# MONTERO v. COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL SECURITY

> District Court, D. New Jersey · June 29, 2022

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10273412

## Case

- **Court:** District Court, D. New Jersey
- **Decided:** June 29, 2022
- **Opinion:** 100trialcourt
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10273412

## How later opinions describe it (automated extraction)

- noting that a claimant’s past work was classified as medium level jobs, but the claimant performed those prior jobs at the light level
- explaining that because “[t]he law and regulations governing the determination of disability are the same for both disability insurance benefits and [supplemental security income],” “[w]e provide citations only to the regulations respecting disability insurance benefits”
- describing the ALJ’s burden at step five

## Opinion text

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

MARISOL M.,

Plaintiff, 1:20-cv-08993-NLH

v. OPINION

COMMISSIONER OF SOCIAL
SECURITY,1

Defendant.

APPEARANCES:

ADRIENNE FREYA JARVIS
800 NORTH KINGS HIGHWAY
SUITE 304
CHERRY HILL, NJ 08034

On behalf of Plaintiff

ANTONIA MARIA ADAM
EMILY BRESLIN MARKOS
SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION
OFFICE OF THE GENERAL COUNSEL
300 SPRING GARDEN STREET, 6TH FLOOR
PHILADELPHIA, PA 19123

On behalf of Defendant

HILLMAN, District Judge

This matter comes before the Court pursuant to Section
205(g) of the Social Security Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §

1 On July 9, 2021, Kilolo Kijakazi became the Acting Commissioner
of the Social Security Administration.
405(g), regarding Plaintiff’s application for Disability
Insurance Benefits (“DIB”)2 under Title II of the Social Security
Act. 42 U.S.C. § 423, et seq. It is also before the Court

under § 1614(a)(3)(A) of the Social Security Act, as amended 42
U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3(A), regarding Plaintiff’s application for
supplemental security income (“SSI”)3 under Title XVI of the
Social Security Act. 42 U.S.C. § 1381 et seq. The issue before
the Court is whether the Administrative Law Judge (“ALJ”) erred
in finding that there was “substantial evidence” that Plaintiff
was not disabled at any time since her alleged onset date of
disability, July 2, 2013. For the reasons stated below, this
Court will reverse that decision and remand the matter for
further proceedings.
I. BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY
On August 25, 2016, Plaintiff, filed an application for

DIB, alleging that she became disabled on July 2, 2013. (ECF 12

2 DIB is a program under the Social Security Act to provide
disability benefits when a claimant with a sufficient number of
quarters of insured employment has suffered such a mental or
physical impairment that the claimant cannot perform substantial
gainful employment for at least twelve months. 42 U.S.C. § 423
et seq.

3 SSI is a program under the Social Security Act that provides
supplemental security income to individuals who have attained
age 65, or are blind or disabled. 42 U.S.C. § 1381 et seq.

2
at 1). Plaintiff claims that she can no longer work as a
cleaner because of her severe impairments, including spine
disorder, asthma, diabetes mellitus, dysfunction of major joint

(left shoulder), disorder of muscle/fascia (left ankle),
hypertension, obesity, aortic valve disease, gastrointestinal
disorder, migraine, and persistent depressive disorder.4 (Id. at
2).
Plaintiff’s initial claim was denied on November 9, 2016
(R. 391), and upon reconsideration on June 27, 2017 (R. at 406).
Plaintiff requested a hearing before an ALJ, which was held on
March 19, 2019. (Id .at 15). On May 9, 2019, the ALJ issued an
unfavorable decision. Plaintiff’s Request for Review of Hearing
Decision was denied by the Appeals Council on June 24, 2020 (Id.
at 1-5), making the ALJ’s May 9, 2019 decision final. Plaintiff
brings this civil action for review of the Commissioner’s

decision.
II. DISCUSSION
A. Standard of Review
Under 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), Congress provided for judicial

4 On the alleged onset date of July 2, 2013, Plaintiff was 38
years old, which is defined as “a younger individual” (age 18-
49). 20 C.F.R. § 404.1563.

