# Anthony King v. Barnegat Township

> New Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division · January 29, 2025

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10789644

## Case

- **Court:** New Jersey Superior Court Appellate Division
- **Decided:** January 29, 2025
- **Precedential status:** Unpublished
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10789644

## Opinion text

NOT FOR PUBLICATION WITHOUT THE
APPROVAL OF THE APPELLATE DIVISION
This opinion shall not "constitute precedent or be binding upon any court ." Although it is posted on the
internet, this opinion is binding only on the parties in the case and its use in other cases is limited. R. 1:36-3.

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY
APPELLATE DIVISION
DOCKET NO. A-3881-22

ANTHONY KING,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

v.

BARNEGAT TOWNSHIP,

Defendant-Appellant.
________________________

Argued October 9, 2024 – Decided January 29, 2025

Before Judges Mayer, Rose and DeAlmeida.

On appeal from the Superior Court of New Jersey,
Chancery Division, Ocean County, Docket No.
C-000012-23.

Christopher J. Dasti argued the cause for appellant
(Dasti & Staiger, PC, attorneys; Christopher J. Dasti, of
counsel and on the briefs; Jeffrey D. Cheney, on the
briefs).

Steven J. Kossup (Law Office of Steven J. Kossup, PC)
argued the cause for respondent.

PER CURIAM
In this contract dispute, defendant Barnegat Township appeals from two

July 25, 2023 orders of the Chancery Division: (1) denying its motion for

summary judgment; (2) granting plaintiff Anthony King's cross-motion for

summary judgment; (3) declaring the Township breached its contract with King;

and (4) revising the parties' contract to remove provisions relating to King's

resignation from employment with the Township. We reverse.

I.

King is employed as a police officer by the Township, which brought

disciplinary charges against him. Although the factual bases for the charges are

not in the record, it is undisputed the Township alleged King is unfit for duty

and sought his termination. As of November 2020, the charges remained

pending.

On November 5, 2020, after six months of negotiations between counsel

for both parties, King and the Township executed a separation agreement and

release (the Agreement) agreeing to settle all matters arising from and related to

King's employment. The Agreement provides that "[t]he Township has

determined that King is in fact medically disabled based upon the medical

examination . . . dated December 2, 2019. King concurs in the Township's

determination. Accordingly, the Township will file for an [i]nvoluntary

A-3881-22
2
[o]rdinary [d]isability [r]etirement for [King], effective September 1, 2020, or

as soon thereafter as possible."

The parties agreed the Township would place King on leave pending a

decision from the Division of Pensions and Benefits (Division) on his retirement

application. Pursuant to the Agreement, King's active regular duties would

cease the day the Township filed the application. Once King exhausted his

accrued leave, he would be placed on unpaid leave pending resolution of the

application. In addition, the Agreement provides:

Concurrent with the execution of this Agreement,
King shall submit to [the] Chief of Police . . . a valid
and binding letter of resignation pending retirement
from his employment with the Township. This letter
will state that King is resigning from his employment
with the Township for medical reasons.

The Agreement provides that "[t]he Township will take all necessary steps

to effectuate the involuntary ordinary disability retirement application,

including, but not limited to, providing all medical information and taking all

Governing Body action necessary." It also states:

The [p]arties understand, accept, and
acknowledge that the Division . . . is an autonomous
agency and only it can make decisions regarding
[Police and Firemen's Retirement System (PFRS)]
pension applications, specifically pension disability
applications. The [p]arties understand, accept and
agree that neither they, their attorneys, [n]or anyone

A-3881-22
3
other than the Pension Board, can make determinations
regarding PFRS pension application matters.

....

Notwithstanding the binding and irrevocable
nature of King's letter of resignation, the letter will be
held in escrow while and until King's involuntary
disability pension application is decided upon by the
. . . Division . . . and King has exhausted all rights of
appeal flowing from the disability application.

....

It is expressly understood that King's resignation
from his position is herein acknowledged by the
Township as one made in good standing. This
resignation is final and irrevocable regardless of the
disposition of the involuntary disability pension
application and upon King exhausting all rights of
appeal, if any.

