# FUHRER v. THE HARTFORD LIFE & ACCIDENT INSURANCE COMPANY

> District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania · April 20, 2022

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10403177

## Case

- **Court:** District Court, E.D. Pennsylvania
- **Decided:** April 20, 2022
- **Opinion:** 100trialcourt
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10403177

## Opinion text

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

KATRINA FUHRER,
Case No. 2:21-cv-05040-JDW

Plaintiff,

v.

THE HARTFORD LIFE & ACCIDENT

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM

Following her husband’s death in 2019, Katrina Fuhrer hired a lawyer to pursue
benefits from The Hartford Life & Accident Insurance Company, but for some reason,
her lawyer did not pursue the remedies available under the ERISA benefit plan that
Hartford administered. In 2021, Ms. Fuhrer, represented by new counsel, tried to fix
that error. Unfortunately, the terms of the plan required a more timely effort to exhaust
administrative remedies. Because Ms. Fuhrer did not comply with the relevant
exhaustion requirements, and because nothing excused the exhaustion requirement,
the Court will grant Hartford’s Motion for judgment on the pleadings.
I. BACKGROUND
A. The Accident And The Policy
On April 6, 2019, Travis Fuhrer fell into a pond and drowned. At the time of his
death, Mr. Fuhrer was a Siemens Corporation employee and a plan participant under
the Siemens Corporation Employee Welfare Benefit Plan, Hartford Group Policy ADD-
S07545 (the “AD&D Plan”). As the claims administrator, Hartford makes the “full and
fair” final review of claims and insures the payment of benefits under the AD&D Plan.
Per the terms of the AD&D Plan, named beneficiaries must give Hartford

“written, electronic, or telephonic notice of a claim within 30 days … after the date of
death.” (ECF No. 1-7 at 6.) Within 45 days of receiving a Notice of a Claim, Hartford has
to send forms to the claimant to provide Proof of Loss, including diagnostic
examinations and any information required to adjudicate the claim. In response,
Hartford, “will make a decision no more than 90 days after the receipt of [a] properly
filed claim.” (Id. at 16.) These terms comply with 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1, which provides

that the deadline for claims decisions is “90 days after receipt of the claim by the plan.”
For any denied claim, the AD&D Plan provides that a claimant may appeal to
Hartford for a full and fair review. To do so, the claimant must submit a written review
request, and that request must be received by Hartford no later than 60 days from the
date the claimant received her claim denial. Hartford will make a final decision no more
than 60 days after it receives a timely appeal. A claimant must complete the claim

appeal process before filing an action in court.
B. Administrative Record
On April 23, 2019, Katrina Fuhrer submitted paperwork that notified Hartford of
her claim under the AD&D Plan for death benefits. On May 6, 2019, the Potter County
Coroner informed Hartford that he was still waiting on “autopsy/tox from the State” and
he expected a “long wait.” (ECF No. 1-9.) Three days later, Ms. Fuhrer called Hartford

to communicate that she would send in a “copy of birth cert and soc sec cards.” (ECF
No. 1-10.) On July 29, 2019, the Potter County Coroner faxed a Coroner’s Report to
Hartford. By letter dated July 31, 2019, Hartford denied Ms. Fuhrer’s claim for death
benefits under the AD&D Plan.

On August 13, 2019, through her then counsel Bruce Vickery, Ms. Fuhrer sent a
written letter to Hartford. In the letter, Mr. Vickery asked that Hartford “provide … a full
and complete copy of the accidental death and dismemberment policy at your earliest
convenience,” as well as “any and all documents, records, or information that was used
during your review process.” (ECF No. 6-3 at 1.) Mr. Vickery explained that “once we’ve
had an opportunity to review the complete terms of the policy, we will be in a position

to provide you with a letter that sets forth our position.” (Id. at 2.) Mr. Vickery also noted
“the reasons for the exclusion as explained in your correspondence dated July 31,
2019 are ambiguous and not necessarily applicable.” (Id.) Finally, Mr. Vickery argued
that there was “no evidence to infer” Mr. Fuhrer’s death was from a cause not covered
by the plan. (Id.)
Hartford responded to Mr. Vickery’s letter on August 23, 2019, and stated that it

