# Aponte v. Saul

> District Court, E.D. New York · July 6, 2022

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10308119

## Case

- **Court:** District Court, E.D. New York
- **Decided:** July 6, 2022
- **Opinion:** 100trialcourt
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10308119

## Opinion text

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK
-----------------------------------------------x
JESUS APONTE
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
Plaintiff,
Case No. 20-cv-4150
-against-

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL
SECURITY,

Defendant.
------------------------------------------------x
Appearances: For the Defendant:
For the Plaintiff: DENNIS J. CANNING
RICHARD BLAKE SEELIG MEGHAN MCEVOY
Seelig Law Offices, LLC Social Security Administration
299 Broadway, Suite 1600 Office of the General Counsel
New York, NY 10007 601 E. 12th St, Rm. 965
K ansas City, MO 64106

BLOCK, Senior District Judge:
Jesus Aponte seeks review of the Commissioner of Social Security’s denial of
his application for disability insurance benefits. Both parties move for judgment on
the pleadings.1 For the following reasons, Aponte’s motion should be granted, the
Commissioner’s motion should be denied, and the case should be remanded for
further administrative proceedings.

1 Aponte moves for relief under 42 U.S.C. 405(g), which authorizes the Court to enter
“a judgment affirming, modifying, or reversing the decision of the Commissioner of
Social Security, with or without remanding the cause for a rehearing.”
I.
Aponte applied for Social Security Disability Insurance (“SSDI”) on or about
June 4, 2018, claiming a disability onset date of November 30, 2015. The

Commissioner denied his application about three months later, and Aponte requested
a hearing before an administrative law judge (“ALJ”). Plaintiff appeared before ALJ
Dina Lowey on December 17, 2019.

After the hearing, the ALJ determined that Aponte suffered from several
“severe impairments,” including: “degenerative disc disease of the cervical, thoracic,
and lumbar spine; degenerative joint disease of the right shoulder; bilateral carpal
tunnel syndrome; obstructive sleep apnea; and obesity.” A.R. 18.

However, the ALJ concluded that the plaintiff “does not have an impairment or
combination of impairments that meets or medically equals the severity of one of the
listed impairments in 20 CFR Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix .1.” A.R. 19. As such,

the ALJ labeled the plaintiff not disabled under sections 216(1) and 22(d) of the
Social Security Act, denying Aponte the disability insurance benefits for the period
for which he had applied. On July 10, 2020, the Appeals Council denied Aponte’s
request for review. This appeal followed.

II.
“In reviewing a final decision of the Commissioner, a district court must
determine whether the correct legal standards were applied and whether substantial
evidence supports the decision.” Butts v. Barnhart, 388 F.3d 377, 384 (2d Cir. 2004);
see also 42 U.S.C. § 405(g). “[S]ubstantial evidence ... means such relevant evidence
as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Richardson v.

Perales, 402 U.S. 389, 401 (1971); see also Selian v. Astrue, 708 F.3d 409, 417 (2d Cir.
2013).
III.
Remand is appropriate in this case. In making her determination, the ALJ
improperly relied on her own judgement rather than the substantiated medical
opinions presented. This is an error of law that necessitates remand.

The ALJ is a layperson, not a medical doctor. Therefore, she is neither capable
of nor permitted to interpret or judge the validity of raw medical data in determining a

plaintiff’s residual functional capacity (“RFC”). See Peed v. Sullivan, 778 F. Supp.
1241, 1246-47 (E.D.N.Y. 1991). While in certain cases she may afford greater weight
to a medical opinion that conflicts with another, she may not substitute her own
opinion for any medical recommendations with which she personally disagrees:

With no statements in the record about functional abilities, however, the Court
is forced to conclude that the ALJ crossed the line between selecting credible
providers and filling in where those providers were wholly silent. The latter is
not permitted and requires remand.

Deubell v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec., No. 18-CV-935 HBS, 2019 WL 5781860, at *4
(W.D.N.Y. Nov. 6, 2019) (collecting cases); see also Hilsdorf v. Comm’r. of Soc. Sec.,
724 F. Supp. 2d 330, 347 (E.D.N.Y. 2010) (“Because an RFC determination is a
medical determination, an ALJ who makes an RFC determination in the absence of
supporting expert medical opinion has improperly substituted his own opinion for that
of a physician, and has committed legal error.”).

