# Cruz-Salazar v. SAIF

> Court of Appeals of Oregon · February 2, 2022 · 317 Or. App. 342

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10601528

## Case

- **Court:** Court of Appeals of Oregon
- **Decided:** February 2, 2022
- **Citations:** 317 Or. App. 342; 506 P.3d 1145
- **Precedential status:** Published
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Judges:** DeHoog, pro tempore
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10601528

## Opinion text

342

Argued and submitted September 17, 2020, reversed and remanded
February 2, 2022

In the Matter of the Compensation of
Reina Cruz-Salazar, Claimant.
Reina CRUZ-SALAZAR,
Petitioner,
v.
SAIF CORPORATION
and KB Restaurant,
Respondents.
Workers’ Compensation Board
1801511; A171110
506 P3d 1145

Claimant seeks review of an order of the Workers’ Compensation Board
(board) affirming an order of an administrative law judge that reduced claim-
ant’s award of benefits for impairment caused by undiagnosed conditions.
Held: The Court of Appeals remanded the case to the board for reconsideration
in light of the Supreme Court’s opinion in Caren v. Providence Health System
Oregon, 365 Or 466, 487, 446 P3d 67 (2019), holding that a worker is entitled to
benefits for the worker’s total impairment if the work injury is a material contrib-
uting cause of the worker’s total impairment.
Reversed and remanded.

Philip M. Lebenbaum argued the cause for petitioner. On
the briefs was Theodore P. Heus.
Allison Lesh argued the cause and filed the brief for
respondents.
Before Egan, Presiding Judge, and Lagesen, Chief Judge,
and DeHoog, Judge pro tempore.*
DeHOOG, J. pro tempore.
Reversed and remanded.

______________
* Lagesen, C. J., vice DeVore, S. J.
Cite as 317 Or App 342 (2022) 343

DeHOOG, J. pro tempore
Claimant seeks review of an order of the Workers’
Compensation Board (board) affirming an order of an
administrative law judge (ALJ) that had reduced claimant’s
award of benefits for impairment made by the Appellate
Review Unit of the Workers’ Compensation Division of the
Department of Consumer and Business Services (ARU).
We conclude that, in light of the Supreme Court’s opinion
in Caren v. Providence Health System Oregon, 365 Or 466,
487, 446 P3d 67 (2019), which issued after the board’s order
in this case, the board erred, and we therefore reverse and
remand for reconsideration.
Claimant injured her left arm at work after slip-
ping and falling on a wet floor. SAIF, on behalf of its insured
employer KB Restaurant—KGK Foods—Carl’s Jr., accepted
a claim for “left elbow contusion and impingement syndrome
of left shoulder.” After claimant’s attending physician deter-
mined that claimant’s injury was medically stationary, SAIF
issued a notice of closure that did not award any benefits for
permanent disability. On reconsideration, a medical arbiter
opined that claimant had findings, such as decreased sen-
sation, that were not explained by the medical record and
that were possibly indicative of undiagnosed conditions. He
opined that 20 percent of claimant’s impairment was due
to the accepted condition and 80 percent due to the undiag-
nosed conditions. The ARU awarded claimant benefits for
100 percent of her impairment, including impairment poten-
tially linked to the as-yet undiagnosed conditions.
The ALJ reduced that award, reasoning that the
apportionment of benefits for impairment was appropri-
ate under former OAR 436-035-0007(1) (2017), because the
record did not establish that the impairment due to the
undiagnosed conditions was attributable to the accepted
conditions. The board upheld the apportionment, reasoning
that claimant was not entitled to benefits for impairment
due to conditions that had not been claimed and accepted,
essentially reasoning that, under ORS 656.214(1)(a) (provid-
ing that “[p]ermanent impairment resulting from the com-
pensable industrial injury” is “the loss of use or function
of a body part or system due to the compensable industrial
344 Cruz-Salazar v. SAIF

