# Bertuzzi v. Copiague Union Free School District

> District Court, E.D. New York · March 28, 2025

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10835378

## Case

- **Court:** District Court, E.D. New York
- **Decided:** March 28, 2025
- **Opinion:** 100trialcourt
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10835378

## Opinion text

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
--------------------------------X
ROSARY BERTUZZI,

Plaintiff, MEMORANDUM & ORDER
17-CV-4256 (JS)(ARL)

-against-

COPIAGUE UNION FREE SCHOOL
DISTRICT; BOARD OF EDUCATION OF
COPIAGUE UNION FREE SCHOOOL
DISTRICT; DR. KATHLEEN BANNON;
TODD ANDREWS; and MICHELLE
BUDION,

Defendants.
--------------------------------X
APPEARANCES
For Plaintiff: Jason A. Gilbert, Esq.
Alexander R. Gilbert, Esq.
Howard E. Gilbert, Esq.
Gilbert Law Group
425 Broadhollow Road, Suite 405
Melville, New York 11747

For Defendants: Deanna L. Collins, Esq.
Caroline B. Lineen, Esq.
Karen C. Rudnicki, Esq.
Lewis R. Silverman, Esq.
Silverman & Associates
445 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 1102
White Plains, New York 10601

SEYBERT, District Judge:

Presently before the Court is Defendants’ Motion in
Limine (“Defendants’ Motion”) seeking eight separate forms of
relief, including, inter alia, a court order “[p]recluding
Plaintiff from seeking as damages lost wages, benefits, and pension
at trial” (“Request One”) and “[p]recluding Plaintiff from
offering any evidence of alleged lost wages, benefits, and pension
at trial” (“Request Two”, and collectively, with Request One, the
“Requests”). (Defs.’ MIL, ECF No. 141; Defs.’ Support Memo, ECF
No. 143.) Upon review of Defendants’ Motion, Plaintiff’s
Opposition thereto (Pl.’s Opp’n, ECF No. 147), and Defendants’
Reply in Further Support of their Motion (Defs.’ Reply, ECF No.

150), the Court hereby GRANTS Defendants’ Motion only as to Request
One and Request Two, and reserves decision on the remaining six
requests for relief.1

1 The Court, in its discretion, limits its decision herein to
Defendants’ Requests One and Two based upon its “inherent authority
to manage [its] docket[] and courtroom[] with a view toward the
efficient and expedient resolution of [this] case[].” Dietz v.
Bouldin, 579 U.S. 40, 47 (2016). At the Pretrial Conference held
on December 11, 2024, the parties represented to the Court that
they had engaged in settlement discussions which were hindered by
the parties’ dispute as to whether Plaintiff could recover damages
based upon her purported loss of pension. The Court therefore
issues this Order resolving such dispute on an expedited basis in
an effort to permit the parties to engage in settlement discussions
prior to trial. The Court expects the parties will notify the
Court immediately if a settlement materializes. (See J.S. Ind.
Rule I(G) (“Notification of Settlement. Any time a settlement is
reached, including prior to jury selection or during trial, the
parties are required to immediately notify the Court by filing a
notice letter to ECF. The notice letter shall indicate when the
parties expect to execute a formal Stipulation of Settlement or
Dismissal.”).)
BACKGROUND2
Plaintiff Rosary Bertuzzi commenced this employment
discrimination action against Defendants Copiague Union Free
School District, Board of Education of Copiague Union Free School
District, Dr. Kathleen Bannon, Todd Andrews, and Michele Budion
(collectively, “Defendants”), alleging violations of the Americans

with Disabilities Act (hereafter, “ADA”), 42 U.S.C. § 12101, et
seq., violations of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments pursuant
to 29 U.S.C. §§ 1983, and 1988, New York State Human Rights Law
(hereafter, “NYSHRL”), and the New York State Constitution. (See
generally, Am. Compl., ECF No. 26.) In her Amended Complaint,
Plaintiff alleged that Defendants’ “[r]efusal to [pr]rovide
Plaintiff [w]ith the [p]rescribed [m]edical [r]easonable
[a]ccommodation” for the 2017-2018 school year amounted to a
“[c]onstructive [d]ischarge.” (Id. at 24.)
On March 9, 2020, upon briefing from the parties and
referral from then-presiding District Judge Sandra J. Feuerstein,

