# Aaron Stock v. Policemen's and Firemen's Retirement Fund of the City of Richmond Heights, Missouri

> Missouri Court of Appeals · April 15, 2025

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11097740

## Case

- **Court:** Missouri Court of Appeals
- **Decided:** April 15, 2025
- **Precedential status:** Published
- **Opinion:** Opinion by Alok Ahuja, Judge
- **Judges:** Sutton, P.J., and Pfeiffer, J., concur.
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11097740

## Opinion text

MISSOURI COURT OF APPEALS
WESTERN DISTRICT
AARON STOCK, )
)
Appellant, )
)
v. ) WD87329
)
POLICEMEN’S AND FIREMEN’S ) Filed: April 15, 2025
RETIREMENT FUND OF THE )
CITY OF RICHMOND HEIGHTS, )
MISSOURI, )
)
Respondent. )

Appeal from the Circuit Court of Cole County
The Honorable Jon E. Beetem, Judge

Before Division Two: Janet Sutton, P.J., and
Alok Ahuja and Mark D. Pfeiffer, JJ.
Aaron Stock was employed as a firefighter/paramedic by the City of

Richmond Heights from July 2015 to October 2021. Stock applied for duty-
related disability benefits from the City’s Policemen’s and Firemen’s Retirement

Fund, based on an injury to his left wrist. The Fund’s Board of Trustees found

that Stock was permanently unable to perform his duties as a
firefighter/paramedic, and that he was therefore disabled. The Board

determined, however, that Stock’s disability was not duty related. It awarded him

a non-duty-related disability pension which provides lower benefit payments.
Stock filed a Petition for Judicial Review in the Circuit of Cole County. The
Circuit Court affirmed the Board’s decision. Stock appeals. We affirm.

Factual Background
Stock began working as a firefighter/paramedic for the City of Richmond
Heights on July 30, 2015. On June 3, 2020, Stock missed a step when exiting

from a fire truck, and fell from the truck. He twisted his right ankle, and fell

forward onto his outstretched left hand. Stock was taken to the emergency

department of a local hospital, where he was diagnosed with a possible fracture of

the left wrist. Stock was directed to follow up with an orthopedic surgeon.

Stock’s left wrist injury was treated by three local physicians. Stock first
saw Dr. CB,1 a physiatrist, who diagnosed Stock with a possible tear of the

triangular fibrocartilage complex (“TFCC”) in his left wrist. At the

recommendation of Dr. CB, Stock underwent an MRI of his left wrist on July 10,

2020. The results included “severe osteoarthritis of the distal radial and ulnar

joint . . . along with reactive bone marrow edema.” Dr. CB referred Stock to Dr.

RRH, an orthopedist.

Dr. RRH diagnosed Stock with left wrist pain. In his report of Stock’s

initial visit on July 20, 2020, Dr. RRH noted that Stock’s MRI showed “negative

ulnar variance, severe osteoarthritis,” and a “chronically dislocated ECU [exterior
carpi ulnaris].” A “negative ulnar variance” exists where the ulna bone in an

individual’s forearm is abnormally shortened in relation to the radius bone. After

a steroid injection Stock was permitted to return to work with a splint and weight
restrictions.

1 Pursuant to § 509.520.1(5), RSMo, we do not provide the names of any
non-party witnesses in this opinion.

2
Stock returned to Dr. RRH the following month, and reported a decreased
level of pain following the steroid injection. Two weeks later, on August 27,

2020, Dr. RRH saw Stock again. At that point, Dr. RRH’s records indicate that

Stock “relay[ed] to us today that he is not feeling any pain in his left wrist.” Dr.
RRH discontinued the splint and permitted Stock to return to work without any

restrictions. One month later, on September 24, 2020, Dr. RRH’s medical notes

state that Stock continued to improve and was “working without issue.” Dr. RRH

had no further treatment recommendations, found Stock to be at maximum

medical improvement, and discharged him from care.

Stock returned to Dr. RRH on December 7, 2020, complaining of pain
“along the ulnar aspect of the wrist with periods increased in intensity and

frequency over the last month.” Stock told Dr. RRH that on November 1, 2020,

Stock felt pain in his left wrist during a training exercise in which he was required

to pull an anthropomorphic dummy from a window. Dr. RRH diagnosed Stock

with “left wrist strain/pain, negative ulnar variance,” gave him another steroid

injection, and indicated that Stock should wear the splint until his next

appointment. There is no record of Stock meeting with Dr. RRH again.