In exchange, the Township agreed to dismiss all disciplinary charges filed

or contemplated alleging King is unfit for duty. The Township acknowledged

that other than the issue of King's fitness for duty, no allegation of misconduct

was pending, except those arising from his medical disability. The Agreement

also provides that

King and the Township acknowledge and agree
that if King is granted an [o]rdinary [d]isability
[retirement] by [the Division], and in the unlikely event
his medical condition improves thereafter to allow a
return to employment, that King will be reinstated to
his position and then will resign his position within

A-3881-22
4
thirty . . . days of his reinstatement, without any
compensation due to him from the Township during
this thirty[-]day period.

Finally, the Agreement contains a severability clause stating:

If any of the provisions, terms, clauses, or
waivers or release of claims or rights contained in this
Agreement are declared illegal, unenforceable, or
ineffective in a legal forum, such provisions, terms,
clauses, or waivers or release of claims or rights shall
be deemed severable, such that all other provisions,
terms, clauses, and waivers and releases of claims and
rights contained in this Agreement shall remain valid
and binding on all parties.

On November 17, 2020, the Township filed an ordinary disability

retirement benefit application on behalf of King.

On August 10, 2021, the Board of Trustees (Board) of PFRS issued a letter

finding King's final and irrevocable resignation, as required by the Agreement,

made him ineligible to apply for ordinary disability retirement benefits based on

N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(2). That statute provides that if during the five-year period

after a disability retirement is granted a medical examination reveals that the

beneficiary's disability has "vanished or materially diminished" and the

beneficiary can perform the duties of his prior position or any other available

position, the beneficiary must report for duty. "If a disability beneficiary is

A-3881-22
5
restored to active service, his retirement allowance . . . shall be canceled until

he again retires." N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(4).

The Board noted the Agreement provides that in the event King is granted

a disability retirement and his disability vanishes or materially diminishes within

five years, he will be reinstated, but then must resign within thirty days without

compensation. The Board determined the resignation-upon-return provision in

the Agreement defeats the legislative intent of N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(2) and (4)

because King could not meaningfully return to work as required by the statute

were he to be rehabilitated from his disability. In addition, the Board found that

because the Agreement prevents King from returning to active service, it would

have no mechanism to cancel his retirement allowance were he to be

rehabilitated.

King appealed the Board's decision, requesting a hearing before the Office

of Administrative Law (OAL). The Board agreed the matter was a contested

case warranting a hearing. Subsequently, at King's request, the OAL placed his

appeal on the inactive list.

The Township thereafter denied King's request to modify the Agreement

to remove the provisions stating his resignation was irrevocable and that he

would resign after thirty days in the event he was returned to work because he

A-3881-22
6
was rehabilitated from his disability. The Township refused his request because

King's resignation and his promise never to return to work as a police officer

were material terms of the Agreement and eliminating those terms would

deprive the Township of the benefit of its bargain with King.

King thereafter filed a complaint in the Law Division alleging: (1) the

Township breached its promise to take all necessary steps to effectuate the

disability retirement application by not agreeing to modify the Agreement; (2)

the Township denied King his contractual right to have the Division decide

whether he is qualified for an ordinary disability retirement; (3) the severability

clause of the Agreement requires the Township to recognize that provisions

declared illegal by the Board are stricken from the Agreement; and (4) the

Township breached the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing in the

Agreement. King sought a judgment that the Township breached the

Agreement, damages, and an order striking from the Agreement all provisions

stating his resignation is irrevocable and requiring him to resign in the event he

is returned to duty because his disability vanished or materially diminished.

The complaint was transferred to the Chancery Division and the parties

cross-moved for summary judgment. On July 25, 2023, the motion court issued

a written decision denying the Township's motion for summary judgment and

A-3881-22
7
granting in part plaintiff's cross-motion for summary judgment. The court found

that the Board

is a legal forum and that said legal forum declared the
provisions declaring [King's] resignation irrevocable to
be unenforceable in connection with the . . . agreement's
provision that [d]efendant would "take all necessary
steps to effectuate [King's] involuntary ordinary
disability retirement application" and the requirements
of N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(2). The provisions undoubtedly
cannot coexist.

Thus, the court concluded, "severance of the subject provisions is necessary and

summary judgment on the issue is appropriate."