3
review of the Commissioner’s decision to deny a complainant’s
application for social security benefits.5 Ventura v. Shalala,
55 F.3d 900, 901 (3d Cir. 1995). A reviewing court must uphold

the Commissioner’s factual decisions where they are supported by
“substantial evidence.” 42 U.S.C. §§ 405(g), 1383(c)(3);
Fargnoli v. Massanari, 247 F.3d 34, 38 (3d Cir. 2001); Sykes v.
Apfel, 228 F.3d 259, 262 (3d Cir. 2000); Williams v. Sullivan,
970 F.2d 1178, 1182 (3d Cir. 1992). Substantial evidence means
more than “a mere scintilla.” Richardson v. Perales, 402 U.S.
389, 401 (1971)(quoting Consolidated Edison Co. V. NLRB, 305
U.S. 197, 229 (1938)). It means “such relevant evidence as a
reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a
conclusion.” Id. The inquiry is not whether the reviewing
court would have made the same determination, but whether the

5 The standard for determining whether a claimant is disabled is
the same for both DIB and SSI. See Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399
F.3d 546, 551 n.1 (3d Cir. 2005) (citation omitted). DIB
regulations are found at 20 C.F.R. §§ 404.1500-404.1599, and the
parallel SSI regulations are found at 20 C.F.R. §§ 416.900-
416.999, which correspond to the last two digits of the DIB
cites (e.g., 20 C.F.R. § 404.1545 corresponds with 20 C.F.R. §
416.945). The Court will provide citations only to the DIB
regulations. See Carmon v. Barnhart, 81 F. App'x 410, 411 n.1
(3d Cir. 2003) (explaining that because “[t]he law and
regulations governing the determination of disability are the
same for both disability insurance benefits and [supplemental
security income],” “[w]e provide citations only to the
regulations respecting disability insurance benefits”).

4
Commissioner’s conclusion was reasonable. See Brown v. Bowen,
845 F.2d 1211, 1213 (3d Cir. 1988).
A reviewing court has a duty to review the evidence in its

totality. See Daring v. Heckler, 727 F.2d 64, 70 (3d Cir.
1984). “[A] court must ‘take into account whatever in the
record fairly detracts from its weight.’” Schonewolf v.
Callahan, 972 F. Supp. 277, 284 (D.N.J. 1997) (quoting Willbanks
v. Secretary of Health & Human Servs., 847 F.2d 301, 303 (6th
Cir. 1988) (quoting Universal Camera Corp. V. NLRB, 340 U.S.
474, 488 (1951)).
The Commissioner “must adequately explain in the record his
reasons for rejecting or discrediting competent evidence.”
Ogden v. Bowen, 677 F. Supp. 273, 278 (M.D. Pa. 1987) (citing
Brewster v. Heckler, 786 F.2d 581 (3d Cir. 1986)). The Third
Circuit has held that an “ALJ must review all pertinent medical

evidence and explain his conciliations and rejections.” Burnett
v. Comm’r of Soc. Sec. Admin., 220 F.3d 112, 122 (3d Cir. 2000).
Similarly, an ALJ must also consider and weigh all the non-
medical evidence before him. Id. (citing Van Horn v. Schweiker,
717 F.2d 871, 873 (3d Cir. 1983)); Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d
700, 707 (3d Cir. 1981).
The Third Circuit has held that access to the

5
Commissioner’s reasoning is indeed essential to a meaningful
court review:
Unless the [Commissioner] has analyzed all
evidence and has sufficiently explained the
weight he has given to obviously probative
exhibits, to say that his decision is
supported by substantial evidence approaches
an abdication of the court’s duty to
scrutinize the record as a whole to
determine whether the conclusions reached
are rational.

Gober v. Matthews, 574 F.2d 772, 776 (3d Cir. 1978). Although
an ALJ, as the factfinder, must consider and evaluate the
medical evidence presented, Fargnoli, 247 F.3d at 42, “[t]here
is no requirement that the ALJ discuss in its opinion every
tidbit of evidence included in the record,” Hur v. Barnhart, 94
F. App’x 130, 133 (3d Cir. 2004). In terms of judicial review,
a district court is not “empowered to weigh the evidence or
substitute its conclusions for those of the fact-finder.”
Williams, 970 F.2d at 1182. However, apart from the substantial
evidence inquiry, a reviewing court is entitled to satisfy
itself that the Commissioner arrived at his decision by
application of the proper legal standards. Sykes, 228 F.3d at
262; Friedberg v. Schweiker, 721 F.2d 445, 447 (3d Cir. 1983);
Curtin v. Harris, 508 F. Supp. 791, 793 (D.N.J. 1981).