On December 31, 2020, Stock underwent a second MRI of his left wrist.

The City’s workers’ compensation carrier referred Stock to Dr. RFH, an
orthopedic surgeon. Stock visited Dr. RFH on January 12, 2021. Dr. RFH

reported that the December 2020 MRI revealed “a partial thickness tearing of the

ulnar attachment of the TFCC, 4.5 mm negative ulnar variance with findings of
ulnar impingement and partial thickness tear of the volar fibers of the

scapholunate ligament.” Dr. RFH believed that Stock’s symptoms were caused by

3
his fall from the fire truck on June 3, 2020. Dr. RFH told Stock that he had
experienced an “unusually bad [TFCC] tear.” Although Dr. RFH cautioned Stock

that he might develop arthritis in the future because of his short ulna, Dr. RFH

did not believe Stock’s negative ulnar variance was the cause of his current pain.
On January 28, 2021, Dr. RFH performed a left wrist arthroscopy followed

by an open repair and stabilization. In his operative findings, Dr. RFH noted

that Stock had a very short ulna and had a complex TFCC tear with instability of

the distal radioulnar joint and a somewhat complex anatomy. There was no

mention of osteoarthritis in Dr. RFH’s report.

Stock returned to Dr. RFH four months later and Dr. RFH recommended a
third MRI of the left wrist. Dr. RFH described the results of the third MRI as

“unremarkable.”

On June 10, 2021, Stock returned to Dr. RFH, and reported that his

symptoms “are worse now than they were preoperatively.” Dr. RFH testified that

he could not explain why Stock’s pain and limitations were worse postoperatively,

and that Stock was the only patient Dr. RFH had treated who had more pain and

limitations after surgery. Dr. RFH noted that Stock’s

pain is unchanged and it is difficult to discern where his pain is
coming from. His joint is stable, and the burning sensation should
not be there at 5 months postoperative. We have already obtained
an MRI of his wrist, which only showed postoperative changes. I do
not have any further medical treatment recommendations other than
therapy. Therefore, I recommend a second opinion at this point.
Stock then saw Dr. DB for a second opinion on June 14, 2021. According to

Dr. RFH’s records, Dr. DB “was unable to explain the pain as well. He

recommended an MRI arthrogram, which did not provide any further reason to

4
explain his pain.” A fourth MRI was performed on July 16, 2021. The
radiologist’s report noted “[p]rominent distal radial ulnar osteoarthritis

associated with 3.5 mm negative ulnar variance.”

On August 3, 2021, Stock followed up with Dr. RFH. Dr. RFH
recommended physical therapy and work conditioning. By August 19, 2021,

Stock had completed physical therapy and Dr. RFH placed Stock at maximum

medical improvement with permanent work restrictions; based on those

restrictions, Stock was unable to return to work as a firefighter. Dr. RFH testified

to his opinion that Stock’s disability was caused by his June 30, 2020 work

injury.
On August 23, 2021, Stock applied to the Retirement Fund for a Line of

Duty Disability Pension. The Fund’s Board obtained medical evaluations from

three outside physicians. The Board’s physicians based their opinions solely on a

review of Stock’s medical records; none examined Stock in person.

Two of the three Board-selected physicians concluded that Stock’s

disability was not duty related. Dr. JC found that Dr. RFH had successfully

repaired the left-wrist injury which Stock experienced as a result of his June

2020 fall. Dr. JC noted that Stock’s July 10, 2020 MRI found that he had “severe

osteoarthritis of the radioulnar joint.” Dr. JC opined that this osteoarthritis was
the “major causal factor” of Stock’s pain. Similarly, a second Board-selected

physician, Dr. JB, noted that Stock’s medical evaluations after his June 2020

injury “revealed a congenital condition – ‘profound negative ulnar variance’
associated ‘with severe osteoarthritis at the distal radioulnar joint.’” Dr. JB

concluded that “[t]he work injuries contribute but are not causative of the ulnar

5
deformity, OA [i.e., osteoarthritis] and subsequent disability.” On the other
hand, the third physician the Board asked to review Stock’s application, Dr. LM,

opined that Stock’s left wrist impairment was directly attributable to his June 3,

2020 workplace accident.
At the request of his legal counsel, Stock then underwent a further medical

examination by Dr. DV. After reviewing Stock’s medical records and examining

Stock in-person, Dr. DV opined that Stock’s fall on June 3, 2020, was the primary

and prevailing factor causing Stock’s symptoms, need for treatment, and

resulting disability.

