# Quigley, C. v. UCBR, Aplt.

> Supreme Court of Pennsylvania · November 17, 2021

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10745426

## Case

- **Court:** Supreme Court of Pennsylvania
- **Decided:** November 17, 2021
- **Precedential status:** Published
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Judges:** Dougherty, Kevin M.
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10745426

## Opinion text

[J-1-2021] [MO: Todd, J.]
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA
EASTERN DISTRICT

CAITLIN QUIGLEY, : No. 20 EAP 2020
:
Appellee : Appeal from the Order of
: Commonwealth Court entered on
: January 28, 2020 at No. 1449 CD
v. : 2017 vacating/remanding the Order
: of the Unemployment Compensation
: Board of Review entered on August
UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION : 8, 2017 at No. B-17-09-G-2764.
BOARD OF REVIEW, :
: ARGUED: March 9, 2021
Appellant :

CONCURRING OPINION

JUSTICE DOUGHERTY DECIDED: November 17, 2021
I fully join the majority opinion, and particularly its careful reading of the

Unemployment Compensation Law, 43 P.S. §§751-919.10 (UC Law), and related

regulations promulgated by the Department of Labor and Industry (Department) and the

Unemployment Compensation Board of Review (Board). I write separately to respectfully

buttress the majority’s analysis in light of the distinctive standard of review applicable to

administrative matters.

Unlike typical judicial appellate review for an abuse of discretion, our standard for

reviewing appeals of administrative decisions draws from the statutory mandates of

Section 704 of the Administrative Agency Law (Agency Law), which annunciates the

parameters of an appellate court’s final disposition. Specifically, “[w]e must affirm [the

Board’s] adjudication unless we determine that: it violates the appellant’s constitution[al]

rights; it is not in accordance with law; it was reached in violation of applicable
administrative procedure; or any fact necessary to the decision is not supported by

substantial evidence.” U.S. Steel Corp. v. UCBR, 858 A.2d 91, 99 (Pa. 2004) (emphasis

added), citing 2 Pa.C.S. §704; see also, e.g., Diehl v. UCBR, 57 A.3d 1209, 1216 (Pa.

2012) (“[W]hen reviewing unemployment compensation cases, an appellate court must

consider whether the findings of fact are supported by substantial evidence and whether

there was a violation of the constitution or agency procedure or an error of law.”) (citation

and internal quotation omitted).

The violation of an “applicable administrative procedure” relates not only to an

agency’s particular enabling statutes and regulations, but also to traditional principles of

procedural due process. These are further codified in Section 504 of the Agency Law,

which requires reasonable notice, a fair opportunity to be heard on the merits of the

appeal, and a full and complete record. See J.F. v. Dep’t of Human Servs., 245 A.3d 658,

668-69, 673 (Pa. 2021), citing 2 Pa.C.S. §§504, 704.

The majority and concurring opinions have described in depth the manner in which

the Department’s and Board’s actions have made the requisite meaningful notice and an

opportunity to be heard inaccessible to this claimant. See Majority Opinion, slip op. at

34-35; Concurring Opinion, slip op. at 1-5 (Wecht, J.). Additionally, the Department, with

its investigatory powers and duties to require the reports and records it deems necessary,

see 43 P.S. §761, bears some responsibility for ensuring the record is complete.

Through the initial claim review process, the Department directs what information

is necessary to support a claimant’s eligibility. Here, because Claimant completed the

Department’s questionnaire specific to sideline business claimants, the Department

informed her, via email and on the questionnaire itself, that the additional information

necessary to support her eligibility was the Schedule C from her 2016 tax return, which

she provided immediately. See Claimant Questionnaire, 4/11/17, at 2; UC Service Center

[J-1-2021] [MO: Todd, J.] - 2
Email, 4/11/17. The Department also required, under penalty of fraud, Claimant’s dates

of service at her last full-time employer, her responses to several yes or no questions

regarding amounts of her time and income related to her sideline business, and her social

security number, for use by the Department to verify her information. See Claimant

Questionnaire, 4/11/17, at 1-3. Notably, in accord with its own regulations, the

Department “will not issue a decision invalidating a claim until the claimant has been given

an opportunity to refute any alleged facts or circumstances which are being considered

as a basis for invalidating his claim.” 34 Pa. Code §65.61. And, under the UC Law, upon

the Department’s determination of whether or not a claim is valid, “[n]otice of such

determination need not be given to the claimant if the claim is determined valid,

but if the claim is determined invalid, notice shall be given by the department in

writing to the claimant stating that the claim is invalid and the reason therefor.” 43

P.S. §821(c)(2) (emphasis added). Claimant provided all of the information the

Department deemed necessary to support her eligibility; presumably the Department

performed its verification, no challenge was raised to the accuracy of the information

Claimant provided, and because the claim was determined valid, claimant had no notice

of any defects in her application that would warrant the later disqualification of her

eligibility.