6
B. Standard for DIB and SSI
The Social Security Act defines “disability” for purposes
of an entitlement to a period of disability and disability

insurance benefits as the inability to engage in any substantial
gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable
physical or mental impairment which can be expected to result in
death, or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a
continuous period of not less than 12 months. See 42 U.S.C. §
1382c(a)(3)(A). Under this definition, a plaintiff qualifies as
disabled only if her physical or mental impairments are of such
severity that she is not only unable to perform her past
relevant work, but cannot, given her age, education, and work
experience, engage in any other type of substantial gainful work
which exists in the national economy, regardless of whether such
work exists in the immediate area in which she lives, or whether

a specific job vacancy exists for her, or whether she would be
hired if she applied for work. 42 U.S.C. § 1382c(a)(3)(B).
The Commissioner has promulgated regulations6 for
determining disability that require application of a five-step

6 The regulations were amended for various provisions effective
March 27, 2017. See 82 F.R. 5844. The parties do not indicate
that any of the amendments are applicable to the issues
presented by Plaintiff’s appeal.

7
sequential analysis. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520. This five-step
process is summarized as follows:
1. If the claimant currently is engaged in substantial
gainful employment, she will be found “not disabled.”

2. If the claimant does not suffer from a “severe
impairment,” she will be found “not disabled.”

3. If the severe impairment meets or equals a listed
impairment in 20 C.F.R. Part 404, Subpart P, Appendix
1 and has lasted or is expected to last for a
continuous period of at least twelve months, the
claimant will be found “disabled.”

4. If the claimant can still perform work she has done in
the past (“past relevant work”) despite the severe
impairment, she will be found “not disabled.”

5. Finally, the Commissioner will consider the claimant’s
ability to perform work (“residual functional
capacity”), age, education, and past work experience
to determine whether or not she is capable of
performing other work which exists in the national
economy. If she is incapable, she will be found
“disabled.” If she is capable, she will be found “not
disabled.”

20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(b)-(f). Entitlement to benefits is
therefore dependent upon a finding that the claimant is
incapable of performing work in the national economy.
This five-step process involves a shifting burden of proof.
See Wallace v. Secretary of Health & Human Servs., 722 F.2d
1150, 1153 (3d Cir. 1983). In the first four steps of the
analysis, the burden is on the claimant to prove every element
of her claim by a preponderance of the evidence. See id. In

8
the final step, the Commissioner bears the burden of proving
that work is available for the Plaintiff: “Once a claimant has
proved that he is unable to perform his former job, the burden

shifts to the Commissioner to prove that there is some other
kind of substantial gainful employment he is able to perform.”
Kangas v. Bowen, 823 F.2d 775, 777 (3d Cir. 1987); see Olsen v.
Schweiker, 703 F.2d 751, 753 (3d Cir. 1983).
C. Analysis
At step one, the ALJ found that Plaintiff had not engaged
in substantial gainful activity since the alleged onset of
disability. (R. at 18). At step two, the ALJ found that
Plaintiff’s impairments of spine disorder, asthma, diabetes
mellitus, dysfunction of major joint (left shoulder), disorder
of muscle/fascia (left ankle), hypertension, obesity, aortic
valve disease, gastrointestinal disorder, migraine, and

persistent depressive disorder were severe. (Id.) At step
three, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff’s severe impairments or
her severe impairments in combination with her other impairments
did not equal the severity of one of the listed impairments.
(Id. at 19). The ALJ then determined that Plaintiff’s residual
functional capacity (“RFC”) precluded her from performing her
past work as a cleaning, but her RFC rendered her capable of

9
performing work at the sedentary level,7 with some exertional and
environmental limitations (steps four and five). (Id. at 20-
21).