The Retirement Fund’s Board held a closed session on October 15, 2021, to
consider Stock’s application. The Board determined that Stock was disabled and

unable to perform his duties as a firefighter/paramedic. The Board found,

however, that Stock’s disability was not duty related. The Board concluded that

“the evidence established that Stock suffers from profound negative ulnar

variance with severe osteoarthritis in his left wrist, and that the osteoarthritis

developed over many years from a congenital condition.” The Board further

concluded that Stock’s “conditions were not duty related nor were they the result

of his injury on June 30, 2020.” On the basis of those determinations, the Board

awarded Stock a non-duty-related disability pension.
Stock appealed the Board’s decision. Pursuant to the Board’s Rules and

Regulations, this appeal was heard by the Board as a contested case. Following

the hearing, a hearing officer recommended that Stock’s application for duty-
related disability benefits be approved. The Board, however, again concluded

that Stock’s disability was not duty related. The Board’s decision explains:

6
The medical testimony and records are unanimous concerning
the existence of osteoarthritis in Stock’s left wrist, a condition that
the evidence establishes occurs over time, and not as the result of an
acute injury like that suffered by Stock on June 30, 2020. Every
treating and evaluating physician other than Dr. [CB] further noted
the existence of the negative ulnar variance in Stock’s left wrist, a
condition that his surgeon, Dr. [RFH], identified as more severe than
usual and which caused Dr. [RFH] to deviate from an arthroscopic
procedure. Dr. [RFH] also made clear that from a structural
standpoint, Stock’s wrist was “very stable” after the procedure,
despite his ongoing pain, which coincides with Dr. [DB]’s second
opinion (as noted by Dr. [DV]) that the repair was intact after
surgery, with no new tears. This evidence disputes the position of
the Application that Stock’s inability to perform his duties resulted
from the June 30, 2020 injury alone. The Board agrees with the
finding of Dr. [JC] and Dr. [JB] that the June 30, 2020 injury was
not the cause of Stock’s inability to perform his duties. The Board
finds that the conclusion and testimony of those physicians who
discounted the existence of the negative ulnar variance and severe
osteoarthritis is less credible and reliable than those who took the
presence of these significant pre-existing and long-term conditions
into account.

....

The evidence established that Stock suffers from profound
negative ulnar variance with severe osteoarthritis in his left wrist,
and that the osteoarthritis developed over many years from a
congenital condition. These conditions were not duty related nor
were they the result of his injury on June 30, 2020. The evidence
established as a result that Stock’s fall on June 30, 2020 was not the
cause of his permanent inability to perform his duties as a
firefighter/paramedic.
Stock filed a Petition for Judicial Review in the Circuit Court of Cole
County on March 23, 2023. On June 11, 2024, the circuit court issued its

judgment affirming the decision of the Retirement Fund’s Board of Trustees. The

judgment found that,

7
[w]hile there is . . . substantial and competent evidence in the record
to support [Stock], there is also competent and substantial evidence
to the contrary. The Fund simply disbelieved the treating doctors
and disregarded the hearing officer. Because there was evidence to
support the conclusions of the Fund, the Court is obligated to sustain
their decision.
Stock appeals.

Discussion
At the outset, we note that the Board has moved to dismiss Stock’s appeal

on the basis that the statement of facts in his opening brief is unduly

argumentative, and contains inadequate citations to the evidentiary record. We

find, however, that Stock’s brief contains a detailed statement of the facts,

including the evidence contrary to his position, and includes specific citations to
the administrative record where particular evidence appears. Even if the fact

statement in Stock’s brief was deficient in some respect, this would not justify

dismissal of Stock’s appeal, since “[w]e prefer . . . to reach the merits of every

appeal that comes before us, if briefing deficiencies do not impede appellate

review.” Witherspoon v. Thurmond, 642 S.W.3d 784, 785 n. 1 (Mo. App. S.D.

2022) (citation omitted); see also, e.g., Hendrix v. City of St. Louis, 636 S.W.3d

889, 898 (Mo. App. E.D. 2021) (Broniec, J.). The Board’s motion to dismiss

Stock’s appeal is denied.