A July 25, 2023 order denied the Township's motion for summary

judgment. A second July 25, 2023 order dismissed the Township's motion for

summary judgment, granted King's cross-motion for summary judgment in part,

declared the Township breached the Agreement by not agreeing to remove from

the Agreement the provisions concerning the irrevocability of King's

resignation, and reformed the Agreement by severing from it the provisions

concerning the irrevocability of King's resignation and his promise to resign if

returned to work after recovering from his disability.1

1
The motion court also denied summary judgment without prejudice with
respect to King's claims for monetary damages. On August 14, 2023, the court
entered an order memorializing plaintiff's withdrawal of his claim for damages.
That order also clarified a paragraph of one of the July 25, 2023 orders.
A-3881-22
8
This appeal followed. The Township argues the motion court erred by:

(1) finding the Township breached its contractual obligation to take all necessary

steps to effectuate King's retirement application by not agreeing to sever from

the Agreement the provisions relating to the permanent nature of his retirement;

(2) finding the Board is a legal forum with the authority to declare provisions of

the Agreement unenforceable and that the Board declared provisions of the

Agreement unenforceable; (3) revising the contract to permit King to return to

work in the event he recovers from his disability, thereby depriving the

Township of the benefit of its bargain; and (4) deciding King's claims prior to

his exhaustion of administrative and appellate remedies with respect to his

ordinary disability pension application.2

II.

We review a grant of summary judgment de novo, applying the same

standard as the motion court. Samolyk v. Berthe, 251 N.J. 73, 78 (2022). That

standard requires us to "determine whether 'the pleadings, depositions, answers

2
On October 16, 2023, the Board granted King's request to reconsider its August
10, 2021 decision in light of the motion court's orders. The Board found that
"the outcome of the litigation between . . . King and the Township . . . will
necessarily impact . . . King's eligibility to apply for [o]rdinary [d]isability
retirement benefits; as such, the Board determined the matter will be held in
abeyance pending final disposition" of the claims raised in this matter.
A-3881-22
9
to interrogatories and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,

show that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact challenged and that

the moving party is entitled to a judgment or order as a matter of law.'" Branch

v. Cream-O-Land Dairy, 244 N.J. 567, 582 (2021) (quoting R. 4:46-2(c)).

"Summary judgment should be granted . . . 'against a party who fails to make a

showing sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential to that

party's case, and on which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial.'"

Friedman v. Martinez, 242 N.J. 449, 472 (2020) (quoting Celotex Corp. v.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986)).

"The court's function is not 'to weigh the evidence and determine the truth

of the matter but to determine whether there is a genuine issue for trial.'" Rios

v. Meda Pharm., Inc., 247 N.J. 1, 13 (2021) (quoting Brill v. Guardian Life Ins.

Co. of Am., 142 N.J. 520, 540 (1995)). "If there is no genuine issue of material

fact, we must then 'decide whether the [motion] court correctly interpreted the

law.'" DepoLink Ct. Reporting & Litig. Support Servs. v. Rochman, 430 N.J.

Super. 325, 333 (App. Div. 2013) (quoting Massachi v. AHL Servs., Inc., 396

N.J. Super. 486, 494 (App. Div. 2007)).

A settlement of a legal claim between parties is a contract like any other

contract, Nolan v. Lee Ho, 120 N.J. 465, 472 (1990), which "may be freely

A-3881-22
10
entered into and which a court, absent a demonstration of 'fraud or other

compelling circumstances,' should honor and enforce as it does other contracts."

Pascarella v. Bruck, 190 N.J. Super. 118, 124-25 (App. Div. 1983) (quoting

Honeywell v. Bubb, 130 N.J. Super. 130, 136 (App. Div. 1974)).

In interpreting a contract, we look at the language used by the parties and

construe that language consistent with its plain meaning, considering the overall

purpose and meaning of the contract. See In re Cnty. of Atlantic, 230 N.J. 237,

254 (2017); JPC Merger Sub LLC v. Tricon Enters., Inc., 474 N.J. Super. 145,

160-61 (App. Div. 2022). "Because '[t]he plain language of the contract is the

cornerstone of the interpretive inquiry[,] "when the intent of the parties is plain

and the language is clear and unambiguous, a court must enforce the agreement

as written, unless doing so would lead to an absurd result."'" JPC Merger Sub

LLC, 474 N.J. Super. at 161 (alterations in original) (quoting Barila v. Bd. of

Educ. of Cliffside Park, 241 N.J. 595, 616 (2020)). "We cannot 'rewrite a

contract for the parties better than or different from the one they wrote for

themselves.'" GMAC Mortgage, LLC v. Willoughby, 230 N.J. 172, 186 (2017)

(quoting Kieffer v. Best Buy, 205 N.J. 213, 223 (2011)).