Plaintiff presents two arguments that the ALJ erred at step
five. Plaintiff contends that the ALJ erred in determining that
she was capable of performing sedentary level jobs because of a
faulty hypothetical question posed to the Vocational Expert
(“VE”). (ECF 12 at 1). Plaintiff argues that even though the
ALJ found Plaintiff, who was educated in Spanish and lived a
significant portion of her life in Puerto Rico, to be illiterate
in English, the ALJ did not convey that finding to the VE, who
then suggested jobs that require proficiency in speaking,
writing, and understanding English that Plaintiff does not
possess. (Id. at 4-5). Plaintiff also argues in the
alternative that even if the Court finds that the VE assumed

that Plaintiff was illiterate in English, the ALJ did not
solicit a “reasonable explanation” from the VE to explain the
discrepancy between the jobs proposed by the VE as described in
the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (the “DOT”) and

7 See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1567 (“Physical exertion requirements. To
determine the physical exertion requirements of work in the
national economy, we classify jobs as sedentary, light, medium,
heavy, and very heavy.”).

10
Plaintiff’s actual abilities as required by Social Security
Ruling (“SSR”) 00-4p.8 (Id. at 1).
1. The ALJ’s hypothetical to the VE at step five

At step five of the sequential step analysis, the burden is
on the Commissioner to show that an individual’s impairments do
not prevent her from performing other work that exists in the
national economy, considering her RFC together with the
vocational factors of age, education, and work experience. See
20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(f). In making that determination, an ALJ
will rely on the DOT, as well as testimony from VEs, for
information about the requirements of work in the national
economy. SSR 00-4p.
Occupational evidence provided by a VE generally should be
consistent with the occupational information supplied by the
DOT, but when there is an apparent unresolved conflict between

VE evidence and the DOT, the ALJ must elicit a reasonable
explanation for the conflict before relying on the VE evidence
to support a determination about whether the claimant is
disabled. Id. The ALJ must then explain in her decision how

8 See SSR 00-4p (“[B]efore relying on VE [] evidence to support a
disability determination or decision, our adjudicators must:
Identify and obtain a reasonable explanation for any conflicts
between occupational evidence provided by VEs [] and information
in the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT)”).

11
she resolved the conflict. Id.
In this case, the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was not
capable of performing her past work as a cleaner, which is a

heavy exertion level job. (R. at 30). The ALJ found that
“[t]he claimant is not able to communicate in English, and is
considered in the same way as an individual who is illiterate in
English.” 9 (Id.) The ALJ noted that a transferability of
skills analysis was not necessary because Plaintiff’s prior work
was unskilled. (Id.)
The ALJ’s assessment of Plaintiff’s education – i.e.,
Plaintiff’s illiteracy in English – and how the ALJ described
Plaintiff’s education to the VE is the crux of this aspect of
Plaintiff’s appeal. At the hearing, the ALJ posed the following
hypothetical to the VE:
I'll have you assume an individual of the claimant's
age and education, with the past work you've just
classified. Further, I'd like you to assume this

9 At the time that the ALJ rendered her decision, 20 C.F.R. §
404.1564(b) specifically referenced English language abilities
as opposed to fluency in other languages as relevant to an
assessment of a claimant’s education. The section, as revised
as of April 27, 2020, defines illiteracy more generally as an
inability to read and write without specific reference to
foreign languages. Courts since this change have construed the
ability to communicate specifically in English as salient to an
illiteracy determination. See Rodriguez v. Kijakazi, No. 8:21-
CV-681-T-SPF, 2022 WL 2156202, at *4 (M.D. Fla. June 15, 2022);
Valdizon v. Kijakazi, No. 1:20-CV-01271-SKO, 2022 WL 378656, at
*7 (E.D. Cal. Feb. 8, 2022).

12
individual is limited as follows. Assume they can lift and
carry no more than 20 pounds occasionally or 10 pounds
frequently, stand or walk six of eight hours and sit for
six of eight hours; only occasional ramps and stairs; no
ladders, ropes, or scaffolds; frequent balancing,
occasional stooping, kneeling, crouching, and crawling; no
exposure to extreme cold, heat, pulmonary irritants,
unprotected heights, or hazardous machinery; less than
occasional exposure to wetness, humidity, and vibration.
Assume the individual is able to understand, remember, and
carry out simple, routine, repetitive tasks involving
simple work-related decisions in a routine environment with
few if any workplace changes, and can work for two hours
before needing a break. Could that hypothetical individual
perform any of the past work?