I.
In his sole Point on appeal, Stock argues that the Board’s denial of his

application for duty-related disability benefits was “unsupported by competent

and substantial evidence upon the whole record in that the Board erroneously
credited the medical conclusions of two unqualified record reviewing retired

physicians over the causation opinions of Petitioner’s treating orthopedic surgeon

8
and independent medical evaluator.” Stock essentially asks us to overturn the
Board’s decision to credit the expert medical causation opinions of Drs. JB and

JC, rather than the contrary causation opinions of Drs. RFH, LM, and DV.

Stock’s argument is inconsistent with our standard of review.
In proceedings for judicial review of administrative decisions in contested

cases, this Court reviews the decision of the agency, not the circuit court. TAP

Pharm. Prods. v. State Bd. of Pharm., 238 S.W.3d 140, 141 (Mo. 2007).

Although § 536.1402 provides seven grounds for review of an agency decision,

Stock relies on only one: whether the agency’s decision is supported by

competent and substantial evidence on the record as a whole. § 536.140.2(3).
Substantial evidence is “competent evidence that, if believed, has probative force

upon the issues.” Walsh v. Mo. State Bd. of Nursing, 689 S.W.3d 566, 569 (Mo.

App. W.D. 2024). Competent evidence is relevant and admissible evidence that

“is capable of establishing the fact in issue.” Knapp v. Mo. Loc. Gov’t Emp. Ret.

Sys., 738 S.W.2d 903, 913 (Mo. App. W.D. 1987). “We will only reverse in the

rare case where the agency’s decision is contrary to the overwhelming weight of

the evidence.” M.F. by Fields v. Stringer, 617 S.W.3d 868, 875 (Mo. App. E.D.

2021) (citing State Bd. of Registration for Healing Arts v. McDonagh, 123

S.W.3d 146, 152 (Mo. 2003)).
In determining whether an agency decision is supported by competent and

substantial evidence, we will not second-guess the agency’s credibility

determinations. Although the court “considers the entire record to determine
whether the decision is supported by competent and substantial evidence,” a

2 Unless otherwise indicated, statutory citations refer to the 2016 edition of
the Revised Statutes of Missouri, updated by the 2024 Cumulative Supplement.

9
reviewing court “must defer to the agency’s determinations on the weight of the
evidence and the credibility of witnesses.” Henry v. Mo. Dept. of Mental Health,

351 S.W.3d 707, 712 (Mo. App. W.D. 2011) (cleaned up). “[W]hen the evidence

before an administrative body would warrant either of two opposed findings, the
reviewing court is bound by the administrative determination, and it is irrelevant

that there is supportive evidence for the contrary finding.” Hornbeck v. Spectra

Painting, Inc., 370 S.W.3d 624, 629 (Mo. 2012) (cleaned up); see also Geen v.

Mo. Dep’t of Mental Health, 694 S.W.3d 133, 135-36 (Mo. App. E.D. 2024).

Our deference to an agency’s credibility determinations extends to the

agency’s assessment of expert testimony. Thus, where an administrative agency
chooses between competing expert opinions concerning issues of medical

causation, and those opinions are supported by the evidence, this Court will not

reconsider the agency’s choice of which expert opinion to believe. In worker’s

compensation cases in which the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission is

charged with resolving similar disputes concerning workplace injuries, this Court

has repeatedly stated that the choice between competing expert medical opinions

is for the Commission, not a reviewing court:

Acceptance or rejection of medical evidence is for the
Commission to determine. When competing medical causation
testimony is presented, it is generally the Commission’s prerogative
to choose which testimony to believe. The Commission is free to
believe whatever expert it chooses as long as that expert’s opinion is
based on substantial and competent evidence. We will affirm the
decision of the Commission to accept one of two conflicting medical
opinions if that decision is supported by substantial and competent
evidence.
Comparato v. Lyn Flex West, 611 S.W.3d 913, 921 (Mo. App. E.D. 2020) (cleaned

up); see also, e.g., Kent v. NHC Healthcare, 621 S.W.3d 596, 608 (Mo. App. E.D.

10
2021) (“‘[t]he weight afforded to a medical expert’s testimony is exclusively
within the discretion of the Commission,’ and where there is disagreement

between medical experts ‘the issue is peculiarly for the Commission’s

determination’” (citation omitted)). Although this is not a workers’
compensation case, the same principle applies here: we will generally not

overturn the Board’s choice among competing expert medical opinions.

