# Pabon v. Commissioner of Social Security

> District Court, E.D. New York · September 5, 2023

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10310340

## Case

- **Court:** District Court, E.D. New York
- **Decided:** September 5, 2023
- **Opinion:** 100trialcourt
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10310340

## Opinion text

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
------------------------------------x

ALEXANDER PABON,

Plaintiff, MEMORANDUM & ORDER
20-CV-3043 (EK)
-against-

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY,

Defendant.

------------------------------------x
ERIC KOMITEE, United States District Judge:
Plaintiff Alexander Pabon challenges the Social
Security Administration’s denial of his claim for disability
insurance benefits. Before the Court are the parties’ cross-
motions for judgment on the pleadings. For the following
reasons, I grant the Commissioner’s motion and deny Pabon’s
motion.
I. Background
A. Procedural Background
In October 2014, Pabon applied for disability
benefits, alleging that he cannot work because of certain back
problems. He claims a disability onset date of January 27,
2014. Administrative Tr. (“Tr.”) 10, ECF No. 7. The agency
denied his claim. Id. at 150. An administrative law judge
(“ALJ”) held a hearing in March of 2017, id. at 25, and later
concluded that Pabon was not disabled. Id. at 125-43. The
agency’s Appeals Council granted Pabon’s request for review of
the ALJ’s decision and remanded the case for further fact-
finding regarding whether Pabon requires the use of a cane, as

well as further evaluation of Pabon’s residual functional
capacity and educational level. Id. at 146-48. A new ALJ, Mark
Solomon, held a hearing on November 20, 2018. Id. at 55. Like
the prior ALJ, Solomon also concluded that Pabon is not
disabled. Id. at 7-18. The Appeals Council denied Pabon’s
request for review, rendering ALJ Solomon’s decision final. Id.
at 1-4. Pabon timely sought review of that decision in this
Court. ECF No. 1.
B. The ALJ’s Disability Evaluation
Under the Social Security Act, “disability” is defined
as the “inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity
by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental

impairment . . . which has lasted or can be expected to last for
a continuous period of not less than 12 months.” 42 U.S.C.
§ 423(d)(1)(A). The Social Security Administration’s
regulations require ALJs to follow a five-step sequence in
evaluating disability claims. 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4).
First, the ALJ determines whether the claimant is
engaged in substantial gainful activity. Id.
§ 404.1520(a)(4)(i), (b). If not, then at step two, the ALJ
evaluates whether the claimant has a “severe impairment” — that
is, an impairment or a combination of impairments that
“significantly limits” his “physical or mental ability to do
basic work activities.” Id. § 404.1520(a)(4)(ii), (c). If the

ALJ identifies a severe impairment, then at step three, he must
determine whether it meets or equals one of the impairments
listed in Appendix 1 of the regulations (the “Listed
Impairments”). Id. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iii), (d); see also id. pt.
404, subpt. P, app. 1. If it does, the ALJ will deem the
claimant disabled. Id. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iii).
Here, ALJ Solomon determined that Pabon had not
engaged in substantial gainful activity since the alleged onset
date. Tr. 13. He further determined that Pabon suffered from
the following “severe impairments”: lumbar degenerative disc
disease with disc bulges and herniation. Id. ALJ Solomon also
concluded, however, that none of these severe impairments rose
to the level of a Listed Impairment. Id. at 14.

When the ALJ finds that the claimant has severe
impairments that do not meet the requirements of the Listings,
he must determine the claimant’s residual functional capacity
(“RFC”), 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iv), which is the most that
the claimant can do in a work setting notwithstanding his
limitations. Id. § 404.1545(a)(1). Here, ALJ Solomon concluded
that Pabon had the RFC to perform “light work” with limitations.
Tr. 14-16. And the ALJ made a series of detailed findings
regarding those limitations.
Among other things, he found that Pabon could sit for

six hours in an eight-hour workday, but only for up to forty-
five minutes at a time; and that he could stand for three hours
in an eight-hour workday, but only for thirty minutes at a time.
Id. at 14. To the extent Pabon’s work required him to sit, he
would need to be permitted short walks (while remaining on
task); and to the extent the job required him to stand, he would
need to be permitted to sit for two to three minutes, while
(again) remaining on task. Id. Pabon could, the ALJ found,
walk for three hours in an eight-hour workday, but only for
twenty minutes at a time, and he would have to sit for two to
three minutes while remaining on task. Id. He could lift and
carry twenty pounds occasionally, and ten pounds frequently;

could not balance, crawl, or climb ropes, ladders, or scaffolds;
could occasionally stoop, crouch, and kneel; and had to avoid
working at unprotected heights with hazardous machinery, or in
extreme cold. Id.
At step four, the ALJ considers whether, in light of
the RFC determination, the claimant could perform “past relevant
work.” 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(a)(4)(iv), (f). ALJ Solomon found
that Pabon could not perform any of his past work as a cleaner
or a security guard and supervisor. Tr. 16-17. At step five,
the ALJ evaluates whether the claimant could perform jobs
existing in significant numbers in the national economy. 20
C.F.R. §404.1520(a)(4)(v), (g). ALJ Solomon determined that