(R. at 304-305).
The VE answered “no,” and stated that the hypothetical
individual described by the ALJ could perform the sedentary
level jobs of final assembler, optical goods (DOT #
713.687-018), lens inserter (DOT # 713.687-026), and compact
assembler (DOT # 739.687-026). (R. at 31). The DOT10 classifies

10 “The DOT is a vocational dictionary that lists and defines all
jobs available in the national economy and specifies what
qualifications are needed to perform each job.” Zirnsak v.
Colvin, 777 F.3d 607, 617 (3d Cir. 2014) (citing Appendix C,
Dictionary of Occupational Titles, available at
www.occupationalinfo.org/appendxc_1.html) (other citations
omitted). The qualification categories listed by the DOT for
each job include the job’s Strength level, General Educational
Development (“GED”) level, and its Specific Vocational
Preparation (“SVP”) level. Strength level “reflects the
estimated overall strength requirement of the job.” GED
measures the “those aspects of education (formal and informal)
which are required of the worker for satisfactory job
performance.” GED is broken into three categories: (1)
reasoning development, (2) mathematical development, and (3)

13
the first two jobs with a language development level of 1, which
requires:
Reading: Recognize meaning of 2,500 (two- or three-
syllable) words. Read at rate of 95-120 words per minute.
Compare similarities and differences between words and
between series of numbers.

Writing: Print simple sentences containing subject, verb,
and object, and series of numbers, names, and addresses.

Speaking: Speak simple sentences, using normal word order,
and present and past tenses.

The DOT classifies the last job of compact assembler with a
language development level of 2, which requires:
Reading: Passive vocabulary of 5,000-6,000 words. Read at
rate of 190-215 words per minute. Read adventure stories
and comic books, looking up unfamiliar words in dictionary
for meaning, spelling, and pronunciation. Read instructions
for assembling model cars and airplanes.

Writing: Write compound and complex sentences, using
cursive style, proper end punctuation, and employing
adjectives and adverbs.

Speaking: Speak clearly and distinctly with appropriate
pauses and emphasis, correct pronunciation, variations in
word order, using present, perfect, and future tenses.

DOT, Appendix C.

Plaintiff argues that the ALJ did not present a proper
hypothetical to the VE regarding the vocational factor of
education so that the VE could either modify his testimony

language development. Reasoning levels in the DOT range from
level 1 to level 6.

14
regarding the jobs Plaintiff was capable of performing, or
explain the apparent conflict between the language level
required by the suggested jobs and Plaintiff’s educational

level, which the ALJ deemed to be commensurate with illiteracy.
Because the VE was left in the dark as to Plaintiff’s apparent
lack of English language skills, Plaintiff argues that the ALJ
failed to fulfill her obligation under SSA regulations to elicit
a reasonable explanation for the conflict from the VE, and then
explain how she resolved the conflict in her decision.
The Court agrees. The testimony at the hearing regarding
Plaintiff’s education indicated that she understood and spoke
only some English and that she received her GED in Spanish. (R.
at 290-97). The hearing transcript does not contain clear
testimony regarding Plaintiff’s proficiency in English beyond
Plaintiff’s statement that she could understand “some, but not a

lot” of English, which was made through an interpreter at the
hearing. (Id. at 290). Thus, when the ALJ asked the VE to
consider a hypothetical individual with Plaintiff’s “education,”
the only information as to Plaintiff’s education available to
the VE on which to base her testimony was that Plaintiff
understood some English, completed her GED in Spanish, and used

15
an interpreter during the hearing.11
The ALJ’s hypothetical presents one problem that compounds
into a second problem. First, the ALJ’s hypothetical does not

fully apprise the VE of Plaintiff’s education, which is a
vocational factor that the ALJ must consider in tandem with
Plaintiff’s RFC. See 20 C.F.R. § 404.1520(f). Second, in her
decision the ALJ determined that Plaintiff was illiterate in
English, and that Plaintiff was capable of performing the three
jobs suggested by the VE. The ALJ failed, however, to reconcile

11 The Court finds its prior decision in Saez-Ortiz v. Comm'r of
Soc. Sec., No. 1:17-CV-06286-NLH, 2019 WL 324922, at *7 (D.N.J.
Jan. 25, 2019) to be particularly salient here. In Saez-Ortiz,
this Court was faced with a very similar situation in which the
plaintiff argued that the ALJ failed to provide the VE with a
hypothetical that accounted for the plaintiffs lack of English
proficiency and that that error was compounded because the ALJ
did not solicit from the VE a reasonable explanation as to why
she could perform certain jobs that the DOT listed as requiring
a higher level of proficiency in English than the plaintiff
possessed. See generally id. There, the Court found that the
lack of reference to the plaintiff’s language skills at the
hearing beyond the fact that she used an interpreter militated
against a finding that the VE took her language skills into
account when proposing potential jobs. Id. at *7. The facts in
the instant case are slightly less stark in that there is
specific reference in the hearing to the fact that Plaintiff
earned her GED in Spanish and that she did not understand a
great deal of English. However, as further explained in this
Opinion, the Court finds that those two passing references to
Plaintiff’s language skills does not make the ALJ’s boilerplate
reference to Plaintiff’s “education” in her hypothetical
accurate.