The City of Richmond Heights’ Municipal Code, and the Board’s Rules and

Regulations, plainly give the Board the responsibility of determining whether an

applicant is in fact disabled, and whether any disability is work related. The

Municipal Code provides that Police or Fire Department employees who suffer a
duty-related disability shall be paid a monthly pension out of the Policemen’s and

Firemen’s Retirement Fund. Richmond Heights, Mo., Municipal Code, Tit. III,

§ 200.350 (2021). The Retirement Fund is under the exclusive management and

control of the Fund’s Board of Trustees. Id. at § 200.210(A)–(B). The Municipal

Code also provides that “[t]he [Fund’s] Board of Trustees shall determine

whether a disability is duty caused and its decision shall be final and conclusive.”

Id. at § 200.350.C.

Chapter I(C) of the Board’s Rules and Regulations provides:

Before denying an application for disability retirement
benefits, the Board shall obtain separate, written reports from three
medical doctors wherein each renders an opinion as to whether the
applicant is disabled, and if the issue is in question, whether his
disability is duty related or non-duty related. The Board shall review
these reports and render a decision. The members of the Board shall
exercise their independent judgment and discretion on these issues.
Chapter I(D) of the Board’s Rules and Regulations defines “disability,” and

sets forth standards for determining whether a disability is “duty related.”

11
The term “disability” as used herein, means that applicant,
despite reasonable accommodation, is permanently unable to
perform his duties or the duties of any substantially similar position
in their particular Department’s service which is at the same rate of
pay, if one exists.

A disability is “duty related” when an injury or illness
attributable to applicants [sic] employment causes him to be
disabled. For example, an applicant who despite duty or non-duty
related prior injuries and/or illnesses, is able to perform his duties,
who then sustains added injury or illness attributable to his duties,
which renders him disabled, would be considered to have sustained a
duty related disability, unless his pre-existing injuries and/or
illnesses were primarily non-duty related.

As a contrary example, an applicant who was able to perform
his duties despite suffering from significant pre-existing injury
and/or illness, who is then rendered disabled by illness and/or
injury not directly related to his duties, would not be considered to
have sustained a duty related disability.
The Board’s members “exercise[d] their independent judgment and

discretion,” as directed by Chapter I(C) of the Board’s Rules and Regulations,

when they determined “that Stock’s fall on June 30, 2020 was not the cause of his

permanent inability to perform his duties as a firefighter/paramedic.” In doing

so, the Board chose to credit the expert medical opinions of Drs. JB and JC over

the contrary opinions of Drs. RFH, LM, and DV – as was the Board’s prerogative.
The opinions of Drs. JB and JC provide substantial evidence supporting the

Board’s conclusion that Stock’s disability was caused by the severe osteoarthritis,

and the significant negative ulnar variance, in his left wrist – not by his fall off a
fire truck on June 30, 2020.

In challenging the Board’s credibility determinations, Stock emphasizes

factors which might arguably impact the weight or persuasiveness of the opinions
expressed by Drs. JB and JC. Thus, Stock’s briefing emphasizes: that Stock had

12
not experienced any symptoms of osteoarthritis or a negative ulnar variance prior
to his June 2020 accident; that neither Dr. JB nor Dr. JC was a specialist in

orthopedics; that neither personally examined Stock but both merely reviewed

his medical records; that they relied on a radiologist’s interpretation of Stock’s
MRIs, rather than reviewing and interpreting the MRI images themselves; and

that neither Dr. JB nor Dr. JC was actively practicing. These were issues for the

Board to weigh in determining the probative value of their opinions; these issues

do not provide a basis for this Court to reverse the Board’s decision to credit their

opinions over those of Drs. RFH, LM, and DV.

As a rule, questions regarding the sources and bases of expert
witness testimony and opinions affect the weight, not the
admissibility, of such evidence. The weight afforded a medical
expert’s opinion is exclusively within the discretion of the
Commission.
Watson v. Tuthill Corp., 672 S.W.3d 260, 266 (Mo. App. S.D. 2023) (cleaned up).