Magistrate Judge A. Kathleen Tomlinson issued a Report and
Recommendation recommending, inter alia, Plaintiff’s constructive
discharge claims be dismissed. (See Report and Recommendation,
ECF No. 38 at 52 (concluding, because “[t]he [c]ourt has already

2 The Court presumes the parties’ familiarity with the factual and
procedural background of the case and recites the facts only as
necessary to adjudicate the pending motion.
found that Plaintiff has failed to state a claim for hostile work
environment[,] [l]ogically then, Plaintiff has necessarily failed
to state the more demanding claim for constructive discharge”).
Notwithstanding Plaintiff’s Objections (see ECF No. 44), Judge
Feuerstein adopted Judge Tomlinson’s Report and Recommendation to
dismiss the constructive discharge claim (see ECF No. 48), thereby

dismissing such claim from this action. The parties agree that
Plaintiff’s only remaining claim is for failure to accommodate
during the 2017-2018 school year pursuant to the ADA and NYSHRL.
(See Joint Pretrial Order, ECF No. 138 at 3-4.)
ANALYSIS
I. The Parties’ Arguments
Defendants request the Court preclude Plaintiff from
seeking damages in the form of lost wages, benefits, and pension
and introducing any evidence of such damages at trial (Requests
One and Two). (Defs.’ Support Memo at 7.) In support of such
Requests, Defendants argue: (1) Plaintiff’s claims for

constructive discharge and hostile work environment have been
dismissed, and therefore, Plaintiff “cannot seek to recoup lost
wages or benefits or emotional distress for her voluntary choice
to retire” (id. at 9); (2) “the only damages Plaintiff can seek to
recover at trial are those proximately caused by the limited
alleged failure to accommodate her” for 88.5 days (id.);
(3) Plaintiff cannot seek job restatement because the Court has
already determined Plaintiff was not constructively discharged and
instead voluntarily retired from her position (see id.); and
(4) because Plaintiff cannot seek lost wages, benefits, and
pension damages, the Court should preclude testimony and evidence
concerning such damages so as not to confuse the jury (see id. at
11).

In opposition to Defendants’ Motion, Plaintiff argues
she is entitled to recover lost wages, benefits, pension, and
emotional distress damages notwithstanding the Court’s dismissal
of Plaintiff’s constructive discharge claim because:
(1) “Plaintiff maintains a claim for failure to accommodate, which
is an independent and plenary ground for relief under the ADA and
New York Human Rights Law” (Pl.’s Opp’n at 6); (2) there is
persuasive authority from the Northern District of New York
indicating it is an open issue whether a plaintiff is entitled to
seek “post-resignation backpay” in the absence of a claim for
constructive discharge (id. at 7), see Bailey v. N.Y.S. Dep’t of

Corr. & Cmty. Supervision, No. 20-CV-155, 2023 WL 8530298, at *1
(N.D.N.Y. Dec. 8, 2023), appeal withdrawn No. 24-98, 2024 WL
1554873 (2d Cir. Feb. 27, 2024); and (3) Defendants seek a bright-
line rule barring claims for backpay in the absence of a viable
constructive discharge claim, which ignores case law that requires
such determination to be made following a “fact-specific” inquiry
(id.).
In their Reply, Defendants argue: (1) Bailey is
distinguishable from the case at bar because the plaintiff in
Bailey did not plead constructive discharge, nor was that claim
dismissed (Reply at 6); (2) there is case law suggesting the
“prevailing view of the appellate courts is that ‘in order for an
employee to recover back pay for lost wages beyond the date of his

[employment], the evidence must establish that the employer
constructively discharged the employee’” (id. at 7 (citing Tse v.
UBS Fin’l Serv., Inc., 568 F. Supp. 2d 274, 300 (S.D.N.Y. 2008)
(further citations omitted)); and (3) Plaintiff failed to mitigate
her damages (id. at 8-9).
II. The Court’s Decision
Defendants’ Requests One and Two require the Court to
address a question unanswered thus far by the Second Circuit:
Whether “a plaintiff who has been subjected to discriminatory
conditions on the job, and thereafter . . . resigns her
employment, may nevertheless receive post-employment economic

damages.” Tse, 568 F. Supp. 2d at 300. In the absence of Second
Circuit guidance on this issue, following the “prevailing view of
the appellate courts” and fellow district courts, and in light of
the facts and circumstances presented in this case, the Court
answers this question in the negative.3 Id.; see also Townsend v.