16
Plaintiff’s illiteracy with the language development levels of
the jobs suggested by the VE, who based her testimony on the
incomplete hypothetical. This is in contravention of the

regulations and Third Circuit law. See SSR 00-4p; Zirnsak v.
Colvin, 777 F.3d 607, 617 (3d Cir. 2014) (internal quotations
and citations omitted) (“As a general rule, occupational
evidence provided by a VE should be consistent with the
occupational evidence presented in the DOT,” and to ensure
consistency “an ALJ is required to (1) ask, on the record,
whether the VE’s testimony is consistent with the DOT, (2)
elicit a reasonable explanation where an inconsistency does
appear, and (3) explain in its decision how the conflict was
resolved.”).
Defendant argues that the ALJ did not err in these two
ways, but even if she did, those errors do not warrant remand,
because: (1) the Medical–Vocational Guidelines, or “Grids,”12

instruct that the inability to communicate in English has the
least significance when a claimant is found to be able to work

12 The Grids is a group of clear rules that dictate a finding of
disabled or not disabled based on a claimant’s vocational
factors (age, education, and work experience) and individual
RFC. See Medical–Vocational Guidelines of Appendix 2 of 20
C.F.R. pt. 404, subpt. P, app. 2.

17
at the sedentary, unskilled level;13 (ECF 13 at 6-7) (2) the VE
considered Plaintiff’s illiteracy because he saw the interpreter
at the hearing and heard Plaintiff say that she could understand

“some, but not a lot” of English; (id. at 9) (3) and if language
levels in the DOT controlled it would lead to the absurd result
that every individual who was illiterate in English would be
considered disabled (id. at 10).
The Court is not persuaded. First, the Grids are not
controlling in this case because Plaintiff has both exertional
and nonexertional limitations, and an ALJ must take testimony
from a VE or consider other similar evidence, such as a learned
treatise, rather than solely rely upon the Grids at step five.
Sykes v. Apfel, 228 F.3d 259, 273 (3d Cir. 2000). In
circumstances where the ALJ may refer only to the Grids, there

13 “While illiteracy or the inability to communicate in English
may significantly limit an individual's vocational scope, the
primary work functions in the bulk of unskilled work relate to
working with things (rather than with data or people) and in
these work functions at the unskilled level, literacy or ability
to communicate in English has the least significance. Similarly
the lack of relevant work experience would have little
significance since the bulk of unskilled jobs require no
qualifying work experience. Thus, the functional capability for
a full range of sedentary work represents sufficient numbers of
jobs to indicate substantial vocational scope for those
individuals age 18-44 even if they are illiterate or unable to
communicate in English.” Medical–Vocational Guidelines of
Appendix 2 of 20 C.F.R. pt. 404, subpt. P, app. 2, 201.00(i).

18
is no need for the ALJ to reconcile any conflicts between the VE
testimony and the DOT because the VE testimony is not necessary.
Where VE testimony is required, as is the case here, and a

conflict arises, the rule requiring the ALJ to explain how the
conflict impacts the step five analysis makes sense because
demonstrating that a claimant is capable of other jobs in the
national economy is the Commissioner’s burden to prove, and an
unexplained conflict could undermine the ALJ’s ultimate benefits
determination. Sykes, 228 F.3d at 263 (describing the ALJ’s
burden at step five).
Defendant’s other arguments are unavailing as well. The
presence of an interpreter at a hearing and the fact that the VE
heard Plaintiff indicate that she understood a little bit of
English does not automatically suggest the level of a claimant’s
English literacy and her overall education level. Here, it is

unknown to everyone what the VE considered to be Plaintiff’s
“education,” other than the VE, whose thoughts on the issue were
not elicited by the ALJ or otherwise volunteered by the VE.
Relatedly, contrary to Defendant’s argument that Plaintiff’s
counsel should have raised the issue at the hearing (ECF 13 at
4), it is not Plaintiff’s burden to establish other work in the
economy she is capable of performing. Moreover, the