Pabon could perform such jobs, including as a routing clerk,
mail clerk, or assembler of small products. Tr. 17-18. Given
that determination, ALJ Solomon concluded that Pabon was not
disabled. Id. at 18.
II. Standard of Review
A district court has jurisdiction to review the final
judgment of the Commissioner denying an application for Social
Security disability benefits. 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). The review
is limited to two questions: whether substantial evidence
supports the Commissioner’s decision, and whether the
Commissioner applied the correct legal standards. Moran v.
Astrue, 569 F.3d 108, 112 (2d Cir. 2009).

“Substantial evidence means more than a mere
scintilla. It means such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind
might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Burgess v.
Astrue, 537 F.3d 117, 127 (2d Cir. 2008).1 “[I]f supported by
substantial evidence,” the Commissioner’s factual findings
“shall be conclusive.” 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

1 Unless otherwise noted, when quoting judicial decisions this order
accepts all alterations and omits all citations, footnotes, and internal
quotation marks.
II. Discussion
Pabon raises two interrelated arguments on appeal —
that ALJ Solomon’s RFC determination was not supported by

substantial evidence, and that it resulted from a misapplication
of the relevant legal standards. Mem. of Law in Supp. of Pl.’s
Mot. for J. on the Pleadings (“Pl. Mem.”) 7-8, ECF No. 8-1.
Specifically, he argues that with respect to the questions of
whether Pabon (1) requires the use of a cane and (2) has marked
functional limitations that preclude his ability to work, ALJ
Solomon erred by affording more weight to the opinions of Dr.
Allan Levine, M.D., an orthopedic medical expert, than those of
Dr. Suzannah Berlyne, M.D., the agency’s consultative physician.
Pl. Mem. 11-12.
While Dr. Berlyne opined that the use of a cane is
medically necessary for Pabon and that he had marked limitations

in several functional categories, Dr. Levine opined that Pabon
did not require the use of a cane and had a greater functional
capacity. As set forth below, substantial evidence supports ALJ
Solomon’s resolution of those conflicting opinions, and the
record shows that he properly applied the relevant legal
standards to reach that result. Accordingly, Pabon’s claim
fails.
“Genuine conflicts in the medical evidence are for the
Commissioner to resolve.” Veino v. Barnhart, 312 F.3d 578, 588
(2d Cir. 2002). This means that where the opinions of two
medical professionals conflict, the ALJ has the discretion to
“choose between properly submitted medical opinions.” Balsamo
v. Chater, 142 F.3d 75, 81 (2d Cir. 2018); see also Genier v.
Astrue, 606 F.3d 46, 49 (2d Cir. 2010) (“Even where the

administrative record may also adequately support contrary
findings on particular issues, the ALJ’s factual findings must
be given conclusive effect so long as they are supported by
substantial evidence.”).
As ALJ Solomon noted, there were conflicts between the
opinions of Drs. Berlyne and Levine. Tr. 16. Dr. Berlyne, a
doctor of internal medicine who examined Pabon in connection
with his claim at the agency’s request, provided a restrictive
opinion of his physical capabilities. She found that Pabon had
marked limitations for walking long distances, climbing stairs,

standing for prolonged periods of time, lifting, carrying,
pulling, and pushing. Id. at 642. She also determined that a
cane was medically necessary. Id. Dr. Levine, a board-
certified orthopedist who testified at the hearing before the
ALJ as an impartial medical expert in orthopedics, disagreed
with Dr. Berlyne’s findings. After reviewing Pabon’s medical
record, he opined that Dr. Berlyne’s findings of marked
limitations with walking, standing, and sitting made “no sense”
and were “not compatible” with certain examination findings —
including that Pabon had normal strength and reflexes, no
sensory deficit, and no atrophy in the extremities. Id. at 86.
He also opined that the record did not establish the medical

necessity for Pabon to use a cane; to the contrary, in Dr.
Levine’s view, a cane would have worsened Pabon’s impairments by
placing undue stress on his back. Id. at 82-83. After the
hearing, ALJ Solomon followed up with Dr. Levine and sent him
certain interrogatories to complete after reviewing additional
files. Dr. Levine responded that his opinion remained
unchanged. Id. at 1091.
Faced with conflicting opinions, ALJ Solomon was
entitled to reject portions of the medical-opinion evidence that
were not supported by the record, and instead credit the
portions that were supported. Although the regulations “give
more weight to the medical opinion of a source who has examined”