would provide a copy of the claim file and noted that “any complete appeal must be
submitted to [Hartford] within 60 days of the date of our claim decision.” (ECF No. 6-
4.) Hartford provided the claim file 6 days later, on August 29, 2019. Mr. Vickery did
not submit any additional information, and neither he nor Hartford had any further
communication regarding the claim.
On June 1, 2021, Ms. Fuhrer sent an appeal letter to Hartford through new

counsel. Hartford denied this appeal, stating “we have determined that your June 1,
2021 letter was submitted beyond the specified 60-day appeal period and, because of
its late submission, cannot be considered.” The denial also noted the claim decision
was final because “you did not exhaust your administrative remedies on the Policy and

ERISA by filing a timely appeal.” (ECF No. 6-7 at 2.) There is no record of any further
contact between Hartford and any attorney for Ms. Fuhrer.
C. Procedural History
On November 16, 2021, Ms. Fuhrer filed a complaint to recover life insurance
benefits pursuant to Section 1132 of ERISA. Hartford answered and attached many of
the documents that Ms. Fuhrer referenced in her Complaint. On January 31, 2022,

Hartford filed a Motion For Judgment On The Pleadings. Pursuant to Local Rule 7.1(c),
Ms. Fuhrer’s response to Hartford’s motion was due by February 14, 2022, but she did
not respond or ask for an extension to do so. On February 24, 2022, the Court granted
Hartford’s motion as unopposed. On March 3, 2022, Ms. Fuhrer filed a Motion For
Relief from a Final Judgment Under Federal Rule Of Civil Procedure 60(b), and the
Court granted Ms. Fuhrer’s motion on March 31, 2022. Ms. Fuhrer responded to

Hartford’s Motion For Judgment On The Pleadings on April 7, 2022.
II. LEGAL STANDARD
Courts evaluate a motion for judgment on the pleadings under the same
standards as a motion to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(6). See Wolfington v. Reconstructive
Orthapaedic Assocs. II PC, 935 F.3d 187, 195 (3d Cir. 2019). A court “may not grant the
motion unless the movant clearly establishes that no material issue of fact remains to

be resolved and that he is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Id. (quote omitted).
In making that determination, the Court must take facts presented in the pleadings as
true and draw all reasonable inferences in favor of the non-moving party. See id. The
Court may consider only “the complaint, exhibits attached to the complaint, matters of

public record, and undisputedly authentic documents if the complainant’s claims are
based upon these documents.” Id. (quote omitted).
III. DISCUSSION
A. Materials Considered
Hartford attached to its Answer several documents that demonstrate the claims
history, including Mr. Vickery’s letter to Hartford in August 2019, Hartford’s response,

Ms. Fuhrer’s counsel’s letter dated June 1, 2021, and Hartford’s response. Both Parties
rely on those documents in their briefs, so the Court concludes that there is no dispute
about their authenticity. In addition, the Court concludes that Ms. Fuhrer bases her
claims in part on those documents because she alleges in her Complaint that she
“properly and timely appealed” Hartford’s denial of benefits and that Hartford “upheld
its adverse benefit determination and informed Plaintiffs that no further appeal would

be considered.” (ECF No. 1 at ¶¶ 25-26.) The documents all relate to that appeal and
denial, so the Court can consider them without converting the motion to one for
summary judgment.
B. The AD&D Plan Requires Exhaustion
A plaintiff must exhaust the remedies that an ERISA plan provides before
bringing a claim in court to enforce the terms of that plan. See D’Amico v. CBS Corp.,
297 F.3d 287, 291 (3d Cir. 2002). The AD&D Plan sets forth an appeal process and
states that a claimant “must complete this claim appeal process before [the claimant]
file[s] an action in court.” (ECF No. 1-7 at 16.) Ms. Fuhrer argues that the AD&D Plan
does not require exhaustion because it says that a claimant “may” file an appeal.” (ECF