Notably, during the appeal hearing before the Board, Stock did not object

to the admissibility of the causation opinions of Drs. JB and JC, on the basis that

they were not sufficiently qualified, or that their opinions were otherwise

unreliable. As the Board points out, “[q]uestions of whether the proffered expert

opinion testimony is supported by a sufficient factual or scientific foundation are

questions of admissibility and must be raised by a timely objection or motion to
strike.” Brooks v. SSM Health Care, 73 S.W.3d 686, 693–94 (Mo. App. S.D.

2002) (citation omitted). “‘When any admissibility issue is waived by failure to

object, the issue cannot be raised subsequently by arguing the lack of [or]
sufficiency of the evidence to support a decision.’” Snider v. Mo. Hwys. &

Transp. Comm’n, 356 S.W.3d 320, 324–25 (Mo. App. W.D. 2011) (citation

13
omitted). A party cannot resurrect an admissibility objection it failed to make, by
arguing that the evidence was insufficient to support a decision because the

unchallenged evidence should be disregarded. “‘A party is not permitted to ‘back-

door’ an issue relating to the admissibility of expert testimony under the guise of
a sufficiency of the evidence argument.’” Hartle v. Ozark Cable Contracting, 291

S.W.3d 814, 817 (Mo. App. S.D. 2009); see also Callahan v. Cardinal Glennon

Hosp., 863 S.W.2d 852, 860 (Mo. 1993) (“we have found no case that permits a

party to blissfully ignore the requirement to object to [expert opinion] evidence

. . . and then ‘back-door’ the [admissibility] issues into the lawsuit under the guise

of a sufficiency of evidence argument”); Lacy v. Federal Mogul, 278 S.W.3d 691,
700 (Mo. App. S.D. 2009) (worker’s compensation proceeding adjudicated before

the Labor and Industrial Relations Commission).

At oral argument, Stock’s counsel contended that, under the Board’s

procedures, he could not have objected to the opinion testimony of Drs. JB and

JC, but could only cross-examine them to highlight purported weaknesses in

their qualifications or the bases for their opinions. We disagree. Chapter II(B) of

the Board’s Rules and Regulations specifically provides that “[a]ll hearings before

the Board shall be conducted according to the provisions of Chapter 536 RSMo,

the Missouri Administrative Procedure Act, applicable to contested cases,
specifically Section 536.010(1)(2)(3)(4)(d) [sic] RSMo and Sections 536.063

through 536.140 RSMo.” The Missouri Supreme Court has specifically held that

the standards for admissibility of expert testimony in § 490.065 apply in
contested administrative hearings:

Cases brought before administrative agencies generally are
less formal and structured than are civil proceedings in the circuit

14
courts. That does not mean that evidentiary rules developed in civil
cases have no application to administrative actions, however.

....

. . . While contested administrative proceedings are not
required to follow the “technical rules of evidence,” the “fundamental
rules of evidence” applicable to civil cases also are applicable in such
administrative hearings. The standards for admission of expert
testimony constitute such a fundamental rule of evidence. The
standards set out in section 490.065 therefore guide the admission
of expert testimony in contested case administrative proceedings
such as this one.
State Bd. of Registration for Healing Arts v. McDonagh, 123 S.W.3d 146, 154–55

(Mo. 2003) (citation omitted); accord, Stone v. Mo. Dept. of Health & Sr. Servs.,
350 S.W.3d 14, 21 (Mo. 2011).

The statutes incorporated by reference into the Board’s Rules and

Regulations plainly contemplate that parties may make evidentiary objections
during contested case hearings. Indeed, the relevant statutes provide that “[a]ny

evidence received without objection which has probative value shall be

considered by the agency along with the other evidence in the case.”

§ 536.070(8); see also § 536.070(7) (providing for the preservation of a record

with respect to “[e]vidence to which an objection is sustained”). Stock was

entitled to object to the opinion testimony of Drs. JC and JB if he believed their
testimony was incompetent; having failed to do so, he cannot repackage an

unpreserved competency objection as a challenge to the sufficiency of the

evidence. Because Stock did not object to the admissibility of the causation
opinions offered by Drs. JB and JC, their opinions were part of the evidentiary

record, on which the Board could rely in making its decision.

15
Substantial evidence supported the Board’s decision to credit the causation
opinions of Drs. JC and JB, rather than the contrary opinions of Drs. RFH, LM,

and DV. Every physician agreed that the four MRI studies of Stock’s left wrist

showed the he had a congenital negative ulnar variance and some level of
osteoarthritis. While the medical experts provided conflicting testimony as to

whether Stock’s ulnar variance and/or osteoarthritis caused his pain and

resulting disability, Drs. JC and JB both opined that Stock’s pain was not from

the injuries sustained in his fall.