Dr. Perez, one of Aponte’s treating physicians, is a board-certified physiatrist
who specializes in treating patients with disabilities. In October 2016, Dr. Perez began
treating Aponte for his low back and bilateral leg pain and examined him more than

one dozen times over approximately three years, conducting multiple X-rays, MRIs
and an electrodiagnostic examination. See A.R. 682. In December of 2019, Dr. Perez
found Aponte to be “disabled and unable to maintain even a ‘sedentary type job’”
A.R. 27. Despite Dr. Perez supporting this finding with detailed treatment records and

a narrative report, the ALJ found his recommendation “unpersuasive.” Id. Instead, the
ALJ concluded that:
[W]hile the record reflects significant degenerative disc disease on MRI’s [sic],
the claimant’s daily activities which include being the primary caretaker for his
two elderly obese parents, and the conservative course of treatment are
inconsistent with the debilitating degree of functional limitation that Dr. Perez
described.

A.R. 27. With this conclusion, the ALJ dismissed the severity of Aponte’s condition
based on her own judgement of Aponte’s activities and medical state. As such, the
ALJ provided a recommendation based on cherry-picked evidence which together did
not demonstrate Aponte to be severely disabled. Then, in her residual functional
capacity assessment (“RFC”), the ALJ determined that the plaintiff:
[H]as the residual functional capacity to perform light work . . . except that he
can occasionally climb ramps or stairs but never climb ladders, ropes or
scaffolds. He can occasionally balance, stoop, kneel, crouch, and crawl. He can
occasionally engage in overhead reaching with the right arm. He can
occasionally push and pull with the right arm. He can frequently handle and
finger. He can never have even moderate exposure to hazardous machinery and
unprotected heights.
A.R. 20.
As with Dr. Perez, the ALJ willfully dismissed certain medical evidence
presented by Dr. Silvia Aguiar, prescribing a recommendation based on her own
assessment of Aponte’s health rather than the physician’s findings. On July 25, 2018,
Dr. Aguiar, an internal medicine practitioner, performed a consultive examination on
Aponte, which included a physical examination and two x-rays. A.R. 563. She opined
that Aponte had:

[M]arked limitations to perform any positional activities that require balance,
operate heavy machinery, operate motor vehicles, and heights [. . .] The
claimant also has moderate to marked limitations to bending, heavy lifting,
carrying, prolonged standing, prolonged walking, reaching overhead with the
right upper extremity and pushing, pulling with the right upper extremity, and
crouching.
A.R. 563-564.
In analyzing Dr. Aguiar’s conclusions, the ALJ instead decided that such limitations –
namely that the plaintiff suffered from marked to moderate limitations – were
unfounded because they were inconsistent with “claimant’s activities during the
period at issue that included caring for, and lifting, his obese and elderly parents.”
A.R. 27. However, the ALJ did not have the authority to come to this medically
driven conclusion. “[An ALJ] is not allowed to play doctor by using her own lay
opinions to fill in evidentiary gaps in the record.” Suide v. Astrue, 317 Fed. Appx.
684, 690 (7th Cir. 2010); see also Collins v. Berryhill, No. 16-CV-6673 (PKC), 2018

WL 259282 (E.D.N.Y. Jan. 2, 2018) (adopting Suide’s reasoning).
As such, the ALJ replaced substantiated medical evidence with her own
layperson’s conclusions. This is an impermissible legal error which requires remand.

CONCLUSION
Aponte’s motion is GRANTED, and the Commissioner’s motion is DENIED.
The ALJ’s judgement of the severity of Aponte’s impairment was undermined by legal
error. Accordingly, the case is REMANDED for further administrative proceedings
consistent with this order.

SO ORDERED.

_/S/ Frederic Block___________
FREDERIC BLOCK
Senior United States District Judge

Brooklyn, New York
July 6, 2022

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10308119. Public record. Not legal advice.
