for fraudulent misrepresentation or
concealment, a plaintiff must prove: (1) a representation or, when a
duty to disclose exists, concealment of a fact, (2) material to the
transaction at hand, (3) made falsely, with knowledge of its falsity or
with such utter disregard and recklessness as to whether it is true or
false that knowledge may be inferred, (4) with the intent to mislead
another into relying upon it, (5) justifiable reliance upon the
representation or concealment, and (6) a resulting injury proximately
caused by the reliance.

Thackston v. Zembower, 2023-Ohio-1690, ¶ 19 (7th Dist.), quoting Hubbard Family

Trust v. TNT Land Holdings, LLC, 2014-Ohio-772, ¶ 22 (4th Dist.).

Unlike a determination of negligence, evidence or expert opinions that
a party ‘should have known’ of the condition . . . do not create an issue
of fact as to fraud because a finding of fraud requires proof that a
defendant had actual knowledge of the alleged defect and proof that
he or she purposely misrepresented or concealed it.

Diemert v. Binstock, 2019-Ohio-3368, ¶ 25 (8th Dist.).

-11-
Case No. 13-25-08

{¶29} Finally, “R.C. 5302.30(D)(1) provides that the disclosure form is ‘not

a warranty of any kind by the transferor,’ nor is it ‘a substitute for any inspections.’”

Ashmus, 2025-Ohio-2412, at ¶ 19. Thus, “[t]he duty under the statute to conduct a

full inspection falls upon the buyer, not the seller.” Evon v. Walters, 2021-Ohio-

3475, ¶ 17 (11th Dist.), quoting Pedone v. Demarchi, 2007-Ohio-6809, ¶ 32 (8th

Dist.). “[W]here the buyer ‘has had the opportunity to inspect the property, he is

charged with knowledge of the conditions that a reasonable inspection would have

disclosed.’” Nieberding v. Barrante, 2021-Ohio-2593, ¶ 23 (8th Dist.), quoting

Nunez v. J.L. Sims Co., Inc., 2003-Ohio-3386, ¶ 17 (1st Dist.).

Legal Analysis

{¶30} On appeal, Williams acknowledges that the purchase agreement

contains an “as is” clause. However, she points out that such a provision does not

shield a seller from fraudulent misrepresentation or fraudulent concealment.

Williams asserts that she established that a genuine issue of material fact exists for

trial as to whether Taylor knew about or concealed the conditions at issue in this

case. She raises two main arguments against the trial court’s decision to grant

Taylor’s motion for summary judgment.

{¶31} First, Williams argues that Taylor’s negligent failure to install a

moisture barrier underneath the flooring he replaced led to the mold damage. In his

affidavit, Taylor did state that he replaced the flooring in the kitchen and living room

-12-
Case No. 13-25-08

of the house. But even if Taylor’s failure to install a moisture barrier eventually led

to the mold damage, this still does not establish that he knew about or concealed

this condition. Thus, Williams’s first argument fails to establish that her claims

against Taylor are not barred by the “as is” clause in the purchase agreement. See

also Tutolo v. Young, 2012-Ohio-121, ¶ 52 (12th Dist.) (concluding that an “as is”

clause bars claims based upon the seller’s negligent construction).

{¶32} Second, Williams argues that Schlosser gave an expert opinion in his

affidavit that creates a genuine issue of material fact as to whether Taylor knew

about or concealed the identified conditions. Schlosser stated that the flooring and

the paint in the house “seemed” to indicate “that the previous owner covered up

damage to the home caused by perpetual water intrusion or moisture.” (Doc. 52).

{¶33} In response, Taylor first argues that Schlosser gave a speculative

assertion about what “seemed” to be the case rather than offering an expert opinion

that is expressed in terms of probability or to a reasonable degree of certainty. See

Scioto Land Company, LLC v. Knauff, 2023-Ohio-4821, ¶ 51 (4th Dist.) (discussing

the basic requirements for expert opinions). He also points out that the conclusion

Schlosser gave in his affidavit directly contradicted the conclusion that he had

previously given on the same issue in the following deposition testimony:

[Attorney:] Did you see any evidence of an attempt to conceal the
condition of this house when you did your walk-through?

[Schlosser:] Not at the moment, no.

-13-
Case No. 13-25-08

(Emphasis added.) (Schlosser Depo. 45). Schlosser’s affidavit contains no

explanation as to why he gave opposite conclusions on the issue of whether he

observed any indications that Taylor may have taken steps to conceal the water

intrusion or mold damage.2

{¶34} Beyond these initial arguments, Taylor contends that Schlosser’s

opinion is speculative because he did not identify any facts or evidence in the record

that could support his conclusion.