a claimant than one who has not, 20 C.F.R. § 404.1527(c)(1),
“[t]here is no requirement that the agency accept the opinion of
a consultative examiner concerning a claimant’s limitations.”
Pellam v. Astrue, 508 F. App’x 87, 89-90 (2d Cir. 2013). The
ALJ “was entitled to weigh all of the evidence available to make
an RFC finding that was consistent with the record as a whole.”
Matta v. Astrue, 508 F. App’x 53, 56 (2d Cir. 2013).
Here, Dr. Berlyne’s opinion that Pabon’s use of a cane
was medically necessary conflicted not only with Dr. Levine’s
testimony, but also with other medical evidence in the record,
including Dr. Berlyne’s own treatment notes, as the ALJ noted.
Tr. 16. Indeed, her notes stated that Pabon’s gait and stance

were “normal,” that “[t]here was not much of a difference in the
gait with and without the device,” and that Pabon “uses [the
cane] only outdoors.” Id. at 640-41. Accordingly, ALJ Solomon
did not err in concluding — contrary to Dr. Berlyne — that Pabon
does not require a cane. See Smith v. Colvin, No. 12-CV-1098,
2015 WL 3970932, at *9 (W.D.N.Y. June 30, 2015) (where plaintiff
“failed to establish that his assistive device was medically
required,” “the ALJ did not err by excluding it from his
residual functional capacity determination”).
Further, Dr. Berlyne’s opinions regarding both the
medical necessity of a cane and Pabon’s functional limitations
were inconsistent with the reports of other doctors who examined

Pabon. For example, Pabon was examined by multiple primary care
physicians at his pain management clinic. Dr. Tatyana
Braslavskaya and Dr. Syed Sabzposh both noted that Pabon walked
with the help of a cane, but neither indicated that it was
medically necessary. Tr. 974, 987. Moreover, Dr. Sohan Nagrani
reported that during a physical examination in 2018, Pabon
showed full strength in the bilateral extremities, full
sensation, full knee range of motion with some crepitus, full
range of motion in the lumbar spine despite some pain at the
endpoints, and “negative” (i.e., painless) straight-leg raises.
Id. at 979-81.
Still, Pabon argues that ALJ Solomon erred by

crediting Dr. Levine’s opinions over Dr. Berlyne’s because Dr.
Levine did not personally examine Pabon. Pl. Mem. 12. But ALJ
Solomon was entitled to accord greater weight to the opinions of
Dr. Levine, whose expertise in orthopedics was particularly
relevant for assessing Pabon’s ability to walk without a cane
and his functional limitations, after concluding that those
opinions were supported by the medical record. Indeed, even if
Dr. Berlyne were a treating (rather than merely a consultative)
physician, ALJ Solomon would not have erred by placing greater
weight on Dr. Levine’s opinions; the regulations “permit the
opinions of nonexamining sources to override treating sources’
opinions provided they are supported by evidence in the record.”
Diaz v. Shalala, 59 F.3d 307, 313 n.5 (2d Cir. 1995); see also
Garcia v. Colvin, No. 14-CV-4798, 2015 WL 4603422, at *6

(E.D.N.Y. July 30, 2015) (“[W]here the medical adviser who is a
specialist in the area gives a medically informed, pointed, and
responsive rebuttal to the treating physicians’ conclusions,
then unless the federal court can find something obviously
lacking in that rebuttal, it is hard to disagree with the ALJ’s
determination to accept it.”). Here, the ALJ found that Dr.
Levine’s opinions were supported by the record, which, as
discussed above, shows that Pabon generally had a normal gait
and stance without a cane, normal strength except on one
occasion, performed straight-leg raises without pain, and

completed range-of-motion tests that did not suggest significant
limits. E.g., Tr. 640-643, 979-81. In sum, “substantial
evidence supported the ALJ’s decision not to adopt many of [the
consultative examiner’s] conclusions.” Pellam, 508 F. App’x at
89-90.
IV. Conclusion
For the reasons set forth above, the Court grants the
Commissioner’s motion for judgment on the pleadings and denies
Pabon’s motion. The Clerk of Court is respectfully directed to
enter judgment and close the case.
SO ORDERED.

/s/ Eric Komitee

ERIC KOMITEE
United States District Judge

Dated: September 5, 2023

Brooklyn, New York

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10310340. Public record. Not legal advice.