We review de novo the motion court's interpretation of a contract. Serico

v. Rothberg, 234 N.J. 168, 178 (2018); JPC Merger Sub LLC, 474 N.J. Super.

A-3881-22
11
at 159. We pay "no special deference to the [motion] court's interpretation and

look at the contract with fresh eyes." JPC Merger Sub LLC, 474 N.J. Super. at

160 (quoting Kieffer, 205 N.J. at 223). We do not defer to the motion court's

legal analysis. RSI Bank v. Providence Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 234 N.J. 459, 472

(2018); Perez v. Zagami, LLC, 218 N.J. 202, 209 (2014).

To prevail on a claim for breach of contract, a plaintiff must prove: (1)

"the parties entered into a contract containing certain terms"; (2) "plaintiff[] did

what the contract required [plaintiff] to do"; (3) "defendants did not do what the

contract required them to do"; and (4) "defendants' breach, or failure to do what

the contract required, caused a loss to the plaintiff[]." Goldfarb v. Solimine, 245

N.J. 326, 338-39 (2021) (quoting Globe Motor Co. v. Igdalev, 225 N.J. 469, 482

(2016)).

The motion court's interpretation of the Agreement must be considered in

light of the statutory and regulatory provisions governing eligibility for ordinary

disability retirement benefits. N.J.S.A. 43:16A-6(1) provides that a member of

PFRS with sufficient credible service

may be retired on an ordinary disability retirement
allowance; provided, that the medical board, after a
medical examination of such member, shall certify that
such member is mentally or physically incapacitated for
the performance of his usual duty and of any other
available duty in the department which his employer is

A-3881-22
12
willing to assign to him and that such incapacity is
likely to be permanent and to such an extent that he
should be retired.

It is well established "that eligibility for disability retirement benefits

requires members to make a prima facie showing that they cannot work due to

a disability." In re Adoption of N.J.A.C. 17:1-6.4, 454 N.J. Super. 386, 394

(App. Div. 2018). In addition, the member is required to prove that his asserted

disability is "the reason the member left employment." Id. at 397 (quoting

N.J.A.C. 17:1-6.4(a)). A member is barred from applying for disability

retirement benefits if he resigned pursuant to a "[s]ettlement agreement[]

reached due to pending administrative . . . charges, unless the underlying charges

relate to the disability" on which the application is based. N.J.A.C. 17:1-

6.4(b)(2). The fact that King resigned pursuant to a settlement agreement

reached due to pending administrative charges is not the basis on which the

Board in its initial decision found him ineligible to apply for a disability

retirement. To the contrary, in the Agreement the parties acknowledge that the

pending disciplinary charges against King were related to his disability, which

falls within the exception established in N.J.A.C. 17:1-6.4(b)(2).

Instead, the Board's initial decision was based on a statutory provision that

requires a PFRS member granted an ordinary disability retirement be available

A-3881-22
13
to return to work if, within five years of retirement, the disability on which the

retirement was based vanishes or is materially diminished. N.J.S.A. 43:16A-

8(2) provides:

Any beneficiary under the age of [fifty-five] who has
been retired on a disability retirement allowance under
this act . . . upon the request of the retirement system
may . . . be given a medical examination and he shall
submit to any examination by a physician or physicians
designated by the medical board once a year for at least
a period of five years following his retirement in order
to determine whether or not the disability which existed
at the time he was retired has vanished or has materially
diminished. If the report of the medical board shall
show that such beneficiary is able to perform either his
former duty or any other available duty in the
department which his employer is willing to assign to
him, the beneficiary shall report for duty . . . . If the
beneficiary fails to submit to any such medical
examination or fails to return to duty within [ten] days
after being ordered so to do . . . the pension shall be
discontinued during such default.