The Board did not ignore the contrary medical testimony. Instead, the

Board specifically found that the opinions “of those physicians who discounted
the existence of the negative ulnar variance and severe osteoarthritis is less

credible and reliable than those who took the presence of these significant pre-

existing and long-term conditions into account.” Substantial evidence supported

this credibility determination. The MRIs and physician reports indicate that Dr.

RFH had successfully repaired the TFCC tear which was the immediate

consequence of Stock’s June 2020 accident. This successful surgical repair calls

into question the opinions of those physicians who opined that the June 2020

accident was the cause of Stock’s disability in the Fall of 2021. Moreover, Dr.

RFH acknowledged that Stock’s negative ulnar variance was “more severe than
what we typically see,” and that Stock was the only patient he had ever had who

was worse off after surgical repair of a TFCC tear – all of which suggests that it

was the pre-existing condition of Stock’s left wrist, rather than the traumatic
injury he suffered in June 2020, which caused his ongoing pain and disability.

Dr. RFH’s treatment notes indicate that he could not determine the cause of

16
Stock’s ongoing pain subsequent to June 2021, given that the surgical repair
appeared to have been successful – a statement which is inconsistent with his

later testimony that Stock’s disability was caused by his June 2020 fall.

Substantial evidence supported the Board’s determination that Stock’s
disability was not caused by a workplace injury.

II.
On appeal, Stock challenges only the Board’s decision to credit the medical

causation opinions of Drs. JC and JB, over the contrary opinions of Drs. RFH,

LM, and DV. Stock does not argue that he was entitled to duty-related disability

benefits, even if the Board’s credibility determinations are accepted. Thus, Stock
effectively concedes that, if the Board was entitled to rely on the medical

causation opinions of Drs. JC and JB, that would justify the denial of his

application for duty-related benefits.

Stock does not raise any issue concerning the causation standard which

applies in determining whether a particular firefighter’s disability is duty related.

Nevertheless, it became evident during the briefing and argument in this appeal

that the Board’s Rules and Regulations are ambiguous, and arguably internally

inconsistent, concerning what level of causal connection is required between a

workplace injury and a firefighter’s resulting disability.
Chapter I(D) of the Board’s Rules and Regulations states that a disability is

duty related where a work-related injury “causes” the disability. The bare

requirement of a causal connection between the workplace injury and a resulting
disability does not clearly define what degree of causal relationship is required,

however.

17
Missouri law recognizes a variety of levels of causation. Thus, in
negligence cases, a plaintiff must prove that a defendant’s actions were both the

actual cause of the plaintiff’s injuries (meaning, the “but for” cause), but also that

the defendant’s actions were the proximate cause (meaning that “‘the injury must
be a reasonable and probable consequence of the act or omission of the

defendant’”). Tharp v. St. Luke’s Surgicenter-Lee’s Summit, LLC, 587 S.W.3d

647, 657 (Mo. 2019) (citation omitted). Moreover, negligence cases recognize

that there may be more than one cause of an injury: “‘[t]wo causes that

combine’” can each constitute a “but for” cause. Harvey v. Washington, 95

S.W.3d 93, 96 (Mo. 2003) (quoting Callahan v. Cardinal Glennon Hosp., 863
S.W.2d 852, 862 (Mo. 1993)); see also, e.g., Hensley v. Jackson County, 227

S.W.3d 491, 496 (Mo. 2007) (“‘The negligence of the defendant need not be the

sole cause of the injury, as long as it is one of the efficient causes thereof, without

which injury would not have resulted.’” (citation omitted)).

Missouri law has applied different causation standards in employment

discrimination cases at various times. Missouri courts previously applied a

“contributing factor” causation standard in cases brought under the Missouri

Human Rights Act, Daugherty v. City of Maryland Heights, 231 S.W.3d 814, 820

(Mo. 2007), under which a plaintiff was required to prove only that a protected
characteristic or activity was “‘a factor that contributed a share in anything or

ha[d] a part in producing the effect.’” Bram v. AT&T Mobility Servs., LLC, 564

S.W.3d 787, 796 (Mo. App. W.D. 2018) (citation omitted). The Human Rights
Act was amended in 2017 to abandon this “contributing factor” standard; the

statute now requires that “the protected criterion was the motivating factor” for a

18
plaintiff to prove an MHRA claim. S.B. 43, 99th Gen. Assembly, 1st Reg. Sess.,
2017 Mo. Laws 410, 411, 421, codified at §§ 213.010(2), 213.101.4.