No. 15 at 9.) But that argument does not read the AD&D Plan as a whole. The Plan does
not require claimants to appeal. They can always accept Hartford’s initial decision. But,
if they want to challenge Hartford’s decision, then the Plaint’s requirement that
claimants “must” complete the claim appeal process imposes a mandatory
requirement. Therefore, Ms. Fuhrer had to exhaust her remedies.
C. Hartford’s Conduct Did Not Excuse The Exhaustion Requirement

Ms. Fuhrer’s initial claim to Hartford was complete on July 29, 2019, when
Hartford received the Potter County Coroner’s Report. Under both the terms of the
AD&D Plan and 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1, Hartford had “90 days after receipt of the claim
by the plan” to make claims decisions. Hartford did not need that much time, though.
It denied Ms. Fuhrer’s claim on July 31, 2019, a mere two days after it received the
report. So its denial was timely.

Ms. Fuhrer argues that Hartford’s denial was too late because it came 99 days
after she initially notified Hartford about her claim and that the Court should deem her
to have satisfied the AD&D Plan’s exhaustion requirement pursuant to 29 C.F.R. §
2560.503-1(1)(1). But the AD&D Plan distinguishes between an initial Notice of Claim
and a completed claim. In fact, it gives a claimant 45 days to send all information
necessary to adjudicate a claim after the claimant submits a Notice. Hartford’s time to

make a decision does not begin to run until the claimant submits all necessary
information. The claim file, which Ms. Fuhrer attached to her Complaint, indicates that
Ms. Fuhrer was aware of this distinction because, as of May 9, 2019, she was
communicating with Hartford about the need to submit additional information to

Hartford.
Even if Ms. Fuhrer filed a claim on April 23, 2019, and triggered Hartford’s 90-
day response period, the Court would not deem her to have exhausted under Section
2560.501-1 because any delay in Hartford’s response was de minimus. De minimus
violations are ones “that do not cause, and are not likely to cause, prejudice or harm to
the claimant so long as the plan demonstrates that the violation was for good cause or

due to matters beyond the control of the plan and that the violation occurred in the
context of an ongoing, good faith exchange of information between the plan and the
claimant.” 29 C.F.R. § 2560.503-1(l)(2)(ii). Hartford notified Ms. Fuhrer of its
determination on July 31, 2019, just two days after receiving the required coroner’s
report. Ms. Fuhrer has not alleged that the delay caused any prejudice or harm; the
Parties were exchanging information required to adjudicate the claim, and the delay

was due to the Coroner’s “long wait” for the autopsy and toxicology from the State.
Thus, even if Hartford’s notification was late, the 9-day delay was de minimus. And
nothing about that delay prevented Ms. Fuhrer from filing a timely appeal.
D. Ms. Fuhrer Failed To Exhaust Her Administrative Remedies
Once Ms. Fuhrer received Hartford’s denial, she had 60 days to file an appeal.
But she did not file an appeal until June 1, 2021, almost two years later. That untimely

submission did not fulfill her obligation under the AD&D Plan.
Ms. Fuhrer argues that Mr. Vickery’s letter dated August 13, 2019, qualifies as an
appeal. Even construing the letter in the light most favorable to Ms. Fuhrer, however,
the Court cannot agree. Under the AD&D Plan, a claimant may request a review of a

denial by requesting “a review upon written application.” (ECF No. 1-10 at 7.) Mr.
Vickery’s letter did not make a written application. It did not request a review, nor did
it state that it was appealing the claim denial. To the contrary, the letter says, “once
we’ve had an opportunity to review the complete terms of the policy, we will be in a
position to provide you with a letter that sets forth our position.” (ECF No. 6-3 at 2.) On
its face, the letter did not appeal; it asked for information so that Mr. Vickery could

prepare an appeal.
IV. CONCLUSION
Ms. Fuhrer was required to exhaust administrative remedies before gaining
access to the courts. She did not, and her claim therefore fails as matter of law. An
appropriate Order follows.
BY THE COURT:

/s/ Joshua D. Wolson
JOSHUA D. WOLSON, J.
April 20, 2022

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10403177. Public record. Not legal advice.