As we recognized, "[t]he rehabilitation statutes presume that . . . the only

obstacle to a disability retiree's reemployment is the disability itself." In re

Adoption of N.J.A.C. 17:1-6.4, 454 N.J. Super. at 401. Thus, "disability retirees

must be returned to the same status and position held at the time of retirement,

if available, after . . . rehabilitation." Ibid. (citing Klumb v. Bd. of Educ., 199

N.J. 14, 32 (2009) and In re Allen, 262 N.J. Super. 438, 444 (App. Div. 1993)).

A-3881-22
14
At the time the parties executed the Agreement, we had held that an

employee who irrevocably resigns to resolve pending disciplinary charges is not

eligible to apply for ordinary disability retirement benefits because that

employee cannot fulfill the return to duty requirement in N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(2).

See Cardinale v. Bd. of Trs., Police and Firemen's Ret. Sys., 458 N.J. Super. 260

(App. Div. 2019). In that matter, a municipality filed disciplinary charges

against a police officer alleging illegal drug use. Id. at 263-64. Shortly after

the charges were filed, the officer applied for ordinary disability retirement

benefits. Id. at 264.

Thereafter, the municipality held a hearing on the disciplinary charges that

resulted in the officer's removal from employment. Ibid. The officer

subsequently filed an appeal with the Civil Service Commission. Ibid. While

the appeal was pending, the municipality and the officer settled the disciplinary

matter through execution of a settlement agreement. Ibid. In the agreement, the

officer agreed to irrevocably resign from the police department in exchange for

the withdraw of the disciplinary charges. Id. at 264-65. Also in the agreement,

the officer acknowledged he would proceed with an ordinary disability

retirement application "at his 'sole risk,' and that the outcome of the application

would not affect his resignation." Id. at 265.

A-3881-22
15
After an administrative hearing, the Board refused to process the officer's

application, explaining "that the only obstacle to his reemployment was not the

purported disability, but rather, his irrevocable resignation. The Board therefore

concluded – assuming [the officer] was disabled but later became rehabilitated

– that it would have no statutory authority to stop paying benefits." Ibid.

Before this court, the officer argued the Board's refusal to process his

application deprived him the opportunity to show he suffered from a disability

qualifying him for retirement benefits. Id. at 267. We affirmed. Id. at 263. As

we explained:

We hold that when a PFRS member – here a police
officer – voluntarily irrevocably resigns from active
service, such a separation from employment
automatically renders the individual ineligible for
ordinary disability benefits. Generally, for individuals
whose disability has vanished or materially diminished,
benefits cease when the retiree refuses to return to duty
after the Board has so ordered. In this sense, disability
retirees are unique. But here, [the officer] can never
return to duty solely because of his final resignation,
rather than his refusal to do so upon disability
rehabilitation. Under the governing legislative
framework, the inability to return to duty – due solely
to an irrevocable resignation – prevents the Board from
statutorily terminating any granted benefits, a result
which would contravene important public policy
underlying disability retirement benefits.

[Ibid.]

A-3881-22
16
We noted that the statutory obligation to return to duty "is not simply an

anti-fraud measure. It provides for a system of taxpayer-funded relief by

allowing disability benefits but requiring retirees to return to duty upon

disability rehabilitation." Id. at 270. We reasoned that

[t]he Legislature obviously did not devise a disability
retirement system that, one the one hand, would grant
ordinary disability benefits to PFRS members who
could never return to active service, and on the other
hand, require that other PFRS members return to duty
when their purported disability vanishes or materially
diminishes.

[Ibid.]

See also Rooth v. Bd. of Trs., Police and Firemen's Ret. Sys., 472 N.J. Super.

357, 367 (App. Div. 2022) (noting that even where an employee's separation

from work is related to her alleged disability, her "irrevocable resignation, alone,

made her ineligible for disability benefits" because "the irrevocable resignation

letter renders her return to work . . . unattainable.").

Here, at the time the parties executed the Agreement it was established

that King's irrevocable resignation rendered him ineligible to apply for ordinary

disability retirement benefits. The parties are charged with knowledge of the

law at the time they entered their contract. Rodriguez v. Raymours Furniture

Co., 436 N.J. Super. 305, 322 (App. Div. 2014). Indeed, the record suggests

A-3881-22
17
that when counsel negotiated the Agreement they were aware of the legal

precedents concerning the preclusive effect of an employee's resignation on

eligibility for retirement benefits. The thirty-day resignation-upon-return-to-

work provision of the Agreement appears to be an attempt to circumvent

N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(4) and avoid application of our holding in Cardinale.