19
determination that Plaintiff was illiterate was made in the
ALJ’s decision, which came well after the hearing.
Also unknown to everyone is how Plaintiff performed her

prior work such that, as Defendant argues (Id. at 12), it could
be extrapolated that her capability to perform a language level
1 job in the past rendered her equally capable of performing the
three jobs suggested by the VE. Thus, the fact that Plaintiff
worked in a language level 1 job previously does not – without
more information as to how Plaintiff performed that job –
support Defendant’s position, especially when the ALJ does not
articulate that same reasoning in her decision. See, e.g.,
Williams v. Astrue, 317 F. App’x 212, 214 (3d Cir. 2009) (noting
that a claimant’s past work was classified as medium level jobs,
but the claimant performed those prior jobs at the light level);
Karge v. Commissioner of Social Security, 2018 WL 6077981, at *2

(D.N.J. 2018)(noting that the claimant performed past work at
the sedentary level rather than at the light level as that past
work is classified by the DOT); De Diaz v. Berryhill, 2018 WL
6603865, at *3 (C.D. Cal. 2018)(rejecting the Commissioner’s
argument that because the plaintiff worked over ten years as a
machine operator, which is a Language Level One job, he could
perform a job with similar duties to those identified by the VE,

20
finding that the plaintiff never testified about the specifics
of her job as a machine operator, so the court was unable to
determine if her duties as she performed them were consistent

with the DOT definition, and noting that courts have routinely
rejected similar arguments (citing Obeso v. Colvin, No. 15-151,
2015 WL 10692651, at *16 (E.D. Cal. Apr. 20, 2015)(noting that
the Ninth Circuit has “resoundingly rejected” the argument that
a claimant’s prior work would excuse an ALJ from explaining how
the claimant’s language limitations would impact her ability to
perform jobs identified by the VE)).
Finally, a finding that the ALJ erred by not fulfilling her
obligations to inquire about and explain the conflict between
the VE’s testimony and the ALJ’s determination that Plaintiff
was illiterate in English does not result in a broader rule that
effectively deems every non-English speaker or illiterate person

to be disabled. As succinctly stated by the Ninth Circuit, “A
claimant is not per se disabled if he or she is illiterate. We
merely hold that in order for an ALJ to rely on a job
description in the Dictionary of Occupational Titles that fails
to comport with a claimant’s noted limitations, the ALJ must
definitively explain this deviation.” Pinto v. Massanari, 249
F.3d 840, 847 (9th Cir. 2001). This Court makes the same

21
observation here, which is in accord with the SSA regulations
and the law within the Third Circuit. See SSR 00-4p; Zirnsak,
777 F.3d at 617.

The Third Circuit has suggested that an ALJ’s failure to
address a conflict presented by a VE’s testimony does not
automatically warrant remand where “substantial evidence exists
in other portions of the record that can form an appropriate
basis to support the result.” Rutherford v. Barnhart, 399 F.3d
546, 557 (3d Cir. 2005). For example, in Zirnsak, the Third
Circuit noted that neither the ALJ nor the VE explained how a
sit/stand option would transform a subassembler job from a job
requiring “light” exertion level to a “sedentary” job, and found
that the ALJ did not elicit a reasonable explanation for this
inconsistency. Zirnsak, 777 F.3d at 619-20. The Third Circuit
held that the ALJ's failure to comply with the requirements of

SSR 00–4p in that instance was not fatal, however, because
substantial evidence supported the claimant’s ability to perform
three other jobs widely available in the national economy. Id.
at 620.
In contrast to Zirnsak, the Court cannot determine here
whether substantial evidence supports the ALJ’s conclusion that
Plaintiff is capable of performing work that exists in the

22
national economy because a significant vocational factor –
Plaintiff’s illiteracy in English – was not addressed for any of
the jobs the ALJ determined Plaintiff was capable of performing.