‘Evid.R. 702 permits experts to testify as to their opinion, and even
their opinion as to the ultimate issue under Evid.R. 704. Evid.R. 703
and 705, however, require that the expert establish the basis from
which they draw the inferences for their expert opinion.’ [Estate of
Holley v. Am. Family Life Assur. Co. of Columbus, 2005-Ohio-2281,
¶ 24.] . . . . Furthermore, ‘an expert witness may have an opinion
based on inferences drawn from facts as provided for in Evid.R. 703.’
Estate of Holley, at ¶ 25. However, an expert witness cannot reach a
conclusion where one inference is based upon another inference. Id.

Cole v. Contract Framing, Inc., 2005-Ohio-4244, ¶ 16 (10th Dist.). Thus,

“conclusory affidavits that merely provide legal conclusions or unsupported factual

assertions are . . . insufficient to establish a genuine issue of material fact.” Adkins

v. Yamaha Motor Corp., U.S.A., 2014-Ohio-3747, ¶ 17 (4th Dist.), quoting Moore

v. Smith, 2008-Ohio-7004, ¶ 15 (4th Dist.).

2
In his affidavit, Schlosser stated what he believed to be the cause of the mold but previously said that he
could not discern what caused the damage during his deposition. But he provided an explanation for these
differing conclusions: in the time between these statements, he pulled up the flooring to determine the cause.
He provided no such explanation for his contradictory conclusions on the issue of concealment.

-14-
Case No. 13-25-08

{¶35} In his opinion, Schlosser made references to the flooring and paint in

the house. We turn to examining whether the facts in the record relating to the

flooring and paint can support the inference that Taylor knew about the identified

conditions. Taylor’s affidavit stated that he replaced the flooring in the kitchen

roughly one year prior to moving and the flooring in the living room roughly two

years prior to moving. He also averred that he had a company called Lee’s Carpet

install carpeting in the bedroom prior to selling the house. Taylor stated that, during

these projects, he did not observe any indications of water intrusion or mold damage

and was not informed of any such conditions by Lee’s Carpet.

{¶36} Taylor’s affidavit stating that the flooring in several rooms had been

replaced does not, by itself, establish that he knew about the conditions identified

by Williams. In the same way, Schlosser’s affidavit noting that the flooring in

several rooms had been replaced does not, by itself, establish that Taylor knew about

the conditions identified by Williams. Beyond pointing to the flooring, Schlosser

and Williams do not identify any facts that would suggest that Taylor was

attempting to conceal indications of water intrusion with this flooring.

{¶37} As noted by the trial court, Williams did not present any admissible

evidence that could establish the source of the water intrusion or the progression of

the resulting damage to the subfloor. In his deposition in 2023, Schlosser indicated

that the water intrusion could have begun anytime between two and five years

-15-
Case No. 13-25-08

earlier. The record indicates that the flooring was installed between three and four

years prior to this comment. In the absence of additional information, a finder of

fact would have to speculate about whether the moisture damage to the subfloor was

observable at the time that Taylor installed the flooring. Having examined the facts

in the record, we conclude that Schlosser’s reference to the flooring is not sufficient

to support the inference made in his conclusion.

{¶38} Turning to his reference to the paint, Schlosser stated the following

during his deposition:

[Attorney:] . . . [Y]ou mentioned painting over it [the mold] with Kilz.
. . . Are these the ones [the pictures] that you said show somebody has
painted with Kilz?

[Schlosser:] Yes, sir.

[Attorney:] How can you tell that?

[Schlosser:] Well, looking at it. Kilz is not a true white color. It’s a
primer, and the way that goes on it’s got a thicker texture on it. And
you can see where they painted up to a certain point in the closet to
where it stops, it’s a different shade.

....

[Attorney:] You had mentioned some Kilz applied. Do you have any
idea when that was applied?

[Schlosser:] No, sir.

[Attorney:] Did you see any evidence of an attempt to conceal the
condition of this house when you did your walk-through?

[Schlosser:] Not at the moment, no.

-16-
Case No. 13-25-08

(Schlosser Depo. 29, 45). However, as noted previously, no evidence was produced

that established when the mold damage appeared or progressed into the closet.

{¶39} During his deposition, Schlosser only stated that the amount of mold

he observed would have taken more than eighteen to twenty-one days to develop.