3 Notwithstanding the Court’s decision in the instant case, the
Court declines to opine as to whether a blanket “constructive
Exch. Ins. Co., 196 F. Supp. 2d 300, 308 (W.D.N.Y. 2002)
(collecting cases from the Fifth, Eighth, and Tenth Circuits which
concluded “in order for an employee to recover back pay for lost
wages beyond the date of his retirement or resignation, the
evidence must establish that the employer constructively
discharged the employee”).

While Plaintiff argues she should be able to recover
post-resignation back pay, including purported lost pension,
because there is no rule “categorially barring post-resignation
back pay in the absence of constructive discharge,” (see Pl.’s
Support Memo at 7) (relying upon persuasive authority in Bailey),
the Court disagrees. See 2023 WL 8530298, at *1. The Bailey
Court’s decision permitting plaintiff to seek backpay damages is
distinguishable for two reasons: first, the plaintiff in Bailey
failed to plead constructive discharge and thus, there was no
prior-issued court order barring such a claim and consequently,
the damages that flow from such claim; and second, the Bailey Court

ultimately decided plaintiff could recover backpay based upon
defendants’ failure to allege the affirmative defense of
mitigation. Id. at *4.
The Court is mindful of the procedural posture of this
case, which provides a unique set of facts for the Court to

discharge” rule should be adopted. The Court’s decision here is
based solely upon the facts and circumstances of this case.
consider. Indeed, courts in this Circuit have recognized “that
‘the fact-specific nature of back pay determinations’ may justify
certain ‘exceptions and distinctions’ which are consistent with
‘the general, well-established principle that an employee may not
receive backpay damages where she could have mitigated her economic
harm.’” E.E.O.C. v. Bloomberg L.P., 29 F. Supp. 3d 334, 341

(S.D.N.Y. 2014) (citing Tse, 568 F. Supp. 2d at 302). However,
upon review of the most pertinent facts, including that Plaintiff’s
constructive discharge claim was thoroughly evaluated by two
judges of this District, Judge Tomlinson and Judge Feuerstein, and
in accordance with the well-established law-of-the-case doctrine,
which militates against revisiting prior rulings absent “cogent
and compelling reasons,” the Court finds the facts here compel the
conclusion that Plaintiff be prohibited from seeking lost wages,
benefits, and pension damages at trial. In re Peters, 642 F.3d
381, 386 (2d Cir. 2011) (“The law of the case doctrine, although
not binding, ‘counsels a court against revisiting its prior rulings

in subsequent stages of the same case absent “cogent” and
“compelling” reasons,’ including, inter alia, ‘the need to correct
a clear error or prevent manifest injustice.’”) (quoting Ali v.
Mukasey, 529 F.3d 478, 490 (2d Cir. 2008)); see also D’Iorio v.
Winebow, Inc., 68 F. Supp. 3d 334, 359 (E.D.N.Y. 2014).4
Plaintiff’s Motion in Limine as to Request One is therefore
GRANTED.
Moreover, in light of the Court’s ruling precluding
Plaintiff from seeking lost wages, benefits, and pension damages,
the Court agrees with Defendants that any evidence of such damages

shall not be submitted to the jury. See Hannah v. Wal-Mart Stores,
Inc., No. 3:12-CV-01361, 2017 WL 690179, at *2 (D. Conn. Feb. 21,
2017), aff’d sub nom. Hannah v. Walmart Stores, Inc., 803 F. App’x
417 (2d Cir. 2020) (“Where claims have been dismissed on summary
judgment, therefore, it is generally appropriate to preclude
testimony or evidence regarding those same previously dismissed
claims during a jury trial.”). Therefore, Defendants’ Motion in
Limine as to Request Two is also GRANTED.
CONCLUSION
For the stated reasons, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:
Plaintiff’s Motion in Limine as to Requests One and Two is GRANTED.

SO ORDERED.

/s/ JOANNA SEYBERT
Joanna Seybert, U.S.D.J.

Dated: March 28, 2025
Central Islip, New York

4 Because the Court concludes Plaintiff may not seek lost wages,
benefits, and pension damages at trial, the Court declines to
address the parties’ arguments on mitigation.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10835378. Public record. Not legal advice.