It is evident that the Agreement places on King the risk the Board would

find that the provision requiring him to resign within thirty days of a return to

work does not satisfy N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(4) and precludes him from applying

for ordinary disability retirement benefits. As the Agreement states, King's

"resignation is final and irrevocable regardless of the disposition of the

involuntary disability pension application . . . ."

We disagree with the motion court's conclusion that the Township

breached the Agreement by refusing to revise its terms to permit King to return

to work in the event he is rehabilitated from his disability. The motion court's

decision is predicated on its finding that the Board "declared illegal,

unenforceable, or ineffective" the provisions of the Agreement relating to King's

irrevocable resignation. According to the motion court, the Board's invalidation

of those provisions of the Agreement triggered the Township's contractual

A-3881-22
18
obligation to take the "necessary" step of revising the agreement to remove the

irrevocable nature of King's resignation.

Our review of the record reveals that the Board did not find the provisions

of the Agreement concerning King's resignation to be unenforceable. To the

contrary, the Board did not accept King's retirement application precisely

because those provisions are enforceable and preclude King from fulfilling the

return to work requirement of N.J.S.A. 43:16A-8(4).

Because no provision of the Agreement was declared unenforceable by

the Board, the severance provision of the contract was not triggered. The motion

court, therefore, erred when it found the Township breached an obligation under

the severance clause to remove from the Agreement the provisions relating to

the permanent nature of King's resignation.3

In addition, the motion court erred when it concluded that the Township

breached the Agreement by not taking the "necessary step" of revising the

contract to permit King to return to work in the event he is rehabilitated from

3
We note King filed his complaint while the matter was pending before the
OAL for a contested hearing and that the matter is now before the Board
awaiting a final decision. Thus, King did not fulfill his obligation under the
Agreement to "exhaust[] all rights of appeal flowing from the disability
application." We do not address whether the Board is "a legal forum" within the
meaning of the severance provision of the Agreement or whether the Board has
the statutory authority to declare provisions of a contract unenforceable.
A-3881-22
19
his disability. The Agreement's unequivocal terms establish that in exchange

for his irrevocable resignation in good standing, King secured the dismissal of

the disciplinary charges pending against him and the Township's agreement to

"take all necessary steps to effectuate his involuntary disability retirement

application including, but not limited to, providing all medical information and

taking all Governing Body action necessary . . . ."

It was error to find that one such "necessary step" was that the Township

revise the Agreement to eliminate the benefit of its bargain – the irrevocable

resignation of a person the Township believed unfit to serve as a police officer

– to permit him to return as a police officer. Such a broad interpretation of the

necessary steps provision vitiates the core exchange of promises embodied in

the Agreement. In addition, the motion court's interpretation of the Agreement

shifts the burden of the Board's decision not to accept King's application to the

Township, when the Agreement unequivocally provides that King's resignation

shall be irrevocable regardless of whether the Board approved his retirement

application. Nothing in the Agreement reflects an obligation on the Township's

part to forfeit what it gained from the contract to ensure that King is awarded

ordinary disability retirement benefits.

A-3881-22
20
In light of our conclusions, it was error for the motion court to revise the

terms of the contract. "For a court to grant reformation there must be 'clear and

convincing proof' that the contract in its reformed, and not original, form is the

one that the contracting parties understood and meant it to be." St. Pius X House

of Retreats v. Camden Diocese, 88 N.J. 571, 580-81 (1982) (quoting Central

State Bank v. Hudik-Ross Co., 164 N.J. Super. 317, 323 (App. Div. 1978)). As

we discussed, the Agreement in its original form does not require the Township

to permit King to return to work as a police officer should he be rehabilitated

from his disability.

The July 25, 2023 orders are reversed. The matter is remanded for entry

of an order granting summary judgment to the Township and dismissing King's

complaint.4

Reversed and remanded. We do not retain jurisdiction.

4
The provision of the August 14, 2023 order clarifying a paragraph of one of
the July 25, 2023 orders is also vacated.
A-3881-22
21

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10789644. Public record. Not legal advice.