The Department then certified the contents of the claim file, upon which the referee

and Board based their review. Notably, the Board’s own regulations require the referee

to provide unrepresented parties with “every assistance compatible with the impartial

discharge of its official duties.” 34 Pa. Code §101.21(a). In this case, among the first

annotations at the top of Claimant’s claim record is an entry dated April 21, 2017, stating,

“[Claimant] IS REQUESTING CONTACT BE MADE BY EMAIL; PHONE WILL BE

DISCONNECTED FOR APPROX 3 WEEKS[.]” Claim Record at 1. Claimant’s

[J-1-2021] [MO: Todd, J.] - 3
continuance request was made on May 1 via email, to the email address provided in the

Notice of Hearing as an appropriate means of contact. See Notice of Hearing, 4/26/17 at

3; Email to Referee, 4/30/17. The referee called Claimant’s disconnected phone number

and left a message indicating the continuance would be denied without further

information. In my view, a brief glance at the claim record should have alerted the referee

that a telephonic response to Claimant’s request would not be received prior to the

scheduled hearing, and failed to provide minimal assistance compatible with the impartial

discharge of the tribunal’s duties.

Lastly, the Board believes it was required to disqualify Claimant because, as it

claims, the only competent evidence of record was Claimant’s checkmark in the “Yes”

box on her sideline business questionnaire, to answer the question “Do you own all

aspects of this business?” — while the remainder of the information in the claims file

constituted “uncorroborated hearsay.” Appellant’s Brief at 36-37; Claimant Questionnaire

at 1. As the majority observes, the Department’s tribunals are entitled to rely on

information contained in the Department’s own records. Majority Opinion, slip op. at 32-

33 n.12, citing 34 Pa. Code §101.51. I additionally observe the Department may do so

as a result of its power and duty to collect and verify the essential information. In this

regard, it is difficult to see how the information provided by Claimant was

“uncorroborated.” See Vann v. UCBR, 494 A.2d 1081, 1086 (Pa. 1985) (hearsay

evidence admitted without objection may support a finding of fact if corroborated). As a

result, absent any additional evidence offered by the Department to the contrary, I do not

view the Board’s sole finding of fact justifying its decision to disqualify Claimant — i.e.,

“[t]he claimant owned and operated an independent business[,]” Board Decision, 8/8/17,

at 1 — as supported by substantial evidence.

[J-1-2021] [MO: Todd, J.] - 4
Accordingly, for the foregoing reasons, as well as those articulated by the majority,

I conclude the Board reached its decision based upon violations of applicable

administrative procedure, and the decision was not supported by substantial evidence.

Though the dissenting opinions authored by my learned colleagues may appear to offer

a facially reasonable alternate reading of the statute and regulations, in my respectful

view, such an interpretation does not account for due process in cases where the claimant

(experiencing the sudden burden of economic insecurity and its attendant obstacles, such

as, plausibly, the loss of phone service) and the tribunal responsible for providing due

process (benefitting from the expertise of a complement of attorneys, see Appellant’s

Brief at 11, 21) are ships passing in the night, given the claimant’s communication of her

limitations at every step.1 In such matters, the Board’s duty to protect the Unemployment

Compensation Trust Fund from improper claims and unintended purposes is not

effectuated through discretionary decisions that evade due process, which has the

foreseeable consequence of diverting those reserves from their intended recipients by

denying qualifying claims and prolonging litigation.

1 To the extent any inference about the timeliness of Claimant’s continuance request may

be drawn from the fact the request was made on April 30, 2017, i.e., nine days before the
scheduled May 9, 2019 hearing, I note the record also indicates the Notice of Hearing
was mailed out to Claimant on April 26, 2017, four days prior to her request; it therefore
appears she made her continuance request immediately following receipt of the Notice.
See Notice of Hearing, 4/26/17, at 1.

[J-1-2021] [MO: Todd, J.] - 5

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10745426. Public record. Not legal advice.