The record indicates that the house sat vacant between Taylor moving out in early

April of 2021 and Williams moving into the house in late July of 2021. Further,

Schlosser also stated that Taylor’s failure to install a moisture barrier under the

flooring he installed likely led to the mold damage. The closets in the bedroom

backed up to the kitchen where Taylor had replaced the flooring roughly one year

prior to moving. In the absence of some indication as to when the mold progressed

into the closet, the evidence in the record does not connect the paint to the condition

at issue.

{¶40} Further, while Schlosser believes that someone had used primer in the

closet, he also stated that he could not provide any indication as to how recently this

primer had been applied. The record establishes that Taylor lived at this house for

less than four years. Thus, assuming that Schlosser correctly identified the primer

used in the closet, the facts in the record do not connect this paint to Taylor. Without

more, we conclude that the reference to the paint is not sufficient to support

Schlosser’s conclusion.

-17-
Case No. 13-25-08

{¶41} In summary, Schlosser’s affidavit asserted that Taylor attempted to

conceal the conditions identified by Williams. However, this inference is not

supported by facts or evidence in the record. For this reason, Schlosser’s conclusion

ultimately rests on speculation and is conjectural. Since the identified opinion in

Schlosser’s affidavit does not create a genuine issue of material fact for trial,

Williams’s second assignment of error is without merit. Having examined the

evidence in the record, we conclude that the trial court did not err in granting

summary judgment on the basis of the “as is” clause in the purchase agreement.

Accordingly, the second assignment of error is overruled.

Third Assignment of Error

{¶42} Williams argues that the trial court erred in granting summary

judgment as to her claims against AFI.

Legal Standard

{¶43} “An insurance policy is a contract . . . .” Sarmiento v. Grange Mut.

Cas. Co., 2005-Ohio-5410, ¶ 8. Thus, the role of a court in interpreting an insurance

policy is to give effect to the intentions of the parties. Jordan v. United Ohio

Insurance Company, 2021-Ohio-2170, ¶ 14 (3d Dist.). Courts are to “examine the

contract as a whole and presume that the intent of the parties is reflected in the

language of the contract.” Kent, 2022-Ohio-1136, at ¶ 8, quoting Sunoco, Inc. (R &

M) v. Toledo Edison Co., 2011-Ohio-2720, ¶ 37.

-18-
Case No. 13-25-08

In addition, we will look to the plain and ordinary meaning of the
language used in the contract unless another meaning is clearly
apparent from the contents of the agreement.

When the language of a written contract is clear, a court may look no
further than the writing itself to find the intent of the parties. ‘As a
matter of law, a contract is unambiguous if it can be given a definite
legal meaning.’ Westfield Ins. Co. v. Galatis, 2003-Ohio-5849, ¶ 11.

Garlock v. Silver Dollar Camp, 2021-Ohio-1690, ¶ 12 (3d Dist.), quoting Sunoco at

¶ 37. “When provisions of a contract of insurance are reasonably susceptible to

more than one interpretation, they will be construed strictly against the insurer and

liberally in favor of the insured.” King v. Nationwide Ins. Co., 35 Ohio St.3d 208

(1988), at syllabus.

{¶44} “The burden of showing coverage under a contract of insurance is on

the insured.” Motorists Mutual Insurance Company v. Ironics, Inc., 2022-Ohio-

841, ¶ 9. However, if “an insurer relies on an exclusion to deny coverage, the insurer

has the burden of proving the applicability of the exclusion.” Collins v. Auto-

Owners Insurance Company, 2017-Ohio-880, ¶ 24 (12th Dist.), quoting Will

Repair, Inc. v. Grange Ins. Co., 2014-Ohio-2775, ¶ 21 (8th Dist.).

Legal Analysis

{¶45} Williams argues that the trial court erred in granting summary

judgment as to her breach of contract and bad faith claims against AFI. To prevail

on a breach of contract claim against AFI, Williams had to demonstrate that (1) a

contract existed; (2) she performed under the agreement; (3) AFI failed to perform

-19-
Case No. 13-25-08

under the agreement; and (4) she suffered damages. Thiel’s Wheels, Inc. v. State

Route 30, Ltd., 2022-Ohio-2093, ¶ 14 (3d Dist.). Williams argues that AFI breached

the insurance agreement by denying her claim.

{¶46} On appeal, AFI argues that the terms of Williams’s policy provided

two main bases for denying her claim. AFI first points to the following language:

DEFINITIONS

...