Perhaps most relevant, Missouri law has, over time, applied differing

causation standards in worker’s compensation cases. The determinations which
the Board makes, as to whether a particular disability is duty or non-duty related,

are similar to the causation determinations required in worker’s compensation

cases. Prior to 1993, worker’s compensation caselaw held that “[t]he work of the

employee does not have to be the sole or even the primary cause of the injury; it

must only be a contributing factor to the injury.” Avery v. City of Columbia, 966

S.W.2d 315, 322 (Mo. App. W.D. 1998) (citing Rector v. City of Springfield, 820
S.W.2d 639, 642 (Mo. App. S.D. 1991)). In 1993, the General Assembly amended

the Worker’s Compensation Law, to provide that an injury was compensable only

“if work was a substantial factor in the cause of the resulting medical condition or

disability”; the legislature specified that this standard would not be satisfied

“merely because work was a triggering or precipitating factor.” S.B. No. 251, 87th

Gen. Assembly, 1st Reg. Sess., 1993 Mo. Laws 763, 766, codified at § 287.020.2,

RSMo 2000. The relevant definitions were amended again in 2005; today, the

statute requires that “[a]n injury by accident is compensable only if the accident

was the prevailing factor in causing both the resulting medical condition and
disability,” with “prevailing factor” defined to mean “the primary factor, in

relation to any other factor, causing both the resulting medical condition and

disability.” § 287.020.3(1).
Given the variety of causation standards recognized in Missouri law, the

simple statement in Chapter I(D), that a firefighter is entitled to duty-related

19
benefits when a work-related injury “causes” disability, does not unambiguously
adopt a specific causation standard. The remainder of Chapter I(D) provides no

additional clarity. The regulation states that a firefighter with pre-existing

injuries may nonetheless be entitled to duty-related benefits if a later work-
related injury “renders him disabled.” The regulation goes on to say, however,

that a firefighter would be disqualified from receiving duty-related disability

benefits if “his pre-existing injuries and/or illnesses were primarily non-duty

related.” The disqualification provision says nothing about the relative causal

contribution made by the firefighter’s pre-existing conditions, as compared to a

workplace injury. Instead, the mere existence of a pre-existing and non-work-
related injury appears to be disqualifying, even if that pre-existing condition

played no, or only a limited, role in causing later disability.

The confusion concerning the appropriate causation standard was

highlighted during oral argument. As we have described above, Dr. JC opined

that Stock’s osteoarthritis was the “major causal factor” producing his pain and

resulting disability, while Dr. JB stated that Stock’s workplace injuries were “not

causative” of his disability. Thus, Drs. JC and JB’s opinions would support the

conclusion that non-duty-related conditions were the primary, if not the

exclusive, cause of Stock’s disability. Despite this, at oral argument the Board’s
counsel contended that the Board could deny Stock’s application for duty-related

disability benefits, so long as the non-work-related conditions were “a

contributing cause,” which “contribute[d]” “in any degree” to Stock’s disability.
The Board’s counsel was unable to identify any language in the Board’s Rules and

Regulations which adopts a “contributing cause” standard for pre-existing, non-

20
work-related conditions, while apparently adopting a more stringent causation
standard for work-related injuries.

Given the arguments Stock makes on appeal, we need not decide what

causation standard(s) should apply to the determination whether a firefighter is
entitled to duty-related disability retirement benefits. Nevertheless, we strongly

encourage the Board to revisit its regulations, to provide greater clarity

concerning the causal relationship required between a work-related injury and a

firefighter’s subsequent disability, particularly where the firefighter has pre-

existing medical conditions.

Conclusion
The Board’s motion to dismiss Stock’s appeal is denied. Because the

Board’s decision is supported by competent and substantial evidence on the

record as a whole, the circuit court did not err in refusing to set the Board’s

decision aside. The judgment of the circuit court is affirmed.

_______________________
Alok Ahuja, Judge
All concur.

21

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/11097740. Public record. Not legal advice.