The Court does not suggest that no jobs exist that
Plaintiff is able to perform simply because of her illiteracy in
English. In order to determine whether the ALJ has supported
her burden at step five, however, the ALJ must elicit from the
VE how a claimant’s illiteracy in English would affect the jobs
available to her, when also considering her RFC, age and prior
work experience. The ALJ must then explain how the VE’s
testimony impacts her ultimate conclusion at step five. In the
context of an ALJ’s non-compliance with SSR 00-4p as it pertains
to a claimant’s illiteracy, rather than for other exertional and
nonexertional limitations, many other courts have ordered remand
for the same reasons. See 2 Soc. Sec. Disab. Claims Prac. &

Proc. § 22:156 (2nd ed.)(citing Santiago v. Astrue, 181 Soc.
Sec. Rep. Serv. 233, 2012 WL 3194402 (E.D. Pa. 2012)(The ALJ
found the claimant was unable to communicate in English,
including reading, writing or speaking and, thus, was considered
illiterate for purposes of disability evaluation. The ALJ's
hypothetical to the VE did not include the claimant's language
problem; therefore, it could not be determined whether the VE's

23
response to the posed question reflected claimant's inability to
communicate in English. Although the VE testified he took into
consideration the claimant's language problem, the VE concluded

without explanation that claimant could work as an usher or
ticket taker, according to the DOT, but the DOT provided that
those positions required English language skills, thereby
strongly suggesting that the VE's answer did not adequately take
into account claimant's significant language limitation.); Oeur
v. Astrue, 174 Soc. Sec. Rep. Serv. 196, 2012 WL 234642 (C.D.
Cal. 2012) (The ALJ found as part of claimant's RFC that he
could not read or write in English and required instructions
translated into the Cambodian language. However, the
descriptions in the DOT for the jobs the VE testified claimant
could perform all required him to read and write, and speak
English language level 1 and 2. The VE failed to acknowledge any

conflict with the DOT and provided no explanation for the
variance between the DOT and the jobs claimant could allegedly
do. The ALJ did not resolve this conflict and, in fact, asserted
without explanation that the VE's testimony was consistent with
the DOT. The ALJ's errors were not harmless as there was no
analysis of the jobs identified by the VE and the extent to
which the job base would be eroded by the claimant's lack of

24
language skills, lack of education and requirement for work
instructions to be given in Cambodian); Centeno v. Astrue, 175
Soc. Sec. Rep. Serv. 610, 2012 WL 728073 (W.D. Tex.

2012)(Claimant, who testified through a translator and testified
that she could not read, write or speak English, was found by
the ALJ to be able to communicate “some” in English, without
explaining what that meant. The ALJ asked the VE to consider
someone with the claimant's education, without defining
claimant's educational level or English language proficiency. In
response, also without articulating what educational or language
level he was considering, the VE testified that such a person
could perform the requirements of occupations described in the
DOT. However, the referenced jobs required the ability to write
and speak simple sentences, and read a specified amount of
English. Without any discussion the ALJ determined that the VE's

testimony was consistent with information in the DOT. The ALJ's
failure to include in the hypothetical that claimant was only
able to communicate “some” English or articulate what he meant
by “some” was not harmless error. The Commissioner failed to
carry the burden of establishing claimant's education, namely
her English language ability, was sufficient to perform the jobs
identified by the VE)).

25
III. CONCLUSION
When an ALJ has failed to apply the correct legal standards
and her conclusions are not supported by substantial evidence,

the Court must decide whether to remand the case for rehearing
or to reverse and order an award of benefits. Under Sentence
Four of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g), the Court has authority to affirm,
modify, or reverse the Commissioner's decision “with or without
remanding the cause for rehearing.” Melkonyan v. Sullivan, 501
U.S. 89, 99 (1991).
Because the issue of how Plaintiff’s illiteracy in English
impacts Plaintiff’s ability to perform jobs in the national
economy is for the ALJ to determine based on testimony from a VE
– a determination on which this Court expresses no opinion - the
proper course in this action is to remand the matter for further
consideration. Consequently, the ALJ's otherwise thoughtful and

comprehensive determination that Plaintiff is not disabled as of
July 2, 2013 will be reversed and remanded for further
consideration consistent with this Opinion.
An accompanying Order will be issued.

Date: June 29, 2022 s/ Noel L. Hillman
At Camden, New Jersey NOEL L. HILLMAN, U.S.D.J.

26

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10273412. Public record. Not legal advice.