9. Occurrence means an accident, including exposure to conditions,
which results during the policy period, in:

a. bodily injury; or

b. property damage.

Continuous or repeated exposure to substantially the same general
harmful conditions is considered to be one occurrence.

...

OHIO AMENDATORY HOMEOWNERS ENDORSEMENT

...

SUPPLEMENTARY COVERAGES—SECTION I

...

Fungi or Bacteria. Fungi or bacteria must occur on the insured
premises and be caused by or result from a cause of loss other than
fungi or bacteria covered by this policy. The cause of loss and the
actual loss itself must occur while this policy is in effect. Fungi or
bacteria must cause direct physical loss to property covered by this
policy.

-20-
Case No. 13-25-08

(Emphasis added.) (Doc. 7, Ex. E). AFI argues that Williams only produced

speculative assertions as to when the identified conditions commenced and failed to

establish that this occurrence happened after the effective date of her policy.3

{¶47} AFI also argues that, even if her assertions are taken as true, Williams

posits that the identified conditions existed prior to her purchase of the premises.

Schlosser’s affidavit suggests that the mold damage was caused by Taylor’s failure

to install a moisture barrier under the solid surface flooring and resulted from an

ongoing water intrusion issue that existed prior to the sale of house.4 Pursuant to

the relevant definitions in the insurance contract, AFI argues that this “occurrence”

would predate the effective date of the policy. (Doc. 7, Ex. E). For these reasons,

AFI argues that Williams failed to demonstrate that her insurance policy was

applicable to this occurrence.

{¶48} As an additional basis for denying coverage, AFI points to the

following language in Williams’s insurance policy:

3
AFI pointed out that Williams’s position on the timing of this condition evolved over the course of this
litigation. On one occasion, Williams stated that she believed “the mold had formed after [s]he purchased
the property in May.” (Doc. 47). But she also asserted that she believed the mold was “preexisting” in her
deposition and argued that Taylor had failed to disclose this condition. (Williams Depo. 100). Before the
trial court and on appeal, AFI has maintained that Williams’s assertions about the timing of this condition
are speculative and are not supported by any admissible evidence.
4
While Schlosser stated that the failure to install the moisture barrier led to the mold damage in parts of the
house, his report did not reach a conclusion as to the cause of the moisture intrusion, saying only that this
underlying issue could “possibly” be caused by a “busted pipe” or “moisture in the floors.” (Doc. 52).

-21-
Case No. 13-25-08

EXCLUSIONS—SECTION 1

PART A

. . . We do not insure for loss caused directly or indirectly by any of
the following. Such loss is excluded regardless of any cause or event
contributing concurrently or in any sequence to the loss.

...

9. Water Damage, meaning:

...

c. regardless of its source, water below the surface of the ground.
This includes water which exerts pressure on or flows, seeps or leaks
through any part of a building or other structure, sidewalk, driveway
or swimming pool.

...

PERILS AGAINST INSURED—SECTION 1

...

LOSSES NOT COVERED

We do not cover loss to the property described in Coverage A
resulting directly or indirectly from, or consisting of, or caused by one
or more of the following. Such loss is excluded regardless of any
other cause or event contributing concurrently or in any sequence to
the loss.

1. Losses excluded under EXCLUSIONS—SECTION 1

...

3. Continuous or Repeated Seepage or leakage of water or steam
from within a plumbing, heating, air-conditioning or automatic fire

-22-
Case No. 13-25-08

protection sprinkler system or from within a household appliance
which occurs over a period of weeks, months or years.

(Doc. 7, Ex. E). As with the timing of the mold issue, AFI asserts that Williams has

not provided any admissible evidence that establishes what caused the water

intrusion that led to the mold damage and has only made speculative assertions

about the causes of these identified conditions.

{¶49} AFI further points out that Williams posits that the mold damage was

caused by Taylor’s failure to properly install a moisture barrier under the solid

surface flooring. Thus, AFI contends that, even if the water intrusion and mold

damage had occurred during the policy period, Williams’s proposed cause would

still clearly fall within the “Continuous or Repeated Seepage” exclusion. (Doc. 7,

Ex. E).

{¶50} In response to AFI’s motion for summary judgment, Williams did not

present any evidence that could establish the identified conditions occurred after the

effective date of her insurance policy. For this reason, she has failed to establish

that the insurance policy was applicable to this occurrence, as defined in her

insurance agreement. As a result, Williams has not demonstrated that a genuine

issue of material fact exists for trial on this breach of contract claim. Thus, her first

argument herein is without merit.