injury”); ORS 656.268(15)1 (“Conditions that are direct med-
ical sequelae to the original accepted condition shall be
included in rating permanent disability of the claim unless
they have been specifically denied.”); and OAR 436-035-
0007 (2017), benefits for impairment may not be awarded
for a condition that has not been accepted or that is not the
direct medical sequela of an accepted condition.
On judicial review, claimant contends that the
board’s order must be reversed in light of the Supreme
Court’s opinions in Caren, in which the court held that a
worker is entitled to benefits for the worker’s total impair-
ment if the work injury is a material contributing cause of
the worker’s total impairment, and Schleiss v. SAIF, 354 Or
637, 317 P3d 244 (2013), in which the court held that appor-
tionment may be applied only to “legally cognizable” pre-
existing conditions.
Claimant is correct that Caren requires a reversal
of the board’s order. Caren involved the question of whether
a claimant’s benefit for impairment could be reduced by that
portion of the impairment caused by a preexisting condi-
tion. The court said in Caren that, by providing a process
for claim closure in claims involving combined conditions,
ORS 656.268(1)(b) (setting forth procedure for the denial of
combined conditions), the legislature had created an excep-
tion to the “general rule” that a worker is to be compensated
for total impairment that is caused in material part by the
compensable injury.
“[T]he method for calculating impairment in cases of com-
bined conditions [as described in ORS 656.268(1)(b)] is an
exception to, and limitation on, the general rule that the
employer pays compensation for the full measure of the
workers’ permanent impairment if the impairment as a
whole is caused in material part by the compensable injury.”
Caren, 365 Or at 487. The court held that, if an insurer
believes that a portion of a worker’s impairment is due to a
combining of the compensable injury with a preexisting con-
dition, it is not up to the claimant to first seek benefits for
1
ORS 656.268 has been amended since the filing of the claim, but the rel-
evant subsections are unchanged. We therefore cite to the version currently in
effect.
Cite as 317 Or App 342 (2022) 345

the preexisting condition; it is the insurer’s responsibility
to deny that condition before claim closure. Id. at 480-81. If
the insurer does not deny the condition before claim closure,
the claimant is entitled to benefits for the total impairment
caused in material part by the compensable injury.
As we understand the court’s opinion in Caren, it
means that a worker’s total impairment is compensable if it
is caused in material part by a compensable injury, and that
benefits for impairment may not be reduced for impairment
caused by a preexisting condition, unless (1) the preexisting
condition is one that is “cognizable” under ORS 656.005(24)
(to qualify as a preexisting condition, a condition must have
been treated or diagnosed before the compensable injury,
“[e]xcept for claims in which a preexisting condition is
arthritis or an arthritic condition”); and (2), before claim
closure, the insurer has formally denied a combined condi-
tion involving the preexisting condition. If those procedural
steps do not occur before claim closure, apportionment of
impairment is not permitted under ORS 656.214 or ORS
656.268(1)(b). Here, the medical record shows that claim-
ant’s impairment is caused in material part by her work-
related injury. SAIF did not, before claim closure, deny the
undiagnosed conditions that the medical arbiter determined
contribute to her impairment. Thus, under Caren, claimant
is entitled to benefits for the full measure of her impairment.
We recognize, as SAIF contends, that this case
is factually distinguishable from Caren, because it is not
known whether claimant’s undiagnosed conditions contrib-
uting to her impairment are cognizable preexisting condi-
tions or whether her impairment is due to a combining of her
otherwise compensable injury and those undiagnosed condi-
tions. But Caren’s statement of the general rule relating to
benefits for impairment—“the employer pays compensation
for the full measure of the workers’ permanent impairment
if the impairment as a whole is caused in material part by
the compensable injury,” 365 Or at 487—is not limited to
claims involving combined conditions. SAIF raises statutory
construction arguments that were addressed and rejected
by the court in Caren. SAIF’s argument is, in essence, with
Caren, which, of course, is binding on this court. Unless and
until the Supreme Court qualifies or limits its statement
346 Cruz-Salazar v. SAIF

of the general rule relating to a worker’s right to compen-
sation for impairment, we assume that the court intended
for it to be applied as written: If a worker’s total impair-
ment is caused in material part by a compensable injury,
the worker is entitled to benefits for the total impairment,
unless the insurer has, before claim closure, denied that
portion of the impairment that is not attributable to the
compensable injury. Our conclusion is consistent with other
cases in which we have addressed the court’s holding in
Caren. Robinette v. SAIF, 307 Or App 11, 475 P3d 470 (2020),
rev allowed, 367 Or 559 (2021) (citing Caren in support of
holding that claimant was entitled to compensation for full
measure of impairment caused in material part by a com-
pensable injury because, before claim closure, employer had
not denied claimant’s loss of range of motion and stability in
her knee caused entirely by preexisting conditions that had
not been accepted or denied); Johnson v. SAIF, 307 Or App 1,
475 P3d 465 (2020), rev allowed, 367 Or 559 (2021) (citing
Caren in support of holding that worker is entitled to be
compensated for the “full measure” of impairment caused in
material part by work injury in combination with a noncog-
nizable preexisting condition, despite the fact that the non-
cognizable preexisting condition had previously been denied
outright, because, before claim closure, the employer had
not denied the combined condition). We therefore reverse
the board’s order and remand for reconsideration in light of
Caren.
Reversed and remanded.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10601528. Public record. Not legal advice.