{¶51} Next, we turn to Williams’s claim of bad faith against AFI. This type

of claim is “predicated on the relationship between an insurer and its insured.”

-23-
Case No. 13-25-08

Rousana v. Nationwide General Insurance Company, 2023-Ohio-3796, ¶ 24 (8th

Dist.). Under Ohio law, “[a]n insurer owes a duty to its insured to act in good faith

in the processing, payment, satisfaction, and settlement of the insured’s claims.”

Ballard v. Nationwide Ins. Co., 2015-Ohio-4474, ¶ 16 (7th Dist.).

{¶52} “As part of its duty, the insurer must ‘assess claims after an appropriate

and careful investigation’ and reach conclusions as a result of ‘the weighing of

probabilities in a fair and honest way.’” La Plas Condo. Assn. v. Utica Ntl. Ins.

Group, 2004-Ohio-5347, ¶ 16 (3d Dist.), quoting Motorists Mut. Ins. Co. v. Said,

63 Ohio St.3d 690, 699 (1992), overruled on other grounds in Zoppo v. Homestead

Ins. Co., 71 Ohio St.3d 552 (1994), first paragraph of the syllabus.

{¶53} To prevail on her bad faith claim against AFI, Williams had to

demonstrate that the decision to deny her claim was “not predicated upon

circumstances that furnish[ed a] reasonable justification.” Crawford v. American

Family Insurance Company, 2024-Ohio-5345, ¶ 15 (3d Dist.), quoting Zoppo at the

first paragraph of the syllabus. “An insurer’s actions are without reasonable

justification when they are arbitrary or capricious.” Eastlawn Properties, LLC v.

State Automobile Insurance Company, 2025-Ohio-1475, ¶ 44 (1st Dist.).

{¶54} “[T]he mere refusal to pay a claim does not automatically give rise to

bad faith liability.” Rousana, 2023-Ohio-3796, at ¶ 25. Thus, “summary judgment

is appropriately granted to an insurer ‘where the record is devoid of evidence

-24-
Case No. 13-25-08

tending to show a lack of good faith on the part of this insurer.’” Eastlawn

Properties at ¶ 44, quoting Drouard v. United Servs. Auto. Assn., 2007-Ohio-1049,

¶ 17 (6th Dist.).

{¶55} In this case, Williams reported her mold issue to AFI in October or

November of 2021. AFI then hired a leak specialist to investigate Williams’s claim.

After this specialist submitted a report of his findings on December 13, 2021, AFI

denied Williams’s claim on March 2, 2022. During the course of this litigation, AFI

has relied upon the fact that it had a leak specialist investigate Williams’s claim and

upon several relevant provisions in Williams’s policy as an explanation for its

decision to deny her claim.

{¶56} In response, Williams merely asserts that AFI did not have adequate

grounds to deny her claim. Beyond the denial of her claim, Williams does not

identify any conduct on the part of AFI that would amount to bad faith. As the trial

court concluded in its judgment entry, the record does not contain any evidence that

suggests AFI acted in bad faith.

{¶57} In summary, AFI explained the bases for its decision to deny

Williams’s claim. In response, Williams did not provide any evidence that AFI

acted in bad faith. For this reason, we conclude that the trial court did not err in

granting summary judgment on the claim of bad faith against AFI. Thus, Williams’s

-25-
Case No. 13-25-08

second argument herein is without merit. Accordingly, the third assignment of error

is overruled.

Conclusion

{¶58} Having found no error prejudicial to the appellant in the particulars

assigned and argued, the judgment of the Seneca County Court of Common Pleas is

affirmed.

Judgment Affirmed

ZIMMERMAN and MILLER, J.J., concur.

-26-
Case No. 13-25-08

JUDGMENT ENTRY

For the reasons stated in the opinion of this Court, the assignments of error

are overruled and it is the judgment and order of this Court that the judgment of the

trial court is affirmed with costs assessed to Appellant for which judgment is hereby

rendered. The cause is hereby remanded to the trial court for execution of the

judgment for costs.

It is further ordered that the Clerk of this Court certify a copy of this Court’s

judgment entry and opinion to the trial court as the mandate prescribed by App.R.

27; and serve a copy of this Court’s judgment entry and opinion on each party to the

proceedings and note the date of service in the docket. See App.R. 30.

John R. Willamowski, Judge

William R. Zimmerman, Judge

Mark C. Miller, Judge

DATED:
/hls

-27-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11170193. Public record. Not legal advice.
